View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

bazlurhmann
29 Apr 2006, 00:32
It is a great idea for someone to give big sutherland one. i would love to see it cos he is an absolute dog. but he is an extremly big unit. he would take some punching. he reminds me of those neanderthals i used to look at in history at school. i recommend that someone in the mould of robert innes should have a go. he has the rig. He is also a very big unit.

bazlurhmann
29 Apr 2006, 00:39
Did the story break in today's media as you suggested. Is the incident you talking about have anthing to do with Mark Porter?

There wasnt anything in porters incident. The big fella unfortunetly clashed heads with a team mate. a very sickening thing to have happen to one of the gvfls highest profile athletes. i wish him all the best in his recovery.

HawkeEye
29 Apr 2006, 01:54
All eyes will now be on Sutherland

HawkeEye is watching you.

numba4
29 Apr 2006, 10:33
It is a great idea for someone to give big sutherland one. i would love to see it cos he is an absolute dog. but he is an extremly big unit. he would take some punching. he reminds me of those neanderthals i used to look at in history at school. i recommend that someone in the mould of robert innes should have a go. he has the rig. He is also a very big unit.

mate if someone was to do it i do not doubt Norman couldnt. Saw him the other week...he is the frikin unit

alfie
29 Apr 2006, 10:50
can anyone tell me how greg pearson and scott morath are travelling this year at shep united? Played with that duo a few years back. Has morath got his nose in the way again?

Pupster
29 Apr 2006, 21:52
seymour lions ended up killing rochy today. Saad took a grand-final like screamer and destroyed rochy in the last quarter. Brent colbert BOG from my point of view.

Doona2
29 Apr 2006, 21:58
seymour lions ended up killing rochy today. Saad took a grand-final like screamer and destroyed rochy in the last quarter. Brent colbert BOG from my point of view.

How is young Jake Anderson, heard on 98.5 he was rushed into Echuca hospital?

I see both the 2's & 3's won also, seems all the talk about the Lions clean sweeping all the flags is creating some interest!!! Rattray and Spargo amongst the goals for the 2's. I did notice the young fella McKenzie was named best in the 3's, impressed me at Euroa and also in a trial game at ACK . . . . it is the same fella Im assuming?

Pupster
29 Apr 2006, 22:13
How is young Jake Anderson, heard on 98.5 he was rushed into Echuca hospital?

I see both the 2's & 3's won also, seems all the talk about the Lions clean sweeping all the flags is creating some interest!!! Rattray and Spargo amongst the goals for the 2's. I did notice the young fella McKenzie was named best in the 3's, impressed me at Euroa and also in a trial game at ACK . . . . it is the same fella Im assuming?

yeha mate jake apparently bit his tongue, i didnt see him actually get hit (or whatever happened) but i saw him fitting on the ground and it wasnt a pretty site. From what i hear he was talking and was going to get out of the echuca hospital at 6pm, and i presume come to the seymour hospital. 3rds were good as mckenzie was best on ground, along with brent leserf, and jac smith willaims in the bests. 2nds had a very easy win. doona where do u find the bests etc.?

Doona2
29 Apr 2006, 22:16
yeha mate jake apparently bit his tongue, i didnt see him actually get hit (or whatever happened) but i saw him fitting on the ground and it wasnt a pretty site. From what i hear he was talking and was going to get out of the echuca hospital at 6pm, and i presume come to the seymour hospital. 3rds were good as mckenzie was best on ground, along with brent leserf, and jac smith willaims in the bests. 2nds had a very easy win. doona where do u find the bests etc.?

Give this link a whirl mate :thumbsu:

http://www.goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/competitions.asp

Wayne Weideman
29 Apr 2006, 22:19

was a pretty good game up until seymour played all over them in the last quarter. have to agree pupster colbert was bog. he is a gun. saad was well held until about mid way through the third quarter then got away from schimdt towards the end. although it was 50 odd points rochy werent disgraced by no means

Pupster
29 Apr 2006, 22:26
was a pretty good game up until seymour played all over them in the last quarter. have to agree pupster colbert was bog. he is a gun. saad was well held until about mid way through the third quarter then got away from schimdt towards the end. although it was 50 odd points rochy werent disgraced by no means

yeah rochy were good up untill last quarter, saad copped a bit of a spray from steve daniels at 3 quarter time, and came out to take a ripper specky and kick a few, not sure what he ended up with but he snuck in a couple early i think so i reckon he kicked a bag, and yeah colby just knows how to get out of trouble, hes clever, nice skilla and good poise, a class act (probably learnt it with his time at the doggies).

No Heart
30 Apr 2006, 10:44

Totally agree Wayne, rochy had a go like they always do, Colby im told had 37 posies, saad kicked 7.4 and as you said was held for a least half the game. Ant jess how true was your judgement on Pappin, who was a big fat spastic,how people say this blonk can play? But i did see a gun for rochy at CHF in the name of Bowen 6 can he play ?

No Heart
30 Apr 2006, 10:49
OH is it true too, that one gun player for Euroa asked for a clearance yesterday.

Inness#15
30 Apr 2006, 11:20
I doubt it very highly Baz. I wouldn't hurt a fly... Besides I don't think Sutherland will be playing in the magoos!

Wayne Weideman
30 Apr 2006, 11:54
Totally agree Wayne, rochy had a go like they always do, Colby im told had 37 posies, saad kicked 7.4 and as you said was held for a least half the game. Ant jess how true was your judgement on Pappin, who was a big fat spastic,how people say this blonk can play? But i did see a gun for rochy at CHF in the name of Bowen 6 can he play ?

not wrong there NH. elliot bowen is a gun. had heard a lot about him from the way he played at the bendigo bombers but yesterday was the first time i saw him play and he really impressed me. takes a good grab even considering he had that pillings i think it is on him {no.10}, who is no walk over

Doona2
30 Apr 2006, 15:32
OH is it true too, that one gun player for Euroa asked for a clearance yesterday.

Cant do that without giving us a name Ho Heart . . . whatya got for us?

No Heart
30 Apr 2006, 20:14
Cant do that without giving us a name Ho Heart . . . whatya got for us?

Hayden Lamaro ??????????????????????

bazlurhmann
30 Apr 2006, 22:33
is there any truth to that hayden lamaro rumour????

LOBSTER
1 May 2006, 09:22
I have heard this rumour as well. Would be disappointing for the magpies priemership hopes if it were true. I havent heard which is club he might go to though.

ringo1
1 May 2006, 09:45
Would'nt be Shepp East would it?

T.Perry
1 May 2006, 10:40

According to the Euroa homepage he hasn't yet lodged a clearance..might still be in negotiations with the club, or it may be BS..

Duff Man
1 May 2006, 10:56
Would be surprised if there is any truth to this one. The Maggies should definately feature in finals action this year, and you would reckon they are still a strong chance of winning the big one.

Reckon Hayden would want to be a part of that. Imagine how chewed off he would be if he left the club and they went on to win the flag?

ANT JESS
1 May 2006, 11:48

Also first time I had seen Bowen play, and yes he does look a very handy player. Had some very clean hands on a day where it wouldn't have been easy to hold the ball. As for Pappin, yes he did have a shocker which every player tends to have from time to time. Don't rate him on that performance, have seen him play probably 40 times out of his past 50 games and he is a much more solid performer than he showed yesterday.

inlimbo
1 May 2006, 13:38
Also first time I had seen Bowen play, and yes he does look a very handy player. Had some very clean hands on a day where it wouldn't have been easy to hold the ball. As for Pappin, yes he did have a shocker which every player tends to have from time to time. Don't rate him on that performance, have seen him play probably 40 times out of his past 50 games and he is a much more solid performer than he showed yesterday.

The only thing 'solid' to stand out for him on the weekend was his wombat like ass!

Doona2
1 May 2006, 14:07
Would'nt be Shepp East would it?

I dont reckon Shepp East need anymore recruits, I reckon they've got the list to take out the PDFL already.

alfie
1 May 2006, 16:07
can anyone tell me how greg "put put" pearson and scott "The sunken rat" morath are travelling this yr @ shep united. Rumour has it scott may have had a bit of a nip and tuck whilst having his 3rd nose reconstruction. Any truth in that rumour.

Weapo
1 May 2006, 16:30
can anyone tell me how greg "put put" pearson and scott "The sunken rat" morath are travelling this yr @ shep united. Rumour has it scott may have had a bit of a nip and tuck whilst having his 3rd nose reconstruction. Any truth in that rumour.

Is Scott Morath originally from Swan Hill? If so how long has he played there at Shepp? What posi does he play and how does he rate?

jazzy
1 May 2006, 17:38
anyone heard anymore about scanlon from the lions? how serious the knee is!

head67
1 May 2006, 18:50
Can some one tell us if there is any changes to league squad.eg. injuries or form players added.

No Heart
1 May 2006, 19:07

Its not good no more tomorrow night ?

No Heart
1 May 2006, 19:14
Can some one tell us if there is any changes to league squad.eg. injuries or form players added.

Spoke to Stevie D today and he seems to be happy with the way its going, you can never get much out of him at the best of times. But he did say one of the rochy boys pulled out because hes going over seas, im not sure who he didnt say.

Wayne Weideman
1 May 2006, 20:37
Spoke to Stevie D today and he seems to be happy with the way its going, you can never get much out of him at the best of times. But he did say one of the rochy boys pulled out because hes going over seas, im not sure who he didnt say.

that rochy boy that has pulled out is chrissy mccarty who is leaving for overseas in about 4 or 5 weeks.:thumbsu:

Pupster
1 May 2006, 21:44

apparently its similar to the injury robbie douglas did.

HJ32
1 May 2006, 21:47
what's the john dory with the Sutherland incident?

who did he actually belt?
was it on video?
is it under investigation by the VCFL?

anything else.....................

last years incident involving that seymour player (I can't think of his first name but i think it's the same as his last name) mite not help the big mans case either, but I can tell you that Shepp Swans will have an adequate replacement to fill the big mans boots should he get rubbed out. Cam Heily is aparently returning to the Swans nest and the big fella comes with huge wraps..... he's a GV Ruckman

HJ32
1 May 2006, 21:52
apparently its similar to the injury robbie douglas did.

not only is Brendan liddell having a great season thus far for the lions, but it seems that the second eldest son of sparra is now the unofficial SFC club physio dishing out more diagnosis' than Dr Hibberd of Springfield- is there anything that man can't do?

what about Damo 'nuts' Liddell - is he a chance to play 1's this year? I should hope so, otherwise all the Old boys at Shepp Grammar will be getting stuck into him again at their next reunion - weak as water Damo ;)

Pupster
1 May 2006, 22:09
not only is Brendan liddell having a great season thus far for the lions, but it seems that the second eldest son of sparra is now the unofficial SFC club physio dishing out more diagnosis' than Dr Hibberd of Springfield- is there anything that man can't do?

what about Damo 'nuts' Liddell - is he a chance to play 1's this year? I should hope so, otherwise all the Old boys at Shepp Grammar will be getting stuck into him again at their next reunion - weak as water Damo ;)

Brendan Liddell is a superstar. Damian had a ripper on saturday, kicked many goals and had plenty of possessions, i thought he was nearly best on.

numba4
1 May 2006, 22:13
HJ32 yeah sutherland is under investigation by the VCFL AGAIN! was alst year as well, needs to pick on somebody his own size if u ask me

Flat Track Bully
2 May 2006, 09:36

Expect the Physio to be very busy around Teal Cup time...

ringo1
2 May 2006, 09:45
Doona I reckon Shepp East might be far more advanced than others in that league. Do they have any aspirations about paying in a higher league? Sutherland may be looking at 6-8 weeks on the sidelines if he is found guilty. This would surely put his future at risk

T.Perry
2 May 2006, 09:57
last years incident involving that seymour player (I can't think of his first name but i think it's the same as his last name) mite not help the big mans case either, but I can tell you that Shepp Swans will have an adequate replacement to fill the big mans boots should he get rubbed out. Cam Heily is aparently returning to the Swans nest and the big fella comes with huge wraps..... he's a GV Ruckman

There'll be a few sleepless nights for all GV ruckman if this is the case! I can't believe more people haven't responded to this piece of ground-breaking information...Surely the biggest signing of the year! Would towel up Porter, Kirbs, etc no worries..

Seriously HJ, most at Colbo would be glad to get rid of the serial pest wouldn't they?? Ahh the skunk head...

The Cat
2 May 2006, 10:00
what's the john dory with the Sutherland incident?

who did he actually belt?
was it on video?
is it under investigation by the VCFL?

anything else.....................

Sutherland was involved in a late hit on Jeremy O'Brien in the Swans Vs Bears game in round 2. The short version of the story is that O'Brien was laying on the ground after diving into a scrimage to get the ball, and Sutherland dropped his knee into Jezza's back breaking a rib and causing a punctured lung.

I've heard the Bears were video taping the game, but not good footage as the hit was quite late and the camera was following the ball.

The matter is under investigation after an official complaint was lodged. Not sure if the complaint was lodged by the club or by Jezza himself, but given Jezza works in the League Head quarters, I reckon he is obliged to follow this process as that is one of the reasons we have official GVFL offices and staff.

My mail is that a lot of the evidence will come from what nearby players and supporters recall of the event, rather than what the video was able to pick up, however Sutherlands prior record is likely to go against him as we all know he is capable of doing this sort of thing.

wobble
2 May 2006, 13:53
Sutherland was involved in a late hit on Jeremy O'Brien in the Swans Vs Bears game in round 2. The short version of the story is that O'Brien was laying on the ground after diving into a scrimage to get the ball, and Sutherland dropped his knee into Jezza's back breaking a rib and causing a punctured lung.

I've heard the Bears were video taping the game, but not good footage as the hit was quite late and the camera was following the ball.

The matter is under investigation after an official complaint was lodged. Not sure if the complaint was lodged by the club or by Jezza himself, but given Jezza works in the League Head quarters, I reckon he is obliged to follow this process as that is one of the reasons we have official GVFL offices and staff.

My mail is that a lot of the evidence will come from what nearby players and supporters recall of the event, rather than what the video was able to pick up, however Sutherlands prior record is likely to go against him as we all know he is capable of doing this sort of thing.

How are Kyabram coping with the retirement of Brayden "Stonwell" Stone?

Is it true he is spending more and more time down at Punt Road keeping a close eye on his beloved Pettifer & Deledio?

Probably better off watching, he was far too injury prone.

Had dodgy collarbones I think

Doozy_Man
2 May 2006, 15:55
I have been looking around the leagues on past GVFL players.

Archard seems to be carving up the SANFL. I watched a game on Austar and him and Scott McGlone had countless possesions. The SANFL is stronger than the GVFL so that just shows how good they both are!

Wilson from Echuca has kicked a few goals for his new club North Beach while O'Callaghan is playing in the same league for Scarborough, not to sure how he has been going though.

Guthrie seems to be going along ok, while Dale Reyne has made a good first impression with his new club Echuca United, Echuca bombers would be dirty that they lost him!

Any other news from past GVFL players?

T.Perry
2 May 2006, 15:58
How are Kyabram coping with the retirement of Brayden "Stonwell" Stone?

Is it true he is spending more and more time down at Punt Road keeping a close eye on his beloved Pettifer & Deledio?

Probably better off watching, he was far too injury prone.

Had dodgy collarbones I think

Actually thought that Stoney was playing at Lancaster this year?? Obviously he isn't..I see he got his head in the Ky news alongside Matt 'scratta' Carver the other week - looking very important..

T.Perry
2 May 2006, 16:04

Jezza Campbell and Timmy Rasmussen, now coach and assistant coach at Blackburn in the EFL got smashed by last year's premiers and perennial flag favourites, Vermont, last week..I see Zane Coventry (ex-Kyabram boy) lined up for uni Blues in the A grade ammos on the weekend, Jake Trevaskis (ex-Tonny) has been carving them up for Sunshine in the WRFL, Adum Brunt (ex-Morrison medallist at Tonny now coaching Picola), kicked 10 or 11 for them a week or 2 ago..Ricky Windridge (ex-Rochy) is going alright at Moama, and Duayne Hueston (ex-United), Sime McCarty (ex-Rochy), along with Reyne (who snagged 9 last week) are killing them for Echuca United..

Chance
2 May 2006, 16:51
And how are the Shepp 2's boys going? I think they followed Hampshire to Congupna. Good to see tonny playing competitive footy, but I noticed they have lost quite a few from last year - where have they gone? Baker, Fonua bros and more - I think

T.Perry
2 May 2006, 16:54
And how are the Shepp 2's boys going? I think they followed Hampshire to Congupna. Good to see tonny playing competitive footy, but I noticed they have lost quite a few from last year - where have they gone? Baker, Fonua bros and more - I think

Connally has gone to Mooroopna, Baker and the Fonua's have all gone to West Preston in the DVFL..

No Heart
2 May 2006, 18:02

Some news from a couple of ex lions.

Steve Shaw:- Only played in 3 practice matches and two 'real' games, but has humped 4 different chicks since joining cheltenham.

Matt Collins:- Has hung up the boots so is yet to have a kick this year. this means hes only 4 disposals short of what he had as at the same time last year.

:D

waddo #6
2 May 2006, 21:09
Doona I reckon Shepp East might be far more advanced than others in that league. Do they have any aspirations about paying in a higher league? Sutherland may be looking at 6-8 weeks on the sidelines if he is found guilty. This would surely put his future at risk

shepp east are just lucky to have a awesome ruckman in Pete Fantini. standing at 201 cm tall, he has a great overhead mark and great tap work, needs to work on strength but it will come. doing well in fitness and does well for the side, they play in a s**t league but ah well thought id mention that he's pretty good and should play at seymour coz it would be way better for him... better league neway.. GO LIONS...

Bucket #18
2 May 2006, 21:21
shepp east are just lucky to have a awesome ruckman in Pete Fantini. standing at 201 cm tall, he has a great overhead mark and great tap work, needs to work on strength but it will come. doing well in fitness and does well for the side, they play in a s**t league but ah well thought id mention that he's pretty good and should play at seymour coz it would be way better for him... better league neway.. GO LIONS...

I totaly agree waddo, he is an awesome ruckman and hard to match up, standing 201cm tall and having the hand skills he does with marking, tapping out of the ruck etc. It would be great for him to come play in a league with as good footy as the GV,

Wayne Weideman
3 May 2006, 08:03
I have been looking around the leagues on past GVFL players.

Archard seems to be carving up the SANFL. I watched a game on Austar and him and Scott McGlone had countless possesions. The SANFL is stronger than the GVFL so that just shows how good they both are!

Wilson from Echuca has kicked a few goals for his new club North Beach while O'Callaghan is playing in the same league for Scarborough, not to sure how he has been going though.

Guthrie seems to be going along ok, while Dale Reyne has made a good first impression with his new club Echuca United, Echuca bombers would be dirty that they lost him!

all but one doozy man are echuca players. you really haven't looked into this.:mad:

ilovetogetblind
3 May 2006, 11:19

I see Nick Kinght (ex Rochy) kicked five for South Bendigo on the weekend to get them over the line.

Jezza Campbell and Timmy Rasmussen, now coach and assistant coach at Blackburn in the EFL got smashed by last year's premiers and perennial flag favourites, Vermont, last week..

They bounced back with a win last weekend I think....

alfie
3 May 2006, 13:13
surely there must b some shep united guy's on here. will greg peasron and scott morath cement themselves in the seniors all year?

centreman
3 May 2006, 13:32
surely there must b some shep united guy's on here. will greg peasron and scott morath cement themselves in the seniors all year?

I've seen united a couple of times and neither have played senior footy. Sidey 87 might know if they are playing twos but I haven't heard of them

centreman
3 May 2006, 13:41

I've seen united a couple of times and neither have played senior footy. Sidey 87 might know if they are playing twos but I haven't heard of them

bronco27
3 May 2006, 20:33
can anyone tell me how hilton went last week for euroa.herd the first week he did'nt get a touch cheers.

jmain14
3 May 2006, 20:54
I see Nick Kinght (ex Rochy) kicked five for South Bendigo on the weekend to get them over the line.

They bounced back with a win last weekend I think....
good to hear from you buddy. been working too hard to post on here in the last little while have ya??

in other news, and I realise this should be more for the hdfl thread but oh well, I see 'python' rathjen snagged a goal after the siren to win the game for the colbo ressies at the w'end.

Sly Dog
3 May 2006, 21:22
managed to catch a bit of the ky v benalla game on the weekend and as stated previously ky are going to give a few sides a run for their money. if newman alone can play four quarters then they are on their way to winning. the bald headed penguin also knows how to find the footy, he would have had it 30 times. benalla looked good in patches but not sure about the hype of them being flag favourites.

head67
4 May 2006, 09:14
[quote=bronco27]can anyone tell me how hilton went last week for euroa.herd the first week he did'nt get a touch cheers.[/quote Apparently played CHF and put a good effort with out dominating

Sidey_87
4 May 2006, 12:33
Yeah they are going well in the 2's.
Will push for senior selection.
Pearso was unlucky he didn't play any games last year.
But they are handy 2's footballers at this stage.

On Pete Fantini, i thought he was playing u/19's in melb?
But obvious;ly gone back to his home club after a year with United 3rds last year.
Didn't get many chances to ruck last year though.
But can kick a footy.

waddo #6
4 May 2006, 12:41
On Pete Fantini, i thought he was playing u/19's in melb?
But obvious;ly gone back to his home club after a year with United 3rds last year.
Didn't get many chances to ruck last year though.
But can kick a footy.[/quote]

yeah he was thinking of it but in the end thought shepp east was closer to home, although he is living in seymour he goes up every weekend, good to see he is getting a good run this year and geting fairly good write up's in shepp news etc... should come down to seymour and have a run, would be much better for him...

Sidey_87
4 May 2006, 12:46
yeah he was thinking of it but in the end thought shepp east was closer to home, although he is living in seymour he goes up every weekend, good to see he is getting a good run this year and geting fairly good write up's in shepp news etc... should come down to seymour and have a run, would be much better for him...
I don't know about that, because he'd be playing 2's most of the year.
I'd rather see him have 2 years in the PDFL and bulk up, then go back to GV and would be capable of playing good senior footy.
I spose it doesn't matter where he goes, just like all young ruckmen, he'll take time to develop.

Whispers
4 May 2006, 23:27
Just thought I'd keep you guys up to date with the 'Monster' Mencsh in the GFL.

Apparenlty had a great pre-season, didn't miss a beat. Came out in the first game and slotted 10 against the worst team in the comp in St. Albans. Week after kicked 6 against the highly rated Bell Park and then on the weekend against St. Joeys only kicked 3. Didn't get in the best and broke a 21 yo jaw but was never reported.

Huge man with massive mits and booming kick.... but is way too slow. Opponents just run off him with too much ease and no pressure....

How is Josh Vick going for Ky!?

a.k.a.
5 May 2006, 11:43

Apparenlty had a great pre-season, didn't miss a beat. Came out in the first game and slotted 10 against the worst team in the comp in St. Albans. Week after kicked 6 against the highly rated Bell Park and then on the weekend against St. Joeys only kicked 3. Didn't get in the best and broke a 21 yo jaw but was never reported.

Huge man with massive mits and booming kick.... but is way too slow. Opponents just run off him with too much ease and no pressure....

Does Scot Mcleod still play for leopold in the GFL ?

vote for pedro
5 May 2006, 12:31

Hi mate. Troy here. My cousin Brento Riordan plays for Grovedale, and I was wonering if you've seen him play much footy this year? How is he going? He was runner up for them last year and did a bit more of a pre-season this year.

Doona2
5 May 2006, 15:10
Sutherland cleared but not impressed

By Mark Brown
May 5 2006
Shepparton News

Decorated ruckman Jarrod Sutherland has taken a swipe at the Shepparton Football Club after he was cleared of any wrong doing surrounding a collision with Bears on-baller Jeremy O'Brien.

Sutherland said yesterday he was extremely disappointed with the Bears' hierarchy, claiming they had "dragged his name through the mud" over a typical football incident.

"It's getting ridiculous," the Shepparton Swans coach said.

"The umpire saw the passage of play, paid a free kick and that should have been it.

"There was nothing more to it, but all of a sudden my name and the club are being dragged through the mud."

Goulburn Valley Football League yesterday confirmed Sutherland had been exonerated over the round-two collision with O'Brien.

Victorian Country Football League delegate Gary Whitford recommended Sutherland had no case to answer over the incident, which left O'Brien with a cracked rib and punctured lung.

The recommendation was ratified by the league's board on Wednesday night.

Whitford was commissioned by the league to investigate the clash after an official request from the Bears.

"It's a relief, but it shouldn't have got that far," Sutherland said.

"We could go through our video every week and find four or five different things that were a lot more serious than that."

Whitford interviewed O'Brien and two additional witnesses, as well as officiating umpire Chris McCallum, before making his recommendation.

The investigation cost an estimated $350.

The league is yet to decide if it will force Shepparton to foot the bill.

jazzy
5 May 2006, 16:18
good to hear scanlon has only done the medial. Only medial compared to a cruciate which would have been a big lose for the lions. He was just starting to show what a player he was and living up to his promise. Hope he's back on the track sooner rather than later!

Bucket #18
5 May 2006, 22:43
good to hear scanlon has only done the medial. Only medial compared to a cruciate which would have been a big lose for the lions. He was just starting to show what a player he was and living up to his promise. Hope he's back on the track sooner rather than later!

I hope his back on the track A.S.A.P as does just about everyone, thank god it was only the medial. I would hate to see him benched for the season after doin a cruciate. He was starting to show really good form in the first 3 rounds. .....GO LOINS!!!!:thumbsu: ....

Johnny Tapp
6 May 2006, 06:11
Following the St Kilda v Freo outcome, rumour has it that Rochester will be lodging an official investigation with the AFL over the result of the 1993 Grand Fnal which was decided by a free kick awarded after the siren sounded.

AFL - what a disgraceful decision....

junior04
6 May 2006, 21:22
Can anyone tell me how Simon LEE goes? I think he used to play for Shepp??? I see he has got a clearance to spotswood in the western region

head67
7 May 2006, 00:03
Following the St Kilda v Freo outcome, rumour has it that Rochester will be lodging an official investigation with the AFL over the result of the 1993 Grand Fnal which was decided by a free kick awarded after the siren sounded.

AFL - what a disgraceful decision....And the 90...........

Flat Track Bully
7 May 2006, 00:22

Scott, who won the 1999 Allthorpe Medal for B and F in the GFL scoobies, last I heard was playing at East Geelong in the GDFL

Could never cement a regualar senior berth at Leopold, especially when Merriman was coach.

Wayne Weideman
7 May 2006, 10:02
:thumbsu: can ah anyone inform weather or not sammy brennan is back playing with rochy, as he had a hamstring complaint a couple of weeks ago. good player if down. :thumbsu:

Doona2
7 May 2006, 10:30
Caught a look at Ky/Seymour yesty watching the Lions get out of jail with an 8 goal to 1 final term. Full credit to Kyabram who took it up to Seymour and looked the goods when 29 points up at the last change, before abandoning the style of play that had em there, allowing the Lion's runners (Colbert, Hooper, Van Reit, Haberman, Reid,Penn) dictate the final 25 minutes.

From full forward Paul Newman kicked 4 first quarter goals, before Jeff Anderson responded with a more Joffa like performance keeping the livewire to 6 for the day. Brendan Liddell's form continued with 4 majors, Saad Saad bobbed up with 6 and coulda been more but for several wayward atttempts.

Haberman and Van Reit's second halves were first class, and Simon Gordon took some strong marks which would no doubt be pleasing to all involved. Kyabram went inside their forward 50m once in the opening 15 minutes of the last term.

Forgive me but I wasn't familiar with many Ky players, obviously Newman was good, Sierakowski and number 18 marked well across half forward, and numbers 8 & 10 I thought were very classy through the midfield.

Oh and the Strauchnie/Paul Barnard look-alike (#16) caught me eye but only for his uncanny likeness to Strauchnie.

Wayne Weideman
7 May 2006, 10:32
Caught a look at Ky/Seymour yesty watching the Lions get out of jail with an 8 goal to 1 final term. Full credit to Kyabram who took it up to Seymour and looked the goods when 29 points up at the last change, before abandoning the style of play that had em there, allowing the Lion's runners (Colbert, Hooper, Van Reit, Haberman, Reid,Penn) dictate the final 25 minutes.

From full forward Paul Newman kicked 4 first quarter goals, before Jeff Anderson responded with a more Joffa like performance keeping the livewire to 6 for the day. Brendan Liddell's form continued with 4 majors, Saad Saad bobbed up with 6 and coulda been more but for several wayward atttempts.

Haberman and Van Reit's second halves were first class, and Simon Gordon took some strong marks which would no doubt be pleasing to all involved. Kyabram went inside their forward 50m once in the opening 15 minutes of the last term.

Forgive me but I wasn't familiar with many Ky players, obviously Newman was good, Sierakowski and number 18 marked well across half forward, and numbers 8 & 10 I thought were very classy through the midfield.

Oh and the Strauchnie/Paul Barnard look-alike (#16) caught me eye but only for his uncanny likeness to Strauchnie.

love ya work doona

Porttim
7 May 2006, 11:48
Hi All,
I'm new to this whole thing but i thought you may like to know what happen to Adam Cosham. well his back playing Footy with a V.F.L team in Port Melbourne, he hasn't had a senior game as yet but has been going fairly well in the Res. It's hard for the 2's boys to get in the Seniors with all the EX-AFL players in the team but i believe Adam has what it takes so Keep an Eye out for him in coming weeks :thumbsu: .

Being a stand alone club is great for Port Melbourne !!

Porttim
7 May 2006, 12:15
i just thought you may like to know that adam cosham is now playing footy for port melbourne in the V.F.L and doing a great job of it, his speed has picked up and his looking great, if you ask me!!

Porttim
7 May 2006, 12:20
[quote=cookie33]How are the boys from VFL going at Seymour and Benalla?? I know Saad Saad is a gun he can jump,run,kick,mark the kid can do anything. What about Adam Cosham and Shannon Downey the former Coburg Tiger youngsters? I saw the Burgers play Werribee last season and Adam Cosham can find the footy seems to be a tad slow but is able to get in and under and get a hard ball which is what makes him a very good player and a must have type. Also on that day Shannon Downey played he impressed me and a few others alot, he is very very smart around the goals and is exciting to watch has that uncanny ability to get front and square everytime more of a match winner than Cosham but both are very handy pick ups and should go real well.

Hi cookie i just thought you would like to know Cosham is now playing with Port Melbourne in V.F.L and is doing a great job, his speed has picked up and his still a hard in player as aswell, i think he look great!! you should come down a watch.

hank1
7 May 2006, 13:05
Can anyone tell me how Simon LEE goes? I think he used to play for Shepp??? I see he has got a clearance to spotswood in the western region

Simon Lee has played at Mooroopna, Tat and Shepp Utd in the GV he is an honest backman in the GV, might find it harder with the smaller grounds in the WRFL

numba4
7 May 2006, 13:07
Yeah he chases the $$, i think at the end of last year when he was playing for shepp utd he ended up playing in the 2's?

He is alright just from what i have seen doesnt go in very hard

numba4
7 May 2006, 14:27
RESULTS:

Shepparton United 3.4 7.3 1.3 3.2 (14.12)
Euroa 3.3 3.3 9.4 3.2 (18.12)

Goals
Euroa CRAIG BAMFORD 4, CHRIS O'BRIEN 4, RORY HILTON 3, MARK JANSZ 2, DAVID KING 1, CRAIG MARSHALL 1, DANIEL SAGE 1, LUKE HYATT 1, SCOTT GRAINGER 1
Shepp Utd
MATT FORYS 6, SAM DAWES 2, MICHAEL BARLOW 1, GAVIN KITTO 1, ASHLEY ROUND 1, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM 1, GRANT MCLARTY 1, DALE OSBORNE 1

Best
Euroa SHANE CLAYTON, DAMON CLARKE, CRAIG MARSHALL, CRAIG BAMFORD, MARK CLAYTON, ADRIAN HAMILL
Shepp Utd
PHILLIP CARROLL, MATT FORYS, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM, SAM DAWES, NATHAN BOVALINO, TRAVIS EDDY

Shepp Swans 1.5 4.4 5.5 8.2 (18.16)
Echuca 3.1 4.1 0.0 3.1 (10.3)

Goals
Swans
JASON RACHELE 4, LUCAS WHITE 3, GLENN DUNDOVIC 3, MATTHEW MCCARTY 3, CARL BRUINIER 2, HEATH BARTON 1, ROBERT MONTGOMERY 1, JARROD SUTHERLAND 1
Echuca
LUKE AGG 3, JAMUS CAMPBELL 1, XAVIER CAMPBELL 1, CHRISTOPHER CASEY 1, COLIN DURIE 1, STEPHEN WHITE 1, JOHN HALLORAN 1, NICK JACKSON 1

Best
Swans
JASON RACHELE, JARROD SUTHERLAND, MATTHEW MCCARTY, SIMON RYAN, BRETT WARBURTON, LOCHLAN VEALE
Echuca
COLIN DURIE, XAVIER CAMPBELL, BRENDAN PRENDERGAST, CASEY NANCE, JAMUS CAMPBELL, FABIAN HITCHENS

Mansfield 2.3 5.8 5.1 6.5 (18.17)
Mooroopna 3.1 2.2 6.3 3.0 (14.6)

Goals
Eagles
JAMIE SHEAHAN 3, DANNY WALKER 2, REECE SONNBERG 2, ROSS HOPKINS 2, TRENT HOTTON 2, NATHAN REYNOLDSON 2, DANIEL ROY 2, GUY TAYLOR 1, FRASER STEVENSON 1, JAMES HERRIDGE 1
Mooroopna
BALRAJ SINGH 4, BEN TREMELLEN 3, TYSON WARNETT 2, BRAD CAMPBELL 1, NICKOLAS ALOI 1, PAUL NEVILLE 1, ROBERT OSBORNE 1, SHAUN ROBBINS 1

Best
Eagles
ROSS HOPKINS, TRENT HOTTON, DANIEL ROY, FRASER STEVENSON, BEN TRENFIELD, CAMERON HOTTON
Mooroopna
DEREK HALL, LUKE LE BROCQ, SHAUN ROBBINS, TYSON WARNETT, GEOFF CONNALLY, CHRIS KENDALL

Seymour 7.1 3.1 3.2 8.3 (21.7)
Kyabram 8.4 6.2 3.3 1.1 (18.10)

Goals
Seymour SAAD SAAD 6, BRENDAN LIDDELL 4, SIMON GORDON 2, SHANE SCHOTTNER 2, ADAM REID 2, BEN DAVEY 1, RODNEY VAN RIET 1, MICHAEL SHIELS 1, TIM HOOPER 1, GUY PEMBERTON 1
Kyabram
PAUL NEWMAN 6, ANDREW SIEROKOWSKI 3, JAMES TAYLOR 2, DION CIAVOLA 2, BRETT MORGAN 2, HEATH BARNETT 1, OLIVER BOYD 1, GARETH OUGHTON 1

Best
Seymour
ADAM REID, BRENT COLBERT, SAAD SAAD, BERNARD HABERMAN, MATTHEW PENN, TIM HOOPER
Kyabram
JAMES TAYLOR, PAUL NEWMAN, JOSH FINN, GARETH OUGHTON, JASON MORGAN, DION CIAVOLA

Rochester 5.2 1.1 4.4 6.2 (16.9)
Tatura 5.3 6.3 1.4 2.3 (14.13)

Goals
Rochester
ELLIOT BOWEN 7, ROBERT TUOHEY 4, CLINT WHITSED 3, NATHAN WHIPP 2, DYLAN CUTTRISS 2, KAHL OLIVER 1
Tatura
BRYCE WELLINGTON 8, MARTIN MCGRATH 3, MICHAEL ROBERTS 1, JOSH GLEDHILL 1, STEVE KIRBY 1

Best
Rochester
ELLIOT BOWEN, HEATH AITKEN, DYLAN CUTTRISS, KAHL OLIVER, DEAN MOON, COLIN HARVEY
Tatura
LEE WARNETT, LINCOLN WELLINGTON, BRYCE WELLINGTON, TIM LANYON, SCOTT THORN, AARON WILLOUGHBY

Unsure on Results of Benalla Vs Shepp Bears

raso43
7 May 2006, 18:32
Has anyone have any results from Benalla and Shepp?

Sidey_87
7 May 2006, 18:38
Has anyone have any results from Benalla and Shepp?
I think shepp won by 4 goals.

Whispers
7 May 2006, 19:14

Not sure. There are a few McLeods in Geelong but playing for different clubs.

Whispers
7 May 2006, 19:23
Hi mate. Troy here. My cousin Brento Riordan plays for Grovedale, and I was wonering if you've seen him play much footy this year? How is he going? He was runner up for them last year and did a bit more of a pre-season this year.

By the newspaper reports he has been playing really well. Got selected in the Under 25 interleague squad which will play the Bellarine U 25's. Been kicking bags of 3's each week. Been their best player prob this year.... Not pis:) ing in his pocket when i say that.

Doona2
7 May 2006, 19:25
By the newspaper reports he has been playing really well. Got selected in the Under 25 interleague squad which will play the Bellarine U 25's. Been kicking bags of 3's each week. Been their best player prob this year.... Not pis:) ing in his pocket when i say that.

Goulburn Valley Football League thread boys . . . .

Doona2
7 May 2006, 19:31

Did forget to mention that the umpires copped an almighty (and uneccessary) spray from both groups of supporters as they walked off. Fair dinkum as an independant spectator I failed to see at any point where the umpires had any great influence over the contest.

The guys I did feel sorry for were the couple of middle aged Kyabram chaps who copped a spray from a couple of obvious Seymour "centrelink assisted" W**kers who were probably at their first ever game of footy and carried on accordingly . . . . . no doubt very embarrassing for those die hard Lion's people.

numba4
7 May 2006, 19:47
Goulburn Valley Football League thread boys . . . .

Hahah exactly what i was about to say

Porttim
7 May 2006, 19:54
hi numba4, just wondering if you could tell me abit about benalla footy team?

numba4
7 May 2006, 21:56
I know a few boys from Benalla Football team, From what i know of them they should be a Tall side with a few players over 6'2 and good runners, have 3 players on the Murray Bushranger list in being Sam Harris, Brady Green and James Saker.
I think there no.1 ruckman maybe playing seniors to act as a back up ruckman why Porter is out. Also very strong Full Foward who was an Under 15 All Aus in Tom Rockcliff. Farren Preist who is another under ager is also very deadly around goals.

Players to Keep an eye on are
-Tom Rockcliff (You really need to put somebody quick on him who can get in front of him and spoil to stop him from Marking it)
-Sam Harris (Obviously a talented player, on bushies list)
-Brady Green (Same as Sam Harris, very strong hard runner)
-Farren Priest (If you put to much concentration on Rockcliff this kid will kick a bag so must pay respect to this kid and play tight on him as well)
- James Saker (Is currently playing TAC but may be an inclusion soon depending how well he is playing in that)
Willy Martinello (im not to sure about this kid, dont really know he's + and -, i do know that he is a very handy player though)

efcskip47
7 May 2006, 23:55
has anyone seen any of euroa's matches this year? there are a few youngsters in the reserves who must not be far off senior selection. young saville is a sneak around the sticks and should be close to leading the goal kicking. just one of the veterans running around is "WHIPPETT". i mean this guy just bleeds for the club. a very servicable clubman who cant be far away from seniors football. BEWARE THE FLY

what do you guys think?

Doona2
8 May 2006, 00:17
has anyone seen any of euroa's matches this year? there are a few youngsters in the reserves who must not be far off senior selection. young saville is a sneak around the sticks and should be close to leading the goal kicking. just one of the veterans running around is "WHIPPETT". i mean this guy just bleeds for the club. a very servicable clubman who cant be far away from seniors football. BEWARE THE FLY

what do you guys think?

I think Bernie Groom is just waiting for Grainger to fall over - he musta been on fire to jag 5 on the weekend and sits 2nd on the league table. Grainger has booted 19 but knows he has to perform every week now Big Bern is beginning to hit his straps!!!

If it aint Groom then it's gotta be Mark Mills for me . . .

efcskip47
8 May 2006, 01:14
I think Bernie Groom is just waiting for Grainger to fall over - he musta been on fire to jag 5 on the weekend and sits 2nd on the league table. Grainger has booted 19 but knows he has to perform every week now Big Bern is beginning to hit his straps!!!

If it aint Groom then it's gotta be Mark Mills for me . . .

Bernie is a time bomb waiting to explode. If someone were to ruffle his feathers, that may just be the end of the game. FOOTYBOSS will be looking forward to the week off. Its just a matter of whose joint he is going to crash at. Make sure you have the bucket ready.

slim18
8 May 2006, 14:42
Heard training was called very,very early on sun morning at Benalla. Any truth

head67
8 May 2006, 16:43
Heard training was called very,very early on sun morning at Benalla. Any truthNews this way says that a crisise(how do you spell it)meeting was called. Little early for that i would'a thought. Looks like the Lamaro rumor died. Ahh rumors every club has 'em.

ECHUCABOY
8 May 2006, 18:17
News this way says that a crisise(how do you spell it)meeting was called. Little early for that i would'a thought. Looks like the Lamaro rumor died. Ahh rumors every club has 'em.

Ahh this is what we love, some new comers that bring some real intelligence to the forum.....;)

head67
8 May 2006, 18:58
Ahh this is what we love, some new comers that bring some real intelligence to the forum.....;)Dey had a meetun dat was weal impotant

numba4
8 May 2006, 19:53
I know a few boys from Benalla Football team, From what i know of them they should be a Tall side with a few players over 6'2 and good runners, have 3 players on the Murray Bushranger list in being Sam Harris, Brady Green and James Saker.
I think there no.1 ruckman maybe playing seniors to act as a back up ruckman why Porter is out. Also very strong Full Foward who was an Under 15 All Aus in Tom Rockcliff. Farren Preist who is another under ager is also very deadly around goals.

Players to Keep an eye on are
-Tom Rockcliff (You really need to put somebody quick on him who can get in front of him and spoil to stop him from Marking it)
-Sam Harris (Obviously a talented player, on bushies list)
-Brady Green (Same as Sam Harris, very strong hard runner)
-Farren Priest (If you put to much concentration on Rockcliff this kid will kick a bag so must pay respect to this kid and play tight on him as well)
- James Saker (Is currently playing TAC but may be an inclusion soon depending how well he is playing in that)
Willy Martinello (im not to sure about this kid, dont really know he's + and -, i do know that he is a very handy player though)

Sorry i thought i was in the 18's sectino when i wrote this... not to sure bout benalla seniors, seem to be a quality outfit i dare say

littleskillsy
8 May 2006, 20:42
Is it true that Echuca lost that freck Muir to a better team. i also heard that it was all there own fult too!!

ringo1
8 May 2006, 20:54
if you have time, read back through pre season predictions. i know it is only early, but shepp swans seem the real surprise packets. everyone had them finishing in the bottom 4. also a few had tatura there abouts and theyre sitting last. the comp seems fairly even and everyone has a chance of winning on their day.