View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Wear The Fox Hat
9 Jan 2008, 11:24
How many of last years rep side have left the comp?

After a quick head count I came up with these 6 - O'Brien, Looby, Davies, Hueston, Barlow and Dawes.

napolean87
9 Jan 2008, 11:32
Dawes wont be going anywhere. His mrs ( football managers daughter) wants to stay in shepp , so he will be sticking around..

uwishuwereme
9 Jan 2008, 11:37
After a quick head count I came up with these 6 - O'Brien, Looby, Davies, Hueston, Barlow and Dawes.

I'm pretty sure Dawes will still play at United, altho saying that with everyone leaving it wouldn't suprise me if he stayed in coffs!

Dawes sat on the bench most of that day, but i think all of those players could be replaced by players playing in the comp. There were a few players who didn't put their hand up for selection due to injurie last year too.

I think the GV will still give it a fair crack!

toquick
9 Jan 2008, 12:27
Dawes wont be going anywhere. His mrs ( football managers daughter) wants to stay in shepp , so he will be sticking around..
I think you might find Kara is up in Coffs with him.

toquick
9 Jan 2008, 12:29
Barlow will be the one that is hard to replace out of that group! The kid is a super star!

anzac
9 Jan 2008, 17:46
Originally Posted by anzac http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9825570#post9825570)
Watch this space, a former GV rep CHF has recently purchased a house in Seymour. Even the Lions are not yet aware of this, watch the bidding begin with them, Nagambie and Avenel. Has been living in Melb for approx the last 10 yrs. Can play.

Give us some clue. First and last name would be good and we can then guess the rest. :confused::D
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=9826363)

CAMERON GILLET

Jarman11
9 Jan 2008, 20:02
Originally Posted by anzac http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9825570#post9825570)
Watch this space, a former GV rep CHF has recently purchased a house in Seymour. Even the Lions are not yet aware of this, watch the bidding begin with them, Nagambie and Avenel. Has been living in Melb for approx the last 10 yrs. Can play.

Give us some clue. First and last name would be good and we can then guess the rest. :confused::D
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=9826363)

CAMERON GILLET

You must be joking:rolleyes:

BlindTurn
10 Jan 2008, 08:16
Maybe Pascoe as well.

waugh17
10 Jan 2008, 08:50
COME TO KILLARNEY VALE!! - POSITIONS VACANT
Senior players wanted for Killarney Vale Bombers Australian Football Club for season 2008.

The Killarney Vale Australian Rules Football Club is located on the Central Coast of NSW and offers a tremendous lifestyle with adjacent beaches and ample work available in a growing area.

The facilities at the club are second to none with a great clubroom, bar, gym etc.

Work and accommodation opportunities available.

Payments negotiable.

For more details about the club see www.kvbomers.com (http://www.kvbomers.com/)

Just send me a private message with your contact details

sizzled
10 Jan 2008, 09:35
cameron gillet would be best used in a minor leauge. doubt he would have a impact at seymoure. he has been playing divvy 3 eastern footy (equivelant to kdl) at doncaster east so his best days are past him..wouldnt want to be on the receiving end of a hip and shoulder from him tho..

dropthesirenAcky
10 Jan 2008, 15:43
How are the tiges shaping up?

bradrowe#32
10 Jan 2008, 17:27
How are the tiges shaping up?

Hard to say at the moment. Most thought last year they would be finalists, but were a bit off.

They have picked up quite well so far, if all the recruits sign on. Steve Rasmussen and Brad Collins have signed apparently. There is a ruckman (which would be a massive signing if he is decent), as well as up to 10 others that I've heard mentioned from around the district, particularly Bendigo Bombers players. Hopefully young gun Matt Letcher can get healthy as he is a good player that hardly played at all last year.

On the bad side, they club has lost Heath Aitken, Nick Knight and Adrian Pappin. Ben Anderson will be overseas for part of next year but is rumoured to be returning. Chris McCarty may come back too and we all know how good he is.

It appears other clubs around the league are losing players all over the shop, so I expect nothing less than finals.

uwishuwereme
11 Jan 2008, 07:08
Hard to say at the moment. Most thought last year they would be finalists, but were a bit off.

They have picked up quite well so far, if all the recruits sign on. Steve Rasmussen and Brad Collins have signed apparently. There is a ruckman (which would be a massive signing if he is decent), as well as up to 10 others that I've heard mentioned from around the district, particularly Bendigo Bombers players. Hopefully young gun Matt Letcher can get healthy as he is a good player that hardly played at all last year.

On the bad side, they club has lost Heath Aitken, Nick Knight and Adrian Pappin. Ben Anderson will be overseas for part of next year but is rumoured to be returning. Chris McCarty may come back too and we all know how good he is.

It appears other clubs around the league are losing players all over the shop, so I expect nothing less than finals.

Except Shepp swans who have only lost 1 (Tim Looby), Also hear Craig Statham will be returning for season 08. Didn't really get to see his worth in 06 as he did his knee in round 3 after 2 BOG's. Will be 1 of the best defenders in the comp if he does come back!

bradrowe#32
11 Jan 2008, 08:00
Except Shepp swans who have only lost 1 (Tim Looby), Also hear Craig Statham will be returning for season 08. Didn't really get to see his worth in 06 as he did his knee in round 3 after 2 BOG's. Will be 1 of the best defenders in the comp if he does come back!

Fair point. The Swans and Seymour are clearly the two best teams and I reckon there is a bit of gap between them and the rest of the comp. It could be tight from ladder positions 3 right down to 8.

napolean87
11 Jan 2008, 10:20
sounds like the swans are shaping up well.. I saw Statham play in the 1st 2 round of 06 and he is a gun.. Played well over 50 sanfl league games and is still only 24-25. If the swans can get him back he will take over from looby in the backline with no worries. I reakon the swans need a dominant chf. lacked that last year, tried with wilson a few times but didnt work. Could White play there? he plays more a half forward up the ground role tho. Dundovic maybe? rumoured to be getting super fit, has some talent the boy! Watch out for Nathan bell this year also, if he plays a full year, could well walk away with a morrison ( finished top 5 last year and missed 7 -8 games) n a preimership medal.

Niko87
11 Jan 2008, 12:13
sounds like the swans are shaping up well.. I saw Statham play in the 1st 2 round of 06 and he is a gun.. Played well over 50 sanfl league games and is still only 24-25. If the swans can get him back he will take over from looby in the backline with no worries. I reakon the swans need a dominant chf. lacked that last year, tried with wilson a few times but didnt work. Could White play there? he plays more a half forward up the ground role tho. Dundovic maybe? rumoured to be getting super fit, has some talent the boy! Watch out for Nathan bell this year also, if he plays a full year, could well walk away with a morrison ( finished top 5 last year and missed 7 -8 games) n a preimership medal.
The swans just need a dominant full forward as Dundovic isn't that.

akka dakka
11 Jan 2008, 12:45

Somebody like Damien Yze will do!!!!!!

uwishuwereme
11 Jan 2008, 12:45

Look out for Big Dundee this year, the boy can play. won a league medal at under 19's level in the SANFL and kicked a ton of goals that year. by shedding some weight he'll be the next bloke in the comp to kick a ton!

napolean87
11 Jan 2008, 13:35

I dont think full forward is there problem.. Rachele n Dundovic combined for around 120 goals last year out of the goal square.. If they can recruit a chf to kick 30-40 goals i think they will go a long way to taking it out. I suppose chf are hard to find these days..

sizzled
11 Jan 2008, 14:21
Matt hebbard has filled out and can play key position..has been training the house down i believe and has signed despite offers at vfl level..could easily get 30-40 goals from him

Shambles
11 Jan 2008, 20:08
With this year being a carnival year and so many good players leaving the GV does anyone think we can beat the O+M? I work with a guy from Wodonga and im sick to death of hearing him rave on about how good the O+M is. It shits me to tears.

parrot14
12 Jan 2008, 20:23
Fair point. The Swans and Seymour are clearly the two best teams and I reckon there is a bit of gap between them and the rest of the comp. It could be tight from ladder positions 3 right down to 8.

Hey c`mon guys what about the Cats in 2008 a new coach and players - are training the house down by all reports - can someone tell me if vetran Jeff Vandermeer is playing in 2008???

ringo1
14 Jan 2008, 13:57
With this year being a carnival year and so many good players leaving the GV does anyone think we can beat the O+M? I work with a guy from Wodonga and im sick to death of hearing him rave on about how good the O+M is. It shits me to tears.

the carnival is a joke- bring back the round robin!

head67
15 Jan 2008, 04:35
the carnival is a joke- bring back the round robin!
Why is it a joke, ringo. Mant players are opposed to the round robin. Rep footy in the country is a must, so it has to be 1 or the other. They need to promote the whole thing better. Give players an oppurtunity to play at a (hopefully) higher level.

uwishuwereme
16 Jan 2008, 07:21
Matt hebbard has filled out and can play key position..has been training the house down i believe and has signed despite offers at vfl level..could easily get 30-40 goals from him

Will definatley be a huge inclusion to the swannies line up. I also hear that Joel Nalder is back at the swannies looking bigger and fitter than ever.

rogerdoger
16 Jan 2008, 07:53
[/b]

Will definatley be a huge inclusion to the swannies line up. I also hear that Joel Nalder is back at the swannies looking bigger and fitter than ever.
Would have been a better decision to have gone to Werribee!

Gun Recruit
16 Jan 2008, 09:14
Would have been a better decision to have gone to Werribee!

What do you base that assumption on RD ? I thought the chance to play at the highest level available to the player while he can is a large part of what footy is all about. Your always only one bad injury away from an early retirment

rogerdoger
16 Jan 2008, 09:59
What do you base that assumption on RD ? I thought the chance to play at the highest level available to the player while he can is a large part of what footy is all about. Your always only one bad injury away from an early retirment
Youve lost me!
What are you on about?

Footy08
16 Jan 2008, 10:08

So isn't that why he would've been better at werribee? To get the chance at the highest level possible he can play at? As werribee is higher than swans...

Gun Recruit
16 Jan 2008, 10:38
Youve lost me!
What are you on about?

So isn't that why he would've been better at werribee? To get the chance at the highest level possible he can play at? As werribee is higher than swans...

Yeah sorry use are both right. I spoke before thinking. He should go to werribee if he has the chance. Just on the topic, would werribee two's (most likely start their id assume) beat swans ??

uwishuwereme
16 Jan 2008, 11:27

If he came r/up in the bushies b and f when they played in a GF and had no phone calls or contact before either of the drafts, he might have lost hope on playing at the highest level.

Also how many players get used up by VFL clubs and end up playing most of the years in the 2's.

I think most people would choose to play with their mates and family in a bid to win a premiership with their home club.

Besides, we had GVFL reps do pre seasons with AFL clubs.

We'll see how Mickey Barlow goes this year in the VFL

uwishuwereme
16 Jan 2008, 11:29
Yeah sorry use are both right. I spoke before thinking. He should go to werribee if he has the chance. Just on the topic, would werribee two's (most likely start their id assume) beat swans ??

and no i don't think werribee 2's would beat any of the top 4 sides from last year. as they are mostly filled with 18-21 year olds.

Would be some good matches though

ofalltime
16 Jan 2008, 13:53
and no i don't think werribee 2's would beat any of the top 4 sides from last year. as they are mostly filled with 18-21 year olds.

Would be some good matches though

Just heard the news, Seymour have signed robbie douglas. Apparently did the deal last night. Great for the d's.

Goalsquare Clapper
16 Jan 2008, 19:49
Just heard the news, Seymour have signed robbie douglas. Apparently did the deal last night. Great for the d's.

In even greater news,(Greatest Wanker) ofalltime has been inducted into the Bigfooty gold club.After reading you posts mate,it really is "offal" time whenever you hit the keypads.Keep up the good work champ,your dribble puts interest in our days.

ofalltime
16 Jan 2008, 20:36
In even greater news,(Greatest Wanker) ofalltime has been inducted into the Bigfooty gold club.After reading you posts mate,it really is "offal" time whenever you hit the keypads.Keep up the good work champ,your dribble puts interest in our days.

Oooooh hit a nerve have we. You sook, time will tell who is right, CLAPPED OUT.

Doona2
16 Jan 2008, 21:23

:( Shattered we were outbidded :p

uwishuwereme
17 Jan 2008, 08:02
:( Shattered we were outbidded :p

Who is Robbie Douglas???

FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2008, 08:58
Welcome Matt laid out at Ky
Former Murray Bushrangers star Matt Deledio has turned down an offer to play in the VFL to stay with Kyabram for the upcoming season.
It's a major boost for the Goulburn Valley Football League club, which has already lost key senior players Josh Finn and Paul Burnett from last year.
But Deledio said it was an easy decision to stay with his home club.
``I had an offer from Werribee to play with them, but I'm deferring from uni this year, so I want to stay here and earn a bit of money and I really want to give something back to the club that has been so good to me,'' Deledio said.
``I haven't missed a training session yet and I'm really looking forward to the season.''
The 18-year-old was one of the standouts for the Bushrangers last year, playing 20 games and being among the best in the grand final loss to Calder Cannons.
Deledio was also given the option of playing another season with the TAC Cup team as a 19-year-old, but decided against it.
``I got the phone call and thought about it, I really enjoyed my year out there,'' he said.
``But there's a lot of travel involved and I'm keen to play senior footy.''
Kyabram president Peter Croxford said it was pleasing to keep the talented young footballer for another year.
``He's played all his junior footy with us, so it's great that he's going to have another year with us and give something back to the club,'' Croxford said.
``Last year he played some good senior footy for us when the Bushies had a bye, so we're hoping he has a big year.''
Croxford said there had been record numbers at the Bombers' pre-season training, but they were still looking for a couple of new players.
``We've been getting 40-plus at each training session, which is something that's never happened before,'' he said.

Lowe 'n' behold Brad's back at Cats
Michael Van Dorsser
McNamara medallist Brad Lowe will return to the Goulburn Valley Football League ranks with Mooroopna next season.
A premiership player with Ardmona, Lowe returns to the Cats after an eight-year absence.
He said he was looking to improve his standard of football by going up a level of competition.
``There is a good young group out at Mooroopna,'' Lowe said.
Admitting that his fitness was not up to scratch, Lowe said that he was on the way to getting the kilometres back into his legs.
``It (fitness) is going to be a slow process, but we will get there,'' Lowe said.
``We are training two nights a week and on top of cricket training two nights a week I will get there.''
The 26-year-old said it was a tough decision to leave his home Kyabram District league club after losing the grand final last season.
``It is my home club out there, but if I don't move now I never will,'' Lowe said.
Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell said that he was rapt with the return of Lowe.
``His (Lowe's) experience will be very valuable in a fairly young team,'' Campbell said.
``He is a natural leader on the football field and is respected by all the players.''

Hockey on move as chance with Bullants bites
Tom Biddington
Mooroopna young gun Ash Hockey is going to try his luck with VFL club Northern Bullants for the upcoming season.
The 18-year-old has committed to the Bullants for this season and is preparing to move down to Melbourne in the coming weeks.
Hockey, who was unlucky not be picked up by an AFL club in the draft, decided to have a crack in the state league at the request of Carlton.
Hockey had already spoken to other VFL clubs North Ballarat and Tasmania, while SANFL club Glenelg also showed interest, but in the end he thought the Bullants was the best option.
``David Teague (coach of the Bullants) rang me a month ago and said Brett Ratten was keen to get me down there,'' Hockey said.
``I was going to stay with Mooroopna, but this is a really good opportunity and I thought I'd have a crack and see how I go.''
The hard-running midfielder represented Victoria Country at the past two under-18 National Championships and attended the AFL Draft Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in October.
Hockey was one of the Murray Bushrangers' leading players in the past couple of seasons and was one of the few standout performers in the TAC Cup Grand Final, amassing 29 possessions.
A back injury has curtailed his pre-season so far, but Hockey said that's feeling fine and he'll resume training on Monday.
``That's all good at the moment, so I'll start training with Mooroopna next week,'' he said.
``I'm just waiting on the Bullants to help find me a job in Melbourne and then I'll move down and stay at my brother's place in Tullamarine.''
But it's not all bad news for the Cats, who have retained fellow Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett for this season.

BlindTurn
17 Jan 2008, 09:17
I have heard that Euroa have lost a few Melbourne boys over the summer. Hyatt, King, M.Clayton, McBrien and Pascoe all gone. Is this true?

uwishuwereme
17 Jan 2008, 09:25
I have heard that Euroa have lost a few Melbourne boys over the summer. Hyatt, King, M.Clayton, McBrien and Pascoe all gone. Is this true?

They're all huge losses for them if this is true!

Gun Recruit
17 Jan 2008, 11:01
Welcome Matt laid out at Ky
Former Murray Bushrangers star Matt Deledio has turned down an offer to play in the VFL to stay with Kyabram for the upcoming season.
It's a major boost for the Goulburn Valley Football League club, which has already lost key senior players Josh Finn and Paul Burnett from last year.
But Deledio said it was an easy decision to stay with his home club.
``I had an offer from Werribee to play with them, but I'm deferring from uni this year, so I want to stay here and earn a bit of money and I really want to give something back to the club that has been so good to me,'' Deledio said.
``I haven't missed a training session yet and I'm really looking forward to the season.''
The 18-year-old was one of the standouts for the Bushrangers last year, playing 20 games and being among the best in the grand final loss to Calder Cannons.
Deledio was also given the option of playing another season with the TAC Cup team as a 19-year-old, but decided against it.
``I got the phone call and thought about it, I really enjoyed my year out there,'' he said.
``But there's a lot of travel involved and I'm keen to play senior footy.''
Kyabram president Peter Croxford said it was pleasing to keep the talented young footballer for another year.
``He's played all his junior footy with us, so it's great that he's going to have another year with us and give something back to the club,'' Croxford said.
``Last year he played some good senior footy for us when the Bushies had a bye, so we're hoping he has a big year.''
Croxford said there had been record numbers at the Bombers' pre-season training, but they were still looking for a couple of new players.
``We've been getting 40-plus at each training session, which is something that's never happened before,'' he said.

Lowe 'n' behold Brad's back at Cats
Michael Van Dorsser
McNamara medallist Brad Lowe will return to the Goulburn Valley Football League ranks with Mooroopna next season.
A premiership player with Ardmona, Lowe returns to the Cats after an eight-year absence.
He said he was looking to improve his standard of football by going up a level of competition.
``There is a good young group out at Mooroopna,'' Lowe said.
Admitting that his fitness was not up to scratch, Lowe said that he was on the way to getting the kilometres back into his legs.
``It (fitness) is going to be a slow process, but we will get there,'' Lowe said.
``We are training two nights a week and on top of cricket training two nights a week I will get there.''
The 26-year-old said it was a tough decision to leave his home Kyabram District league club after losing the grand final last season.
``It is my home club out there, but if I don't move now I never will,'' Lowe said.
Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell said that he was rapt with the return of Lowe.
``His (Lowe's) experience will be very valuable in a fairly young team,'' Campbell said.
``He is a natural leader on the football field and is respected by all the players.''

Hockey on move as chance with Bullants bites
Tom Biddington
Mooroopna young gun Ash Hockey is going to try his luck with VFL club Northern Bullants for the upcoming season.
The 18-year-old has committed to the Bullants for this season and is preparing to move down to Melbourne in the coming weeks.
Hockey, who was unlucky not be picked up by an AFL club in the draft, decided to have a crack in the state league at the request of Carlton.
Hockey had already spoken to other VFL clubs North Ballarat and Tasmania, while SANFL club Glenelg also showed interest, but in the end he thought the Bullants was the best option.
``David Teague (coach of the Bullants) rang me a month ago and said Brett Ratten was keen to get me down there,'' Hockey said.
``I was going to stay with Mooroopna, but this is a really good opportunity and I thought I'd have a crack and see how I go.''
The hard-running midfielder represented Victoria Country at the past two under-18 National Championships and attended the AFL Draft Camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in October.
Hockey was one of the Murray Bushrangers' leading players in the past couple of seasons and was one of the few standout performers in the TAC Cup Grand Final, amassing 29 possessions.
A back injury has curtailed his pre-season so far, but Hockey said that's feeling fine and he'll resume training on Monday.
``That's all good at the moment, so I'll start training with Mooroopna next week,'' he said.
``I'm just waiting on the Bullants to help find me a job in Melbourne and then I'll move down and stay at my brother's place in Tullamarine.''
But it's not all bad news for the Cats, who have retained fellow Murray Bushranger Tyson Warnett for this season.

Would just like to comment on the Matt Deledio article. Firstly, he was not a bushies star - he was a good, but average, player. Secondly, the bushies kids at werribee at the moment got invited to TRAIN with them for the time being so werribbe could see if they wanted them - Deledio was in the same boat, so its not as if he's knocked back a vfl offer to play in the GV. And i can say he wasnt a 'standout', that is totally unfair on the dozen or so players who had far more of an impact than himself. Dont know who wrote the article but the journo shouldnt be blowing the kids tyres up to much. This is not a stab at Deledio, he will be a good player in time, but I dont think he should be written up as god's gift to Ky and the GV, just because his last name is the same as his highly credentialled brother. Happy to hear others thoughts. :thumbsu:

toquick
17 Jan 2008, 13:29
Would just like to comment on the Matt Deledio article. Firstly, he was not a bushies star - he was a good, but average, player. Secondly, the bushies kids at werribee at the moment got invited to TRAIN with them for the time being so werribbe could see if they wanted them - Deledio was in the same boat, so its not as if he's knocked back a vfl offer to play in the GV. And i can say he wasnt a 'standout', that is totally unfair on the dozen or so players who had far more of an impact than himself. Dont know who wrote the article but the journo shouldnt be blowing the kids tyres up to much. This is not a stab at Deledio, he will be a good player in time, but I dont think he should be written up as god's gift to Ky and the GV, just because his last name is the same as his highly credentialled brother. Happy to hear others thoughts. :thumbsu:

Where did he finish in the bushies B and F??

Who's Barry Badrinath?
17 Jan 2008, 14:23

totally agree. very overated player. will be just another good 18yr old in running around in the gv. if he didnt have the last name deledio he probably would never have been looked at for bushies. and i know several guys who got invited to train at werribee and its not like theyre "knocking back" an oppurtunity to play vfl if they dont get selected.

Doona2
17 Jan 2008, 15:21
Who is Robbie Douglas???

Captain coach of the Broadford Cricket Club, apparently can play a bit too - I dont think ofalltime's mail is totally accurate, pretty sure he trained up there but I doubt he committed to the Lions for 2008 . . . . not before the Mighty HDFL Roos crunch some numbers anyway :eek:

splasher
17 Jan 2008, 18:55
What's happening over at Benalla, they've been very quiet.

wheelbarrow
17 Jan 2008, 21:18
Captain coach of the Broadford Cricket Club, apparently can play a bit too - I dont think ofalltime's mail is totally accurate, pretty sure he trained up there but I doubt he committed to the Lions for 2008 . . . . not before the Mighty HDFL Roos crunch some numbers anyway :eek:

Hasn't signed Doona.

Seymour approaching Cameron Gillet this week for 2008.

Doona2
17 Jan 2008, 21:29
Hasn't signed Doona.

Seymour approaching Cameron Gillet this week for 2008.

Damn it he was me next call but no one would 4ward a number :D

FOOTYBOSS
18 Jan 2008, 09:53
Lion star leaps at city offer
Triple Seymour premiership player Rodney Van Reit appears set to leave to the Lions for Melbourne suburban club Aberfeldie.
Van Reit, 22, said yesterday he was ready for a new challenge after 111 games with the club he began his senior career with.

A former Murray Bushrangers wingman, Van Reit has played a major part in the Lions success during the past three seasons and has represented the Goulburn Valley at interleague level.

``I've been studying in Melbourne for the past couple of years and I'm probably just a little tired of the travel back and forth every weekend,'' Van Reit said.

``I'm obviously a Seymour boy and I've played all my footy there, but I think a change at this stage of my career isn't a bad thing.

``I know a few of the blokes at Aberfeldie and they've tried to get me there for the past couple of seasons, but I'm excited about the move.''

Van Reit has consistently finished the top five of the Lions' best and fairest for the past three seasons and reached the 100-game milestone last season.

He will be reunited with former Bushrangers team-mate Mark Worthington, from Wangaratta, at Aberfeldie and will be a teammate of former Collingwood grand final ruckman Steve McKee. The club failed to make the Essendon District Football League finals last season.

Seymour coach Bernie Haberman said yesterday he was aware Van Reit was considering leaving the club and would attempt to keep him at the Lions.

Meanwhile, premiership defender Robbie Douglas _ who left the Lions last year for Port Douglas in the AFL Cairns competition _ is believed to be considering a return to Victoria.

Haberman said the club had spoke to Douglas informally, but was waiting on the star defender to decide if he would return to northern Queensland this year.

FOOTYBOSS
18 Jan 2008, 09:54

Yes, this is true.

rogerdoger
18 Jan 2008, 11:13
Yes, this is true.
What happend there?
Was told M.Clayton was the only one leaving!
Not good timing to loose players like that this time of the year, will be hard to replace now.....

bazlurhmann
19 Jan 2008, 11:02
Lion star leaps at city offer
Triple Seymour premiership player Rodney Van Reit appears set to leave to the Lions for Melbourne suburban club Aberfeldie.
Van Reit, 22, said yesterday he was ready for a new challenge after 111 games with the club he began his senior career with.

A former Murray Bushrangers wingman, Van Reit has played a major part in the Lions success during the past three seasons and has represented the Goulburn Valley at interleague level.

``I've been studying in Melbourne for the past couple of years and I'm probably just a little tired of the travel back and forth every weekend,'' Van Reit said.

``I'm obviously a Seymour boy and I've played all my footy there, but I think a change at this stage of my career isn't a bad thing.

``I know a few of the blokes at Aberfeldie and they've tried to get me there for the past couple of seasons, but I'm excited about the move.''

Van Reit has consistently finished the top five of the Lions' best and fairest for the past three seasons and reached the 100-game milestone last season.

He will be reunited with former Bushrangers team-mate Mark Worthington, from Wangaratta, at Aberfeldie and will be a teammate of former Collingwood grand final ruckman Steve McKee. The club failed to make the Essendon District Football League finals last season.

Seymour coach Bernie Haberman said yesterday he was aware Van Reit was considering leaving the club and would attempt to keep him at the Lions.

Meanwhile, premiership defender Robbie Douglas _ who left the Lions last year for Port Douglas in the AFL Cairns competition _ is believed to be considering a return to Victoria.

Haberman said the club had spoke to Douglas informally, but was waiting on the star defender to decide if he would return to northern Queensland this year.

No signing from Robbie as yet. He will be a massive inclusion if he does stay, but as he said he doesnt even know what he is doing yet, so im not too sure how all these people know.

He has just been having a run with the lions, as it is a bit hard for him to get to the preseason sessions at port douglas.

master21
20 Jan 2008, 08:59
Interested to hear the footy communities opinion on Ky's new coach William's?? whats he like as a bloke, coach and professional ??? is he just out to make a quick buck as a coach for a year or 2 then just piss off or is he at Ky for the long haul to get them back up the ladder!!!

Manbearpig
20 Jan 2008, 09:30
Interested to hear the footy communities opinion on Ky's new coach William's?? whats he like as a bloke, coach and professional ??? is he just out to make a quick buck as a coach for a year or 2 then just piss off or is he at Ky for the long haul to get them back up the ladder!!!

haha, that's funny.

You know, bar his first year or two at Rochy (out of 16 seasons), he refused payment and was the club's number one sponsor through his business. He simply loves coaching, and that's why he's taken this job on.

Away from football, he's a terrific bloke. In football, he's totally professional and very thorough in his research and preparation. Very hard, but also fair on his players. Treats everyone equal, which the better players with an ego can have trouble with at times.

GG Rides Again
20 Jan 2008, 09:49

I reckon Ky needs stability and they should be looking at trying to keep Dirty for 3-5 years. Keep hearing of the locals and the young kids coming through and he has already dealt with this at Rochester a few times.
I dont think you will fin a better coach in country vic but his passion and want for players to rise can sometimes make him look like a dill and a little heavy handed with his comments
Once again if KY can hold him for 3-5 years I could almost guarantee finals with a realistic chance to win one.

Agree with MBP. He certainly is not in coaching for money. Has been proved over the last 15 years.

GG Rides Again
20 Jan 2008, 09:53
Job Vacancy: Commercial Operations Manager with a major sporting code. Must have excellent re-location skills. Call Andy on 1800-TRAITOR.

Is this on reference to AFL ?
Andrew CEO. Chief Executive Officer
Adrian Anderson - COM ( soon to be Shane McCurry)

Manbearpig
20 Jan 2008, 10:08
Job Vacancy: Commercial Operations Manager with a major sporting code. Must have excellent re-location skills. Call Andy on 1800-TRAITOR.

Is this on reference to AFL ?
Andrew CEO. Chief Executive Officer
Adrian Anderson - COM ( soon to be Shane McCurry)

Yep, AFL Commercial Operations Manager = Gillon McLachlan.

The polo playing weasel who's job it was to relocate North Melbourne... and failed dismally.

jaggo
20 Jan 2008, 17:41
I reckon Ky needs stability and they should be looking at trying to keep Dirty for 3-5 years. Keep hearing of the locals and the young kids coming through and he has already dealt with this at Rochester a few times.
I dont think you will fin a better coach in country vic but his passion and want for players to rise can sometimes make him look like a dill and a little heavy handed with his comments
Once again if KY can hold him for 3-5 years I could almost guarantee finals with a realistic chance to win one.

Agree with MBP. He certainly is not in coaching for money. Has been proved over the last 15 years.

I agree totally with your comments. From what i have heard dirty is doing the job for virtually nothing. The guy has nothing to prove and has taken on a huge job with Ky considering where they are at. I think Ky have done the right thing in appointing him and he has agreed to two years at least at the club. word is the Ky camp couldn't be happier with him and the way he is going about things. would think that finals footy is a way off but he will lay the ground work for this in years to come.

roman sandal
20 Jan 2008, 20:02

If you go back to October-ish you'll find some fantastic conversation about Dirty Williams. But I did hear during the week he is coaching Ky for free too. I'm not sure whether to believe it though.

FOOTYBOSS
21 Jan 2008, 08:11
Lobb set to play for Roos
Rob Harris

Rochester forward Phil Lobb will return to Bendigo Football League next season with Kangaroo Flat.
Lobb, who kicked a combined 132 goals in the 2005 and 2006 seasons for Eaglehawk, joins a rejuvenated Roos outfit which will be coached by former Colbinabbin coach Darryl Wilson.

Among the Kangaroos' recruits are are former Barooga player Tyrone Downie, who has been played with VFL club Bendigo Bombers and former Shepparton footballer Tim Kelly.

Lobb struggled to make an impact with the Tigers last season after an impressive start, and left the club towards the end of the season to play with the Bombers' reserves.

``We're rapt with Phil because he had committed to us when we hadn't really got our off-field structure in place yet,'' Wilson said.

``He played a reserves game for the Bendigo Bombers last year and kicked six goals and I was impressed with the way he went about it.

``So we approached Phil and he thought he had something to offer Bendigo football again, and he is going to be a great acquisition for us.

``We also think Tyrone Downie will push forward and provide us with another option.''

Meanwhile, Mark Adamson will coach Golden Square in the Bendigo league this year.

Adamson has been appointed non-playing coach after Jeff Brennan took the Bendigo Bombers' general manager position.

Former Bendigo Bombers captain Nick Carter will be a playing assistant to Adamson.

FOOTYBOSS
21 Jan 2008, 08:15
What happend there?
Was told M.Clayton was the only one leaving!
Not good timing to loose players like that this time of the year, will be hard to replace now.....

Well M.Clayton has moved to the Geelong area and will be playing for Grovedale where David Mensch currently plays and coaches. Im not to sure the full reasons behind Hyatt, King and Pascoe for leaving. As for myself its due to work commitments.

sizzled
21 Jan 2008, 14:33
Dave williams is perfect for what kyabram want, he is passionate about his football and would be in for he long haul. Any one who has spoken to dirty realises he has a smart football brain and wouldnt take on a challenge he didnt think he could succedd

rogerdoger
21 Jan 2008, 14:50
Hey brad we gunna start up our discussions about dirty again?
I would love to hear your thoughts on his ability as a coach........

Rushy Tiger
21 Jan 2008, 19:05
Lobb set to play for Roos
Rob Harris

Rochester forward Phil Lobb will return to Bendigo Football League next season with Kangaroo Flat.
Lobb, who kicked a combined 132 goals in the 2005 and 2006 seasons for Eaglehawk, joins a rejuvenated Roos outfit which will be coached by former Colbinabbin coach Darryl Wilson.

Among the Kangaroos' recruits are are former Barooga player Tyrone Downie, who has been played with VFL club Bendigo Bombers and former Shepparton footballer Tim Kelly.

Lobb struggled to make an impact with the Tigers last season after an impressive start, and left the club towards the end of the season to play with the Bombers' reserves.

``We're rapt with Phil because he had committed to us when we hadn't really got our off-field structure in place yet,'' Wilson said.

``He played a reserves game for the Bendigo Bombers last year and kicked six goals and I was impressed with the way he went about it.

``So we approached Phil and he thought he had something to offer Bendigo football again, and he is going to be a great acquisition for us.

``We also think Tyrone Downie will push forward and provide us with another option.''

Meanwhile, Mark Adamson will coach Golden Square in the Bendigo league this year.

Adamson has been appointed non-playing coach after Jeff Brennan took the Bendigo Bombers' general manager position.

Former Bendigo Bombers captain Nick Carter will be a playing assistant to Adamson.

This is a classic. How long until he throws the towel in at this club. Didn't last too long at Rochy from all reports. Can anyone tell me the truth to whether his last game there was in the reserves?

Manbearpig
22 Jan 2008, 05:59
There's an update on Rochy FC in the local paper up there today. Here's some of the on-field report:

Around 25 to 30 players have been attending training on Monday and Wednesday nights, with the main aims a solid fitness base and attention to detail with ball skills.

Senior coach Daniel Schmidt and assistant coach Clint Whitsed have introduced new enthusiasm to the group and, with new faces at the club, there is an air of excitement over Rochester Recreation Reserve.

New inclusions are Ben Duscher (Balranald), Sam O'Brien (Bendigo Bombers), Brad Collins (Port Melbourne/Numurkah) and Jake Perry (Rushworth), while Steven Rasmussen has returned to the club.

With negotiations closing with two more players, the club is confident of fielding a competitive unit.

uwishuwereme
22 Jan 2008, 13:46
is it true that Tat have Signed Evans the 3 game premiership ruckman from seymour?
I here the they have also signed last years Shep bears 3rds vice captain and a gun midfielder from Coburg.

Heard it from a very good source but can anyone confirm this?

cleanhands
22 Jan 2008, 14:54
is it true that Tat have Signed Evans the 3 game premiership ruckman from seymour?
I here the they have also signed last years Shep bears 3rds vice captain and a gun midfielder from Coburg.

I think you have been given a smokey uwish

Slim
22 Jan 2008, 19:12

I can confirm that the only good source (sauce) to come out of Tat is tomato from Rosella, so reveal your Craig Hutchison.

uwishuwereme
23 Jan 2008, 07:02
I think you have been given a smokey uwish

I actually heard it from Noble their coach. i was just wondering if there was any Tat people or Seymour people out there who could confim that.

Swannies also have another big signing that will come to light in the next few days!

napolean87
23 Jan 2008, 07:03
I actually heard it from Noble their coach. i was just wondering if there was any Tat people or Seymour people out there who could confim that.

Swannies also have another big signing that will come to light in the next few days!

Knaggsy got the cheque book out again has he?

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 07:47

sorry uwish rang a person who works closely with tats coach and he told me they have not signed any of the 3 you mentioned so i would doubt your credability

No Heart
23 Jan 2008, 08:16
sorry uwish rang a person who works closely with tats coach and he told me they have not signed any of the 3 you mentioned so i would doubt your credability

Totally correct cleanhands , from our point at seymour Evan Murry has decided to give footy a way at the moment and as for the other two mentioned i have no idea .

FOOTYBOSS
23 Jan 2008, 08:47
Singh seeking new home
Tom Biddington

Balraj Singh, the Goulburn Valley Football League's leading goal-kicker in 2006, is eyeing off a return to the region _ he just needs to find a club that wants him.
The 25-year-old kicked 110 goals for Balranald last season, but said the four-hour drive from Melbourne was too much and was keen to ply his trade in the Goulburn-Murray.

``I really enjoyed my time playing for Mooroopna and in the GVFL, which is probably the best country league around,'' Singh said.

``So I'd love to return to the area and play footy for a club in the GVFL or Murray Football League.''

Players capable of kicking 100 goals in a season are rare, with only Benalla's Ricky Symes and Seymour's Saad Saad being able to accomplish the feat in the GVFL in the past four years.

Singh was part of Balranald's team that lost the Central Murray Football League Grand Final to Tooleybuc-Manangatang.

``I went up there with four mates last year, but it's double the distance than Shepparton, and both the GVFL and Murray Football Leagues are a better standard,'' he said.

``It was in the last week I decided I didn't want to go back there this year, so I just want to see if there are any clubs around the region who would be interested in having me.

``Key forwards are difficult to find at times and hopefully there's a club that needs one.

``I work on the wharfs down in Melbourne, so I've been training by myself in the past few weeks, just keeping fit.''

Singh was the first Indian ever to be drafted by an AFL club when he was selected by Adelaide with pick 79 in the 1999 draft.

He played his junior footy with SANFL club West Adelaide.

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 09:02
Singh seeking new home
Tom Biddington

Balraj Singh, the Goulburn Valley Football League's leading goal-kicker in 2006, is eyeing off a return to the region _ he just needs to find a club that wants him.
The 25-year-old kicked 110 goals for Balranald last season, but said the four-hour drive from Melbourne was too much and was keen to ply his trade in the Goulburn-Murray.

``I really enjoyed my time playing for Mooroopna and in the GVFL, which is probably the best country league around,'' Singh said.

``So I'd love to return to the area and play footy for a club in the GVFL or Murray Football League.''

Players capable of kicking 100 goals in a season are rare, with only Benalla's Ricky Symes and Seymour's Saad Saad being able to accomplish the feat in the GVFL in the past four years.

Singh was part of Balranald's team that lost the Central Murray Football League Grand Final to Tooleybuc-Manangatang.

``I went up there with four mates last year, but it's double the distance than Shepparton, and both the GVFL and Murray Football Leagues are a better standard,'' he said.

``It was in the last week I decided I didn't want to go back there this year, so I just want to see if there are any clubs around the region who would be interested in having me.

``Key forwards are difficult to find at times and hopefully there's a club that needs one.

``I work on the wharfs down in Melbourne, so I've been training by myself in the past few weeks, just keeping fit.''

Singh was the first Indian ever to be drafted by an AFL club when he was selected by Adelaide with pick 79 in the 1999 draft.

who cares i think this guy is running out of clubs, only has himself to blame

toquick
23 Jan 2008, 09:24
Singh seeking new home
Tom Biddington

Went there with his 4 mates named 2, 0, 00 and dollars but you cant forget that really good bloke that looks after him each year named per game.

I heard on the grape vine that he rang Shepp Swans and said he wanted to have a kick this year with them, he then asked how much they would pay him, Shepp Swans replied with $300 because that is their cap. Singh then said surely you can give me more then that! this bloke is the biggest mercenary getting around! He asked then if there would be any other clubs in the area who might want him. Barooga was mentioned but he said they were out of money.

rogerdoger
23 Jan 2008, 11:01
Went there with his 4 mates named 2, 0, 00 and dollars but you cant forget that really good bloke that looks after him each year named per game.

I heard on the grape vine that he rang Shepp Swans and said he wanted to have a kick this year with them, he then asked how much they would pay him, Shepp Swans replied with $300 because that is their cap. Singh then said surely you can give me more then that! this bloke is the biggest mercenary getting around! He asked then if there would be any other clubs in the area who might want him. Barooga was mentioned but he said they were out of money.
Sounds like he can play though.
Might be worth the coin if it gets you a flag??

FOOTYBOSS
23 Jan 2008, 11:15

Swans cap is $300!!! What a joke, please dont make laugh to hard.. That is the funniest thing Ive heard. The day the Swans cap is $300 is the day Shane Whitelaw finally plays seniors at Euroa!!

Also, Barooga out of money.. That will be the day.. They have to much money in their bank account and would be more than willing to spend it on Singh.

FOOTYBOSS
23 Jan 2008, 11:16

Well we all know that the Swans like spending cash while they try and get that flag. Pity is doesnt work for them..

toquick
23 Jan 2008, 11:17
You obviously dont know much about the bloke. He plays for money not success. He doesnt care about anything but the money. If he wanted to play for success he would have taken the Swans offer and played there for $300. But in saying all of this im sure there will be a club out there thats going to pay him a very healthy pay check each week.

Doona2
23 Jan 2008, 11:22
Swans cap is $300!!! What a joke, please dont make laugh to hard.. That is the funniest thing Ive heard. The day the Swans cap is $300 is the day Shane Whitelaw finally plays seniors at Euroa!!Also, Barooga out of money.. That will be the day.. They have to much money in their bank account and would be more than willing to spend it on Singh.

No disrespect to the mullet man but that is one of the best posts Ive read in ages Mac :D

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 11:23
dont mind paying for a player roger if they they can fit into a football culture this bloke has no understanding of what it takes to win a flag its purely $$$$$$ anyway if you dont pay players for finals he simply wont play anyway will be interesting to see if anyone in the GV is interested anyway

uwishuwereme
23 Jan 2008, 11:35
Swans cap is $300!!! What a joke, please dont make laugh to hard.. That is the funniest thing Ive heard. The day the Swans cap is $300 is the day Shane Whitelaw finally plays seniors at Euroa!!

Also, Barooga out of money.. That will be the day.. They have to much money in their bank account and would be more than willing to spend it on Singh.

Obviously you know alot about the swans footy club FB but the next time you see one of the swans footballers that have played there in the last 3 seasons and this up and coming one ask them how much they were payed per game to play football and i'm 100% positive you will get the same answer.

The swans do pay $200 for the top 5 every week regardless if your a recruit or 1st game player.

So if you are a recruit and you are in the top 5 best players on the day you're worth $500. if not you will get your $300.

With Singh. everything that was written about him in the above sections is true.
Swans don't want him, Barooga don't want him because of the type of player he was.
Ask a Mooroopna team mate of his what he was llike!

bradrowe#32
23 Jan 2008, 11:39
Hey brad we gunna start up our discussions about dirty again?
I would love to hear your thoughts on his ability as a coach........

I'm sure that would be exciting.

rogerdoger
23 Jan 2008, 12:30

With the previously mentioned outs at Euroa, this may be the year..:D

Duff Man
23 Jan 2008, 12:51
Singh seeking new home
Tom Biddington

This Balraj Singh must of upset alot of people around the country, But I would love him to come and play at my club . I own an Indian Restaurant called "1 big smelly Indian" and every Saturday we have all you can eat Buffet and Balraj can eat for free . He can stay with my family in our temple and I will also lend him our family elephant to get to away games

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 13:06

YZE?

uwishuwereme
23 Jan 2008, 13:25
YZE?

We'll just have to wait and see! will be announced in the next couple of days

rogerdoger
23 Jan 2008, 13:29
We'll just have to wait and see! will be announced in the next couple of days
Dont be a goose give a name!

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 13:36
Dont be a goose give a name!
Get into him Roger,

uwishuwereme
23 Jan 2008, 13:44
Get into him Roger,

I will when its definate after tonights trianing!:D

FOOTYBOSS
23 Jan 2008, 13:48
[QUOTE=uwishuwereme;9926072]

Obviously you know alot about the swans footy club FB but the next time you see one of the swans footballers that have played there in the last 3 seasons and this up and coming one ask them how much they were payed per game to play football and i'm 100% positive you will get the same answer.

The swans do pay $200 for the top 5 every week regardless if your a recruit or 1st game player.

So if you are a recruit and you are in the top 5 best players on the day you're worth $500. if not you will get your $300.

QUOTE]

They have seemed to pull the wool over your eyes too mate. If you honestly believe that, then you must not be smarter then a 5th grader. For them to pay each player $300 is so far fetched and no one here believes you. I have spoken to a few current Swans players and know they dont come cheap. They have roughly told me what they are on and its more then $300. Also a former player within that 3 year period was getting paid way more then per game, not to forget his sign on fee. So can you please speak more sense when on this site.

FOOTYBOSS
23 Jan 2008, 13:49
No disrespect to the mullet man but that is one of the best posts Ive read in ages Mac :D

Got to put some light humour on this thread Doon, as certain people take it way to serious.. Also certain other people just dribble sh it.

rogerdoger
23 Jan 2008, 13:51
Dont wait, throw it out there. You really should keep going after youve opened it(your mouth), you know!:D
Im sure that most of us just cant wait till after training. You could just tell us first, and then think how good we will think you are when it comes out for others later.
Or is it a secret?

morphous
23 Jan 2008, 13:59

The name's common knowledge uwish, I've even heard it up here and I'm not directly related to the Swans anymore.

Fretwell Park
23 Jan 2008, 14:25
Boys from Fretwell Park wish Matty Sharp all the best for season 2008 at Benalla .

cleanhands
23 Jan 2008, 14:25
come on uwish this is a big chance for you to get back some credibility

rogerdoger
23 Jan 2008, 14:29
Boys from Fretwell Park wish Matty Sharp all the best for season 2008 at Benalla .
Has he not signed at Violet Town??????????

"Roar Passion"
23 Jan 2008, 16:26
Agree with these comments, as long as the long term future of the club is affected in a positive manner, interestingly when was the last time the player in question played in a flag ?
The reports I have heard out of Balranald and the central murray league, is that he had little impact in any of the finals and spent quite a bit of time on the pine during 2007 ???

The Whip
23 Jan 2008, 17:11

Macca are you saying im a chance, i might go buy some new boots!
I admit that yes.... i do deserve a game

wheelbarrow
23 Jan 2008, 18:09
Originally Posted by FOOTYBOSS

RICKI SHINER DID :)

timmytimmywatson
23 Jan 2008, 19:58
Macca are you saying im a chance, i might go buy some new boots!
I admit that yes.... i do deserve a game

you can do it Whip, keep the dream alive and keep growing that mullett bro(you know the ladies love it!):thumbsu: