View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

footyman
15 Dec 2005, 17:38
Van Schiak would be an interesting one for Benalla. Could swear he was seen around uni here in Melbourne during the semester, if thats the case I'd have thought he'd stick around Melbourne.

HJ32
15 Dec 2005, 21:03
Has a a brother playing at Lalor who can kick some goals and a brother at Northcote Park who is very quick and smart.
Any truth to this Grandale? Would normally ask FBP but he is no longer with us or is he???????????

I think the FBP is on leave... same with Grandale...

I can tell you though that my "tri-saad" post is creditable

fat back pocket
16 Dec 2005, 05:09
Has a a brother playing at Lalor who can kick some goals and a brother at Northcote Park who is very quick and smart.
Any truth to this Grandale? Would normally ask FBP but he is no longer with us or is he???????????

Word is he might be bringing up a cousin, no nothing else. Don't even know his footballing ability.

Not sure a bout a Saad Saad Saad forward line, but it'd be pretty freckin funny if we did have that.

merry christmas all. hope santa brings you lots of goodies.

No Heart
16 Dec 2005, 07:06
Word is he might be bringing up a cousin, no nothing else. Don't even know his footballing ability.

Not sure a bout a Saad Saad Saad forward line, but it'd be pretty freckin funny if we did have that.

merry christmas all. hope santa brings you lots of goodies.
Welcome back roley-poley!

The Cat
16 Dec 2005, 07:14
Lachlan Veale has signed with Shepp Swans according to todays shepp news.

FOOTYBOSS
16 Dec 2005, 07:19
I know what ya saying FOOTYBOSS . . . there will always be arguments for and against - guess the same can be said for the guy who wore #40 christ Ive just forget his name Chris . . .
There sure will be since they lost the grand final. Chris Obrien is the guy your thinking of. Very stiff to miss out.

Doona2
16 Dec 2005, 08:17
Lachlan Veale has signed with Shepp Swans according to todays shepp news.

SWANS COUP

By Wes Cusworth
December 16 2005
Shepparton News

Shepparton Swans have landed a massive recruiting coup with former Hawthorn draftee Lochlan Veale attracted to the Goulburn Valley Football League club for next season.
Veale, selected at pick number 65 in the 2002 National Draft, has since experienced a roller-coaster ride after being off-loaded to Western Bulldogs in the complicated three-way `Veale deal' that opened the way for Jade Rawlings to become a Bulldog.

Veale will be joined at the Swans by Belconnen stars Jared Ilett and Luke White, the former a best and fairest winner in both the Canberra and Darwin competitions in the same year.

President Robyn Knaggs was ecstatic at his club's signings, as much about the quality of people the Swans have sought out, as what the trio would bring to its playing list.

"We're not into throwing enormous amounts of money at football nomads," Knaggs said.

"All three guys are good people, solid citizens, and coming to live and work in Shepparton."

Veale played this season with Werribee in the VFL after enduring a battle with osteitis pubis in 2004 and had another injury-plagued season this year courtesy of recurring hamstring problems.

"I've been pretty impressed with what I've seen of Goulburn Valley football and I'm very excited about making the move," Veale said yesterday as he finalised preparations for his migration north this weekend.

"I'm keen to put all the injuries behind me and to play some good football."

Coach Jarrod Sutherland remained pragmatic about his latest trio of signings, acknowledging the need to build player stocks as being critical in the Swans' efforts to see some post-season action.

"We're happy with the way things are going," Sutherland said.

"We were a bit light on last season and needed to recruit some key position players.

"Our most immediate aim is to make the finals and see how we go from there.

"But a lot of clubs have recruited well, so you can't just expect that by recruiting good players you're going to win the flag."

With a long-term view for football administration, Veale is moving to the Goulburn Valley to take up a traineeship as a football development officer with the GVFL.

Administered by Football Victoria and the GVFL, Veale will undertake a fouryear university degree in sports administration set to benefit the broader Shepparton football community.

"I definitely want to get into the other side of football, like coaching," Veale said.

"I've seen the different levels of football and come up through the Geelong Falcons, so I'd like to be involved with an organisation like the Murray Bushrangers one day."

LOBSTER
16 Dec 2005, 08:46
you've got more hope of Schapelle Corby coming home next week than Nick Carter playing for Rochester in 2006. Yes he's good mates with all the above mentioned, but that's it. 2007 - yeah he could be in the loddon valley league too, he has some good mates out there!

As for shepp bears, we'll they've been off my xmas list since thirds guns like Pete Marshall and Nick Price left the club...... But theyr'e still infront of Shepp Swans, what a seedy mob they are!
I never said he would play there mate. I just stated if he did he would kill them in the gvfl.

HJ32
16 Dec 2005, 08:52
I never said he would play there mate. I just stated if he did he would kill them in the gvfl.

fair call

HJ32
16 Dec 2005, 08:58
SWANS COUP

By Wes Cusworth
December 16 2005
Shepparton News

Shepparton Swans have landed a massive recruiting coup with former Hawthorn draftee Lochlan Veale attracted to the Goulburn Valley Football League club for next season.
Veale, selected at pick number 65 in the 2002 National Draft, has since experienced a roller-coaster ride after being off-loaded to Western Bulldogs in the complicated three-way `Veale deal' that opened the way for Jade Rawlings to become a Bulldog.

Veale will be joined at the Swans by Belconnen stars Jared Ilett and Luke White, the former a best and fairest winner in both the Canberra and Darwin competitions in the same year.

President Robyn Knaggs was ecstatic at his club's signings, as much about the quality of people the Swans have sought out, as what the trio would bring to its playing list.

"We're not into throwing enormous amounts of money at football nomads," Knaggs said.

"All three guys are good people, solid citizens, and coming to live and work in Shepparton."

Veale played this season with Werribee in the VFL after enduring a battle with osteitis pubis in 2004 and had another injury-plagued season this year courtesy of recurring hamstring problems.

"I've been pretty impressed with what I've seen of Goulburn Valley football and I'm very excited about making the move," Veale said yesterday as he finalised preparations for his migration north this weekend.

"I'm keen to put all the injuries behind me and to play some good football."

Coach Jarrod Sutherland remained pragmatic about his latest trio of signings, acknowledging the need to build player stocks as being critical in the Swans' efforts to see some post-season action.

"We're happy with the way things are going," Sutherland said.

"We were a bit light on last season and needed to recruit some key position players.

"Our most immediate aim is to make the finals and see how we go from there.

"But a lot of clubs have recruited well, so you can't just expect that by recruiting good players you're going to win the flag."

With a long-term view for football administration, Veale is moving to the Goulburn Valley to take up a traineeship as a football development officer with the GVFL.

Administered by Football Victoria and the GVFL, Veale will undertake a fouryear university degree in sports administration set to benefit the broader Shepparton football community.

"I definitely want to get into the other side of football, like coaching," Veale said.

"I've seen the different levels of football and come up through the Geelong Falcons, so I'd like to be involved with an organisation like the Murray Bushrangers one day."

hmmm good recruiting done by the Swans. I wonder if Robin is having a dig at some other clubs in the comp?

GVFLFAN
16 Dec 2005, 09:44
Can someone post the Saad Saad article from the shep news!!! pretty stiff not to be rookied but he hates training and isn't the fittest bloke in the world so that may of cost him in the end!!!

tige19
16 Dec 2005, 10:14
Knew Lochy was going to Swans 2 months ago, i think i might have even posted it. A bit of shifty work there from Swans because it seems to me as if the GV admin are helping them out with recruiting. There would be no chance of a Benalla boy getting a gig with the GV would there??.

Shepp will need a crap load more than Lochy to be any good, from memory i dont think he played a senior VFL game. A good pick up none the less, should get supporters and sponsors behind the club a bit more.

cheers

TuskenRaider
16 Dec 2005, 10:58
hmmm good recruiting done by the Swans. I wonder if Robin is having a dig at some other clubs in the comp?
You would hope not, otherwise she is using selective memory. But that wouldn't surprise me given a lot of people's football memories only span one or two seasons.

Money Hungry
16 Dec 2005, 12:11
i would love to find out the name of you mate. how long since you have seen or played against this kid?? when he was playing footy for benalla he was a 15 or 16 year old kid times have changed he will be a very very good pick up for benalla dont you worry about that. please tell me mate who you are

Whats your obsession Sainta with No Heart? Why would you need to know who he is?? You got a relationship or something with "The Kid"? Just chill a little, not good for the hormone levels

No heart was only stating a fact.

Grimmett
16 Dec 2005, 12:38
Saad to help with back-to-back bid

By Richard Goodbody

December 15 2005
Shepparton News

Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel believes Saad Saad will be in the Lions' ranks next year when they mount their bid for backto-back flags.
Saad, who was overlooked in Tuesday's AFL Pre-season Draft after attracting the interest of Essendon, recently issued a verbal agreement to Daniel and is expected to line up against Euroa in round one.

"He told me two days ago he's playing," Daniel said.

"I'm almost 100 per cent sure that he will.

"He's an excitement machine . . . and it's great that he'll be going around again."

After claiming a pulsating victory against Euroa in the Goulburn Valley Football League Grand Final last season, the Lions have been abnormally quiet on the recruiting front.

However, Daniel expected that would change in the coming weeks.

"We're speaking to a couple of boys at the moment," he said.

"I don't want to release any names, but I can tell you that one of them is a former Western Bulldogs-listed player.

"We're pretty confident that we'll lock a couple up.

"You've got to have a crack at back-to-back."

While premiership hero Patty Rattray recently announced he would be joining the Bendigo Bombers next year, Daniel believes Matt Collins, who retired at the end of last season, is the only other member of the club's grand final side who will not be present next year.

"We tried to convince Rodney Van Reit and Robbie Douglas to have a go at it at VFL level, but they have opted to stay," he said.

"We also get Cameron Ramsey (who missed all of last season) back at centre half-forward and that's a huge bonus.

"He's like a new recruit for us and Joey Amad is going to go around again as well."

Fish8
16 Dec 2005, 12:42
can tell u that andrew taylor is going around for shepp next year after having a year off, if he is fit will be a huge bonus

Junkie
16 Dec 2005, 12:55
Whats your obsession Sainta with No Heart? Why would you need to know who he is?? You got a relationship or something with "The Kid"? Just chill a little, not good for the hormone levels

No heart was only stating a fact.

Wasn't No Heart that stated that champ.....I think you'll find EB was the one.

I sense another FBP alias:rolleyes:

slim18
16 Dec 2005, 15:16
Van Schiak would be an interesting one for Benalla. Could swear he was seen around uni here in Melbourne during the semester, if thats the case I'd have thought he'd stick around Melbourne.

he's back in benalla looking for work, saints are trying very hard to help him out.if they land him they will be a very tall side with porter,cooper and others. a lot of interest in him from o&m sides as well

Money Hungry
16 Dec 2005, 15:19
Wasn't No Heart that stated that champ.....I think you'll find EB was the one.

I sense another FBP alias:rolleyes:

Sorry Saint. I was wrong to get into you. :o

LOBSTER
16 Dec 2005, 15:23
any information on this jim taylor, lobster? where he comes from? what possie?
Im pretty sure he hails from montmorency. Thats where adamson is from, a very good onballer, tough, fit and very good skills. Can play up forward or down back as well.

LOBSTER
16 Dec 2005, 15:26
[QUOTE=Grimmett]Saad to help with back-to-back bid

"I don't want to release any names, but I can tell you that one of them is a former Western Bulldogs-listed player.

"We also get Cameron Ramsey (who missed all of last season) back at centre half-forward and that's a huge bonus.

QUOTE]
Wonder who the Western Bulldog player is. I wouldnt put high hopes on Cameron Ramsay coming back from a knee reconstruction.

just signed
16 Dec 2005, 16:42
How are you privy to this information Centrman?? Are you involved at the club or are you making this up?? If there are up to 20 gone can you please name them!

I think Centreman might be close to the mark here. You have the guys that are going to Congupna. Hickmott and possibly a few others to Rumba, Sam Ahmet to Shepp East, Steve Ash retired and I know there are a few more out there that are intending to leave and are in discussions with other clubs. Plus, kids that go to Uni. Barton to Shepp Swans. I think it willbe closer to twenty than 1!

just signed
16 Dec 2005, 16:45
[QUOTE=centreman]Which SA. There are two. Let's just say you can probably guess who it is. Glenn Archer is another one.

Archer is not going to Rushy. Wife is secretary or something like that and he will be playing with Shepp again.

Vaughany86
16 Dec 2005, 16:59
Just wondering if anyone knows if Josh Vick is returning to Kyabram? I was a team mate of his at St. Joeys in the GFL this year.

cosby
16 Dec 2005, 17:20
Just wondering if anyone knows if Josh Vick is returning to Kyabram? I was a team mate of his at St. Joeys in the GFL this year.
yes he is. bulked up a bit too.

Vaughany86
16 Dec 2005, 17:50
yes he is. bulked up a bit too.
Ha.. Just a little. Triceps the size of Tarrents!

spoke4923
16 Dec 2005, 19:37
Does anyone know how Nathan Gilliland went in the second half of the 05 season? I think he was playing at Euroa?

Sidey_87
16 Dec 2005, 21:14
Don't be surprised if the Seymour Forward Line next year reads as follows:

Saad Saad Saad

correctamundo! SS is bringing some cousins up to Kings Park
Why would they play a one man fowardline?

footyman
16 Dec 2005, 22:25
Knew Lochy was going to Swans 2 months ago, i think i might have even posted it. A bit of shifty work there from Swans because it seems to me as if the GV admin are helping them out with recruiting. There would be no chance of a Benalla boy getting a gig with the GV would there??.

Shepp will need a crap load more than Lochy to be any good, from memory i dont think he played a senior VFL game. A good pick up none the less, should get supporters and sponsors behind the club a bit more.

cheers I'm with you tige, basically by that article Lochlan Veale is going to play for the Swans because the GVFL were able to give him a job and get him into uni up there. And as you say, risky business because the same treatment wouldn't be given by the league to all clubs.

Yet another interesting "Veale Deal" this one I would suggest which has apparently gotten a few noses out of joint at opposition clubs.

bazlurhmann
18 Dec 2005, 04:01
It wont matter weather it is one man or three. Saad is a freak and seymour are very lucky to have kept him. He is goin to be fitter and hungrierthan he ever was. Look out GVFL backmen. Your in for a hard year.

bazlurhmann
18 Dec 2005, 04:15
[quote=Grimmett]Saad to help with back-to-back bid

QUOTE]
Wonder who the Western Bulldog player is. I wouldnt put high hopes on Cameron Ramsay coming back from a knee reconstruction.

Cameron Ramsey will play a mojor role at seymour. He showed in 2004 he is more than capable to take it to the best in the gv. he will be a massive inclusion into the side as will be a 100% fit ben bailey. bailey is capable of carving sides apart providng he gets fit.

Sidey_87
18 Dec 2005, 19:56
It wont matter weather it is one man or three. Saad is a freak and seymour are very lucky to have kept him. He is goin to be fitter and hungrierthan he ever was. Look out GVFL backmen. Your in for a hard year.
I could take saad one on one.

GVFLFAN
18 Dec 2005, 21:02
[QUOTE=Grimmett]Saad to help with back-to-back bid

QUOTE]

Brent Colbert!!! Not a big name and would be surprised if you have heard of him!!

bradrowe#32
18 Dec 2005, 21:49
do believe it is from the female side! Apparently the pressure has been also put on by the in-laws to make the trek to the grasshoppers burrow.

Don't let the door hit you on your way out.

footyman
18 Dec 2005, 22:11
Brent Colbert!!! Not a big name and would be surprised if you have heard of him!!
Interesting recruit. Saw plenty of him in the VFL over the past few seasons. Got his share of senior games but was on the bench for most of them. If it is him going up to the GV hopefully it works out well for him.

FOOTYBOSS
19 Dec 2005, 07:28
[quote=LOBSTER]

Cameron Ramsey will play a mojor role at seymour. He showed in 2004 he is more than capable to take it to the best in the gv. he will be a massive inclusion into the side as will be a 100% fit ben bailey. bailey is capable of carving sides apart providng he gets fit.
Ben Bailey will never be 100% fit. He is most injury prone player to ever walk onto a footy field. This is one man that will struggle to get through the year with out an injury occurring. Ramsay a very good player but you must have doubts on blokes coming back from kneee reconstructions.

Heard over the weekend that Karl Norman is no definate to play at moroopna next year. Even the coach Derek Hall has sated that he will believe it when he actually see norman come to training or even pull on a jumper.

Doona2
19 Dec 2005, 14:12
ROCHESTER MUSCLES UP

By Mark Brown
December 19 2005
Shepparton News

Rochester has secured its first blue chip recruit of the off-season, signing former Bendigo Bombers defender Elliot Bowen.
Tigers coach Dave Williams yesterday confirmed Bowen's arrival, saying the two parties had reached agreement late last week.

"We're rapt to get him," Williams said.

"He's a very impressive young kid who still has aspirations of playing at the highest level, so he'll come here with the attitude of trying to better himself."

Bowen, 23, has spent the past five seasons playing VFL football with the Bendigo Bombers/Diggers.

A key defender with good pace, Bowen had a breakthrough year with the Bombers in 2004, holding down centre half-back and claiming a top-10 finish in the club best and fairest.

A nagging back injury restricted him to just a handful of games this year.

Bowen, who originally hails from Dareton near Mildura, said he was looking forward to the challenge of playing Goulburn Valley football.

"Most people consider the GVFL the best football in country Victoria," Bowen said.

"A few of my mates have crossed to Rochester in the last couple of years and they all say it's a great club.

"Hopefully I'll get a full pre-season under my belt and we'll have a good year."Bowen, who stands about 190 cm and weighs 95 kg, is the latest in a growing line of former Bendigo-based VFL players who have made the trek east to the Tigers' den.

Bowen will join exBendigo teammates Daniel Schmidt, Michael Loughman and Clint Whitsed in the yellow and black.

Williams said the Tigers were also hopeful of luring back star on-baller Brenton Gray.

Gray crossed to Stanhope last season and helped lead the Lions to the Kyabram District Football League Grand Final.

"At this stage, the only bloke we'll lose is Nick Knight, who's gone to South Bendigo," Williams said.

"We're still talking to a couple from Melbourne and we're pretty happy with the way things are coming together."

Rochester lost this year's elimination final to eventual premier Seymour

TheFreakyPenguin
19 Dec 2005, 15:07
TheFreakyPenguin is now a member of the BigFooty community, welcome TheFreakyPenguin WOOP WOOP WOOP.

Duff Man
19 Dec 2005, 16:03
TheFreakyPenguin is now a member of the BigFooty community, welcome TheFreakyPenguin WOOP WOOP WOOP.
Nice entrance Pingu, and welcome to BF.

Heard that Digby Morell is considering playing GV next year. Said to be in discussion with Rochy & Benalla.

TheFreakyPenguin
19 Dec 2005, 16:17
TheFreakyPenguin thanks you Duff Man.

TheFreakyPenguin heard jarrod best is playing at Moroopna next year. Can anyone confirm this?

randallbone
19 Dec 2005, 17:34

Heard that Digby Morell is considering playing GV next year. Said to be in discussion with Rochy & Benalla.

Would be a very handy addition to both clubs. Rochy really needs at least another big guy with Sam Brennan doing the majority of the Ruck work. They could change at CHF and would cause a few headaches for GV backmen. Add an Oliver into this rotation and they could be very handy up forward.

It will be interesting to see what happens there. Benalla would have to have the inside running on securing his services you would think.

jmain14
19 Dec 2005, 18:03
Would be a very handy addition to both clubs. Rochy really needs at least another big guy with Sam Brennan doing the majority of the Ruck work. They could change at CHF and would cause a few headaches for GV backmen. Add an Oliver into this rotation and they could be very handy up forward.
are you suggesting digby would do some ruckwork if he were to play at rochy next year??

Wisper
19 Dec 2005, 19:20
are you suggesting digby would do some ruckwork if he were to play at rochy next year??

At 192cm and 97Kg I think he would be able to do some ruck work. Actually I think he could play where ever he wanted

Money Hungry
19 Dec 2005, 19:53

TheFreakyPenguin heard jarrod best is playing at Moroopna next year. Can anyone confirm this?

WOW

What an entrance! We welcome you Peng. Enjoy the festival atmosphere of BF.com:thumbsu:

Money Hungry
19 Dec 2005, 20:00
At 192cm and 97Kg I think he would be able to do some ruck work. Actually I think he could play where ever he wanted

:p Spot on.:p

Big Diggers will slaughter the GV. A gun of VFL and a handy AFL player. Only starting to hit his straps. This guy will make any team a premiership threat.

Whisper that Archard is not happy with Echuca, all his mates are signing with United and it is making the little onballer very unhappy. Will most likely stay though. But isnt happy.

Young Kahl Oliver from the Rochy Tigers is very keen for a big year. Feels he has been down the last couple and really wants to stamp his authority in the forward half. As previously said, if fit and firing will team up great with Digby Morrelovic.:eek:

randallbone
19 Dec 2005, 20:13

No doubt he would do some ruck work. Why wouldn't you use a guy with AFL experience in the Ruck? Couldn't see him playing as a forward only. What is the word on Ash Watson? Is there any chance of signing him at Rochy?

I think Rochy will be lucky to get him (Digby). Too expensive. Most likely he would want a gorilla a game. What is happening with the Rochy 2's? Willl they be cellar dwellers again?

GVFLFAN
19 Dec 2005, 20:30

Morrell already signed at the Bullants!!!

bradrowe#32
19 Dec 2005, 20:44
No doubt he would do some ruck work. Why wouldn't you use a guy with AFL experience in the Ruck? Couldn't see him playing as a forward only. What is the word on Ash Watson? Is there any chance of signing him at Rochy?

I think Rochy will be lucky to get him (Digby). Too expensive. Most likely he would want a gorilla a game. What is happening with the Rochy 2's? Willl they be cellar dwellers again?

They should definately improve with Tim Cottam coaching. There are a few reasons I think they'll be better: 1 - they are getting a few players back from district clubs like Elmore, Lockington; 2 - the seniors look like picking up a few which will mean a few players will have to drop down a level and 3 - the thirds, which made the finals the last two years, will come up to the ressies. There are a few quality players there.

I don't think they will make the finals, but at least they should be competitive.

Duff Man
19 Dec 2005, 20:50
When did he sign with Bullies GVFLFAN? A mate of mine reckons he spoke to him on the weekend and was interested in either Rochy or Benalla but was looking for 15 gorillas a year. This would work out at around $800 a game which is not unreasonable for someone like Diggers if my mate isn't pulling my chain.

Anyway, if he did play I'm with jmain14 (ie - no ruckwork for the big bald fella). I'd be sticking him up forward and have a bit of fun watching the opposition back six try and stop him. We never saw Mensch rucking did we.

TheFreakyPenguin
19 Dec 2005, 20:50
TheFreakyPenguin is excited to be here! He reads this thread often....

TheFreakyPenguin would like to know a bit of background on this Saad chap, where did he play before coming to seymour? What would he be on a game? How dose he fit in at the club? And most of all, TheFreakyPenguin would like to know why is there two of him???

Astra
19 Dec 2005, 21:03
who will rochy have running around in the 2s next year to help them improve?

No Heart
19 Dec 2005, 21:09
TheFreakyPenguin is excited to be here! He reads this thread often....

TheFreakyPenguin would like to know a bit of background on this Saad chap, where did he play before coming to seymour? What would he be on a game? How dose he fit in at the club? And most of all, TheFreakyPenguin would like to know why is there two of him???
Saad is an absolute gun when hes having a day out, and worth forking out the admission fee to go and see him.

Don't know what there paying him but hes worth every cent IMO. He doesnt drink but goes to just about all the functions and is very popular among the supporters.

If your lucky enough to see him have a blinder you will leave the ground with the words of the great Garry Brown ringing in your ear "how goods this bloke - geez he can play".

As for his name I think he was born in a cave and there was an echo in there!

HJ32
19 Dec 2005, 21:14
you forgot to add the GBrown laugh in there!

yep - Those dedicated BF readers will know the hype that saad has created from his loyal band of Seymour Henchman such as the FBP. ANY country football lover who hasnt seen him in action should make the trip up/over/down to Seymour when their local club has the bye and see him in action.

Duff Man
19 Dec 2005, 21:27
[Astra] who will rochy have running around in the 2s next year to help them improve?

Who cares. Even if they recruit a headless chook it would be more value than some of the duds they had running around for them in 2005! :cool:

bradrowe#32
19 Dec 2005, 21:33
[Astra] who will rochy have running around in the 2s next year to help them improve?

Who cares. Even if they recruit a headless chook it would be more value than some of the duds they had running around for them in 2005! :cool:

Now, now Duff Man. After the club lost 20+ players, the reserves team was basically thrown together with whoever they could find. Rather than forfeit, they never gave up, despite the massive floggings they would receive.

Have you ever had that feeling of going into a game where you know you would get absolutely pumped for 2 hours?

Astra
19 Dec 2005, 21:36
come on, who are they going to drop from last years team. now kighta has left to play in league about the same standard as the rochy 2s next year

Duff Man
19 Dec 2005, 21:48
Now, now Duff Man. After the club lost 20+ players, the reserves team was basically thrown together with whoever they could find. Rather than forfeit, they never gave up, despite the massive floggings they would receive.

Have you ever had that feeling of going into a game where you know you would get absolutely pumped for 2 hours?
I hear what your saying rowey, and I admire any club that has enough pride to field a side each week even though they know will get flogged. But the point is why are we talking about who will be running around in their 2's next year? They would need at least 10 blokes / young kids just to be competitive. And they would need another 10 to have a crack at the top 6 in the 2's.

Don't get me wrong, I admire their resolve but some of their 2's players this year made that fat f u c k e r Iain Hewittson look fit.

Bobby Beecroft
20 Dec 2005, 06:51

I would be suprised The FP given that the club he has played for during the last 2 seasons Doncaster has strengthened their Shepparton connection by another 4 for this coming season. He has been a real success down here, &
all indications are that he will remain with Doncaster.

fat back pocket
20 Dec 2005, 07:07
Saad is an absolute gun when hes having a day out, and worth forking out the admission fee to go and see him.

Don't know what there paying him but hes worth every cent IMO. He doesnt drink but goes to just about all the functions and is very popular among the supporters.

If your lucky enough to see him have a blinder you will leave the ground with the words of the great Garry Brown ringing in your ear "how goods this bloke - geez he can play".

As for his name I think he was born in a cave and there was an echo in there!

You must be a seymour fellow No Heart if you know what Gary Brown says!! It also tells me that you were never at a function yourself supporting the club because saad only rocked up to two functions and if you were there, you would know this. He was at post gf celebrations and presentation night. So you must have been like a lot of others who just rocked up when the good times were happening...typical.

Travvy43
20 Dec 2005, 08:20

I thought the same thing and i have read it on their website int eh past, i am sureof it. I do know that he was offered somewhere around $25k and a car to coach a Diamond Valley Side.

Travvy43
20 Dec 2005, 08:23
Diggers continues with Bullants

from carltonfc.com.au

Bullants General Manager Garry O’Sullivan was ecstatic that the Club has been able to retain one of the teams most consistent and valuable players.

“Digby was sensational this year, he is a quality player. We identified that earlier this year that we needed to recruit more quality VFL players to our list, and with Digby deciding to stay with the Club we are certainly heading in the right direction.” Gary said.

Morrell, who turned 26 earlier this month, joined Carlton at the end of the 2003 season as part of the exchange with the Kangaroos that saw Digby and David Teague join Carlton in exchange for Corey McKernan. He played 33 games for Carlton in two seasons, including 11 in 2005. Originally from West Perth, Digby was a Rookie List player with the Kangaroos before being elevated to the senior list in 2001.

Morrell played a major role in the resurgence of the Bullants in 2005 and is looking forward to continuing his career with the Bullants. “The Bullants have been very good to me over the past two seasons, and I am really looking forward to continuing my career with the team.” Morrell told carltonfc.com.au

“I have an excellent relationship with Barry Mitchell and everyone at the ‘Ants and that was a major reason behind me staying with the Club. I believe I can aid in the development of a number of the younger players at the Bullants including the Carlton players who will play for us on their way up to playing senior footy at Carlton.” Morrell said.

tige19
20 Dec 2005, 08:25
Brent Colbert to Seymour is no biggie, was probably the worst listed player at the Bulldogs in his time and struggled at VFL level. These days i would doubt a drop from the VFL to the GV is THAT much of a difference that he will come into the GV and dominate.

Would prefer a Gilliand to Colbert anyday of the week!!

wheelbarrow
20 Dec 2005, 08:43
Could anyone tell me if they remember a player called Cameron Gillet playing at United a few yeras ago.?

Rushy Tiger
20 Dec 2005, 08:52

Have also heard the Digby rumour. May also be chasing Ash Watson, an ex rochy boy delisted from north this year.

Rushy Tiger
20 Dec 2005, 09:00
Don't let the door hit you on your way out.

Cheer up rowey. I know the kid would leave a gaping hole in the side, those guys are a dime a dozen. But you have to follow ure heart! or ure d i c k!!!!

bradrowe#32
20 Dec 2005, 10:10
I hear what your saying rowey, and I admire any club that has enough pride to field a side each week even though they know will get flogged. But the point is why are we talking about who will be running around in their 2's next year? They would need at least 10 blokes / young kids just to be competitive. And they would need another 10 to have a crack at the top 6 in the 2's.

Don't get me wrong, I admire their resolve but some of their 2's players this year made that fat f u c k e r Iain Hewittson look fit.

We are talking about it because RandallBone asked about it. Pretty simple I would've thought.

bradrowe#32
20 Dec 2005, 10:12
Cheer up rowey. I know the kid would leave a gaping hole in the side, those guys are a dime a dozen. But you have to follow ure heart! or ure d i c k!!!!

Let's face it, that kid has serious issues. I mean, who breaks into the local swimming pool for a midnight swim?

TuskenRaider
20 Dec 2005, 10:50
Could anyone tell me if they remember a player called Cameron Gillet playing at United a few yeras ago.?
Around 97 or thereabouts, played CHF. Was in the interleague squad but don't remember if he made the final cut or not.

TheFreakyPenguin
20 Dec 2005, 11:07
Let's face it, that kid has serious issues. I mean, who breaks into the local swimming pool for a midnight swim?

TheFreakyPenguin likes breaking into his local swimming pool for midnight swims rowey. Does TheFreakyPenguin have issues Rowey?

:D

Travvy43
20 Dec 2005, 11:07
Lets get a bit of an ins and outs section going. People are talking left right and centre about who they have and who they have lost. Lets cobble them together. For example:

KYABRAM:
Outs
-Tim Watson
-Chris Atkins
-Corey Carver
-Trent Finn??

Ins
-Taylor
-Vick

MOOROOPNA:
Ins
-Aloi
-Connelly
-Norman
-Best???

Outs
-Singh

jmain14
20 Dec 2005, 12:36
apologies to whoever it was - randallbone I think - I had definitely underestimated digby's height and yeah he could definitely ruck in the gv if he were 192 cm's. that's taller than sammy - bet he wouldn't be able to drink as well as him though!!

in regards to ash he won't be at rochy next year unfortunately. will be at a vfl club or sanfl I would think. I believe he will be making his decision this week.

GV Man
20 Dec 2005, 13:17
Nothing wrong with that... the local pools are warmest at midnight

hank1
20 Dec 2005, 14:53
Believe the Jarrod Best to Mooroopna is spot on, very good mates woth the Campbells.

Short memories with the Rochy 2's, they knocked off all sides in the top 6 only last year when they had an influx of players into the ones. No reason why that couldnt happen again.

TuskenRaider
20 Dec 2005, 15:43
Short memories with the Rochy 2's, they knocked off all sides in the top 6 only last year when they had an influx of players into the ones. No reason why that couldnt happen again.
Exactly, it doesn't take much to change the fortunes of a twos side from year to year.

There's a lot of posters with short memories.

cosby
20 Dec 2005, 15:51
Lets get a bit of an ins and outs section going. People are talking left right and centre about who they have and who they have lost. Lets cobble them together. For example:

KYABRAM:
Outs
-Tim Watson
-Chris Atkins
-Corey Carver
-Trent Finn??

Ins
-Taylor
-Vick

think finny will probably stay at ky.

from what i've heard add to the outs...
ryan edwards
gareth oughton
michael orr
brett andison
andrew gill

cosby
20 Dec 2005, 15:58
Bombers will be without Atkins
By Richard Goodbody

December 20 2005
Shepparton News

Kyabram has resigned itself to the fact star on-baller and assistant coach Chris Atkins will not be returning to its ranks next season.
Atkins, who was one of the Bombers' prime movers last season, recently informed the club of his intentions to travel overseas throughout next season.

"Chris' departure is a big loss," Bombers coach Mark Adamson said yesterday.

"There's no doubt about that, but we've been kind of expecting it for a while now.

"We're looking at a few players to fill his playing assistant coach's role and hopefully we can lock someone up soon."

While Atkins and Tim Watson, who is returning to Montmorency, have departed the club over the offseason, the Bombers are hoping a number of their past stars will be back in their ranks by next season.

Josh Vick (St Joseph's) and Adam Courtney (Cobden) have already agreed to terms, while David Newman, Steve Harris and Josh Dicketts have also been thrown up in discussions.

"I would think out of those three Dave is the best chance of returning," Adamson said.

"We're confident he's going to come back.

"But unless you've got their signatures on paper, you never like to say too much."

The Bombers narrowly missed making the Goulburn Valley Football League finals last season after Rochester nudged them out of sixth position on

Travvy43
20 Dec 2005, 16:05

ryan edwards
gareth oughton
michael orr
brett andison
andrew gill

Daniel Kent actually is another one.
I think ky are dreaming if they think they can lure Dave Newman back in 2006

cosby
20 Dec 2005, 16:14
where's kenny goin travvy?

randallbone
20 Dec 2005, 17:07

Again, a result of getting pumped every week. Blokes that are getting dragged out to play on a Saturday, knowing what is most likely going to happen, are not going to train. Rochy has done well securing the services of Tim Cottam this year so early. They have been known to wait for someone to put their hand up for the 2's job and then you get what you get.

In 2004 these guys only missed the finals by 1 game. With a bit of fitness and some more numbers anything could happen.

Astra
20 Dec 2005, 19:07
Again, a result of getting pumped every week. Blokes that are getting dragged out to play on a Saturday, knowing what is most likely going to happen, are not going to train. Rochy has done well securing the services of Tim Cottam this year so early. They have been known to wait for someone to put their hand up for the 2's job and then you get what you get.

In 2004 these guys only missed the finals by 1 game. With a bit of fitness and some more numbers anything could happen.

where are the number going to come from as half the 3rds played two games a week for the last 3 or 4 games.

Wayne Weideman
20 Dec 2005, 19:59
apologies to whoever it was - randallbone I think - I had definitely underestimated digby's height and yeah he could definitely ruck in the gv if he were 192 cm's. that's taller than sammy - bet he wouldn't be able to drink as well as him though!!

in regards to ash he won't be at rochy next year unfortunately. will be at a vfl club or sanfl I would think. I believe he will be making his decision this week.

jmain i will see you on the bus to phillip island. got some corker jokes and i may bring along MARISSA - keep on punching

Wayne Weideman
20 Dec 2005, 20:12
heard a strong rumour that Ryan Connauton had been asked to be Dirty's assistant for season 06'. if this is true i believe this would be a kick in the guts for either Chris Rourke or Lenny Schmidt. both men have been at the club for three years and have both adapted well to dirty's coaching style

HJ32
20 Dec 2005, 20:52
heard a strong rumour that Ryan Connauton had been asked to be Dirty's assistant for season 06'. if this is true i believe this would be a kick in the guts for either Chris Rourke or Lenny Schmidt. both men have been at the club for three years and have both adapted well to dirty's coaching style

Thats interesting becuase i'd heard that Ryan was heading back to south bendigo. maybe this is one of Dirty's old 'keep em at rochy' tactics. I dont think Smiddy would be too shattered if he wasnt assistant coach, but yeah maybe rourkey will be upset, esp after not taking up the Colbo senior job.

Astra
20 Dec 2005, 21:08

:confused: Dunno about that, heard he had pen poised to sign at Sth Bgo for BIG BUCKS so keep an eye on the local over the next week.

Travvy43
21 Dec 2005, 08:15
where's kenny goin travvy?

I did hear that he was considering playing footy somewhere in Melbourne in 06.

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 09:47
I did hear that he was considering playing footy somewhere in Melbourne in 06.

Hi all The Chad is now online. Just a quick shout out to The Fan who is always first with all up to date knowledge on the happenings at the Kyabram Football Club.

The Fan
21 Dec 2005, 10:57
Hi all The Chad is now online. Just a quick shout out to The Fan who is always first with all up to date knowledge on the happenings at the Kyabram Football Club.

Interesting take there "CHAD". Being an old Tonny Follower you get to know a lot about the happenings of Tonny, Kyabram and surroundings. I am sure Travvy43 would agree??

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 11:27
Interesting take there "CHAD". Being an old Tonny Follower you get to know a lot about the happenings of Tonny, Kyabram and surroundings. I am sure Travvy43 would agree??

C'mon "The Fan" If I barracked for Tonny would I have done what I did to them earlier in the year.

Junkie
21 Dec 2005, 11:41
C'mon "The Fan" If I barracked for Tonny would I have done what I did to them earlier in the year.

And what was that knackers???

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 11:58
And what was that knackers???

Absolutely nothing.. Just trying to get the scent of who I am off my true identity

GV Man
21 Dec 2005, 11:59

ryan edwards
gareth oughton
michael orr
brett andison
andrew gill

What about Mansfield...? They have lost a few and I have heard a rumor that Stevenson is retiring (at the ripe old age of 27 or there abouts)

Have kept Trewella though.

Junkie
21 Dec 2005, 12:05
Absolutely nothing.. Just trying to get the scent of who I am off my true identity

No one cares who you are.....you just sound like some paranoid bong head.

Travvy43
21 Dec 2005, 12:33
What about Mansfield...? They have lost a few and I have heard a rumor that Stevenson is retiring (at the ripe old age of 27 or there abouts)

Have kept Trewella though.

When stevenson played against us he looked like an old man, it seemed he played injured a number of times last year. Good player when fully fit though.

Anyone know if both hottons are lining up agian.

GV Man
21 Dec 2005, 12:33
No one cares who you are.....you just sound like some paranoid bong head.

he's right Chady boy, we're not here to try and work out your identity... just talk a bit of footy....

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 13:07
he's right Chady boy, we're not here to try and work out your identity... just talk a bit of footy....

Mansfield will still be pretty strong if they keep the Hotton boys there. A plus side that they've got which not many other sides in the GV have is a distinct home ground advantage. When the 50m lines actually run into the centre square. It takes alot of getting used to and obviously they've learnt to play the ground quite well. Top 6 for sure but probably not as good as in previous years as Mensch on the move. Spoke to Fraser after the year finished an was unsure what he was doing. Lives in Melbourne so does make quite a trek down every week whether that had to do with any of his soft tissue injuries he recieved during the year is debatable

Money Hungry
21 Dec 2005, 13:20
Mansfield will still be pretty strong if they keep the Hotton boys there. A plus side that they've got which not many other sides in the GV have is a distinct home ground advantage. When the 50m lines actually run into the centre square. It takes alot of getting used to and obviously they've learnt to play the ground quite well. Top 6 for sure but probably not as good as in previous years as Mensch on the move. Spoke to Fraser after the year finished an was unsure what he was doing. Lives in Melbourne so does make quite a trek down every week whether that had to do with any of his soft tissue injuries he recieved during the year is debatable

Well looks like Bong Head is starting to make a little sense. I dont know though if Big Fraser would be speaking to the likes of you though? Doesnt he have a job??

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 13:28
Well looks like Bong Head is starting to make a little sense. I dont know though if Big Fraser would be speaking to the likes of you though? Doesnt he have a job??

Frase works as a personal trainer in Melb so if that classifies as a job then yes he does have one. I don't know about Big Fraser though. Last time I checked he's still quite small? Did he suddenly have a growth spurt?

GV Man
21 Dec 2005, 13:53

Agree with you there... no doubt about the home ground advantage... have some doubt about the culture of the place though... They can some damn good footy but how will they handle a player like Mensch (and possibly Stevenson) leaving?? More preassure on locals... how will they respond?

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 14:04
Agree with you there... no doubt about the home ground advantage... have some doubt about the culture of the place though... They can some damn good footy but how will they handle a player like Mensch (and possibly Stevenson) leaving?? More preassure on locals... how will they respond?
The culture I feel there is pretty good. The whole town gets around them and are very generous with there time after games in supporting there own club and also opposition clubs. It's alot better than say Shepp United. It will be interesting how a few of the young local boys will stand up. You already know thay players like Matty Storer and Matty Trewhella will be able to handle it but the rest I'm not to sure..

MAXIMUM_POWER
21 Dec 2005, 14:35
... Whisper that Archard is not happy with Echuca, all his mates are signing with United and it is making the little onballer very unhappy. Will most likely stay though. But isnt happy ...

CHAD, good to hear from you, any comment on this little one?