View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
bradrowe#32
28 Feb 2006, 21:50
I'm fairly sure McDonald was never drafted to Essendon. I have a feeling he played a couple of matches for their 2's as a top up player. Without looking into the draft records, can anyone confirm this? Fairly ordinary reporting if so. Surely the reporter can buy a copy of AFL 2006.
Nah, all the Shep. News 'reporters' are too busy thinking about the next Brett Deledio article. It's become quite sickening.
I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.
Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.
Interested to hear what others think?
FAVOURITE TOPIC OF MINE LFG. I AGREE 100% IT ALL ENDS UP WITH MEDIOCRE PLAYERS BELIEVING THEY ARE ALSO WORTH $HITLOADS AFTER THE FOOTY PROTITUTES HAVE GONE.
ha ha nah no one made me ceo wizz. good to see you posting again mate. it's been a while. how is life going over in london anyway - any mrs to speak of??
I have to hang around with girls as they seem to drink more than the other two turkeys that are over here as they seem to go missing on weekends. One of them didnt go out at all last weekend and the other bloke who is skinny and has curly think you might know him went home at before me on saturday night and went home at 4pm on sunday afternoon from the church for the second time in a row his effort the week before when his girlfriend put a 3 drink limit onto him and then made him go home also made me laugh. Also from memory the week before he went to Scotland with his misses and NO MATES for a romantic valentines weekend think he tried keeping that pretty quiet, but after i found out he told me not to tell anyone back at Rochy as he thinks he has some sort of reputation back there that might diminish once a few of them on here read it.
righto wizz - just asked you a question mate, a yes or no would have done me. am not exactly sure which 2 mates you are referring to but I have a mate over there with curly hair as well. it might be the same one, I am not sure. I heard he went home after church on sunday due to his funds situation - I think he told his mate this and he understood at the time. a couple of weeks back this mate of mine also met up with a chick in scotland as he had to shoot some sort of short film. but he seemed to have ended things with her last w'end as she was setting limits on how many beers he could drink.
Yes good player. Held back by injuries the last couple of years but when in full swing is very dangerous.
Prob played out of position at CHB the last year of two due to Rochy's lack of height.. can play wing or up fwd.
You are from Locky yeah?? Think he may be heading there, which is very unfortunate for us at Rochy. He will be a very handy player out there.
pretty big loss for rochy hey. most probably heading back out to the cattery is he ilovetogetblind??
righto wizz - just asked you a question mate, a yes or no would have done me. am not exactly sure which 2 mates you are referring to but I have a mate over there with curly hair as well. it might be the same one, I am not sure. I heard he went home after church on sunday due to his funds situation - I think he told his mate this and he understood at the time. a couple of weeks back this mate of mine also met up with a chick in scotland as he had to shoot some sort of short film. but he seemed to have ended things with her last w'end as she was setting limits on how many beers he could drink.
I realise it was just a question but think it was a smart @rse one there mainy??? While i fully understand the curly hair fellas decision think he may of been having a quick dig at myself.
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 07:39
pretty big loss for rochy hey. most probably heading back out to the cattery is he ilovetogetblind??
Yeah I think so ... home club so can understand but still a pretty big loss.
Would be a step above the comp out there you would think
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 07:52
Eagles add another diamond to midfield
By Richard Goodbody
March 1 2006
Shepparton News
Bell Park on-baller Chris Gallagher is the latest player to join Mansfield's star-studded midfield.
During the summer months, the Eagles have recruited no fewer than five quality players including former West Australian Football League star Wesley Kestel, exGippsland Power defender Bernard Jones and ThorntonEildon whippet James Herridge.
Nathan Reynoldson, who was an instrumental member of the Eagles' 2004 premiership side, has also returned to the club after winning a Riverina Football League best and fairest medal while playing for Narrandera.
"Chris looks to be a quality player," Mansfield club administrator Matt Trewhella said.
"He's a pretty athletic kind of player who'll roam through the midfield and off the back flank.
"He's going to university at Mt Buller and it looks like we might get a couple more from up there as well."
While the Eagles have recruited strongly during the off-season, they have also lost a string of high-profile players.
Premiership coach David Mensch, former Collingwood utility Andrew Tranquilli and exCarlton hard nut Darren Hulme have all departed since last year's preliminary final.
"Things are going pretty well," Trewhella said.
"I think we'll surprise a few people.
"We haven't got anyone to replace Menschy at the moment, but don't be surprised if Trent (Hotton) spends a little bit more time playing forward.
"With Danny Walker back and Chris (Gallagher) playing on the ball, Trent won't have to spend as much time playing in the middle."
Mansfield kicks off its Goulburn Valley Football League campaign against Benalla on April 15.
TuskenRaider
1 Mar 2006, 08:07
Nah, all the Shep. News 'reporters' are too busy thinking about the next Brett Deledio article. It's become quite sickening.
I think you could be right there bradrowe. Shouldn't they leave something for the Kyabram Free Press?
ANT JESS
1 Mar 2006, 08:20
Yeah spot on bradrowe, I happen to know Brett's parent's a little bit and know that they are very embarased with the amount of articles on Brett in local publications. Surely enough is enough, are the going to continue this throughout his whole career?? Let's hope not! :mad:
no left foot
1 Mar 2006, 08:30
Anthony Stevens has trained a few times with Moama, is this just for a run as he lives there. Or possibly a huge signing for Moama.
TuskenRaider
1 Mar 2006, 08:46
Anthony Stevens has trained a few times with Moama, is this just for a run as he lives there. Or possibly a huge signing for Moama.
I have heard he lives in Moama now, he's been training with Moama but looks more likely at the moment to still play at Benalla this year but maybe Moama next year. Who knows.
Grandale
1 Mar 2006, 08:55
Yeah spot on bradrowe, I happen to know Brett's parent's a little bit and know that they are very embarased with the amount of articles on Brett in local publications. Surely enough is enough, are the going to continue this throughout his whole career?? Let's hope not! :mad:
Well don't they have a tough life...Please!
The most common parental complaint to newspapers would be from parents barking that their child hasn't had enough publicity.
Face it, Deledio is one of the hottest young prospects in the AFL and the Shepp News has every right to hitch a ride on his wagon.
I bet there were no complaints when little Bretty was after publicity in his attempts to get drafted.
Grandale
1 Mar 2006, 09:00
I know the GVFL is the best standard of footy in counrty Victoria but this recruiting of high priced imports worries me. It is certainly not a sustainable practice and who is going to pick up the pieces after the money runs out and the so called "champions" have moved on.
Chequebook recruiting has brought many clubs undone before and will continue to do so in the future and the current spending spree in the GVFL may certainly place questions over the future directions of both the league and clubs.
Interested to hear what others think?
Mate, this is the most boring and repetitive topic that has been discussed since I've been posting (Since Sept last year).
Sorry to be short with you, but if you're interested in what GV fans think of spending and the like scroll back through the pages. I sure as hell hope we don't waste another couple of weeks going over old ground - and hearing the same arguments - that was covered months ago.
And for those that care, Seymour has praccy games against Seddon (Jago's mob), Bundoora, Northcote Park and East Burwood.
ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 09:05
I have heard he lives in Moama now, he's been training with Moama but looks more likely at the moment to still play at Benalla this year but maybe Moama next year. Who knows.
The rumour has been for a while that after this year, that the ex-roos, I dunno how many are going to play at Echuca. I said this earlier, but theres been a few newys on here since then, who knows could just be crap.
Yeah I also heard Palmer was pretty much a certainty to go out locky way, his had a couple of years off hasn't he? Locky are looking good, they've taken a couple of other fringe players from Rochy haven't they? Also signed Matty Martin from Echuca.
I think you could be right there bradrowe. Shouldn't they leave something for the Kyabram Free Press?
the free press has hardly anything on deledio (considering it is his home town) compared to the shepp news.
i mean "Deledio vs the Dogs". :thumbsd:
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 09:16
Yeah I also heard Palmer was pretty much a certainty to go out locky way, his had a couple of years off hasn't he? Locky are looking good, they've taken a couple of other fringe players from Rochy haven't they? Also signed Matty Martin from Echuca.
Nah he has been playing, but injury has restricted the amount of games he has played. Also busy on the farm, so think he wants to head to Locky for a bit less travel, time committment etc.
He was VC of Rochy last year.
Locky got Brett Stone back off Rochy, but that was after 2004. Not aware of any more this year. I know they had a crack at a few though... maybe 5-6 players so no doubt they are trying for the flag out there.
Ykickamoocow
1 Mar 2006, 09:27
Nah he has been playing, but injury has restricted the amount of games he has played. Also busy on the farm, so think he wants to head to Locky for a bit less travel, time committment etc.
He was VC of Rochy last year.
Locky got Brett Stone back off Rochy, but that was after 2004. Not aware of any more this year. I know they had a crack at a few though... maybe 5-6 players so no doubt they are trying for the flag out there.
Nothing certain, but looks like a good chance he will be.
Next stop is "fringe players" Tank McPhee & Oli for LBU ( Bamawm Lads ), fair trade for Paul Coc keater Crockford I would think :D :D
ANT JESS
1 Mar 2006, 09:34
Well don't they have a tough life...Please!
The most common parental complaint to newspapers would be from parents barking that their child hasn't had enough publicity.
Face it, Deledio is one of the hottest young prospects in the AFL and the Shepp News has every right to hitch a ride on his wagon.
I bet there were no complaints when little Bretty was after publicity in his attempts to get drafted.
Think youv'e missed the point a little bit there mate, all I'm saying is that his parents wish that the local papers would spend more time on other local prospects than re-hashing the same old story of Brett.
And their obviously not the only ones, i'm sure many other local newspaper readers are wanting to hear more about local leagues / local players and a little less about Brett.
Oh and yeah i'm sure it was all those articles in the newspaper's Re: Brett pre the draft, that made Richmond sit up and go "oh looks like this guy is the number one player in the land". C'mon??
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 09:36
Nothing certain, but looks like a good chance he will be.
Next stop is "fringe players" Tank McPhee & Oli for LBU ( Bamawm Lads ), fair trade for Paul Coc keater Crockford I would think :D :D
hehe thought you would ask for more seeing as we are getting his Monaro as well....
After 10 years+ of trying, you must be just about giving up on getting tank back..??
Grandale
1 Mar 2006, 09:56
Think youv'e missed the point a little bit there mate, all I'm saying is that his parents wish that the local papers would spend more time on other local prospects than re-hashing the same old story of Brett.
And their obviously not the only ones, i'm sure many other local newspaper readers are wanting to hear more about local leagues / local players and a little less about Brett.
Oh and yeah i'm sure it was all those articles in the newspaper's Re: Brett pre the draft, that made Richmond sit up and go "oh looks like this guy is the number one player in the land". C'mon??
Shepp News readers should just count themselves lucky that Deledio continues to make himself accessible to the local media. It's not uncommon for these kids to forget where they came from once they strike it big.
And I wasn't suggesting the Shepp News can take all the credit for him getting drafted, but the way they pumped him up would have played a small part in the pre-Draft hype that surrounded Bretty. And let's face it, much of who-goes-where in the AFL Draft is dictated to by hype.
But, the fact the boy's got a bit of talent helps.
ANT JESS
1 Mar 2006, 10:08
Shepp News readers should just count themselves lucky that Deledio continues to make himself accessible to the local media. It's not uncommon for these kids to forget where they came from once they strike it big.
And I wasn't suggesting the Shepp News can take all the credit for him getting drafted, but the way they pumped him up would have played a small part in the pre-Draft hype that surrounded Bretty. And let's face it, much of who-goes-where in the AFL Draft is dictated to by hype.
But, the fact the boy's got a bit of talent helps.
I disagree with you there sorry, you really think that in this day and age AFL clubs are that unprofessional??
Ykickamoocow
1 Mar 2006, 10:12
hehe thought you would ask for more seeing as we are getting his Monaro as well....
After 10 years+ of trying, you must be just about giving up on getting tank back..??
Won't be long before the monaro is a write off or he loses his liscense so he will end up back at Locky anyway.
LBU could not guarantee Tank a spot in the starting line up this season so that idea has gone cold :D ;)
To my knowledge, he has not been approached by LBU this year.
Grandale
1 Mar 2006, 10:17
I disagree with you there sorry, you really think that in this day and age AFL clubs are that unprofessional??
Nah, I don't think they are unprofessional and Deledio really was a standout in his year, but I really do reckon that generally there is absolutely nothing between the blokes that get picked up between 5-15 and sometimes a sustained run of good press and making yourself available to as many media outlets as possible might be the difference between going 5 or 15.
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 10:20
LBU could not guarantee Tank a spot in the starting line up this season so that idea has gone cold :D ;)
haha Tank would play on ball out there.. or maybe even half back flank where he would still kick a few each game
To my knowledge, he has not been approached by LBU this year.
He keeps quiet about it, but that could be the case seeing as he is destined to reach 400 games next season!!
Wonder how many of these big Seymour/Euroa reqruits will reach the same feat
ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 10:48
Nah, I don't think they are unprofessional and Deledio really was a standout in his year, but I really do reckon that generally there is absolutely nothing between the blokes that get picked up between 5-15 and sometimes a sustained run of good press and making yourself available to as many media outlets as possible might be the difference between going 5 or 15.
All Hail the Shepp News they made Deledio go in the top 5 and got him sponsorship. Absolutley kidding yourself, there are that many scouts out there and that much backround work done these days.
I totally agree with Ant Jess, Clubs pick players because they require certain players to fill roles in their Club. So your saying if:
Hawthorn need a key position back in Franky Fatass and are set to pick him up. However, little Johnny Smith the rover has made himself available to the Shepp news and herald sun for a story everyweek, he will get picked higher. Absolutle nonsense
Grandale
1 Mar 2006, 11:05
All Hail the Shepp News they made Deledio go in the top 5 and got him sponsorship. Absolutley kidding yourself, there are that many scouts out there and that much backround work done these days.
I guess. All the press in the world didn't help Ryan Jackson in the end did it.
Anyway, we're getting away from the original subject; the amount of coverage Deledio gets in the Shepp News.
Remember, if you don't like it you don't have to read it.
TuskenRaider
1 Mar 2006, 11:21
haha Tank would play on ball out there.. or maybe even half back flank where he would still kick a few each game
He keeps quiet about it, but that could be the case seeing as he is destined to reach 400 games next season!!
Wonder how many of these big Seymour/Euroa reqruits will reach the same feat
About the same amount as Rochy's big recruits over the years. John McNamara, Gavin Excell, Jamie Dursma, Brad Sparks etc.
Stop kidding yourself that Rochy's the only club to have never recruited big name players to the club.
You know how it goes - Let he who is without sin cast the first stone or something like that.
Mate, this is the most boring and repetitive topic that has been discussed since I've been posting (Since Sept last year).
Sorry to be short with you, but if you're interested in what GV fans think of spending and the like scroll back through the pages. I sure as hell hope we don't waste another couple of weeks going over old ground - and hearing the same arguments - that was covered months ago.
And for those that care, Seymour has praccy games against Seddon (Jago's mob), Bundoora, Northcote Park and East Burwood.
I agree with Grandale. I'm sick of all the talk about money. Here's something to think about before we start going over old ground:-
- Good dollars brings good players
- Good players bring a good standard to our league
- A good standard brings good crowds
- Good crowds bring good gate takings
- Good gate takings brings good revenue to the clubs
- Good revenue lets clubs retain the good players (or get more of them)
...and so the circle of life continues.
If the money situation doesn't sit well with you, then I suggest you start following some crap league way up in the sticks. If you're lucky, you may find one or two blokes in their league who have any idea how to play.
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 12:08
I agree with Grandale. I'm sick of all the talk about money. Here's something to think about before we start going over old ground:-
If the money situation doesn't sit well with you, then I suggest you start following some crap league way up in the sticks. If you're lucky, you may find one or two blokes in their league who have any idea how to play."
Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.Generalising they also;Dont train in melb
Play ,shower,pay envelope, home.
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture
Paypacket is generally same size as ego
Have many bad debts towards the end of the season
Bring unruly "drinking buddies" up in the car with them
Big mouth about their wages,causing player unrest amongst club doyens.
These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"[/quote]
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 12:40
About the same amount as Rochy's big recruits over the years. John McNamara, Gavin Excell, Jamie Dursma, Brad Sparks etc.
Stop kidding yourself that Rochy's the only club to have never recruited big name players to the club.
You know how it goes - Let he who is without sin cast the first stone or something like that.
Tusken - take it easy. was a cheap shot I know.... not warranted.
You are correct in coming back with the Johnny Mac call.
Was more just praising Tank as he approaches 400 games.
I also agree, can we please not start talking about the effects of big spending clubs again. What will happen will happen.
Hotdog Vendor
1 Mar 2006, 12:46
Heard from a source that andrew palmers wife has been spotted at lbu netball training. he must be pretty close to being signed! Good player.
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 12:54
Heard from a source that andrew palmers wife has been spotted at lbu netball training. he must be pretty close to being signed! Good player.
could be true, however she is spitting out another baby later this year so doubt that will be a factor
Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.Generalising they also;Dont train in melb
Play ,shower,pay envelope, home.
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture
Paypacket is generally same size as ego
Have many bad debts towards the end of the season
Bring unruly "drinking buddies" up in the car with them
Big mouth about their wages,causing player unrest amongst club doyens.
These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"[/QUOTE]
Are you for real mate?? that is the worst post ever. "Unruly drinking buddies" ??? What the?? How old are you - you sound like some old fogie having a winge because someone turned the music up too loud. Suprised you didnt put something in there about them having haircuts that scare small children, and cause a loss of sponsorship dollars.. :eek:
I can personally say all our recruits have been great for our club, train sollidly in melbourne both pre-season and in-season, attend nearly every function (even out of season), havent caused any trouble, and havent r o o ted anyones missus..
If this is true of your club (which I highly doubt) they deserve it for recruiting absolute f u c kwits. I'm guessing you're just bitter because you are ugly and one of your team mates has picked up some netballer who you've been stalking since high school...
HAVING SAID THAT, some players do just take their cash and run, and stick around for only a season, but as I said I think that can be the clubs fault just as much as the player for not recruiting well IMO...
TuskenRaider
1 Mar 2006, 13:10
Tusken - take it easy. was a cheap shot I know.... not warranted.
You are correct in coming back with the Johnny Mac call.
Was more just praising Tank as he approaches 400 games.
I also agree, can we please not start talking about the effects of big spending clubs again. What will happen will happen.
No worries, it's a top effort of Tank McPhee's to play so many games at the one club. Very good player.
I'm taking it fairly easy, it's just that sometimes people have short memories.
ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 13:16
That Kick it to me nuffy has posted his "unruly drunk mates" comment garbage in other Country footy threads, one lot of crap is enough thanks mate, I don't need to read it wherevea I look!
Echucaboy, I hope you enjoy my question on his new NTFL thread!
kingfooty
1 Mar 2006, 14:50
If the money situation doesn't sit well with you, then I suggest you start following some crap league way up in the sticks. If you're lucky, you may find one or two blokes in their league who have any idea how to play.if the goulburn valley fl only played there locals the league would be putrid. you need highly paid imports to keep the league strong.
TuskenRaider
1 Mar 2006, 14:54
if the goulburn valley fl only played there locals the league would be putrid. you need highly paid imports to keep the league strong.
It would hardly be putrid. But of course the imported players do elevate the standard of the league and keep it strong and more attractive to watch.
Are you for real mate?? that is the worst post ever. "Unruly drinking buddies" ??? What the?? How old are you - you sound like some old fogie having a winge because someone turned the music up too loud. Suprised you didnt put something in there about them having haircuts that scare small children, and cause a loss of sponsorship dollars.. :eek:
I can personally say all our recruits have been great for our club, train sollidly in melbourne both pre-season and in-season, attend nearly every function (even out of season), havent caused any trouble, and havent r o o ted anyones missus..
If this is true of your club (which I highly doubt) they deserve it for recruiting absolute f u c kwits. I'm guessing you're just bitter because you are ugly and one of your team mates has picked up some netballer who you've been stalking since high school...
HAVING SAID THAT, some players do just take their cash and run, and stick around for only a season, but as I said I think that can be the clubs fault just as much as the player for not recruiting well IMO...[/QUOTE]this happened to me when i was playing footy up the bush. i really embraced the club and tried to root as many chicks as i could in the year i was there. it was excellent because if the heat was on i could always sneak back to melb.
HAVING SAID THAT, some players do just take their cash and run, and stick around for only a season, but as I said I think that can be the clubs fault just as much as the player for not recruiting well IMO...[/QUOTE]
this happened to me when i was playing footy up the bush. i really embraced the club and tried to root as many chicks as i could in the year i was there. it was excellent because if the heat was on i could always sneak back to melb.
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 15:14
Which club do you play(probably support) for a.k.a-the altar boys 18?You make it sound like your club and recruits should be knighted!! Youre probably one of those blokes that hang around a club that everyone tries to avoid,trying that little bit too hard to fit in by doing the mundane tasks that only a loser like yourself would do.At least now i know that you are the wisden of all things vcfl.And i will make sure to get you to proofread any future posts,just so the content suits ,coz its not a democracy ,is it?
ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 15:26
Which club do you play(probably support) for a.k.a-the altar boys 18?You make it sound like your club and recruits should be knighted!! Youre probably one of those blokes that hang around a club that everyone tries to avoid,trying that little bit too hard to fit in by doing the mundane tasks that only a loser like yourself would do.At least now i know that you are the wisden of all things vcfl.And i will make sure to get you to proofread any future posts,just so the content suits ,coz its not a democracy ,is it?
Your an idiot mate, not at any stage did A.K.A say his club were Altar Boys, I doubt many of them would even attend church.......but seriously all he said was that the ridiculous stuff that you think happens to a Club because recruits wasn't the case at his Club.
You have got no idea what his football backround is, or who he is, so for you to have a dig at him is completly unjustified. Why dont you think about what you type before you type it, hows that for an idea??
Or you could just concentrate on typing a statement out then posting the same stupid statement in a number of boards so everyone can laugh at how stupid it is, because you seem to be overly talented in that area.
What team do you follow in the GVFL mate, could you name some of the recruits that teams have in the GVFL and while your at it can you name the ones that give the Club a bad name by doing the things you mentioned previously.
You my friend, are a nuffy.
It is now certain that KITM is a pothole( borrowed from another thread)EVERYONE SHOULD TRY AND AVOID HIM! Echucaboy calling him a nuffy would be a compliment to this dimwit. Perhaps he should head off to the skate park with his bogan mates as he has no idea about football!
BOYCOTT THIS FOOL NOW!
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 15:43
well echuca boy ,sorry to upset your boy buddy!Unfortunately for you blokes,as well as my poo shoot,i also have an opinion.......if thats ok??You are confirming what many think about echuca-ites;egos the size of the murray paddlesteamer.Watching echuca was like playing against all the bighead teams(eg southport,st marys,and perhaps hawthorns blond boy band brigade)chests stuck out like cocksparrows,regardless of score.Hey ,i might even look at your history,and see what pearls of wisdom youve pulled out.Id consider a nuffy to be someone whos from a town that gets the shakes when anyone who hasnt lived in the area for more than 10 years has the temerity to buy a pot at the local pub......
ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 15:52
well echuca boy ,sorry to upset your boy buddy!Unfortunately for you blokes,as well as my poo shoot,i also have an opinion.......if thats ok??You are confirming what many think about echuca-ites;egos the size of the murray paddlesteamer.Watching echuca was like playing against all the bighead teams(eg southport,st marys,and perhaps hawthorns blond boy band brigade)chests stuck out like cocksparrows,regardless of score.Hey ,i might even look at your history,and see what pearls of wisdom youve pulled out.Id consider a nuffy to be someone whos from a town that gets the shakes when anyone who hasnt lived in the area for more than 10 years has the temerity to buy a pot at the local pub......
Sounds like not many people like you mate and I can see why. I think you've mistaken Echuca for Shepparton who do all the things mentioned above.
Considering Echuca is a tourist town I doubt that people who aren't from the area, would get stared down. Maybe just people who carry themselves the way you do get stared down, anyway mate you don't have too many friends sticking up for you on here, and don't give me the "Oh can't I have an opinion crap, because you are talking out your bum and finding something derogotary to say about any person who disagrees with you.
Here,here-KITM is a total tool and an ingnoramus! Goodbye KITM!
Hotdog Vendor
1 Mar 2006, 15:58
could be true, however she is spitting out another baby later this year so doubt that will be a factor
How is rochy looking mate. When do you guys play in that bendigo pre season cup? wouldn't mind coming to watch !
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 16:14
Sounds like not many people like you mate and I can see why. I think you've mistaken Echuca for Shepparton who do all the things mentioned above.
Considering Echuca is a tourist town I doubt that people who aren't from the area, would get stared down. Maybe just people who carry themselves the way you do get stared down, anyway mate you don't have too many friends sticking up for you on here, and don't give me the "Oh can't I have an opinion crap, because you are talking out your bum and finding something derogotary to say about any person who disagrees with you.
Ok,ok echuca boy,settle down. Go to the top of the old mill nightclub,sit on your millers shirt and remove that hook out of your mouth and throw it into the river.Pass ringo1 and aka a woodstock,will you?
journeyman
1 Mar 2006, 16:39
I'm looking for some information about Nathan Bell, he played for Shepp Swans last year. Both as a player and a bloke would be good, would he be a suitable assistant coach?
Thanks
Robbie Douglas was offered $2000 a game last night from the Shep Swans but he turned down the offer because the Shep Swans whole club are a bunch of Scumbags
uncletoby
1 Mar 2006, 18:02
Here,here-KITM is a total tool and an ingnoramus! Goodbye KITM!
WOOHOOO i think that kick it to me has taken my spot of being the biggest W A N K E R and F U C K W I T!!!!!!! and i do think that every one agres with me this time, from what i have seen you should climb back up the hole you came out of and stay there, because no one wants to listen to you try and use big words, so if you have got nothin good to say dont say anythin at all. and that's coming from me.. cheers mate:thumbsu:
Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 18:29
WOOHOOO i think that kick it to me has taken my spot of being the biggest W A N K E R and F U C K W I T!!!!!!! and i do think that every one agres with me this time, from what i have seen you should climb back up the hole you came out of and stay there, because no one wants to listen to you try and use big words, so if you have got nothin good to say dont say anythin at all. and that's coming from me.. cheers mate:thumbsu:
Have to admit uncletoby,well done.I think the way you've just self degraded yourself ensures you'll keep top billing.Those big words you refer to are in the english language,as opposed to the ones probably uttered frequently by yourself,such as "gunna","wif" and "betterer".Hanging it on me then using"so if you have got nothin good to say dont say anythin at all. and that's coming from me" also isnt a great filip for your i.q.Hey why dont you tell me about your footy achievments,but use the spellchecker,its free champ! I might just agre(phew) that your a legend!
Robbie Douglas was offered $2000 a game last night from the Shep Swans but he turned down the offer because the Shep Swans whole club are a bunch of Scumbags
Whilst Rob Douglas is a gun and the swans a group of former yahoo bar regulars, i find it hard to believe they threw so much at him, would anyone in the GVFL be on close to this???
Have to admit uncletoby,well done.I think the way you've just self degraded yourself ensures you'll keep top billing.Those big words you refer to are in the english language,as opposed to the ones probably uttered frequently by yourself,such as "gunna","wif" and "betterer".Hanging it on me then using"so if you have got nothin good to say dont say anythin at all. and that's coming from me" also isnt a great filip for your i.q.Hey why dont you tell me about your footy achievments,but use the spellchecker,its free champ! I might just agre(phew) that your a legend!
last time i checkd this is a forum to discuss the GVFL, not a place to abuse each other... suggest you all check out a chat site on msn for this purpose!
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 22:08
How is rochy looking mate. When do you guys play in that bendigo pre season cup? wouldn't mind coming to watch !
We are looking ok - stated about 6 weeks ago that we still needed two more highly rated players to be considered a top 3/4 chance - both fell through. We couldn't/didn't match the offers they were getting elsewhere.
Still a better side than last year, but so are a lot of other teams. We prob aim to finish 5th - will again be very tight for those last spots though.
Think that bendigo thing is around the end of March.
Cheers
ilovetogetblind
1 Mar 2006, 22:11
Ok,ok echuca boy,settle down. Go to the top of the old mill nightclub,sit on your millers shirt and remove that hook out of your mouth and throw it into the river.Pass ringo1 and aka a woodstock,will you?
Fair throw from the Mill to the river... even from the 'top'.
ah.. your being sarcastic
cookie33
2 Mar 2006, 00:30
I have been reading this thread for quite a while because i was interested in what players i have known in the past are going where and what teams clubs are gonna be strong. I find this thread fantastic and the league to be possibly the most well regarded and interesting league since the O&M back in the mid to late 90s and early 2000s. I think the competition has grown rapidly in the past few years and even has people from my local pub in Caulfield talking about some of the sides and the news that is happening.
I regret to read some of the idiots that have taken over the thread and have ruined it for all that take an interest in the GVFL.
Moving along now. I have been involved in 4 VFL clubs as an official during the past 6 or 7 years and notice alot of the guys leaving the VFL system for the GV which is interesting. I know that the VFL is not happy about the amount of footballers leaving the system and heading up the Hume, clearly they are quite worried about the gaining reputation of the competition and the effect it could have on the depth of the VFL. All applause goes to the GV officials and administrators.
Notice Saad Saad is dominatind as i would have predicted, he has all the talent in the world and as long as his head is switched on can dominate any level of football. Nathan Gilliand is another very good footballer, never however a fan of Damon Clarke, by the sounds of it will be killed by the Porters,Schottners and Kirbys of the league. Also another bloke who has signed at Tatura by the nane of Aaron Willoughby, had alot to do with him a few years back and would think he would be a top4 or 5 defender in the league. Always liked Lamaro, he has a touch of class which is rare in footballers, will hurt teams when on song. Also the Benalla recruits from last season, both where very good footballers and unlucky not to score more senior games at VFL level, where are the both of them this season?
Well it looks as though from reading a bit that Benalla,Euroa,Seymour are pnna be very hard to knock off with Mansfield just of the radar and Moroopana improving. I would expect Rochester,Echuca,Shepp Swans and Tatura to fight out the remaining few spots for finals.
Thanks for reading.
I play and support Euroa. So, because my club has recruited players who can play and are as great for the club as the "locals", thats a bad thing? The fact that they pour more money back into the club by staying after home games, attending all club functions and bringing family and friends in support, is a bad thing?
So by TRYING to bag me, your saying that people around football clubs who do all the mundane jobs are losers? These are people who sell raffle tickets, work on the gate, work behind the bar etc etc are past players, lifelong supporters of their clubs. Every club has loyal people like this, and by trying to have a poor attempt at insulting me, you're showing disrespect to the people who help keep country footy clubs going. Good call
c o c k j a w... :thumbsd:
Im the wisden of all things vcfl?? When have I said anything about any other league? You're the one posting about every league in australia like king d i c k. Doesnt the fact that every person on here is having a go at you, tell you something? Or are you too busy pulling out the Thesaurus trying to be clever? As EB said, go back to starting up crap threads that no one replies to, except to give you crap.. :eek:
Please jump off the computer go out to the lounge room, pull down your pants, and get your mother to spank that sorry excuse for a "live at home, 50 year old virgin" a rse of yours. You've been a bad boy wasting all the grown ups time... :rolleyes:
I play and support Euroa. So, because my club has recruited players who can play and are as great for the club as the "locals", thats a bad thing? The fact that they pour more money back into the club by staying after home games, attending all club functions and bringing family and friends in support, is a bad thing?
So by TRYING to bag me, your saying that people around football clubs who do all the mundane jobs are losers? These are people who sell raffle tickets, work on the gate, work behind the bar etc etc are past players, lifelong supporters of their clubs. Every club has loyal people like this, and by trying to have a poor attempt at insulting me, you're showing disrespect to the people who help keep country footy clubs going. Good call
Im the wisden of all things vcfl?? When have I said anything about any other league? You're the one posting about every league in australia like king d i c k. Doesnt the fact that every person on here is having a go at you, tell you something? Or are you too busy pulling out the Thesaurus trying to be clever? As EB said, go back to starting up crap threads that no one replies to, except to give you crap.. :eek:
Please jump off the computer go out to the lounge room, pull down your pants, and get your mother to spank that sorry excuse for a "live at home, 50 year old virgin" a rse of yours. You've been a bad boy wasting all the grown ups time... :rolleyes:
not bad there mate, but on the money.............
Hotdog Vendor
2 Mar 2006, 07:46
We are looking ok - stated about 6 weeks ago that we still needed two more highly rated players to be considered a top 3/4 chance - both fell through. We couldn't/didn't match the offers they were getting elsewhere.
Still a better side than last year, but so are a lot of other teams. We prob aim to finish 5th - will again be very tight for those last spots though.
Cheers
Sounds good, will prob come and watch a few games this year. Are you managing to keep out of the pub and get a bit of fitness yourself ? ha ha. Its always a pleasure to see the big blond headed ruckman in flight. lol.
ilovetogetblind
2 Mar 2006, 08:04
Sounds good, will prob come and watch a few games this year. Are you managing to keep out of the pub and get a bit of fitness yourself ? ha ha. Its always a pleasure to see the big blond headed ruckman in flight. lol.
Has been a battle. A big battle!
Not sure if I will play in the Bendigo thing as its for senior teams only I think... me putting on 8-9 kgs over summer wouldn't have helped my cause there...
Will be watching though - will be good to see how echuca look before the Rochy v Echuca round one game.
ECHUCABOY
2 Mar 2006, 08:46
I have been reading this thread for quite a while because i was interested in what players i have known in the past are going where and what teams clubs are gonna be strong. I find this thread fantastic and the league to be possibly the most well regarded and interesting league since the O&M back in the mid to late 90s and early 2000s. I think the competition has grown rapidly in the past few years and even has people from my local pub in Caulfield talking about some of the sides and the news that is happening.
I regret to read some of the idiots that have taken over the thread and have ruined it for all that take an interest in the GVFL.
Moving along now. I have been involved in 4 VFL clubs as an official during the past 6 or 7 years and notice alot of the guys leaving the VFL system for the GV which is interesting. I know that the VFL is not happy about the amount of footballers leaving the system and heading up the Hume, clearly they are quite worried about the gaining reputation of the competition and the effect it could have on the depth of the VFL. All applause goes to the GV officials and administrators.
Notice Saad Saad is dominatind as i would have predicted, he has all the talent in the world and as long as his head is switched on can dominate any level of football. Nathan Gilliand is another very good footballer, never however a fan of Damon Clarke, by the sounds of it will be killed by the Porters,Schottners and Kirbys of the league. Also another bloke who has signed at Tatura by the nane of Aaron Willoughby, had alot to do with him a few years back and would think he would be a top4 or 5 defender in the league. Always liked Lamaro, he has a touch of class which is rare in footballers, will hurt teams when on song. Also the Benalla recruits from last season, both where very good footballers and unlucky not to score more senior games at VFL level, where are the both of them this season?
Well it looks as though from reading a bit that Benalla,Euroa,Seymour are pnna be very hard to knock off with Mansfield just of the radar and Moroopana improving. I would expect Rochester,Echuca,Shepp Swans and Tatura to fight out the remaining few spots for finals.
Thanks for reading.
Sound like your in the know mate, find that pretty interesting that the VFL aren't happy with the players leaving, you would think there would be more than enough players to fill these guys roles. However, a lot of credit has to be given to our good friend Eric Bottom who is an out and out gun at what he does.
Demons sink their claws into Dawes
By Richard Goodbody
March 2 2006
Shepparton News
Former Gippsland Power utility Sam Dawes will line-up for Shepparton United this year after he was lured to Deakin Reserve yesterday.
The 192 cm, 100 kg hulk, who spent his TAC Cup days playing with United coach Steve Hazelman, agreed to put pen to paper with the Demons after his former teammate was announced as coach.
"I always said that I wanted to play with Steve again and now that he's been appointed coach, I thought the timing was right," Dawes said from his Queensland home yesterday.
"I don't know what the footy's like, I hear it's pretty good, but I guess I'll find out soon enough.
"Hopefully I can get a few kicks and we can have a few wins."
After kicking more than 70 majors for the Power during the 1999 TAC Cup season, the 23-year-old has spent the past three years playing for Mt Gravatt in Queensland's division one State League.
While Dawes has proven himself to be a regular goalkicker, yesterday Hazelman indicated that he was more likely to use the man mountain as a game-breaking midfielder.
"He's such a huge body that it would be a waste not to use him in the middle," Hazelman said.
"We need to get the footy out of the middle and into our forward line and Sam will help us out in that area.
"He's a very good player and we're glad to have him on board."
Dawes joins Tallygaroopna premiership player Tyson Sidebottom as the latest on-baller to sign with United.
The former McNamara medallist, who was instrumental in the Redlegs' drought-breaking Kyabram District Football League flag last year, has been burning up the track during the summer months and is primed for a big year.
United kick-starts its premiership campaign against Shepparton on April 15.
FootyFreak69
2 Mar 2006, 09:31
good call, a.k.a., without the volunteers doing all those 'mundane' jobs, footy clubs would cease to function. you have my support - keep up the good work!!
Sound like your in the know mate, find that pretty interesting that the VFL aren't happy with the players leaving, you would think there would be more than enough players to fill these guys roles. However, a lot of credit has to be given to our good friend Eric Bottom who is an out and out gun at what he does.
Didnt think you would be a huge fan of Mr.Bottom EB as he loves to promote and help those Shepp sides your so fond of ;) .
How you going down at Donvale?? getting a kick during Pre season?, have you blokes picked up many??
Anyone know where Travvy is playing this season?
Grandale
2 Mar 2006, 09:48
Didnt think you would be a huge fan of Mr.Bottom EB as he loves to promote and help those Shepp sides your so fond of ;) .
How you going down at Donvale?? getting a kick during Pre season?, have you blokes picked up many??
I think I read somewhere a couple of weeks ago that the Travmeister is playing somewhere in the Western Region League.
Perhaps he is Jago's star Goulburn Valley recruit.
We must me due for another installment from Mr. Bottom. Travvy has been getting his tyres pumped up on the WRFL thread the past - word has it he's flying down at Sunshine
Travvy43
2 Mar 2006, 11:07
We must me due for another installment from Mr. Bottom. Travvy has been getting his tyres pumped up on the WRFL thread the past - word has it he's flying down at Sunshine
Here here for another Mr Bottom post.
Sunshine in the WRFL is club this year, hopefully number 43, long sleeve.
A few of the sunshine boys have been getting on the thread and having a crack (ie tyre pumping), although as the saying goes, anyone can look ok on the track in Feb, first praccy match next wed at Whitten Oval.
Cheers
Travvy43
2 Mar 2006, 11:09
I think I read somewhere a couple of weeks ago that the Travmeister is playing somewhere in the Western Region League.
Perhaps he is Jago's star Goulburn Valley recruit.
Speaking of JAgo, i read that seymour are playing seddon in a praccy, surely this is your thirds, it could get very messy if it was senior 18 v senior 18.
They finished second last last year and from what i hear have lost four players from their top 6 or so.
TuskenRaider
2 Mar 2006, 11:24
It becomes fairly hard to get a game in the VFL with the AFL listed players at the various clubs. Players can play well in the 2's without getting a chance, or when they do get a chance it's pretty hard to cement a spot (that's probably the same in most levels of footy though). I think you're right in that the VFL will always have young players going through the system to fill any void left by others going to other leagues.
Re Eric, whilst I'm sure he's done a good job promoting the league, most credit in sourcing these VFL players must go to the clubs that attract them.
ilovetogetblind
2 Mar 2006, 12:58
It becomes fairly hard to get a game in the VFL with the AFL listed players at the various clubs. Players can play well in the 2's without getting a chance, or when they do get a chance it's pretty hard to cement a spot (that's probably the same in most levels of footy though). I think you're right in that the VFL will always have young players going through the system to fill any void left by others going to other leagues.
Re Eric, whilst I'm sure he's done a good job promoting the league, most credit in sourcing these VFL players must go to the clubs that attract them.
Agree with that.
Eric's best objective is to get as many league sponsors as possible, then reduce the fees etc that the clubs have to pay annually to ease the preassure on them
bradrowe#32
2 Mar 2006, 13:04
To be fair, Brad Sparks was an excellent servant to the club. He would've played over 100 games. I think work committments got in the way of him playing more. He came back for the testimonials for Simon McCarty and Tank McPhee, as well as other functions. He definately loves the club.
Duursma played 2 years at the club when he was 30 years old and absolutely buggered. Both his knees were shot and I think he had problems with his back/shoulder. He loved playing up in the country and was a great figure at the club.
cookie33
2 Mar 2006, 13:11
For those who are interested that read the thread and dont have a real understanding of how many ex VFL players are running around in the league would someone be willing at having a go of former ex VFL players that are playing in the GV. I would be happy to but my knowledge might only go as far as 4 or 5 VFL clubs, those who are well and truely entrenched in the league might be better at naming these guys and there VFL/GV club.
Im sure if we all put our heads together and put all the names that we know we could get a very accurate indication of actual numbers. Might be good for you blokes when comparing standard of leagues with other posters, particuly the EDFL guys. Will be a good brain strain.
I'm looking for some information about Nathan Bell, he played for Shepp Swans last year. Both as a player and a bloke would be good, would he be a suitable assistant coach?
Thanks Interesting question that ??? i doubt he be assist coach material at gv level just yet....good footballer but his very big ego of himself & big mouth to go on with it will hold him back.Football wise to play @ sanfl level between a's & magoo's he's obviously all right...ask any shep swans people he played there last year i think.Whispers were he was back at his original club in a minor league on the sa/vic border for this year.But personally knock his head down a peg or two b4 thinking of him being coaching material.
cookie33
2 Mar 2006, 13:19
M.Porter (Ballarat/Benalla)
A.Cosham (Coburg/Benalla)
D.Clarke (Preston/Euroa)
S.Gibson (Preston/Euroa)
N.Gilliand (Ess/Port Melb/Euroa)
S.Grainger (Preston/Euroa)
M.Jansz (Preston/Euroa)
D.Sage (Preston/Euroa)
B.Tremellen (Coburg/Moroopana)
Saad Saad (Preston/Seymour)
M.Collins (Preston/Seymour)
A.Willoughby (Coburg/Tatura)
D.Mcdonald (Essendon VFL/Tatura)
Im sure there are plenty more but i can think while at work, anyone can add?? so have a go.
TuskenRaider
2 Mar 2006, 13:55
To be fair, Brad Sparks was an excellent servant to the club. He would've played over 100 games. I think work committments got in the way of him playing more. He came back for the testimonials for Simon McCarty and Tank McPhee, as well as other functions. He definately loves the club.
Duursma played 2 years at the club when he was 30 years old and absolutely buggered. Both his knees were shot and I think he had problems with his back/shoulder. He loved playing up in the country and was a great figure at the club.
I knew Sparks played around 5 seasons or more rowey, and he obviously loved being there. You won't get any arguments from me there.
I was just responding to a post which (in jest, I know) wondered whether any Seymour or Euroa's big name recruits would get to 400 games like Tank McPhee. I was merely pointing out that you blokes have had your share of big name recruits over the years as well and that they're going to do well to play close to 100 games, especially if they come towards the end of their careers.
With blokes like Duursma, they usually are of great help to the club and to younger players coming through, even if they are only there for a couple of years.
HawkeEye
2 Mar 2006, 14:46
I knew Sparks played around 5 seasons or more rowey, and he obviously loved being there. You won't get any arguments from me there.
I was just responding to a post which (in jest, I know) wondered whether any Seymour or Euroa's big name recruits would get to 400 games like Tank McPhee. I was merely pointing out that you blokes have had your share of big name recruits over the years as well and that they're going to do well to play close to 100 games, especially if they come towards the end of their careers.
With blokes like Duursma, they usually are of great help to the club and to younger players coming through, even if they are only there for a couple of years.
At Euroa, Neil Poole and Scott Watson are getting close to 300 games and they were recruiting to the town back in the early 90's.
Not sure on the recent recruits, however they have expressed their interest for another couple of years to come. Good news for the club.
journeyman
2 Mar 2006, 14:58
Interesting question that ??? i doubt he be assist coach material at gv level just yet....good footballer but his very big ego of himself & big mouth to go on with it will hold him back.Football wise to play @ sanfl level between a's & magoo's he's obviously all right...ask any shep swans people he played there last year i think.Whispers were he was back at his original club in a minor league on the sa/vic border for this year.But personally knock his head down a peg or two b4 thinking of him being coaching material.
Thanks for that Big Ant. I hear he's strapped for cash which is why he's going home.
D.Clarke (Preston/Euroa)
S.Gibson (Preston/Euroa)
M.Jansz (Preston/Euroa)
D.Sage (Preston/Euroa)
Im sure there are plenty more but i can think while at work, anyone can add?? so have a go.
A. McBrien (Preston/Euroa)
C. Ramsay (Preston/Seymour)
M.Penn (Preston/seymour)
T.Hooper (Preston/Seymour)
Shelton (Preston/Euroa)
Ben Bailey (Preston/Seymour)
G.Pemberton (Preston/Seymour)
S. Shaw (Preston/Seymour)
B.Haberman (Preston/Seymour)
A.REid (Preston/Seymour)
Can't think of anymore off the top of my head.. I suppose if you talk about "going up the hume.." you could add Duane Hueston (Box Hill/Echuca United), Paul Bunn (preston/mytrleford), loz Furlon (preston/yarrawonga), Jonny "hopper" Mccormick (preston/Wangaratta), and maybe Paul Scanlon (Preston/Barooga) to the list as well.. then you could possibly include Blake Campbell (preston/maroopna), Carl Norman (Preston/Maroopna), one of the Bests (Ballarat/Shepp Swans)..and maybe I suppose Hotton, Hall, Stevens's, Symes, etc who have all played at the highest level, then opted for GVFL instead of VFL..
Grandale
2 Mar 2006, 15:47
At Euroa, Neil Poole and Scott Watson are getting close to 300 games and they were recruiting to the town back in the early 90's.
Not sure on the recent recruits, however they have expressed their interest for another couple of years to come. Good news for the club.
I reckon I heard a couple of years ago Watson had never played a game of Aussie rules before he lobbed at Euroa (he's a teacher isn't he?).
Is this right Hawkeye? If it is, he's done a bloody marvellous job to play for so long at such a high level.
cookie33
2 Mar 2006, 15:53
D.Clarke (Preston/Euroa)
S.Gibson (Preston/Euroa)
M.Jansz (Preston/Euroa)
D.Sage (Preston/Euroa)
S.Downey (Coburg/Tatura)
M.Penn (Preston/seymour)
Shelton (Preston/Euroa)
A.REid (Preston/Seymour)
S.Lang (Coburg/Shepparton Bears)
Anyothers wanna add to the list?
ilovetogetblind
2 Mar 2006, 16:03
I reckon I heard a couple of years ago Watson had never played a game of Aussie rules before he lobbed at Euroa (he's a teacher isn't he?).
Is this right Hawkeye? If it is, he's done a bloody marvellous job to play for so long at such a high level.
Have heard the same thing before. Very consistent player
Flat Track Bully
2 Mar 2006, 16:25
Correct you are, excelled at the round ball code
I think you'll find they weren’t actually recruited to Euroa HawkeEye. They came to Euroa to teach not really play football. Watson learnt the trade at Longwood before progressing to Euroa but it’s a great effort for someone to play so many senior GV games considering he only started playing footy in his early 20's.
And Poole played in the 1990 Premiership team after arriving in 89. I wouldn't call the two recruits as such but one thing's for sure they have given wonderful service to the club.
Kick It To Me!!
2 Mar 2006, 18:34
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=4689916) Well done a.k.a.,youve just spent just as much time bagging me you gumboot.Your club sounds great ,i guess seymour just had one more "mundane tasker" than you guys.
So you play ,hey? I'd bet youre a collision dodger,perhaps a tagger who faces away from the ball,or possibly one of those blokes whos best stat is standing on the mark?
My grammar- maybe you should grab that oxford concise you used for those 3 wonderful years in year 9 if your brain(?) cant comprehend standard english, are ya wiv me matey?
Whats the prob with posting on other threads ,my point is valid for any country league,its just that im a "king dic k" to you and your mutual admiration society (Eb,ringo1,and some other moron.)
So anyway just keep on nibbling stooge,thinking your replies are so more "adult" than mine,win those time trials to be a better fringe player,and dont to forget to text your mates tonight so youre all wearing the same t-shirt tomorrow.Oh ,and probably more chance of you being a virgin,coz theres real quality chop up euroa way.....
bradrowe#32
2 Mar 2006, 19:27
Completely understand where you are coming from.
Wanna cuddle?
bradrowe#32
2 Mar 2006, 19:29
Anyothers wanna add to the list?
For Rochester, you can add Elliot Bowen and Daniel Schmidt, who both played for Bendigo in VFL.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=4689916) Well done a.k.a.,youve just spent just as much time bagging me you gumboot.Your club sounds great ,i guess seymour just had one more "mundane tasker" than you guys.
So you play ,hey? I'd bet youre a collision dodger,perhaps a tagger who faces away from the ball,or possibly one of those blokes whos best stat is standing on the mark?
My grammar- maybe you should grab that oxford concise you used for those 3 wonderful years in year 9 if your brain(?) cant comprehend standard english, are ya wiv me matey?
Whats the prob with posting on other threads ,my point is valid for any country league,its just that im a "king dic k" to you and your mutual admiration society (Eb,ringo1,and some other moron.)
So anyway just keep on nibbling stooge,thinking your replies are so more "adult" than mine,win those time trials to be a better fringe player,and dont to forget to text your mates tonight so youre all wearing the same t-shirt tomorrow.Oh ,and probably more chance of you being a virgin,coz theres real quality chop up euroa way.....
Children, children, children. Being a little precious aren't we. If you want to keep bitch slapping each other start a special thread and leave the rest of us to get on with it.
bradrowe#32
2 Mar 2006, 19:50
Cheers
Pretty fair assessment Jonathan B. Wright Junior.
I think the signing was an excellent first step. However since then, the club has lost quality players like Knight, Connaughton and Palmer (?). Chris McCarty will also be missing after Round 8. Not getting Browny or Foott is disappointing and it appears that there are no other big signings to come.
It is realistic that the club could compete in the finals, but it's a pretty tough draw. Euroa and Seymour twice in the first 3 rounds, as well as an improved Echuca and United twice make it tough, but its also a good test. You want to play against the best.
I'm not writing the season off just yet or making excuses, just being realistic. It will be a good development year, with quite a few younger players given the chance to play. The club has a record four players on the Pioneers list.
I reckon 2007 will be the year Rochester give it a good shake. McCarty will be back from overseas, Ben Anderson is set to return from WAFL and Mark Brown is a very good chance. Also, former AFL player Ash Waton could be on his way back (and maybe with a few others).
I don't want to look to far forward, but with the talk of Euroa and Seymour's lists, its all I've got!
ilovetogetblind
2 Mar 2006, 20:05
Pretty fair assessment Jonathan B. Wright Junior.
I think the signing was an excellent first step. However since then, the club has lost quality players like Knight, Connaughton and Palmer (?). Chris McCarty will also be missing after Round 8. Not getting Browny or Foott is disappointing and it appears that there are no other big signings to come.
It is realistic that the club could compete in the finals, but it's a pretty tough draw. Euroa and Seymour twice in the first 3 rounds, as well as an improved Echuca and United twice make it tough, but its also a good test. You want to play against the best.
I'm not writing the season off just yet or making excuses, just being realistic. It will be a good development year, with quite a few younger players given the chance to play. The club has a record four players on the Pioneers list.
I reckon 2007 will be the year Rochester give it a good shake. McCarty will be back from overseas, Ben Anderson is set to return from WAFL and Mark Brown is a very good chance. Also, former AFL player Ash Waton could be on his way back (and maybe with a few others).
It is a positive that we are rebuilding this year, with good juniors, and also still a good chance to finish in top six.
Picked up Rus Weakly for Connaughton (the dog), Knight's spot - we need a junior to step up and Carts is very very tough to replace but scooter hann is looking very fit. Bowen a great addition on top of this. Don't forget Pappin and Cutris are still only 20 and will improve again, not to mention a very young leadership group who will also improve.
Dirty's coaching ability will be put to the test again though, as it was last year.
Anyway, its late and i'm tired... so off to the pub for $3.50 scooners
Cheers
cookie33
2 Mar 2006, 20:21
D.Clarke (Preston/Euroa)
S.Gibson (Preston/Euroa)
M.Jansz (Preston/Euroa)
D.Sage (Preston/Euroa)
S.Downey (Coburg/Tatura)
M.Penn (Preston/seymour)
Shelton (Preston/Euroa)
A.REid (Preston/Seymour)
S.Lang (Coburg/Shepparton Bears)
L.Veale (Werrebee/Shepparton Swans)
E.Bowen (Bendigo/Rochester)
D.Schmidt (Bendigo/Rochester)
This is not a bad list and i would doubt there would be any league in Australia that would list as many ex VFL players as what the GVFL does. If you can come up with anymore post the names.
Travvy43
3 Mar 2006, 07:18
If you can come up with anymore post the names.[/QUOTE]
P. Newman (Sandringham/ Kyabram)
A. Fonua (Williamstown/ Tongala)- this is if you are talking about last year
ilovetogetblind
3 Mar 2006, 07:31
E.Bowen (Bendigo/Rochester)
D.Schmidt (Bendigo/Rochester)
This is not a bad list and i would doubt there would be any league in Australia that would list as many ex VFL players as what the GVFL does. If you can come up with anymore post the names.
I'm pretty sure Clint Whitsed and Micky Loughman also played for Bendigo... Not sure though.
Do you know if they did Rowey?
TuskenRaider
3 Mar 2006, 08:03
Not going real well, are you KITM.
Take it easy.
Once again KITM please go away! :mad:
Whitsed did play for the Bendigo Diggers, and to his credit performed well down back. Mind you the ball was down that end for the majority of every game!!!
Just noticed that neither of the 2 Clayton brothers (Shane and Mark), who have both played VFL or above, and currently play with Euroa, were on the list. So they can be added too..
I guess Van Sheik, who's playing at Benalla this year, could also be added to the list, as well as Casey Robertson (Preston/Benalla) if he plays, and I think Mark McKenzie might of also had a run when the kangaroos were aligned with the O&M..
Wow you got me there. Can you come up with a comeback that isnt just repeating back what people (on every thread you post on) say to you?
In your own words as on the Western Region Football League thread: -
Originally Posted by Kick It To Me!!
hey im from the dvfl,a mate told me that the best grounds in this league is seddons and west footscrays(which ive seen),is that correct? He also reckons that there are more brawls and biffo,and the crowds are vicious.Im moving to the area ,only looking 4 100 a game ,but worried bout the footy.Im a tall lumbering fwd,who knows how to position my rump.Please give me feedback
Sound like a real tiger dont you. Like everyone else on that thread said - you are obviously s h i t scared, a spastic, you struggle to get a game in DVFL second division twos at the moment, and you are kidding yourself if you think anyone is going to pay you to play in the WRFL just because YOU think its a lower standard...
I'll settle for being a "collision dodger,perhaps a tagger who faces away from the ball,or possibly one of those blokes whos best stat is standing on the mark" in the strongest league outside the VFL, because that would still be better than being"a tall lumbering fwd,who knows how to position my rump" who cant even find a club who wants him.
You wouldnt get a game in our under 15's, you unit...
Ok im done, this is not worth wasting more of my work's time and money writing a response, :rolleyes: and I'm sure (like myself) everyone else on here is sick of this crap...