View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

BYSTANDER
2 Apr 2006, 17:56
Agree there Musile, no doubt there is smaller ...but compared to gv ground would only compare to that of Mansfields...Im not a saying east burwood didnt deserve the win but seymour just didnt adjust...and when they did they came home strong but east burwood flooded and on a smallish ground it was not condition seymour were use to....

muesli
2 Apr 2006, 18:09
Agree there Musile, no doubt there is smaller ...but compared to gv ground would only compare to that of Mansfields...Im not a saying east burwood didnt deserve the win but seymour just didnt adjust...and when they did they came home strong but east burwood flooded and on a smallish ground it was not condition seymour were use to....
ok, fair enough

joshooaa
2 Apr 2006, 19:40
Reading the football 2006 msg that comes out with the shepp news each week now, i didnt see paul scanlons name in seymour Recruits, how long has he been with the club for? and how are all the recruits going to date, brent colbert, jake anderson, simon gordon, and paul scanlons??? u seem to know abit about seymour no heart could u tell me how these boys have been going threw out there pre season matches??? cheers...

I hear that Seymore are so damn good that the AFL are going to offer them the opertunity to relocate to the Gold Coast with their current side and play in the AFL out of Carrara.

joshooaa
2 Apr 2006, 19:41
I hear that Seymore are so damn good that the AFL are going to offer them the opertunity to relocate to the Gold Coast with their current side and play in the AFL out of Carrara.

Seymour. Pardon me.

No Heart
2 Apr 2006, 20:52
east burwood will be lucky to make the finals and you were beaten. so what is the excuse? everyone has stated that they struggled on the small ground. just what i have been saying all along bystander. keep reading my posts and you will learn a bit about football.

Kingfooty, Kingfooty, Just to clear a few things up , lets have a look at why the Ovens and Murry and GVFL Leagues are rated the best out of the VFL and AFL . Based on three criterias , 1. The ground sizes are just like that played at the highest level the VFL and AFL . [ Every ground ] 2. Media , it is all over the tv,its on the news in prime time, all over the major news papers and all over the radio threw out country victoria. [ Local leagues in Melbourne get jack ******** ] 3.Standard , To play on big grounds you have to recruit fast skillfull players that run , can hit targets , and play to near the standard of the VFL .[Same style game plans ]
If we want to get fairdinkum Kingfooty , games should be judged on big
grounds like the VFL AFL. Seymour played East Burwood last year when East
had a better side than this year and won by 15 goals, played Bundoora and Northcote Park , Montmerency and beat them all by 15 to 20 goals.
If you want to talk your league up play on grounds that are like the big
boys , not little cow pads that there is no space to move to show your class and skill .Yes tough football is the DVFL ,EFL because its all in close, and alot more physical, bring the bulldogs to East Burwood Kingpoof and see if they can get there game plan going , but put the bulldogs on the dome a propper football ground and good night boys?

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 21:13
Kingfooty, Kingfooty, Just to clear a few things up , lets have a look at why the Ovens and Murry and GVFL Leagues are rated the best out of the VFL and AFL . Based on three criterias , 1. The ground sizes are just like that played at the highest level the VFL and AFL . [ Every ground ] 2. Media , it is all over the tv,its on the news in prime time, all over the major news papers and all over the radio threw out country victoria. [ Local leagues in Melbourne get jack ******** ] 3.Standard , To play on big grounds you have to recruit fast skillfull players that run , can hit targets , and play to near the standard of the VFL .[Same style game plans ]
had a better side than this year and won by 15 goals, played Bundoora and Northcote Park , Montmerency and beat them all by 15 to 20 goals.
boys , not little cow pads that there is no space to move to show your class and skill .Yes tough football is the DVFL ,EFL because its all in close, and alot more physical, bring the bulldogs to East Burwood Kingpoof and see if they can get there game plan going , but put the bulldogs on the dome a propper football ground and good night boys?all i am saying no jam is you think the gv is the best league outside vfl when a couple of other leagues have shown you up. vafa is clearly the best followed by the efl and the o&m. so get your head out of your arse and just admit that i am right. the practice games have proven that i am correct. you can say what you like but their are the facts.

Duff Man
2 Apr 2006, 21:13
boys , not little cow pads that there is no space to move to show your class and skill .Yes tough football is the DVFL ,EFL because its all in close, and alot more physical, bring the bulldogs to East Burwood Kingpoof and see if they can get there game plan going , but put the bulldogs on the dome a propper football ground and good night boys?

Well said , could not of said it better No Heart ?????????????

nomis#17
2 Apr 2006, 21:17
tige19 you seem to be in that know at tat, how did they go in there prac against the bears on the weekend? in particular how did a young fella by the name of brett scarcella go? heard he was suppose to be playing on matt byers?
Also did ryan butler play seniors and how did he go?

No Heart
2 Apr 2006, 21:27
all i am saying no jam is you think the gv is the best league outside vfl when a couple of other leagues have shown you up. vafa is clearly the best followed by the efl and the o&m. so get your head out of your arse and just admit that i am right. the practice games have proven that i am correct. you can say what you like but their are the facts.

No your right Kingfooty , you are simply the best, just taken my head out of my arse and I am sorry for totally getting it wrong.? I have no idea .

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 21:33
No your right Kingfooty , you are simply the best, just taken my head out of my arse and I am sorry for totally getting it wrong.? I have no idea .thats ok no jam. i am only here to help.

Duff Man
2 Apr 2006, 21:34
all i am saying no jam is you think the gv is the best league outside vfl when a couple of other leagues have shown you up. vafa is clearly the best followed by the efl and the o&m. so get your head out of your arse and just admit that i am right. the practice games have proven that i am correct. you can say what you like but their are the facts.

Kingfooty you are just the best, who do you play for, you must be a gun?

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 21:40
Kingfooty you are just the best, who do you play for, you must be a gun?the 3 answers to your questions are I know, used to play for a few different teams and leagues, i am.

No Heart
2 Apr 2006, 21:43
thats ok no jam. i am only here to help.

Kingfooty how can we make the GVFL as good as your comp? Even though we won the title last year, we are simply not up to scratch by your standards, Please help us all out here on the GVFL web site. Could you coach our rep side this year ??????????????????????

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 21:54
Kingfooty how can we make the GVFL as good as your comp? Even though we won the title last year, we are simply not up to scratch by your standards, Please help us all out here on the GVFL web site. Could you coach our rep side this year ??????????????????????at the moment the gv is better than my comp but if i did coach the gv i would not be saying stupid things like the gv being clearly the best league outside of the vfl when it is not. that statement should not have been said when it is not true. before you bring up being country champions that doesnt mean anything because the vafa have to field a side against the whole of vic country and the results are about even. vafa are easily the best.

mitch_fc
2 Apr 2006, 22:00
what can you guys tell me about Rochester? my footy club (Lower Plenty) plays up there this coming weekend. how did they go in 05, how will they go in 06 and whats their ground like?

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 22:01
what can you guys tell me about Rochester? my footy club (Lower Plenty) plays up there this coming weekend. how did they go in 05, how will they go in 06 and whats their ground like?get ready to get your arse pumped mitch.

fish1
2 Apr 2006, 22:08
Kingfooty, i have been following ur inlightened chat and noticed u still haven't told us any of ur credentials, so what have you been up to?

Also the vafa isnt the best league outside of the vfl. I have played their and it dosen't have the depth of the o&m or the gv. Yes they do have a good 5-8 stars in every team but then it drops away. Another thing is the rep game the blokes from the country don't seam to want to play where as the VAFA blokes love the oppurtunity thats why they have a good side, which has actually been beaten the last couple of yrs and was only saved from great embaressment last yr by joel rice.

mitch_fc
2 Apr 2006, 22:08
get ready to get your arse pumped mitch.
i probably won't be playing as i have injured my cocsix (coxsic, cocksic, arse) bone... which is quite ironic i guess..

i reckon we'll go ok.

muesli
2 Apr 2006, 22:20
Firstly:
Mitch, Rochester will pump your side Lower Plenty.

Pretty sure Kingfooty is with Heidelberg in the Diamond Valley FL.

Doona2
2 Apr 2006, 22:24
what can you guys tell me about Rochester? my footy club (Lower Plenty) plays up there this coming weekend. how did they go in 05, how will they go in 06 and whats their ground like?

10-15 goals Rochy's way easily Im tipping

kingfooty
2 Apr 2006, 22:26
10-15 goals Rochy's way easily Im tippingbecause it is at rochy i will say 20 goals but if it was at lower i would say only 10 sausages.

muesli
3 Apr 2006, 00:14
1. Just cos you play on bigger grounds doesn't mean the footys better, shouldn't a good team be able to play under any conditions not just on big grounds????

2. Thats excellent that you have such great media coverage but i don't see how media coverage make the standard in one league better then another league. May hype up a league though???

3. Agree to play on big grounds you need fast & skillful players.

Now i follow a team in Eastern FL (Not East Burwood), & you say we cant talk our league up till we have all teams play on big grounds, i think you should come into the real world. Eastern FL would be just as good as GVFL.

Just cos some teams play on smaller grounds doesn't mean the quality of football is any worse, yes it will probably be more physical on smaller grounds (not that i think East Burwood is a small gorund). Is that why Seymour lost? couldnt handle the physical pressure?

Now finally you say you have beaten East Burwood (last year), Montmorency, Bundoora, Northcote Park etc. all ok clubs in their competitions. Vermont have beaten the equivilant sides including a 99 point thumping of East Burwood last season & that wasn't a praccy game. So if you really want to brag about your team/competition take on Vermont or even Noble Park & see how good you really are.

HJ32
3 Apr 2006, 10:11
had a squizz at the Lightening premiership in Bendigo on Saturday. Rochy and Echuca won thru to the semi finals as expected. With Rochy going on to beat South Bendigo in the final.

The most impressive part of Rochy's game was their half back line with Pappin, Bowen and Smidt. Bowen in particular very good with his skills off half back. Pappin reads the play pretty well.

Echuca were an interesting one. Butts and X Campbell (Durie didnt play) dominated in the middle in all their games. Jamus Campbell was pretty good up half forward along with J Maddox. Probably the most disappointing was boom recruit Steven White. He's a monster of a man but looked slow at some stages and struggled to play infront of his opponant who looked about 2 ft smaller than him.. Hopefully for Echuca he will get better - early stages I suppose.

The Cat
3 Apr 2006, 10:33
Wondering if there were any injuries to report from the weekends practice matches. Heard that one of Tat's new recruits may have got a punctured lung, but wasn't given any names. Maybe tige19 could clarify?

centreman
3 Apr 2006, 12:00
The O&M certainly has the bragging rights from the weekend
These are the practice match scores from The Border Mail

LAVINGTON 4.2 6.7 9.9 15.12 (102)

SHEPP UNITED 2.2 4.4 7.4 8.5 (53)

Goals: LAVINGTON: P Sanson 3, McKimmie 3, Banks 3, Stevens 3, Brown, Bahr, Brauer. SHEPP UNITED: Forys 2, Round 2, Cowman, Eddy, McLarty, Smith.

Best: LAVINGTON: Butler, Stevens, Brown, Pendergast, Banks, B. Aalbers. SHEPP UNITED: Cowman, Eddy, Gillespie, M. Barlow, Forys.

YARRAWONGA 4.5 6.7 11.11 15.13 (103)

EUROA 1.1 3.6 3.6 4.12 (36)

Goals: YARRAWONGA: Hargreaves 3, Ednie 3, Lonergan 2, Bigger 2, C. Runnalls 2, Leslie, Hammond, Church. EUROA: Hyatt 2, Tubb, Gilliland.

Best: YARRAWONGA: Wollington, Ednie, Gallagher, Furlan, Bourke, C. Runnalls, O’Bryan, Leslie, Frawley. EUROA: Clark, Stott, Watson, Sage, Hyatt.

COROWA-R’GLEN 4.0 7.4 12.4 13.7 (85)

MANSFIELD 1.2 1.3 4.5 5.8 (38)

Goals: COROWA-R’GLEN: Schmidt 3, Newman 3, Ambrose 2, O’Neill, Witherden, Joyce, J. Seymour, Woods. MANSFIELD: Hotton 2, Reynoldson 2, Walker.

Best: COROWA-R’GLEN: Kuschert, Joyce, Sibraa, Schmidt, Moffatt. MANSFIELD: Walker, Sheahan, Jones, Hotton, Reynoldson.

WODONGA RAIDERS 1.0 4.0 8.2 14.3 (87)

SHEPP SWANS 2.4 6.7 7.8 11.14 (80)

Goals: WODONGA RAIDERS: M. Thompson 3, McMartin 2, Fife 2, Edmondson 2, Cusworth 2, Doolan, Paola, Storey. SHEPP SWANS: McCarty 6, McGuinnes, Rowston, Barton, Trickey, White.

Best: WODONGA RAIDERS: Doolan, Fife, Edmondson, M. Thompson, Kahlefeldt, G. Corcoran. SHEPP SWANS: McCarty, White, Ryan, Ubergang, Montgomery,

BENALLA 3.3 6.6 10.9 14.10 (94)

WANGARATTA 1.3 4.4 4.5 8.6 (54)

Goals: BENALLA: Symes 4, Cole 2, Wright 2, Shiels, Van Sheik, Sharp, Brennan, D Symes, Rockliff, WANGARATTA: Sims 3, Hayes, Mullins, Gannon, Gamze, D. McCormick.

Best: BENALLA: Porter, Shiels, Joyce, Fahey, Cooper, Symes. WANGARATTA: D Steel, Sims, D. Porter, Gamze, Mullins, Symons.

Pace is an Asset
3 Apr 2006, 12:13
Please gentlemen, this discussion on whose league is better is taking up far too much valuable space in this forum.
I would like to point out that comparing leagues is like comparing teams and players of different era's, one can never know how well one side would adapt to the conditions that are prevalent in another competition or another era. Is Hird better than ******** Reynolds, Shaq better than Wilt Chamberlain, Steve Waugh's Aussies than Bradman's Invincibles? No one can truly answer these questions.
I would aslo think that everyone would agree that using practice match form as a yardstick for the strength of teams and competitions is inherently fraught with danger. While the discussion of such issues is a fertile ground for lively debate, no one should be so naive as to stick their head in the sand and say that their league is the most dominant in Victoria. There will always be certain variables, money and distance for example, that will give certain competitions an advantage over others.
As long as you are happy with the standard of football that is put on display each week when you put down your hard earned dollar for entry at the gate then is there really a need to try to put one league on a pedestal over another?
Let us all just hope that the AFL continues to pump money and resources into local footy to ensure that the many great leagues and clubs around Victoria can continue to provide us all with great enjoyment, and sometimes great despair, on weekends throughout the winter months.

centreman
3 Apr 2006, 12:38
Time to get it started.

My top six

Benalla, Euroa, Seymour, Mooroopna, Echuca, Shepp United.

Premier: Benalla

Morrison Medal: Mark Porter (benalla) - going along the lines of the recent trend of ruckman to win the medal.

Goalkicking: Scott Grainger (110 goals for Euroa)

Wooden spoon: Shepp Bears.

Interested in what the other GVFL thread regulars have to say.

Flat Track Bully
3 Apr 2006, 13:49
Time to get it started.

My top six

Morrison Medal: Mark Porter (benalla) - going along the lines of the recent trend of ruckman to win the medal.

2001- Craig Sholl
2002- Jarrod Sutherland
2003- Rhys Archard/S.R Ash
2004- Shane Schottner
2005- Matt Byers

The every second year trend Centreman, I like your thinking...

centreman
3 Apr 2006, 14:13
2001- Craig Sholl
2002- Jarrod Sutherland
2003- Rhys Archard/S.R Ash
2004- Shane Schottner
2005- Matt Byers

The every second year trend Centreman, I like your thinking...

It's not every second year, but you can go back to Stephen Orr in 1997 and Ty Esler in 1995 as well.

The umps seem to love the big men of the competition.

cationer
3 Apr 2006, 14:22
Bit suprised that you dont have rochester in your six from the weekend they looked pretty strong in the lightening premiership in bendigo on the weekend taking out the title.

no left foot
3 Apr 2006, 14:33
Bit suprised that you dont have rochester in your six from the weekend they looked pretty strong in the lightening premiership in bendigo on the weekend taking out the title.

Yeah, that would be a good form line, Echuca took half a side, Rochy had a few out and even the Bendigo sides had numerous players out. The games were apparently 2, 15 minute halves in very blustery conditions. Rochy might make the six (though I personally dont think so), but the lightning premiership in Bendigo from all reports was a bit of a laugh in the end.

centreman
3 Apr 2006, 15:10

I gotta lot of respect for the Tigers, and I know they've picked up a couple. But I think David Williams's message is going to get tired sooner or later. I write them off at my own peril though, I know that.

Doozy_Man
3 Apr 2006, 16:50
I see that Rochy beat Echuca in the lightning premiership on the weeekend. That means nothing at all. Rochy will get pumped during the year. I hate to say that because i admire their die hard attitude but we have to be realistic here. Echuca will also get pumped if they have 2 or 3 injuries to thier senior line up. If they can stay injury free they will make the finals, just.

I had a look at the departures from Echuca and boy has there been a mass exodus! Alot of 2's players leaving the club and only 2 or 3 senior players. So the depth will be a talking point i think.

Kyabram have not been talked about much! Might be a good thing i suppose. . .

ORANGE BOY
3 Apr 2006, 17:54
Time to get it started.

My top six

Goalkicking: Scott Grainger (110 goals for Euroa)

Wooden spoon: Shepp Bears.

Interested in what the other GVFL thread regulars have to say.

Big Call saying shepp bears will get the wooden spoon. I watched the game against tat on the weekend which shepp won by about 7 goals i think.. with the likes of Matt Byers, Anthony Mellington, Nick Allen and a few others not playing i think we are in for a few suprises form the bears.

ECHUCABOY
3 Apr 2006, 18:08
Wow didn't the seymour boys pipe up, settle down boys its only a 2 point loss........although could be early signs of a premiership hangover......;)

No Heart your kidding yourself if you think East burwoods ground is small, it would be atleast the same size as Mansfields, if not bigger.

Also mate you cant say that the GVFL is better because they play on bigger grounds and need fitter and more skillfull players. Currently in most suburban leagues, definetly in the Eastern FL there are 3 grounds which would be equal in size to say....deakin reserve and all the finals are played on these size grounds.

Teams in surburban footy need to play on both large and small grounds week in week out, so if your boys couldn't adjust to the size of a ground which is not small, I think your trying to hard to find excuses...........;)

Cheers

Zazu99
3 Apr 2006, 18:21
I agree with orange boy on the shepp bears. Going on the form they showed in the match against tat on the weekend, they looked alright, moved the ball well to two good forwards who finished off with 10 goals between them. With the likes of mellington, byres and allan plus five others to come in to the side for round 1, a few surprises may be on the cards. Sorry centreman i think your wrong, tat for the wooden spoon.

Doona2
3 Apr 2006, 18:22
Doona's top six before a ball is bounced

Euroa, Seymour, Benalla, Mooroopna, then Shepp United, Rochy or Echuca

Morrison Medal: Paul Kirby (Tatura) - if the Doggies can win a few more games in 2006 Id love to see me old mate win it. Has been a very consistent player the past few seasons.

Goalkicking: Symes (Benalla) or Gordon (Seymour), think both can get a ton.

Wooden spoon: Kyabram (based on the transfers pages)

No Heart
3 Apr 2006, 18:33
Wow didn't the seymour boys pipe up, settle down boys its only a 2 point loss........although could be early signs of a premiership hangover......;)

No Heart your kidding yourself if you think East burwoods ground is small, it would be atleast the same size as Mansfields, if not bigger.

Also mate you cant say that the GVFL is better because they play on bigger grounds and need fitter and more skillfull players. Currently in most suburban leagues, definetly in the Eastern FL there are 3 grounds which would be equal in size to say....deakin reserve and all the finals are played on these size grounds.

Teams in surburban footy need to play on both large and small grounds week in week out, so if your boys couldn't adjust to the size of a ground which is not small, I think your trying to hard to find excuses...........;)

Cheers

Well said Echucaboy, its a pity we have one alias No Heart with No Idea?????

bradrowe#32
3 Apr 2006, 20:19
I see that Rochy beat Echuca in the lightning premiership on the weeekend. That means nothing at all. Rochy will get pumped during the year. I hate to say that because i admire their die hard attitude but we have to be realistic here. Echuca will also get pumped if they have 2 or 3 injuries to thier senior line up. If they can stay injury free they will make the finals, just.

I had a look at the departures from Echuca and boy has there been a mass exodus! Alot of 2's players leaving the club and only 2 or 3 senior players. So the depth will be a talking point i think.

Kyabram have not been talked about much! Might be a good thing i suppose. . .

Who's going to pump them? There are only 3 stand out teams and the rest are pretty even.

I think you'll find the club will view the lightening premiership win as a very positive result for the club. Firstly, they played a lot of young guys and secondly, the club gets a $2000 cheque. Hardly worth turning your nose up at.

tige19
3 Apr 2006, 21:51
I agree with orange boy on the shepp bears. Going on the form they showed in the match against tat on the weekend, they looked alright, moved the ball well to two good forwards who finished off with 10 goals between them. With the likes of mellington, byres and allan plus five others to come in to the side for round 1, a few surprises may be on the cards. Sorry centreman i think your wrong, tat for the wooden spoon.

Shepp Bears where good on the weekend, Mellington and Byres where the only 2 of note to miss, they fielded a very strong side. We had 6 senior boys not playing including Marty Mcragth and Trav Ryan only played a quarter which he kicked 2 goals and looked the goods. Scores at 3qtr time where even and we basically played the last qtr with 17 players with a few of the better players coming of (Mcdonald,Wellington,Polly etc). However they look better than what people are giving them credit for and i would think they will win a few more games than they wont this year.

Interested to see that most of the GV sides got flogged by O&M teams, would have thought it might have been a bit more even.

Echucaboy, howd you go on the weekend?? get a few Ps??

cheers

nomis#17
3 Apr 2006, 22:03
tige19, how did young fella's bret scarcella and ryan butler go for tat?

tige19
4 Apr 2006, 10:10
tige19, how did young fella's bret scarcella and ryan butler go for tat?

Scarcy went alright, i rate the guy, he seems to be lighting and when he learns the ropes a bit and knows where to run and make some better decisions when he has the pill i reckon he could be a genuine gun. I know the club really rates him and i think you will see him play pretty much in the ones, he has a heap of talent. How did he go at Ky last year?

Ryan Butler is a gem, if he doesnt play Bushies then i think you will see a fair bit of him with us. Is very small but it doesnt seem to bother him, no way out of his depth at GV senior level and by playing seniors i would think it wouldnt be long before his a regular at TAC.

cheers

ECHUCABOY
4 Apr 2006, 13:21
hey mate think we got done by a goal, had about 10 out and after half time rotated blokes through the bench. I nearly touched the ball once......;)

Good to hear the all conquering Euegene "poffa" Caseys knee has come good for Echuca.

ECHUCABOY
4 Apr 2006, 13:21
hey mate think we got done by a goal, had about 10 out and after half time rotated blokes through the bench. I nearly touched the ball once......;)

Good to hear the all conquering Euegene "poffa" Caseys knee has come good for Echuca.

nomis#17
4 Apr 2006, 21:32
How did he go at Ky last year?

scarc started in a blaze of gorly in his first game for the club playing in the senior, getting third best or so, wasn't able to follow it up the next week unfortunatly. Came back to the thirds for the rest of the year then and plated consistant footy to pick the b&f and help them into the granny.

His down fall is the effort he puts in, he has real potential. i think someone has just got to get him to realise that, which could be a tough ask

inlimbo
5 Apr 2006, 15:07
Just wondering if any seymour people (grandale), could update me on why pete pap is wearing an arm brace whilst playing footy??? Have it on good auhority he believes it makes him run faster, something to do with wind resistance. Is this true? The other rumour floating around is that he see's it as a fashion statement to make up for his brothers lack of fashion! (Rip Quale)

Johnny Tapp
5 Apr 2006, 22:28
i probably won't be playing as i have injured my cocsix (coxsic, cocksic, arse) bone... which is quite ironic i guess..

i reckon we'll go ok.

Whilst I haven't seen lower plenty play, I don't think Rochy will be a force this year so don't know where the "you'll get pumped" is coming from.

Watched Rochy play in the BFL lightning p'ship last week and while they won they were not fantasic.... Only had to win 4 games (2 x 15min halves) to win the lot....

It may be a longer year than people expect for Rochy...

cookie33
6 Apr 2006, 14:02
Heard on the grape vine that Shepp Swans and Tatura are in a bidding war for 2 aboriginal brothers who play for Wanderes in NT. Apparentley 1 of which one the league medal a year or so back and the other came very close this year.
If money is the sole motivation for the 2 brothers then you would think Tat would hold the upper hand, however should they be seaking full time employment it seems as though Mr.Bott likes to help out these Shepp sides, eg Jeremy Obrien and Lochy Veale.
At this stage ive been given the mail that Tatura have the inside running as the Wanderes president is an ex Bulldog man. Second hand info fellas but i know for sure that the brothers will either be at Swans or Bulldogs. Anyone else heard anything about it?? you would think that which ever team signs the 2 would move alot closer to finals action.

journeyman
6 Apr 2006, 14:55
Heard on the grape vine that Shepp Swans and Tatura are in a bidding war for 2 aboriginal brothers who play for Wanderes in NT. Apparentley 1 of which one the league medal a year or so back and the other came very close this year.
If money is the sole motivation for the 2 brothers then you would think Tat would hold the upper hand, however should they be seaking full time employment it seems as though Mr.Bott likes to help out these Shepp sides, eg Jeremy Obrien and Lochy Veale.
At this stage ive been given the mail that Tatura have the inside running as the Wanderes president is an ex Bulldog man. Second hand info fellas but i know for sure that the brothers will either be at Swans or Bulldogs. Anyone else heard anything about it?? you would think that which ever team signs the 2 would move alot closer to finals action.

Are they the Maher brothers??? I know Swans were chasing them but last I heard they had gone to Nth Adeladie. There's huge wraps. If Swans lost them to Tat they would be fuming as i know they've put in a power of work. The president and another official have been up there separately at different times. Again I don't know if these are the same brothers.

The Swans have been chasing a lot from up Darwin and expect to get a few more this week although you never know. One thing the swans do have is a good relationship with the league.

cookie33
6 Apr 2006, 16:01
Are they the Maher brothers??? I know Swans were chasing them but last I heard they had gone to Nth Adeladie. There's huge wraps. If Swans lost them to Tat they would be fuming as i know they've put in a power of work. The president and another official have been up there separately at different times. Again I don't know if these are the same brothers.

The Swans have been chasing a lot from up Darwin and expect to get a few more this week although you never know. One thing the swans do have is a good relationship with the league.

Mate to be honest i have no idea there names i was just chatting to a couple of fellas that are involved at Tat fairly heavily and they seem to be quite confident of landing them. Also speaking to a Swans player and he also said that they where confident of getting them.
All i know is that they come from Wanderes and are deadset stars, with the GV being open fast paced football you would think that they would be in the top echolan of player running around.
Either side weather that be Tat or Swans if they manage to land the 2 of them it would really push either 1 of them to within the top 4 or 5 sides. At the moment i would probably have the Swans and Tat just outside the finals so these 2 boys would be crucial.

gazza12
6 Apr 2006, 17:21
i dont no if anyones got the time but it would be good to get a ins and outs
on all clubs similiar to whats at the start of this thread

kingfooty
6 Apr 2006, 19:04
Whilst I haven't seen lower plenty play, I don't think Rochy will be a force this year so don't know where the "you'll get pumped" is coming from.

Watched Rochy play in the BFL lightning p'ship last week and while they won they were not fantasic.... Only had to win 4 games (2 x 15min halves) to win the lot....

It may be a longer year than people expect for Rochy...thats why you should not put your goose head in. I have seen both sides so i can make a "you'll get pumped" comment. so now you know where it came from. get some more information before posting d ickhead.

No Heart
7 Apr 2006, 17:26
pretty quiet on this thread lately guys. must be the calm before the storm next weekend? anyway just thought i'd post some crap to get us back up to the top of the page. also looks like cocksuckingfootyfag is now a guru of all things relating to rochy?

tige19
7 Apr 2006, 17:52
pretty quiet on this thread lately guys. must be the calm before the storm next weekend? anyway just thought i'd post some crap to get us back up to the top of the page. also looks like cocksuckingfootyfag is now a guru of all things relating to rochy?

Agree mate, whats the g-o here lads ?? no news, nothing? is everyone heading out this weekend to get on the juice before season proper next week??

The EDFL thread is quickly gaining speed and it wouldnt be to long before it over takes i would think............

Anyway its Friday arvo im out, peace.

cheers

Doona2
7 Apr 2006, 18:44

Calm before the storm alright, everyone I talk to about footy is mentioning the drive to Euroa next Saturday, hope the Euroa boys put it on the committee to up the catering. I dont mind a graze at the footy and Im gunna be $hitty if they run out early before i get a chance to swoop.

Someone from Seymour tell me what's the go with Rattray? I heard the Bombers hooked him up with 3 different jobs and the longest he lasted at any was a week. Such a shame if the VFL experiment is over before it began. Where will he fit into the Lions set up around Saad, Gordo and the resting Schotty/Ben Bailey combo?

gta3
8 Apr 2006, 13:55
Seymours gun player Robbie Douglas has injured his knee and he will be out for 6 weeks. My theory is: "no Douglas no Seymour"

HawkeEye
8 Apr 2006, 16:48
Someone from Seymour tell me what's the go with Rattray? I heard the Bombers hooked him up with 3 different jobs and the longest he lasted at any was a week. Such a shame if the VFL experiment is over before it began. Where will he fit into the Lions set up around Saad, Gordo and the resting Schotty/Ben Bailey combo?[/QUOTE]

Apparently he can't seem to get the right modelling contract.

No Heart
8 Apr 2006, 21:06
Calm before the storm alright, everyone I talk to about footy is mentioning the drive to Euroa next Saturday, hope the Euroa boys put it on the committee to up the catering. I dont mind a graze at the footy and Im gunna be $hitty if they run out early before i get a chance to swoop.

Someone from Seymour tell me what's the go with Rattray? I heard the Bombers hooked him up with 3 different jobs and the longest he lasted at any was a week. Such a shame if the VFL experiment is over before it began. Where will he fit into the Lions set up around Saad, Gordo and the resting Schotty/Ben Bailey combo?

Paddy walked out on Bendigo about 2 weeks ago, and played a practice match with the lions. Bendigo are not to happy after giving him the world and Paddy then ********ing in there face, so bendigo will not clear him unless seymour pay $2,000 dollars , so at the moment both clubs are at a stand still and Paddy is in football limbo. Hope i have helped Doona ?

[ No Heart with an idea ]

Doona2
9 Apr 2006, 12:50
Paddy walked out on Bendigo about 2 weeks ago, and played a practice match with the lions. Bendigo are not to happy after giving him the world and Paddy then ********ing in there face, so bendigo will not clear him unless seymour pay $2,000 dollars , so at the moment both clubs are at a stand still and Paddy is in football limbo. Hope i have helped Doona ?

Talk of Rattray going to Wedderbun on another thread.

Enough of Patty, where under a week now until the first game, Im off to Euroa v Seymour and want some idea of match-up's, players to watch etc.

BYSTANDER
9 Apr 2006, 16:51
Doona

Expect to see the one of the softest ruckman to ever pull do the boots in the gv run around... D. Clarke...Expect Shottner to dominate. Expect euroa to go tall in the forward line, Is sage playing or not... Seymour will be quick across the ground, and should win.

will be a cracker of a game

Doona2
9 Apr 2006, 16:56
Doona

Expect to see the one of the softest ruckman to ever pull do the boots in the gv run around... D. Clarke...Expect Shottner to dominate. Expect euroa to go tall in the forward line, Is sage playing or not... Seymour will be quick across the ground, and should win.

will be a cracker of a game

Im sure the Euroa lads will be on here quick smart to defend their man about your "soft" tag BYSTANDER. gta3 may be onto something, the Lions will definately miss Chipper Douglas, but as for "No Douglas No Seymour" Im sure Steve has plenty of options.

Why you ask about Sage is there some doubt over him playing? Has Lamaro fronted to training yet, will Marcus Hill & Mark Mills be in action on Saturday?

Seeking Glory
9 Apr 2006, 17:01

Enough of Patty, where under a week now until the first game, Im off to Euroa v Seymour and want some idea of match-up's, players to watch etc.

Yeah i'll be there can't wait.

MATCH UP'S.

S.Clayton v Haberman with Clayton being BOG in G.F this should be another great shoot out.
Gibson v Penn both good players with such an impact on the game it will come down to the line to see who comes out on top.
Hyatt v Pilling should be a good contest going by what happened at the G.F last year.
Schottner v Janz can't say that janz will be able to shut down schotty, now Ben Baily is back he (janz) will have a tough time in the ruck.
Grainger v Anderson another good contest, this one will be won or lost with the delivery into the forward line.
Reid v Lamaro don't know if lamaro is playing but if he is, expect the seymour boys to ruff him up.
Gordon v ???? don't know if euroa his anyone who will be able to go with this bloke now with Harper gone, euroa's back line now looks a little bit of a miss match agaisnt the fire power of seymour.

Just some of my match up's, has anyone else got something to add.

Doona2
9 Apr 2006, 17:31

MATCH UP'S.

S.Clayton v Haberman with Clayton being BOG in G.F this should be another great shoot out.
Gibson v Penn both good players with such an impact on the game it will come down to the line to see who comes out on top.
Hyatt v Pilling should be a good contest going by what happened at the G.F last year.
Schottner v Janz can't say that janz will be able to shut down schotty, now Ben Baily is back he (janz) will have a tough time in the ruck.
Grainger v Anderson another good contest, this one will be won or lost with the delivery into the forward line.
Reid v Lamaro don't know if lamaro is playing but if he is, expect the seymour boys to ruff him up.
Gordon v ???? don't know if euroa his anyone who will be able to go with this bloke now with Harper gone, euroa's back line now looks a little bit of a miss match agaisnt the fire power of seymour.

Who will get the job on Rory Hilton? If this Clarke is as good as we're hearing then Hilton, Sage and even Clayton are gunna get their share of first crack at the ball. Robbie Inness used to get a weekly "run with" role for the Lions before falling out of favour . . . . could Inness#15 be a darkhorse for Hilton?

Seeking Glory
9 Apr 2006, 17:55

MATCH UP'S.

fat back pocket
9 Apr 2006, 18:50

didn't bendigo bring in the rule that you can still be affiliated with a GV club and play for the Bendigo Bombers? Or do you need to be with a Bendigo FL club?

I thought paddy was playing with bendigo (up until a few weeks ago) and had seymour as his local club?

Johnny Tapp
9 Apr 2006, 19:46
thats why you should not put your goose head in. I have seen both sides so i can make a "you'll get pumped" comment. so now you know where it came from. get some more information before posting d ickhead.

Good to see that King F'Wit is bang on the money again.... Like normal plenty to say but nothing worth listening to. Was speaking to some rochy boys sat night and they said they only got up by 5 goals - hardly the pumping the footy king expected...

Doona2
9 Apr 2006, 19:56
didn't bendigo bring in the rule that you can still be affiliated with a GV club and play for the Bendigo Bombers? Or do you need to be with a Bendigo FL club?

I thought paddy was playing with bendigo (up until a few weeks ago) and had seymour as his local club?

Dunno how it works FBP but didnt the Bombers try and set him up with some job offers etc and he's chucke it in . . . . I maybe wrong but thats what I was told. If he does line up at Seymour round one Id expect him to be a bit strong in the air at reserves level and a certainty for a lazy 5-6 sausage rolls.

kingfooty
9 Apr 2006, 20:52
Good to see that King F'Wit is bang on the money again.... Like normal plenty to say but nothing worth listening too. Was speaking to some rochy boys sat night and they said they only got up by 5 goals - hardly the pumping the footy king expected...did rochy have a good side in or did they have only there u18s in like every other gv side when they play practice matches? I would expect that if rochy played their best side in they should win by 20 goals like I said. if rochy did have a good side in then the standard of the gv outside of the top 3 is in question. lower are a very ordinary side in the dv having relegated after getting pumped all year aswell as losing some top line players. so which story is it either I was right in saying that rochy should win by 20 goals with their best side in or is the standard of footy outside of the top 3 or 4 in the gv very ordinary. i look forward to a response especially since that your the best league outside vfl and all.

ps north heid pumped east burwood yesterday

mitch_fc
9 Apr 2006, 21:07
Rochy beat Lower Plenty yesterday, but it wasn't as one way as some might have thought. Lower went in without 2 of its better players and gave a few young fellas a run. Rochy was definately a better side, but I think Lower will not be easy beats like they were in 2005. The ground up there has massive wings, but isn't too much bigger than a DVFL ground. It was noticably hard though, and quite a few of our boys pulled up sore, and a few got injured and couldnt get through the match. Mitch_fc was the runner again...

kingfooty
9 Apr 2006, 21:16
Rochy beat Lower Plenty yesterday, but it wasn't as one way as some might have thought. Lower went in without 2 of its better players and gave a few young fellas a run. Rochy was definately a better side, but I think Lower will not be easy beats like they were in 2005. The ground up there has massive wings, but isn't too much bigger than a DVFL ground. It was noticably hard though, and quite a few of our boys pulled up sore, and a few got injured and couldnt get through the match. Mitch_fc was the runner again...of course you wont be easybeats this year mitch because your in divvy 2. round 1 should be a cracker.

Johnny Tapp
9 Apr 2006, 21:35
did rochy have a good side in or did they have only there u18s in like every other gv side when they play practice matches? I would expect that if rochy played their best side in they should win by 20 goals like I said. if rochy did have a good side in then the standard of the gv outside of the top 3 is in question. lower are a very ordinary side in the dv having relegated after getting pumped all year aswell as losing some top line players. so which story is it either I was right in saying that rochy should win by 20 goals with their best side in or is the standard of footy outside of the top 3 or 4 in the gv very ordinary. i look forward to a response especially since that your the best league outside vfl and all.

ps north heid pumped east burwood yesterday

Surprised you don't know the in and outs for the Rochy team yourself considering what an expert you are on every side in every league of country victoria.

Rochy had a few guys out but as stated in an earlier post Rochy may have a tough year. Now going off your previous posts, Rochy beating lower plenty would indicate that GVFL is stronger than DVFL - you know with the practice games indicate league strength and all that cr@p.....

There will definately be top 4 or 5 sides in the GVFL then the teams will drop away this year - Rochy will be trying to get the 6th spot for the finals...

PS. The North Heidelberg website is cr@p

mitch_fc
9 Apr 2006, 21:46
of course you wont be easybeats this year mitch because your in divvy 2. round 1 should be a cracker.
yeah, i believe we will have a better side than last year anyway. will be tougher to get a game.

mitch_fc
9 Apr 2006, 21:47
[QUOTE=Johnny Tapp

PS. The North Heidelberg website is cr@p[/QUOTE]
what u think of the Lower Plenty one?

mitch_fc
9 Apr 2006, 21:48
[QUOTE=Johnny Tapp

PS. The North Heidelberg website is cr@p[/QUOTE]
what u think of the Lower Plenty one?

kingfooty
9 Apr 2006, 22:02
Surprised you don't know the in and outs for the Rochy team yourself considering what an expert you are on every side in every league of country victoria.

Rochy had a few guys out but as stated in an earlier post Rochy may have a tough year. Now going off your previous posts, Rochy beating lower plenty would indicate that GVFL is stronger than DVFL - you know with the practice games indicate league strength and all that cr@p.....

There will definately be top 4 or 5 sides in the GVFL then the teams will drop away this year - Rochy will be trying to get the 6th spot for the finals...

PS. The North Heidelberg website is cr@p i have stated numerous times that i thought that the gv standard is a bit stronger. but if what your saying is true that rochy just beat lower with a good side in and that they will make the 6 then maybe you have just changed my mind. that confirms to me that the standard outside the top 6 in the gv must have fallen away a hell of a lot. if you would like to stick up for your league then i suggest you dont post because you are making a fool of yourself and misrepresenting your league. If you would like to learn more about the game of footy then read my posts.

joshooaa
10 Apr 2006, 10:42
i have stated numerous times that i thought that the gv standard is a bit stronger. but if what your saying is true that rochy just beat lower with a good side in and that they will make the 6 then maybe you have just changed my mind. that confirms to me that the standard outside the top 6 in the gv must have fallen away a hell of a lot. if you would like to stick up for your league then i suggest you dont post because you are making a fool of yourself and misrepresenting your league. If you would like to learn more about the game of footy then read my posts.

Its simple Kingfooty. Seymour loses to East Burwood, East Burwood loses to North Heidelberg - DVFL is stronger than GVFL. Problem solved guys!

TuskenRaider
10 Apr 2006, 11:12
i have stated numerous times that i thought that the gv standard is a bit stronger. but if what your saying is true that rochy just beat lower with a good side in and that they will make the 6 then maybe you have just changed my mind. that confirms to me that the standard outside the top 6 in the gv must have fallen away a hell of a lot. if you would like to stick up for your league then i suggest you dont post because you are making a fool of yourself and misrepresenting your league. If you would like to learn more about the game of footy then read my posts.
You really are keen to denigrate the standard of the GVFL Kingfooty. I'm not too sure why.

It is very hard to judge leagues and teams by one off practice games and whilst it is of course better to win these games than lose them, you can get peculiar results at times. If a club could play a whole season at a different league you would get a much fairer indication. And then you have variables like clubs being down for a few seasons, or vice verca making it all fairly subjective.

The main problem with all of this speculation is the fact that people generally are fairly biased in their view of their own league and this will always cloud people's judgements.

ringo1
10 Apr 2006, 12:27
Tusken you have made some very good points. Even interleague games are not a true indicator as most leagues can readily find 24 topliners. Its the next 24 and so on that give you the depth of the talent in the league. :)

bradrowe#32
10 Apr 2006, 14:13
You really are keen to denigrate the standard of the GVFL Kingfooty. I'm not too sure why.

It is very hard to judge leagues and teams by one off practice games and whilst it is of course better to win these games than lose them, you can get peculiar results at times. If a club could play a whole season at a different league you would get a much fairer indication. And then you have variables like clubs being down for a few seasons, or vice verca making it all fairly subjective.

The main problem with all of this speculation is the fact that people generally are fairly biased in their view of their own league and this will always cloud people's judgements.

Completely agree Tusken. Most practice games I've played in or watched over the years have been little more a good hit-out for the veterans or a chance for the young players to prove themselves against men. Clubs do take them semi-seriously, but only to get a good game into the players.

I'm not really sure why kingfooty is so keen to compare leagues etc. It's a pretty pointless exercise. I'm happy with the standard of the GV, as are most around here. I couldn't care less about how it stands up against Melbourne leagues, as I have no interest and will probably never watch a game of it.

bradrowe#32
10 Apr 2006, 14:20
i dont no if anyones got the time but it would be good to get a ins and outs
on all clubs similiar to whats at the start of this thread

Cookie did an excellent preview on page 285 of this thread and I did one on page 284.

The one cookie did is better than mine because he is a lot cooler than me!:thumbsu:

inlimbo
10 Apr 2006, 14:20
Im sure the Euroa lads will be on here quick smart to defend their man about your "soft" tag BYSTANDER. gta3 may be onto something, the Lions will definately miss Chipper Douglas, but as for "No Douglas No Seymour" Im sure Steve has plenty of options.

Why you ask about Sage is there some doubt over him playing? Has Lamaro fronted to training yet, will Marcus Hill & Mark Mills be in action on Saturday?

Seymour will definately miss the run created by douglas, along with his defensive pressure. Pilling may end up taking a key-post down back or Dave Brockway???

BYSTANDER
10 Apr 2006, 16:41
Doona you cant be serious about the Inness-Hilton run with role... please ive always thought you to be a very bright football minded person but this is a little far fetched...

hilton will either get, scarlon,o,keefe maybe king or b,liddel... not inness...

is the douglas injury confirmed yet?

fat back pocket
10 Apr 2006, 17:23
Doona you cant be serious about the Inness-Hilton run with role... please ive always thought you to be a very bright football minded person but this is a little far fetched...

douglas will miss this week i'd suspect.

Rattray will be playing with seymour in 2006. Not sure what is going on with the whole bendigo pay-back thing, but he is living in melbourne and working full time with SJD...so i can't imagine he would play anywhere but seymour.

He has missed a lot of pre-season with a knee and ankle injury, so i don't think we'll see him in the ones straight up...but once he gets right into it, could provide the forward line with a bit of extra bite.

Doona2
10 Apr 2006, 19:30

Appreciate your sentiments BYSTANDER especially as I have no idea to your identity. Look Im a mate & a big Robbie Inness fan & would love to see him in action on Saturday thats all.

Douglas is a definite ommission, caught up with him yesterday will be definite 4-6 week loss for the Lions.

PLAYER15
10 Apr 2006, 20:06
Word around a few football circles in Brad Mellington, {brother of Shepp Bears forward Anthony} is pulling on the boots this season. Is a big framed lad and can kick the pill. Massive fitness fanatic, good athletic type. Just wondering if any of the Shepp boys can confirm Brad as a starter for the Bears???

nomis#17
10 Apr 2006, 20:52
ky took on mooroopna in a prac match on the weekend and i think to many peoples surprise they came up trumps, winning by about 3-4 goals.
With both teams having noteable players out, ky(newman, taylor, ciavola, seriakowsi?) and mooroopna from what i could tell(campbell x2, hall, and a couple of other recruites.
Ky put in there best showing so far playing some good footy with heath barnett kicking 4 or 5 majiors(looking good), nunn was in for his first hitout for the club was very impressive in the ruck, looks to have a bit of a dodgy knee by will definitly help out in a big way with the tall stocks at ky. V.j singh was sent off after throwing a cheap shot out of what looked like frustration of not getting a kick, but did come back to kick 2-3 goals. Norman was ok for them, but only in patch, was playing in the ruck at one stage which was interesting to see.
On a bad note for ky dustin brown when down with a knee injury and looks like he could be gone with his third reco in as many years.
i believe ky is in about the same positon as they were last year personal wise but mooroopna will be better then they were last year when they all come together

Doona2
10 Apr 2006, 22:51
Just noticed that Mick Sheils has applied to be cleared from Seymour home to Nagambie. Plenty to offer and will dominate in the KDFL, unfortunately due to the Lion's great depth the past 2-3 years he hasn't been able to crack a regular gig.

Sidey_87
10 Apr 2006, 22:57
Word around a few football circles in Brad Mellington, {brother of Shepp Bears forward Anthony} is pulling on the boots this season. Is a big framed lad and can kick the pill. Massive fitness fanatic, good athletic type. Just wondering if any of the Shepp boys can confirm Brad as a starter for the Bears???
Played 2's for Tally a few years back.
Wouldn't play Shepp one's unless he's improved out of sight.

cookie33
11 Apr 2006, 11:20
Interested to see that Kyabram beat Mooroopna on the weekend, i would think looking at the boys that didnt play for both sides that they would have been fairly even in importance for both sides. Are Ky a real underdog??, also is the big Nunn the bloke that played at St.Patts in school footy and Nth Ballarat 18s and seniors?? if so he will be a very handy footballer, is built like a tank and can tak a grab, stands at about 193cm so can play forward and ruck...... a very big recruit for the club.
Also got word that Sunburys premiership full back Steven Sparry is on his up the Hume to play with Tatura, the guy is probably about 6ft3 (192cm) and has a really good build as well as being a jumping machine. If true that he is heading up to Tat then it would be a massive get for the club, would be in the top half dozen full backs running in the GV.
Has anyone got word on the results for Mansfields practise matches? i have heard nothing on them, did they even play?

Doona2
11 Apr 2006, 11:36
C'mon lads 4 more sleeps until the big clash . . . what our peoples thoughts on the grand final rematch?

Im going the Lions by under 10 points, although Im a tad weary of Douglas not being down back.
Joffa will have Grainger covered no worries, and I cant see the Maggies having the numbers to go with Saad, Gordon, Rattray if he plays and the resting Bailey/Schottner combination. Looking forward to watching Hilton, Clayton and one of my faves Sage in action, as well as new Lions Gordo, Colbert adn Scanlon.

inlimbo
11 Apr 2006, 13:45
Just noticed that Mick Sheils has applied to be cleared from Seymour home to Nagambie. Plenty to offer and will dominate in the KDFL, unfortunately due to the Lion's great depth the past 2-3 years he hasn't been able to crack a regular gig.

Are you sure it wasn't for a permit for last weekends clash with avenal doona? Just got off the phone with him then after reading your post and he is still playing for the lions this year... hopefully they realise he is an important part of the future (having not even turned 21) and give him greater opportunities to prove himself!

Junkie
11 Apr 2006, 14:25
C'mon lads 4 more sleeps until the big clash . . . what our peoples thoughts on the grand final rematch?

Im going the Lions by under 10 points, although Im a tad weary of Douglas not being down back.
Joffa will have Grainger covered no worries, and I cant see the Maggies having the numbers to go with Saad, Gordon, Rattray if he plays and the resting Bailey/Schottner combination. Looking forward to watching Hilton, Clayton and one of my faves Sage in action, as well as new Lions Gordo, Colbert adn Scanlon.

I think Ash Thomson will be a big inclusion to the pies defence and there may be a few people underestimating his ability. Not sure but i'd say he might get the job on Gordon. Is Gordon hard at it? Or is he likely to drop his head if he cops a few?

Doona2
11 Apr 2006, 16:49
Are you sure it wasn't for a permit for last weekends clash with avenal doona? Just got off the phone with him then after reading your post and he is still playing for the lions this year... hopefully they realise he is an important part of the future (having not even turned 21) and give him greater opportunities to prove himself!

I hope this is the case inlimbo . . . didnt think the paperwork as such went through the same channels as normal clearances for match permits. If I made a blue Im sorry for reading the page wrong and consider myself and ill informed tool :eek:

BYSTANDER
11 Apr 2006, 17:41
Doona apologies for early comments regarding inness...didnt mean it wrongly toward robert but he is hardly in the calabra of hilton... I hope robert has a good year saw him smash trenqullie last year but he is a backman struggle in the main play... do you reckon he will be a ones player or in and out...

and junkie i dare you to give gordon a few saw him a few years back in the eastern league..hardly some one to pick on but go ahead will make paying the entry fee worth every cent

ill back the lions to donna, but will be a close game

Junkie
11 Apr 2006, 19:22
and junkie i dare you to give gordon a few saw him a few years back in the eastern league..hardly some one to pick on but go ahead will make paying the entry fee worth every cent

ill back the lions to donna, but will be a close game

I dont play BYSTANDER, was just wondering what sort of character he is. He is a pretty big unit isn't he?

Seeking Glory
11 Apr 2006, 19:28

mick sheilds ask for a match permit but you can't get one to play in a lower leauge, so he got cleard to nagambie and then he will get cleard back to seymour.

Seeking Glory
11 Apr 2006, 19:38

mick sheilds ask for a match permit but you can't get one to play in a lower leauge, so he got cleared to nagambie and then he will get cleared back to seymour.

Doona2
11 Apr 2006, 19:51
I dont play BYSTANDER, was just wondering what sort of character he is. He is a pretty big unit isn't he?

Nah not at all Junkie you'd have his measure :thumbsu:

Zippa
11 Apr 2006, 21:47
ok boys round 1 is fast approaching so who can give us a round 1 preview?

Doona2
11 Apr 2006, 22:20
ok boys round 1 is fast approaching so who can give us a round 1 preview?

I was kinda hoping Eric Bottom might make a guest appearance for teh first round of the year, reckon he'd have some inside mail for us.