View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

fat back pocket
21 Feb 2006, 17:15
Heard it was a great success again,boys had to be down there by 8 pm , Mark Williams [ assistant coach Melbourne and Sandringham back to back flags ] spoke to the boys about the up and coming season and what to expect from opposition sides this year. after that i heard the boys had to do a 2 km beach run in their teams carring a stretcher with one of the coaches on it [ this was im told about 11 pm ] got to bed about 12 30am then had to be up at 530 am to do the triathlon. Saturday was made up of beach and game activitys and finished im told about 6pm, and they all went to the portsea pub for tea and gas. P King won the tri , and R Douglas team won overall, have not heard yet about any stories at the pub ??

Don't think you "heard" No Heart...i think you were there!
- If someone tells you about a weekend, not sure they go into so much details re: times!!
ie: up at 5:30am for a triathalon, and finishing the day at 6:30.

And you know exactly what is going on with Doona...

I was a witness to a Ripley's Believe it or not... on the weekend, our good BF friend Grandale held onto two bullet like catches at 2nd slip to help the maroons snare an outright victory.

It was an incredible sight which is sure to never happen again.

Junkie
21 Feb 2006, 17:16
Sorry mate will elaborate for you, since 98 is 9years including this year and I assumed he would have done it for nothing atleast 1 year before then (more than likely more) so that is $20,000 a year for 10 years, I would think most major league clubs would take David Williams for that. Also wasnt always non-playing, played until 2001 so there is a minimum 4 years as playing coach thrown in. So thats how I came up with atleast $200,000.

Cheers

Is Dirty pretty well off financially?? Business or something??

All in all a great effort:thumbsu:

IMO Rochy would be up $hits creek without a paddle if he wasn't around!

fat back pocket
21 Feb 2006, 17:32
Ive heard massive raps on Tossol, if ahyone has heard him from the sidelines or the huddle can they give us an idea of what makes him so good???

Tige, heard Tossols half time address at the Mansfield v Benalla semi final when Benalla were showing a s h i t load of heart to have themselves in front at half time.

Thought tossol was ok, his players weren't playing well and deserved a spray considering the tallent in their squad. But from what i saw that day, doesn't seem like a bloke who could give a good spray when required to pump the boys up (when its deserved)...which doesn't mean he isn't a good coach, but I would assume Dirty would be able to give blokes the angry spray to fire them up?

Tossols 3/4 time address was pretty tamed, he gave good instruction, analysed the game pretty good, his team ended up running over Benalla in the end.

Should be interesting this year, people will be able to see how good tossol is when he doesn't have the squad of players like Euroa and Seymour. If he can get the most out of his players and get them too the finals, you'd have to give him a fair bit of credit?

SJ Daniel gave the boys a massive spray at 3/4 time vs Rochy before the finals, and was probably the best spray i've seen from a coach. Didn't stuff up at all, great spray, which then fired his team up to run away comfortable winners after Rochy showed a fair bit in the 3rd to get right back in it.

uncletoby
21 Feb 2006, 18:23
GV Footy F u c k wit!

You couldn't have played in too many high intensity games if you are having a cry about a few half time words said between teams, in a final.

Look back at previous postings from BYSTANDER and replies from myself and Rowey regarding this. It wasn't Dirty hurling abuse! It was two Rochy boys, one present and one former player who were having a crack at Luke Jackson after he s h!!t himself just before half time.

Also, from memory, didn't Sudsy brake Saad's jaw? If Dirty did say something (if) how bad could it have been to compare a few words at half time to braking someones jaw?

Finally, only an ignorant c o c k suck er would not put David Williams in the top five coaches in the league. People would see your top five and think, gee, its a bit ironic he calls himself a GV Footy Fan and knows f' all about the GV.

Look forward to your reply.

Slim - yes he does coach for free.

love to get blind, saddies jaw wasnt broken in that game were sutherland sniped him. just lettin ya no.

uncletoby
21 Feb 2006, 18:32
isn't doona coaching seymour thirds? doona should be coaching Assumption collage i reckon

hahaha Ray Carrol will be at Assumption till he dies, i did hear a roumer that this is his last couple of yrs at the college, so doon u might be in!!!

hank1
21 Feb 2006, 19:19
Is Dirty pretty well off financially?? Business or something??

All in all a great effort:thumbsu:

IMO Rochy would be up $hits creek without a paddle if he wasn't around!

He owned the Rochy Hotel through the 90's, he now owns and runs Rochester Tyres and Batteries which is a fairly big business.
Dirty is Rochy through and through and that is why he does it for nothing. Another thing that is probably lost on most is that by the coach taking this stance, IMO a lot of great Rochester players have played at the club for a lot less than there market value (even well below what you would expect for a one club player) because the bloke up the front leading them is doing it for nothing.

Tank McPhee, Chris McCarty, Simon McCarty, Tim Rass, Steve Rass, Heath Aitken, Dean Moon, Jeremy Campbell, Nathan Roulston, Tim Cottam, Brenton Gray etc., all to differing lengths have/are playing for stuff all IMO. All GV reps and/or B&F winners.

jmain14
21 Feb 2006, 20:25
He owned the Rochy Hotel through the 90's, he now owns and runs Rochester Tyres and Batteries which is a fairly big business.
Dirty is Rochy through and through and that is why he does it for nothing. Another thing that is probably lost on most is that by the coach taking this stance, IMO a lot of great Rochester players have played at the club for a lot less than there market value (even well below what you would expect for a one club player) because the bloke up the front leading them is doing it for nothing.

Tank McPhee, Chris McCarty, Simon McCarty, Tim Rass, Steve Rass, Heath Aitken, Dean Moon, Jeremy Campbell, Nathan Roulston, Tim Cottam, Brenton Gray etc., all to differing lengths have/are playing for stuff all IMO. All GV reps and/or B&F winners.
fantastic call hank. spot on the money as usual. could add a few other players to that list too I'd reckon.

Zippa
21 Feb 2006, 21:05
Rising stars of this year.

Echuca - Chris Casey
Seymour - Jake Anderson
Shepparton - Rhys O Sullivan, Paul Kenelley, Geremie Ganino
Rochy - Letcher, Hann

yeh sounds alright, i reckon there mite b a couple more though

Shepp utd- Shane Sali
Shepp Swans- Cam Birch,Matt Hebbard
Benalla - james martinello, james saker(violet town)
Mansfield- dan roy
Seymour- dom russo

localfootyguru
21 Feb 2006, 21:07
Great stuff to read about david williams going rate as a coach. Many less credentialed and ego driven coaches could take a leaf out of his book. From my expereinces he was a terrific coach and had the ability to really bring a team together with strong levels of unity and comraderie. Also a very good tactician too.

Have to agree that both Tossol and Daniel are good coaches too and their record indicates this - these three guys are at the top of the heap as coaches in the GV and in country footy as a whole.:thumbsu:

nesko_25
21 Feb 2006, 21:21
could any1 fill me in on matty martin from echuca?

Doona2
21 Feb 2006, 22:15
hahaha Ray Carrol will be at Assumption till he dies, i did hear a roumer that this is his last couple of yrs at the college, so doon u might be in!!!

Dunno who stated this lads, I think very highly of Ray Carroll has been a wonderful family friend for a long time and Im sure someone is just taking the pi$$

ringo1
22 Feb 2006, 07:01
Ray Carroll is an icon of footy-great coach!

ilovetogetblind
22 Feb 2006, 07:42

playing with Lockington this year I think

TuskenRaider
22 Feb 2006, 08:08
Tige, heard Tossols half time address at the Mansfield v Benalla semi final when Benalla were showing a s h i t load of heart to have themselves in front at half time.

Thought tossol was ok, his players weren't playing well and deserved a spray considering the tallent in their squad. But from what i saw that day, doesn't seem like a bloke who could give a good spray when required to pump the boys up (when its deserved)...which doesn't mean he isn't a good coach, but I would assume Dirty would be able to give blokes the angry spray to fire them up?

Tossols 3/4 time address was pretty tamed, he gave good instruction, analysed the game pretty good, his team ended up running over Benalla in the end.

Should be interesting this year, people will be able to see how good tossol is when he doesn't have the squad of players like Euroa and Seymour. If he can get the most out of his players and get them too the finals, you'd have to give him a fair bit of credit?

Mansfield did win that match didn't they? So maybe he said something that made the players take note. I'm not too sure how you could judge his ability to "give a spray" based on listening to a couple of talks. And you can bet he'll give the odd one when needed, and he may do it at training as well.

Coaches that go off the deep end all the time lose alot of impact when they need it. Balance is what's required.

ringo1
22 Feb 2006, 09:01
Agree tuskan-sprays only in emergencies or they lose impact. They can even be pre-meditated!:thumbsu:

Grandale
22 Feb 2006, 09:52
I was a witness to a Ripley's Believe it or not... on the weekend, our good BF friend Grandale held onto two bullet like catches at 2nd slip to help the maroons snare an outright victory.

It was an incredible sight which is sure to never happen again.

Poor ol' Grandale has copped a bum rap for a fella that's put down just one slips catch this season - and in a game that the Mighty Maroons won outright anyway.

Say, fellow BigFooty readers, while we're on cricket i have some news some of you might be interested in.
The quickest of the quick - Jeffrey "Thommo" Thomson - will be appearing at the Seymour Cricket Club this Friday.
Just $15 to get in, which gets you bar snacks and drinks at cheap bar prices, and the night kicks off at 7pm.
Hope to see y'all there.

ANT JESS
22 Feb 2006, 10:29
Poor ol' Grandale has copped a bum rap for a fella that's put down just one slips catch this season - and in a game that the Mighty Maroons won outright anyway.

Say, fellow BigFooty readers, while we're on cricket i have some news some of you might be interested in.
The quickest of the quick - Jeffrey "Thommo" Thomson - will be appearing at the Seymour Cricket Club this Friday.
Just $15 to get in, which gets you bar snacks and drinks at cheap bar prices, and the night kicks off at 7pm.
Hope to see y'all there.

Thommo appeared in a rochy pub earlier this year, and from all reports it was a very good night. Apparently he spoke as if he rates himself very highly, but that could just be his sence of humour I spose. Should be a good night!

ringo1
22 Feb 2006, 10:32
I'd rate myself a bit if I could hurt the Poms like he did and scare the bejesus out of them at the same time! I'd love that talent.:thumbsu:

bradrowe#32
22 Feb 2006, 11:03

Do you mean Michael Martin? If so, he is going to Echuca United.

Fair bit of action on the transfers page: http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

jets06
22 Feb 2006, 15:19
can anyone fill me on what type of season did Mark O'Sullivan have at Benalla last year !

Xander
22 Feb 2006, 15:37

What about Jeff Anderson, who plays at Seymour. I've heard that he currently plays for nothing! This is from a 2 time Vic Country Rep, Gv rep, best & fairest. Not too many clubs could boast that i'd imagine???? Any seymour people that can back that statement up?

FOOTYBOSS
22 Feb 2006, 15:40
Dunno who stated this lads, I think very highly of Ray Carroll has been a wonderful family friend for a long time and Im sure someone is just taking the pi$$
How did you go the big bucks weekend last week Doona? Heard it was a very funny trip.

Also heard that Ramsay is no certainy to play this year after his kneww reco. last year. Also can anyone from Seymour confirm that Paul Scanlon has definately agreed to terms. Someone mentioned it in the pub on saturday but I was to busy watching races and drinking to actually listen to the full story. Will be a good replacement for Jackson if true.

half time lollies
22 Feb 2006, 15:52
Echuca have snared a second recruit from Sturt with a clearance being lodged for a Brett Howman (see GVFL transfers page). Not sure what he go's like but Echuca should be a better side than last year considering their inclusions!

uncletoby
22 Feb 2006, 18:09
What about Jeff Anderson, who plays at Seymour. I've heard that he currently plays for nothing! This is from a 2 time Vic Country Rep, Gv rep, best & fairest. Not too many clubs could boast that i'd imagine???? Any seymour people that can back that statement up?

Xander you are correct in that joffa anderson doesnt get paid to play at the club, from what i have found out the club wanted to pay him petrol money, because he lives in melb but he wouldnt even except that, thats just what ive hured some other boys, might be able to elaberate on that a little more.

uncletoby
22 Feb 2006, 18:15
yeh sounds alright, i reckon there mite b a couple more though

Shepp utd- Shane Sali
Shepp Swans- Cam Birch,Matt Hebbard
Benalla - james martinello, james saker(violet town)
Mansfield- dan roy
Seymour- dom russo

i think that shane sali is underated, ive seen him play some pritty good footy, also with Matt Hebbard he can read the ball and is pritty quick around the ground, Dom Russo went pritty will last season and was a little stiff not to get a couple more 1's games under his belt, better luck this year. James Martinello does he have another year in the 3's i thought he did, he is another gun and should get a run in the Benalla 1's.

gta3
22 Feb 2006, 19:19
at school today (which is assumption) i saw doona up talking to ray carrol. i think it about a job as a coach at assumption. Hey doon is ray going to train you up or something

thefootymaster5
22 Feb 2006, 19:57
Brett Howman has played with Sturt for a good 6 or 7 years - around 100 games. Played for the SANFL against the WAFL in 2003. Apparently been injured a fair amount the last 2 years but can play.

Doona2
22 Feb 2006, 20:48

Not a Seymour person but can 100% confirm this. Joffa is a credit to himself and the Lions are extremely lucky to have blokes like Jeff wanting to play merely for the love of the jumper.

Dont wanna go over past arguments, but dare I say it there should be more Joffa Anderson types in country football in the current day of the almighty dollar.

Doona2
22 Feb 2006, 20:51
How did you go the big bucks weekend last week Doona? Heard it was a very funny trip.

Also heard that Ramsay is no certainy to play this year after his kneww reco. last year. Also can anyone from Seymour confirm that Paul Scanlon has definately agreed to terms. Someone mentioned it in the pub on saturday but I was to busy watching races and drinking to actually listen to the full story. Will be a good replacement for Jackson if true.

Was a top doo, plenty of laugh and not a hint of trouble. Hadnt been out in Shepp for years had forgotten how many options there were as far as venues.

Doona2
22 Feb 2006, 20:56
at school today (which is assumption) i saw doona up talking to ray carrol. i think it about a job as a coach at assumption. Hey doon is ray going to train you up or something

I think you might have me mixed up with me old mate Mark Carboon who is the groundsman . . . very similar frame!!! Go easy on the ACK chat gents, my bloody phone was red hot this arvo as people are running with these rumours aired on Big Footy.

Would love to say I have accepted a role at either Assumption College, Seymour 3rds, Seymour 1sts, Collingwood (wishful thinking :p ) but the truth is I can't commit to anything with football in 2006 due to family commitments which was my original reason for regretfully standing down at Yea.

If ya's wanna silk me in for a gig for 2007 by all means go for it, after a year out of the game I'll be chomping at the bit for a gig by October.

No more talk about Doona2 please there are much more worthy people on this thread (a la the top 5 debate) - lets get into the practice games, clearance disputes and the hot topics of the pre-season.

Flat Track Bully
22 Feb 2006, 21:12
can anyone fill me on what type of season did Mark O'Sullivan have at Benalla last year !

Pretty good...played most of the year off a back flank, and proved to be a close checker, as well being able to create play.

Like Benalla, started well, had a mid-season slump, and then returned to some semblance of his best in the finals.

Grandale
23 Feb 2006, 08:19

Can confirm this is 100% correct. Don't think he even gets petrol money (he goes to Uni in Melb).

Grandale
23 Feb 2006, 08:23

Geez Boss, I want to do your pre-season...hang on a minute, I already am.
Not too sure on Scanlon. Actually heard two weekends ago (things might have changed) that the Lions had given up on him and he was playing for a rival GV club that offered $100 a game more than the Lions.

HJ32
23 Feb 2006, 08:40
Can confirm this is 100% correct. Don't think he even gets petrol money (he goes to Uni in Melb).

I'll back Grandale on that

SFC try to give him coin but he refuses to take any. Jeff's elder brother can be a bit of a pest on the gas, but he too travels back for nothing to play for the lions. Not that he'll be playing much this year cos of a 2nd knee reco which is a shame cos he has some ability as well, and it is only his body that holds him back from eventually breaking into GV Senior ranks.

saint13
23 Feb 2006, 10:04
its amazing all you blokes havent got doona fingered for the vacant job at V/T, you've got him penciled in for everything else at the moment

Kick It To Me!!
23 Feb 2006, 14:55
Hey wheres the best place to go out on a saturday nite in shepp,coming up in a few weeks

a.k.a.
23 Feb 2006, 15:10
Hey wheres the best place to go out on a saturday nite in shepp,coming up in a few weeks

Ummmm no where...

No wait..... Fonnnnntaaaannnnaaa or whatever the f*ck its called... :thumbsu:

Dont forget to take with you: 10-20 mates, knuckle dusters, baseball bat, iron bar, a knife or two, (a gun may be handy also). That should get you through the night fairly safely... Thats according to the shep news anyway, in their "campaign to make shepparton streets safer" !!!....

:rolleyes:

PUP16
23 Feb 2006, 17:51
Rising stars of this year.

Echuca - Chris Casey
Seymour - Jake Anderson
Shepparton - Rhys O Sullivan, Paul Kenelley, Geremie Ganino
Rochy - Letcher, Hann

Chris Casey and Jake anderson would b the stand outs here, how do they compare to eachother, will they play on eachother this year..... would b a good match up!!

FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2006, 18:39
Ummmm no where...

No wait..... Fonnnnntaaaannnnaaa or whatever the f*ck its called... :thumbsu:

Dont forget to take with you: 10-20 mates, knuckle dusters, baseball bat, iron bar, a knife or two, (a gun may be handy also). That should get you through the night fairly safely... Thats according to the shep news anyway, in their "campaign to make shepparton streets safer" !!!....

:rolleyes:
Didnt someone get murdered out in front of fontanna the other week. Shocking place. What about the good old sherbourne and the ever sleazy rawhide.........

Seymour boys might be able to answer this. Johaar Saad, saad saads brother is rumoured to be heading up the hume this year after playing at lalor last year. I know his cousin sammy trained before christmas but has he been back?

FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2006, 18:41
Geez Boss, I want to do your pre-season...hang on a minute, I already am.
Not too sure on Scanlon. Actually heard two weekends ago (things might have changed) that the Lions had given up on him and he was playing for a rival GV club that offered $100 a game more than the Lions.
Pre season is over rated. Sitting in the pub is more fun than running time trials. Do you know who the other gvfl club was?

Specky Magee
23 Feb 2006, 19:05

The lake. Only if you drive a V8 commodoore, where then you can hung out with all the dirty fat ones.

jmain14
23 Feb 2006, 21:08
from the advice you have been given here kick it to me it seems as though people are backing against you making the trip up to shepp. my advice would be no different for the joint is infested with reptiles and even worse nightspots. unless you have a very very good reason to be in shepp (ie. footy game, wedding) I'd suggest you wouldn't bother.

far canal
23 Feb 2006, 21:13
Didnt someone get murdered out in front of fontanna the other week. Shocking place. What about the good old sherbourne and the ever sleazy rawhide.........

Seymour boys might be able to answer this. Johaar Saad, saad saads brother is rumoured to be heading up the hume this year after playing at lalor last year. I know his cousin sammy trained before christmas but has he been back?footyboss- I can confirm that gohar saad has trained and signed on at lalor

Grandale
24 Feb 2006, 09:37
Pre season is over rated. Sitting in the pub is more fun than running time trials. Do you know who the other gvfl club was?

LOL for Footyboss. Perhaps that is why you've shredded your quad seven times in the past three seasons or whatever it is...
Anyway, re the Saad boys, I know nothing about Johar playing for Seymour. Can confirm Sammy will be lining up with us this year, though.
Also, a little podgy defender told me at cricket training last night that after much consternation thanks to some amazing offers from clubs all over the country, Saad Saad committed to the Lions on Wednesday night.

bazlurhmann
25 Feb 2006, 01:19
look out for a young fella by the name of lachy watts in the senoir ranks at the lions in the future. he is super fit and has excellent skills on both sides of his body. he also reads the play very well.

Doona2
25 Feb 2006, 08:04
look out for a young fella by the name of lachy watts in the senoir ranks at the lions in the future. he is super fit and has excellent skills on both sides of his body. he also reads the play very well.

Just home from the pub Baz, obviously Kilmore will be a pushover this round hey!!!

far canal
25 Feb 2006, 09:33
LOL for Footyboss. Perhaps that is why you've shredded your quad seven times in the past three seasons or whatever it is...
Anyway, re the Saad boys, I know nothing about Johar playing for Seymour. Can confirm Sammy will be lining up with us this year, though.
Also, a little podgy defender told me at cricket training last night that after much consternation thanks to some amazing offers from clubs all over the country, Saad Saad committed to the Lions on Wednesday night.who is the brother that you would rather in your team gohar or saad JOHAR- 6 foot 1 strong, quick, agile, good grab, can hold down chf, chb, ff innacurate 50 to 60 goals and 50 points or SAAD- 5 foot 10 quick great leap, strong grab, good straight kick 90 t0 100 goals at ff.

It would be great to have both but who is better in your team?????

FOOTYBOSS
25 Feb 2006, 09:42
who is the brother that you would rather in your team gohar or saad JOHAR- 6 foot 1 strong, quick, agile, good grab, can hold down chf, chb, ff innacurate 50 to 60 goals and 50 points or SAAD- 5 foot 10 quick great leap, strong grab, good straight kick 90 t0 100 goals at ff.

It would be great to have both but who is better in your team?????
I would take saad anyday of the week. A guy that can kick bewteen 90-100 goals in a season is hard to find. A bloke that can kick 50-60 goals is easy to find.

FOOTYBOSS
25 Feb 2006, 09:43
Also, a little podgy defender told me at cricket training last night that after much consternation thanks to some amazing offers from clubs all over the country, Saad Saad committed to the Lions on Wednesday night.
Well Im just doing my pre-season for my trip to Europe which is 2 weeks time. have to get plenty of drinking practice in.

far canal
25 Feb 2006, 09:45
I would take saad anyday of the week. A guy that can kick bewteen 90-100 goals in a season is hard to find. A bloke that can kick 50-60 goals is easy to find.thats fair but a chf that can kick 50-60 goals a year is not easy to find

boppin
25 Feb 2006, 10:50
has anyone got any news from kyabram fc. I havent read any thing about them for weeks. A few weeks ago in the local paper it read Mark adamson having all these recruits. I havent seen any names coming into Ky on the transfers except Quinn from Nathalia.
Whats happening with the likes of Stink Newman, Josh Finn, Josh Vick, Leigh Ryall etc. It also said Adamson had players from where he came from Montmorency, no names from there either.
It sounds like Kyabram will really struggle.
I no they have some superstars in Paul Newman and the coach is quality
it is often your worse player that will win you games!
Any thoughts

PUP16
25 Feb 2006, 12:08

Gun player, suprised he didnt make the GV interleague side..... one of the best young kids comin threw!!! can anyone tell me how they interleage sides went....? both seniors and 18s, who were the real stand outs n who struggled a bit...? didnt really hear much bout it..!!

Specky Magee
25 Feb 2006, 12:20
Well Im just doing my pre-season for my trip to Europe which is 2 weeks time. have to get plenty of drinking practice in.

From all reports, your drinking is as good as your football and that is terrible.

Grandale
25 Feb 2006, 17:36
Sammy Saad is not playing for Seymour this year.

tige19
25 Feb 2006, 18:43
Had a run with Tatura last night with Willa and we had a bit of a scratch match which was good fun.

We are short on about 3 really good players but with the side at the moment will be very competetive. Purcy looks like the Hulk and is jumping and grabbing everything, could turn a game on its head. Linc is looking great and Kirbs is also fit and the KDFL boys are looking really good to.

A massive suprise this season will be Bryce Wellington, he has a super build and a massive leap, wouldnt be far of Interleague status if he goes alright. Hopefully they tie up Mcdonald soon so he will be a huge asset. Still a good 3 or 4 players away from the top 4 but alot better than they where last year.

cheers

Doona2
25 Feb 2006, 19:19
Gun player, suprised he didnt make the GV interleague side..... one of the best young kids comin threw!!! can anyone tell me how they interleage sides went....? both seniors and 18s, who were the real stand outs n who struggled a bit...? didnt really hear much bout it..!!

Gun player. obviously a mate of the young "son of Sam" there PUP16. Be careful when you pump up a young fella on Big Footy . . . . we'd hate for him not to back it up and then have the experts of GV footy pay him out down the track and then we'd be questioning your credibility as a Big Footy source we can trust!!!

FootyFreak69
26 Feb 2006, 12:06
can anyone give me much info on how euroa are going?? are hilton and clayton there??

PUP16
26 Feb 2006, 18:14
Gun player. obviously a mate of the young "son of Sam" there PUP16. Be careful when you pump up a young fella on Big Footy . . . . we'd hate for him not to back it up and then have the experts of GV footy pay him out down the track and then we'd be questioning your credibility as a Big Footy source we can trust!!!

Nah not a mate doona, dont know him personally, saw him play against shepp swans at shepp on a pretty wet day.... showed good skills in the wet n was very good at stopages, but thats only going by 1 game and it was th 3's, did he play any senior footy last year?? keen to know how he's traveling to date.....

bazlurhmann
26 Feb 2006, 19:26
well considering we rolled them for 54 it didnt i could have had a few more with thommo on friday night. the only thing that stoped us from winning on the first day was that extreme downpour we got just before tea.

fat back pocket
26 Feb 2006, 19:53

The little podgy defender can also confirm that Sammy Saad will NOT be playing for seymour.

Straight from me man...the high-flying superstar they call Saad...Saad. Saad saad Saad.

Saad.

TuskenRaider
27 Feb 2006, 08:12
can anyone give me much info on how euroa are going?? are hilton and clayton there??
Currently even with the rest of the competition on 0 points.

T.Perry
27 Feb 2006, 08:39
We are short on about 3 really good players but with the side at the moment will be very competetive. Purcy looks like the Hulk and is jumping and grabbing everything, could turn a game on its head. Linc is looking great and Kirbs is also fit and the KDFL boys are looking really good to.

cheers

Hey tige, I was just wondering which KDL boys you had recruited and if they'd been cleared yet? I had a mate go and watch one of the intra-clubs that Tat had, and was very impressed with McDonald - said he was jumping all over Kirbs!

Also, how is Rushy lad, Ryan Raglus going? Likely to play many one's games?

ECHUCABOY
27 Feb 2006, 08:46
See Shane Sali was getting pumped up on here.......Last time I seen him play he went over and listened to what his Old man had to say while everyone else was listening to the coach.

Couldn't play a couple of years ago, must be on the improve??

Chris Casey will slaughter sides this year, only person I know to have brown hair and red pubes, quite disturbing really

Doona2
27 Feb 2006, 08:49
More Bombers firepower

February 27 2006
Shepparton News

The news just gets better at Echuca where the Murray Bombers have announced the signing of their second highly credentialled recruit in the space of a week.

After heralding the arrival of Stephen White just days ago, Echuca has unveiled the signature of 1996 Hawthorn draftee and fellow 2002 Sturt premiership player Brett Howman.

Despite missing the entire 2005 season with a back ailment the 188 cm centrehalf-back has completed a full pre-season with Sturt and is ready to resume his love affair with the game.

"It's very exciting," Echuca playing coach Dylan Butler said in announcing the coup.

"Howman's signing overcomes the problem of last year where we lacked height and forced our midfield to rove to opposition ruckmen.

"Over the last couple of years we've had to play some young guys in positions that they weren't ready for.

"The recruitment of some big men means some of the young guys will be able to play their natural game rather than being rushed into too big a role."

Howman was drafted by Hawthorn (pick 73) from the NSW-ACT Rams in 1996, the same year that Brisbane selected Euroa's Rory Hilton at number three.

He failed to play a senior game for Hawthorn before winding up at Sturt to become a part of the TwoBlues drought-breaking premiership win of 2002.

The acquisition of Howman will stiffen up the Bombers' spine - particularly given their bevy of recruits of the ilk of Josh Maddox and John Halloran, along with the return of Brad Smith - while offsetting the loss of mid-field dynamo Rhys Archard.

Echuca begins its season against Rochester on April 15

T.Perry
27 Feb 2006, 08:51

FF69. Haven't seen Hilton, or heard how he's travelling - but have seen the euroa boys at training down in Melbourne. All of them were looking in sensational condition and were training with plenty of intensity and purpose. I don't think a ball hit the ground and I certainly got the impression that they are keen to atone for last year. Both Shane and Mark Clayton are at Euroa and are looking like having big years. Hyatt, Jansz, Grainger, McBrien (who gets some harsh treatment on bigfooty, and in my opinion is underated, and will be a loss when he heads OS) and Gibbo all looked fitter than they did last year and new recruit Clarke was moving well at training and will def be in top 2-3 big men in the comp.

At this stage I'd reckon Euroa, Benalla and Seymour would easily be the top 3 with a fair bit of daylight to whoevers fourth. Would like to see Euroa win the big one, but reckon Seymour coach Stevie D could be the difference - seems to have a lot more experience, flair and knowledge than Gleeson..

Gozling
27 Feb 2006, 11:40
Tige not sure what you're on about but heard tat isn't looking to good. ANyway you can keep updating us if you want but not many read it sorry

TuskenRaider
27 Feb 2006, 11:46
Tige not sure what you're on about but heard tat isn't looking to good. ANyway you can keep updating us if you want but not many read it sorry
I don't think Tige's written anything where he's said they're going to be world beaters, just a fair improvement on last year. He's just reported a bit of info from training is all.

ECHUCABOY
27 Feb 2006, 12:02

Well considering he plays for Tat he probably knows what his on about, he also said they are a few players off looking good.

I'm sure many have read Tiges posts about Tatura and their recruitment. Why dont you tell us about how your side is looking and your recruitment? What side is yours Gozling, it would be interesting to note.

Surely Echuca are going to be very competitive with these two signings, plus picking up maddox, casey and Smith. Be interesting to know what sort of coin these guys are on.....

Kick It To Me!!
27 Feb 2006, 12:03
Hey specky magee,whats the go with the fat ones down at the lake?Its just that theyre my personal preference anyway!! Nothin better than slotting 2 from the pocket,then belting down 12-15 pots of draught,then going on the hunt for a ,errr... portly sized woman! Where else apart from the lake do these types congregate?

slim18
27 Feb 2006, 13:00
Hey specky magee,whats the go with the fat ones down at the lake?Its just that theyre my personal preference anyway!! Nothin better than slotting 2 from the pocket,then belting down 12-15 pots of draught,then going on the hunt for a ,errr... portly sized woman! Where else apart from the lake do these types congregate?:D

They always have a lot of love to give.

GVFootyfan
27 Feb 2006, 13:09
[QUOTE=ilovetogetblind]GV Footy F u c k wit!

You couldn't have played in too many high intensity games if you are having a cry about a few half time words said between teams, in a final.

Look back at previous postings from BYSTANDER and replies from myself and Rowey regarding this. It wasn't Dirty hurling abuse! It was two Rochy boys, one present and one former player who were having a crack at Luke Jackson after he s h!!t himself just before half time.

Also, from memory, didn't Sudsy brake Saad's jaw? If Dirty did say something (if) how bad could it have been to compare a few words at half time to braking someones jaw?

Finally, only an ignorant c o c k suck er would not put David Williams in the top five coaches in the league. People would see your top five and think, gee, its a bit ironic he calls himself a GV Footy Fan and knows f' all about the GV.

[COLOR=black]Look forward to your reply.

Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.
And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment, but the next time you post can you make sure your boyfriend is not bashing his arm up your coit.

Cheers:thumbsu:

ECHUCABOY
27 Feb 2006, 13:24
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment, but the next time you post can you make sure your boyfriend is not bashing his arm up your coit.

Or Sh it scared.............?

ilovetogetblind
27 Feb 2006, 15:26
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver. From what I recall about this thread it is about people having an opinion. I was there and all Dirty did was lower his colours IMO. It was not players coming off the field that were trying to incite an incident, but Dirty himself. The Seymour bench showed they were a more professional unit by not getting involved.
And on the subject of ignorant c o c k suckers, as I stated before it is my opinion who I think are the best 5 coaches not yours EINSTEIN. Good on Dave Williams for doing what he has done for Rochy. I commend the fellow on his committment to the cause, but I just think the 5 I have picked out are better.
I will wait until the carny gets back in town for you to make your next comment

The show did just pass through Rochester, so thought I would take the time to reply.

"Dog starver".... very intelligent. You must have moved to Seymour instead of being born there.

I agree with you... this thread is to share opinions...

Mine being you must be a dumb c u n t

We obviously disagree about the half time event, but I don't know how you can think Hall or Adamson are better coaches. Hall had a lot of talent in his team last year for a pretty ordinary performance... but as you said, thats your opinion.

Anyway, other people on this thread have better things to read about

tige19
27 Feb 2006, 15:58
Seen on transfers that Dave Mcdonalds is in progress so it looks as though Tat have convinced him to sign on. Been told he was a gun a few years back but i wouldnt really know. Anyone who has seen him play could they comment??

cheers

bradrowe#32
27 Feb 2006, 18:35
[QUOTE=ilovetogetblind]GV Footy F u c k wit!

[COLOR=black]Look forward to your reply.

Classy.

Duff Man
27 Feb 2006, 20:10
FF69. Haven't seen Hilton, or heard how he's travelling - but have seen the euroa boys at training down in Melbourne. All of them were looking in sensational condition and were training with plenty of intensity and purpose. I don't think a ball hit the ground and I certainly got the impression that they are keen to atone for last year. Both Shane and Mark Clayton are at Euroa and are looking like having big years. Hyatt, Jansz, Grainger, McBrien (who gets some harsh treatment on bigfooty, and in my opinion is underated, and will be a loss when he heads OS) and Gibbo all looked fitter than they did last year and new recruit Clarke was moving well at training and will def be in top 2-3 big men in the comp.

At this stage I'd reckon Euroa, Benalla and Seymour would easily be the top 3 with a fair bit of daylight to whoevers fourth. Would like to see Euroa win the big one, but reckon Seymour coach Stevie D could be the difference - seems to have a lot more experience, flair and knowledge than Gleeson..

I think you are spot on T Perry, those teams will be i think the teams to beat in season 06. Also i would like to see a side win the flag that has not done so for a while, [ Euroa or Benalla ] and totally agree with your comments about seymours coach S Daniel , Ive heard and seen him now a number of times and everytime ive come away thinking this bloke is won of the best coaches Ive seen operate, [as Ive said before too I also rate D Williams ]. Is Clarke as good as Kirby and Schottner ? and you didnt talk about sage, is he still playing at Euroa [great player] .

Thanks Duff

slim18
27 Feb 2006, 20:36
I think you are spot on T Perry, those teams will be i think the teams to beat in season 06. Also i would like to see a side win the flag that has not done so for a while, [ Euroa or Benalla ] and totally agree with your comments about seymours coach S Daniel , Ive heard and seen him now a number of times and everytime ive come away thinking this bloke is won of the best coaches Ive seen operate, [as Ive said before too I also rate D Williams ]. Is Clarke as good as Kirby and Schottner ? and you didnt talk about sage, is he still playing at Euroa [great player] .

Thanks Duff

Really don't believe benalla will have the depth. Does anyone know if there is any truth to the rumour that Anthony Stevens will only play about 1/2 of the games due to commitments at Nth Melb.

slim18
27 Feb 2006, 20:38

Thanks Duff

Really don't believe benalla will have the depth. Does anyone know if there is any truth to the rumour that Anthony Stevens will only play about 1/2 of the games due to commitments at Nth Melb.

jmain14
27 Feb 2006, 23:07
Who fisted you in the anus you dog starver.
now now gvfootyfan. there is no need to be so nasty over the internet. we wouldn't want to hurt liovetogetblind's feelings now would we??

on a serious note though I think you should agree to disagree for the betterment of this thread, and please refrain from using such abusive language.

Wizz
28 Feb 2006, 01:01
now now gvfootyfan. there is no need to be so nasty over the internet. we wouldn't want to hurt liovetogetblind's feelings now would we??

on a serious note though I think you should agree to disagree for the betterment of this thread, and please refrain from using such abusive language.

Who made you CEO of the offensive language mainy, anyway ilovetogetblind is correct GV footy fan is a dumb C*nt.

jmain14
28 Feb 2006, 06:13
Who made you CEO of the offensive language mainy, anyway ilovetogetblind is correct GV footy fan is a dumb C*nt.
ha ha nah no one made me ceo wizz. good to see you posting again mate. it's been a while. how is life going over in london anyway - any mrs to speak of??

ilovetogetblind
28 Feb 2006, 07:41
Dogs want their man

By Richard Goodbody

February 28 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura will attempt to re-sign former Essendon draftee David Macdonald in the coming weeks after he recently quit his Western Australian club.

Macdonald, who was a key member of the Bulldogs' 2003 premiership team, spent last year playing with the Whitfield Warriors in the west's A-grade amateurs competition, but has since returned home.

While the young gun is uncertain about his playing future, the Bulldogs are hoping they can secure his services.

"He's training with us at the moment, but we're not sure what he's doing," Tatura coach Travis Ryan said.

"He wants to travel to Vietnam, but we're hoping to persuade him into staying.

"He'd be a great addition to our side."

After departing the Bulldogs at the end of 2004, Macdonald had few problems adjusting to his new side last year before claiming the competition's medal for the best and fairest player.

Macdonald's victory came after he polled 16 votes, sealing the top prize with a two and three vote performances in the last two rounds of the season.

"He's up in the air," Ryan said.

"He says he's going, but we're trying."

While the dour defender is yet to put pen to paper, recruits Bryce Wellington (Labrador) and Aaron Wiloughby (Greenvale) have been burning up the track during the summer months.

The former, who is the younger brother of Victorian Country vicecaptain Linc Wellington, has been particularly impressive.

"He looks as if he's a quality player," Ryan said.

"And Aaron was on the track the other night and looks good as well."
Tatura begins its premiership campaign against Mooroopna on April 15.

T.Perry
28 Feb 2006, 07:58

Thanks Duff

Hey duff man. Clarke, Kirbs and Schotty are all different types of players, but from my point of view they're hard to split. Clarke will definitely be an asset - he's 2m tall, is pretty mobile, has good skills and can kick goals. I reckon he might have it over the other 2 blokes at centre bounces, but might have trouble keeping up with them around the ground. He's not as attacking as Kirbs or as tough as Schotts.

As for Sage, I honestly don't know if he's playing or not. I don't think he is..

TuskenRaider
28 Feb 2006, 08:03
Dogs want their man

By Richard Goodbody

February 28 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura will attempt to re-sign former Essendon draftee David Macdonald in the coming weeks after he recently quit his Western Australian club.

Macdonald, who was a key member of the Bulldogs' 2003 premiership team, spent last year playing with the Whitfield Warriors in the west's A-grade amateurs competition, but has since returned home.

I'm fairly sure McDonald was never drafted to Essendon. I have a feeling he played a couple of matches for their 2's as a top up player. Without looking into the draft records, can anyone confirm this? Fairly ordinary reporting if so. Surely the reporter can buy a copy of AFL 2006.

Duff Man
28 Feb 2006, 08:58
Hey duff man. Clarke, Kirbs and Schotty are all different types of players, but from my point of view they're hard to split. Clarke will definitely be an asset - he's 2m tall, is pretty mobile, has good skills and can kick goals. I reckon he might have it over the other 2 blokes at centre bounces, but might have trouble keeping up with them around the ground. He's not as attacking as Kirbs or as tough as Schotts.

As for Sage, I honestly don't know if he's playing or not. I don't think he is..

Thanks for the info TP. Sounds like clarke will be a handy pick up for euroa, and we should also be in for a few good battles among the big men this year.

saints03
28 Feb 2006, 09:02
i believe the saints will have a very good year in both ones and twos and will have plenty of depth. anthony will miss a few games but that will have nothing to do with nth melb. can u please tell me slim did you play for the benalla saints last year in the twos and are one of the blokes going to greta???

slim18
28 Feb 2006, 12:30
i believe the saints will have a very good year in both ones and twos and will have plenty of depth. anthony will miss a few games but that will have nothing to do with nth melb. can u please tell me slim did you play for the benalla saints last year in the twos and are one of the blokes going to greta???

Anything's possible;)

ringo1
28 Feb 2006, 13:17
its been good to read about a side except seymour the last few days. it seemed for a while all we heard from were seymour supporters, with a little from rochie and euroa. what is going on with the shepp people. cant remember much from the 3 shepp sides or kyabram. can someone post from up that way.

ECHUCABOY
28 Feb 2006, 14:05
its been good to read about a side except seymour the last few days. it seemed for a while all we heard from were seymour supporters, with a little from rochie and euroa. what is going on with the shepp people. cant remember much from the 3 shepp sides or kyabram. can someone post from up that way.

Hopefully not, we've been Shepp free for a long time now, lets not spoil it................;)

Who are teams playing in Practice Matches and when do they start??

BIGANT
28 Feb 2006, 14:45

As for Sage, I honestly don't know if he's playing or not. I don't think he is..Where did euroa pick clarke up from ?? not Justin Clarke from Beulah is it,currently playing up north w Nightcliff.

T.Perry
28 Feb 2006, 14:56
Where did euroa pick clarke up from ?? not Justin Clarke from Beulah is it,currently playing up north w Nightcliff.

Nah, it's Damon Clarke, been playing at the Northern Bullants since 97 or 98, after playing for Preston Knights in the TAC Cup. Pretty sure he made the state side with Vic Metro as a top-age player with the knights.

Flat Track Bully
28 Feb 2006, 15:59
Hopefully not, we've been Shepp free for a long time now, lets not spoil it................;)

Who are teams playing in Practice Matches and when do they start??

Can tell you that Benalla plays Wang Rovers, Wod Raiders and Wangaratta on the 18th and 25th of March and 1st of April, all under lights at the Showgrounds.

While Shepparton clashes with Barooga, Rovers and Tatura. Unsure of exact dates for those three.

PLAYER69
28 Feb 2006, 16:04
Howdy BF People!! Tried to get some responses to this one before new year and only had a few takers cos all the loyal BF People were away from the desk!!! Have a crack at the top 4 players in each position in the GVFL League last year!! Here is Mine.............

FULL BACK: Anderson, Shelton, Trewella, ???
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott, Forys, ???
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, King, Hammill
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Stott, Walker
CENTRE: Byers, Sage, Wellington, A.Stevens
CHF: Mellington, Singh, Hyatt, Roberts
TALL FORWARD: Symes, Grainger, Mensch, Newman
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland, ???
MIDFIELDERS: Archard, Hotten, Howse, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Schottner, Kirby, Jansz, Sutherland???

Have a go and see who should or should not be in there!!! May make a few of our days progress a bit quicker i think!!!

LOBSTER
28 Feb 2006, 16:19
I have heard that he is not playing either. Wants to have a year off and travel overseas for a few months. Not to sure how realiable my source is though. He also told me that Nathan Gilliand wont be playing at Euroa this year, preferring to stay closer to home. The Bendigo area is where he lives, I think South Bendigo is the team his linked to. Can any of the Euroa boys confirm this.

Euroa are playing North heidelberg, Yarrawonga and Kyabram.

GVFLFAN
28 Feb 2006, 17:50
I have heard that he is not playing either. Wants to have a year off and travel overseas for a few months. Not to sure how realiable my source is though. He also told me that Nathan Gilliand wont be playing at Euroa this year, preferring to stay closer to home. The Bendigo area is where he lives, I think South Bendigo is the team his linked to. Can any of the Euroa boys confirm this.

Euroa are playing North heidelberg, Yarrawonga and Kyabram.

Sage is a definate and dont think he is going away like he was going to! I havn't heard anything to say Gilly will head anywhere else!! Pretty sure he confirmed he will be staying with the Pies! Would surprise me if he left but he is still in NT at the moment!!!
Practise games should be good but i doubt we will play a full squad untill Kyabram! Dave likes to give a few of the young guys a go and rotate the senior guys which is a good thing i reckon!!! Long Year!!! Will be Raring to go come round one for the GF Replay!!! Should be a huge game and crowd you would think!!!

nomis#17
28 Feb 2006, 18:52
ky has prac matches against golden square on march 19th, aberfelty(no idea on spelling) down melbourne way somewhere on the 25 and mooroopna on th 1st of april. they haven't been getting great numbers on the track but slowly getting better, heath barnett is looking good, long with newmen. some of the pick ups are ryan emmett( returning from balarat), guy by the nam eof gill from bendigo way, adam courtney from cobden. One that haven't train but have been spoken of are former players, but one, josh finn, is expected to be bring a big ruckman from up north. formally a very good wafl player. no idea on name though. very hard to get much info out of that joint though

nesko_25
28 Feb 2006, 20:56
Can any1 tell me about Andrew "Cheiners" Palmer from rochy, how does he go?

localfootyguru
28 Feb 2006, 21:14
I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.

Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.

Interested to hear what others think?

ilovetogetblind
28 Feb 2006, 21:38
Can any1 tell me about Andrew "Cheiners" Palmer from rochy, how does he go?

Yes good player. Held back by injuries the last couple of years but when in full swing is very dangerous.

Prob played out of position at CHB the last year of two due to Rochy's lack of height.. can play wing or up fwd.

You are from Locky yeah?? Think he may be heading there, which is very unfortunate for us at Rochy. He will be a very handy player out there.

bradrowe#32
28 Feb 2006, 21:46
Howdy BF People!! Tried to get some responses to this one before new year and only had a few takers cos all the loyal BF People were away from the desk!!! Have a crack at the top 4 players in each position in the GVFL League last year!! Here is Mine.............

FULL BACK: Anderson, Shelton, Trewella, ???
CHB: Douglas, Hickmott, Forys, ???
HBF: Hooper, B.Stevens, King, Hammill
WING: Storer, S.Clayton, Stott, Walker
CENTRE: Byers, Sage, Wellington, A.Stevens
CHF: Mellington, Singh, Hyatt, Roberts
TALL FORWARD: Symes, Grainger, Mensch, Newman
SMALL FORWARD: Saad, Bamford, Gilliland, ???
MIDFIELDERS: Archard, Hotten, Howse, Haberman
RUCKMAN: Schottner, Kirby, Jansz, Sutherland???

Have a go and see who should or should not be in there!!! May make a few of our days progress a bit quicker i think!!!

Chris McCarty should definately be in there.