View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Any truth to the Rory Hilton rumour following the Yarrawonga practice match. I heard some of the Rochy boys might have mentioned it on the ground the other week????
Might help if you provide a few details knackers.... A rumour from 2 months ago:rolleyes:
centreman
25 May 2006, 18:11
Might help if you provide a few details knackers.... A rumour from 2 months ago:rolleyes:
I'm sure if there was any legs to it you'd have heard.
Let's just say the rumour was he discovered with some things he shouldn't have had. Someone, of good reptute, told me about it and aparently a couple of Rochy players heard the rumour and mentioned it during their game a couple of weeks ago.
I'd hadn't heard it from anyone else so I'm assuming there was no legs to it.
Have A Crack
25 May 2006, 19:45
I'm sure if there was any legs to it you'd have heard.
Let's just say the rumour was he discovered with some things he shouldn't have had. Someone, of good reptute, told me about it and aparently a couple of Rochy players heard the rumour and mentioned it during their game a couple of weeks ago.
I'd hadn't heard it from anyone else so I'm assuming there was no legs to it.
Spit it out champ !
Don't start a rumour and half tell the story !!!!
Have A Crack
25 May 2006, 19:53
Can anybody tell me how Marty Mcgrath is travelling in the GVFL??
It was a big call from his new club to pay him a Gorilla a game $1000.00.
I'm so glad our club in another league did not pay him that sort of money!!!!!!!!!!
Can anybody tell me how Marty Mcgrath is travelling in the GVFL??
It was a big call from his new club to pay him a Gorilla a game $1000.00.
I'm so glad our club in another league did not pay him that sort of money!!!!!!!!!!
You absoloute moron, quite clearly another un-informed twit talking garbage on on this website.
Its getting worst and worst.
centreman
25 May 2006, 21:05
Spit it out champ !
Don't start a rumour and half tell the story !!!!
I'm not starting it. And I'm not going to make unsubstantiated claims. If it's known out there, others will chime in. If it's false it will die.
Have A Crack
25 May 2006, 21:26
You absoloute moron, quite clearly another un-informed twit talking garbage on on this website.
Who you
Have A Crack
25 May 2006, 21:29
Who you calling a moron you imbasile.
You would'nt have a clue yourself sumphead.
Sometimes the truth hurts when somebody is being paid heaps off money and the club is sitting on the bottom.
I have good mail that he is on this sort of money.
Have A Crack
25 May 2006, 21:31
I'm not starting it. And I'm not going to make unsubstantiated claims. If it's known out there, others will chime in. If it's false it will die.
Well in future don't half tell a story.
It was like a sheila leading a bloke on and not going through with the business !!!!
Ahhhhh Tige PLAYS for the club in question. I think he may have some clue, personally...
Wayne Weideman
25 May 2006, 22:12
what's the go with this rory hilton rumour that the rochy boys were getting into him about?
GVFLFAN
25 May 2006, 23:06
what's the go with this rory hilton rumour that the rochy boys were getting into him about?
OK Boys here is the story with the Hilton rumour straight from the horses mouth so to speak! Myself and a few of the guys including hilton stayed in yarra following our prac game and had a few ales at the local ski club which i must add was a shocking joint! Were getting stuck into it and at eleven we got kicked out for throwing ice at each other! They called the cops which must be standard up there and that was abot it! No big deal at all so i dont know where the rumours came from cos i remember one of the rochy boys asking us after the game and we laughed it off! Funny how these rumours start but that is the honest truth so take it our leave it!
Well in future don't half tell a story.
It was like a sheila leading a bloke on and not going through with the business !!!!
HAVE A CRACK!!!!
HawkeEye
26 May 2006, 04:55
With a few injuries at Euroa at the moment, I heard a whisper that 'pavva' has been spotted running around albert park lake bouncing a brand new sherrin.
Then going over to the local oval and kicking the ball in the air and marking it on his chest, setting his mark and slotting goals on his left from the boundry line.
Any truth to this.
Last time I heard he had penciled in rd 8 as his big debut. I hope he hasnt pulled the eraser out.
cookie33
26 May 2006, 08:31
Doona would you be able to post the sides again for this week? will be interested to see what players are named for Seymour,Euroa,Shepp Utd and Tat.
LOBSTER
26 May 2006, 09:09
OK Boys here is the story with the Hilton rumour straight from the horses mouth so to speak! Myself and a few of the guys including hilton stayed in yarra following our prac game and had a few ales at the local ski club which i must add was a shocking joint! Were getting stuck into it and at eleven we got kicked out for throwing ice at each other! They called the cops which must be standard up there and that was abot it! No big deal at all so i dont know where the rumours came from cos i remember one of the rochy boys asking us after the game and we laughed it off! Funny how these rumours start but that is the honest truth so take it our leave it!
DIDNT YOU THREATEN TO BELT A FEMALE AT THE SKI CLUB MARK. IF TRUE THAT IS TERRIBLE. I THINK A BIT MORE MIGHT HAVE HAPPEND IF THE POLICE WERE CALLED, THEY JUST ROCK UP FOR THROWING ICE.
FOOTYBOSS
26 May 2006, 09:10
Did you get a game this week?
Duff Man
26 May 2006, 09:41
My tips for this weekends round of matches.
Euroa to get back on the winners list against Mansfield.
Echuca to win against Benalla, who are struggling with injuries at the moment.
Mooroopna too strong for Kyabram. Have we heard any more on the Ciavola rumour?
Seymour to get up against Shep Bears.
Swans to win relatively comfortably against Rochy.
Shep United to just get over the line against Tat in the close game for this round.
Heard last night that Kyabram may have parted ways with one of thier imported onballers. The majority of the players no longer want him at the club after an altercation with the Finn brothers on saturday night.
Kyabram told Ciavola he was no longer welcome at the club. The argument was with Josh Finn. Alot of the players werent happy with Dion, he didnt train and was claimed to be a very selfish player.
Will still be a big loss, as he is a quality player, and adds great physical pressure in the middle.
Whats happenin with the 'gun' recruit Nunn, hasnt played since round 1.
Travvy43
26 May 2006, 11:11
Whats happenin with the 'gun' recruit Nunn, hasnt played since round 1.
Which Nunn you talking aobut here???
Travvy43
26 May 2006, 11:26
Just a message to all you Seymour followers, your past assistant coach Jago has his grand final this week. Seddon (his team) play Altona. Both are yet to win a game and shapes as an early battle to avoid relegation. We have played them both in the last two weeks and I think Jago’s mob will struggle.
DIDNT YOU THREATEN TO BELT A FEMALE AT THE SKI CLUB MARK. IF TRUE THAT IS TERRIBLE. I THINK A BIT MORE MIGHT HAVE HAPPEND IF THE POLICE WERE CALLED, THEY JUST ROCK UP FOR THROWING ICE.
Caps lock stuck again knob jockey?
centreman
26 May 2006, 13:14
Okay. There you go, different to the story I heard, but Chinese wishpers are rife at this time of year. There you go, record is set straight. Thanks GVFL FAN
subtle hustle
26 May 2006, 14:44
Mooroopna too strong for Kyabram. Have we heard any more on the Ciavola rumour?
Today's Kyabram Free Press has a story on Ciavola leaving kyabram for 'personal reasons'.
Doona would you be able to post the sides again for this week? will be interested to see what players are named for Seymour,Euroa,Shepp Utd and Tat.
MOOROOPNA
B: Collyer, Connally, Boyer
HB: Le Brocq, Hall, Kendall
C: Heil, Vandermeer, Gemmill
HF: Best, Norman, Tremellen
F: Robbins, Singh, Learmonth
Foll: Osborne, Br Campbell, Aldi
Inter: Barca, Cassimaty, Neville, Bl Campbell
TATURA
B: Shaw, Gledhill, Kirby
HB: Daggar, Scarcella, G. Warnett
C: McGrath, L. Wellington, Pollard
HF: Lanyon, B. Wellington, L. Warnett
F: Thorne, Roberts, Crawford
Foll: Kirby, Downey, Maher
Inter: Pollard, Burns, Welsh
SHEPP SWANS
B: Ballinger, Nalder, Kirkman
HB: Best, Selman, Ubergang
C: Barton, Ryan, McCarthy
HF: Fitzpatric, Osborne, White
F: Rachele, Dundovic, Maher
Foll: Sutherland, Warburton, Montgomery
Inter: Ferguson, Birch, Kelly
ROCHESTER
B: Weekly, Pappin, Penny
HB: Letcher, Oliver, Schmidt
C: Loughman, Aitken, Cuttriss
HF: Whitsed, McPhee, Montague
F: Hann, Bowen, Whipp
Foll: Brennan, McCarty, Moon
Inter: McKenzie, Browning, Harvey
Emerg: Hyden, Bubb
EUROA
B: Watson, Shelton, Hamill
HB: D. Thomson, Hilton, S. Clayton
C: King, Sage, M. Clayton
HF: Matt Mills, Cameron, Wilson
F: Morphet, Grainger, Jansz
Foll: Hyatt, Stott, Marshall
Inter: Poole, Doxey, Walker
BENALLA
B: Rockliff, Fahey, Jo Martiniello
HB: Polwarth, B. Vallender, Joyce
C: Sharp, A. Stevens, O'Brien
HF: Wright, Van Schaik, Harris
F: B. Stevens, McKenzie, Cole
Foll: Porter, MacFarlane, Shiels
Inter: Brennan, Ferguson, W. Martiniello
SHEPP UNITED
B: Carrol, Schirmer, M. Barlow
HB: Bovalino, B. Hazelman, S. Hazelman
C: Guilmartin, Dawes, S. Scott
HF: Rendina, McLarty, Eddy
F: B. Scott, Forys, Osborne
Foll: Cowman, Gibson, T. Sidebottom
Inter: M. Sidebottom, D. Barlow, Meka
SEYMOUR
B: King, Anderson, Piling
HB: O'Keeffe, Boruch, Hooper
C: Van Reit, Reid, Shiels
HF: Colbert, Gordon, B. Liddell
F: Schottner, Saad, Davey
Foll: Bailey, Penn, G. Liddell
Inter: J. Amad, R. Inness, D. Brockway
MANSFIELD
B: Roy, M. Stevenson, Trenfield
HB: F. Stevenson, J. Walker, Taylor
C: Storer, C. Hotton, Herridge
HF: Ramsey, D. Walker, Smith
F: Gallagher, T. Hotton, Sonnberg
Foll: Jones, Sheahan, Reynoldson
Inter: J. Mahoney, B. Mahoney, Hopkins, Slater, Duncan, Lockhart
KYABRAM
B: Burnett, Serakowski, Quinn
HB: T. Finn, Morgan, Fleming
C: Courtney, Taylor, Pell
HF: Barnett, Adamson, McCormick
F: M. Finn, Newman, Oughton
Foll: Morgan, Boyd, J. Finn
Inter: Emmett, Person, Jones
ECHUCA
B: S. Maddox, Howman, Halloran
HB: Campbell, Prendergast, Pitson
C: Hitchens, Butler, McKittrick
HF: Nance, Agg, Campbell
F: J. Maddox, Smith, Casey
Foll: Edgar, Durie, Crossman
Inter: Halloran, Hill, Sutton
SHEPPARTON
B: McIntyre, King, Carnovale
HB: Feltdmann, McKinley, Jaques
C: B. Chapman, Byers, M. Chapman
HF: Sofi, Mellington, Kennelley
F: O'Brien, Dudgeon, Jones
Foll: Harrap, Allan, Archer
Inter: Shadbolt, L. Chapman, Hiscock
free press is a big cover up, basically 10 players would not have played if ciavola was still at the club, nearly a big punch on at thier do last week in echuca
LOBSTER
26 May 2006, 17:50
MOOROOPNA
B: Collyer, Connally, Boyer
HB: Le Brocq, Hall, Kendall
C: Heil, Vandermeer, Gemmill
HF: Best, Norman, Tremellen
F: Robbins, Singh, Learmonth
Foll: Osborne, Br Campbell, Aldi
Inter: Barca, Cassimaty, Neville, Bl Campbell
TATURA
B: Shaw, Gledhill, Kirby
HB: Daggar, Scarcella, G. Warnett
C: McGrath, L. Wellington, Pollard
HF: Lanyon, B. Wellington, L. Warnett
F: Thorne, Roberts, Crawford
Foll: Kirby, Downey, Maher
Inter: Pollard, Burns, Welsh
SHEPP SWANS
B: Ballinger, Nalder, Kirkman
HB: Best, Selman, Ubergang
C: Barton, Ryan, McCarthy
HF: Fitzpatric, Osborne, White
Foll: Sutherland, Warburton, Montgomery
Inter: Ferguson, Birch, Kelly
ROCHESTER
B: Weekly, Pappin, Penny
HB: Letcher, Oliver, Schmidt
C: Loughman, Aitken, Cuttriss
HF: Whitsed, McPhee, Montague
F: Hann, Bowen, Whipp
Foll: Brennan, McCarty, Moon
Inter: McKenzie, Browning, Harvey
Emerg: Hyden, Bubb
EUROA
B: Watson, Shelton, Hamill
HB: D. Thomson, Hilton, S. Clayton
C: King, Sage, M. Clayton
HF: Matt Mills, Cameron, Wilson
F: Morphet, Grainger, Jansz
Foll: Hyatt, Stott, Marshall
Inter: Poole, Doxey, Walker
BENALLA
B: Rockliff, Fahey, Jo Martiniello
HB: Polwarth, B. Vallender, Joyce
C: Sharp, A. Stevens, O'Brien
HF: Wright, Van Schaik, Harris
F: B. Stevens, McKenzie, Cole
Foll: Porter, MacFarlane, Shiels
Inter: Brennan, Ferguson, W. Martiniello
SHEPP UNITED
B: Carrol, Schirmer, M. Barlow
HB: Bovalino, B. Hazelman, S. Hazelman
C: Guilmartin, Dawes, S. Scott
HF: Rendina, McLarty, Eddy
F: B. Scott, Forys, Osborne
Foll: Cowman, Gibson, T. Sidebottom
Inter: M. Sidebottom, D. Barlow, Meka
SEYMOUR
B: King, Anderson, Piling
HB: O'Keeffe, Boruch, Hooper
C: Van Reit, Reid, Shiels
HF: Colbert, Gordon, B. Liddell
F: Schottner, Saad, Davey
Foll: Bailey, Penn, G. Liddell
Inter: J. Amad, R. Inness, D. Brockway
MANSFIELD
B: Roy, M. Stevenson, Trenfield
HB: F. Stevenson, J. Walker, Taylor
C: Storer, C. Hotton, Herridge
HF: Ramsey, D. Walker, Smith
F: Gallagher, T. Hotton, Sonnberg
Foll: Jones, Sheahan, Reynoldson
Inter: J. Mahoney, B. Mahoney, Hopkins, Slater, Duncan, Lockhart
KYABRAM
B: Burnett, Serakowski, Quinn
HB: T. Finn, Morgan, Fleming
C: Courtney, Taylor, Pell
HF: Barnett, Adamson, McCormick
F: M. Finn, Newman, Oughton
Foll: Morgan, Boyd, J. Finn
Inter: Emmett, Person, Jones
ECHUCA
B: S. Maddox, Howman, Halloran
HB: Campbell, Prendergast, Pitson
C: Hitchens, Butler, McKittrick
HF: Nance, Agg, Campbell
F: J. Maddox, Smith, Casey
Foll: Edgar, Durie, Crossman
Inter: Halloran, Hill, Sutton
SHEPPARTON
B: McIntyre, King, Carnovale
HB: Feltdmann, McKinley, Jaques
C: B. Chapman, Byers, M. Chapman
HF: Sofi, Mellington, Kennelley
F: O'Brien, Dudgeon, Jones
Foll: Harrap, Allan, Archer
Inter: Shadbolt, L. Chapman, Hiscock
Looks like a very average Euroa team in this week. They must have quite a few injuries. I think they may struggle against Mansfield @ Mansfield. Hotten will prove the difference in the ruck or up forward.
My tips are:
Mansfield by about 4 or 5 goals.
Benalla in a close against the echuca.
Mooroopna to beat Ky easily.
Seymour to account for shep. bears.
Swans to give Rochy a touch up. Over 10 goals.
United to outclass Tatura.
#1 COACH
26 May 2006, 18:49
speaking of sudzy what was the end result with the incident with jeromy o'brian? is he back playing yet?
Duff Man
26 May 2006, 21:24
free press is a big cover up, basically 10 players would not have played if ciavola was still at the club, nearly a big punch on at thier do last week in echuca
Thats what i was told tonight, and expect one or two more to go shortly. All is not well at Bomber land.
Duff Man
26 May 2006, 21:34
Why dont you have a crack at all the blokes that pulled out on the eve of the weekend, but somehow managed to be right for their clubs the week after. Look at those blokes before slagging off a guy who went out of his way to represent the gv and also travel to training.[/QUOTE]
VERY VERY WELL SAID ???
HawkeEye
27 May 2006, 09:02
Good to see A. Doxey in the line up for Euroa. He may be a suprise packet for the mansfield boys
Wayne Weideman
27 May 2006, 12:40
Looks like a very average Euroa team in this week. They must have quite a few injuries. I think they may struggle against Mansfield @ Mansfield. Hotten will prove the difference in the ruck or up forward.
My tips are:
okay boys i am gonna have a crack at this on
my tips are:
euroa by 4 goals againest mansfield
benella easily by 7 goal againest echuca
mooroopna to beat ky comfortably
seymour to good for shepp
rochy in an upset againest swans by 3 points
united to account for tatura
hope you all have a good day at the footy. WEIDEMAN OUT!!
Tatura still winless beaten by 85 pts by United. Money can't bye success, stiff s*** for the Bulldogs.
Listening to the 98.5 call today.
Seymour v Shep scores are very close in the last update. Seymour might taste their first defeat.
Flat Track Bully
28 May 2006, 00:40
My tips are:
Great effort Lobster...on the mark all round
bradrowe#32
28 May 2006, 14:29
Rochester are just playing for priority picks now. It won't get any easier against Mansfield and Benalla in the next two week.
Round Six Results
Mansfield 14.22 (106) v Euroa 10.7 (67)
Benalla 16.13 (109) v Echuca 12.13 (85)
Kyabram 12.7 (79) v Mooroopna 19.4 (118)
Seymour 12.9 (81) v Shepparton 8.15 (63)
Shepparton Swans 23.20 (158) v Rochester 16.8 (104)
Shepparton United 20.7 (127) v Tatura 5.12 (42)
Believe an undermanned Seymour was 6 goals down early in their match, before holding Shepp to two more for the day, whilst grounding out another committed team performance.
Seeking Glory
28 May 2006, 19:29
I heard Douglas played on the weekend in the 2nd's, dose anyone know how he went?
Was told last night he did an ankle in his return bout in the two's . . . . might be time for Chippa to step away from footy and give District Cricket a go!!
xlr8ator_11
28 May 2006, 20:11
Anyone got information on Euroa? Obviously a top side but decimated with injuries? Tough game this week coming up against benalla
Duff Man
28 May 2006, 21:11
Anyone got information on Euroa? Obviously a top side but decimated with injuries? Tough game this week coming up against benalla
Decimated by injuries yes , But so are seymour but they keep on winning. Lets not make excuses , they need to bounce back this week.
No Heart
28 May 2006, 21:22
Decimated by injuries yes , But so are seymour but they keep on winning. Lets not make excuses , they need to bounce back this week.
Duff , injuries would have to be playing a big part in the sudden decline of the Euroa football club?
Duff man just wondering what club u support.
Injuries arnt an excuse how can they be? Injuries can run clubs into the ground for instance collingwood last year were full of them, this yr they are fresh and flying. If u are going to say n e thing in that category ask "where is the depth?" not excuses
Duff Man
28 May 2006, 21:35
Duff , injuries would have to be playing a big part in the sudden decline of the Euroa football club?
When your got 6-7 players out yes it makes it very hard, we dont have the depth of a seymour who ive heard have just as many injuries at the moment but have the depth to cover them. But at the buisness end of the season when it counts Euroa will be up and running.
No Heart
28 May 2006, 21:51
When your got 6-7 players out yes it makes it very hard, we dont have the depth of a seymour who ive heard have just as many injuries at the moment but have the depth to cover them. But at the buisness end of the season when it counts Euroa will be up and running.
You are right, our depth at the moment is being tested also, we had 7 out on the weekend , but the boys coming up are playing well, but the poor old ressies struggled on the weekend and lost their first game. Benalla seem to be having trouble with injuries as well.
No Heart
28 May 2006, 21:58
Lets talk about Shepp Swans and Mooroopna , boys are they the real deal ? Can they go all the way, sitting 2nd and 3rd doing something right at the moment.
HawkeEye
29 May 2006, 09:52
Duff Man, can u please stop 'trying' to tell everyone u are form euroa.
You are not and we all know that. Just be true to yourself mate. No one gets on here and starts to bag their own club, thats just wrong.
Seymour are going great though, Euroa are struggling at the moment but they will bounce back, no doubt about it.
Mooroopna and the swans are the big ones I reckon, they could prove to be very strong this year, they are going to make the finals and give the big guns a run for there money.
Both Swans and Mooroopna would beat any team in the competition if they played well. If you look at their lists they are outstanding and really have quality players which could get them a flag
bradrowe#32
29 May 2006, 11:09
Lets talk about Shepp Swans and Mooroopna , boys are they the real deal ? Can they go all the way, sitting 2nd and 3rd doing something right at the moment.
I haven't seen Mooroopna yet, but I watched a bit of the Rochy-Swans game. The Swans looked pretty good. Matt McCarty is having a great year and they have one of the best ruckmen in the league. To be honest, I don't know a heap about them, but I think they have the potential to do very well this year.
thereoffandracing
29 May 2006, 11:56
Not Sure how Douglas went but i did see that the Seymour two's were defeated by Shepparton on Saturday, i Heard shepp only had 19 players for the day, maybe the injuries 2 the seniors is taking its tole on the two's. Wells and Harrop played in the reserves and may well be pushing for senior selection this weekend. Anyone know what happened to the Bears Seniors after Quarter time???
Duff Man
29 May 2006, 13:49
Duff Man, can u please stop 'trying' to tell everyone u are form euroa.
You are not and we all know that. Just be true to yourself mate. No one gets on here and starts to bag their own club, thats just wrong.
Seymour are going great though, Euroa are struggling at the moment but they will bounce back, no doubt about it.
Mooroopna and the swans are the big ones I reckon, they could prove to be very strong this year, they are going to make the finals and give the big guns a run for there money.
As I said previously HawkeEye, I believe Euroa will be there at the business end of the season, but injuries look to be hurting us a bit more than most other clubs at the moment. (A bit like Benalla a few weeks back).
Injuries are part of footy and i'm not trying to make excuses - simply pointing out a fact. A couple more on the weekend didn't help us either. Guys like Morph, Pooley and Freddie are busting their guts for us, but opposition sides can generally match up against these blokes easier than some of the bigger names we currently have out.
Fact is we are 3-3 at the moment and 'off track' as far as where we would like to be after 6 rounds.
LOBSTER
29 May 2006, 15:47
Great effort Lobster...on the mark all round
Thanks mate.:thumbsu:
After watching the Mansfield v Euroa game on the weekend, Euroa can thank their lucky stars they didnt lose by 15 goals. Mansfield totally outclassed them all day. If only they had of kicked straight. As I said on Friday it was a very average Euroa team taking to the ground and if that team keeps running out there like that, they will struggle to make finals. I think that last years semi success may of gotten to a few of the boys heads and they just assume they are going to beat teams every week. They lacked skill, fitness, speed and communication at times. They look a rabble at the moment.
Injuries or no injuries, if they lose to Benalla this week, they can kiss their season goodbye.
fat back pocket
29 May 2006, 16:20
Not Sure how Douglas went but i did see that the Seymour two's were defeated by Shepparton on Saturday, i Heard shepp only had 19 players for the day, maybe the injuries 2 the seniors is taking its tole on the two's. Wells and Harrop played in the reserves and may well be pushing for senior selection this weekend. Anyone know what happened to the Bears Seniors after Quarter time???
Dougo played 2's on sat and injured his ankle in a ruck contest mid way through the first quarter, never came back on.
Lions played with 21 and by half way through the second had 3 more injured players who couldn't return to the field. So it was a pretty even affair in terms of numbers.
Our two's are definitely affected by injuries at the minute. To have the CHB, the entire on ball brigade, both wingers, CHF and FF out through either promotion to seniors or injured themselves, makes it a vastly different side to that who played the first 5 weeks. And hard to win a game of footy. Lionsd goal kicking power once Brad Bishop did his knee, and Lano's had to go into the guts to match shepp's run.
Wells and Harrap played pretty good for the bears, wouldn't expect to see Wells in the ones next week. very supprised Paul Mason is still running around in the two's for Shepp, has been their dominant big man for 2 years and is a pretty handy tall.
Anyway, not to worry. Life goes on. Will be an interesting few weeks for the Lions, few big matches coming up (for both seniors and reserves).
Dougo played 2's on sat and injured his ankle in a ruck contest mid way through the first quarter, never came back on.
Lions played with 21 and by half way through the second had 3 more injured players who couldn't return to the field. So it was a pretty even affair in terms of numbers.
Our two's are definitely affected by injuries at the minute. To have the CHB, the entire on ball brigade, both wingers, CHF and FF out through either promotion to seniors or injured themselves, makes it a vastly different side to that who played the first 5 weeks. And hard to win a game of footy. Lionsd goal kicking power once Brad Bishop did his knee, and Lano's had to go into the guts to match shepp's run.
Wells and Harrap played pretty good for the bears, wouldn't expect to see Wells in the ones next week. very supprised Paul Mason is still running around in the two's for Shepp, has been their dominant big man for 2 years and is a pretty handy tall.
Anyway, not to worry. Life goes on. Will be an interesting few weeks for the Lions, few big matches coming up (for both seniors and reserves).
Great read that, looking forward to further Seymour reserves match reports and on goings in what is a fantastic read. Im sure its not just my self who will be excited to read next weeks review, please however make it a little bit longer in future.
cheers
fat back pocket
29 May 2006, 19:13
Great read that, looking forward to further Seymour reserves match reports and on goings in what is a fantastic read. Im sure its not just my self who will be excited to read next weeks review, please however make it a little bit longer in future.
cheers
You would be interested in the reserves comments and reviews wouldn't ya tige seeing you've playing there...would ya like us to do one of two weeks back when the Lions played Tat...Tige 19 went kickless and couldn't handle friendly banter...or a decent tackle.
Love ya work mate . . . . must have some ripper depth to be covering 13-14 holes in the list. How bad is Brad's knee??? I believe me little mate Spargo played one's too and is another now on the injury list with a thumb or a hand is that true?
vantheman32
29 May 2006, 20:14
badluck there for spargo really good guy... no luck at all... doona2 which players do you think wood be able 2 play at the top level in GV n O&M from the RDFL? particuraly players from riddell n romsey... do u think that robbo from kilmore wood be able 2 play for most sides? i think robbo wood be able 2 step up only his committment wood hold him back... agreed?
Thanks mate.:thumbsu:
After watching the Mansfield v Euroa game on the weekend, Euroa can thank their lucky stars they didnt lose by 15 goals. Mansfield totally outclassed them all day. If only they had of kicked straight. As I said on Friday it was a very average Euroa team taking to the ground and if that team keeps running out there like that, they will struggle to make finals. I think that last years semi success may of gotten to a few of the boys heads and they just assume they are going to beat teams every week. They lacked skill, fitness, speed and communication at times. They look a rabble at the moment.
Injuries or no injuries, if they lose to Benalla this week, they can kiss their season goodbye.Looks like you don't hold a lot of love for the pies lobster. Not wanting them to do well????
Does anybody know that if they are having the east vs west match again this yr?
TheMadRicer
29 May 2006, 21:40
Small town syndrome...facts are Ciavola asked for a transfer 4 weeks ago
Sidey_87
30 May 2006, 00:05
Apparenly our game was live on 98.5 on the weekend.
I've since had offers from Kyabram, Tatura, Swans and Benalla...
to keep playing for united :o
carlton_86
30 May 2006, 15:38
Can anyone tell me how Roman Chowanetz and stuart Thompson are going in the seconds at euroa
if he asked for a transfer he would have got it straight away , the word around is that a fremanlte assistant coach is being sounded out for the kyu job next year.
Travvy43
30 May 2006, 17:06
if he asked for a transfer he would have got it straight away , the word around is that a fremanlte assistant coach is being sounded out for the kyu job next year.
Kelly O'Donnell would be a great coach for ky, really good with young kids from his experience with the bushies for a number of years. Would be a step in the right direction for the bombers if so. i would imagine he would be after some coin though.
Rushy Tiger
30 May 2006, 17:08
Your right brad, swans are the real deal. saw them play on the weekend and they had rochy covered all over the ground. A good sign for rochy was the return to form of Tank McPhee and also Tim Bubb in his first game after playing 3 quarters in the twos
T.Perry
30 May 2006, 17:09
Kelly O'Donnell would be a great coach for ky, really good with young kids from his experience with the bushies for a number of years. Would be a step in the right direction for the bombers if so. i would imagine he would be after some coin though.
Is Adamson definitely no chance of being re-appointed again next year, or has he told the club that he is not doing it?
half time lollies
30 May 2006, 17:13
Personally I can't see Kelly throwing in a $100,000 plus job a year to come back and coach Ky for maybe $30k. Would be good for the comp but the chances of it happening are slim to sweet f u c k all.
Travvy43
30 May 2006, 17:23
Personally I can't see Kelly throwing in a $100,000 plus job a year to come back and coach Ky for maybe $30k. Would be good for the comp but the chances of it happening are slim to sweet f u c k all.
totally agree with this. He has done some hard yards with the bushies and now got an Assistant Coaches position at an AFL club. what would posess him to throw it all in and come back to Kyabram?
FOOTYBOSS
30 May 2006, 17:29
Can anyone tell me how Roman Chowanetz and stuart Thompson are going in the seconds at euroa
Both have been playing reasonable footy for the twos. roman shows very good posie and doesnt panic when he has the footy while Stuart is starting to play some good attacking footy from the back pocket. His pace on saturday help set up a very good win for the reserves team against Mansfield. Both will more than lileky become senior players in the future for the club.
FOOTYBOSS
30 May 2006, 17:30
Small town syndrome...facts are Ciavola asked for a transfer 4 weeks ago
Where to?
I doubt whether its small town syndrome.
T.Perry
30 May 2006, 17:34
Where to?
I doubt whether its small town syndrome.
Pretty sure he's already been cleared to Montmorency..From what I hear he hadn't made many mates at the club and trying to pick a fight with the Finn brothers during one of their main functions was the straw that broke the camels back, and they gave him the a$$...Apparently he was very vocal during games about most players performances...
Grandale
30 May 2006, 18:08
Pretty sure he's already been cleared to Montmorency..From what I hear he hadn't made many mates at the club and trying to pick a fight with the Finn brothers during one of their main functions was the straw that broke the camels back, and they gave him the a$$...Apparently he was very vocal during games about most players performances...
Bernie "ALF" Haberman is dancing in the streets of Reservoir as we speak.
Apparently Dion doesn't like the little fella much and his sole intention everytime Ky played Seymour was to knock Bernie's head off his shoulders.
totally agree with this. He has done some hard yards with the bushies and now got an Assistant Coaches position at an AFL club. what would posess him to throw it all in and come back to Kyabram?
It might not be his choice, Freo are a pretty ordinary outfit and there is a good chance there might be some heads rolling at seasons end!
The Cat
31 May 2006, 09:00
Bernie "ALF" Haberman is dancing in the streets of Reservoir as we speak.
Apparently Dion doesn't like the little fella much and his sole intention everytime Ky played Seymour was to knock Bernie's head off his shoulders.
With Dion now gone, that will leave about 6 guys in the GV who would like to knock Bernie's head off. (I think 2 of those 6 play for Seymour).
Travvy43
31 May 2006, 09:56
It might not be his choice, Freo are a pretty ordinary outfit and there is a good chance there might be some heads rolling at seasons end!
It is probably safe to say that if Connally goes O'Donnell (his GV mate) will be on the move too. Lets not forget that freo are 8th on the ladder though.
I know the GV is a major league but you would think that O'Donnell would get another assistants job somewhere. Is the Kyabram coach going to move on or get moved on? I think that it is a good idea to have a non-playing coach in a league of that standard.:)
They are 8th but they still resemble a rable at times and Connally has had plenty of time to change things. Either way it will be interesting to see what happens.
journeyman
31 May 2006, 16:18
Heard from reliable source that Ramadan (spelling??) Yze is putting in a clearance to leave barooga and return to shepp swans.
half time lollies
31 May 2006, 16:58
Heard from reliable source that Ramadan (spelling??) Yze is putting in a clearance to leave barooga and return to shepp swans.
Spot on journeyman. I was on the GVFL transfer list earlier and Yze has lodged a clearance to go back to the Swans. Anyone know why?? Probably a combination of under performing considering the money he was supposedly on at Barooga and maybe he thinks the Swans are going to give it a shake?? Any player clubs pick up this time of year is a bonus!
Whilst your right in picking up a player at this stage of the year is a bonus, do you think the Yze would walk back into the first considering that they are flying at the moment and that Yze was only a good player in a ordinary team in years gone by
I don't understand how players renege on deals with clubs then just walk out. Once you make a commitment that should be it. Disgusting when they ask big money and then do it.
centreman
1 Jun 2006, 12:28
Whilst your right in picking up a player at this stage of the year is a bonus, do you think the Yze would walk back into the first considering that they are flying at the moment and that Yze was only a good player in a ordinary team in years gone by
He signed a contract. The Josh Dicketts saga would have taught everyone a lesson.
lets hope so, as it would also be a shame for someone in the swans side who has been a regular to now miss out if Yze was to came back to the swans
journeyman
1 Jun 2006, 16:51
A shepp swans official told me he didn't get a sign on fee so transfer shoudn't be a problem. Apparently going back to Swans for a lot less than at Barooga.
centreman
1 Jun 2006, 18:38
A shepp swans official told me he didn't get a sign on fee so transfer shoudn't be a problem. Apparently going back to Swans for a lot less than at Barooga.
I would think he'd signed a VCFL contract. I'd be very suprised if Barooga didn't make him sign one.
journeyman
1 Jun 2006, 19:46
I would think he'd signed a VCFL contract. I'd be very suprised if Barooga didn't make him sign one.
Maybe it suited by parties to pay cash. A lot of clubs and players would prefer cash
centreman
1 Jun 2006, 20:21
Maybe it suited by parties to pay cash. A lot of clubs and players would prefer cash
Maybe. But I'd reckon they would have made him sign a VCFL contract because I know for a fact they got another couple to do so. Regardless of the money, if he signed one of the he would be held to it unless Barooga was willing to let him go. And from what I've heard he can't get a touch and was drasically overpaid anyway, so they might be happy to wave goodbye to him.
FOOTYBOSS
2 Jun 2006, 09:07
I thought the main reason for Dion playing at Kyabram was the fact the DVFL wouldnt renew his lisence after he got suspended for 16 weeks for breaking an eltham players jaw. So I would be suprised if he fronted up in the DVFL. Has a poor history Dion on the field. Been thrown out of the VAFA as well for many indescritions. My involvement with him has always been good and we get along pretty well. He has helped me out of trouble a few times.
half time lollies
2 Jun 2006, 11:20
Maybe. But I'd reckon they would have made him sign a VCFL contract because I know for a fact they got another couple to do so. Regardless of the money, if he signed one of the he would be held to it unless Barooga was willing to let him go. And from what I've heard he can't get a touch and was drasically overpaid anyway, so they might be happy to wave goodbye to him.
Both parties were obviously happy to part ways because Barooga have approved Ramadan's clearance and he has come straight into the seniors which is very surprising considering how the Swans are traveling. They won by 9 goals last week so someone would have been dropped for him to come into the side. I know i'd be p i s s e d off if my team won by 9 goals and I was dropped!!!
half time lollies
2 Jun 2006, 11:27
I thought the main reason for Dion playing at Kyabram was the fact the DVFL wouldnt renew his lisence after he got suspended for 16 weeks for breaking an eltham players jaw. So I would be suprised if he fronted up in the DVFL. Has a poor history Dion on the field. Been thrown out of the VAFA as well for many indescritions. My involvement with him has always been good and we get along pretty well. He has helped me out of trouble a few times.
This time you are right boss! The reason Ciavola got cleared to Kyabram was because the DVFL wouldn't give him a permit to play. I would suggest that things haven't changed in the last 12 months and they won't give him a permit to play again. So I would suggest Ciavola's football career is in limbo!
My tips for this weekend:
Benalla to beat Euroa by 4 goals. Porter and Shiels back will make the difference, plus hilton out doesnt help the maggies.
Echuca to get back on the winners list at home to Ky by 5 goals.
The cats to easily account for Shep Bears, Singh to kick another bag.
Mansfield to beat Rochy by 6 goals.
Swans to totally outclass Tat by over 10 goals.
United to sneak home against the lions. Injuries will hurt massively for the lions this week. But I may get this wrong as the lions return to the ground for the 1st since their successful september last year.
Have fun at the footy everyone.:thumbsu:
My Tips:
Benalla just in the game of the round over Euroa.
Echuca by about 5 snags over Ky.
Mooroopna to beat Shepp for the first time in about 10 years.
Mansfield over Rochy by 24 points
Swans how far over Tatura... Lots
And maybe JUST United, over Seymour but another good game.
journeyman
2 Jun 2006, 15:49
Both parties were obviously happy to part ways because Barooga have approved Ramadan's clearance and he has come straight into the seniors which is very surprising considering how the Swans are traveling. They won by 9 goals last week so someone would have been dropped for him to come into the side. I know i'd be p i s s e d off if my team won by 9 goals and I was dropped!!!
SHEPPARTON SWANS
B: Birch, Nalder, Kirkman
HB: Best, Veale, Ubergang
C: Barton, Ryan, McCarty
HF: Warburton, Osborne, White
Foll: Sutherland, Fitzpatric, Montgomery
Inter: Kelly, Frappell, Ferguson
That's the team from the Shepp News site, maybe in paper it's different. I agree that walking out on club mid-season is ordinary but it sound like Barooga agreed
Nope, the Shepp News has the same side in print. Of course, the side in print's not necessarily the side that runs out...And there's no emergencies named.
grievous
2 Jun 2006, 21:35
just wondering who is going to take matt sharp in the big "euroa vs benalla" showdown tomo? sharp is a pocket dynamo with a big frame and is constantly in the best. has represented the GVFL at interleague level.
Ahbroke Miandad
3 Jun 2006, 20:15
There's a rumour going around Euroa got pumped by 140 points today by Benalla?
Surely this can't be right. The mighty Euroa that was "desperately unlucky" (what a joke) to lose last year's Grand Final and was supposedly a better team this year.
Can they make the finals, that's the big question...
HawkeEye
3 Jun 2006, 22:54
There's a rumour going around Euroa got pumped by 140 points today by Benalla?
Surely this can't be right. The mighty Euroa that was "desperately unlucky" (what a joke) to lose last year's Grand Final and was supposedly a better team this year.
Can they make the finals, that's the big question...
Massive injuries at euroa at the moment, nearly half the senior side is out, so they are tested with their depth.
Hopefully if they can get their full side in they will beat anyone.
It will be an interesting few weeks ahead.
Massive injuries at euroa at the moment, nearly half the senior side is out, so they are tested with their depth.
good sides will have enough depth to make up for their injurys.. look at seymour for example.
Flat Track Bully
4 Jun 2006, 04:10
good sides will have enough depth to make up for their injurys.. look at seymour for example.
I counted at least 13 grand final players in the Euroa line-up today. Make of that what you will.
No Heart
4 Jun 2006, 10:49
Being a mad lion hate to say it, but they will be back .
Ahbroke Miandad
4 Jun 2006, 11:41
Righto, so they've got a few injuries (you'd think they were the only ones).
Does that excuse them being embarrassed, yes embarrassed (I borrowed that word from all the people appraising Essendon's performance on Friday night - at least they only lost by 138 points), by a side that also has its fair share of injuries?
And didn't the Euroa Seconds make the grand final last year? Thought that might have given people reason to believe there was a bit of depth at the club. If that was the case they would have at least got within 10 goals of Benalla.
Not the easiest of runs in the next five rounds either with Kyabram, Shepp, Mooroopna, Echuca and Seymour (three of which - including the last 2 - are away from home) to come.
Perhaps the Maggies can beat the rush and plan their footy trip for some time in September...