View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 13:19
- are you related to Jarvegiemitefa miandad?

Got him yesss!!!

ilovetogetblind
2 Feb 2006, 13:38
Boys I would like to know from each club which player is looking the sharpest on the training track and who has come back a bit underdone? Im very interested to know.

Lobster - not too many surprises here for you, sorry.

Chris McCarty - incredibly fit, more so than last year despite leaving for OS in June. Easily the fittest at the club.

Heath Aitken - think he might have been slightly dissapointed with his season last year during his first year as captain (by his standards that is - he still finished 3rd in B&F) He is very very keen to have a massive year and would be in top 10-15 players in the league. I will stand by that!

Young ones:

Scott O'Conner - 16 I think. Is an athlete and has a great attitude. Will probably spend most of next couple of years with the Pioneer's but will be one of the next home grown guns to be blooded by Rochy. And as with those in the past, he loves the club and will always come back.

Brodie Montague - also very fit. Easily good enough to play Pio's but I think this may be his last year (not sure on that) and you know what TAC teams can be like with second year players who may not look like they will get drafted - so could spend some of the year with Rochy. Had 12 marks and ficked four against Euroa at Rochy last year.

wheelbarrow
2 Feb 2006, 13:49
I heard that unless someone on the SFC committee jags the Mystery6 very flaming soon they won't even have enough cash to cover this year.

Javid dont forget that footy fundraising season is not August to April man.

I was listening to Peter Ryan on one FM about 12 mths ago, Re Tats $ raising efforts. I cant remember the exact ammount of individual fundraisers they had but i do know it was in the high 80's or 90's for 12 mths.

Some one up around there can correct me on that figure but i do know that at the time i heard it, i thought it was alot of manpower for the com to undertake. And before all the smart arse remarks come out about Tats spending over the yrs, lets not forget boys that they are not the lone rangers when it comes to private sponsors putting long arms into short pockets.

Xander
2 Feb 2006, 14:08
Spoke to a guy in the Seymour hierachy today and he has confirmed gun full forward Simon Gordon has signed for this year. Along with Saad that will be an amazing 2 pronged attack.

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 14:10
Javid dont forget that footy fundraising season is not August to April man.

I was listening to Peter Ryan on one FM about 12 mths ago, Re Tats $ raising efforts. I cant remember the exact ammount of individual fundraisers they had but i do know it was in the high 80's or 90's for 12 mths.

Some one up around there can correct me on that figure but i do know that at the time i heard it, i thought it was alot of manpower for the com to undertake. And before all the smart arse remarks come out about Tats spending over the yrs, lets not forget boys that they are not the lone rangers when it comes to private sponsors putting long arms into short pockets.

Meh i'm sick of you euroa and Seymour blokes talking about whos got the most cash $$$ and this player gets this, this one gets that.

Both of these football clubs obviously don't have the personal to develop their junior and current players and and have to go fishing elsewhere to be competitive, they are turning the GVFL into a league in which ever team has the most money wins the most games.....

Which hopefully will not be the case again this year.:thumbsd:

bradrowe#32
2 Feb 2006, 14:15
:p Interesting reading in the shep news today that Jarrod Illett will not be playing for shep swans. Not to good for the swans as they were supposedly the club who were going to be big improvers once crazy johns sponsored them. Is that still happening?

I heard a very interesting rumour today regarding a few Shep Swans players. Apparently these players will see how the club is going after round four and if they haven't won a game, then they will head out to play for Ardmona. The names mentioned were Rachele and four others.

Grandale
2 Feb 2006, 14:21
Meh i'm sick of you euroa and Seymour blokes talking about whos got the most cash $$$ and this player gets this, this one gets that.

Both of these football clubs obviously don't have the personal to develop their junior and current players and and have to go fishing elsewhere to be competitive, they are turning the GVFL into a league in which ever team has the most money wins the most games.....

Echucaboy, you're making out as if Seymour and Euroa have started some sort of revolution in the past two seasons by forking out dough to ensure their footy teams are competitive.
Come on!
Plenty of other clubs were doing the same thing long before these clubs cottoned onto it.
The wheel will turn.

HJ32
2 Feb 2006, 14:23
Echucaboy, you're making out as if Seymour and Euroa have started some sort of revolution in the past two seasons by forking out dough to ensure their footy teams are competitive.
Come on!
Plenty of other clubs were doing the same thing long before these clubs cottoned onto it.
The wheel will turn.

I can't help but feel a touch of Monty Burnsisms from you grandale

see my vest, see my vest .......

half time lollies
2 Feb 2006, 14:25

Both of these football clubs obviously don't have the personal to develop their junior and current players and and [B]have to go fishing elsewhere to be competitive, they are turning the GVFL into a league in which ever team has the most money wins the most games.....

I am not a Seymour or Euroa supporter but where else do you want them to get there players from??? Euroa is a town of 2,500 people so naturally they aren't going to have 15-20 gun footballers so they have to rely on the influx of a few Melbourne players as they did last season. Seymour are in a similar boat yet they have a bit bigger population to draw from. Although I don't totally agree with these clubs doin it they don't have much choice.

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 14:26
I can't help but feel a touch of Monty Burnsisms from you grandale

see my vest, see my vest .......

hahaha thats quite humourous!

Well Grandale i'll include mansfield in that bracket aswell......................

bradrowe#32
2 Feb 2006, 14:32
The southern teams in the GV are pretty lucky that they are close to Melbourne. Seymour is only an hours drive and Euroa, Mansfield and Benalla are fairly close (maybe). They have a good advantage over teams like Kyabram for example in that they can access metro teams more easily. I agree Grandale because it certainly can't/won't last forever.

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 14:58
The southern teams in the GV are pretty lucky that they are close to Melbourne. Seymour is only an hours drive and Euroa, Mansfield and Benalla are fairly close (maybe). They have a good advantage over teams like Kyabram for example in that they can access metro teams more easily. I agree Grandale because it certainly can't/won't last forever.

Short term fix for a long term goal...........deosn't work;)

ilovetogetblind
2 Feb 2006, 15:17
I am not a Seymour or Euroa supporter but where else do you want them to get there players from??? Euroa is a town of 2,500 people so naturally they aren't going to have 15-20 gun footballers so they have to rely on the influx of a few Melbourne players as they did last season. Seymour are in a similar boat yet they have a bit bigger population to draw from. Although I don't totally agree with these clubs doin it they don't have much choice.

Yep, agree with this. The spending spree won't last forever, as it never does for Tatura, but you have to do what you have to do, to win games. Which is what Euroa and Seymour did last year (and Seymour the year before)

But when a team, Seymour/Euroa/Mansfield or any team can stay at the top for a prolonged period of time, as some more Northern teams have in the past 10-12 years, then you will earn respect.

This is very unlikely if you constantly have a philosophy of pay-to-win. As has been mentioned on here previously (forget by who) a good supply of local junior talent is the key to staying at the top. Until you get this, you are just doing what you have to.

BIGANT
2 Feb 2006, 15:22
How could Euroa offer anybody much coin with Hilton on over $1000 a game? Got it from a source within the Maggies nest that the town is divided on the whole expenditure issue and if they fail to win the flag in 2006 all hell will break loose. Where do the get the coin from...If hilton's on that much,what would gilliland be on than.What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

T.Perry
2 Feb 2006, 15:23

Not 100% sure what you mean by the last comment. Rochy is the same size as Euroa and has competed in probably 10 of the last 12 or so finals series.. and I don't think Euroa and Seymour have necessarily be shelling out more than other teams, but because they've got top players, who have performed well, people assume that they're on enormous $. For example, Singh was prob on a fair bit more than Grainger last year, and there will no doubt be players at Tat, Benalla, Mooroopna this year on way more coin than any player (except maybe Hilton) from Euroa and Seymour.. I reckon both clubs have been exceptionally smart recruiting groups of mates to play together, who are all talented and enjoy playing footy together and being successful..

And to answer journeyman's question, I'd rate Scanlon ahead of Habers. He's genuinely tough, exceptionally fit, pretty quick and has a real touch of class about him. And he can also kick goals. If anything, he tends to go too short at times and doesn't have a really penetrating kick. A very talented acquisition to any side, non the less. If he has gone to Seymour, and is on $600/game, they'd definitely be getting value for $..

Grandale
2 Feb 2006, 15:36
What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

Perhaps the locals - many of whom have played at these clubs for quite some time without tasting success - are just happy to be able to say that they are part of a successful club for once.

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 15:38
Where do the get the coin from...If hilton's on that much,what would gilliland be on than.What about the locals they'd be peeved ??

Well thats what I was told BIGANT, apparently the players are ok but many long time supporters definately are not. Maybe one of FOOTYBOSS' can shed some light as Ive only been told this via a person at cricket last weekend.

On the clearance/rego front Jarrod Best, Nick Aloi and Karl Norman at Mooroopna, Hilton's paperwork gone in also, Its shaping as another big year for the GV

half time lollies
2 Feb 2006, 15:40
Not 100% sure what you mean by the last comment. Rochy is the same size as Euroa and has competed in probably 10 of the last 12 or so finals series.. and I don't think Euroa and Seymour have necessarily be shelling out more than other teams, but because they've got top players, who have performed well, people assume that they're on enormous $. For example, Singh was prob on a fair bit more than Grainger last year, and there will no doubt be players at Tat, Benalla, Mooroopna this year on way more coin than any player (except maybe Hilton) from Euroa and Seymour.. I reckon both clubs have been exceptionally smart recruiting groups of mates to play together, who are all talented and enjoy playing footy together and being successful..

And to answer journeyman's question, I'd rate Scanlon ahead of Habers. He's genuinely tough, exceptionally fit, pretty quick and has a real touch of class about him. And he can also kick goals. If anything, he tends to go too short at times and doesn't have a really penetrating kick. A very talented acquisition to any side, non the less. If he has gone to Seymour, and is on $600/game, they'd definitely be getting value for $..

I mean that they can't keep spending money like they are otherwise they will go belly up!

Grandale
2 Feb 2006, 15:42
Short term fix for a long term goal...........deosn't work;)

Echucaboy, what you also have to realise is that Seymour and Euroa don't have a drawcard like the mighty Murray that entices people to move to their town. Echuca would have a lot of quality footballers lob on their doorstep just because they have moved to the region for work or whatever reason.
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.

TuskenRaider
2 Feb 2006, 15:52
But when a team, Seymour/Euroa/Mansfield or any team can stay at the top for a prolonged period of time, as some more Northern teams have in the past 10-12 years, then you will earn respect.

Euroa have been in 6 finals series in the last 9 years, would that qualify?
It would measure up with most other clubs in that period.

BIGANT, have a guess where Hilton & Gilliland are originally from.

As Grandale said before, let's not start talking like this is some sort of football revolution.

A few posters on this board are talking like their clubs have never paid more than a couple of players!

Remember, history doesn't only count the last one or two years.

HJ32
2 Feb 2006, 15:53
Echucaboy, what you also have to realise is that Seymour and Euroa don't have a drawcard like the mighty Murray that entices people to move to their town. Echuca would have a lot of quality footballers lob on their doorstep just because they have moved to the region for work or whatever reason.
Sure, Seymour's got the black train at Elliott Reserve, but that's never pulled the tourists like it once did ever since the asbestos scare of the mid-1990s.

:D :D :D

i've actually heard that Dylan Butler and his henchmen hold most recruiting meetings on the Emmylou Paddlesteamer..... gets 'em signed everytime... then they head home and watch "all the rivers run".

does Singrid Thornton do it for you EB?

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 15:56

So your saying Rochy pulls alot of people to its magnificent township.........give me a break Grandale. Euroa/seymour and Rochy are the same sorta size, difference D.Williams and a bunch of loyal coaches, officals, volunteers and players. THATS WHAT MAKES A FOOTY CLUB!!!!!!

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 15:57

Know a bloke who got his first ****job at the old black train, never played at Seymour but still talks about the joint a lot.

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 15:59

:D :D :D

i've actually heard that Dylan Butler and his henchmen hold most recruiting meetings on the Emmylou Paddlesteamer..... gets 'em signed everytime... then they head home and watch "all the rivers run".

does Singrid Thornton do it for you EB?

Hahaha........not as much as John Waters......:p

TuskenRaider
2 Feb 2006, 15:59
Love the work Grandale:D

HJ32
2 Feb 2006, 16:00
So your saying Rochy pulls alot of people to its magnificent township.........give me a break Grandale. Euroa and Rochy are the same sorta size, difference D.Williams and a bunch of loyal coaches, officals, volunteers and players. THATS WHAT MAKES A FOOTY CLUB!!!!!!

mate! it's the birthplace of Sir Hubert Opperman

of course they're gonna play there - what do you think got Johnny Mac over the line?

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2006, 16:02
Dont count yourself short on that train Grandale. To match the Murray we have our famous sevens creek which is a sight to see. I know we cant hold the Southern 80 on it but if we all got our remote control boats out we could try. ******** off Echucaboy.

You are all just going over old converstaions with the money talk. ********ing who cares who gets what as long as clubs can afford which they must to be able to keep these blokes playing there. Start talking about the upcoming season and not ********ing whinging on which clubs pays the most.

ECHUCABOY
2 Feb 2006, 16:05
Dont count yourself short on that train Grandale. To match the Murray we have our famous sevens creek which is a sight to see.

You are all just going over old converstaions with the money talk. ********ing who cares who gets what as long as clubs can afford which they must to be able to keep these blokes playing there. Start talking about the upcoming season and not ********ing whinging on which clubs pays the most.

Where not we are talking about euroa and seymours lack of depth compared to rochester.

HJ32
who was the last band to play at seven Creeks run anyway? Barnsey? maybe Johnny Farnham? Maybe Spliz Enz will lock it in eddie now they're back together!

Doona2

You sound a tad frustrated at the money talk too Adam. Were u asked to take a cut for Rory also?

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2006, 16:11
who was the last band to play at seven Creeks run anyway? Barnsey? maybe Johnny Farnham? Maybe Spliz Enz will lock it in eddie now they're back together!
I think it was Johnny.

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 16:18

Reckon I saw Jimmy Barnes play there, is it the old shearing shed looking joint just over the Hume???

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2006, 16:20
You sound a tad frustrated at the money talk too Adam. Were u asked to take a cut for Rory also?
Not frustrated at all. Just funny how people keep talking the same bull s h i t, that was spoken about 2 months ago. We are 10 weeks out from round 1 and practice matches looming and all we can talk about is the same stuff. Surely there is more happening at clubs then just money.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2006, 16:21
Reckon I saw Jimmy Barnes play there, is it the old shearing shed looking joint just over the Hume???
Sure is, A few club functions get held there during the season.

Doona2
2 Feb 2006, 16:25
Not frustrated at all. Just funny how people keep talking the same bull s h i t, that was spoken about 2 months ago. We are 10 weeks out from round 1 and practice matches looming and all we can talk about is the same stuff. Surely there is more happening at clubs then just money.

I guess as outsiders we get entertained by posters from rival GV clubs having a dip at one another. Personally I couldnt give 2 $hit$ who gets what as long as I see a good standard game of GV footy each time I pay me $8 or $9 to get in.

cosby
2 Feb 2006, 17:14
getting back to the footy boys, heard today from a former long standing official at Tatura that they have 'got no one'.
linc wellingtons brother being the exception.
the locals are talking up the club saying that a number of big recruits are in sight but from this guys perspective they aren't coming.

bigblackalsation
2 Feb 2006, 17:56
getting back to the footy boys, heard today from a former long standing official at Tatura that they have 'got no one'.
linc wellingtons brother being the exception.
the locals are talking up the club saying that a number of big recruits are in sight but from this guys perspective they aren't coming.

If thats Matty he can play, i don't know how his knee will stand up though at one stage he had 2 reco's in consecutive years.

Samtrish
2 Feb 2006, 19:31
[QUOTE=FOOTYBOSS]Dont count yourself short on that train Grandale. To match the Murray we have our famous sevens creek which is a sight to see. I know we cant hold the Southern 80 on it but if we all got our remote control boats out we could try. ******** off Echucaboy.

FOOTYBOSS, rates up there with Eric Bottom rates up ith the ABC commentator who's name I cannot remember but its Gold Gold for Australia:thumbsu:

Snakeman66
2 Feb 2006, 19:51
[QUOTE=FOOTYBOSS]Dont count yourself short on that train Grandale. To match the Murray we have our famous sevens creek which is a sight to see. I know we cant hold the Southern 80 on it but if we all got our remote control boats out we could try. ******** off Echucaboy.

FOOTYBOSS, rates up there with Eric Bottom rates up ith the ABC commentator who's name I cannot remember but its Gold Gold for Australia:thumbsu:

I know a bloke who swears by the rocket ship in the Benalla Gardens. He departed the rocket more than satisfied with his ride.

wheelbarrow
2 Feb 2006, 20:20
:: Shepparton Swans News Item

31-1-2006

Yze and Coghlan Join Forces At East Burwood

Former Shepparton Swans players Damien Yze and Adam Coghlan have joined forces to play with the East Burwood Rams in Division 1 of the Eastern Football League for season 2006.
Yze has signed on as assistant coach at East Burwood for the 2006 season after returning to Northcote Park in the Diamond Valley League from the Swans during the early stages of 2005.

Prior to that Yze, who is a brother of Adem Yze of Melbourne Demons fame, spent the 2003 and 2004 seasons in front of the goals for the Shepparton Swans and was the leading GVFL goalkicker in both years, booting 124 and 78 goals in each respective season.

Coghlan has returned to East Burwood after one year as assistant coach at Mitcham who are also in Division 1 of the Eastern Football League. Before moving to Mitcham for a crack at coaching Coghlan had played in two losing grand finals at East Burwood in 2003/04 with his two brothers, Derek and Jason Coghlan, who were also products of Notre Dame and Lemnos Thirds.

Coghlan started his football with Lemnos Thirds in 1991 and proceeded to chalk up a list of footy achievements including the Lemnos Thirds Premiership in 1993, the Swans senior B & F in 1995, being drafted by the Sydney Swans in 1998, senior Premierships at full back with Sandringham in the VFL in 1997 and 2000, the senior B & F with Sandringham in the premiership year of 2000, and being named at full back in Sandringham's Team of the Century in 2002.

wheelbarrow
2 Feb 2006, 20:26
:: Tatura News Item

3-2-2006 - By Alan Calder

Bulldog Stars of 2006!

The Bulldogs have released details of a number of recruits who have indicated that they will be in the red, white & blue for 2006. Heading the list is former Coburg centre half back Aaron Willoughby. Willa spent five years with Coburg before playing in two Grand Finals with Sunbury in the Ballarat League, and then becoming a member of the Greenvale Jets premiership side in the Essendon & Dist League 2005 season. Tatura pursued Willoughby a few years ago, and have finally secured his signature. The 190 cm, 98 kg key position defender will add a lot of bite to the Bulldog's backline which lacked height last season. Joining Willoughby will be Shannon Downey who has played with the Calder Cannons and Coburg, and played in the North Central interleague side in 2004 prior to suffering a foot injury which has kept him out of footy for 12 months. Brett Pitts will also join the Bulldogs. Pitts won Hadfield's B & F by 80 votes in 2005, and played a few games for Nightcliffe in the Darwin league before returning to Melbourne. A prolific kick getter, Pitts will play on ball and will also score goals. The surprise package could be Bryce Wellington, a younger brother of Tat's co captain who has been playing with Labrador in Queensland's top competition, and is expected to add height and strength to the forward line. A welcome addition will be Chris Tamburro, who will return after 12 months rest from injuries. A dual premiership player, Chris will also add height, bulk and strength to the forward line - something which was totally lacking last season. Recruiting hasn't finished yet, but the signing of these players, and the return of Chris, should ensure that the Dogs return to the finals in 2006.

TuskenRaider
3 Feb 2006, 08:12
Where not we are talking about euroa and seymours lack of depth compared to rochester.
Seymour & Euroa's lack of depth compared to Rochester??

Sure, Rochy have produced a heap of good local talent, but they have been always had a lot less depth down the list than either Euroa or Seymour. Euroa actually won the reserves flag in 1997.

Whilst we're on Rochy, let's not get too carried away. If you could remember back to the early 90's they had a heap of imports driving up the highway.
Sparks, Febey, Dursma, Putamorsi etc.
Rochy have always had a few top ups to compliment their local talent, and that's the way it has to be for sides from smaller towns, it's no disrespect to them. They do a top job. It's more in the last couple of years that they haven't had too many big name recruits.

Anyway, that's enough of this stuff for now, just some food for thought.

TuskenRaider
3 Feb 2006, 08:15
[QUOTE=Samtrish]

I know a bloke who swears by the rocket ship in the Benalla Gardens. He departed the rocket more than satisfied with his ride.
I've heard more than a few swear by the rocket ship!

ECHUCABOY
3 Feb 2006, 08:19
good call by the bloke who said Tat hadn't got anyone.............

Footyboss - Stop your whinging mate, thats all you do on here. Oh Euroa don't get paid, oh wheres fbp gone , oh seymour are smelly heads.

I was just trying to make the point that while euroa and seymour are the same size as Rochester they rely on has beens, while Rochy develop their junior and current players and are still successful. Just my opinion, doesnt matter.

Anyway I'll leave it at that.

Yze would be on an unbelievable amount of money out at East Burwood. They've lost a lot of big profile players in the last two years and would have a lot of cash to through around.

Even the twos get paid at East Burwood, and its $150 min. for a Senior game. Yze would be getting a ridiculous amount a game, with the role of assistant coach also.

wheelbarrow
3 Feb 2006, 08:24
good call by the bloke who said Tat hadn't got anyone.............

Footyboss - Stop your whinging mate, thats all you do on here. Oh Euroa don't get paid, oh wheres fbp gone , oh seymour are smelly heads.

I was just trying to make the point that while euroa and seymour are the same size as Rochester they rely on has beens, while Rochy develop their junior and current players and are still successful. Just my opinion, doesnt matter.

Anyway I'll leave it at that.

Yze would be on an unbelievable amount of money out at East Burwood. They've lost a lot of big profile players in the last two years and would have a lot of cash to through around.

Even the twos get paid at East Burwood, and its $150 min. for a Senior game. Yze would be getting a ridiculous amount a game, with the role of assistant coach also.

Didnt the has beens win the flag.?

ECHUCABOY
3 Feb 2006, 08:33
Didnt the has beens win the flag.?

yes, didnt they rely on them?

Anyway mate, enough of this everyone on here could babble on for hours.

Giantbug
3 Feb 2006, 08:38
[quote=Samtrish]

They must have fixed the flight controls on the rocket ship. I recall catching it many a time on my way back from the dodgy disco in the famous Roy-al before it went all s********y on us. Back then it was an unsettling ride often resulting in the loss of whatever slop the Royal had been serving up.

Krakour Magic
3 Feb 2006, 08:41
The Paddle Steamer; Black Train; Sevens; the Rocket; and the Woolshed (don't forget John Williams, the chantoozies(?), Kylie, Diesel (albeit with Barnsy), and those great old shaggers, the Angels!). They'll keep me smiling all weekend. Yeah, up there with Eric B. :thumbsu:

Looks like the league will continue to be strong in 06.

Whilst I agree with FootyBoss in that the money talk is a bit tiring, it's a part of the game that we can't ignore. Dirty Williams has raised it at the higher levels, and the economics can't be ignored, particularly for the towns with populations under 5,000. Sustainability will be a key.

Great forum, great posts (well, most anyway).

Travvy43
3 Feb 2006, 09:11
Edited item taken from the Kyabram Free Press.

Forget all about the negative talk in Bomberland.
Despite some major losses, including three club best and fairest winners, Kyabram Football Club senior coach Mark Adamson said this week he can't wait for the season to start.
Heading an impressive list of latest recruits is former player Josh Finn, who has been playing in Darwin.
The fearless Finn was third in the club's best and fairest in 2003 before moving on and is one of the best rovers the club has produced in the past two decades.
Big Josh Vick is also back after a season in the Geelong League and will slot in for veteran Ian Boyd, one of several players departing the club this season.
The Bombers are also hoping another former big man with the club in Steve (Spider) Harris will return to help boost the big man stocks.
Another former big man in Steve Davies is also making a serious comeback this season.
"He hasn't missed a training session yet and is pretty fit," said Adamson.
Adamson said another recent gun signing for the club was his former Montmorency teammate, James Taylor.
"He's captained Montmorency and has won three best and fairest with the club and can really play. He's a centreman onballer."
Another newcomer likely to wear the Bomber jumper this year is last year's Nathalia premiership player, Luke Quinn.
"Luke's been training with us and is keen to have a crack at GVL football."
And the Bombers were expecting another former Nathalia player, Matt Pell, a cousin of Quinn's, to join the club.
Pell has been on the Carlton rookie list and has played with VFL club, Preston.
Former best and fairest player David Newman is also tipped to return to the Bombers this season.
Newman, a best and fairest winner with the club, is the older brother of high flying Bomber star, Paul Newman.
Another recruit the Bombers are targeting is former Cobden player, Adam Courtney.
Former White Hills and Golden Square player Sam Gill is another new face on the training track, and who is expected to try his luck with the club."
Adamson said skilful and rugged Dion Ciavola, who made a big impression when he played the last half of the season with Kyabram last year, will return to play again this season.

Travvy43
3 Feb 2006, 09:13
to me this looks as thought they are trying to put a positive spin on a bleak situation. HAve heard that Dave Newman is no chance on playing with the bombers and to say Josh finn is the best rover the club has produced for two decades, no disrespect to josh but i think two blokes ahead of him would be Atkins and Gugliotti.

Dwight
3 Feb 2006, 09:38
FYI Jimmy Tylor is a gun, absolute jet. If his body is OK he will be a star. Was Monty's best player for ten years and was always in the top 5 players in the DVFl when it was at its peak. You guys will enjoy watching him. Looks like Arron Hamill but plays the centre postion like Vossy. Just roams around getting kicks and is very hard to knock off the ball. Is a better player then Sagey at Euroa. And Dion Ciavola will spend half the year reported, can play but just loves to whack blokes.

Travvy43
3 Feb 2006, 09:43
FYI Jimmy Tylor is a gun, absolute jet. If his body is OK he will be a star. Was Monty's best player for ten years and was always in the top 5 players in the DVFl when it was at its peak. You guys will enjoy watching him. Looks like Arron Hamill but plays the centre postion like Vossy. Just roams around getting kicks and is very hard to knock off the ball. Is a better player then Sagey at Euroa. And Dion Ciavola will spend half the year reported, can play but just loves to whack blokes.

HAve heard Taylor is a gun. He may only be able to play 13 r so games though, he is the Finance Director of the Melbourne Footy club and every time Melbourne play on a Saturday arvo, he cannot play.

Grandale
3 Feb 2006, 09:47
[QUOTE=FOOTYBOSS]

Norman May, Sammy, that's the commentator you're thinking of.

a.k.a.
3 Feb 2006, 09:48
If Ciavola is that fat slow dud with no hair who plays on the ball for Ky, you should add that he only loves to whack blokes when they arent looking, then hides behind his team mates when they have a crack back...

Samtrish
3 Feb 2006, 12:11
[QUOTE=Samtrish]

Norman May, Sammy, that's the commentator you're thinking of.

Thanks Grandale, I now want the rocket ship up there with The Black Steam Train, Sevens Creeks as Benalla's landmark

Chance
3 Feb 2006, 12:18
Seymour & Euroa's lack of depth compared to Rochester??

Sure, Rochy have produced a heap of good local talent, but they have been always had a lot less depth down the list than either Euroa or Seymour. Euroa actually won the reserves flag in 1997.

Whilst we're on Rochy, let's not get too carried away. If you could remember back to the early 90's they had a heap of imports driving up the highway.
Sparks, Febey, Dursma, Putamorsi etc.
Rochy have always had a few top ups to compliment their local talent, and that's the way it has to be for sides from smaller towns, it's no disrespect to them. They do a top job. It's more in the last couple of years that they haven't had too many big name recruits.

Anyway, that's enough of this stuff for now, just some food for thought.
I know you guys have had enough of this Rochy, Seymour, Euroa lack of depth but don't you guys think that Rochy is very lucky to have someone like Dave Williams around for so long. He is the rock that is keeping the club and most of the locals together. Without him, I shudder to think what may happen to Rochy. Might go the way of Tongala???

Grandale
3 Feb 2006, 13:53
[QUOTE=Grandale]

Thanks Grandale, I now want the rocket ship up there with The Black Steam Train, Sevens Creeks as Benalla's landmark

Consider it done Samson.
The Rocket Ship it is. You sure are mighty attached to that ship, cobber.

vantheman32
3 Feb 2006, 15:51
matt pell is a gun, he was a dominant player at Assumption in the 2001 n 2002 premiership sides, great bloke too, had a knee reco at start of last season so missed a whole year, hopefully he can get back to his best! very good player hard it at, wif nice hands n great kick.

vantheman32
3 Feb 2006, 16:14
any thoughts on seymour young gun, jake anderson? how will he go this year after a handful of senior games last season, kids got plenty of promise

Grandale
3 Feb 2006, 18:35
any thoughts on seymour young gun, jake anderson? how will he go this year after a handful of senior games last season, kids got plenty of promise

Would probably be vying with Tim Hooper for the mantle as the best kick at the club.
With natural improvement he should be a walk-up start in the seniors this year, even though the Lions look like being just as strong as last year.
The Lions' forwards will certainly be hoping he gets a game in the Ones.

vantheman32
3 Feb 2006, 18:49
thats good news, so jakes kicking has improved since junior footy, wondering if jake has a good left he tells me he can use it but i havent played wif him in bout 3 years!

Grandale
5 Feb 2006, 11:29
Seriously, this once-great GVFL thread had gone to the pack. Approaching three days without one post. I never thought I'd see the day.
Where are you FBP, Tige and Mainy? Lord knows "The Official GVFL Thread" needs you.

scottymc
5 Feb 2006, 17:59
thats good news, so jakes kicking has improved since junior footy, wondering if jake has a good left he tells me he can use it but i havent played wif him in bout 3 years!

jakes left foot is just as natural as his right, and his talent is beyond most of his age, but the best part of his game is that he has the unbeliveable ability to read the play and adapt his game to suit, most just watch in ore of his natural ability.

vantheman32
5 Feb 2006, 21:32
gday scotty mckenzie, welcome to bigfooty mate:D hows it going?

tige19
6 Feb 2006, 10:18
Not alot to report boys at all. Im still working on getting Nic Bruton (ex bulldog ruckman) to Tatura. I see him everyday at work so its an ongoing process lol, he was very close a few months back but he got an assitance role with Calder so that could take priority, still wording him up though.

Apart from that and that is nothing, there is stuff all to talk about, its an awkward and boring part of the year.

tige19
6 Feb 2006, 10:23
Not alot to report boys at all. Im still working on getting Nic Bruton (ex bulldog ruckman) to Tatura. I see him everyday at work so its an ongoing process lol, he was very close a few months back but he got an assitance role with Calder so that could take priority, still wording him up though.

Apart from that and that is nothing, there is stuff all to talk about, its an awkward and boring part of the year.

BYSTANDER
6 Feb 2006, 11:45
Tige19 you realy do dissapoint me and no doubt a hell of a lot of other people, yes this might be my first post but mate you have talked up tats big recruits since the end of last season, but since xmas your posts seem to be back tracking.... if players havent been secured by now surely your running out of time... teams take time to gel together mate, if you havent got them training and starting to gel by now i sure hope u have some ****** strong super glue........... I personal cant see you guy being in the top bracket...but lets hope u suprise us...i personal hated playing tongala last year cause it was to easy so i hope tat is the new tongala....

gazza12
6 Feb 2006, 12:17
grandale can you fill me in on simon gordon

BYSTANDER
6 Feb 2006, 12:24
Grandale maybe you could have a crack at seymours best 21 in positions... would be interesting to see from a opposition point of veiw...
Didnt that gordon fella a prevoius seymour player

Grandale
6 Feb 2006, 13:01
grandale can you fill me in on simon gordon

Simon Gordon, or "Gordo" as we ingeniously dubbed him when he first came to Seymour, is about 6 foot 3 and is quite athletic.
I haven't seen him since he's been back for training but a few of the boys tell me his body's now got that natural development that it didn't have when he was previous at Seymour (1997-2000 I believe) and he is now quite an impressive looking individual.
When he first came to town he was tried on the wing and while having a six foot 3, athletic fella patrolling the wing looked good, Gordo's failure to get the footy with any degree of regularity meant the exercise was a failure.
He was then tried at full forward and that is where he came into his own. Played some cracking games where he single-handedly won the Lions the match and end up kicking over 70 goals one season I think.
I'd say he'll be the Lions' big target within 50 with Saad left to either pick up his crumbs or stand on top of his head.

Grandale
6 Feb 2006, 13:12
Grandale maybe you could have a crack at seymours best 21 in positions... would be interesting to see from a opposition point of veiw...
Didnt that gordon fella a prevoius seymour player

I haven't even been to one training run, so I'm not 100% on whether there are any recruits that have just fronted up looking for a game, but I'll have a crack anyway.

B: King Jeff Anderson Pilling
HB: Hooper Douglas O'Keeffe
C: Jake Anderson Colbert Reid
HF: Pemberton Ramma Van Riet (I think he's playing again)
F: B Liddell Gordon Saad Saad

Ruck: Shotty, Penn, Habers

Bench: Amad, G Liddell, Sammy Saad and anyone I've forgotten that might take offence to this side.

***NB: Haven't included Scanlon as I haven't heard anyone confirm that he's playing.

Travvy43
6 Feb 2006, 13:46
Very solid bench there at the moment and if scanlon comes into calculations t is going to force another solid player onto the pine.

HJ32
6 Feb 2006, 13:52
grandale...... is Matt Collins definately retired???

Grandale
6 Feb 2006, 14:23
grandale...... is Matt Collins definately retired???

Colbo still have some cash to splash do they HJ?
I haven't heard anything to suggest Collo has gone back on his initial decision to hang up the boots.

gazza12
6 Feb 2006, 14:38
did the maroons get over the line on saturday grandale

tige19
6 Feb 2006, 15:00
Tige19 you realy do dissapoint me and no doubt a hell of a lot of other people, yes this might be my first post but mate you have talked up tats big recruits since the end of last season, but since xmas your posts seem to be back tracking.... if players havent been secured by now surely your running out of time... teams take time to gel together mate, if you havent got them training and starting to gel by now i sure hope u have some ****** strong super glue........... I personal cant see you guy being in the top bracket...but lets hope u suprise us...i personal hated playing tongala last year cause it was to easy so i hope tat is the new tongala....

Hey mate,

Wasnt so much talking up recruits as i never really mentioned names but only relayed a bit of the info the club was giving me (which alot of the boys who are either players or are involved at certain clubs around the GV do) which happens alot on this site, sometimes true sometimes not.

We still have a good 2 months left yet and with the boys the club have got so far im not worried about how we will go as i think we have some good footballers. Not a top4 side yet probably a good 2 or 3 really good players off but we wont be down the bottom thats for sure.

cheers

BYSTANDER
6 Feb 2006, 15:08
fair call tige... just with a bunch of gv people reading this site now, naming who and where you play and revealing things about your club on here you may of put some undue pressure on yourself... i have no doubt ull be getting ribbed on the field, and if tat are getting smashed it could be on and off the field you cop it... were are all you melb guys training anyway...

Grandale
6 Feb 2006, 15:31
did the maroons get over the line on saturday grandale

Maroons had an outright win (knocked over Royals for 39 in their second dig) to storm to the top of the ladder.
Fortunately, B Grade also had an outright win and look like playing finals because that's where I'll be next week.

tige19
6 Feb 2006, 15:36
fair call tige... just with a bunch of gv people reading this site now, naming who and where you play and revealing things about your club on here you may of put some undue pressure on yourself... i have no doubt ull be getting ribbed on the field, and if tat are getting smashed it could be on and off the field you cop it... were are all you melb guys training anyway...

The way my details came out was disappointing but at the end of the day i dont know people on this site nor could i care about people on here (bar a few) so any crap i cop doesnt bother me the slightest. Im sure ill cop a fair bit but ill give it out as well and im happy enough with the boys up at Tatura and the other Melbourne boys that we can look after our selves.

Hopefull we can get a few more guys signed up in the coming weeks, if you throw the potentials in with the Wellingtons,Kirbys,Stevens (if he plays) and the 4 or so Melbourne boys then we are shaping up ok. But defientley we are at least 3 or so really good footballers off the top 3.

cheers

ECHUCABOY
6 Feb 2006, 15:58
The way my details came out was disappointing but at the end of the day i dont know people on this site nor could i care about people on here (bar a few) so any crap i cop doesnt bother me the slightest. Im sure ill cop a fair bit but ill give it out as well and im happy enough with the boys up at Tatura and the other Melbourne boys that we can look after our selves.

Hopefull we can get a few more guys signed up in the coming weeks, if you throw the potentials in with the Wellingtons,Kirbys,Stevens (if he plays) and the 4 or so Melbourne boys then we are shaping up ok. But defientley we are at least 3 or so really good footballers off the top 3.

cheers

Bystander you are kidding aren't ya. I'm sure Mr.Tige19 will be able to cop abuse, which may include; "Why did you not use a comma in your last post on BigFooty" or "We are beating you, you shouldn't have said Tat were ganna pick up some players etc etc.

Tige has obviously played some descent footy as I'm sure have others on here and would be used to a bit of a verbal barrage here and there. At no point has Tige talked himself up all he has done is showed how he is looking forward to his year with the Dogs and is obviously helping them out by trying to recruit some players.

HJ32
6 Feb 2006, 16:11
Colbo still have some cash to splash do they HJ?
I haven't heard anything to suggest Collo has gone back on his initial decision to hang up the boots.

I know that Daniels commented in the Shepp news that Collo hadnt ruled out playing again. Just saw that you didnt have him in your side in an earlier post.

Tell you what he'd look ok in a green n gold jumper ;)

tige19
6 Feb 2006, 17:44
Bystander you are kidding aren't ya. I'm sure Mr.Tige19 will be able to cop abuse, which may include; "Why did you not use a comma in your last post on BigFooty" or "We are beating you, you shouldn't have said Tat were ganna pick up some players etc etc.

Tige has obviously played some descent footy as I'm sure have others on here and would be used to a bit of a verbal barrage here and there. At no point has Tige talked himself up all he has done is showed how he is looking forward to his year with the Dogs and is obviously helping them out by trying to recruit some players.

Cheers brother..........

No doubt Tat are gonna have to pull out a few signings for us to be able to really have a stab at beating the Euroas and Seymours of the league and more recentley Benalla but i mean there is still a good 2 months left till the footy starts.

I know down at Doutta Stars where there are about 5 or 6 close mates playing that they havent signed any of them, so while people may think time is running out thats certantly not the case. In saying that i would like to think that there are a few names that they have on there radar and that are gonna be not to far off.

Anyhow time will only tell and i guess when the round of practise matches get into full swing then we will get some sort of an idea of how competetive some clubs will be.

Doona2
7 Feb 2006, 11:19
Triple treat for Swans

By Wes Cusworth
February 7 2006
Shepparton News

Shepparton Swans have unveiled their latest line-up of recruits, looking to three separate states to boost their playing stocks for the forthcoming season.

In a dual promotion at Princess Park yesterday, Goulburn Valley Football League announced a lucrative new sponsorship arrangement with Shepparton Mitsubishi - set to provide fee relief for all 12 participating clubs - while accompanying the Swans in welcoming five new faces to the region.

Glenn Dundovic (Wanderers, Northern Territory FL), Matt Lutze (West Adelaide, SANFL) and Josh Dazkiw (Old Essendon Grammar, Victorian Amateur FA) joined recent signings Lochie Veale and Kane Ubergang at the home of the Swans to be greeted by playing coach Jarrod Sutherland.

While remaining relatively circumspect in his assessment of his team's pre-season progress, Sutherland was nonetheless delighted to be welcoming a new group of established senior footballers to the club.

"We're fairly happy with the way we're going," the burly on-baller commented.

"These guys are all quality players.

"But we are still talking to lots of players and things are looking good."

While Dundovic was a representative centre-halfforward in the NTFL, 19-year-old Lutze is considered a potential ruckman, with Dazkiw a wingman whose game is based around his lightning-fast speed.

While the Swans were eager to show off their new signings, GVFL general manager Eric Bott was equally delighted to be espousing the virtues of the new deal struck with the Mitsubishi franchise.

"Given the last two years' association, coupled with the projected benefits to the organisation, Shepparton Mitsubishi has indicated a willingness to increase its support of our league," Bott said.

"This is news that will be positive for all clubs in the league, taking pressure off the charges to clubs, which is something that they all want."

ECHUCABOY
7 Feb 2006, 13:51
Triple treat for Swans
Glenn Dundovic (Wanderers, Northern Territory FL), Matt Lutze (West Adelaide, SANFL) and Josh Dazkiw (Old Essendon Grammar, Victorian Amateur FA) joined recent signings Lochie Veale and Kane Ubergang at the home of the Swans to be greeted by playing coach Jarrod Sutherland.

Who the watty? They should be renamed the Eastern European Swans, oh well Shepparton is a VERY multicultural socitey, they shouldn't feel too out of place!

Travvy43
8 Feb 2006, 09:59
Seems like the calm before the storm here boys.

Well just a bit of useless informationt og et this thread kicking:

Maroopna had their training camp at Dookie College on the weekend, good numbers present. Full day of training on Saturday folowed by a tough 10km run on sunday monring. Fairly solid hit out. Learmonth was in attendance and looking in good shape, and it was my understanding that Norman was not there.

Any other GV clubs going on training camps?

T.Perry
8 Feb 2006, 10:05

Maroopna had their training camp at Dookie College on the weekend, good numbers present. Full day of training on Saturday folowed by a tough 10km run on sunday monring. Fairly solid hit out. Learmonth was in attendance and looking in good shape, and it was my understanding that Norman was not there.

Not sure on other clubs training camps, Travvy, what is your understanding in relation to Norman? DO you think/expect that he'll line up for the cats, or do you think he might pull the pin on them?

a.k.a.
8 Feb 2006, 10:20

Heard a bit of a whisper that a few of the cats didnt quite make curfew on saturday night. The 10km run must have been very rough... :rolleyes:

Mooroopna website has some of their time trial times over pre-season. Some fairly fit players in the group...

Grandale
8 Feb 2006, 10:57

Seymour's is this weekend. Portsea I believe.
And re Karl Norman, he has already been registered as a Mooroopna player.

Travvy43
8 Feb 2006, 11:31
Not sure on other clubs training camps, Travvy, what is your understanding in relation to Norman? DO you think/expect that he'll line up for the cats, or do you think he might pull the pin on them?

Yeah i think he will line up, but he just seems to be taking his time getting to the cattery for training. Will be big assett for the cats when in full swing

ECHUCABOY
8 Feb 2006, 12:15
Heard a bit of a whisper that a few of the cats didnt quite make curfew on saturday night. The 10km run must have been very rough... :rolleyes:

Mooroopna website has some of their time trial times over pre-season. Some fairly fit players in the group...

Curfew on the saturday night of the pre season trip is unheard of!! What kinda club is Mooroopna!!!!!!!

Isn't the idea of a pre-season trip to train your arse off satdy, get absolutley smashed saturday night then proceed to put your body through absolute hell again on the sunday?????

a.k.a.
8 Feb 2006, 12:35
Curfew on the saturday night of the pre season trip is unheard of!! What kinda club is Mooroopna!!!!!!!

Isn't the idea of a pre-season trip to train your arse off satdy, get absolutley smashed saturday night then proceed to put your body through absolute hell again on the sunday?????

Wouldnt know, I've managed to get out of ours most years...

A mate of mine went on a footy camp last year where they were supposed to go easy on the turps and be back where they were staying in Queenscliff by around midnight. He got so smashed he jumped in a taxi and the next thing he knew the taxi driver was waking him up..... he was back in melbourne, with no money to pay him and had no way of getting back to the training camp... got in just a little bit of trouble...

Chance
8 Feb 2006, 13:05
I haven't even been to one training run, so I'm not 100% on whether there are any recruits that have just fronted up looking for a game, but I'll have a crack anyway.

B: King Jeff Anderson Pilling
HB: Hooper Douglas O'Keeffe
C: Jake Anderson Colbert Reid
HF: Pemberton Ramma Van Riet (I think he's playing again)
F: B Liddell Gordon Saad Saad

Ruck: Shotty, Penn, Habers

Bench: Amad, G Liddell, Sammy Saad and anyone I've forgotten that might take offence to this side.

***NB: Haven't included Scanlon as I haven't heard anyone confirm that he's playing.
Isn't a fella called Ben Bailey playing for Seymour this year?

Grandale
8 Feb 2006, 13:32
Isn't a fella called Ben Bailey playing for Seymour this year?

Meant to be, but by virtue of the fact of the fact injury has allowed him to take part in about 3 senior games in two seasons I think it's fair enough to take a conservative view with him.
Michael Thomson is the one bloke I did forget when naming my team (sorry Thompo). We'll slot him onto a four-man bench.

half time lollies
8 Feb 2006, 14:20
Wouldnt know, I've managed to get out of ours most years...

A mate of mine went on a footy camp last year where they were supposed to go easy on the turps and be back where they were staying in Queenscliff by around midnight. He got so smashed he jumped in a taxi and the next thing he knew the taxi driver was waking him up..... he was back in melbourne, with no money to pay him and had no way of getting back to the training camp... got in just a little bit of trouble...

Ahh this smells like Simon Lang??????

LOBSTER
8 Feb 2006, 14:39
And re Karl Norman, he has already been registered as a Mooroopna player.
Still doesnt mean he will play, It must be very concerning for the cats. Pre season camps are supposed about getting to know each other better and bonding as a team. They usually gel teams together so they are ready to fire during the pre season. I still have my doubts whether Norman will actually play. His probably drugged off his brain with Angwin at the moment.

ECHUCABOY
8 Feb 2006, 15:00
Still doesnt mean he will play, It must be very concerning for the cats. Pre season camps are supposed about getting to know each other better and bonding as a team. They usually gel teams together so they are ready to fire during the pre season. I still have my doubts whether Norman will actually play. His probably drugged off his brain with Angwin at the moment.

I reckon a fair few people would have used that line before......;)

ilovetogetblind
8 Feb 2006, 15:09
Anyone know how Mansfiled are looking this year?

Heard they had lost a few but sure who...

Top 4/5 ??

half time lollies
8 Feb 2006, 15:11
Heard a rumour today that Rhys Archard is yet to secure a job over in Adelaide and if he doesn't land 1 soon he may be back to play for the Murray Bombers?? Any truth to this??

ECHUCABOY
8 Feb 2006, 15:11

Top 4/5 ??

Spent their money and had a couple of years up the top, now they will slowly descend down the ladder. Only a thought, cos thats what usually happens. Anybody know what big names are stayin on, coming, going?

half time lollies
8 Feb 2006, 15:14

Top 4/5 ??

Have lost quite a few:

Mensch, Hulme, Tranquilli, Hopgood, Millott, Briggs, Monahan and maybe more to come!!!!

Will struggle to make the finals unless they pick up a few in the next month but this is unlikely you would think