View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Bernie is a time bomb waiting to explode. If someone were to ruffle his feathers, that may just be the end of the game. FOOTYBOSS will be looking forward to the week off. Its just a matter of whose joint he is going to crash at. Make sure you have the bucket ready.
Unfortunately for Euroa younger players, they will have to rely on a few injuries to key senior players before they get an actual game. Saville is a good goal sneak. Didnt he play in the seniors a few years ago. What has the FOOTYBOSS been doing, has he even stepped onto the footy field this year as I havent seen his name anywhere amongst the players the best players or goal kickers in the seniors or reserves. If he has been playing, has he been getting a kick?
pete_mitchell
9 May 2006, 12:51
Is interleague coach Daniel going for a squad of quick players do you think? Does he have, may i say, "the need, the need for speed!"
Can anyone give a run down of the interleague squad, who is in it? Has the team been finalised? Any particular players to watch? Even players from other sides like O&M?
carntheblue&whitehoops
9 May 2006, 12:54
how are echuca looking this season? will they play finals?
vote for pedro
9 May 2006, 13:36
Is interleague coach Daniel going for a squad of quick players do you think? Does he have, may i say, "the need, the need for speed!"
Can anyone give a run down of the interleague squad, who is in it? Has the team been finalised? Any particular players to watch? Even players from other sides like O&M?
Watch Matt Foryz take centre stage. When the ball gets delivered to him lace out, which it should in this weekends matches, he will rarely miss a shot on goal. He'll prob roam around HF/F and bag 3-4 a match.
Sidey_87
9 May 2006, 13:39
Their midfield will match it with any team in the gv, but they lack a forward and backline.
They'll just miss finals.
Sidey_87
9 May 2006, 13:40
Watch Matt Foryz take centre stage. When the ball gets delivered to him lace out, which it should in this weekends matches, he will rarely miss a shot on goal. He'll prob roam around HF/F and bag 3-4 a match.
Well said.
Have you seen him play much Pedro?
no left foot
9 May 2006, 14:42
They will play finals! Stephen White and Brad Smith up forward will be very hard to match up on. Howman down back is one to watch and they have a very good midfield. Don't take last Saturday against Shepp Swans as an indication of where they are at. I think they would just mark it down as one to forget. Echuca will play finals.
if you have time, read back through pre season predictions. i know it is only early, but shepp swans seem the real surprise packets. everyone had them finishing in the bottom 4. also a few had tatura there abouts and theyre sitting last. the comp seems fairly even and everyone has a chance of winning on their day.
And the Swannie still have a few more recruits from Darwin on the way! One is Charlie Maher's brother (not sure of his name), who is a gun, apparently, one is Josh Wilson, who was the interleague ruckman for the NT last year and the last one is the biggest signing of all and will cause massive headaches at GV level with his blistering pace, poise and polish..Swans to fight it out for a place in the top 4 for me...definitely play finals..and let's not forget Cam Heily is due back there as well..
Travvy43
9 May 2006, 15:56
They will play finals! Stephen White and Brad Smith up forward will be very hard to match up on. Howman down back is one to watch and they have a very good midfield. Don't take last Saturday against Shepp Swans as an indication of where they are at. I think they would just mark it down as one to forget. Echuca will play finals.
I am not sure Echuca would be certain to play finals.
Finals aspirants would have to be:
Seymour (certainty category)
Euroa (certainty category)
Benella (certainty category)
Swans (should get in category)
Cats (should get in category)
Fighting it out for the final spot:
Echuca (would be favourites of this lot)
Mansfield (who knows, good home ground advantage)
Rochester (never underrate)
Kyabram (pushed seymour)
United (could surprise)
Travvy I agreewith your assesment. I reckon Echuca could finish 6-9th this season.:)
no left foot
9 May 2006, 16:33
Travvy I agreewith your assesment. I reckon Echuca could finish 6-9th this season.:)
Time will tell, for me Murray Bombers with a full list will play finals. Write them off at your own peril !!!!!
And the Swannie still have a few more recruits from Darwin on the way! One is Charlie Maher's brother (not sure of his name), who is a gun, apparently, one is Josh Wilson, who was the interleague ruckman for the NT last year and the last one is the biggest signing of all and will cause massive headaches at GV level with his blistering pace, poise and polish..Swans to fight it out for a place in the top 4 for me...definitely play finals..and let's not forget Cam Heily is due back there as well.. Just on Josh Wilson,he was up with justin clarke & peter mcfarlane as the form ruckmen during there season in darwin...has'nt Wilson arrived yet !? i just have'nt seen his name in the best players & thought that was strange !!
akka dakka
9 May 2006, 17:34
Not so sure about Benalla being certainties for finals - Lost to Shepp on the weekend and have lost Symes for a fair chunk of the season
centreman
9 May 2006, 18:11
I am not sure Echuca would be certain to play finals.
Finals aspirants would have to be:
Seymour (certainty category)
Euroa (certainty category)
Benella (certainty category)
Swans (should get in category)
Cats (should get in category)
Fighting it out for the final spot:
Echuca (would be favourites of this lot)
Mansfield (who knows, good home ground advantage)
Rochester (never underrate)
Kyabram (pushed seymour)
United (could surprise)
Agree very much with your assessment. I think if United get it together, and that's probably a big if that this stage, they could sneak a fifth or sixth and I'm not 100 per cent sure on the Swannies.
Seymour, Euroa, Benalla and Mooroopna are the top four then I agree with you summation.
Doozy_Man
9 May 2006, 19:38
Time will tell, for me Murray Bombers with a full list will play finals. Write them off at your own peril !!!!!
Echuca seem to have a better list of players than last year. They have lost Murphy (tall forward) Wilson (tall forward/back) Reyne (tall forward) and Tonizzo (midfielder) and they have picked up some handy players. They should slide into finals, but they seem to be up and down alot so it is hard to say. Their depth is the question?
Question time guys - I hope you can answer this one doona specially since you are 'da man' of this thread!!! Whats the go with the ladders displayed on the gv website - It seems that there is an fft (next to bye) on the ladder and Seymour FC is the only club in all grades to have one. Seymour has played 4, won 4. But instead ladder says won 3 and fft 1, but are still on 16 points. Is it a forfeit or something? All Seymour grades have one!! Tatura 2's havnt won a game yet have 1 fft and 4 points!!! Strange! Could be just an error?
Fair chance she'd be an error, does seem very odd when you look back thru the scores what fft could be for :confused:
And the Swannie still have a few more recruits from Darwin on the way! One is Charlie Maher's brother (not sure of his name), who is a gun, apparently, one is Josh Wilson, who was the interleague ruckman for the NT last year and the last one is the biggest signing of all and will cause massive headaches at GV level with his blistering pace, poise and polish..Swans to fight it out for a place in the top 4 for me...definitely play finals..and let's not forget Cam Heily is due back there as well..
:D :D :D
bradrowe#32
9 May 2006, 22:47
It's been a while since I've been to a GV game, but I must say that Rochester's big recruit Elliot Bowen is tearing it up. Seven goals (13 from 4 games) and best on ground against Tatura on the weekend. He has been named first best for Rochy every week and is in the interleague squad. Early candidate for recruit of the year?
Travvy43
10 May 2006, 10:26
Echuca seem to have a better list of players than last year. They have lost Murphy (tall forward) Wilson (tall forward/back) Reyne (tall forward) and Tonizzo (midfielder) and they have picked up some handy players. They should slide into finals, but they seem to be up and down alot so it is hard to say. Their depth is the question?
There is one notable absentee from your list here and he is the major one: Archard.
vote for pedro
10 May 2006, 11:36
Well said.
Have you seen him play much Pedro?
Incase you've forgtten Sidey87, we spoke about big footy late Saturday arvo upstairs........ :) coming back to you yet?????
Doozy_Man
10 May 2006, 11:44
There is one notable absentee from your list here and he is the major one: Archard.
Yeah well everyone knows that he is the biggest loss not just to Echuca but also the GVFL inter league side!
Sidey_87
10 May 2006, 12:11
Incase you've forgtten Sidey87, we spoke about big footy late Saturday arvo upstairs........ :) coming back to you yet?????
yep, all coming back.
You have probably seen him play a fair bit then lol.:D
vote for pedro
10 May 2006, 12:17
yep, all coming back.
You have probably seen him play a fair bit then lol.:D
Yea mate! Ha ha!
True that steele is leaving on Saturday back to WA? Koulas out for season with a knee, so that is another 2 down. Few boys missing out in the twos might actually get a crack now. Smitty buggered his ankle at work the other day too apparently!
akka dakka
10 May 2006, 14:25
does stan have to have a reco?
Sidey_87
10 May 2006, 15:00
does stan have to have a reco?
There's a 90% chance.
United have a few injuries but hopefully Smithy can get back to his best in a few weeks.
Sidey_87
10 May 2006, 15:01
Yea mate! Ha ha!
True that steele is leaving on Saturday back to WA? Koulas out for season with a knee, so that is another 2 down. Few boys missing out in the twos might actually get a crack now. Smitty buggered his ankle at work the other day too apparently!
Yes a big loss there with Steele and Stan.
2 senior players but it opens the door for the other blokes.
centreman
10 May 2006, 15:02
There's a 90% chance.
United have a few injuries but hopefully Smithy can get back to his best in a few weeks.
What's the feeling around United Sidey 87 - I see looking at the scores that you've lost the past three and it looks like you've had chances to win them. It would be a big let down if you didn't make the finals wouldn't it?
akka dakka
10 May 2006, 15:46
Yes a big loss there with Steele and Stan.
2 senior players but it opens the door for the other blokes.
And with schirmer out for a while the next two games won't be as easy as expected
How has Steve Scott's form been?
inlimbo
10 May 2006, 17:08
Well were only four rounds into the season so you can't look to far into how the season will pan out, but because i felt like posting I thought i would throw in some observations....
Kyabram seem to be the new Rochy of the leauge, may lack the names everyone wants to talk about but will take it right up to much fancied opponents- judging by their last two weeks versus Seymour and Benalla. Wouldn't be suprised if they slip into the 6.
Early days yet but Benalla had alot of fan fair at the start of last season also... enough said.
Shepp Swans are flying and unless they get voted out for "going under the radar" might suprise alot of people by seasons end. I bet Jim Kelly is suprised the list is stronger this year and may even cross over half-way through the year to get a ones gig???
I bet Jim Kelly is suprised the list is stronger this year and may even cross over half-way through the year to get a ones gig???
Is that the Jamie Kelly who's put ina clearance to Broadford inlimbo? Will he hang around or do you mean he'll look to head back to the Swans if they're a finals threat? I hope for the locals sake he does stay coz big Angwin cant seem to get thru a full game at the minute
Sidey_87
10 May 2006, 18:59
What's the feeling around United Sidey 87 - I see looking at the scores that you've lost the past three and it looks like you've had chances to win them. It would be a big let down if you didn't make the finals wouldn't it?
Yes our past 3 games have been heartbreakers, especially Mooroopna and Euroa.
I feel we should have beaten Mooroopna and Echuca, we had off day's.
Our disposal was shocking.
Although on the weekend we played some good footy.
It was just the 9 goal to 1 3rd term which cost us.
I really don't think Echuca are as good as our scoreline showed, they will be a good side in the wet though.
But the boy's haven't totally dropped their head's.
We are confident we can play finals.
Just have to play 4 quarters of footy.
Sidey_87
10 May 2006, 19:03
And with schirmer out for a while the next two games won't be as easy as expected
How has Steve Scott's form been?
The next 2 games will be very tough, but this year there are no easy games at all.
The backline hasn't been too bad without Schirmer, Phil Carroll has stepped up a gear.
It will be a huge plus having him back though.
Scotty has been ok, last week was good.
Lightning quick.
inlimbo
10 May 2006, 21:02
Is that the Jamie Kelly who's put ina clearance to Broadford inlimbo? Will he hang around or do you mean he'll look to head back to the Swans if they're a finals threat? I hope for the locals sake he does stay coz big Angwin cant seem to get thru a full game at the minute
I think we have the same person doona, i didn't realise he was up your way!! Has he played a game yet?? Last i seen he was in the swans magoos! I was just talking in reference to his departing the lions mid way through last season.... Whats next Inness and Spargo heading up :D
Wayne Weideman
10 May 2006, 21:09
I think we have the same person doona, i didn't realise he was up your way!! Has he played a game yet?? Last i seen he was in the swans magoos! I was just talking in reference to his departing the lions mid way through last season.... Whats next Inness and Spargo heading up :D
just like to say that your posts inlimbo are informative and you sound like you are really switched on. :p
does anyone know whos still left in interleauge?
Duff Man
10 May 2006, 21:58
Spoke to Mark Adamson last night and said alot of the boys have pulled out through injuries and other reasons . Storer ,stevens , norman , singh , cowman, all pulled out last night im told. But hes still got a smile on his face when he talks about a forward line of Newman , Saad, Forys ,Bamford , and Bowen if he plays.
just like to say that your posts inlimbo are informative and you sound like you are really switched on. :p
This sounds like a mate of inlimbo to me :p
J. Kelly hasn't played yet, as for Spargo and Inness I think they're both made of a bit better stuff than that besides you blokes are looking the goods aren't ya's?
This sounds like a mate of inlimbo to me :p Actually played against the weid. hard bastard. This comment don't fit...:D ;)
jmain14
11 May 2006, 01:08
are there any rochy players playing/in the squad does anyone know??
bradrowe#32
11 May 2006, 01:33
are there any rochy players playing/in the squad does anyone know??
Gday mate, long time no chat.
Rochy have a few in the squad:
Carts - apparently withdrew from squad because he is going overseas soon.
Stretch - made the squad, but did his hammy in first round. not sure about him.
Heather - still in squad. pretty good start to the year.
Bowen - still in squad as far as i know. has been dominating.
Rushy Tiger
11 May 2006, 12:32
Bit of info brad. Heather unlikely to play. would love to but has personal commitments. Think stretch will give it a miss as well. Carts not far from leaving. Bowen will go well.
bradrowe#32
11 May 2006, 14:13
Bit of info brad. Heather unlikely to play. would love to but has personal commitments. Think stretch will give it a miss as well. Carts not far from leaving. Bowen will go well.
I love you.
ilovetogetblind
11 May 2006, 16:46
I love you.
Cut it out you two. Public forum.
Think you could be on the mark there Rushy Tiger.
Stretch wouldn't get a kick anyway... f....n hopeless that c&*t. Might have a few beers though!
Will be good to see how Bowen goes, have a feeling the standard will suit him very well.
jmain14
11 May 2006, 23:19
might as well make a 6th rochy post in a row.
this bowen bloke sounds like an absolute beauty. seems some handy recruiting has been done there.
Daniel's troops on right track
By Wes Cusworth
May 12 2006
Shepparton News
Steve Daniel would be a dab hand at Texas hold 'em.
If the recently appointed Goulburn Valley Football League coach was in any way concerned about the significance of this weekend's WorkSafe Country Championships in Albury there's no way you'd ever know.
His poker face is too hard to read.
"I can't wait, I'm really looking forward to it," Daniel said optimistically in anticipation of the weekend's championships at Lavington.
"At the end of the day you've got to be careful the way you work the whole system.
"You get a lot of players coming together that have got different game plans and different structures and they all play differently.
"I suppose my job is a very important role to get them all jelling and all playing together."
Clearly Daniel's premiership winning methods with Seymour and in the short time at the helm of the interleague side reflect time spent at the feet of Kangaroos' premiership coach and current Carlton mentor Dennis Pagan, with who he spent time as coach of the Northern Bullants.
However, Daniel concedes he won't be looking too far outside the square in his attempts to add more silverware to the league's trophy cabinet this weekend.
"I've got a couple of things in place that are pretty simple and pretty predictable to ourselves," he said about the manner in which he'd approach the games against Ballarat, Ovens and Murray and West Gippsland-Latrobe.
"That'll hopefully point us in the right direction."
FOOTYBOSS
12 May 2006, 13:03
DONT KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE BUT I AM SICK TO DEATH OF HEARING HOW STEVE DANIEL WAS AN ASSISTANT TO PAGAN. HE SAT IN THE BOX AND MOVED NAMES ON A WHITE BOARD AT BEST. GET SERIOUS BOYS:mad: :mad:
No Heart
12 May 2006, 13:29
DONT KNOW ABOUT ANYONE ELSE BUT I AM SICK TO DEATH OF HEARING HOW STEVE DANIEL WAS AN ASSISTANT TO PAGAN. HE SAT IN THE BOX AND MOVED NAMES ON A WHITE BOARD AT BEST. GET SERIOUS BOYS:mad: :mad:
Is that a bit of jealousy there boss? Cause he didnt ask you to join him at seymore.
Travvy43
12 May 2006, 13:41
Anyone know of any links that will provide information on who is in the teams that the GV will face this weekend. If anyone knows, is julian field lining up for ballarat.
The VCFL site would have to be one of the worst going around wouldn't it?
Also what happened to the GFL and their interleague representation
Wayne Weideman
12 May 2006, 14:09
Is that a bit of jealousy there boss? Cause he didnt ask you to join him at seymore.
seymour. that's how it is spelt:p
FOOTYBOSS
12 May 2006, 14:11
seymore?????? AFRAID THERE IS NO JELOUSY NO HEART. WOULDNT HAVE GONE ANYWAY -NOT INTO HAVING PEOPLE SPIT ALL OVER ME WHEN THEY TALK.:p JUST TRYING TO SHED SOME TRUTH ON THE LIE THAT YOUR SO CALLED SUPERCOACH WAS NOT AN ASSISTANT BUT IN FACT A WHITEBOARD MAN. CLEARLY THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE WOULDNT YOU THINK???
half time lollies
12 May 2006, 14:11
Hey Tige, you still out there? Heard you hadn't been seen at Tat for a couple of weeks then I had a look on the transfers list and what a surprise you have put a clearance to join Westmeadows. You certainly don't stay in the 1 place for long do you?? How come you are abandoning Tat when as you said they were such a 'good bunch of blokes'??
No Heart
12 May 2006, 14:29
seymore?????? AFRAID THERE IS NO JELOUSY NO HEART. WOULDNT HAVE GONE ANYWAY -NOT INTO HAVING PEOPLE SPIT ALL OVER ME WHEN THEY TALK.:p JUST TRYING TO SHED SOME TRUTH ON THE LIE THAT YOUR SO CALLED SUPERCOACH WAS NOT AN ASSISTANT BUT IN FACT A WHITEBOARD MAN. CLEARLY THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE WOULDNT YOU THINK???
Dont ever recall eth-jay thaying he wath athithtant to Denith. Think the mithcontheption might have come from the boyth at the local paper.
How long before youre back to full fitness boss? Or are you enjoying taking it easy for a while.
Cheers
Hey Tige, you still out there? Heard you hadn't been seen at Tat for a couple of weeks then I had a look on the transfers list and what a surprise you have put a clearance to join Westmeadows. You certainly don't stay in the 1 place for long do you?? How come you are abandoning Tat when as you said they were such a 'good bunch of blokes'??
I was thinking the same thing. Gone missing after pumping his own tires up all summer...
Have a look on the EDFL thread - you may find him talking out his a r s e to everyone on there...
FOOTYBOSS
12 May 2006, 15:10
Dont ever recall eth-jay thaying he wath athithtant to Denith. Think the mithcontheption might have come from the boyth at the local paper.
How long before youre back to full fitness boss? Or are you enjoying taking it easy for a while.
Cheers
Wont be back to full fitness until next year mate. Just cruising and taking it easy this year. Im enjoying the beers I put down during the senior game. Its better watching people bust their guts then me bust my gut on the field.:D
If its true about Tige heading back to Melbourne to play then that is s h i t house. Pumped up Tat all summer saying how good they are going to be and how a good bunch of blokes they are. He then nicks off when they start getting thrashed by teams. Nothing worse by a person to do that. Would hate to go to war with him. He would probably shoot you before the opposition.
Travvy43
12 May 2006, 15:11
Does the clearances site say if he taking his mates with him, mcgrath and one other??
Bit of a blow for tat if so, they invest so much time in chasing players and this is where it ends up.
Duff Man
12 May 2006, 15:18
If its true about Tige heading back to Melbourne to play then that is s h i t house. Pumped up Tat all summer saying how good they are going to be and how a good bunch of blokes they are. He then nicks off when they start getting thrashed by teams. Nothing worse by a person to do that. Would hate to go to war with him. He would probably shoot you before the opposition.
Here! Here! Poor form tige. Thought you were better than that. :thumbsd:
Vineyard
12 May 2006, 15:26
Anyone know of any links that will provide information on who is in the teams that the GV will face this weekend. If anyone knows, is julian field lining up for ballarat.
The VCFL site would have to be one of the worst going around wouldn't it?
Also what happened to the GFL and their interleague representation
Julian Field pulled out at the last minute last night along with a few other ex vfl players for North. Ballarat doest have the superstars but should work well as a team.
GFL couldnt afford to play which is an embarrassment to their league and is why ballarat stayed in the premier division
FOOTYBOSS
12 May 2006, 15:31
No jealousy at all there, considering I was playing with Epping when he got approached by Seymour I wouldnt have been in his thoughts. Plus I had already signed with Euroa before he signed with Seymour and unlike Tige I dont back out of contracts and all that stuff like he has twice in gvfl. Once with Benalla and now with Tat.
When we played them the other week, I was actually looking for him on the field only to be told that he wasnt playing. That was 3 rounds into the season.
Doozy_Man
12 May 2006, 16:12
Can anyone tell me what the hell is going on with Echuca? Everyone was talking them up before last week then they get smashed by 10 goals by the Swans! They haven't played anyone good yet have they? Alot of injuries to the side could really put them back i think. interesting on what you guys thoughts are?
Wayne Weideman
12 May 2006, 16:13
Can anyone tell me what the hell is going on with Echuca? Everyone was talking them up before last week then they get smashed by 10 goals by the Swans! They haven't played anyone good yet have they? Alot of injuries to the side could really put them back i think. interesting on what you guys thoughts are?
who are the guns echuca lost this year?
ECHUCABOY
12 May 2006, 17:23
who are the guns echuca lost this year?
Echuca will be alright Wayne I'd say 3-1 is a fair start to the season........
Echuca have lost only a couple this year, and picked up a few likely types as we know and should be around the mark come finals time.
I think its a "bit early" to say Echuca are struggling especially when they are 3-1 despite who they have played. Perhaps we will find out where they are really at after fronting up against the other top sides.
One things for sure this season, its a bloody even comp which is great to see. As much as it was a shame to see Tonny go, it has evened up our comp and they already have a win under their belt in the Murray League. The decision was always going to be a win win.
Hahaha typical of you blokes to jump on someone when knowing very little about the situation.
I cracked 2 of my ribs against Echuca and missed the next 2 weeks and this week as we have a bye for the interleague both Westy and Tatura where happy for me to be cleared back and forth for the game.
Playing for Westmeadows tommorow and then will play the next week with Tatura, really only playing for Westy to help a few mates out there as oits a fairly important game for them and its good to get a run when i havent had one for 2 weeks.
Good form from a few of you blokes, all in all i couldnt care less what a couple of big mouths have to say behind a computer screen means very little to me pfftt.
Anyway good luck to the Tat boys who are playing interleague and especially big Willa who has had a great start to the season.
cheers
bradrowe#32
12 May 2006, 18:53
Proposed GV team in the Shep News:
B: Linc Wellington - Jeff Anderson - Geoff Connally
HB: Tim Hooper - Elliot Bowen - Josh Walker
C: Blake Campbell - Simon Ryan - Wes Stott
HF: Michael Roberts - Paul Newman - Matt Forys
F: Craig Bamford - Saad Saad - Brendan Liddell
R: Paul Kirby - Dylan Butler - Rowan Priest
INT: Damon Clarke - Jason Morgan - Matt McCarty - Rob Montgomery - Matt O'Keefe - Tyson Sidebottom - Nick Allan
Sidey_87
13 May 2006, 15:49
Hahaha typical of you blokes to jump on someone when knowing very little about the situation.
I cracked 2 of my ribs against Echuca and missed the next 2 weeks and this week as we have a bye for the interleague both Westy and Tatura where happy for me to be cleared back and forth for the game.
Playing for Westmeadows tommorow and then will play the next week with Tatura, really only playing for Westy to help a few mates out there as oits a fairly important game for them and its good to get a run when i havent had one for 2 weeks.
Good form from a few of you blokes, all in all i couldnt care less what a couple of big mouths have to say behind a computer screen means very little to me pfftt.
Anyway good luck to the Tat boys who are playing interleague and especially big Willa who has had a great start to the season.
cheers
I should have done the same thing for Katandra.
Love my footy and hate a week off.
Good luck, Tat will bounce back.
Johnny Tapp
13 May 2006, 22:40
Anyone give me the results for todays games
Pretty certain Ballarat rolled the GV & the O & M beat West Gippsland.
Sidey_87
14 May 2006, 11:27
what bout the other game?
centreman
14 May 2006, 12:01
O and M thumped GV by 54 points.
Winner of today's OM v Ballarat wins the title.
Loser of the WGL-GV game relegated.
O and M thumped GV by 54 points.
Winner of today's OM v Ballarat wins the title.
Loser of the WGL-GV game relegated.
GV got up and saved themselves from relegation
There team was pretty average maybe next year they should put in a full strength squad and enilate everybody
daisy_train
14 May 2006, 20:15
I think that works for everyone though, O and M were missing a lot of talent as well.
I think the interleague concept as it is is fast approaching its use by date.
But oviously the O and M are once again the premier league in country victoria.
I think that works for everyone though, O and M were missing a lot of talent as well. .
Oh of course that works for everybody, i would love to see a battle with full strength sides, but i was seriously disapointed with the amount of GV players that didnt want to do it. About 10-15 Players would be changed
Oh of course that works for everybody, i would love to see a battle with full strength sides, but i was seriously disapointed with the amount of GV players that didnt want to do it. About 10-15 Players would be changed I think it's the same every where. Leagues have to look at what would make it more attractive, to make there top players want to take part. Most of the top players from every league are contracted so then they are asked train and play (for league) at there own expense. For this most of them a T-shirt or bragging rites is not enough. Don't know the answer but it makes good topic. I know up here in NSW last year the boys were asked to train 5 weeks once per week in lead up. Some with a 200 km round trip. In vic, at least, the dist isn't as bad.
TheJuddstarr#3
14 May 2006, 22:35
gv side needs to have a good ahrd look at themselves
daisy_train
14 May 2006, 22:44
Having talked to a fair few O&M blokes that didn't play there concern was playing so many games in a weekend, its just like that AFL's lightning cup, that was a glorified piece of crap.
Hopefully the higher ups will realise that its not working and change back to the old format or work something out.
Having talked to a fair few O&M blokes that didn't play there concern was playing so many games in a weekend, its just like that AFL's lightning cup, that was a glorified piece of crap.
Hopefully the higher ups will realise that its not working and change back to the old format or work something out.It has to be promoted more,glorified, make players want to take part. All leagues need to look at where there money is spent. Up here it is spent on new blazers and accomodation for the hangers on(admin. See league photo's).
Flat Track Bully
15 May 2006, 00:32
Hopefully the higher ups will realise that its not working and change back to the old format or work something out.
The lightening premiership in 1996 was only an extra money-spinner during the centenary year, not necessarily a glorified piece of crap. However, I do agree the current I/L system is flawed.
Flat Track Bully
15 May 2006, 00:33
Oh of course that works for everybody, i would love to see a battle with full strength sides, but i was seriously disapointed with the amount of GV players that didnt want to do it. About 10-15 Players would be changed
When Mark Harrap's in your interleague squad, you have serious concerns. A good player, but when the O and M blokes who had played against him when at Corowa-Rutherglen came up against him they would have been rubbing their hands together.
Better ruckman...Porter, Jones, Schottner, Kirby, Brennan, Cowman (hurts to say), Sutherland, Van Schaik, Saunders, Clarke...any I've missed?
PLAYER69
15 May 2006, 10:45
When Mark Harrap's in your interleague squad, you have serious concerns. A good player, but when the O and M blokes who had played against him when at Corowa-Rutherglen came up against him they would have been rubbing their hands together.
Better ruckman...Porter, Jones, Schottner, Kirby, Brennan, Cowman (hurts to say), Sutherland, Van Schaik, Saunders, Clarke...any I've missed?
Janz, Bailey better than Jones, Brennan, Cowman???, Van Schaik, Saunders!!! Thought they should get a mention before those over rated players!!!
PLAYER69
15 May 2006, 10:47
Also agree that Mark Harrap is the worst player ever to pull on a GV Guernsey:thumbsd: :thumbsd:
$hit I hope this Harrap fella is part of the select few who aint reading Big Footy!!!
jmain14
15 May 2006, 20:31
Janz, Bailey better than Jones, Brennan, Cowman???, Van Schaik, Saunders!!! Thought they should get a mention before those over rated players!!!
sorry p69, this post isn't very clear. which players are you suggesting are overrated??
#1 COACH
15 May 2006, 21:51
FTB & P69
Have you ever rucked against any of these blokes?
you've mentioned all these names who can play the game but where were they on the weekend? Harrap is a acception tap ruckman whos come back from 2 knee reco and is finally getting fit. Hes playing good footy for shepp hence why he was included by the GVFL coaching staff. They must think he can play!!
Why say Porter, Jones, Cowman?? these guys are injured.... didnt brennan play?
You are judging the others on their name. Their form to date hasnt been good enough be included.
"Abuse those blokes who didnt play not the blokes who did! These players derserve respect cos they did. They didnt make up excuess, they didnt say they couldnt be bothered. These guy have got the heart to represent the GV. These people cared and dont deserved this crap from arm chair critics!!!!:mad:
harsh, but fair
15 May 2006, 22:44
Is Eric Bottom out there?
I wonder how he is feeling about the GV almost being relegated.
Perhaps he could also come clean on the missing Ash-Wilson Trophy.
Also other ruckmans are Shane Schottner (not sure if he is still around though) and Karl Norman
Given Karl Norman didn't play for Mooroopna the week previously, I'd suspect he was injured.
Flat Track Bully
15 May 2006, 23:49
FTB & P69
you've mentioned all these names who can play the game but where were they on the weekend? Harrap is a acception tap ruckman whos come back from 2 knee reco and is finally getting fit. Hes playing good footy for shepp hence why he was included by the GVFL coaching staff. They must think he can play!!
You are judging the others on their name. Their form to date hasnt been good enough be included.
"Abuse those blokes who didnt play not the blokes who did! These players derserve respect cos they did. They didnt make up excuess, they didnt say they couldnt be bothered. These guy have got the heart to represent the GV. These people cared and dont deserved this crap from arm chair critics!!!!:mad:
1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.
2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.
3/ The format is f u c k e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.
Flat Track Bully
15 May 2006, 23:50
Given Karl Norman didn't play for Mooroopna the week previously, I'd suspect he was injured.
Was he injured, or was he dropped for disciplinary reasons.
jmain14
15 May 2006, 23:50
FTB & P69
well said. however, I would say that some players were legitimately injured and couldn't play as a result. other muppets like heath aitken and chris mccarty probably consider themselves too good for inters and make up random excuses to get out of it.
Was he injured, or was he dropped for disciplinary reasons.
Honestly dont know. Though given he's on the record as saying that his getting in trouble was a real wake up call for him, I'd doubt discipline would have been an issue.
Doozy_Man
16 May 2006, 11:29
Ballarat wins the division 1 championships when they were supposed to be playing in Division 2 but only came up because Geelong pulled out.. Then the GVFL who won the comp last year has to win their final game to not be relegated.. Is this a joke? The whole system seems stuffed to me! Bring back the full game and if the so called marque players don't play then fine them!
vote for pedro
16 May 2006, 12:04
Ballarat wins the division 1 championships when they were supposed to be playing in Division 2 but only came up because Geelong pulled out.. Then the GVFL who won the comp last year has to win their final game to not be relegated.. Is this a joke? The whole system seems stuffed to me! Bring back the full game and if the so called marque players don't play then fine them!
Good point, it is a hard thing to judge. I've spoken to a couple of players who were selected in the squad that are on a quid at their respective clubs and don't want to let their club down by chance of incurring an injury in the league games. Do they get paid enough money for interleague games? Do they get paid at all? Many players can easily get away with saying that they have a niggly injury when the selection process arrives. How do you adjudicate this?
thereoffandracing
16 May 2006, 14:24
1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.
2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.
3/ The format is f u c k e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.
As having played against the Harrop this year, he played very well against us and by all reports has been pretty consistent during the the other 3 weeks of the season so far. He obviously deserved his spot otherwise they would not have choosen him in the squad, so he must have been doing something right?? maybe you should have a go at the coaching staff of the Golburn Valley for picking him, if you think he is that bad of a ruckmam
half time lollies
16 May 2006, 17:01
I watched the GV play Ovens and Murray and I would of had Marc Harrap in the best few players for the GV. Him and Lee Warnett were about the only 2 players to have a crack for GV in what was a pathetic display! Didn't see the other 2 games but I thought Harrap deserved his opportunity and made the most of the limited opportunities he was given. S h i t form by those people to get on here and get stuck into him without even watching any of the carnival!
well said lollies, people get on here and bagg the :D:D:D:D out of players, when in actual fact they didn't even see that person play. i was at the carnival on the weekend and i too think he acyually held his own out on the field, with the limited time he did get. and knowing marc im sure he was 100% commited to the side and the gv jumper he was wearing..
Norman played against Mansfield but wasnt named in the paper
i agree with ya didnt even bother to go watch it. not real footy at all.
Hey Tige, you still out there? Heard you hadn't been seen at Tat for a couple of weeks then I had a look on the transfers list and what a surprise you have put a clearance to join Westmeadows. You certainly don't stay in the 1 place for long do you?? How come you are abandoning Tat when as you said they were such a 'good bunch of blokes'?? assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.