View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

HawkeEye
23 Sep 2005, 09:24
Just asking about the maher thing cos I havent notice him in the shepp news lately. I remember him tackling a seymour lions player (in which i wont mention) in 3rds that nearly killed him. The player had a fit and had to go to hospital. He is not a well liked man in seymour. Most of the guys that played against him, are still after him.

I actually watch that game and that was a fair and sensational tackle. It was just unfortunate that the player had a fit. I think his name was hutton or something like that. Dont think he played again.

And if maher does play, im sure he is not worried about getting hit. He is tough strong bloke and goes in hard.

Anyway dont think any seymour players from back then would hold a grudge as they wouldnt be playing as the only play 2's now

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 09:37
I actually watch that game and that was a fair and sensational tackle. It was just unfortunate that the player had a fit. I think his name was hutton or something like that. Dont think he played again.

And if maher does play, im sure he is not worried about getting hit. He is tough strong bloke and goes in hard.

Anyway dont think any seymour players from back then would hold a grudge as they wouldnt be playing as the only play 2's now

Not too many blokes still playing for the Lions from that side. Hutton incident was unfortunate, nothing untoward in it at all, and no one held anything against Maher, if thats who did it? Rob Inness and Jeff Anderson played in that game, and i know they haven't thought anything of it.

Hutton still plays, plays with Nagambie in the KD.

jmain14
23 Sep 2005, 10:34
Yeah mate only coming over for 9 months, oh well fair enough ill be sick of you by then anyway, ha ha ha. Get a birth as a groomsman at your sisters wedding did ya?
he he nah buddy I will be there longer than 9 months. nah no birth as a groomsman, think I am just there to get steve and I shall be known as steve for the entire week following the wedding actually.

bradrowe#32
23 Sep 2005, 10:34
The teams:

Seymour
B: R. van Reit - J.Anderson - P.King
HB: M.O'Keefe - R.Douglas - T.Hopper
C: G.Liddell - G.Pemberton - A.Reid
HF: B.Liddell - M.Thomson - M.Collins
F: B.Davey - S.Saad - P.Rattray
R: S.Schottner - L.Jackson - B.Haberman
I: S.Shaw - J.Anderson - S.Bomuch
E: M.Pilling - M.Penn - J.Amad

Euroa
B: A.Hamill - B.Shelton - S.Watson
HB: W.Scott - G.Walker - D.King
C: S.Clayton - D.Sage - D.Thomson
HF: N.Gilliard - L.Hyatt - D.Howse
F: S.Gibson - S.Grainger - C.Bamford
R: M.Jansz - M.Clayton - H.Lamaro
I: M.Mills - J.Wilson - C.O'Brien

jmain14
23 Sep 2005, 10:36
I just noticed I am beating you by one post rowey.

who do you think will win on sunday??

bradrowe#32
23 Sep 2005, 10:38
I just noticed I am beating you by one post rowey.

who do you think will win on sunday??

Ummmmm......

bradrowe#32
23 Sep 2005, 10:39
I think that Euroa will win by 13 points.

I have classes all day at uni but I'm going to skip them just to make sure I beat you.

jmain14
23 Sep 2005, 10:46

I have classes all day at uni but I'm going to skip them just to make sure I beat you.
ha ha.

Flat Track Bully
23 Sep 2005, 10:49

Dorothy won't be happy if you skip literature...

bradrowe#32
23 Sep 2005, 10:52
Dorothy won't be happy if you skip literature...

Hmmm, maybe I should go then!

FOOTYBOSS
23 Sep 2005, 12:44
The teams:

Seymour

Euroa
J.Anderson named twice for seymour I notice or is there to j.anderson's?
I see the emergencies are all the injured players, i believe 2 of them will play

bradrowe#32
23 Sep 2005, 12:49
I see the emergencies are all the injured players, i believe 2 of them will play

Jeff Anderson is full back and Jake Anderson is on the bench.

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 12:50

Jeff and Jake - Jake played bushrangers this year. Played last week on the wing and was really good.

The 3 named as emergencies are having fitness tests on Sunday, but i doubt the 3 will play, Pilling and Amad didn't train with the main group, whilst Penn was just did running. So it will be interesting to see what happens. It is a massive risk, if any of them go down in the first quarter, 2 on the bench against Euroa's fast running midfield might be too much to handle.

Anywho, should be a good game, lets hope it goes down to the wire.

Junkie
23 Sep 2005, 13:51
Does anyone have any bold predictions for Sundays game?

Im tipping Bamford to win BOG and kick 5 in a fleet footed display for the pies ;)

Also, Howse to almost decapitate Jackson late in the last quarter leaving him with no option but to drink his pi$$ after the game through a straw :eek:

Doona2
23 Sep 2005, 13:53
The teams:

Seymour

Euroa

Two more sleeps!!! The Lions wont risk all three injured blokes surely. If Pilling gets up maybe Boruch will miss out, and likewise for young Anderson if Matty Penn gets through the test. Not may are tipping Joey Amad to play, fingers crossed a miracle can occur. Would be a real shame if 2005 was to be his final year in football - has been an outstanding player over a long period of time and deserves to go out on a high.

Either way both teams will have 21 blokes capable of big things - it is going to be a ripper match with some enthralling match-ups. Lets hope the weather is kind and the Lions get up in a thriller!!!

Doona2
23 Sep 2005, 13:57
Im tipping Bamford to win BOG and kick 5 in a fleet footed display for the pies ;) Also, Howse to almost decapitate Jackson late in the last quarter leaving him with no option but to drink his pi$$ after the game through a straw :eek:

Some bold predictions there Junkie - Bamford yes lurks as danger, but as for Howse and a decapitation attempt, highly unlikely!!! What would be good is to see all those Euroa/Seymour blokes who have been going under alias' on Big Footy to come out with true identities - then we'd be a show of seeing some fireworks, perhaps in the stands!!!

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 14:14

Im tipping Bamford to win BOG and kick 5 in a fleet footed display for the pies ;)

Also, Howse to almost decapitate Jackson late in the last quarter leaving him with no option but to drink his pi$$ after the game through a straw :eek:

I wouldn't want to be howse if he does do that, especially if the game is one sided! I think we saw last time Euroa met seymour that a few Euroa boys sherked the contest. And the word is the reason Gleeson recruited Howse, is because he is the only one who would go hard at a contest. Which he does do. So if it were a contest of euroa v Seymour in a good old fashioned donny brook, i know who i would have my money on.

Grandale, you know the Euroa blokes relatively well, give us some odds on who would win the Donnybrook?

I'd say Seymour $1.10 to Euroa $2.50.

Maybe it is the only thing seymour may win on the weekend.

Not that we condone blokes getting eye gouged, hit behind the play etc. But if it happens, well, the crowd will be happy to cheer to an old fashioned punch on.

In fact, lets encourage Howse to do it. It may provide some entertainment to what is shaping up to be a one sided affair in the main attraction.

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 14:22
Two more sleeps!!! The Lions wont risk all three injured blokes surely. If Pilling gets up maybe Boruch will miss out, and likewise for young Anderson if Matty Penn gets through the test. Not may are tipping Joey Amad to play, fingers crossed a miracle can occur. Would be a real shame if 2005 was to be his final year in football - has been an outstanding player over a long period of time and deserves to go out on a high.

Either way both teams will have 21 blokes capable of big things - it is going to be a ripper match with some enthralling match-ups. Lets hope the weather is kind and the Lions get up in a thriller!!!

Thats the spirit Doona, bit of info on young Amad, with the likeliness to miss this week, it has given him the enthusiasm for one final season. Not sure if he will be able to play seniors all year though with 5 or 6 promising young blokes coming through the under 18's and reserves at Seymour.

Could be a candidate for Reserves Coach/Senior Assistant as a launching pad to a coaching career. He has been running training sessions throughout the past two years and obviously has a great footy brain.

ECHUCABOY
23 Sep 2005, 14:52
Nobody cares........

Junkie
23 Sep 2005, 15:04
I wouldn't want to be howse if he does do that, especially if the game is one sided! I think we saw last time Euroa met seymour that a few Euroa boys sherked the contest. And the word is the reason Gleeson recruited Howse, is because he is the only one who would go hard at a contest. Which he does do. So if it were a contest of euroa v Seymour in a good old fashioned donny brook, i know who i would have my money on.

Grandale, you know the Euroa blokes relatively well, give us some odds on who would win the Donnybrook?

I'd say Seymour $1.10 to Euroa $2.50.

Maybe it is the only thing seymour may win on the weekend.

Not that we condone blokes getting eye gouged, hit behind the play etc. But if it happens, well, the crowd will be happy to cheer to an old fashioned punch on.

In fact, lets encourage Howse to do it. It may provide some entertainment to what is shaping up to be a one sided affair in the main attraction.

Why is it shaping up to be a one sided affair in the main attraction? The game is yet to start and its the GF!!!! Your a joke FBP! Im sure Howse would last a full 10 rounds in a bout with any Seymour player!

The last time they met Euroa players sherked the contest, well there must have been a few more Seymour boys shirking the contest because from memory the pies got the chocolates.

FBP can you please answer this? How can a team go through a season with only one loss to their name but only have one player "who would go hard at a contest"?

Who got eye gouged? Is jackson already $hitting himself FBP?

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 15:29
Why is it shaping up to be a one sided affair in the main attraction? The game is yet to start and its the GF!!!! Your a joke FBP! Im sure Howse would last a full 10 rounds in a bout with any Seymour player!

The last time they met Euroa players sherked the contest, well there must have been a few more Seymour boys shirking the contest because from memory the pies got the chocolates.

FBP can you please answer this? How can a team go through a season with only one loss to their name but only have one player "who would go hard at a contest"?

Who got eye gouged? Is jackson already $hitting himself FBP?

I reckon Gezza Liddell would last 10 rounds in the ring with Howse!

Sherking contests doesn't always mean the difference between winning and losing, i was stating a fact that Euroa sherked a lot of contests last time Seymour played them. Thats all.

FOOTYBOSS
23 Sep 2005, 15:38

Sherking contests doesn't always mean the difference between winning and losing, i was stating a fact that Euroa sherked a lot of contests last time Seymour played them. Thats all.
Sherking issues I dont think so you fat ********... Wasnt it Euroa that went straight inot the grand final. Junkie these blokes have lost the plot I think and have no idea. To one eyed I think for these lions supporters. G. Liddell actually almost cried on the footy oval from all reports during the round 14 game as he was getting that much ******** hung on him for being a squib. jacksin better look out. He will cop his fair and hard bump at some stage for trying to over dramatise at the tribunal. there is an unwritten law in football is you dont dob people in at tribunals. there is no eye gouging players in the league as no one as been suspended for it.

YaMan
23 Sep 2005, 15:45
Im not sure either FBP.. I think YaMan smokes to much drugs the jamacian poof

Drugs are my friends. You will get something else to go with that slab of yours footyboss if you go naked.

And go easy on FBP. He is not that fat, just misunderstood

Junkie
23 Sep 2005, 15:48

Well that would be one of the very few facts you have posted FBP, and even that one is really an opinion in FACT.

Is Gezza Liddel that really ugly looking freak with the weird looking kids? Or is he one of the kids? Got bashed by the ugly tree either way :eek:

FBP, you seem to have shirked my question regarding a team being so successful with only one player going hard at the contest?

Doona2
23 Sep 2005, 15:52
Thats the spirit Doona, bit of info on young Amad, with the likeliness to miss this week, it has given him the enthusiasm for one final season. Not sure if he will be able to play seniors all year though with 5 or 6 promising young blokes coming through the under 18's and reserves at Seymour. Could be a candidate for Reserves Coach/Senior Assistant as a launching pad to a coaching career. He has been running training sessions throughout the past two years and obviously has a great footy brain.

Ripper . . . yeah I believe the bit about the footy brain - have a relo who played at Northcote Park 20 year ago who still follows them and says the same thing - would make a great coach one day.

HawkeEye
23 Sep 2005, 16:15
Well that would be one of the very few facts you have posted FBP, and even that one is really an opinion in FACT.

Is Gezza Liddel that really ugly looking freak with the weird looking kids? Or is he one of the kids? Got bashed by the ugly tree either way :eek:

FBP, you seem to have shirked my question regarding a team being so successful with only one player going hard at the contest?

G.Liddel and P.Ratray both from Seymour are definately the two most ugliest people in the world.

Ugliest players, no. 4 and no. 27 (http://seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/extra.asp?id=4269&OrgID=702)

I hope this web address worked, if not just go to http://seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/extra.asp?id=4269&OrgID=702

jmain14
23 Sep 2005, 16:15
c0 ck, d! ck, balls.

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 16:21

Euroa obviously don't play scrappy footy. Probably explain why they finished on top and have a full forward nearing 100 goals.

Euroa are a very fit, hard running side. They have howse and sage who are the in and under players in the guts.

I have only seen a couple of Euroa matches, they are a good unit, deserve to be favourites, on top. Probably deserve the flag.

ANT JESS
23 Sep 2005, 16:25
c0 ck, d! ck, balls.

Right o frank I've made the point, no need to exercise it!

jmain14
23 Sep 2005, 16:28
Right o frank I've made the point, no need to exercise it!
damn it!! wait... what does that mean??

HawkeEye
23 Sep 2005, 16:37
Euroa obviously don't play scrappy footy. Probably explain why they finished on top and have a full forward nearing 100 goals.

Euroa are a very fit, hard running side. They have howse and sage who are the in and under players in the guts.

I have only seen a couple of Euroa matches, they are a good unit, deserve to be favourites, on top. Probably deserve the flag.

Very good forward line for Euroa,

1. GRAINGER, Scott 96
2. BAMFORD, Craig 59
3. JANSZ, Mark 31
4. HYATT, Luke 29
5. GILLILAND, Nathan 21
6. GIBSON, Shannon 18
7. CLAYTON, Shane 17
8. LAMARO, Hayden 16
9. WATSON, Scott 13
10. KING, David 12

It will be very hard to stop a foward line of bamford, grainger, hyatt, gilliland and then you have the onball brigade who can go down forward and slot a through home. The likes of Lamaro, M. and S. Clayton, Howse, Gibson and Sage.

Oh dear if its a nice dry day they will kick easily over 20 goals and I don't think Seymour can match that.

Then the Euroa defence of Shelton, Hamill, King, Harper, Walker who can stop the goals and Thomson to hold Saad.

Biggest match up is definately Schottner v's Jansz. That will be a great duel.

One last prediction is that G. Liddel will ******** his pants during the game and then go crying when he walks off the field. That is what I want to see.

FOOTYBOSS
23 Sep 2005, 16:50

Bloody hell fat ******** you are quick to jump on the back foot and try and pump up euroas tyres. euroa have just gone about there business all year and done nothing special and everyone has been waiting for euroa to fall.

YaMan what is it im actually going to get with my slab when i run nude. I would like to know.

Doona2
23 Sep 2005, 16:59
One last prediction is that G. Liddel will ******** his pants during the game and then go crying when he walks off the field. That is what I want to see.

If there's no emotion in finals football then blokes are involved for the wrong reasons. Maybe as this whole thread has regularly focussed on, it may just be about the $$$ to many of the men involved on Sunday - although surely blokes aren't paid for Grand Final appearances.

Im a non biased footy fan Hawkeye, and I wouldn't say H. Lamaro is the bravest bloke to ever pull on a Magpie Jumper, but that dont mean he aint a great player. I would be disappointed if I didn't see a tear or two come out of whichever huddle loses on Sunday - it's human nature to show you're disappointment after a long campaign finishes marginally short of expectations.

I'm man enough to admit there were a few tears present when Yea surprised Rumba a fortnight ago, purely out of relief, satisfaction and the fact that our football season started pre-Xmas - by September it had been an emotionally draining year for many players and coaches.

FOOTYBOSS
23 Sep 2005, 17:03
If there's no emotion in finals football then blokes are involved for the wrong reasons. Maybe as this whole thread has regularly focussed on, it may just be about the $$$ to many of the men involved on Sunday - although surely blokes aren't paid for Grand Final appearances.

Im a non biased footy fan Hawkeye, and I wouldn't say H. Lamaro is the bravest bloke to ever pull on a Magpie Jumper, but that dont mean he aint a great player. I would be disappointed if I didn't see a tear or two come out of whichever huddle loses on Sunday - it's human nature to show you're disappointment after a long campaign finishes marginally short of expectations.

I'm man enough to admit Id be lying to say there wasn't a few tears present when Yea surprised Rumba a fortnight ago, purely out of relief, satisfaction and the fact that our football season started pre-Xmas - by September it had been an emotionally draining year for many players and coaches.
Doona I dont think any club pays for finals, well I know euroa dont and if other teams do well they better pay bigger next time as they arent in the grand final.

fat back pocket
23 Sep 2005, 17:07
G.Liddel and P.Ratray both from Seymour are definately the two most ugliest people in the world.

Ugliest players, no. 4 and no. 27 (http://seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/extra.asp?id=4269&OrgID=702)

I hope this web address worked, if not just go to http://seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/extra.asp?id=4269&OrgID=702

There was actually an "ugliest footballer" thread where those two featured prominantly.

Patty wasn't blessed with good looks, but lets hope he is blessed with playing big game footy. He has played some good games against Euroa this year.

Anyway, good luck to both sides. Very big day for both clubs, so lets hope its a close game with the best side on the day to get up.

ECHUCABOY
23 Sep 2005, 17:27
lets hope ur fat a rse gets kicked

Junkie
23 Sep 2005, 18:14

Once more the best you can come up with is absolute dribble. Answer the questions at hand you knob jockey and stop diverting it to things which are blatantly obvious..

Junkie
23 Sep 2005, 18:23
c0 ck, d! ck, balls.

Terretes on a keyboard Mainy? Could be a world first!!!

Doona,
I thought your comments on emotion in footy is spot on! I remember one day in juniors we upset a team that had smashed us both physically and on the scoreboard all year but we stitched them in the Granny and even though we won, it brought me to tears...

FBP, I need to know how a team can only lose one game all year with only one player going hard at the contest??

bradrowe#32
24 Sep 2005, 01:31
Luke Jackson is still a squib.

That's all.

Who's the bear?
24 Sep 2005, 02:07
there is no eye gouging players in the league as no one as been suspended for it.

If a tree falls in the forest with nobody there to hear it, does it still make a sound?

Pav1
24 Sep 2005, 19:09
If a tree falls in the forest with nobody there to hear it, does it still make a sound?

ummm cool

Pav1
24 Sep 2005, 19:10
ummm cool

yes

i think we all want to see gerard liddell cry, we all know his mum does

Samtrish
25 Sep 2005, 19:46
yes

i think we all want to see gerard liddell cry, we all know his mum does

Pav1 He is now crying with pains of laughterSeymour have won the flag. Oh how I feel for Euroa SURRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Flat Track Bully
25 Sep 2005, 19:51
GOULBURN VALLEY FOOTBALL LEAGUE

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > ONE STEEL SENIORS
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:
FIRSTNAME SURNAME CLUB THIS GAME GOALS
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ricky Symes Benalla 113
Saad Saad Seymour 3 99
Scott Grainger Euroa 1 97
David Mensch Mansfield 94
Matt Forys Shepparton Unit 69
Balraj Singh Mooroopna 63
Craig Bamford Euroa 2 61
Anthony Mellington Shepparton 57
Paul Newman Kyabram 53
Anthony McPhee Rochester 52

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: EUROA v. SEYMOUR

Seymour 1.3, 4.7, 6.9,10.13 (73)
Euroa 3.2, 4.5, 8.6, 9.8 (62)

GOALS, SEYMOUR:
PATRICK RATTRAY 3, SAAD SAAD 3, MATTHEW O'KEEFE 2, BRENDAN LIDDELL 1, GERARD LIDDELL 1
EUROA :
CRAIG BAMFORD 2, DANIEL SAGE 2, SCOTT WATSON 1, NATHAN GILLILAND 1, SCOTT GRAINGER 1, LUKE HYATT 1, DAVID KING 1
BEST, SEYMOUR:
SHANE SCHOTTNER, ROBERT DOUGLAS, RODNEY VAN RIET, BERNARD HABERMAN, BRENDAN LIDDELL, PATRICK RATTRAY
EUROA :
SHANE CLAYTON, DANIEL SAGE, ADRIAN HAMILL, SCOTT WATSON, LUKE HYATT, DANIEL THOMSON

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > RESERVES
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:
Tim Maher Euroa 75
Mathew Burgess Shepparton 2 69
Blair Suffolk Echuca 54
Nick Papinicolou Seymour 40
Jason Looby Mansfield 35
Jack Rolfe Echuca 35
Peter Ralph Shepparton Unit 31
Nicholas Lane Seymour 28
Steven Cail Kyabram 27
Shane Weatherley Shepparton Unit 27

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: SHEPPARTON v. BENALLA

Shepparton 1.1, 4.3, 8.5, 13.8 (86)
Benalla 1.3, 3.6, 4.8, 7.9 (51)

GOALS, SHEPPARTON :
MARC HARROP 3, CHRISTOPHER BELL 3, MATHEW BURGESS 2, CLINT DUDGEON 1, GLENN ARCHER 1, GARY HOLLAND 1, NICHOLAS MADDISON 1, BRENDAN MORRIS 1
BENALLA:
SAMUEL LITTLE 2, BRETT POLLARD 1, CAMERON SYMES 1, PETER SYMES 1, MICHAEL WRIGHT 1, DAVID KEEN 1
BEST, SHEPPARTON :
BRENDAN MORRIS, SHANE BENSCH, CLINT DUDGEON, MARC HARROP, CHRISTOPHER COLLINS, MARK O'HALLORAN
BENALLA:
BRETT POLLARD, MICHAEL WRIGHT, GLEN VALLENDER, JAMES ROCKLIFF, ANTHONY EVANS, ANTHONY SYMES

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > UNDER 18
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:
Adrian Meka Shepparton Unit 64
Braden McIntyre Shepparton 2 63
Thomas ROCKLIFF Benalla 63
Jason Limbrick Shepparton 2 54
Fatmir Besim Kyabram 2 49
Martin McKenzie Rochester 45
Matthew Letcher Rochester 43
Thomas Pryde Kyabram 1 42
Jared Brennan Benalla 39
Matt Chapman Shepparton 4 35

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: KYABRAM v. SHEPPARTON

Shepparton 2.6, 5.11,12.18,16.21 (117)
Kyabram 1.2, 3.3, 5.4, 6.5 (41)

GOALS, SHEPPARTON:
MATT CHAPMAN 4, LUKE SOFI 4, JASON LIMBRICK 2, BRADEN MCINTYRE 2, CHRISTOPHER CULLINAN 1, ROWAN HISCOCK 1, BENJAMIN KELLY 1, PAUL KENELLY 1
KYABRAM:
FATMIR BESIM 2, BERNARD WEARDEN 2, JASON BRUN 1, THOMAS PRYDE 1
BEST, SHEPPARTON:
MATTHEW BEKKER, MATTHEW J KELLY, DANIEL MCINTYRE, ROWAN HISCOCK, MATT CHAPMAN, LUKE SOFI
KYABRAM:
BRETT SCARCELLA, STEVEN THOMSON, THOMAS PRYDE, KANE HOWARD, BERNARD WEARDEN, DANIEL SHAW

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > A GRADE NETBALL
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: SHEPPARTON UNITED FC v. SHEPPARTON SWANS FC

Shepparton United FC 0.38 (38)
Shepparton Swans FC 0.37 (37)

GOALS, SHEPPARTON UNITED FC :
Not recorded
SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded
BEST, SHEPPARTON UNITED FC :
Not recorded
SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > B GRADE NETBALL
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: SHEPPARTON UNITED FC v. SHEPPARTON SWANS FC

Shepparton United FC 0.45 (45)
Shepparton Swans FC 0.15 (15)

Not recorded
SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded
SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > B RESERVE NETBALL
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: SHEPPARTON UNITED FC v. SHEPPARTON FC

Shepparton United FC 0.36 (36)
Shepparton FC 0.25 (25)

Not recorded
SHEPPARTON FC :
Not recorded
SHEPPARTON FC :
Not recorded

RESULTS FOR GOULBURN VALLEY FL > 17 & UNDER NETBALL
FINALS - 3/9/2005

TOP TEN GOAL KICKERS:

GAME RESULTS:

GRAND FINAL: ECHUCA FC v. SHEPPARTON SWANS FC

Shepparton Swans FC 0.50 (50)
Echuca FC 0.49 (49)

GOALS, SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded
ECHUCA FC :
Not recorded
BEST, SHEPPARTON SWANS FC :
Not recorded
ECHUCA FC :
Not recorded

Samtrish
25 Sep 2005, 19:55
Good calling Flat Track Bully what about SAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDSSSSSS MARk

Doona2
25 Sep 2005, 21:43
yes i think we all want to see gerard liddell cry, we all know his mum does

Nothing wrong with Little Gezza, cry as much as you like buddy.

What a spirited performance by the Lions, they seemed gone a couple of times as Sage and Clayton showed their brilliance, but when the game was there to be won the Maggies went missing and Seymour stepped up when it mattered most.

Schottner was superb, Chipper Douglas solid across half back, and the gamble of playing both Penn and Pilling paid off. Penn had some valuable touches and Pilling's 2nd half very very good. Mick Thomson marked well early, and Joffa's job on Grainger was first class.

Anyone know what happened to Lamaro? Went off midway thru the first term and dont think he returned, and after burning in the first half, was surprised to see Gilliland on the pine for so long, was he injured also?

Thought Sage was better than Clayton (Cox Medal), but I guess they were the games two standouts, as Seymour's was a truly even team effort - as unfortunately for Euroa not enough contributors, skipper Watson was good. Thought Howse was meant to throw it around a bit, and Grainger's value on the footy marker will lessen after not looking like it.

Would've loved to have seen Benny Davey get more ground time, but he now is a dual premiership hero - and what a performance by the skipper, Schotty had it over Janz from the first bounce.

Saad's first mark was a ripper, his 2nd quality, and Kingy's effort was a fair hanger also . . . . great work Lions, and the big news from president Paul Cox is coach Stevie D is sticking around for the premiership defence in '06.

footyman
25 Sep 2005, 23:13
My first trip to the GVFL Grand Final, had a great day. Terrific standard of footy and a hard fought and exciting match til the end.

My stat for the day was 14 goals got kicked to one end and only 5 to the other, so with Seymour having the scoring end in the last qtr perhaps thats more the point rather than fitness. A few of Euroa's kicks at goal in the early part of the last term really held up and just fell short.

I don't know much about the players but I agree with the comment someone made about Schottner, his tapwork was magnificent especially in the last qtr. He was clearly winning the hit outs. Saad Saad - what a cult following he has, but his first qtr mark was as good as you'd see and he took another one in the last qtr. Two pretty crucial goals, the last coming from him crumbing instead of flying for a change. I think also the other brilliant mark was in the second term Peter King for Seymour across half back.

Shane Clayton had a field day, perhaps cos I knew who he was I noticed him a bit more but I'd say he racked up close to 35 touches. Sage was also busy and Thomson wore Saad like a glove for most of the day but Saad got away a little at the end with those two goals and I think they were still opponents then.

Very good day of footy, for some of the locals what sort of crowd was there today?

bradrowe#32
26 Sep 2005, 00:29
Good work Doona and Footyman.

Here's some thoughts I had:

* Saad's 1Q mark was sensational. It was incredible how high he got.
* The standard of the game was excellent. There were lots of good marks and very good field skills.
* Scott Watson's move to the forward line was an excellent move as he provided a very good marking target there. His forward pressure was good.
* Euroa's 3Q dominance can be put down to their work in the middle. Schottner beat Jansz all day, but the Pies midfield was great then.
* Saad had an interesting day. I thought Tomson was very good on him for the majority of the game. However, he was threatening all day long. His snap in the 4Q was brilliant. His 3rd goal was due to a terribly umpiring decision. The ball came in long, Saad blatently threw his opponent out of the way, marked and then goaled to put them ahead. At that stage there was 4 minutes left, but Gerard Liddell put the icing on the cake about 20 seconds later.
* Generally, I thought the umpiring was good. There were a few either way, but I thought they controlled the game well. That Saad decision was pretty ordinary IMO.
* Players from Euroa that impressed me:
- Luke Hyatt: very competitive and loves the contest. Thought he presented well.
- Daniel Thomson: had a terrific duel with Saad and can hold his head high.
- Scott Watson: the veteran was a solid contibutor all day.
- Shane Clayton: thought he was sensational.
- Daniel Sage: played very well. very tough and hard at it.
- David King: booming long kick and loves a run. broke the lines well.
* Players from Seymour that impressed me:
- Gerard Liddell: there isn't much of him but he has a dip and is quite creative
- Jeff Anderson: played very well on Grainger
- Saad Saad: always dangerous. won the game off his boot in the end
- Patty Rattry: didn't know much about him before today, but I thought he was very impressive. He's a good size and has great skills. A lot of potential.
- Mark Pilling: coming in under an injury cloud, but played well down back before going forward late. Always made a contest and has good hands. Also showed his class when he went over to the Euroa boys at the end instead of being in the massive huddle.
* Grainger was pretty quiet and I think Lamaro got injured early. Mark Clayton didn't look right to me.
* I heard the gate was $61,000 and they were still counting. Obviously that figure is inflated over previous years due to the $15/$10 cover charge.

David Votoupal
26 Sep 2005, 01:50
According to: http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/25/1127586746832.html it was close 15,000, just as the Ovens & Murray was. Would have to be a new record, surely?

Flat Track Bully
26 Sep 2005, 08:28
According to: http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2005/09/25/1127586746832.html it was close 15,000, just as the Ovens & Murray was. Would have to be a new record, surely?

The only way there would have been 15.000 there is if they were counting all the residents within a 500 metre radius of the ground. Deakin struggles to hold 10 thousand according to my reliable source.

Grandale
26 Sep 2005, 10:36
Righto boys, this is how it is. My voice is shot and I'm feeling a tad seedy. But that isn't gunna stop me popping by Con Papanicouloau's fish and chippery, grabbing a piece of flake and four dimmies and then hooking back into it.
Some crazy times ahead in old Seymour town this week.
See yas at the Railway!!!

jmain14
26 Sep 2005, 11:29
Terretes on a keyboard Mainy? Could be a world first!!!
yeah I didn't have much to contribute in regards to the gv granny so that was the best I could come up with.

congrats to seymour, and bad luck to euroa.

jmain14
26 Sep 2005, 11:30
Good work Doona and Footyman.

Here's some thoughts I had:

* Saad's 1Q mark was sensational. It was incredible how high he got.
* The standard of the game was excellent. There were lots of good marks and very good field skills.
* Scott Watson's move to the forward line was an excellent move as he provided a very good marking target there. His forward pressure was good.
* Euroa's 3Q dominance can be put down to their work in the middle. Schottner beat Jansz all day, but the Pies midfield was great then.
* Saad had an interesting day. I thought Tomson was very good on him for the majority of the game. However, he was threatening all day long. His snap in the 4Q was brilliant. His 3rd goal was due to a terribly umpiring decision. The ball came in long, Saad blatently threw his opponent out of the way, marked and then goaled to put them ahead. At that stage there was 4 minutes left, but Gerard Liddell put the icing on the cake about 20 seconds later.
* Generally, I thought the umpiring was good. There were a few either way, but I thought they controlled the game well. That Saad decision was pretty ordinary IMO.
* Players from Euroa that impressed me:
- Luke Hyatt: very competitive and loves the contest. Thought he presented well.
- Daniel Thomson: had a terrific duel with Saad and can hold his head high.
- Scott Watson: the veteran was a solid contibutor all day.
- Shane Clayton: thought he was sensational.
- Daniel Sage: played very well. very tough and hard at it.
- David King: booming long kick and loves a run. broke the lines well.
* Players from Seymour that impressed me:
- Gerard Liddell: there isn't much of him but he has a dip and is quite creative
- Jeff Anderson: played very well on Grainger
- Saad Saad: always dangerous. won the game off his boot in the end
- Patty Rattry: didn't know much about him before today, but I thought he was very impressive. He's a good size and has great skills. A lot of potential.
- Mark Pilling: coming in under an injury cloud, but played well down back before going forward late. Always made a contest and has good hands. Also showed his class when he went over to the Euroa boys at the end instead of being in the massive huddle.
* Grainger was pretty quiet and I think Lamaro got injured early. Mark Clayton didn't look right to me.
* I heard the gate was $61,000 and they were still counting. Obviously that figure is inflated over previous years due to the $15/$10 cover charge.
excellent summation rowey. that was pretty much what I thought. it shows just why your opinion is so highly respected on here.

GV Middle Man
26 Sep 2005, 13:11
Good win by the Lions, one of the best GV matches ever. 16 points down with 12 mins to go and to get up. Incredible.

Rumour has it that seymour footy club president was caught car surfing down the main street of Seymour with the Premiership Cup firmly held above his head. Classic.

Saad's hanger was massive. So very very high.

Loved seeing the Shepp under 18 boys get behind young Saad in the final quarter, he was coping a fair shalacking from the Euroa fans, and the Shepp boys, who obviously loving him for his massive hangers, went into the Seymour rooms after the match chanting Saaaaaaaaaadddddyyyy Saaaaaaaaddddyyyy, great effort by those blokes, who would have thought hey.

What the hell happened to Lamaro? Went off in the first quarter with a serious unknown injury. Must have been bad if he had to miss the best part of the whole game. Doesn't Euroa have any decent doctors that can juice him up and get him back out there.

I think Euroa butchery should be ordering in 18 hearts, because when the going got tough, only watson, sage and clayton got a touch, the rest didn't show any heart at all!! So much for Howse being the "toughest man alive".

Blitz Train
26 Sep 2005, 15:10
I saw Hayden Lamaro take his jumper off after the game yesterday and he's belly was definitely yellow.
There was also no sign of a spine.
What a sook, it's a Grand Final.

Doona2
26 Sep 2005, 15:44
Im tipping Bamford to win BOG and kick 5 in a fleet footed display for the pies ;) Also, Howse to almost decapitate Jackson late in the last quarter leaving him with no option but to drink his pi$$ after the game through a straw :eek:

Couldnt be further off the mark there Junkie - Bamford didnt have any real influence, and as for Howse - christ after all this hype was so looking forward to see him dish it out, but you gotta near a contest to at least be a show. Bad luck for Euroa, 16 points up with 10 minutes to go. From a spectator perspective it was an amazing game of pressure, tough contests, with some skillful highlights thrown in.

tige19
26 Sep 2005, 15:47
Went to the GF with young Footyman and was real impressed with the game and the standard. By far the best game of footy i have seen all year with players like Gilliand,Saad,Collins,Clayton and Sage all playing well it was well worth the trip up.

Though Euroa where in control for 100mins of the game but Seymour just keept there noses in it ujntil they decided to really put the pedol down and take the points.

Thought Saad was beaten all day by Thomson but just got away a few times with a hanger or 2 and some good roving, almost nothing Thomson could do in all 3 of Saads goals.

Janz looks like Tarzan and plays like Jane, reminds me of the ruckman from Greenvale who looks a million bucks but just doesnt go when needed. Sage was great and i thought even though Collins did very little, his influence to talk to his teamates and intimidate some of the Euroa boys was first class, very underated game by the former Melbourne Back pocket dynamo.

Was anyone else listening to the radio on the way home when the presentors went through Seymours list and basically said who they thought where staying and going??? was very interesting. Basically the boys on the radio said that Joey Amad is coaching Northcote Park and that it was common knowledge around Seymour, also said that Saad has a question mark hanging over his head, i think they where the main 2 that look like moving on, if so Saad will be huge but Joey should be able to be covered without to many dramas.

Great spectacle, and if there wasnt close to 15k there yesterday ill jump off the Westgate because the place was jammed packed, Footyman actually said that it was almost 100% the same as when the Doggies went up to NT to play Port last year, he actually went to the game and think the crowd was identical. 15k i think was the crowd of the Doggies game up there.

cheers

Samtrish
26 Sep 2005, 20:10
What has happened to the Fat Back Pocket no posts since Seymours win. Please don't tell me he was bashed at the Granny for his posts on the forum or has he been to drunk to operate his computer. I have been waiting for his posts as I think many on this forum have a lot to be scared of with his wit. Come on you Euroa & Rochy guys fire back or are you like most mens wife and cannot say you where WRONG

woody8
26 Sep 2005, 22:38
I saw Hayden Lamaro take his jumper off after the game yesterday and he's belly was definitely yellow.
There was also no sign of a spine.
What a sook, it's a Grand Final.
weak as ******** lamaro all mouth IS THE SOFTEST PLAYER IN THE COMP pea heart.

woody8
26 Sep 2005, 22:39
Its Funny How Nobody Tipped Seymour. Euroa No Heart.

jmain14
27 Sep 2005, 10:47
Come on you Euroa & Rochy guys fire back or are you like most mens wife and cannot say you where WRONG
from a rochy perspective I can't really see where you are coming from there samtrish. I never said that seymour couldn't win the flag. all I was getting into fbp about was that they had plenty of paid melbourne players in their side which I think he agreed with. never said that these players were no good and that they couldn't take out the p'ship. good luck to the lions - their spending has now paid off.

for rochy to be a serious contender next year perhaps we need to go along the same lines as seymour, euroa and mansfield.

Travvy43
27 Sep 2005, 11:12
Was in Qld over the weekend but after reading posts on here i have received a great wrap of the game. Everyone i have talked to about the game talked about the mark from Saad. He is a freak.

By the sounds of it, the game was a bit like the AFL granny, the swans won it with an even team effort and like WC (Judd, Wirripuda (spelling), cousins), euroa had a couple of standouts (clayton, Sage) but the rest went missing.

Congrats to the lions.

Grandale
27 Sep 2005, 11:41
What has happened to the Fat Back Pocket no posts since Seymours win. Please don't tell me he was bashed at the Granny for his posts on the forum or has he been to drunk to operate his computer. I have been waiting for his posts as I think many on this forum have a lot to be scared of with his wit. Come on you Euroa & Rochy guys fire back or are you like most mens wife and cannot say you where WRONG

Don't worry, Samtrish, the man otherwise known as Fat Back Pocket has been contributing. Word sweeping Seymour yesterday was that he has developed a new alias (not Flat Track Bully).
But back to what we're all worried about: THE CELEBRATIONS.
A massive day it was. After my trip to the Papa's fish and chippery I journeyed on down to the Railway/Terminus where it was on for the next 12 hours.
Some highlights from the day:
* The replay of the game. Saad's mark gets better every time you see it.
* Jeff Anderson's quote on how it felt to play his 100th game in a winning grand final side. ``It's a bit like having your birthday on Christmas Day,'' he said.
* The text message banter between Joey Amad and Mark Jansz. Hilarious stuff. Starting with Joey asking Janszy if he was there on Sunday coz he didn't notice him. Jansz then asked Amad how it felt not to be a part of it and suggested maybe it was time he retired, mixed in with quite a few profanities. Joey then remarked to Jansz about how that was the most aggressive he's been all weekend and Euroa could have done with some of that on Sunday. Points to Amad I think.
* The photo of players and supporters taken on the balcony at the Term. If you look closely enough you'll see a guy waving a black Grandale cap.
* The appearance of a couple of Euroa stalwarts late in the day. Paul and Mark Mills popped in on their way back to Melbourne. Fortunately both boys are great fellas and are pretty well liked by the Seymour lads as we know them from junior footy so there was no trouble. Might have been a different story if MJ was with them given the banter that went on between him and Joey earlier in the day.
Anyway, there's more celebrating to be done, so it's off to Papa's I go before popping in at the Westpac and then back to the term.
See ya there!

Grandale
27 Sep 2005, 11:43
from a rochy perspective I can't really see where you are coming from there samtrish. I never said that seymour couldn't win the flag. all I was getting into fbp about was that they had plenty of paid melbourne players in their side which I think he agreed with. never said that these players were no good and that they couldn't take out the p'ship. good luck to the lions - their spending has now paid off.

for rochy to be a serious contender next year perhaps we need to go along the same lines as seymour, euroa and mansfield.

Hey Mainy, why's it a crime for Seymour to pay players to ensure they're competitive but it's okay for mobs like Shepp and Tat, who have been trying to buy flags for years, to do so?

jmain14
27 Sep 2005, 12:26
Hey Mainy, why's it a crime for Seymour to pay players to ensure they're competitive but it's okay for mobs like Shepp and Tat, who have been trying to buy flags for years, to do so?
it is not a crime - good luck to them. I think my posts are getting misread a little.

Doona2
27 Sep 2005, 13:05
Don't worry, Samtrish, the man otherwise known as Fat Back Pocket has been contributing. Word sweeping Seymour yesterday was that he has developed a new alias (not Flat Track Bully). See ya there!

Woody8 seems to have appeared recently!!!

Junkie
27 Sep 2005, 13:28
Couldnt be further off the mark there Junkie - Bamford didnt have any real influence, and as for Howse - christ after all this hype was so looking forward to see him dish it out, but you gotta near a contest to at least be a show. Bad luck for Euroa, 16 points up with 10 minutes to go. From a spectator perspective it was an amazing game of pressure, tough contests, with some skillful highlights thrown in.

Well Doona I guess thats why it was a bold prediction!! Was looking good early too according to an article I read with the classy Bamford kicking a few early and looking the goods. So there were no real fireworks in the boxing department Doona? I wasn't able to attend the game due to my current geographical position but from all reports a great game/advertisment for GV footy.

Can anyone clarify what actually happened to Lamaro and if he returned to the field?

Well done to Seymour, obviously too good when it counted the most.

Samtrish
27 Sep 2005, 13:39
Woody8 seems to have appeared recently!!!

I asummed that to but also have a look at the posts for GV Middle Man only recently joined or do you have the Inside Football information like Grandale the fish & chip king

Doona2
27 Sep 2005, 15:25
I asummed that to but also have a look at the posts for GV Middle Man only recently joined or do you have the Inside Football information like Grandale the fish & chip king

Sorry Sammy have no mail as to the new FBP's identity.

Doona2
27 Sep 2005, 15:27
Well Doona I guess thats why it was a bold prediction!! Was looking good early too according to an article I read with the classy Bamford kicking a few early and looking the goods. So there were no real fireworks in the boxing department Doona? I wasn't able to attend the game due to my current geographical position but from all reports a great game/advertisment for GV footy.

Can anyone clarify what actually happened to Lamaro and if he returned to the field?

Well done to Seymour, obviously too good when it counted the most.

No real fireworks, a few push and shoves. Great game of pressure football to watch, with an atmosphere to match. The lamaro thing had us all baffled.

He took a mark midway thru the first term, received a tummy tap from matty collins then ran straight to the bench never to be seen again.
Word has it he did a calf - for christ sakes it was grand final day, surely a jab coulda got him thru the rest of day with 6 months to recover.

Junkie
27 Sep 2005, 15:42
No real fireworks, a few push and shoves. Great game of pressure football to watch, with an atmospher to match. The lamaro thing had us all baffled. He took a mark midway thru the first term, received a tummy tap from matty collins then ran straight to the bench never to be seen again. Word has it he did a calf - for christ sakes it was grand final day, surely a jb coulda got him thru

It sounds very odd. Surely he could have even sat in a FP or something because Seymour would still have needed to put a talented player on him. Maybe his calf was absolutely faaarked....I Dunno..

GV Middle Man
27 Sep 2005, 20:54
Lamaro - soft, i think my icecream from mcdonalds on the way home had more heart. i think i heard it beat, or that may have been my head after i was pumping celebrating a massive win for the mighty lions.

just a little cheerio to dave williams, great to see mark pilling out on the park and play an impressive game after the dirty man williams said "your finals campaign is over" after the lion scraped home by 50 points!!!!! in the elimination final.

sounds good mainy, you should go buy some players. i reckon you should get jmac back. port fairy don't want him, and i think he would fit right back in with williams, obviously both are the biggest tools in footy, australia wide!

Travvy43
28 Sep 2005, 10:23
just a little cheerio to dave williams, great to see mark pilling out on the park and play an impressive game after the dirty man williams said "your finals campaign is over" after the lion scraped home by 50 points!!!!! in the elimination final.

.....obviously the biggest tools in footy, australia wide!

bit rough of dirty to say what he did to pilling, but also a bit harsh to say he is in the same category as Jmac as the biggest tools in footy.

Dirty puts everything into that club, we played them in a praccy match one year, he was runner for the thirds, umpired the seconds and then coachied the seniors. He was runner for the thirds all year too which is just a fantastic effort.

jmain14
28 Sep 2005, 12:50
bit rough of dirty to say what he did to pilling, but also a bit harsh to say he is in the same category as Jmac as the biggest tools in footy.

Dirty puts everything into that club, we played them in a praccy match one year, he was runner for the thirds, umpired the seconds and then coachied the seniors. He was runner for the thirds all year too which is just a fantastic effort.
good call travvy. I don't think I will bother rebutting to gvmm however I would be interested to know a little on his footy background and see how it compares to dirty's.

FOOTYBOSS
28 Sep 2005, 14:33
It sounds very odd. Surely he could have even sat in a FP or something because Seymour would still have needed to put a talented player on him. Maybe his calf was absolutely faaarked....I Dunno..
Yep his calf was torn completly. Unfortunately for euroa as they lacked his drive and skill he has.

Travvy43
29 Sep 2005, 11:04
Disappointing for Lamarao.

Any news on departures from the lions/ maggies in the wake of GF day. A lot circulating about Saad being on the move, amad too, schotty.

Grandale
29 Sep 2005, 11:09
Disappointing for Lamarao.

Any news on departures from the lions/ maggies in the wake of GF day. A lot circulating about Saad being on the move, amad too, schotty.

The Lions are waiting for Saad to land so they can start negotiations!

ANT JESS
29 Sep 2005, 14:40
We'll that it for another year, Well done to all you lions out there! Just wondering if anyone who went to the GF knows weather the 2006 GVFL draw was posted in the weekender? I've got a feeling in usually is, but not sure? I got on their web site, and it wasn't on there but that wasn't a real surprise. I'm sure anyone who has logged onto the site will know what I mean there.

Travvy43
29 Sep 2005, 14:51
We'll that it for another year, Well done to all you lions out there! Just wondering if anyone who went to the GF knows weather the 2006 GVFL draw was posted in the weekender? I've got a feeling in usually is, but not sure? I got on their web site, and it wasn't on there but that wasn't a real surprise. I'm sure anyone who has logged onto the site will know what I mean there.

spot on with the poor GVFL site. when comparing it to the O&M and Geelong FL, it is like comparing a rolls royce to a Datsun 1200b up on blocks.

They are though int he process of developing a new site, that was at the start of the season though.

jmain14
29 Sep 2005, 14:56
spot on with the poor GVFL site. when comparing it to the O&M and Geelong FL, it is like comparing a rolls royce to a Datsun 1200b up on blocks.

They are though int he process of developing a new site, that was at the start of the season though.
yeah what is that dude that they employed to assist eric bott doing at gv headquarters?? my understanding was that he was to get the site up to scratch amongst other things. he is obviously doing about as much as I do here which ain't that much.

CHINUP
29 Sep 2005, 16:07
Well Im finally on the up after 2 weeks of drowning the sorrows after defeats....always next year.... must admit the winner on Sunday wasnt Seymour it was the GV..... was a great spectical that had every thing
# hangers
# tight contest
# High skills
# a bit of biff
# Great Crowd

Everything..............pity about the result....but as far a my aching head is concerned the winner was Football

over and out for 2005

Sidey_87
29 Sep 2005, 16:18
Does anyone think united will be a chance for premiers next season?
Who may they pick up?

jmain14
29 Sep 2005, 16:21
Who may they pick up?
at this point in time I'd say no but I guess their chances hinge on the answer to the second question you asked. if they pick up a few quality players they could be thereabouts but they would need to be quality. it seems they just weren't able to match it with the top sides this year.

Guinea
29 Sep 2005, 16:28
Who may they pick up?

Not sure who they might pick up, but they'd want to start making a few enquiries!! Especially if it's true that Hazelman is heading back to Belconnen. If he left, you'd expect Forys and his brother to go back with him. 3 huge losses. I've also heard that Daniel Godsmark has been linked with Tatura and Emmanueli will no doubt get poached by Ardmona (though I suppose those 2 won't be substantial losses). Not sure if they'd be prepared to pay the huge money that they would need to apparently get Sidebottom from Tally. There's no doubt that the guy has some skills and some talent and had a good one in the GF, but given that the guy has hardly played any GV and has probably learned some bad habits at KDFL level, he'd hardly be worth paying a fortune for. I haven't heard of anyone else being linked to go there. So at this stage they'd need a big summer of recruiting just to be a shot at making finals..flag seems a long way off.

Sidey_87
29 Sep 2005, 16:45
The Hazelman's are staying, Steve is the new coach.
They have a few young players that have played a few games this year out of 3rds. Ash Round, Michael Barlow, Mitch Sidebottom, Gerard Bence, but they won't make a huge impact in their 1st senior season.

Doona2
29 Sep 2005, 17:09
Well Im finally on the up after 2 weeks of drowning the sorrows after defeats....always next year.... must admit the winner on Sunday wasnt Seymour it was the GV..... was a great spectical that had every thing
# hangers
# tight contest
# High skills
# a bit of biff
# Great Crowd

Everything..............pity about the result....but as far a my aching head is concerned the winner was Football

over and out for 2005

Lets hope the Maggies turn it into a positive and keep themselves up top again in 2006, what doesn't kill ya can only make you stronger I say. They've no doubt hurt, but can learn a lot and providing the nucleus of recruits hang around there's evry chance of going one better. Have mentioned several times this year I reckon T.Maher (#12) could've been a smokey, especially after Grainger's input when it mattered most. What are your thoughts on Maher CHINUP . . . stiff I say?

Any truth in the rumour the club had premiership t-shirts and caps pre-made such was there confidence?

CHINUP
29 Sep 2005, 17:42
Maher would of tried his guts out doona.......... grainger couldnt run out of sight on a dark night.....Im not sure who seymour would of put on him.anderson was on grainger,piling had lukey,after that you get hooper and douglas who can both play tall but offer them to much run. would of been interesting to see. seymour tried anderson up forward in the last quater cause grainger was doing donuts....they all so rotated douglas and final piling up there to.Piling was proberly the better suited to go forward but the luxury of having those 3 to go forward is huge. I do believe the town was a busy half way through the last quater and I believe there are plenty of dumped hats and stubby holders flooting around.......we can just change the 5 to a 6 and pray for next year....

Grandale
29 Sep 2005, 20:16
Who may they pick up?

Euroa would have to be the early favourites for next year's flag.
How's this for a formguide:
* In 2003 Mansfield (cellar-dweller the year before) spent the equivalent of Ziggy Zwitkowksi's annual wage on players, and were up there but couldn't quite get over the line. They won it the next year.
* In 2004 Seymour (a cellar-dweller the year before - I think the Lions are actually the last team that Tongala beat in the GVFL. If any Shepp News scribes are gunna use this in their paper please credit me with it) increased their spending and were right up there but also couldn't pull it off. They won it the following year.
* In 2005 Euroa (a cellar-dweller the year before) spent up big but also came up short. Can they win it next year?

Guinea
30 Sep 2005, 10:19
There's a lot that could happen between now and the start of the 2006 season. It'll be interesting to see who of Euroa's gun recruits stay on for another year, and who the maggies don't ask back! I wouldn't think that there's too much wrong with their list, just happened to lose in the big one to a more desperate side. Maybe there's something in what Grandale has said.. Any talk yet about who might be leaving the magpie nest and what type of players they need to recruit for next year?

ondee
30 Sep 2005, 16:03
Grandale and Guinea- same person?

Grandale
30 Sep 2005, 17:48
Grandale and Guinea- same person?

So it's disallowable to agree with anyone on this forum, hey?
Gotta say, that doesn't really surprise me given the way some people act here.
And just for the record, no we aren't the same person.

Travvy43
30 Sep 2005, 18:09
Departing coaches this year..... hickmont rumoured to be going, any ideas on likely replacements.

Any other coaches not coaching on next year???? williams will go around again more than likely... sutherland is on again i presume or has this not been confirmed yet, mcpharlin, is he going to go around again, if not any ideas of replacements???

Flat Track Bully
30 Sep 2005, 18:58
[QUOTE=Grandale]Euroa would have to be the early favourites for next year's flag.

* In 2004 Seymour (a cellar-dweller the year before - I think the Lions are actually the last team that Tongala beat in the GVFL. If any Shepp News scribes are gunna use this in their paper please credit me

Mate, I don't work for the Shep News, but everybody knows that the last win Tongala had in the GVL was over Seymour

Flat Track Bully
30 Sep 2005, 19:00
Departing coaches this year..... hickmont rumoured to be going, any ideas on likely replacements.

Any other coaches not coaching on next year???? williams will go around again more than likely... sutherland is on again i presume or has this not been confirmed yet, mcpharlin, is he going to go around again, if not any ideas of replacements???

Sutherland has been confirmed...the only job likely to change, other than United's is Shepparton's.

Adrian Hickmott's contract has not been renewed...John Ryan (ex-Tat) has been interviewed...but Xavier Tanner is rumoured to be the man..."Back to the future" so to speak...

GV Middle Man
30 Sep 2005, 19:48
There's a lot that could happen between now and the start of the 2006 season. It'll be interesting to see who of Euroa's gun recruits stay on for another year, and who the maggies don't ask back! I wouldn't think that there's too much wrong with their list, just happened to lose in the big one to a more desperate side. Maybe there's something in what Grandale has said.. Any talk yet about who might be leaving the magpie nest and what type of players they need to recruit for next year?

I've heard a wisper that a few Euroa boys aren't too happy at magpie land. Rather than pull together and bounce back after an embarrasing final quarter fade out in the most important match of the year, a few of the "imports" could be looking elsewhere in 2006.

Just what i heard, not sure if the source is 100% on the money though. But, many other rumours with less purity have been put up on this grand website.

GVFLFAN
30 Sep 2005, 22:01
I've heard a wisper that a few Euroa boys aren't too happy at magpie land. Rather than pull together and bounce back after an embarrasing final quarter fade out in the most important match of the year, a few of the "imports" could be looking elsewhere in 2006.

Just what i heard, not sure if the source is 100% on the money though. But, many other rumours with less purity have been put up on this grand website.

If you belive everything that you hear or read then you are completely kidding yourself!!!

I am a Euroa import turned passionate Euroa player this year and i can guarantee that the Euroa Magpies will be back bigger and stronger then ever next year! There may be only 2 players lost out of the team and 1 of them is Happy Harper who is going to travel our great country and the other is leaving the descision for a while and he may go due to family reasons but he is 50/50 at the moment!! Everyone else that played in the GF will be back for another crack next year!!! I can't say the same for seymor though who have already lost a few and may even lose their coach in the coming weeks which would lead to more departures!!!
The magpies are already looking forward to revenge next year and there may be some home grown talent returning to help the magpies go one step further next year!!! There are also a few other names in the pipeline but we will wait and see!!! Don't need to recruit many if our core group is going around again next year but we could top up what we have!!!

To all Euroa supporters out there in Big footy land, the boys are terribly dissapointed that they could not bring home the cup to the great town of euroa but the group is a tight knit one which will do everything in it's power to turn the tables next year!!!

Well done to the lions this year!!! we had some great clashes that the GVFL will remember for years!!!

We were the best side all year but we let our oppurtunity slip!!! sad how 10 minutes of footy can destroy your season!!! Lets not miss the oppurtunity in 06 and lets take it to the next level magpies!!!

Signing off

GVFLFAN

Grandale
1 Oct 2005, 11:16
[QUOTE=Grandale]Euroa would have to be the early favourites for next year's flag.

* In 2004 Seymour (a cellar-dweller the year before - I think the Lions are actually the last team that Tongala beat in the GVFL. If any Shepp News scribes are gunna use this in their paper please credit me

Mate, I don't work for the Shep News, but everybody knows that the last win Tongala had in the GVL was over Seymour

Sorry, I wasn't aware of that. It just dawned on me when I wrote that post.
And I apologise for calling Euroa cellar dwellers in 2004. That was probably a bit harsh. Non-finalists would have been a better word.

centreman
2 Oct 2005, 19:03
Sutherland has been confirmed...the only job likely to change, other than United's is Shepparton's.

Adrian Hickmott's contract has not been renewed...John Ryan (ex-Tat) has been interviewed...but Xavier Tanner is rumoured to be the man..."Back to the future" so to speak...

John Ryan to coach Shepp??? My goodness Flat Track. My goodness.

bradrowe#32
3 Oct 2005, 00:03
excellent summation rowey. that was pretty much what I thought. it shows just why your opinion is so highly respected on here.

Thanks mate.

I've been away the last week so it's pretty interesting to catch up on all the gossip.

Anyways, I think we should all stop talking about the grand final and start talking about me winning the coaches award! :D

Wizz
3 Oct 2005, 06:16
Thanks mate.

I've been away the last week so it's pretty interesting to catch up on all the gossip.

Anyways, I think we should all stop talking about the grand final and start talking about me winning the coaches award! :D

Nice work rowey, would of one the twobees goalkicking by a mile as well wouldnt you? ha ha