View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Travvy43
20 Oct 2005, 10:22
nightmare is an understatement. Matty Allen put in for the Bendigo Bombers GM gig - there are 16 candidates however including a former Brisbane, Richmond and Melbourne senior AFL coach. The whisper going about is that if Allen misses this job, he may well be looking for a country club in 06 - get out your chequebooks!!!

Karl Norman's old club Wang Rovers is first in the cue for his services. His father is involved in the club pretty heavily - and no Mr Norman is not on the social committee! not to my knowledge anyway!

Norman must be speaking to every club in the district, wang rover, borady, seymour. Well here is another one to add to the list. Maroopna, an onballer who is almost across the line with maroopna has his own business and from what i hear norman is doing some work for him. Slight connection and the cats are talking to him, connection there in a way with blake cambell who woul dhave played with him at carlton.

Guinea
20 Oct 2005, 10:28
Norman must be speaking to every club in the district, wang rover, borady, seymour. Well here is another one to add to the list. Maroopna, an onballer who is almost across the line with maroopna has his own business and from what i hear norman is doing some work for him. Slight connection and the cats are talking to him, connection there in a way with blake cambell who woul dhave played with him at carlton.

Fair call, Travvy, will probably come down to whether or not he's prepared to move, or wants to stay in Melb. If he stays in Melb you'd think Seymour would be the favourites at this stage. There was an article in yesterday's leader about the amount of ex-bullants playing GV footy and it had Gibson quoted as saying "all the grounds (in the GV) are imacculate and there's no sniping behind the play" I bet Stevie D would have been pushing these as top reasons for him not to play suburban footy..

RiverinAFL
20 Oct 2005, 10:29
How the flying F$$%k can you estimate the crowd from that photo? Are you some sort of physics genius or something?

Wasn't a crowd estimate that was a Capacity estimate.

answer, Years of looking at stadiums and working in Treasurers offices during finals.

Grandale
20 Oct 2005, 10:34
There was an article in yesterday's leader about the amount of ex-bullants playing GV footy and it had Gibson quoted as saying "all the grounds (in the GV) are imacculate and there's no sniping behind the play" I bet Stevie D would have been pushing these as top reasons for him not to play suburban footy..

Good yarn that, wasn't it Guinea?

centreman
20 Oct 2005, 10:52
Entry to GVFL Grannie used to be $10 and this year was $15. Last years gate was $40,000 this year $62,000. $40,000 divide by $10 = 4000 paying customers (crowd supposedly 15000). 62,000 divide by $15 = 4133 paying customers (crowd supposedly 12,000 - 15000). If only 4133 people payed to get in (of which, even the players have to pay to get in!) where did the other 8,000 - 11,000 people come from. I know kids don't have to pay but I did not see that many kids there. Sounds like a lot of book tampering going on or just the league pumping their own tyres.

I don't know you for a bar of soap GVFootyFan but having once been very closely tied to the GVFL for a while - would say what you just posted on bigfooty.com is the most sensible comment I have ever read or heard.

Guinea
20 Oct 2005, 11:49
Good yarn that, wasn't it Guinea?

Yeh, it was. It was hard to tell whether it was actually promoting how good the GV is, dissing the DVFL's ability to lure gun local players to their club, or making out that the players who went to the GV perhaps weren't "man" enough to play DVFL.. I was actually surprised to read that Gibson, Grainger, Janzs, McBrien, Hyatt, King, David Gleeson, the 2 Clayton's, Sage, Shelton, Howse, Jackson, Collins, Penn, Bailey, Amad, Haberman, Hooper, Pemberton, Reid, Saad, Adamson, Ciavola and Watson ALL live in a suburb that has a side in the DVFL! That's a lot of players, and they're all quality players aswell. If they all stayed in the DVFL, it would definitely raise the standard of that league.

Does it say a lot about the GV, or a lot about the DVFL....

jmain14
20 Oct 2005, 12:21
Rochester are likely to lose Chris McCarty overseas next year, but likely to pick up Ben Anderson, Mark Brown and maybe Brenton Grey. I also heard that they were talking to an ex-AFL player, but I was lead to believe it was a big bloke.
with carts missing the majority of the year we will need to recruit a couple to be competitive - no doubt. I'd be interested to know if benny and brenton gray were among the players no heart was referring to when suggesting rochy may regain the services of some of its former players. to me, they are the only players that could realistically rejoin the tigers in '06. from the others that left at the end of last year - stevey rass will stay at rushy, you'd think darryl harrison would stay at stanhope, jeremy campbell is coaching blackburn in the edfl div 1 (accepted the position on tuesday), and timmy rass you'd think would stay in melb - maybe to join jezz at blackburn...

bradrowe#32
20 Oct 2005, 12:23
I don't know you for a bar of soap GVFootyFan but having once been very closely tied to the GVFL for a while - would say what you just posted on bigfooty.com is the most sensible comment I have ever read or heard.

You obviously haven't been reading my posts then :D

jmain14
20 Oct 2005, 12:25
You obviously haven't been reading my posts then :D
congrats on the 1,000 mate.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 13:08
Thanks for the info Stuie

No Heart isn't me, I thought it must have been scott grainger!!

Steve told me about this so called "meeting" the other night, and I can tell you it was just old friends catching up.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 13:14
Yeh, it was. It was hard to tell whether it was actually promoting how good the GV is, dissing the DVFL's ability to lure gun local players to their club, or making out that the players who went to the GV perhaps weren't "man" enough to play DVFL.. I was actually surprised to read that Gibson, Grainger, Janzs, McBrien, Hyatt, King, David Gleeson, the 2 Clayton's, Sage, Shelton, Howse, Jackson, Collins, Penn, Bailey, Amad, Haberman, Hooper, Pemberton, Reid, Saad, Adamson, Ciavola and Watson ALL live in a suburb that has a side in the DVFL! That's a lot of players, and they're all quality players aswell. If they all stayed in the DVFL, it would definitely raise the standard of that league.

Does it say a lot about the GV, or a lot about the DVFL....

What is the money like in the DVFL? I thought it was pretty good. But then why would all these blokes want to travel hours every week to play in the country?

bradrowe#32
20 Oct 2005, 13:24
congrats on the 1,000 mate.

Thanks mate. I'm a bit emotional at the moment.

HawkeEye
20 Oct 2005, 13:26

Hope you raised the bat.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 13:27
Entry to GVFL Grannie used to be $10 and this year was $15. Last years gate was $40,000 this year $62,000. $40,000 divide by $10 = 4000 paying customers (crowd supposedly 15000). 62,000 divide by $15 = 4133 paying customers (crowd supposedly 12,000 - 15000). If only 4133 people payed to get in (of which, even the players have to pay to get in!) where did the other 8,000 - 11,000 people come from. I know kids don't have to pay but I did not see that many kids there. Sounds like a lot of book tampering going on or just the league pumping their own tyres.

Makes you wonder though doesn't it!!

bradrowe#32
20 Oct 2005, 14:47
Hope you raised the bat.

********, I knew I forgot to do something.

Just read about Pat Rattray from Seymour. I hope his knee is alright. Very impressive player.

GVFootyfan
20 Oct 2005, 15:55
May i be polite and ask who is stuie ???
Apparantly some FAT bloke that can't get a kick in 2nd's footy. Bit of a rabbit that thinks he knows everything. Some are going to start calling him laces because that is all you can see hanging out of Steve Daniels a r se when he is around. Normally referred to on here as Fat Back Pocket.

RiverinAFL
20 Oct 2005, 16:03

Further to GVFootys great comment
Been trying all day to get this uploaded

So why did they increase the entry by $5? (probably trying to match O&M) Do they include a record with the price?

So if 4133 paid to get in then the est attendance would roughly be about 6,500 based on a formula devised back in the 50's and 60's by some of the major leagues back then. I found this in a news article from around 1960. Can't remember the actual year. Still trying to locate the original article to get a copy of it.

It also depends on the structure of admission. Back in the early years (20th Century) admission was for adults only (18+ I would guess) so the ratio was Gate/Admission/0.65. (0.65 to calc the number of Kids/freebies)
eg 62,000/$15/0.65 = 6,358
Nowadays with Adults, Concessions, Kids U16 (Kids 15-17) Family tickets etc, about 0.72 to 0.73 would roughly give you a close enough figure.

The final estimate can be rounded up as a lot of patrons do wander in after the ticket sellers have gone.

Its interesting that the GVFL got $40k last year as I remember back in the 80's they got a gate close to that for the GF.

Admission back then was $5
40,000/$5/0.65 = 12300. Big difference to the 2004/2005 figure!

GVFootyfan
20 Oct 2005, 16:21
Further to GVFootys great comment
Been trying all day to get this uploaded

So why did they increase the entry by $5? (probably trying to match O&M) Do they include a record with the price?

So if 4133 paid to get in then the est attendance would roughly be about 6,500 based on a formula devised back in the 50's and 60's by some of the major leagues back then. I found this in a news article from around 1960. Can't remember the actual year. Still trying to locate the original article to get a copy of it.

It also depends on the structure of admission. Back in the early years (20th Century) admission was for adults only (18+ I would guess) so the ratio was Gate/Admission/0.65. (0.65 to calc the number of Kids/freebies)
eg 62,000/$15/0.65 = 6,358
Nowadays with Adults, Concessions, Kids U16 (Kids 15-17) Family tickets etc, about 0.72 to 0.73 would roughly give you a close enough figure.

The final estimate can be rounded up as a lot of patrons do wander in after the ticket sellers have gone.

Its interesting that the GVFL got $40k last year as I remember back in the 80's they got a gate close to that for the GF.

Admission back then was $5
40,000/$5/0.65 = 12300. Big difference to the 2004/2005 figure!
Entry price does include a record and great formula Riverina. Maybe the CEO of GVFL should consider this when trying to put up smoke screens in future. Maybe an effort to get some more sponsorship dollars to GV and seems to be working as the Shepp news has reported club subscriptions cut by half by the league due to increase of dollars. Which ever way you look at it GV footy seems to be the league that is gathering most momentum around the traps at the moment (even in this great forum, which I would like to cangratulate Rowey on starting) so it all looks good for 2006. CAN'T WAIT.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 16:33
Apparantly some FAT bloke that can't get a kick in 2nd's footy. Bit of a rabbit that thinks he knows everything. Some are going to start calling him laces because that is all you can see hanging out of Steve Daniels a r se when he is around. Normally referred to on here as Fat Back Pocket.

Great summation of me there GVFootyFan. You obviously know your stuff.

Good on ya. he he.

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 16:40
2006 GVFL Fixture - Draft 1 is out.

Euroa vs Seymour @ Euroa first round. Good way to kick it off the 06 season. You'd expect a tribunral hearing - T. Maher (Euroa) (aka CHINUP) for striking S Peterson in the first quarter. he he.

18 rounds, 2 split rounds, general bye for interleague in may.

Anyone know how their club thought their draw ended up?

Happy? Not Happy?

Grandale
20 Oct 2005, 16:44

Euroa vs Seymour @ Euroa first round. Good way to kick it off the 06 season. You'd expect a tribunral hearing - T. Maher (Euroa) (aka CHINUP) for striking S Peterson in the first quarter. he he.

Happy? Not Happy?

Cut the season by a further two rounds but still manage to have us playing over Easter.
Great work GV

fat back pocket
20 Oct 2005, 17:14
Cut the season by a further two rounds but still manage to have us playing over Easter.
Great work GV

THere are a lot of other leagues who start the week before the GV.

The Grandfinal is on the first of october at this stage! It is considered cricket season then, so if the SCA don't allow them to play, then the GV granny will be on AFL pre-lim weekend. Which i don't think the GV want.

carl lewis
20 Oct 2005, 18:17

Happy? Not Happy?

you may as well start having nightmares. That boy can throw a punch. S Peterson will probably be drinking through a straw, sucking own his own gravy.
His fat head will sure be good to use as a pillow to take some massive hangers.
Didn't Maher kick 16 this year. Could be a chance to kick 20+ on a fat ****.

Duff Man
20 Oct 2005, 18:48
It has become a popular pass-time to hook into FBP.

Ahh well. I might as well join in. I reckon FBP will have 30 kicked on him.

Any advances on 30?

Wizz
20 Oct 2005, 19:00

Ha ha ha. nice one rowey. Pulling the boots back on? Going back to back coaches awards are you?

No Heart
20 Oct 2005, 19:02
Thanks Guinea , i was hoping my mail would be pretty close. I have a little bit more to , if Matty Allen doesnt get one of two jobs he is going for he will be playing at seymour and it wasnt Karl Norman at tea with Mr Daniel but Luke Livingston and Trent Sporn both still have a year to run on their contracts [ i think ] at the blues.GVFL fan thanks for the run down on stuie, so i was being called a little fatso that hangs out of the seymour coaches arse,thats nice, i think a lot of people would be hanging out of his bum at the moment after what he has done up there. if he would come and coach my club i would hang out of his bum also ,heard not only a gun coach but a ripper bloke.Timmy Rass could be going to play for Rusworth with his brother and also Tavis Perry could be coming back from Tassie, isnt this time of year just great to hear and read all the rumours going around ah we love our footy.

Signing of stuie
[ the man that hangs out of the coaches arse]

Wizz
20 Oct 2005, 19:06
THere are a lot of other leagues who start the week before the GV.

The Grandfinal is on the first of october at this stage! It is considered cricket season then, so if the SCA don't allow them to play, then the GV granny will be on AFL pre-lim weekend. Which i don't think the GV want.

Who cares what the SCA think only effects seymour and the likes, its always been the sunday of AFL GF day and should stay that way.

Wizz
20 Oct 2005, 19:08
Thanks Guinea , i was hoping my mail would be pretty close. I have a little bit more to , if Matty Allen doesnt get one of two jobs he is going for he will be playing at seymour and it wasnt Karl Norman at tea with Mr Daniel but Luke Livingston and Trent Sporn both still have a year to run on their contracts [ i think ] at the blues.GVFL fan thanks for the run down on stuie, so i was being called a little fatso that hangs out of the seymour coaches arse,thats nice, i think a lot of people would be hanging out of his bum at the moment after what he has done up there. if he would come and coach my club i would hang out of his bum also ,heard not only a gun coach but a ripper bloke.Timmy Rass could be going to play for Rusworth with his brother and also Tavis Perry could be coming back from Tassie, isnt this time of year just great to hear and read all the rumours going around ah we love our footy.

Signing of stuie

Were do you get your information on Timmy Rass, Benny Anderson and Brenton Gray? Would like to know your sources and i expect a couple of blokes on here would have a fair idea if this was the case already.

hank1
20 Oct 2005, 19:24
Were do you get your information on Timmy Rass, Benny Anderson and Brenton Gray? Would like to know your sources and i expect a couple of blokes on here would have a fair idea if this was the case already.

No Heart is on the money with Tim Ras and Tavis Perry to Rushy (also Ben Parker), I mentioned this on the KDFL thread at the start of the month, so he may have just read it off there or has some contacts. Only in the early stages at the moment, nothing in concrete. Got my info from Rushy coach. Brenton Gray is being pursuaded to go back to Rochy but would be unlikely, might not play at all.

Junkie
20 Oct 2005, 19:52

Signing of stuie

Are you able to fill us in on who your club is?

What the fu$#k is the point of the Seymour coach meeting with two guys who already have league contracts?

No Heart
20 Oct 2005, 20:41
Thanks Hank1 i do try to give you all the right gossip [ as close to the truth as i possible can , Junkie i just follow football in general mate [ love it ] im very lucky to know a lot of people in the GVFL and other leagues , i go and watch a diffrent game every week if possible , team i surpose i would like to see up top again would be Tatura.

No Heart
20 Oct 2005, 20:56
Are you able to fill us in on who your club is?

What the fu$#k is the point of the Seymour coach meeting with two guys who already have league contracts?
Junkie i was told first of all , Karl Norman was at dinner, but then told it was Trent Sporn and Luke Livingston one must look like Norman , the point is they are just all good mates and seymour is after Allen .

Duff Man
20 Oct 2005, 23:25
Well I guess its official cause I just heard it on the TV. Hickmott has signed as coach of Rumbalara.

If my mail is correct he's on a 'package' of nearly 70 gorillas that requires him to coach the side, as well as working with young koori's a couple of days a week.

Not a bad result for him given the $ as well as the fact it is a reasonably high profile role in the gv region.

Also heard on the TV that Mensch had 'severed ties' with Mansfield. No surprises there, but no mention of where he was going.

Doona2
20 Oct 2005, 23:30
Also heard on the TV that Mensch had 'severed ties' with Mansfield. No surprises there, but no mention of where he was going.

Is it true that Shepp Swans have had a fair old crack at Mensch, Trewella and Kayler-Thompson? Did hear from a Mansfield guy that Mensch is more likely to head back down Geelong way though.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 08:23
Junkie i was told first of all , Karl Norman was at dinner, but then told it was Trent Sporn and Luke Livingston one must look like Norman , the point is they are just all good mates and seymour is after Allen .

Seymour aren't after anyone. Why would seymour chase a ruckman when they have Ben Bailey and Cameron Ramsay returning. 2 6 foot+ boys.

hank1
21 Oct 2005, 08:25
Is it true that Shepp Swans have had a fair old crack at Mensch, Trewella and Kayler-Thompson? Did hear from a Mansfield guy that Mensch is more likely to head back down Geelong way though.

yeah heard those stories mid-year, but believe your right with Mensch deciding to take the family back to Geelong. Will be interesting to see whether Trewhella and Kayler-Thompson still fly to the swans nest.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 08:29
Who cares what the SCA think only effects seymour and the likes, its always been the sunday of AFL GF day and should stay that way.

Good one F U C K head. SCA = Shepparton Cricket Association!! Moron.

Seymour league is the SDCA - Seymour District CA.

I would predict things won't change, thats what makes the GV grand final big, and how it is growing.

BUT - the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

So the GV will need to get permission to use the ground for Grand Final day.

As i said, i'm sure it won't be an issue, but at this stage, Draft 1 of the 2006 GV draw is waiting on the 100% confirmation from the SCA to use Deakin.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 08:32
yeah heard those stories mid-year, but believe your right with Mensch deciding to take the family back to Geelong. Will be interesting to see whether Trewhella and Kayler-Thompson still fly to the swans nest.

There was a rumour flying around that Crazy Johns had got them both a job in Shepparton out of their shepp store.

Who knows, Kayler-Thomson plays in Geelong now doesn't he? Do you think Mensch would play for the same club as Mensch?

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 08:37
you may as well start having nightmares. That boy can throw a punch. S Peterson will probably be drinking through a straw, sucking own his own gravy.
His fat head will sure be good to use as a pillow to take some massive hangers.
Didn't Maher kick 16 this year. Could be a chance to kick 20+ on a fat ****.

Nightmares, shnightmares.

T Maher won't be taking any hangers, gravity is a little too powerful for him to get off the ground.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 09:13
It has become a popular pass-time to hook into FBP.

Ahh well. I might as well join in. I reckon FBP will have 30 kicked on him.

Any advances on 30?

he he. This is good. Can we have a tote on this one. What are the odds for him to kick 25? I reckon i will win back on that one.

footyman
21 Oct 2005, 09:20
For regular GV watchers, whats your verdict on this???

GVFL 2006 home and away season fixture

Round 1, April 15
Euroa v Seymour

Mooroopna v Kyabram

Benalla v Mansfield

Shepparton v Shepp Utd

Echuca v Rochester

Tatura v Swans

Round 2, April 22

Kyabram v Euroa

Mansfield v Mooroopna

Shepp Utd v Benalla

Rochester v Shepparton

Shepp Swans v Echuca

Seymour v Tatura

Round 3, April 29

Euroa v Mansfield

Mooroopna v Shepp Utd

Benalla v Rochester

Shepparton v Shepp Swans

Echuca v Tatura

Kyabram v Seymour

Round 4, May 6

Shepp Utd v Euroa

Rochester v Mooroopna

Shepp Swans v Benalla

Tatura v Shepparton

Seymour v Echuca

Mansfield v Cobram

May 13-14

General bye, Country Championships

Round 5, May 20

Euroa v Rochester

Mooroopna v Shepp Swans (Sun)

Benalla v Tatura

Shepparton v Echuca

Kyabram v Shepp Utd

Mansfield v Seymour

Round 6, May 27

Shepp Swans v Euroa

Tatura v Mooroopna

Echuca v Benalla

Seymour v Shepparton

Rochester v Kyabram

Shepp Utd v Mansfield

Round 7, June 3

Euroa v Tatura

Mooroopna v Echuca

Benalla v Shepparton

Kyabram v Shepp Swans

Mansfield v Rochester

Shepp Utd v Seymour

Round 8, June 10

Echuca v Euroa

Shepparton v Mooroopna

Seymour v Benalla

Tatura v Kyabram

Shepp Swans v Mansfield

Rochester v Shepp Utd

Round 9, June 17

Euroa v Shepparton

Mooroopna v Benalla

Kyabram v Echuca

June 24

Mansfield v Tatura

Shepp Utd v Shepp Swans

Rochester v Seymour

Round 10, July 1

Benalla v Euroa

Mooroopna v Seymour

Shepparton v Kyabram

Echuca v Mansfield

Tatura v Shepp Utd

Shepp Swans v Rochester

Round 11, July 8

Euroa v Mooroopna

Kyabram v Benalla

Mansfield v Shepparton

Shepp Utd v Echuca

Rochester v Tatura

Seymour v Shepp Swans

Round 12, July 15

Seymour v Euroa

Kyabram v Mooroopna

Mansfield v Benalla

Shepp Utd v Shepparton (Sunday)

Rochester v Echuca

Shepp Swans v Tatura

Round 13, July 22

Euroa v Kyabram

Mooroopna v Mansfield

Benalla v Shepp Utd

Shepparton v Rochester

Echuca v Shepp Swans

Tatura v Seymour

Round 14, July 29

Mansfield v Euroa

Shepp Utd v Mooroopna

Rochester v Benalla

August 5

Shepp Swans v Shepparton

Tatura v Echuca

Seymour v Kyabram

Round 15, August 12

Euroa v Shepp Utd

Mooroopna v Rochester

Benalla v Shepp Swans

Shepparton v Tatura

Echuca v Seymour

Kyabram v Mansfield

Round 16, August 19

Rochester v Euroa

Shepp Swans v Mooroopna

Tatura v Benalla

Echuca v Shepparton

Shepp Utd v Kyabram

Seymour v Mansfield

Round 17, August 26

Euroa v Shepp Swans

Mooroopna v Tatura

Benalla v Echuca

Shepparton v Seymour

Kyabram v Rochester

Mansfield v Shepp Utd

Round 18, September 2

Shepparton v Euroa

Benalla v Mooroopna

Echuca v Kyabram

Tatura v Mansfield

Shepp Swans v Shepp Utd

Seymour v Rochester

Finals

Elimination 1, 2 and qualifying: September 9 and 10.

1st and send semi: September 16 and 17.

Preliminary: September 24

Grand final: October 1 (TBC)

Travvy43
21 Oct 2005, 09:38
There was a rumour flying around that Crazy Johns had got them both a job in Shepparton out of their shepp store.

Who knows, Kayler-Thomson plays in Geelong now doesn't he? Do you think Mensch would play for the same club as Mensch?

Kayler Thomson played in the WAFL the year just gone, not exactly sure what club, but he was playing seniors, still kicking a few goals every now and then.

Travvy43
21 Oct 2005, 09:45

Big news here boys Karl Norman is over the line with the cats, along with Nick Aloi. Nick Aloi (brother of anthony aloi- Port Melbourne) for the last two years has played with moonee valley and before that in the O&M. Aloi was close to coming to tonny last year, played one praccy match with the blues and dominated but he did not want to leave Moonee Valley after only one year. He has stayed in close contact with Peter White and now with choppa an assistant coach at Maroopna; that is where he has ended up. He is a solid, tuff onballer, with great skills.

the cats are also hopeful of retaining singh too.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 10:02
Big news here boys Karl Norman is over the line with the cats, along with Nick Aloi. Nick Aloi (brother of anthony aloi- Port Melbourne) for the last two years has played with moonee valley and before that in the O&M. Aloi was close to coming to tonny last year, played one praccy match with the blues and dominated but he did not want to leave Moonee Valley after only one year. He has stayed in close contact with Peter White and now with choppa an assistant coach at Maroopna; that is where he has ended up. He is a solid, tuff onballer, with great skills.

the cats are also hopeful of retaining singh too.

Did Nick Aloi play TAC cup at any stage? He was a good player, and very serious about his footy as a 16yo. He was a big unit for his age.

Seymour - never after Norman.

Mooroopna should be in good shape. They weren't far off this year. Had a few close losses early in the year, and had a massive charge late but just fell short. These extra few should put them into the finals race.

fat back pocket
21 Oct 2005, 10:10
Kayler Thomson played in the WAFL the year just gone, not exactly sure what club, but he was playing seniors, still kicking a few goals every now and then.

Ok, i thought he had gone down to Geelong, which was silly, because i had heard he went to WA.

That is a bit weird to go all that way for one season. Who did he play for?

What's news around Tonny? Have they secured a coach, recruited any players? etc? How do you think they will go in MFL?

Travvy43
21 Oct 2005, 10:24
Ok, i thought he had gone down to Geelong, which was silly, because i had heard he went to WA.

That is a bit weird to go all that way for one season. Who did he play for?

What's news around Tonny? Have they secured a coach, recruited any players? etc? How do you think they will go in MFL?

He played for the perth demons in the WAFL.

I have heard that tonny are announcing a coach at their AGM tonight. Not sure whats happening player wise although the announcment of the coach tonight should swing a few thigns into action.

jmain14
21 Oct 2005, 10:32

I would predict things won't change, thats what makes the GV grand final big, and how it is growing.

BUT - the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

As i said, i'm sure it won't be an issue, but at this stage, Draft 1 of the 2006 GV draw is waiting on the 100% confirmation from the SCA to use Deakin.
righto fbp - no need to start swearing simply just to get your point across you fat c*nt he he.

what wizz was saying was that the gvfl granny has been played on the day after the afl granny for years, and should continue to do so. any organisation opposing this can shove it up their clacker.

jmain14
21 Oct 2005, 10:46
No Heart is on the money with Tim Ras and Tavis Perry to Rushy (also Ben Parker), I mentioned this on the KDFL thread at the start of the month, so he may have just read it off there or has some contacts. Only in the early stages at the moment, nothing in concrete. Got my info from Rushy coach. Brenton Gray is being pursuaded to go back to Rochy but would be unlikely, might not play at all.
yeah it'll all be very interesting. no doubt there have been talks about timmy joining his brother at rushy next year. still though, my opinion is that it will all remain as talk only, and can predict with reasonable confidence where he'll play next year. I don't think he'll play in the country.

geez it'd be a shame if houtta was to hang up the boots this early wouldn't ya think hank?? bloody good player, and would obviously have a few good years left in him. from what you have heard is he over it all or what?? would imagine that hodgy would be going hammer and tong to get him back to the club.

Travvy43
21 Oct 2005, 10:58
Did Nick Aloi play TAC cup at any stage? He was a good player, and very serious about his footy as a 16yo. He was a big unit for his age.

Yeah he did play TAC cup, he played in victorian junior rep teams too, jsut missing out on oz selection because it was said to him he didn't have the body that would attract interest from AFL clubs. Short and stocky, does not look like a footballer, but boy he can play, left footer.

Doona2
21 Oct 2005, 13:06
Believe Gezza Liddell was in Broadford working late on Tuesday, meeting with a possible Seymour Football Netball Club prospect for 2006.

carl lewis
21 Oct 2005, 13:29
Nightmares, shnightmares.

T Maher won't be taking any hangers, gravity is a little too powerful for him to get off the ground.

Could be a good chance as the FAT **** will be repairing his own divots, which will become a great step ladder. Thats only if he made it through the warm up around the square??????

Duff Man
21 Oct 2005, 13:31

I cant believe the season starts right in the middle of Easter.

The fixture has already been reduced to 18 rounds (from 20 this year), and includes 2 split rounds and a general bye.

Fair enough that the GVFL will want to play their Grand Final the day after the AFL, but why not scrap one of the split rounds and start the week after Easter.

I love me footy, but I also like to get on the gas up the river with some mates over Easter. Bit hard to do both when I normally spend the whole easter break with an average blood alcohol content of around 0.75%.

YaMan
21 Oct 2005, 13:41
Could be a good chance as the FAT **** will be repairing his own divots, which will become a great step ladder. Thats only if he made it through the warm up around the square??????

Interesting, seems to me FBP may not get a game next year, with a lot of gossip of some players coming back to the seymour 2's.

Any rumours Stuie that you may be heading to another club. Will talk to ya at the pub tonight ya fat carnt

bradrowe#32
21 Oct 2005, 14:51
Wow, a lots been happening since I last looked.

Here are some general thoughts:

* The admission into the GF was pretty hefty. It was good we got a free program, but I heard they ran out early. Plus, we should've got a free sausage at the gate!

* I heard about the Tim Rasmussen move to Rushworth from a very, very close source. It's probably a 50-50 proposition at the moment.

* I've had a good look at the draw. Rochy seems to have copped a tough run again, but these things tend to even themselves out over the years. They play four of last years finalists twice, which is pretty tough in an 18 game schedule. But then again, you want your team to play tough competition so you feel they deserve to be in the finals if they get in.

* Interesting to hear about Hickmont's move to Rumba. I wish him the worst of luck.

bradrowe#32
21 Oct 2005, 14:52
Ha ha ha. nice one rowey. Pulling the boots back on? Going back to back coaches awards are you?

Haha, nothing wrong with the coaches award mate! That's the 2nd I've won now. I wonder if that says something about me.

I'll be playing next year, although probably not with Rochy. I'm going to play at Ardmona with my 2 brothers for a year as next year will be their last year. I'll still keep a keen eye on the GV though.

Is there any footy comps you can play in over there?

HJ32
21 Oct 2005, 14:56
you should come back to Colbo Rowey!

bradrowe#32
21 Oct 2005, 14:57
you should come back to Colbo Rowey!

Haha, the forward line wouldn't be big enough for the both of us!

tige19
21 Oct 2005, 15:07
Yeah he did play TAC cup, he played in victorian junior rep teams too, jsut missing out on oz selection because it was said to him he didn't have the body that would attract interest from AFL clubs. Short and stocky, does not look like a footballer, but boy he can play, left footer.

Nick Aloi also played at Darley, i played against him when i was at Sunbury and didnt think he was anything overly flash, was a year or 2 above in under 18s so never played against him although saw him play and was much better at junior level than senior level.

Travvy settle down on how much you rate him, people are gonna think he is gonna come out and dominate. He never played Rep footy for the Ballarat league and i think was struggling a tad with Darley.

In reality he is a well skilled, stocky, slow type of a midfielder who will be nothing more than a role player in the GV. A good player but a role player not a player that would attract massive interest from opposition teams when selecting match ups on gameday.

cheers

tige19
21 Oct 2005, 15:10

with an average blood alcohol content of around 0.75%.

Ever though of applying for the biggest loser?

Duff Man
21 Oct 2005, 15:23
[tige19]Ever though of applying for the biggest loser?

I did give it some thought, but noticed you had already filled the position ya cabbage eating carnie!

tige19
21 Oct 2005, 15:28
[tige19]Ever though of applying for the biggest loser?

I did give it some thought, but noticed you had already filled the position ya cabbage eating carnie!

Nice work champ, a real original eye opening comeback.

Oh and whats a carnie?? excuse my ignorance.

Travvy43
21 Oct 2005, 15:34
Nick Aloi also played at Darley, i played against him when i was at Sunbury and didnt think he was anything overly flash, was a year or 2 above in under 18s so never played against him although saw him play and was much better at junior level than senior level.

Travvy settle down on how much you rate him, people are gonna think he is gonna come out and dominate. He never played Rep footy for the Ballarat league and i think was struggling a tad with Darley.

In reality he is a well skilled, stocky, slow type of a midfielder who will be nothing more than a role player in the GV. A good player but a role player not a player that would attract massive interest from opposition teams when selecting match ups on gameday.

cheers

Fair enough, i am only rating him really on what i saw of him when he played in the praccy match for us this year. He was rarely out of the best for Moonee Valley but they were an average team.

jmain14
21 Oct 2005, 16:02
* Interesting to hear about Hickmont's move to Rumba. I wish him the worst of luck.
ha ha ha. excuse my ignorance here guys as I haven't read all of this thread and any other one that may detail his move to rumba but when did he make the decision?? was there a fall-out with the bears, or was it that he just needed a change?? he is probably good mates with guthrie is he??

tige19
21 Oct 2005, 17:09
Fair enough, i am only rating him really on what i saw of him when he played in the praccy match for us this year. He was rarely out of the best for Moonee Valley but they were an average team.

Moonee Valley where very average last season, what a shocking club that is anyway.

Nick might go better in the GV because the comp is very physical, anyhow he will be a good pick up but i doubt anything to special.

cheers

Wizz
21 Oct 2005, 19:17

didnt do to well at the Wodonga raiders in his two years there.

Wizz
21 Oct 2005, 19:21
Haha, nothing wrong with the coaches award mate! That's the 2nd I've won now. I wonder if that says something about me.

I'll be playing next year, although probably not with Rochy. I'm going to play at Ardmona with my 2 brothers for a year as next year will be their last year. I'll still keep a keen eye on the GV though.

Is there any footy comps you can play in over there?

I know nothing at all mate, just thought you would be going for back to back guess you can have a crack at it at Ardmona. Good luck with that

Of course you would of heard Timmy Rass is going to Rushy from a good source your best mates with his brother. Any chance of going out there yourself?

Yeah there is one comp here Brad Speers coached one of the sides here as well, however after the knee reco my knee is shot to bits and surgeon said cant play again still cant even bend it all the way. But even if i could i reckon it might be a tough ask mate as you get way to much free time and may interrupt my weekend sessions.

Wizz
21 Oct 2005, 19:27

Pretty touchy about Seymour arent you? Someone would of thought that you were the towns ambassador or something. Dont need to call me a F* ck head to get your point across. From what i read on here it seems that you dont have to many mates on here anyway, which i find surprising, ha ha

bradrowe#32
21 Oct 2005, 20:01
Pretty touchy about Seymour arent you? Someone would of thought that you were the towns ambassador or something. Dont need to call me a F* ck head to get your point across. From what i read on here it seems that you dont have to many mates on here anyway, which i find surprising, ha ha

Haha, I hope this doesn't turn out like that time we played 3rds in Seymour and you belted the crap out of a guy.

bradrowe#32
21 Oct 2005, 20:04
ha ha ha. excuse my ignorance here guys as I haven't read all of this thread and any other one that may detail his move to rumba but when did he make the decision?? was there a fall-out with the bears, or was it that he just needed a change?? he is probably good mates with guthrie is he??

G'day mate.

I have nothing personal against the Rumba FC, I just passionately dislike Hickmont.

No Heart
21 Oct 2005, 20:52
Bradrowe 32 why is it mate that you hate Mr Hickmont so much he must of up set you some where down the line,or is it just his red hair.

Wizz
21 Oct 2005, 23:16
Haha, I hope this doesn't turn out like that time we played 3rds in Seymour and you belted the crap out of a guy.

nah mate, ha ha dont think so. It wasnt that bad anyway but it was always a good trip up to Seymour in those days, especially the trip home.

Andyt30
22 Oct 2005, 00:54
Adrian Hickmott is a fantasic footballer i met him when he was at Horsham where he originally came from :) spent a bit of time with him he came up just after he had retired from afl :)

GVFootyfan
22 Oct 2005, 20:34
Here is some news hot off the press guys. See how this pans out. Tatura are chasing some Bullants players as well as all the rest. Rumour has it they are just about to sign Laurence Furlan and Paul Scanlon. Scanlon (or Chewy) is a very good player (onballer) and will be one of the best onballers in GVFL if he commits to Tat. Furlan on the other hand believes he is better than he really is. He is a s h i t bloke too. He done a Wayne Carey at the Bullants with a mates girlfriend which split the club. If I was Tatura I would stay well away from him.

Samtrish
22 Oct 2005, 20:48
Here is some news hot off the press guys. See how this pans out. Tatura are chasing some Bullants players as well as all the rest. Rumour has it they are just about to sign Laurence Furlan and Paul Scanlon. Scanlon (or Chewy) is a very good player (onballer) and will be one of the best onballers in GVFL if he commits to Tat. Scanlon on the other hand believes he is better than he really is. He is a s h i t bloke too. He done a Wayne Carey at the Bullants with a mates girlfriend which split the club. If I was Tatura I would stay well away from him.

Tige19 will have him

bradrowe#32
22 Oct 2005, 23:04
Bradrowe 32 why is it mate that you hate Mr Hickmont so much he must of up set you some where down the line,or is it just his red hair.

He's just very uncool.

PLAYER69
23 Oct 2005, 01:35
Here is some news hot off the press guys. See how this pans out. Tatura are chasing some Bullants players as well as all the rest. Rumour has it they are just about to sign Laurence Furlan and Paul Scanlon. Scanlon (or Chewy) is a very good player (onballer) and will be one of the best onballers in GVFL if he commits to Tat. Furlan on the other hand believes he is better than he really is. He is a s h i t bloke too. He done a Wayne Carey at the Bullants with a mates girlfriend which split the club. If I was Tatura I would stay well away from him.

False Rumours are everywhere at the moment!!! That won't happen 100%! How do you know these blokes and stories about them GVFootyfan???

Flat Track Bully
23 Oct 2005, 16:47

Kayler Thomson and Trewhella are originally from Geelong...it's believed they will be part of what I'm trademarking here as "Roman's Empire" at Princess Park.

the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

For those with short memories, the 2000 GF was played with little hassle on October 1...

tige19
23 Oct 2005, 21:10
Tige19 will have him

If he can play!!

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 09:22
Kayler Thomson and Trewhella are originally from Geelong...it's believed they will be part of what I'm trademarking here as "Roman's Empire" at Princess Park.

the Shepparton council has specified that the cricket season starts on the 1st October, from then the Cricket association has the rights to Deakin.

For those with short memories, the 2000 GF was played with little hassle on October 1...

Good stuff FTB...there you go, should be no problems with the draw then.

What does everyone think of their draw?

Rumour has it Rochy are spending a bit of $$ next year. According to my source who spoke to Dylan Cuttris and Adrian Pappin, they are out to get some stock - not sure if they are targeting locals like Tim Rass, etc, but apparently they are preparing for another GVFL assult. And are going to spend to get what they need.

Look out for the Tige's in 2006 the word is. Can you confirm these rumours Rowey?

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 09:28
A bit more food for thought...Daniel Sage could be on the move. Montmerency are on his tail, as well as the Northern Bullants. Not 100% if he will go, but according to my source, he is seriously thinking about heading back to the big smoke for another crack.

After the game he played in the Granny, its fair enough, although over shadowed by Claytons 403 posessions, Sage was 2nd BOG. Big loss for the maggies though.

footyman
24 Oct 2005, 09:30
Karl Norman to Mooroopna in the Shepp News today - thoughts?

ECHUCABOY
24 Oct 2005, 10:11
Karl Norman to Mooroopna in the Shepp News today - thoughts?

Ummm thats good.....would be a plethora of pingers hanging around in the shepp area, by the way I vote Shepp as the worst town in Victoria!

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 10:12
But even if i could i reckon it might be a tough ask mate as you get way to much free time and may interrupt my weekend sessions.
ha ha. exactly the sort of thing I was hoping to here from ya mate. do ya think noods will play next year?? could just see him playing and later becoming president and treasurer of a club ha ha.

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 10:24
nah mate, ha ha dont think so. It wasnt that bad anyway but it was always a good trip up to Seymour in those days, especially the trip home.
yeah bloody oath. my memories of those days are tommy dempsey continually ruining the day for everyone by having beers in the back seat and ********ing everywhere. bloody hell tommy!! bazz always had to stop the bus to see what all the fuss was about and there tommy would be carrying on like a clown. you didn't need beers to have an enjoyable bus trip to seymour - the 100 point pasting we used to cop was enough in itself - but you couldn't tell tommy that!!

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 10:28
Rumour has it Rochy are spending a bit of $$ next year. According to my source who spoke to Dylan Cuttris and Adrian Pappin, they are out to get some stock - not sure if they are targeting locals like Tim Rass, etc, but apparently they are preparing for another GVFL assult. And are going to spend to get what they need.
this source obviously is connected with the north melbourne cricket club...

yeah rochy will definitely be chasing some players. we will need to. we won't get timmy though I am afraid. he has already committed to a club with 2 other mates, might be a bit premature to say where though.

ECHUCABOY
24 Oct 2005, 10:54

yeah rochy will definitely be chasing some players. we will need to. we won't get timmy though I am afraid. he has already committed to a club with 2 other mates, might be a bit premature to say where though.

Dont know if this has been posted already cos havent looked through the pages for a while but Jezza Campbell has been appointed Blackburns Coach.
Would he still be playing? Doubt it.......

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 11:04
Dont know if this has been posted already cos havent looked through the pages for a while but Jezza Campbell has been appointed Blackburns Coach.
Would he still be playing? Doubt it.......
yeah mate, he will be playing coach. he is only 27. will you be running around in the eastern league again echuca boy??

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 11:07

Ah well. I'm sure they will recruit well, Rochy have a name for being consistantly good.

Do you know whether they will attack melbourne based people, or try and get blokes from Bendigo, and other regional centres? Even try and recruit some players from within the GV?

Big news on Norman...Mooroopna will be in the finals race. Have they recruited anyone else yet? Or are there rumours of anyone else heading to the cats?

Travvy43
24 Oct 2005, 11:20
Big news on Norman...Mooroopna will be in the finals race. Have they recruited anyone else yet? Or are there rumours of anyone else heading to the cats?

Well as i have said earlier, they have attained norman, nick aloi and along with the Peter White connection at Tongala, they are putting some time into Geoff Conally. In playing with him for the last two years i think he would be the second best defender in the league behind anderson at seymour. If maroopna get him their defense would be pretty solid with hall playing at CHB, vandameer still playing on and conally.

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 11:21
Do you know whether they will attack melbourne based people, or try and get blokes from Bendigo, and other regional centres? Even try and recruit some players from within the GV?
anthony franchina is a name being touted around, as was the case this time last year. other than him I couldn't see rochy targetting many other melb based players but I wouldn't really know. most of the emphasis is on the bendigo based people I think, lenny schmidt plays a pretty big part in hopefully attracting a few big scalps from there.

jmain14
24 Oct 2005, 11:27
Well as i have said earlier, they have attained norman, nick aloi and along with the Peter White connection at Tongala, they are putting some time into Geoff Conally. In playing with him for the last two years i think he would be the second best defender in the league behind anderson at seymour. If maroopna get him their defense would be pretty solid with hall playing at CHB, vandameer still playing on and conally.
big call on connally there travvy. I guess you'd know best seeing you have played with him each week over the past 2 seasons. he played in the interleague side, imo he looked a bit out of his depth that day. I suppose he took the best forward each week in a stuggling side and always seemed to hold his own so he has to be admired for that.

bradrowe#32
24 Oct 2005, 11:29
Good stuff FTB...there you go, should be no problems with the draw then.

What does everyone think of their draw?

Look out for the Tige's in 2006 the word is. Can you confirm these rumours Rowey?

I've heard a few things, but nothing in concrete. I know they have appointed a recruiting manager which would be the first time in a few years and they are mainly targetting former locals that are playing in the area.

In my opinion, they need to chase some big blokes. Rochy have always had some very handy midfielders, but really need some tall, aggressive players if they are to take the next step.

Jeremy Campbell was contacted, but he has taken the Blackburn job which is fair enough since he lives/works in Melbourne.

The only big name I've heard is Mark Brown who is now living in Echuca and is pretty good mates with Daniel Schmidt.

ECHUCABOY
24 Oct 2005, 11:49
yes big doodzy very keen for some success this year!

tige19
24 Oct 2005, 12:34
I think in the next couple of weeks you will see a few clubs announcing 4-5 signigs. Its getting to the stage where the clubs down the bottom for 2005 will need to start announcing to the public that there intentions in 2006 are alot stronger.

cheers

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 13:00
I think in the next couple of weeks you will see a few clubs announcing 4-5 signigs. Its getting to the stage where the clubs down the bottom for 2005 will need to start announcing to the public that there intentions in 2006 are alot stronger.

cheers

Country clubs are no different to AFL clubs, get some big signings, and those who support the club, but haven't in the past because they haven't been as good get back on board if they know that their team has a chance at being successful.

Happens at every club, people want to be involved with success, and if you can market it, do it.

GVFLFAN
24 Oct 2005, 14:14
A bit more food for thought...Daniel Sage could be on the move. Montmerency are on his tail, as well as the Northern Bullants. Not 100% if he will go, but according to my source, he is seriously thinking about heading back to the big smoke for another crack.

After the game he played in the Granny, its fair enough, although over shadowed by Claytons 403 posessions, Sage was 2nd BOG. Big loss for the maggies though.

Won't happen FBP!!! Don't know where you are getting your info from but maybe the local cop shop is talking crap!!! Would be fair enough for other clubs to chase sagey but he won't be going anywhere!!! He LOVES IT at Euroa!!!

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 14:23
Won't happen FBP!!! Don't know where you are getting your info from but maybe the local cop shop is talking crap!!! Would be fair enough for other clubs to chase sagey but he won't be going anywhere!!! He LOVES IT at Euroa!!!

Ok, well, there wasn't too much talk about him definitely staying. All i know is that there was a lot of talk of him going back to melbourne. Only time will tell i suppose.

GVFLFAN
24 Oct 2005, 14:30
Ok, well, there wasn't too much talk about him definitely staying. All i know is that there was a lot of talk of him going back to melbourne. Only time will tell i suppose.

I think you may have your wires crossed a bit champ becasue he is thinking of moving back to melbourne to live but will still be playing at Euroa next year!!! There is a tight knit group of mates playing at Euroa, melbourne and local players, and he won't leave now with unfinished business!!!I have stated in previous posts that we will only lose 1 player and that is happy harper!!! No one else at this stage and not likely to be but as you know so much about our footy club i am sure you will be able to inform us all if there is whether it be true or false!!! Very likely false!!!

fat back pocket
24 Oct 2005, 14:44
I think you may have your wires crossed a bit champ becasue he is thinking of moving back to melbourne to live but will still be playing at Euroa next year!!! There is a tight knit group of mates playing at Euroa, melbourne and local players, and he won't leave now with unfinished business!!!I have stated in previous posts that we will only lose 1 player and that is happy harper!!! No one else at this stage and not likely to be but as you know so much about our footy club i am sure you will be able to inform us all if there is whether it be true or false!!! Very likely false!!!

maybe its false. But i can tell you i got it straight from the horses mouth!!! And this was over the weekend. So...yeah.

ECHUCABOY
24 Oct 2005, 14:47
maybe its false. But i can tell you i got it straight from the horses mouth!!! And this was over the weekend. So...yeah.

Do u do any work?