View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Grimmett
20 Nov 2005, 14:09
Was just watching the GFinal on dvd, and notice that Lamaro held his hand up to say he was injured, and coming off. As he did that the ball got handballed over to him and thats when collins whacked him.
Is it still possible to get a copy of the GF DVD? Interested.
Was just watching the GFinal on dvd, and notice that Lamaro held his hand up to say he was injured, and coming off. As he did that the ball got handballed over to him and thats when collins whacked him.
Sorry there Whippet thought it was a mark - just could remember Hayden taking the ball in his hands before the old rib tickler came from Collo
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 07:03
Lads, this is brilliant. Logged on for the first time since just before knocking off work on Thursday arvo (Hence why I didn't give you any tips for the Seymour races Mainy) and have just read 25 minutes of thoroughly entertaining stuff.
Do have some observations:
5) - Fat Back Pocket's lean run with the willow continues. Dismissed for one yesterday to take his season's tally to five runs from four hits at an average of 1.25.
Thank f u c k the batting ability around the league is as good as mine, so i can claim i'm a bowler by getting retards out. I'm pretty sure the skipper will put me where i belong in the batting order next game - no. 8 or 9, and replace me with you grandale...up to the challenge?
Would have to say, doesn't get much lower than this boys, really scraping the bottom of the bikky barel for some crumbs, or should i say runs!
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 07:08
FOOTYBOSS knows whats going on with every bloke associated with the Bullants and DVFL, so what ever he says must be true.
Tell me this boss, is it true Euroa offered this Scanlon bloke $$ to play at the Maggies?
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 08:22
[I'm pretty sure the skipper will put me where i belong in the batting order next game - no. 8 or 9, and replace me with you grandale...up to the challenge?
It would seem so. Haven't even completed my first innings in A Grade this season and already I've made more runs than your good self.
Stick at it though, Tiger, I'm sure a big score if just around the corner.
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 08:32
It would seem so. Haven't even completed my first innings in A Grade this season and already I've made more runs than your good self.
Stick at it though, Tiger, I'm sure a big score if just around the corner.
As long as the team wins, thats all that matters.
And also, 4 weeks of failing isn't quite as bad as 4 years!!
FOOTYBOSS
21 Nov 2005, 08:54
FOOTYBOSS knows whats going on with every bloke associated with the Bullants and DVFL, so what ever he says must be true.
Tell me this boss, is it true Euroa offered this Scanlon bloke $$ to play at the Maggies?
No I dont know whats going on with every bullants and dvfl player. I hardly know anyone down at the bullanst anymore. The last of the blokes that I knew lft at the start of this year so I couldnt give two ********s whats happens with their players and who they are. As for knowing evrything in the dvfl I have some good mate at different clubs and they tell me what their clubs are upto. Even then I dont know which players are coming and going.
As for euroa offering scanlon some $$$. As far as I know we havent talked to him this year as we are to busy chasing another onballer and we were chasing a ruckman in which we got. Hopefully the onballer signs in the next few weeks. I know we have spoken to him in the past. Ive been told he is pretty keen to remain at the bullants but you never know. I do know you blokes have spoken to him this year and also tatura have spoken to him.
FBP you seem to know more than evryone on this forum, so please tell me if we have spoken to him as it would be news to me.
Scanlon is a very good player and would be an asset to any team in the gvfl.
We will just have to wait and see what happens.
LOBSTER
21 Nov 2005, 10:12
Interesting news if the maggies are talking to scanlon. That means they have picked up a 208cm ruckman from bullants, who wouldnt be cheap and are chasing scanlon and hilton. Must have an endless supply of money at the moment. No one leaving either. If they do happen to get scanlon and hilton it would be the highest paid team in gvfl history I think. They wouldnt want to choke again would they!
bradrowe#32
21 Nov 2005, 10:19
He's not arrogant, he just knows he's better than you..
He was captain coach of Longwood seconds for 3 years running...
Haha, you have to be kidding.
Wow, being captain of the Longwood seconds (in the Benalla FL with a massive 6 teams) is incredible. Does he get mobbed when he walks down the main street of Longwood? Does he do a lap of the oval at every home game? Is his jumper retired?
jmain14
21 Nov 2005, 10:28
Wow, being captain of the Longwood seconds (in the Benalla FL with a massive 6 teams) is incredible. Does he get mobbed when he walks down the main street of Longwood? Does he do a lap of the oval at every home game? Is his jumper retired?
he he. cheers for the support rowey and wizz.
rowey, I hear the beard is gone!! you and nige put on a few runs on sat'y did ya's??
bradrowe#32
21 Nov 2005, 10:39
he he. cheers for the support rowey and wizz.
rowey, I hear the beard is gone!! you and nige put on a few runs on sat'y did ya's??
Yeah mate. It was getting too itchy.
The old C grade was struggling. We were 7/40 and Nige made about 12 and I made 14 (including a 6!) and we ended up making 119. We bowled them out for 85. There were lots of people there getting drunk and stuff. Great day!
Bradrowe#32 Beard
May 24 to November 2
RIP
jmain14
21 Nov 2005, 11:13
Yeah mate. It was getting too itchy.
The old C grade was struggling. We were 7/40 and Nige made about 12 and I made 14 (including a 6!) and we ended up making 119. We bowled them out for 85. There were lots of people there getting drunk and stuff. Great day!
Bradrowe#32 Beard
May 24 to November 2
RIP
ha ha geez a bit over 5 months - good effort mate.
yeah I heard there were a couple of drunken houligans amongst the crowd. I remember playing a game in the c's last year with sammy and dane, and I can recall wizz coming for a watch and downing a few beers. he must have had about 2 slabs by himself, or at least the ump thought so anyway. what he didn't know didn't hurt him I guess.
how big was your 6?? did you hit it into robbo's house??
HawkeEye
21 Nov 2005, 11:14
S. Peterson c S. Kelly b S. Pearce0
HawkeEye
21 Nov 2005, 11:19
Cmon rowey, thought you were a bit smarter than that.
Going back onto footy, whats going on with some shepp sides. Not much talk on them, Miller and Lang have left Shepp bears.
Could be a bad year for the 3 shepp sides, they could be our bottom 3.
No doubt their 3rds would be ok, but where do they go hiding. Why can't they crack it into the seniors.
Everyone says just because of the hit lamaro went off. That isnt the fact at all. He was actually heading to the bench when collins hit him and by the way it was a cheap blow by collo. Wasnt in the play and wasnt watching.
Fair enough grainger had a bad day but he isnt the only one to have a bad day on grand final day is he. I think ablett had a couple of shocker grand finals after 89 in which he tore the game apart. I dont thinks he did much in the 92,94 and 95 gf for geelong. Carey never really dominated a gf when the roos won 2. Every good player has a shocker sooner or later and his happened to be that day.
Still managed to kick 97 goals for the year.
O
And he was playing on a Vic Country full back who would be the best backman in the GV by some way!
Joffa and Chippa Douglas on a par for me Xander, both should go onto the VFL after the Lions go close to winning back to backs in 2006.
junkie, I am not sure where you get off on here mate. sometimes I don't mind your posts but that second last one is pretty ordinary. the way you write is as though you were the greatest footballer to ever run out onto the ground - who knows - perhaps you were a handy player in your time but what is with you ********ing everyone off on here??
grandale or anyone else, any tips for the seymour races tomorrow??
Why is it pretty ordinary? I have never mentioned anything about me playing football either, so if you could kindly point out where I write as though im the greatest footballer to run onto the ground...??
I just post my opinions, no differently to you guys.
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 13:22
S. Peterson c S. Kelly b S. Pearce0
Care factor is the same as my score mate, not sure if you saw two other interesting points in that score card.
Seymour 6 points - Avenel 0.
S Pearce c. Stevens b. Allum 0
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 13:25
Going back onto footy, whats going on with some shepp sides. Not much talk on them, Miller and Lang have left Shepp bears.
No doubt their 3rds would be ok, but where do they go hiding. Why can't they crack it into the seniors.
I heard 5 or 6 of the solid reserves players from the bears were leaving with the coach.
Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him? The shepp reserves side had a lot of players who could get good money in lower leagues, even get money at lower gv sides, so it will be interesting to see Shepps list this year.
They have been strong for years, no doubt they will recruit a host of stars again.
if anyone has any info on the reserves coach and who he has taken, give us some info.
Care factor is the same as my score mate, not sure if you saw two other interesting points in that score card.
Seymour 6 points - Avenel 0.
S Pearce c. Stevens b. Allum 0
another FBP fan hey Hawkeye - with all the excitement coming outa Kings Park, it would be hard to concentrate on the slipping standard of SDCA cricket anyways Stu. Just work at trying to get ya foot to the pitch and the runs will come!!! Just kidding, what would a slogging tailender know.
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 13:27
Joffa and Chippa Douglas on a par for me Xander, both should go onto the VFL after the Lions go close to winning back to backs in 2006.
Are you saying Chippa isn't going to go to VFL this year? From what i gather he isn't super keen on leaving.
You would know more though Doona, haven't really spoken to the man himself about it.
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 13:29
Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him?
if anyone has any info on the reserves coach and who he has taken, give us some info.
If memory serves me correct I believe he's going to Congupna.
Are you saying Chippa isn't going to go to VFL this year? From what i gather he isn't super keen on leaving. You would know more though Doona, haven't really spoken to the man himself about it.
Guess we'll know more after Saturday's draft and what happens with young Rich. From all reports Chipper hasn't made up his mind fully but Id say the VFL is leading the race.
Until Xmas he wants to keep on plundering the slipping standard of SDCA bowlers some more, averaging 116.00 so far.
Johnny Rudd finished with a patient 22 not out against our B's on Saturday, little unorthodox but effective.
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 13:32
Guess we'll know more after Saturday's draft and what happens with young Rich. From all reports Chipper hasn't made up his mind fully but Id say the VFL is leading the race.
Until Xmas he wants to keep on plundering the slipping standard of SDCA bowlers some more, averaging 116.00 so far.
Johnny Rudd finished with a patient 22 not out against our B's on Saturday, little unorthodox but effective.
Who does the Ruddler play for?...There's one that got under your guard FBP.
And what's the state of the game Doona? And how'd yer A Grade go?
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 13:33
Who the hell for?? Little b a s t a r d, i'll have to have a word to him. I asked him and nixons (nick papa) to come and run around in our B grade.
Eastern Hill B's made 130 all out, our blokes are 3/40.
Our A's got rolled for 68, the Hill made 110ish and Broady are 0/1. Terrible effort by all batsmen, wicket was fine, plenty of arrogant flashy shots and 7 lbw's by umpire Sing.
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 13:44
Eastern Hill B's made 130 all out, our blokes are 3/40.
Our A's got rolled for 68, the Hill made 110ish and Broady are 0/1. Terrible effort by all batsmen, wicket was fine, plenty of arrogant flashy shots and 7 lbw's by umpire Sing.
Thats big. Chippa obviously had his first out for the year.
Broady had a great start to the year, the hill had a lot of washed out games, and will play a depleated Maroon outfit first game after xmas.
Might be interested to know Doona that joey amad played in our B's on the weekend. Did no good with the bat, apparently got caught by a blinder catch for not many. Ended up getting rolled for 69, in reply kilmore are 6-90.
Joey Amad 10-5-2-12 he did have 7 overs 2-3 at one stage. According to some of the boys, his gentle mediums were a big hit, hit the same spot every pill from ball 1. Got a bit tired at the end and got hit for a boundary and a 3 in his final over.
Joffa anderson back to form with the ball - leading the side i may add - 2- 12 off 12. Meant that the rest did't go so flash. Expect an interesting game next week though. if the maroons can knock over kilmore quickly, smack up 100 odd, they may be able to win outright.
Sidey_87
21 Nov 2005, 13:52
Daniel Brophy could be leaving the Shepparton Bears this season, i heard he was going to Congupna.
So it doesn't look good for the Bears for 2006.
Also another player is signing for United to go with the 6'6" monster from Perth.
Got any names Sidey?
Sidey_87
21 Nov 2005, 13:56
Got any names Sidey?
lol, sorry don't know his name but he kicked a few goals in the WAFL this year.
Daniel Brophy could be leaving the Shepparton Bears this season, i heard he was going to Congupna.
So it doesn't look good for the Bears for 2006.
Who is the 6'6" fella Sidey?
I don't think United will be that bad in '06, Hazelman is a quality person and fine footballer. If he plays all games i'd expect him to finish very highly in the Morrison Medal.
Sidey_87
21 Nov 2005, 14:02
Who is the 6'6" fella Sidey?
I don't think United will be that bad in '06, Hazelman is a quality person and fine footballer. If he plays all games i'd expect him to finish very highly in the Morrison Medal.
I'm not sure of his name sorry mate, all i've heard about him is that he played in the WAFL and kicked a bag of goals, he moves well n is a good athlete.
That's all i can possibly tell ya.
United won't make finals unless they play out of their skin.
Where do you think we will finish (united)?
If there are no injuries.
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 14:08
Didn't mention that when you were sprouting bertie Douglas's average...
Wo did the damage for the Hill? Would be great to see Mick Hard among the wickets.
I'm not sure of his name sorry mate, all i've heard about him is that he played in the WAFL and kicked a bag of goals, he moves well n is a good athlete.
That's all i can possibly tell ya.
United won't make finals unless they play out of their skin.
Where do you think we will finish (united)?
If there are no injuries.
Bit hard to tell at this stage but I'd expect Hazelman to attract a few players to the club that the GV wouldnt know much about.
I reckon they would struggle to make the finals but will be competitive.
Didn't mention that when you were sprouting bertie Douglas's average... Wo did the damage for the Hill? Would be great to see Mick Hard among the wickets.
Wickets were shared I think Mick got a couple. Whats the progressive details in your match and others around the SDCA
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 14:36
Wickets were shared I think Mick got a couple. Whats the progressive details in your match and others around the SDCA
We bowled Kilmore out for 138 (Kempy got 5-fa after the skipper eventually gave him a bowl) and we are 3/42.
Naggers got skittled for 98 against Royals and Tallarook made about 175 against Avenel.
subtle hustle
21 Nov 2005, 14:37
geez fellas, hate to put a dampener on the chats but could you p#ss off with the cricket talk. there's enough crap written here without the cricket yarns.
back to the footy....
is hickmott expected to take many with him to rumba?
anyone heard anymore on norman ever since he was a no show at bulldogs raining?
Travvy43
21 Nov 2005, 14:41
Maroopna also had their first training run/ meet the recruits day on sunday and he was a no show to that either. Seems like a troubled soul to me.
Doesn't seem like anyone is surprised Normans unreliability.
half time lollies
21 Nov 2005, 15:06
Apparently Karl is keeping a low profile (may even be interstate) due to the federal police hot on his tail over a couple of different matters!!!
fat back pocket
21 Nov 2005, 15:14
We bowled Kilmore out for 138 (Kempy got 5-fa after the skipper eventually gave him a bowl) and we are 3/42.
Naggers got skittled for 98 against Royals and Tallarook made about 175 against Avenel.
It wasn't as if they distroyed us when the skipper was bowling!! 2-16 off 9 isn't a bad stint for the skip. I think he was ensuring kempy's grandale like hamstrings were good to go. Had to run him around the boundary for a few overs, let that head of steam build up a bit.
Grandale, all jokes aside (that is jokes of my dismissal) if you don't make runs against this farse of a bowling attack, there is something seriously wrong.
The deck should be a bit better this week, and once you see off the big fella, that is it. Block, block, whack. There will be 2 s h i t pills every over.
I heard 5 or 6 of the solid reserves players from the bears were leaving with the coach.
Not sure where he was headed again, maybe murray league, does anyone know exactly who was going with him? The shepp reserves side had a lot of players who could get good money in lower leagues, even get money at lower gv sides, so it will be interesting to see Shepps list this year.
They have been strong for years, no doubt they will recruit a host of stars again.
Travis Hampshire, coaching Congupna in Murray League
ECHUCABOY
21 Nov 2005, 15:31
hahaha fbp you wud wanna be a bowler....SDCA is a very very bad league, times I have played against those hacks have been very very large wins. Bout time u made a run big guy!!!!
Rowey I see you did south, what was it like playing against 13 year olds hahha
ECHUCABOY
21 Nov 2005, 15:37
geez fellas, hate to put a dampener on the chats but could you p#ss off with the cricket talk. there's enough crap written here without the cricket yarns.
back to the footy....
is hickmott expected to take many with him to rumba?
anyone heard anymore on norman ever since he was a no show at bulldogs raining?
Hickmotts a funny lookin koori.....
Mate I reckon this is the first time Ive seen u post on here, the boys have been talkin about their cricket all season, and we talk about horses all season too. If you dont like it start your own GVFL thread.......gimp :eek:
Grandale
21 Nov 2005, 16:00
Mate I reckon this is the first time Ive seen u post on here, the boys have been talkin about their cricket all season, and we talk about horses all season too. If you dont like it start your own GVFL thread.......gimp :eek:
Well said Echucaboy.
As for FBP's denigration of the Kilmore bowling attack, I wouldn't be so silly as to run them down mid-innings. They've already got out better (supposedly) batsmen than I so far this game so I won't be taking this weekend lightly at all. Anything can happen on the bowlers' paradise that is Chittick Park.
Duff Man
21 Nov 2005, 16:54
Some shepp bears 2's have been spoken to by ex coach Trav Hampshire, but not a whole lot as he doesnt want to be seen as cleaning out his old club.
But have heard that a heap of their 2's are being chased by other local clubs, the most active being Waaii (Picola league) who are offering good coin.
Also heard that Shepp Swans are talking to some of the lesser known bears senior players (who get paid sweet FA) and offering dollars. Heath Bartons name was mentioned as one of them.
Flat Track Bully
21 Nov 2005, 17:04
Word is he was in town, and had Brad Campbell as his minder...as for his no show, well I can't explain that.
subtle hustle
21 Nov 2005, 18:07
mate, as an ex-gv player i read this thread regularly and would really appreciate it if i didn't have to sift thru all this cricketing garbage just to read whats goin on with the teams in the league.
i'm sure others would feel the same.
mate, as an ex-gv player i read this thread regularly and would really appreciate it if i didn't have to sift thru all this cricketing garbage just to read whats goin on with the teams in the league.
i'm sure others would feel the same.
I have to agree entirely!
There is a cricket board, perhaps post your scores there....
ha ha geez a bit over 5 months - good effort mate.
yeah I heard there were a couple of drunken houligans amongst the crowd. I remember playing a game in the c's last year with sammy and dane, and I can recall wizz coming for a watch and downing a few beers. he must have had about 2 slabs by himself, or at least the ump thought so anyway. what he didn't know didn't hurt him I guess.
how big was your 6?? did you hit it into robbo's house??
ha ha ha yeah i remember that day was pretty good actually had a fair bit to drink and the umpire was continually on my case about drinking. However mainy i was helped out with the beers with Benny A who rocked up as well and fair to say we had a skinfull think we ended up in Bendigo didnt we.
Rowey had a beard hey how big was it, must of been huge after 5 months would of been itchy in the summer.
Yeah he is, just what he is saying is justified though someone was carrying on a bit to much about one of his mates.
jmain14
21 Nov 2005, 20:31
ha ha ha yeah i remember that day was pretty good actually had a fair bit to drink and the umpire was continually on my case about drinking. However mainy i was helped out with the beers with Benny A who rocked up as well and fair to say we had a skinfull think we ended up in Bendigo didnt we.
Rowey had a beard hey how big was it, must of been huge after 5 months would of been itchy in the summer.
sorry yeah - I had forgotten about benny being there also. you's must have had a slab each then hehe. yeah rowey's beard was pretty good. I reckon he'd look like a new man these days.
back to gv news, the latest is that terry warren is starting a pre-season and could be lining up with rochy next year. wizz would have seen a few recent photo's of wazz from an email going around, and he would be able to substantiate that he is looking very fit at the moment.
sorry yeah - I had forgotten about benny being there also. you's must have had a slab each then hehe. yeah rowey's beard was pretty good. I reckon he'd look like a new man these days.
back to gv news, the latest is that terry warren is starting a pre-season and could be lining up with rochy next year. wizz would have seen a few recent photo's of wazz from an email going around, and he would be able to substantiate that he is looking very fit at the moment.
Yeah mate very fit especially if that kangaroos outfit he has on is Ash Watsons gear. Imagine he would be doing PB on the beep tests.
nigel31
22 Nov 2005, 06:26
has anyone heard the latest rumor coming out of benalla that they signed a gun ruckman and onballer on the weekend?
Duff Man
22 Nov 2005, 06:54
has anyone heard the latest rumor coming out of benalla that they signed a gun ruckman and onballer on the weekend?
Did hear a rumour a while ago that they were chasing Mark Porter (ex Carlton and Kangaroos). Haven't heard anything concrete since, but this could be the ruckman?
HawkeEye
22 Nov 2005, 07:19
Some shepp bears 2's have been spoken to by ex coach Trav Hampshire, but not a whole lot as he doesnt want to be seen as cleaning out his old club.
But have heard that a heap of their 2's are being chased by other local clubs, the most active being Waaii (Picola league) who are offering good coin.
Also heard that Shepp Swans are talking to some of the lesser known bears senior players (who get paid sweet FA) and offering dollars. Heath Bartons name was mentioned as one of them.
Barto back to the swannies! Heard himself and luke simpson were going to go to a MFL team.
Also heard trav tamburro is trying to get a few old team mates of his, up to Qld.
Did hear a rumour a while ago that they were chasing Mark Porter (ex Carlton and Kangaroos). Haven't heard anything concrete since, but this could be the ruckman?
Know Mark Porter well. Is a very fit unit and would absolutely carve it at GV level. Not sure he would head to Benalla though.
Travvy43
22 Nov 2005, 08:40
BHeard himself and luke simpson were going to go to a MFL team.
What is the go with Luke simpson, he pretty much played twos for the swans all year. Is it a case of body like tarzan but plays like Jane.
HawkeEye
22 Nov 2005, 08:46
Know Mark Porter well. Is a very fit unit and would absolutely carve it at GV level. Not sure he would head to Benalla though.
Wasn't he at north ballarat in the vfl, however their team, benalla and mansfield all train together during the year at arden street, so that may be the connection.
HawkeEye
22 Nov 2005, 08:49
What is the go with Luke simpson, he pretty much played twos for the swans all year. Is it a case of body like tarzan but plays like Jane.
I just dont think he got many opportunties during the year, only played a couple of games in the 2s last year. He was injured for about 8 games i think. Good player though, plays way better than Jane and yourself there Travvy.
Travvy43
22 Nov 2005, 09:21
I just dont think he got many opportunties during the year, only played a couple of games in the 2s last year. He was injured for about 8 games i think. Good player though, plays way better than Jane and yourself there Travvy.
I know he is a decent player but the two times we played against the swans this year he was in the twos and was not playing with much influence ont he game. Fair enough with the injuries, looking from the outside in, i was not to know.
Wasn't he at north ballarat in the vfl, however their team, benalla and mansfield all train together during the year at arden street, so that may be the connection.
Yeah, didn't know Mansfield & Benalla trained with the NB boys. That could be the connection.
Travvy43
22 Nov 2005, 09:23
Yeah porter played with the roosters last year and thought he had already committed for this year. Would have a connection with stevo from their time with each other at Nth Melbourne and also in training at Arden St on thursday nights with the Melbourne based GV players.
wheelbarrow
22 Nov 2005, 09:24
Barto back to the swannies! Heard himself and luke simpson were going to go to a MFL team.
Also heard trav tamburro is trying to get a few old team mates of his, up to Qld.
I heard that Stanhope were trying to get Tamburro as AC. ?
half time lollies
22 Nov 2005, 09:35
Apparently about half a dozen of Benalla's fringe senior players are departing to Greta in the Ovens and King. Sam Hazell has taken up a role as assistant coach and Ty Primmer is also heading Greta way to play under his father Wayne. Not sure what other players are heading there but it will definately be another 3/4 blokes.
No Heart
22 Nov 2005, 10:24
Word is that a few of Euroa's melbourne based boys are still a little p i ssed off with Hayden Lamaro. After his game ending calf injury in the most important game of their season - some of them their footy careers - his fleet footed dance moves after a gut full of gas after the game suggested he either wasn't as badly hurt as first thought, or he should have filled the drink bottle with Euroa's finest ale - probably a nice lollie water (stollie's!!) - and had a few such that he could get back out on the park to try and avenge Seymour's final quarter assult.
No doubt there will be a few icey conversations at the first few pre-season runs for 06.
Samtrish
22 Nov 2005, 11:54
Confirmed Rory Hilton has signed with Euroa picture on back page of todyas Euroa Gazette.
LOBSTER
22 Nov 2005, 12:19
Euroa really throwing the money around to get this flag arent they. They would have to be favourites now.
ECHUCABOY
22 Nov 2005, 12:31
subtle hustle I dont care if your an ex gvfl player, this thread was started by rowey....You make little or no contribution to this thread. When you start to put in some worth while stuff I and others may listen to what you have to say. Until then the boys who "STARTED" this thread can write what they like and you can keep sifting through....!
Dale Reyne to play at Echuca next year, a relative unknown im sure, but would be in any teams top 2 or 3 on his day. Watch out for this guy.....ECHUCABOYS player to watch for 2006.
Travvy43
22 Nov 2005, 12:52
Dale Reyne to play at Echuca next year, a relative unknown im sure, but would be in any teams top 2 or 3 on his day. Watch out for this guy.....ECHUCABOYS player to watch for 2006.
Who is this dude, where has he played, what position???
Grandale
22 Nov 2005, 13:04
Jim's brother. Will be a shoo-in at the Murray Bombers' talent night during the season.
No Heart
22 Nov 2005, 13:09
Confirmed Rory Hilton has signed with Euroa picture on back page of todyas Euroa Gazette.
Thomsons carpet choice must be selling some really overpriced carpet!!
Why?
No Heart
22 Nov 2005, 13:35
Euroa really throwing the money around to get this flag arent they. They would have to be favourites now.
Euroa can spend all the money in the world , but are still no certinies to win the flag like we saw this year.Mooroopna will improve as will Rochcester and the swans have meant to have been very busy in the recruiting stakes as have tatura, Seymour is about to unleash 3 more recruits and will be better again next year and Shepparton are going along just nicely i believe under new coach Mellington. Pre season top 6 [ bull ******** time of the year ]
Euroa
Seymour
Shepparton
Mooroopna
Tatura
Rochester
Out Benalla and Mansfield In Mooroopna and Tatura
half time lollies
22 Nov 2005, 13:52
Reynolds by-passes Roos by David Johnston
November 22, 2005
[View Printable Version]
DIMUNITIVE rover Nathan Reynoldson has by-passed his original club Corowa-Rutherglen to return to Goulburn Valley league powerhouse Mansfield.
Reynoldson played for Narrandera in the Riverina league this season and won the Quinn Medal for the Eagles who played off in the grand final.
Reynoldson played for Mansfield in 2004 and was among its best players in the premiership winning team coached by David Mensch.
He will be reunited with former Corowa-Rutherglen coach Peter Tossol at Mansfield.
"We are particularly rapt that Nathan will be playing with us next year," Tossol said.
"In the year that he had with the club previously, he performed really well, culminating in a top game in Mansfield's grand final win.
"A further year's experience in the Riverina Football League should make him a more experienced player.
"Nathan will rove for us as well as hopefully kick goals when resting in the forward line.
"Nathan made a huge impression at the club previously and his recruitment means a lot to the club".
Meanwhile, Mansfield will be without the services of former AFL players Mensch, Andrew Tranquilli and Darren Hulme next season.
Mensch has returned to Grovedale in the Geelong league and Tranquilli will coach in the Central Highlands league.
Can confirm that Mark Porter and a guy by the name of Peter Sheils (think that what his name was-Murray Bushies captain a few years back) signed with Benalla on the weekend. Also heard that Hilton hag signed with Mansfield, but see by one of the threads has signed with Euroa.
fat back pocket
22 Nov 2005, 14:20
Can confirm that Mark Porter and a guy by the name of Peter Sheils (think that what his name was-Murray Bushies captain a few years back) signed with Benalla on the weekend. Also heard that Hilton hag signed with Mansfield, but see by one of the threads has signed with Euroa.
Thats big news, the bag carrier should do ok for the saints.
Maybe a few big name signings may help keep their squad together after rumours the fringe players were leaving. Maybe writting off benalla isn't correct.
Also Junkie, i think Heartless means that Thomsons Carpet Choice (major sponsor/president Xavier Thomson) is putting in a fair quid to his beloved magpies.
How would it be if they failed again. Not sure if the committee and supporters could be put through it. Would things fall apart?
Lots of rumours of large wads of cash being waved around at ex-VFL players.
I dont think that Xav works at Carpet Choice Stuie, might have to check your tracks there. I would say that it was still a successfull year for the pies anyway champ, no point asking if they will fail at this stage of the year.
The Shiels going to Benalla must be John...used to play with Symes.
Good to see the comp is attracting so many quality players :thumbsu:
The Shiels going to Benalla must be John...used to play with Symes.
Good to see the comp is attracting so many quality players :thumbsu:
Spot on Junkie, John Sheils is back from Canberra and saddling up with the Benalla Saints.
Where is this madness gunna end - seems money is no object anymore. Do clubs actually have this kinda of money, where do they find it - or do they hope for early wins to create interest from sponsors and supporters?
I cant wait to catch some GV games in 2006, as the standard again seems destined to go higher. With the Seymour/Euroa interest from many Big Footy regulars, round one will be pumped up massively by the time it comes around.
Flat Track Bully
22 Nov 2005, 15:29
Apparently about half a dozen of Benalla's fringe senior players are departing to Greta in the Ovens and King. Sam Hazell has taken up a role as assistant coach and Ty Primmer is also heading Greta way to play under his father Wayne. Not sure what other players are heading there but it will definately be another 3/4 blokes.
R U sure it's not Tom Hazell that'll be Greta's assistant? Tommy is far from a fringe senior player, Interleague rep in 2004, cruelled by injury in 2005.
Sammy has some ability, however I think an assistant coach's role might be a bit beyond him
just signed
22 Nov 2005, 15:31
Can play. Tall, high marking forward. LBU thought they had him last year. Stuffed ligaments in his thumb before the start of last year that caused it to keep dislocating. A good player, but definitely not in Echuca's top three. Durie, Archard and Smith have him covered by a considerable margain. Got a touch carried away i think ECHUCABOY.
Duff Man
22 Nov 2005, 16:00
I've also heard the Hilton to Mansfield rumour. Was told he's looking for around $1,300 per game (which Mansfield are considering paying), but if Euroa got close to that amount his preference is to go there.
Also heard that Symes (Benalla) was talking to Barooga. Dismissed this as nothing but gossip but have been told he has now had two meetings with them. Can't see him leaving Benalla, but you have to wonder why you would bother going back a second time so maybe there is more to it.
I've also heard the Hilton to Mansfield rumour. Was told he's looking for around $1,300 per game (which Mansfield are considering paying), but if Euroa got close to that amount his preference is to go there.
Also heard that Symes (Benalla) was talking to Barooga. Dismissed this as nothing but gossip but have been told he has now had two meetings with them. Can't see him leaving Benalla, but you have to wonder why you would bother going back a second time so maybe there is more to it.
Barooga would be looking for a strong marking focal point up forward with Wren reportedly heading home to Tungamah.
This is getting crazy now, i would think there are more player transfers in the GV than there is in the English Premier league.
Anyway hows everyone going ?? getting laid or what?? had a good weekend, still struggling atm and can barely open my mouth to talk. Interested to know where the boys on here that are from Melbourne head out?.
Good news for Benalla with Porter if its true, they would almost move into premiership favourites with Euroa if thats the case, especially if Ricky can stay.
I wouldnt be writing off Peter Tossol either, any side he coaches are gonna be up there come seasons end, i would think with the big 3 gone they would have a bit $$$ in the piggy bank to throw around.
The GV seems to be growing and growing in stature atm, i think the league is in a position to really take a strangle hold on local football in Victoria and become the strongest comp outside the VFL, if it isnt already there.
cheers
Samtrish
22 Nov 2005, 16:29
Don't count out the prospect that Leigh Colbert could still end up at Benalla with Stevo & Porter. Rick Symes won't be at Barooga from talk around the traps no real incentive to play Murray League although he is not an Assistant Coach this year at Benalla. Tom Hazell would not be ready to assistant coach even in the O&K more likely Sam Hazell. Next few weeks appear to be interesting times with the player movements it would appear
Sidey_87
22 Nov 2005, 16:45
Who at this stage will win the wooden spoon in 2006?
My tip is Shepp Swans.
I'll have a stab at Kyabram, from Shepp Swans.
Duff Man
22 Nov 2005, 16:55
My tip is Shepp Swans.
Swans have certainly been very quiet as far as possible recruits go, and probably fair enough at this stage to suggest they are likely wooden spooners. May be too early to call though. I've heard that the dude from Crazy Johns is still linked to them, and is supposed to have headed off to the Northern Territory scouting for a few players to bring back to the Swans.
I've mentioned this Crazy Johns guy before, and pretty much got laughed at as far as his involvement with some clubs, but I still keep hearing the rumours about him so I reckon there must be some merit in it. (Where there's smoke there's fire)?
Where is this madness gunna end - seems money is no object anymore. Do clubs actually have this kinda of money, where do they find it - or do they hope for early wins to create interest from sponsors and supporters?
I cant wait to catch some GV games in 2006, as the standard again seems destined to go higher. With the Seymour/Euroa interest from many Big Footy regulars, round one will be pumped up massively by the time it comes around.
I think the $$ which players are on is blown out of proportion by many Doona2. When you think about each team in the GV, half the players wouldnt be getting anything apart from incentives (best on etc or $ for a win). We read here all the time how such and such is earning this and that but the fact is we really dont know. If the likes of Hilton go to Euroa and Porter to Benalla you would think that others on the list would be asked to take a bit of a cut.
I would think that about 5 players on each team would be on some serious coin but after that it would thin out dramatically...
I
I would think that about 5 players on each team would be on some serious coin but after that it would thin out dramatically...
I think your 50% right and 50% wrong, also what would you consider serious coin?? 350 is a starting point as to what i consider serious money but that can increase to 1500 which is getting silly but still happens.
You will find that at most clubs there will be probably 10-15 contracted players who play on a salary based contract with added incentives like : goals kicked, bests, interlegue rep, B&F finishes, sign on fee and watever else the player might want to include.
The rest of the players would more than likely be on incentives only type of deal plus maybe a minimum payment of $75 a game. The reason i say $75 is because thats what it was at Sunbury so im assuming it would be similiur to other major league clubs.
Contracted players would be the players the club goes outs and attracts from outside the region/town and/or local players who are guns that attract substantial offers from other clubs eg Kirby,Symes,B.Stevens,Mccarty types.
I would think contracted players minimum $$$ would start at around $200 and would increase to suit the player.
I doubt there would be only 5 players at each team on serious bucks, in fact i doubt teams would be able to survive with that figure. Seymour would have over 10 players on some "serious" dollars and the Mansfields and Euroas and possibly Taturas even more.
cheers
Fair points Tige19 but I still think you might be over estimating the 10-15 contracted players. You say that $350 is your estimate of serious bucks (I would say $500+) and that Seymour would have around 10. Can you name 10 blokes from Seymour who you think would be on that coin?
Going through Euroa's list I could only select 6-7 players which could be asking that sort of coin ($350+), But i guess no one knows for sure. I reckon if there were more than that they are taking the club for a ride.
From there I dont think many more (5) would be getting any more than the standard win/loss payment.
Fair points Tige19 but I still think you might be over estimating the 10-15 contracted players. You say that $350 is your estimate of serious bucks (I would say $500+) and that Seymour would have around 10. Can you name 10 blokes from Seymour who you think would be on that coin?
Going through Euroa's list I could only select 6-7 players which could be asking that sort of coin ($350+), But i guess no one knows for sure. I reckon if there were more than that they are taking the club for a ride.
From there I dont think many more (5) would be getting any more than the standard win/loss payment.
I think Seymour would have the 10 players on 350+ a game. Saad,Amad,Rattray,Collins,Penn,Jackson,Reid would all be on 350 plus.
That's only 7 Tige and I would doubt that Rattray would be on that much coin. He is a local boy and I cant see him putting a price on his head like that. Maybe FBP can clarify this but as I said in my previous post, not many people know the figures so it's an educated guess unless you have seen the contracts.....
i no for a fact the basic wages for every senior game at euroa and benalla is $50 and tht first yr shepp utd get 25 pg and 2nd yr juniors get $50, some pretty desent players play for nxt 2 nothing, anth stevens got paid $50 a game, and matt sharp 100, wish clubs like us bombers and cg teams could get players 4 tht price
what gv 'bushy' player will go onto bigger things next year? Will last years top u/18 ruckmen get a gig in senior teams with the likes of porter an co. around? players like matt bekker,dave tomkins, scott wilcock and phil aumann
Samtrish
22 Nov 2005, 19:30
Willcock I believe is going back to V/T Phil Aumann would not doubt learn plenty with Porter around the club
FOOTYBOSS
22 Nov 2005, 19:58
Word is that a few of Euroa's melbourne based boys are still a little p i ssed off with Hayden Lamaro. After his game ending calf injury in the most important game of their season - some of them their footy careers - his fleet footed dance moves after a gut full of gas after the game suggested he either wasn't as badly hurt as first thought, or he should have filled the drink bottle with Euroa's finest ale - probably a nice lollie water (stollie's!!) - and had a few such that he could get back out on the park to try and avenge Seymour's final quarter assult.
No doubt there will be a few icey conversations at the first few pre-season runs for 06.
You are a complete ********wit NO HEART. There will be no icy discussions during pre season training. All is well amongst the team and the boys are rearing to get stuck into training which begins next week.
FOOTYBOSS
22 Nov 2005, 20:05
And Grainger didnt get a kick in the Bullants Grand Final either Footy Boss shocking, Carnt get a kick in the big games?????
Cant get a kick the big games. Ok he didnt do much in the gv grand final this year and didnt do much in the vfl reserves game a few years ago, but in fact he has played in bigger games than that and got close to best afield before breaking his arm. In fact he was getting tagged by Kane Johnson(yes the richmond captain) in a grand final before the injury. The biggest game of his career, an under 18 TAC CUP grand final on the MCG. I say you it doesnt get much bigger than for grainger.
Willcock I believe is going back to V/T Phil Aumann would not doubt learn plenty with Porter around the club
yeh why? wasnt he going to get a game? a bit of a drop in level... will Aumann play 1sts? heard he is in the bushys try outs... i dont think he is the best centre bonce ruckman, alright at 1 on 1's.. i watch bears v saints prelim... and wilcock beat bekker at the centre bonces and looked good, but lackd around the ground where aumann was opposite competitive at boundry throw ins but couldnt jump against the bushy ruckman