View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
bradrowe#32
10 Jun 2006, 17:12
Benalla were beating Rochy by 35 points and now going into the last quarter, Benalla are up by 4 points.
bradrowe#32
10 Jun 2006, 17:35
Looks like Benalla will get up, 18 points up with 18 mins gone in last quarter.
Shepparton defeated Echuca
Euroa beating Kyabram
Mooroopna over Seymour by heaps
Very painful listening to the radio. Shocking commentators.
big tony
10 Jun 2006, 19:12
at the benalla vs rochester game today, benalla with out big names, mackenzie, stevens and symes had to look for new comer brett vallender(5 goals) and small forward matty sharp(6 goals) to kick the goals.
other better players for benalla were ben fahey rowan priest and brendan stevens.
for rochester, well they came out firing kicking the first 3 goals then dropt off, better players were ash browning, bowen and pappin.
final score benalla by 3 goals
Flat Track Bully
11 Jun 2006, 01:47
at the benalla vs rochester game today, benalla with out big names, mackenzie, stevens and symes had to look for new comer brett vallender(5 goals) and small forward matty sharp(6 goals) to kick the goals.
other better players for benalla were ben fahey rowan priest and brendan stevens.
for rochester, well they came out firing kicking the first 3 goals then dropt off, better players were ash browning, bowen and pappin.
That's a good win by the Saints, who were also missing W.Martiniello and T.Rockliff on state U/16 commitments.
scott coight
11 Jun 2006, 11:05
Good luck to leigh fox who pulls on the boots for his first senior game for euroa. being a local longwood player i wish him all the best in the ruck department, go leeroy!!!
Leeroy had a very servicable game in the ruck department. Should be given a lot more opportunities in the weeks ahead. He is a great tap ruckman, and often gets first hand to the ball.
Euroa just creeping over the line yesterday against a determined ky outfit. Good to see the Graing back in the goals. Even bringing out the ol' school nail in the coffin in the last term!
As for the ressies, there were at least 4 or 5 blokes who could slot into the seniors next week, in place of 2 youngsters. Depending on how the coach sees it. On previous form, the coach wont be giving the youngsters many games so will be interesting to see how the team shapes up next wk. Great to see Ash Thompson back in the Euroa guernsey. Good Luck for the rest of the year....Go BOMBER
big tony
11 Jun 2006, 11:23
That's a good win by the Saints, who were also missing W.Martiniello and T.Rockliff on state U/16 commitments.
yer both have been handy players for benalla in recent weeks
what a good win by the cats beating lions on their home turf
big tony
11 Jun 2006, 13:35
yes that is a huge win for the cats, there confidence is through the roof at the moment.
with all guns firing for the cats week in week out they will be a force this season.
Rochy can hold their heads up, they gave it a decent crack. Every time Benalla kicked away,Rochy dragged them back and at times looked as though they could cause an upset.
scooby-doo
11 Jun 2006, 16:51
The Whip.... He is alive. I will be there or be square. You will have to tell me again about the time you took a hattrick playing for that scum Violet Town cricket team. Apparently they dont get many speed demons up that way, and your thunderbolts were unplayable....
fair to say the ky reserves team haven't seen such pace as was seen by them on satday. the whip showed great composure in kicking a couple of 6 pointers. showing dashing pace off the forward flack. fair to say that the after party at the whippets place was one that could only be described as one of the best parties euroa has seen in a long time, the mullet wqas in form all nite, dancing up a storm drinking XXXX and smoking the now famous winny reds; a dead set sight to behold!
efcskip47
11 Jun 2006, 16:59
Great to see Ash Thompson back in the Euroa guernsey. Good Luck for the rest of the year....Go BOMBER
good too see one of the original euroa boys back for the club, we can only wish him well, as he has played 100 + games.
No Heart
11 Jun 2006, 17:57
Great win by the cats, played really good footy and were just to good for the lions.
Duff Man
11 Jun 2006, 18:09
Great win by the cats, played really good footy and were just to good for the lions.
Have you still got a lot out No Heart ?
sackedinaminutecoach
12 Jun 2006, 10:49
good too see one of the original euroa boys back for the club, we can only wish him well, as he has played 100 + games.
maybe some of the "euroa" boys need to put as much effort on the ground as they do on this forum. Seniors very ordinary on saturday, made kyabram look much better than they are.
scooby-doo
12 Jun 2006, 10:53
interesting point there sacked. reserves travelling well and could lose a few players due to senior duties one would think. this weeks game will be tough for seniors and ressies....GO PIES
spike dudley
12 Jun 2006, 13:56
Yes, fantastic effort, and if any team was capable it of doing it, its the cats. They are the real deal this season. they have prooved that. Well done boys.
scooby-doo
12 Jun 2006, 14:09
They are the real deal this season. they have prooved that. Well done boys.come finals the ctas will b right amongst it, maybe even pushing for the flag, only time will tell. Good to c they didn't rely on bellraj as their main target up forward, things goin well for the boys from mooroopna!!!!!
sackedinaminutecoach
12 Jun 2006, 18:08
As for the ressie players that are complaining, those few blokes struggle to to get a kick and dominate and would look silly at the later game. They have no skills and no football brains. Thats why they cant get a game.
You are spot on Boss. As a well respected coach i know how hard it is to tell players they are simply not good enough. I pride myself on ridding my club of these players as they are not TEAM players. There is no I in team, but there is an M and an E...ME
scott coight
12 Jun 2006, 22:58
You are spot on Boss. As a well respected coach i know how hard it is to tell players they are simply not good enough. I pride myself on ridding my club of these players as they are not TEAM players. There is no I in team, but there is an M and an E...ME
you sir are a true j a c k a s s. it will no doubt come back to bite you. you should not be allowed to coach at any level.
scott coight
12 Jun 2006, 22:59
as your name suggests, you could be looking at a sacking sir!
sackedinaminutecoach
12 Jun 2006, 23:15
as your name suggests, you could be looking at a sacking sir!
as your name suggests you can get f u c k e d! wat do you know about footy coight head. if you have a team of stars why bother with youth. no time for whingers. your either on board or off.
JUst wondering how the young boys went in their first game of senior footy with euroa, patty horsburgh, matty ivill and brad cunningham?
FOOTYBOSS
13 Jun 2006, 13:19
JUst wondering how the young boys went in their first game of senior footy with euroa, patty horsburgh, matty ivill and brad cunningham?
Brad Cunningham was the standout of the 3. Played really well and showed he will have a great carrer for the club. Matty was the suprise packet out of the 3. patty struggled a bit but will learn from the experience. I would say Matty and Brad would hold their spots for this weekends game. They should reatin the 3 of them to give that bit more experience. Fox played a very servicable game in his debut as well.
The highlight of the day was none other then Shane Whitelaw patrolling the forward line aka Dermott Brereton with hawthorn with his mullett flowing and snagging 2 goals and being a real live wire. The crowd went up as one when he ran in for his 1st goal.:D
HotShoeShuffle
13 Jun 2006, 15:07
Brad Cunningham was the standout of the 3. Played really well and showed he will have a great carrer for the club. Matty was the suprise packet out of the 3. patty struggled a bit but will learn from the experience. I would say Matty and Brad would hold their spots for this weekends game. They should reatin the 3 of them to give that bit more experience. Fox played a very servicable game in his debut as well.
The highlight of the day was none other then Shane Whitelaw patrolling the forward line aka Dermott Brereton with hawthorn with his mullett flowing and snagging 2 goals and being a real live wire. The crowd went up as one when he ran in for his 1st goal.:D
FootyBoss, can you confirm an earlier posting on the DVFL thread about some Euroa boys wanting to play out the year in the DV ? Have any names if true
Yeah the rumour is true. The boys you speak of are David Stringer (tireless competitor), Matthew Duggin (Good tall but can go nuts) and Tim Gilbert or Craig Trewitt (cant remember which one). All boys are handy players and even better blokes:thumbsu:
The Whip
13 Jun 2006, 18:32
Yes footyboss i did have a blinder and am in no doubt that i will be selected in the senior 21 this weekend v's Shep Bears. I think if they throw me into a forward pocket i will be able to weave my magic and bag a handful. I did think i would make my senior debut before the age of 35 but it just shows what 20 years of hard work can get you!
Look out Shep The Whip is coming....!
Yes footyboss i did have a blinder and am in no doubt that i will be selected in the senior 21 this weekend v's Shep Bears. I think if they throw me into a forward pocket i will be able to weave my magic and bag a handful. I did think i would make my senior debut before the age of 35 but it just shows what 20 years of hard work can get you!
Look out Shep The Whip is coming....!If selected Whip the crowd will be huge and not a dry eye in the house. As i've said before whip, "not before time". Go'n shout ya self a carton of reds mate, BIG prep.
Can anyone from ky tell us how the player is going that broke his leg on saturday? Looked pretty bad from what i saw, similar to the Nathan Brown one, except lots of blood so you would asume the bone broke the skin. Was a relief that his sock was covering it for his and everyone elses sake...
Yeah the rumour is true. The boys you speak of are David Stringer (tireless competitor), Matthew Duggin (Good tall but can go nuts) and Tim Gilbert or Craig Trewitt (cant remember which one). All boys are handy players and even better blokes:thumbsu:
You forgot to mention Stephen 'Stiffy' Mann (the eleged inventor of the mullet & the dirty sanchez), Mathew 'Fanger' White (formerly Broughton, son of Cathy) and Greg Dowell (nuff said), all stars who would carve it up in any league... :rolleyes:
From memory didnt Tim Gilbert give himself the nickname "Danger"?...
LOBSTER
14 Jun 2006, 11:07
Massive win by the cats over you boys No Heart. they move the ball well and a very disciplined team arent they. I would assume they will be playing at Deakin on grand final day after looking at that result. That would almost be Steve Daniels biggest loss since being at the helm for the lions, wouldnt it?
Many more players to come back into the team from injury.
Travvy43
14 Jun 2006, 13:12
Can anyone from ky tell us how the player is going that broke his leg on saturday? Looked pretty bad from what i saw, similar to the Nathan Brown one, except lots of blood so you would asume the bone broke the skin. Was a relief that his sock was covering it for his and everyone elses sake...
I beleive the player in question was Scott "Dirty" McCormack. It is beleived to be a case on par if not worse than the nathan brown injury. Getting back to playing footy i beleive is not on the agenda. The injury would leave him two years out of the game, by then he would be 29 and would not risk coming back not totally right.
Big loss for the kyabram footy club, i know he was the captain last year and i am not sure if he was this year, but an inspirational leader and a top bloke to boot.
I wish him a speedy recovery.
This overall leaves a massive hole in Kyabram's on-ball brigade. No Mccormack and no ciavola. Finn has played a lone hand int he guts so far this year however it may be time for some younger blokes to get a run through the midfield, kids like pell and Weirdon (when not on bushies dute) will only benefit from having a run in there.
You forgot to mention Stephen 'Stiffy' Mann (the eleged inventor of the mullet & the dirty sanchez), Mathew 'Fanger' White (formerly Broughton, son of Cathy) and Greg Dowell (nuff said), all stars who would carve it up in any league... :rolleyes:
From memory didnt Tim Gilbert give himself the nickname "Danger"?...
Spot on A.K.A!!! I think this came after a few flawless display's with the 50m ark all to himself. Apologies to Stiffy, fang and Greg for failing to mention them in my earlier post../....
Good luck to Scott McCormack in his recovery, not something anyone should have to go through:(
DekkaRoo
14 Jun 2006, 14:19
I was at the Ky -v- Euroa match on Saturday and saw the injury involving Dirty Mac.... it was not pretty.
He is a good fella and I hope he has a speedy recovery.
Ky where actually travelling well right up until Dirty went down... it obviously had an effect on the side.
Good luck to Dirty and Ky for the rest of the year!
I beleive the player in question was Scott "Dirty" McCormack. It is beleived to be a case on par if not worse than the nathan brown injury. Getting back to playing footy i beleive is not on the agenda. The injury would leave him two years out of the game, by then he would be 29 and would not risk coming back not totally right.
Big loss for the kyabram footy club, i know he was the captain last year and i am not sure if he was this year, but an inspirational leader and a top bloke to boot.
I wish him a speedy recovery.
This overall leaves a massive hole in Kyabram's on-ball brigade. No Mccormack and no ciavola. Finn has played a lone hand int he guts so far this year however it may be time for some younger blokes to get a run through the midfield, kids like pell and Weirdon (when not on bushies dute) will only benefit from having a run in there.
Thanks for the info, thats s h i t news - hate to see accidents like that happen.
Full Foward
14 Jun 2006, 14:43
Hey woolcock how you goin mate umm those boys iam not sure how they went
No Heart
14 Jun 2006, 14:49
Massive win by the cats over you boys No Heart. they move the ball well and a very disciplined team arent they. I would assume they will be playing at Deakin on grand final day after looking at that result. That would almost be Steve Daniels biggest loss since being at the helm for the lions, wouldnt it?
Many more players to come back into the team from injury.
Yeah very good team LOBSTER and expect they will play a big part in finals action this year if they can play some consistent footy. Outplayed us virtually all over the ground but got beaten by Shep Bears the week before. There the sort of games they need to win to get that consistency im talking about.
Reckon it would be Daniels worst loss since being at the club. The only other real hammering i can recall was mansfield at mansfield but think that was about a 10 goal pumping. Got a few likely to come back straight after the bye or maybe a week later. Scanlon, Douglas, Pilling & Jake Anderson are all very close to getting back onto the park.
Not good news about Dirty McCormack - and best of luck with his recovery.
Full Foward
14 Jun 2006, 15:02
Hello everyone i was just wondering about your thoughts on benalla and do you think that they may go all the way this year. They have had a few injurys this year and have batled hard. Last week against rochester they had at least 8 of there senior players out. They are playin good footy and symes carnt be that far away. they have a lot of depth in young kids and there older senior players are good leaders. do you think they have what it takes?
half time lollies
15 Jun 2006, 10:25
Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this?
Are these guys in the 1's or 2's? Had a look at the team against Ky and none of them are in either team. Injured? Anyway I think the clearance deadline is June 30th? Interesting to see if Euroa clears them soon or waits for the deadline to pass?
Full Foward
15 Jun 2006, 16:56
hey no replys on how u think benalla will go
spanner 777
15 Jun 2006, 17:06
any thoughts on rising stars for the year to date? not many 18 19 year olds who are really starring or am i wrong. obviously hard to adapt from under 18s to senior footy.
Full Foward
15 Jun 2006, 17:14
there are a couple of boys from benalla in will martiniello who just turned 16 and he was second best in his first game and another kid who is 17 and has been in the best the last two weeks he got best on last week in sam harris so there is some depth around benalla
Full Foward
15 Jun 2006, 17:16
there is a young kid from vt that lives in melbourne and prob would be playin seniors for benalla if benalla didnt pick up who they did in the pre season, that is scott woolcock, but benalla got two good ruck men so he thought he would go to sunbury to play this year and watch out for him in the future
Duff Man
15 Jun 2006, 17:24
Great to see the comp so close this year, and with 10 games remaning this is how i see it.
Seymour - Last years premiers have started well, won 7 lost 1 . Been able to cover injuries a lot better than other clubs, expect them to finish 1st or 2nd on the ladder 14 or 15 wins will get them there. When it gets to the buisness end im expecting them to be the team to beat?
Shepparton Swans - Big improvers and have earnt respect, at 6 and 2 what a great start to the year . I expect them to finish in the top 3, the only thing thats a concern for the swans is the coach, rumours are spreading that he has no idea.Will win 13 or 14 games.
Mooroopna - Could this be the year of the cat , at 6 and 2 and coming of a huge win over seymour , they have to be a show.Very important to finish in the top 3, must win 8 of the last 10 to do it, that would give them 14 and 4 and a big tilt at the flag.Go Cats
Benalla - At 5 and 3 and sitting 4th jock would be happy. Depth has been tested and they have hung in there with no Symes or Porter, will have to win 8-9 of the last 10 to finish in the top 3. Everyone up and going they can do it.
Mansfield - Lost a heap of players pre-season , but that has not stopped Mr Tossell and his boys from dropping of the pace, at 5 and 3 they only have to win 6-7 games of the last 10 and they will see finals action.
Shepparton United - At 4 and 4 and coming of a great win against shepp swans anythings possible,they keep flirting with there talent. Will be won of the teams that i think will drop out of the six to let Euroa in,will need to win 8 in the run home to play finals
Echuca - At 4 and 4 and hanging in there need a big run home to play finals, and with big games in the last two rounds against Mooroopna and Benalla i carnt see them having finals action, would have to win 8 out of the 10.
Euroa - Not the ideal start to the year, sitting 8th on the ladder with 4 wins and 4 losses, the magpies have work to do.I expect them to come back hard once they get players back and will make the 6, but a top 3 now seems out of reach . They would have to win all remaining games to achieve this, but if anyone can the maggies can.
Shepparton - The kids have been great and at 4 and 4 and a game out of the 6 Mel would be happy. Crunch time this week have to beat Euroa , and i carnt see it, no finals action for shepp.
Rochester - A team that never gives up and plays for the jumper week in week out, will miss the september action this year. 2 wins 6 losses
Kyabram - 1 and 7 Has been a bad start to the year, with in house rumblings things have gone of track
Tatura - 0 wins and 8 lossess just been on the wrong side of a win 5 times
pete_mitchell
15 Jun 2006, 21:49
Woow, great synopsis there Duff man...really flyin with that one man...yeah...
With the GV finals set up the way it is...and the eveness of the comp by the looks of things, if you finish in the top 5 are a chance of taking out the big one...
Finish 5th and 6th knocks off third and bang...right in the ball game with the double chance in the second semi.
Finishing 4th and 5th does require a hint of luck...but anything is possible.
Should be a grand 10 weeks in GV Footy...
Just wondering...has the Shepp Swans coach mastered the art of flying yet? Seems every week he is trying to fly...but can't...maybe he should extend his arms out rather than just flapping the elbows and running into people.
Quality win last week by the cats with big name players out...
Jeff Conally - quality defender, possibly the best defender they have
Shaun Robbins - No1 Ruckman out from suspension
Gary Learmonth - Hard running mind fielder, pulled up a little to sore to play vs lions
Trent Freer - Midfeilder to come back from broken wrist
Ash Hockey, Jarrow Harbrow - Under 18 players but are very good, vic country boys also obviously TAC Players to
No Heart
15 Jun 2006, 23:28
Great to see the comp so close this year, and with 10 games remaning this is how i see it.
Seymour - Last years premiers have started well, won 7 lost 1 . Been able to cover injuries a lot better than other clubs, expect them to finish 1st or 2nd on the ladder 14 or 15 wins will get them there. When it gets to the buisness end im expecting them to be the team to beat?
Shepparton Swans - Big improvers and have earnt respect, at 6 and 2 what a great start to the year . I expect them to finish in the top 3, the only thing thats a concern for the swans is the coach, rumours are spreading that he has no idea.Will win 13 or 14 games.
Mooroopna - Could this be the year of the cat , at 6 and 2 and coming of a huge win over seymour , they have to be a show.Very important to finish in the top 3, must win 8 of the last 10 to do it, that would give them 14 and 4 and a big tilt at the flag.Go Cats
Benalla - At 5 and 3 and sitting 4th jock would be happy. Depth has been tested and they have hung in there with no Symes or Porter, will have to win 8-9 of the last 10 to finish in the top 3. Everyone up and going they can do it.
Mansfield - Lost a heap of players pre-season , but that has not stopped Mr Tossell and his boys from dropping of the pace, at 5 and 3 they only have to win 6-7 games of the last 10 and they will see finals action.
Shepparton United - At 4 and 4 and coming of a great win against shepp swans anythings possible,they keep flirting with there talent. Will be won of the teams that i think will drop out of the six to let Euroa in,will need to win 8 in the run home to play finals
Echuca - At 4 and 4 and hanging in there need a big run home to play finals, and with big games in the last two rounds against Mooroopna and Benalla i carnt see them having finals action, would have to win 8 out of the 10.
Euroa - Not the ideal start to the year, sitting 8th on the ladder with 4 wins and 4 losses, the magpies have work to do.I expect them to come back hard once they get players back and will make the 6, but a top 3 now seems out of reach . They would have to win all remaining games to achieve this, but if anyone can the maggies can.
Shepparton - The kids have been great and at 4 and 4 and a game out of the 6 Mel would be happy. Crunch time this week have to beat Euroa , and i carnt see it, no finals action for shepp.
Rochester - A team that never gives up and plays for the jumper week in week out, will miss the september action this year. 2 wins 6 losses
Kyabram - 1 and 7 Has been a bad start to the year, with in house rumblings things have gone of track
Well done Duff , Shepp united might make it i reckon?
No Heart
15 Jun 2006, 23:32
Quality win last week by the cats with big name players out...
Jeff Conally - quality defender, possibly the best defender they have
Shaun Robbins - No1 Ruckman out from suspension
Gary Learmonth - Hard running mind fielder, pulled up a little to sore to play vs lions
Trent Freer - Midfeilder to come back from broken wrist
Ash Hockey, Jarrow Harbrow - Under 18 players but are very good, vic country boys also obviously TAC Players to
Totally agree numba4, Seymour where at full strength and with these players out for Mooroopna they should win the big one?
Are these guys in the 1's or 2's? Had a look at the team against Ky and none of them are in either team. Injured? Anyway I think the clearance deadline is June 30th? Interesting to see if Euroa clears them soon or waits for the deadline to pass?
All seven are playing on permits for Badaginnie South this week. The Badaginnie South team versus Boho for round 9 is as follows:
Backs: Dwayne Devaney, Stephen Mann, Jason Kirby
Half backs: Billy Hunt, Jean "Radar" Roberts, Eddie Tuckwell
Centres: Fanger White, David Stinger, Greg Patton
Half Forwards: Kevin Gilbert, Jason Moore, David Dillan
Forwards: Phil Cruise, Scot Gall, Greg Dowell,
Rucks: David "Podge" Linsen, Tim Gilbert, James Mawson
Interchange: Mathew Duggin, Shane Rawlings, Mike Day, Craig Trewitt
:rolleyes:
All seven are playing on permits for Badaginnie South this week. The Badaginnie South team versus Boho for round 9 is as follows:
:D
Good line up:thumbsu:
carl lewis
16 Jun 2006, 12:36
no Craig 'Black Fang' Lummas........Big suprise
centreman
16 Jun 2006, 12:44
Nine wins got you in the top six last year. But judging by this you reckon 12 will sneak you in. It's a tough year isn't it. Great for the GV.
no Craig 'Black Fang' Lummas........Big suprise
Think he's playing in their club 18's team, as work comittments limit his training...
western star
16 Jun 2006, 13:17
my tips for this weekend are...
Euroa by 4 goals over Shepp
Mooroopna in a close one against Echuca
Rochester easily over Kyabram
Benalla too good for Tat
United in a close one against Mansfield
Swans by 5 goals over Seymour
dunollyfc
16 Jun 2006, 14:31
Ky seem to have some big names out of their team which I read in the Shep News. No Adamson, Newman or McCormack. How will they go against Rochy at home without these boys.
journeyman
16 Jun 2006, 14:33
The DV thread's talking about Saul Caddy leaving North Heidelberg. Saul would be very well known to the Melbourne-based Seymour/Euroa players.
He's a big, intimidating key forward who can really play. Would be a risk though.
Does anyone reckon any GV clubs would be interested?
Mansfield, for example, lost Mensch last year - he would be a handy replacement which might give them a chance to push into the top three.
T.Perry
16 Jun 2006, 14:41
The DV thread's talking about Saul Caddy leaving North Heidelberg. Saul would be very well known to the Melbourne-based Seymour/Euroa players.
He's a big, intimidating key forward who can really play. Would be a risk though.
Does anyone reckon any GV clubs would be interested?
Mansfield, for example, lost Mensch last year - he would be a handy replacement which might give them a chance to push into the top three.
Get me his number journeyman - we'll try and get him to Rushy! Would decimate the KDL..
Seriously, a very, very good player, prob not that far behind Mensch, actually...If I were involved with a GV club I'd strongly encourage them to give him a call..I still don't know whether he'll leave north, though, he seems to do this every season or 2..Why do you think he'd be a risk?? Loves to party, sure, but his on-field performances have surely outweighed his off-field indiscretions over his career..and he had an awesome year for Yarrawonga when he went up there..
half time lollies
16 Jun 2006, 15:17
Get me his number journeyman - we'll try and get him to Rushy! Would decimate the KDL..
Seriously, a very, very good player, prob not that far behind Mensch, actually...If I were involved with a GV club I'd strongly encourage them to give him a call..I still don't know whether he'll leave north, though, he seems to do this every season or 2..Why do you think he'd be a risk?? Loves to party, sure, but his on-field performances have surely outweighed his off-field indiscretions over his career..and he had an awesome year for Yarrawonga when he went up there..
Agree Saul is a very good player but he barely fired a shot when he played with Yarrawonga. Maybe had 3 or 4 good games. I was speaking to a person involved at Heidelberg and apparently he was set to go their but a few players said that they would walk if he came to the club so not sure where he will end up! Would be a handy acquisition for any side.
journeyman
16 Jun 2006, 15:31
Agree Saul is a very good player but he barely fired a shot when he played with Yarrawonga. Maybe had 3 or 4 good games. I was speaking to a person involved at Heidelberg and apparently he was set to go their but a few players said that they would walk if he came to the club so not sure where he will end up! Would be a handy acquisition for any side.
Hardly fired a shot is a bit harsh. he finished third in B&F after missing 5-6 games. He started year really well but got injured through the year. There's no doubt he would be a gun in GV league
Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this? heard the same thing earlier in the week. cant blame him hed be just jumping off a sinking ship they probably wont win a game all year.
Totally agree numba4, Seymour where at full strength and with these players out for Mooroopna they should win the big one?
Well really they should and they could its just a matter of them gaining their feet as over the last 3 years alot of new players have come and other players have gone....certainly have the team to do so, possibly the best team on paper in the gvfl but footy isnt played on paper so they have to take it on the field
JimCarter
16 Jun 2006, 21:55
Nearly 20 years since i have played or watched a game of GV but gentlemen if you think the standard of umpiring is not good in country Vic, come and have a look at what we put up with in southern NSW. The First thing that you notice is how bad the umps can be. In the two's up here we have a volunteer from each club do it. And it's usualy a past player from each club who knows a little about the game not some poor bastard who has taken it up for a bit of fittness. Believe it or not i think it works.
20 years and you still have the same hair cut numnuts. Just because Dipper still has a mullet, doesnt mean you have to ya jackass... :eek: :thumbsd:
20 years and you still have the same hair cut numnuts. Just because Dipper still has a mullet, doesnt mean you have to ya jackass... :eek: :thumbsd:Ta Jim you tosser love to know your real name. The mullet went 19 years ago. But think i might grow it back just to come home and see you!;)
Snakeman66
17 Jun 2006, 09:44
Rumour has it that Marty McGrath is already on the move from Tat. Believe he is heading to Mt. Evelyn in the Yarra Valley league. Tige you might be able to shed some more light on this?
Listed in the transfers.
16/6/2006 124547 MCGRATH, Martin Tatura 2006 > Player Yarra Valley Mountain District FL > Mount Evelyn Approved
Marty has gone, nothing to do with footy. Was purely a family based decision, all the best to him.
Weve been a bit stiff not to have had a few wins, im sure after the general bye we will suprise a few clubs and notch a win or 2. Anyone who has seen us play would know weve been in just about every game bar probably 2, very stiff against Mansfield and we also had Rochyl. Well see how we go anyway.
cheers
bradrowe#32
18 Jun 2006, 14:29
Geez boys, we're slipping. This thread was on page two.
Some interesting results yesterday:
Euroa 22.11.143 defeated Shepparton 16.14.110
Mooroopna 14.15.99 defeated Echuca 11.12.78
Rochester 23.12.150 defeated Kyabram 15.10.110
Echuca might be in a bit of trouble. After winning there first 3 games, they have lost 5 out of 6.
just wondering what people thought of the benalla juniors who have played seniors over the last month or two, tommy rockcliff, will martinello, sam harris, jim saker and phil aumann? will and tommy look exceptionally good for u/16 players and hope vic country and aussie selectors notice them this year, phil is obviously working hard for his spot when u have two ex-afl listed players infront of you and still getting a game, jim and sam have also been in the bushy and both been in their best over the last couple of weeks.. how does this compare to other teams? isv there many other teams with such talented juniors? how many gv juniors will get drafted in the nxt few years..?
The Cat
19 Jun 2006, 12:24
Anyone get to the Euroa Vs Shepp Bears game on Saturday?
Heard from a mate that the umpiring was absolutely disgraceful, with 50 metre penalties being dished out more often than franga's coming out of a vending machine at a sex addicts convention. Believe the 2 umpires also had the job in the Seymour Vs Mooroopna game the week before.
FOOTYBOSS might be able to fill us in a bit more on his thoughts of the standard of umpiring at the weekend.
JimCarter
19 Jun 2006, 13:21
Ta Jim you tosser love to know your real name. The mullet went 19 years ago. But think i might grow it back just to come home and see you!;)
My name is Jim Carter, I used to be the town cryer a few years back... So if its not a mullet stuck to the back of that huge scon of yours, what exactly do you call it? :rolleyes:
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jun 2006, 13:42
Anyone get to the Euroa Vs Shepp Bears game on Saturday?
Heard from a mate that the umpiring was absolutely disgraceful, with 50 metre penalties being dished out more often than franga's coming out of a vending machine at a sex addicts convention. Believe the 2 umpires also had the job in the Seymour Vs Mooroopna game the week before.
FOOTYBOSS might be able to fill us in a bit more on his thoughts of the standard of umpiring at the weekend.
DISGRACEFUL is only one way to sum up the umpires on the weekend. In total there were 15 x 50m penalties given for the game. Players looked twice at an umpire and the 50m was given. The bears cant complain to much about the free kicks as they won them 24-22. Even though is 13-0 in our favour at quarter time. But when you have your coach calling the umpire such and such all day what do you expect. Wasnt very good leadership by Mellington.
As for the King who got injured for shep, Their captain I think. Another bad injury at a Euroa game. I think he may have broken his leg badly which isnt to good and wish him all the best in his recovery.
journeyman
19 Jun 2006, 14:21
DISGRACEFUL is only one way to sum up the umpires on the weekend. In total there were 15 x 50m penalties given for the game. Players looked twice at an umpire and the 50m was given. The bears cant complain to much about the free kicks as they won them 24-22. Even though is 13-0 in our favour at quarter time. But when you have your coach calling the umpire such and such all day what do you expect. Wasnt very good leadership by Mellington.
As for the King who got injured for shep, Their captain I think. Another bad injury at a Euroa game. I think he may have broken his leg badly which isnt to good and wish him all the best in his recovery.
Article from today's Shepp News. They were obviously bad but it's not going to help recruit umpires, which there are a great shortage of.
I think John Maher is the father of Albury gun onballer Daniel Maher, formerly of Benalla. Not 100% though
It has emerged Shepparton considered boycotting Saturday's Goulburn Valley Football League clash against Euroa, after a string of contentious free kicks and 50 m penalties left the Bears hierarchy publicly seething.
In an explosive post game interview with News journalist Christie Peucker, Bears assistant coach Brendan Bicknell confirmed the club had toyed with the idea of staging a mid-match walkoff in protest over the alleged substandard umpiring.
"The umpires spoilt the game," Bicknell said.
"It's fairly easy to say they were disgraceful.
"It (a walk-off) is certainly something we did consider."
While the drastic measure was never realised, Shepparton is intent on making its frustrations known.
Club president Gary Holland yesterday said the Bears would pen a letter of complaint to the league concerning the issue, but denied suggestions the outcry was simply sour grapes.
Shepparton lost the match, played at Euroa's Memorial Oval, by 33 points.
"The standard of umpiring was not up to GVFL level," Holland said.
"This is not about pointing the finger at anyone. It's about making sure the standard of umpiring is comparable to the level of football being played in the GVFL.
"Our stats show Euroa was awarded 13 free kicks to our none in the first quarter, and a lot of those were game-changing decisions."
Euroa coach David Gleeson last night refused to be drawn on the issue, other than to say by the Magpies' count, the free kick tally ended marginally in their favour, 24-22.
The clash was presided over by experienced central umpires Gary Hughes and John Maher.
When broached about the criticism, Hughes hit back by saying the level of abuse both umpires received throughout the match was nothing short of despicable.
"I'd have to go back quite a few years to recall copping abuse like that," Hughes said.
"As I was walking off the ground, people in the crowd called me a copper maggot and told me I was s**t.
"No-one deserves to be talked to like that and I actually thought driving home `I don't need this.' "
Hughes denied claims the umpiring was sub-standard.
"You can debate every free kick, every decision. I thought we'd done a decent job in what was a very tough game to umpire," he said.
Umpiring was terrible, Maher (unkle of Tim and Marcus) was at his usual erratic best. Thought the other guy wasnt too bad though. At one stage maher awarded a 50m penalty against Mark clayton for following his man through the mark when he was only a step behind him. When everyone had a go he told them to go learn the rules!! He gave away lots of 50's for players mouthing off at him, which happens everytime he umpires. We've found that out the hard way a number of times over the years...
Second week in a row pretty much the same injury. What are the odds?! Kingy was stiff, must have landed awkwardly when he came down from the contest with Grainger. It looked very nasty..
Duff Man
19 Jun 2006, 16:33
Good chance GVFL will see another ex-AFL player cleared to our league before the 30th June cut off - Marc Bullen.
Have heard Port Adelaide have already agreed to clear him as he has sighted family reasons (his father is ill i believe), and he wants to play with a shepparton based club.
Travvy43
19 Jun 2006, 16:59
Good chance GVFL will see another ex-AFL player cleared to our league before the 30th June cut off - Marc Bullen.
Have heard Port Adelaide have already agreed to clear him as he has sighted family reasons (his father is ill i believe), and he wants to play with a shepparton based club.
News is that Congupna think they have the inside running on him. They would be licking their lips if it eventuated.
They could get out trumpted though in the race to lure him. Watch this space.
I Believe Marc is looking at either Mooroopna, Shepp United or Tatura, also been told that he is chasing the money of the clubs and i dont think congupna could keep up with the money race with the gvfl clubs.
United throwing $1000 a game at him
Tat at $700
Not sure on Mooroopna
Travvy43
19 Jun 2006, 17:29
I Believe Marc is looking at either Mooroopna, Shepp United or Tatura, also been told that he is chasing the money of the clubs and i dont think congupna could keep up with the money race with the gvfl clubs.
Tat at $700
Not sure on Mooroopna
you would think Tatura would have an extra bit of coin to throw around with McGrath leaving however i would not understand Bullen going there knowing the side is not going to be overly successful. I would have thought the cats and Demons would be the favourites.
journeyman
19 Jun 2006, 17:40
you would think Tatura would have an extra bit of coin to throw around with McGrath leaving however i would not understand Bullen going there knowing the side is not going to be overly successful. I would have thought the cats and Demons would be the favourites.
My mail is that he will only play for one of the three Shepparton clubs.
Swans have offered him an electrical apprenticeship through their president that he will be able to do in melbourne. The apprenticeship will start next year as he can only work a few hours this year because he wants to look after his dad.
Apparently a career path is attractive to him rather than big dollars.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jun 2006, 17:51
Used to work with Marc for 2 years as a greenskeeper and Im pretty sure he is still doing that over in Adelaide at the moment. I believe one of the shepparton sides will gain his services, though I wouldnt right off Congupna as he is from there.
I would however right off Tatura. The main reason for him returning is to be close to his father who quite crook at the moment. Will be an interesting couple of weeks watching shep teams throw money etc. towards him.
Would be a great asset for any club as he was very unlucky to be delisted at the Essendon last year. Would be better then a few of them thi syear, thats for sure. He has been killing them with Port Adelaide as well in the sanfl. Good bloke as well.
No Heart
19 Jun 2006, 17:52
Swans have offered him an electrical apprenticeship through their president that he will be able to do in melbourne. The apprenticeship will start next year as he can only work a few hours this year because he wants to look after his dad.
Apparently a career path is attractive to him rather than big dollars.
Seymour might be in the running if he's after a job as a electrician. Saad keeps bitching about how busy he is, so maybe bullen can give him a hand!
Otherwise, im happy to teach him how to drive my taxi. Obviously he'll have to take a broken english course first.
bazlurhmann
19 Jun 2006, 18:30
any thoughts on rising stars for the year to date? not many 18 19 year olds who are really starring or am i wrong. obviously hard to adapt from under 18s to senior footy.
brad cunningham will be a gun. he is only just out of the juniors and already playing senior footy at one of the better clubs in the gv. he just needs to get the height to go with his massive cannons. played well against shepp. may have taken over the premier little man status from gerrerd liddell.
Full Foward
19 Jun 2006, 21:00
brad isone of the dirtest players i have ever seen, i have seen him play at least 10 games and he hits people after they get rid of it, that is in juniors anyway i dont no what he is like in the seniors but what he does in thirdas is not tough it is dirty
Cunningham is way over rated he will only be a good player when he learns he isnt the toughest bloke running around
I know he is interested in mooroopna as well as the 3 shepp clubs as he is mates with the Campbell Brothers and has a connection to Jeff Vandermer somehow, so i have been told any way
My name is Jim Carter, I used to be the town cryer a few years back... So if its not a mullet stuck to the back of that huge scon of yours, what exactly do you call it? :rolleyes:I think you have the wrong bloke Jim I only have a little scone.:rolleyes: ......... Compared to that huge yap of yours.:p
centreman
20 Jun 2006, 11:49
Tat at $700
Not sure on Mooroopna
Don't underestimate the Swans in that equation - they would be way ahead of what the other two Shepp teams could offer.
yer good boy
20 Jun 2006, 18:01
sorry to say it but scott just dont got the pace to anywere big and he is a ****er as well
yer good boy
20 Jun 2006, 18:07
wot bout the whippet (shane whitelaw) how good is he going now 3 goals but it is time he hung up the boots!!!!!!
The DV thread's talking about Saul Caddy leaving North Heidelberg. Saul would be very well known to the Melbourne-based Seymour/Euroa players. He's a big, intimidating key forward who can really play. Would be a risk though. Does anyone reckon any GV clubs would be interested?
Fair to assume no GV clubs have attempted to grab Saul?
bomberboy_19
20 Jun 2006, 22:02
There is a rumour going around that Marc Bullen will be playing in the Goulburn Valley region next weekend... Mooroopna, Shepp Unitied, Shepp Swans are the sides he could go to... even congupna are in the question... whar are peoples thoughts
Ahbroke Miandad
20 Jun 2006, 23:56
There is a rumour going around that Marc Bullen will be playing in the Goulburn Valley region next weekend... Mooroopna, Shepp Unitied, Shepp Swans are the sides he could go to... even congupna are in the question... whar are peoples thoughts
Is this bloke for real?
Next he'll be telling us Euroa is struggling with injury at the moment...
FOOTYBOSS
21 Jun 2006, 08:51
Is this bloke for real?
Why make such a stupid post Ahbroke.
If you read through earlier posts you would realise why Marc is returning to Victoria and why he has chosen the gv to continue his footy. With such footy knowledge about each gv team you have, you would also know how many players didnt play in the Euroa senior team last week that would be walk up starters in the team.
FOOTYBOSS
21 Jun 2006, 08:54
Fair to assume no GV clubs have attempted to grab Saul?
Wouldnt want him anyway Doona. Yeah great player and could win you some games off his own boot, but there is always a down side for Saul. If he doesnt get his way at times he can loose the plot and ruin some good team harmony. This is the 2nd time his walked out North Heidelberg.
blackbeard
21 Jun 2006, 11:30
Is this bloke for real?
Top post!!! F u c k i n g funny
Wouldnt want him anyway Doona. Yeah great player and could win you some games off his own boot, but there is always a down side for Saul. If he doesnt get his way at times he can loose the plot and ruin some good team harmony. This is the 2nd time his walked out North Heidelberg.
Take ya word for it mate, have only seen him play 5-6 times and reckon he'd be quality on the field, but have no idea on what he's like off it.
fat back pocket
21 Jun 2006, 11:58
doona, bit of info for ya...big Roo Elliot has decided to finish his playing days out with the mighty Lions. 6'9", will be a handy midseason recruit. Been playing seniors at North Coburg im told.
Will play this week against the swans if the clearance goes through ok.
Mr. Perry...any more word on this new Seymour recruit you told us about a few weeks back...you obviously no what is going on with your current job...
doona, bit of info for ya...big Roo Elliot has decided to finish his playing days out with the mighty Lions. 6'9", will be a handy midseason recruit. Been playing seniors at North Coburg im told.
Will play this week against the swans if the clearance goes through ok.
Mr. Perry...any more word on this new Seymour recruit you told us about a few weeks back...you obviously no what is going on with your current job...
Bugger you FBP was kinda hoping Dipper mighta got him to Yea as a ruckman is about all the Tiges need. I think Roo is a former GV 2's medallist and will give Pliegs the chop out he's longed for and deserves will certainly make the Lions Magoos the team to beat . . . . now all ya need is Jono in the square to make ya's a certainty!!! When will Chippa be back & I didnt see ya vs Mooroopna the other week where were ya?
Good to see ya back on here by the way :thumbsu:
T.Perry
21 Jun 2006, 12:09
Will probably be right to work his way through the 2's in the next week, or 2, and will be flying by the time finals comes around..I'm actually about to catch up with Chewy (who looks like he's been following your rigid weights regime and is looking ripped as) for lunch, and he looks set to resume this week in a massive boost to the lions..
Ahbroke Miandad
21 Jun 2006, 14:10
Why make such a stupid post Ahbroke.
If you read through earlier posts you would realise why Marc is returning to Victoria and why he has chosen the gv to continue his footy. With such footy knowledge about each gv team you have, you would also know how many players didnt play in the Euroa senior team last week that would be walk up starters in the team.
Boss, I think you need to get in touch with Blackbeard and take a few lessons on the art of understanding sarcasm.
In case you still hadn't worked it out, I was having a dig at the goose who asked if anyone had heard anything about Marc Bullen coming to the GV when it was all that had been spoken about for the previous two pages.
The reference to Euroa and its injury woes was illustrating a point that perhaps this person is a little behind the times.
Don't be so touchy man.
The new recruit for Seymour would be none other then Luke Stevenson. Very good player who can play either on the wing, up forward or down back. He must overcame his stress fractures that were in his feet. This is why he hasnt played footy at all this year. Will be a very handy pick up for the Seymour football club. But you have to wonder who they will drop to allow him into their team. Could ruin a bit of team harmony.
Mooroopna players have reportedly taken pay cuts to allow Marc Bullen to join their ranks. Which is a bit of a suprise considering they have money hungery Balraj playing there. Will be interesting where Bully plays this year.
For the 1st time Im suprised Euroa or Seymour have not been linked to his name as they seem to be linked to every other name that gets bandied about in the gv.:rolleyes:
Im looking forward to heading to Lemnos this weekend and watching the swans play the lions in the game of the round. Will be a great game. More Seymour players to return from injury this weekend and they will basically have a full list to choose from.
so whos leading the way for bullen?