View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

T.Perry
3 Mar 2006, 10:00
Just thought I'd slap a bit of a team together made up of the ex-VFL players that have travelled up the Hume to join the GVL..

Backs: Bowen Schmidt Robertson

CHB: Hooper Willoughby M. Clayton

Centre: Lamaro Sage Reid

CHF: Gibson Ramsay Gilliand

FF: Symes Grainger Saad

Rucks: Porter S.Clayton Penn

Bench: Jansz Clarke Haberman Newman

Obviously, there are positional changes that a lot of blokes wouldn't agree with, but it says a lot about the calibre, and depth, of players that the GV have been able to recruit into the league...tell me there's a league in country footy that can boast a full forward line like that one!

cookie33
3 Mar 2006, 10:29
M.Porter (Ballarat/Benalla)
A.Cosham (Coburg/Benalla)
D.Clarke (Preston/Euroa)
S.Gibson (Preston/Euroa)
N.Gilliand (Ess/Port Melb/Euroa)
S.Grainger (Preston/Euroa)
M.Jansz (Preston/Euroa)
D.Sage (Preston/Euroa)
B.Tremellen (Coburg/Moroopana)
Saad Saad (Preston/Seymour)
M.Collins (Preston/Seymour)
A.Willoughby (Coburg/Tatura)
D.Mcdonald (Essendon VFL/Tatura)
S.Downey (Coburg/Tatura)
A. McBrien (Preston/Euroa)
C. Ramsay (Preston/Seymour)
M.Penn (Preston/seymour)
T.Hooper (Preston/Seymour)
Shelton (Preston/Euroa)
Ben Bailey (Preston/Seymour)
G.Pemberton (Preston/Seymour)
S. Shaw (Preston/Seymour)
B.Haberman (Preston/Seymour)
A.REid (Preston/Seymour)
S.Lang (Coburg/Shepparton Bears)
L.Veale (Werrebee/Shepparton Swans)
E.Bowen (Bendigo/Rochester)
D.Schmidt (Bendigo/Rochester)
P.Newman (Sandringham/ Kyabram)
A.Fonua (Williamstown/ Tongala)
S.Clayton (Port Melb/ Euroa)
C.Whitesed (Bendigo/Rochester)
M.Loughman (Bendigo/Rochester)
Van Sheik (Sandringham/Benalla)
C.Robertson (Preston/Benalla)

Well the list keeps growing doesnt it. The quality is excellent and i suppose if you put the best side from this list on the park you would have a very good SANFL/VFL/WAFL side wouldnt you.

TuskenRaider
3 Mar 2006, 10:35
Just noticed that neither of the 2 Clayton brothers (Shane and Mark), who have both played VFL or above, and currently play with Euroa, were on the list. So they can be added too..

No doubt I'm being pedantic, but should players who were AFL listed players like Shane Clayton or Ricky Symes go on this list of VFL players?

My reasoning is that they are players who didn't really play at a VFL club, other than via their AFL 2's and weren't primarily on a VFL list. I know it's a bit picky, and it doesn't change the substance of your thoughts re the strong ex VFL presence.

T.Perry
3 Mar 2006, 10:36
You can also throw in another Seymour recruit in Colbert, who played for both Werribee and Preston. Quality player..

The Cat
3 Mar 2006, 11:20
You can also throw in another Seymour recruit in Colbert, who played for both Werribee and Preston. Quality player..
After a quick glance at the list, you could also throw in Pilling from Seymour. Think he was previously associated with Preston.

Also have a feeling that Schirmer from United was involved with Port Melb?

bradrowe#32
3 Mar 2006, 12:00
I'm pretty sure Clint Whitsed and Micky Loughman also played for Bendigo... Not sure though.

Do you know if they did Rowey?

Not sure mate. I always thought Whitsed did, but wasn't sure about Luffy. I'm a a big fan of Whitsed, I reckon the boy can play (although he is no Robert Stirzaker).

randallbone
3 Mar 2006, 12:18
Not sure mate. I always thought Whitsed did, but wasn't sure about Luffy. I'm a a big fan of Whitsed, I reckon the boy can play (although he is no Robert Stirzaker).

There's only one Robbie Stirzaker, there's only one Robbie Stirzaker. Huge shoes to fill. 'Whits is not quite in his company just yet, but can definitely play.

cookie33
3 Mar 2006, 12:26
Ill have a go at doing a lineup for the past VFL players that we have come up with.

FB: Collins Schmidt Lang

CHB: Bowen Willoughby S.Clayton

C: Lamaro Sage Mcdonald

HF: Ramsay Newman Gilliland

FF: Saad Symes Grainger

R: Porter Haberman Penn

INT: Gibson Tremellen Downey M.Clayton

Fair side, probably got a few wrong but still good on paper.

saint13
3 Mar 2006, 14:00
After a quick glance at the list, you could also throw in Pilling from Seymour. Think he was previously associated with Preston.

Also have a feeling that Schirmer from United was involved with Port Melb?

pilling is from the west isnt he, fremantle way i think, dont quote me its what i heard..............

T.Perry
3 Mar 2006, 14:07
pilling is from the west isnt he, fremantle way i think, dont quote me its what i heard..............

Yeh, that's right. He and another bloke came from East Fremantle to play at Bullants, and he's stuck around and obviously played at Seymour..

Wayne Weideman
3 Mar 2006, 15:51
went passed rochesters training the other night and the boys had finished up but they look a tight knit group this year. especially young sam brennan who has a new best mate in akky jones who was giving him a rub down after warm down in the trainers room. i think he pulled up tip top.

Junkie
3 Mar 2006, 18:26
Ill have a go at doing a lineup for the past VFL players that we have come up with.

I am pretty sure Lamaro never played a game in the VFL. It was still AFL reserves when he was at Melbourne..

Flat Track Bully
3 Mar 2006, 18:27
Benalla's Ben "China" Fahey played with North Ballarat near the turn of the century.

jmain14
3 Mar 2006, 20:11
Just thought I'd slap a bit of a team together made up of the ex-VFL players that have travelled up the Hume to join the GVL..

Backs: Bowen Schmidt Robertson

CHB: Hooper Willoughby M. Clayton

Centre: Lamaro Sage Reid

CHF: Gibson Ramsay Gilliand

FF: Symes Grainger Saad

Rucks: Porter S.Clayton Penn

Bench: Jansz Clarke Haberman Newman

Obviously, there are positional changes that a lot of blokes wouldn't agree with, but it says a lot about the calibre, and depth, of players that the GV have been able to recruit into the league...tell me there's a league in country footy that can boast a full forward line like that one!
not a bad side there hey tav. not real sure about the 6 forwards you have there as they don't play for rochy but could paul newman consider himself unlucky not to start on the ground??

jmain14
3 Mar 2006, 20:12
I'm a a big fan of Whitsed, I reckon the boy can play (although he is no Robert Stirzaker).
ha ha exactly right big randall, not many are.

jmain14
3 Mar 2006, 20:16
Has been a battle. A big battle!

Not sure if I will play in the Bendigo thing as its for senior teams only I think... me putting on 8-9 kgs over summer wouldn't have helped my cause there...

Will be watching though - will be good to see how echuca look before the Rochy v Echuca round one game.
I have a fair idea ilovetogetblind is one anthony jess. if it so, don't sell yourself short mate. there is no need for modesty on this site. I don't think you were far away from senior action last year.

thefootymaster5
4 Mar 2006, 10:37

Throw in Campbell from Echuca (SANFL Premiershp Player), and their new additions in White and Howman - who also played in their 2002 premiership side and then you have a real side.

Hotdog Vendor
4 Mar 2006, 10:59
I have a fair idea ilovetogetblind is one anthony jess. if it so, don't sell yourself short mate. there is no need for modesty on this site. I don't think you were far away from senior action last year.
I Thought that ilovetogetblind was Ant Jess. I agree with you mainy that he is a very handy player. Just have to put those extra christmas kilos into muscle and the footy world would be at his feet.

sonofapriest-16
4 Mar 2006, 11:40
Seymour Lions Are Gonna Smash Euroa In The First Round!!!

BYSTANDER
4 Mar 2006, 13:55
Surely you would have the likes of adam reid before a player like M Clayton... Reid domanated against us last year and seem pretty couragous.

Is ramsey from seymour playing this year,

you can add ben bailey to that list (unless ive missed it)...

BYSTANDER
4 Mar 2006, 13:58
Did jeff anderson play VFL... Would have him and Mark Pilling in that team before others...although not sure if pilling played in VFL..

HawkeEye
4 Mar 2006, 18:09

Will you be playing in this game (1s or 2s) or will you be watching

HawkeEye
4 Mar 2006, 18:11
Question time.

1. How many commission homes in Seymour?
a) 50
b) every house west of the railway track
c) every house east of the railway track
d) the whole of seymour:D

Answer to this question will be posted midweek due to confirmation of the last census

Be sure to stay tune for another question next week.

:D

Specky Magee
4 Mar 2006, 18:40

i wouldn't count your eggs yet fat boy, but will be a very good re-match.

Specky Magee
4 Mar 2006, 18:42

i wouldn't count your eggs yet fat boy, but will be a very good re-match. Hilton factor, who will stop him????

The Whip
5 Mar 2006, 09:09
Whats your number champ? If you even f u c ken play

The Whip
5 Mar 2006, 09:12
Whats your number champ?

Grandale
5 Mar 2006, 10:53
Did jeff anderson play VFL... Would have him and Mark Pilling in that team before others...although not sure if pilling played in VFL..

Joffa played a game for the Essendon Scoobies (before they aligned with Bendigo) a couple of years back one week the Lions had the bye.
And Pilling played for the Bullants in 2002. He came over for one year (I think) and then headed back west.

sonofapriest-16
5 Mar 2006, 16:00
Buddy i dont really think it matters what number i am everyone is entitled to their opinion.... with the pick up of colbert and the up-coming jake anderson, i really dont think that there is going to be any room for mistake, the team that slips first will be the one that trails for the rest of that game, big game, it will be. game of the round.....

PUP16
5 Mar 2006, 16:34
Buddy i dont really think it matters what number i am everyone is entitled to their opinion.... with the pick up of colbert and the up-coming jake anderson, i really dont think that there is going to be any room for mistake, the team that slips first will be the one that trails for the rest of that game, big game, it will be. game of the round.....

Colbert and Anderson, herd abit about both of them, but would either of them have the same influence to a game as Hilton would, dont get me wrong havent seen the seymour boys play, but Hilton would b hard to match let alone contain.......

BYSTANDER
5 Mar 2006, 18:28
whoever wins, should be a cracker of a game.. maybe hilton will get the same treatment hyatt got in the grandfinal... will be worth the etry fee

No Heart
5 Mar 2006, 19:36

Thanks for the confidence sonofapriest, but if it is won thing the the seymour town learned last year from stevie D ,and will remember for a long time , was doesnt matter who won round 1 , 14 or the 2nd Semi , its who wins the won that counts .

sonofapriest-16
5 Mar 2006, 19:53
Havent heard much about this Hilton, is he actually as good as they say, is he going to make that much of an impact? One player can't win the game on their own, thats one player and there is 18 on the field, both teams sound like they are ready to go the entire way, but i'm still keen on seymour for this one, not by much but they might just push it over the line....

sonofapriest-16
5 Mar 2006, 19:59
No heart.... do u play in the GV?

No Heart
5 Mar 2006, 20:22
Or Sh it scared.............?

Thats a good call Echucaboy, the seymour bench was ******** scared that day when Dirty Dave was going of at halftime, and i carnt work out why ???? One of the coaching staff at seymour has done kicking boxing for about 6 years and had a couple of rounds in the ring , so im really surprized to see a ******** call like that, from a guy whos thread i normally like to read.
But everyone is allowed one ******** call.

No Heart
5 Mar 2006, 20:28
No heart.... do u play in the GV?

I do play for seymour sonofapriest,and yes Hilton will make a diffrence as will clarke and Thomson.

sonofapriest-16
5 Mar 2006, 20:31
no heart if u play for seymour.... who are you? i no alot of people who come from seymour.... so you are?

Doona2
5 Mar 2006, 21:13
no heart if u play for seymour.... who are you? i no alot of people who come from seymour.... so you are?

Who are you??? Surely this cant be another Seymour lad under a dodgy just trying to stir the pot again . . . . the whole Euroa/Seymour thing went too far last year, lets not head down a similar path

Havent heard much about this Hilton, is he actually as good as they say, is he going to make that much of an impact?

Haven't heard much about Hilton . . . you gotta be cranking us or so you come from that part of Seymour known as Disneyland and haven't heard or sighted any AFL footy the past few years.

Geez I thought the opening round KDFL clash (Yea/Avenel) was big news, but with bold predictions like this Ive just gotta get up the Hume to Euroa for a peek.

Sonny
5 Mar 2006, 21:23

Generally the G.V site has good discussion but sometimes it is rubbish. "Euroa is going to smash seymour" Grow up writer( you must have a really big IQ) and don't respond others.
Can you cut & paste from the local papers Doona, HJ 32 & others?

Doona2
5 Mar 2006, 21:33
Generally the G.V site has good discussion but sometimes it is rubbish. "Euroa is going to smash seymour" Grow up writer( you must have a really big IQ) and don't respond others.

On the GV 18's thread the writer in question has slagged the AGSV comp that Assumption competes in . . . there seems to be no logic or credibility warranted to this one fella's.

no left foot
6 Mar 2006, 11:39
Butler, Durie and Maddox from Echuca all played VFL.

fat back pocket
6 Mar 2006, 12:07

What about Blake Campbell? Surely he has to get a spot. Played a handful of AFL matches...not sure of a position, maybe someone can slot him into a side.

Joffa Anderson did play a VFL game for Essendon a couple of years back. Might have only been VFL reserves though, not too sure.

ANT JESS
6 Mar 2006, 12:23
Thats a good call Echucaboy, the seymour bench was ******** scared that day when Dirty Dave was going of at halftime, and i carnt work out why ???? One of the coaching staff at seymour has done kicking boxing for about 6 years and had a couple of rounds in the ring , so im really surprized to see a ******** call like that, from a guy whos thread i normally like to read.
But everyone is allowed one ******** call.

Not knowing the bloke that you speak of, but unless he was iron Mike Tyson I reakon i'd still be pretty happy to have my cash on Dirty. Having seen him single handedly take on multiple blokes, on a few occasions in his playing days without too much trouble. And considering he is still in the same physical state that he was back then, yeah im with you ECHUCABOY I reakon old mate Jackie Chan on the bench would have been a little scared. :)

TuskenRaider
6 Mar 2006, 13:12
What about Blake Campbell? Surely he has to get a spot. Played a handful of AFL matches...not sure of a position, maybe someone can slot him into a side.

Another AFL listed player who didn't play primarily for a VFL club.

Are you going to count blokes like Brad Campbell who was listed at Melbourne, even though their 2's weren't playing in the VFL at the time or Rory Hilton who has played a few games for Coburg in the last couple of years?

GVFLFAN
6 Mar 2006, 13:34
Any truth to the rumour that Mark Pilling from Seymor has Hung up the Dating Boots and has got engaged??? Got the whisper today from a very reliable source and was just wondering if anyone from Seymor or even the Man Himself (1 of the NO HEART Bandwagon) can confirm or deny this!!!

HJ32
6 Mar 2006, 14:12
Any truth to the rumour that Mark Pilling from Seymor has Hung up the Dating Boots and has got engaged??? Got the whisper today from a very reliable source and was just wondering if anyone from Seymor or even the Man Himself (1 of the NO HEART Bandwagon) can confirm or deny this!!!

will Luke Hyatt be in the wedding party???:D
I think his ears are still ringing from grand final day

Seeking Glory
6 Mar 2006, 14:41
Pills is getting married and Luke Hyatt is the best man

BYSTANDER
6 Mar 2006, 15:17
GVFLFAN are you another seymour hero that makes up crap rumours.. but if he did well done to hm...

Maybe the seymour newpaper will run an article on it...

Good to see Fat Back Pocket back on board and with a good post..... but who no who his other allias are "No Heart,Sonofapreist and proberly GVFLFAN...

Anyway back to the footy,,, any intra club this week,,,

sonofapriest-16
6 Mar 2006, 15:37
Doona2, come on mate i was just having a little stir no need to get worked up..... but on the hilton comment i wasnt sure whether he was from the AFL, VFL, or where and was questioning whether he was actually at euroa, can one player seriously do that much damage and win a game by himself??

tige19
6 Mar 2006, 15:46
Whats news lads?? Went out in Shepp on Friday night and what a disgrace that was...... apart from 1 of the boys giving a bird a smashing in the toilets of some shocking night spot, the night was pretty much a waster of time.

The taxi man dropped me off at 3am in Tat and it took 3 hours of walking around the joint before the paper delivery man gave me a lift to the hotel after i waved him down as the sun was about to rise.

Went to watch a few of the boys get flogged by Richmond and got speaking to Mart Mcgrath who bagged 5 on debut againts the Doggies a few years back. He said he hasnt got a club, a bit suprising at this stage but he could be 1 that would dominate at a local level.

cheers

TuskenRaider
6 Mar 2006, 15:47
Doona2, come on mate i was just having a little stir no need to get worked up..... but on the hilton comment i wasnt sure whether he was from the AFL, VFL, or where and was questioning whether he was actually at euroa, can one player seriously do that much damage and win a game by himself??
You're not serious are you? If you have any idea or interest in football, and specifically GV football (as you're posting on this thread) you would know who Hilton played for.

You're obviously just trolling for a response, so well done, you've got it.

sonofapriest-16
6 Mar 2006, 15:51
You're not serious are you? If you have any idea or interest in football, and specifically GV football (as you're posting on this thread) you would know who Hilton played for.

You're obviously just trolling for a response, so well done, you've got it.
i'm interested in GV but im obviously not as into it as you... i hadn't heard bout hilton until the other week, im not following that closely on the seniors this year, just on here trying to get a peek at what the season is going to be like.

bazlurhmann
6 Mar 2006, 15:55

I feel the same way, i dont think 1 man can win the game for them, I think he will be helpfull, i think he was good at richmond but he wont be able to change a the way a whole side plays. I still think Seymour will beat them regardless

Doona2
6 Mar 2006, 15:55

Didnt think I was worked up sonofa, just a tad bemused by your statements of late

BYSTANDER
6 Mar 2006, 15:58
Nice work tige, i hope it wasnt bahraj sinhgs asre you were watching over the cubicle wall...

Maybe marty will ended up at tat... did you do your usual thing of getting his number and then giving that number to taturas recruiting team so they can contact him...you should get a recruiting job at a AFL club...

when u blokes playing sratches....

and SONOFAPRIEST... there is now a OFFICAL GVFL under 18s site mate... maybe start on that mate(if not already) and Doona will let you no when you graduate to this sight... im not bagging u, just seems u are abit out of your league here

sonofapriest-16
6 Mar 2006, 15:58
Doona2 thats ok mate, glad i made ya laugh... haha.... but um seymour and euroa, has seen euroa get the edge and take out the 1st round, last year but i think the lions are out to take the win this year. colbert is looking fit at the lions too.

Duff Man
6 Mar 2006, 16:15
i'm interested in GV but im obviously not as into it as you... i hadn't heard bout hilton until the other week, im not following that closely on the seniors this year, just on here trying to get a peek at what the season is going to be like.

For someone who's not following the seniors this year, you seem to have a fair bit to say. Not that I mind, however everything you've posted so far is crap!

Now get back to the U 18's thread ya palm pilot :cool:

BYSTANDER
6 Mar 2006, 16:20
SONOFAPRIEST... your posts are starting to resemble the old fat back pocket...the only reason we no its not you S.Peterson is you are yet to mention SAAD SAAD...

inlimbo
6 Mar 2006, 16:22
Colbert and Anderson, herd abit about both of them, but would either of them have the same influence to a game as Hilton would, dont get me wrong havent seen the seymour boys play, but Hilton would b hard to match let alone contain.......

Hilton will be a fine pick up for Euroa, he adds to an already strong midfield, yet a midfield in which seymour can match... Im looking forward to the shootout between Grainger and Saad, as this is were the match can be won!

TheDen
6 Mar 2006, 18:55
Hilton will be a fine pick up for Euroa, he adds to an already strong midfield, yet a midfield in which seymour can match... Im looking forward to the shootout between Grainger and Saad, as this is were the match can be won!
Who else is playing in the euroa midfield? what are your comments on simon gordon?

uncletoby
6 Mar 2006, 19:02
Question time.

1. How many commission homes in Seymour?
a) 50
b) every house west of the railway track
c) every house east of the railway track
d) the whole of seymour:D

Answer to this question will be posted midweek due to confirmation of the last census

Be sure to stay tune for another question next week.

:D

i couldnt tell you how many commission homes there are but i can tell you one thing hawk we do have the 2005 premiership cup, oh and the flag to does that anwser your question??

TheDen
6 Mar 2006, 20:23
i couldnt tell you how many commission homes there are but i can tell you one thing hawk we do have the 2005 premiership cup, oh and the flag to does that anwser your question??
Uncletoby good point, but there are quite alot of commission houses in seymour, haha.... but will seymour have the drive to take it out again this season?

saint13
6 Mar 2006, 20:49
Uncletoby good point, but there are quite alot of commission houses in seymour, haha.... but will seymour have the drive to take it out again this season?

they will be top 3 again, but as we all know, anybody still running around in september is a chance to take it out.

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 07:55
Went to watch a few of the boys get flogged by Richmond and got speaking to Mart Mcgrath who bagged 5 on debut againts the Doggies a few years back. He said he hasnt got a club, a bit suprising at this stage but he could be 1 that would dominate at a local level.

cheers

Hey Tige

Marty Mcgrath speaks to probably ten clubs a year, heard he has spoken to a few clubs in the DVFL already.

Spoke to a mate who played with him at Nth Ballarat and he said "He'll talk with at least 9 clubs, train with 5 and sign with 3 before the start of the season. then probably playing with a completely different club, before pulling the pin because his car breaks down on game day"

Granted though, he would blitz if keen to play.

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 08:33
Rochy boys, can you give me any info on this young fella Bright that has played for you recently. From what i hear he signed at Sunshine last night in the WRFL. Talking to him after training, he said it went down like a ton of bricks with Dirty.

ilovetogetblind
7 Mar 2006, 09:05
Rochy boys, can you give me any info on this young fella Bright that has played for you recently. From what i hear he signed at Sunshine last night in the WRFL. Talking to him after training, he said it went down like a ton of bricks with Dirty.

Travvy, yes heard at the pub on Sat night that he had left the club. Girlfriend is from Sunshine or something..??

He is a tall backman who can swap in the ruck. Played a bit of Ressies footy with us in 2004 when the seniors were very strong.

Was supposed to be back up ruckman for Sam Brennan last year - however spend 8-10 weeks on sidelines with a broken arm. If he can string a few seasons together he would become a good senior player.

Can imagine the conversion with Dirty would have been very intense... especially leaving it til this late.

Is he training well? Think he had been to a fair few trainings at Rochy and was looking pretty fit.

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 09:22
Travvy, yes heard at the pub on Sat night that he had left the club. Girlfriend is from Sunshine or something..??

He is a tall backman who can swap in the ruck. Played a bit of Ressies footy with us in 2004 when the seniors were very strong.

Was supposed to be back up ruckman for Sam Brennan last year - however spend 8-10 weeks on sidelines with a broken arm. If he can string a few seasons together he would become a good senior player.

Can imagine the conversion with Dirty would have been very intense... especially leaving it til this late.

Is he training well? Think he had been to a fair few trainings at Rochy and was looking pretty fit.

Yeah he is looking good on the track, looks to play a lot taller than he actually is, got a long set of arms and has a decent set of hands too.

Good to know that he has a bit to offer in the ruck division; thanks for that.

First praccy match tomorrow night against Gisborne at Whitten Oval (just a 6 quarter match), would think he would start at CHB at this stage.

tige19
7 Mar 2006, 09:23
Hey Tige

Marty Mcgrath speaks to probably ten clubs a year, heard he has spoken to a few clubs in the DVFL already.

Spoke to a mate who played with him at Nth Ballarat and he said "He'll talk with at least 9 clubs, train with 5 and sign with 3 before the start of the season. then probably playing with a completely different club, before pulling the pin because his car breaks down on game day"

Granted though, he would blitz if keen to play.

Was good mates with marty when he was at Coburg but always thought he would be a bit like what you said. Sort of doesnt know if his coming or going. In saying that i would hope his word to a mate would count for something.

I know that the only other club he has spoken to this year is Lalor and what they have offered him is nothing special and would be beaten easily by other clubs.

I will know more by Friday what his gonna do, well ill know 100% what his gonna do but any club that gets him he would really be an elite player for. In regards about his car i would go get him every week if it meant he will play, the kid has unbelivable talent, just has got to want it and love playing footy again.

cheers

Travvy43
7 Mar 2006, 10:21
Big news boys, singh has signed on for the cats in 2006, recruiting now over.

This mob could be a real smokey. Not lost anyone and have added to their line up:
Karl Norman
Gary Learmonth
Nick Aloi
Geoff Connally
J Best
Among a few other lesser known players

First prac match is v Anglesea on the 25th.

inlimbo
7 Mar 2006, 10:50
Who else is playing in the euroa midfield? what are your comments on simon gordon?

Im sure someone passionate enough to have the title 'the den' would know the answer to who plays in Euroa's midfield... Perhaps you should ask Sage next time he vistis station 26! As for gordon he is the only bloke that makes joffa anderson seem skinny!

fat back pocket
7 Mar 2006, 10:55
[QUOTE=BYSTANDER]
Good to see Fat Back Pocket back on board and with a good post..... but who no who his other allias are "No Heart,Sonofapreist and proberly GVFLFAN...
QUOTE]

Theres only one Fat Back Pocket mate. No need for any other names. I stand by what i say, so i'm happy to stick with the good old FBP.

Cheers.

Seeking Glory
7 Mar 2006, 11:07

I find that hard to belivie cos Rory Hilton has put on a fair bit of weight in the pre season unless he's been to jenny craige he will be an average player.

Seeking Glory
7 Mar 2006, 11:24
Fat back pocktet your just been listed in the MOST hated opposition player. What's the go?

GVFLFAN
7 Mar 2006, 11:28
I find that hard to belivie cos Rory Hilton has put on a fair bit of weight in the pre season unless he's been to jenny craige he will be an average player.
Your a Goose Champ!!! Hilton is flying along with the rest of the Euroa Players!!! Doubt Hilton if you dare i reckon!!! Bring on Round One!!!!

bradrowe#32
7 Mar 2006, 12:08
Big news boys, singh has signed on for the cats in 2006, recruiting now over.

This mob could be a real smokey. Not lost anyone and have added to their line up:
Karl Norman
Gary Learmonth
Nick Aloi
Geoff Connally
J Best
Among a few other lesser known players

First prac match is v Anglesea on the 25th.

Should be interesting to see how they go Travvy. Adding those guys to the Campbell brothers, Hall and the others should form a good combination.

However, they have had pretty talented teams before, but haven't done much good. Have they actually made the finals in the last 20 years (after their back to back in the mid 80's)?

Sly Dog
7 Mar 2006, 12:51
Dont think mooroopna have made or won many finals since of the days of the great cooper running around collecting 97 possessions a week. this year certainly might be the year to atleast finish in the top 4. have built up slowly the last 2 years and the added recruits this year will top them up nicely.

Flat Track Bully
7 Mar 2006, 13:39
Should be interesting to see how they go Travvy. Adding those guys to the Campbell brothers, Hall and the others should form a good combination.

However, they have had pretty talented teams before, but haven't done much good. Have they actually made the finals in the last 20 years (after their back to back in the mid 80's)?

1990 I believe was their last finals appearance.

BTW Rowey, why weren't you in class yesterday! :p

Con Kreteshoez
7 Mar 2006, 13:59
Keen to know peoples views on the ex Syemour forward Patrick Rattray. How did he hold up during the year with both performance and fitness? would he be a reliable recruit and does anyone know if or where he's playing this year?

T.Perry
7 Mar 2006, 14:57
Keen to know peoples views on the ex Syemour forward Patrick Rattray. How did he hold up during the year with both performance and fitness? would he be a reliable recruit and does anyone know if or where he's playing this year?

I believe big Patty is playing with Bendigo bombers this year, or at least, I'm confident he completed pre-season with them..I think most supporters from Seymour would have been reasonably happy with how he performed last year. He seemed to relish being the 3rd or 4th string forward, the year before he played at Avenel and didn't play as relaxed when he was the main focal point.

Not sure how reliable he'd be, but no doubt any club outside of VFL level would be happy to have him onboard. Can take a big grab and knows where the sticks are..

Seeking Glory
7 Mar 2006, 15:11
Your a Goose Champ!!! Hilton is flying along with the rest of the Euroa Players!!! Doubt Hilton if you dare i reckon!!! Bring on Round One!!!!

What makes you think that i'm from seymour???
I'm actually one of happy's mates.

gta3
7 Mar 2006, 15:34
Patty Ratray was last year voted the best looking player to play in the GVFL. to bad he's not playing in the GVFL anymore because i reckon he would still keep his title

GVFLFAN
7 Mar 2006, 15:38
Didn't say you were from seymor!!! Just found it strange that you would bag Hilt's when he is flying at the moment!!! Will be hard to stop!!!

a.k.a.
7 Mar 2006, 16:28

Sure you're one of Happys mates...

No one said you were from seymour dipsh i t, they didnt have to you've given yourself up there...

FOOTYBOSS
7 Mar 2006, 20:21
Doubt whether you are one of happy's mates. If you are one of happy's so called mates, where is he now?

Doona2
7 Mar 2006, 20:26
Doubt whether you are one of happy's mates. If you are one of happy's so called mates, where is he now?

Where you been FOOTYBOSS round 1 is fastly approaching and Im awaiting some light hearted banter amongst the Hume Hwy clubs. You gunna be playing or still heading OS?

bradrowe#32
7 Mar 2006, 21:13
Patty Ratray was last year voted the best looking player to play in the GVFL. to bad he's not playing in the GVFL anymore because i reckon he would still keep his title

I can't believe he beat Hickmont for that title. He is one sexy beast.

jmain14
8 Mar 2006, 01:48

yes, a very good call there young rowey. to be honest I know bugger all about the club (and am writing this post from countries away) so its probably wrong for me to call but I am going to say it anyway - it seems a culture thing there to produce rubbish results. despite these players they have recruited I still predict an 8th or 9th finish for the cattery. will stand by this call and cop any critism from any mooroopna posters on here if I happen to be wrong.

FOOTYBOSS
8 Mar 2006, 06:36
Where you been FOOTYBOSS round 1 is fastly approaching and Im awaiting some light hearted banter amongst the Hume Hwy clubs. You gunna be playing or still heading OS?
Ive been busy with work for a change and just been reading occasionaly to see what is happening on this forum. Im heading OS next wednesday afternoon for 3 and a half weeks. I arrive back in Melbourne 2 days before the much anticipated round 1 clash between us and seymour. Unfortunately I will not be taking to the field until about round 8 or 9. So will miss the chance t beat the lions. I will however be drinking numerous amounts of cans while watching this game and throwing out abuse like any supporter does. Look forward to it.

ECHUCABOY
8 Mar 2006, 08:55
No heart was just stirrin with the ******** scared call, I was obviously quite bored at work and looking for a response.

Tige, I have also heard Marty McGrath has had talks with a load of clubs, played with Templestowe in Divvy 3 of the Eastern Footy League last year and failed to set the world on fire.....Work Ethic.....

Were still a month and the Euroa / Seymour comments are still flying in thick and fast, lets not get too nasty on the internet boys.......;) , theres that many of ya's on here, I wouldnt be suprised if you ran into the rooms at half time and posted on BigFooty on ya lap tops!

axel
8 Mar 2006, 16:18
i thought this was the gv thread all that i read about is seymour. thats good coz i play for them but i want to find out more from other clubs. ps: son of a priest must be on drugs or something he has been talking up the boys a fair bit i see hopefully they can back it up.

Seeking Glory
8 Mar 2006, 17:51

Actually havn't seen Happy for a while. I live in melb now. About Hilton a mate told me he put on some weight from you or your mates message he hasn't. How much money is he on?

Doona2
8 Mar 2006, 19:06
How much money is he on?

$1200 a game is the figure from a local source, and dont let the Euroa boys play it down because if it aint that it is pretty damn close!!!

Seeking Glory
8 Mar 2006, 20:04
$1200 a game is the figure from a local source, and dont let the Euroa boys play it down because if it aint that it is pretty damn close!!!

i kind of new it was around the $1000 mark. Any ideas, who's on the most $$$ per game.

kanga fan man
8 Mar 2006, 21:41
Was good mates with marty when he was at Coburg but always thought he would be a bit like what you said. Sort of doesnt know if his coming or going. In saying that i would hope his word to a mate would count for something.

I know that the only other club he has spoken to this year is Lalor and what they have offered him is nothing special and would be beaten easily by other clubs.

I will know more by Friday what his gonna do, well ill know 100% what his gonna do but any club that gets him he would really be an elite player for. In regards about his car i would go get him every week if it meant he will play, the kid has unbelivable talent, just has got to want it and love playing footy again.

cheers

Marty has signed at Lalor and trained again tonite, was lookin sharp with the skills aswell...

LOBSTER
9 Mar 2006, 06:36
Doubt whether he is actually on that much Doona. If so, its a fair amount of money. But lets not start that topic again. Have heard that Euroa have a few injuries at the moment and quite a few players wont be ready for the round 1 clash. Can thee Euroa boys confirm this?

Good to see big Balraj Singh commit to another year at the cats. I believe they will finish in the top 4 this year. Have him and Brad Campbell down forward. Karl Norman down back and coach HAll floating around the ground taking marks everywhere. Good onballers in Tremellen and Blake Campbell as well. My smokey this year is the cats.

wheelbarrow
9 Mar 2006, 06:46
Doubt whether he is actually on that much Doona. If so, its a fair amount of money. But lets not start that topic again. Have heard that Euroa have a few injuries at the moment and quite a few players wont be ready for the round 1 clash. Can thee Euroa boys confirm this?

Good to see big Balraj Singh commit to another year at the cats. I believe they will finish in the top 4 this year. Have him and Brad Campbell down forward. Karl Norman down back and coach HAll floating around the ground taking marks everywhere. Good onballers in Tremellen and Blake Campbell as well. My smokey this year is the cats.

Lobster do u really think that any Euroa player or supporter for that matter worth half their salt is going to get on this thread and confirm with u "who" is not right for rnd 1.? Mate. !!!!

TuskenRaider
9 Mar 2006, 08:26
Doona, you usually post with a fair bit of common sense and without much hyperbole but whether or not he is on or near that figure, I doubt that your "local" source would know themselves.

There is every chance they are guessing just as much as anyone else.

Doona2
9 Mar 2006, 09:10
Doona, you usually post with a fair bit of common sense and without much hyperbole but whether or not he is on or near that figure, I doubt that your "local" source would know themselves. There is every chance they are guessing just as much as anyone else.

I do expect the Euroa followers to deny this and you's dont have to believe me, it's not a guess it came from someone whom I value their football knowledge and info up that way

I actually reckon $1000-$1200 is about the mark an xe AFL straight out the system should be on - so if Rory is as fit and firing as indicated then the Magpies will be very pleased on the return on their investment

Junkie
9 Mar 2006, 13:44
I do expect the Euroa followers to deny this and you's dont have to believe me, it's not a guess it came from someone whom I value their football knowledge and info up that way

I actually reckon $1000-$1200 is about the mark an xe AFL straight out the system should be on - so if Rory is as fit and firing as indicated then the Magpies will be very pleased on the return on their investment

The truth is that very few people would really have a clue what he is on and estimates like this mean sweet f..... all:rolleyes:

I have another mate who came out of the AFL system and not for the life of me could I ever get out of him how much coin he was on. He would only say "I'm on about yada, yada" and then if you asked him again he would deliberately make up some other amount.

The point I'm trying to make is Rory will know what his on, Xav would know what he's on and maybe 1 or 2 others but the rest of us are just throwing numbers around Willie nillie without a f...ing clue!!!

There would no doubt be plenty of people up that way claiming to know what coin certain players on but I am confident they would be talking through their @r$e:thumbsd:

tige19
9 Mar 2006, 13:53
Marty has signed at Lalor and trained again tonite, was lookin sharp with the skills aswell...

Wrong! He might have trained but i just spoke to him and his coming with me 2moro to Tatura training. All his signed is a clearance to Lalor which means squat.