View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Doona2
19 Apr 2006, 22:46
might be wrong but I think he is playing for the geelong vfl side, and played there a bit last year also.

Yeah I knew that but thought he had actually put in a clearance to Wangaratta in the Ovens & Murray for when he wasn't required at the Cattery

up there
20 Apr 2006, 13:42
just seen in the boder mail Ricky Symes is out he has had arthroscopic surgery this week on his knee. Macfarlane said they are hoping to have him back for round 4 aganist shepp

gazza12
20 Apr 2006, 13:50
can you post that article up there

up there
20 Apr 2006, 13:59
can you post that article up there

sorry mate back at work now and it is at home but that about all it said

hansie
20 Apr 2006, 14:19
Here's that article lads...

Symes’ injury forces Saints to experiment

BY ROB HARRIS

BENALLA will be without key forward Ricky Symes for up to a month after the century goal kicker under goes arthroscopic surgery this week.
Symes, who booted seven goals in the Saints opening round win against Mansfield, won’t be lining up for the match of the round against reigning premier Seymour in the second round of the Goulburn Valley Football League this weekend.
Coach Jason MacFarlane said the short absence of his star forward would help the club discover what other options it had up forward.
“The plan at the moment is that Ricky will be back against Shepp in round four because it’s only a bit of a clean out that really hasn’t got much better over the pre-season,” MacFarlane said.
“It’s certainly going to give us some other options because Mark Porter, Brett Vallender and of course Mark Mackenzie have all played at full-forward before and they’re more than capable.
“Having said that against a team like Seymour there isn’t much room to experiment and they’re certainly going to be up and running after a tough game last week.”
MacFarlane said the club had plenty of improvement left after a scrappy and tough tussle against Mansfield last week.
Mansfield has the chance to bounce back when it takes on Kyabram at home, while the ever-reliable Rochester will have its work cut out when it takes Euroa at Rochester.
An ever-improving Tatura locks horns with Echuca, while Shepparton United plays host to a talented Mooroopna line-up which consists of ex-AFL players Karl Norman, Blake Campbell and Derek Hall.

bradrowe#32
20 Apr 2006, 14:28
Boys boys boys, no input from blokes from other sides......Where have all the Rochy boys got to..............very very quiet mob of blokes at the moment....

Was very impressed with Echuca on the weekend, for what I saw of the game.......The mammoth Stephen White would have to have the best leg in the gvfl, woowee can he kick the footy.

The boys are looking good at the moment, hopefully not too many injuries and they'll be in the mix.

Cheers. Well done to the lions, You Euroa trash just aren't good enough....;)

Didn't catch the game, but I heard the standard was pretty good and it was pretty close up until the last quarter.

For Rochy, interleague ruckman Sam Brennan went off in the 1st quarter with a hammy and will probably miss a few weeks. The Bendigo boys were pretty good with Elliott Bowen very impressive, as was Daniel Schmidt and Russell Weekley.

With Euroa and Seymour in the next two weeks, Rochy could be trouble pretty early and I'm not sure if they have the players to make the finals. Time will tell, but it's a pretty young list.

Didn't hear much about Echuca, but I heard that Maddox was very good, as was Durie and the new recruit, White. He looks like a massive unit.

nesko_25
20 Apr 2006, 15:52
Didn't catch the game, but I heard the standard was pretty good and it was pretty close up until the last quarter.

For Rochy, interleague ruckman Sam Brennan went off in the 1st quarter with a hammy and will probably miss a few weeks. The Bendigo boys were pretty good with Elliott Bowen very impressive, as was Daniel Schmidt and Russell Weekley.

With Euroa and Seymour in the next two weeks, Rochy could be trouble pretty early and I'm not sure if they have the players to make the finals. Time will tell, but it's a pretty young list.

Didn't hear much about Echuca, but I heard that Maddox was very good, as was Durie and the new recruit, White. He looks like a massive unit.

The standard was good up untill half time, thats when the wind really picked up and both sides turned the ball over regularly. Brennan is a huge lose 4 rochy and once he went off the tigers had 2 stuff around with their structure with CHF kahl oliver going into the ruck with a bit of sucsess. Echuca's pressure was good in the rochy kick in's turning over and goaling numerous times. The big fella white was a stand out for echuca, he's a massive massive man and rochy really had trouble taming him.

Doozy_Man
20 Apr 2006, 17:10
Yeah I heard that Archard is carving it up in the SANFL. Boy can that kid play!
I also see that young Ben Wilson kicked 2 goals for North Beach over in Perth.
Anyone else have any news on the players that have left the GVFL?

Travvy43
20 Apr 2006, 17:26
Anyone else have any news on the players that have left the GVFL?

Mench kicked 10 in his first outing for Grovedale in the Geelong Football League.

Grandale
20 Apr 2006, 22:21
Whip, i'm thinking after sat that Grandale is going to have you in his sights next time we play...after the goal kicking master sat 3/4 on the pine after a slow pre-season, the whip gave him a welcome back to footy style coat-hanger which left Grandale without the ability to breathe let alone smash cans all night...so he put a drip in and filled it with SFNC's finest ale...a premiership label beer curtesy of Joffa Anderson...thanks Joffa.

Very funny stuff...how's the throat Grandale? Can you talk yet?

Thanks for the concern Fatty, but I've actually got to thank The Whip. Although leaving me feeling like Rick Disneck ("I crushed my larynx") for a few seconds, his David Rhys-Jones special has added a degree of huskiness to my dulcet tones that is driving the princess wild. So thanks Mr Whippy.
In other news, word out of Seymour town is that laconic Seymour Magoos defender Glen Dowling had an encounter with the hairdresser's scissors during the week...why oh why would he do such a thing after playing arguably his best game in 2 years last week against the Maggies?

Doona2
20 Apr 2006, 22:28
Thanks for the concern Fatty, but I've actually got to thank The Whip. Although leaving me feeling like Rick Disneck ("I crushed my larynx") for a few seconds, his David Rhys-Jones special has added a degree of huskiness to my dulcet tones that is driving the princess wild. So thanks Mr Whippy.
In other news, word out of Seymour town is that laconic Seymour Magoos defender Glen Dowling had an encounter with the hairdresser's scissors during the week...why oh why would he do such a thing after playing arguably his best game in 2 years last week against the Maggies?

What happened Rick did you blow a sandshoe or did u just F#*K Up?

Maybe #1 Joffa had a snip this week also . . . .I swear young Sadie was a dead ringer for Joffa last Satdy with the long sleever and the way he moved round the park. Has Benny and his crew come to their senses and picked you on the ground after a big final term last week?

Flat Track Bully
20 Apr 2006, 22:45
What happened Rick did you blow a sandshoe or did u just F#*K Up?

No Darrell, I just f#*ked up.

Well Darrell, I crushed my larynx, I broke my jaw and all of my ribs, Both my lungs were punctured, I rumptured my spleen and I also suffered some minor bruising to my body.

head67
20 Apr 2006, 23:00

Well Darrell, I crushed my larynx, I broke my jaw and all of my ribs, Both my lungs were punctured, I rumptured my spleen and I also suffered some minor bruising to my body.
A few of the boys from the riverina went down to the pies lions game on sat. They were impressed with the whole thing, but even more impressed with saad saad. They were wondering why he did not make the AFL.

M.WEBBER
21 Apr 2006, 00:01
A few of the boys from the riverina went down to the pies lions game on sat. They were impressed with the whole thing, but even more impressed with saad saad. They were wondering why he did not make the AFL.

There's a reason why he didn't make AFL....his doesn't chase, he can only play forward and has no defensive skills, there your answer head67.

scotywok
21 Apr 2006, 10:27
Speaking of Saturday at Memorial Oval, who was the big bloke spotted in the Lions rooms before the game. He had an uncanny resemblance to the person handing out SDCA A Grade Grand Final medals a few weeks back at Avenel and was a dead ringer for the bloke who sat in Yea's time keepers box last season. Though I'm not quite sure of his name.
What's his role at Seymour, if any of the Pride know?
I think he works at Nestle. Maybe Doon can confirm that this is the fella that had a connection with the Tiges last season.

Duff Man
21 Apr 2006, 10:37
There's a reason why he didn't make AFL....his doesn't chase, he can only play forward and has no defensive skills, there your answer head67.
Very naive post there Webster. I dont know too many forwards who are good at chasing, and aside from that I believe Saad played predominantly as an onballer at the bullants.

In any case - so what if you think he can only play forward. The bulk of players recruited to AFL are picked with a certain role in mind. Do you think Jeff Farmer was originally drafted by Melbourne (then Freo) to be a full back or play permanently on ball?

If anything, Saad didn't get drafted because he's possibly too small for what AFL clubs are looking for, as well as the fact that his work rate would be below the expectations of that level of footy.

TuskenRaider
21 Apr 2006, 11:01
Not commenting on Saad (he's an exceptional player, very, very quick reflexes) but most AFL forwards will chase pretty hard.

Doona2
21 Apr 2006, 14:24
Speaking of Saturday at Memorial Oval, who was the big bloke spotted in the Lions rooms before the game. He had an uncanny resemblance to the person handing out SDCA A Grade Grand Final medals a few weeks back at Avenel and was a dead ringer for the bloke who sat in Yea's time keepers box last season. Though I'm not quite sure of his name.
I think he works at Nestle. Maybe Doon can confirm that this is the fella that had a connection with the Tiges last season.

Just went and asked around at work and turns out our (Yea) timekeeper from 2005 has sacked us and jumped onboard and got a membership at Seymour coz he reckon's they're a better chance of flag than Yea . . . . . faiweather supporter if ya ask me!!! Reckon's he'll be back when Saad Saad and joey Amad leave and says they're good blokes coz he was talking to them in the rooms b4 the big Euroa clash.

no official role but desperate to try and grab the number 1 fan's title at Kings Park.

His name by the way is Stewie Crockett . . . . guess Yea's loss is a big gain for the lions!!!

M.WEBBER
21 Apr 2006, 14:53
Very naive post there Webster. I dont know too many forwards who are good at chasing, and aside from that I believe Saad played predominantly as an onballer at the bullants.

In any case - so what if you think he can only play forward. The bulk of players recruited to AFL are picked with a certain role in mind. Do you think Jeff Farmer was originally drafted by Melbourne (then Freo) to be a full back or play permanently on ball?

If anything, Saad didn't get drafted because he's possibly too small for what AFL clubs are looking for, as well as the fact that his work rate would be below the expectations of that level of footy.

Duff man, fair call. I have seen the boy play keep in mind most league footballers can play in a range of positions, that why they are drafted and listed players.

Also keep in mind he played Forward line at the bullants and when he did play senoirs there, it was off the bench in rotation. Saad can play, just not good enough to take that next step.

In regards to Farmer, well where do l started....his special! :thumbsu:

jazzy
21 Apr 2006, 16:49

Yeah heard the lions had a problem on saturday as they went to head out onto the ground. Seems they found the doors to the change rooms were blocked by a big oath of a man! They didn't panic tho and proceded out the side door!

numba4
21 Apr 2006, 17:23
tip for this weeks matchs?

bradrowe#32
21 Apr 2006, 17:32
tip for this weeks matchs?

Rochester V Euroa

Tatura v Echuca

Shepp United v Mooroopna

Shepp Swans v Shepparton

Mansfield v Kyabram

Seymour v Benalla

cookie33
21 Apr 2006, 18:04
Can someone (Doona) post the sides for this weekends game in the paper?? i know they are very rarely right but for those who follow the GV in Melbourne its a chance to see what names are where.

Doona2
21 Apr 2006, 18:10
ROCHESTER vs EUROA

Rochester
B: Pappin, Williams, Penny
HB: McPhee, Weekley, Schmidt
C: Hyden, Aitken, Cuttriss
HF: Montague, Bowen, Letcher
F: Whipp, Whitsed, M. McKenzie
Foll: Oliver, McCarty, Moon
Inter: L. McKenzie, Cavallaro, Haitsma
Emerg: Bubb

Euroa
B: Poole, Watson, Hammill
HB: Thomson, Hilton, Carracher
C: Mills, Sage, O'Brien
HF: Bamford, Hyatt, Gilliland
F: Clark, Grainger, Gibson
Foll: Jansz, Stott, S. Clayton
Inter: M. Clayton, Tate, King

TATURA vs ECHUCA

Tatura
B: Jones, MacDonald, Shaw
HB: Downey, Lanyon, B. Wellington
C: Thorn, Warnett. L. Wellington
HF: Pollard, Willoughby, Scarcella
F: Loughnan, Maher, Roberts
Foll: Crawford, Dagger, McGrath
Inter: Butler, Keast, Pollard

Echuca
B: S. Maddox, Sutton, J. Maddox
HB: Prendergast, White, Halloran
C: McKittrick, Casey, Pitson
HF: Agg, Butler, Campbell
F: Nance, Kennaugh, Campbell
Foll: Smith, Durie, Treacy
Inter: Crossman, Hitchens, Howman

SHEPP SWANS vs SHEPPARTON

Swans
B: Ballinger, Stratham, Nalder
HB: H. Best, Bruinier, Sali
C: Veal, Ryan, Maher
HF: McCarthy, White, Warburton
F: Barton, Dundovic, Uebergang
Foll: Sutherland, Fitzpatrick, Montgomery
Inter: Frappell, Duffy, Hebbard
Emerg: Thyer, Rowston, Gibbs

Shepparton
SHEPPARTON
B: Archer, King, McIntyre
HB: Jaques, Mellington, Feldtmann
C: Thorsen, Byers, Hiscock
HF: O'Brien, Shadbolt, Kennelly
F: Chapman, Saunders, Cullinan
Foll: Harrap, Allan, Jones
Inter: Dudgeon, McInnes, Sofi

MANSFIELD vs KYABRAM

Mansfield
B: Wheeler, Stevenson, Smith
HB: Trenfield, Taylor, Hopkins
C: Storer, Hotton, M. Walker
HF: Stevenson, D. Walker, Roy
F: Gallagher, J. Walker, Herridge
Foll: Jones, Hotton, Reynoldson
Inter: Mahoney, Sonneberg, Brown

Kyabram
B: Chambers, Fleming, Pell
HB: Oughton, Morgan, Quinn
C: Burnett, Taylor, Martin
HF: Sierakowski, Barnett, Emmett
F: Weardon, Adamson, Newman
Foll: Morgan, McCormack, Finn
Inter: Courtney, Finn, Cooper

SHEPP UNITED vs MOOROOPNA

United
SHEPPARTON UNITED
B: Carroll, McLarty, Koullas
HB: D. Barlow, Schirmer, Bovalino
C: M. Barlow, Dawes, T. Sidebottom
HF: Guilmartin, Gillespie, S. Scott
F: Eddy, Forys, M. Sidebottom
Foll: Cowman, S. Hazelman, Smith
Inter: Round, Godsmark, Halford

Mooroopna
B: Boyer, LaPorta, Connally
HB: Collyer, Hall, LeBrocq
C: Tremellen, Aloi, Brad Campbell
HF: Blake Campbell. Singh, Best
F: Neville, Osborne, Robbins
Foll: Norman, Vandermeer, Learmonth
Inter: Kendall, Gemmill, Mellington, Cassimaty

SEYMOUR vs BENALLA

Seymour
B: T. Hooper, M. Pilling, Jeff Anderson
HB: A. Reid, M. O'Keeffe, P. King
C: R. Van Reit, J. Amad, Jake Anderson
HF: B. Colbert, S. Schottner, S. Saad
F: B. Liddell, S. Gordon, M. Penn
Foll: B. Bailey, P. Scanlon, B. Haberman
Inter: G. Liddell, B. Davey, G. Pemberton

Benalla
B: J. Martiniello, Fahey, Joyce
H: Polwarth, Evans, Stevens
C: Sharp, MacFarlane, Wright
HF: A. Symes, Vallender, Cole
F: Priest, MacKenzie, VanSchaik
Foll: Porter, Stevens, Shiels
Inter: D. Symes, Ferguson, R. Martiniello

Zippa
21 Apr 2006, 18:14
Rochester V Euroa

Tatura v Echuca

Shepp United v Mooroopna

Shepp Swans[/B] v Shepparton

Mansfield v Kyabram

Seymour v Benalla

Doona2
21 Apr 2006, 18:18
TATURA

Hey Tige what's the go with Kirbs is he injured? Also I thought the Dog's had picked up Brett Creighton is he missing also?

tige19
21 Apr 2006, 18:53
TATURA

Hey Tige what's the go with Kirbs is he injured? Also I thought the Dog's had picked up Brett Creighton is he missing also?

Kirby is dropped :D , nah has done something to his leg and will miss this week but will be back after that.

I dont know Brett Creighton mate so i cant really comment, we certantly have been hurt by a few who have a left and clearances rejected.

Tamburro,Stevens,Coe and another i cant think of but is a very good goal kicker have hurt us big time.

We will still put out a fairly good side againts Echuca, no doubting it will be tough but id like to think the boys are up to it and we can come out on top.

cheers

jmain14
21 Apr 2006, 21:51

ha ha great work ftb. did you have to put the cassette back on after all these years to come up with that or did you remember it word for word??

on a seperate issue geez that is a young rochy side taking the field this week. I counted 12 out of the 21 players 21 years old or less. am unsure on how old weekley and bowen are - might be another one to add onto the list.

Flat Track Bully
22 Apr 2006, 07:48
[QUOTE=jmain14]ha ha great work ftb. did you have to put the cassette back on after all these years to come up with that or did you remember it word for word??

QUOTE]

Sadly, I remember it word for word. That and Merv's hat-trick...I also like reciting how they calculate the run rate in case of rain...

(Now they do that by multiplying the Number of balls bowled by the number of balls face, divided by the average age of the batting side, nd minus the number of spanners in a Sidchrome tool kit)

No Heart
23 Apr 2006, 09:59
Flat Track Bully , was impressed with the saints yesterday against the lions ,It was a shame to see Porter get injured the way he did and lets hope hes back soon. 6 Preist can this kid play, 12 Vallender takes a good grab and moves well, the game did not hit the standard of last week but still good to watch. Both teams had key players missing and when schottner pulled out i thought Benalla, with both the tall ruckmen would be in the drivers seat.My opinion and my opinion only the lions took benalla to easy, jumped out of the blocks early and looked great and then went to sleep until the last 20 mins when the game was there to be won. Expect Benalla to finish top 3 all the hype about them is correct.

bradrowe#32
23 Apr 2006, 15:06
ha ha great work ftb. did you have to put the cassette back on after all these years to come up with that or did you remember it word for word??

on a seperate issue geez that is a young rochy side taking the field this week. I counted 12 out of the 21 players 21 years old or less. am unsure on how old weekley and bowen are - might be another one to add onto the list.

Yeh, it's a pretty young team. Bowen is 22 and Weekley is 23 (I think). Looks like a long year, with big losses to Echuca and Euroa and Seymour next week. I reckon you have gone away at the right time.

fat back pocket
23 Apr 2006, 16:26
His name by the way is Stewie Crockett . . . . guess Yea's loss is a big gain for the lions!!!

He is a different individual, have to give him that...loves having a finger in every pie he can. But, what ever does it for him, good on him.

Did Lamaro play on the weekend? Or are his ribs still sore...matty collins was asking.

Flat Track Bully
23 Apr 2006, 22:08
He is a different individual, have to give him that...loves having a finger in every pie he can. But, what ever does it for him, good on him.

Did Lamaro play on the weekend? Or are his ribs still sore...matty collins was asking.

New season, let it go.

Doona2
23 Apr 2006, 22:13
Maybe #1 Joffa had a snip this week also . . . .I swear young Sadie was a dead ringer for Joffa last Satdy with the long sleever and the way he moved round the park. Has Benny and his crew come to their senses and picked you on the ground after a big final term last week?

Haircut musta worked wonders for young Dowling named amongst the best again . . . .I also see a former senior XVIII left footed shapshooter managed to kick a few, they musta brought him on halfway thru the 3rd term this week did they?

Doona2
23 Apr 2006, 22:14
New season, let it go.

Will they ever FTB :D . . . how'd the boys pull up? Was at Yea and missed the game what happened to Porter and how long is he expected to be sidelined?

Flat Track Bully
23 Apr 2006, 22:16
Will they ever FTB :D . . . how'd the boys pull up? Was at Yea and missed the game what happened to Porter and how long is he expected to be sidelined?

Not sure...my involvement at Benalla is very limited this year to the point where I haven't set foot in the club due to other commitments. Will begin in my usual match-day role next week.

fat back pocket
23 Apr 2006, 23:47
New season, let it go.

Tell him that...

jmain14
24 Apr 2006, 04:44
Yeh, it's a pretty young team. Bowen is 22 and Weekley is 23 (I think). Looks like a long year, with big losses to Echuca and Euroa and Seymour next week. I reckon you have gone away at the right time.
yeah mate, the plan was to fly back for the geelong/rochy grand final double. at the moment its looking like neither will make it though.

the rochy ressies appear to be missing you mate. how is kdl life going??

bradrowe#32
24 Apr 2006, 10:10
yeah mate, the plan was to fly back for the geelong/rochy grand final double. at the moment its looking like neither will make it though.

the rochy ressies appear to be missing you mate. how is kdl life going??

Yeah, not bad mate, I'm getting a few kicks.

jazzy
24 Apr 2006, 13:00
Was at the game saturday and I heard porter had fractured a cheek bone. Not sure how long he will miss! Must say I was impressed with benalla, played over the top of seymour for a big part of the game, but as good sides do, seymour won even though most would say they didn't play well.

Duff Man
24 Apr 2006, 13:56
Tell him that...

Fat Back pocket you won one of the all time best Grand Finals in 2005 and then in 2006 you backed it up in the Grand Final replay and beat Euroa at Euroa in the first round. Carnt you be satisfied with that without having to attack players personally?

FOOTYBOSS
24 Apr 2006, 14:31
Tell him that...
How old are you stuey? You sound like a little kid with this terrible post. Your pretty tough getting on this forum and bagging Lamaro all of the time. Why dont you say all of this to his face next time you see him. I did hear a little rumour about you to stuey. It was going around the ground during the round 1 clash encounter. Hopefully its not true.

On other news, Rochestor are a very young side and will be far more competitive later in the year and the years to come. Elliott Bowen is a big guy and can take a strong mark. They just need more talls to be amongst the top chances. Good to see Kyabram win after all the crap the copped during the off season. Adamson is a very good coach.

Doona2
24 Apr 2006, 14:34
How old are you stuey? You sound like a little kid with this terrible post. Your pretty tough getting on this forum and bagging Lamaro all of the time. Why dont you say all of this to his face next time you see him. I did hear a little rumour about you to stuey. It was going around the ground during the round 1 clash encounter. Hopefully its not true.

On other news, Rochestor are a very young side and will be far more competitive later in the year and the years to come. Elliott Bowen is a big guy and can take a strong mark. They just need more talls to be amongst the top chances. Good to see Kyabram win after all the crap the copped during the off season. Adamson is a very good coach.

Did u play against Rochy boss? Played golf with Row, Egg and Lee Price last week seems like the Pingers need a few old players to return to save em from relegation.

bradrowe#32
24 Apr 2006, 15:24

I tend to agree with your comments Footyboss about Rochy (also about FBP). They have lost quite a few over the last 2 years, but I think they have another generation of handy players coming through. I think they will probably be around the 7th to 10th mark, but next year they should be up there with quite a few locals returning.

Also good to see Kyabram get a win. Sounds like there were a few good games this round.

fat back pocket
24 Apr 2006, 16:14
[QUOTE=FOOTYBOSS]How old are you stuey? You sound like a little kid with this terrible post. Your pretty tough getting on this forum and bagging Lamaro all of the time. Why dont you say all of this to his face next time you see him. I did hear a little rumour about you to stuey. It was going around the ground during the round 1 clash encounter. Hopefully its not true.

QUOTE]
Mate, not sure where you were hiding in round 1, but lamaro and his old man were acting like two year olds...both of them walked over to me after the quarter time huddle and threated to "smash me" after the game out the back...go figure to who the childish ones are...they're a joke.

the big H and his old man then proceeded to stand on the boundary line (on the ground) near the goals winging like 2 year old's about what people have posted on big footy about him... and how i'm going to "get me own". Boss, i think you boys should have a look at your own before grilling me...

my dad once told me..."sticks and stones will break my bone's, but big footy posts will never hurt me"...so true it is.

I the little rumour, has nothing to do with me mate. Couldn't give 2 s_h_i_ts about it...don't know the bloke, don't care either.

tige19
24 Apr 2006, 16:18
This is getting pathetic........ Move on stuey

Doona2
24 Apr 2006, 16:24
I hear the Euroa 2's were having a bit to say before the bounce, sledging the Lions as both sides run out.

Our very own FBP thru himself around at times also, I even heard he copped a nice spray over the fence about Big Footy from a prominent Euroa identity.

When a Euroa mate pointed out the local identity I had no idea it was Hayden's dad that was into FBP, and was unaware all this banter has become so personal.

Look I'll put me hand up and say that as just a spectator at the GF I too thought under the circumstances the rib tickle wasn't enough to keep Hayden off the field . . . . that was until I got the full low down and now hope he can get himself mended and back on the Park coz it appears the Magpies are a few players short if they're serious about contesting for the flag!!!

Just cranking lads . . . . go easy on me next time I come to watch a game :p

Doona2
24 Apr 2006, 16:25
This is getting pathetic........ Move on stuey

Ease up Tige

inlimbo
24 Apr 2006, 16:52
Haircut musta worked wonders for young Dowling named amongst the best again . . . .I also see a former senior XVIII left footed shapshooter managed to kick a few, they musta brought him on halfway thru the 3rd term this week did they?

The person in question rotated from the bench with a fellow ageeing former 1's player in Cockrell, booted 5 between them, but it was Bishop who sent the statisticians racing for record books (Liepens and S.Peterson), it was the first time since an under 10's match only 1/4 of his kicks were directed at the goals!!! Higher fitness levels enabled him to push up the ground and use his prodigious left foot to good effect!

tige19
24 Apr 2006, 16:58
Ease up Tige

Are you serious mate?? i rarely come on here anymore because of the garbage that gets spoken and when i do come on and have a look FBP is almost always in the middle of it.

Would prefer to see you blokes talk more about football issues than personal ones on a public forum.

If the situation is becoming such a problem why doesnt FBP give this Lamaro dude a phone call instead of belittling the bloke on here. He has an injury during the GF, big deal noone knows the full story about how bad it was and if the guy is still having problems with it well doesnt that say a bit??

Doona2
24 Apr 2006, 18:03
Are you serious mate?? i rarely come on here anymore because of the garbage that gets spoken and when i do come on and have a look FBP is almost always in the middle of it.

Would prefer to see you blokes talk more about football issues than personal ones on a public forum.

If the situation is becoming such a problem why doesnt FBP give this Lamaro dude a phone call instead of belittling the bloke on here. He has an injury during the GF, big deal noone knows the full story about how bad it was and if the guy is still having problems with it well doesnt that say a bit??

Ease up Tige, I just like the phrase "Ease up Tige".

Mate I have no alliance to any one in the GVFL, just love me footy in general. Didnt mean to get your back up I just love the phrase . . . . . Ease up Tige!!!

FOOTYBOSS
25 Apr 2006, 13:18
Did u play against Rochy boss? Played golf with Row, Egg and Lee Price last week seems like the Pingers need a few old players to return to save em from relegation.
Yeah had a run around mate. Got through 3 quarters which Im happy about. Hopefully this week I can get through a full game, but the body doesnt feel like it can just yet. Need a few more solid weeks on the track. How are the boys? I saw Pricey made the Murray League squa this year, how has he been going? The pingers have only got themselves to blame to be where they are now. If everyone that went back there that has been cleared in the last 5 years, they would be thrashing teams. I just feel sorry for the coach Carrick as he is top bloke and would be a great coach if he had the players. Maybe one day I might head back there.

FOOTYBOSS
25 Apr 2006, 13:22
[
QUOTE]
Mate, not sure where you were hiding in round 1, but lamaro and his old man were acting like two year olds...both of them walked over to me after the quarter time huddle and threated to "smash me" after the game out the back...go figure to who the childish ones are...they're a joke.

the big H and his old man then proceeded to stand on the boundary line (on the ground) near the goals winging like 2 year old's about what people have posted on big footy about him... and how i'm going to "get me own". Boss, i think you boys should have a look at your own before grilling me...

my dad once told me..."sticks and stones will break my bone's, but big footy posts will never hurt me"...so true it is.

I the little rumour, has nothing to do with me mate. Couldn't give 2 s_h_i_ts about it...don't know the bloke, don't care either.[/QUOTE]
Obviuosly you werent paying to much attention out on the ground Stuey, because I was the one running around struggling to breathe and giving friendly banter to thommo and robbie inness, hence why I was on the pine for a fair bit....:D To be honest I dont care what happens between you and H. Just wish you stop using big footy to bag him out. There is more important things to talk about in the gvfl, then bagging a bloke that isnt even playing at the moment due to injury.

Doona2
25 Apr 2006, 22:23
To be honest I dont care what happens between you and H. Just wish you stop using big footy to bag him out. There is more important things to talk about in the gvfl, then bagging a bloke that isnt even playing at the moment due to injury.

Yeah like who is gunna win this week, how many of the supposed "guns" of the GV will even put their hands up for interleague duty & get behind Steve, when will me mate Inness crack a game at Seymour (hopefully not before clearances close) & where the hell has Eric Bottom go to?

carntheblue&whitehoops
26 Apr 2006, 11:08
Saw him play at the weekend and I was really impressed with him. His frame suggests he'll never be a dominant on-baller, but if he can find a role on a forward flank or pocket he's going to be a very handy player. Will get under the radar a lot of has a knack for finding a team-mate in heavy traffic. He'll be a pretty handy GV footballer I'd reckon. Can find the ball.

a mate of mine coached ash, chris egan (coll) and darren turner and thought that ash was the best of the three.

no left foot
26 Apr 2006, 11:18
Just wondering about this round boys

Swan and Moroopna
Echuca and Shep United

The other games look to be reasonably clear cut.
Any thoughts.

ECHUCABOY
26 Apr 2006, 12:08
Stuey,

This time I am 100% on your side no matter who the player is you can say whatever you like whenever you like, its a footy forum for :D:D:D:Ds sake. Mr. Lamaro and his son sound very protective of that incident and of any criticism coming their way. To be honest Stuey you sound like a bloke who loves his club and is doing what he can to contribute to your club. Your not Richard Goodboy! or a Sports Journo or someone who people are going to take your every view and agree with it!

Imagine if Lamaro made it to the big time, have a look at how harshly criticised players are when they stuff up in the Big Leagues. Surely a few taunts from a person involved in an opposition club wouldn't hurt so much if the stuff he was saying isn't true.

Anyone who reacts to what is said on a Football forum needs to have a good hard look at themselves and where they are at. If they can't cop a bit of flack on a footy forum, how do they react when people say something to their face on the footy field.

Peace out

TuskenRaider
26 Apr 2006, 12:18
Imagine if Lamaro made it to the big time, have a look at how harshly criticised players are when they stuff up in the Big Leagues. Surely a few taunts from a person involved in an opposition club wouldn't hurt so much if the stuff he was saying isn't true.

Lamaro was drafted to Melbourne and played in 97-98 for 2 senior games.

Flat Track Bully
26 Apr 2006, 13:45
GVFL Interleague Squad

Benalla
Brendan Stevens
Rowan Priest
Matt Sharp
John Shiels

Echuca
Josh Maddox
Dylan Butler
Colin Durie
Luke Agg

Euroa
Daniel Thomson
Damon Clarke
Wes Stott
Craig Bamford

Kyabram
Paul Newman
Jason Morgan
Heath Barnett

Mansfield
Josh Walker
Matt Storer
Matt Trewhella
Mark Jones

Mooroopna
Sam LaPorta
Brad Campbell
Blake Campbell
Balraj Singh
Karl Norman
Geoff Connally

Rochester
Heath Aitken
Elliot Bowen
Sam Brennan
Chris McCarty

Seymour
Tim Hooper
Brendan Liddell
Jeff Anderson
Matt O’Keefe
Saad Saad

Shepparton
Nick Allen
Marc Harrap

Shepparton Swans
Matt McCarty
Simon Ryan
Rob Montgomery
Craig Statham
Lucas White

Shepparton United
Tyson Sidebottom
Matt Forys
David Gillespie
Jake Cowman

Tatura
Linc Wellington
Paul Kirby
Michael Roberts
Aaron Willoughby

centreman
26 Apr 2006, 14:14
Just wondering about this round boys

Swan and Moroopna
Echuca and Shep United

The other games look to be reasonably clear cut.
Any thoughts.

As much as United is on the up and is starting to play a good style of footy, Echuca at Echuca will be too tough for them. With Osborne, McLarty missing they really lack a key defender at the moment and will have problems shutting down White. They'll give a good account of themselves but I'd reckon Echuca should win.

Saw Mooroopna last week. They are becoming a good side too, Derek Hall should be back and really, let's be honest, with the side they have put together and the cash they must be paying, the should be very dissappointed if they finished any lower than four i'd think.

Flat Track Bully
26 Apr 2006, 14:23
As much as United is on the up and is starting to play a good style of footy, Echuca at Echuca will be too tough for them. With Osborne, McLarty missing they really lack a key defender at the moment and will have problems shutting down White. They'll give a good account of themselves but I'd reckon Echuca should win.

Saw Mooroopna last week. They are becoming a good side too, Derek Hall should be back and really, let's be honest, with the side they have put together and the cash they must be paying, the should be very dissappointed if they finished any lower than four i'd think.

Benalla traditionally struggle at Kyabram. No Symes, No Porter. Could be a danger game for the Saints.

pekay-norwest
26 Apr 2006, 14:28
311 pages of GV Footy-my god what a read!!!Appeases the foooty nerd in all of us.Just a question-a new face to Campbelltown,coached by Glenn Garner, is a fella from Echuca named Tonizzo.How did he go down there out of interest?

Duff Man
26 Apr 2006, 14:36
I assume the blokes named in the GV squad have already indicated they would play at the carnival? If this is the case, it's great to see names such as Blake Campbell, Karl Norman, Balraj Singh, Matt Forys, Tim Hooper and Saad Saad all make themselves available.

Be better again if they were able to include Daniel Sage, Shane Clayton etc!

centreman
26 Apr 2006, 14:41
a mate of mine coached ash, chris egan (coll) and darren turner and thought that ash was the best of the three.

That doesn't suprise me. Watched him again at the weekend and while you can't question his committment you just can't help but wonder how a bloke of his size can dominate senior footy. Might you I don't think anyone has ever told him he's five foot!!!!

ECHUCABOY
26 Apr 2006, 15:09
311 pages of GV Footy-my god what a read!!!Appeases the foooty nerd in all of us.Just a question-a new face to Campbelltown,coached by Glenn Garner, is a fella from Echuca named Tonizzo.How did he go down there out of interest?

Chased a girl their mate and is obviously living their at the moment. Very big boy who has played Senior Footy at Echuca and played with the Pioneers. Is only 18 turning 19 this year. Can play

Whoever said Lamaro played AFL, I was aware of that but playing two games wouldn't exactly classify as "making it in the big time" anyways good luck to the fella, hope he has thrown out his computer!

Baba Ganoush
26 Apr 2006, 15:48
I know some of these guys are injured, but would this team beat the 2006 GV squad.
I'd be interested to hear your thoughts because the squad looks a little thin

B: Pappin, Shelton, Vick
HB: Hotton, Douglas, Dawes
C: Sage, Byers, O"Brien
HF: Hilton, Grainger, McKenzie
F: Dundovic, Symes, Reynoldson
R: Porter, A Stevens, S Clayton
Int: Schotner, S Hazelman, Haberman

TuskenRaider
26 Apr 2006, 16:05
Whoever said Lamaro played AFL, I was aware of that but playing two games wouldn't exactly classify as "making it in the big time" anyways good luck to the fella, hope he has thrown out his computer!
That was me, and I believe you said "imagine if Lamaro made it to the big time". Your wording suggested that you didn't realise that he got there to begin with, that's all.

Making it to the big time is obviously different than making it in the big time.

bazlurhmann
26 Apr 2006, 16:06
I know some of these guys are injured, but would this team beat the 2006 GV squad.

Interesting to see that u couldnt slot J Anderson into the full back posi baba. was clearly the best full back last season and has had a good start to 06.

Baba Ganoush
26 Apr 2006, 16:17
I couldn't agree more Baz, but Joffa's actually in the 2006 squad, so he wasn't available for my side of non-selections;)

saints03
26 Apr 2006, 17:40
[quote=Baba Ganoush]I know some of these guys are injured, but would this team beat the 2006 GV squad.

Int: Schotner, S Hazelman, Haberman[/quo

This side you have made up mate would :D:D:D:D on the gv rep squad. It is ashame the gv cant actually take a full list of there best players due to injury and other commitments but with the squad the gv have i have no doubt they can win the country championships again.

jazzy
26 Apr 2006, 18:30
blah

head67
26 Apr 2006, 20:05
The league squad is obviously (im assuming)a reflection of early form. Can some one tell me how the little man renoldson is going at mansfield.

waynerudd
26 Apr 2006, 21:00

yes adamson is a good coach and if reappointed lancaster will get another ten players next year.

Duff Man
26 Apr 2006, 22:28

Baba Ganoush , Douglas has been out injured with a knee and is not back for 3 weeks, Symes just had a knee operation , Porter broke his cheek bone, Schottner done his hamstring last week and will be out for 3 - 4 Hotton has been great and i was told wants a break,S Halzemen wont risk his injured knee,3 games two days ,J Obrien hurt his ribs and will miss a couple and what do Clayton and Stevens have to prove by playing? But you have picked a good side mate .

pekay-norwest
27 Apr 2006, 11:04
Chased a girl their mate and is obviously living their at the moment. Very big boy who has played Senior Footy at Echuca and played with the Pioneers. Is only 18 turning 19 this year. Can play
Thats a worry,chasing a Campbelltown sheila,all those Macquarie Fields riots were started by lasses!!Much appreciated,not my club but interesting to watch

Doozy_Man
27 Apr 2006, 11:28

You cannot be serious with Pappin in this side? If that is the Pappin from Rochy then that is a disgrace! As if he can be considered for the GVFL side! He wouldn't make an MFL side!

ANT JESS
27 Apr 2006, 12:39
You cannot be serious with Pappin in this side? If that is the Pappin from Rochy then that is a disgrace! As if he can be considered for the GVFL side! He wouldn't make an MFL side!

Your being very harsh on Pappin there mate, not sure how much of him you have seen but he has had 2-3 very solid years for the tiger's down back. I would suggest that he could easily slot into a back pocket in a gv rep side, not to mention a second string side like this one was.

Chance
27 Apr 2006, 12:43
G'day fellas, I know its still early days, but would really love to know your thoughts on how this years new challengers (Swans, Echuca, United, Mooroopna) would go against the big three favorites (Benalla, Euroa, Seymour). Have heard the Swannies are this years big smoky - and are still signing up 2 guns from NT which will only make em stronger.

bradrowe#32
27 Apr 2006, 14:30

No idea.

Thanks for your post though, it will remind me to ignore what you have to say in the future.

ECHUCABOY
27 Apr 2006, 16:20
Your being very harsh on Pappin there mate, not sure how much of him you have seen but he has had 2-3 very solid years for the tiger's down back. I would suggest that he could easily slot into a back pocket in a gv rep side, not to mention a second string side like this one was.

Ant Jess thought your computer might have blown up, haven't seen you on here for a while. Come to think of it we haven't seen you on here since Rochester were OUTPLAYED by Echuca.......;)

numba4
27 Apr 2006, 17:09
Where are the likes of Jarrod Best - Mooroopna, Rory Hilton - Euroa and Matty Byers - Shepparton?

Doona2
27 Apr 2006, 17:12
It seem's one of my idols in big Jon Solomon is looking to go out on a high with his home club at Seymour. Could he be the finishing touch for Benny Davey and the Magoo's to grab that elusive flag???

Flat Track Bully
27 Apr 2006, 17:27
Having seen footage of a very ordinary incident on the weekend, and using the tribunal's harsher stance in season 2006, a high-profile GVFL player may be facing a lengthy stint on the sidelines.

I'm sure it will break in the media tomorrow...

ringo1
27 Apr 2006, 17:58
How fit is Solomon? Could he still play seniors?

ECHUCABOY
27 Apr 2006, 18:00
Having seen footage of a very ordinary incident on the weekend, and using the tribunal's harsher stance in season 2006, a high-profile GVFL player may be facing a lengthy stint on the sidelines.

Well why don't you break it ya sook?

Flat Track Bully
27 Apr 2006, 18:13
Well why don't you break it ya sook?

Is "ya sook" really necessary on the back end of that? Don't want to get into a slanging match, but really. Come on, we don;t want to stoop to the level of some here...

jmain14
27 Apr 2006, 20:17
Is "ya sook" really necessary on the back end of that? Don't want to get into a slanging match, but really. Come on, we don;t want to stoop to the level of some here...
I am sure it would have been a mis-type on echucaboy's behalf ftb. so who's the player then?? seems like over the past 2 years we have given the shepp news a few stories to write about so its not like you owe them one by not cracking a story before they get to it...

Doona2
27 Apr 2006, 20:23
How fit is Solomon? Could he still play seniors?

Having shared a beer with him a fortnight ago, he said he hasn't even got into a trot since our grand final win last September. In saying that it didnt take him a great deal to run into nick when he arrived at Yea, he had an impact his first game after one night on the track and just kept on getting better. He promised he'd be right at the business end of they year and he was, Id assume it will be the same deal if he run's out with his beloved Lions.

ANT JESS
28 Apr 2006, 11:21
Ant Jess thought your computer might have blown up, haven't seen you on here for a while. Come to think of it we haven't seen you on here since Rochester were OUTPLAYED by Echuca.......;)

Nar mate computer still working fine, just havent made it to a gv game so far this year so haven't had much to comment on. Been busy keeping up appearances, but looking forward to getting to the Tigers V Lions clash tomorrow. Here's hoping the tigers can be competitive, or if not Saad takes one of his trademark hangers. How's your footy going mate? getting a kick?

Travvy43
28 Apr 2006, 11:29

Did the story break in today's media as you suggested. Is the incident you talking about have anthing to do with Mark Porter?

ECHUCABOY
28 Apr 2006, 12:02
Nar mate computer still working fine, just havent made it to a gv game so far this year so haven't had much to comment on. Been busy keeping up appearances, but looking forward to getting to the Tigers V Lions clash tomorrow. Here's hoping the tigers can be competitive, or if not Saad takes one of his trademark hangers. How's your footy going mate? getting a kick?

Couldn't get a kick in a paddock full of horses mate, you know that! You should have come to Echuca round 1, was a very nice day. Home for jez's 21st this week a round of Pub Golf is taking place should be a lot of drunkiness, hopefully Echuca will get a win and make the night even better. Peace out

The Cat
28 Apr 2006, 12:27

My tip is Jarrod Sutherland. Very late clash with Jeremy O'Brien last weekend that has left the poor bugger with a punctured lung.

I'm tipping with Jezza in hospital recovering, Eric Bottom has had to pick up the slack in the GVFL office. He's probably got the sulks cause he's doing two jobs, and decided that someone is going to pay for his dilemna. This would've started the witch hunt for Sutherland.

Suds is relatively 'high profile' when you consider he is coach of the Swans, ex Morrison Medalist and has been a regular inter-league rep in the past. Pity he doesn't play the ball much these days - just goes around sniping blokes!

Junkie
28 Apr 2006, 13:11
:thumbsd: My tip is Jarrod Sutherland. Very late clash with Jeremy O'Brien last weekend that has left the poor bugger with a punctured lung.

I'm tipping with Jezza in hospital recovering, Eric Bottom has had to pick up the slack in the GVFL office. He's probably got the sulks cause he's doing two jobs, and decided that someone is going to pay for his dilemna. This would've started the witch hunt for Sutherland.

Suds is relatively 'high profile' when you consider he is coach of the Swans, ex Morrison Medalist and has been a regular inter-league rep in the past. Pity he doesn't play the ball much these days - just goes around sniping blokes!

This guy sounds like an absolute thug! Didn't he have a go at Saad or someone from Seymour off the ball last year? I think it's time for someone to knock the bejesus out of him!!

a.k.a.
28 Apr 2006, 13:26
:thumbsd:

This guy sounds like an absolute thug! Didn't he have a go at Saad or someone from Seymour off the ball last year? I think it's time for someone to knock the bejesus out of him!!

Saad and Jezza are both small players, Sutherland = 100+kg ruckman, seems to be a bit of a pattern there...

kingfooty
28 Apr 2006, 15:28

I'm sure it will break in the media tomorrow...I was told by a lot of gv footy fans that that type of incident doesnt happen in the gv and only happens in the dvfl.....they must have got it wrong.

bradrowe#32
28 Apr 2006, 15:38
Couple of interesting things in the Deledio News today.

Firstly, Travis Ryan from Tatura may retire due to an ankle inijury. If he does, then it's a real shame as he would have to be one of the best GV players in the last decade (and beyond).

Secondly, I cannot believe Sam Brennan has been named in the ruck for Rochester. He did his hammy against Echuca in the first round and was apparently going to miss a month.

jazzy
28 Apr 2006, 16:55
That Jarrod Sutherland is a dog. What he done to Saad last year was a dog's act. He should have gone for a lot longer than he did and to hear he done something again. The tribunal should throw the book at him. Don't need stuff like that going on in the GV.

jazzy
28 Apr 2006, 17:15
Hey was wondering if there is anyone out there who can help the seymour lions's no 1 supporter?? Big stuey has come on to some hard times and can't afford the fuel to get to rochy this week and is looking for a lift! Anyone help him out??

Baba Ganoush
28 Apr 2006, 17:19
Wasn't Deledio on the back of the Herald Sun and not the Shep News today?
Anyway, bad news about Ryan, let's hope he gets the all clear and can play again this year.
Also, after seeing Suddsy's efforts against O'Brien last week, I don't like the big fella's chances of winning another Morrison medal this year.
I wouldn't have thought belting a GVFL official was his best career move

numba4
28 Apr 2006, 21:16
That Jarrod Sutherland is a dog. What he done to Saad last year was a dog's act. He should have gone for a lot longer than he did and to hear he done something again. The tribunal should throw the book at him. Don't need stuff like that going on in the GV.

Mate Sutherland is a wan*er, he thinks he's all that and that he can play, if you look at the ruckmans in the compitition now, Kirby, Norman, Schotner etc. they are a $hit load better. It'll b good to see this week vs Karl Norman hopefully he lays Sutherland out