View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Grandale
16 Oct 2005, 11:17
The thing with Bradshaw i think is that Wodonga might be a fallen giant in the O&M and most of the time the big name players want to play in successfull sides, Tatura of the past has been greatly successfull excluding last season and he mighrt see that Tat is a club with money and look to be heading towards some more success.

I cant categorically say that he is certain to pull the jumper on all i can say is that if ever a player of his stature was gonna leave a 'Glamour' club like Wodonga then you would be inclined to think he would want to go to a club of similiur stature so Tatura wouldnt be out of the race.

So many names get thrown around at this time of year and its hard to believe some of the garbage that is said, but yeah Tat are very much on the move.

How is everyones respective clubs going for recruiting?? i doubt Euroa and Seymour would need much, ive seen them both play and are great sides, Tat will need to get some good names and have them gel together quickly to become a challenger to those 2.

cheers

I can tell you Tat were into him big time before the 2005 season and, if the reports about them being cashed up are true, will probably do the same again before 2006.
I may be a little bit biased, but I reckon he'd tear the GV up. I know he didn't have the greatest year in 2005, but battled a lot with injury. With an injury-free season he'd be certain to top the ton in a good side.

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 09:12
Seymour is the only GV club Dazzling Dunga Bradshaw is allowed to play for. He will be disowned by the family if he plays anywhere else.

I'm sure we can come to some sort of agreement. Bradshaw, Saad and Ramsay would be a fair forward line.

Rattray hurt his knee at cricket on sat. Going to see the great man this morning. Get a prognosis. Apparently he has hurt it before like this. needs a clean out apparently - not that i really understood much of what the lanky Full Forward was saying, he is hard enough to understand at the best of timese, try doing it after he's had a gut full of gas!

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 09:19
Hey FBP, what have you heard about new recruits going to Seymour next year. You obviously communicate with Steve D. regularly what has he said about next year for the Lions.

Yeah, not 100%, i'm pretty sure they are going to keep a similar list to this year, with Ramsay set to return, and bailey is going in for an arthriscope or has had it, the loss of collins should be pretty much overcome.

They have their eyes on a couple of younger blokes from around the minor leagues. And with the fallout with Yea and the KD, we may be able to snare one or two players - probably not firsts players, but some extra depth in the reserves. Make it a stronger squad.

I know Paul Cox is keen to have a better showing in the reserves next year, the seniors will have a relatively similar squad to this year + ramsay, - Collins, but if we have better depth, it will push the senior blokes that little bit more.

With shepparton looking like they are going to lose a few players, the reserves could be eyeing off a shot at the big one, with the seniors aiming for Back to back.

But, i know no one has been ear marked, or secured as new recruits at this stage.

Gazza - just on the boys in the crash, Zubby is fine, he has some whip lash, so his neck is a bit stiff and sore, Timmy is in intensive care, came down with Nuemonia (not sure of the spelling of that one!! Chinup might be able to help us?) so he isn't in the best shape. Won't know for 2-3 weeks whether he will walk again.

Dave Lemke - haven't heard too much, he had a spinal plate or something like that put in. along with his 2 broken arms, he is still in hospital.

The doctors are hopefull all will be ok, but only time will tell.

Keep ya posted.

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 09:31
GVFL cleaned up the awards at the Premiers Dinner on saturday night.

A shepparton lady was crowned "Volunteer of the year"
Club of the year - "Mooroopna"
League Official of the year - Eric Bott.

So a clean sweep of the awards for the GV at the VCFL Premiers Dinner.

I suppose it shows that the GV are excelling in all area's.

Good to see Mooroopna rewarded for a year of hard work. Not sure how the VCFL comes up with the nominations or the winner. You would assume Eric Bott and the board nominate one or two sides. And the VCFL chose from the nominations.

Anyway, great effort by the GV, deserving winners for all awards.

ECHUCABOY
17 Oct 2005, 09:49
Absa-freakin'-lutely he can back it up. On weights he is over the line providing he draws reasonably (that's between barries 4-13). Colin Little's worried about whether he can back up but he was also worried about him coping in last Saturday's race and he won that in a canter. Just get on.
Forget Perlin, Doona, he's not running. being saved for the Cox Plate.

Ohhhhh Grandale, grandale, grandale........Lucky I didnt listen to u. An Alcohol induced 50 e/w on Railings was certaintly exciting.....FBP sure u dont want me to email through my tips??? heheheheh :D

Grandale
17 Oct 2005, 10:31
Ohhhhh Grandale, grandale, grandale........Lucky I didnt listen to u. An Alcohol induced 50 e/w on Railings was certaintly exciting.....FBP sure u dont want me to email through my tips??? heheheheh :D

Nice ounting. I did a phantom call for a Caulfield Cup calcutta and called Railings the winner (FBP can back mke up here). But do you think I had a zac on it in the Cup? Not on your life.
Fair run by El Segundo, but the maturity fears were probably founded. Look out for him in the Cox Plate next year.
Some cracking Cups trials. None better than Leica Falcon (hands up if you've had enough of Craig Williams coming with a slashing run late and then claiming after the race his horse should have won? Ride `em better earlier Willy boy) but I was also taken with Eye Popper's run.
What do you like in the Cox Plate Echucaboy?

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 11:02

Grandale should have listened to himself, he made a phantom call at a cricket club Calcutta on friday night and Railings won!!

Classic.

Echucaboy, you seem to be a little more on top of the tips than anyone else here. So at this stage, we have to go with you and your tips.

Put them up here. Who is your tip for the Plate on saturday?

tige19
17 Oct 2005, 11:38
Boys boys boys i must apologise, i got a cracker tip on saturday and didnt share it with anyone but the boys i was at the TAB with.

My dads mate punts in excess of 20k a race on big race days and his mail is top notch and i got a fone call the morning of the cup and got told to lay big money on Jet Spur in the 5th. Was told the horse will be a supersta and is far superior than anything in the field, was told the coat was brimming, the sparkle was in the eye and the horse was toey as a roman sandal which is always a good thing, means the horse just wants to explode, wants to run and race.

Anyway had a mate on track who could get 15s for it so i got him to throw a 100ew on track and i put 100ew at the tab and the thing bolted in. The boys where very happy.

Tip of the day by a mile, still only walked out with 200 bucks though.......

jmain14
17 Oct 2005, 12:16
Tip of the day by a mile, still only walked out with 200 bucks though.......
he he. it did bolt in though hey, nice work.

gazza12
17 Oct 2005, 12:30
hey stu do you no if theres anywhere i can get sdca cricket scores from
any websites?

Grandale
17 Oct 2005, 13:34
hey stu do you no if theres anywhere i can get sdca cricket scores from
any websites?

Gazza my boy, all you need to know is Seymour B Grade (who had not won a game in two years) beat the reigning premier by six wickets with 10 men/boys (and 9 for 15 overs as one bloke sat off as he iced his ankle after twisting it while fielding).
here come the Maroons!

bronco
17 Oct 2005, 14:32
Hows Seymour A-grade against the Broady boys?

Travvy43
17 Oct 2005, 15:07
Mellington to coach the shepp Bears in 2006. Heard that if he did not get the position there he was going to be playing with kyabram next year.

So where doees that leave hickmonth i wander??

ECHUCABOY
17 Oct 2005, 15:09
hit us with those tips tige!!! Thats awesome....Grandale was only jokin buddy, but wasnt it a great win.

I cant go past Fields Of Omagh for the Plate and heres why..........The last two years it has beaten the likes of Lohnro and Starcraft. While Makybe is a star, it would be fair to say that over 2040m Lohnro and Starcraft would have to be rated as highly as the diva, over 2400/3200 its a different story.

This to me is FOO race, its build has been great this prep once again and I really can obviously only the Diva challenging it, but FOO will have her measure.

Anyway ive backed gods own and railings...........I think I might be due for a slip up......so Im not ganna talk myself up, just playin it cool :cool:

Grandale
17 Oct 2005, 15:12
Hows Seymour A-grade against the Broady boys?

A Grade, Schmay Grade. It's all about getting some B Grade respect back for the Maroons this year. Look for some eyebrow-raising selections in coming weeks.

cosby
17 Oct 2005, 16:04
Mellington to coach the shepp Bears in 2006. Heard that if he did not get the position there he was going to be playing with kyabram next year.

So where doees that leave hickmonth i wonder??
there was rumours last year that mellignton was goin to ky. good mates with adamson apparently.

Grandale
17 Oct 2005, 16:14
there was rumours last year that mellignton was goin to ky. good mates with adamson apparently.

Probably would have played at Monty together

Travvy43
17 Oct 2005, 16:23
We;; i think many clubs talked to mellington last year, tonny also had a few chats with him too.

Hopefully he can get his injuries right so the GV can see him back close to the way we know him. both times i saw him play this year he was just on the better side of average.

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 16:26
Probably would have played at Monty together

Yes, expect some big decisions to be made at selection this week. I suspect grandale (who scored 68 last week) will be rested, rumours are it was a scratchy innings to say the least.

Add to that a pittiful display of punting means he has to go back to the track to get the real inside info.

Expect an old fella by the name of Joseph Amad to have a run around in the Seymour B grade within the coming weeks. His good mate, Paul Cox is set to make his return to cricket this week, and will have a heavy influence on the Northcote Park star, who is recovering from an ankle injury after his 2yo son, Leo tackled him to the ground when joe was a little under the weather after a day on the gas. Two weeks on the side line should be all it takes before he makes a stunning debut.

Travvy43
17 Oct 2005, 16:31
Expect Joey Amad to make an impact with the bat, he is an absolute butcher with the willow.

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 16:42
Expect Joey Amad to make an impact with the bat, he is an absolute butcher with the willow.

I hear that, we are trying to recruit him for a few A grade games. But i think if he's happy to run around in the B's. He can do that with Coxy.

We might even let little leo play in our C grade. He is smarter than most of them. Bit of incentive for Joey to come up.

Doona2
17 Oct 2005, 16:57
Yes, expect some big decisions to be made at selection this week. I suspect grandale (who scored 68 last week) will be rested, rumours are it was a scratchy innings to say the least.

Not 100% certain but did Grandale survive a massive lbw shout early? Pretty sure it would've been given out at Chittick Park hey FBP!!! Kid Stevens looks good, got dropped a few times, but for a young bloke he did look competent and plays his shots. Maybe a 3,4,5 rather than an opener.

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 17:14
Not 100% certain but did Grandale survive a massive lbw shout early? Pretty sure it would've been given out at Chittick Park hey FBP!!! Kid Stevens looks good, got dropped a few times, but for a young bloke he did look competent and plays his shots. Maybe a 3,4,5 rather than an opener.

I did hear that, thats why Grandale is out, he should have actually made a blob!

And yes, if he were under the watchful eye of one J Hadfield, he would have been given the death finger.

I'd expect to see Tommy Stevens in the A grade at some stage this year, maybe even next week depending upon availabilities of some, and the training of others.

I think it is time for M Elbourne to head back to where his name suggests Doona. He was bowled on the weekend...how i do not know. But it must have been bad considering the bowler!

Doona2
17 Oct 2005, 17:24
I think it is time for M Elbourne to head back to where his name suggests Doona. He was bowled on the weekend...how i do not know. But it must have been bad considering the bowler!

Didn't pay much attention to the cricket with the races on so I couldnt tell ya who cleaned young Smarties (Elbourne) up.

Travvy43
17 Oct 2005, 17:32
Any reports from Seymour Cup Day, did a worthy winner take the chocolates in the Seymour Lions 2005 Premier Plate or whatever it was called.

How did membership sales go on the day??

fat back pocket
17 Oct 2005, 17:48
Any reports from Seymour Cup Day, did a worthy winner take the chocolates in the Seymour Lions 2005 Premier Plate or whatever it was called.

How did membership sales go on the day??

Response was great to the video package that was shown. The flag was placed above the bookies ring, which was also great. Good turn out of players and supporters. Not sure exactly on membership sales. President was taking care of that.

Plenty of ex-seymour players who played a while back, still young, keen to get back on board. Probably fringe players, but they add to depth and squad numbers so that was good.

So all in all, a good publicity stunt for the club. a good start to hopefully a promising 06 GVFL season.

Grandale
17 Oct 2005, 18:52

Grandale did survive an LBW appeal (when he was 22) but the Broady boys carried on a bit more than was necessary. He took a big stride down the wicket to play a trademark hoik to ''cow cocky corner'' and was struck in a region that felt decidedly outside the line of off-stump. Definitely not an LB you'd get in B Grade when there's no umpire.
Let's not also forget Grandale also took a wicket. Have I told you about that one FBP?

Doona2
17 Oct 2005, 19:09
Grandale did survive an LBW appeal (when he was 22) but the Broady boys carried on a bit more than was necessary. He took a big stride down the wicket to play a trademark hoik to ''cow cocky corner'' and was struck in a region that felt decidedly outside the line of off-stump. Definitely not an LB you'd get in B Grade when there's no umpire.
Let's not also forget Grandale also took a wicket. Have I told you about that one FBP?

A wicket and runs, if Grandale and Tommy Stevens dont get promoted to a side that slumped to 6/30 odd then the stewards will be called in I reckon!!!

The Whip
17 Oct 2005, 21:06
Word has it Nick Powell and the Burls boys have been hitting the gym hard in preparation for next years footy season. Powell would be chance for senior CH Forward next year you would think

Doona2
17 Oct 2005, 22:21
Word has it Nick Powell and the Burls boys have been hitting the gym hard in preparation for next years footy season. Powell would be chance for senior CH Forward next year you would think
Is Grainger, Hammill or Janz leaving? Thought all the talk had been centred around Janz playing more up forward in 2006???

bradrowe#32
17 Oct 2005, 23:43

So where doees that leave hickmonth i wander??

Hopefully jobless and homeless.

I can't stand him as a person or a player (not that he would really care what I thought of him).

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 09:23

I did notice that, and it just makes me wonder how broadford lost so many players over the off season, because surely a team that has blokes getting bowled by the rolls joyce and letting grandale make runs and take wickets. It just shows how weak the comp is!!

Just kiddin.

B grade might have a fair line up on the weekend, when we talk potential anyway. We are hoping to snare the big Amad, Schottner, Anderson, Cox quaddy.

Anderson is a little underdone and may end up in the b's. If anderson in B's will help lure the Serb and Amad, then the selection panel will do it.

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 09:27

Did powell play reserves this year? Under 18's? How old? Obviously he did ok this year if you think he will play seniors next year. What about Hyatt? Will they play dual CHF's or would they send a ff line of Janz, Grainger and Hyatt? Very tall, and hard to match up on.

That line would go ok at Deakin. Shepparton generally play a forward line of that kind of height, with Bamford roving around there, could be a potent forward line.

Grandale
18 Oct 2005, 11:38
A wicket and runs, if Grandale and Tommy Stevens dont get promoted to a side that slumped to 6/30 odd then the stewards will be called in I reckon!!!

Grandale's punting addiction will render him unavailable for the next two weekends.

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 12:06
Grandale's punting addiction will render him unavailable for the next two weekends.

5 or 6 handy replacements will fill grandales void though.

Out: Grandale:
In: Miximum Power, Amad, El-Pres, Joffy, Al Loweke and possibly Eric Loweke.

Should make up a handy enough b-grade line up.

A grade is where the problems lie.

ECHUCABOY
18 Oct 2005, 12:21
5 or 6 handy replacements will fill grandales void though.

Out: Grandale:
In: Miximum Power, Amad, El-Pres, Joffy, Al Loweke and possibly Eric Loweke.

Should make up a handy enough b-grade line up.

A grade is where the problems lie.

When did this thread become the "Seymour Cricket Thread" and more importantly "the Fat Back Pocket must post atleast 1 in every 3 posts thread". Ehhhhhhhhhhh!!

Grandale
18 Oct 2005, 12:28
When did this thread become the "Seymour Cricket Thread" and more importantly "the Fat Back Pocket must post atleast 1 in every 3 posts thread". Ehhhhhhhhhhh!!

LOL. Pretty quiet time around GVFL traps, EB. Just keeping things moving.

Junkie
18 Oct 2005, 12:31

Here fu$%$king here... Sick of this cricket crap. Im pretty sure that there is a board on the front page for other sports and general dribble.

bradrowe#32
18 Oct 2005, 13:16

Haha, good stuff.

In other footy related news, it appears that former Rochester player Ash Watson has been delisted by North Melbourne. He was the pick 14 in the 2001 draft and played only 7 games, despite consistently being Port's better players.

IMO, he was pretty unlucky. While he's not overly tall, he has excellent skills, good pace and a good footy brain. However, he has attracted some interest from Sydney, Melbourne and Geelong, so hopefully something comes from that.

jmain14
18 Oct 2005, 13:16
fair call echuca boy. fbp - we haven't bickered for a while however I do feel I need to bring up that you once had a go at me for crapping on about rochy too much - you even created an official rochy thread for myself and others.

so how would you rate your past couple of months of posting in this thread??

jmain14
18 Oct 2005, 13:17
Haha, good stuff.

In other footy related news, it appears that former Rochester player Ash Watson has been delisted by North Melbourne. He was the pick 14 in the 2001 draft and played only 7 games, despite consistently being Port's better players.

IMO, he was pretty unlucky. While he's not overly tall, he has excellent skills, good pace and a good footy brain. However, he has attracted some interest from Sydney, Melbourne and Geelong, so hopefully something comes from that.
yeah let's hope something comes of it. very unlucky at the kangas.

Guinea
18 Oct 2005, 13:21

Followed his career pretty closely, rarely out of Ports best, but did himself no favours when he did crack it for a ones game at North this year. Actually, in one of the VFL finals he actually played 2's for Port, so he must have dropped off a fair bit. 7 games in 4-5yrs, the writing was on the wall, hope he gets another crack, but doubt it. It'd be interesting to see if he went back to Rochy...

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 13:25
fair call echuca boy. fbp - we haven't bickered for a while however I do feel I need to bring up that you once had a go at me for crapping on about rochy too much - you even created an official rochy thread for myself and others.

so how would you rate your past couple of months of posting in this thread??

good

jmain14
18 Oct 2005, 13:28
Followed his career pretty closely, rarely out of Ports best, but did himself no favours when he did crack it for a ones game at North this year. Actually, in one of the VFL finals he actually played 2's for Port, so he must have dropped off a fair bit. 7 games in 4-5yrs, the writing was on the wall, hope he gets another crack, but doubt it. It'd be interesting to see if he went back to Rochy...
I don't think he'll be at rochy next year mate but it'd be nice. yeah, he didn't exactly terrorise the statisticians in the game he played this year v west coast but at the same time he only played 30 minutes. similar story in each of his other 6 games in the sense that he was unlucky to not receive more game time.

jmain14
18 Oct 2005, 13:30
good
I'd probably go with hypocritical and pathetic dribble.

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 13:43
I'd probably go with hypocritical and pathetic dribble.

Yeeeahhhh...ok then. Enough's enough boss.

ECHUCABOY
18 Oct 2005, 14:29
FBP at one stage there there was 4-5 posts before u got one in, please lift your game. its finally good to see u with no ammunition and absolutley nothin to say.

Fair to say Ash was definetly at the wrong club, Brent Harvey, Shannon Grant and other smalls have not helped his case at all.......

fat back pocket
18 Oct 2005, 16:04
FBP at one stage there there was 4-5 posts before u got one in, please lift your game. its finally good to see u with no ammunition and absolutley nothin to say.

Fair to say Ash was definetly at the wrong club, Brent Harvey, Shannon Grant and other smalls have not helped his case at all.......

I do have something...i didn't see your name in the Eastern Leagues top 20 Trav? Whats goin on?

Spending too much time at the TAB or the track during the summer, not enough on the track. Fair enough too, big fan of how the ladies dress themselves to venture to the races.

And echucaboy, don't have a go at me about talking about cricket, you were talking about the horses as much as i did about cricket. hypocrit!

No Heart
18 Oct 2005, 16:06
Would you be able to tell me Echuca Boy how Dylan Butler went this year coaching in GVFL . I did hear he was injured for most of the year,so wasnt able to help out much on the ground , but would like to know how he went of it.

ECHUCABOY
18 Oct 2005, 16:09
I do have something...i didn't see your name in the Eastern Leagues top 20 Trav? Whats goin on?

Spending too much time at the TAB or the track during the summer, not enough on the track. Fair enough too, big fan of how the ladies dress themselves to venture to the races.

And echucaboy, don't have a go at me about talking about cricket, you were talking about the horses as much as i did about cricket. hypocrit!

hahaha.....how come u tried to eat your opposition foward pocket?

MAXIMUM_POWER
18 Oct 2005, 16:12

Fair to say Ash was definetly at the wrong club, Brent Harvey, Shannon Grant and other smalls have not helped his case at all

I would suggest that there is a mounting case that Ash just wasn't quite good enough - no shame in that either, 5 years on a list shows the club saw more than just a little bit of potential, but at some stage you've got to take it further

Travvy43
18 Oct 2005, 16:13
Would you be able to tell me Echuca Boy how Dylan Butler went this year coaching in GVFL . I did hear he was injured for most of the year,so wasnt able to help out much on the ground , but would like to know how he went of it.

Has he applierd for a coaching job with your club or something no heart??

When we played them he had bad day but you could noticably see he was carrying a bad ankle. Cannot help you out much with his coaching attributes though.

ECHUCABOY
18 Oct 2005, 16:15

To be honest mate I only saw a few games this year and butler played in all of them and played really well. I think at his age he can only get better in his role and from what Ive seen and heard his been pretty good.

IMO a playing Coach is out of date and while I think he could do the job well, I dont really think anyone can pull off being a playing coach these days......like to see what others think?

This year he didn't have anywhere near the side Echuca has had in the last few years and with himself carrying an injury and durie breaking his arm or wateva the side had no hope of getting near the finals. What he did do was play alot of the youngsters ahead of the older ( and probably better) blokes in the twos which was great to see....

Also interesting that this is your first post and you asking what I thought of Buts.......but ah well.....!

GVFootyfan
18 Oct 2005, 16:54
Seems like a smokey has come out of the closet here. Maybe another alias for FBP.

No Heart
18 Oct 2005, 17:18
Sorry Echuca boy i thought you played at Echuca, i heard a gentleman talking about him { at the pub} and it was very positive. I dont think at this level playing coaches are as good as non playing, { that was my argument at the pub} but i was told he done a good job, i only saw a couple of finals games this year and i was really impressed with the standard of coaching and the standard of footy.Peter Tossell and Steve Daniel i was very impressed with this was how we come to argue about non playing v playing .He was a big wrap for Dylan and thinks hes up there , and thats great

ANT JESS
18 Oct 2005, 17:24
I have aqired a media player file with Saad's mark from GF, too good of a grab not to share it around. Anyone who wants the file can send me a pm with there email and I'll send it on. What a grab! :thumbsu:

jmain14
18 Oct 2005, 17:52
I have aqired a media player file with Saad's mark from GF, too good of a grab not to share it around. Anyone who wants the file can send me a pm with there email and I'll send it on. What a grab! :thumbsu:
yeah, for anyone that hasn't seen it I'd advise you to obtain the link. definately was some grab. just wish I could see the one he took against rochy!!

Wizz
18 Oct 2005, 18:53
Haha, good stuff.

Yeap hope all goes well for him

Wizz
19 Oct 2005, 02:54
yeah, for anyone that hasn't seen it I'd advise you to obtain the link. definately was some grab. just wish I could see the one he took against rochy!!

could you email to me mainy?

fat back pocket
19 Oct 2005, 08:26

Saad Saad's Massive Grand Final Grab - brought to you by FBP.

Seems that it is making its way around the footy world via email.

Spreading like wild fire it seems. Eddie already has a copy safely in his hands.

The Rochy one wasn't near as good. Extrememly skillful, but no where near as spectacular once you watch it 300 times.

He literally jumped over the blokes head, missing his chance for a step ladder, twisted around and took it one handed flying away from the ball. Fair skill involved, but didn't get the massive ride and leap like the Grand Final mark.

That Rochy mark was sent in to Almost Footy Legends but didn't get on.

Duff Man
19 Oct 2005, 10:51

I've been reading this thread for a few weeks now, and must say it's the most entertaining on BF.

With footy season over, I suppose there's room for a little bit of cricket banter, but I hope it doesn't get to a stage where we have to re-live every ball from every game.

Good stuff :thumbsu:

jmain14
19 Oct 2005, 11:28
that's an interesting one then. many people at rochy would rate it the best mark they have seen at gv level in the past 10 years. if you look any further than 10 years you'd be getting into the great robbie miller era, and surely it couldn't rate with some of the hangers he took (??).

brent smith (I think that was his name - perhaps travvy could help out here)from tonny took a pearler against rochy midway through '04 which was sent in and shown on almost footy legends yet every player I have spoken to didn't rate it as spectacular as saad's grab...

fat back pocket
19 Oct 2005, 11:38
that's an interesting one then. many people at rochy would rate it the best mark they have seen at gv level in the past 10 years. if you look any further than 10 years you'd be getting into the great robbie miller era, and surely it couldn't rate with some of the hangers he took (??).

brent smith (I think that was his name - perhaps travvy could help out here)from tonny took a pearler against rochy midway through '04 which was sent in and shown on almost footy legends yet every player I have spoken to didn't rate it as spectacular as saad's grab...

That one from last year was good because the ball was over his head and he fell back with one arm. Was that the mark?

Saad didn't get a ride at all. By all means it was a skillful mark. But when you look at the tape, he barely even touches the bloke, he literally jumps over the top of his head.

It was a mark that got re-run on highlights tapes, over and over. But it was no where near as spectacular as his two GF marks.

jmain14
19 Oct 2005, 11:43
That one from last year was good because the ball was over his head and he fell back with one arm. Was that the mark?

Saad didn't get a ride at all. By all means it was a skillful mark. But when you look at the tape, he barely even touches the bloke, he literally jumps over the top of his head.

It was a mark that got re-run on highlights tapes, over and over. But it was no where near as spectacular as his two GF marks.
fair enough.

yeah I think that's the mark of smith's I was talking about. he got up bloody high for a big bloke.

Travvy43
19 Oct 2005, 12:07

Yeah i remember brent smiths although i think the best one i have seen taken by a tonny player was one mark reid took at tonny against rochy last year. It was sent into almost footy legends and got to the final 10. rippa of a grab too, i have a picture of it on file if anyone is intested in having a look, private message email addy if interested.

jmain14
19 Oct 2005, 12:38
Yeah i remember brent smiths although i think the best one i have seen taken by a tonny player was one mark reid took at tonny against rochy last year. It was sent into almost footy legends and got to the final 10. rippa of a grab too, i have a picture of it on file if anyone is intested in having a look, private message email addy if interested.
maybe that was the one I was talking about (??) - now I am confused. was that the one taken on nath roulston's shoulders on the half-forward flank on the non-change rooms side??

bradrowe#32
19 Oct 2005, 13:17
Saad Saad's Massive Grand Final Grab - brought to you by FBP.

Seems that it is making its way around the footy world via email.

Spreading like wild fire it seems. Eddie already has a copy safely in his hands.

The Rochy one wasn't near as good. Extrememly skillful, but no where near as spectacular once you watch it 300 times.

He literally jumped over the blokes head, missing his chance for a step ladder, twisted around and took it one handed flying away from the ball. Fair skill involved, but didn't get the massive ride and leap like the Grand Final mark.

I played ressies that day and got out of the change rooms near the end of quarter time. I think by that stage he'd already kicked 6 (I think) goals in the 1st quarter alone.

That mark was in the goal sqaure up the end I was sitting. Even the Rochy boys were cheering.

bradrowe#32
19 Oct 2005, 13:18

I am related to Brent (in a round about way) and am very suprised the big fella could get so high.

I believe he played in a flag this year with the Gemmill's out at Nathalia.

Travvy43
19 Oct 2005, 13:47
maybe that was the one I was talking about (??) - now I am confused. was that the one taken on nath roulston's shoulders on the half-forward flank on the non-change rooms side??

thats the mark i am talking about. It was a great grab.

madtiger
19 Oct 2005, 14:18
I am related to Brent (in a round about way) and am very suprised the big fella could get so high.

I believe he played in a flag this year with the Gemmill's out at Nathalia.

Yeah he did, with Brendan Parker also it was a ripper team for the Murray league

bradrowe#32
19 Oct 2005, 14:45
Yeah he did, with Brendan Parker also it was a ripper team for the Murray league

Yeah, pretty handy team from what I've read/seen.

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 14:48
hey fbp any truth patty rattray will be at bendigo bombers next year

fat back pocket
19 Oct 2005, 15:15

Not officially, he has been called up to go and have a run with them in the pre-season. Although it will depend on his knee. Went down on Saturday playing cricket. Not sure of the damage, was going to see the doc on Monday.

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 15:18
what about robbie douglas and rod van riet could they be on the move as well

Doona2
19 Oct 2005, 15:18

I think Big Patty did the knee at cricket last weekend and is in doubt for the 2006 season. I was asked by a Bombers official to forward his details, along with several other lads from the Seymour/Broadford area.

Doona2
19 Oct 2005, 15:21
what about robbie douglas and rod van riet could they be on the move as well

Chipper Douglas mentioned he was keen to try his luck at Coburg. Has a Seymour based job, and aint overly keen to leave the comforts of home, besides if he goes to far the Broadford Cricket Club will be stuffed. We already look like losing his brother Richie due to the AFL draft in coming weeks.

Grandale
19 Oct 2005, 15:25
Chipper Douglas mentioned he was keen to try his luck at Coburg. Has a Seymour based job, and aint overly keen to leave the comforts of home, besides if he goes to far the Broadford Cricket Club will be stuffed. We already look like losing his brother Richie due to the AFL draft in coming weeks.

Might it be an idea for Bob to see which AFL clubs nets his bro first? Reality of the situation is Ricky D will probably spend most of next year in the Scooby Doos and in all likelihood may be the last chance they get to play alongside each other.

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 15:26
you might have to start looking at promoting some of the c graders there
doona they gave us a nice touch up at pyalong saturday

Doona2
19 Oct 2005, 15:30
you might have to start looking at promoting some of the c graders there
doona they gave us a nice touch up at pyalong saturday

Did you play and they still rolled ya's??? Not gunna get easier for the opposition, Nolan, O'Connor, D. Inness, E. Neilson, M. Edwards all looking to play C-grade shortly - wont be pretty but the run rate should be handy

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 15:31
whats the mail for this week there brad did you get to breakfast with the best yesterday

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 15:35
whats the story there im tipping some handy scores in the coming weeks
then doona

fat back pocket
19 Oct 2005, 16:05
Might it be an idea for Bob to see which AFL clubs nets his bro first? Reality of the situation is Ricky D will probably spend most of next year in the Scooby Doos and in all likelihood may be the last chance they get to play alongside each other.

6 interstate clubs and 4 vic clubs have given him a call or visted him apparently. So the odds are that he will go interstate. Robbie definitely won't follow him then.

Grandale
19 Oct 2005, 16:05
whats the mail for this week there brad did you get to breakfast with the best yesterday

Don't know if Brad went, but I popped along for a look and took up an invite to attend the CP barrier draw brekky. Really like Moonee Valley's Brekky With The Best...you're a lot closer to the horses and you feel more a part of it. Like most things at Flemington, you're too far away from it at headquarters.
There was no Rogerson-style spruiking by any trainers but Micky Moroney did promise there would be fireworks a long way from home if the first half of the race was run slowly.

gazza12
19 Oct 2005, 16:29
ok thanks for that grandale

Doona2
19 Oct 2005, 17:19
6 interstate clubs and 4 vic clubs have given him a call or visted him apparently. So the odds are that he will go interstate. Robbie definitely won't follow him then.

Add another two to that FBP, Richie said at training last night 12 clubs have made contact.

Guinea
19 Oct 2005, 17:22
Add another two to that FBP, Richie said at training last night 12 clubs have made contact.

The kid must be able to play, but how did all these clubs get his number, has he got his own website or something...been handing out business cards.

RiverinAFL
19 Oct 2005, 17:36
The only way there would have been 15.000 there is if they were counting all the residents within a 500 metre radius of the ground. Deakin struggles to hold 10 thousand according to my reliable source.

Hi all, just found this pic of Deakin Reserve on the City of Shep website. From the looks I'd agree with 10-12k max

http://www.shepparton.vic.gov.au/image_full.asp?src=/images/photos/residents/leisure/Deakin%20Reserve.jpg&cap=

Junkie
19 Oct 2005, 17:53
Hi all, just found this pic of Deakin Reserve on the City of Shep website. From the looks I'd agree with 10-12k max

http://www.shepparton.vic.gov.au/image_full.asp?src=/images/photos/residents/leisure/Deakin%20Reserve.jpg&cap=

How the flying F$$%k can you estimate the crowd from that photo? Are you some sort of physics genius or something?

No Heart
19 Oct 2005, 18:10
Kyabram have picked up Jimmy Taylor from Montmorency played with Addo in two Grand final losses when Mellington was coach, good player, will help with the loss of Timmy Watson going back to Mont.Had Mellington also until he got the bears job, and expect a few more Monty boys to head up to the GVFL [ Bears or Ky] Euroa have just about got a gun ruckman [ just waiting for pen to paper im told] by the name of Damian Clarke no surprizes hes from the Bullants. Rochester look like they are going to welcome back some good old local talent and having another crack at former carlton player Anthony Francina and the seymor coach was seen friday night having tea with the
recently delisted Matty Allen , Karl Norman , and a bloke called Glen Manton.

Well i hope im pretty close here boys let me know

GVFootyfan
19 Oct 2005, 18:11

Entry to GVFL Grannie used to be $10 and this year was $15. Last years gate was $40,000 this year $62,000. $40,000 divide by $10 = 4000 paying customers (crowd supposedly 15000). 62,000 divide by $15 = 4133 paying customers (crowd supposedly 12,000 - 15000). If only 4133 people payed to get in (of which, even the players have to pay to get in!) where did the other 8,000 - 11,000 people come from. I know kids don't have to pay but I did not see that many kids there. Sounds like a lot of book tampering going on or just the league pumping their own tyres.

Junkie
19 Oct 2005, 18:20
Kyabram have picked up Jimmy Taylor from Montmorency played with Addo in two Grand final losses when Mellington was coach, good player, will help with the loss of Timmy Watson going back to Mont.Had Mellington also until he got the bears job, and expect a few more Monty boys to head up to the GVFL [ Bears or Ky] Euroa have just about got a gun ruckman [ just waiting for pen to paper im told] by the name of Damian Clarke no surprizes hes from the Bullants. Rochester look like they are going to welcome back some good old local talent and having another crack at former carlton player Anthony Francina and the seymor coach was seen friday night having tea with the

Thanks for the info Stuie

No Heart
19 Oct 2005, 20:13
May i be polite and ask who is stuie ???

Duff Man
19 Oct 2005, 22:00
[QUOTE=No Heart]and the seymor coach was seen friday night having tea with the recently delisted Matty Allen , Karl Norman , and a bloke called Glen Manton.

Wouldn't read a whole lot into this. I know that SJ Daniel is good mates with Manton and they catch up regularly, and he still keeps in touch with a lot of the guys from his Carlton days.

If there is more to it than just dinner, a ruck combination of Allen & Schottner would be an absolute nightmare for opposition sides!

HJ32
19 Oct 2005, 22:23
nightmare is an understatement. Matty Allen put in for the Bendigo Bombers GM gig - there are 16 candidates however including a former Brisbane, Richmond and Melbourne senior AFL coach. The whisper going about is that if Allen misses this job, he may well be looking for a country club in 06 - get out your chequebooks!!!

Karl Norman's old club Wang Rovers is first in the cue for his services. His father is involved in the club pretty heavily - and no Mr Norman is not on the social committee! not to my knowledge anyway!

Doona2
19 Oct 2005, 22:41
Karl Norman's old club Wang Rovers is first in the cue for his services. His father is involved in the club pretty heavily - and no Mr Norman is not on the social committee! not to my knowledge anyway!

Karl might end up at Broady alongside his partner in crime Lawrence

YaMan
20 Oct 2005, 07:45
Just heard the other day that Rory Hilton may be coming back to his junior club of Euroa next year.

What a midfield that would be

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 08:36
Just heard the other day that Rory Hilton may be coming back to his junior club of Euroa next year.

Euroa must a pretty deep pit...full of pinapples!!

HawkeEye
20 Oct 2005, 08:53

Pretty doubtful i think, think his plans are for a year off. But would be great to have him back as he has always wanted to come back to the town.

FBP, grow up and stop looking at child porn on the net. Could you quite possibly spend 14 hours of the day on the internet? Are you some sort of nerd, no wonder your playing 2's. Get outside and have a kick ya tool and get some fresh air into those fat lungs of yours.

Heard ya misses doesnt like you on the net and wants her bean flicked.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 09:28
Pretty doubtful i think, think his plans are for a year off. But would be great to have him back as he has always wanted to come back to the town.

FBP, grow up and stop looking at child porn on the net. Could you quite possibly spend 14 hours of the day on the internet? Are you some sort of nerd, no wonder your playing 2's. Get outside and have a kick ya tool and get some fresh air into those fat lungs of yours.

Heard ya misses doesnt like you on the net and wants her bean flicked.

You are some kind of sicko. I think it is you who watches too much porn!!

Mate, Euroa is a smaller town than Seymour. Everyone knows that both teams have spent money. But Euroa must have some bloody generous supporters if they can continue bringing in these high profile players.

Even the low profile blokes get good $$, couldn't imagine what a rory hilton would be asking for.

Anyhoo. Good luck to'em.

Guinea
20 Oct 2005, 10:13

Jimmy Taylor is a great player and will be a great asset to Ky this year, and is also a popular bloke at Monty, so I wouldn't be surprised if a few more followed him to the bombers. I've also heard the whisper that Rory Hilton is a chance to go to Euroa, apparently good mates with Lamaro and not all that keen to travel interstate (SANFL) next year.

Damon Clarke will definitely be at Euroa next year and is a quality player. Wouldn't be surprised if Norman ended up at Seymour, good mates with Stevie D and also a few of the bullants, but I couldn't see Allen going there, he'd want a coaching gig on outlandish $ somewhere. Personally, I would love to see Norman end up at Broady alongside his old sparring partner, but I don't think the roos would have enough money for the both of them.

Rochester are likely to lose Chris McCarty overseas next year, but likely to pick up Ben Anderson, Mark Brown and maybe Brenton Grey. I also heard that they were talking to an ex-AFL player, but I was lead to believe it was a big bloke.