View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Travvy43
3 Oct 2005, 10:41
Tanner to the bears, hickmont to the bushies?? Insiders say though that hickmont would not be a chance with the bushies.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 11:44
GVFLFAN is it true that ******** howse is heading back to the diamond Valley?

I also believe that two current GV coachs are in line for the bushies job and hickmont is one of them...anyone no what type of Kanga you would get for a job like that.....

Travvy43
3 Oct 2005, 11:50
Any further info ont he two coaches in line for the bushies job

jmain14
3 Oct 2005, 12:04
Nice work rowey, would of one the twobees goalkicking by a mile as well wouldnt you? ha ha
yeah how did ya go rowey?? clean up a few trophies did ya?? priggy won it didn't he??

can't believe carts didn't win the seniors coaches award ha ha.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 12:10
put it this was it aint the ****head from Rochy...that bloke is a tool...

the other guy rumoured to be inline has definately changed the culture at the club he has coached since arriving last year..........

Guinea
3 Oct 2005, 12:24
I spoke to Steve Daniels a couple of years back, and although he may not be one of the coaches people are linking to the Bushies job, was asked to apply for the position 2003 (though obviously that doesn't mean he was a certainty to get the job, apparently Bushies sometimes ask well-credentialled coaches to apply to make sure they get the best candidate). Back in 98 Brain Walsh was reportedly on $45k/yr plus a car at Bendigo Pioneers, I imagine it might have gone up a bit since then, but that would be around the ball park.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 12:49
well that would be good kanga if you can get it!!!!!!!! can anyone inform us of exactly what the bushies job would intail?

bradrowe#32
3 Oct 2005, 13:36
Lamaro - soft, i think my icecream from mcdonalds on the way home had more heart. i think i heard it beat, or that may have been my head after i was pumping celebrating a massive win for the mighty lions.

just a little cheerio to dave williams, great to see mark pilling out on the park and play an impressive game after the dirty man williams said "your finals campaign is over" after the lion scraped home by 50 points!!!!! in the elimination final.

sounds good mainy, you should go buy some players. i reckon you should get jmac back. port fairy don't want him, and i think he would fit right back in with williams, obviously both are the biggest tools in footy, australia wide!

I find your Jmac comments interesting. He came to Rochester in 2000 (year after the flag) and kicked 10 goals in his first game. He was a player that the club really needed because he they hadn't really had a big forward since the early 90's. The boy could play but he was a head case. Funny how he ended up in Seymour.

Interestingly, Seymour lost 25 players the year after he was there, whilst Rochester went on to another grand final.

I'm sure David Williams is really worried abotu what you think of him. He played AFL (won a pre-season flag and played in a grand final) and got the absolute best out of himself. He would even tell you that he isn't the most gifted player but he squeezed every bit of potential out of himself. He has the respect of Garry Lyon, Chris Connolly and the majority of the league.

What have you done?

Guinea
3 Oct 2005, 13:52
Dirty Dave Williams is an interesting one. No doubt a champion player and, like Doona, prepared to coach for basically nothing to ensure that the club has extra money to buy the players necessary to have a crack at a flag. Very, very honourable bloke and his feats will probably go down in GV history for a long time to come. But, there's also no doubting that he crosses the line on occasions, sometimes to the detriment of his club and the opinion's some people have of him (though I'm sure he doesn't give a rats clacker of what people think of him). I remember in what was, I think, Tonny's last finals appearance (against Rochy at Echuca) - Dirty (who was playing at the time), tackled Dean Geddes after the ball had gone out of bounds, and threw him head first into the fence, smashing his jaw. It was a stupid incident and just one of a list of Dirty's misdemeanours that has soured his reputation with opposition clubs in the GV. While I wouldn't go as far as saying he was a "tool", I don't know how his footballing reputation justifies his credentials as necessarily being a good bloke.. Rowey, while there is no doubt that Dirty has the respect of lyon and Connelly, so too, did Brett Lovett, until he saw the "bad" side of Dirty the night they got in a blue at Echuca... While I respect what Dirty Williams has done for the Rochy FC and his exploits as a player, I think some people have a right to question how good a "bloke" he is, given his past track record...

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 13:55
Was Not Doubting his playing credintals mate!!! Just the way he goes about his coaching is like a two year old.... Firstly when seymour played rochy at kingspark he raced on to the feild abusing seymour players for head hunting and referring to an incedent that happen where a rochy play was seriously injury...purely by accident as shown on the video..but no willo wanted to rant and rave like a tool...and then first final it was a great contest in the first half only to have willo carry on like a tool again at half time which showed no respect to the opposition or his own team for that matter... the lions took that on board and smashed rochy in the second half... and then he wants to abuse a seymour player tell him his finals are over.... willo is a tool and just to prove willo wrong the seymour player played in the granny and killed it...so to willo pull your head in you tool.... coach your own team and if you want to show some passion try and install it into your players cause they are lacking it buddy....but who would have passion with him as coach

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 14:42
Was there that day Guniea and had a pefrect view from behind the goals at the High School end, he sure did smash that bloke good.

Far to say he has a bit of dermie brereton about him, no doubt he would put his body on the line when needed and would cop just as much as he gave out. Though every now and then got a bit of that white line fever.

Saying that I think his a very intelligent footballer and would certaintly play under him, despite a few incidents over the years!

jmain14
3 Oct 2005, 14:47
Was Not Doubting his playing credintals mate!!! Just the way he goes about his coaching is like a two year old.... Firstly when seymour played rochy at kingspark he raced on to the feild abusing seymour players for head hunting and referring to an incedent that happen where a rochy play was seriously injury...purely by accident as shown on the video..but no willo wanted to rant and rave like a tool...and then first final it was a great contest in the first half only to have willo carry on like a tool again at half time which showed no respect to the opposition or his own team for that matter... the lions took that on board and smashed rochy in the second half... and then he wants to abuse a seymour player tell him his finals are over.... willo is a tool and just to prove willo wrong the seymour player played in the granny and killed it...so to willo pull your head in you tool.... coach your own team and if you want to show some passion try and install it into your players cause they are lacking it buddy....but who would have passion with him as coach
whilst I can't argue with some of the things you have mentioned there gvmm seeing I wasn't at the game, it seems that that day was the beginning of the end for rochy this year. with heath getting knocked out in the first quarter and sammy doing his ac joint in the third - both season-ending injuries - that really did put an end to any small chance of the premiership cup heading down to tigerland. that's no excuse for a coach to carry on and take it out on the opposition but footy is a passionate game and dirty is a passionate person. things happen on instinct, sometimes not for the best.

another thing I will say is that there are many in rochy who are still unsatisfied with the circumstances that led to heath's injury. the injury obviously turned out to be pretty serious, how it happened we may never know. again, its no excuse for a coach to carry on especially when the facts are unknown. however, dirty is protective of his players as all coachs are and the way he acted on this occasion may have been in response to the incident.

just one other thing - I don't think rochy lacked passion this year mate. a few key position players definately but no lack of passion. to finish 6th with the list they had is pretty admirable I would of thought.

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 14:51
Middle Man your an idiot! Rochester play with more apssion than any other side you knob! And i reckon considering his record Grand Finals, Finals appearances etc. that alot of people like the man and want to play under him.

ANyway mate now uve got your premiership have fun hangin down the bottom of the ladder for the next 10 years. You are scum!

jmain14
3 Oct 2005, 14:53
Middle Man your an idiot! Rochester play with more apssion than any other side you knob! And i reckon considering his record Grand Finals, Finals appearances etc. that alot of people like the man and want to play under him.

ANyway mate now uve got your premiership have fun hangin down the bottom of the ladder for the next 10 years. You are scum!
he he yeah pretty well put echuca boy.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 14:56
Jmain fair call about the players passion mate! Was having a crack at your coach...shouldnt of carried it over to the players.. Was at the game where that injury occurred and wasnt far away from it....but mate if ever a ugly accident occured that was it!!! Rochy complain to the GV about it and demanded our video which we sent in as it provide the perfect shot of the accident. We had a player receive the exact same injury and played 4 weeks later....... did the rochy player do every thing he could...was his passion there to play final footy? One thing about seymour is we respect rochy....but does that respect work the other way...I dont think so.......

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 14:59
pull your head in euchuaboy!!! Mate your team wasnt even in the top 6 so come back next year and talk about finals....

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 15:01
Jmain fair call about the players passion mate! Was having a crack at your coach...shouldnt of carried it over to the players.. Was at the game where that injury occurred and wasnt far away from it....but mate if ever a ugly accident occured that was it!!! Rochy complain to the GV about it and demanded our video which we sent in as it provide the perfect shot of the accident. We had a player receive the exact same injury and played 4 weeks later....... did the rochy player do every thing he could...was his passion there to play final footy? One thing about seymour is we respect rochy....but does that respect work the other way...I dont think so.......

Its pretty hard to respect a Club who would rather buy there way to a flag then develop their juniors and look after their locals.

Your kidding yourself mate, exact same injury my ass. How would u know? I certaintly dont respect Seymour, not in the slightest. Your nearly as bad as shepparton

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 15:05
pull your head in euchuaboy!!! Mate your team wasnt even in the top 6 so come back next year and talk about finals....

HAHAHAHAHA your a pretender come see me when ur boys win two in a row. And to be quite honest with ya mate my team played off in the Grand Final, dont believe everything u see.

Seymour is a peasent club, they have showed no sigins of being consistent and they will fail to do so once again next season!

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 15:12
The old Buy a Premiership line,,, Mate ever club spends money not all clubs a blessed with a huge population! There was not one player at our club that didnt play cause they enjoyed playing with there mates! yes they were paid but all were offered big kanga else were and opted to stay cause there mates were there...At least the money we spent ment something,,,, euroa mansfeild benella shepp etc got jack **** to show for there money!!! at least we have the bling to show for it...

two final apperence in 2 years very inncosistant....yes before that lacked abit but only as good as your last game buddy...we have the right people in the jobs now and we expect to be right there again next year!!!

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 15:14
well show some balls and tell us your team mate!!! or just hide behind your euchua name!!!!

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 15:28
As expect gone missing euchua boy... more gutless than lamaro and janze performance in the grandfinal

ANT JESS
3 Oct 2005, 15:47
Ease up GV Middle Man, who the F##k died and made you king ding-a-ling on GV boards?? I happen to know the identidy of ECHUCABOY, and can garrantee you he is far from gutless. And allthough in years gone by he had a connection with the murray bombers he has now gone on to be successful with a melbourne based club.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 15:59
Get your facts right ants pants.........euchua boy wanted to have say and im allowed mine mate!!! thats great that you no him and but mate he entered my conversation with another poster! I didnt go looking for his crap he rights....

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 15:59
hahahaha unlike u physco man, I have a job which involves me not being on the BF website 24/7, so settle down just a tad.

I would not call 2 years in the finals consitent I would say 5-6 years straight in the finals would be consitent. As for Echuca yes they had a shocking year but out of the 22 who lost to tat by 4 points last year 16 of those blokes left the club for a number of reasons. It was a bad year but they will be back becasue thats the sort of Club Echuca is.

I play in the Eastern Footy League, that is all.....gimp

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 16:11
Great club to see 16 out of your 22 get up and leave!!! great effort!! Everyone writes that we bought a premeirship, but no ones no what we pay! its all mumbo jumbo written by fools like you..We had a even spread of locals and imports mate and i garentee none of the local guy would complain with any of our imports we are all great mate and enjoy playing together...maybe you should post your crap on the eastern district website

ANT JESS
3 Oct 2005, 16:15
Get your facts right ants pants.........euchua boy wanted to have say and im allowed mine mate!!! thats great that you no him and but mate he entered my conversation with another poster! I didnt go looking for his crap he rights....

1. What fact did I state which was wrong d#@Khead?
2. This is an internet board there is no such thing as conversations with other posters, you want to have a private convo do it via PM.

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 16:16
Great club to see 16 out of your 22 get up and leave!!! great effort!! Everyone right that we bought a premeirship, but no ones no what we pay! its all mumbo jumbo written by fools like you..We had a even spread of locals and imports mate and i garentee none of the local guy would complain with any of our imports we are all great mate and enjoy playing together...maybe you should post your crap on the eastern district website

yes anyway, why people left had nothing to do with the club but that takes too long to explain. It is the General consenses on this website that you guys bought a premiership so ill leave it at that.

Why else would anyone go to a town like Seymour, its the GV equivilent of Moe......As I said mate when u guys go back to back u'll have the respect of the league until then expect to be copping it!

Oh yeah and the 16 out 22 was over exaggerating a bit more like 10

FOOTYBOSS
3 Oct 2005, 16:34
As expect gone missing euchua boy... more gutless than lamaro and janze performance in the grandfinal
Geez your a ********ing toss bag middle man. lamaro had 7 touches beforwe going off injured in the grand final. The bloke still can not walk without a limp to do this day. Get your ********ing facts rights before making stupid comments.

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 16:35
The general consense hey!!! Fair enough...but the general consense around the club is that the whole of the seymour footy club work there **** off to win a premiership mate.... come down and see the hard work we put in mate!!! and we have no doubt we will right up there again!!! hopefully ull jumo off our ship and have a crack at Tatura.... And also if you are going to put your name behind saying we bought a premiership you should also cogratulate the person who got all these so called bought players to the club....cause they did a ****load better than the guy at euroa,mansfeild,mooronpna,shepp etc they all splashed the so called cash..

fat back pocket
3 Oct 2005, 16:57
another thing I will say is that there are many in rochy who are still unsatisfied with the circumstances that led to heath's injury. the injury obviously turned out to be pretty serious, how it happened we may never know. again, its no excuse for a coach to carry on especially when the facts are unknown. however, dirty is protective of his players as all coachs are and the way he acted on this occasion may have been in response to the incident.

Welcome back to all Big Footy lovers. And what a massive week it has been in the Lions den. After overcoming a gallant fight by Euroa - who obviously played their grandfinal the day they had their premiership photo taken. The Lions have enjoyed a much deserved win.

Just on the quote above. We know exactly what happened. If you send me your address mainy, i think i could organise a copy of the incident and send it to you. Just so you can get on here and say, ok i have seen it, totally 100% an accident. Which it was. Exactly like when Tank smashed Bernie Haberman and broke his check bone - requiring a plate! Nothing said from Seymour.

Anyway, i am booked in to get my liver transplant later on tonight. Hope everyone had a great week. I know the entire seymour town and footy club did.

Victory is sweet.

Just wondering, in Dirty Dave's stint at coach, how many flags has Rochy won? 2 isn't it. That would mean after all these years of the dominant locals, they haven't really produced that much.

You finish runner-up, finish on the bottom, no difference. The only team who can gloat is the one who wins the flag. As the classic Iceman saying goes "No points for second place".

Anyway, celebrations will continue this week for the mighty Lions. Well done to Steve Daniel, Paul Cox and the rest of the Seymour head honcho's who have put this all together.

We can now put the 91 flag to bed, no longer do we have to turn the clock back to 91 to re-live success. 05' - The year of the Lions! You little ripper!

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 16:58
Footyboss.... GrandFinals make or break players reputation and Lamaros is shot mate!!! Couldnt perform on the big Stage.... all i have to say mate... easily the softest play in the GV followed closely by your ruckman!!!! The Value of your recruits went down big time....whats the point of paying all your money to guys that cant perform when the pressure on!!!!

Grandale
3 Oct 2005, 17:01
``there are many in rochy who are still unsatisfied with the circumstances that led to heath's injury.''

I reckon (and I stand to be corrected here) that the Rochy game was also the day Haberman had his cheekbone smashed to bits. Didn't hear the Lions whinging about that one.
It's footy, boys. These things happen. Not every incident that involves head high stuff and results in a fella getting a fractured jaw or the like is necessarily a ``dog's act'', as the video evidence of the Aitken incident shows.

fat back pocket
3 Oct 2005, 17:06
Footyboss.... GrandFinals make or break players reputation and Lamaros is shot mate!!! Couldnt perform on the big Stage.... all i have to say mate... easily the softest play in the GV followed closely by your ruckman!!!! The Value of your recruits went down big time....whats the point of paying all your money to guys that cant perform when the pressure on!!!!

Hey Middle man, back at work today i see. How is your liver? Probably the same as mine.

I think its great that as Lamaro was walking to the pine, his grand final over, the great man, Matt Collins smashes the crap out of him. Couldn't have happened to a $hitter bloke.

So all of you anti-seymour supporters, take your dig, because i will post one of a few things:
* scoreboard (if you are a euroa supporter)
* i didn't know your side fielded a team this year (to anyone who finished outside the 6)

And from the looks of things, not too many Benalla, Mansfield, or Shepp blokes on here, of which those clubs are filled with ok blokes (well, some shepp blokes are questionable, their under 18's are champs).

I still have the roar of the crowd in my ear from when Saad launched himself into space and brought home a massive hanger.

Grandale
3 Oct 2005, 17:16
yes anyway, why people left had nothing to do with the club but that takes too long to explain. It is the General consenses on this website that you guys bought a premiership so ill leave it at that.

Why else would anyone go to a town like Seymour, its the GV equivilent of Moe......As I said mate when u guys go back to back u'll have the respect of the league until then expect to be copping it!

Oh yeah and the 16 out 22 was over exaggerating a bit more like 10

I will endeavour to add a less aggressive Seymour perspective to this debate.
There's no doubt the Lions' premiership success was a result of increased spending and as good as Shotty, Joffa, Robbie Douglas and Matt O'Keefe are, if it was left up to local talent we probably would have had yet another finals-less season.
That being the case, if you are going to make a decision to pay a few players to try and make yourself competitive, why not make a concerted effort and try and construct a team that is a chance of going all the way.
It's not the ideal way of going about it, but it's what your Seymours, your Euroas, your Taturas (have a look at how they went this year when they relied on locals) and your Kyabrams apparently have to do to be successful when you've got places like Mansfield and Shepp Swans (TBC) landing sponsorships in the hundreds of thousands of dollars.
And while you prefer to condemn the Lions' recruiters, why not look at the other side and be pleased for the likes of Shotty, Joffa and co who have stuck with the club through the bad times when they have had every reason to go elsewhere and chase team success.

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 17:19
well put

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 17:27
My liver is all good FBP i stopped the celebrations last thursday and had the weekend off!!! by all reports the footy trip was a blast!!!

Grandale exactly correct there,Thats exactly what seymour is a team! Thats exactly why the recruiter went for good recruits who are also great blokes... Thats why the coach didnt want the likes of scott grainger,mark janze and daniel sage at the club...its common knowledge those guys play purely for the money and cant be bothered training....

ECHUCABOY
3 Oct 2005, 17:36
My liver is all good FBP i stopped the celebrations last thursday and had the weekend off!!! by all reports the footy trip was a blast!!!

Grandale exactly correct there,Thats exactly what seymour is a team! Thats exactly why the recruiter went for good recruits who are also great blokes... Thats why the coach didnt want the likes of scott grainger,mark janze and daniel sage at the club...its common knowledge those guys play purely for the money and cant be bothered training....

haha u boys really hate euroa hey, battle of the recruits. Prety poor form not headin out on the footy trip middle man!

tige19
3 Oct 2005, 17:45
Im not taking any sides here but whats with the arrogance of the blokes who are from Seymour and Euroa?? both clubs have been dead for years and the last couple of seasons they have come out of there shell and all of a sudden there world beaters and 2 of the greatest GV sides of the past century??

I dont mind FBP his a bit aggresive at times and badly biased but his opinions are ok but gee the arrogance needs to be put to rest a little bit lads.

Everyone knows and its a fact that every club pays players, in this day it HAS to happen. Some clubs spend more than others (alot more) and some clubs prefer to build on there juniors. Either way the players are still representing the town they are playing for and those same players still have to get a kick and win games of footy for there town.

There is no real such thing as byeing a premiership because noone can buy a flag, the players still have to actually play the game.

Clubs like Echuca (who i know dont fork out heaps of $$$), Rochester, Benalla (there is a general thought they pay massive $$$, they dont), Tongala,Kyabram deserve a massive pat on the back because they dont pay the dollars other clubs pay and they try and nurture there youngsters to become good footballers, which is great for country football.

Boys Seymour deserve the bragging rights and acknowledgment of being the best side THIS YEAR, however until they have sustained success i dont think anyone will show them the respect that clubs like Shepp Bears,Tatura,Mansfield,Echuca have.

cheers

jmain14
3 Oct 2005, 17:49
``there are many in rochy who are still unsatisfied with the circumstances that led to heath's injury.''

I reckon (and I stand to be corrected here) that the Rochy game was also the day Haberman had his cheekbone smashed to bits. Didn't hear the Lions whinging about that one.
It's footy, boys. These things happen. Not every incident that involves head high stuff and results in a fella getting a fractured jaw or the like is necessarily a ``dog's act'', as the video evidence of the Aitken incident shows.
yeah fair enough boys, as I said I wasn't at the game so far be it from me to make comment on the incident. the only reason some people are going on about it is probably because of the extent of seriousness of the injury and not so much how it happened. it ended up fracturing his eye socket and doing some nerve damage which required a plastic surgeon to repair. still though, its football and if it was within the rules then so be it and there can't be any cause for rochy people to whinge. maybe one other thing - i'd say heath means more to rochy than bernie haberman means to you guys.

bradrowe#32
3 Oct 2005, 17:56
Ahhh nothing beats a gracious winner.

I could go on about my own teams history, but I've stated it before and no-ones taken into account when they judge them, so what's the point.

I didn't tip Seymour, but they won. Congrats.

jmain14
3 Oct 2005, 17:56
haha u boys really hate euroa hey, battle of the recruits. Prety poor form not headin out on the footy trip middle man!
probably spent the w'end at dt's did ya middle man??

GV Middle Man
3 Oct 2005, 18:11
Tiger19.... None of us have come out saying we are the best GV side every... The Rivalry between Seymour and Euroa has been there since we both entered the GV...and of late it has been Fueled with the presence of X team mates from the VFL playing against each other. The seymour x Northern Bullants have been belted from piller to post by a Team(euroa) that was winning home and away games...and as we all no theres no point dishing out the bragging right during the year if you go missing on the big stage. I find it a little bit funny you named tatura in there as a team that deserves respect when we all no they do there up most to buy premierships as we no you are going there next year chasing the kanga....Mate if you read back though all our post we basically just bagged euroa (due to rivalry) and dave william( due to his lack of respect) its only banter

and if any one wants the video of the accident innicident im sure FBP will send you a copy along with the gradfinal replay and a Saad Highlights real!!!!

bradrowe#32
3 Oct 2005, 18:44
Tiger19.... None of us have come out saying we are the best GV side every... The Rivalry between Seymour and Euroa has been there since we both entered the GV...and of late it has been Fueled with the presence of X team mates from the VFL playing against each other. The seymour x Northern Bullants have been belted from piller to post by a Team(euroa) that was winning home and away games...and as we all no theres no point dishing out the bragging right during the year if you go missing on the big stage. I find it a little bit funny you named tatura in there as a team that deserves respect when we all no they do there up most to buy premierships as we no you are going there next year chasing the kanga....Mate if you read back though all our post we basically just bagged euroa (due to rivalry) and dave william( due to his lack of respect) its only banter

and if any one wants the video of the accident innicident im sure FBP will send you a copy along with the gradfinal replay and a Saad Highlights real!!!!

Pretend you are Dave 'Willo' Williams for a moment: why would you respect Seymour?

fat back pocket
3 Oct 2005, 19:07
I will endeavour to add a less aggressive Seymour perspective to this debate.
There's no doubt the Lions' premiership success was a result of increased spending and as good as Shotty, Joffa, Robbie Douglas and Matt O'Keefe are, if it was left up to local talent we probably would have had yet another finals-less season.
That being the case, if you are going to make a decision to pay a few players to try and make yourself competitive, why not make a concerted effort and try and construct a team that is a chance of going all the way.
It's not the ideal way of going about it, but it's what your Seymours, your Euroas, your Taturas (have a look at how they went this year when they relied on locals) and your Kyabrams apparently have to do to be successful when you've got places like Mansfield and Shepp Swans (TBC) landing sponsorships in the hundreds of thousands of dollars.
And while you prefer to condemn the Lions' recruiters, why not look at the other side and be pleased for the likes of Shotty, Joffa and co who have stuck with the club through the bad times when they have had every reason to go elsewhere and chase team success.

And dollars! Schotty could get $500+ per game at nearly any club in country vic and in the bigger paying leagues in the city. But he choses to play for Seymour for peanuts, and Joffa plays for $0!!! That is correct $0. Don't think there would be too many Vic Country reps who play for nothing.

The top two in the clubs Best and Fairest get $0. Robbie Douglas has an apprenticship with the president, that was his payment in affect. But he is a local lad, Schotty has always been a superb player.

Every team has a handful of stars who get paid, whether they are from the town, or outside is irrelevant. They get $$$ to play footy. If clubs, like Seymour, Euroa, Mansfield, Tat, etc want to get players from melb, let them do it.

The clubs who have home grown tallent will pay less, and probably get more in return from their players. People talk about "mass exodus' " and stuff like that, it is more likely to happen to those who get players from outside the town, its a fact of life.

No one is stopping other towns or clubs from doing it. So don't complain about it. Those who do it run the risk of being broke.

100% Grandale on the - if you are going to go out and get players, might as well do it right and get a team that can go all the way. Agree totally.

fat back pocket
3 Oct 2005, 19:18
probably spent the w'end at dt's did ya middle man??

He probably spent it doing the little things no one wants to do around the club, like clean up the rooms after we celebrated a premiership!

I hear Euroa put too much pressure on their boys which caused them to crumble.

1. They had a premiership photo taken prior to the match...disaster. Who the hell puts a premiership photo in the paper and labels it with "Runners-up". Cop that by the local rag.

2. Premiership hats and shirts were already being made.

3. They had booked dinner for x amount (apparently x was high) at the rooms for after they had "won" the flag, and the fact that got next to no body back (in comparison to what they were expecting) to their rooms, and they had to pay for a heap of food they just ended up chucking out.

10 points for trying, 0 for execution. An unexpected overhead cost which gets added to their red financial report!

Alley cat
3 Oct 2005, 20:56
Pretend you are Dave 'Willo' Williams for a moment: why would you respect Seymour?
Fair call, although i don't think too many people at Seymour have any real gripe with Rochy. Things have been said and done in the heat of the moment. I reckon Seymour need to be around the mark for a couple more years before they get too carried away- the pressure will be on them next year.

Doona2
3 Oct 2005, 22:46
Rapt to see the old FBP back onboard after the Lions massive celebrations. GV Middle Man was starting to come under fire, so he'll be glad some of the heat is off him also. Whichever way you look at it, Seymour was the best side when it mattered most, so enjoy it however long it may last.

Wizz
3 Oct 2005, 23:23
He probably spent it doing the little things no one wants to do around the club, like clean up the rooms after we celebrated a premiership!

I hear Euroa put too much pressure on their boys which caused them to crumble.

1. They had a premiership photo taken prior to the match...disaster. Who the hell puts a premiership photo in the paper and labels it with "Runners-up". Cop that by the local rag.

2. Premiership hats and shirts were already being made.

3. They had booked dinner for x amount (apparently x was high) at the rooms for after they had "won" the flag, and the fact that got next to no body back (in comparison to what they were expecting) to their rooms, and they had to pay for a heap of food they just ended up chucking out.

10 points for trying, 0 for execution. An unexpected overhead cost which gets added to their red financial report!

If that is the case well then than is pretty funny, shouldnt count your chickens before they hatch. However you couldn't be serious FBP? Oh well look forward to see how things start looking for 2006

bradrowe#32
3 Oct 2005, 23:52
Pretty interesting stuff FBP. Most teams I know have just organised a function back at their club to celebrae/commiserate. Very arrogant, if true.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 00:00
Pretty interesting stuff FBP. Most teams I know have just organised a function back at their club to celebrae/commiserate. Very arrogant, if true.

Seymour never organised food for that reason. Very risky, very hard to predict numbers, can't go into any game, especially a GF with bookings for post match celebrations. If you win, depends on the local supporter base, could get hundreds, if you lose, you may get none - like what happened to Euroa.

Disapointing for them, their president is a great bloke too, Xavier Thomson. But i'm sure they will learn from their mistakes.

Just on that, Xavier rang up Paul Cox after the game, obviously with the hysteria that was going on in the Seymour rooms, the two didn't get to shake hands after the game, but Xavier rang Paul to congratulate him, fantastic to see. I don't think too many other presidents would have done that after being defeated.

Here here to Xavier Thomson - president of Euroa FC. Good bloke.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 00:02
If that is the case well then than is pretty funny, shouldnt count your chickens before they hatch. However you couldn't be serious FBP? Oh well look forward to see how things start looking for 2006

All very true. Not sure if the shirts were in hand or not, but they were in the process of being produced from what i'm told.

bradrowe#32
4 Oct 2005, 00:13
Seymour never organised food for that reason. Very risky, very hard to predict numbers, can't go into any game, especially a GF with bookings for post match celebrations. If you win, depends on the local supporter base, could get hundreds, if you lose, you may get none - like what happened to Euroa.

Disapointing for them, their president is a great bloke too, Xavier Thomson. But i'm sure they will learn from their mistakes.

Just on that, Xavier rang up Paul Cox after the game, obviously with the hysteria that was going on in the Seymour rooms, the two didn't get to shake hands after the game, but Xavier rang Paul to congratulate him, fantastic to see. I don't think too many other presidents would have done that after being defeated.

That's a pretty good effort by Xavier. I noticed after the game when Seymour had their big huddle that Mark Pilling was in the Euroa group shaking hands etc. I thought that was very classy. He played a good game. I thought he was good when he went forward late in the game.

Just on the supporters, I happened to be standing near the Euroa bench all day and thought there would've been more supporters there. I guess there was a good crowd there, but didn't seem to be anywhere else. Seymour did have big numbers up the Shepp. United rooms end. Maybe they were on the other side of the ground or something.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 00:20
That's a pretty good effort by Xavier. I noticed after the game when Seymour had their big huddle that Mark Pilling was in the Euroa group shaking hands etc. I thought that was very classy. He played a good game. I thought he was good when he went forward late in the game.

Just on the supporters, I happened to be standing near the Euroa bench all day and thought there would've been more supporters there. I guess there was a good crowd there, but didn't seem to be anywhere else. Seymour did have big numbers up the Shepp. United rooms end. Maybe they were on the other side of the ground or something.

I think it was pretty even, Seymour had supporters from the seating area between the ground and the netty court, around to the scoreboard. There were obviously supporters from each mixed around the ground, but i think Euroa had a fair crowd from the scoreboard around to the Shepp rooms.

All i know is that when Saad left the earth in search of the red leather, when he came back down, everyone, including Euroa supporters were out of their chairs cheering. Great sporting moment.

bradrowe#32
4 Oct 2005, 00:30
I think it was pretty even, Seymour had supporters from the seating area between the ground and the netty court, around to the scoreboard. There were obviously supporters from each mixed around the ground, but i think Euroa had a fair crowd from the scoreboard around to the Shepp rooms.

All i know is that when Saad left the earth in search of the red leather, when he came back down, everyone, including Euroa supporters were out of their chairs cheering. Great sporting moment.

Yeh I finally saw the mark on a replay of wins news from the other day. Sensational grab. The people around me - mostly from Euroa - thought it was great. King's was pretty good too.

I feel a bit sorry for Jon Solomon and Paul Cox who were great servants at the club. Didn't they both retire at the start of the year? It would've been nice to see two great players go out with a flag.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 01:11
Yeh I finally saw the mark on a replay of wins news from the other day. Sensational grab. The people around me - mostly from Euroa - thought it was great. King's was pretty good too.

I feel a bit sorry for Jon Solomon and Paul Cox who were great servants at the club. Didn't they both retire at the start of the year? It would've been nice to see two great players go out with a flag.

Paul Cox will play next year, but only in the twos, he did his knee in round 3 2004. Didn't get it operated on until the end of the footy season which meant he missed all of this year.

He has put on about 20kg's though, so it will be interesting to see if he tries to pull his weight down over the summer, he is late 30's now.

Jon Sol only played reserves last year, was almost going to play some senior games, but didn't get to training enough. So they weren't realistic chances to get a game in the clubs best 21 this year. Or last year for that matter.

Even still, Jon Sol pulled the jumper on for the granny and watched. So it was great to see him there. Fantastic servant of the Seymour FC.

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 06:27

We had the honour of having the great Jon Solomon play his final season of football with us at Yea in 2005 - and what a fitting way to wind up his career with a premiership medal. The players and supporters saw it as a true priviledge to have one of country football's true legends play at our club, and I doubt we could've won the flag without his presence - big game player and a champion bloke.

TuskenRaider
4 Oct 2005, 10:15

Just a question for you FBP. As you were obviously at Seymour following the GF, did you close your eyes and use the force to see what was happening at Euroa?

If you're that good at seeing things in faraway places I'd suggest you get to Dagobah immediately and report to Yoda for some more advanced Jedi training.

There's a lot of speculation on this thread about most clubs, most of which is just that.

You should be enjoying the premiership, rather than ripping into every other club under a pseudonym.

bradrowe#32
4 Oct 2005, 15:21
We had the honour of having the great Jon Solomon play his final season of football with us at Yea in 2005 - and what a fitting way to wind up his career with a premiership medal. The players and supporters saw it as a true priviledge to have one of country football's true legends play at our club, and I doubt we could've won the flag without his presence - big game player and a champion bloke.

Good stuff Doona, I wasn't aware of that.

Grandale
4 Oct 2005, 17:13

Who is this man masquerading as Fat Back Pocket? The FBP I know would never say anything so complimentary towards someone from Euroa...could those hackers be at it again?

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 17:53
Just a question for you FBP. As you were obviously at Seymour following the GF, did you close your eyes and use the force to see what was happening at Euroa?

If you're that good at seeing things in faraway places I'd suggest you get to Dagobah immediately and report to Yoda for some more advanced Jedi training.

There's a lot of speculation on this thread about most clubs, most of which is just that.

You should be enjoying the premiership, rather than ripping into every other club under a pseudonym.

I assume you are refering to the earlier post about what Euroa did, its true mate, and i was just trying to get across the point that they were so arrogant and confident, it came back to bite them on the arse.

Thats all.

Travvy43
4 Oct 2005, 17:58
whats the background on Andrew Jago for all you seymour followers. Have heard that he has accepted the coaching postion with Seddon Football Club in the Western Region Football League. Is this a good get for seddon and could he possible lure some melbounre based lions with him to play metro footy next year.

TuskenRaider
4 Oct 2005, 18:03
I assume you are refering to the earlier post about what Euroa did, its true mate, and i was just trying to get across the point that they were so arrogant and confident, it came back to bite them on the arse.

Thats all.
OK, I'll ask again.
If you were at Seymour, then how would you know what was happening at Euroa?

It might be a good idea for you to take it easy on the speculation.

That is all.

GV Middle Man
4 Oct 2005, 18:06
Travvy i honestly think you wll have to start a new thread for you last question

THE OFFICAL ANDREW POPPYS JAGO THREAD

Mate the bloke has been under the guidence of the great man himself SJ Daniels so would have to be a good pick up!!!! Has taken the twos to two final campaigns!!! Has a very big voice,tries his best to motivate everyone but i would say he should start motivating himself to drop 20kg... but not a bad bloke....

FBP will no more

Grandale
4 Oct 2005, 18:08
whats the background on Andrew Jago for all you seymour followers. Have heard that he has accepted the coaching postion with Seddon Football Club in the Western Region Football League. Is this a good get for seddon and could he possible lure some melbounre based lions with him to play metro footy next year.

Don't count on it Travvy my boy!

Grandale
4 Oct 2005, 18:12
FBP will no more

FBP will no more what? Contribute to this forum? And Euroa rejoice!!!
And shouldn't it be ''POOPSY'' Jago, not POPPYS? How'd he get that nickname anyway?

DekkaRoo
4 Oct 2005, 18:15
Don't count on it Travvy my boy!

Playing in the Western Region League myself.. I can confirm that Travvy is on the money!!!!!

GV Middle Man
4 Oct 2005, 18:19
sorry grandale//// inncorrect spelling....... not 100% why he got the nickname maybe another poster may no!!!! Maybe Footyboss can ask the seymour senoir coach next time he speaks to him..... will be interesting to see how he goes.... Its a wonder he didnt apply for the seymour head job!!!!

GV Middle Man
4 Oct 2005, 18:23
Dekkaroo what type of coin would a coach get out that way!!! Whats the team he is coaching like? any good? Much money for players out there!!! cant see to many seymour boys following him!!! Maybe one or two....

Grandale
4 Oct 2005, 18:30
Playing in the Western Region League myself.. I can confirm that Travvy is on the money!!!!!

Yeah, sorry, I wasn't disputing that Poopsy might be coaching Seddon, rather suggesting it would be a bit presumptious to suggest he'll be taking a few Lions with him.

GVFootyfan
4 Oct 2005, 18:48
Just a newbie on here boys so go easy on me. Have been watching for some time now and found some very interesting comments on this site. Not interested in all the sledging but have to agree with those that stated that the 2005 G.V. Grand Final was definately a great spectacle. All that has been said about it is 100% and I will definately go next year also.The standard of the league is more than I expected it to be and all clubs can be proud of the job they are doing. A lot of work goes into feilding sides each week and all the commitee's can be proud of their acheivements.

As for the paying of players, it is a necessary evil now in all leagues for clubs to be successful, but it also raises the bar as standards go, and I think the crowds the G.V. received this year would have to be credited to the high standards of the games and the profiles of the players. I know that what got me going to the games was the talk of all the Ex A.F.L. & V.F.L. players that have moved up to this league.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 19:24
OK, I'll ask again.
If you were at Seymour, then how would you know what was happening at Euroa?

It might be a good idea for you to take it easy on the speculation.

That is all.

Because the general manager of the Lions is good friends with a few Euroa personel - from their committee, who asked us what we did, how we planned our evening, and we told them. They told us of their unfortunate incident.

So...pretty good source i'd reckon.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 19:30
Travvy i honestly think you wll have to start a new thread for you last question

THE OFFICAL ANDREW POPPYS JAGO THREAD

Mate the bloke has been under the guidence of the great man himself SJ Daniels so would have to be a good pick up!!!! Has taken the twos to two final campaigns!!! Has a very big voice,tries his best to motivate everyone but i would say he should start motivating himself to drop 20kg... but not a bad bloke....

FBP will no more

I actually new about this a week or so ago. Spoke to him the day after he got the job.

He may be a little over weight, but he has got plenty of passion stored in there.

But hey, he doesn't have to pull on the boots.

He will give it 120% i can bet you that. He is a great speaker, he has learnt to deal with some real weird characters at seymour, boys who got into the "I don't give a crap" mold which has plagued seymour footy club for a decade. And he got almost 100% potential out of them.

He learnt about good processes from SJD, which will take him a fair way. Good drills to run at training from other seymour coaches.

If he follows a KISS pricipal with his coaching, i can't see why anyone will knock his coaching.

He coached at Seymour for nothing but some petrol money and gases after the game, and did homework on opposition sides for seconds footy...who does that? Not many blokes.

So he gets 10 points for trying, 0 points for fitness, and the club he is going to should do ok, he has ties with Sandringham footy club, so he may be able to snare a retiring great or a delisted player from there.

Couldn't imagine he would have too many from Seymour following him, the senior boys didn't go there with Jago, and the seconds blokes are loyal to the Lions, so even though some could get cash, i couldn't imagine too many will go with him, if anyone.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 19:36
Dekkaroo what type of coin would a coach get out that way!!! Whats the team he is coaching like? any good? Much money for players out there!!! cant see to many seymour boys following him!!! Maybe one or two....

I'm awaiting my offer as we speak.

I heard Mark Pilling and Nick Lane were a chance to go with him?

Can you confirm that Grandale or Middle Man?

hank1
4 Oct 2005, 21:09
Big Cat1 has just posted on another thread that McKernan has signed for Westmeadows.

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 21:25
OK, I'll ask again. If you were at Seymour, then how would you know what was happening at Euroa? It might be a good idea for you to take it easy on the speculation. That is all.

Tusken Im a Broadford bloke who's involved with Yea and I heard the whisper about t-shirts etc also

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 21:27
.... Its a wonder he didnt apply for the seymour head job!!!!

Does this mean Stevie D aint a certainty to remain in '06? There woulda been plenty of offers for hed jobs in Seymour over the past week or so I'd reckon.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 21:35
Does this mean Stevie D aint a certainty to remain in '06? There woulda been plenty of offers for hed jobs in Seymour over the past week or so I'd reckon.

Steve Daniel hasn't signed as yet due to a pending application for the Bushrangers coaching roll. That will be decided by Friday or maybe friday week, one of the two. But once that has been confirmed or dispelled, he will know exactly what is going on.

From there Seymour would put plans in place for next season you would have thought.

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 21:40
Steve Daniel hasn't signed as yet due to a pending application for the Bushrangers coaching roll. That will be decided by Friday or maybe friday week, one of the two. But once that has been confirmed or dispelled, he will know exactly what is going on. From there Seymour would put plans in place for next season you would have thought.

Thats what I was referring to mate - my mail has him just about in the chair if he wants the Bushies gig. My next question would be is B. Haberman next in line & who'll step into Jago big shoes???

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 21:45
Thats what I referring to mate - my mail has him just about in the chair if he wants the Bushies gig. My next question would be is B. Haberman next in line & who'll step into Jago big shoes???

Was speaking with the great man a few hours ago, and when he applied he didn't realise he would have to re-locate. So that may be a snag in procedings.

Can't let too much of my info out in the open, but plans are in place if sjd lands the bushies job. as precausion, but i don't think haberman is that fall back man. Steve's advice for him was to wait until his playing days are over to coach, as a rover it would get pretty hard to coach and play decent, bernie is a match winner, he needs to focus on winning matches, not coaching whilst on the field.

Anyway, all will come out in the next few weeks. Until then, your info is just about as good as mine. And we await the bushrangers decision.

HJ32
4 Oct 2005, 21:47
Dunno whether Bernie would take the job on, he'd certainly remain as assistant.
What about Simson?

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 21:48
Was speaking with the great man a few hours ago, and when he applied he didn't realise he would have to re-locate. So that may be a snag in procedings.

Can't let too much of my info out in the open, but plans are in place if sjd lands the bushies job. as precausion, but i don't think haberman is that fall back man. Steve's advice for him was to wait until his playing days are over to coach, as a rover it would get pretty hard to coach and play decent, bernie is a match winner, he needs to focus on winning matches, not coaching whilst on the field.

Anyway, all will come out in the next few weeks. Until then, your info is just about as good as mine. And we await the bushrangers decision.

Either gig (1's or 2's) providing the recruits hang around would be a much sought after one. Maybe throw ya hat in the ring for Whitnall and Fevola like everyone else!!!

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 21:59
What about Simson?

Simson hey!

Nah, not sure about howie.

I don't know who they will fall back on if Steve leaves, i do know that the person they would fall back on has been informed. But in terms of a name, within the club already, or if its a bloke from outside, i can't say because i don't know.

Ciao.

GVFootyfan
4 Oct 2005, 22:32
Have heard there are some pretty big names going for the Bushies job. Robert Shaw, Adrian Hickmott and Andy Collins. Do you think Steve Daniels would get the gig over these blokes.

Doona2
4 Oct 2005, 22:38
Have heard there are some pretty big names going for the Bushies job. Robert Shaw, Adrian Hickmott and Andy Collins. Do you think Steve Daniels would get the gig over these blokes.

Maybe Robert Shaw ahead of him, Hickmott no hope, hasn't he been run out of Shepp Footy Club?

GVFootyfan
4 Oct 2005, 23:10
Don't know about being run out but don't think he done a great job anyway. Lots of arguments with Byers I hear and if word is out he is going for Bushies they probably don't want him anyway. I have heard Shepp have rung a few people to see if they were interested in the Job.

GVFootyfan
4 Oct 2005, 23:13
Also in relation to Corey McKernan signing on with Westmeadows. I heard he also was an applicant for the Bushies job.

fat back pocket
4 Oct 2005, 23:31
Don't know about being run out but don't think he done a great job anyway. Lots of arguments with Byers I hear and if word is out he is going for Bushies they probably don't want him anyway. I have heard Shepp have rung a few people to see if they were interested in the Job.

I've heard shepp have been trying to poach!!

DekkaRoo
5 Oct 2005, 09:47

GV Middle Man, I cant really put a price on what he may be earning next year, it could be anything between $10-$20K. As far as players go, well they have struggled that last two years, finishing 2nd bottom both seasons. If he can attract a few good GV players to the club, I guess they can expect some good coin. They have many players that played last year that would not get a cent playing GV. They had one outstanding player in Goggins, who would be their highest paid player... but beyond him, there would be about 70% on minimum wage.

If I where a fringe player at Seymour and was asked to join Jago.. I would consider it!!

GV Middle Man
5 Oct 2005, 10:25
well lets just hope jago has a good year!!!!!! He deserves a crack at it... will doubt any fringe players will follow...there isnt many fringe players that live in melb bar a couple but will not name them on here and all are good blokes that love seymour so i doubt theyd flow the big man.... maybe if steve d doesnt get the bushies job he will also pack up and go with jago as his assistant....

and dekkaroo for jagos sack its better coaching a crap team and getting improvemment than coaching a good team and losing games....only one way up for jago!!!!!!!! would hate to see the man claim the wooden spoon

DekkaRoo
5 Oct 2005, 10:38
I agree with you GV Middle Man.... I hope he can get the side up and running again. Seddon have been a good side in our league in the 90's, if he can get the side to gain the respect which they had in the past years, he has done well. I am not sure whether he knows anyone within the club, but I think its just what the club needs. A coach that not many of the fellas playing there know much about, so he can give them a fresh new start and a new lease of life. He obviously had the credentials the club where after, so good Luck to him I say!!!!!

Travvy43
5 Oct 2005, 11:08
They had one outstanding player in Goggins, who would be their highest paid player... but beyond him, there would be about 70% on minimum wage.

If I where a fringe player at Seymour and was asked to join Jago.. I would consider it!!

Seems like Jago has one main job to do, and that is to keep this Goggins. Stated on other threads ont his site that he is moving to Strathmore.

Back to the GV. A lot of internal rumbling shave being going on at shepp with hickmont and the committee dont want him to continue on next year. Non playing coach is their preference for next year

Grandale
5 Oct 2005, 11:14
I'm awaiting my offer as we speak.

I heard Mark Pilling and Nick Lane were a chance to go with him?

Can you confirm that Grandale or Middle Man?

I've no idea what Pillsy's up to next year, FBP, but I doubt Lanos would be making his way to the Western Region League.
Best of luck to Poopsy. Say FBP, any word of who is now likely to be entrusted with the job of leading the motley crew that is the Seymour Scooby Doos?

GV Middle Man
5 Oct 2005, 11:15
Must of been some serious falling out with hickmont... the 3 games i watched of him this year he put his body on the line for his chargers.... got a big work ethic... surely some one from shepp could comment.....its more likely to be the players dont want to put in the hard yards... they had a good team this year and should of been pushing for the premiership harder than they did.....

Grandale
5 Oct 2005, 11:18
What about Simson?

Simsen, hey...

GV Middle Man
5 Oct 2005, 11:18
Grandale heard the doc was a fair show for the twos job.... saw him giving in depth instructions to the league midfeild before the granny.. could be a master mind...also barking instruction at sjd during the game... could be what the twos are looking for........

Grandale
5 Oct 2005, 11:22
Grandale heard the doc was a fair show for the twos job.... saw him giving in depth instructions to the league midfeild before the granny.. could be a master mind...also barking instruction at sjd during the game... could be what the twos are looking for........

Lord help us!

bradrowe#32
5 Oct 2005, 11:50
Seems like Jago has one main job to do, and that is to keep this Goggins. Stated on other threads ont his site that he is moving to Strathmore.

Back to the GV. A lot of internal rumbling shave being going on at shepp with hickmont and the committee dont want him to continue on next year. Non playing coach is their preference for next year

They advertised the senior coaching position in the Shepp. News on Monday. They were looking for a playing or non-playing coach.

Think I might throw my hat into the ring.

Flat Track Bully
5 Oct 2005, 14:03
Must of been some serious falling out with hickmont... the 3 games i watched of him this year he put his body on the line for his chargers.... got a big work ethic... surely some one from shepp could comment.....its more likely to be the players dont want to put in the hard yards... they had a good team this year and should of been pushing for the premiership harder than they did.....

Believed to be some dissension in the camp about his EF performance...He may have had 30 touches, but his opponent kicked five goals.

Was conspicious by his absence from the SFC B & F....

fat back pocket
5 Oct 2005, 18:13

Don't underestimate the doc young fella, he was the mastermind behind 91, and was a VFL onballer at 15.

Not to mention one of the harshest critics you will ever meet which makes him a good person to have around the club, someone who doesn't take ********.

If he was a part of the coaching panel this year, you would have been on the chopping blokes a few times i can assure you.

Thank god he wasn't, as we all know what transcribed in the granny.

SFNC doesn't want him as coach, we wouldn't survive the pre-season, he would kill every one of us. Grandale, HJ32 and maybe even Doona could vouch all this.

One reason seymour won the 91 flag was the two main men off the park (robin white was player/coach) was butch inness and the doc. Two of the hardest pricks you'll ever meet. Both call a spade a spade.

GV Middle Man
5 Oct 2005, 18:19
No doubting you FPB... we should of sent the doc over to help lamaro but lamaro is scared of needles so he couldnt of helped.... go the doc...