View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Stop having a sook and get a kick. Your clearly a troll.
Could you blokes stop flirting for one minute..
Well Scribe and Hawkeye.... im obvisoulsy correct with my previous statement other wise i would not of raise an eye brw from you to...I can definately say im not a two head seymour person thank you and i am a paid up member of the euroa football club. Just cause i speak the truth...im not high up on the board so i have no such reason to with hold information...If your so switched on with whats going on round the club then u would no exactly what there getting paid.Players like clayton,grainger,sage,janze etc dont come to euroa for sausages and a ********...get real u two.who cares what they get paid honestly as long as they are performing............
I agree with your last point (which is actually you agreeing with me, but what the hey.....).
No-one said footy clubs were meant to be fair and, given I'm in the same position at my own club (i.e. not Euroa) of being a hard-working seconds player, I'm inclined to sympathise with your situation. However taking it up with the match committee and being honest about your viewpoint would be more helpful than what you've done on this forum.
It takes courage to speak up for yourself, and if it's done correctly (i.e. constructive questions such as "How can I improve and get back to where I was 3 seasons ago? I really fell like I'm playing good footy, am I close? Is there anything I'm not doing at present, and I should be doing to get a look in for the ones") you're unlikely to be called a whinger.
In any event that's far better than airing your dirty laundry (if indeed that's what you're doing) on this forum.
Chin Up son, bum down and keep working.....
Ky are looking ok at the minute. We played them yesterday and they work well for one another. they are one large group of mates, their forward line is handy with Newmna, Barnett (has developed well int he last two weeks with adamson out) and adamson when he comes back.
Their midfield has atkins and civolla but they probably lack that one more quality player in there. Watson, mccormack both provide enough there though.
Backline is limited at the moment, but once thier main ruckman come s back Boyd will go to CHB which will give it some more solidarity. Seirowkoski is a solid player too.
travvy, imo ky will make the finals this year.
the disappointing thing from my point of view and from everyone else's from rochy is that we know rochy are a better side than ky. a much better side.
we were within a kick of seymour in the last quarter, an incredibly gutsy effort when you consider heath aitken went down in the first quarter with a broken jaw and sam brennan took no futher part from mid way through the third due to a dislocated collarbone.
both of the above players will take no further part this year you would think. it hardly helps the tigers cause in their quest for a finals birth. it is bloody shattering.
[QUOTE=jmain14]travvy, imo ky will make the finals this year.
the disappointing thing from my point of view and from everyone else's from rochy is that we know rochy are a better side than ky. a much better side.
we were within a kick of seymour in the last quarter, an incredibly gutsy effort when you consider heath aitken went down in the first quarter with a broken jaw and sam brennan took no futher part from mid way through the third due to a dislocated collarbone.
QUOTE]
How did aitken break his jaw?
Travvy43
1 Aug 2005, 15:51
That is big news loosing heather and sammy B. I agree, i would take rochy before ky too, but the draw can do funny things.
A real uphill battle now for rochy loosing those two, is moon due back next week, if he didn' tplay the one just gone??
Could someone remind me of how the final six finals system works?
Also, which towns will be hosting finals this year?...
wasn't at the game sorry mate so not real sure.
That is big news loosing heather and sammy B. I agree, i would take rochy before ky too, but the draw can do funny things.
A real uphill battle now for rochy loosing those two, is moon due back next week, if he didn' tplay the one just gone??
yeah travvy, he played v seymour so he's right now.
TuskenRaider
1 Aug 2005, 16:16
Could someone remind me of how the final six finals system works?
Also, which towns will be hosting finals this year?...
I'll get that one for you a.k.a.
First week:
1 v 2. Winner goes to 2nd Semi Final for direct shot at GF.
3 v 6. Elimination Final - If 3rd wins they play the winner of 1v2. If they lose they're out. - If 6th wins they play the loser of 1v2 in the 1st Semi.
4 v 5. Elimination Final - Winner goes to 1st Semi to play loser of 1v2. If 6 defeats 3 though, the winner of this game goes into the 2nd semi with a shot at the GF.
Second Week:
1st Semi - Winner goes to Preliminary final. Loser eliminated.
2nd Semi - Winner goes to GF. Loser goes to Preliminary.
Third Week:
Preliminary Final - Winner to GF. Loser eliminated.
Week Four:
Grand Final.
Hope that makes sense to you a.k.a. I haven't heard where the first couple of weeks finals are this year yet.
The final 6 has some funny quirks to it but on the whole I reckon it's not a bad system. It can reward the third placed team pretty well as they only have to defeat the 6th team to get to the same game that 1 plays 2 for. Problem is though, if things go wrong and you lose, you're straight out, no double chance.
Thanks for that TuskenRaider. Been a while since I'd seen the final six system in action..
Travvy43
1 Aug 2005, 16:30
What about the grounds for the finals this year, have they been announced yet??
Flat Track Bully
1 Aug 2005, 17:11
What about the grounds for the finals this year, have they been announced yet??
Expect something soon...Preliminary and Grand of course will be at Deakin...
if Benalla miss the finals, would they be the biggest under-achievers in the district.
Surely, they couldn't re-appoint McPharline considering the coin spent
if Benalla miss the finals, would they be the biggest under-achievers in the district.
Surely, they couldn't re-appoint McPharline considering the coin spent
I think you will find he is on a two year term, agree with the under achieving bit.
you were in the best three weeks ago seymour, coincidence hey.
what has happen in the past 2 weeks then, might go check the papers and see who u are as i reckon your talking nonsense. if u have any balls u would let everyone know who you are, or your footy number
inness playing 2's, i thought he was ones, he must be s t ruggling.
Hawk eye u r obvisouly a coward read my thread i said i was in the best 3 weeks in a row ,not 3 weeks ago.....ive i was in the best for 1 week i wouldnt warrent a look in,but when your form is consistant over 3 weeks you do....i was one of many good players against seymour or start was extremely good and to turn the table after our round one thumping was excellent.... and yes inness did play and he apparently has been struggling so he has been in the twos,so reseach your info beforedoubting the source
hawkeye, give this whole thing a rest I reckon.
By this, lets hope he means life HawkeEye. You have a very good habit of missing details when reading other peoples posts, and then screw it up when replying. I think the chlorine might be getting to you!
The reason your not getting a game is cause your a $hit ******** Chinup. Get over it and stop being a sook.
i happened to play next to innes 3 weeks ago....and his own players apparently give him crap about his chin....
You wouldn't happen to wear a lucky number Chinup? Inness played on bloke who carved up Callaghan in the opening 10 minutes at Euroa 3 weeks back, and I must say it was an entertaining battle. Have seen the same number play many a good game for the Maggies over the years and was actually bewildered to see him in the curtain raiser to be honest.
inness playing 2's, i thought he was ones, he must be struggling.
Word has it he had 36 possessions on Satdy and has been knocking on the door for a month, should've played on Bamford at Euroa 3 weeks ago, but for some reason Stevie D is looking at other options. Inness would look great in a Tigers jumper alongside brother Redda in 2006.
bradrowe#32
1 Aug 2005, 23:19
[QUOTE=jmain14]travvy, imo ky will make the finals this year.
QUOTE]
Pretty dodgy circumstances.
I was in the rooms after the ressies game and it happened in the first quarter. He looked shocking. He couldn't see properly and you could see his cheekbone was very depressed. Apparently he got cleaned up off the ball (but still within the vacinity of the contest). Heath, Dean Moon and Chris McCarty were all targeted.
I wasn't that impressed with Seymour. They were obviously the more talented team on the day, but they don't have much soul. When they were challenged in the 3rd quarter, they all went into their shells. Their coach gave them one of the best sprays I've ever heard at 3 QT.
Samtrish
2 Aug 2005, 09:34
[QUOTE=a.k.a.]
I was in the rooms after the ressies game and it happened in the first quarter. He looked shocking. He couldn't see properly and you could see his cheekbone was very depressed. Apparently he got cleaned up off the ball (but still within the vacinity of the contest). Heath, Dean Moon and Chris McCarty were all targeted.
I wasn't that impressed with Seymour. They were obviously the more talented team on the day, but they don't have much soul. When they were challenged in the 3rd quarter, they all went into their shells. Their coach gave them one of the best sprays I've ever heard at 3 QT.
Wasn't a bad spray but I think they held the upper hand due to fit players on the bench as they also lost Haberman in the third quarter he did not know which planet he was on. They where able to run the game out because of this reason and was probaly the only reason seymour got over the line. Williams coaching was also very impressive as he looks like he controls the whole show with no specialist coaches and had a good handle on the opposition weakness's. No 18 for rochy also provided great supply for your forwards. Was Dean Moon no 19
TuskenRaider
2 Aug 2005, 10:43
Doona, I'm pretty sure it's not the player your alluding to, unless he's had a stroke and has reverted back to writing at Grade 3 level. I think he's a fair bit older too and doesn't use text message shorthand.
bradrowe#32
2 Aug 2005, 11:24
[QUOTE=bradrowe#32]
Wasn't a bad spray but I think they held the upper hand due to fit players on the bench as they also lost Haberman in the third quarter he did not know which planet he was on. They where able to run the game out because of this reason and was probaly the only reason seymour got over the line. Williams coaching was also very impressive as he looks like he controls the whole show with no specialist coaches and had a good handle on the opposition weakness's. No 18 for rochy also provided great supply for your forwards. Was Dean Moon no 19
Yes, No 19 was Dean Moon.
I think everyone at the ground thought Seymour would get up eventually. Overall, it wasn't a bad game - some very entertaining moments.
Tough battle ahead
By Mark Brown
August 2 2005
Shepparton News
Rochester's iron will is going to be stretched to breaking point during the next month as the Tigers battle to keep their faint finals hopes alive.
The Tigers are reeling after their 39-point loss to Seymour on Saturday, during which arguably the club's two most important players sustained serious injuries.
Ruckman Sam Brennan is expected to be sidelined for the rest of the year after seriously damaging his AC joint, while captain Heath Aitken will see a specialist later this week with a suspected fractured eye-socket.
Coach Dave Williams said the club was "far from impressed" with the circumstances that led to Aitken's injury.
Aitken was forced from the ground in the opening 10 minutes of the match after being collected heavily.
Williams said the club would discuss the Aitken incident during the next couple of days before deciding whether or not to take the matter further.
"We were far from impressed with what happened to Heath," he said.
"We'll talk to a few people who saw it and go from there."
Rochester can request the Victorian Country Football League to conduct an independent investigation into the incident.
Williams said the injuries would make Rochester's job of clawing its way into the top six that little bit harder.
Rochester is currently in seventh position, equal on points with Kyabram but well behind on percentage.
The Tigers have the bye this weekend before hosting Tatura.
They then play Shepp Bears and Mansfield to round off the home-and-away season, and will need to win one to secure sixth position.
"We've still got a lot of work to do," Williams said.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
was there a bit more to the heata incident rowey?? did you see it??
bradrowe#32
2 Aug 2005, 11:48
Tough battle ahead
By Mark Brown
August 2 2005
Shepparton News
Rochester's iron will is going to be stretched to breaking point during the next month as the Tigers battle to keep their faint finals hopes alive.
The Tigers are reeling after their 39-point loss to Seymour on Saturday, during which arguably the club's two most important players sustained serious injuries.
Ruckman Sam Brennan is expected to be sidelined for the rest of the year after seriously damaging his AC joint, while captain Heath Aitken will see a specialist later this week with a suspected fractured eye-socket.
Coach Dave Williams said the club was "far from impressed" with the circumstances that led to Aitken's injury.
Aitken was forced from the ground in the opening 10 minutes of the match after being collected heavily.
Williams said the club would discuss the Aitken incident during the next couple of days before deciding whether or not to take the matter further.
"We were far from impressed with what happened to Heath," he said.
"We'll talk to a few people who saw it and go from there."
Rochester can request the Victorian Country Football League to conduct an independent investigation into the incident.
Williams said the injuries would make Rochester's job of clawing its way into the top six that little bit harder.
Rochester is currently in seventh position, equal on points with Kyabram but well behind on percentage.
The Tigers have the bye this weekend before hosting Tatura.
They then play Shepp Bears and Mansfield to round off the home-and-away season, and will need to win one to secure sixth position.
"We've still got a lot of work to do," Williams said.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
was there a bit more to the heata incident rowey?? did you see it??
G'day mate.
Nah, I missed the incident, but I was in the rooms when he came off and he looked shocking. He didn't know where he was and you could see the cheekbone was severely depressed. A few people on the bench saw it and said it was pretty ordinary form. I'm not sure which player it was.
HawkeEye
2 Aug 2005, 12:01
Does anyone know which grounds hosted the finals (elimation and semis) last year.
JimCarter
2 Aug 2005, 12:11
Doona, I'm pretty sure it's not the player your alluding to, unless he's had a stroke and has reverted back to writing at Grade 3 level. I think he's a fair bit older too and doesn't use text message shorthand.
I'm 100% certain the player with the "lucky number" would write at a much higher level than young chinup. I suppose thats the advantage of continuing school past year 7...
Travvy43
2 Aug 2005, 13:25
Tongala's future dilemma
August 2 2005
Kyabram Free Press
The last man to coach Tongala Football Club to a Goulburn Valley Football League premiership, Des Campbell, has some definite views on which future path the Blues should take.
Campbell's expresses his thoughts on local sport's current hottest topic:
It would appear discussions between Murray League officials and Tongala Football Netball Club administrators have Tongala thinking serious about moving in the Murray League direction.
General town talk suggests something has to be done, but speculation remains as to exactly what.
Whether you are involved with the club or not, everyone has an opinion so being involved in the club in the past in some capacity for some 15 or 16 years makes you fully away of the difficulties the club faces.
Each year a turnover of players and committee suggests nothing can be taken for granted.
Those now involved in the club are experiencing what many have in the past.
Occasionally the club will have some success which encourages one and all to keep going.
But we all know that between the highs there are many lows.
Not having ever been on the committee, I know that during those lows bills still have to paid and costs and efforts in running the club don't cease because it is down.
Players are continually, by opportunity of success, or, just competing, find it more inviting elsewhere which presents a continuous saga of despair and frustration.
From what I can gauge, talk around town is a preference to stay in the GVL, but a new direction now seems more likely.
Members will gather over the next couple weeks to decide what path the club should take as far I am concerned there are four options.
Option 1: Stays as it (too many lows against very few highs).
Option 2: Murray League (this appears to be the favoured direction in general talk).
In its favour is the junior structure, particularly at under 17 level. Many more towns with similar populations would probably ensure the club would be a lot more competitive in this league.
What is against going to the Murray League is that Tongala is surrounded by GVL clubs. I have no doubt the better players would prefer staying in the GVL and the better juniors likewise.
Travel is probably not much different between the Murray and Goulburn Valley leagues.
Echuca, Echuca United and Moama have had problems in the Murray League and in this area people relate to the GVL. I feel players would be reluctant to travel that (Murray League) way.
The Tongala Cricket Club went in that direction years ago with the loss of players and interest eventually forcing the club to return to our more familiar district.
Expenses won't be much different playing in the Murray League and the question begs: Is playing in the Murray League all of sudden going to make players want to play with Tongala?
Is it going to make it easier to recruit? Echuca United and Moama will tell you just how hard it is?
Option 3: Joining the Kyabram District League.
I sometimes look at the Rushworth and Nagambie clubs who were forced to make a decision to leave the GVL many years ago. And, not unlike Tongala, they had had their share of success in the GVL.
Opinion appears to be that the club is not ready as yet to go from the GVL to KDL.
Watching KDL finals I have no doubt Tongala would be content in the KDL as those clubs mentioned who have taken that path have been contented over a long period of time.
Option 4 (Amalgamate with Kyabram).
I can hear many from both clubs saying "you've gotta be joking."
A former Kyabram committeeman asked me how a merger of these two clubs could help Ky as Tongala at present have only a handful of players up to GVL standard.
I reminded him that not so long ago, the boot was on the other foot.
This sort of talk, of course, is ridiculous.
The benefits in all facets (committee, players fund raising and so on) would guarantee a competitively successful club in the GVL.
I'm sure Tongala players, members and supporters deep down want to stay in the GVL.
Kyabram has had periods of time when its future in the GVL has been questioned.
Many, many clubs with similar traditions and rivalry as Kyabram and Tongala have made a successful amalgamation. It is a sign of the times.
Only egos, as I see it, are stopping this from being pursued. I have not heard of one legitimate reason why it can't be done.
I, like some others, have been involved with both clubs and both are fantastic clubs with many terrific people.
This way the argument about Little Johnny being given a chance to play for his town in the GVL is still an option.
If Little Johnny is not good enough he may play in a sister club in the Ky League.
I'm absolutely sure egos are the only thing that would stop this (merger of Kyabram and Tongala) happening.
some interesting thoughts raisd here, any opinions??
bradrowe#32
3 Aug 2005, 00:22
That's a really good article Travvy.
I think they would prefer to stay in the GV, but it just feels like they keep falling further and further behind most of the other teams. It's not really their fault as they are the smallest town in the league and I think generally, most local footy teams are losing community support.
You only have to look at Mooroopna who would be paying a fair bit for Hall, Singh and the Campbells, and yet they only have 4 or 5 wins for the year.
The club would probably do alright in the MFL or the KDFL, but I'm a bit worried that they will struggle to recruit the players.
The merger with Ky is a new idea, but I'm not sure if the GV would want that. It sort of portrays an image that the league isn't as strong as it should be. Ky, except for the last 5 or so years, have traditionally been pretty strong.
What clubs will be looking for new coaches next year? :confused: :confused:
listen here!
3 Aug 2005, 12:24
caught the tat eyroa game on saturday what a result. can anyone tell me if gibson is a left or right footer. i saw him have a set shot on his right then kick on his left nearly all game.is he just arrogant?
Flat Track Bully
3 Aug 2005, 14:22
What clubs will be looking for new coaches next year? :confused: :confused:
Ky has re-signed Adamson...
Fromn what I can gather, Shepp United will definitely be in the market...Tonny, as we know, is
Echuca, Mansfield, Shepparton, Benalla, Mooroopna and Tatura won't change...
So that leaves Seymour, Euroa, Swans, Rochester...
fat back pocket
3 Aug 2005, 15:52
[QUOTE=a.k.a.]
I've heard that the incident with Aitken was 100% an accident, got pushed in the side whilst going for the ball by his Seymour opponent, Aitken fell and clashed heads with another Seymour player who had his head down going for the footy. Unfortunate incident in footy. Apparently video footage backs that up too.
Didn't Seymour have a player go down as well? Similar kind of thing i heard.
Stiff blow for Rochy though, losing two of their better players wouldn't have helped, they weren't far off at 3/4 time. Word is, they could have won.
Travvy43
3 Aug 2005, 16:00
Ky has re-signed Adamson...
Fromn what I can gather, Shepp United will definitely be in the market...Tonny, as we know, is
Echuca, Mansfield, Shepparton, Benalla, Mooroopna and Tatura won't change...
So that leaves Seymour, Euroa, Swans, Rochester...
Have hard sutherlan is not seeking reappointment and dave williams, we all know is a good coach but i think a few have said that he ha maybe gone on a year too long, did this have anything to do with the rassy's leaving and mccarty
bradrowe#32
3 Aug 2005, 17:35
[QUOTE=bradrowe#32]
I've heard that the incident with Aitken was 100% an accident, got pushed in the side whilst going for the ball by his Seymour opponent, Aitken fell and clashed heads with another Seymour player who had his head down going for the footy. Unfortunate incident in footy. Apparently video footage backs that up too.
Didn't Seymour have a player go down as well? Similar kind of thing i heard.
Stiff blow for Rochy though, losing two of their better players wouldn't have helped, they weren't far off at 3/4 time. Word is, they could have won.
Thanks for the information. As I said, I didn't see it because I was getting changed, I only heard from a few people in the crowd.
It was an unfortunate incident and Heath will be a massive loss.
bradrowe#32
3 Aug 2005, 17:39
Have hard sutherlan is not seeking reappointment and dave williams, we all know is a good coach but i think a few have said that he ha maybe gone on a year too long, did this have anything to do with the rassy's leaving and mccarty
Not sure if Dirty will keep going. Have heard a few people say he will move on, but he has said numerous times that he is enjoying the challenge.
Steve Ras left because he wanted to play out at Rushworth because his sister is from there (and also the Scott Hansen link) and Simon McCarty left because he is lives and works in Echuca, and wanted to stay up there.
Travvy43
5 Aug 2005, 10:28
Interesting round coming up here. the two games that should be drawing the most interest is Ky v United. Expect ky to win at home with their coach to return, although united have showed a bit int he last couple of weeks and ky have a tendancy to loose close games.
The swans v Benalla, will the saints downward spiral continue, they need this to entrench themsleves in the top 6. The swans will not lie down though, it is ford's 250 th game, he has been a stalward at the club and they will want to reward him with the win.
Shepp and Euroa at Deakin will be interesting. The maggies should have too much class.
fat back pocket
5 Aug 2005, 12:18
Interesting round coming up here. the two games that should be drawing the most interest is Ky v United. Expect ky to win at home with their coach to return, although united have showed a bit int he last couple of weeks and ky have a tendancy to loose close games.
The swans v Benalla, will the saints downward spiral continue, they need this to entrench themsleves in the top 6. The swans will not lie down though, it is ford's 250 th game, he has been a stalward at the club and they will want to reward him with the win.
Shepp and Euroa at Deakin will be interesting. The maggies should have too much class.
Match of the round would have to be Shepp vs Euroa? Shepp seem to have a lot of depth, on top in their reserves, i check the shepp news a bit, they seem to rotate a lot of their players in and out of the seniors to reserves. Have they had lots of injuries? Or are they being a smart club and securing a reserves flag if their seniors get ko'd by qualifying a heap of blokes?
Shepp won reserves last year?
HawkeEye
5 Aug 2005, 13:31
If Ky defeat United, that should give them a spot in the finals I believe.
Rochy are a team with heart, but with to many injuries I don't think they can make it. However, they have a bye which could get back some players for next weeks game.
So 5th and 6th will be Benalla and Ky, whick leaves the top 4 to sort themselves out in the next 4 weeks. Should be very interesting, talking to a few players from the bears team and they are confident of getting a top 2 possie.
Seymour to beat Tat by 25 goals.
Did anyone read the shepp news today, apparently some local journalist put in his best GV team to take on the Murray FL. Does anyone know who was in what possie for this GV team
Flat Track Bully
5 Aug 2005, 16:08
Match of the round would have to be Shepp vs Euroa? Shepp seem to have a lot of depth, on top in their reserves, i check the shepp news a bit, they seem to rotate a lot of their players in and out of the seniors to reserves. Have they had lots of injuries? Or are they being a smart club and securing a reserves flag if their seniors get ko'd by qualifying a heap of blokes?
Shepp won reserves last year?
They did, but I don't think Hick's interested iun that at the moment...
a couple of players, OBrien and Kennelly were dropped last round, so they were rotated...
HawkeEye
5 Aug 2005, 16:41
They did, but I don't think Hick's interested iun that at the moment...
a couple of players, OBrien and Kennelly were dropped last round, so they were rotated...
They were not rotated, they were dropped for breaking curfew that has been imposed on the whole shepp bears team.
ECHUCABOY
5 Aug 2005, 16:47
who cares bout shepp bunch of ********ers with no hearts, no doubt will be goin nowhere in the finals, if they make em!
HawkeEye
5 Aug 2005, 16:55
who cares bout shepp bunch of ********ers with no hearts, no doubt will be goin nowhere in the finals, if they make em!
i'm pretty sure they will make it mate, they are on equal points with seymour at the moment and they do look very impressive
the shepp news is right behind them, but thats only because that piece of crap paper, that is bias and only goes for the shepp teams, and dont care about the others in the comp.
same as the gvfl, apparently some board members are not happy with the strong performances of the teams on the hume freeway and mansfield
FOOTYBOSS
5 Aug 2005, 17:07
Well chinup if your such a devoted euroa person like you claim. You can tell me what function was held last saturday night and where it was held. Also tell me who the bloke was dancing around with a tambourine allnight. Thats only if truly euroa you would know these answers. Everyone knows it takes more than 3 games to get a game, especially this year with such a good team and depth. Hawkeye I have the shep news for you which I will show you tomorrow at deakin. Only 2 euroa boys got in lamaro and s.clayton. funny considering euroa are on top. Chinup have a good hard look yourself
I'd have Hamill in there for sure - he's been pure p0rn this season off the HBF.
Thomson would've been stiff too....
Flat Track Bully
6 Aug 2005, 12:48
They were not rotated, they were dropped for breaking curfew that has been imposed on the whole shepp bears team.
How little you know...a curfew was imposed after the incidents involving the two players at a club function...
Knowing one of them well, I can tell you it wasn't curfew, but I won't embarass them or the club by saying what they did
ECHUCABOY
7 Aug 2005, 14:48
in the mfl
Shepp had the maggies on the ropes at 3/4 time up by 5 goals and lost by a goal.
Echuca had mansfield in a similar position as well - could have been the upset of the season so far...
FOOTYBOSS
8 Aug 2005, 14:05
Makes for a very interesting game this week. Euroa v mansfeild. Whoever wins will take out the minor priemiers. Seymouy v shepparton will be a very good game as well. looking forward to seeing the results.
If anybody out there caught the Tongala vs Mooroopna clash, can they tell me how the couple of Broadford blokes who got permits to play for Tonny handled the big step up to GV footy, in particular Nick Redenbach?
Travvy43
8 Aug 2005, 18:36
If anybody out there caught the Tongala vs Mooroopna clash, can they tell me how the couple of Broadford blokes who got permits to play for Tonny handled the big step up to GV footy, in particular Nick Redenbach?
Hey doona, actually played with them on the weekend.
Redenback played on a wing, left footy, well built. Had some trouble adjusting to the pace of the game early, but got a fiar bit of the ball which was good to see. With more games he would be a valuable GV player.
Woody, young 19yo CHF. got a bit of the pill, kicked a goal from outside 50 and did some good long leads up to the ground, marking the ball on centre wing. Derek hall played on him a bit and did not respect him at all, does that man ever man up. but hall did run forward a lot and woody did not chase him at all.
Fletcher showed he is potentially a classy player. 6 foot on baller and i would say much in the mould of byres from shepp. got a bit of it, faded a bit later on in the game.
Keep an eye on tongalas inclusions this week!!
I dont think Derek Hall has manned up since playing GV. Pretty easy to play yourself as a virtual lose man in defense when you're a playing coach. Whos going to tell him off for it? No one...
I gather you boys must have a pretty big name or two lining up this week Travvy? Prepared do divulge any more information??
Redenback played on a wing, left footy, well built. Had some trouble adjusting to the pace of the game early, but got a fiar bit of the ball which was good to see. With more games he would be a valuable GV player.
Woody, young 19yo CHF. got a bit of the pill, kicked a goal from outside 50 and did some good long leads up to the ground, marking the ball on centre wing. Derek hall played on him a bit and did not respect him at all, does that man ever man up. but hall did run forward a lot and woody did not chase him at all.
Fletcher showed he is potentially a classy player. 6 foot on baller and i would say much in the mould of byres from shepp. got a bit of it, faded a bit later on in the game.
Potential recruits Travvy??
HawkeEye
9 Aug 2005, 08:16
After just missing out last week, Shepp are pumped to knock of seymour. I understand that they have noted that seymour are soft at the ball so they will go hard at it, as they did the last time they meet and ending up winning.
If you do go down to Kings park, expect to see plenty of bumps and brusies
So are the bears drawing a line in the sand are they
Travvy43
9 Aug 2005, 10:40
Potential recruits Travvy??
In the process of being confirmed, jsut keep an eye on Fridays paper, who knows, it could or could not make a difference against the swans this week.
Shepp's form is pleasing, maybe it is a sign that the final series is going to be a bit more open than everyone anticipated.
As i stated in an earlier post, while the bears have not got as much talent across every line as maybe a euroa or seymour, they are very discipline, and have big game players.
Echuca pushing masnfield too is an eye opener.
FOOTYBOSS
9 Aug 2005, 12:20
The bears are simply proving a point on why the should be in the top 4 YaMan. They will take it upto seymour as there is still a distinct possibility of a double chance up for grabs if they win and mansfield lose. Against another top 4 team you would always hope they come out firing like they did against euroa on the weekend.
Tavvy it will be disappointing if none of these recruits are in the paper on friday? Are they big name players or players from around the area?
Glad to hear the boys did ok. They say if Redenbach dont win Broadford's B & F this year there should be an inquiry, Fletcher is one of the best players Ive seen at Broady when fit and injury free, whilst Littlewood has the makings, but is a bit off dominating at HDFL level yet, so the experience at GV level will help him greatly.
is adrian baker getting these boys over to tonny
Travvy43
9 Aug 2005, 13:33
There is a connection with adrian baker and the anouas.
Johnny69
9 Aug 2005, 17:29
What does everyone think the top six will look like at the end of year. Does anyone think ky will fill the number six spot or will rochy sneak in???? And any reports on how ky are travelling.
Travvy43
9 Aug 2005, 17:49
What does everyone think the top six will look like at the end of year. Does anyone think ky will fill the number six spot or will rochy sneak in???? And any reports on how ky are travelling.
Johnny scroll back a couple of pages son and you will get a fair idea about our thoughts on this topic.
Does anyone know how Angwin has fitted in down at Broadford?
HawkeEye
10 Aug 2005, 20:10
Don't think he is doing much down there Bell.J by all reports I have heard.
Also Bell.J this is the offical GVFL thread, so do you mind just keeping it in within the league.
I know you can help us out. Thanks
carl lewis
11 Aug 2005, 09:45
Bell.J, i heard that Angwin will be lining up for the Tonny Blues, this week. should be interesting to see how he goes, also i think they have some more recuits from the 1988 tidy town Broadford. i'm not to sure who the play thou...
FOOTYBOSS
11 Aug 2005, 09:53
Tongala play shep swans at home.
carl lewis
11 Aug 2005, 10:32
home ground advantage, could get tonny over the line.
the beers might be going to well on sat night.....
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 11:06
Bell.J, i heard that Angwin will be lining up for the Tonny Blues, this week. should be interesting to see how he goes, also i think they have some more recuits from the 1988 tidy town Broadford. i'm not to sure who the play thou...
that must be one of the players travvy was talking about re. possible tonny inclusions this week - feel free to comment here travvy...
Travvy43
11 Aug 2005, 11:12
that must be one of the players travvy was talking about re. possible tonny inclusions this week - feel free to comment here travvy...
right on, this was the player i was talking about.
This week we will have the three Broady players we had last week and Angwin aswell. Would be great to claim a scalp by the end of the year, fingers crossed it is this weekend against the swans.
Angwin from what i hear has a slow start at broady but then gained some momentum towards the end. He is pretty agile for a kid who is 200cm, will be a tuff match up for the swans to consider, especially with andrew reid and baker in the same forward line.
He should go alright as long as there is no good DJ's playing at "Bass Station"
or "hard Kandy" tomorrow night. If so he may have to play with sunglasses on :cool: , and get the trainers to bring him out a constant supply of chuppa chupps. Hope its cloudy so his glowsticks work...
:eek:
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 11:14
WIN QUEST
Back in blue: Former Carlton player Laurence Angwin will line up for Tongala this weekend.Picture: News Ltd
By Richard Goodbody
August 11 2005
Shepparton News
AFL bad boy Laurence Angwin will make a shock appearance for Tongala Football Club on Saturday.
Angwin, who had his AFL contract terminated by Carlton last season in unceremonious fashion, has been playing with Broadford in the Heathcote District Football League this year.
However, with the Kangaroos' season coming to an end a fortnight ago, Angwin is free to play on a permit against the Shepparton Swans on Saturday.
"It's good news," Tongala president Mick Hare said.
"He should add a bit of excitement to the game."
Last week the Blues had three Broadford players - Aaron Littlewood, Daniel Fletcher and Nick Redenbach - line up against Mooroopna, with the latter among the side's best.
The trio is again expected to take the field on the weekend, but this time with Angwin by its side.
"They all did pretty well," Hare said.
"Let's hope we can get a win."
After being drafted by Adelaide with the number seven pick in the 2000 National Draft, the 200 cm forward was delisted before being thrown a lifeline by Carlton.
After playing four games in 2003, Carlton sacked Angwin after he and and former teammate Karl Norman turned up at a club recovery session under the influence of ecstasy.
n Meanwhile, Hare confirmed that the Blues would have a meeting in the first week of September in order to determine where their playing future lies.
A delegation of five Murray Football League powerbrokers, including general manager Wayne Burrows and president Viv McGee, recently outlined the dynamics of their competition in a bid to secure Tongala's playing services.
While Hare's personal opinion is for the Blues to remain in the Goulburn Valley Football League, he said it was up to the members to decide whether they wanted to shift leagues.
"We had a meeting to talk things over last Thursday and it was very positive," Hare said.
"About 110 people from around the town and the football club attended, and it was more than worthwhile.
"We will see what happens."
Under the Blues' constitution, a majority vote is all that is needed for the club to put forth a submission to switch leagues.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
sorry, should have checked today's shepp news before writing that previous post. looks like big lorrie officially will be taking the field.
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 11:15
right on, this was the player i was talking about.
This week we will have the three Broady players we had last week and Angwin aswell. Would be great to claim a scalp by the end of the year, fingers crossed it is this weekend against the swans.
Angwin from what i hear has a slow start at broady but then gained some momentum towards the end. He is pretty agile for a kid who is 200cm, will be a tuff match up for the swans to consider, especially with andrew reid and baker in the same forward line.
best of luck travvy, I hope ya's smash them.
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 11:16
or "hard Kandy" tomorrow night. If so he may have to play with sunglasses on :cool: , and get the trainers to bring him out a constant supply of chuppa chupps. Hope its cloudy so his glowsticks work...
ha ha ha
Travvy43
11 Aug 2005, 11:45
Hot off the press here boys, Angwin is not playing. President went to the papers when it was not confirmed and as it turned out it did not come through. this morning when i said he was playing it was after i read the shepp news but as it turns out this is false.
As it turns out hard kandy must have had more appeal.
all good though, we will still be having a fiar crack at the swans on the weekend.
Hot off the press here boys, Angwin is not playing. President went to the papers when it was not confirmed and as it turned out it did not come through. this morning when i said he was playing it was after i read the shepp news but as it turns out this is false.
all good though, we will still be having a fiar crack at the swans on the weekend.
No good for you boyz Travvy, but at least big Laurence can practice his "melbourne shuffle" and pull out the good old "big fish, little fish, carboard box" moves at Hard Kandy for three days straight ! :D
I wouldnt be too stressed about not having him, you boyz would be a huge chance to get on the winners list this week...
Flat Track Bully
11 Aug 2005, 12:03
Is this the same newspapert which received a frightful spray from a former GVFL commentator about its "coverage" of the league this season
Travvy43
11 Aug 2005, 12:39
Is this the same newspapert which received a frightful spray from a former GVFL commentator about its "coverage" of the league this season
I dont think it was the newspapers fault, it was the president going ahead with information that was not yeat approved.
If he was going to play it was going to be low profile anyway, so probably not the best move from al president ay
bradrowe#32
11 Aug 2005, 13:06
On Tuesday, the GVFL & Rochester Footy Club lost a legend of the game. Barry Moon finally sucumbed to cancer. He was only 58.
Barry was involved for more than 4 decades in footy administration in the area - he was secretary of the Rochester & District Junior FL and treasurer of the GVFL for many years.
He will be sadly missed.
Travvy43
11 Aug 2005, 13:15
On Tuesday, the GVFL & Rochester Footy Club lost a legend of the game. Barry Moon finally sucumbed to cancer. He was only 58.
Barry was involved for more than 4 decades in footy administration in the area - he was secretary of the Rochester & District Junior FL and treasurer of the GVFL for many years.
He will be sadly missed.
Very sad news, well respected name in GV circles.
What is the connection with him and Dean, is it his old man??
Nice work
bradrowe#32
11 Aug 2005, 13:47
Very sad news, well respected name in GV circles.
What is the connection with him and Dean, is it his old man??
Thanks Travvy. He was Dean's uncle.
(BTW - good luck this weekend - you guys have a big chance).
fat back pocket
11 Aug 2005, 13:50
i'm pretty sure they will make it mate, they are on equal points with seymour at the moment and they do look very impressive
the shepp news is right behind them, but thats only because that piece of crap paper, that is bias and only goes for the shepp teams, and dont care about the others in the comp.
same as the gvfl, apparently some board members are not happy with the strong performances of the teams on the hume freeway and mansfield
Who is on the board, i would assume it is full of Shepp based people. The president is from Rochy isn't he? Is there a general dislike for the likes of Euroa, Mansfield, Seymour and Benalla?
Good to see a change of guard at the top anyway. Eagles or Euroa to pump Shepp in the granny, that would be classic.
fat back pocket
11 Aug 2005, 14:14
Makes for a very interesting game this week. Euroa v mansfeild. Whoever wins will take out the minor priemiers. Seymouy v shepparton will be a very good game as well. looking forward to seeing the results.
Looking at the ladder, this round could pretty much finallise the whole finals, if Mansfield get up over Euroa, and if Seymour get up over Shepp, then Seymour will be 8 points up on Shepp, you wouldn't expect them to beat the raging eagles up in the high country, and if this weather continues, they will probably forfeit rather than cop a thumping in below freezing point temps at Mansfield. That will leave a percentage battle for top spot, not that it really matters, as they would play each other in the first round of finals.
If Euroa and Shepp wins, it is a raffle once again.
If Ky gets over Echuca, with Rochy's highly publicised injury problems, you would expect Rochy to lose to Mans and Shepp on the way home, whilst a similar fate would be felt by ky as they play Euroa and Seymour, therefore, Benalla will finish 5th. So Ky vs Echuca this week i'd reckon will determine Rochy's fate.
Expect a firey affair in the Euroa v Mansfield game i hear on the grape vine. The Maggies weren't too impressed with the verbal bashing they took after their defeat last time the two sides met. Might have to make the journey to memorial oval this sat to have a look.
fat back pocket
11 Aug 2005, 14:24
After just missing out last week, Shepp are pumped to knock of seymour. I understand that they have noted that seymour are soft at the ball so they will go hard at it, as they did the last time they meet and ending up winning.
If you do go down to Kings park, expect to see plenty of bumps and brusies
Went to a Northcote Park match a few years back, would be careful about handing out any physical action on the man they call Saad, he is the best fighter on the footy field i have ever seen. Took three blokes to the cleaners, got a few weeks for it, but they all jumped him, smashed every one of them. Everyone was shocked. He went f***ing nuts. If the Shepp boys wish to stay out of hospital Saturday night, i'd suggest to keep away from Saad.
I heard that when ever there is any fights or what ever near Saad, the Seymour coach takes him off so he doesn't get suspended. He just clicks.
How has he gone in the past few weeks, haven't heard to much talk about the little mad man.
Does Matt Collins still play for Seymour? I reckon he would dish out a few back to the bears.
Three belter matches this weekend by the looks of things. Probably worth the $1.21/litre of petrol to travel up and watch one of these games.
Should be a very interesting finals series for the GV
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 14:59
Who is on the board, i would assume it is full of Shepp based people. The president is from Rochy isn't he? Is there a general dislike for the likes of Euroa, Mansfield, Seymour and Benalla?
yeah I think you'll find the majority, perhaps all, of the board are from shepp. the rochy person I think you were referring to was barry moon (mentioned above) - he was vice-president I believe.
fat back pocket
11 Aug 2005, 16:10
yeah I think you'll find the majority, perhaps all, of the board are from shepp. the rochy person I think you were referring to was barry moon (mentioned above) - he was vice-president I believe.
Ian Fitzsimmons, is that his name? Isn't he some sort of head honcho in the GV? I thought he was now league president? :confused:
Rumba pushes to join major league
By Mark Brown
Shepparton News
Rumbalara believes it is ready to step up and compete in a major Victorian country football league.
Rumbalara president Paul Briggs said yesterday the club would again lobby to join the powerful Goulburn Valley Football League at season's end.
And if this latest bid fails, Briggs said Rumbalara would turn its intention to the Murray Football League.
"The GVFL is our first preference and our intention is to also talk to the Murray league about the possibility of joining their competition," Briggs said.
"I think we're ready to make a good fist of it in a higher standard league.
"We acknowledge that we'll need to do some recruiting in order to become more competitive, but we think we're ready."
Rumbalara is one of seven Central Goulburn Football League clubs which are now looking for a new home after it emerged on Tuesday the league would fold at the end of the year.
GVFL general manager Eric Bott said Rumbalara would need to show cause to secure its admission.
"We've never actually shut the door on Rumbalara," Bott said.
"We've told Rumbalara that our clubs want substantial evidence that they'll be of benefit to the league should they come across, and that brief still remains."
Rumbalara first tried to switch to the GVFL in 2002 and again last year.
Bott said it was impossible to pre-empt how the GVFL's existing 13 clubs would vote on any application from Rumbalara to join the league.
Picola District is preferred new home
Flat Track Bully
11 Aug 2005, 16:22
He will be sadly missed.
Deepest sympathies to the Moon's and the Rochester FC...methinks there'll be some back ground motivation for the Tigers to snare 6th spot in Barry's memory.
Having fourteen teams in the GV would be a joke. Its bad enough at the moment with 13 clubs causing an unfair draw to some teams each year, which I'm sure Rochy could attest to this year. If Tonny leave (which I hope they dont), surely 12 teams would be a better option, and iron out some of the problems with the draw, making the competition fairer for all concerned...
jmain14
11 Aug 2005, 17:18
Deepest sympathies to the Moon's and the Rochester FC...methinks there'll be some back ground motivation for the Tigers to snare 6th spot in Barry's memory.
absolutely, there will be loads of motivation there.
however unfortunately for our sake, the task of making the 6 will be a tough one considering the injuries to in my opinion their 2 most important players. still though, we've all heard rochy having their backs to the wall before - and generally they somehow find a way.
Travvy43
11 Aug 2005, 17:31
absolutely, there will be loads of motivation there.
however unfortunately for our sake, the task of making the 6 will be a tough one considering the injuries to in my opinion their 2 most important players. still though, we've all heard rochy having their backs to the wall before - and generally they somehow find a way.
Rochester is undoubtly the most proudest clubs in the league. And when their backs are against the wall they grow an extra three legs. Expect a brave showing from the tigers this weekend to answer back the people that have written them off (due to injuries) and with Moon's passing
Flat Track Bully
11 Aug 2005, 18:22
Rochester is undoubtly the most proudest clubs in the league. And when their backs are against the wall they grow an extra three legs. Expect a brave showing from the tigers this weekend to answer back the people that have written them off (due to injuries) and with Moon's passing
No Brennan and no aitken makes life tough...should account for Tat...and I reckon Mansfield will be ripe for the picking in round 20...
also, Shepparton small forward Jason Wells may miss the rest of the season.
Hey Travvy, what's the latest on Angwin?
Travvy43
12 Aug 2005, 10:36
No Brennan and no aitken makes life tough...should account for Tat...and I reckon Mansfield will be ripe for the picking in round 20...
also, Shepparton small forward Jason Wells may miss the rest of the season.
Hey Travvy, what's the latest on Angwin?
Angwin is not playing. As stated earlier, the article in the shepp news was a result of the president giving information that was not yet confirmed. I think once the article was in the paper that turned him/ broadford off the idea. If he was going to play it was going to be low key.
Not to worry.
HawkeEye
12 Aug 2005, 11:35
Couple of blockbusters this weekend, what will onefm choose to broadcast.
Seymuor and shepp down at the lions den. Shepp to get up, they so want to get 3rd possie though they did fade out against euroa last week. Seymour i think have a few injuries so they may struggle, but will be close.
Eagles have to come down from the mountains and over to memorial oval to take on the magpies.
Should be a classis match 1 v 2. Whoever wins i guess will take out minor premiers.
Does anyone know if euroa or masfield have any injuries at the moment.
Hey Travvy, the Shepp News has twice mentioned Aaron Littlewood, sure they dont mean Brent? Aaron still plays under 17 football at Broadford and as far as I know will be competing in the HDFL finals tomorrow.
Travvy43
12 Aug 2005, 12:08
Hey Travvy, the Shepp News has twice mentioned Aaron Littlewood, sure they dont mean Brent? Aaron still plays under 17 football at Broadford and as far as I know will be competing in the HDFL finals tomorrow.
Yeah it is brent they are talking about, i think he is around 19Yo, plays CHF.