View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

bradrowe#32
26 May 2005, 00:13
hows Yze playing this, i havent seen much of him this year

G'day footy12345.

I believe that Yze played the first 1 or 2 games with the Shepparton Swans this year but then moved to Melbourne. He cited family reasons. I think he is playing in the Diamond Valley league. Very good player.

Do you follow the GVFL?

footy12345
26 May 2005, 09:17
G'day footy12345.

I believe that Yze played the first 1 or 2 games with the Shepparton Swans this year but then moved to Melbourne. He cited family reasons. I think he is playing in the Diamond Valley league. Very good player.

Do you follow the GVFL?
Yeah, Shep Bears. I thought he was playing for the swans but when I whatched them play I didn't see him play

bradrowe#32
29 May 2005, 15:11
Eurora 21.17 d Mooroopna
Seymour 18.17 d Kyabram 10.8
Mansfield 15.10 d Rochester 6.11
Shepparton 22.11 v Tatura 4.4
Shepp. Swans 14.13 v Echuca 15.4
Benalla 14.8 v Shepp. United 13.11

Mansfield is officially the worst oval in the league.

jmain14
30 May 2005, 09:38
Mansfield is officially the worst oval in the league.
he he. how was the bus trip home??

bradrowe#32
30 May 2005, 14:00
he he. how was the bus trip home??

Didn't go on the bus mate. My liver needed a rest.

I was also pretty sore after doing a knee slide after I kicked a goal. We got flogged again. 'Pumpa' Jess dominated.

jmain14
30 May 2005, 14:17
Didn't go on the bus mate. My liver needed a rest.

I was also pretty sore after doing a knee slide after I kicked a goal. We got flogged again. 'Pumpa' Jess dominated.
yeah I heard that he has really come on this year. don't think the ressies will have him for much longer to be honest as I think his services are required in the seniors.

ECHUCABOY
6 Jun 2005, 11:08
Apparently benalla have a ******** load of cash, howd they manage that? im hatin how teams are tryin to buy premierships.

Mansfield did it now benalla are hopefuly Echuca are one of the lesser likes can knock these priks off! benalla = ******** club

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 11:50
Apparently benalla have a ******** load of cash, howd they manage that? im hatin how teams are tryin to buy premierships.

Mansfield did it now benalla are hopefuly Echuca are one of the lesser likes can knock these priks off! benalla = ******** club

Apparently...have you rang the Benalla president to clarify this, or are you just hiding behind a user name to slag off Benalla because your beloved Murray Bombers were well beaten?

ECHUCABOY
6 Jun 2005, 12:04
Apparently...have you rang the Benalla president to clarify this, or are you just hiding behind a user name to slag off Benalla because your beloved Murray Bombers were well beaten?

haha na a user mentioned it in a Ricky Symes thread posted earlier. I just think its not the best thing for country football but ah well its a part of the game.

Just like to see teams without the big money and names get up!

jmain14
6 Jun 2005, 14:06
great call echuca boy, couldn't agree with you any more. without trying to be biased towards rochy, they must be admired very much for the fact that for so long they have been able to retain their locals and not gone out offering packets to well regarded players from other leagues. sure, some cash has been spent in order to attract the odd few players over the years but mostly the emphasis at tigerland has been on the locals. other gv teams such as echuca and ky have gone about things similarly and have to be respected for that also imo.

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 14:38
great call echuca boy, couldn't agree with you any more. without trying to be biased towards rochy, they must be admired very much for the fact that for so long they have been able to retain their locals and not gone out offering packets to well regarded players from other leagues. sure, some cash has been spent in order to attract the odd few players over the years but mostly the emphasis at tigerland has been on the locals. other gv teams such as echuca and ky have gone about things similarly and have to be respected for that also imo.

Other than Anthony Stevens, who BTW has a brother in the side, has Benalla gone out and bought of note?

TuskenRaider
6 Jun 2005, 14:43
Other than Anthony Stevens, who BTW has a brother in the side, has Benalla gone out and bought of note?

I've made a similar point in the thread re Ricky Symes.

ECHUCABOY
6 Jun 2005, 14:50
I've made a similar point in the thread re Ricky Symes.

I don't know, do you jock? just read the thread about Ricky Symes and seems they are throwing a bit of money about. Can't say Ive taken too much notice of the sides this year. Only echucas cos im too far away.

jmain14
6 Jun 2005, 14:55
yeah I don't really know jn, I am not really familiar with benalla's side. I wasn't referring to benalla in my prev post, was just backing up trav's call that he didn't like seeing the sides that spend big winning premierships ie. mansfield last year and quite possibly this year, seymour maybe this year.

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 15:01
[QUOTE=ECHUCABOY]Apparently benalla have a ******** load of cash, howd they manage that? im hatin how teams are tryin to buy premierships.

No I don't...and neither do you...so why did you make the above comment?

ECHUCABOY
6 Jun 2005, 15:04
[QUOTE=ECHUCABOY]Apparently benalla have a ******** load of cash, howd they manage that? im hatin how teams are tryin to buy premierships.

No I don't...and neither do you...so why did you make the above comment?

Read the Ricky Symes thread this fella is sayin there are 5 or so blokes earning a grand a game in the GV you dont earn that if you are a local footballer. And I am just generally hating how teams try and by premierships eg. Mansfield and Echuca probably 5 years ago, it usually doesnt work as was the case with Echuca, when they started to produce youngsetrs instead they won their flags

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 15:13
[QUOTE=Jock's Netballers]

Read the Ricky Symes thread this fella is sayin there are 5 or so blokes earning a grand a game in the GV you dont earn that if you are a local footballer. And I am just generally hating how teams try and by premierships eg. Mansfield and Echuca probably 5 years ago, it usually doesnt work as was the case with Echuca, when they started to produce youngsetrs instead they won their flags

And how would he know...there are not five blokes who would be on more than $750 at Benalla...and if there were, I would love somebody to name them

arceri
6 Jun 2005, 15:45
I'll repeat this, the word is that MacFarlane and Anthony Stevens are on massive dollars.

Corowa-Rutherglen coughed up big when they bought the flag in 2003 and struggled to pay its players for finals

I reckon benalla is similar this year. as well Mind you, they are not the only ones.

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 15:55
I'll repeat this, the word is that MacFarlane and Anthony Stevens are on massive dollars.

Corowa-Rutherglen coughed up big when they bought the flag in 2003 and struggled to pay its players for finals

I reckon benalla is similar this year. as well Mind you, they are not the only ones.

The word is...gee that 'word' is so strong that you have to believe it, and then rush to big footy and look like a hero because you got the scoop that Benalla is paying massive dollars...congratualtions...I' in awe of you

flagpie
6 Jun 2005, 16:08
The word is...gee that 'word' is so strong that you have to believe it, and then rush to big footy and look like a hero because you got the scoop that Benalla is paying massive dollars...congratualtions...I' in awe of you

Very testy today, Jock ... maybe that is a sign there is some truth in the "word" of arceri, who does seem to be on the money with most of his posts.

Speaking of money, are you one of the Godfathers shelling out big at Benalla this year??

arceri
6 Jun 2005, 16:11
you have a short memory. Are you the same poster who was quick to wage a personal vendetta against Dean Lupson when he was reported. You sung like a canary the moment he was booked.

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 17:17
you have a short memory. Are you the same poster who was quick to wage a personal vendetta against Dean Lupson when he was reported. You sung like a canary the moment he was booked.

What I posted was actually from a newspaper article...and knowing a number of people in this forum are interested in his progress at Wodonga Raiders, but don't live in the Border Mail's distribution region, I thought it would be of interest.

A personal vendetta...I've never met the bloke...that's interesting...

Flat Track Bully
6 Jun 2005, 17:19
Very testy today, Jock ... maybe that is a sign there is some truth in the "word" of arceri, who does seem to be on the money with most of his posts.

Speaking of money, are you one of the Godfathers shelling out big at Benalla this year??

If I was, the Government would be on to me...unfortunately Austudy doesn't go that far...

moosha
6 Jun 2005, 18:35
benalla have a good bunch of kids comming up that you will stay round the club reguardless of money, dissapionting to see the money thrown at a few but if thats what it takes.
im a bit biased agianst the saints as i am from the club across the road (allblacks), but this isnt unjustified as i have been there and done that at benalla - not the best club inviroment though they do win unlike us, but things are changing down at panther land.
with the senior side pretty hard to break into there, i think u will find alot of your quality second grade footballers will make the trip to/back to blacks now that the club has some direction about it.

with the facility's that benalla currently have, there must be plenty of money floating round to spend on players.

cookie33
7 Jun 2005, 13:55
I dont know how much Benalla pay there players but i do know the 2 VFL boys they got up there this year are on a fairly descent wicket. 1 of the boys is out injured for the season and didnt event get to pull on the boots for them which is a shame because the kid is a top footballer. The other 1 i think is Cosham? was very good at TAC level but since has struggled at the VFL and im not sure how his going at Benalla any info would be good. Im lead to believe that the boys are on something between $350-$450 hardly big cash considering both of them probably could have got more elsewhere at a lower league or in Melbourne. Also i think Saad Saad my favourite from the Bullants is on $800+ at Seymour.

Heard rumour that Tatura are already on the trail of 1 of Benallas Melbourne boys and are looking to bring about 4 or 5 former Coburg Tiger teamates with them. Half way during the season and Tatura are already looking to poach players.

How are the Bullants boys going at Seymour?

madtiger
7 Jun 2005, 13:57
haha na a user mentioned it in a Ricky Symes thread posted earlier. I just think its not the best thing for country football but ah well its a part of the game.

And nah im not hidin behind a user name my Names Travis Brown and i played their last year but im with DOnvale In melbourne now.

Echuca have tried to buy a premiership b4 in 98 i think when they paid players like Trevor Robinson and Jeremy Brown from the DVFL ******** loads of money and it backfired. Nearly every team has done it.

footyman
7 Jun 2005, 19:24
Heard rumour that Tatura are already on the trail of 1 of Benallas Melbourne boys and are looking to bring about 4 or 5 former Coburg Tiger teamates with them.
Who would they be Cookie?

harsh, but fair
8 Jun 2005, 10:36
I've heard from a very, very good source 3-4 AFL clubs are looking at Saad Saad with a view to drafting him next year.
The bloke is a gun.

jmain14
8 Jun 2005, 11:47
I've heard from a very, very good source 3-4 AFL clubs are looking at Saad Saad with a view to drafting him next year.
The bloke is a gun.
that wouldn't surprise many I wouldn't think - he is obviously a class above his rivals in the gv. a bloke with so much talent has to be better off at least having a crack at it in the afl.

ECHUCABOY
9 Jun 2005, 10:23
Echuca have tried to buy a premiership b4 in 98 i think when they paid players like Trevor Robinson and Jeremy Brown from the DVFL ******** loads of money and it backfired. Nearly every team has done it.

yeah i said we tried to buy a premiership and it didnt work. Once we started playing blokes like guy campbell, scott mcglone, rhys archard, kristen height, djarrin whyman, andrew kelly all 17 and 18 at the time we won flags. Winning a flag with a group a young blokes and locals is more rewarding a better for the club than winning with a bunch of VFL blokes looking for cash a some cheap status.

tige19
9 Jun 2005, 21:27
Benalla seem to have put together a strong list of players and look hard to topple this season. Whats the chances do you think that after they win the flag or even dont win it how many of those players will head elsewhere.

Just so i know can someone please tell me these well known players?? to me it seems like they have basically local talent with 3 or 4 imports, could it be they just have a really strong junior program and therefor its like a domino affect as soon as the kids finish 18s they move onto to senior footy and so and so forth?

cheers

arceri
12 Jun 2005, 08:48
okay, everyone else is wrong regarding Benalla's expenditure and you must be spot on. it's the talk of the GV and O and M, but I realise you do the club's accounts and must be on the money.

The bottom line is Benalla don't pay much and have a terrific junior program.

bradrowe#32
16 Jun 2005, 19:56
Leading goalkickers after 9 rounds:

1. SYMES, Ricky 43 (Benalla)
2. SAAD, Saad 41 (Seymour)
3. MENSCH, David 38 (Mansfield)
4. FORYS, Matt 35 (Shepparton United)
5. MURPHY, Sean 35 (Sean Murphy)
6. MELLINGTON, Anthony 31 (Shepparton)
7. BAMFORD, Craig 28 (Eurora)
8. GRAINGER, Scott 28 (Eurora)
9. SINGH, Balraj 26 (Mooroopna)
10. ADAMSON, Mark 25 (Kyabram)

This would have to be one of the most open goalkicking challenges in years. Can't wait to see how it pans out. Symes with 43 goals in 8 games in sensations, so is Saad's 41 after he missed a few.

This weeks games (tips in bold):

Tatura v Mooroopna
Shepparton v Kyabram
Rochester v Shepparton Swans
Seymour v Benalla
Euroa v Tongala
Echuca v Shepparton United
Mansfield Bye

The ladder:
Euroa 9 7 1 0 1 0 971 713 136.19% 32
Seymour 9 6 2 0 1 0 868 541 160.44% 28
Mansfield 9 7 2 0 0 0 955 605 157.85% 28
Benalla 9 6 2 0 1 0 889 635 140.00% 28
Shepparton 9 5 3 0 1 0 884 604 146.36% 24
Echuca 9 5 4 0 0 0 846 755 112.05% 20
Shepparton Swans 9 4 4 0 1 0 786 750 104.80% 20
Shepparton United 9 4 4 0 1 0 722 737 97.96% 20
Rochester 9 4 4 0 1 0 625 727 85.97% 20
Kyabram 9 3 5 0 1 0 791 769 102.86% 16
Mooroopna 9 2 6 0 1 0 733 804 91.17% 12
Tongala 9 0 8 0 1 0 495 1164 42.53% 4
Tatura 9 0 8 0 1 0 379 1140 33.25% 4

Chrissy-barko
21 Jun 2005, 07:49
Gday fellas how are we? i came from mildura i have only just moved here. I must say that the GVFL looks more proffesional and betta than the league we have up in mildura. i mean the sunraysia football league is that bad they even lost to the murray league. It is good to come down and finally see a great standard of football. Ok mansfield, do you think they will carry out the flag this year 2 years in a row. I believe euroa will. I have seen euroa play and they are quick and direct. i haven't seen seymore yet or mansfield, well i saw mansfield but when it was real muddy so i cant tell with them. I have heard of a great footy player called saad saad. I am yet to see him in action but all my friends say he is awesum. Tell us what you think!!! :)

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 10:15
This weeks games (tips in bold):

Tatura v Mooroopna
Shepparton v Kyabram
Rochester v Shepparton Swans
Seymour v Benalla
Euroa v Tongala
Echuca v Shepparton United
Mansfield Bye

great effort there rowey - did echuca beat united does anyone know?? I thought they did.

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 10:16
Gday fellas how are we? i came from mildura i have only just moved here. I must say that the GVFL looks more proffesional and betta than the league we have up in mildura. i mean the sunraysia football league is that bad they even lost to the murray league. It is good to come down and finally see a great standard of football. Ok mansfield, do you think they will carry out the flag this year 2 years in a row. I believe euroa will. I have seen euroa play and they are quick and direct. i haven't seen seymore yet or mansfield, well i saw mansfield but when it was real muddy so i cant tell with them. I have heard of a great footy player called saad saad. I am yet to see him in action but all my friends say he is awesum. Tell us what you think!!! :)
g'day chrissy - jump on the rochy banwagon mate. everybody is doing it!!

where are you living mate??

harsh, but fair
21 Jun 2005, 10:39
Yeah and subject a bloke to a lifetime of torment each September when the Tigers choke on the big stage.
That would be a real smart move wouldn't it?

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 11:23
Yeah and subject a bloke to a lifetime of torment each September when the Tigers choke on the big stage.
yeah fair call, however they seem to get to sept every year. benalla, on the other hand, at that stage of the year seem to be comiserating their season end in establishments such as dt's and the prince of wales in st kilda. I know which team I'd rather support!!

harsh, but fair
21 Jun 2005, 13:37
I don't barrack for Benalla, but I must say the cracks are starting to appear in the Saints line-up.
They flopped big time against quality opposition last start and with the exception of Anthony Stevens who have they added to a team which missed finals last year?
Wot happened to Stuart Cooper who was meant to play for them this year?

Flat Track Bully
21 Jun 2005, 13:53
I don't barrack for Benalla, but I must say the cracks are starting to appear in the Saints line-up.
They flopped big time against quality opposition last start and with the exception of Anthony Stevens who have they added to a team which missed finals last year?
Wot happened to Stuart Cooper who was meant to play for them this year?

Of course you don't...you follow Mansfield...don't hide it...you're a Peter Tossol man from way back...

harsh, but fair
21 Jun 2005, 13:58
Answer the question, Jock!!!

Flat Track Bully
21 Jun 2005, 14:19
Answer the question, Jock!!!

I think you'll find, as well as adding Anthony Stevens, he's brother Brendan, Ricky Symes, and Mark McKenzie are injury free, a number of thirds premiership players have stepped up to senior level, Rowan Priest among them, Ty Primmer has returned from Bendigo.

Benalla are a much better tean than that which finished mid-table in 2005...A premiership might not be on its way to the Showgrounds, however a return to finals is

bradrowe#32
21 Jun 2005, 14:25
great effort there rowey - did echuca beat united does anyone know?? I thought they did.

Yeh won by about 10 goals in the end. I keep thinking United are a decent team but they are struggling this year. They have lost a few of their big recruits to injury. I think we play them in 3 weeks time.

bradrowe#32
21 Jun 2005, 14:30

That's pretty harsh. The club has never really got the big recruits, they just rely on a batch of locals and a good junior footy system. They have done very well considering the town's population is 3000.

They've never gone on a massive recruiting run to buy a flag like Mansfield did, and Seymour, Benalla and others are trying to do.

If you can't respect that, then that's your problem.

Flat Track Bully
21 Jun 2005, 15:03
That's pretty harsh. The club has never really got the big recruits, they just rely on a batch of locals and a good junior footy system. They have done very well considering the town's population is 3000.

They've never gone on a massive recruiting run to buy a flag like Mansfield did, and Seymour, Benalla and others are trying to do.

Can you please tell me, other than Anthony Stevens, how has Benalla gone on "a massive recruiting run?"

arceri
21 Jun 2005, 15:12
Jock, in your opinion who spends the most cash in the GVFL?

please don't dodge the question.

Chrissy-barko
21 Jun 2005, 15:37
aww nah i don't like rochy jmain i prefer shepp bears!!! :)

Chrissy-barko
21 Jun 2005, 15:50
rowey who do you go for in the gvfl? :)

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 15:53
Can you please tell me, other than Anthony Stevens, how has Benalla gone on "a massive recruiting run?"
would of thought that a.stevens alone would be on enough cash at benalla to classify them as 'a massive recruiting' team. what is he on jock - 3k a game or what?? he he.

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 15:54
aww nah i don't like rochy jmain i prefer shepp bears!!! :)
fair enough, I guess it all comes down to where you live when talking about the gv. I mean, its not as if its the afl or anything.

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 15:55
rowey who do you go for in the gvfl? :)
who else??

Samtrish
21 Jun 2005, 16:21

You are missing the point Benalla have had a strong thirds base since they joined the GV and in there last season in OMFL they also won the flag I do believe in the thirds and a lt of these players are still at Benalla. You obviously have a problem with Benalla and stevo wanting to play football with his younger brother

jmain14
21 Jun 2005, 17:00
You obviously have a problem with Benalla and stevo wanting to play football with his younger brother
I can't speak for rowey but I doubt very much that he would have any problem with stevo playing at benalla, or the club in general. all he was suggesting was that they've forked out some cash to get him - now, is that a lie?? good on him, and good on benalla for getting him.

tige19
21 Jun 2005, 19:58
Who will be throwing the coin around next year in persuit of that famous GVFL premiership.

Word has it that Mooropana are already on the path of some recruits and Tatura are looking at spending well beyond the 100k to get some good footballers back to the club and send them to premiership glory.

Where exactly are these crack forming in the Benalla line up?? from all reports they are as strong as ever minus some nagging injuries to key players eg Mckenzie,Symes,Cosham etc etc. Heard Saad Saad will be back next week and that broken jaw wasnt that just a close shave, that should lift Seymours spirits and make them premiership favourites again. Just on Seymour boys, news is that the bunch of Bullants boys wont be around next year with the Lions already admitting that finacilly they wont be able to accomidate them all for another year.

Mid year predictions would be good:

Flag?
Runner up?
Goal Kicking?
Wooden spoon?
Team to spend up big for next year?

cheers

Samtrish
21 Jun 2005, 20:44
I can't speak for rowey but I doubt very much that he would have any problem with stevo playing at benalla, or the club in general. all he was suggesting was that they've forked out some cash to get him - now, is that a lie?? good on him, and good on benalla for getting him.

No that probaly is not a lie but this guy has fitted into the club so well as his attitude to other people around the club that also being supporters has been nothing short of sensational and that is coming from someone who is not attached to the club as a player or committee. As they say you can take the boy out of the country but you cannot take the country out of the boy so true with stevo

bradrowe#32
22 Jun 2005, 00:29
You are missing the point Benalla have had a strong thirds base since they joined the GV and in there last season in OMFL they also won the flag I do believe in the thirds and a lt of these players are still at Benalla. You obviously have a problem with Benalla and stevo wanting to play football with his younger brother

I have no issue at all with Stevo playing with Benalla. Good luck to him.

If you refer to the original post I was replying to, I was pointing out that Rochester has done pretty well without buying players. Since the late 1980's, they have consistently played finals and given excellent value for money, despite the hinderence of its financial position and the town's population.

Jock - Stevo would be on a fair bit. Adam Cosham won a B&F with Calder Cannons. Is Mark O'Sullivan playing? He had excellent creditials. These players wouldn't come cheap. Perhaps Benalla isn't the greatest example, but you look at these players with their profile and you think $.

There is nothing wrong with that, but for most clubs that premiership window is small and can have damaging effects on the club.

Chrissy-barko
22 Jun 2005, 08:26
here is ur premiership window rowey-
1891 - Undera (pre-GVFL)
1892 - No GVFL yet.
1893 - No GVFL yet.
1894 - Mooroopna.
1895 - Mooroopna.
(GVDFA commenced)
1896 - Mooroopna.
1897 - No season played.
1898 - Tatura.
1899 - Shepparton.
1900 - Tatura.
1901 - Tatura.
1902 - Tatura.
1903 - Shepparton.
1904 - Tatura.
1905 - Tatura.
1906 - Shepparton.
1907 - Shepparton.
1908 - Shepparton.
1909 - Shepparton.
1910 - Murchison.
1911 - Shepparton.
1912 - Shepparton.
1913 - Shepparton.
(GVFL commenced)
1914 - Rochester.
1915 - Recess (WW1).
1916 - Recess (WW1).
1917 - Recess (WW1).
1918 - Recess (WW1).
1919 - Kyabram.
1920 - Shepparton.
1921 - Kyabram.
1922 - Kyabram.
1923 - Mooroopna.
1924 - Mooroopna.
1925 - Shepparton.
1926 - Kyabram.
1927 - Kyabram.
1928 - Kyabram.
1929 - Shepparton.
1930 - Rushworth.
1931 - Rushworth.
1932 - Rushworth.
1933 - Rushworth.
1934 - Shepparton.
1935 - Rushworth.
1936 - Mooroopna.
1937 - Mooroopna.
1938 - Mooroopna.
1939 - Nagambie.
1940 - Benalla.
1941 - Recess (WW2).
1942 - Recess (WW2).
1943 - Recess (WW2).
1944 - Recess (WW2).
1945 - Recess (WW2).
1946 - Nagambie.
1947 - Nagambie.
1948 - Kyabram.
1949 - Tongala.
1950 - Kyabram.
1951 - Shepparton.
1952 - Tatura.
1953 - Tatura.
1954 - City United.
1955 - City United.
1956 - City United.
1957 - Shepparton.
1958 - Kyabram.
1959 - Lemnos-Shepparton.
1960 - Lemnos-Shepparton.
1961 - Tongala.
1962 - City United.
1963 - Shepparton.
1964 - Shepparton.
1965 - Shepparton.
1966 - Shepparton.
1967 - City United
1968 - Shepparton.
1969 - Shepparton.
1970 - Lemnos.
1971 - Euroa.
1972 - Shepparton.
1973 - Shepparton.
1974 - Shepparton United
1975 - Kyabram.
1976 - Seymour.
1977 - Echuca.
1978 - Shepparton.
1979 - Echuca.
1980 - Shepparton United.
1981 - Seymour.
1982 - Seymour.
1983 - Tongala.
1984 - Tongala.
1985 - Mooroopna.
1986 - Mooroopna.
1987 - Shepparton United.
1988 - Shepparton United.
1989 - Shepparton United.
1990 - Euroa.
1991 - Seymour.
1992 - Rochester.
1993 - Shepparton.
1994 - Shepparton.
1995 - Tatura.
1996 - Kyabram.
1997 - Echuca.
1998 - Tatura.
1999 - Rochester.
2000 - Shepparton.
2001 - Echuca.
2002 - Echuca.

Junkie
23 Jun 2005, 12:09
Mid year predictions would be good:

Flag?
Runner up?
Goal Kicking?
Wooden spoon?
Team to spend up big for next year?

cheers[/QUOTE]

Flag : Euroa
Runner Up: Seymour
Goalkicker: Grainger
Wooden Spoon: Tongala
Team to Spend up big: Tatura

tige19
23 Jun 2005, 12:56
Flag?: Mansfield
Runner Up?: Seymour
Goal Kicker?: Ricky Symes
Wooden Spoon?: Tongala
Club to spend up big?: Tatura

Flat Track Bully
23 Jun 2005, 13:31
Flag?: Mansfield
Runner Up?: Seymour
Goal Kicker?: Ricky Symes

Flag?: Benalla
Runner Up? Mansfield
Goal Kicker? Saad Saad
Wooden Spoon? Tatura
Club to spend up big? Shepp United

Chrissy-barko
23 Jun 2005, 15:38
Flag?: Seymore
Runner Up?: Shepparton
Goal Kicker?: Saad Saad

ECHUCABOY
24 Jun 2005, 09:15
I think Echuca deserve a much needed pump up after their 10 goal win over Shepp United! This team has easily got the biggest hearts in the competition, they'll always be one step ahead of Shepp teams when it comes to passion and commitment!

Chrissy-barko
24 Jun 2005, 14:40
You would think that the shepp teams,echuca and benalla would be the best coz our towns are more metropolitan and they have bigger populations where as small 1,000 pop. towns are runnin over the top of us like mansfield, euroa and seymore. It is a closer competition than i thought. :)

ECHUCABOY
24 Jun 2005, 14:48
Thats probably cos they have bought players from other places, ahhhhhhhh and they dont have three or more teams in their town ahhhhhhhhhhh. yes its not quite rocket science

Flat Track Bully
24 Jun 2005, 15:57
Thats probably cos they have bought players from other places, ahhhhhhhh and they dont have three or more teams in their town ahhhhhhhhhhh. yes its not quite rocket science

I'll think you'll find Seymour, Manfield and Euroa all support populations of a lot more than 1000...

Tongala at 1500 has got reason to struggle...however everyone else has a decent population base, and district teams around them to offer $$$$ to players who would otherwise play 2nds at GV level

TuskenRaider
24 Jun 2005, 16:58
I'll think you'll find Seymour, Manfield and Euroa all support populations of a lot more than 1000...

Tongala at 1500 has got reason to struggle...however everyone else has a decent population base, and district teams around them to offer $$$$ to players who would otherwise play 2nds at GV level

Jock's spot on. Echuca/Shepparton may have other teams, but Seymour, Euroa, Mansfield, Rochester etc. all have district clubs to support as well.

Chrissy-barko
25 Jun 2005, 18:40
Jock's spot on. Echuca/Shepparton may have other teams, but Seymour, Euroa, Mansfield, Rochester etc. all have district clubs to support as well.

well i don't wanna make a debate from this but here are the pops:
Euroa-2699
echuca-11,000 somewhere round there
mansfield-2658
rochey-2622
seymore-6422
moroopna-6000 odd
tongala-$#!+ all
benalla-8593
kyabram-?
shepparton-35754
tat-?

RickySymes
26 Jun 2005, 20:40
To Rowey, you have a fantastic point with Rochester, they are a fantastic Football Club. We played them on the weekend, and really had to work for the win. It's interesting that people think Benalla are struggling, although we had lost the prior two games before the weekend, we are a long way of full strength at the moment, so to be 7 & 3 (i think that is right) at the moment is a pretty fair effort. We still have about 5 players that could come in to our 21, all of good quality. Should be a fantastic finals series this year, hopefully we are apart of it.

jmain14
27 Jun 2005, 09:51
rowey - m.doolan and the kiwi (played in the euroa game) will be amongst the list of inclusions in the seconds vs tongala this week. should be a pi$$er!!

also, what is the go sat'y night - sammy was saying something about a 2's doo out at coxy's farm??

Flat Track Bully
27 Jun 2005, 11:18
To Rowey, you have a fantastic point with Rochester, they are a fantastic Football Club. We played them on the weekend, and really had to work for the win. It's interesting that people think Benalla are struggling, although we had lost the prior two games before the weekend, we are a long way of full strength at the moment, so to be 7 & 3 (i think that is right) at the moment is a pretty fair effort. We still have about 5 players that could come in to our 21, all of good quality. Should be a fantastic finals series this year, hopefully we are apart of it.

Cira says get back to work Ricky...

who would these 5 be??? Sharp, Primmer, MacFarlane, Horne...who else???

Flat Track Bully
27 Jun 2005, 11:20
rowey - m.doolan and the kiwi (played in the euroa game) will be amongst the list of inclusions in the seconds vs tongala this week. should be a pi$$er!!

What has happened to Rochy's two's...209 points...I'll give the 20 blokes who played credit...they never once gave in...I'm guessing the Tigers have been hit hard by player movements at the reserves level out to district clubs.

jmain14
27 Jun 2005, 11:58
What has happened to Rochy's two's...209 points...I'll give the 20 blokes who played credit...they never once gave in...I'm guessing the Tigers have been hit hard by player movements at the reserves level out to district clubs.
yeah mate, quite simply we are no good. yeah just lost a few players to other clubs. probably what has hurt most though imo is the 5 or 6 players that are playing at senior level this year where last year they would have been playing seconds. the depth just isn't quite there this year unfortunately.

more importantly though rowey, how was the bus trip on the way home?? thank god you's didn't have to scull a can for every goal you got beaten by!!

Flat Track Bully
27 Jun 2005, 12:09
yeah mate, quite simply we are no good. yeah just lost a few players to other clubs. probably what has hurt most though imo is the 5 or 6 players that are playing at senior level this year where last year they would have been playing seconds. the depth just isn't quite there this year unfortunately.

more importantly though rowey, how was the bus trip on the way home?? thank god you's didn't have to scull a can for every goal you got beaten by!!

Hey Rowey what number were you...I wish I had of been Benalla's 37 or 45...15 goals between the two of them

tige19
27 Jun 2005, 16:39
Tatura are on the move boys.Look out for some names to be shifting that way as soon as the season finishes, they will be spending 200k+ for next year. Also ive heard grumblings that Seymour wont be able to afford there Bullants boys next season and they will be heading off.

Im looking at heading to a GV game this weekend what would people suggest? Isnt it Gary Stevens 150th for Tat againts the Saints with all 3 Stevens boys to be playing?? thats the 1 i was looking at but if any of use have anything better to suggest throw options my way.

cheers

bradrowe#32
27 Jun 2005, 23:12
Hey Rowey what number were you...I wish I had of been Benalla's 37 or 45...15 goals between the two of them

G'day Jock.

I was number 51 in the ressies. I played the first quarter at FF and kicked our only point of the game. I should have kicked it.

The last 3 quarters I played in the backline. No. 45 was pretty handy, as was no.37. I think 45 kicked 2 goals on me and then I was at FB on a few of the big guys.

I was pretty impressed with Benalla seniors (and the 2nds and 3rds weren't bad either!). It was a decent contest until half time, and even the 3rd quarter was even until the last 5 or so minutes. It sounds like you guys had a few out.

Seymour is probably the flag favourite for me, from what I've seen and read. Saad is brilliant and Jeff Anderson down back is very handy. I think it will be a Seymour-Euroa GF, but the whole finals should be a cracker.

Hopefully Rochy can sneak in, but I think they will finish 7-9th.

bradrowe#32
27 Jun 2005, 23:21
Tatura are on the move boys.Look out for some names to be shifting that way as soon as the season finishes, they will be spending 200k+ for next year. Also ive heard grumblings that Seymour wont be able to afford there Bullants boys next season and they will be heading off.

Im looking at heading to a GV game this weekend what would people suggest? Isnt it Gary Stevens 150th for Tat againts the Saints with all 3 Stevens boys to be playing?? thats the 1 i was looking at but if any of use have anything better to suggest throw options my way.

cheers

There is a few good games this weekend Tige. I would consider the Euroa -Echuca game, Seymour - Shepp. United and even the Rochester - Tongala game should be good. The Tatura-Benalla game might be worth a look for the reasons you suggested, but I don't think it will be much of a contest unfortunately.

I was interested about your Seymour comments. I mentioned elsewhere on here they the coach has a 50/50 policy: 50 % of the senior team are paid imports and 50% are locals. I'm sure they would be feeling the pressure to win a flag. I think they can just about do it.

bradrowe#32
27 Jun 2005, 23:26

also, what is the go sat'y night - sammy was saying something about a 2's doo out at coxy's farm??

Great news. I think we will have about 50 players available since we have a chance to win.

Yes, we have a ressies do out at Coxy's farm. I think it is $50 and beer, wine, food and a special stubby holder is provided. Should be a great night.

The trip home from Benalla was good. We stopped at Pine Lodge, Shepparton and Stanhope. Big Pumpa and Wardo were pretty gone by the time we hit Rochy!

Flat Track Bully
28 Jun 2005, 08:01
G'day Jock.

I was number 51 in the ressies. I played the first quarter at FF and kicked our only point of the game. I should have kicked it.

The last 3 quarters I played in the backline. No. 45 was pretty handy, as was no.37. I think 45 kicked 2 goals on me and then I was at FB on a few of the big guys.

I was pretty impressed with Benalla seniors (and the 2nds and 3rds weren't bad either!). It was a decent contest until half time, and even the 3rd quarter was even until the last 5 or so minutes. It sounds like you guys had a few out.

Seymour is probably the flag favourite for me, from what I've seen and read. Saad is brilliant and Jeff Anderson down back is very handy. I think it will be a Seymour-Euroa GF, but the whole finals should be a cracker.

Hopefully Rochy can sneak in, but I think they will finish 7-9th.

Benalla's one and two's were undermanned...about half a dozen of the blokes who played in the 2's wouldn't get a game under normal circumstances, but injuries and unavailabilities have created opportunities...it was good to get some confidence back in the two's after being hammered by Seymour the week before.

ECHUCABOY
28 Jun 2005, 10:50

cheers

Euroa Vs Echuca could be a huge upset, unlikely i know but Ive got a good feeling will see how it pans out!

Flat Track Bully
28 Jun 2005, 10:59

cheers

Will Brett Warburton make the move to the Kennel...is Chris Kennedy primed for a return to the Eastern end of Deakin...

so many questions...

Travvy43
30 Jun 2005, 12:23
Just found this room. Reading back through peoples posts; jock you hit the nail on the head in relation to tongala; struggling with a small population (smallest town in a major league in victoria); and having minor league teams attracting would be Tongala two players with money to play in their senior team. Also your prediction that Tatura willt ake the wooden spoon, we (tongala) have them in two weeks in the battle for the spoon.

Interesting one this week too for the blues with rochester.

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 12:30
Just found this room. Reading back through peoples posts; jock you hit the nail on the head in relation to tongala; struggling with a small population (smallest town in a major league in victoria); and having minor league teams attracting would be Tongala two players with money to play in their senior team. Also your prediction that Tatura willt ake the wooden spoon, we (tongala) have them in two weeks in the battle for the spoon.

Have actually tipped Tongala to win this one...just got a feeling that Rochy will be deflated with their second half performance against Benalla

bradrowe#32
30 Jun 2005, 12:34

G'day Travvy.

I read in the Shepparton News a few weeks ago about the Tongala-Gigarre merger. I dont't think the article said if the new team would move into the KDFL or stay in the GV as the merged team.

Are you a senior or ressies player? I play reserves for Rochester. Should be an interesting day.

Travvy43
30 Jun 2005, 12:47
Lets hope we can repay your faith. Apparantly they lost their CHF last week with a shoulder injury which will throw around their forward set up.

Travvy43
30 Jun 2005, 12:52
I assume that if the merger took place the team would stay in the GV. I personally think it could be a good thing for the club. both teams struggle in their respective leagues, a merger would add much needed depth to the club, we are 15km apart and have the same major sponsor.

I run around in the ones, and year i hear you are the magoos spearhead goalkicker (or point scorer)

HawkeEye
30 Jun 2005, 13:03
Saw in the paper the other week that benalla were 1st and now they are 5th. What has happen to them?
Are they in danger of missing the finals. I hear the have a very easy draw this year with only playing the teams like shepp,seymour,euroa only once.

JimCarter
30 Jun 2005, 13:27
Hi guyz, long time listener first time caller...

Benalla are lucky they have such an easy draw. The only good side they've beat this year is Mansfield in round one, who had a heap of injuries to big name players like Mench and stevenson.

The only other games against quality opposition they've come undone - ie seymour and euroa, and more likely than not shepparton in a couple of weeks.
Having an easy draw may get them into finals, but does anyone else think thats going to mean much when they cant beat quality sides in finals??

Who would be the team to beat come september? Surely seymour would have to be favourites??

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 13:50
Lets hope we can repay your faith. Apparantly they lost their CHF last week with a shoulder injury which will throw around their forward set up.

Dale Ellis...he actually started at full-back on Ricky Symes before being injured...

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 13:52
Hi guyz, long time listener first time caller...

Benalla are lucky they have such an easy draw. The only good side they've beat this year is Mansfield in round one, who had a heap of injuries to big name players like Mench and stevenson.

The only other games against quality opposition they've come undone - ie seymour and euroa, and more likely than not shepparton in a couple of weeks.
Having an easy draw may get them into finals, but does anyone else think thats going to mean much when they cant beat quality sides in finals??

Who would be the team to beat come september? Surely seymour would have to be favourites??

Injuries to Sharp, MacFarlane, Primmer, Horne and Levy have not helped the Saints cause...

ECHUCABOY
30 Jun 2005, 14:02
Injuries to Sharp, MacFarlane, Primmer, Horne and Levy have not helped the Saints cause...

So whats the real reason Jock? Got no depth, benalla wont get near it yet again!

Junkie
30 Jun 2005, 14:02
With Saad Saud (or whatever) Seymour. When the sun is shining in September he could single handedly destroy some oposition sides. Out of them and Euroa. Not sure if Euroa can match up on Saad. Will be one of the best finals series for a long time.

JimCarter
30 Jun 2005, 14:05

Surely Benalla arent the only team with injuries over the past month. Other teams in the top six like euroa, seymour, and to a lesser extent mansfield, have suffered injuries to key players in recent weeks.

Were all these players out injured for the seymour and euroa games??

jmain14
30 Jun 2005, 14:48
Dale Ellis...he actually started at full-back on Ricky Symes before being injured...
damian ellis, but from now on he shall be known as dale as he looks like a bit of a dale. very very unlucky footballer he is. his shoulder has given him nothing but grief since his move to rochy from colbo, he seems incapable of putting any more than 4 games on-end. damn shame too as he can play, and rochy desperately need all their key position players out there.

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 15:16
So whats the real reason Jock? Got no depth, benalla wont get near it yet again!

closer than Echuca....Sholly could almost crack a game in the one's...

Rotchy and Echuca round 14 or 15 will take on a lot of improtance in who finishes sixth

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 15:17
Surely Benalla arent the only team with injuries over the past month. Other teams in the top six like euroa, seymour, and to a lesser extent mansfield, have suffered injuries to key players in recent weeks.

Were all these players out injured for the seymour and euroa games??

injured during....al struck down during the premiership quarter except for Horne and Levy...however Primmer, MacFarlane and Sharp is our starting centreline

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 15:18
damian ellis, but from now on he shall be known as dale as he looks like a bit of a dale. very very unlucky footballer he is. his shoulder has given him nothing but grief since his move to rochy from colbo, he seems incapable of putting any more than 4 games on-end. damn shame too as he can play, and rochy desperately need all their key position players out there.

My apologies...a keyboard faux pas, sorry about that Mainy...

Can Tonny push Rochy this week?

arceri
30 Jun 2005, 15:20
Jock, how much cash in Benalla spending?

Don't ingnore me this time

Flat Track Bully
30 Jun 2005, 15:22
Jock, how much cash in Benalla spending?

Don't ingnore me this time

see RickySymes post under the thread Ricky Symes...as assistant coach he'd have a better idea than me.

Travvy43
30 Jun 2005, 15:23
Raining here in melbourne and hopefully the tigers den is receiving the mother of all downpours. Our form in the mud is ok, only just getting pipped with a kick after the siren by Echuca three weeks back. Look out tigers and then after that Tatura!!

tige19
30 Jun 2005, 15:42
Raining here in melbourne and hopefully the tigers den is receiving the mother of all downpours. Our form in the mud is ok, only just getting pipped with a kick after the siren by Echuca three weeks back. Look out tigers and then after that Tatura!!

Yeah look out because when Tongala come to town you better expect a fight ;)