View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

bradrowe#32
26 Nov 2005, 23:23
Happy birthday to Jmain14. He turned 24 a few days ago.

cosby
27 Nov 2005, 11:16
tyson sidebottom was offered 500 a game to play with kyabram.
turned it down but won't get better anywhere else, they must be throwing money away trying to pick up a no hoper like him from tallygaroopna.

doubt it very, very much.

wheelbarrow
28 Nov 2005, 07:20
doubt it very, very much.

Agree 100% Sidebottom would be getting nothing like that ammount.

Rohan Aldous best 2 come out of KD and he would not get that in the GV.

fat back pocket
28 Nov 2005, 07:57
I feel numb.

This will be the first time in my life that I will barrack for Echuca.

Seymour will be forfeiting against the murray bombers, 4 points there.

jmain14
28 Nov 2005, 08:20
Happy birthday to Jmain14. He turned 24 a few days ago.
ha ha thanks man. good night in the rochy the other night. we ended up going back to rat's house. john b wright was there also.

ECHUCABOY
28 Nov 2005, 08:51
why would echuca need to sign up any more??

They have the best midfield in the comp by a mile, archard, durie (who missed alot with a broken arm), butler (who missed alot and carried an ankle), maddox and smith. Throw in Chris Casey first year out of the pioneers and you've got the best midfield in the league.

No Heart
28 Nov 2005, 09:32

They have the best midfield in the comp by a mile, archard, durie (who missed alot with a broken arm), butler (who missed alot and carried an ankle), maddox and smith. Throw in Chris Casey first year out of the pioneers and you've got the best midfield in the league.

One of the most rediculous comments on Big Footy.

You really think that is as good as Euroa's midfield of 2006 of:

Jansz, Hilton, Clayton and Sage.

You are a twit Echucaboy. Stupid comment from a stupid boy.

Don't get me wrong, they are quality players, but give me a figure for the number of AFL and VFL games combined in that lot in comparison to Euroa's.

fat back pocket
28 Nov 2005, 09:41

Don't get me wrong, they are quality players, but give me a figure for the number of AFL and VFL games combined in that lot in comparison to Euroa's.

I'd dare say Rochy would have claims to a better midfield with no. Brennan, Smidt, McCarty and Moon.

But agree with the Euroa midfield, very hard to beat in 06.

ECHUCABOY
28 Nov 2005, 11:05

Butler and Archard both Morrison medalists, Brad Smith TAC league B&F (long time ago), Durie one of the favourites this year before his injury. Maddox arguably the best of the lot......

For pure skill and pace its the best, archard and moddox would run those old blokes off their legs and smith durie and butler would beat them in and under.

bradrowe#32
28 Nov 2005, 11:49
Seymour will be forfeiting against the murray bombers, 4 points there.

I'd be willing to talk to Dirty about doing the same thing. Twice.

bradrowe#32
28 Nov 2005, 11:50
ha ha thanks man. good night in the rochy the other night. we ended up going back to rat's house. john b wright was there also.

Good stuff mate. I was trashed and therefore had to take an early exit.

FOOTYBOSS
28 Nov 2005, 11:52
ECHUCABOY I think you have been drinking to much water out of the murray and its rotting your brain. You say that smith, durie, butler, maddox and archard would run euroa midfield off their legs as their old. I think you will find combined your midfield there is older. Clayton is 27, Sage 24, Hilton 26 and Janzs 24. Not to many old people there
Also you will find Clarke will be starting ruckman for Euroa next year.

In other words stop your dreaming EB.

fat back pocket
28 Nov 2005, 12:08
Butler and Archard both Morrison medalists, Brad Smith TAC league B&F (long time ago), Durie one of the favourites this year before his injury. Maddox arguably the best of the lot......

For pure skill and pace its the best, archard and moddox would run those old blokes off their legs and smith durie and butler would beat them in and under.

Shane Clayton has a fair bit of toe, showed that in the GF. I'm thinking Rory Hilton would be able to hold his own against the best of the GV - otherwise they would have spent the best part of 8 years in the AFL!!

Sage would man up Smith.

But, your team is only as strong as your weakest player. So Echuca may have a good midfield, if they don't have anyone to kick their goals, it won't say much for the midfield now will it.

Euroa will have plenty of forward firepower to back the ball winning tallent they have in the guts.

fat back pocket
28 Nov 2005, 12:10
I'd be willing to talk to Dirty about doing the same thing. Twice.

he he. good one rowey. I think we should all be doing that with Euroa.

ECHUCABOY
28 Nov 2005, 12:11
ECHUCABOY I think you have been drinking to much water out of the murray and its rotting your brain. You say that smith, durie, butler, maddox and archard would run euroa midfield off their legs as their old. I think you will find combined your midfield there is older. Clayton is 27, Sage 24, Hilton 26 and Janzs 24. Not to many old people there

I said archard and maddox would run them off the legs........haha but yeah I dont have a clue wat the euroa blokes are like I was just pumping up echuca, which is fair enough I reckon.

Does anyone think Hilton will be that good??? To me he was and is an out an out dud and someone u definetly wouldnt want to be stuck in the trenches with?? Thoughts on hilton?

bradrowe#32
28 Nov 2005, 12:32
Does anyone think Hilton will be that good??? To me he was and is an out an out dud and someone u definetly wouldnt want to be stuck in the trenches with?? Thoughts on hilton?

He had a fair few injury worries. Didn't he have major knee and shoulder surgery? He played 8 years in the AFL for only 91 games.

I think he'll be pretty handy. With Euroa's midfield, they could probably afford to let him loose on a wing or play in the forward line, whilst rotating through the middle for 50-70% of the game. Still, he's another quality player that teams have to take into account.

MAXIMUM_POWER
28 Nov 2005, 12:34
I'm nearly with you on Echuca's midfield mix EB. I'd say if they can get that group together (and Smith comes back ok after a year off) it would be better than the mix Euroa had this year. Neither teams have a ruckman of great quality though (and for the Euroa guys don't waste our time by pumping up Janz because he isn't top shelf). Hilton could be interesting, it's probably safe to suggest he'll have a fair impact assuming his body stays right, but as midfielder?? Did he play through the centre much at coburg/richmond??

Grandale
28 Nov 2005, 12:37
Butler and Archard both Morrison medalists,

What year did Harry Butler win the Morrison?

bradrowe#32
28 Nov 2005, 12:42
More news: Mark Brown is still a possibility of coming to Rochester in 2006.

jmain14
28 Nov 2005, 12:45
Good stuff mate. I was trashed and therefore had to take an early exit.
yeah I noticed a phone call brought about your departure. I thought you were travelling ok, not quite as drunk as ry anyway. then again, I am not sure too many people in australia would have been.

who'd ya hear the mark brown news from?? thought there was no chance of him coming now.

No Heart
28 Nov 2005, 13:35

Agree in part Footy Boss , but whos dreaming now if you think Clarke is going to be your savour at Euroa. He is worth than Lamaro, all we have to do is say boo and he will jump the fence. Everyone just smack him one and its good night, just like hyatt in the grandfinal when pilling gave him a tap. And i spoke to a number of people that put in a lot of time at Euroa and they are not happy the way the town is being labbled and hope that they dont fall over in 2007 when everyone leaves. If Euroa dont win the flag next year all hell will breakout on the town. Lets hope the guns stand up on the big stage because they didnt this year.

T.Perry
28 Nov 2005, 15:08
Heard a rumour that gun ACT and ex-Tatura on-baller John Shields was making a return to the GV? Not 100% sure with which team, though I was lead to believe it was Euroa...Can anyone confirm or deny?

hank1
28 Nov 2005, 15:19
Heard a rumour that gun ACT and ex-Tatura on-baller John Shields was making a return to the GV? Not 100% sure with which team, though I was lead to believe it was Euroa...Can anyone confirm or deny?

Has signed with Benalla mate, mentioned it on here last week and think it was in the Shepp news on Friday confirming that.

just signed
28 Nov 2005, 16:33

Butler has carried an ankle for two years now, so don't just assume that he will be fully fit and firing next year. Smith will add to the forward line, bt has had a year off and won't be the same footballer he was. Who will hold up the backline? Paul Newman kicked 13 in one game against Echuca last year. They still need to get busy with recruiting.

Wayne Weideman
28 Nov 2005, 18:55
yeah I noticed a phone call brought about your departure. I thought you were travelling ok, not quite as drunk as ry anyway. then again, I am not sure too many people in australia would have been.

who'd ya hear the mark brown news from?? thought there was no chance of him coming now.

yeah "skunk" brown is a gun. will be a great pick up for rochy if they can snag him. is it true that young Nick Knight who plays for rochy has signed at South Bendigo for season 2006. will be missed if it is true

hank1
28 Nov 2005, 20:27
yeah "skunk" brown is a gun. will be a great pick up for rochy if they can snag him. is it true that young Nick Knight who plays for rochy has signed at South Bendigo for season 2006. will be missed if it is true

yeah believe that is the case weed, must have been offered a fair packet to leave his beloved tigers!! Think the skunk could be a good cover though one for one.

LOBSTER
29 Nov 2005, 07:07
Anyone that has played close to 100 games of AFL football will certainly be a very good pick up at a lower level. Pretty sure he was injured a fair bit during his carrer so a drop back in pace of footy and the intensity of training could be a good thing for him. Will be a very hard to team to tag next year.

TuskenRaider
29 Nov 2005, 08:00
[QUOTE= is it true that young Nick Knight who plays for rochy has signed at South Bendigo for season 2006. will be missed if it is true[/QUOTE]
Yep, Knight's playing at South Bendigo. Should have a good year you would think.

jmain14
29 Nov 2005, 10:00
Yep, Knight's playing at South Bendigo. Should have a good year you would think.
can you confirm this rowey??

Grimmett
29 Nov 2005, 10:07
can you confirm this rowey??

Published in the Bendigo Advertiser and available on the paper's website.

Bloods sign key recruits
Luke West
Tuesday, 29 November 2005

SOUTH Bendigo has landed three new recruits as it aims to improve on its third-placed finish in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League next year.
Joining the Bloods in 2006 will be Rochester's Nick Knight, White Hills' Rick Coburn and Bendigo Bank Bomber Dayne Frew.

Frew is a South Bendigo junior, but has also had stints with the Bendigo Pioneers in the TAC Cup and with Port Melbourne in 2004 and the Bombers this year in the VFL.

The 20-year-old can play as a key position player at either end of the ground, however, Bloods' coach Danny O'Bree hasn't ruled out the possibility of him playing in the midfield next year.

Coburn played a key role in helping White Hills make the past two Heathcote District Football League grand finals, but on both times, the Demons came up short in their attempts to break a premiership drought stretching back to 1988.

Coburn has been an assistant to senior coach Jim Angove throughout the Demons' two grand final years and will provide the Bloods' midfield with some added toughness next year.

The skilful and athletic Knight played most of his football across half-back for Rochester in the Goulburn Valley Football League.

While South Bendigo had added those three players to its list, the club has two of its young guns in Jake Matthews and this year's Rositas Rising Star James Flaherty training with the Bombers during the pre-season.

The Bloods were one of the most improved teams in the BFL in 2005 under first-year coach O'Bree.

After winning just six games in 2004, the Bloods made it through to this year's preliminary final, but bowed out to Eaglehawk.

The Bloods will begin their pre-season training campaign next Monday at Harry Trott Oval, Kennington, and will also train at Beischer Park, Strathdale, on December 7 and 9.

Travvy43
29 Nov 2005, 10:07
Still no nomes released by Tatura. Tige, you may have an idea on when they are going to drop the bomshells which will hopefully see the bulldogs move up the ladder in 2006.

There has been a lot of huff and puff with them saying that $200k will be thrown around, but where are the names. Are they not being successful in attaining the players they thought, or is it that negotiations are just taking longer than anticipated.

the only name i have seen was announced in today's paper, they have a new president in 06, the former head of GM Water.

tige19
29 Nov 2005, 10:31
Still no nomes released by Tatura. Tige, you may have an idea on when they are going to drop the bomshells which will hopefully see the bulldogs move up the ladder in 2006.

There has been a lot of huff and puff with them saying that $200k will be thrown around, but where are the names. Are they not being successful in attaining the players they thought, or is it that negotiations are just taking longer than anticipated.

the only name i have seen was announced in today's paper, they have a new president in 06, the former head of GM Water.

Travvy be patient mate, like ive said its hard for players to commit before Christmas, however expect during the week of chrissy or the week before there will be around 7-8 players announced from Melbourne.

I am bringing up 4 or 5 of the guys all of which have played VFL senior footy and TAC and one other guy who is running rings around them in Darwin.

Also an ex Richmond player and Calder Cannon is a maissive chance, ive been in his ear a fair bit. The kid won his sides B&F this year.

As you would know its hard for me to say actual names, but give it a few weeks and you will know a bit more.

cheers

ECHUCABOY
29 Nov 2005, 10:33

I for one dont want to see the scum going up the ladder! Forking out all this cash is ridiculous, hope the individuals they are poaching do the dirty on the them.

tige19
29 Nov 2005, 10:44
I for one dont want to see the scum going up the ladder! Forking out all this cash is ridiculous, hope the individuals they are poaching do the dirty on the them.

Sorry mate but unfortuantley for your self its gonna happen, and the boys im bringing up while they will get there fair share of $$$ they are also cracking boys who will be nothing but a positive influence for everyone at the club.

People have to get out of the world that was 1995 and realise for clubs to survive and be successfull especially for small team towns like Tatura they have to fork out money.

cheers

Duff Man
29 Nov 2005, 11:09
[QUOTE=Travvy43]

the only name i have seen was announced in today's paper, they have a new president in 06, the former head of GM Water

May be a good pick up Travvy. What possie does he play tige? :D

jmain14
29 Nov 2005, 11:11
Published in the Bendigo Advertiser and available on the paper's website.

Bloods sign key recruits
Luke West
Tuesday, 29 November 2005

SOUTH Bendigo has landed three new recruits as it aims to improve on its third-placed finish in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League next year.
Joining the Bloods in 2006 will be Rochester's Nick Knight, White Hills' Rick Coburn and Bendigo Bank Bomber Dayne Frew.

Frew is a South Bendigo junior, but has also had stints with the Bendigo Pioneers in the TAC Cup and with Port Melbourne in 2004 and the Bombers this year in the VFL.

The 20-year-old can play as a key position player at either end of the ground, however, Bloods' coach Danny O'Bree hasn't ruled out the possibility of him playing in the midfield next year.

Coburn played a key role in helping White Hills make the past two Heathcote District Football League grand finals, but on both times, the Demons came up short in their attempts to break a premiership drought stretching back to 1988.

Coburn has been an assistant to senior coach Jim Angove throughout the Demons' two grand final years and will provide the Bloods' midfield with some added toughness next year.

The skilful and athletic Knight played most of his football across half-back for Rochester in the Goulburn Valley Football League.

While South Bendigo had added those three players to its list, the club has two of its young guns in Jake Matthews and this year's Rositas Rising Star James Flaherty training with the Bombers during the pre-season.

The Bloods were one of the most improved teams in the BFL in 2005 under first-year coach O'Bree.

After winning just six games in 2004, the Bloods made it through to this year's preliminary final, but bowed out to Eaglehawk.

The Bloods will begin their pre-season training campaign next Monday at Harry Trott Oval, Kennington, and will also train at Beischer Park, Strathdale, on December 7 and 9.
myself and rowey had a few beers with him on sat'y night and the cheeky dog didn't make any mention of it. I didn't ask him what he was doing next year as I just presumed he'd be at rochy. dirty would be dirty I would of thought.

fat back pocket
29 Nov 2005, 11:16
Travvy be patient mate, like ive said its hard for players to commit before Christmas, however expect during the week of chrissy or the week before there will be around 7-8 players announced from Melbourne.

I am bringing up 4 or 5 of the guys all of which have played VFL senior footy and TAC and one other guy who is running rings around them in Darwin.

Also an ex Richmond player and Calder Cannon is a maissive chance, ive been in his ear a fair bit. The kid won his sides B&F this year.

As you would know its hard for me to say actual names, but give it a few weeks and you will know a bit more.

cheers

Are you saying there is every chance they won't committ? When did Tat's pre-season start? You would have thought if these blokes were fair dinkum they would have been to the first pre-season session to be introduced to their team mates.

Are there going to be "7-8" confirmed starters?

Why can't you give names if they are certainties. And if they aren't certainties, why not? Better offers?

Will they train mid-week?

The whole Richardson experiment didn't really work out from what i'm told, lots of supporters chucked the s h i ts due to his large pay packet and lack of performance. Could you see this happening again this year with so many imports in one foul swoop?

mainland
29 Nov 2005, 11:17
[QUOTE=wheelbarrow]Agree 100% Sidebottom would be getting nothing like that ammount.

Heard today Sidey will sign with United..

fat back pocket
29 Nov 2005, 11:30
Sorry mate but unfortuantley for your self its gonna happen, and the boys im bringing up while they will get there fair share of $$$ they are also cracking boys who will be nothing but a positive influence for everyone at the club.

People have to get out of the world that was 1995 and realise for clubs to survive and be successfull especially for small team towns like Tatura they have to fork out money.

cheers

The amount of money required to be forked out is the thing. The amount of money required to be forked out is the thing. Personalities of the player is almost as important as their ability. If they give a bit back to the club, then you'll find things run a hell of a lot smoother, your supporter base will grow off the back of good reports from others.

If you have ******** blokes like J Mac come in and take take take and give back nothing on the field and less off it, massive divisions in the club become apparent.

Lets hope Tatura don't find 7-8 J Macs!!

Or do we?

GVFLFAN
29 Nov 2005, 11:39

cheers

Does Gutterson, Hooper etc ring a bell to you Tige 19!!! The money that they have been offered is a complete joke and Tat would want to pick up higher quality players for that sort of money otherwise they will struggle to make the finals!!! That money would be reserved for ex AFL players you would think but if that is all you can get and are getting desperate then do what you have to but the boys will be all about the money rather then playing with mates like at Euroa and Seymor!!!

TuskenRaider
29 Nov 2005, 11:40

Wouldn't be Daniel Sipthorp you speak of?

fat back pocket
29 Nov 2005, 12:05
Does Gutterson, Hooper etc ring a bell to you Tige 19!!! The money that they have been offered is a complete joke and Tat would want to pick up higher quality players for that sort of money otherwise they will struggle to make the finals!!! That money would be reserved for ex AFL players you would think but if that is all you can get and are getting desperate then do what you have to but the boys will be all about the money rather then playing with mates like at Euroa and Seymor!!!

Should be interesting to find out what these blokes are like when their names are let out in the open.

Obviously blokes in the GV circles may know a couple of these players personally, it will be interesting to see what they have to say. Whether its thumbs up or down.

FOOTYBOSS
29 Nov 2005, 12:32
I think you will find that the blokes GVFLFAN mentioned dont deserve the money they would get off Tat. They would be raping the club. yeah sure their handy players but dont deserve what they have been offered. they also probably wouldnt put as much back into the club either.

Grandale
29 Nov 2005, 12:34
Confirmation today from St Kilda that Luke Penny is retiring from AFL footy. Obviously going to be linked to a GVFL club at some stage - every other retiring AFL footballer has been in the last three months.
Here's a market on which club will be the first that he's linked to:
$1.80 - Benalla. Apparently Penny once played on Sav Rocca, who is good mates with Shannon Watt at the Kangaroos and with Watt's son attending the same pre-school as Anthony Stevens' daughter there is an obvious link there.
$2.50 - Tatura. Have been linked to every player released from an AFL list since 1995 but still we are to hear confirmation they have signed anyone.
$4.50 - United. Tyson Sidebottom will announce he is willing to shave a few quid off the supposed 500 a game he is rumoured to be on to free up a bit of room in the cap.
$6 - Euroa. Still looks like a couple of local blokes are in line for senior selection next year so they are still on the recruiting path.
$9 - Seymour. Won't be the Lions' doing, rather that Penny will suggest that if he's gunna play anywhere in the GVFL he wants it to be with the best side. Lions won't be interested as they already have a ''Penny'' (ie: Matthew) at Kings Park.
$13 - Mooroopna. Bit of free cash at Catland after Vijay Singh decided to take up a lucrative offer of $2500 a game at a KDL club.
$17 - Shepp Swans. Crazy Johns will threaten to withdraw his $5 million-over-five-years sponsorship unless the Swans make a play for Penny.

Write your own ticket the rest.

FOOTYBOSS
29 Nov 2005, 12:37
Agree in part Footy Boss , but whos dreaming now if you think Clarke is going to be your savour at Euroa. He is worth than Lamaro, all we have to do is say boo and he will jump the fence. Everyone just smack him one and its good night, just like hyatt in the grandfinal when pilling gave him a tap. And i spoke to a number of people that put in a lot of time at Euroa and they are not happy the way the town is being labbled and hope that they dont fall over in 2007 when everyone leaves. If Euroa dont win the flag next year all hell will breakout on the town. Lets hope the guns stand up on the big stage because they didnt this year.
I dont think I have stated that Clarke would be our savour in any of my posts to date NO HEART. He will be a very handy ruckman in the league and probably will be in top 4 or 5 ruckman in the league next year. Others would be schottner, kirby and porter for benalla.
You keep making stupid comments on here, which players are supposed to leave after next year? considering we havent even started the season you are just making stupid comments at the moment which arent true. Name names NO HEART.

Duff Man
29 Nov 2005, 12:46
Confirmation today from St Kilda that Luke Penny is retiring from AFL footy. Obviously going to be linked to a GVFL club at some stage - every other retiring AFL footballer has been in the last three months.
$1.80 - Benalla. Apparently Penny once played on Sav Rocca, who is good mates with Shannon Watt at the Kangaroos and with Watt's son attending the same pre-school as Anthony Stevens' daughter there is an obvious link there.
$2.50 - Tatura. Have been linked to every player released from an AFL list since 1995 but still we are to hear confirmation they have signed anyone.
$4.50 - United. Tyson Sidebottom will announce he is willing to shave a few quid off the supposed 500 a game he is rumoured to be on to free up a bit of room in the cap.
$6 - Euroa. Still looks like a couple of local blokes are in line for senior selection next year so they are still on the recruiting path.
$9 - Seymour. Won't be the Lions' doing, rather that Penny will suggest that if he's gunna play anywhere in the GVFL he wants it to be with the best side. Lions won't be interested as they already have a ''Penny'' (ie: Matthew) at Kings Park.
$13 - Mooroopna. Bit of free cash at Catland after Vijay Singh decided to take up a lucrative offer of $2500 a game at a KDL club.
$17 - Shepp Swans. Crazy Johns will threaten to withdraw his $5 million-over-five-years sponsorship unless the Swans make a play for Penny.

Absolute gold Grandale.

But you forgot about Shepp Bears who are notorious for paying bugger all.

They will offer Penny one penny a game. Obvious link there!

Travvy43
29 Nov 2005, 12:59
I have heard strong word that Ian Boyd will not be lining up with the kyabram bombers in 2006.

bradrowe#32
29 Nov 2005, 13:05

Haha, well played Grandale.

Who is coaching Tatura next year? Is it Steve Ryan?

ECHUCABOY
29 Nov 2005, 15:54
Good form Grandale..:thumbsu:

No offence Tige, I understand your just a young bloke who wants to play good footy with ya mates. The reason I hate Tat so much, is firstly because of the obvious rivalry between tat and echuca, but more to the point, the way they go about things at that footy club.

Every 2nd year it seems they go on a spending spree. Echuca got done in a final "we should have won" a couple of years back and who was the bloke that got tat over the line? Big bad Richo who kicked 7. He copped his grand a game or wateva and then ********ed off........that was it. He put nothing back into the club, and I would be suprised if he conducting any clinics or spent time with the younger blokes....I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

Tat since Ive been around have always had shocking juniors and put no time into developing their youngsters, they are a team which go for the quick fix...and would rather fork out thousands than develop their youngsters.

half time lollies
29 Nov 2005, 16:05

I know for a fact that Hooper has been offered $900 a game plus a sign on. Pretty handy player but worth about half that. Tatura obviously have the money and they are going to spend it!!

hank1
29 Nov 2005, 16:38
"Meanwhile, Ryan confirmed the club had signed former Coburg duo Mark Willoughby and Shannon Downey along with Brett Pitt from Hatfield."

Quote from Ky Free Press today with outgoing President Bugs Ryan stating the above.

The coach of Tat is Travis Ryan.

bradrowe#32
29 Nov 2005, 16:45
I have heard strong word that Ian Boyd will not be lining up with the kyabram bombers in 2006.

He'd be getting on a bit by now wouldn't he?

bradrowe#32
29 Nov 2005, 16:47
Looks like interleague is in a bit of trouble with Geelong FL pulling out of the carnival. They have cited that it costs too much ($26,000) to organise and fund the trip.

Pretty big loss considering the rivalry the GV and the GFL have built up over the last few years, perhaps even more than the GV and the OMFL.

bradrowe#32
29 Nov 2005, 16:59
myself and rowey had a few beers with him on sat'y night and the cheeky dog didn't make any mention of it. I didn't ask him what he was doing next year as I just presumed he'd be at rochy. dirty would be dirty I would of thought.

He was too busy gloating about his trifecta win!

I think he will go well in the Bendigo league. This year he did some pretty good jobs on Byers (@ Shepp late in the year) and on Saad (held him pretty well in Seymour until Saad got away from him). Good running player with nice skills. He will be missed at Rochester as he plays the sweeping role very well.

tige19
29 Nov 2005, 17:29
I know for a fact that Hooper has been offered $900 a game plus a sign on. Pretty handy player but worth about half that. Tatura obviously have the money and they are going to spend it!!

Your facts are 100% wrong, i know exactly what he is being offered and while its a nice pay packet its not near the 900 a game mark. Stop posting rubbish.

No Heart
29 Nov 2005, 19:45

Thats a great call, the big fella knows whats going on Tige 19 [ and true ]

No Heart
29 Nov 2005, 19:51
I think you will find that the blokes GVFLFAN mentioned dont deserve the money they would get off Tat. They would be raping the club. yeah sure their handy players but dont deserve what they have been offered. they also probably wouldnt put as much back into the club either.

And the Footyboss is write on the money as well, love it [ recruiting the wrong players tatura]

tige19
29 Nov 2005, 19:57
Gutterson will be in the top 5 on ballers in the league, his better than Sage and rate Sage higher than interest. Hooper will be as good a big man as any in the league, is athletic and can take a grab and play in almost any KP and even Ruck.

Willoughby is a 27 yr old CHB who played 70 odd senior games at Coburg, ive lived next door to him for years. Pitts is a mate from Calder who has just got back from Darwin, was i think in the best 4 out of the 6 games he played up there averaged 23 touches a game and played VIC juniors.

Sipthorpe is another mate from Calder and also played at Richmond but basically with me at Coburg, never got chances at the Tigers but did dominate this season with Gisborne and won there B&F by a mile. Knocked back SANFL offers,knocked back playing for Vic Country the guy is just a natural who wants to enjoy his footy. Is 188cm and can play everywhere, he will tear the GVFL apart, if you dont believe me im sure you can ask Rory just how good he can be.

I mean these blokes are just some of the boys im bringing up, i know the club are talking to others who are off very high quality so i mean if all goes 100% (which is hard to say) i would think we will be a fairly handy side. Throw in Linc and Kirbs with other good players like Perce and a couple of those taller younger kids they have with the other recruits and i think the side is shaping up really well.

Hopefully there are some pens to paper asap.

cheers

GVFLFAN
29 Nov 2005, 20:50
Gutterson will be in the top 5 on ballers in the league, his better than Sage and rate Sage higher than interest. Hooper will be as good a big man as any in the league, is athletic and can take a grab and play in almost any KP and even Ruck.

Willoughby is a 27 yr old CHB who played 70 odd senior games at Coburg, ive lived next door to him for years. Pitts is a mate from Calder who has just got back from Darwin, was i think in the best 4 out of the 6 games he played up there averaged 23 touches a game and played VIC juniors.

Sipthorpe is another mate from Calder and also played at Richmond but basically with me at Coburg, never got chances at the Tigers but did dominate this season with Gisborne and won there B&F by a mile. Knocked back SANFL offers,knocked back playing for Vic Country the guy is just a natural who wants to enjoy his footy. Is 188cm and can play everywhere, he will tear the GVFL apart, if you dont believe me im sure you can ask Rory just how good he can be.

I mean these blokes are just some of the boys im bringing up, i know the club are talking to others who are off very high quality so i mean if all goes 100% (which is hard to say) i would think we will be a fairly handy side. Throw in Linc and Kirbs with other good players like Perce and a couple of those taller younger kids they have with the other recruits and i think the side is shaping up really well.

Hopefully there are some pens to paper asap.

cheers

Gutterson is not an onballer mate!! He plays either half forward or half back and is probably better suited at half back with his pace and long kick!!! Don't get me wrong he is a very handy player but not worth what he is getting and definatly not a better player then sage!!! Kidding yourself!!! Hooper is also a pretty handy ruckman but cant play forward or is not very good up forward but may be as a back up to kirbs!!! he was thrown forward for the ants ones this year and rarely kicked goals!!! would be better suited to centre half back i think cos kirbs is even par with shottner as the best ruckman in the comp!!!But if you guys want to pay him $800 a game plus a Hefty sign on which i won't mention, plus accomodation for him, girlfriend and family and even a higher car with all petrol expenses then go ahead!!! You may be dissapointed cos he is no where near the ruckman Kirby or Shottner is and it may cost you more money then each of those players are on which could be used on 2 quality, non money hungry players who will play for the jumper and not the coin!!! All the Best Tat!!! You will probably need it!!!

Sidey_87
29 Nov 2005, 22:34

Clever.

tige19
30 Nov 2005, 08:14
Gutterson is not an onballer mate!! He plays either half forward or half back and is probably better suited at half back with his pace and long kick!!! Don't get me wrong he is a very handy player but not worth what he is getting and definatly not a better player then sage!!! Kidding yourself!!! Hooper is also a pretty handy ruckman but cant play forward or is not very good up forward but may be as a back up to kirbs!!! he was thrown forward for the ants ones this year and rarely kicked goals!!! would be better suited to centre half back i think cos kirbs is even par with shottner as the best ruckman in the comp!!!But if you guys want to pay him $800 a game plus a Hefty sign on which i won't mention, plus accomodation for him, girlfriend and family and even a higher car with all petrol expenses then go ahead!!! You may be dissapointed cos he is no where near the ruckman Kirby or Shottner is and it may cost you more money then each of those players are on which could be used on 2 quality, non money hungry players who will play for the jumper and not the coin!!! All the Best Tat!!! You will probably need it!!!

Mate i think you have Taturas offer mixed up with Wangaratta in regards to Hoops, i tell you 100% you have the deals mixed up.

And from memory when we played Preston, Gutterson was a goal kicking on baller who used to get heaps of the pill.

Dont worry what Tat are doing mate just worry about your own club (Euroa??). And im glad to see the opinion of Kirbs is fairly high, if the guy was probably 5cm taller he could play league football.

cheers

fat back pocket
30 Nov 2005, 08:58
Mate i think you have Taturas offer mixed up with Wangaratta in regards to Hoops, i tell you 100% you have the deals mixed up.

And from memory when we played Preston, Gutterson was a goal kicking on baller who used to get heaps of the pill.

Dont worry what Tat are doing mate just worry about your own club (Euroa??). And im glad to see the opinion of Kirbs is fairly high, if the guy was probably 5cm taller he could play league football.

cheers

Well Shannon, lets hope that your reasons for going to tat aren't just based on cash. Who do you know up there that would entice you and your crew all the way up to tat 2 times a week?

centreman
30 Nov 2005, 09:57
"Meanwhile, Ryan confirmed the club had signed former Coburg duo Mark Willoughby and Shannon Downey along with Brett Pitt from Hatfield."

Quote from Ky Free Press today with outgoing President Bugs Ryan stating the above.

The coach of Tat is Travis Ryan.

Is that the same Shannon Downey who was with benalla last year??

GVFLFAN
30 Nov 2005, 10:01

cheers

My own club is doing just fine mate so i think you have more to worry about then us!!! Gutto won't be in the top 5 onballers mate!!! he would be lucky to be in the top 20!!! He is best suited to half forward or half back!!!! Booming Kick!!! No way would he play onball for us!!! May have my wires crossed about Hooper which in that case means he would be mad to reject that offer at Wang if you cant match it!!! he will be all about the money mate!!!! All the Best

tige19
30 Nov 2005, 10:06
lets hope that your reasons for going to tat aren't just based on cash. Who do you know up there that would entice you and your crew all the way up to tat 2 times a week?

Wont be going up to Tat twice a week mate, none of the boys will. I would think that we will go up every now and then and a fair bit during pre season but we will all train together at a Suburban club.

tige19
30 Nov 2005, 10:10
My own club is doing just fine mate so i think you have more to worry about then us!!! Gutto won't be in the top 5 onballers mate!!! he would be lucky to be in the top 20!!! He is best suited to half forward or half back!!!! Booming Kick!!! No way would he play onball for us!!! May have my wires crossed about Hooper which in that case means he would be mad to reject that offer at Wang if you cant match it!!! he will be all about the money mate!!!! All the Best

Hoops offer from Wangaratta would be heavily taxed i would think. Mate im not at all worried about the club because as far as im aware we are very much on the way to putting together a very very good side, if i was worried i wouldnt have gone there and brang the boys im bringing.

fat back pocket
30 Nov 2005, 10:37
Hoops offer from Wangaratta would be heavily taxed i would think. Mate im not at all worried about the club because as far as im aware we are very much on the way to putting together a very very good side, if i was worried i wouldnt have gone there and brang the boys im bringing.

You must have been a popular bloke at school, for a bloke to be so young and to have the pull on all these blokes.

Its as if you are the captain/coach going out on the recruiting path for a club you currenlty have nothing to do with.

I'd just say be careful, remember that people will find out that you were the one teeing up all these blokes, if you, they or the team flop. Who do you think the blame will fall on, and who will look like the s h i t bloke...YOU!

I hope you aren't a part of the money negotiations for all these "stars". If so, good luck to ya, hope you are a star, cos any of these blokes fail, you are going to have to carry them otherwise you will be the big villan to the locals!!! The bloke who promised the world and delivered nothing. And you will end up with a bad bad name across at least the GV!

But saying that, you are probably suited at Tatura!

half time lollies
30 Nov 2005, 10:57
Your facts are 100% wrong, i know exactly what he is being offered and while its a nice pay packet its not near the 900 a game mark. Stop posting rubbish.

Posting rubbish??? I bumped into Hoops a little while back... he must of been lying when he told me that Tat offered him $900 a game!!! All these blokes that you are bringing to Tat are going to struggle getting a kick with you hanging out of their asses. All the best for next year you will need it!

The Cat
30 Nov 2005, 13:23
I reckon if Tat are able to recruit a handful of metro and VFL players, that has to be a better scenario than what they have done in the past - which has been to get one or two ex AFL players and pay them mega bucks.

Euroa and Seymour have both proven this is a good way to go about lifting the on field performance of the club, but I agree you need to get quality blokes who are willing to play firstly - and who worry about money as a secondary benefit.

A lot of guys posting on this thread seem to think Tat may be paying too much for what some of these guys are really worth, and if that turns out to be correct it won't take long for the supporters to voice their concerns - especially those that provide large sponsorship to the club.

I hope they can lift themselves back up the ladder as they recognise they need a handful of players to improve, and are prepared to do something about it. I just hope the $$ issue doesn't bite them on the a r s e.

Junkie
30 Nov 2005, 13:53
You must have been a popular bloke at school, for a bloke to be so young and to have the pull on all these blokes.

Its as if you are the captain/coach going out on the recruiting path for a club you currenlty have nothing to do with.

I'd just say be careful, remember that people will find out that you were the one teeing up all these blokes, if you, they or the team flop. Who do you think the blame will fall on, and who will look like the s h i t bloke...YOU!

I hope you aren't a part of the money negotiations for all these "stars". If so, good luck to ya, hope you are a star, cos any of these blokes fail, you are going to have to carry them otherwise you will be the big villan to the locals!!! The bloke who promised the world and delivered nothing. And you will end up with a bad bad name across at least the GV!

But saying that, you are probably suited at Tatura!

Give the guy a break!

He is trying to help out a club and you're bagging every step. Once again before anything has even happened. Your labelling him as the bloke who promised the world and delivered nothing already:eek:

What has he promised?

Your a goose FBP!

tige19
30 Nov 2005, 14:33
Give the guy a break!

He is trying to help out a club and you're bagging every step. Once again before anything has even happened. Your labelling him as the bloke who promised the world and delivered nothing already:eek:

What has he promised?

Your a goose FBP!

Cheers mate.

All ive done is simply given the club some of the boys who ive played with before and said contact them if your interested. I dont know Gutterson but obviously Hoops has passed on his details.

Im a big wrap for all of the blokes ill be bringing up, all of them have played good footy and at a standard comparable to the GV. I havent promised the club anything at all, all issues a side i have helped to try and get them back to where hopefully they belong.

And FBP before you start shooting your mouth of at me acting like your a big shot star, know exactly what your saying and know the truths otherwise dont comment on issues you have very little idea on.

Secondley i couldnt give rats arse what alot of people on here think or say, it doesnt effect me the slightest. All ive done is passed on a few names to the club and they have done what they wanted with them, perhaps ive helped out with the recruiting a little but who cares???. Im not saying we will win the flag with these players but i can promise that we will have a much better side.

cheers

Chance
30 Nov 2005, 14:55
Cheers mate.

All ive done is simply given the club some of the boys who ive played with before and said contact them if your interested. I dont know Gutterson but obviously Hoops has passed on his details.

Im a big wrap for all of the blokes ill be bringing up, all of them have played good footy and at a standard comparable to the GV. I havent promised the club anything at all, all issues a side i have helped to try and get them back to where hopefully they belong.

And FBP before you start shooting your mouth of at me acting like your a big shot star, know exactly what your saying and know the truths otherwise dont comment on issues you have very little idea on.

Secondley i couldnt give rats arse what alot of people on here think or say, it doesnt effect me the slightest. All ive done is passed on a few names to the club and they have done what they wanted with them, perhaps ive helped out with the recruiting a little but who cares???. Im not saying we will win the flag with these players but i can promise that we will have a much better side.

cheers
Fair enuff comment dude! So who have you played footy with recently? Have you played for Tat b4? Got mates there or something?

HawkeEye
30 Nov 2005, 16:17
With the GV being the premier country league, and all talk about ex afl, vfl players around. Maybe eric bott can discuss television rights to WIN TV.

$$$$

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:26
Give the guy a break!

What has he promised?

Your a goose FBP!

Why don't you re-read what was written. It says he must be aware that the locals may see him as the vilan "if" he comes up, promises the world and delivers nothing. Or arranges blokes and gives them a price range of what he thinks is right when others may have differing opions on certain players.

He may deliver everything. And if they do, good luck to them.

I don't know the blokes he is bringing, so i can't comment on what i think they are worth. So i won't. Obviously some people do know them, and have voiced their opinions on the matter. Which they are entitled to.

I actually listened to a man last night who said he hates seeing blokes who have no ties to a GV or any country club other for that matter come to a club soley based on money only to see them leave the year after, leaving the locals to pick up the peices, which is usually a large debt.

I'm not saying tige will do that, but it does happen, and the local supporters and sponsors shouldn't have to deal with that.

Tige, do you guys plan on having a 2 year contracts for all these blokes? Or is it just one and then see how things go?

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:33
Cheers mate.

?? "I'll be bringing up" sounds like you have been a part of the negotiations etc. You keep saying "you will be bringing up" these new blokes as if they are only going there because you are going there.

Is this the case or not? Tell us this, do you think Tat are getting a good deal (in terms of $$ per game) with the blokes YOU are bringing up?

Simple yes or no.

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:36
With the GV being the premier country league, and all talk about ex afl, vfl players around. Maybe eric bott can discuss television rights to WIN TV.

$$$$

lol.

Pitty we don't except Rumba into the GV, eddie might pay for a channel 9 crew to come and put Rumba games to air!

Shepp news are talking of videoing the main game next season, 98.5 FM Match of the round, and putting the highlights of the games onto their website. So that should be good if it gets up and going.

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:37
Is that the same Shannon Downey who was with benalla last year??

Tige might be able to tell us?

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:42
Wont be going up to Tat twice a week mate, none of the boys will. I would think that we will go up every now and then and a fair bit during pre season but we will all train together at a Suburban club.

Fair enough, most clubs have their melbourne based players do that. Pretty normal. thats good then.

Heard last night that Euroa won't be training with Old Trinity again like they did this year. In excess of 15 Euroa boys get together of a mon or tues, so they are following the lions lead and having their own session at an oval to be decided in the big smoke. So that is good news for the maggies.

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 06:44
I reckon if Tat are able to recruit a handful of metro and VFL players, that has to be a better scenario than what they have done in the past - which has been to get one or two ex AFL players and pay them mega bucks.

Euroa and Seymour have both proven this is a good way to go about lifting the on field performance of the club, but I agree you need to get quality blokes who are willing to play firstly - and who worry about money as a secondary benefit.

A lot of guys posting on this thread seem to think Tat may be paying too much for what some of these guys are really worth, and if that turns out to be correct it won't take long for the supporters to voice their concerns - especially those that provide large sponsorship to the club.

I hope they can lift themselves back up the ladder as they recognise they need a handful of players to improve, and are prepared to do something about it. I just hope the $$ issue doesn't bite them on the a r s e.

Perfectly put - Junkie, thats what i was saying in a more round-a-bout way.

No Heart
1 Dec 2005, 07:23
Thanks for all that FattyBP.

Well, thats half of my day gone, wasted reading Fatty's crap.

Anyway, some good points raised by all.

Lets drop the "what mercinaries are going to Tatura" bull and talk about some other stuff.

The GV inducted a new Life Member last night at its annual AGM. Not sure of his name. Maybe someone who was there may be able to inform us?

I think his name is Don .............. if you can fill in the blank, go ahead.

If you do know this man, could you fill us in on the details of his association with the GVFL.

tige19
1 Dec 2005, 08:34
Tige might be able to tell us?

Mate to be honest your starting to get on my nerves, ive never seen you before but ill be looking forward to it when Seymours and Taturas scoobies go at it, might even pay a bloke off to clip you one ;) .

In reference to be me bringing blokes up, in a sense im doing that as ive passed these names onto the club however Tat could have done what they wanted with the names. In effect they researched each player, liked them and made an offer, its that simple. So in a roundabout way im bringing a few boys up, but did no means at all did i force anyone to talk to them. Naturally if your gonna travel and play your gonna want a few mates to make the trip as well.

Id be interested FBP why is it only your self that seems so concerned about what I/Tat are doing??? i would also think that the figures that some people are throwing around are utter crap.

FBP id just worry about getting your self fit and shedding a few kgs so you can secure your spot in the magoos.

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 08:45
Mate to be honest your starting to get on my nerves, ive never seen you before but ill be looking forward to it when Seymours and Taturas scoobies go at it, might even pay a bloke off to clip you one ;) .

In reference to be me bringing blokes up, in a sense im doing that as ive passed these names onto the club however Tat could have done what they wanted with the names. In effect they researched each player, liked them and made an offer, its that simple. So in a roundabout way im bringing a few boys up, but did no means at all did i force anyone to talk to them. Naturally if your gonna travel and play your gonna want a few mates to make the trip as well.

Id be interested FBP why is it only your self that seems so concerned about what I/Tat are doing??? i would also think that the figures that some people are throwing around are utter crap.

FBP id just worry about getting your self fit and shedding a few kgs so you can secure your spot in the magoos.

Just a general interest. No doubt i'm asking questions many are thinking!

Tat probably have the bank balance to pay someone to "clip" me. Good luck with that one.

Look, you do what you want mate. Doesn't worry me.

tige19
1 Dec 2005, 08:53
Just a general interest. No doubt i'm asking questions many are thinking!

Tat probably have the bank balance to pay someone to "clip" me. Good luck with that one.

Look, you do what you want mate. Doesn't worry me.

Your not worth clipping, it was a throw away comment. Secondley if things dont bother you, dont ask and im sure if anyone else was that worried about what Tat are doing then they would ask, you however go beyond whats acceptable.

If you have any problems PM me and ill give you my number and you can call me, either that or shut your mouth. Simple huh!!!

a.k.a.
1 Dec 2005, 09:40
lol.

Pitty we don't except Rumba into the GV, eddie might pay for a channel 9 crew to come and put Rumba games to air!

Shepp news are talking of videoing the main game next season, 98.5 FM Match of the round, and putting the highlights of the games onto their website. So that should be good if it gets up and going.

The shep news did that two seasons ago. All the games that were video'd were (suprise suprise) at deakin, so one week it was sheps highlights, the next week it was united. Will be fantastic if that happens again....

No Heart
1 Dec 2005, 10:48
Your not worth clipping, it was a throw away comment. Secondley if things dont bother you, dont ask and im sure if anyone else was that worried about what Tat are doing then they would ask, you however go beyond whats acceptable.

If you have any problems PM me and ill give you my number and you can call me, either that or shut your mouth. Simple huh!!!

Whoops, looks like ol-tige-o has blown a fuse.

maybe we can just send you a personal email to S_downey19@hotmail.com.

What do you think?

Young minds hey, fight like cats. Maybe if Fatty Poombar lost some kg's he could play ones when Seymour plays tat, that way the two can go toe to toe, then Tat won't have to pay someone else to smash his fat face in, Tige will already be getting paid, tat may just add it to the contract and he can just do it himself!!

he he.

Doona2
1 Dec 2005, 10:49
Sure does sound like Tatura are gunna try and buy there way to the top again. I keep on saying it, country football will be left in a bad way once the money dries up. Whilst I love the spectacle and the high standard, clubs will start to drop off like flies within 10 years or so because of this madness!!!

Geez your sure placed some pressure on Tige now - lets hope he can back it up coz I dont really think FBP is too fussed about playing football let alone having a bounty on his head.

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 10:55
Sure does sound like Tatura are gunna try and buy there way to the top again. I keep on saying it, country football will be left in a bad way once the money dries up. Whilst I love the spectacle and the high standard, clubs will start to drop off like flies within 10 years or so because of this madness!!!

seems that way doona. Thats when the likes of Shepparton and the larger clubs will be successful, Echuca will get back to the top. Do you think the amount good players get will drop? They will demand it, but if they can't get it, they won't just not play. They will have to play for less.

I'm not into Metro footy as much - in terms of financial outlayings for players - do you think the money or interest will fall out there too?

Grandale or someone who is in a bit closer with a melbourne based club may know.

Doona2
1 Dec 2005, 11:00
seems that way doona. Thats when the likes of Shepparton and the larger clubs will be successful, Echuca will get back to the top. Do you think the amount good players get will drop? They will demand it, but if they can't get it, they won't just not play. They will have to play for less.

I'm not into Metro footy as much - in terms of financial outlayings for players - do you think the money or interest will fall out there too?

Grandale or someone who is in a bit closer with a melbourne based club may know.

Hard to say but it cant keep escalating surely. Blokes with high opinions of themselves demand it, look at Singh - would rather have the cash than a premiership medal. Bank statements just dont look as good up in ya bar as a premiership medal or successful team photo's.

The money is everywhere unfortunately Metro comps also- I guess that's why I will continue to be proud that my side won our district level flag by paying out bugger all (highest individual payment $150 p.w) . Our boy's reward was the little medallion and a team photo for their hard work put in.

Premiership reunion's and team success should be why we play. A lot of blokes will look back and spew when they're 40 coz all they were interested in was money.

SHOULD BE MORE OF IT!!!

Duff Man
1 Dec 2005, 11:22
QUOTE=Doona2 Sure does sound like Tatura are gunna try and buy there way to the top again. I keep on saying it, country football will be left in a bad way once the money dries up. Whilst I love the spectacle and the high standard, clubs will start to drop off like flies within 10 years or so because of this madness!!!

I don't think the money will ever dry up. It just means that someone else will be splashing it around.

Look at the O&M say 7 or 8 years ago. Widely regarded as the best league in Country Vic, but only because they were paying good dollars for quality players.

This has since shifted to GVFL who have been able to attract quality AFL and VFL players because we are now splashing the dollars around.

Once the money dries up in the GV, we will most likely see Bendigo, Ballarat, Geelong or O&M start to offer good money to attract good players.

We need to stop bitching about dollars so much and just sit back and enjoy the comp while it is this good. We've got quality players, a very high standard of footy we can watch, little or no thuggery and the added bonus of seeing a few ex AFL guys in action. How goods this eh? :thumbsu:

fat back pocket
1 Dec 2005, 11:30
I don't think the money will ever dry up. It just means that someone else will be splashing it around.

Look at the O&M say 7 or 8 years ago. Widely regarded as the best league in Country Vic, but only because they were paying good dollars for quality players.

This has since shifted to GVFL who have been able to attract quality AFL and VFL players because we are now splashing the dollars around.

Once the money dries up in the GV, we will most likely see Bendigo, Ballarat, Geelong or O&M start to offer good money to attract good players.

We need to stop bitching about dollars so much and just sit back and enjoy the comp while it is this good. We've got quality players, a very high standard of footy we can watch, little or no thuggery and the added bonus of seeing a few ex AFL guys in action. How goods this eh? :thumbsu:

very true. i suppose it makes it interesting. When the money dries up, it will be the clubs with the loyal players who will be on top.

Let the good times roll while they are lasting.

LOBSTER
1 Dec 2005, 11:33
All this bitching about how much clubs are going to pay and what players are getting. Who cares? What it really boils down to, is who wins the flag? Doesnt matter how much you pay. Paying players has gone for years and will continue into the future. Sure clubs will spend big for a few season then fall back down the ladder, but then they will rise again. Always happens.

In regards to tat spending money. I saw a few of their games last year and going by reports their only recruiting about 5 or 6 players. Geez they would need more than that to climb up the ladder. They were pathetic.

It would be good if the gvfl could come up with game of the week on tv or highlights. But they tend to snub most clubs if they arent from deakin.

TuskenRaider
1 Dec 2005, 11:41
The shep news did that two seasons ago. All the games that were video'd were (suprise suprise) at deakin, so one week it was sheps highlights, the next week it was united. Will be fantastic if that happens again....
:D Terrific

subtle hustle
1 Dec 2005, 11:58
heard today that former ky boy leigh ryall may be suiting up with the bombers again. last i heard he was playing vfl for ballarat a couple of years ago.
heard anything travvy?

Sidey_87
1 Dec 2005, 12:01
What league is the mcnamara medal awarded?

a.k.a.
1 Dec 2005, 12:06
All this bitching about how much clubs are going to pay and what players are getting. Who cares? What it really boils down to, is who wins the flag? Doesnt matter how much you pay. Paying players has gone for years and will continue into the future. Sure clubs will spend big for a few season then fall back down the ladder, but then they will rise again. Always happens.

In regards to tat spending money. I saw a few of their games last year and going by reports their only recruiting about 5 or 6 players. Geez they would need more than that to climb up the ladder. They were pathetic.

It would be good if the gvfl could come up with game of the week on tv or highlights. But they tend to snub most clubs if they arent from deakin.

And who did you see tat play against Lobster?

I agree in part. Tat already has probably the best ruckman in the comp, a couple of quality midfielders, and a couple of forwards. BUT their backline was a disgrace. This forced half back flankers like Pollard to play on key forwards every week, which was cruel to watch at times.

From what Tige's said, the majority of recruits are forwards and midfielders???
(correct me if Im wrong I cant be bothered going back through your posts!!).
I think unless they get at least two key position backmen, they're still going to get big scores kicked against them against teams with a number of big marking forwards..

Travvy43
1 Dec 2005, 12:11
heard today that former ky boy leigh ryall may be suiting up with the bombers again. last i heard he was playing vfl for ballarat a couple of years ago.
heard anything travvy?

Absolutely no chance at all, you can 100% close the book on that one. He was more of a chance coming to play in Melbourne than going back to ky, and even the melbourne idea was at the very best remote.

He has playing for North Ballarat over the last 3-4 years, with probably 70% of his games in the senior side.

Sidey_87
1 Dec 2005, 12:13
A former Mcnamara medalist will be lining up with United this season.:D

subtle hustle
1 Dec 2005, 12:20
Absolutely no chance at all, you can 100% close the book on that one. He was more of a chance coming to play in Melbourne than going back to ky, and even the melbourne idea was at the very best remote.

He has playing for North Ballarat over the last 3-4 years, with probably 70% of his games in the senior side.
yeah, i thought it sounded like a longshot.

Travvy43
1 Dec 2005, 12:40
Sidey your posts are confusing me

First you post in the GV thread asking what league the Mac medalist is from and then you go to the ky league thread and ask what the name of the league medal is.

After you received no responses, in other words, no one gave a $hit, you post that a former mac medalist is lining up with united.

Keep up the good work

Sidey_87
1 Dec 2005, 12:43
Sidey your posts are confusing me

First you post in the GV thread asking what league the Mac medalist is from and then you go to the ky league thread and ask what the name of the league medal is.

After you received no responses, in other words, no one gave a $hit, you post that a former mac medalist is lining up with united.

Keep up the good work
well i heard it on the news and i thought you might have a little bit of knowledge about it but if you don't know thats fine.
Do not let me confuse you, it's ok. If you don't know the answer just keep quiet instead of letting slip that you have little knowledge and get confused easily.