View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Samtrish
16 May 2006, 19:47
assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.

GV Website has him cleared back from Westmeadows today would assume he playing on the weekend then

Doona2
16 May 2006, 20:31
assume thats downey from tatura? was talking to a mate at work today said him and the club had a falling out. wiill find out exaclty on the weekend if his lining up nor not.

Dont think Tatura can afford "falling outs" with anyone can they? Mr. Downey will be cleared back in time for Saturdays match against Seymour :thumbsu:

Doona2
16 May 2006, 20:32
GV Website has him cleared back from Westmeadows today would assume he playing on the weekend then

Sorry Samtrish :o

Nozzer
16 May 2006, 20:49
Norman played against Mansfield but wasnt named in the paper

Ah right, I didn't go, cause I hate going to Mansfield. Lovely town, nice pubs, but a p*ick of a footy ground.

bradrowe#32
16 May 2006, 21:15
well said lollies, people get on here and bagg the :D:D:D:D out of players, when in actual fact they didn't even see that person play. i was at the carnival on the weekend and i too think he acyually held his own out on the field, with the limited time he did get. and knowing marc im sure he was 100% commited to the side and the gv jumper he was wearing..

He's still the softest player in the league.

TheJuddstarr#3
16 May 2006, 21:29
can anyone tell me how old this lanyon is from tat. saw him a few times last week training for the interleague under 18s. thought he'd been playing ones for 3-4 years now. if he played, howd he go?

numba4
16 May 2006, 21:56
oh he is about 20ish id b guessing, he was doing the running

#1 COACH
16 May 2006, 22:38
1/ I don't believe I abused Marc at all...I know him well enough that even he would admit there are better ruckman in the competition than him. I reckon he would have been about 10th choice if not for the others.

2/ Brennan was injured, carrying a hamstring.

3/ The format is f u c k e d anyway. The last real country championship was played in 2003. As I've said before, it's Micky Mouse...a cop out from the VCFL and those who agreed to it.
no-one would ever concede that someone is better than them. you'd say that they can play but if you think that they are a better player, you are mentally beaten.
say in boxing. Green would never say mundine is better. (cant wait for that tomorow night)
On any givin day anyone can beat anyone.

i do have doubts about the format but how can you expect clubs to loose there best players (who are most likely being paid by their club) in season. What if a club has 3-4 blokes represented.

bradrowe#32
17 May 2006, 16:05
Man, this thread needs a kick in the ass. It's nearly fallen off the first page. Some absolutely cracking games this week.

This weeks fixture:

Round Five – May 20

Euroa V Shepp Swans
- Second versus third. Shepp Swans have probably surpassed everyone's expectations at the moment, whilst Euroa are just cruising along. However, they do have some injury concerns but will be too good at home. Euroa by 2 goals.

Echuca V Mansfield
- Another good game with two potential finalists battling an important game. So far this year, Echuca got flogged by Shepp Swans and Mansfield got beaten by Kyabram which were unexpected results. Echuca by 20 points.

Mooroopna V Benalla
- Mooroopna have been good this year until last game's loss to Mansfield. Benalla have picked up well, but also have injury concerns with Porter and Symes out. This tips the game in Mooroopna's favour and they will win by 15 points.

Shepparton V Kyabram
- Both teams have one win for the year. A real toss of the coin. Shepparton at Deakin by 2 goals.

Rochester V Shepp United
- United would be disappointed with their start to the season, while Rochester has been soundly beaten 3 times. United have played well at Rochy in the past, but the home side will prevail by 3 goals.

Tatura V Seymour
- An improving Tatura will be no match for Seymour who will win by 50+

Ladder:

Seymour 4 4 0 0 0 0 495 411 120.44% 16
Shepparton Swans 4 3 1 0 0 0 439 275 159.64% 12
Euroa 4 3 1 0 0 0 564 372 151.61% 12
Echuca 4 3 1 0 0 0 395 332 118.98% 12
Mooroopna 4 3 1 0 0 0 352 348 101.15% 12
Benalla 4 2 2 0 0 0 355 329 107.90% 8
==============================
Mansfield 4 2 2 0 0 0 349 351 99.43% 8
Shepparton United 4 1 3 0 0 0 381 397 95.97% 4
Kyabram 4 1 3 0 0 0 366 433 84.53% 4
Shepparton 4 1 3 0 0 0 327 426 76.76% 4
Rochester 4 1 3 0 0 0 381 513 74.27% 4
Tatura 4 0 4 0 0 0 278 495 56.16% 0

Get into it boys!

Nozzer
17 May 2006, 16:17
Round Five – May 20

Euroa V Shepp Swans
This will be a TOP game. If you can get to Euroa, do it. I'll go with Euroa out there but not by much.

Echuca V Mansfield
Echuca dont lose many at home. Cant see them losing this. Echuca by about 4 goals.

Mooroopna V Benalla
Knew Symes was out, didn't know about Porter, though. As a Cats fan, I've gotta back my boyz here. Mooroopna by about 3 goals.

Shepparton V Kyabram
I'll go with bradlowe32 on this. Da Bezz by 20.

Rochester V Shepp United
United have two of their better defenders in Schirmer and Koullas out. I'll go with the Tiges at home just.

Tatura V Seymour
bradlowe32 may have been feeling generous. Cant see the Dogs getting inside 12 goals. Seymour for mine.

No Heart
17 May 2006, 16:38
Euroa too good for the Swans by about 5 goals. I know the pies have some injury concerns but until the improved Swannies have proven themselves against top quality opposition i'm reluctant to tip them. Sutherland will dominate the ruck contests, but Euroa onballers will compensate by mopping up his tap outs.

Echuca to draw with the Eagles. You might call this sitting on the fence but it would be great to be the first bloke on this thread to tip a draw, and this will be a close match so it's not out of the question.

Mooroopna too strong for Benalla by 3 goals. Can't believe Nozzer didnt know Porter was injured. Have you just got back from overseas or something?

Ky to beat the Bears. They proved against Seymour that they can take it right up to the good sides for most of the game.

United to beat Rochy. Would love to see Rochy win this one, but if United are expecting to improve this year they need to win games like this one.

Seymour to beat Tat. Anythings possible in footy these days, but something drastic would have to happen to the lions before Tat could cause an upset.

Nozzer
17 May 2006, 17:52
Knew he was hurt, but thought he was playing still. I haven't kept much of an eye on Benalla, tell the truth.

GVFLFAN
17 May 2006, 21:21
[QUOTE=No Heart]Euroa too good for the Swans by about 5 goals. I know the pies have some injury concerns but until the improved Swannies have proven themselves against top quality opposition i'm reluctant to tip them. Sutherland will dominate the ruck contests, but Euroa onballers will compensate by mopping up his tap outs.
Can guarantee you mate that sutherland will not be dominant in the Ruck but that is your opinion! Depth is the key to Euroa and we will be able to cover the loses at the moment but would appreciate not too many more injuries!!! Cant wait to get all the boys back on the field!!!

gta3
17 May 2006, 22:11
Robbie Douglas is back for seymour this week. Tutura might not score a goal now

silver_bullet
17 May 2006, 22:21
is Joe Amad playing a full game for seymour this week or is he going to stop at half time and have a pastie and coffee and watch the rest of the match like he did against Kyabram

Johnny Tapp
18 May 2006, 04:31
As having played against the Harrop this year, he played very well against us and by all reports has been pretty consistent during the the other 3 weeks of the season so far. He obviously deserved his spot otherwise they would not have choosen him in the squad, so he must have been doing something right?? maybe you should have a go at the coaching staff of the Golburn Valley for picking him, if you think he is that bad of a ruckmam

I think your name should be they'reoffandracing (or alternatively theyareoffandracing). Being in the race calling industry it is the little things that make us so professional....

Just a little personal pride goes a long way.

thereoffandracing
18 May 2006, 09:29
I think your name should be they'reoffandracing (or alternatively theyareoffandracing). Being in the race calling industry it is the little things that make us so professional....

Just a little personal pride goes a long way.

Sorry Johnny, i should have known better than not to respect the fact that you once were the best race caller in the business.

2.10pm Race 7 - GVFL Stakes Premiership Cup

1 - Seymour....................Steve Daniel.........................$2.40
2 - Euroa........................David Gleeson.......................$2.20
3 - Mansfield...................Peter Tossol.........................$28.00
4 - Benalla......................Jason MacFarlane..................$8.00
5 - Shepparton................Anthony Mellington................$36.00
6 - Rochester..................David Williams.......................$36.00
7 - Kyabram....................Mark Adamson......................$36.00
8 - Mooroopna.................Derek Hall............................$15.00
9 - Echuca......................Dylan Butler.........................$10.00
10 - Shepp Swans............Jarrod Sutherland..................$9.00
11 - Shepp United............Steve Hazleman....................$7.00
12 - Tatura.....................Travis Ryan..........................51.00
13 - Tongala....................Late Scratching...........................

There are the horses Johnny, give us a race call on how you think they will come home in the GVFL Steaks for 2006

Nozzer
18 May 2006, 10:19
I'll have a tenner on the Cats at 15's. Nice value bet there.

United at 7's? Bit short... Benalla at 8's as well...

head67
18 May 2006, 11:04
I'll have my tenner on the pies at the (just better than) bank intrest odds.

Chance
18 May 2006, 12:27
Sorry Johnny, i should have known better than not to respect the fact that you once were the best race caller in the business.

2.10pm Race 7 - GVFL Stakes Premiership Cup

1 - Seymour....................Steve Daniel.........................$2.40
2 - Euroa........................David Gleeson.......................$2.20
3 - Mansfield...................Peter Tossol.........................$28.00
4 - Benalla......................Jason MacFarlane..................$8.00
5 - Shepparton................Anthony Mellington................$36.00
6 - Rochester..................David Williams.......................$36.00
7 - Kyabram....................Mark Adamson......................$36.00
8 - Mooroopna.................Derek Hall............................$15.00
9 - Echuca......................Dylan Butler.........................$10.00
10 - Shepp Swans............Jarrod Sutherland..................$9.00
11 - Shepp United............Steve Hazleman....................$7.00
12 - Tatura.....................Travis Ryan..........................51.00
13 - Tongala....................Late Scratching...........................

There are the horses Johnny, give us a race call on how you think they will come home in the GVFL Steaks for 2006
I'll go Benalla & Euroa each way! Benalla at full strength will be very dangerous. Euroa would be hungry after last year's loss. Seymour wont make it! They are just not playing that well - I sense a bit of a premiership hangover and arrogance. So unless they pull their fingers out of their arses they will get knocked out in straight sets come finals time. I know theres still a long way to go though - Sydney turned it on last weekend. Maybe they can too.

Also read somewhere that Clarke from Euroa has a broken arm/hand? Adamson (Ky) and Hooper (sey) have suspected broken hands. Can anyone confirm the extent of the injuries/time on sidelines etc?

the eye
18 May 2006, 12:42
I'll go Benalla & Euroa each way! Benalla at full strength will be very dangerous. Euroa would be hungry after last year's loss. Seymour wont make it! They are just not playing that well - I sense a bit of a premiership hangover and arrogance. So unless they pull their fingers out of their arses they will get knocked out in straight sets come finals time. I know theres still a long way to go though - Sydney turned it on last weekend. Maybe they can too.

Also read somewhere that Clarke from Euroa has a broken arm/hand? Adamson (Ky) and Hooper (sey) have suspected broken hands. Cananyone confirm the extent of the injuries/time on sidelines etc?

Mate how can you say that Seymour is not playing well when they have won 4 on the trot, 2 of those against quailty sides in Euroa & Benalla, and without there side at full strength.

HawkeEye
18 May 2006, 22:57
OK boys

Just want to know who would be leading the morrison medal after 4 rounds.

I know its early, but is there anyone that has played great in all of their games.

HawkeEye
18 May 2006, 23:01
Mate how can you say that Seymour is not playing well when they have won 4 on the trot, 2 of those against quailty sides in Euroa & Benalla, and without there side at full strength.

Does seem that Euroa, Seymour and Benalla all have injury concerns at the moment and cant get their best 21 on the field at once.

Hopefully their are no injuries during finals and we see some great football action.

Nozzer
19 May 2006, 00:11
That may be true, but Euroa and Seymour are still winning. Winning form's good form.

Big game for Benalla this week at the Cattery, though.

thereoffandracing
19 May 2006, 10:34
OK boys

Just want to know who would be leading the morrison medal after 4 rounds.

I know its early, but is there anyone that has played great in all of their games.

Rowan Priest of Benalla would have polled well in the first 3 weeks, apparently he was a little quite against the bears, he would be leading at the end of round 4 for mine

GeeVee
19 May 2006, 11:00
what GV grounds in the best condition at the moment do you think fellas? best playing surface?

winger
19 May 2006, 11:10
Ill have a little each way on the shepp swans, early leader in the morrison would have 2 be Matt McCarty or Elliot Bowen and Echuca would have to be one of the best grounds at the moment in top nick.

Chance
19 May 2006, 11:59
They are lucky to be 4-0. Could easily have been 2-2 or 1-3. Have heard they have been cruising along - havnt clicked yet, no passion and have hardly played 4 good quarters a game. They are giving steve d a heart attack nearly every game.
But they are still getting over the line which is a sign of a champion team, they just don't run away with the game they way they should - that is what I have heard and read here and in shepp news anyway.

thereoffandracing
19 May 2006, 12:45
what GV grounds in the best condition at the moment do you think fellas? best playing surface?

Mansfield would have to be one of the best grounds going around, yes, on a slight slope and a lot smaller than most grounds but was in sensational condition when i was there i round 4

ECHUCABOY
19 May 2006, 15:45
Mansfield would have to be one of the best grounds going around, yes, on a slight slope and a lot smaller than most grounds but was in sensational condition when i was there i round 4

Everyone please tell me the one who is racing is being sarcastic. I remember a game a couple of years ago where it was impossible to see any grass because of the mud on the ground. Have Mansfield laid new turf or is it just a shocker of a ground when wet.

Good to hear Vic Park is in good shape. I suppose planting grass thats suitable for both summer and winter has worked.........

The grass that used to be on it died in Winter and grew in summer, made sense to replant!:rolleyes:

Wayne Weideman
19 May 2006, 16:08
Everyone please tell me the one who is racing is being sarcastic. I remember a game a couple of years ago where it was impossible to see any grass because of the mud on the ground. Have Mansfield laid new turf or is it just a shocker of a ground when wet.

Good to hear Vic Park is in good shape. I suppose planting grass thats suitable for both summer and winter has worked.........

The grass that used to be on it died in Winter and grew in summer, made sense to replant!:rolleyes:

i'm with you echuca boy. mansfield would of had to replant grass there as it wouldn't feature in some of the best grounds in the GV. more to the point it slopes, you can only see half a players body if watching from the bench looking over to the opposite wing. in summing up mansfields groung is s h i t!!!

Nozzer
19 May 2006, 16:19
And if I recall, the visitors change rooms are actually the change rooms of the pool next door.

GV Grounds? Right now The D's looking a treat. Echuca's is good. Last I saw, the Cattery's not too bad.

Peterson#31
19 May 2006, 16:54
They are lucky to be 4-0. Could easily have been 2-2 or 1-3. Have heard they have been cruising along - havnt clicked yet, no passion and have hardly played 4 good quarters a game. They are giving steve d a heart attack nearly every game.
But they are still getting over the line which is a sign of a champion team, they just don't run away with the game they way they should - that is what I have heard and read here and in shepp news anyway.

OK firstly seeing how everyone in big footy land was aware of my alias "fat back pocket" and the fact i have added an extra 5kg to my already monsterous 'rig', it's time to put things out in the open-

Anyway gambler, how can a side show no passion to continually come from behind in the last quater?? Seems like a team bursting with passion for their jumper to me- Speaking of bursting a jumper that reminds me- i better order a larger jumper, my guns can no longer fit into the number 31...

VCFL_FAN
19 May 2006, 17:16
Anybody fill me in on weather conditions for this weekends games, hopefulyl stays nice and sunny..

Doona2
19 May 2006, 17:39
OK firstly seeing how everyone in big footy land was aware of my alias "fat back pocket" and the fact i have added an extra 5kg to my already monsterous 'rig', it's time to put things out in the open-

Anyway gambler, how can a side show no passion to continually come from behind in the last quater?? Seems like a team bursting with passion for their jumper to me- Speaking of bursting a jumper that reminds me- i better order a larger jumper, my guns can no longer fit into the number 31...

Welcome back Stuie I have a Yea #31 that you are free to have but it may be too big :thumbsu:

cookie33
19 May 2006, 20:38
hi people. just got some good word from a very realiable source that one of tats new recruits and one of there top players wont be lining up in the senior side tommorow. as has been said a few pages back about one of the melbourne guys getting cleared to an essendon league side last week after a so called falling out i can now be certain that there has yet been another rift and that player has been disciplined and will play reserves football tommorow.apparantley player A has no option but to play tommoro in the reserves as there is rules of something or another sanctioning him to do as told by the club or risk not playing football at any level/league again this season.
my thoughts would be why is a club in taturas situation putting knives to the head of a player they obviously wanted at the club. the kid must have done something terribly wrong.anyone who is at the tat vs seymour match might be able to confirm some of this as its a bit of he say she say at the moment.
anyway by the looks of the season so far my pre season prediction has been a fair bit off i still think benalla with a full side will be the hardest to knock over especially with symes and porter back up and ready to fire.

anyway fellas i hope to get up to a game soon. it would be good to have a few beers with some of you if there is an opportunity so when the chance comes i might put it out there and if any of you guys are at a game i will catch up.

fat back pocket
19 May 2006, 20:49

Look boys, everyone knows who Fat Back Pocket is, touche' to the bright spark who thought playing me would be a fun thing to do on big footy.

Boys, i guarantee you all that Peterson#31 is not the Fat Back Pocket. So any rubbish posted is from the smart a r s e with too much time on their hands is not from me.

Regards
FBP.

Notable in's for the Lions tomorrow...Inness and Brockway.

Doona2
19 May 2006, 20:52
Look boys, everyone knows who Fat Back Pocket is, touche' to the bright spark who thought playing me would be a fun thing to do on big footy.

Boys, i guarantee you all that Peterson#31 is not the Fat Back Pocket. So any rubbish posted is from the smart a r s e with too much time on their hands is not from me.

Regards
FBP.

Notable in's for the Lions tomorrow...Inness and Brockway.

Took longer than I thought, was awaiting this post from the one and only FBP :thumbsu:

True that Inness is in? Might change my plans for the day

Grandale
20 May 2006, 09:40
Also other ruckmans are Shane Schottner (not sure if he is still around though) and Karl Norman

Schottner was coaching Lalor last I heard...

Grandale
20 May 2006, 09:45

Interested to know what Benalla and Ky think of the refurbished Kings Park in comparison with years gone by.

Grandale
20 May 2006, 09:50

Welcome back Chubby Wubby. IT hasn't been the same without you.
Keep up the good work.
PS: We'd have to be due for another mark from the GV Grand Final on Almost Footy Legends wouldn't we...it's been over a month now.

No Heart
21 May 2006, 11:15
Saw one of the best efforts yesterday from a football team that showed passion, that some people [ Chance] thought the lions wernt playing with. A 3 goal win over Tatura, how can that show passion chance i hear you say.The lions lost 4 players on the friday afternoon and early saturday morning to take to the field against tat, with the likes of , B Liddel , A Reid , J Amad, P Scanlon, R Douglas, J Anderson, P King, and P Ratray all missing the game against the Bullbogs.Then to make things worse M Thomson broke his hand in the first 5 minutes, Pemberton done his knee 10 minutes later, Vanreit done his ankle and then finally D Russo was knocked out by a great hip and shoulder that had the lions with 17 fit players on the ground at the 20 minute mark of the second qtr. AND THEY HANG ON TO SHOW PASSION FOR THE JUMPER [CHANCE] AND WIN THE GAME ???????????????????????????????????????

[ But now i think there stuffed with injuries]

Doona2
21 May 2006, 11:32
Euroa 15.12 (102) v Shepparton Swans 25.12 (162)
Echuca 10.8 (68) v Mansfield 11.8 (74)
Mooroopna 14.12 (96) v Benalla 11.13 (79)
Shepparton 15.14 (104) v Kyabram 14.5 (89)
Rochester 11.12 (78) v Shepparton United 11.13 (79)
Tatura 12.9 (81) v Seymour 16.14 (110)

Massive win for the Shepp Swans, and Mansfield's win on the long road trip deserves a mention too.

Musta been some feeling in the curtain raiser at Tatura as Im led to believe that two of Big Footy's more prominent figures clashed with each other.

The original Fat Bock Pocket (not Peterson#31) and Tige19 were both given time in the sin bin after crossing paths, I think maybe FBP even may have been "binned" twice.

And what's this discipline reason we're hearing with one of Tat's new recruits playing two's - sure it wasn't form as he is yet to be named in the best and wasn't in the ressies either?

cookie33
21 May 2006, 12:00
Doona did the player in question play reserves football yesterday? i know a fair few people who played with the guy at coburg 1 of which is a very good mate of his and thats who told me on thursday that he would be playing 2s due to a lack of communication and clash of opinions with someone at the club which happend the morning of the euroa game a few weeks back. im not directly involved but i would be very certain that my source is on the money with the information, also highly doubt its a form issue as i know the kid can play and has played some very good football at vfl level along with about 50 other players running around in the gv. i would prefer players and clubs for the matter to be making noises for the right things not negative things. doona just a question.... you obviously watched the game, when the guy played weather that be seniors or as it sounds like reserves was his attitude towards the match ok? you can tell alot from player when they play if they want to be there or not.

on the other things, swans had a great win wish i could have been there to see the veale deal take a few grabs, he has a great build for footy and seems to be coming along nicely for coach sutherland and the swans. also benalla being rolled again by a rampaging moroopana, the cats look like they could be the real deal and come september time they might be one of the favourites. seymour sound like they are on track although a 4 goal win against a bottom side isnt anything to sprook about, although the gv this year seems very even with any team bottom or top being able to beat one another. shepp bears are improving, should provide stiff competetion and be a danger to the top sides.

lastly, ant speccies from the master man saad saad? loved watching him at the bullants, i have to get up to see one of his games in the coming weeks.

Duff Man
21 May 2006, 16:27
Saw one of the best efforts yesterday from a football team that showed passion, that some people [ Chance] thought the lions wernt playing with. A 3 goal win over Tatura, how can that show passion chance i hear you say.The lions lost 4 players on the friday afternoon and early saturday morning to take to the field against tat, with the likes of , B Liddel , A Reid , J Amad, P Scanlon, R Douglas, J Anderson, P King, and P Ratray all missing the game against the Bullbogs.Then to make things worse M Thomson broke his hand in the first 5 minutes, Pemberton done his knee 10 minutes later, Vanreit done his ankle and then finally D Russo was knocked out by a great hip and shoulder that had the lions with 17 fit players on the ground at the 20 minute mark of the second qtr. AND THEY HANG ON TO SHOW PASSION FOR THE JUMPER [CHANCE] AND WIN THE GAME ???????????????????????????????????????

[ But now i think there stuffed with injuries]

Well i saw a diffrent game yesterday [ Euroa v Swans ] and as much as i hate to say it i think the maggies have lost there passion. That was the worst ive seen them play in years and they better get it together fairly quickly because we have to play Mansfeild at Mansfeild then Benalla, Dont want to take anything away from the swans but lets see what happens next time around.

No Heart
21 May 2006, 16:47
Doona did the player in question play reserves football yesterday? i know a fair few people who played with the guy at coburg 1 of which is a very good mate of his and thats who told me on thursday that he would be playing 2s due to a lack of communication and clash of opinions with someone at the club which happend the morning of the euroa game a few weeks back. im not directly involved but i would be very certain that my source is on the money with the information, also highly doubt its a form issue as i know the kid can play and has played some very good football at vfl level along with about 50 other players running around in the gv. i would prefer players and clubs for the matter to be making noises for the right things not negative things. doona just a question.... you obviously watched the game, when the guy played weather that be seniors or as it sounds like reserves was his attitude towards the match ok? you can tell alot from player when they play if they want to be there or not.

on the other things, swans had a great win wish i could have been there to see the veale deal take a few grabs, he has a great build for footy and seems to be coming along nicely for coach sutherland and the swans. also benalla being rolled again by a rampaging moroopana, the cats look like they could be the real deal and come september time they might be one of the favourites. seymour sound like they are on track although a 4 goal win against a bottom side isnt anything to sprook about, although the gv this year seems very even with any team bottom or top being able to beat one another. shepp bears are improving, should provide stiff competetion and be a danger to the top sides.

lastly, ant speccies from the master man saad saad? loved watching him at the bullants, i have to get up to see one of his games in the coming weeks.

Cookie the player Tige 19 [ Shanon Downey ] played in the ressies yesterday and it was because he has been struggling. a few of the tat boys where filling me in on the gossip [ not a popular bloke up there at the moment] and he couldnt get a kick in the ressies either, but he did cop a ripper upper cup from one Fat Back Pocket that had both players sent of the ground. IT was better than Mundine and green[ Fat Back Pocket won on points ] Tige 19 was last seen licking his lips on the pine in the twos.

VCFL_FAN
21 May 2006, 18:38
Can anybody tell me how the thirds boys playing seniors are going

Off top of my head

Butler (Tatura)
Warnett (Mooroopna)
McIntyre (Shepp B)
Sofi (Shepp B)
Cullinan (Shepp B)
Aumman (Benalla)

Any others? How do they go?

TheJuddstarr#3
21 May 2006, 19:33
Well i saw a diffrent game yesterday [ Euroa v Swans ] and as much as i hate to say it i think the maggies have lost there passion. That was the worst ive seen them play in years and they better get it together fairly quickly because we have to play Mansfeild at Mansfeild then Benalla, Dont want to take anything away from the swans but lets see what happens next time around.

Duff Man, how can u say that thats the worst game youve seen euroa play in years... theyve only been good for 1 and a bit! before that they were terrible for 10. but your spot on with their passion. that showed even last week when bamford did the "disappearing act" at albury with the gvfl side. pretty poor effort i reckon.

xlr8ator_11
21 May 2006, 20:39
Played at Kings Park a few weeks ago. The surface is 100 times better than it was last year. They have done a good job.

raso43
21 May 2006, 22:10
anyone have any news on the injury front at Benalla, seems to be they are stuggling without there big guns Porter and Symes and i heard a rumour Shiels may have injured his knee on the weekend

head67
22 May 2006, 00:55
Well i saw a diffrent game yesterday [ Euroa v Swans ] and as much as i hate to say it i think the maggies have lost there passion. That was the worst ive seen them play in years and they better get it together fairly quickly because we have to play Mansfeild at Mansfeild then Benalla, Dont want to take anything away from the swans but lets see what happens next time around. Hey duff man 10 gls down to swans! No passion? Is my tenner in trouble? Or is there a lot more injuries down at the memorial than i'm seeing on this site?

battista
22 May 2006, 12:05
Can someone put results/goal kickers etc up. located in melbourne and obviously cant get a local paper. cheers.

Doona2
22 May 2006, 12:16
Can someone put results/goal kickers etc up. located in melbourne and obviously cant get a local paper. cheers.

Seymour 122.97% 20
Shepparton Swans 159.42% 16
Mooroopna 104.92% 16
Euroa 124.72% 12
Echuca 114.04% 12
Mansfield 100.95% 12
Benalla 102.12% 8
Shepparton United 96.84% 8
Shepparton 83.69% 8
Kyabram 84.73% 4
Rochester 77.53% 4
Tatura 59.34% 0

Top 10 Players by Goals:
1. SINGH, Balraj Mooroopna 29
2. SAAD, Saad Seymour 24
3. MCCARTY, Matthew Shepp Swans 22
4. NEWMAN, Paul Kyabram 22
5. GRAINGER, Scott Euroa 21
6. DUNDOVIC, Glenn Shepp Swans 18
7. FORYS, Matt Shepp United 17
8. JANSZ, Mark Euroa 17
9. BOWEN, Elliot Rochester 15
10. BAMFORD, Craig Euroa 13

Junkie
22 May 2006, 13:22
Duff Man, how can u say that thats the worst game youve seen euroa play in years... theyve only been good for 1 and a bit! before that they were terrible for 10. but your spot on with their passion. that showed even last week when bamford did the "disappearing act" at albury with the gvfl side. pretty poor effort i reckon.

I think you'll find Juddstarr#3 that Euroa have played finals footy more often than not in the past 10 seasons. I think they've only missed the finals 2 or 3 times in that period. Pretty rough to judge Bamford when you don't know him from a bar of soap...have you considered he may have had other commitments.

Stick to the facts you clown!

kanye
22 May 2006, 14:26
Now Whip, i have heard from a few sourses that you pulled ther pin on taking part in the theme song after your come from behind win on saturday. was this due to dissapointment in your own performance or for other reasons???

Duff Man
22 May 2006, 14:35
I think you'll find Juddstarr#3 that Euroa have played finals footy more often than not in the past 10 seasons. I think they've only missed the finals 2 or 3 times in that period. Pretty rough to judge Bamford when you don't know him from a bar of soap...have you considered he may have had other commitments.

Well said Junkie. Yes we've got a few injuries at the moment but thought we may have been able to cover them a bit better than what we did on the weekend. Swans have a good side for sure, but our boys went to sleep a bit in the last which made the loss look a bit worse than what it should have been.

No worries with our passion heady. As for Juddy - you don't know the full story with Bamf so best you get your facts right before trying to conjure up stories that are full of crap!

LOBSTER
22 May 2006, 14:54
I dont think Euroa have that many injuires at the moment do they? I only know of Clarke and Gilliland who are out, otherwise it was pretty much a full strength team. Bamford did play in the interleague carnival, well he was named in the shep new on the friday. I thought he just didnt get a kick. Some of Euroas big name players really need to stand up this coming weekend against Mansfield.

No passion in team is a very big call, especially after last years result.:confused: You would think they would have all the passion in the world. maybe they are just one year wonders and when it gets really tough, they all go missing.:p

The Whip
22 May 2006, 17:37
Now Whip, i have heard from a few sourses that you pulled ther pin on taking part in the theme song after your come from behind win on saturday. was this due to dissapointment in your own performance or for other reasons???

Well Kanye, After only getting 5 minutes on the ground i was pretty dissapointed! I prepared myself well for the game with a packet of winnie reds and 17 cans of tooheys red so i thought i was in for a good day.
After all I should be in the seniors.... dont you think?
Anyway theres always next week, till then Kanye touch the sky!!

Grandale
22 May 2006, 18:08

Massive win for the Shepp Swans, and Mansfield's win on the long road trip deserves a mention too.

Musta been some feeling in the curtain raiser at Tatura as Im led to believe that two of Big Footy's more prominent figures clashed with each other.

The original Fat Bock Pocket (not Peterson#31) and Tige19 were both given time in the sin bin after crossing paths, I think maybe FBP even may have been "binned" twice.

And what's this discipline reason we're hearing with one of Tat's new recruits playing two's - sure it wasn't form as he is yet to be named in the best and wasn't in the ressies either?

Don't believe the best players Doona (Tat's that it, Seymour's were a very accurate reflection on the game). If Tige wasn't in Tat's best 6 I'll eat my hat. Sure he wasn't interested in manning up but he did cut off several of the Lions' attacking forays and the margin would have been greater if he wasn't there.

Doona2
22 May 2006, 18:23
Don't believe the best players Doona (Tat's that it, Seymour's were a very accurate reflection on the game). If Tige wasn't in Tat's best 6 I'll eat my hat. Sure he wasn't interested in manning up but he did cut off several of the Lions' attacking forays and the margin would have been greater if he wasn't there.

Cheers mate got a few I see . . . . any reports come outa the 2's? How bad is the injury list, you just might sneak a call-up

kanye
22 May 2006, 19:41
i have actually heard you have recently come across a spot of form. now dont get your hopes up but i have also heard that the 2's coach has had a quiet word to Gleeso in regards to your current form, stating, and i quote "one of the smoothest and most talented men to take to the memorial oval, and a top class bloke too". i myself have seen you play and have absolutly no doubt in my mind that you should be running around with names such as clayton, janz and hamill...... keep up the good work, i'm sure all the hours on the end of a cancer stick and toohey's red's will eventually pay off.

head67
22 May 2006, 19:58
i have actually heard you have recently come across a spot of form. now dont get your hopes up but i have also heard that the 2's coach has had a quiet word to Gleeso in regards to your current form, stating, and i quote "one of the smoothest and most talented men to take to the memorial oval, and a top class bloke too". i myself have seen you play and have absolutly no doubt in my mind that you should be running around with names such as clayton, janz and hamill...... keep up the good work, i'm sure all the hours on the end of a cancer stick and toohey's red's will eventually pay off. It's a cospiracy whip, a :D:D:D:Den travesty i would thought that when i seen you debut 16 years ago that you would have the first grade games record by now. Have you thought about switching to the Winnie blues.:mad:

Duff Man
22 May 2006, 20:25
Hey duff man 10 gls down to swans! No passion? Is my tenner in trouble? Or is there a lot more injuries down at the memorial than i'm seeing on this site?

Yours and my tenner are in trouble, was a few out on the weekend, and they will bounce back [ I Hope] .

Nozzer
22 May 2006, 20:59
Does anyone out there rate Mooroopna at all, or are you waiting to see how they go versus Euroa and Seymour?

head67
22 May 2006, 21:00
Yours and my tenner are in trouble, was a few out on the weekend, and they will bounce back [ I Hope] . Waiting for the Thomson brs to play in the same team and will be making my way down to watch a game or two Duff Man. In what looks to be a fairly even top 3 or 4, injuries will play a big part. I hope the pies injury run is done with.

Cameo King
22 May 2006, 21:02
That Watson bloke who plays for the losing GF side last year, skipper even. What's the verdict on him as a player?

TheJuddstarr#3
22 May 2006, 21:19

Junkie and Duffman i think you'll find that this place is a rumor mill! so if your gonna tell me to stick with the facts, then you better tell all the others "clowns" in here to as well!
as for bamford well... none of the other gv boys seems to know what happened to him, not even mr. daniels, would assume hes not to happy bout it! so questions should be asked!
"have you considered he may have had other commitments" well is it just me or shouldnt he be committed to the gv side for the whole weekend? if if cant fully commit dont put your hand up. sure white hurt his hand, and may have needed a ride back, but theres other ways round it! im sticking to my initial thoughts - pretty poor effort!

Davie
22 May 2006, 21:59
Thoughts on the final inter league line up???

TuskenRaider
23 May 2006, 10:15
Junkie and Duffman i think you'll find that this place is a rumor mill! so if your gonna tell me to stick with the facts, then you better tell all the others "clowns" in here to as well!

Junkie was telling you how many times a side had played finals in the last 10 years. That's got nothing to do with rumours and only concerns fact.

FOOTYBOSS
23 May 2006, 11:03
That Watson bloke who plays for the losing GF side last year, skipper even. What's the verdict on him as a player?
Very handy player for us as he can play at either end of the ground and he is rarely beaten on the field. A terrific leader and important player to our side.

centreman
23 May 2006, 11:13
Rowan Priest of Benalla would have polled well in the first 3 weeks, apparently he was a little quite against the bears, he would be leading at the end of round 4 for mine

I thought he missed the first few games.

Junkie
23 May 2006, 12:31
as for bamford well... none of the other gv boys seems to know what happened to him, not even mr. daniels, would assume hes not to happy bout it! so questions should be asked!
"have you considered he may have had other commitments" well is it just me or shouldnt he be committed to the gv side for the whole weekend? if if cant fully commit dont put your hand up. sure white hurt his hand, and may have needed a ride back, but theres other ways round it! im sticking to my initial thoughts - pretty poor effort!

You continue to confirm your status with every post:rolleyes: You clearly know the reason Bamford left yet continue to question it. Was Clarke supposed to change the gears with his teeth? As TuskenRaider has already mentioned facts can only be considered when talking about the number of times a team has played finals.

I think its time for you to head back to the circus:eek:

Doona2
23 May 2006, 17:27
What's goin on here fella's, just found this thread on page 2 . . . . very ordinary effort by all involved!!!

waddo #6
23 May 2006, 17:37
yeah agree there doona

half time lollies
23 May 2006, 17:38
You continue to confirm your status with every post:rolleyes: You clearly know the reason Bamford left yet continue to question it. Was Clarke supposed to change the gears with his teeth? As TuskenRaider has already mentioned facts can only be considered when talking about the number of times a team has played finals.

I think its time for you to head back to the circus:eek:

I'm sure that Clarke probably can't change gears with his teeth but what was stopping him from waiting until after the 3rd game was finished before going back to Melbourne?? That way Bamford could of played.

So from what I can gather the reason that Bamford missed the 3rd game was to drive Clarke back to Melbourne... if so that is nothing short of pathetic and Bamford should never be considered for interleague duties again:thumbsd:

BIGANT
23 May 2006, 18:00
Josh Wilson !?!?...is he there yet :confused:
Now what has happened w new recruit...ruckman @ shep swans Josh Wilson.Is he even playing !?!? CAN ANYONE TELL ME on the goings on of him.Having seen him during the recent darwin season w wanderers just interested to see how he's going the big guy !

Grandale
23 May 2006, 18:35
Cheers mate got a few I see . . . . any reports come outa the 2's? How bad is the injury list, you just might sneak a call-up

No reports, not that there should have been though. FBP and Tige19 were hardly gunna do any damage to one another with what they were throwing around.
Re injuries, Thomson has busted his thumb, so he'll be missing for about 8 weeks (back just in time for Twos finals). Not sure how bad Pemberton's knee is but you wouldn't expect him to play this week and as gallant as Van Riet was playing out the second half injured last week it will probably mean he's no good for this week.
That said, Chopper Reid, B Liddell and the Duck (P King) should return with Jake Anderson and Bobby Douglas some sort of chance.
So, in answer to your question Doon, my return to senior ranks will have to wait at least one more week.

Doona2
23 May 2006, 21:00
No reports, not that there should have been though. FBP and Tige19 were hardly gunna do any damage to one another with what they were throwing around.
Re injuries, Thomson has busted his thumb, so he'll be missing for about 8 weeks (back just in time for Twos finals). Not sure how bad Pemberton's knee is but you wouldn't expect him to play this week and as gallant as Van Riet was playing out the second half injured last week it will probably mean he's no good for this week.
That said, Chopper Reid, B Liddell and the Duck (P King) should return with Jake Anderson and Bobby Douglas some sort of chance.
So, in answer to your question Doon, my return to senior ranks will have to wait at least one more week.

Fair summation Grandy, tell me Chipper Douglas is coming back via the magoo's aint he? I know how much he is looking forward to a run alongside the in form Bretty Spargo.

PUP16
23 May 2006, 22:41
hey all, just wondering if yas could let me know all of the injured players and what their injuriers are from euroa, benalla and seymour and how far off they are from returning...... cheers...

pete_mitchell
24 May 2006, 01:49
hey all, just wondering if yas could let me know all of the injured players and what their injuriers are from euroa, benalla and seymour and how far off they are from returning...... cheers...

Great balls of fire...pup you can tell us about Seymour can't ya...you're a boy from the den?

Interesting to see the 3 sides touted as top 3 (Sey, Eur and Ben) ravaged by injuries at the minute...could this be giving a false sense of security to other teams? Or could it be their downfall? Only time will tell...

"Sorry Goose, but its time to buzz the tower..."

FOOTYBOSS
24 May 2006, 09:28
I'm sure that Clarke probably can't change gears with his teeth but what was stopping him from waiting until after the 3rd game was finished before going back to Melbourne?? That way Bamford could of played.

So from what I can gather the reason that Bamford missed the 3rd game was to drive Clarke back to Melbourne... if so that is nothing short of pathetic and Bamford should never be considered for interleague duties again:thumbsd:
There was no reason for Clarke to hang around for the 3rd game. It was pretty obvious that he was in a bit of pain and to be at a his own house was far better for him then being stuck in some dodgy motel room in albury.

Also I think you would find that it was Eric Bott that suggested Craig drive him back to Melbourne. So before you go slamming Bamford on this thread, get your facts right before mouthing off you clown.

Im pretty sure you would find Bamford decline interleague duties if he was ever asked to play for the gv side in the future as its a total waste of time playing in it.

half time lollies
24 May 2006, 10:26
There was no reason for Clarke to hang around for the 3rd game. It was pretty obvious that he was in a bit of pain and to be at a his own house was far better for him then being stuck in some dodgy motel room in albury.

Also I think you would find that it was Eric Bott that suggested Craig drive him back to Melbourne. So before you go slamming Bamford on this thread, get your facts right before mouthing off you clown.

Im pretty sure you would find Bamford decline interleague duties if he was ever asked to play for the gv side in the future as its a total waste of time playing in it.

I actually spoke to Eric at the weekend and the story your spinning doesn't really resemble what Eric told me but hey Eric could of been lying and me what would I know I'm only a clown.

So I would suggest that I do have my facts right and as for your version I suppose that is what you were told by CRAIG to attempt to make himself look a little better. All in all a pretty ordinary effort from CRAIG!

Chance
24 May 2006, 12:51

Hey big boss! Very surprised to hear u guys got spanked on the w'end. Would love to hear ur thoughts on the swannies. Are they that good? Do they have good players all over the ground followed by depth in the 2's? Who are the players to watch out for? There seems to be very little info on them so hope u can shed some light on these dark horses!

ECHUCABOY
24 May 2006, 16:54
Hey big boss! Very surprised to hear u guys got spanked on the w'end. Would love to hear ur thoughts on the swannies. Are they that good? Do they have good players all over the ground followed by depth in the 2's? Who are the players to watch out for? There seems to be very little info on them so hope u can shed some light on these dark horses!

Good to see the swannies have stopped recruiting drug dealers (Triannidis) and are playing some good footy, makes for an even competition, ecspecially with the top sides showing a lack of depth at present..................

T.Perry
24 May 2006, 17:47

The latest reports out of Seymour are that S. Peterson has quit the club after his manager fielded calls from Mundine to a title fight dubbed 'the man v the lard' and Patrick Rattray will be out for up to 4 weeks recovering from a jaw reduction...no seriously...now him and Robbie Inness will look even more like twins..and they sound very similar, too, so it may be hard to tell them apart..Patty has bigger biceps..

fat back pocket
24 May 2006, 19:20
The latest reports out of Seymour are that S. Peterson has quit the club after his manager fielded calls from Mundine to a title fight dubbed 'the man v the lard' and Patrick Rattray will be out for up to 4 weeks recovering from a jaw reduction...no seriously...now him and Robbie Inness will look even more like twins..and they sound very similar, too, so it may be hard to tell them apart..Patty has bigger biceps..

Mr Perry,

come on...give me some credit, i could be the machine...but i don't use energiser batteries or duracel, i use the crummy no-name ones you buy from the $2 shop...they don't last too long, throw a few hay makers then im out...

Must be that time of year for cosmetic surgery, my manager tells me you're going in to get a nose reduction? Word is when you run through the banner your nose does most of the damage to it, cos it goes through the banner 3 seconds before any other part of your body...and thats when you're sprinting.

Nozzer
24 May 2006, 21:40
Wonders if the GVFL contains anyone aside from Seymour and Euroa.... :-)

What do people think of Mooroopna? Real Deal or year away yet?

FOOTYBOSS
25 May 2006, 09:23
I wouldnt under estimate the swans at all this year. They move the ball really well and looked to quick for us at times. McCarty off the wing was their most damaging player along with a little bloke Charlie Maher. They have height in the right areas. Simple fact was they were prepared to break the lines and back themselves which proved to be the difference. As for ddepth at the swans, if they get a few injuries to key players they will drop away. They dont have much running around in the twos. Sutherland is their key. I believe they will make the top 4 if they dont get injuries to major players.

FOOTYBOSS
25 May 2006, 09:28
So I would suggest that I do have my facts right and as for your version I suppose that is what you were told by CRAIG to attempt to make himself look a little better. All in all a pretty ordinary effort from CRAIG!
Their you go assuming again. It wasnt Craig that told me the story but in fact someone else who represented the gv that weekend. Honestly do who really cares if he played in that last game or not. The gv won didnt they. Finally who really cares about representing the gv anyway, its only a glorified jumper and money spinner for the leagues.

Why dont you have a crack at all the blokes that pulled out on the eve of the weekend, but somehow managed to be right for their clubs the week after. Look at those blokes before slagging off a guy who went out of his way to represent the gv and also travel to training.

FOOTYBOSS
25 May 2006, 09:31
ecspecially with the top sides showing a lack of depth at present..................
Lack of depth amongst the top teams... I think you will find the top 4 teams in the seniors, their reserves teams are in the 6 at the moment. SO depth isnt a problem. It does get harder by the week if people keep getting injured. Seymour and Euroa have quite a few top line players unable to play at the moment.

nigel31
25 May 2006, 11:08
Lack of depth amongst the top teams... I think you will find the top 4 teams in the seniors, their reserves teams are in the 6 at the moment. SO depth isnt a problem. It does get harder by the week if people keep getting injured. Seymour and Euroa have quite a few top line players unable to play at the moment.

fair call bout euroa and seymour having a few out but dont leave benalla out of that mate they have there two best players out in porter and symes and now shiels and priest are out so i still believe benalla will be a contender i just cant wait till they get a full side on the park.

no left foot
25 May 2006, 11:17

Injuries are a huge concern at Echuca at the moment, seems like they must be at many clubs. Echuca, Euroa, Benalla, Seymour and probably at other clubs who dont have too much input on this site.
Are the Swans and Moroopna the real deal or are they 2 sides maybe having a good run with injuries? The comp has been very even this year is it fair to assume minimal injuries will now be more crucial to a few middle sides chances of playing finals?

ringo1
25 May 2006, 11:26
I see that the Swans could be a real force but there is one gigantic if-Sutherland stays focussed on the ball and disciplined and stops all the otherstuff he is gaining a reputation for.

FOOTYBOSS
25 May 2006, 11:28
fair call bout euroa and seymour having a few out but dont leave benalla out of that mate they have there two best players out in porter and symes and now shiels and priest are out so i still believe benalla will be a contender i just cant wait till they get a full side on the park.
Sorry I dont know much about Benalla. they will be very tough to beat with a full team on the paddock, but from what I have heard, I dont think depth is as strong as previous years.

No Left Foot. As alwyas the team that has the least injuries usually goes fairly good. I agree the comp has evened out a fair bit this year.

subtle hustle
25 May 2006, 12:04
Heard last night that Kyabram may have parted ways with one of thier imported onballers. The majority of the players no longer want him at the club after an altercation with the Finn brothers on saturday night.

a.k.a.
25 May 2006, 12:41
Heard last night that Kyabram may have parted ways with one of thier imported onballers. The majority of the players no longer want him at the club after an altercation with the Finn brothers on saturday night.

Ciavola would be a safe guess there???

Travvy43
25 May 2006, 12:49
Ciavola would be a safe guess there???

My sources tell me this is spot on. Interesting that it was due to an incident with the finn brothers, Josh, Trent and Matt; they can be three angry little men when they need to be!!!

a.k.a.
25 May 2006, 13:02
My sources tell me this is spot on. Interesting that it was due to an incident with the finn brothers, Josh, Trent and Matt; they can be three angry little men when they need to be!!!

Maybe they told him he's a short, fat, ugly man OR one of them hit on Princess Fiona and made him a bit angry...:rolleyes:

centreman
25 May 2006, 15:18

I thought Neil and Tim were the Finn brothers.

centreman
25 May 2006, 15:19
Any truth to the Rory Hilton rumour following the Yarrawonga practice match. I heard some of the Rochy boys might have mentioned it on the ground the other week????