View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
football365
30 Dec 2005, 13:24
Doona,
As someone that used to play and live up that way a fwe years back, id like to say thanks for posting the shep news every so often, keeps me up with all the happenings with the footy in the area
cheers
tugga177
30 Dec 2005, 20:07
just a few queries about your top 4 for each possie player 69. cant recall a game forys played up back,stott is soft as butter,did mellington or singh play at ff or chf?,your followig the wrong game if you cant come up with 4 on ballers in this league without using haberman perhaps you could put him in with the 4 biggest mouth?
how can you name this many players and leave out players like the two campbells,mcarty,atkins,gibson,adamson,hall yet include janzs,walker(you could add him to the list with haberman)stott,gililland.just my thoughts and any reply or explanation would be welcome
On The Money
2 Jan 2006, 02:09
just a few queries about your top 4 for each possie player 69. cant recall a game forys played up back,stott is soft as butter,did mellington or singh play at ff or chf?,your followig the wrong game if you cant come up with 4 on ballers in this league without using haberman perhaps you could put him in with the 4 biggest mouth?
how can you name this many players and leave out players like the two campbells,mcarty,atkins,gibson,adamson,hall yet include janzs,walker(you could add him to the list with haberman)stott,gililland.just my thoughts and any reply or explanation would be welcome
Some of the names dropped here arent up to scratch Gilliand can play but pretended Grand Final day and would regret his performance that day jannz camps with the a generator that has the light on have on decent authority that he was on $800 clams! I'm had a few can't write much further but I'm tipping Benalla to beat Euroa in the Grand final for 2006.
"I'm had a few" Thats gold, On the Money. I think you maybe had more than a few on grand final day. Gilliland is one of few euroa players that can hold their head up from grand final day. I have watched the game a number of times since, and was very impressed with his performance. As for Janszy, well what hope does he have when he is up against the most media hyped player in the gv. Schottner could go off injured in the first minute of the game and he would still make it into their best players. Schottner had the better of Jansz around the ground but still wasn't dominant, and in the actual ruck contests, the hitouts would have been even. Jansz didn't have a super year, but his last few games he showed that he definately has the ability to play. The final at Mooroopna against Seymour was an example of this. He tore schottner to shreds.
Could you please give me some reasons why you think Benalla are going to be better than Euroa next year. I presume you are going off their recruits, but Euroa have got a couple of handy ones as well.
Thought Gilliland was ok grand final day, was creative early. Not 100% sure but I think he was rotated thru the bench at one point which may have lost some momentum for him but there were a lot more worse than him. I didnt see Janz do a lot the 3 times I saw him this season, but in his defence all 3 games were against Schottner . . . . one of the best in the GV.
PLAYER69
2 Jan 2006, 21:59
can someone post the lamaro article from the shep news!!! i think this is the title.... Crikey, he's to stay a Magpie Cheers
Sidey_87
3 Jan 2006, 00:42
Fory's played CHB against Seymour and another team, might have been the week after.
A certain ex-SFC Water distribution engineer is set for a big year with the lions - he's fit as.....
Give us a name HJ.
lion's_roar
3 Jan 2006, 08:59
can someone post the lamaro article from the shep news!!! i think this is the title.... Crikey, he's to stay a Magpie Cheers
Crikey, he's to stay a Magpie
Staying put: Hayden Lamaro will play for Euroa next season.
By Mark Brown
December 23 2005
Shepparton News
Euroa midfielder Hayden Lamaro has scotched rumours he is poised to flee Memorial Oval.
Lamaro yesterday confirmed he would remain at Euroa for at least another season as the Magpies attempt to end their 15-year Goulburn Valley Football League drought.
"Why would you want to go anywhere else?" Lamaro asked.
"We've already recruited well and we're going to be stronger than we were last season.
"I'm staying."
Speculation has been rife that Lamaro was looking for a new football home as the result of the fall-out from Euroa's gutwrenching 11-point grand final loss to Seymour.
Lamaro played only a handful of minutes in the decider before limping from Deakin Reserve with an Achilles injury.
Lamaro yesterday admitted he shouldn't have played in the grand final.
"I injured my Achilles about two months out from the finals and tried to carry it," he said.
"I did it in mid-July and was getting a couple of needles before a game to play.
"In the end, I couldn't even sprint."
The classy on-baller, who played two AFL games with Melbourne, is yet to resume running as a result of his ruptured Achilles.
"It's healing slowly," he said.
"I've been doing a fair bit on the bike and hope to be running by the end of January."
Euroa has already added former Brisbane and Richmond midfielder Rory Hilton and gun ruckman Damon Clarke to what was already widely regarded as the premier list in the competition last season.
Thankyou for clearing that up Mr Lamaro - hopefully the bigfooty punters will go easy on you now....... :)
Thought Gilliland was ok grand final day, was creative early. Not 100% sure but I think he was rotated thru the bench at one point which may have lost some momentum for him but there were a lot more worse than him. I didnt see Janz do a lot the 3 times I saw him this season, but in his defence all 3 games were against Schottner . . . . one of the best in the GV.
Janz can play, and big mobile guys are hard to come by. But without being too critical, he could do more around the ground when playing in the middle. Schots influence at hit outs has now become his major asset, where in the past it was his influence at other contests around the ground, no doubt this change was caused by the influx of other guns into Seymour's team.
Will be interesting to see who gets the points between these two when matching up again next season...
lion's_roar
4 Jan 2006, 09:54
Janz can play, and big mobile guys are hard to come by. But without being too critical, he could do more around the ground when playing in the middle. Schots influence at hit outs has now become his major asset, where in the past it was his influence at other contests around the ground, no doubt this change was caused by the influx of other guns into Seymour's team.
Will be interesting to see who gets the points between these two when matching up again next season...
I wouldn't be so sure there will be a re-match next season. There are whispers that just don't seem to go away that Shottner might be exiting the GV and play in a league closer to where he lives ... Diamond Valley for example.
And as for the three contest between these two last season, Doona, did you even see the second semi? Janz was best on ground by a mile, he was absoluetly everywhere.
I wouldn't be so sure there will be a re-match next season. There are whispers that just don't seem to go away that Shottner might be exiting the GV and play in a league closer to where he lives ... Diamond Valley for example.
And as for the three contest between these two last season, Doona, did you even see the second semi? Janz was best on ground by a mile, he was absoluetly everywhere.
Doubt whether Schottner will leave Seymour. Plus there wont be a rematch. If you read the article about Hayden Lamaro posted on this thread it states the Euroa have picked up a ruckman by name of clarke. So I would say clarke would be there number 1 ruckman with jansz as a backup.
Go easy there lion's_roar, I never said I saw the 2nd semi . . . . was into the 2nd day of a celebratory session after my team (Yea) won the flag!!! I will stand corrected though, out of the three Euroa games I saw two were vs Seymour and other was against Benalla when we had a bye.
How is Yea looking this year Doona? Is there any chance of Beery pulling on the boots again in 06??
the sniper
4 Jan 2006, 19:02
how is that horse of yours going. Is he still around
the sniper
4 Jan 2006, 19:53
is it fair to say no heart you are a former congupna player... now showing an interest in seymour
How is Yea looking this year Doona? Is there any chance of Beery pulling on the boots again in 06??
Unsure, I tried like buggery to get him on the park this year but he was too busy unfortunately. The club would be crazy not to try and twist his arm again, especially if they're gunna be up there. Would be great to see both Greg and Mick pull on a Yea kit together soon..... lets hope it happens
FEARSOME
By Mark Brown
January 5 2006
Shepparton News
Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has sent out an ominous warning to opposition sides plotting his downfall.
Daniel said yesterday the Lions' 2006 squad would be superior to the team that barnstormed its way to last year's Goulburn Valley Football League premiership.
And the master coach backed up the claim with some compelling anecdotal evidence.
Daniel confirmed the Lions had secured the services of former Western Bulldogs on-baller Brent Colbert and were also confident of signing Sammy Saad, the cousin of excitement machine Saad Saad.
Damien Liddell, brother of premiership duo Gerard and Brendan, is also back at the Lions' den after a stint in the United States.
"I think we'll be even better than last year," Daniel said.
"When you consider Cameron Ramsey will be back, that we'll get Jake Anderson from the Bushies and we've managed to pick up a couple of very handy recruits; I think we'll be better.
"Rodney Van Reit is also sticking around and Ben Bailey should be completely over his injuries."
Colbert, who was drafted by the Bulldogs in 2001, crosses to Kings Park after stints playing with Werribee and the Northern Bullants in the VFL.
Daniel described his new recruit as a tough on-baller with good leg speed and neat skills.
"He's a very good player," Daniel said.
"He moves very well and will be an important player for us."
Saad, like his high-profile cousin, is a smallish forward who is deadly around goals.
While he is yet to sign, Saad trained with Seymour before the break for Christmas and new year.
"He's not quite as good as his cousin but he's still a very handy player," Daniel said.
"He was with Moonee Valley last year, but only played four or five games after hurting his knee."
Seymour kicks off its premiership defence with a grand final replay against Euroa on April 15.
FOOTYBOSS
5 Jan 2006, 08:40
Looks like the Shep news have been busy over the last week interviewing people from different clubs. Keep up the work Doona, its been great reading all your posts on articles appearing in the paper.
FEARSOME
By Mark Brown
January 5 2006
Shepparton News
Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has sent out an ominous warning to opposition sides plotting his downfall.
Daniel said yesterday the Lions' 2006 squad would be superior to the team that barnstormed its way to last year's Goulburn Valley Football League premiership.
And the master coach backed up the claim with some compelling anecdotal evidence.
Daniel confirmed the Lions had secured the services of former Western Bulldogs on-baller Brent Colbert and were also confident of signing Sammy Saad, the cousin of excitement machine Saad Saad.
Damien Liddell, brother of premiership duo Gerard and Brendan, is also back at the Lions' den after a stint in the United States.
"I think we'll be even better than last year," Daniel said.
"When you consider Cameron Ramsey will be back, that we'll get Jake Anderson from the Bushies and we've managed to pick up a couple of very handy recruits; I think we'll be better.
"Rodney Van Reit is also sticking around and Ben Bailey should be completely over his injuries."
Colbert, who was drafted by the Bulldogs in 2001, crosses to Kings Park after stints playing with Werribee and the Northern Bullants in the VFL.
Daniel described his new recruit as a tough on-baller with good leg speed and neat skills.
"He's a very good player," Daniel said.
"He moves very well and will be an important player for us."
Saad, like his high-profile cousin, is a smallish forward who is deadly around goals.
While he is yet to sign, Saad trained with Seymour before the break for Christmas and new year.
"He's not quite as good as his cousin but he's still a very handy player," Daniel said.
"He was with Moonee Valley last year, but only played four or five games after hurting his knee."
Seymour kicks off its premiership defence with a grand final replay against Euroa on April 15.
Definately looks like Seymour and Euroa will be the favourites to play off again this year. Not to many departures and still recruiting players. Mjust have made profits off last years successful year, which enables them to spend more money.
When do clubs begin training again, Im sure it will be soon with the start of the season only 3 months away.
Any truth to the rumor that Mark "Skunk" Brown will join the growing list of ex Bendigo Digger Stars in Whitsed, Loughman, Bowen and the exciting Daniel Schmidt and sign with the Rochy Tigers???
Looks like the Shep news have been busy over the last week interviewing people from different clubs. Keep up the work Doona, its been great reading all your posts on articles appearing in the paper.
Yeah Xmas in Broadbean was pretty quiet and at times too warm for a 12 week old bub to take out, so I read a few regional and local papers daily and tried to keep everyone in the footy loop the best I could.
Any Xmas/New Year happenings at Euroa BOSS, when will training be firing back up? Sure is gunna be another big year of GV footy and Im so looking forward to having a more in depth look. I dont wanna go over old ground and rekindle the Euroa/Seymour thing, but I reckon those 2 clubs will be the standouts yet again after some handy additions to their respective lists.
lion's_roar
5 Jan 2006, 15:18
Any truth to the rumor that Mark "Skunk" Brown will join the growing list of ex Bendigo Digger Stars in Whitsed, Loughman, Bowen and the exciting Daniel Schmidt and sign with the Rochy Tigers???
Massive rumour that Brown will sign at Rochy and sign soon .. wonder whether he'll write his own back page story on his himself. they reckon he gives himself a good wrap in the cricket reports, maybe the footy will be the same.
In all seriousness though, If he does sign, Rochy will be a definite top six .. looking like, Euroa, Seymour, Benalla and Rochy are the four at the moment.. nobody else seems to have done a great deal.
When are tat going to get the cheque book out and sign the marquee player they always promise. Can we expect another mark Richardson? are the ones they've already signed any good
If he does sign Rochy will be strong for sure.
What about Daniel Schmidt?
He was always a standout player in the BFL and played a heap of solid VFL footy.
Would he been in the top 10 GVL players?
If he does sign Rochy will be strong for sure.
What about Daniel Schmidt?
He was always a standout player in the BFL and played a heap of solid VFL footy.
Would he been in the top 10 GVL players?
Definately in GV rep side, whether top10, not sure. probably best suited to a back flank these days, so would hold down that spot in the GV side no worries.
galloping gasometer
5 Jan 2006, 15:51
Definately in GV rep side, whether top10, not sure. probably best suited to a back flank these days, so would hold down that spot in the GV side no worries.
Further to the signings Elliot Bowen hasnt scored a mention from what I can see. Very good footballer and will definetely be worth watching.Ex Digger and still relatively young.
Rochy have only lost Nick Knight to South Bendigo and Browny is 100%. Hope they do something about their embarrasing 2nds though!!
Further to the signings Elliot Bowen hasnt scored a mention from what I can see. Very good footballer and will definetely be worth watching.Ex Digger and still relatively young.
Rochy have only lost Nick Knight to South Bendigo and Browny is 100%. Hope they do something about their embarrasing 2nds though!!
Has been covered a few times including today on this page. Yes is a huge signing for the tigers.
football365
5 Jan 2006, 16:45
Browny is 100%
Source?
just signed
5 Jan 2006, 19:35
Chris McCarty will play the first 7 games before heading overseas, this is a massive loss. They have really only just covered what they have lost, maybe a little better off.
Massive rumour that Brown will sign at Rochy and sign soon .. wonder whether he'll write his own back page story on his himself. they reckon he gives himself a good wrap in the cricket reports, maybe the footy will be the same.
In all seriousness though, If he does sign, Rochy will be a definite top six .. looking like, Euroa, Seymour, Benalla and Rochy are the four at the moment.. nobody else seems to have done a great deal.
When are tat going to get the cheque book out and sign the marquee player they always promise. Can we expect another mark Richardson? are the ones they've already signed any good
Rochy will want to start off well this year, as they lose McCarty mid year and have a number of players that are new at the club who make take some time to play well together. McCarty will be a big loss with his ability to win the ball out of the middle.
Chris McCarty will play the first 7 games before heading overseas, this is a massive loss. They have really only just covered what they have lost, maybe a little better off.
Just beat me Just Signed. I agree, they have only picked up what they have lost - Knight was a good run with player that seemed to pick up a lot of the big name opposition players for Rochy last year - hard to replace these types of players...
If they do get Brown (IF), then they have picked up two blokes that have held down key position posts in the VFL so they will definately be better off than last year. Browny also played a fair bit in the middle for Numurkah last year, so very versatile. There will be improvement from within the ranks also with Letcher and Montague playing a fair few senior games, only young and showed they can handle themselves at the level. Pappin and Cuttriss found consistency last year and they will only get better from there.
McCarty will be a big loss after mid year but who knows if they are sitting pretty he might just have a rethink. Heard Brenton Gray still isnt out of the question.
If they do get Brown (IF), then they have picked up two blokes that have held down key position posts in the VFL so they will definately be better off than last year. Browny also played a fair bit in the middle for Numurkah last year, so very versatile. There will be improvement from within the ranks also with Letcher and Montague playing a fair few senior games, only young and showed they can handle themselves at the level. Pappin and Cuttriss found consistency last year and they will only get better from there.
McCarty will be a big loss after mid year but who knows if they are sitting pretty he might just have a rethink. Heard Brenton Gray still isnt out of the question.
I've heard Rochy are still working pretty hard on Gray - has he given any indication of when he might make his decision? Both Stanhope and Rochy would be keen to have him penned in soon..
McCarty's definitely gone after round 7 - already bought his ticket and informed work, no chance of him having a rethink..
Also, I heard that Montague is likely to have a crack at the Pioneers - if he decides to play there you'd think he'd be a regular, and so miss most of the season for the tigers. Too early to make an accurate prediction of where they might finish. Euroa, Seymour and Benalla would be front runners at this stage, Mooroopna would have to be a chance to be right up there, then any of Mansfield, Rochy, Shepp and United could round out the top 6.
pete_mitchell
9 Jan 2006, 08:39
Massive thread this one, lots of good info here.
ECHUCABOY
9 Jan 2006, 09:01
Wheres Tige? Prolly still on hols, he should have us some info on Tat........he said after xmas all will be revealed!
Still not a huge amount to talk about echucaboy, talking to a few ex AFL players one of which is working with Micky Gayfer so i would be suprised if we didnt sign him which would give us a 1 ex league footballer and if all goes well should have a 2nd coming HOPEFULLY.
How was everyones holidays??? anyone get to Summerdayz???? was massive.............
ECHUCABOY
9 Jan 2006, 10:47
Still not a huge amount to talk about echucaboy, talking to a few ex AFL players one of which is working with Micky Gayfer so i would be suprised if we didnt sign him which would give us a 1 ex league footballer and if all goes well should have a 2nd coming HOPEFULLY.
How was everyones holidays??? anyone get to Summerdayz???? was massive.............
yeah back today.............:thumbsd: Went to Geeelong for the party on the waterfront thingy, was a fair old time. Summerdayz wudda been awesome tho..........doesnt work just suck!
FOOTYBOSS
9 Jan 2006, 11:33
Any Xmas/New Year happenings at Euroa BOSS, when will training be firing back up? Sure is gunna be another big year of GV footy and Im so looking forward to having a more in depth look. I dont wanna go over old ground and rekindle the Euroa/Seymour thing, but I reckon those 2 clubs will be the standouts yet again after some handy additions to their respective lists.
Spent the time in Yarrawonga and Tocumwal water skiing and playing golf. Training kicks off this Thursday night for everyone, so will be interested to see who drank and ate to much over the last 2 weeks.
Nathan "happy' Harper leaves on his around Australia tour tomorrow, so he will be missed in the backline this year. I suppose it will come down to who gets the most injuries between Euroa and Seymour.
sticks25
9 Jan 2006, 11:54
Have seen a fair bit of gv footy and played with schmity but would not have in the top 10 players.Still a good player but probably 25-30 better than him in a verry strong comp.Nothing against him
ilovetogetblind
9 Jan 2006, 11:57
Also, I heard that Montague is likely to have a crack at the Pioneers - if he decides to play there you'd think he'd be a regular, and so miss most of the season for the tigers. Too early to make an accurate prediction of where they might finish. Euroa, Seymour and Benalla would be front runners at this stage, Mooroopna would have to be a chance to be right up there, then any of Mansfield, Rochy, Shepp and United could round out the top 6.
Montague will definately play Pioneers... gun that kid.
Rochy will also get Matt Letcher into the ones, played half the season there last year and also Scott Hann who played all year with Pio's last year. Very smart player, probs fwd flank and swap a little on the ball.. one possible replacement for McCarty when he takes off o/s.
Need at least another big name signature to be considered a possible top four
Might have been a massive day, but probably the s**test one i've been to. Rained non stop for 5 hours, the music got switched off twice on the main stage because it was too crowded down the front (once for 45 mins), and the music was pretty ordinairy all day. I think carols by candlelight would have been the best event held at the music bowl in the last month :D
Was at summadayze with a few of your old team mates from coburg tige...
ilovetogetblind
9 Jan 2006, 12:18
Have seen a fair bit of gv footy and played with schmity but would not have in the top 10 players.Still a good player but probably 25-30 better than him in a verry strong comp.Nothing against him
Can't argue with that, but I would have Lenny in the GV team... would be very handy at that level - played well when selected in 2004.
He is a back flanker, however when Heath Aitken missed final 7 games last year, went into the middle and played some very good footy
Spent the time in Yarrawonga and Tocumwal water skiing and playing golf. Training kicks off this Thursday night for everyone, so will be interested to see who drank and ate to much over the last 2 weeks.
Nathan "happy' Harper leaves on his around Australia tour tomorrow, so he will be missed in the backline this year. I suppose it will come down to who gets the most injuries between Euroa and Seymour.
I agree I think it will come down to who's list (Euroa or Seymour) survives the season in the best shape. Two very strong lists who should take some beating again in 2006. Is Millsy (Mark) playing on in 2006? If so he's my tip for enjoying Xmas the most, great fella who knows how to have a good time!!!
On The Money
9 Jan 2006, 15:18
I agree I think it will come down to who's list (Euroa or Seymour) survives the season in the best shape. Two very strong lists who should take some beating again in 2006. Is Millsy (Mark) playing on in 2006? If so he's my tip for enjoying Xmas the most, great fella who knows how to have a good time!!!
There will be more sides than just Seymour and Euroa push up for the 2006 flag. Benalla will be on the pace while others sides have the potential to step up and play off to I would suggest.
Might have been a massive day, but probably the s**test one i've been to. Rained non stop for 5 hours, the music got switched off twice on the main stage because it was too crowded down the front (once for 45 mins), and the music was pretty ordinairy all day. I think carols by candlelight would have been the best event held at the music bowl in the last month :D
Was at summadayze with a few of your old team mates from coburg tige...
a.k.a, what boys where you with mate?? you didnt like Summerdayz?? was with a heaps of boys from Sunbury and a few of the ex Richmond boys who where away with the fairys, funny stuff........
Thought Fatboy Slim was ok, Bodyrockers when on where really good but because of the delay where on for about 30 mins (Kay James needs a punch in the head), but probably the house section where onelove was would have been the best part of the day.
Anyway any news in Shepp???
Cheers mate
Tilt Carter
9 Jan 2006, 17:09
Sticks, would have to agree with u mate sprooker is nearly past it, good in his day don't get me wrong but i think work load and age are starting to catch up with him, Back flank would be his posi coz its one of the easiest to play in modern footy, no responsability other than to attack and that suits lennie to a t, don't know how mark "skunk" brown will take to receiving lens choppers again though maybe he's straightened up his kicking since their diggers days. Perhaps Rochy should be chasing Drummy as an assistant to dirty as they have half his old side up there.:D
a.k.a, what boys where you with mate?? you didnt like Summerdayz?? was with a heaps of boys from Sunbury and a few of the ex Richmond boys who where away with the fairys, funny stuff........
Thought Fatboy Slim was ok, Bodyrockers when on where really good but because of the delay where on for about 30 mins (Kay James needs a punch in the head), but probably the house section where onelove was would have been the best part of the day.
Anyway any news in Shepp???
Cheers mate
Was with Langy, miller and a few others. Getting rained on for ages, and then all the crap with the music being switched off due to overcrowding kinda turned me off it a bit. The richmond boys wouldnt have been the only ones off with the fairys, there was some toss bag with his shirt off (in the rain) still jumping around dancing for half an hour while there was no music on - absolute unit. Fatboy slim wasnt as good as i thought he'd be, apparently his set on new years eve in sydney was heaps better.
Highlight for the day for me would have been when two guyz slid down the hill on a big blow up ring/chair thing, hit two people, then ploughed into this big fat chick walking through the crowd. Absolutely flattened her! Needless to say the ring came off second best and will never be inflated again :D
Looking forward to training starting again this week. After two massive weeks on the turps over xmas / new year. My kidneys will definately be thanking me...
Does anyone know if that "GV man of the mountain" (insert the real bulls**t name here if you know it) thing is still going ahead? Heaps of talk about it towards the end of last season, but been nothing since...
pete_mitchell
9 Jan 2006, 20:06
Does anyone know if that "GV man of the mountain" (insert the real bulls**t name here if you know it) thing is still going ahead? Heaps of talk about it towards the end of last season, but been nothing since...
No...off, not sure of reasons though. Ask Eric Bottom (he he) he might know. Classic.
Tige ,mate , I know Mick's a fitness fanatic but surely he must be nearly past it. Is he still living and working in melb? I could understand if you chasing his younger brother Ben? who played bushies 2 or 3 years ago.
Sorry tige, misread your comment. A man shouldn't drink snd drive his computer.
Hi all heard about the site so thought id sign up and enter all the GVFL goss topics that get around.
sticks25
10 Jan 2006, 16:42
Sticks, would have to agree with u mate sprooker is nearly past it, good in his day don't get me wrong but i think work load and age are starting to catch up with him, Back flank would be his posi coz its one of the easiest to play in modern footy, no responsability other than to attack and that suits lennie to a t, don't know how mark "skunk" brown will take to receiving lens choppers again though maybe he's straightened up his kicking since their diggers days. Perhaps Rochy should be chasing Drummy as an assistant to dirty as they have half his old side up there.:D
Carts, he has been tought by the best in Ross Smith,used to sit himself on a 1/2 back flank and take it easy.
Johnny Tapp
10 Jan 2006, 18:10
Watson evades Tigers
Rochester has lost the race to sign former Kangaroos on-baller Ash Watson for the forthcoming season.
Watson, who is a former Tigers junior, put pen to paper with North Ballarat on Thursday after he was delisted by the Kangaroos at the end of last year.
During his four-year tenure with the Kangaroos, the 21-year-old played seven AFL games, but managed just one senior match for the club last season.
Despite Watson's loss, long-term Rochester coach David Williams is looking forward to his 15th year at the Tigers' helm.
"Things are shaping up all right," Williams said yesterday on the eve of the Tigers' first post-Christmas training run.
"Nick Knight is the only player we've lost at this stage, he's gone to South Bendigo, but everyone else has indicated that they will be back on board.
"We've also got Scott Hann who played with the Bendigo Pioneers last year and Elliot Bowen who is a key-position player from the Bendigo Bombers."
The Tigers, who finished last season in sixth place, boast one of Goulburn Valley Football League's most exciting young lists.
But Williams is far from complacent.
With a host of big-name players having already filtered into the league during the summer months, Williams is still talking to a number of potential recruits in an attempt to bolster the Tigers' squad.
At the forefront of the Tigers' wish-list is former Kangaroos bigman Hugh Foott.
Foott, who represented Victoria Country at under-18 level before he was drafted by the Kangaroos in 2001, played with North Ballarat last year, but is currently talking to Rochester.
"He hasn't put pen to paper with us," Williams said.
"We're hopeful, but who knows?
"He's a key-position player and he would be a real bonus to any team."
The Tigers resumed pre-season training last night.
smellingsmoke
10 Jan 2006, 18:24
Watson evades Tigers
Rochester has lost the race to sign former Kangaroos on-baller Ash Watson for the forthcoming season.
Watson, who is a former Tigers junior, put pen to paper with North Ballarat on Thursday after he was delisted by the Kangaroos at the end of last year.
During his four-year tenure with the Kangaroos, the 21-year-old played seven AFL games, but managed just one senior match for the club last season.
Despite Watson's loss, long-term Rochester coach David Williams is looking forward to his 15th year at the Tigers' helm.
"Things are shaping up all right," Williams said yesterday on the eve of the Tigers' first post-Christmas training run.
"Nick Knight is the only player we've lost at this stage, he's gone to South Bendigo, but everyone else has indicated that they will be back on board.
"We've also got Scott Hann who played with the Bendigo Pioneers last year and Elliot Bowen who is a key-position player from the Bendigo Bombers."
The Tigers, who finished last season in sixth place, boast one of Goulburn Valley Football League's most exciting young lists.
But Williams is far from complacent.
With a host of big-name players having already filtered into the league during the summer months, Williams is still talking to a number of potential recruits in an attempt to bolster the Tigers' squad.
At the forefront of the Tigers' wish-list is former Kangaroos bigman Hugh Foott.
Foott, who represented Victoria Country at under-18 level before he was drafted by the Kangaroos in 2001, played with North Ballarat last year, but is currently talking to Rochester.
"He hasn't put pen to paper with us," Williams said.
"We're hopeful, but who knows?
"He's a key-position player and he would be a real bonus to any team."
The Tigers resumed pre-season training last night.
with all the quality players rochy have coming to the club these year nick knight must be having second throughts about going to south these year. be ashame if he missed out on a flag up at rochy,
ECHUCABOY
11 Jan 2006, 08:38
with all the quality players rochy have coming to the club these year nick knight must be having second throughts about going to south these year. be ashame if he missed out on a flag up at rochy,
who are the quality players? Maybe Brown Maybe Foott and this bowen bloke.
Are there any more?
LOBSTER
11 Jan 2006, 09:04
Rochy still need to recruit alot more players if they are to seriuosly challenge the likes of Benalla, Euroa and Seymour for this years flag.
What other quality players have they recruited?
LOBSTER
11 Jan 2006, 09:10
Summadayze was terrible this year due to the rain.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Jan 2006, 09:17
Not to sure if Mark is playing, havent seen him for a while. He had his knee done just recently so I think he has laid off the grog a bit. But when he does hit it, he knows how to have a good time. I presume he will play due to all of his good mates are playing at the club.
Lay off the grog??? What are you on FOOTYBOSS? :eek: I was at a wedding with Gus on friday and he was absolutely blind, and at his abusive best. (Though he was holding up better than that menace Marcus "Moses" Maher, who was carving up the dance floor with half his kit off, and putting it on every female in the building). You are on the money though, as Gus is definately playing due to heaps of mates coming back to the club...
ilovetogetblind
11 Jan 2006, 09:32
Rochy still need to recruit alot more players if they are to seriuosly challenge the likes of Benalla, Euroa and Seymour for this years flag.
What other quality players have they recruited?
The article sums it up ... Scooter Hann, Elliot Bowen that is it to this point.
Agree, not a premiership threat at the moment... two good players away from being considered a top 3/4 chance
ECHUCABOY
11 Jan 2006, 09:33
Agree, not a premiership threat at the moment... two good players away from being considered a top 3/4 chance
Scooter played half the year anyway so his hardly a new player and isnt a out an out gun yet but may well be this year.
You could start talking Echuca up as a Premiership threat if Rochy are being considered as one......
ilovetogetblind
11 Jan 2006, 09:37
Scooter played half the year anyway so his hardly a new player and isnt a out an out gun yet but may well be this year.
You could start talking Echuca up as a Premiership threat if Rochy are being considered as one......
Scooter played one game last year. Played most of the year in 2004.
Who have Echuca picked up ?
Flat Track Bully
11 Jan 2006, 09:46
Interesting to see yesterday's Shepp News article about Rochester made no mention of Mark Brown, and where his future lays.
mmmmm.......
ECHUCABOY
11 Jan 2006, 10:09
Scooter played one game last year. Played most of the year in 2004.
Who have Echuca picked up ?
haha yeah thats what I meant, i wasn't bagging scoot at all I think he will be a gun this year, but isnt quite yet.
Echuca have only picked up a couple, maddox and smith. with a few to come. I was just saying if people are talk top 3 or 4 for Rochy with a couple of signings you could put Echuca in that bracket.
There is talk on another forum that Colin Durie is being tipped to head to Boort. Any truth in that rumor Echuca boy?
LOBSTER
12 Jan 2006, 15:06
Never heard of scooter Hann, is a decent player? What position?
ECHUCABOY
12 Jan 2006, 15:08
Never heard of scooter Hann, is a decent player? What position?
Scott Hann small on-baller/foward pocket, can play. very smart kid
galloping gasometer
12 Jan 2006, 15:16
haha yeah thats what I meant, i wasn't bagging scoot at all I think he will be a gun this year, but isnt quite yet.
Echuca have only picked up a couple, maddox and smith. with a few to come. I was just saying if people are talk top 3 or 4 for Rochy with a couple of signings you could put Echuca in that bracket.
Would that be the Echuca V Rochester rivalry coming out?
I think most people would agree that Rochester will have a superior team to Echuca this year as they have recruited well and built a team over 2-3 years. They have some of the best individual players in the league
The rumour is still strong regarding Brown but if they get Hugh Foote they probably dont really need him.
By the way Echuca Boy how are Donvale going recruit wise??
ECHUCABOY
12 Jan 2006, 15:22
Would that be the Echuca V Rochester rivalry coming out?
I think most people would agree that Rochester will have a superior team to Echuca this year as they have recruited well and built a team over 2-3 years. They have some of the best individual players in the league
The rumour is still strong regarding Brown but if they get Hugh Foote they probably dont really need him.
By the way Echuca Boy how are Donvale going recruit wise??
haha no way! Some fella was talking up Rochy after they got 2 recruits and have lost KNight and McCarty for half the year. Jezza Campbell has gone to Blackburn, so I cant see how 2 recruits would put them amongst the contenders. All I was saying is if Rochy are contenders Echuca are and I think both are a bit of a way off aren't they...........
Donny hey, you no something I don't know about you.......who u r!
Might have lost Brad O'Connor to Box Hill but have picked up 2-3 which could well turn into 4 or 5.
Cheers galloping
ilovetogetblind
12 Jan 2006, 15:53
Scott Hann small on-baller/foward pocket, can play. very smart kid
very smart.....???? Obviously haven't seen him on the fizz
haha no way! Some fella was talking up Rochy after they got 2 recruits and have lost KNight and McCarty for half the year. Jezza Campbell has gone to Blackburn, so I cant see how 2 recruits would put them amongst the contenders. All I was saying is if Rochy are contenders Echuca are and I think both are a bit of a way off aren't they...........
Jezza Campbell a departure, well not sure on that one, pretty sure he was Ass Coach at Drouin last year. Rochy have a better list than last year even if they dont get Brown, Gray and Foot. They land two out of those three and I'm sure they will be pushing Seymour, Euroa, Benalla etc. They did only get beat by a point by Euroa late last year (had 36 scoring shots) and were knocked out of the finals by the premiers. Also when they last met Echuca they won by a neat 18goals keeping the Murray Bombers to two. So on those facts I think Rochy may be a little ahead of Echuca at the moment.
ilovetogetblind
12 Jan 2006, 15:56
Jezza Campbell a departure, well not sure on that one, pretty sure he was Ass Coach at Drouin last year. Rochy have a better list than last year even if they dont get Brown, Gray and Foot. They land two out of those three and I'm sure they will be pushing Seymour, Euroa, Benalla etc. They did only get beat by a point by Euroa late last year (had 36 scoring shots) and were knocked out of the finals by the premiers. Also when they last met Echuca they won by a neat 18goals keeping the Murray Bombers to two. So on those facts I think Rochy may be a little ahead of Echuca at the moment.
Like it Hank.....
Agree, still a couple of players away from being a real threat though
ECHUCABOY
13 Jan 2006, 08:11
Like it Hank.....
Agree, still a couple of players away from being a real threat though
Well Hank just kicked my ass.....................Agree with the person who likes to get blind. And Yes I have been on it with the serial pest Scooter. haven't for little while though, he's too busy delivering Roma Pizzas around town!
Guys,
Just wondering what the training schedules are like for this time of the year and what sort of numbers each club is getting?
I hear Euroa are one night a week with some responsibility handed over to the group to do their own work. Not to sure about numbers though.
bradrowe#32
13 Jan 2006, 13:06
Guys,
Just wondering what the training schedules are like for this time of the year and what sort of numbers each club is getting?
I hear Euroa are one night a week with some responsibility handed over to the group to do their own work. Not to sure about numbers though.
Rochester started last week with a 3km time trial. I think they are doing 2 sessions a week and have a triathlon on January 22nd.
The reserves are a lot more organised under new coach Tim Cottam with a group of the guys running and actively getting everyone involved.
Flat Track Bully
13 Jan 2006, 14:04
Rochester started last week with a 3km time trial. I think they are doing 2 sessions a week and have a triathlon on January 22nd.
The reserves are a lot more organised under new coach Tim Cottam with a group of the guys running and actively getting everyone involved.
Welcome back, Rowey...what classes are you taking this year mate, I can see not a lot of work being done with so much footy to talk about...
Travvy43
13 Jan 2006, 14:15
Have any of the Seymour blokes got any news on how former Assistant Andrew Jago is going with Seddon Yarraville in the WRFL. Has he managed to lure any players down that way from the lions??
bradrowe#32
13 Jan 2006, 14:48
Welcome back, Rowey...what classes are you taking this year mate, I can see not a lot of work being done with so much footy to talk about...
No idea mate because I still haven't re-enrolled!
Are you still going to play out at Congupna?
coreybrown
13 Jan 2006, 14:49
Jago is struggling big time, loosing more players than he is signing
FOOTYBOSS
13 Jan 2006, 15:34
Guys,
The numbers in Euroa have been solid from what I hear. About 20-30 players each session. Training thursday nights up until 28th of Jan, then kicks into 3 times a week. As for the melbourne based players, they began last night with a 1.6km time trial, 2 x 400m, 5 x 200m and 30mins of skills. They are training twice a week until the 28th and then they kick into 3 times a week.
FOOTYBOSS
13 Jan 2006, 15:36
Jago is struggling big time, loosing more players than he is signing
Doesnt suprise me at all. The bloke has never played a game in his life. Doubt whether he could coach a senior team.
Flat Track Bully
13 Jan 2006, 18:55
No idea mate because I still haven't re-enrolled!
Are you still going to play out at Congupna?
Nup...not playing...too fat...will be too busy with a couple of other "side projects", as well as keeping a decent grade avaerage to get into the Dip Ed I want to doi.
jmain14
13 Jan 2006, 21:59
very smart.....???? Obviously haven't seen him on the fizz
ha ha. yeah would have to agree scoot usually puts his brain aside when on the turps. it is incredible to think sometimes that he can play footy.
good to see you have signed up ilovetogetblind. geez it is cold over here!!
Grandale
13 Jan 2006, 22:02
Have any of the Seymour blokes got any news on how former Assistant Andrew Jago is going with Seddon Yarraville in the WRFL. Has he managed to lure any players down that way from the lions??
No word on how he's going re coaching, but haven't heard of any players he coached at Seymour following him to the WRFL.
I think most of the boys that have formed the core of what has been a reasonable Ressies combination (by Seymour's standards anyway) are keen to stay at Kings Park in 2006, especially following Ben Davey's appointment as coach.
bradrowe#32
13 Jan 2006, 22:02
ha ha. yeah would have to agree scoot usually puts his brain aside when on the turps. it is incredible to think sometimes that he can play footy.
Glad you made it over safely mate. I'm still recovering from last Sunday.
FOOTYBOSS
14 Jan 2006, 10:03
Lay off the grog??? What are you on FOOTYBOSS? :eek: I was at a wedding with Gus on friday and he was absolutely blind, and at his abusive best. (Though he was holding up better than that menace Marcus "Moses" Maher, who was carving up the dance floor with half his kit off, and putting it on every female in the building). You are on the money though, as Gus is definately playing due to heaps of mates coming back to the club...
Who knows what Im on half the time. No doubt Marcus 'Moses' Maher would have made a fool of himself again. He is just warming up for his overseas trip I would say.
wheelbarrow
14 Jan 2006, 10:29
Could anyone tell me if Tim Mahr is staying at Euroa in 06.?
FOOTYBOSS
14 Jan 2006, 10:32
He certainly is.
A club like Avenel or Violet Town would be foolish not to at least make a phone call I reckon, would be a very very handy pick up.
HawkeEye
16 Jan 2006, 07:03
Tim Maher will not be playing football this year, he had a work accident where his goalkicking leg was crushed and broken. Looks very bad and is going into surgery.
May never play football ever again.
ilovetogetblind
16 Jan 2006, 08:57
thats because its winter over there mate.
keep us updated on whats going on over there Mainy... hey if you got to Heathrow so early, would've suited you to a tee seeing as you like rising so early... hehe
wheelbarrow
16 Jan 2006, 09:38
Tim Maher will not be playing football this year, he had a work accident where his goalkicking leg was crushed and broken. Looks very bad and is going into surgery.
May never play football ever again.
Is this true.?
Very sad 4 young Tim if thats the case u done like 2 hear that about any one that loves playing footy, hope he has a speedy recovery.
Unfortunately this is true. Was all over the news and radio (nova i think) on friday. Similar kind of injury as nathan Brown (broken tibia and fibula), but he also had a 30cm laceration to go with it. Serious injury, and everyone is hoping for a speedy recovery for the big fella..
badhairday
16 Jan 2006, 09:54
thats because its winter over there mate.
keep us updated on whats going on over there Mainy... hey if you got to Heathrow so early, would've suited you to a tee seeing as you like rising so early... hehe
You guys that talk about Summerdayze, your weekends and personal trips need to get on a gay chatroom website and stop using this forum. It's a waste of time for this website which is supposed to be about footy!
ECHUCABOY
16 Jan 2006, 10:16
You guys that talk about Summerdayze, your weekends and personal trips need to get on a gay chatroom website and stop using this forum. It's a waste of time for this website which is supposed to be about footy!
badhairday, this is your first post on this thread........this thread was started by Rowey ages ago, and since then alot of us have worked out, know each other or have told each other who we are, this is why there is a bit of Banter here and there.
You my friend are a peasent, I can't see the title moderator underneath your name. You are clearly someone who has nothing better to do, than slag off Big Footys no.1 thread!
If you would like to start up your own thread where everyone talks just about football and nothing else, you are most welcomed too. Considering most teams have no even started training again, there is not a hell of alot to talk about. But, if you would like to start up a topic in the GVFL you are most welcomed too, so whats it ganna be BadHairday, what topic would you like to discuss?
Or would you rather fufill your fantasys and give into your obvious homosexual urge and indulge in some crazy gay chatroom antics????
Which one would you recomend ya rock spider??
:eek:
badhairday
16 Jan 2006, 10:37
badhairday, this is your first post on this thread........this thread was started by Rowey ages ago, and since then alot of us have worked out, know each other or have told each other who we are, this is why there is a bit of Banter here and there.
You my friend are a peasent, I can't see the title moderator underneath your name. You are clearly someone who has nothing better to do, than slag off Big Footys no.1 thread!
If you would like to start up your own thread where everyone talks just about football and nothing else, you are most welcomed too. Considering most teams have no even started training again, there is not a hell of alot to talk about. But, if you would like to start up a topic in the GVFL you are most welcomed too, so whats it ganna be BadHairday, what topic would you like to discuss?
Or would you rather fufill your fantasys and give into your obvious homosexual urge and indulge in some crazy gay chatroom antics????
I can see why a number of people in footy circles don't even bother to look at GVFL link on Bigfooty.
Keep your little 'in-house' jokes and bull******** happening and see how long your link lasts. Remember it is a GVFL link, not an echucaboy link. You're obviously very bored and think your life is extremely exciting and everyone needs to know about.
I already know who you are so don't get too personal.
ECHUCABOY
16 Jan 2006, 11:37
I can see why a number of people in footy circles don't even bother to look at GVFL link on Bigfooty.
Keep your little 'in-house' jokes and bull******** happening and see how long your link lasts. Remember it is a GVFL link, not an echucaboy link. You're obviously very bored and think your life is extremely exciting and everyone needs to know about.
I already know who you are so don't get too personal.
hahaha already know who you are, hahaha whats next death threats. So far the link has lasted about a year, without any complaints, during that time alot of rumours that have been both true and ridiculous have appeared on this thread.
Can you also please find the post where I ask everyone what they have done on the weekend, I am failing to find these.
You said a number of people dont bother to look at the GVFL Website......Do I care? Rowey who started the thread beleive it or not, does not get paid by the GVFL for having this thread on BigFooty, so why does it matter if people dont like this thread.
I am still waiting for your input??? Where is your post about GVFL Footy?
ilovetogetblind
16 Jan 2006, 11:39
my weekend was good thanks badhairday... yours?