View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Just had a quick stab at tonny's. Would have missed a couple, but happy to hear your thoughts, hank... any noticable omissions??
P Cox G Connally C Connelly
M Reid S Langdon R Gilbert
T Snelson R. Byrnes R Harrison
P Kirby B Parker R Robilliard
M Souter M Darcy A Reid
S Hansen B Campbell A Brunt
anyone goin to do a cat's team?
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 16:23
anyone goin to do a cat's team?
Or united?
Few comments cosby:
langly and pual newman could be a direct swap.
I think afro is a better player than learmonth and if you dont think so, he would make a better half forward than barny anyway.
Did laurie casey play in the 90's (would be the same era as P white????
my mate david newman stiff to miss?? - b&f winner. langers was/probably still is a very good player. pitty about the run he had with knee injuries, no doubt it got him at his peak age. great fella too!! afro definitely to start on the ground - no question about that. kayne pettifer and brett deledio stiff to miss also??
great job all in all though cosby.
Just had a quick stab at tonny's. Would have missed a couple, but happy to hear your thoughts, hank... any noticable omissions??
M Souter M Darcy A Reid
good job also travvy. can't believe you didn't put yourself in it though. I am certainly amongst my rochy side. am trying to think back to that '91 side... perhaps barry nexhip, ged atkins, and mark seaton?? were stiff to miss.
my mate david newman stiff to miss?? - b&f winner. langers was/probably still is a very good player. pitty about the run he had with knee injuries, no doubt it got him at his peak age. great fella too!! afro definitely to start on the ground - no question about that. kayne pettifer and brett deledio stiff to miss also??
yeah forgot about stink. would definately be in the team.
langers was a gun, and as far as i know his knees are the only reason he isn't playing today. spent a few seasons down at north and won a reserves premiership. top bloke, like you said.
i didn't put petts or lids mainly because they didn't as many games with ky as others. but obviously they're pretty handy too.
Obviously great players but both only played a hndful of games for Ky b4 being drafted.
yeah fair enough hank and cosby. they probably only played about 3 or 4 senior games for ky between them hey.
travvvy, wouldn't my little mate moony be a bit stiff to miss out?
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 16:54
B:S Koullas, C Schirmer, S Lee
HB:B Scott, D Gillespie, D Godsmark
C:S Scott, T Eddy, P Carroll
HF:T Sidebottom, M Forys, J Emanuelli
F:R Smith, player from WAFL, A Guilmartin
R:J Cowman, S Hazelman, B Hazelman
INT:R Gibson, M Sidebottom, S Maunder
G Bence, S Sali, A Round should all break into the side.
Fair side that.
yeah fair enough hank and cosby. they probably only played about 3 or 4 senior games for ky between them hey.
petts played a few when he was barely 16, before he went to the bushies.
B:S Koullas, C Schirmer, S Lee
HB:B Scott, D Gillespie, D Godsmark
C:S Scott, T Eddy, P Carroll
HF:T Sidebottom, M Forys, J Emanuelli
F:R Smith, player from WAFL, A Guilmartin
R:J Cowman, S Hazelman, B Hazelman
INT:R Gibson, M Sidebottom, S Maunder
G Bence, S Sali, A Round should all break into the side.
Fair side that.
what the hell is this?
M Souter M Darcy A Reid
Yeah was same as mainey, thought of Necko and Ged. Jake Cameron would be my first backman picked though, was a gun in the early 90's.
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 17:04
what the hell is this?
The Shepp United side.
what the hell is this?
ha ha ha. yeah good call cosby. I guess its a bit of a shame for sidey really that not many on here follow the shepp sides.
The Shepp United side.
Who is the WAFL player Sidey? Surely you should know your teammates?
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 17:09
ha ha ha. yeah good call cosby. I guess its a bit of a shame for sidey really that not many on here follow the shepp sides.
Yet so many of you think you know enough about them to say that they won't make the 6.:confused:
There is nothing funny about Cosby's lack of knowledge.
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 17:11
Haven't met him yet mate, but will tell you after training on Monday.
I don't think he has signed just yet, but would be a big inclusion.
Yet so many of you think you know enough about them to say that they won't make the 6.:confused:
There is nothing funny about Cosby's lack of knowledge.
fair enough sidey, you stumped me there.
still thought cosby's query was funny though as I was thinking exactly the same thing.
anyway gents, I am off for friday night beers. can't believe I am still here. have a good one...
No worries Tyson, let us know early next wk.
No need for anymore burley..............We have hooked a couple of nice fry in the last few days;)
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 18:43
No need for anymore burley..............We have hooked a couple of nice fry in the last few days;)
i'm not tyson.
Nah Tysons cousin Junkie. Played thirds for United this year, Mitch I am guessing.
Sidey new what side it was, only problem was we were asking for best sides of the past 15-20 years, not next years side.
wheelbarrow
2 Dec 2005, 19:30
Dude, Patty played ok in the finals, but his season as a whole was pretty odinary. Struggled a bit early and was on the verge of being dropped mid-season. Any KDFL players taking a step up to GVFL will struggle initially but can always improve as the season goes. Sidebottom will be no different.
"Dude" he has a premiership medallion around his neck..
I would hate 2 be in his shoes if he didnt play well in the finals and Seymour didnt win the flag, because what i have heard coming out of the Lions camp is that every man and his dog does nothing but bag the bloke.
S h i t tuff act down there.. "Good" Team mates....
No Heart
2 Dec 2005, 19:52
Big statement Gregory.
If you think united will make the 6 this year - then you are obviously smoking some top quality hooch. Here's a few sides for you to think about next time your choofing on your bong:-
Euroa, Seymour, Mansfield, Benalla, Shepparton, Rochester, Mooroopna, Echuca & Tatura.
I count 9 sides there, who will all definately be fighting for a place in the 6 next year. Can you really see United being better than 4 of the sides I have mentioned above?
As for the captaincy call - you obviously dont recognise sarcasm when you see it. My point is that united are a very ordinary side, and Sidebottom will easily make their seniors as a result. If he were going to most of the sides I listed above, he would be a fringe player in my opinion.
What a great call, won of your best catman .
bradrowe#32
2 Dec 2005, 22:11
Followed a couple of mates who played at Mt. Gravatt when I was living up north and reckon Dupay was there at the time - would that be true???
Yeah I think he would've been up there. He grew up in Rochester and played all of his junior years there. He was a player in the 1992 flag team and then I think he moved north in 1993. He was a primary school teacher from my memory. A very handy player who would've been up there with Robbie Miller, Simon McCarty and Anthony McPhee by the end of his career if he chose to stay. I dare say we would've won more flags with him. Sensational player.
Sidey_87
2 Dec 2005, 22:15
Nah Tysons cousin Junkie. Played thirds for United this year, Mitch I am guessing.
Sidey new what side it was, only problem was we were asking for best sides of the past 15-20 years, not next years side.
Oh ok sorry, yeah i'm Mitch.
bradrowe#32
2 Dec 2005, 22:15
I think people are being a little harsh about United at this stage. I'm not sure if many have seen S.Hazelman run around but he will be in the top 10-15 in the league when he is fit again. The only thing that stopped him from being drafted was his leg speed, but he will consistently get 35 touches in the GV. He is my tip to take out the Morrison at this stage.
I would have United ahead of Rochester, Echuca and Tatura and they wont be too far off Mansfield and Shepp.
I'm not sure where I've seen people write off United, but I think they are ahead of those teams you stated. If they get everyone fit then they will be a pretty difficult proposition.
bradrowe#32
2 Dec 2005, 22:18
thought i'd have a crack at a ky team. hope i don't miss to many.
b. d.flemming d.argus r.white
h.b t.mcdonnell i.boyd a.gorman
c. t.elliot b.gugliotti p.newman
h.f b.campbell b.langley h.barnett
f. b.ryan c.stuhldrier m.portia
foll. d.lucas g.learmonth d.ryan
inter. p.white, c.atkins, j.finn, p.burnett
i know i've forgotten a few, perhaps someone can add a few who should've gotten a guernsey.
Pretty handy team cosby.
Overall, do you think they would be a bit disappointed in only winning the one flag in 1996?
Pretty handy team cosby.
Overall, do you think they would be a bit disappointed in only winning the one flag in 1996?
from memory ky finished top 2 in at least two seasons mid nineties and got bundled out of the finals in straight sets. so yeah, i'd imagine they missed some big chances to grab the cup.
MAXIMUM_POWER
3 Dec 2005, 11:20
from memory ky finished top 2 in at least two seasons mid nineties and got bundled out of the finals in straight sets. so yeah, i'd imagine they missed some big chances to grab the cup.
Is that around the time when Stuhldrier was kicking thousands of goals each season? What happened - were they a bit stiff or just choked?
madtiger
3 Dec 2005, 13:09
thought i'd have a crack at a ky team. hope i don't miss to many.
b. d.flemming d.argus r.white
h.b t.mcdonnell i.boyd a.gorman
c. t.elliot b.gugliotti p.newman
h.f b.campbell b.langley h.barnett
f. b.ryan c.stuhldrier m.portia
foll. d.lucas g.learmonth d.ryan
inter. p.white, c.atkins, j.finn, p.burnett
i know i've forgotten a few, perhaps someone can add a few who should've gotten a guernsey.
Ash gemmil was a pretty handy player, couldn't find room for him on a flank?
Is that around the time when Stuhldrier was kicking thousands of goals each season? What happened - were they a bit stiff or just choked?
yeah it was around that time. i don't like to use the word choke but the team really shouldn't have gone out in straight sets like they did.
and madtiger, ash gemmill was a very good player when he was at ky, and still is now, but i'm pretty sure he only played two seasons at most with ky so others got a spot before him.
Grandale
4 Dec 2005, 10:35
Wrong Dave Mundys brother inlaw No Heart knows everything.?????????
Bit of punctuation please, No Heart. That sentence could be read any number of ways.
Let me state for the record, No Heart is NOT Dave Mundy's ''brother-in-law''.
Grandale
4 Dec 2005, 10:42
Oohhh that sounds like fun! I could do one for every team, but I'd probably miss a few, so I'll just do Rochester's.
Rochester 1990 - 2005
B: Jeremy Campbell - Nathan Roulston - Tim Cottam
HB: Brenton Gray - Robert Miller - Gary Hawker
C: Darryl O'Neill - David Williams - Simon McCarty
HF: Tim Rasmussen - Anthony McPhee - Heath Aitken
F: Brad Sparks - Ash Tointon - Stephen Rasmussen
R: Ben Anderson - Phillip Morgan - Chris McCarty
I: Mick Auld - Mick Keenan - Dominic David - Adam Edwards
Unlucky:
Gary Appleby - Martin Kick - Shane Dupay - Scott Hanson - Daniel Schmidt -
Darryl Harrison - Nathan Gemmill - Gavin Excell - Dwight Weeks
There is quite a few that are very unlucky. It was a pretty fun exercise, trying to remember all those players.
No Johnny Mac? Your credibility is shot Rowey...
centreman
4 Dec 2005, 11:11
His name is Mitch Holbrook. From reports won't be a world beater, but has played some good footy and represented WA in the amatuers. Will give them some much-needed height and strength
Grandale
4 Dec 2005, 11:45
What's Big Footy coming too?; there has been a distinct lack of Seymour and Euroa talk for the past two days. Come on FBP and Junkie, lift yer games.
Looks like it is up to me to post Seymour's ''Best of'' for the past 15 years.
I'll start by saying this was hastily done and, like everyone else has said, I'm sure there are people I've missed and they will probably come to me as soon as I send this post. Maybe HJ32 or someone else that's followed for the Lions for a while can help me out.
Backs: Ian Baker Bobby Douglas Joffa Anderson
H/Backs Tim Hooper Chris Martin Matt O'Keefe
Centres: Mark Bender Glenn Cole Bruce Haberman
H/Forwards: Jeremy Bourke Jonno Solomon Mick O'Sullivan
Forwards: Ben Davey Darren Comi Saad Saad
On-ballers: Shotty Matt O'Sullivan Paul Cox
Interchange: Luke Jackson, Nick Cox, Richard (Ricky) Martin, Matt Penn.
Unlucky: Johnny Mac, Ricky Jackson, Ash Jackson, Marty Spielhagen, Marky Jay, Adam Doherty.
I look forward to your feedback.
Heard Benalla definetly signed Mark porter this week but are sitting on it for a while. anyone else heard. FTB might be able to shed some light.
FOOTYBOSS
5 Dec 2005, 07:31
Fair enough, most clubs have their melbourne based players do that. Pretty normal. thats good then.
Heard last night that Euroa won't be training with Old Trinity again like they did this year. In excess of 15 Euroa boys get together of a mon or tues, so they are following the lions lead and having their own session at an oval to be decided in the big smoke. So that is good news for the maggies.
We wont be training with Old Trinity like last year and wont be training by ourselves which is similar to the lions. We will be training with another VAFA club next year.
FOOTYBOSS
5 Dec 2005, 07:35
Gutterson will be in the top 5 on ballers in the league, his better than Sage and rate Sage higher than interest. Hooper will be as good a big man as any in the league, is athletic and can take a grab and play in almost any KP and even Ruck.
Willoughby is a 27 yr old CHB who played 70 odd senior games at Coburg, ive lived next door to him for years. Pitts is a mate from Calder who has just got back from Darwin, was i think in the best 4 out of the 6 games he played up there averaged 23 touches a game and played VIC juniors.
Sipthorpe is another mate from Calder and also played at Richmond but basically with me at Coburg, never got chances at the Tigers but did dominate this season with Gisborne and won there B&F by a mile. Knocked back SANFL offers,knocked back playing for Vic Country the guy is just a natural who wants to enjoy his footy. Is 188cm and can play everywhere, he will tear the GVFL apart, if you dont believe me im sure you can ask Rory just how good he can be.
I mean these blokes are just some of the boys im bringing up, i know the club are talking to others who are off very high quality so i mean if all goes 100% (which is hard to say) i would think we will be a fairly handy side. Throw in Linc and Kirbs with other good players like Perce and a couple of those taller younger kids they have with the other recruits and i think the side is shaping up really well.
Hopefully there are some pens to paper asap.
cheers
Sorry to say Tige19 but Gutterson wont be wearing a Tatura jumper next year. You will have to find another player.
Travvy43
5 Dec 2005, 08:31
Sorry to say Tige19 but Gutterson wont be wearing a Tatura jumper next year. You will have to find another player.
Another thread states that he will be lining up with Montmorency in the DVFL
Travvy43
5 Dec 2005, 08:36
Yeah was same as mainey, thought of Necko and Ged. Jake Cameron would be my first backman picked though, was a gun in the early 90's.
Jake was a gun and just thought he did not fit into the time frame, but agree he would be in the side straight away with geoff conally going to a back bocket and probbly pushing out one of the two back pockets, craig conally probably the unlucky one.
Ged atkins did slip my mind i must admit, not sure where to slip him in the starting line up, any thoughts.
Necco, was a livewire but again not sure who he would push out of that forward line.
Someone else also mentioned Mark Seaton. For me it was out of snels of lakka, snels got my nod.
If you look i have not included an interchange, necco would definately be on it, and ged too if not squeezed into the side. lakka would maybe get a gig on the interchange aswell as Ake Fanoua.
What's Big Footy coming too?; there has been a distinct lack of Seymour and Euroa talk for the past two days. Come on FBP and Junkie, lift yer games.
Looks like it is up to me to post Seymour's ''Best of'' for the past 15 years.
I'll start by saying this was hastily done and, like everyone else has said, I'm sure there are people I've missed and they will probably come to me as soon as I send this post. Maybe HJ32 or someone else that's followed for the Lions for a while can help me out.
Backs: Ian Baker Bobby Douglas Joffa Anderson
H/Backs Tim Hooper Chris Martin Matt O'Keefe
Centres: Mark Bender Glenn Cole Bruce Haberman
H/Forwards: Jeremy Bourke Jonno Solomon Mick O'Sullivan
Forwards: Ben Davey Darren Comi Saad Saad
On-ballers: Shotty Matt O'Sullivan Paul Cox
Interchange: Luke Jackson, Nick Cox, Richard (Ricky) Martin, Matt Penn.
Unlucky: Johnny Mac, Ricky Jackson, Ash Jackson, Marty Spielhagen, Marky Jay, Adam Doherty.
I look forward to your feedback.
you've about nailed it grandale, and i love the unluckies -esp Ash Jackson!!!
probably the other one in there would be Andrew Pickering - didn't play many games for the lions but was a gun in 93/94.
Jake was a gun and just thought he did not fit into the time frame, but agree he would be in the side straight away with geoff conally going to a back bocket and probbly pushing out one of the two back pockets, craig conally probably the unlucky one.
Ged atkins did slip my mind i must admit, not sure where to slip him in the starting line up, any thoughts.
Necco, was a livewire but again not sure who he would push out of that forward line.
Someone else also mentioned Mark Seaton. For me it was out of snels of lakka, snels got my nod.
If you look i have not included an interchange, necco would definately be on it, and ged too if not squeezed into the side. lakka would maybe get a gig on the interchange aswell as Ake Fanoua.
Travvy - did you fit John Mrakov in there? I saw him kick a sh*tload one day at Seymour - he was pretty handy!
Grandale
5 Dec 2005, 11:44
you've about nailed it grandale, and i love the unluckies -esp Ash Jackson!!!
probably the other one in there would be Andrew Pickering - didn't play many games for the lions but was a gun in 93/94.
You're right, he was a gun, but I don't think he completed a full season with the Lions (94 was his only season I think).
One of the rules I tried to stick to was that the players had to have played two seasons with the club...but I had to break that rule to get Saad in there.
Grandale
5 Dec 2005, 11:45
Travvy - did you fit John Mrakov in there? I saw him kick a sh*tload one day at Seymour - he was pretty handy!
Or Athas Hrysoulakis - who, BTW, is still going around the Essendon District comp.
Travvy43
5 Dec 2005, 12:12
Or Athas Hrysoulakis - who, BTW, is still going around the Essendon District comp.
Firstly on Marakov, was a great, loyal player for tonny and on his day he was unstoppable, although i think darcy should get the nod, kicked more goals overall.
Hrysoulakis, tonny did not see the best of him, again an uncanny player on his day but i could not put him in front of the forward six i have names.
Tonny also had D Yze for a year although this was prior to his full forward days, he was still developing in his time with the blues and was played off half forward.
Spoke to Nick Miller's (Top Shepp defender) old man the other night - said he's playing with Doncaster next year. He told me what he's getting and I was surprised that Shepp wouldn't/didn't come to the party and try to keep him there...would have thought he'd be a substantial loss to the bears defence...
has Tavis Perry signed with Rushy?
there was a whisper that he may be interested in having a run with Colbo.
Grandale
5 Dec 2005, 12:40
Firstly on Marakov, was a great, loyal player for tonny and on his day he was unstoppable, although i think darcy should get the nod, kicked more goals overall.
Hrysoulakis, tonny did not see the best of him, again an uncanny player on his day but i could not put him in front of the forward six i have names.
Tonny also had D Yze for a year although this was prior to his full forward days, he was still developing in his time with the blues and was played off half forward.
Also had B Haberman. Funny how he can be considered good enough to get a gig in Seymour's best off but can't crack it for a spot in the Tonny's.
BTW Travvy, I was just joking re Athas. Didn't really expect he'd get a game.
MAXIMUM_POWER
5 Dec 2005, 12:41
You're right, he was a gun, but I don't think he completed a full season with the Lions (94 was his only season I think).
One of the rules I tried to stick to was that the players had to have played two seasons with the club...but I had to break that rule to get Saad in there.
How about Matty Peake Grandale? Violates your more than one season rule, but he was a winner off a wing, whereas, say bernie haberman probably hasn't played that position in his time at lions
I love Ian Baker in the pocket though, my favourite story of bakes at the moment is that while doing the running for the lions on GF day this year he ran around with his '91 premiership medal in his jocks as a lucky charm. Then when the siren went he promptly pulled it out and started wearing it around!
How about Matty Peake Grandale? Violates your more than one season rule, but he was a winner off a wing, whereas, say bernie haberman probably hasn't played that position in his time at lions
I love Ian Baker in the pocket though, my favourite story of bakes at the moment is that while doing the running for the lions on GF day this year he ran around with his '91 premiership medal in his jocks as a lucky charm. Then when the siren went he promptly pulled it out and started wearing it around!
LOL that is a great story on bakes.
when he was coaching the u/16's at seymour back in 1995, he once told us that he'd "eat a footy" if he could! A passionate footy man and loves the lions.
Grandale
5 Dec 2005, 12:47
Yep, Matty Peake. Good one Maxxy. But if Bugsy Pickering can't get a gig then I can't really justify slipping Peakey in.
As for Bakes, that's a classical story. Hadn't heard that one. He's a funny little fellow that Ian.
has Tavis Perry signed with Rushy?
there was a whisper that he may be interested in having a run with Colbo.
Can confirm that after lengthy contract negotiations between my manager and Colbo and Rushy that I have signed with Rushy with a huge sign-on of $0 and over-inflated match payments of $0, also. In the end, I didn't think I could play under Damian Lock given that he s h i t in a cup during a Bendigo Pioneer training camp and then left it in my room for me to dispose of...
Travvy43
5 Dec 2005, 12:54
Also had B Haberman. Funny how he can be considered good enough to get a gig in Seymour's best off but can't crack it for a spot in the Tonny's.
BTW Travvy, I was just joking re Athas. Didn't really expect he'd get a game.
Haberman was another one i forgot, but again i dont think tonny saw the best of what he could offer, he has been great with the lions though.
Shannon Gibson was another, he played a yeah at tonny to not much effect.
Like the on ball brigade i have chosen, Byrnes and brunt, both Morrison Medalists and Bradley Campbell.
TuskenRaider
5 Dec 2005, 13:06
Gibson, Haberman & co. would have only played a few games at the end of 2000 due to the VFL season finishing early with the Olympics wouldn't they Travvy?
Can confirm that after lengthy contract negotiations between my manager and Colbo and Rushy that I have signed with Rushy with a huge sign-on of $0 and over-inflated match payments of $0, also. In the end, I didn't think I could play under Damian Lock given that he s h i t in a cup during a Bendigo Pioneer training camp and then left it in my room for me to dispose of...
geez that's unlucky mate. no doubt you have made the correct decision to return to tigerland then.
Gibson, Haberman & co. would have only played a few games at the end of 2000 due to the VFL season finishing early with the Olympics wouldn't they Travvy?
pretty sure you are right there. think they played the 2?? games required to qualify for finals and played the final/s.
Will be a big loss for the bears but they refuse to pay guys like Nick anywhere near their value and will continue to suffer from similar losses.
Grandale
5 Dec 2005, 13:29
I'm pretty sure Habers was there for another season or two.
T.Perry
yes - slab informed me on that story on the weekend...... quite funny
pretty sure you are right there. think they played the 2?? games required to qualify for finals and played the final/s.
Yeah it was only the last couple of games.
I thought it was a bit of a balls up, and tonny didnt even end up making finals that year??
T.Perry
yes - slab informed me on that story on the weekend...... quite funny
There's not many stories that come out of Slab's mouth that aren't funny!
Locky will be great on and off the field for you next year - top bloke, fantastic at after match functions and an absolute gun footballer. Wasn't far behind nathan brown at Pioneers and had 45 possies and kicked 4 goals against us when I was playing at Bullants and him at Coburg...thank god I was on the opposite wing!
Slab is a long time BF reader but is yet to contribute, maybe we could start a Waranga controversy corner, i'm sure the slabberwokkie could contribute with various antidotes of scandle and rumour from the district
TuskenRaider
5 Dec 2005, 14:19
Yeah it was only the last couple of games.
I thought it was a bit of a balls up, and tonny didnt even end up making finals that year??
They had a very good side with Parker etc. playing for them, they did make the finals but I think were beaten from memory by Rochy in the infamous "player count" game. Would have been an elimination final of 4v5.
I could be mistaken, and Travvy or rowey or someone will be able to confirm , but I think Dave Williams stopped the game for a count of the Tongala side. There was a bit of controversy at the time and the possibility of a re-match was even floated I believe.
They had a very good side with Parker etc. playing for them, they did make the finals but I think were beaten from memory by Rochy in the infamous "player count" game. Would have been an elimination final of 4v5.
I could be mistaken, and Travvy or rowey or someone will be able to confirm , but I think Dave Williams stopped the game for a count of the Tongala side. There was a bit of controversy at the time and the possibility of a re-match was even floated I believe.
Yeh, Parker played FF for Tonny that match (& was copping heaps from Dirty coz he was being "flogged" by a then 17yo, Ben Andersen). Craig Caracella had a day out, and Bullant mates Bernie Haberman and Shannon Gibson both played, but went in injured and didn't do much.
Yeh, Dirty stopped the game for a player count, Tonny had the correct numbers, and un-beknownsed to Dirty, Tonny got a free-kick from the centre of a ground and the mandatory 50m penalty also resulted. Paul Kirby slotted the goal, and Dirty's face dropped. Rochy ended up fighting back to win by stuff all. There was a bit of controversy after the game, talk of Rochy cheating and being penalised, and there was talk of a rematch, but that was all in the spur of the moment.
If Bernie and Gibbo had of been fit, the result may have changed, but coz Tonny lost, everyone called it a pointless exercise. Of course, if Tonny had of won by less than a goal, Dirty would have nearly had to retire due to the embarrassment of calling a head count when he knew Tonny had the required 18!
FOOTYBOSS
5 Dec 2005, 14:47
[QUOTE=T.Perry]Craig Caracella had a day out, and Bullant mates Bernie Haberman and Shannon Gibson both played, but went in injured and didn't do much.
QUOTE]
Craig Caracella. Is he playing anywhere at the moment? Thought I might have heard his name in either a Seymour team or Euroa team, considering all the ex bullants boys that have.
[QUOTE=T.Perry]Craig Caracella had a day out, and Bullant mates Bernie Haberman and Shannon Gibson both played, but went in injured and didn't do much.
QUOTE]
Craig Caracella. Is he playing anywhere at the moment? Thought I might have heard his name in either a Seymour team or Euroa team, considering all the ex bullants boys that have.
Spoke to Cara not long ago. Gave up footy. Bit of a shame, rated him real high at bullants. Tough, skillful, quick and smart. Would have been more likely to go to Euroa with Grainger and Gibson, think he might have copped a few bad injuries, maybe a shoulder...(?) Would be good to see him back in action at some stage.
Craig Caracella had a day out, and Bullant mates Bernie Haberman and Shannon Gibson both played, but went in injured and didn't do much.
You're one of or Euroa correspondants arent you FOOTYBOSS? If you aint heard it I doubt any of use would've. Haven't heard it coming out of Kings Park either.
Miller is a gun shepp should pay him some decent coin, if he goes then so does langy
Yeh, Dirty stopped the game for a player count, Tonny had the correct numbers, and un-beknownsed to Dirty, Tonny got a free-kick from the centre of a ground and the mandatory 50m penalty also resulted. Paul Kirby slotted the goal, and Dirty's face dropped. Rochy ended up fighting back to win by stuff all. There was a bit of controversy after the game, talk of Rochy cheating and being penalised, and there was talk of a rematch, but that was all in the spur of the moment.
If Bernie and Gibbo had of been fit, the result may have changed, but coz Tonny lost, everyone called it a pointless exercise. Of course, if Tonny had of won by less than a goal, Dirty would have nearly had to retire due to the embarrassment of calling a head count when he knew Tonny had the required 18!
The reason for the uproar, and why Dirty called the head count was because Scottie Hanson was sent off, Rochys only real ruckman. He didnt realise that they'd be penalised with a free kick and 50m, but The 15min send off kept ticking whilst the count was taking place meaning Hanson was only off the ground for something like 7min. So was actually a masterstroke by Williams at the time, would any other coach think of that in the heat of battle.
Flat Track Bully
5 Dec 2005, 15:33
Heard Benalla definetly signed Mark porter this week but are sitting on it for a while. anyone else heard. FTB might be able to shed some light.
Mark who?
No, really I know nothing at this stage...I have had little, or no contact with the club in since the season ended.
The reason for the uproar, and why Dirty called the head count was because Scottie Hanson was sent off, Rochys only real ruckman. He didnt realise that they'd be penalised with a free kick and 50m, but The 15min send off kept ticking whilst the count was taking place meaning Hanson was only off the ground for something like 7min. So was actually a masterstroke by Williams at the time, would any other coach think of that in the heat of battle.
good question hank. it was a very dirty thing to do, but at the same time incredibly intelligent. I, and I don't think many would disagree, have no doubt the result would have been different if the head count didn't occur.
I'm pretty sure Habers was there for another season or two.
I am nearly 100% sure that he didn't.
bradrowe#32
5 Dec 2005, 17:58
Money grabber!
saints03
5 Dec 2005, 20:44
porter to the benalla saints and around melb the talk is benalla will be right up there with maybe a couple more signings in the next couple off weeks keep your eyes open for the release of a couple more big names
Liegh Colbert amongst them?
HawkeEye
6 Dec 2005, 06:00
From the shepp news the other day,
Meanwhile, Hazelman has confirmed that the club is still in discussions with a number of well rounded recruits.
At the top of the Demons' wish list appears to be prolific Western Australian forward Mitch Holbrook.
The goal-kicking ace, who was selected in the All Australian under-23 side last season, has been in discussions with the club, but is yet to commit.
"No one is signed until they are signed," Hazelman said.
"We won't be releasing names until they are across the line."
Liegh Colbert amongst them?
Leigh Colbert wont play. Even if he did play, why Benalla? What about if Michael Stevens doesnt get picked up in the pre season draft, surely he would be a big chance to head up there with his brothers.
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 08:37
Still a whisper, but..........Stevens to play at Echuca and Sholl to pull on the boots to play with him................
Also theres alot of people becoming new users and having their first post on this thread, perhaps we are becoming popular. I also noticed a Shepp person posting on this thread, that could be good or bad.............
Good, because we can bag shepp people, Bad, Because we have to put up with shepp people. I'm still undecided!
Still a whisper, but..........Stevens to play at Echuca and Sholl to pull on the boots to play with him................
Also theres alot of people becoming new users and having their first post on this thread, perhaps we are becoming popular. I also noticed a Shepp person posting on this thread, that could be good or bad.............
Good, because we can bag shepp people, Bad, Because we have to put up with shepp people. I'm still undecided!
ha ha. been a while mate - you been on leave or something have ya??
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 09:40
ha ha. been a while mate - you been on leave or something have ya??
haha nah leaves still comin........can't wait!
Had a couple of weeks in albury for work, great to be back wasting time in the office posting on big footy.
Saw your anorexic young bro on the weekend.......being a menace as usual. BIGGEST PEST I KNOW!
Sidey_87
6 Dec 2005, 09:59
Had our 1st training session for United last night, good numbers.
48 people, going to be tough to break into the side.
how is the kid barlow goin? heard he can play been at assumption last few years
Sidey_87
6 Dec 2005, 10:20
how is the kid barlow goin? heard he can play been at assumption last few years
Yeh ball magnet, no real pace, just knows where to go and is a very smart footballer.
Wasn't at training last night.
I'm not sure what he's doing this year he will probably go to uni.
who are th young guns to watch out for at united? u have any?
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 10:27
Are there any young guns without crap blond blotched mullets and white boots?
I would think there is little chance of Michale Stevens playing at Echuca, i know his fairly settled in Melbourne and i would think the only real chance of him playing footy in the country would be with Benalla.
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 10:45
I would think there is little chance of Michale Stevens playing at Echuca, i know his fairly settled in Melbourne and i would think the only real chance of him playing footy in the country would be with Benalla.
By stevens tige I ofcourse meant Anthony, Havent heard even a rumour about Michael. Word also has it Echcua are after two more big names, could be bull********, could be true. Just the word on the streety
ANT JESS
6 Dec 2005, 10:58
haha nah leaves still comin........can't wait!
Had a couple of weeks in albury for work, great to be back wasting time in the office posting on big footy.
Saw your anorexic young bro on the weekend.......being a menace as usual. BIGGEST PEST I KNOW!
Ah The serial pest is back and onto the attack, How's your foot ya fat Pr!ck? didn't break it did ya? Every time I see you at OPT you are getting ushered out by the bouncers, what's the story there? they don't tolerate your pesty antics or what?
football365
6 Dec 2005, 10:59
whos mark brown from numurkah playing for? Any news from up that way??
Rushy Tiger
6 Dec 2005, 10:59
There are certain things u shouldnt kick echucaboy. think you found that out Sat night
Sidey_87
6 Dec 2005, 11:01
who are th young guns to watch out for at united? u have any?
Ash Round, Gerard Bence who is a late developer who started on the bench in every game of thirds in 2004, worked hard and got into the seniors in 2005.
Will be a key player in 2006.
Hopefully i can get a game,
Phil Carroll, Barlow if he plays.
half time lollies
6 Dec 2005, 11:55
He has been linked to Rochester but my mail is that he will play on again at Numurkah!
Rushy Tiger
6 Dec 2005, 11:55
Brown is still apparently a chance to play at rochester. Had heard rumours of that falling through but i believe it is bak on the cards. His girlfriend i think is playing netball at rochester so that would make sense for him to go there.
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 11:59
Ah The serial pest is back and onto the attack, How's your foot ya fat Pr!ck? didn't break it did ya? Every time I see you at OPT you are getting ushered out by the bouncers, what's the story there? they don't tolerate your pesty antics or what?
ahha I didnt even do anything I was talkin to Walks' cousin and that heath scotland ********er was tryin to fight rick and they got in a bit of a blue. Then I went back to the doc, the ********er bouncer thought i was wif them. I got eventually tho!
hahah yeah foot is purple and blue, forgot what i kicked though. No more pies after kruger and rochy boys antics with bread crates!!!!!!!
Ya pest!
Originally Posted by ECHUCABOY
Echuca to definetly play finals again this year. If they dont I will make love to fat back pocket and rowey at the same time.
good luck echuca boy, i'll be keeping this quote and if things don't go your way, expect rowey and the FBP to rock up to Victoria park armed with a video camera, a tub of Vasoline and a donkey. You'll be their b i t c h!
Welcome back Echuca boy
just wanted to remind you of your quote from a fortnight ago.... :)
Rushy Tiger
6 Dec 2005, 12:05
ahha I didnt even do anything I was talkin to Walks' cousin and that heath scotland ********er was tryin to fight rick and they got in a bit of a blue. Then I went back to the doc, the ********er bouncer thought i was wif them. I got eventually tho!
hahah yeah foot is purple and blue, forgot what i kicked though. No more pies after kruger and rochy boys antics with bread crates!!!!!!!
Ya pest!
dont go blamin the rochy boys for the crate episode. Even though it was quite funny. They should have bout the pies out earlier. cant help you with wot u kicked just remember you hobbling into a taxi and not kickin on.
ECHUCABOY
6 Dec 2005, 12:10
Originally Posted by ECHUCABOY
Echuca to definetly play finals again this year. If they dont I will make love to fat back pocket and rowey at the same time.
good luck echuca boy, i'll be keeping this quote and if things don't go your way, expect rowey and the FBP to rock up to Victoria park armed with a video camera, a tub of Vasoline and a donkey. You'll be their b i t c h!
Welcome back Echuca boy
just wanted to remind you of your quote from a fortnight ago.... :)
haha A man of my word.
Rushy Tiger, do you not mean rochy tiger........it can only be one a few the names donkey, pumpkin head, wogoboy and HB are all I have which one would it be............
Rushy Tiger
6 Dec 2005, 12:11
haha A man of my word.
Rushy Tiger, do you not mean rochy tiger........it can only be one a few the names donkey, pumpkin head, wogoboy and HB are all I have which one would it be............
eeeeorr
ANT JESS
6 Dec 2005, 12:13
dont go blamin the rochy boys for the crate episode. Even though it was quite funny. They should have bout the pies out earlier. cant help you with wot u kicked just remember you hobbling into a taxi and not kickin on.
Yeah definately not the rochy boys fault for the crate episode, besides anything that goes down in your scummy arse town is totally deserved. Think you may have thought that one of those big garden things on the sidewalk was a soccer ball, apparently your foot had more give in it than the wood did. And that was the end of that chapter. :D
ANT JESS
6 Dec 2005, 12:15
haha A man of my word.
You reakon these 2 would know how to use a computer? net alone the internet!