View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Zippa
9 Dec 2005, 18:57
if you believe what you read, Jock was quoted in the Benalla ensign this week
as saying they will maintain the majority of their list. first training run last week reportedly had only 20-25 players well down on last years numbers.
So its true? there is to be a big gap in the saints line up? are the boys heading to blacks and greta as previously thought, Sharp would be stepping down a bit if he went back to vt after training with bendigo. What is it about VT that keeps him there and other boys as well (sakers,wilcock,horsbrough,ross) small town must have something going for it, they were always passionate, but better footy would have to get to them wouldnt it?

slim18
9 Dec 2005, 21:23
So its true? there is to be a big gap in the saints line up? are the boys heading to blacks and greta as previously thought, Sharp would be stepping down a bit if he went back to vt after training with bendigo. What is it about VT that keeps him there and other boys as well (sakers,wilcock,horsbrough,ross) small town must have something going for it, they were always passionate, but better footy would have to get to them wouldnt it?

saints training tonight[fri 9th] about 12 thirds and 15 seniors. VT is a very well run family club who look after their kids.. One young guy who will be leaving the saints to go elsewhere told me he wanted to play good footy but he would forgo that to be somewhere where senior players and committee talk to you and dont treat you like an idiot. This kid is one of a few to make that comment.

randallbone
10 Dec 2005, 04:12
"Daniel is regarded as one of the competition's most meticulous coaches, utilising audio-visual technology and a large support staff to ensure his side is well acquainted with opposition strengths and weaknesses weeks in advance of each contest.

"We certainly use videos to look at the way our opponents will shape up and what sort of structures they'll put in place," he said.

"Every other club is now realising that it's the sort of thing to do."

Have to say David Williams (Rochester) has long been a fan of this method. If you want to discuss tactics and match ups, you could not probably get a better football brain outside of AFL clubs coaching rosters.

I know I may be pumping up the guys tyres here (no pun intended) but he has consistently got the best out of the players that he had. His only downfall is that they should have probably won more premierships, a fact Rochy knows only too well.

Grandale
11 Dec 2005, 11:09
The Adventures of Eric Bottom

From THU-9-DEC

8:30AM
Arrive at the GV Office, or Base Camp as i sometimes call it, or Headquarters, or HQ - yeah, HQ, the ladies love it when i say that

9:30AM
Go to visit Jeremy O'Brien in his office. He's such a funny guy, he does so many zany things ... the other day he stapled everything on my desk to the floor, i mean, just crazy! Ah, the memories

9:42AM
Realise Jeremy isn't actually in his office, though there are some interesting pictures on his computer ... i'm not sure why she would be doing that to a donkey? I'll ask him about that later

10:30AM
Wow, my moustache is looking good

11:50AM
Oh, i'm hungry (not the country either, though i hear it's nice this time of year)

11:51AM
Big Fitzy is here for lunch, he is a terrific eater, i think it's all the practice he does

11:59PM
Off to Pizza Hut ... again. Fitzy likes it because "all-you-can-eat is great value Eric", i just like the ice-cream.

2:35PM
Still at Pizza Hut. Fitzy's favourite pizza is Meat Lovers ... mmm, that reminds me of another page on Jezza's computer

3:12PM
Management have asked us to leave, i'm not that fussed though, there was a yucky odour coming from the toilet. I wonder what caused it? Fitzy said it was fine when he went in there, and he should know as he was there for quite a while

3:30PM
Yippee, time to go home. What a day, i'm pooped!

Stay tuned for more exciting adventures,
The beat of the heart in the country, Eric Bottom

Yep, easily the funniest thing I've read on bigfooty (surely FBP had nothing to do with it, although I have been waiting for him to bob up with a new alias).

Travvy43
12 Dec 2005, 09:37
There has been rumours for a number of weeks now, however on the weekend i heard from two separate sources that A Stevens will be playing with Echuca next year.

Big news, thought he would line up with the saints again given that Porter had presumably signed.

Time will tell with this one i guess.

saints03
12 Dec 2005, 11:52
There has been rumours for a number of weeks now, however on the weekend i heard from two separate sources that A Stevens will be playing with Echuca next year.

Big news, thought he would line up with the saints again given that Porter had presumably signed.

Time will tell with this one i guess.

well i have some information for all out there i was talking to his best mate (anthonys) on the weekend and he is staying with the benalla saints so just letting everyone out there no what he is doin... also big night this week for benalla friday night i beleive that all recruits will be at training so will be interesting if porter comes or not....

LOBSTER
13 Dec 2005, 06:59
anthony Stevens will definately be playing at Benalla next year. He has committed to the club for one more year before fully moving his family to moama the year after. He loves playing with his brother Brendan and his parents property isnt to far from benalla.

Grandale
13 Dec 2005, 10:37
Bad news for GVFL defenders; word just through that Saad Saad didn't get picked up by the Bombers. Looks like he'll be having another year with the Lions.
But in better news for Lions fans, Tim O'Keefe - son of Lions legend Peter - has been put on the Bombers rookie list.

Doona2
13 Dec 2005, 10:39
Bad news for GVFL defenders; word just through that Saad Saad didn't get picked up by the Bombers. Looks like he'll be having another year with the Lions.
But in better news for Lions fans, Tim O'Keefe - son of Lions legend Peter - has been put on the Bombers rookie list.

Stole me thunder Grandy!!! was about to pen words of a similar effect

Grandale
13 Dec 2005, 10:43
Stole me thunder Grandy!!! was about to pen words of a similar effect

The Lions' hopes of getting Ryan Jackson (as slim as they may have been) didn't take long to be extinguished with the likable young fella being taken by the Blues with the first pick.
Now he can say he's a No 1 Draft pick.

Grandale
13 Dec 2005, 10:50
Djaran Whyman has been training with the Kangaroos during the period leading up to the PSD. With the Roosters sealing an alignment with the Kangas recently I guess that may mean he's aiming at staying with the VFL/AFL affiliate combo.

Whyman got picked up by the Kangas in the Rookie Draft.

Rushy Tiger
13 Dec 2005, 11:00
Whyman got picked up by the Kangas in the Rookie Draft.
Whyman getting picked up after they de listed Ash Watson is rubbish. Both the same type of player and Watson will be 100 times as dedicated. Fairly unjust i think

a.k.a.
13 Dec 2005, 13:07
Michael stevens didnt get picked up by anyone either. Could that mean he'll be joining his brothers at benalla next year?

FOOTYBOSS
13 Dec 2005, 13:16
Michael stevens didnt get picked up by anyone either. Could that mean he'll be joining his brothers at benalla next year?
You would think so, but with all the money that Tatura are throwing around he could end up with Garry there. Will be very interesting to see if he plays gvfl footy with brothers or opt to stay at a vfl club.

bradrowe#32
13 Dec 2005, 13:31
Whyman getting picked up after they de listed Ash Watson is rubbish. Both the same type of player and Watson will be 100 times as dedicated. Fairly unjust i think

Do you reckon he'll come back to Rochy?

madtiger
13 Dec 2005, 13:31
You would think so, but with all the money that Tatura are throwing around he could end up with Garry there. Will be very interesting to see if h
e plays gvfl footy with brothers or opt to stay at a vfl club.

Hasn't Gary retired?

FOOTYBOSS
13 Dec 2005, 13:57
Hasn't Gary retired?
Yeah I think he now you mention it. but Im sure he would still be involved in the club in sort of way.

a.k.a.
13 Dec 2005, 14:07
Yeah I think he now you mention it. but Im sure he would still be involved in the club in sort of way.

Hey FOOTYBOSS, is HawkEye one of your alias's? That last post would have made a grade 3 kid cringe... :rolleyes:

FOOTYBOSS
13 Dec 2005, 14:31
Hey FOOTYBOSS, is HawkEye one of your alias's? That last post would have made a grade 3 kid cringe... :rolleyes:
Just read it again and its a terrible standard for me. In fact its a disgrace. Thats what happens when your talking to customers on the phone while trying to write on big footy. Plus my brain still isnt thinking to straight after being out on the ******** all weekend. Last time I go on a 36 hour drinking binge.
I can guaranty HawkEye is not me in any shape or form. From what I heard around the traps he is FBP love child.

hank1
13 Dec 2005, 16:33
Believe Gary Stevens may pull on boots in Echuca area, not wanting to play GV so maybe Murray League.

Wayne Weideman
13 Dec 2005, 16:40
Do you reckon he'll come back to Rochy?

wouldnt that be fantastic rowey. i have no doubt he would be getting good offers from all different clubs in the VFL SANFL WAFL QAFL and also country clubs. with talk of Skunk brown coming, bowen, and a few other quality players would look like lesser known "FRINGE" players such as Dylan Cuttriss will be back in Rochys quality reserves side.

randallbone
13 Dec 2005, 17:31
wouldnt that be fantastic rowey. i have no doubt he would be getting good offers from all different clubs in the VFL SANFL WAFL QAFL and also country clubs. with talk of Skunk brown coming, bowen, and a few other quality players would look like lesser known "FRINGE" players such as Dylan Cuttriss will be back in Rochys quality reserves side.

Have to agree with Weeds and Rowey, Ash back in the Black and Yellow would be good to see.

The word on Cutriss is that he is on the move to the loddon Valley Football League. Not sure whether it was Pyramid Hill or Mitiamo. Will be interesting to see how he goes. A few steps down in grade from GV but this is the usual way if you are chasing money.

HJ32
14 Dec 2005, 07:53

Will be interested to see how Elliott Bowen goes in the GVL.

Doona2
14 Dec 2005, 08:03
Schaik 'n' Stevens No.1 hits

By Mark Brown

December 14 2005
Shepparton News

Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane yesterday admitted the Saints were in the "box seat" in the race to sign AFL discards Michael Stevens and Brendan Van Schaik.
MacFarlane said both players would now become recruiting priorities for the Saints after they were overlooked in yesterday's AFL rookie and pre-season drafts.

"They're both very good players and would top us off nicely," MacFarlane said.

"Mick and Brendan have both got links with Benalla, so that probably puts us in the box seat a bit, but at the same time they'll get lots of calls."

Van Schaik, who was selected in last year's rookie draft by Melbourne, originally hails from Benalla, while Stevens' older brothers, Anthony and Brendan, both play for the Saints in Goulburn Valley Football League.

"We'll touch base with both of them over the next day or two and see where they're at," MacFarlane said.

Van Schaik had hoped to be given a second year on Melbourne's rookie list and had started pre-season training with the Demons.

Stevens was delisted by the Kangaroos last month after originally being drafted by Port Adelaide back in 1998.

The pair appears to be a perfect match for Benalla.

Stevens' pace and poise would be invaluable through the midfield for the Saints, while Van Schaik would cure the club's ruck woes.

Benalla finished the 2005 season in fourth position behind eventual premier Seymour, Euroa and Mansfield.

ECHUCABOY
14 Dec 2005, 08:11
Cutriss will be playing at Rochy ya nuff nuffs.

Brendan Van Shaik or wateva the ********ers name is, is an out and out dud. He would have to be one of the softest footballers I have ever played against....I do not rate him at all and nearly fall over when I heard he got rookie listed, its good to see Melbourne cut their losses with that dud.

Whoever the number one ruckman is at benalla (if they have one) I would be dirty if this tall retarded spastic took my spot, just because he is on a rookie list. No one on this forum can honestly say this bloke is worth ********ing on!!!!!:mad:

Travvy43
14 Dec 2005, 08:15
Whoever the number one ruckman is at benalla (if they have one) I would be dirty if this tall retarded spastic took my spot, just because he is on a rookie list. No one on this forum can honestly say this bloke is worth ********ing on!!!!!:mad:

I would doubt he would take MArk Porter's spot in the first ruck position.

Benella presumably had their first training run on sunday, how was the turn up, did stevens and porter show up??

tige19
14 Dec 2005, 08:51
I think Gary Stevens might be pulling the boots on again at Tatura, for what reason im not sure ;) .

And i wouldnt read to much into what Jock says about M.Stevens, they might be in the box seat there is no doubt but when the offers start coming in thick and fast for him it wont be long until Benalla get pushed back in the pecking order.

In saying that both his brothers are there so $$$ or a good job might not mean as much to him, perhaps Anthony is gonna recruit him to there managment business.

cheers

Travvy43
14 Dec 2005, 09:13
We likely to hear any of Tatura's signings before Xmas Tige?? Hows all that going?

madtiger
14 Dec 2005, 09:21

Has he signed with Rochy?

tige19
14 Dec 2005, 09:30
We likely to hear any of Tatura's signings before Xmas Tige?? Hows all that going?

Hey Travvy, hopefully a few names will be announced but as you know its fairly hard to get guys to commit before christmas.

In an ideal world next week i think would have been perfect but it might not be reality to do so. Not worried yet as there is 4 months left before footy kicks off and i would be certain that we will have a fairly string side.

cheers

HJ32
14 Dec 2005, 09:38
dunno whether he's signed but Im pretty sure it's a done deal

centreman
14 Dec 2005, 09:42
Is it true that Dale Reyne has left Echuca to play at United??
He's got a fair bit of talent hasn't he.

LOBSTER
14 Dec 2005, 09:45
Hey Travvy, hopefully a few names will be announced but as you know its fairly hard to get guys to commit before christmas.

In an ideal world next week i think would have been perfect but it might not be reality to do so. Not worried yet as there is 4 months left before footy kicks off and i would be certain that we will have a fairly string side.

cheers
Its not that to get guys to commit before christmas tige. Most other clubs seem to be able to do it.

madtiger
14 Dec 2005, 09:51

yeah he signed last nite. Trained really well very athletic and an awesome mark will be a great ruckman/forward in the murray league the boys are rapt to have him on board.

tige19
14 Dec 2005, 10:30
Its not that to get guys to commit before christmas tige. Most other clubs seem to be able to do it.

Who are the other teams??? i havent heard much, thats of course unless you know more than what is being said.

Havent heard much from the Shepp sides,Ky,Echuca,Mansfield,Seymour and Rochester. The only sides that i have heard that have signed a few are Moroopana,Benalla, and Euroa with Hilton and Clarke.

Not much is happening except for some rumors and common crap that goes around at this time of the year. Your a off the mark a tad.

ECHUCABOY
14 Dec 2005, 10:52

Will kill it at united, no doubt about that............some interesting news to develop about a player echuca supposdley signed up...STAY TUNED!

madtiger
14 Dec 2005, 10:57
Will kill it at united, no doubt about that............some interesting news to develop about a player echuca supposdley signed up...STAY TUNED!

Come on give us a hint

centreman
14 Dec 2005, 10:57
Brad Smith and Josh Maddox are confirmed aren't they?

bradrowe#32
14 Dec 2005, 11:24

According to today's Shepparton News they are.

centreman
14 Dec 2005, 12:12
We need some Shepp Swans fans to confirm some signings.

Belconnen duo Jarrod Illett and Luke White seemed headed there but no-one has confirmed it yet.

Illett won the Mulrooney Medal with the Magpies in Canberra and he's up with St Mary's now with White. White will be very valuable, kicked 52 goals last season, most of them coming in the second half of the season when he got moved to CHF.

Lachlan Veale is from all reports over the line too. You would think the Swannies would want to announce this to the world if it was true, so there might be some hold ups.

Rushy Tiger
14 Dec 2005, 12:51
Bit rough on the youngstar Weids dont ya think. Watched him play in the finals this year and was clearly best on ground. Would probably be rochy's number one half back now that Knight has deserted the club. Havent heard of where he might be off to yet though? Can anyone help me with this?

Squeaky
14 Dec 2005, 13:14
[QUOTE Would probably be rochy's number one half back now that Knight has deserted the club. Havent heard of where he might be off to yet though? Can anyone help me with this?[/QUOTE]

South Bendigo apparently

ANT JESS
14 Dec 2005, 13:18
Bit rough on the youngstar Weids dont ya think. Watched him play in the finals this year and was clearly best on ground. Would probably be rochy's number one half back now that Knight has deserted the club. Havent heard of where he might be off to yet though? Can anyone help me with this?

Heard a rumour that he may be chasing a young slapper out Colbo way, so be interesting to see weather we see Cuttriss in the mighty green & gold next year!

HJ32
14 Dec 2005, 13:42
Heard a rumour that he may be chasing a young slapper out Colbo way, so be interesting to see weather we see Cuttriss in the mighty green & gold next year!

Interesting......

madtiger
14 Dec 2005, 14:05

I believe Josh has been offered the full time position of football administrator at Echuca. I also know for a fact that Brad Smith has not signed a thing even though there are those on this forum that do not believe that.

LOBSTER
14 Dec 2005, 14:13
Who are the other teams??? i havent heard much, thats of course unless you know more than what is being said.

Havent heard much from the Shepp sides,Ky,Echuca,Mansfield,Seymour and Rochester. The only sides that i have heard that have signed a few are Moroopana,Benalla, and Euroa with Hilton and Clarke.

Not much is happening except for some rumors and common crap that goes around at this time of the year. Your a off the mark a tad.
Mansfield have said they signed Nathan Reynoldson. Seymour have signed a bloke named Colbert from bullants and almost have signed Scanlon and Furlan. Echuca have named a few signings Maddox and Smith. Kyabram have signed Jim Taylor. No one has heard anything about Tatura, any shep team and rochy yet.

Personally if I was running a club if a bloke didnt sign before xmas, I wouldnt worry about him. He is probably looking where he can get more money from and putting teams into a bidding war. You dont need that a club. Thats what people like Balragh Singh does.

Fish8
14 Dec 2005, 14:36
Mansfield have said they signed Nathan Reynoldson. Seymour have signed a bloke named Colbert from bullants and almost have signed Scanlon and Furlan. Echuca have named a few signings Maddox and Smith. Kyabram have signed Jim Taylor. No one has heard anything about Tatura, any shep team and rochy yet.

Personally if I was running a club if a bloke didnt sign before xmas, I wouldnt worry about him. He is probably looking where he can get more money from and putting teams into a bidding war. You dont need that a club. Thats what people like Balragh Singh does.

Shepp bears will struggle this year, lost a lot of players and have not signed anyone yet. So far to leave are Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins and Chris Bell to Congupna. Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller and Chris Starrit to Doncaster. Heath Barton to Shepp Swans. Nathan Bovalino to Shepp United. Stephen Ash retired. Adrian Hickmott to Rumba and a few more as well i think

centreman
14 Dec 2005, 14:50
Shepp bears will struggle this year, lost a lot of players and have not signed anyone yet. So far to leave are Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins and Chris Bell to Congupna. Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller and Chris Starrit to Doncaster. Heath Barton to Shepp Swans. Nathan Bovalino to Shepp United. Stephen Ash retired. Adrian Hickmott to Rumba and a few more as well i think

You can add Sam Ahmet to that. He has finished in the top three in the Bears best and fairest 5 out of the past six years. He'll most likely play with Shepp East.

Travvy43
14 Dec 2005, 14:54
add Ian Boyd to Shepp East too

ECHUCABOY
14 Dec 2005, 15:25
Wow wouldn't that position as the football administrator pay a mint.......................:thumbsd:

Lobster, Echuca signed up maddox and smith have they?

Ant Jess does the you slapper belong to the male or female gender, it wudn't suprise me with cutriss?

just signed
14 Dec 2005, 15:27

Elliott Bowen has walked out on the Bombers and Rochy look to be in a very good spot to sign him. If they do get him look for Mark Brown to join. Then, with Browny, Lenny Schmidt and Bowen all playing at Rochy they will continue to push for Bendigo Bombers. Nick Carter is another good friend of theirs.

LOBSTER
14 Dec 2005, 15:33
Nick Carter is a gun and would dominate GVFL if happened to follow his mates to Rochy.

Looks like Shep Bears are in a bit of trouble. Couldnt happen to a better team.

The Fan
14 Dec 2005, 15:46
Nick Carter is a gun and would dominate GVFL if happened to follow his mates to Rochy.

Come on Lobby

Dont be too harsh. There are some great blokes like Matty Byers

We love Matt Byers. Top 3 onballers in the league.

ECHUCABOY
14 Dec 2005, 15:56
Come on Lobby

Dont be too harsh. There are some great blokes like Matty Byers

We love Matt Byers. Top 3 onballers in the league.

Don't start with shepp bears!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How good is this forum tho?? Everyone is Anti Shepp they can't get a look in, lets keep it that way!:D

The Fan
14 Dec 2005, 15:59
Don't start with shepp bears!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How good is this forum tho?? Everyone is Anti Shepp they can't get a look in, lets keep it that way!:D

They get enough going their way without us having to talk them up.

Concerning Matt Byers, I lied. Sorry Matthew

Wayne Weideman
14 Dec 2005, 19:46

Not rough at all "RUSHY TIGE" cuttriss was playing twos all year in 2004. it was probably only the departure of some big names that got him a spot in the 2005 team. knight is off to south bendigo. He is apparently having a year in bendigo before going overseas indefinently at the end of 06'

bazlurhmann
14 Dec 2005, 21:07
hello out there big footy punters. just new to this forum so thought i would say hi and i look forward to the coming season. by thw way, whats the go with this fbp stoodge?

bradrowe#32
14 Dec 2005, 21:09
Found some info on Bowen...

The Facts:
D.O.B. - 24/5/83
HEIGHT - 189cm
WEIGHT - 93kg
PREVIOUS CLUBS - Bendigo Pioneers Football Club, Bendigo Diggers Football Club
RECRUITED FROM - Bendigo Diggers Football Club

The 2005 season is one that Elliot Bowen is looking forward to, and one which he is hoping to be able to step up and leave injuries behind. Bowen has changed his attitude towards football, and believes that the merge between the Diggers and the Bombers was one of the best things that has happened to his football career.

Originally from Echuca, Bowen played two seasons with the Bendigo Pioneers. In his last year with the Pioneers, he narrowly missed out on a TAC Cup premiership. Bowen also spent a few weeks training with the Sydney Swans, but was eventually overlooked. Soon after, the Bendigo Diggers saw his ability and signed him up.

In his first few seasons of VFL, Bowen found it tough playing on the more experienced VFL players who were much more developed than he was, but after 4 years of playing VFL footy, three of those with the Bombers, Bowen feels more comfortable and cant wait to get into the season and hopefully make it to the finals, but his main goal is to play in a winning Grand Final.

2005 pre-season wasnt the best for Bowen, as he has been hampered with an injury for the past 4 months, with a bulging disc rubbing against his spine, causing havoc in his lower back, and this is affecting his hamstrings, therefore he is finding it hard to do alot of running, but he has recieved medical attention from the Essendon Football Club doctors, and has been put on medication, and hopes to be back in two months.

Because of this injury, Bowen has only been able to do light training, including boxing, swimming and weights, mostly just before christmas, but hopefully this year, the Bombers will be a force, and make the Grand Final, which Bowen says "Being in a winning Grand Final would be awesome".

Bowen only has praise for the new coach Matthew Knights, saying "He has been great. He has been nothing but professional, and has had a great impact on the boys, hoping we will all follow the same route as him, and spreads all his passion for the game through the team".

In 2005, Bowen has hopes to play in the back line as center half back, but would play as Full Back if asked, "For the past couple of years, Ive played in the backline, as either Full Back or Center Half Back, but playing Center Half Back, its a key position and your fitness has to be high, which Ive worked hard on, but with my injury, recently its been hard, but hopefully, when I come back, I'll be right".

All of his years at the Bendigo Bombers, there has been the one player that Bowen looks up to, Captain Nick Carter "He has been tremendisly good to me. He is very professional, and all the boys have the up most respect for him. The type of player his is means every player has respect for him, and I definately consider him a role model".

In 2005, Bowen cant wait to get back out there and play his best footy, but for the moment, has to focus on getting his back right, but soon enough, Bowen will be back, and a force for the Bendigo Bombers, so watch out for the name Elliot Bowen in season 2005.

HJ32
14 Dec 2005, 21:14

you've got more hope of Schapelle Corby coming home next week than Nick Carter playing for Rochester in 2006. Yes he's good mates with all the above mentioned, but that's it. 2007 - yeah he could be in the loddon valley league too, he has some good mates out there!

As for shepp bears, we'll they've been off my xmas list since thirds guns like Pete Marshall and Nick Price left the club...... But theyr'e still infront of Shepp Swans, what a seedy mob they are!

Doona2
14 Dec 2005, 21:15
hello out there big footy punters. just new to this forum so thought i would say hi and i look forward to the coming season. by thw way, whats the go with this fbp stoodge?

FBP has been gr8 for entertainment thru the off season and Im spewing he aint around anymore . . . . pretty quick to judge baz if this is really your first look at Big Footy

Greg Miller= Messiah
14 Dec 2005, 23:41
United have picked up T Sidebottom, N Bovalino and they also get Hazelman back.
But i think they needed to recruit more than two players because they have lost 3 or 4.

Greg Miller= Messiah
14 Dec 2005, 23:46
But how many of them played seniors?
They have also lost league 3rds medalist Jason Limbrick who was really disappointed that he was overlooked for a senior game last season by the coaching staff.
He's looking like heading to Rumbalara.

HJ32
15 Dec 2005, 08:00
Can someone whack the saad article up here from the shepp news?

sorry echuca boy ;)

Duff Man
15 Dec 2005, 08:58
QUOTE=Fish8 Shepp bears will struggle this year, lost a lot of players and have not signed anyone yet. So far to leave are Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins and Chris Bell to Congupna. Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller and Chris Starrit to Doncaster. Heath Barton to Shepp Swans. Nathan Bovalino to Shepp United. Stephen Ash retired. Adrian Hickmott to Rumba and a few more as well i think

Miller is their biggest loss, but they should cover Lang and Parker without too much fuss. Morris, Maskell, Collins and Bell are only kids, and would have little or no senior experience.

Barton wants to go to the Swans, but not officially across the line as yet.

Given the rivalry between the bears and united, I'm tipping they will no doubt reject any clearance form for Bovalino if / when it comes through. He could appeal I guess, but the president of the bears would rather cut off a testicle than see one of his players go to united!

A source close to the bears has told me they have two good signings on the horizon, but won't give me any names. A quality CHF and CHB is on their shopping list since no one filled the loss of Guthrie last year, and Hickmott is now on the move.

I still believe they will be a strong force in 2006 as they have excellent depth they can draw on from their seconds and U/18's. I know a few of these guys are looking to move on to other clubs, but I think this will more likely see their seconds side slip down a bit rather than impacting the senios too much.

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 09:21
QUOTE=Fish8 Shepp bears will struggle this year, lost a lot of players and have not signed anyone yet. So far to leave are Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins and Chris Bell to Congupna. Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller and Chris Starrit to Doncaster. Heath Barton to Shepp Swans. Nathan Bovalino to Shepp United. Stephen Ash retired. Adrian Hickmott to Rumba and a few more as well i think

Miller is their biggest loss, but they should cover Lang and Parker without too much fuss. Morris, Maskell, Collins and Bell are only kids, and would have little or no senior experience.

Barton wants to go to the Swans, but not officially across the line as yet.

Given the rivalry between the bears and united, I'm tipping they will no doubt reject any clearance form for Bovalino if / when it comes through. He could appeal I guess, but the president of the bears would rather cut off a testicle than see one of his players go to united!

A source close to the bears has told me they have two good signings on the horizon, but won't give me any names. A quality CHF and CHB is on their shopping list since no one filled the loss of Guthrie last year, and Hickmott is now on the move.

I still believe they will be a strong force in 2006 as they have excellent depth they can draw on from their seconds and U/18's. I know a few of these guys are looking to move on to other clubs, but I think this will more likely see their seconds side slip down a bit rather than impacting the senios too much.

I heard they have lost up to 20 form the senior-/reserves list. Also cut pay to regular senior players dramatically. Will affect the senior team. They haven't won a final since 2000 - six in a row I reckon. The Bears aren't travelling as well as they like to think they are.

tige19
15 Dec 2005, 09:46
Tatura had 42 at training on Tuesday night and have been told more on Friday night. Sounds promising. Apparantley there where 10 possib le future recruits Tuesday night. Im heading up tomorow with a few Melbourne boys so it will be good to see the blokes and how we are shaping.

cheers

Trout
15 Dec 2005, 10:08
G'day boys is Bamford still playing at Euroa next year? I was just talking to my old prahran coach he said that an EDFL club was confident in picking him up.

Did Tim Maher play at Euroa last year?

half time lollies
15 Dec 2005, 10:24
I heard they have lost up to 20 form the senior-/reserves list. Also cut pay to regular senior players dramatically. Will affect the senior team. They haven't won a final since 2000 - six in a row I reckon. The Bears aren't travelling as well as they like to think they are.

How are you privy to this information Centrman?? Are you involved at the club or are you making this up?? If there are up to 20 gone can you please name them!

half time lollies
15 Dec 2005, 10:25
G'day boys is Bamford still playing at Euroa next year? I was just talking to my old prahran coach he said that an EDFL club was confident in picking him up.

Did Tim Maher play at Euroa last year?

Yeah he did. He won the reserves league goal kicking.

wheelbarrow
15 Dec 2005, 10:44
Yeah he did. He won the reserves league goal kicking.

Is he staying with the Maggies in 06.?

Heard a couple of minor league clubs were after him.

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 10:57
How are you privy to this information Centrman?? Are you involved at the club or are you making this up?? If there are up to 20 gone can you please name them!

Was told by three Bears premiership players within the last week.

Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins, Chris Bell, Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller, Chris Starrit, Heath Barton, Nathan Bovalino, Stephen Ash, Adrian Hickmott, Sam Ahmet, Terence Tuohey, Paul Newman.

There's 15 who have retired or moved on. I'm sure there's a couple who has escaped me. A few good thirds boys who are going elsewhere Murray/KDL for coin.

There is a bloke there who has been told he would have to have his match payments cut in half if he was going to stay. This bloke has played interleague and been a very good player for them.

Doona2
15 Dec 2005, 10:59
G'day boys is Bamford still playing at Euroa next year? I was just talking to my old prahran coach he said that an EDFL club was confident in picking him up. Did Tim Maher play at Euroa last year?

Maher would've been better value than Grainger in the granny, i thought the No.12 (???) was stiff not to get a regular gig in the 1's. Maybe he could spearhead Violet Town's KDFL assault.

half time lollies
15 Dec 2005, 11:09

Brendan Morris, Jarrod Maskell, Chris Collins, Chris Bell, Simon Lang, Luke Parker, Nick Miller, Chris Starrit, Heath Barton, Nathan Bovalino, Stephen Ash, Adrian Hickmott, Sam Ahmet, Terence Tuohey, Paul Newman.

There's 15 who have retired or moved on. I'm sure there's a couple who has escaped me. A few good thirds boys who are going elsewhere Murray/KDL for coin.

There is a bloke there who has been told he would have to have his match payments cut in half if he was going to stay. This bloke has played interleague and been a very good player for them.

You've got your finger on the pulse. Only seems to be a handful of losses in Miller, Hickmott, Ash and probably Ahmet when fit. Mainly reserves players from what I can see. Will have an impact on depth at the club however.

Is the player your referring to SA??

The Cat
15 Dec 2005, 11:10

Archer is another one. He won the reserves league medal this year and heading out (I think) to Rushy?

Rushy Tiger
15 Dec 2005, 11:15
Archer is another one. He won the reserves league medal this year and heading out (I think) to Rushy?
Word on Archer is he is not going to Rushy.

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 11:16
You've got your finger on the pulse. Only seems to be a handful of losses in Miller, Hickmott, Ash and probably Ahmet when fit. Mainly reserves players from what I can see. Will have an impact on depth at the club however.

Is the player your referring to SA??

Which SA. There are two. Let's just say you can probably guess who it is. Glenn Archer is another one.

They've spent a lot of money of Hickmott ($80,000 in two years) lost six finals straight in five years. Yeah they've had great seconds and thirds success but nothing to gloat about at senior level. They are non winners and soft when the going gets tough.

Rushy Tiger
15 Dec 2005, 11:21
Wow wouldn't that position as the football administrator pay a mint.......................:thumbsd:

Lobster, Echuca signed up maddox and smith have they?

Ant Jess does the you slapper belong to the male or female gender, it wudn't suprise me with cutriss?
do believe it is from the female side! Apparently the pressure has been also put on by the in-laws to make the trek to the grasshoppers burrow.

Rushy Tiger
15 Dec 2005, 11:24
Not rough at all "RUSHY TIGE" cuttriss was playing twos all year in 2004. it was probably only the departure of some big names that got him a spot in the 2005 team. knight is off to south bendigo. He is apparently having a year in bendigo before going overseas indefinently at the end of 06'
Do believe he only played a handfull of 2s games that year. Started the year tragically, breaking his ankle 2 weeks b4 the start of the year. Still not over the ailment either.

half time lollies
15 Dec 2005, 11:25
Which SA. There are two. Let's just same you can probably guess who it is. Glenn Archer is another one.

They've spent a lot of money of Hickmott, lost six finals straight in five years. Yeah they've had great seconds anf thirds success but nothing to gloat about at senior level. They are non winners and soft when the going gets tough.

Who do you follow Centreman?? Your hatred for Shepparton suggests maybe a club who share the same ground??

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 11:27
Who do you follow Centreman?? Your hatred for Shepparton suggests maybe a club who share the same ground??

Nah. Don't really follow anyone. Ky if anyone. I spend most of my time following KDL but hear some good GV mail.

half time lollies
15 Dec 2005, 11:37
Nah. Don't really follow anyone. Ky if anyone. I spend most of my time following KDL but hear some good GV mail.

KDL is a wonderful league. I thought you might of had more of an interest in the Ovens and Murray!

Duff Man
15 Dec 2005, 11:52
Which SA. There are two. Let's just say you can probably guess who it is. Glenn Archer is another one.

They've spent a lot of money of Hickmott ($80,000 in two years) lost six finals straight in five years. Yeah they've had great seconds and thirds success but nothing to gloat about at senior level. They are non winners and soft when the going gets tough.
Shepp didn't spend $80,000 on Hicks. He got about $25,000 a year and the club found him a job.

The bears committee are as tight as a fishes exhaust pipe when it comes to player payments. I know we like to bag those clubs who shell out the coin willy nilly, but the bears tend to take advantage of some of their senior players loyalty when they should be rewarding them. Ash would be a very good example of a bloke who played great footy for them over a long period without just reward.

HJ32
15 Dec 2005, 12:44
Don't be surprised if the Seymour Forward Line next year reads as follows:

Saad Saad Saad

correctamundo! SS is bringing some cousins up to Kings Park

Junkie
15 Dec 2005, 13:11
Maher would've been better value than Grainger in the granny, i thought the No.12 (???) was stiff not to get a regular gig in the 1's. Maybe he could spearhead Violet Town's KDFL assault.

Easy to say that now Doona:rolleyes: Why would you drop a guy on the verge of 100 snags for the year to bring in the reserves spearhead?

No disrespect to Tim because I agree that he should have played a lot more senior football in 2005 and a slight injury midseason was the 'scapegoat' for his lack of senior appearances.

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 13:13
KDL is a wonderful league. I thought you might of had more of an interest in the Ovens and Murray!

Just follow it via the internet. Seen a few games, but the KDL is a just a great footy league. GV has gone mad I reckon, money is going to kill it.
This is my top six for next year.

Euroa, Seymour, Benalla, Mansfield, United, Swans . . . especially if the Shepp teams land the recruits that are being talked about.

KDL top six:

Stanhope, Rushworth, Lancaster, Ardmona, Yea, Merrigum.

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 13:46

I don't hate Shepp, just get sick of their own arrogance. Have a lot of good friends who have played there over the years and know a lot of good people involved. To say I hate Shepp would be wrong, I do however find their gloating annoying. . .

David Johnston
15 Dec 2005, 13:50
I don't hate Shepp, just get sick of their own arrogance. Have a lot of good friends who have played there over the years and know a lot of good people involved. To say I hate Shepp would be wrong, I do however find their gloating annoying. . .

What have they had to gloat about in recent years?

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 13:52
What have they had to gloat about in recent years?

Well that's my point. The senior side has grossly under-achieved.

David Johnston
15 Dec 2005, 14:12
Just follow it via the internet. Seen a few games, but the KDL is a just a great footy league. GV has gone mad I reckon, money is going to kill it.
This is my top six for next year.

Euroa, Seymour, Benalla, Mansfield, United, Swans . . . especially if the Shepp teams land the recruits that are being talked about.

KDL top six:

Stanhope, Rushworth, Lancaster, Ardmona, Yea, Merrigum.

United in the top six?
What do you base this on?

centreman
15 Dec 2005, 14:19
United in the top six?
What do you base this on?

From what everyone says the Hazelman boys can play. Tyson Sidebottom will be a very good player. Outside coach for the first time in a long time.

tige19
15 Dec 2005, 15:24
Its gonna be a real tough ask for all 3 Shepp sides to make the 6, i would still think that Bears will be the better out of the 3.

Benalla,Mansfield,Euroa and Seymour will be the usual suspects towards the top with the rest fighting it out. There will be a darkhorse thats bolts from nowhere, who that team will be noone will know until about rd10 next year.

cheers

saints03
15 Dec 2005, 15:33
Cutriss will be playing at Rochy ya nuff nuffs.

Brendan Van Shaik or wateva the ********ers name is, is an out and out dud. He would have to be one of the softest footballers I have ever played against....I do not rate him at all and nearly fall over when I heard he got rookie listed, its good to see Melbourne cut their losses with that dud.

i would love to find out the name of you mate. how long since you have seen or played against this kid?? when he was playing footy for benalla he was a 15 or 16 year old kid times have changed he will be a very very good pick up for benalla dont you worry about that. please tell me mate who you are

Doona2
15 Dec 2005, 15:50
Easy to say that now Doona:rolleyes: Why would you drop a guy on the verge of 100 snags for the year to bring in the reserves spearhead? No disrespect to Tim because I agree that he should have played a lot more senior football in 2005 and a slight injury midseason was the 'scapegoat' for his lack of senior appearances.

Didn't mean drop Grainger, just thought the big fella was well below par on the big day. Wasn't aware Maher got injured, still think he coulda got a game or two to plead his case heading into the finals.

cosby
15 Dec 2005, 15:53
Kyabram have signed Jim Taylor.
any information on this jim taylor, lobster? where he comes from? what possie?

No Heart
15 Dec 2005, 16:26
i would love to find out the name of you mate. how long since you have seen or played against this kid?? when he was playing footy for benalla he was a 15 or 16 year old kid times have changed he will be a very very good pick up for benalla dont you worry about that. please tell me mate who you are
Settle down Harry High-Pants.

FOOTYBOSS
15 Dec 2005, 16:28
Didn't mean drop Grainger, just thought the big fella was well below par on the big day. Wasn't aware Maher got injured, still think he coulda got a game or two to plead his case heading into the finals.
Was a hard team to get back into once someone went down injured. Another who was very stiff during the end of the year and finals was Marcus Maher. Got injured in the 4th last game of the year and missed the following week which subsequently cost his spot for the remainder of the year.

It was like that all year for the club. Once you were in the team it was very hard to get out of the team. It will be the same next season which is great for the club.

FOOTYBOSS
15 Dec 2005, 16:30
Don't be surprised if the Seymour Forward Line next year reads as follows:

Saad Saad Saad

correctamundo! SS is bringing some cousins up to Kings Park
Has a a brother playing at Lalor who can kick some goals and a brother at Northcote Park who is very quick and smart.
Any truth to this Grandale? Would normally ask FBP but he is no longer with us or is he???????????

FOOTYBOSS
15 Dec 2005, 16:31
Its gonna be a real tough ask for all 3 Shepp sides to make the 6, i would still think that Bears will be the better out of the 3.

Benalla,Mansfield,Euroa and Seymour will be the usual suspects towards the top with the rest fighting it out. There will be a darkhorse thats bolts from nowhere, who that team will be noone will know until about rd10 next year.

cheers
Maansfield might struggle with no mensch.

Doona2
15 Dec 2005, 16:39
Was a hard team to get back into once someone went down injured. Another who was very stiff during the end of the year and finals was Marcus Maher. Got injured in the 4th last game of the year and missed the following week which subsequently cost his spot for the remainder of the year. It was like that all year for the club. Once you were in the team it was very hard to get out of the team. It will be the same next season which is great for the club.

I know what ya saying FOOTYBOSS . . . there will always be arguments for and against - guess the same can be said for the guy who wore #40 christ Ive just forget his name Chris . . .

Johnny Tapp
15 Dec 2005, 17:18
Do believe he only played a handfull of 2s games that year. Started the year tragically, breaking his ankle 2 weeks b4 the start of the year. Still not over the ailment either.

fair enough if he gets over his injuries he is a real chance of becoming a geniune GVFL backman who has great skills and is very smart. All the best