View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 13:38
CHAD, good to hear from you, any comment on this little one?

From what I'm led to believe rumoured to be happy to stay at Echuca for the upcoming year but wasn't entirley impressed the way the club have dealt with a few things recently. Next year something may happen with a few friends from around the place returning tro the fold

TuskenRaider
21 Dec 2005, 14:03
What about Mansfield...? They have lost a few and I have heard a rumor that Stevenson is retiring (at the ripe old age of 27 or there abouts)
Fraser Stevenson is more like 30 and i'd say turning 31 in 2006.

TheFreakyPenguin
21 Dec 2005, 14:04
TheFreakyPenguin is back!!

And he has some amazing news.........

Did you Know that dolplins are the only other mamals besides humans that have sex for fun.

TheFreakyPenguin didn't know this!

Grimmett
21 Dec 2005, 14:10
Fraser Stevenson is more like 30 and i'd say turning 31 in 2006.

Turns 30 in May next year.

TuskenRaider
21 Dec 2005, 14:57
Turns 30 in May next year.
My mistake.

jmain14
21 Dec 2005, 19:21
jmain i will see you on the bus to phillip island. got some corker jokes and i may bring along MARISSA - keep on punching
ha ha no worries moose weideman. heard on the wénd that crocky's cricket name for the trip will be ikeepmyteethinajarbesidethebed after the little indescretion he had with heata on gf day. rumours are that danny lavery now has a nice little pad in las vegas as a consequence of the funds he received from heata for crocky's bill.

smellingsmoke
21 Dec 2005, 19:32
long time reader frist time poster.

jmain14 you seem to know bit about whats going on in the gv and up around rochy way.

who are some of the arrivals that mr williams has pulled so far.

CHAD10
21 Dec 2005, 21:49
heard girgarre offered archard and a few other efc boys big coin. Not sure if RA would drop back to that level but we are talking very big dollars. If efc lose these 3 or 4 would hurt the club quite a bit.

GV Man
22 Dec 2005, 06:38
long time reader frist time poster.

jmain14 you seem to know bit about whats going on in the gv and up around rochy way.

who are some of the arrivals that mr williams has pulled so far.

Excuse my butting in smoky, but I have a mate at Rochy and apparently Elliot Bowen committed himself. Former Bendigo Bomber and good mates with Lenny Schmidt. Apparently another of Lenny's mates is also in pipeline but not sure of any details....

Seems like Lenny has been very good for Rochy, after bring Whitsed and Loughman to the club last year

hank1
22 Dec 2005, 06:53
heard girgarre offered archard and a few other efc boys big coin. Not sure if RA would drop back to that level but we are talking very big dollars. If efc lose these 3 or 4 would hurt the club quite a bit.

Also heard Echuca United offered him ludicrous money, I'm talking over $2000 a game, but he knocked it back. Echuca United must have a packet over money over there.

CHAD10
22 Dec 2005, 07:29
Excuse my butting in smoky, but I have a mate at Rochy and apparently Elliot Bowen committed himself. Former Bendigo Bomber and good mates with Lenny Schmidt. Apparently another of Lenny's mates is also in pipeline but not sure of any details....

Seems like Lenny has been very good for Rochy, after bring Whitsed and Loughman to the club last year

GV Man, I'm led top believe Mark Brown (Coached Numurkah last year) is high on their wish list. He recently just moved to Echuca with his girlfriend who is a teacher there. She is an ex-Rochy girl and has said that she would like to go back Rochester and play netball. I know Echuca is also trying quite hard to get his services. Interesting to see who gets there man because both sides play each other round 1.

CHAD10
22 Dec 2005, 07:31
Also heard Echuca United offered him ludicrous money, I'm talking over $2000 a game, but he knocked it back. Echuca United must have a packet over money over there.

I'm not to sure whether that is true. What I heard is that Heritage sent him an email asking what it would cost for him to come across and he wrote jokingly wrote back $2,000. I'm pretty sure they never came back to him after.

GV Man
22 Dec 2005, 07:50
GV Man, I'm led top believe Mark Brown (Coached Numurkah last year) is high on their wish list. He recently just moved to Echuca with his girlfriend who is a teacher there. She is an ex-Rochy girl and has said that she would like to go back Rochester and play netball. I know Echuca is also trying quite hard to get his services. Interesting to see who gets there man because both sides play each other round 1.

Chad, that sounds right. Elliot signing as Rochy would have to make Rochy slight favourites to get him, as they would have played together at Bendigo i would imagine....

Will be interesting...

Doona2
22 Dec 2005, 08:17
HALOED BE THY NAME

by Richard Goodbody
December 22 2005
Shepparton News

Benalla's off-season recruiting spree has landed former Carlton and Kangaroos ruckman Mark Porter.

Porter, who played 110 senior games during his eight-year AFL career, joins former Murray Bushrangers skipper John Shiels and Nathalia premiership star Brett Vallender as the latest big-name signing to join the Saints.

"We're absolutely rapt," Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane said.

"There's no doubt we needed a ruckman and now we've got a damn good one in Mark.

"Brett Cooper did a terrific job for us last year, but we needed someone who could compete against the likes of Shane Schottner, Jarrod Sutherland and Paul Kirby."

With Porter and Vallender already stitched up, the Saints now boast one of Goulburn Valley Football League's most fearsome spines.

Last year, former Western Bulldogs spearhead Ricky Symes booted more than 100 goals, while skipper Mark McKenzie is widely regarded as one of the competition's premier centre half-forwards.

However, in an ominous warning to the rest of the league, MacFarlane yesterday indicated that the Saints' recruiting was far from finished.

As expected, MacFarlane is currently in discussions with former player Brendan Van Schaik following the 19-year-old's recent delisting by Melbourne.

"There's no doubt that we're talking to Brendan," MacFarlane said.

"But I know that a number of clubs are.

"From our perspective, we'd love him to come home.

"We'd be looking pretty good if we had a couple of guys who were six foot five or six running through the middle of the ground."

After being recruited by Carlton in 1996, Porter was elevated from its rookie list the following year before representing the Blues on 55 occasions.

At the end of 2001, however, he was traded to the Kangaroos, where he played a further 55 games.

The 29-year-old is the second former Kangaroo to sign with the Saints in as many seasons.

Last year, Benalla pulled off the recruiting coup of the year when it snared inspirational leader Anthony Stevens.

Porter spent last season with North Ballarat in the VFL.

just signed
22 Dec 2005, 09:23

His girlfriend works at the Riv Herald and is very keen to play netball back at Rochy, has played in the last two premierships at Rushworth. Skunk Brown is a very good chance of playing at Rochester next year, and unless Echuca have thrown a shirt load of money at him since i last talked to him, they are no chance of getting him. Has said all along that it is either Numurkah or Rochester.

CHAD10
22 Dec 2005, 09:27
His girlfriend works at the Riv Herald and is very keen to play netball back at Rochy, has played in the last two premierships at Rushworth. Skunk Brown is a very good chance of playing at Rochester next year, and unless Echuca have thrown a shirt load of money at him since i last talked to him, they are no chance of getting him. Has said all along that it is either Numurkah or Rochester.

I doubt that Echuca would be throwing heaps at him, not that I don't think that he's worth it, but Echuca just seem to be happy picking up a few here and there and relying alot on their juniors and current players like Durie, Archard, Butler, Prendergast, Maddox etc. I've got no doubt Rochy will sign and will make that side a very good one come september.

David Johnston
22 Dec 2005, 09:42
Mark Porter to Benalla: CONFIRMED

just signed
22 Dec 2005, 09:43
I doubt that Echuca would be throwing heaps at him, not that I don't think that he's worth it, but Echuca just seem to be happy picking up a few here and there and relying alot on their juniors and current players like Durie, Archard, Butler, Prendergast, Maddox etc. I've got no doubt Rochy will sign and will make that side a very good one come september.

The Rochy forward line would start to look good. Oliver, McPhee, Brown and Whitsed as the tall options. Bit like in 99 when they won the flag and had Williams, Miller, McPhee and Rasmussen.

Grimmett
22 Dec 2005, 09:43
Hope Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane doesn't read the Ballarat Courier. It has today reported that Mark Porter is moving to Benalla in 2006 as coach.
It has been widely acknowledged in this thread for quite a while that Porter was playing with Benalla next year yet even when the new is officially announced the local paper of his current club still gets it wrong. Is it any wonder people use internet forums.

On The Money
22 Dec 2005, 10:27
The Rochy forward line would start to look good. Oliver, McPhee, Brown and Whitsed as the tall options. Bit like in 99 when they won the flag and had Williams, Miller, McPhee and Rasmussen.

You reckon the Tigers are a real top 3 chance Just Signed? Or do you reckon they need a couple of more to be in the mix. Benalla, Euroa, Seymour, Shepparton are some lists that look mighty strong.

pekay-norwest
22 Dec 2005, 11:02
The Rochy forward line would start to look good. Oliver, McPhee, Brown and Whitsed as the tall options. Bit like in 99 when they won the flag and had Williams, Miller, McPhee and Rasmussen.I love it when you lot mention 99 GF-still,to this date the best (and toughest)game of footy i've ever seen.And that forward line was red hot.Robbie Miller wasnt it? How many games did he end up with at Rochy?Or still going?

just signed
22 Dec 2005, 11:55
You reckon the Tigers are a real top 3 chance Just Signed? Or do you reckon they need a couple of more to be in the mix. Benalla, Euroa, Seymour, Shepparton are some lists that look mighty strong.

Fair bit off top 3 I would think. They lose McCarty for most of the year and definitely need some more bigger bodies through the midfield. Have some excellent young footballers coming through but would still need to get busy with recruiting. I don't think Shepp are looking that good though. Rochy will make the top 6.

just signed
22 Dec 2005, 11:58
I love it when you lot mention 99 GF-still,to this date the best (and toughest)game of footy i've ever seen.And that forward line was red hot.Robbie Miller wasnt it? How many games did he end up with at Rochy?Or still going?

Robbie would have played over 200 games and was the best footballer that i ever saw play in the GV. The guy was an absolute freak. Finished playing 4 or 5 years a go I think, knees and shoulders were no good. That year, Rochy had 4 blokes kick over 70 goals for the year.

Duff Man
22 Dec 2005, 13:05
Originally posted by just signed
Fair bit off top 3 I would think. They lose McCarty for most of the year and definitely need some more bigger bodies through the midfield. Have some excellent young footballers coming through but would still need to get busy with recruiting. I don't think Shepp are looking that good though. Rochy will make the top 6.

Think you may be right about shepp there js.

Have heard that Nathalia have approached Jezza Obrien for the vacant coaching position. Would seem a bit strange given he works for the league, but then again i don't see that he has an obligation to play for a GV club just because of that.

Doona2
22 Dec 2005, 14:08
Have heard that Nathalia have approached Jezza Obrien for the vacant coaching position. Would seem a bit strange given he works for the league, but then again i don't see that he has an obligation to play for a GV club just because of that.

The GV job shouldnt make any difference to O'Brien's thinking. Still cant believe Nathalia haven't got a coach.

bazlurhmann
22 Dec 2005, 14:13
any news on how eric bottom has been goin. i havent seen a day from him for a while.:)

Doona2
22 Dec 2005, 14:15
any news on how eric bottom has been goin. i havent seen a day from him for a while.:)

I think Mr. Bottom might be another Bobby McFerrin . . . . . one hit wonder!!!

GV Man
22 Dec 2005, 14:49
The GV job shouldnt make any difference to O'Brien's thinking. Still cant believe Nathalia haven't got a coach.

I wouldn't put my hand up to coach a side which just won a flag and then lost Nathan Gemmill (OS) who is an absolute gun and another on-baller to Benalla

Doona2
22 Dec 2005, 14:51
I wouldn't put my hand up to coach a side which just won a flag and then lost Nathan Gemmill (OS) who is an absolute gun and another on-baller to Benalla

Every club has players come and go - still sounds like a great challenge either way. Firstly to defend whats yours, and secondly to consolidate a list after several key player movements.

Duff Man
22 Dec 2005, 15:28
I guess thats why they would be keen to get Obrien. That would fill their coaching vacancy as well as boosting their on-ball stocks with Nathan heading os.

slim18
22 Dec 2005, 18:14
Benalla may miss out on Brendan Van Schaick. Heard Wang Rovers may have beaten them to him.

MAXIMUM_POWER
22 Dec 2005, 19:09
Hello

Wayne Weideman
22 Dec 2005, 19:13
ha ha no worries moose weideman. heard on the wénd that crocky's cricket name for the trip will be ikeepmyteethinajarbesidethebed after the little indescretion he had with heata on gf day. rumours are that danny lavery now has a nice little pad in las vegas as a consequence of the funds he received from heata for crocky's bill.

also heard on the grape vine that winny lavery bought herself a new built in home soloarium. look forward to seeing the results. also that Akky may have been diagnosed with a touch of tendernightas in his right hammy which is restricting his movement might need goofy oin standby

Eric Bottom
23 Dec 2005, 03:59
Ho Ho Ho! If there's one thing I love more than finals time, it’s not Christmas, it’s actually the Country Championships weekend – did I tell you we won that this year?

But anyhow, this year the GVFL Office had the greatest Christmas party ever! It was such a funny day …

9:00 AM

It’s Kris Kringle time and so I snuck in on Fitzy opening the gift I got him.

Uh oh! Fitzy is not impressed. I made the mistake last year of only getting him one box of chocolates but honestly, I thought 37 would be enough this year!

Jezza got me some magazine about tagging – Hustler I think it is called? It must be good because it comes in a plastic wrapper and the front is blacked out so nobody can read it for free at newsagencies.

9:02 AM

I am hiding under my desk from Fitzy. He is like King Kong (coming soon to a cinema near you) on a rampage. He is even angrier than when Shepparton got knocked out of the finals this year – he settled down a bit when we got Lachy Veale a job to help out the Swannies though, now just to get Shepp United a player.

4:45 PM

Still under the desk. I’m actually quite used to it now. Being holed up in a ball kind of reminds of my time hiding from the Charlie in ‘Nam.

4:46 PM

Realised I never went to ‘Nam.

4:47 PM

Realised I was thinking of Apocalypse Now starring Marlon Brando, Martin Sheen, Robert Duvall and that coloured man Laurence Fishburne.

Or was I thinking of Acropolis Now starring Nick Giannopoulos.

And who is Charlie? Eric is confused.

4:56 PM

I hope I’m on Santa’s ‘nice’ list this year

4:59 PM

Wow, I’ve thought a lot this hour.

6:00 PM

YEAH!!! Christmas Party time, f**k Fitzy, party, party, party!!!

10:00 PM

What? Santa isn’t real? Oh … that explains a lot!

10:02 PM

What? A Fat Back Pocket is here? No, I’m not letting him in!

10:03 PM

Oh, hello ladies! What? Did she just wish me a merry eczema? I don't have eczema!

10:05 PM

What? Why is everybody laughing at me? And why am I on the floor? Oh, I fell over

4:35 AM

Woah! My head is spinning, yet my feet keep tap, tap, tapping away. Those disco biscuits that Jezza was passing around have really pumped me up! If you ask me, I’d hardly call them a biscuit though, I mean, they didn’t even have choc-chips in them!

8:25 AM

My jaw hurts

11:00 AM

I can’t sleep, I better read bigfooty.com.

Anyway, a merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night. And remember, it’s the giving season, so find a lucky lady and give it to her – the Beat of the Heart in the Country, Eric Bottom.

HJ32
23 Dec 2005, 06:48
ha ha !

i can just imagine one of those parties happening at GV HQ

merry xmas eric!

TuskenRaider
23 Dec 2005, 07:08
[
I am hiding under my desk from Fitzy. He is like King Kong (coming soon to a cinema near you) on a rampage. He is even angrier than when Shepparton got knocked out of the finals this year – he settled down a bit when we got Lachy Veale a job to help out the Swannies though, now just to get Shepp United a player.

. [/FONT]
Nice! :D

Travvy43
23 Dec 2005, 07:39

Whispers circulating that Brendan Parker is contemplating staying in Melbourne to play next year. That would mean their two best players gone

football365
23 Dec 2005, 07:53
id say Ash is a better player than Nathan, or was the season before last, wouldnt think muchhas changed

Travvy43
23 Dec 2005, 07:54
By the way, another great dairy entry from Mr Bottom. He is a busy man

Fish8
23 Dec 2005, 08:06
andrew taylor to congupna
jezza o brien not coaching nathalia

T.Perry
23 Dec 2005, 08:18
Whispers circulating that Brendan Parker is contemplating staying in Melbourne to play next year. That would mean their two best players gone

Spoke to a good mate of Nath Gemmill's a couple of nights ago. Even though he's overseas at the moment, there's every indication that he's planning on coming back by the time the season starts. Definitely wouldn't count him out just yet.

The Cat
23 Dec 2005, 08:30
andrew taylor to congupna
jezza o brien not coaching nathalia
Taylor is a genuine loss. Didnt play 2005 but very solid in 2004 until injured.

Fish - whats the deal with Shadbolt? Whisper was he was thinking about going to Congupna as well.

Fish8
23 Dec 2005, 09:27
Taylor is a genuine loss. Didnt play 2005 but very solid in 2004 until injured.

Fish - whats the deal with Shadbolt? Whisper was he was thinking about going to Congupna as well.

Shadbolt has been in the gym and trying to get into shape. showed a lot late last year and can be a player. needs to work on mobility and fitness other than that he has some potentiol. has spoken to congupna, and is possibly trying gain a bit more coin. 50/50 as to whether he plays at shepp or congupna. congupna still need some markign forwards and he could fill that gap

HawkeEye
23 Dec 2005, 09:35
Shadbolt has been in the gym and trying to get into shape. showed a lot late last year and can be a player. needs to work on mobility and fitness other than that he has some potentiol. has spoken to congupna, and is possibly trying gain a bit more coin. 50/50 as to whether he plays at shepp or congupna. congupna still need some markign forwards and he could fill that gap

Shadbolt needs to learn how to kick for goal first.

Worst kick for goal ever.

bradrowe#32
23 Dec 2005, 09:40
Merry Christmas everyone. I'm outta here for awhile. Drive safely and drink responsibly (I'm looking in your direction HJ32).

See you at the footy in 2006.

centreman
23 Dec 2005, 10:40
Ho Ho Ho! If there's one thing I love more than finals time, it’s not Christmas, it’s actually the Country Championships weekend – did I tell you we won that this year?

But anyhow, this year the GVFL Office had the greatest Christmas party ever! It was such a funny day …

9:00 AM

It’s Kris Kringle time and so I snuck in on Fitzy opening the gift I got him.

Uh oh! Fitzy is not impressed. I made the mistake last year of only getting him one box of chocolates but honestly, I thought 37 would be enough this year!

Jezza got me some magazine about tagging – Hustler I think it is called? It must be good because it comes in a plastic wrapper and the front is blacked out so nobody can read it for free at newsagencies.

9:02 AM

4:45 PM

Still under the desk. I’m actually quite used to it now. Being holed up in a ball kind of reminds of my time hiding from the Charlie in ‘Nam.

4:46 PM

Realised I never went to ‘Nam.

4:47 PM

Realised I was thinking of Apocalypse Now starring Marlon Brando, Martin Sheen, Robert Duvall and that coloured man Laurence Fishburne.

Or was I thinking of Acropolis Now starring Nick Giannopoulos.

And who is Charlie? Eric is confused.

4:56 PM

I hope I’m on Santa’s ‘nice’ list this year

4:59 PM

Wow, I’ve thought a lot this hour.

6:00 PM

YEAH!!! Christmas Party time, f**k Fitzy, party, party, party!!!

10:00 PM

What? Santa isn’t real? Oh … that explains a lot!

10:02 PM

What? A Fat Back Pocket is here? No, I’m not letting him in!

10:03 PM

Oh, hello ladies! What? Did she just wish me a merry eczema? I don't have eczema!

10:05 PM

What? Why is everybody laughing at me? And why am I on the floor? Oh, I fell over

4:35 AM

Woah! My head is spinning, yet my feet keep tap, tap, tapping away. Those disco biscuits that Jezza was passing around have really pumped me up! If you ask me, I’d hardly call them a biscuit though, I mean, they didn’t even have choc-chips in them!

8:25 AM

My jaw hurts

11:00 AM

I can’t sleep, I better read bigfooty.com.

Anyway, a merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night. And remember, it’s the giving season, so find a lucky lady and give it to her – the Beat of the Heart in the Country, Eric Bottom.

Three cheers to Eric Bottom for another piece of BigFooty.com gold!!!!!!

arceri
23 Dec 2005, 11:17
i wonder whether benalla will deny they are spending huge coin this year.

porter, macfarlane, a and m. stevens, van schaik, symes etc..

surely nothing less than flag is acceptable.

other teams get bagged about spending, these blokes can't escape the limelight again..

bazlurhmann
23 Dec 2005, 11:47
benalla has to be throwing it around. u cant tell me that porter is playing for fun and to be pursuing players like micheal stevens and brendan van shaik. it cant come cheap. as well as what they would have to be paying big macca. i still dont think they will be premiership material. two players dont make a diference when the rest are no good.

bazlurhmann
23 Dec 2005, 11:51
Three cheers to Eric Bottom for another piece of BigFooty.com gold!!!!!!
good to see you back eric. long time no see. what a night u must have had. merry xmas to all and have a safe trip if u are travelling.

arceri
23 Dec 2005, 12:31
it just irks me that Benalla escapes the heat and say these blokes play for the fun of it..

Junkie
23 Dec 2005, 12:41
it just irks me that Benalla escapes the heat and say these blokes play for the fun of it..

Whats your problem with it? Why should there even be any 'heat' on them?

Are you $hitty cause you personally dont get paid, therefore no one should?

It is clear that to be competitive you need to attract some highly rated recruits, hence money must be spent unless you want to turn out like Tonny!

All you sooks worrying about what clubs spend should find something new to carry on about:rolleyes:

HJ32
23 Dec 2005, 12:43
junkie - im with you

everyone's doing it - so get over!

arceri
23 Dec 2005, 12:55
Mate, we get paid well down here and no problems with that and I'm no different.

Benalla seems immune to criticism though when they fail, that's my point. They also deny they spend while everyone else admits it.

Junkie
23 Dec 2005, 13:45
Mate, we get paid well down here and no problems with that and I'm no different.

Benalla seems immune to criticism though when they fail, that's my point. They also deny they spend while everyone else admits it.

How can anyone criticise a club for attracting quality players? If it’s in their means then good luck to them. If they roll over in 5 years time and fold then criticism should come thick and fast!

arceri
23 Dec 2005, 14:00
exactly, they did the same in the O and M and had to go to the GV.

Grimmett
23 Dec 2005, 18:51
exactly, they did the same in the O and M and had to go to the GV.

Which according to the vast majority who post in this thread would be a step UP in standard. No?
Hardly running away from having to pay players to be competitive. :confused:

Grandale
23 Dec 2005, 19:36
[Anyway, a merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night. And remember, it’s the giving season, so find a lucky lady and give it to her – the Beat of the Heart in the Country, Eric Bottom. [/FONT]

More gold from Ecka. Stay in touch big fella. You have become an integral part of this thread.

Zippa
24 Dec 2005, 12:12

I reckon these blokes play for alot less coin then what you would think, it is highly likely that the stevo's and shakker would play for fun and to be with friends and family more then money, not knowing porter i'm not sure what the go with him is, but from what i hear benalla spends less then most think, not many of its players dont have a connection with benalla and the local area....
so get over your little whinge you sook arceri

Travvy43
26 Dec 2005, 08:00
I'm not to sure whether that is true. What I heard is that Heritage Archard an email asking what it would cost for him to come across and he wrote jokingly wrote back $2,000. I'm pretty sure they never came back to him after.

Chad maybe you could clear this one that i heard yesterday about Archard, he has applied for a position with the Hong Kong Jokey Club, a good position, if successful he will be gone from Australian shores. This come from a publican in Echuca.

Doona2
26 Dec 2005, 18:49
Results from the GVFL coaches survey were published in today's Shepp News. Coaches weren't allowed to vote in favour of their own clubs.

Can't decide between gun pair

Goulburn Valley Football League coaches can't split Seymour full-back Jeff Anderson and his Mansfield counterpart Matt Trewhella.

The two gun defenders dominated voting in the The News' inaugural Coach's Questionnaire.

All 12 GVFL coaches were asked last week who they rated as the best defender in the competition.

Trewhella and Anderson both received the nod of approval from four coaches, while Seymour centre half-back Robbie Douglas picked up two gongs.

A third Seymour defender, Tim Hooper, received one vote as did former Shepparton coach Adrian Hickmott.

Heaps of talent to choose from

Goulburn Valley Football League has an embarrassment of riches when it comes to quality on-ballers, according to its 12 senior coaches.

The News' inaugural Coach's Questionnaire threw up no fewer than nine different candidates in the race to be crowned the competition's premier midfielder.

Opinion is divided when it comes to the league's best on-baller, with only Rochester's Chris McCarty, Mansfield's Fraser Stevenson and Shepparton centreman Matt Byers receiving multiple votes.

The trio received two votes each, with coaches also nominating Euroa pair Shane Clayton and Daniel Howse, Echuca duo Rhys Archard and Colin Durie, and Mansfield's Trent Hotton as the best midfielders in the GVFL.

Benalla's Brendan Stevens was also touted as the best on-baller in the competition.

Symes rated as best forward

Benalla spearhead Ricky Symes has edged out Seymour premiership hero Saad Saad as Goulburn Valley Football League's premier forward.

Five GVFL coaches rated Symes the best forward in the competition after he bagged 113 goals for the 2005 season.

Saad was nominated as the best forward by three coaches, while Kyabram star Paul Newman grabbed two votes.

Shepparton United centre halfforward Matt Forys and Mansfield's David Mensch also figured in the poll.

Deakin voted the league's best

Deakin Reserve is the best ground in Goulburn Valley Football League, according to a majority of senior coaches.

Six out of 12 GVFL coaches rated Deakin as the best venue in the competition, ahead of Tatura Park and Kyabram Recreation Reserve.

Tatura Park was rated by three coaches as the best in the league, while Kyabram grabbed two nominations.

Doona2
26 Dec 2005, 18:50
Tatura lures new Dogs

By Mark Brown
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Tatura appears certain to avoid a repeat of its lacklustre 2005 season after announcing a string of new recruits this week.

The Bulldogs - who have spent the past three months scouring the countryside in a desperate bid to rebuild their once powerful football side - have added five new names to their rapidly improving list, headlined by the return of dual premiership player Chris Tamburro.

Tatura coach Trav Ryan confirmed Tamburro had resumed training with the Dogs following a 12-month lay-off with injury.

"It's going to be great to get Chris back," Ryan said.

"He played in our '98 and 2003 premierships and is a very good player."

Joining Tamburro at Tatura Park next year will be Brett Pitts, Shannon Downey, Aaron Willoughby and Bryce Wellington, younger brother of Bulldogs skipper Linc.

Pitts is a 21-year-old on-baller who was a runaway winner of Hadfield's best and fairest award in Essendon District Football League last season.

Downey crosses to Tatura after a frustrating debut season with Benalla this year.

The polished half-back failed to play a game with the Saints due to a foot injury and will look to resurrect his career in the blue, red and white.

Willoughby is a rugged key defender who stands about 190 cm and has spent time at VFL club Coburg, while Wellington joins his older brother from Queensland club Labrador.

Wellington is a medium-sized forward who is capable of swinging through the midfield.

While considered a long-shot, the third Wellington brother, Matt, is also toying with the idea of signing at Tatura.

Ryan said he was pleased with the way the club's 2006 playing list was coming together.

"Things are definitely starting to look up," he said.

"We've managed to pick up five very handy players and if we can land two or three more before the season, we'll be well placed."

After contesting back-to-back Goulburn Valley Football League grand finals, Tatura lost a host of star players last season and slumped to 12th position.

Doona2
26 Dec 2005, 18:53
TIGER FEARS THE CASH COW

By Mark Brown
December 26 2005
Shepparton News

Long-time Rochester coach David Williams fears his club will be squeezed out of the Goulburn Valley Football League within three years unless something is done to rein in club spending.

Williams, who has stood at the Tigers helm for the past 14 seasons, made the disturbing claim while taking part in The News' inaugural Coach's Questionnaire.

"We won't be part of the GVFL in three years' time if things keep going the way they are," Williams said.

"That's just my own view.

"It's inevitable. If the spending continues like it has in this league, we will struggle to compete.

"Mansfield, for instance, had four ex-AFL players on their list this year and they didn't even play off (in the grand final)."

Speculation is rife that some of the more powerful GVFL clubs pay upward of $1000 a game for their marquee players.

Seven of the 12 senior GVFL coaches surveyed by The News believe that player payments have gotten out of hand.

Four denied that club spending has become too great, while one coach declined to answer.

The questionnaire, which was completed late last week, also asked if the league needed to implement a policy to reduce club spending.

Eight answered in the affirmative, while three said no.

"We could afford to slip down two or three elite players and still be considered the best league in the region," Williams said.

"If each team had three or four less elite players, we'd still be a higher standard league than the Murray (Football League) and we'd still attract players."

Mooroopna coach Derek Hall agreed.

"I think we're headed for a crash landing," Hall said.

"Clubs have to raise so much capital just to compete. Clubs are trying to out do each other by spending more and more money."

Williams said the GVFL needed to introduce the player points system as soon as possible as a way of combating spending.

His call was backed by six other GVFL coaches.

When asked if the player points system had merit, nine of the 12 coaches surveyed said yes.

That number dropped to seven when asked if the player points system should be introduced.

Two coaches said the system needed more investigation before it was implemented.

The GVFL has formed a working committee to explore the player points system, which works as an alternative to the now-defunct salary cap.

League chairman Ian Fitzsimmons said while player payments had jumped in recent years, he didn't believe they were out of control.

Fitzsimmons said the working committee was expected to report back to the league early next year on the player points system.

However, he said any changes were at least 12 months away.

"Nothing will happen next season," he said.

HOW THE PLAYER POINTS SYSTEM WORKS

Each club is permitted to spend as much or as little as it likes on player payments as long as it does not breach the maximum amount of points allocated to its side.

The league will determine a player's worth in points by using a number of contributing factors:

* All players receive a base level of one point.

* Additional point ratings between one and six are then distributed to players based on the level of competition they have played.

The higher the standard, the more points the player receives.

* Concessions will be made to players if they are returning to their home club.

* The longer a player stays at the one club, the less their point allocation becomes.

PLAYER69
26 Dec 2005, 22:00
Interesting read the past few articles!! The shep news has gone bananas with GVFL news today!!! Firstly, if they are the big name recruits that are supposed to save Tatura and bolster them to the powerhouse side they once were then i would'nt think any team would be worried about a bloke who hasn't played for a year, a bloke who one a junior, i mean div 2 essendon football team BNF and a bloke who may have been at coburg but no one would of heard of!!! What happended to these massive signings???? Would of expected at least one, if not 2 ex AFL players and the rest VFL players the way someone was talking on here!!!!

The article about the questionaire is interesting but i reckon this site could come up with a better list!!! Does anyone want to have a stab at the top 4 in each of these positions....

Full Back
Centre Half Back
Half Back Flank
Wing
Centre
Centre Half Forward
Tall Forward
Small Forward
Midfielders
Ruckman

This should keep you guys out there busy for some time!!! Would be interested to see the results!!! Cheers

Doona2
27 Dec 2005, 09:13
Clubs paying a high price for stars

Leading players in Goulburn Valley Football League are commanding up to $25 000 a season.

The king's ransom, which equates to almost $1400 a game, was revealed during a recent survey of all 12 GVFL senior coaches.

Coaches were asked what their clubs needed to spend in order to lure a marquee player as part of The News' inaugural Coach's Questionnaire.

While most answers ranged around the $15 000 mark for a single season, or about $800 a game, some went as high as $25 000.

The lowest figure was $10 000.

The response coincides with a call by a majority of GVFL coaches to rein in club spending.

Seven of the 12 GVFL coaches surveyed by The News believe that player payments have rocketed out of control.

Long-time Rochester coach David Williams said his club would be squeezed out of the competition within three years if spending in the GVFL continued at the current rate.

"It's inevitable. If the spending continues like it has in the league, we will struggle to compete," Williams told The News.

"That's just my own view."

The survey also revealed that more than half of the GVFL's 12 senior coaches want the player points system introduced as soon as possible.

The player points system works as an alternative to the now-defunct salary cap as a way of trying to limit club spending.

Doona2
27 Dec 2005, 09:17
Van Schaik's a Saint

By Richard Goodbody
December 27 2005
Shepparton News

Benalla's premiership odds were slashed dramatically yesterday after the club signed its second AFL player in as many weeks.

Brendan Van Schaik, who spent last season on Melbourne's rookie list, will join former North Melbourne and Carlton ruckman Mark Porter at the Saints next year after agreeing to terms at the weekend.

"We're absolutely stoked," Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane said.

"He's going to be a massive inclusion into our side.

"We targeted a few areas that we thought needed addressing and we think we've recruited well in those areas.

"And Brendan's the sort of player who we are looking at being around the club for at least three or four years."

The 19-year-old, who hails from Benalla, was selected with the 10th pick in the 2004 rookie draft, but was forced to look for a new home recently after the Demons offloaded him last month.

"It really is good news," MacFarlane said.

"I can't wait to see him play.

"He'll spend some time in the ruck and up forward, but the good thing about him playing at Sandringham last year is that he can also play down back.

"He'll give us some real versatility."

Since the Saints were bundled out of the premiership race in September, the club has been one of Goulburn Valley Football League's most active recruiters.

Not only have Van Schaik and Porter agreed to terms, but former Murray Bushrangers skipper John Shiels and Nathalia premiership star Brett Vallender will also be lining up at Benalla next year.

"We're pretty comfortable with where we are positioned at the moment," MacFarlane said.

"We've stitched up some quality players and now we'll sit back and wait.

"Hopefully (former Port Adelaide and North Melbourne onballer) Mick Stevens agrees to come on board, but that's a waitand-see proposition at the moment.

"He'd make us a real premiership contender."

Benalla begins its 2006 season against Mansfield on April 15.

Grandale
27 Dec 2005, 11:13
Interesting read the past few articles!! The shep news has gone bananas with GVFL news today!!! Firstly, if they are the big name recruits that are supposed to save Tatura and bolster them to the powerhouse side they once were then i would'nt think any team would be worried about a bloke who hasn't played for a year, a bloke who one a junior, i mean div 2 essendon football team BNF and a bloke who may have been at coburg but no one would of heard of!!! What happended to these massive signings???? Would of expected at least one, if not 2 ex AFL players and the rest VFL players the way someone was talking on here!!!!

Probably not in the Anderson/Douglas/Trewella class but Willoughby will be a very handy addition to the Doggies' backline. Hulk of a man that held down full-back in the star-studded Greenvale side of 2004. Also played a few years at Sunbury.
Think he actually goes out with a famous basketballer (at least he used to). Kristy Harrower I think it is.

tige19
27 Dec 2005, 13:31
Probably not in the Anderson/Douglas/Trewella class but Willoughby will be a very handy addition to the Doggies' backline. Hulk of a man that held down full-back in the star-studded Greenvale side of 2004. Also played a few years at Sunbury.
Think he actually goes out with a famous basketballer (at least he used to). Kristy Harrower I think it is.

Spot on Grandale, i think Willa has played about 60 or 70 senior VFL games and he is the one that is going out with Kristy.

Would probably take Willa over Douglas at this stage but Anderson and Trewella are probably a level above at the moment. Willa will be in the top 5 big backs next year. Lived next door to him since i was a young bloke and know he is super keen for a good year.

I think you will find that there are a few more good players to sign with Tat, a couple of big names as well.

In regards to Brett Pitts, the guy was playing in Darwin over the summer and had been in the best for top side Nightcliff i think 4 out of 6 games, he also was a Vic Ammo rep player 2 years back so dont worry he can play.

cheers

slim18
27 Dec 2005, 22:03
I reckon these blokes play for alot less coin then what you would think, it is highly likely that the stevo's and shakker would play for fun and to be with friends and family more then money, not knowing porter i'm not sure what the go with him is, but from what i hear benalla spends less then most think, not many of its players dont have a connection with benalla and the local area....
so get over your little whinge you sook arceri

Zippa,mate, Benalla are spending big bucks, put the warm and fuzzy things back into your pants. Their second string players are evacuating at a huge rate. What does that say. LOCAL KIDS ARE BEING TOLD THEY AREN'T GOOD ENOUGH. Benalla are falling for the short term gain and will pay the price in the next three years along with those others who spend other peoples money.

saints03
28 Dec 2005, 06:46
Zippa,mate, Benalla are spending big bucks, put the warm and fuzzy things back into your pants. Their second string players are evacuating at a huge rate. What does that say. LOCAL KIDS ARE BEING TOLD THEY AREN'T GOOD ENOUGH. Benalla are falling for the short term gain and will pay the price in the next three years along with those others who spend other peoples money.

Well i would like to know where you get your information from mate, but i can tell you right now benalla dont pay out as much as everone thinks. If you know so much who are all those players leavingthe club there wont be as many as ppl think. so when you write stuff on here make sure you no the facts first buddy

arceri
28 Dec 2005, 07:16
just as predicted on his forum last week, Benalla people denying they are spending up.

Yep, Porter, Stevens, Symes, McFarlane and Van Schaik are all playing for the love of it.

ECHUCABOY
28 Dec 2005, 07:54
just as predicted on his forum last week, Benalla people denying they are spending up.

Yep, Porter, Stevens, Symes, McFarlane and Van Schaik are all playing for the love of it.

Saints03 what are your thoughts on van Shaik..........Soft, retarded spastic are a few words that come to mind

GV Man
28 Dec 2005, 08:00
The article about the questionaire is interesting but i reckon this site could come up with a better list!!! Does anyone want to have a stab at the top 4 in each of these positions....

Full Back
Centre Half Back
Half Back Flank
Wing
Centre
Centre Half Forward
Tall Forward
Small Forward
Midfielders
Ruckman

This should keep you guys out there busy for some time!!! Would be interested to see the results!!! Cheers

Player69 - here is a start.... add/amend as you see fit

Full Back Trewella
Centre Half Back Anderson
Half Back Flank O'Keefe, Douglas,
Wing Storer
Centre Wellington
Centre Half Forward Newman, MacKenzie,
Tall Forward Symes, Forys
Small Forward
Midfielders Archard, McCarty, Hotton
Ruckman Schots

ECHUCABOY
28 Dec 2005, 08:05
Great to see the emergence of The CHAD, he has shown through his posts thus far that he will be a vauable inclusion to this thread!!

Just one little whisper chadley, heard from a few blokes that Donvale were getting maddox a job and he may be playing there. then again I've heard he is taking over gaylord Willos job as the Echuca do nothing admin officer??

Not to sure on that one.........

FOOTYBOSS
28 Dec 2005, 08:43
Full Back
Centre Half Back
Half Back Flank
Wing
Centre
Centre Half Forward
Tall Forward
Small Forward
Midfielders
Ruckman

Cheers
FULL BACK: Trewlla, Anderson, Shelton
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, KIng
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Chapman
CENTRE: Howse, Byers, A.Stevens
CHF: Hyatt, Whitsed
TALL FORWARD: Newman, Grainger, Symes, Mellington
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland
MIDFIELDERS: Stevenson, Archard, McCarty, Sage, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Kirby, Hotten, Schottner

PLAYER69
28 Dec 2005, 09:19
Does anyone want to have a stab at the top 4 in each of these positions....
4 in each position please Footyboss not 2 or 3 or 5!!! Pretty good at the moment your list!!! cheers

GV Man
28 Dec 2005, 09:24
Does anyone want to have a stab at the top 4 in each of these positions....
4 in each position please Footyboss not 2 or 3 or 5!!! Pretty good at the moment your list!!! cheers

and yours player69...?

Doona2
28 Dec 2005, 10:50

A fair Euroa presence their BOSS - no Janz??? Fair list all the same couldnt find many quality editions to add.

FOOTYBOSS
28 Dec 2005, 12:21
A fair Euroa presence their BOSS - no Janz??? Fair list all the same couldnt find many quality editions to add.
Well when they finish on the top of the ladder ist hard not to include so many.

PLAYER69
28 Dec 2005, 17:21
and yours player69...?
OK Here is Mine!!!
FULL BACK: Anderson, Shelton, Trewella, ???
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott, Forys, ???
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, King, Hammill
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Stott, Walker
CENTRE: Byers, Sage, Wellington, A.Stevens
CHF: Mellington, Singh, Hyatt, Roberts
TALL FORWARD: Symes, Grainger, Mensch, Newman
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland, ???
MIDFIELDERS: Archard, Hotten, Howse, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Schottner, Kirby, Jansz, Sutherland???

There are my selections!!! A lot of Euroa and Seymor but they did play off in a ripper Grand Final!!! What Do you guys think??? Who have i missed or who shouldnt be in there???

brian speaking
28 Dec 2005, 18:04
In regards to Brett Pitts, the guy was playing in Darwin over the summer and had been in the best for top side Nightcliff i think 4 out of 6 games, he also was a Vic Ammo rep player 2 years back so dont worry he can play.

cheers
Sorry mate, not the guy that played Ammos. His name is Murray Pitts. ex St Kilda and an ammo legend with Beaumaris

Wayne Weideman
28 Dec 2005, 20:05
confirmed. Ryan Connaugton who is currently playing at the rochy tigers will be 'dirty' williams new assistant coach for 2006'.

slim18
28 Dec 2005, 22:36
Well i would like to know where you get your information from mate, but i can tell you right now benalla dont pay out as much as everone thinks. If you know so much who are all those players leavingthe club there wont be as many as ppl think. so when you write stuff on here make sure you no the facts first buddy

Take off your red ,white and black glasses moron and tell the world about porters sign on fee and salary. Or aren't the second string not good enough people allowed to know.Thats why we are leaving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.Put up the facts yourself.

HawkeEye
29 Dec 2005, 06:13
really, who gives a $%^* on who is getting what at any club, and which club is paying how much for their team.

If they have the coin then they should go out there and try and get some big names and do well in the comp.

When the team is going well, the crowds coming flying in through the gates from all over the area.

At the moment GV footy is going very strong and it looks like it will keep getting stronger.

GV Man
29 Dec 2005, 06:28
OK Here is Mine!!!

There are my selections!!! A lot of Euroa and Seymor but they did play off in a ripper Grand Final!!! What Do you guys think??? Who have i missed or who shouldnt be in there???

yep, good team. only two comments... Singh?? Personally, I reckon the guy is hopeless, but up to you. Mckenzie from Benalla can play, but not sure if would make it in here (althought would have to be better than Singh.... also not one player from Rochy..? but tough to find spots i suppose

saints03
29 Dec 2005, 06:37
Take off your red ,white and black glasses moron and tell the world about porters sign on fee and salary. Or aren't the second string not good enough people allowed to know.Thats why we are leaving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.Put up the facts yourself.

Moron hey thats not very nice. Well your leaving probably because you think your better that what you really are and thats fine good luck to you where ever you go (greta no doubt). Porter is going to get very very good money no doubt about that but how else can you get a gun ruck man they dont come cheap but ppl round think blokes like mckenzie stevens symes ect are on heaps of money and that is crap they could get double at some other clubs and i am telling everyone now that van shaick is not on much money at all either. so mate get the chip of your shoulder would you and have fun at greta next year good luck!!!!!!

ANT JESS
29 Dec 2005, 06:47
OK Here is Mine!!!

Sammy Brennan from Rochy would have to be in the top 4 wouldn't he?

arceri
29 Dec 2005, 07:17
I have a couple of questions.

Why are Daniel Maher and Jarrod Hayse playing in the O and M and not Benalla if the Saints are so determined to keep home-grown players at the club and is the reason why the club is losing good 2s players and fringe senior players for 2006 because the club wouldn't provide a bus to last year's grand final?

Something isn't right at the club.

saints03
29 Dec 2005, 07:45
I have a couple of questions.

Why are Daniel Maher and Jarrod Hayse playing in the O and M and not Benalla if the Saints are so determined to keep home-grown players at the club and is the reason why the club is losing good 2s players and fringe senior players for 2006 because the club wouldn't provide a bus to last year's grand final?

Something isn't right at the club.

Oh no they didnt provide a bus lets make a big deal out of nothing. I know that none of the twos boys paid either it was sponsored from a few guys round the club so get over it mate. Not 100% sure why they arnt playing for benalla i think daniel has always wanted to play seniors in the o&m and jarrod does not get along with a few ppl at the club.

arceri
29 Dec 2005, 07:48
why would Maher want to play in the O and M, the GV is a better comp these days.

just seems strange that Benalla go after the big fish, but fail to get former gun locals back.

saints03
29 Dec 2005, 08:02
why would Maher want to play in the O and M, the GV is a better comp these days.

just seems strange that Benalla go after the big fish, but fail to get former gun locals back.

Maher has always said he wanted to play seniors in the O&M not sure why but thats his decision dont worry buddy benalla chased him as hard as they have chased any of the recruits i know benalla wanted him back very badly because he is a gun. but they got van shaik he is local vallender came his two brothers play here and there family are from benalla they got shiels best mates with a player from benalla. so they dont just chase all the big fish mate

PLAYER69
29 Dec 2005, 08:08
yep, good team. only two comments... Singh?? Personally, I reckon the guy is hopeless, but up to you. Mckenzie from Benalla can play, but not sure if would make it in here (althought would have to be better than Singh.... also not one player from Rochy..? but tough to find spots i suppose
Yeah agree with singh not being the best choice cos he is an absolute ********er but he can play!! The times i saw him play he gave GV backman a headache!!! Hard to fit everyone in including rochy players but if you think there could be some then add in and take out of my side and see how it looks!!!

PLAYER69
29 Dec 2005, 08:11
Sammy Brennan from Rochy would have to be in the top 4 wouldn't he?
Agree Sam can play but is not in the same league as at least the top 3!! Sutherland is a big ??? but couldn't think of anyone else but it definatly wouldnt be Brennan!!! He is better suited to other positions but carries Rochy ruck division well!! They need to recruit a full time ruckman and let him run a muck elsewhere either forward or back!!!

arceri
29 Dec 2005, 08:15
so once again, Benalla is just one big happy family who play for the love of it..

HawkeEye
29 Dec 2005, 09:13
Maher has always said he wanted to play seniors in the O&M not sure why but thats his decision dont worry buddy benalla chased him as hard as they have chased any of the recruits i know benalla wanted him back very badly because he is a gun. but they got van shaik he is local vallender came his two brothers play here and there family are from benalla they got shiels best mates with a player from benalla. so they dont just chase all the big fish mate

Maher was also keen on joining Euroa to play with his cousins, as his youngest brother, had a big fall out with the coach at Benalla.

He was never going to play at Benalla and was rapt to get a chance to shine in the O and M.

arceri
29 Dec 2005, 09:18
thanks Hawkeye.

For such a happy, low-spending club, Benalla seems to have a few dramas with home-grown players.

slim18
29 Dec 2005, 19:05
Moron hey thats not very nice. Well your leaving probably because you think your better that what you really are and thats fine good luck to you where ever you go (greta no doubt). Porter is going to get very very good money no doubt about that but how else can you get a gun ruck man they dont come cheap but ppl round think blokes like mckenzie stevens symes ect are on heaps of money and that is crap they could get double at some other clubs and i am telling everyone now that van shaick is not on much money at all either. so mate get the chip of your shoulder would you and have fun at greta next year good luck!!!!!!

Good to see to an improvement in your grammar today. Ensure that you hang around the club,they will be struggling to field a 2nds team. YOU might even get a run.

HawkeEye
30 Dec 2005, 06:10
So with most clubs having done probably a month of training, who at the moment is the fittest at your club and looking the goods for a big year in 2006.

HJ32
30 Dec 2005, 06:43
A certain ex-SFC Water distribution engineer is set for a big year with the lions - he's fit as.....

Doona2
30 Dec 2005, 11:12
For such a happy, low-spending club, Benalla seems to have a few dramas with home-grown players.

Interesting . . . . spent last night with a North Ballarat player who had even heard out his way that his former club mate's (Porter) arrival at Benalla and suggested large pay packet is causing a little unrest.

Doona2
30 Dec 2005, 11:23
Oddie
December 30 2005
Shepparton News

Rumours continue to circulate that Shepp Bears on-baller Jeremy O'Brien is close to signing as the new coach of Murray Football League club Nathalia.

O'Brien is the latest name to be linked with the Purps, who are still searching for a replacement for premiershipwinning coach John Nihill.

Nihill stepped down from the top job after leading Nathalia to its first premiership in almost 30 years this season.

Club officials are remaining tight lipped about any moves to lure O'Brien across to Nathalia, but don't be surprised if there's an announcement early in the New Year.