View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Doozy_Man
9 Mar 2006, 13:11
Can anyone give me all the departures and arrivals for Echuca and Rochy?
kanga fan man
9 Mar 2006, 13:49
Wrong! He might have trained but i just spoke to him and his coming with me 2moro to Tatura training. All his signed is a clearance to Lalor which means squat.
I think you are wrong tige19.
how are yous travelling anyway.?
Travvy43
9 Mar 2006, 13:57
Wrong! He might have trained but i just spoke to him and his coming with me 2moro to Tatura training. All his signed is a clearance to Lalor which means squat.
'sounds familar tige, good stuff getting him up to tat, hopefully he is home when you got to pick him up
I think you are wrong tige19.
how are yous travelling anyway.?
Nah brother im pretty sure im 100% right, spoke to him about an hour ago and i can assure you his coming up tommorow. I know he signd a clearance to Lalor but thats all, he hasnt signed a contract holding him to the club for the season and even if he did that can be broken as he hasnt accepted any money off them like a sign on yet.
I think the fact he could probably get a bit more with us money wise might be to hard to knock back as he has a young family. Hopefully being a mate he will stick to his word and come up with me, as long as he gets in the car i would think he would sign.
Still about 2 big blokes of the finals, need a Full forward and Full back apart from that we have a very good backline and a strong midfield with a good ruckman. Will struggle up forwward unless someone can suprise.
Flat Track Bully
9 Mar 2006, 14:35
Interesting to note that an M.Brown was in the best players for Numurkah in their 107 point hammering of Tongala in the Barooga Night Series.
Further qualifies the comments made by Dave Williams on 3SR last week that Brown had knocked back the Tigers for the Blues.
Now where's that report in the Shepp News....
far canal
9 Mar 2006, 14:48
Nah brother im pretty sure im 100% right, spoke to him about an hour ago and i can assure you his coming up tommorow. I know he signd a clearance to Lalor but thats all, he hasnt signed a contract holding him to the club for the season and even if he did that can be broken as he hasnt accepted any money off them like a sign on yet.
I think the fact he could probably get a bit more with us money wise might be to hard to knock back as he has a young family. Hopefully being a mate he will stick to his word and come up with me, as long as he gets in the car i would think he would sign.
Still about 2 big blokes of the finals, need a Full forward and Full back apart from that we have a very good backline and a strong midfield with a good ruckman. Will struggle up forwward unless someone can suprise.tige19- marty has signed a contract, a clearance and has accepted a sign on fee. not much but he has. if you are talking about sticking to your word then that has just summed it up.
The truth is that very few people would really have a clue what he is on and estimates like this mean sweet f..... all:rolleyes:
I have another mate who came out of the AFL system and not for the life of me could I ever get out of him how much coin he was on. He would only say "I'm on about yada, yada" and then if you asked him again he would deliberately make up some other amount.
The point I'm trying to make is Rory will know what his on, Xav would know what he's on and maybe 1 or 2 others but the rest of us are just throwing numbers around Willie nillie without a f...ing clue!!!
There would no doubt be plenty of people up that way claiming to know what coin certain players on but I am confident they would be talking through their @r$e:thumbsd:
Never did I profess to say I know, just what I was told, not much else to talk about this time of year, roll on round 1 and then we can pay out those who dont appear to be earning their $$$ I say :p
tige19- marty has signed a contract, a clearance and has accepted a sign on fee. not much but he has. if you are talking about sticking to your word then that has just summed it up.
I dont think signing a contract would mean much to Marty.....the only thing going through his head while putting pen to paper would be $$$$$$$$$$$
Interesting to note that an M.Brown was in the best players for Numurkah in their 107 point hammering of Tongala in the Barooga Night Series.
Further qualifies the comments made by Dave Williams on 3SR last week that Brown had knocked back the Tigers for the Blues.
Heard the interview last Satdy morning also FTB - Dirty admitted him and the Tigers recruitng boys met with Brown again recently but from memory he said talks seems to have fallen down and they missed out on him.
Now that it's been on BIg Footy the Shepp News boys will be all over it . . . .
Duff Man
10 Mar 2006, 06:10
Heard the interview last Satdy morning also FTB - Dirty admitted him and the Tigers recruitng boys met with Brown again recently but from memory he said talks seems to have fallen down and they missed out on him.
Now that it's been on BIg Footy the Shepp News boys will be all over it . . . .
I reckon the Shepp News boys would probably know more about what Brown is doing than us here on BF. Doesn't Brown work at the Shepp News?
bradrowe#32
10 Mar 2006, 06:42
They're probably all busy working on the next round of Brett Deledio articles.
Grimmett
10 Mar 2006, 07:23
They're probably all busy working on the next round of Brett Deledio articles.
Or online checking BF. :rolleyes:
jmain14
10 Mar 2006, 20:16
have nothing really constructive to post but thought I'd write so as the thread would be back on the first page again. wtf is with you boys back in aus not posting in this thread on a friday anyway?? its an insult to rowey who started this thread many months ago.
GVFLFAN
11 Mar 2006, 09:41
$1200 a game is the figure from a local source, and dont let the Euroa boys play it down because if it aint that it is pretty damn close!!!
Well this may come as a surprise but ther is no player at Euroa on more than $600 a game so i don't know where you got $1200 a game from! I think that is what Mansfield offered him!!! I know of at least 4 clubs paying players over the $600 -$1000 mark and they include Seymor, Tatura, Mooroopna and Benalla!!! Would say Euroa Have used the money they have very wisely by not paying overpriced players to come to the club!!! Everyone is mates that want to play together and are quite happy to play for less to play together and go the next step!!!
Marty Mcgrath signed last night at Tatura and his clearance will go through in the next week. Templestowe havent cleared him to Lalor yet and im pretty sure Tat officials have made contact with Templestowe and come to an agreemant. Also looks like a bloke who played in the WAFL and won a Colts B&F at under 16 or 19 level will play as well.
Anyone have any info on a guy named Fabian Kickett, been told that he is a genuine gun about 185cm but will hold down FB.
Well this may come as a surprise but ther is no player at Euroa on more than $600 a game so i don't know where you got $1200 a game from! I think that is what Mansfield offered him!!! I know of at least 4 clubs paying players over the $600 -$1000 mark and they include Seymor, Tatura, Mooroopna and Benalla!!! Would say Euroa Have used the money they have very wisely by not paying overpriced players to come to the club!!! Everyone is mates that want to play together and are quite happy to play for less to play together and go the next step!!!
What a load of rubish.... as if Euroa arnt paying anyone more than $600, most clubs would be, they would just be sayin that so that word doesnt get out on how much players are worth, and euroa havents used there money very wisely as they lost didnt come out with the premiership last season....
kanga fan man
12 Mar 2006, 11:57
Marty Mcgrath signed last night at Tatura and his clearance will go through in the next week. Templestowe havent cleared him to Lalor yet and im pretty sure Tat officials have made contact with Templestowe and come to an agreemant. Also looks like a bloke who played in the WAFL and won a Colts B&F at under 16 or 19 level will play as well.
Anyone have any info on a guy named Fabian Kickett, been told that he is a genuine gun about 185cm but will hold down FB.
he has signed a contract at lalor . he told the club he went to tat n friday nite but he not playing there
I was writing a descent response to your dribble but thought id save you the embarrasment and just say it once more that Martie is at Tatura, he signed his contract and commited for the season. Furthermoore his mate Fabian Kickett/Winmar (cant remember his last name) looks a possibility to sign to. There is little to no chance that Martie will be at Lalor. I heard that Lalors training is rubbish and the standard was terrible hence the reason Martie probably wants to play elsewhere.
kanga fan man
12 Mar 2006, 13:41
I was writing a descent response to your dribble but thought id save you the embarrasment and just say it once more that Martie is at Tatura, he signed his contract and commited for the season. Furthermoore his mate Fabian Kickett/Winmar (cant remember his last name) looks a possibility to sign to. There is little to no chance that Martie will be at Lalor. I heard that Lalors training is rubbish and the standard was terrible hence the reason Martie probably wants to play elsewhere.
Well we will see then. marty also said that he only went up because they were harrassing him so he just went up there to shut em up.
His partner is playing in our womens team and her cousins play at lalor.
Where ever he plays im sure he will dominate anyway
far canal
12 Mar 2006, 17:09
I was writing a descent response to your dribble but thought id save you the embarrasment and just say it once more that Martie is at Tatura, he signed his contract and commited for the season. Furthermoore his mate Fabian Kickett/Winmar (cant remember his last name) looks a possibility to sign to. There is little to no chance that Martie will be at Lalor. I heard that Lalors training is rubbish and the standard was terrible hence the reason Martie probably wants to play elsewhere.cmon tige19 theres no need to have a go at lalor mate. when you hardly win a game you dont have a right to talk down other comps or teams. I could imagine your training when half the side live in melb, it would be disgraceful. if we played tat in a practice match we would not just pump ya but we would punch the c u n t out of you aswell. top 5 or 6 teams in gv are very good but the bottom 4 or 5 (tatura) are absolutely putrid. maybe ya should do what tongala have done and go to a lesser comp. I suggest the heathcote league.
far canal
12 Mar 2006, 17:10
I was writing a descent response to your dribble but thought id save you the embarrasment and just say it once more that Martie is at Tatura, he signed his contract and commited for the season. Furthermoore his mate Fabian Kickett/Winmar (cant remember his last name) looks a possibility to sign to. There is little to no chance that Martie will be at Lalor. I heard that Lalors training is rubbish and the standard was terrible hence the reason Martie probably wants to play elsewhere.cmon tige19 theres no need to have a go at lalor mate. when you hardly win a game you dont have a right to talk down other comps or teams. I could imagine your training when half the side live in melb, it would be disgraceful. if we played tat in a practice match we would not just pump ya but we would punch the c u n t out of you aswell. top 5 or 6 teams in gv are very good but the bottom 4 or 5 (tatura) are absolutely putrid. maybe ya should do what tongala have done and go to a lesser comp. I suggest the heathcote league.
No Heart
12 Mar 2006, 18:02
Jenga how dare you come out with ******** like that, you know do you what we are all on here at seymour, I think not, and please tell me and all of us here on bigfooty what players are on more than $600 a game at my club ???????
GVFL players must now be playing for discount wages. 10 years ago Peter White ( deceased) not the coach was playing for $800 at Ky when they won the flag. Common wages 5 years ago was 500-600 for good players. Tat used to lead the way. In the last few years Mooroopna has spent plenty to get Hall, Campbells, Singh, Tremellen & others. Why are the Shepp clubs struggling ? Because they haven't paid big money other than to Mellington & Hickmott. Why are Seymour & Euroa so strong. Because they have paid money to get good players Saad etc - maybe $800 and they have also got mates to play for reasonble money. However as someone has said who really knows . Good clubs do not overpay. Stupid clubs want to buy a flag in one year and they never do. Apparently Wakool are paying Shane Harvey $2000.
GVFLFAN
12 Mar 2006, 20:53
Sorry to offend you whichever alias this is today but just stating some facts to clear a few things up!!! Not going to name names mate but i do know a fair few guys at your club and know what they at least were on the first year they went up and it was $600 not a dollar more or less!!! They also offered a mate of mine the same amount this year!!! I think you should have a better look at things mate!!! Don't want to get into a money bashing thing here as obviously your club has more money to spend so they are well in their rights to spend it, all i was really trying to clear up is that my club, Euroa, may not have the same money coming in as it is the smallest town in the league so the dollars everyone thinks we are on is well less than everyone thinks so my previous statement that no one is on more than $600 is very very valid!!! Lets just let the footy do the talking!!! Bring on Round 1!!!
Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 21:03
just left the euroa pub and talking to a few locals down there that tell me next weekend euroa have there first hit out in an itra-club match. it is what is happening the next day the really got me . the day after on the sunday the players will be competing in a last man standing fitness test. early bets are being taken to who will win and who will be forced out first. bets can only be on regular senior players.
GVFLFAN
12 Mar 2006, 21:10
just left the euroa pub and talking to a few locals down there that tell me next weekend euroa have there first hit out in an itra-club match. it is what is happening the next day the really got me . the day after on the sunday the players will be competing in a last man standing fitness test. early bets are being taken to who will win and who will be forced out first. bets can only be on regular senior players.
The survivor camp is not going ahead mate it is just a intra club game on the saturday with some light training and a bbq afterwards!!! Thank god cos the survivor camp would of been tough considering who their coach is and how hard last years camp was at mount wombat!!!
Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 21:11
The survivor camp is not going ahead mate it is just a intra club game on the saturday with some light training and a bbq afterwards!!! Thank god cos the survivor camp would of been tough considering who their coach is and how hard last years camp was at mount wombat!!!
did that camp involve running up near strathbogie nude for some of the boys?
GVFLFAN
12 Mar 2006, 21:13
That was a part of the 14km run through strathbogie which im sure all players will never forget!!!
GVFLFAN
12 Mar 2006, 21:14
That was a part of the 14km run through strathbogie which im sure all players will never forget!!!
Wayne Weideman
12 Mar 2006, 21:17
f#####g funny when i got told earlier though. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif
fat back pocket
13 Mar 2006, 12:16
I think it has been clearly stated on BF that no one knows exactly what people are getting. People here a rumour, jump on BF and post it. There were rumours of $1,200-$1,400 on Hiltons head floating around.
Janzy, didn't you want to come to seymour? A seymour coach told me that you asked for a rediculous price above your ability, a price which euroa had offered, and the RUMOUR was above $600, you wanted Seymour to offer it to you, but the coach thought it was a waste of money...and i think the GF backed that statement up, we already had schotty. Now a Morrison medallist, no need to waste money on a back up ruckman.
Anyhoo, this certain coach told you to take the Euroa offer cos you won't get a better deal anywhere...
whether that is truth or not, i'm not sure...i'm sure you will get back on here and tell us all its a crock of s h i t...but its exactly the same mumbo jumbo you have heard about what Seymour, Benalla, Tatura, etc pay their players,
Lets go over this again, face the facts that all these blarzay figures people throw around are incorrect, know one knows, so lets not argue.
Your statment before about what the seymour blokes are on is way off by the way...just like our info is on the Euroa boys is...obviously.
inlimbo
13 Mar 2006, 17:20
Funny that as i have heard a whisper of a few current Euroa players intially being interested in heading to Seymour, only to be knocked back because of a high price tag they put on their head....
bradrowe#32
13 Mar 2006, 18:53
Heard a rumour over the weekend that Nathan Gemmill will be heading back to Rochester next year.
Sidey_87
13 Mar 2006, 19:03
Ohh ahh Marty Mcgrath to Tat, will be a fair side.
ilovetogetblind
13 Mar 2006, 19:28
cmon tige19 theres no need to have a go at lalor mate. when you hardly win a game you dont have a right to talk down other comps or teams. I could imagine your training when half the side live in melb, it would be disgraceful. if we played tat in a practice match we would not just pump ya but we would punch the c u n t out of you aswell. top 5 or 6 teams in gv are very good but the bottom 4 or 5 (tatura) are absolutely putrid. maybe ya should do what tongala have done and go to a lesser comp. I suggest the heathcote league.
that is bull******** mate! not sure if you play in the GV or not but Tatura are a proud club with a very good record over the past 15 years. One down season and you think they should leave the comp...???
That is the dumbest comment I have read on this thread yet!
Tongala moved leagues due to successive seasons down the bottom caused by a number of things from population, $$ and in the last couple of years economic reasons in the township. Tat no where near being in the same position as that.
Suggest you try learning a bit about the GV before posting on the thread.
far canal
13 Mar 2006, 19:53
that is bull******** mate! not sure if you play in the GV or not but Tatura are a proud club with a very good record over the past 15 years. One down season and you think they should leave the comp...???
That is the dumbest comment I have read on this thread yet!
Tongala moved leagues due to successive seasons down the bottom caused by a number of things from population, $$ and in the last couple of years economic reasons in the township. Tat no where near being in the same position as that.
Suggest you try learning a bit about the GV before posting on the thread.I know a lot about the gv. this tig19 goose wants to hang ******** on other teams training ability when he has not even witnessed it. tat used to be a powerhouse but at the moment they are putrid. you could imagine training at tat where most of the retards would be marking with their face. I suggest they open up their checkbook again because if they try and rely on their locals, it wont be long before they do end up in a minor league.
GVFLFAN
13 Mar 2006, 20:13
I agree that the prices that people think players are on is way over the top so i think we should just leave it at that and get on with the season at hand!!! Even you mr peterson making up rumours about other plaers is out of whack so once again get the facts right before you start posting rubish again!!! Cheers
Travvy43
14 Mar 2006, 06:56
For all Tige and Tatura fans:
http://freepress.kyabram.net.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200603146435381
McGrath to Tatura seems to be on the money . . .
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200603136444336
Travvy43
14 Mar 2006, 07:20
McGrath to Tatura seems to be on the money . . .
http://news.mcmedia.com.au/story.asp?TakeNo=200603136444336
Post story doona if you can, need a membership to access that one.
cheers
Grimmett
14 Mar 2006, 07:32
Ex-Tiger to boost Bulldogs' chances
By Richard Goodbody
March 13 2006
Shepparton News
Tatura's premiership stocks received a timely boost at the weekend when it secured the services of former Richmond utility Marty McGrath.
The 22-year-old, who played four games for the Tigers during the 2003 season, agreed to terms with the Bulldogs on Friday night after training with the club.
"He'll be a welcome addition to our side," Tatura coach Travis Ryan said yesterday.
"He looks really fit and he moved well on Friday.
"I dare suggest we'll play him through the midfield with bursts up forward.
"But he's the type of player who can play anywhere."
After being selected by the Tigers with the 77th pick in the 2001 National Draft, McGrath burst to prominence in round 17 of the 2003 season when he kicked five goals on debut against the Western Bulldogs.
He played three more matches against Fremantle, St Kilda and Essendon, but managed just one more goal.
At the end of the 2003 season, however, McGrath was controversially sacked by Richmond, despite its executive denying there had been a specific incident contributing to his de-listing.
Since then, the former South Fremantle youngster has spent time with North Ballarat in the VFL and more recently with Templestowe in Eastern Football League.
"He'll base himself in Melbourne and travel up with a couple of our other guys," Ryan said.
"But we're pretty happy with the way things are going.
"We've got good numbers on the track, so things are shaping up pretty well."
Tatura begins its premiership campaign against Mooroopna on April 15.
Grimmett
14 Mar 2006, 07:33
CATS SINGHING AFTER SIGNING
By Richard Goodbody
March 13 2006
Shepparton News
Mooroopna hopes it has secured the final piece of its premiership puzzle by re-signing former Adelaide draftee Balraj Singh for another season.
The former Crow, who joined the Cats last year after dramatically walking out on the Griffith Swans, booted 63 goals during his debut Goulburn Valley Football League season.
"It's great to have him back," Mooroopna coach Derek Hall said.
"We weren't sure whether he was going to or not, but I can definitely confirm to you that he's coming back.
"He formed a pretty good combination with Robert Osborne last year and that will only help this year."
During the summer months Mooroopna has been one of the competition's most active recruiters, luring former Carlton bad-boy Karl Norman to the club, as well as former GVFL representative Jarrod Best, Wodonga onballer Nick Aloi and star Tongala defender Geoff Conally.
"I was actually planning on playing Karl at centre halfforward, but Singhy's kind of thrown that out the window," Hall said.
"It's a nice problem to have, but now I will have to go back to the drawing board.
"I'm sure it will all work out in the end."
After a decade of doom and gloom in the GVFL, the Cats now appear to have finally turned the corner.
After storming home during last year's premiership season, only to miss out on playing finals by the barest of margins, Hall has only one thing in his sights in 2006.
"Finals has got to be our aim," he said.
"It's all well and good to rant and rave about it, now we've got to do it.
"We've put a good list together, but now we need to grab a couple of early wins to get our season off and running.
"We haven't been able to do that in the two years I've been here, so that's the challenge."
Mooroopna begins its premiership campaign against Tatura on April 15.
Grandale
14 Mar 2006, 07:50
CATS SINGHING AFTER SIGNING
Mooroopna hopes it has secured the final piece of its premiership puzzle by re-signing former Adelaide draftee Balraj Singh for another season.
During the summer months Mooroopna has been one of the competition's most active recruiters, luring former Carlton bad-boy Karl Norman to the club, as well as former GVFL representative Jarrod Best, Wodonga onballer Nick Aloi and star Tongala defender Geoff Conally.
After a decade of doom and gloom in the GVFL, the Cats now appear to have finally turned the corner.
After storming home during last year's premiership season, only to miss out on playing finals by the barest of margins, Hall has only one thing in his sights in 2006.
I reckon the Catters are one of just 4 teams - along with Seymour, Euroa and Benalla - you can pencil in as certain finalists ahead of the 2006 season.
Interested to hear the thoughts of others.
ilovetogetblind
14 Mar 2006, 08:24
I reckon the Catters are one of just 4 teams - along with Seymour, Euroa and Benalla - you can pencil in as certain finalists ahead of the 2006 season.
Interested to hear the thoughts of others.
yeah they have a good team, just depends if they get it together on the ground. haven't had a winning culture for a long time!
No doubt they will win more games this year and a good chance to make the finals, but it will be interesting to see how they go in the big games against the top teams. Will depend on whether their top 5 players can step up in these games and will also test how good their bottom 5 are.
bradrowe#32
14 Mar 2006, 12:04
Anyone else find it interesting that Derek Hall was saying how a salary cap should be introduced a few weeks ago and now his team has 5 ex-AFL players (amongst a few other recruits)?
fat back pocket
14 Mar 2006, 12:56
I agree that the prices that people think players are on is way over the top so i think we should just leave it at that and get on with the season at hand!!! Even you mr peterson making up rumours about other plaers is out of whack so once again get the facts right before you start posting rubish again!!! Cheers
Mr Jansz, i never made any of that up, its what i was told...don't shoot the messenger.
My source is credible, but, he may be just spinning me s h i t, and if he is, you can say it is s h i t that i am talking and thats fine, wouldn't bother me. But its funny that others are hearing the same stories!!
I'm not starting rumours, just posting what i was told...which may be a rumour my source is starting.
anyhoo, enough bull crap money talk. Who cares, everyone spends it, how much is up to each club...cats to make finals, showed heaps of promise end of last year to almost scrape into finals. Top 4.
cookie33
14 Mar 2006, 13:21
This season seems to be shaping up very interestingly with Moroopana signing Norman and getting back Singh for another season, also with Tatura grabbing Marty Mcgrath, and also possibly Fabian Winmar who played WAFL and won a junior league medal in the WAFL they could suprise. No news on Kyabram??
An early ladder prediction?
Euroa
Benalla
Seymour
Mooropana
Mansfield
Shepp United
Tatura
Rochester
Echuca
Shepp Swans
Shepp Bears
Kyabram
GVFLFAN
14 Mar 2006, 13:22
Mr Jansz, i never made any of that up, its what i was told...don't shoot the messenger.
My source is credible, but, he may be just spinning me s h i t, and if he is, you can say it is s h i t that i am talking and thats fine, wouldn't bother me. But its funny that others are hearing the same stories!!
I'm not starting rumours, just posting what i was told...which may be a rumour my source is starting.
anyhoo, enough bull crap money talk. Who cares, everyone spends it, how much is up to each club...cats to make finals, showed heaps of promise end of last year to almost scrape into finals. Top 4.
Your source would be SJ and i did speak to seymor as i also spoke to a few different clubs!!! Was always going to Euroa!! There are always a couple of clubs that you speak to if you come from a half decent level of footy!! Not a crime i wouldn't think and by no means did i say i wanted to play for seymor!!! Thats why i said it was a false rumour!!! the same can be said for Adam Reid who was either going to come to us or go to you!!! He was training with you guys and nearly came to us after having a change of heart and he spoke with Dave but it didnt work out!!! Oh well im sure he is happy now with a medallion around his neck!!! Who do seymor play in their prac matches and how is Bails and Rama going??? Rumour is from a source of mine who talks to ramma all the time is that he may not come back cos he is not sure how his knee will go!!! Any info???
Grandale
14 Mar 2006, 13:30
Who do seymor play in their prac matches and how is Bails and Rama going??? Rumour is from a source of mine who talks to ramma all the time is that he may not come back cos he is not sure how his knee will go!!! Any info???
The Lions were meant to play Jago's mob on Saturday but he rang up on Thursday and cancelled after only 15 or 16 blokes were available.
Play Bundoora this weekend, Northcote Park the week after and East Burwood on April 1.
ilovetogetblind
14 Mar 2006, 13:34
Your source would be SJ and i did speak to seymor as i also spoke to a few different clubs!!! Was always going to Euroa!! There are always a couple of clubs that you speak to if you come from a half decent level of footy!! Not a crime i wouldn't think and by no means did i say i wanted to play for seymor!!! Thats why i said it was a false rumour!!! the same can be said for Adam Reid who was either going to come to us or go to you!!! He was training with you guys and nearly came to us after having a change of heart and he spoke with Dave but it didnt work out!!! Oh well im sure he is happy now with a medallion around his neck!!! Who do seymor play in their prac matches and how is Bails and Rama going??? Rumour is from a source of mine who talks to ramma all the time is that he may not come back cos he is not sure how his knee will go!!! Any info???
It wouldn't take long before the number 1 key on your keyboard starts to ware off hey !!!!!!!
Interesting comment regarding Ramsay... would be a big blow
GVFLFAN
14 Mar 2006, 13:53
It wouldn't take long before the number 1 key on your keyboard starts to ware off hey !!!!!!!
Interesting comment regarding Ramsay... would be a big blow
Yeah your probably right cos i always use an exclamation mark in everything i write even on my emails!!! Bad habit i have there!!! Full stop is somewher on the keyboeard but just cant seem to locate it!!!
kanga fan man
14 Mar 2006, 13:54
Ex-Tiger to boost Bulldogs' chances
By Richard Goodbody
March 13 2006
Shepparton News
Tatura's premiership stocks received a timely boost at the weekend when it secured the services of former Richmond utility Marty McGrath.
The 22-year-old, who played four games for the Tigers during the 2003 season, agreed to terms with the Bulldogs on Friday night after training with the club.
"He'll be a welcome addition to our side," Tatura coach Travis Ryan said yesterday.
"He looks really fit and he moved well on Friday.
"I dare suggest we'll play him through the midfield with bursts up forward.
"But he's the type of player who can play anywhere."
After being selected by the Tigers with the 77th pick in the 2001 National Draft, McGrath burst to prominence in round 17 of the 2003 season when he kicked five goals on debut against the Western Bulldogs.
He played three more matches against Fremantle, St Kilda and Essendon, but managed just one more goal.
At the end of the 2003 season, however, McGrath was controversially sacked by Richmond, despite its executive denying there had been a specific incident contributing to his de-listing.
Since then, the former South Fremantle youngster has spent time with North Ballarat in the VFL and more recently with Templestowe in Eastern Football League.
"He'll base himself in Melbourne and travel up with a couple of our other guys," Ryan said.
"But we're pretty happy with the way things are going.
"We've got good numbers on the track, so things are shaping up pretty well."
Tatura begins its premiership campaign against Mooroopna on April 15.
In melbourne the star news it has got a story on Marty signing at lalor 3 weeks ago.
not a bad ladder cookie 33. i wouldnt think though that mansfield and united would make the finals. i would have rochester, echuca or tatura making up the remaining 2 spots. bit harsh on kyabram also to finish bottom. just missed last years finals so its a big call to have them finishing botom.
T.Perry
14 Mar 2006, 14:03
This season seems to be shaping up very interestingly with Moroopana signing Norman and getting back Singh for another season, also with Tatura grabbing Marty Mcgrath, and also possibly Fabian Winmar who played WAFL and won a junior league medal in the WAFL they could suprise. No news on Kyabram??
An early ladder prediction?
Euroa
Benalla
Seymour
Mooropana
Mansfield
Shepp United
Tatura
Rochester
Echuca
Shepp Swans
Shepp Bears
Kyabram
I'd probably swap Benalla and Seymour, and maybe Rochy and united, but for this stage of year, I reckon you're pretty much on the money.
it'd be worth getting down to watch the lions take on Bundoora - which club is hosting and what time does it start? Depending on how many blokes get rested, I'd reckon Seymour should get up, but bundoora will have an impressive squad. Worth going to watch Grossman take on Saady..
GV fan there has been a bit of banter that Mr. Lamaro may be heading out to Violet Town, surely he'd be handy in the GV for some time yet. I know he came under fire after the GF (me included) but he can go back to district footy in another 3-4 years when he'd be about 31-32 and still make a good quid.
Say it aint so
Doozy_Man
14 Mar 2006, 14:18
I'd probably swap Benalla and Seymour, and maybe Rochy and united, but for this stage of year, I reckon you're pretty much on the money.
it'd be worth getting down to watch the lions take on Bundoora - which club is hosting and what time does it start? Depending on how many blokes get rested, I'd reckon Seymour should get up, but bundoora will have an impressive squad. Worth going to watch Grossman take on Saady..
You are kidding your self! Echuca will be better than last year, and have picked up some quality players. The only players who left are Archard, Wilson, Martin and Murphy. And even though those last 3 are tall players i think they have covered for them with their new recruits. They will make finals. And Shepp United will surprise a few sides i think!
cookie33
14 Mar 2006, 14:48
Its hard at this stage filling the bottom 3 spots in the 6 because you just dont know how well teams are gonna gel together with there new recruits. Honestley how do we know that Norman and Aloi will turn up to games??? Aloi is nothing special but Norman would be a top10 player in the GV, also are the likes of Mcgrath,Winmar,Wellington and the 2 VFL boys gonna fit it and gel as quickly as Tatura would like. Are the losses of the Tranquillies,Humes,Menschs gonna kill of Mansfield for the season?? are the guys they got to the club going to bring them to the finals??
At the end of the day Mansfield could fall of the side of the planet and finish in the bottom 2 or 3 or they could fins some real resolve and be a top 4 side you just dont know at this stage. the bottom 3 sides of the 6 could come from either Echuca,Mansfield,Tatura,Rochester,Shepp Utd and maybe Shepp Swans. You can throw in Moroopana as well, the club just might have a atmosphere/culture problem that sees them not figure come September. I have Kyabram last as i cant see that they have recruited anyone and notice they have lost a few in the transfers, them along with Shepp Bears will be the bottom 2.
FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2006, 15:12
Funny that as i have heard a whisper of a few current Euroa players intially being interested in heading to Seymour, only to be knocked back because of a high price tag they put on their head....
I think that you would only find 1 current player has ever spoken to Seymour about playing there and he was always going to come to the black and white. Name these players please inlimbo?
Anyway catch you boys later Im off to the UK to see what its all about. See you all round 1.
FOOTYBOSS
14 Mar 2006, 15:13
GV fan there has been a bit of banter that Mr. Lamaro may be heading out to Violet Town, surely he'd be handy in the GV for some time yet. I know he came under fire after the GF (me included) but he can go back to district footy in another 3-4 years when he'd be about 31-32 and still make a good quid.
Say it aint so
A load of bull s h i t there. He isnt leaving to go anywhere just yet.
I thought it would've been, can Benalla fans say the same about Matt Sharp not going home to Violet Town?
inlimbo
14 Mar 2006, 19:09
I think that you would only find 1 current player has ever spoken to Seymour about playing there and he was always going to come to the black and white. Name these players please inlimbo?
Anyway catch you boys later Im off to the UK to see what its all about. See you all round 1.
Footyboss, dont want to name names as these players are obviously happy up the road and at the end up the day it doesnt matter whom you are talking to but were u end up! But remember Euroa recruited a couple of Daniels old players from the bullants at the start of last year, so i dont think it would suprise anyone to hear they would have contacted him about the chances of playing with the lions and old team-mates once deciding to move to the GV. At the end of the day both sides have done extremely well out of the bullants and a trend of quality VFL footballers losing there spot to afl listed draftees whom are guranteed a spot in the VFL ones will ensure the GV will continue to appeal to such players...
Gotheroos
14 Mar 2006, 20:40
I hope the Benalla boys can take it out this year. Looking forward to getting up that way during the year and watching Stevo and big Porter running around.
"Great tap from Porter straight down the throat of Stevens, has one bounce kicks long and hits Symes on the ******"
I hope the Benalla boys can take it out this year. Looking forward to getting up that way during the year and watching Stevo and big Porter running around.
"Great tap from Porter straight down the throat of Stevens, has one bounce kicks long and hits Symes on the ******"
just exchange the football for a bag full of money and you've nearly got it right
fat back pocket
14 Mar 2006, 20:55
Rumour is from a source of mine who talks to ramma all the time is that he may not come back cos he is not sure how his knee will go!!! Any info???
Yeah, you're on the money re: Ramma, not playing, said he has lost the drive, after all the work of re-hab for his knee, he isn't keen.
But he will be a water boy...for $600 a game i'm told...and a good one at that. He won't sit on the boundary and drink all the water...
Big blow i suppose, but we did it last year without him, the return of bails and gordo should fill the void.
TuskenRaider
15 Mar 2006, 07:02
At the end of the day both sides have done extremely well out of the bullants and a trend of quality VFL footballers losing there spot to afl listed draftees whom are guranteed a spot in the VFL ones will ensure the GV will continue to appeal to such players...
Agreed, GVFL clubs are doing well out of this because it is harder for the VFL listed players to crack a regular game these days, but I think the days of the AFL draftees being guaranteed a game are almost over.
A club like Sandringham will drop their Melbourne listed players to the 2's if they're not performing to scratch. I think they've realised it better develops the kids struggling to perform at senior VFL level by having to work their way through the 2's.
saints03
15 Mar 2006, 10:47
just exchange the football for a bag full of money and you've nearly got it right
you always come in when something is said about benalla porter is on good money but the other two dont get no where near what ppl think
Gotheroos
15 Mar 2006, 11:06
Sounds like you maybe had a run in with them?
Sidey_87
15 Mar 2006, 11:47
Its hard at this stage filling the bottom 3 spots in the 6 because you just dont know how well teams are gonna gel together with there new recruits. Honestley how do we know that Norman and Aloi will turn up to games??? Aloi is nothing special but Norman would be a top10 player in the GV, also are the likes of Mcgrath,Winmar,Wellington and the 2 VFL boys gonna fit it and gel as quickly as Tatura would like. Are the losses of the Tranquillies,Humes,Menschs gonna kill of Mansfield for the season?? are the guys they got to the club going to bring them to the finals??
At the end of the day Mansfield could fall of the side of the planet and finish in the bottom 2 or 3 or they could fins some real resolve and be a top 4 side you just dont know at this stage. the bottom 3 sides of the 6 could come from either Echuca,Mansfield,Tatura,Rochester,Shepp Utd and maybe Shepp Swans. You can throw in Moroopana as well, the club just might have a atmosphere/culture problem that sees them not figure come September. I have Kyabram last as i cant see that they have recruited anyone and notice they have lost a few in the transfers, them along with Shepp Bears will be the bottom 2.
No chance.
Only recruited 2 players.
Will battle it out for the wooden spoon.
Doozy_Man
15 Mar 2006, 11:48
Echucaboy, Any word on what is happening at Echuca? What clubs have secured the services of Murphy, Wilson, Martin and Reyne?
No chance.
Only recruited 2 players.
Will battle it out for the wooden spoon.
Injuries killed them last season didnt they ?? i would be inclined to agree with cookie and a finals apperance wouldnt be out of order.
Also ive never heard so much bull crap about Martie Mcgrath, has there been anything else in the papers up Shepp way about him or anyone else worth noting??
What praccy games are on this weekend?
Sidey_87
15 Mar 2006, 12:03
Injuries killed them last season didnt they ?? i would be inclined to agree with cookie and a finals apperance wouldnt be out of order.
Also ive never heard so much bull crap about Martie Mcgrath, has there been anything else in the papers up Shepp way about him or anyone else worth noting??
What praccy games are on this weekend?
I just heard on the news that Marty was heading to Tat...
United play Mulwala on saturday.
GVFLFAN
15 Mar 2006, 12:05
But he will be a water boy...for $600 a game i'm told...and a good one at that. He won't sit on the boundary and drink all the water...
Thats one expensive water boy!!! That is a shame if he is definatly not playing cos he is a good footballer and good bloke to match!!! Will be good to stil see the perfectly curled hair running around with the water!!! Might have to get a drink off him!!! How is bails going!! That bloke would get injured walking to the milkbar i reckon!! What about young Colby?? Very fit bloke and will be quite handy you would think! Heard Bundoora are looking to wipe you blokes off the park this week as they have recruited quite well!!! Any thoughts? I reckon they are kidding themselves to be honest!!!
T.Perry
15 Mar 2006, 12:41
How is bails going!! That bloke would get injured walking to the milkbar i reckon!! What about young Colby?? Very fit bloke and will be quite handy you would think! Heard Bundoora are looking to wipe you blokes off the park this week as they have recruited quite well!!! Any thoughts? I reckon they are kidding themselves to be honest!!!
If the game is played at bundoora it might be close, but i reckon the lions would give them a touch up at home..bundoora play their home ground well and might be able to restrict the lions running game a bit. They also might be able to cramp Saad and Gordon's leading space more effectively.. and if Grossman gets Saad he'd prefer to play him man-on-man than try to curb him on the lead..
GVFLFAN
15 Mar 2006, 12:54
Say it aint so
IT DEFINATLY AINT SO!!!
If you wanna predict which teams will play finals and which won't, all you gotta do is check the transfer list on the GVFL website. Also the best way to confirm rumours. (ie Marty McGrath to tat)
Just had a quick look there. Looks like Euroa, Benalla, Seymour and M'pna will battle out 4 of the top 6 spots with the rest fighting out for the remaining two finals spots. Damn hard to say who. Mansfield, tatura, Rochy, Echuca and Shepp Swans all look good. Shepp bears will be competitive. Can't say much about United - don't know much about em but they should be ok. Don't think there will be many 100 point thrashings this year esp with Tongala gone (God Bless them!!).
Tip for wooden spoon is Ky. Noticed they have a lost a lotta players, but also signed quite a few as well, I just don't know if theyr good players. Does anyone know? Hope they will be competitive so there won't be any "Gimme" games. What you guys think? Am I close?
Gonna be a bloody great season - This is the year GVFL will stand tall and become the premier league in Victoria (if it isn't already!).
Cheers
cookie33
15 Mar 2006, 14:12
If you wanna predict which teams will play finals and which won't, all you gotta do is check the transfer list on the GVFL website. Also the best way to confirm rumours. (ie Marty McGrath to tat)
Just had a quick look there. Looks like Euroa, Benalla, Seymour and M'pna will battle out 4 of the top 6 spots with the rest fighting out for the remaining two finals spots. Damn hard to say who. Mansfield, tatura, Rochy, Echuca and Shepp Swans all look good. Shepp bears will be competitive. Can't say much about United - don't know much about em but they should be ok. Don't think there will be many 100 point thrashings this year esp with Tongala gone (God Bless them!!).
Tip for wooden spoon is Ky. Noticed they have a lost a lotta players, but also signed quite a few as well, I just don't know if theyr good players. Does anyone know? Hope they will be competitive so there won't be any "Gimme" games. What you guys think? Am I close?
Gonna be a bloody great season - This is the year GVFL will stand tall and become the premier league in Victoria (if it isn't already!).
Cheers
Great post mate, i look forward to reading a bit more of your stuff in the future. I have to agree with you on most of that, i probably dont think Shepp Swans will be to flash and i would be suprised if Bears won anymore than 4 or 5 games for the season.
It does seem that the Martie Mcgrath to Tatura is certain as it was reported on the radio up there and is also going through the process of being cleared from his former club, looks as though they signed another bloke by the name of Cordy. There are good articles on the Tatura website for anyone interested in seeing who they recruit, that and Seymours andc Euroas seem to be the best out of a bad bunch.
Mate i dont have any news on Kyabram i actually dont think anyone has they have been by far the team who has made the least amount of noise. I would really like to see them be competetive this season. Mansfield i think are the funny ones for the year noone knows if there gonna be any good or not they seem to have picked up a few but have also lost a barrell load of stars.
The season being only 4 weeks away does anyone want to start making any predictions? i would love to get the insights from Echucaboy,Jmain,Footyboss,Tige,Sidey,FTB,FBP etc etc
jmain14
15 Mar 2006, 19:39
Echucaboy, Any word on what is happening at Echuca? What clubs have secured the services of Murphy, Wilson, Martin and Reyne?
can we get any word from echuca boy at all?? where are ya mate?? am missing your posts.
jmain14
15 Mar 2006, 19:50
The season being only 4 weeks away does anyone want to start making any predictions? i would love to get the insights from Echucaboy,Jmain,Footyboss,Tige,Sidey,FTB,FBP etc etc
sorry cookie, I know my opinion is highly respected on here but as I am overseas at the moment I don't think I will be able to comment on the gv much this year. guess I am relying on you boys to tell me what is going on. as you'd know though my posts are generally biased towards rochy so it won't come as a surprise that I am tipping them to finish in the 6 - apart from that though I have got nothing.
kanga fan man
15 Mar 2006, 22:47
seen on the dvfl wesite it said that bundoora v seymour has been cancelled ?
Sidey_87
15 Mar 2006, 23:12
Great post mate, i look forward to reading a bit more of your stuff in the future. I have to agree with you on most of that, i probably dont think Shepp Swans will be to flash and i would be suprised if Bears won anymore than 4 or 5 games for the season.
It does seem that the Martie Mcgrath to Tatura is certain as it was reported on the radio up there and is also going through the process of being cleared from his former club, looks as though they signed another bloke by the name of Cordy. There are good articles on the Tatura website for anyone interested in seeing who they recruit, that and Seymours andc Euroas seem to be the best out of a bad bunch.
Mate i dont have any news on Kyabram i actually dont think anyone has they have been by far the team who has made the least amount of noise. I would really like to see them be competetive this season. Mansfield i think are the funny ones for the year noone knows if there gonna be any good or not they seem to have picked up a few but have also lost a barrell load of stars.
Good post mate, is that Brad Cordy by the way?
Can play.
I don't know as much as all the other guys on here but anyway here's my predictions...
Euroa
Benalla
Tatura
Seymour
Mooroopna
United (sneak in on % and win the grand final)
Mansfield
Rochester
Echuca
Swans
Bears
Kyabram
spoke4923
16 Mar 2006, 04:33
Can play.
I don't know as much as all the other guys on here but anyway here's my predictions...
Euroa
Benalla
Tatura
Seymour
Mooroopna
Mansfield
Rochester
Echuca
Swans
Bears
Kyabram
As someone who is relatively uninformed of the GV league these days, I was surprised to see you had Rochy so low this year. I thought they'd done alright over summer in terms of holding on to their players and recruiting? Is this a general consensus?
No Heart
16 Mar 2006, 06:24
seen on the dvfl wesite it said that bundoora v seymour has been cancelled ?
Bundoora v Seymour has been cancelled and now replaced with Seymour v Bundoora (at Kings Park).
Bundoora's ground became unavailable due to one of their sides making the cricket grand final or something like that.
fat back pocket
16 Mar 2006, 07:15
Bundoora v Seymour has been cancelled and now replaced with Seymour v Bundoora (at Kings Park).
Bundoora's ground became unavailable due to one of their sides making the cricket grand final or something like that.
Should be a close encounter. In fact...i reckon it will be a nil all draw...as there are no goal posts on the re-vamped Kings Park...and according to the ground staff...they haven't arrived yet...so they can't put them in.
Although the oval has been measured out for them.
Looks like a few wheelie bins will be the goal posts! Or we'll get the Vic Kick posts, probably suit the standard of footy which will be played.
ANT JESS
16 Mar 2006, 07:29
can we get any word from echuca boy at all?? where are ya mate?? am missing your posts.
He is in the process of changing from full-time employment to full time study. So unfortunatly we may not hear as much from ECHUCABOY for a little while. :mad:
no left foot
16 Mar 2006, 07:36
Very hard to put ladders together at this time of year with so much happening on the recruiting front. One thing for sure Echuca will be big improvers, picked up 6 real quality players. All premiership players, all key position or on ballers. Also get full season out of Butler and Durie who both missed significant parts of last year. Plus they have a couple of other recruits expected to be good senior players. Thats upto 10 different names. Losing Archard will hurt them, but that's about all as only lost 1 or 2 others. Plus they only play Seymour and Euroa once which makes for a good draw. They also have winning culture and you would think they would want to hit back hard after last year. Not a team that goes in peaks and troughs been consistantly in finals for many years and i'm tipping they will be this year again.
No Heart
16 Mar 2006, 07:52
Ive had a bit of spare time this morning while the taxi is in being serviced, so went through the 2006 draw game-by-game to work out a ladder. Ive allowed for home ground advantage etc, and tried not to favour the lions too much.
Looking at it week to week, it also allows for those sides with a pretty good draw. As no left foot pointed out, Echuca have a reasonable draw but I reckon the standout is Mooroopna. They also only have to meet Euroa and Seymour once, and I would say they will have a better side on paper than Echuca so should do pretty well in those 50-50 games that can go either way.
Here's how it panned out:
Euroa
Benalla
Seymour
Mooroopna
Mansfield
Rochester
----------
Echuca
Shep Bears
Shep United
Tatura
Shep Swans
Kyabram
Grandale
16 Mar 2006, 08:00
Ive had a bit of spare time this morning while the taxi is in being serviced...
LOL for No Heart.
Jeez mate, you could have picked a better time to book the cab in for a grease and oil change...there are tourists out there just begging to be ripped off.
Should be a close encounter. In fact...i reckon it will be a nil all draw...as there are no goal posts on the re-vamped Kings Park...and according to the ground staff...they haven't arrived yet...so they can't put them in.
Although the oval has been measured out for them.
Looks like a few wheelie bins will be the goal posts! Or we'll get the Vic Kick posts, probably suit the standard of footy which will be played.
FBP, how has kings park been revamped? Resurfaced? Please tell me the sand/rock/asphalt track has been removed - lost plenty of skin on that over the years..
Grandale
16 Mar 2006, 08:09
FBP, how has kings park been revamped? Resurfaced? Please tell me the sand/rock/asphalt track has been removed - lost plenty of skin on that over the years..
Yep, that's precisely what has happened and now the bluddy thing looks as big as Waverley!!!
It's also been resown. The Expo wasn't allowed on the ground this year so hopefully the Lions can look forward to playing on a pristine surface this year.
cookie33
16 Mar 2006, 08:13
Can play.
Euroa
Benalla
Tatura
Seymour
Mooroopna
Mansfield
Rochester
Echuca
Swans
Bears
Kyabram
Hey mate, nah im can promise you im not Brad Cordy, in fact i have never even heard of him or even seen Tatura train or anything. I follow the clubs who have VFL players on there list that i was involved in and it was mainly at Preston and Coburg, as Tatura,Euroa and Seymour have players from both clubs playing there i will follow them closely. Last year i followed Benalla and Seymour more than others and this season i will follow Tatura and Euroa more than the other 2 hence my reason for wanting to know if Brad Cordy can play.
ilovetogetblind
16 Mar 2006, 08:15
Here's how it panned out:
Euroa
Benalla
Seymour
Mooroopna
Mansfield
Rochester
----------
Echuca
Shep Bears
Shep United
Tatura
Shep Swans
Kyabram
Not a bad attempt at all. As has been stated Echuca, Shep United and Tat will prob be the other main finals contenders, but who knows.
The reqruiting over the past 3-4 weeks by Echuca and Tat will put a lot of pressure on Rochy to overcome a tough draw and make the finals again. Wins early in the year will be very important for these teams and Rochy plays Seymour and Euroa in rounds 2 and 3 I think. Could be telling come end of the year.
No Heart - do you agree Seymour would love to finish third again?? Has to be the best spot to finish, especially given Seymour will most likely be a step above whoever does finish sixth.
No Heart
16 Mar 2006, 08:27
Not a bad attempt at all. As has been stated Echuca, Shep United and Tat will prob be the other main finals contenders, but who knows.
The reqruiting over the past 3-4 weeks by Echuca and Tat will put a lot of pressure on Rochy to overcome a tough draw and make the finals again. Wins early in the year will be very important for these teams and Rochy plays Seymour and Euroa in rounds 2 and 3 I think. Could be telling come end of the year.
No Heart - do you agree Seymour would love to finish third again?? Has to be the best spot to finish, especially given Seymour will most likely be a step above whoever does finish sixth.
As we've seen over the past couple of years, 3rd is a good spot to be as long as you can get over that first week of the finals. That said, you want to finish as high as you can and start the finals with a double chance - so give me 1st or 2nd anyday.
Doozy_Man
16 Mar 2006, 10:06
He is in the process of changing from full-time employment to full time study. So unfortunatly we may not hear as much from ECHUCABOY for a little while. :mad:
Ant Jess, you might be able to shed some light on the Echuca team? You seem to be in the know how with Rochy and Echuca. The likes of Reyne, Martin, Wilson and Laidlaw. What is the go with these players?
inlimbo
16 Mar 2006, 10:42
Can play.
Euroa
Benalla
Tatura
Seymour
Mooroopna
Mansfield
Rochester
Echuca
Swans
Bears
Kyabram
just thought i would put my two cents in here;
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla (pretty obvious top 3 really)
United
Moooopna
Echuca
Rochester
Mansfield
Tatura
Bears
Swans
Kyabram
PENGUIN
16 Mar 2006, 10:46
Someone asked what's happening with these guys this year:
Reyne - Applied for clearance to Echuca United in the MFL (not sure how keen Echuca will be to slide it through)
Martin - Possibly a little wearied by age, heading out to Lockington Bamawm United to run around in cow s h i t and eat flies.
Wilson - Has moved to WA and playing for North Beach I think (whoever Billy Duckworth's coaching), pretty successful club over there in the last couple of years.
Laidlaw??? - I don't think the big fella's played in 2-3 years!? If the knee was to hold up I'm sure he would be a force to be reckoned with, unfortunately, not to sure how much of it's still holding together. Motivation to play could also be a factor which I believe is currently lacking.
Someone else also mentioned Murphy... He's heading overseas for 12 months or so in April/May so won't be playing anywhere this year.
Punter_22
16 Mar 2006, 10:57
Ant Jess, you might be able to shed some light on the Echuca team? You seem to be in the know how with Rochy and Echuca. The likes of Reyne, Martin, Wilson and Laidlaw. What is the go with these players?
Outs (that I know of): Dale Reyne (Echuca United), Matt Martin (Lockington-Bamawm United), Ben Wilson (Perth), Rhys Archard (Adelaide), Craig Frost (Echuca United), Shaun Murphy (overseas).
Ins: Brad Smith who will fill a key position spot at centre-half forward.
Josh Maddox who is a GVFL representative midfielder.
Youngster Chris Casey will play regular senior football this year after spending most of last year with the Bendigo Pioneers.
Picked up two player from the SANFL, who look like they wiill be handy inclusions.
Echuca did not perform well at the latter part of last year. Plenty of younger players around the club that can step up and play a bit of senior football. Should be more competitive than at stages last year.
Sly Dog
16 Mar 2006, 13:41
for those tipping the swans and kyabram as last 2, there are some recruits for them. swans have picked up 5 players, 3 on ballers and 2 of them key position. apparently all quality and have played good metro footy. kyabram have picked up 2 players from darwin, on ballers and 2 others from melbourne, key position. thats to a side that finished 7th last year. both clubs dont have all these on transfers list but both think they will be more than competitive this year.
Doozy_Man
16 Mar 2006, 14:03
Outs (that I know of): Dale Reyne (Echuca United), Matt Martin (Lockington-Bamawm United), Ben Wilson (Perth), Rhys Archard (Adelaide), Craig Frost (Echuca United), Shaun Murphy (overseas).
Ins: Brad Smith who will fill a key position spot at centre-half forward.
Josh Maddox who is a GVFL representative midfielder.
Youngster Chris Casey will play regular senior football this year after spending most of last year with the Bendigo Pioneers.
Picked up two player from the SANFL, who look like they wiill be handy inclusions.
Echuca did not perform well at the latter part of last year. Plenty of younger players around the club that can step up and play a bit of senior football. Should be more competitive than at stages last year.
Sounds like they have a good side then for 2006. The depth will be a concern again I think. I have witnessed laidlaw play against Rochy once, and i really hope he plays again. Every Rochy player is scared S***less of him. Echuca need a dominent figure out there. Murphy will be a loss. Gee there are some players from the GV playing in Perth at the moment! Did Wilson move over there because of other Echuca players there currently?
Punter_22
16 Mar 2006, 14:21
From What I heard, Willo took the chance to take the move away from home, similar to the reasoning of Rhys Archard when he said he was leaving.
You're right about Silas. I remember a game at Rochy when he went off his brain, along with Mark Heritage. One of the most entertaining matches I had seen in a long time.
ilovetogetblind
16 Mar 2006, 14:30
From What I heard, Willo took the chance to take the move away from home, similar to the reasoning of Rhys Archard when he said he was leaving.
You're right about Silas. I remember a game at Rochy when he went off his brain, along with Mark Heritage. One of the most entertaining matches I had seen in a long time.
Which game are you talking about? year/round??