View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
ECHUCABOY
16 Mar 2006, 15:46
Which game are you talking about? year/round??
Your on the money Ant Jess, I dunno bout this studying caper, I'd much prefer sitting at a desk talking poo on BigFooty.
Reckon it mighta been a game in Rochy in 2003, Sim McCarty gave heritage one of the best punches to the face I have witnessed. Was a very entertaining game that one. it would be great for Silas to come back and have a run around, it would definetly get the crowds to the game!
Echuca v Rochy rivalry has dropped off a lot lately, hopefully the one wholikestogetblind could stir something up for us spectators.
Met one of the big blokes Echuca have picked up and the man is a mammoth, nearly crushed my little bitch hands, will be more than a handful for opposition sides.
Yeah the other boys are on the money with the departures and gets etc. from wat I can gather.
Unfortunatley for young Chrsi "Poffa" Casey he has pretended to do his knee and will miss 3-4 weeks, knowing him he is probably crying about it right now. Really looking forward to having a few frothies and watching Rochy v Echuca, going to be a belter!
ANT JESS
16 Mar 2006, 15:54
Your on the money Ant Jess, I dunno bout this studying caper, I'd much prefer sitting at a desk talking poo on BigFooty.
Reckon it mighta been a game in Rochy in 2003, Sim McCarty gave heritage one of the best punches to the face I have witnessed. Was a very entertaining game that one. it would be great for Silas to come back and have a run around, it would definetly get the crowds to the game!
Echuca v Rochy rivalry has dropped off a lot lately, hopefully the one wholikestogetblind could stir something up for us spectators.
Met one of the big blokes Echuca have picked up and the man is a mammoth, nearly crushed my little bitch hands, will be more than a handful for opposition sides.
Yeah the other boys are on the money with the departures and gets etc. from wat I can gather.
Unfortunatley for young Chrsi "Poffa" Casey he has pretended to do his knee and will miss 3-4 weeks, knowing him he is probably crying about it right now. Really looking forward to having a few frothies and watching Rochy v Echuca, going to be a belter!
He he, spot on the money there ECHUCABOY. First thing Chris said when he woke up on monday morning was "gee my knee really hurts" strugling to hold back tears. On a serious note, hopefully it doesn't hamper his season preporations too much as he should be in for a big year. :)
Doozy_Man
16 Mar 2006, 16:03
Which game are you talking about? year/round??
I'm not sure what round it was but it would have been the 2003 or 2004 season. He basically picked up a Rochy player above his head like a wrestler then through him to the turf like a rag doll, bloody brilliant stuff. Have to be the toughest player going around back then.
Anyone heard how Archard is going?
FBP, how has kings park been revamped? Resurfaced? Please tell me the sand/rock/asphalt track has been removed - lost plenty of skin on that over the years..
Kings Park looks an absolute treat and Im positive any visiting side will be amazed at the continued improvements going into the entire Kings Park Reserve area
bradrowe#32
16 Mar 2006, 21:27
I'm not sure what round it was but it would have been the 2003 or 2004 season. He basically picked up a Rochy player above his head like a wrestler then through him to the turf like a rag doll, bloody brilliant stuff. Have to be the toughest player going around back then.
Anyone heard how Archard is going?
Didn't see the incident, but that doesn't sound very tough to me. I'd take a player that runs straight at the ball than one who pretends to be agressive by displaying wrestling moves.
no left foot
17 Mar 2006, 09:03
Didn't see the incident, but that doesn't sound very tough to me. I'd take a player that runs straight at the ball than one who pretends to be agressive by displaying wrestling moves.
No pretending done by Silas. One tough ********er, doesn't care about anything and so so so strong. Made a mess of that pest Freer's (moroopna) head one day in front of both umpires. Would be a night mare for a coach to handle but is a big man and very intimidating.
Doozy_Man
17 Mar 2006, 10:55
No pretending done by Silas. One tough ********er, doesn't care about anything and so so so strong. Made a mess of that pest Freer's (moroopna) head one day in front of both umpires. Would be a night mare for a coach to handle but is a big man and very intimidating.
I am pretty sure Laidlaw would run straight at the ball no matter what is in way. Toughest man on and off the field!
heard on the grapevine that shepp welcomed backa veteran 'gun' to the track last nite, someone farrell i think. missed last year with a knee injury but will be a force around the ground this year, looks very fit
The Cat
17 Mar 2006, 13:43
heard on the grapevine that shepp welcomed backa veteran 'gun' to the track last nite, someone farrell i think. missed last year with a knee injury but will be a force around the ground this year, looks very fit
LOL Fish8. Who is going to run the bar now that Tractor is pulling the boots back on again? I bet he's burning the track up! :thumbsu:
Sounds like he might see a bit more game time this year. I've been told you guys have a senior playing list of about 33. What's your honest opinion of how the Shepp senior side will go this year? There's plenty of talk on this thread that they won't make the finals, and some are tipping they could be in the bottom 3.
im tipping a big year on the booze, whether our main barman fires up or not
PLAYER15
17 Mar 2006, 18:18
just a quick update on Euroa's praccy matches and who's moving well at training. The boys have a light session tomorrow morning follwed by a 6 quarter intra-club match with a warm down at the pool.
Under 18's
Daniel Harper is training well and after several months of work in the gymnasium is looking buff and ready to go.
Reserves
First year reserves player Stuart Thompsom coming out of the Under 18's is setting the track alight with fantastic skills and fitness. Only downfall come game day could be his light frame
Seniors
The local based players are pumped up for the big round one encounter but look almost certain to be without services of Lamaro who is yet to set foot on the track
Kings Park looks an absolute treat and Im positive any visiting side will be amazed at the continued improvements going into the entire Kings Park Reserve area
This shows how well Seymour is going. For a long time the ground was one of the poorest in the league. Mansfield was always poorer!!! On the far side of the ground it was always a swamp when it rained. When it was dry the cricket pitch was terrible with huge holes. Nearly broke my ankle one day. A good club not only looks after it players but provides good facilities but clubs rarely wake up!!!
Also interesting that you blokes talk about tough footy. In the 2000's it is generally soft except for finals. In the 80's tough footy was always Echuca v Seymour. The Haw twins were the toughest in country footy and that includes Chris Smith at Mooroopna
I always thought Mick Auld was tough, held his own and could throw a great hay maker....
[QUOTE=Sonny]This shows how well Seymour is going. For a long time the ground was one of the poorest in the league. Mansfield was always poorer!!! On the far side of the ground it was always a swamp when it rained. When it was dry the cricket pitch was terrible with huge holes. Nearly broke my ankle one day. A good club not only looks after it players but provides good facilities but clubs rarely wake up!!! [QUOTE]
Seymour FC & Kings Park are located in one of the worst runs shire's in the state. It has taken a lot of hard work from the Kings Park committee and all the user groups of the reserves to get these works done. I have spent time on the Harley Hammond Reserve committee in Broadford and trust me they're a tough crowd (Mitchell Shire) to lobby your case for improvements to.
hey anyone out there heard who are going to be the powerhouses in the gv this year. heard seymour and euroa will be the teams to beat again, but wanted to know if anyone had heard about some recruiting from other clubs.
Nah havent heard a thing
are u from mars or something.
[QUOTE=jazzy][B]hey anyone out there heard who are going to be the powerhouses in the gv this year. heard seymour and euroa will be the teams to beat again, but wanted to know if anyone had heard about some recruiting from other clubs.[/B
Get on mooroopna dougie
No Heart
18 Mar 2006, 21:00
Practice Game
Seymour v Bundoora at Seymour
Seymour 23 13 151
Bundoora 10 7 67
Simon Gordon 9 goals saad saad 7 goals
Heath Ayres for Bundoora is a gun ? But from what i saw today Bundoora was way out of there league . But as the president [for Bundoora }said after the game , they had six senior players out. But when told the lions had J Anderson , S Schottner , B Liddel , P Ratray , M Thomson , G Pemberton, J Amad, all out he was last seen running for his car on the other side of the oval.
No Heart
18 Mar 2006, 21:10
Seymour and Euroa will struggle this year Jazzy, the big talk is all Benalla , Mooroopna, and Tatura, jump on one of those.
Grandale
18 Mar 2006, 21:59
Practice Game
Seymour 23 13 151
Bundoora 10 7 67
Heath Ayres for Bundoora is a gun ? But from what i saw today Bundoora was way out of there league . But as the president [for Bundoora }said after the game , they had six senior players out. But when told the lions had J Anderson , S Schottner , B Liddel , P Ratray , M Thomson , G Pemberton, J Amad, all out he was last seen running for his car on the other side of the oval.
Rattray had the job of drinking as many cans as possible while watching Amad run out his Seymour A Grade teammates at Avenel, did he?
Practice Game
Seymour 23 13 151
Bundoora 10 7 67
Ayres is a gun make no mistake about that one!!!
Did Chipper Douglas even play in the game? Asked him 2night who kicked the goals and he said Gordo kicked 3-4 and Saad a couple, guess it musta been a tad boring roaming across half back for Robert.
Did former Lions Matty Carmichael, and Shane Whitnall play for Bundoora?
Nah havent heard a thing
are u from mars or something.
Go easy on jazzy there bopper it says he's new to Big Footy and obviously hasnt had time to scroll back thru the pages and pages of rumour and innuendo we've been spinning since Xmas.
No Heart
19 Mar 2006, 00:19
Ayres is a gun make no mistake about that one!!!
Did Chipper Douglas even play in the game? Asked him 2night who kicked the goals and he said Gordo kicked 3-4 and Saad a couple, guess it musta been a tad boring roaming across half back for Robert.
Did former Lions Matty Carmichael, and Shane Whitnall play for Bundoora?
Dougles played well as did hooper and okeefe across halfback, no Carmichael and whitnall did not play , must of been two of the six that the president was talking about .??????
kanga fan man
19 Mar 2006, 00:29
Practice Game
Seymour 23 13 151
Bundoora 10 7 67
bundoora is talk of town in dvfl they have picked up a lot of players so of course the prez will say they had a few out . whitnall done his knee last year he had a reco so wont b playing till later on in yr.
im glad seymour pumped them and the lions had a few out
Duff Man
19 Mar 2006, 00:35
Very good win by the lions there over a team that i heard will be a good side in the DVFL. No Heart or Fat Back Pockect { both the same people } is it true that the league is chasing SJ Daniel as the coach of the Goulbourn Valley Football League??
No Heart
19 Mar 2006, 00:58
Very good win by the lions there over a team that i heard will be a good side in the DVFL. No Heart or Fat Back Pockect { both the same people } is it true that the league is chasing SJ Daniel as the coach of the Goulbourn Valley Football League??
Boys its getting late , but the lions today where awesome , they had a couple of players today that i did not even no about . { SJ } never lets alot out. And yes had a meeting with Eric Bottom on Thursday but has not let us no as yet . I will go out on a limb and say S j { Super Coach ] if he wants the job will be coaching the GVFL in the coming carnival .
No Heart
19 Mar 2006, 01:08
Boys its getting late , but the lions today where awesome , they had a couple of players today that i did not even no about . { SJ } never lets alot out. And yes had a meeting with Eric Bottom on Thursday but has not let us no as yet . I will go out on a limb and say S j { Super Coach ] if he wants the job will be coaching the GVFL in the coming carnival .
Heard today Mr Peterson that S Daniel is coaching now the GVFL ?????
Duff Man
19 Mar 2006, 01:22
Heard today Mr Peterson that S Daniel is coaching now the GVFL ?????
No Heart talking to No Heart how many people can you have under the one name S Peterson?????
I doubt it very very much Duff Man that No Heart is not Mr. Peterson. His cricket side (Seymour) is playing in the SDCA A-grade granny this weekend and with an 11am start today (Sunday) there's no way he'd be sitting at his computer at 2am
Flat Track Bully
19 Mar 2006, 16:03
I doubt it very very much Duff Man that No Heart is not Mr. Peterson. His cricket side (Seymour) is playing in the SDCA A-grade granny this weekend and with an 11am start today (Sunday) there's no way he'd be sitting at his computer at 2am
Some people lead boring lives though! :p
I doubt it very very much Duff Man that No Heart is not Mr. Peterson. His cricket side (Seymour) is playing in the SDCA A-grade granny this weekend and with an 11am start today (Sunday) there's no way he'd be sitting at his computer at 2amWas talking to member of Euroa's team just today and they had intra club game yesterday and he was very impressed by what he saw. Dont worry i know there pick ups and they are hungy after last years debacle. They will be very hard to beat this year.
BYSTANDER
20 Mar 2006, 07:25
Ventured down to kings park on saturday and was extremely impressed with the new surface, massive improvemement... also with seymour bundoora midfeild showed speed and skill but on the big ground lacked any penertration..they had no backman to look after gordon,saad or pilling. Seymour looked a little rusty but for a first hit out, steve daniels would have to be happy with that... with the players out who are certain to come back in (shottner,anderson,pemberlton,liddel) whos is going to miss out, amad,ratray,thompson may struggle to get into the 1s for round one... will be hard to beat again...was impressed with boruch in the last quater,not sure why he only played last quater but his intensitive was awesum..
Maybe some one directly involved in the club could post there best 21..
TuskenRaider
20 Mar 2006, 08:04
was impressed with boruch in the last quater,not sure why he only played last quater but his intensitive was awesum..
He's doin' what now?
The Cat
20 Mar 2006, 09:08
Practice Game
Seymour 23 13 151
Bundoora 10 7 67
What game were you watching No Heart? Gordon kicked 8 and Saad kicked 4. The only other multiple goal scorer was Dom Russo who only played about one and a half qtrs - he kicked 2.
Grandale - Heard that Rattray finished with 13-1 (13 cans / 1 spew).
Jazzy - Get on Rumbalara mate. They're certainties!
PLAYER69
20 Mar 2006, 09:24
What game were you watching No Heart? Gordon kicked 8 and Saad kicked 4. The only other multiple goal scorer was Dom Russo who only played about one and a half qtrs - he kicked 2.
Got form by big Pat!!! Isn't he still at the bendigo bombers or did he get cut??? How did Ben bailey go?? Bundoora have recruited well but they are no where near the Seymor's and Euroa's of this world!!!
Travvy43
20 Mar 2006, 11:32
Kyabram played golden Square in a praccy match over the weekend, anyone from that way got any info on the result, who played well, etc??
FootyFreak69
20 Mar 2006, 11:56
Seymour and Euroa will struggle this year Jazzy, the big talk is all Benalla , Mooroopna, and Tatura, jump on one of those.
hey heart, how will the shepp swans go this year? got any mail on them?
Bundyrum
20 Mar 2006, 12:11
Got form by big Pat!!! Isn't he still at the bendigo bombers or did he get cut??? How did Ben bailey go?? Bundoora have recruited well but they are no where near the Seymor's and Euroa's of this world!!!
Ben Bailey went well, great to see him back after 2 yrs out injured. After watching the 2nd half, Bundoora will have a long season in front of them. Good old Patty is a good looking man, especially after a few. With that many players out, Seymour will be a force again this year.
Toadfooty
20 Mar 2006, 12:16
Although Saad Saad has alot of brilliance he won't do the dour team things and is very lazy.
No Heart
20 Mar 2006, 12:40
Sorry Cat, it was late and had a big day.
No Heart
20 Mar 2006, 12:44
FootyFreak, I think they will improve this year , but to what heights i dont know. 10 goals at least of the pack last year so have got some ground to make up.
Cheers
BYSTANDER
20 Mar 2006, 13:53
Sorry TuscanRaider for earlier spelling, monday morning and early...plus not the best speller going around
and Cat... were you actually at the game... seymour main 3 forwards all kicked multiples... gorgon,saad and pilling.. pilling kicked 2 and quite easily could of had 5 or 6. If they all stay fit it will be a hard to match up forward line, it will be interesting to see how steve daniels uses shotner and bailey. would be a mamouth task to man up on of those 2 playing in a forward pocket, especially after 2 big man in gordon and pilling and saad. If seymour can find a half forward that can kick 1 or 2 a game the will be hard to hold. I do reckon as good as there midfield is it still lacks to kick goals.
flagpie
20 Mar 2006, 14:21
I know they lost to Corowa-Rutherglen by a few goals at Corowa on Saturday.
Unsure of both teams' exact line-ups as to who did and didn't play but Corowa would be expecting to play finals this season so I'm not sure if the Swans would be happy with that result or not??
The Cat
20 Mar 2006, 14:32
Sorry TuscanRaider for earlier spelling, monday morning and early...plus not the best speller going around
and Cat... were you actually at the game... seymour main 3 forwards all kicked multiples... gorgon,saad and pilling.. pilling kicked 2 and quite easily could of had 5 or 6. If they all stay fit it will be a hard to match up forward line, it will be interesting to see how steve daniels uses shotner and bailey. would be a mamouth task to man up on of those 2 playing in a forward pocket, especially after 2 big man in gordon and pilling and saad. If seymour can find a half forward that can kick 1 or 2 a game the will be hard to hold. I do reckon as good as there midfield is it still lacks to kick goals.
Was at the game Bystander, but only had Pilling penciled in for one. Could have missed one though as I had a few trips to the bar and the loo.
Not sure I agree with you about their onballers not kicking goals. Brendan Liddell is always good for a couple, so is Gezza (although he is more of a fwd pkt), and I reckon Colbert will chip in with a few here and there. Then you have Haberman, Penn, Jake Anderson, Reid & Van Reit who all snagged one on Saturday (pretty certain they did anyway).
Chuck in a resting Schotty or Bailey, plus Rattray and Davey - and I reckon there's some good fire power up forward.
On The Money
20 Mar 2006, 15:52
Kyabram played golden Square in a praccy match over the weekend, anyone from that way got any info on the result, who played well, etc??
I didn't go to the game but I heard Square rolled Ky by about 20 points with Newman lively up forward for Ky with 4 or so goals.
BYSTANDER
20 Mar 2006, 16:00
Fair call cat, but was just my opion, all those midfielders can push forward but they wouldnt be a major threat to opposition midfields in regards to kicking goals, bu in hardness if there anything like last year they will be good. I like the look of that anderson.
I asked the question last year regarding b.liddel and was told he played 90% of last year on the half forward so cant really have him as a midfielder and based on the limited games i saw last year and saturdays game i reckon gerard may have to play very well every game to hold his spot, i cant see him being in the best 21. but when he is good he is very good.
I also reckon colbert will be hand but what positions im not sure..still havent had anyone from seymour give us there best 21...
I watched Benalla play Wang Rovers on Saturday night and Benalla won by 20 points. They looked pretty damn good actually. Big Mark Porter will be giving all coaches magor headaches this year. He looks in top nick. Not carrying any extra weight at all. Actually it's the fittest I've seen him for a while (I'm a North fan). Porter was all over the ground taking marks winning hittouts and busting packs. Actually some of his tackles were back breaking. He laid one on some poor Wang Rovers bastard and the poor bloke didn't get up for a while. Porter was really pumped. I had a listen to Benalla's 3/4 time huddle and it was Porter getting everyone fired up. He told them to get into the habbit of winning. He said we didn't just come here for a run around did we..... and all that sort of talk but to hear it from a big recruit was pretty impressive. The whole team lifted in the last quarter and i'm sure he was a big part of that. When a player of his calibre gets in your ear i reckon you bloody well listen.
Also noticed a young bloke even taller then Porter. His name is Shaker. He's a young gun and is really big. Another new player i can't remember his name but they called him Eddie. He was hitting packs real hard. Looked good and plays hard.
Add some of these new ones to the Stevens brothers, Symes up forward who didn't play and Macca (Can't remember his name) who kicked around 8 goals well Benalla will be hard to beat this year.
Flat Track Bully
20 Mar 2006, 17:57
I watched Benalla play Wang Rovers on Saturday night and Benalla won by 20 points. They looked pretty damn good actually. Big Mark Porter will be giving all coaches magor headaches this year. He looks in top nick. Not carrying any extra weight at all. Actually it's the fittest I've seen him for a while (I'm a North fan). Porter was all over the ground taking marks winning hittouts and busting packs. Actually some of his tackles were back breaking. He laid one on some poor Wang Rovers bastard and the poor bloke didn't get up for a while. Porter was really pumped. I had a listen to Benalla's 3/4 time huddle and it was Porter getting everyone fired up. He told them to get into the habbit of winning. He said we didn't just come here for a run around did we..... and all that sort of talk but to hear it from a big recruit was pretty impressive. The whole team lifted in the last quarter and i'm sure he was a big part of that. When a player of his calibre gets in your ear i reckon you bloody well listen.
Also noticed a young bloke even taller then Porter. His name is Shaker. He's a young gun and is really big. Another new player i can't remember his name but they called him Eddie. He was hitting packs real hard. Looked good and plays hard.
Add some of these new ones to the Stevens brothers, Symes up forward who didn't play and Macca (Can't remember his name) who kicked around 8 goals well Benalla will be hard to beat this year.
Shaker is Brendan Van "Milk" Schaik who spent last year on Melbourne's rookie list after coming through the Benalla juniors and the Murray TAC Cup side.
Macca is Mark Mackenzie who finished with nine goals, and is most famous for having bad B.O in last year's elimination final against Shepparton where he kicked five goals...well something's got to explain why Adrian Hickmott didn't go near him all game despite being his direct opponent.
Snakeman66
20 Mar 2006, 20:17
Who was Eddie? Was that John Shiels?
bradrowe#32
20 Mar 2006, 22:21
Bradrowe#32's 2006 Season Review
Seymour
No doubt Seymour benefited from finishing 3rd last year, but when the game was on the line, they were the ones who stepped up. After an ordinary end to season 2004, the Lions took all before them in 2005 and won when it mattered.
Although people concentrate on the flashy Saad, Seymour is a very workmanlike team. Jeff Anderson is one of the best, dour defenders in the league, consistently restricting fancied opponents. Ruckman Shane Schottner is nothing short of a champion in GV footy and was most deserving of his premiership medallion. Robbie Douglas, Adam Reid and Bernie Haberman form a formidable running combination.
Losing Rattray (who I rate very highly) will be offset by the return of Simon Gordon, who has performed well at GV level.
It’s difficult to see Seymour missing finals. With the talent and proven capacity to play at a higher level, they will definitely have a massive say in who wins the 2006 cup.
Euroa
The Magpies have had a long preseason, haunted by their last quarter (actually, last 10 minute) fade out, which ultimately cost them the flag. After an impressive season - where they only lost one game – Euroa kicked it up a gear in September. Impressive wins over Mansfield and Seymour installed the Magpies as favourites to take home the silverware. However, it was not to be.
This year, Euroa has boosted their stock by adding two big recruits: former Brisbane and Richmond midfielder Rory Hilton, who should add a touch of class and toughness and former VFL player Damon Clarke (202cm forward). They should fit in nicely with Daniel Sage, Shane and Mark Clayton, Daniel Thomson, Hayden Lamaro, Shannon Gibson and Daniel Howse, amongst the many other quality players.
Euroa’s strength lies in their forward line (last year, they had the most ‘points for’ – more than 300 from the next closest) and the imposing target of Grainger (87 goals). Their hard running (and goal scoring) midfield is arguably the best in the league. One criticism of Euroa has been their lack of defensive effort. Last year Mansfield, Seymour and Benalla all conceded fewer points than Euroa. This may be construed as arrogance or lack of respect, but with their firepower, they can generally get away with it.
Euroa will be around the mark this year and have the team to win the flag. One unanswered question is whether they will be able to bounce back after last year’s disappointment. I think we will find out on the last Saturday in September.
Benalla
After a disappointing finale to 2005, with losses to Shepparton, Mansfield, Kyabram, Mooroopna and Shepparton United, Benalla limped into the finals series after finishing 5th. A hard fought win over Shepparton in the elimination final was impressive considering their form, as was their effort the following week when they pushed Mansfield in the first semi.
After some encouraging signs in 2005, this is the year for Benalla to deliver. The arrival of big man Mark Porter (110 games for Carlton/Kangaroos) is a massive bonus and will compete well against the Schottners’ and Sutherlands’ of the league. Porter’s colleagues include former Kangaroos captain and member of its’ team of the century, Anthony Stevens, who made an impressive, albeit injury interrupted debut in GV football. Work commitments could be a factor, but Stevens is as professional as they come. Nathalia premiership player Brett Vallender and John Shiels add depth and class. Brendan Stevens is coming off an excellent year and is well respected player around the league.
And to finish off all the good work is Ricky Symes. After booting a league best 113 majors, Symes was a formidable target that often ripped attacks apart. He is set for another big year in front of the sticks, with the excellent midfield delivery he can expect. Mark McKenzie provides excellent support.
Benalla have always had competitive reserves (premiers 2003) and thirds (premiers in 2002 and 2004) teams, but appear to have lost a fair few this year. I expect them to figure heavily in finals calculations. After consistently playing finals for the last five or so seasons, its time for Benalla to take the next step.
Mooroopna
Can Mooroopna finally snap an absence from finals action? It has been 17 years since the Cats last made the finals and I think this will be the year. Last year they finished one game out of the finals, but caused some upsets (defeating Benalla twice) along the way. However, they were the definition of the middle range club: beating those below them, but struggling to conquer those above them.
It would appear that Derek Hall has an embarrassment of riches, with five former AFL players on the books. Brad Campbell had an excellent year, finishing equal 6th in the Morrison Medal and polling well in the media awards. His brother Blake brought 11 AFL games of experience and added depth and skill to their midfield.
Balraj Singh was a sensation for Mooroopna last year. After walking out on the Griffith Swans early in the season, the former Adelaide draftee finished 6th in the league goalkicking with 63 majors. Singh combined well with Robert Osborne (29 goals) and Brad Campbell (35 goals) to help his team kick the 6th highest points for total in the league. Former Carlton player Karl Norman comes to the club with a dotted history, but has shown glimpses of potential. Under this setting, the imposing tall could finally produce. With the quality of forwards at Hall’s disposal, Norman could find himself holding down a key backline position with Geoff Conally, who despite his former club’s woes, had a brilliant year, gaining GV representation.
Jarrod Best, Gary Learmouth and Nick Aloi round out the list of big name signings that will sure propel the Cats to greater heights. History suggests that they will miss out again, but I think they will sneak in.
Echuca
The Murray Bombers would be very disappointed with how their 2006 season ended. After a promising start to the year, Echuca couldn’t string together sequences of wins, which meant they were forever clinging onto a spot in the finals. They were finally dislodged in round fourteen at the hands of arch rivals Rochester and missed the finals for the first time since 2000.
However, there is some optimism for the year. Premier onballers Dylan Butler and Colin Durie suffered debilitating injuries and should be back to their best. Xavier and Jamus Campbell, Luke Agg and Brendan Prendergast provide a solid core of experienced and quality players. New additions will be Chris Casey, who spent the majority of 2005 with the Bendigo Pioneers and significant interstate signees such as Stephen White and Brett Howman add height and experience.
Brad Smith is back and is a proving big game player (Wilf Cox medallist in 2002 premiership team), although it is unknown if he can stand up to the riggors of GV footy after a period out of the game. History suggests that he will be up to the challenge.
The loss of young gun Archard will be softened by the return of GV representative Josh Maddox. Archard is on the move to try his luck in the SANFL after becoming a very accomplished GV player in such a short time. Maddox has the game to soften the blow.
Other significant losses include Ben Wilson, Sean Murphy (35 goals in 2005), Matt Martin and Craig Frost, but on the balance, Echuca should be around the mark. With their reasonable draw, they will make the top six.
Rochester
It promises to be an interesting year for the Tigers. With David Williams entering his 15th year as coach, his team with have his trademark toughness. The addition of Elliott Bowen from the Bendigo Bombers will add much needed height, especially in the backline. The signing of Bowen was supposed to be the lure for Numukah star Mark Brown to the club, however this didn’t eventuate. Former Kangaroos ruckman Hugh Foott was another player sought with no luck. Russell Weekley is a hard running back flanker from Nyah Nyah West United and should help in the backline.
On paper, Rochester appears to be the same team that sneaked into the finals. However, after Christmas, significant losses such as midfielder Ryan Connaughton (South Bendigo), classy backman Nick Knight (South Bendigo), emerging ruckman Adam Bright and the possible loss of Andrew Palmer to LBU could spell trouble for the Tigers. The biggest loss will be star midfielder Chris McCarty, who departs the club after round seven to work overseas.
Last year the club focused on developing the youth, and this year will be the test to see if those plans have come to fruition. A club record of four players have made the Bendigo Pioneers squad, with Brodie Montague the pick of the crop. Montague kicked four goals from a wing in the epic clash against Euroa. Other youngsters such as the hardworking Marty McKenzie and polished forward Matthew Letcher will be given an opportunity to shine. With the thirds competing in the last two years of finals football, another crop of quality youngsters has come through the ranks.
Add this to the seasoned veterans of best and fairest winner Dean Moon, GV representative Sam Brennan, VCFL representative Heath Aitken, Anthony McPhee, Daniel Schmidt, Clint Whitsed, Michael Loughman and the emergence of Dylan Cuttriss, Adrian Pappin, Kahl Oliver and Nathan Whipp and the Tigers should be competitive. However, with the loss of key players and a tough draw (compared with Mooroopna and Echuca), I think the finals is just out of reach (for only the 3rd time in David Williams’ reign).
Mansfield
I think this will be the year Mansfield will fall from grace. Three of their big players in Mensch, Tranquilli and Hulme are on the move and haven’t been replaced. Others to depart are Ben Millott and Jason Looby.
After breaking through for their first GV flag in sensational fashion in 2004, Mansfield were around the mark in 2005. They were the only team to defeat Euroa in the home and away matches. Mensch finished with 92 goals and Tranquilli kicked 35 goals. Suddenly, Mansfield will lose basically their whole attack, which will mean a step back to the pack.
Their biggest strength was their size, which overpowered many teams. The Mansfield midfield is one of the better units in the league, with Walker, Storer and the ultra impressive Trent Hotton, who had a career season in 2005. Hotton finished second in the Morrison Medal and high in the media awards. Interestingly, he only kicked seven goals for the year. He may be used more as a forward target this year.
On the plus side Nathan Reynoldson returns to bolster the midfield, but other than that, they have been very quiet.
Shepparton United
United’s season was almost over before it started, with the club losing both the highly rated Brad and Steve Hazelman in their round two derby loss to Shepparton. Still, they remained competitive and finished the season with successive wins.
The shining star was Matt Forys, who kicked 69 goals for the year. Schirmer had a good year, as did Russell Gibson. Shane Sali is a GV rising star.
Tyson Sidebottom from Tallygaroopna appears to be the pick of their signings. Sidebottom was impressive in the KDFL and won the best on ground award in their surprise triumph over the highly rated Stanhope.
They will improve, but won’t make the finals.
Shepparton Swans
The Swans are a bit of a maligned club (along the lines of Mooroopna). There last premiership was in 1970, but they have had chances since then: they finished on top in 2003 only to crash in the finals. To me, they seem to be a club that’s neither here nor there.
This year, they appear to have been the big movers in the pre-season, having picked up Lachlan Veale (Western Bulldogs), Craig Stratham (Glenelg), Heath Wren and a few others.
They did lose Ramadam Yze early last year which was a massive blow, but they do have some good players, such as Matthew McCarthy (45 goals), Nathan Bell, Hayden Best, Tim Kirkman and Jason Rachele.
I think they will improve, but fall a couple of games short of the finals.
Kyabram
Finished last year on a very disappointing note. With a potential finals birth on the line, the Bombers were flogged by over 100 points by a rampaging Seymour to miss out by percentage. It was a sour end to such an encouraging year, with many tenacious performances against the odds. The bad news is that I don’t think Kyabram will be in contention this year.
The last time the Bombers made the finals was in 1999 and has been in the football wasteland ever since. After a successful decade in the 90’s, they have been in a trough that doesn’t appear to be ending in 2006. Kyabram do possess some quality players: Paul Newman is an elite GV footballer. Last year he kicked 53 goals (including 14 majors against Echuca in round 18; a win that kept their finals hopes on track). Coach Mark Adamson had a good year (33 goals), as did Heath Barnett. Chris Atkins is one of the league’s premier midfielder, however it is rumoured that he is going overseas this year.
An exodus of players has left with Corey Carver, for KDFL team Lancaster. Their replacements come from far and wide. However, there are no big names to replace Atkins or support Newman. This year, there will be even more reliance on Tim Watson, an ageing Ian Boyd, Scott McCormack, Dion Ciavola and Oliver Boyd.
However, Kyabram does have a very successful underage system. Their thirds’ won the flag in 2003 and finished runner-up last year. They would be looking for many of those players to develop and maintain positions in the senior team. This will take some time and will be on the wrong side of a few hidings before their time comes.
Shepparton
Shepparton will slide this year. Despite finishing fourth, the Bears were defeated by Benalla in the Elimination Final and appear to have gone backwards for season 2006.
Anthony Mellington was impressive with 57 goals and the much maligned Sean Harrop kicked 40. Jeremy O’Brien proved his worth with 24 goals and quality work around the midfield. Shadbolt, Wells and ageless Steve Ash provided solid support. The main key to Shepparton was Morrison Medallist Matthew Byers, who was close to unstoppable in the midfield.
The losses started early, with Travis Hampshire signalling his intentions to coach Congupna and taking several players with him, including Terance Touhey and Jarred Maskell. Other like Nick Miller and Heath Barton make things tough for the Bears and I think they will miss.
No doubt, however, that their reserves team will be strong.
Tatura
The very proud Tatura would’ve found last year’s fall from grace difficult to handle. After a mass exodus of experienced and quality players, Tatura fell to the tail of the ladder, winning only three games.
In a season with few highlights, the performance of bigman Paul Kirby was a bright spot. The champion ruckman won the Forty Winks media award and polled heavily in the Morrison Medal. Linc Wellington was brilliant down back and had the honour of captaining the victorious interleague team. Down forward, Michael Roberts kicked 36 goals.
The search for players to rebuild the club has been far and wide, with players from Queensland, NSW and metropolitan leagues signed. Their biggest signing is Marty McGrath, who burst onto the AFL scene in 2003 when he kicked 5 goals on debut. Unfortunately, his career ended prematurely and has spent the last few seasons in metropolitan leagues. He will add a touch of class to the midfield and forward line.
They have a favourable draw, only playing last year’s grand finalists once. However, this won’t save them and they should finish in the bottom four.
© bradrowe#32 20/3/06. All rights reserved. Written permission required for reproduction (especially from Shepparton News journalists too lazy to do their own research!)
Duff Man
21 Mar 2006, 07:44
Like your work rowey. :thumbsu:
Just a couple of additions / amendments for you:-
1. My mail is that Rattray could well be back at the Den again this year as the Bendigo try-out hasn't work as well as he would have liked.
2. I thought Howse (Euroa) was playing with Bundoora this year?
3. Shane Sali (United) is not a happy camper at the moment, and is in deep discussion with Swans. My understanding is that United will reject any clearance application, but Swans have got him a job and offered him a bit of pocket money to play. This one is likely to go to an appeal, but at this early stage I believe he will play for the Swans this year.
4. Shepp Bears will struggle, and there 2's will not be anywhere near as strong as recent years. As of last week, they had a senior playing list of about 34. Looks like centreman Steve Dickinson may have done a knee in a praccy match over the weekend, and will have scans this week. They also suffered another injury to one of their younger brigade. That brings their list down to 32 available senior players less than a month before the start of the season. The Bears have an excellent committee, but difficult to see them being able to pick up their numbers greatly in the next few weeks.
ANT JESS
21 Mar 2006, 08:04
Great effort Rowey, showed a lot of comitment to this great thread!! :)
"I think the finals is just out of reach (for only the 3rd time in David Williams’ reign)." From the words of the great D Williams "Right us off, I dare you!!" he he
half time lollies
21 Mar 2006, 08:45
Fair effort that Rowey. Alot of time put in and shows. The only other thing I could pick up on that Duff Man didn't was Nathan Bell's departure from the Swans. He is going to assistant coach back in his home town somewhere in SA. Will be hard to replace.
half time lollies
21 Mar 2006, 08:47
1. My mail is that Rattray could well be back at the Den again this year as the Bendigo try-out hasn't work as well as he would have liked.
2. I thought Howse (Euroa) was playing with Bundoora this year?
3. Shane Sali (United) is not a happy camper at the moment, and is in deep discussion with Swans. My understanding is that United will reject any clearance application, but Swans have got him a job and offered him a bit of pocket money to play. This one is likely to go to an appeal, but at this early stage I believe he will play for the Swans this year.
4. Shepp Bears will struggle, and there 2's will not be anywhere near as strong as recent years. As of last week, they had a senior playing list of about 34. Looks like centreman Steve Dickinson may have done a knee in a praccy match over the weekend, and will have scans this week. They also suffered another injury to one of their younger brigade. That brings their list down to 32 available senior players less than a month before the start of the season. The Bears have an excellent committee, but difficult to see them being able to pick up their numbers greatly in the next few weeks.
Are you involved with Shepp Duff Man?? I think you will find that they have a few more than 32 available senior players!
Duff Man
21 Mar 2006, 09:31
Are you involved with Shepp Duff Man?? I think you will find that they have a few more than 32 available senior players!
Not involved with them lollies, but am good mates with a bloke who is and these are the numbers he has been spinning to me.
bradrowe#32Tatura[/B]
The very proud Tatura would’ve found last year’s fall from grace difficult to handle. After a mass exodus of experienced and quality players, Tatura fell to the tail of the ladder, winning only three games.
In a season with few highlights, the performance of bigman Paul Kirby was a bright spot. The champion ruckman won the Forty Winks media award and polled heavily in the Morrison Medal. Linc Wellington was brilliant down back and had the honour of captaining the victorious interleague team. Down forward, Michael Roberts kicked 36 goals.
The search for players to rebuild the club has been far and wide, with players from Queensland, NSW and metropolitan leagues signed. Their biggest signing is Marty McGrath, who burst onto the AFL scene in 2003 when he kicked 5 goals on debut. Unfortunately, his career ended prematurely and has spent the last few seasons in metropolitan leagues. He will add a touch of class to the midfield and forward line.
They have a favourable draw, only playing last year’s grand finalists once. However, this won’t save them and they should finish in the bottom four.
I will print this out and stick it on the paper clippings wall in the changerooms Brad.
Cheers
Doozy_Man
21 Mar 2006, 11:04
Bradrowe,
Great stuff mate. Very informative about every club in the GVFL. I think you are spot on with Echuca and Rochester as well. Even though Dale Reyne didn't play last year due to injury, Echuca are hoping to win a battle against Echuca United to regain the powerful forward/ruckman. If he does play with bombers and they don't get any major injuries then they will be in the top 6. The only problem they have is their depth!
no left foot
21 Mar 2006, 12:01
[Seymour FC & Kings Park are located in one of the worst runs shire's in the state. It has taken a lot of hard work from the Kings Park committee and all the user groups of the reserves to get these works done. I have spent time on the Harley Hammond Reserve committee in Broadford and trust me they're a tough crowd (Mitchell Shire) to lobby your case for improvements to.[/quote]
Campaspe Shire is terrible, have let Victoria Park in Echuca slip to an ordinary state over the last 10 years. Used to be the show piece of the town. Now surface is poor and all uses of the reserve are frustrated. Ken Sheldon was very big on providing the best facilities for his players but ground was the only down fall. Think Echuca F.C would appreciate your frustration, good to hear surface is ace at Seymour now.
Flat Track Bully
21 Mar 2006, 14:00
Bradrowe,
Great stuff mate. Very informative about every club in the GVFL. I think you are spot on with Echuca and Rochester as well. Even though Dale Reyne didn't play last year due to injury, Echuca are hoping to win a battle against Echuca United to regain the powerful forward/ruckman. If he does play with bombers and they don't get any major injuries then they will be in the top 6. The only problem they have is their depth!
I concur, but Rowey, a REVIEW before the season has started. Can you tell me the winner of the flag then!!!!
Doozy_Man
21 Mar 2006, 14:11
[Seymour FC & Kings Park are located in one of the worst runs shire's in the state. It has taken a lot of hard work from the Kings Park committee and all the user groups of the reserves to get these works done. I have spent time on the Harley Hammond Reserve committee in Broadford and trust me they're a tough crowd (Mitchell Shire) to lobby your case for improvements to.
Campaspe Shire is terrible, have let Victoria Park in Echuca slip to an ordinary state over the last 10 years. Used to be the show piece of the town. Now surface is poor and all uses of the reserve are frustrated. Ken Sheldon was very big on providing the best facilities for his players but ground was the only down fall. Think Echuca F.C would appreciate your frustration, good to hear surface is ace at Seymour now.[/quote]
You are spot on there. The ground at Vic Park in Echuca is a disgrace. It's no fault to the Echuca F.C, it is the bloody council! They spend all there money on useless recreation grounds around the district. Whereas Vic Park is used by so many groups it needs the most attendtion. the only way it can be fixed is to rip the whole surface up and lay new turf. This would mean that the footballers and cricketers would need to find another ground for that season. But it is a small loss for a long term gain. The council need to see that Echuca play in the strongest and most respected football league in Victoria and their ground is bringing the town's name down.
bradrowe#32
21 Mar 2006, 14:30
Yeah I missed a few things Duff Man, such as Adrian Hickmont leaving Shepparton. It was pretty late and I just glazed over the Shepparton teams, because really, I don't care too much for them!
cookie33
21 Mar 2006, 16:39
After reading Bradrowe#32 season review and doing some research my self (yes i am a geek and lead a boring life) and having a bit to do with the VFL over the past 4 or 5 years i would now like to present to the great people on the GVFL board my Season preview.
1st - Benalla
Strengths:
Without a doubt there strength will come from there big men and the opportunity to break away from the centre bounces and around the ground stoppages. Van Sheik and Porter will dominate 90% of the leagues ruckman and with the likes of Priest,B.Stevens and Mcpharline controlling the middle of the ground they seem very acomplished and almost untouchable in the middle of the park. Down forward they are also amongst the elite for the competetion with only possibly Euroa and Seymour stronger within the forward 50. Symes and Mckenzie are in the elite bracket of GV footballers and both provide great targets.
Weakness:
Some people might find this funny but i truely believe that the core of Benallas team are a ageing core. Porter,B.Stevens,A.Stevens,Mcpharline,Symes,Mckenzie are hardly spring chickens and all have had a past that has been effected from injuries. If a couple of those core stars where to fall then who is going to replace them? looking on the transfer list i notice alot of players have left and it has to be said that alot of those blokes where very good 2s players. Can Benalla keep there core fit and healthy and going for a full season? and if they go down who is there to fill the void?
Players to make or break there season:
Porter,B.Stevens,Symes,Mckenzie
2nd - Euroa
Strengths:
No doubt there former VFL/AFL listed players make up the nucleas of their side and its up forward and the talls that really put Euroa a class above other teams. Grainger and Janz are very heard to match up on and add to that Damon Clarke and you have the most impressive bunch of bigs in the comp, all these guys will ruck and will go forward and kick goals. Euroa also boast the most attacking midfield in the league with Lamaro and Sage being the rolls royce of the bunch.
Weakness:
As Bradrowe#32 pointed out its there backline that is the worry, while they will score alot of goals they will also give opposition sides a chance to kick a few them selves. If opposition sides can find a way to bog down there forward structure and then counter attack then they will always be given the opportunity to score goals and stay in the game.
Hilton,Janz,Sage,Grainger,S+M Clayton
3rd - Seymour
Strengths:
Again its the attacking style of play and Seymours forwards that really give this side a chance of becoming premiers again in 2006. Saad Saad in my opinion is the most diverse and creative forward in the league. He leads,crumbs and creates goals from nothing, sit him next to Rattray (who sounds as though his back) and Simon Gordon and you have the best mix of talls and smalls in the GV. Seymour will have by far the hardest forward line to match up on. Just as good as they are up forward they have the leagues best full back in Jeff Anderson and another star in Robbie Douglas holding down CHB, the big question is are all these players going to fire again?
Weakness:
Im just a bit worried that while most other GV teams have recruited fairly heavily, Seymour seem to be going into 2006 with an almost identical list as 2005. And why should they change anything? truth be told is that its rare for clubs to go back to back and perhaps with little to no change (Colbert will add very little) they could be found out before seasons end. In saying that Seymour are likely to blow everyone away and do the impossible and hold the cup high again come September. I am by no means writing them off at all.
Player to make or break there season:
Anderson,Saad,Schottner,Douglas,Haberman
4th - Mooropana
Strenths:
The Cats big name players hold the key to weather this team will become a top4 unit or just be another mid to good side in the GV. Brad Campbell is a star and his brother no doubt has the credentials to become a star in the league as well. Alot rests on the shoulders of Karl Norman and Balraj Singh, these 2 clearly are the best of there big men and if they can fire look out. Campbell to Campbell to Singh sounds imposing and with this side if they can gel early its gonna be tough for opposition sides to hold them when going forward.
Weakness:
My thoughts clearly point to the mental capacity of the players down the cattery. Karl Norman is a nuff nuff as is Singh buy the sounds of it, Blake Campbell has come to the GV and done very little, perhaps he underated the level of football he was coming to. Nic Aloi is similiur to Norman. My worries are that by round 5 or 6 we will know just how far the likes of Norman,Aloi,Singh and Campbell will take the Cats. For all we know Singh could quit, Norman could have his boots eaten by his dog and Campbell could break his leg from falling of a fence. All hypotheticals and more of a joke than anything but i do have my reservations.
Norman is the standout for me, Singh,Campbells,Hall
5th - Echuca
Strengths:
Well its gonna be a very different looking lineup to the Bombers of 2005. No Archard and a host of newbies the most noticable being SANFL recruits White and Bowman. Butler suprises me as i find it hard that Echuca signed such a young player coach who i dont think ever player GV before, he will basically become a new signing along Durie and will provide some stern leadership for a very young side. Alot rides on Butley,Durie,Howman and White. Bowman will provide a great target either up forward or hold down a KP in the backline. If the young players that played last season can continue there improvment and we see the best of Durie and Butler then Echuca could really suprise.
Weakness:
The unkown i suppose, i dont know a whole lot about Echuca but i would think that Archard is probably that big of a loss that someone is gonna have come out really step up to cover him. Perhaps they lack a few bigs, heard they had a intra club a few weeks back and a bloke who hasnt played for a few years came out and bagged 6, was told they were very young and inexperienced. Will that be a problem ? and do they have the depth?
Howman,Durie,White,Durie
6th - Tatura
Strengths:
There backline will be 1 of if not the best backline group in the GV. New recruit Willoughby who played 60+ senior VFL games will hold down either FB or CHB and will be a top 3 KP defender in the league, bigger and stronger than Symes and is quick and bullocking. They have also got back Mcdonald who is a star at GV level him self and have snarred former Coburg defender Downey who is silky out of the backline. Throw in Pollard as a 3rd tall and premiership small defender Matt Hanlon and you have 1 complete backline. Kirby will run things in the centre of the ground and will go forward and kick a few and Wellington and Mcgrath provide the class in the middle of the ground, they also have GV rep Michael Roberts up forward who by all reports is flying.
Weakness:
Depth, no doubt should any of there big name players go down with injuries then Tatura will struggle to cover them. They have no back up ruckman to help Kirby (perhpas Mcdonald is capable) and if a Willoughby or Wellington where to go down then it would spell huge trouble for the boys down at Tat Park. I dont know alot about there lesser know recruits but i highly doubt that they have anyone who could step and become good/elite GV footballers. I would suspect there reserves will be weak again and the fact that there is no depth could decide just how far this team will go.
Roberts,Kirby,Wellington,Willoughby,Mcgrath
7th - Rochester
Strengths:
They are a well drilled machine under Dirty, they will always attack the ball and man fiercely and will always be competetive. The fact that they have stability at the club means alot and with Bowen and Aitken providing the class factor we could yet see Rochy in the finals come September.
Weakness:
Mccarty wont be there all season and the loss of Knight i would think is quite siginifacant. Connaughton was a very good player who has also taken off. I find it hard to see how Rochy are gonna be able to cover the losses but under Dirty you just never know. As Brad said the club focussed on playing youth and building for the future and perhaps the natural progression of the youngsters will carry them through, i however think that maybe 2006 is a year to soon for them.
Aitken,Bowen,Schmidt,Brennan
8th - Shepp Utd
Strengths:
Well they get back a host of players who missed last season with injury and the form Forys was really pleasing for the club. They have also picked up highly rated Tyson Sidebottom. They have a good strong core of players and i think i also read that Nathan Bovlino has crossed from Bears?? might be wrong but he will also be a handy pick up.
Weakness:
Utd probably lack a host of bigs who can take a game by the scruff of the neck. Doubt they have the ruck stocks to compete with the Porters,Janzs,Kirbys of the league and that could leave them behind the 8 ball. Also the loss of Shane Sali is a big one.
Sidebottom,Forys,Bovalino, Hazlemans
9th - Mansfield
Strengths:
In the middle with Hotton who i belive is the best player in the GV they will always get a bit of go forward he will also get some good support from Reynoldson and Trewhella. The Eagles also pick up Chris Gallagher from Dean Talbot coached Bell Park in Geelong and he is sure to add some spice to the midfield and flanks for the Eagles.
Weakness:
Mansfield have failed to attract an big names that have made them a force in recent year in country vic. The losses of Tranquilli,Hulme and most of all Mensch are massive, perhaps greater than 1 suspects. They will have little no forward line and will expect and pary that someone jumps out of the box and can kick some goals. Losing Tarnquilli and Mensch is like the Lakers losing Shaq and Kobe all in 1 hit.
Hotton,Trewhalla,Reynoldson,Walker
10th - Shepp Swans
Strengths:
They have some handy talls and are well lead by Sutherland and other bigs in Veale,Dundavic and South Australian Matt Lutze who comes from West Adelaide with big wraps on him. Craig Stratham also provides some much needed class for the Swans as they look to improve on a terrible 2005.
Weakness:
I know very little about the club and the players but if i was a Swans supporter i wouldnt be pinning my hopes on the likes of Veale and Dundovic. I think both failed to play senior footy at state league and wouldnt expect them to carry the Swans to 2006 glory. If Sutherland was to go down at any stage i think they would almost be a like a boat with no sails and heading quickly, for there sake lets hope the ageing big man can stay fit and firing.
Sutherland,Stratham
11th - Kyabram
Strengths:
Newman? i know very little but notice they have lost a few, i cant seem to firgure out who the hell they recruited. From memory Ky where usefull going forward and had some old timers taking care of things in the backline. Chris Atkins and Newman seem to be the 2 that will make them at all competetive for 2006.
Weakness:
Well Ky are probably the least talked about side in the GV so being someone not from up the hume its hard for me to comment. Ill say that they lack a KP defender and another premium midfielder to go with Chris Atkins. To much will rely on Newman and perhaps Ky will become to 1 dimensional and easy to figure out.
Newman,Atkins,Adamson
12th - Shepparton
Strengths:
Still boast some very good footballers in Obrien,Mellington,Harrop and of Byers so the core is still strong. Mellinton will always provide a target and be hard to match up on and Byers is argubley the best mid in the league so if the core was to stay fit then they are chance to win some games.
Weakness:
Lost to many and alot of the 2s have left after probably not being treated the best. Lang,Hickmont,Bovalino,Miller,Parker,Crawford all leave big holes in the starting 21. The depth has been shattered and some real grunt lost. Will be a very young team and with the youngsters its hard to tell how well they will go.
Players to make or break there season.
The obvious - Mellington,Obrien,Byers,Harrop
Well thats it, probably got a heap wrong but i gave ot a crack.
Grandale
21 Mar 2006, 20:28
I agree with Cookie; Seymour - the reigning premier mind you - has only added a VFL senior footballer in Colbert and an 80-goal-a-year forward in Gordon to its list so they have no chance of going back to back.
Carna Maggies!!!!!!!!!!
jmain14
21 Mar 2006, 21:12
fantastic work rowey with you preview and well done to cookie as well. what's the go mate?? - uni holidays or just not much on at the moment ha ha. also, surely rochy will make the 6!!
jmain14
21 Mar 2006, 21:22
7th - Rochester
Weakness:
Mccarty wont be there all season and the loss of Knight i would think is quite siginifacant. Connaughton was a very good player who has also taken off. I find it hard to see how Rochy are gonna be able to cover the losses but under Dirty you just never know. As Brad said the club focussed on playing youth and building for the future and perhaps the natural progression of the youngsters will carry them through, i however think that maybe 2006 is a year to soon for them.
Aitken,Bowen,Schmidt,Brennan
would like to get people's opinions on connaughton - would ya call him a 'very good player'?? in the games I saw him play last year (which was only 5 or so) he didn't impress me that much. I wouldn't of thought the tigs would miss him that much although one thing he probably does do is take a good forward.
bradrowe#32
21 Mar 2006, 21:36
fantastic work rowey with you preview and well done to cookie as well. what's the go mate?? - uni holidays or just not much on at the moment ha ha. also, surely rochy will make the 6!!
G'day mate, long time no chat.
Uni started a few weeks ago, but it's hard to get motivated and I'd rather talk crap on here. How's London going? Have you been wetting a line in the Thames?
In regards to Connaughton, I tend to agree. I didn't think he performed too well and he wasn't in the top 10 in the B & F (I think). The other two Bendigo recruits certainly out performed him. I'm sure he would still have nightmares from when Saad destroyed him in the 2nd quarter of the final.
However, he isn't a dud and his loss will mean Rochy have to put someone else - probably a lesser player - in his place.
Take it easy.
bradrowe#32
21 Mar 2006, 21:40
Good work cookie, some really good stuff in there that I forgot about.
I have a similar feeling about Benalla. I think they are clearly in the top 3 teams and can give it a real shake.
Dougles played well as did hooper and okeefe across halfback, no Carmichael and whitnall did not play , must of been two of the six that the president was talking about .??????
Did Matty Pascoe play for Bundy?
T.Perry
22 Mar 2006, 08:10
Seymour - Weakness:
Im just a bit worried that while most other GV teams have recruited fairly heavily, Seymour seem to be going into 2006 with an almost identical list as 2005. And why should they change anything? truth be told is that its rare for clubs to go back to back and perhaps with little to no change (Colbert will add very little) they could be found out before seasons end. In saying that Seymour are likely to blow everyone away and do the impossible and hold the cup high again come September. I am by no means writing them off at all.
Anderson,Saad,Schottner,Douglas,Haberman
Not a bad write up cookie - surprised to see you write that Seymour will go in relatively un-changed and that you think Colbert will add little! Not sure if you've seen much of him, but the guy is a gun - will have one of the biggest motors in the comp, silky skills and is also reasonably big for a mid-fielder/flanker. Add the arrival of Gordon (who you did mention) and the comeback of Ben Bailey and all of a sudden the lions look even more potent, though still well balanced..
Bailey is a top ruckman and will give Schottner the chance to go forward or back, Colbert can be rotated through the mid-field and forward line, which may help create a miss-match and Gordon takes a lot of focus away from Saad - sides will have trouble containing a forward line of Schottner (or Bailey), Gordon, Pilling, Saad and Colbert..esp with the delivery from their quality midfield.
Really looking forward to the Round 1 clash against Euroa - both sides look to be going in with no injury concerns, a bevy of gun players and a score to settle from last year's GF..
11th - Kyabram
Strengths:
Newman? i know very little but notice they have lost a few, i cant seem to firgure out who the hell they recruited. From memory Ky where usefull going forward and had some old timers taking care of things in the backline. Chris Atkins and Newman seem to be the 2 that will make them at all competetive for 2006.
Weakness:
Well Ky are probably the least talked about side in the GV so being someone not from up the hume its hard for me to comment. Ill say that they lack a KP defender and another premium midfielder to go with Chris Atkins. To much will rely on Newman and perhaps Ky will become to 1 dimensional and easy to figure out.
Newman,Atkins,Adamson
good write up. I havent seen the transfer list but Atkins has 100% left Kyabram. I cant remember where either oversees or back in Perth.
I think rowey also said in his right up Ian boyd playin. He also has left Ky and playin for shepp east I think. Another good defender Paul Burnett is currently out with a torn calf. I watched there practice match against Golden Squre. For Kys sake I hope they had a lot of players out. They were very young and lacked height all over the ground. I think they lost by about 40 points. Quinn a recruit from nathalia played well along with newman, and a young fella called jungle from rushy ( think was helpin out with numbers), can play though.
ilovetogetblind
22 Mar 2006, 08:50
http://www.rivheraldechuca.net/story.asp?TakeNo=200603176456218
White on track for Bombers
By Adam Brayshaw
March 17 2006
Riverine Herald
Echuca Murray Bombers' preseason training and prospects for the Goulburn Valley Football League season received a major boost on Tuesday night with the first appearance on the track of key signing Stephen White.
White is a powerhouse full forward who was a premiership player at Sturt in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL) in 2002.
In 12 years with Sturt, White played around 165 senior games.
He comes to Echuca after a season with the Wagga Tigers in the Australian Capital Territory Australian Football League.
White said playing again with former Sturt teammate Xavier Campbell was one of the main reasons he decided to join the Murray Bombers.
"At the end of the day I wanted to enjoy my footy and I wanted to play with my mates," White said.
"Obviously I played with Xavier at Sturt and I know his parents very well. Brett Howman is coming to the club, as well."
Having recently turned 30, White said he has to look after his body better throughout the preseason.
"I just try and train a bit smarter. Try and peak for the season and not too early," he said.
Importantly, White's first impressions of the Murray Bombers have been good.
"It seems pretty good. There are a lot of good young blokes around the club."
Echuca will be further boosted in the coming weeks when Howman, also from Sturt, joins the club.
Howman, White and Campbell will live and train in Melbourne and travel for matches each Saturday.
No Heart
22 Mar 2006, 09:01
not a bad effort cookie33 but tend to agree with T.Perry regarding seymour. i expect they will be stronger again this year, but so too will euroa, benalla and maroopna.
just looking at seymours side from last year they have lost steve shaw, matt collins and luke jackson (injured). all three played in the GF and i'm also assuming that rattray is staying.
as T.perry pointed out, the replacements are colbert (gun), gordon (very strong forward) and bailey, as well as jake anderson (from u/18's and bushies - also a quality player). the other bloke i should mention is amad as he did not take part in the GF. this means 3 blokes come out of their GF side and 5 blokes fighting for those spots.
bailey may be the key if he can he avoid injury. hes a quality tap ruckman and would allow schottner to push forward. otherwise schottner will again be forced to carry the full work load in that area.
viccountry5
22 Mar 2006, 09:39
Has anyone heard how Young Gun Rhys Archard is going over in SA?
I suspect he would play a bit of senior footy over there, a very very good footballer.
viccountry5
22 Mar 2006, 09:45
well you would think so
Sidey_87
22 Mar 2006, 10:24
8th - Shepp Utd
Strengths:
Well they get back a host of players who missed last season with injury and the form Forys was really pleasing for the club. They have also picked up highly rated Tyson Sidebottom. They have a good strong core of players and i think i also read that Nathan Bovlino has crossed from Bears?? might be wrong but he will also be a handy pick up.
Weakness:
Utd probably lack a host of bigs who can take a game by the scruff of the neck. Doubt they have the ruck stocks to compete with the Porters,Janzs,Kirbys of the league and that could leave them behind the 8 ball. Also the loss of Shane Sali is a big one.
Sidebottom,Forys,Bovalino, Hazlemans
Good write up, Jake Cowman is very under rated as a ruckman, but apart from him we have very little in the ruck department.
Thanks for the mention in the players to make or break, my cousin Tyson should go well too.;)
Will be good this year having 6 or 7 players we can throw into the midfield, probably still lacking a tall.
Bova played well on the weekend against Mulwala and looks the goods.
I spose we are one of the many teams who will finish 4-9.
Doozy_Man
22 Mar 2006, 11:11
I heard he got knocked out in a paractice match. Not much has been said about him i think.
Echuca have moved on without him. all their inclusions have covered for him easily, well so i have heard.
bradrowe#32
22 Mar 2006, 13:24
Did Matty Pascoe play for Bundy?
Haven't seen you around these parts for a while HJ. I hear a whisper that you might be engaged.
cookie33
22 Mar 2006, 14:13
I have seen alot of Brent Colbert at VFL senior level and reserve level and i just dont know where the tag "GUN" comes from in regards to him. His skills are ok, is not overly quick and is not an in under type of footballer, he is also fairly skinny. Give credit where credit is due though because the guy has a massive tank.
Was always on the outskirts at Preston and probably lacked the football smarts and ability to win his own football to become a regular good VFL footballer. I just dont see him being anything more than a "Player" at GV level or at Seymour. Perhaps should he have gone to a Echuca,Shepp Utd,Shepp Swans side he would be more of an important player and there for be recognised more. I most certantly wouldnt have Brent Colbert starting on the leather for Seymour.
How about Moroopana? does anyone else have the same reservations about them as i do?, the club has all the talent in the world but mentally are they going to be there?
T.Perry
22 Mar 2006, 14:25
I have seen alot of Brent Colbert at VFL senior level and reserve level and i just dont know where the tag "GUN" comes from in regards to him. His skills are ok, is not overly quick and is not an in under type of footballer, he is also fairly skinny. Give credit where credit is due though because the guy has a massive tank.
Was always on the outskirts at Preston and probably lacked the football smarts and ability to win his own football to become a regular good VFL footballer. I just dont see him being anything more than a "Player" at GV level or at Seymour. Perhaps should he have gone to a Echuca,Shepp Utd,Shepp Swans side he would be more of an important player and there for be recognised more. I most certantly wouldnt have Brent Colbert starting on the leather for Seymour.
How about Moroopana? does anyone else have the same reservations about them as i do?, the club has all the talent in the world but mentally are they going to be there?
Mate, I understand where you're coming from, but I think you might be underestimating the standard of VFL footy. I think it's fair to say that Sage, for instance, is classified as a "gun" on-baller in GV footy circles, yet he wouldn't have played as many senior games as Colbert did..both Seymour and Euroa have a large number of ex-VFL players for them and a majority (though def not all) of them left coz they weren't getting the regular senior games that they deserved due to the Bullants (for instance) being pressured to play AFL-listed players, who may or may not be as good a footballers..
I think you'll find Colbert will be a very very handy acquisition for the lions this year..
In regards to Mooroopna, I agree, and have my reservations based purely on the fact that I think most of their big name players are a bit "hit and miss" and will all need to fire on the one day to challenge Benalla, Seymour and Euroa..should make finals though..
T.Perry
22 Mar 2006, 14:26
Haven't seen you around these parts for a while HJ. I hear a whisper that you might be engaged.
So Slab finally popped the question...:D
no left foot
22 Mar 2006, 14:29
Not sure if Colbert would fit into Echuca's midfield of Butler, Durie, Maddox (All played VFL and GV rep), Smith (Gun of the GV ask anyone who knows a bit about it), Halloran (made St Mary's geelong side of the centuary) and young fella Chris Casey (played in the middle for the Pioneers last year). From what you say the tide is still out on whether this Colbert fella is a true gun or just another player who can run a bit. Time will tell.
This is my first glimps of BF for about a week Rowey, been busy with work, and just happened to play in my first ever cricket flag on the weekend... so it's been gas gas and more gas since. Today i'm sober again and back at work - it's a fair comedown, but BF is getting me thru.....:o
did hear that the Bundoora Boys were confident of rolling the lions prior to the weekend, however they went home with tails between the legs. Pascoe played at Mt Pleasant last year in the HDFL and was easily the most dominant player in the competition winning the flag for mounts off his own boot at CHF.
He's supposedly heading back to Bundoora, but I havent seen a clearance lodged yet on the transfers list, and was wondering if he played in the hit out on the new Kings Park surface on the weekend...
the word over mooroopna way is that they are extremely confident for the upcoming season. top 4 is obviously their aim and will be disappointed if they do not achieve this. the coach has been working hard to gel the group together and he has a good ally in Peter White helping on the bench. he will leave no stone unturned with his match ups. expect a big year from the 2 campbells.
ECHUCABOY
22 Mar 2006, 19:12
no left foot very keen to pump up Echucas tyres, I like it. Have you been watching the boys on the track? How does everything look?
I think Nathan Bovalino was mentioned earlier, kid can't play. Plays back but not on anyone, and drops the ball onto his foot like its a watermelon. Dud, prolly win Shepp Utd's B & F though..peasents...
Sidey_87
22 Mar 2006, 23:45
no left foot very keen to pump up Echucas tyres, I like it. Have you been watching the boys on the track? How does everything look?
I think Nathan Bovalino was mentioned earlier, kid can't play. Plays back but not on anyone, and drops the ball onto his foot like its a watermelon. Dud, prolly win Shepp Utd's B & F though..peasents...
So does Mark Mcgough, but he can win the footy.
No Heart
23 Mar 2006, 09:15
I also reckon colbert will be hand but what positions im not sure..still havent had anyone from seymour give us there best 21...
B P.King, Jeff Anderson, Jake Anderson
HB T.Hooper, R. Douglas, M.O'Keefe
C R.Van Reit, Paul Scanlon, A.Reid
HF B.Colbert, M.Pilling, G.Pemberton
F S.Saad, S.Gordon, B.Bailey
Foll S.Schottner, M.Penn, B.Haberman
Int from (in alphabetical order)
J.Amad
S.Boruch
D.Brockway
B.Davey
R.Inness
B.Liddell
G.Liddell
P.Rattray
M.Thomson
Sitting on the fence there by naming a huge interchange in alphabetical order !!
I thought the question was who you thought was your best 21?
doona - can you post the two artilces in the shepp news about S Daniel getting the league coaching gig?
ta
T.Perry
23 Mar 2006, 09:48
11 March 2006 Herald Sun
David Hastie
DELISTED by Richmond at the end of 2005, utility Rory Hilton was understandably disenchanted with football.
Dogged by injury for much of his eight seasons at the top, Hilton confessed he never really enjoyed his time in the AFL.
"My AFL career, I didn't really enjoy it that much because I was always injured," Hilton said.
"Footy's a game and you have got to enjoy it and I suppose I haven't."
After he was told by Tigers coach Terry Wallace that his contract wouldn't be renewed, the talented 26-year-old felt an enormous weight lifted off his battered shoulders.
"When I found out off Terry, I wasn't upset, let me tell you," Hilton said. "It was probably more a feeling of relief than anything. I'd had enough of AFL probably about three seasons ago to be honest.
"But I just sort of hung in there for as long as I could."
Ready to turn his back on football altogether, Hilton had a change of heart, agreeing to play with country side Euroa in the Goulburn Valley Football League this season.
"Initially I wasn't sure if I was going to bother with footy because I had sort of had enough," he said.
"Footy isn't a priority any more. I'm doing it purely to play with some mates and enjoy it."
Hilton, who kicked 54 goals in 91 matches, will return to Euroa where he played as a junior. For the first time since being selected by the Brisbane Lions with their third selection in the 1996 national draft, Hilton is enjoying his football.
The refuge of country football is a welcome escape for Hilton from the AFL landscape.
"I certainly won't go and watch the footy," he said.
"I'll still support (the Tigers) from afar, but probably my mates more so than the actual club. But that's not to say I'm bitter or anything because I loved my time there.
"I loved all the staff and everyone there but I haven't been in touch with them, not at all."
Life after AFL has been kind to Hilton. He is working full-time and studying property part-time, a welcome change from lengthy spells on the sidelines because of injury.
"I'm pretty happy just to be playing footy on the weekend and working during the week and studying and doing all normal things," he said.
"I'm loving it, wish I had have done it about five years ago."
Former Kangaroo Lance Picioane is another to embrace the country alternative.
Picioane will play for North Central League side Boort.
Other AFL players to move to country clubs this season include four-time premiership player Martin Pike, who will coach Hastings in the Mornington Peninsula League, former Saints defender Austinn Jones, playing coach at Narre Warren in the Mornington Peninsula Nepean League and Roo Michael Stevens to Mulwala in the Murray League.
Former Demons rookie Brendan Van Schaik will play with Goulburn Valley League club Benalla alongside former Roos skipper Anthony Stevens.
Grandale
23 Mar 2006, 10:54
Here's some news hot off the press: Marty McGrath is heading back to Perth, citing "family reasons"
Can you confirm or deny please Tige.
ilovetogetblind
23 Mar 2006, 11:01
Daniel to lead league's title defence
By Wes Cusworth
March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has been appointed to lead Goulburn Valley Football League's country championship title defence at Lavington in May.
In what is a coup for the league, Daniel has signed on to lead the region's best players into what is potentially new ground, as back-toback titles becomes the league's most immediate goal.
"I'm really looking forward to it," Daniel said yesterday at news of his appointment.
"I knew last year that Simon Eishold was looking not to do it anymore, so I was rapt to accept it when Eric Bott wrote to the club and spoke to me."
With the success of last year's campaign in the final year of Eishold's four-year tenure, Daniel is reticent to make too many changes to what is obviously a winning formula.
"There's no need to up-end it all," he said.
"There are good structures in place with interleague and I'll be seeking to keep most of them in place.
"I've been lucky enough to coach representative football before with the Southern Football League and I really enjoyed it."
Mindful of the lift in the standard of football that interleague provides, Daniel is eager to start putting the pieces of the puzzle together.
"We'll really get serious about a month before the carnival, but I'm already looking at assistant coaches and looking at players in my video collection," Daniel said.
"Everybody knows that the GVFL is the best standard of football outside of the VFL, so it's just great to be involved in this role."
The GVFL Worksafe Country Championship defence is on May 13 and 14.
THE RIGHT MAN FOR THE JOB
March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Steve Daniel's coaching achievements at VFL level and on the fringes of the AFL makes him the man for the moment according to Goulburn Valley Football League general manager Eric Bott.
"Steve's got a record of proven success, along with experience at the higher level," Bott said yesterday.
"We needed someone who would cope with pretty much anything that was thrown at him, whether it be a new or different experience, and we knew that Steve was that man.
"We looked at other blokes like Ken Sheldon, but he's just started a new job and couldn't commit to the position.
"We're very happy with who we've got for the job."
The league has benefited from a long line of quality leaders for its interleague squads, including Melbourne Football Club trio Des Campbell, David Williams and most recently successful coach Simon Eishold.
Daniel assumes the responsibility after Seymour's success of last year, along with time at Northern Bullants and working with Denis Pagan at Carlton.
"We had a few irons in the fire," Bott said.
"Steve will be looking to pick young, fit and strong blokes that want to play for the GVFL.
"He's a good fit for what we want in the GVFL."
B P.King, Jeff Anderson, Jake Anderson
HB T.Hooper, R. Douglas, M.O'Keefe
C R.Van Reit, Paul Scanlon, A.Reid
HF B.Colbert, M.Pilling, G.Pemberton
F S.Saad, S.Gordon, B.Bailey
Foll S.Schottner, M.Penn, B.Haberman
Int from (in alphabetical order)
J.Amad
S.Boruch
D.Brockway
B.Davey
R.Inness
B.Liddell
G.Liddell
P.Rattray
M.Thomson
U sure Scanlon is playing for Seymour? Nothing on past BF posts have indicated he is playing and there is nothing on the transfer list either. Where did you get this one from?
kanga fan man
23 Mar 2006, 11:11
Here's some news hot off the press: Marty McGrath is heading back to Perth, citing "family reasons"
Can you confirm or deny please Tige.
Yes he is...
No Heart
23 Mar 2006, 12:42
U sure Scanlon is playing for Seymour? Nothing on past BF posts have indicated he is playing and there is nothing on the transfer list either. Where did you get this one from?
Every 6 months I have to get the LPG system in my cab checked out by a specialist for any leaks. He told me so it must be true?
GVFLFAN
23 Mar 2006, 14:13
they are not serious are they???? Add up the total of half of seymor, euroa and benallas team and they would be lucky to fit them all in!!!
SHocking descision by the league!!!
ADDING IT UP
By Wes Cusworth
March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Goulburn Valley Football League looks set to trial a contentious player points system this season with a view to adopting the scheme fully next year.
"We've assessed the systems that the Sunraysia, Mornington and Gippsland-Latrobe football leagues have put in place and we'll be looking at employing the points system for a one-month trial," league general manager Eric Bott said yesterday.
"That will involve looking at the systems in place, tabulating the scores and benchmarking it to see what the leagues get out of it."
Viewed as a more manageable structure than the salary cap system, the player points approach will be recommended to the July meeting of the league executive and if approved will be adopted by the end of the season.
"The number of players transferring from club to club at the moment is a concern," Bott said.
"It's hoped that this system will manage player movement better, if clubs choose to go that way.
"The decision will then be made to adopt the system or not."
Based on the models employed by other leagues across the state, the league would give a point score based on criteria such as club of origin, level of play attained along with experience in the game.
A draft proposal under consideration for the league's player points system would see 38 points allowed for each senior home and away game or finals match.
The total is based on the aggregate points of players in the match, with all players receiving one point and additional point ratings between one and six based on the level of competition at which the player has competed.
All players who have played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL would attract three additional points for one to 20-game players, four points for 21 to 50 games and five points for more than 51 games played.
A player returning to his original club from a state league would attract no additional points, while two would be deducted if returning to the last GVFL club he played at.
Former AFL players of one to 50 games' experience would be worth five additional points, while 50 games plus would mean six additional points, minus two points if seeking registration with the player's original club.
Status is also given to major league experience with an addition of two points, while players moving between clubs could incur a two-point penalty.
Significant concessions are afforded players who remain loyal to an existing club, while the points system also outlines harsh penalties for clubs providing false or misleading information.
the eye
23 Mar 2006, 14:31
Hi guys new to the site. Just wondering if you could tell me the best young players(18-23) in the league. I go to uni with a few boys from around the Gv area who talk themselves up, so just wondering if their all talk
Doozy_Man
23 Mar 2006, 14:33
No left foot - Echuca would take any half quality players at this stage! And that would include Colbert. From what I have heard they have a better senior side than last year but have had a mass exodus of fringe players from the club. So their depth once again will be questioned. The only senior players who have left are Martin, Wilson, Murphy, Frost and Reyne. But they need more numbers in case of injuries.
ilovetogetblind
23 Mar 2006, 14:37
they are not serious are they???? Add up the total of half of seymor, euroa and benallas team and they would be lucky to fit them all in!!!
Not sure how serious they are about bringing it in yet anyway - only four/five clubs went to the meeting held last week regarding the points system so it obviously hasn't got the support or interest of the majority of clubs.
Apparently the limit on points they had in mind would be around 38. Euroa would have been right on this last season and obviously this season have probably gone over with Hylton on board. Not sure how Seymour of Benall would fair.
As its only a trial I dont think we can criticise the league too much.
If it was to come in, you would think a trade-off would develop between the league wanting the best standard comp in country victoria, therefore increasing the points limit, but also having to keep the teams with less cash competitive, ie put pressure on reducing the points limit.
Other factors like player movement between clubs and the long term survival of big spending clubs would also have to be considered when deciding the points limit.
journeyman
23 Mar 2006, 14:38
ADDING IT UP
By Wes Cusworth
March 23 2006
Shepparton News
Goulburn Valley Football League looks set to trial a contentious player points system this season with a view to adopting the scheme fully next year.
"We've assessed the systems that the Sunraysia, Mornington and Gippsland-Latrobe football leagues have put in place and we'll be looking at employing the points system for a one-month trial," league general manager Eric Bott said yesterday.
"That will involve looking at the systems in place, tabulating the scores and benchmarking it to see what the leagues get out of it."
Viewed as a more manageable structure than the salary cap system, the player points approach will be recommended to the July meeting of the league executive and if approved will be adopted by the end of the season.
"The number of players transferring from club to club at the moment is a concern," Bott said.
"It's hoped that this system will manage player movement better, if clubs choose to go that way.
"The decision will then be made to adopt the system or not."
Based on the models employed by other leagues across the state, the league would give a point score based on criteria such as club of origin, level of play attained along with experience in the game.
A draft proposal under consideration for the league's player points system would see 38 points allowed for each senior home and away game or finals match.
The total is based on the aggregate points of players in the match, with all players receiving one point and additional point ratings between one and six based on the level of competition at which the player has competed.
All players who have played in the VFL, SANFL or WAFL would attract three additional points for one to 20-game players, four points for 21 to 50 games and five points for more than 51 games played.
A player returning to his original club from a state league would attract no additional points, while two would be deducted if returning to the last GVFL club he played at.
Former AFL players of one to 50 games' experience would be worth five additional points, while 50 games plus would mean six additional points, minus two points if seeking registration with the player's original club.
Status is also given to major league experience with an addition of two points, while players moving between clubs could incur a two-point penalty.
Significant concessions are afforded players who remain loyal to an existing club, while the points system also outlines harsh penalties for clubs providing false or misleading information.
I agree GVFAN. The GV has improved significantly over the past 4 years because of the influx of players from the VFL. Crowds are up and it's good to see clubs like Mansfield, Euroa, Seymour and Benalla taking over from Shepp, Echuca, united and Tatura. But I'm sure in a few years it will change and those clubs will be back at the top. Footy goes in cycles.
It also seems strange that a bloke that returns to his country club after playing AFL will still cost 4 points (50 games or more). Surely it should be encouraged for retired or delisted players to return to their native club.
When Jarrod Waite retires, it would be a great lift to the Benalla community for him to return home for a couple of seasons - the club shouldn't be punished by having to fork out four points.
The league is trying to protect clubs from spending up big and then going under but I think this is the wrong way to go.