View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
bomberboy_19
21 Jun 2006, 18:57
good question numba4... i'd say a gvfl club that is doing well (shepp swans, mooroopna) but its hard to say, becuase you can't cut congupna out of the race... they prob couldnt match the money like a gvfl club, but its his home/old club... but i'm sayin a gvfl club
roberts-thompson
21 Jun 2006, 23:50
brad isone of the dirtest players i have ever seen, i have seen him play at least 10 games and he hits people after they get rid of it, that is in juniors anyway i dont no what he is like in the seniors but what he does in thirdas is not tough it is dirty
i must have a different definition of dirty but you see blokes king hit blokes or trip them etc thats dirty, he just tries to make his physical presence noticed and it works
Can see where your coming from R-T but..
Physical Presence - Contact which is very solid while player is in possession, contact around a pack that is in contest to receiving the ball or contact in a way which may free up a team mate to create play e.g. sheparding
Dirty - King Hit etc. or un neccasary contact with an opponent after they have got rid of the ball where the only point to be made is so THEY feel tough not there opponent...
personally i think people who do that are complete d*ickheads and are jus ****ed off they cant get to the bloke with the ball
JimCarter
22 Jun 2006, 06:43
I think you have the wrong bloke Jim I only have a little scone.:rolleyes: ......... Compared to that huge yap of yours.:p
Nah I have the right bloke, maybe you're becoming senile in your old age? Or maybe its a bit of brain damage from when you were beaten with the ugly stick on that beach ball you call a head?? :)
half time lollies
22 Jun 2006, 09:57
so whos leading the way for bullen?
Bullen is playing his last game for Port Magpies at the weekend before moving back to Melbourne. Congupna are out of the race due to the extra travel coming from from Melbourne so it will definately be a GVFL club. The sides that are still in the race: Shepp United, Swans, Shepp and Mooroopna. Don't think he would go to Tat due to their position on the ladder. I think it will come down to which club can offer the most money. You wouldn't think Mooroopna would be able to squeeze another ex-AFL player into their budget. Swans claim that the most they will pay any player this year is $300 a game so this would count them out. So this would leave Shepp and United. Will be a very handy pick up where ever he ends up!
$300 a game is a bit hard to believe with all the recruits they have picked up??
Arnt the cats players supposebly taking pay cuts?
half time lollies
22 Jun 2006, 10:26
$300 a game is a bit hard to believe with all the recruits they have picked up??
This is what the club CLAIMS. The catch with most of their recruits is employment. If they end up with Bullen then we know the $300 a game is a load of horse s*#t.
half time lollies
22 Jun 2006, 10:29
Arnt the cats players supposebly taking pay cuts?
Not sure Numba 4. You would think it would be hard getting Balraj to take a pay cut but the Campbell's, Hall, Norman and others may have done so in order to try and lure Bullen to the cattery.
Travvy43
22 Jun 2006, 10:30
Agree with you hear lolly bag on a few accounts. It will come down to the club who will offer the most coin and i think he may have priced himself out of the market for a few clubs, as you have said, the cats and the swans. I would have thought united were the front runners however it will come down to a bidding war.
At this stage, i believe he has made no committment to playing with the side the following year, so really it is going to be a 10 or so week contract player and then he is gone.
Interesting to see where he lands, but agree, he will be a more than handy acquision for any club.
journeyman
22 Jun 2006, 12:24
$300 is the most Swans play but they have given good jobs that can lead to something. I think a couple have football development jobs plus they have sponsorship deals with Crazy Johns and a car dealership.
A lot of their recruits get free rent as well. Their players aren't going too bad.
The Swans reckon they have the inside running with Bullen because they can get him an apprenticeship in Melbourne. Whether this is true or not, we'll wait and see.
Have heard that Bullen adn Ben Hayes are both coming back.. as a package.
Shepp, North Heidleberg, Heidelberg, Marby Park and Noble Park have all thrown there hats into the ring for these two. That is my mail.
Can anyone confirm this or is Bullen a done deal to play GVFL.
kanga fan man
22 Jun 2006, 15:32
i heard Bullen is at Heidelberg with best mate Murphy
FOOTYBOSS
22 Jun 2006, 17:10
i heard Bullen is at Heidelberg with best mate Murphy
Nah kanga, he sint at Heidelberg but dont be suprised if he does end up there but my sources say it will be somewhere in the country. Will be very interesting.
No matter where he plays he will be a very handy asset for the club.
centreman
22 Jun 2006, 17:19
Shepp, North Heidleberg, Heidelberg, Marby Park and Noble Park have all thrown there hats into the ring for these two. That is my mail.
Swans have given him the biggest offer. Will play at a Shepparton club and nowhere else. His father is ill.
Nah I have the right bloke, maybe you're becoming senile in your old age? Or maybe its a bit of brain damage from when you were beaten with the ugly stick on that beach ball you call a head?? :)Now i'm getting a bit sus here Jim cos the Jim Carter i know has not much to do with footy, little lone be involved on a footy forum. Fess up Jim, stop hiding! Old? Ugly? Beach ball? I'm wounded Jim. :rolleyes:
jmain14
22 Jun 2006, 20:21
Not sure Numba 4. You would think it would be hard getting Balraj to take a pay cut but the Campbell's, Hall, Norman and others may have done so in order to try and lure Bullen to the cattery.
yeah haha. I have no idea about what goes on at the cattery so this is pure speculation but if what you hear is true about the bloke that can singh there ain't any chance in hell of he sacrificing any piece of his cake in order to accommodate a new player, no matter who the player is. would maybe even think one of brad, blake and derek may have an issue or two with taking a pay cut.
anyway, if they can land bullen it'd be an awesome effort by them and they'd have to be flag fav's wouldn't they?? no question that in years gone by they have had a culture of unsuccess. I don't think they have seen september action since I have had any interest in the gv. you would think though that with the influx of so many high profile players it would erase any culture they had. not only should they play finals but derek could be a really big chance of holding the much sought after silverware aloft come 5:30pm on the first sunday in october.
ECHUCABOY
23 Jun 2006, 13:26
Would doubt that any clubs would be able to offer top $$$ at this stage of the season. However if any one was to find money where it dont exist, Noble Park could surely empty a few Pokies and get these blokes on board.
JimCarter
23 Jun 2006, 13:32
Now i'm getting a bit sus here Jim cos the Jim Carter i know has not much to do with footy, little lone be involved on a footy forum. Fess up Jim, stop hiding! Old? Ugly? Beach ball? I'm wounded Jim. :rolleyes:
You've always been a bit suss head67...
bomberboy_19
23 Jun 2006, 18:22
I don't think you can count congupna out just yet! Its not that far out of shepparton and roots run strong... he will probably play at a GVFL club but congupna can not be out of the race
Duff Man
24 Jun 2006, 20:46
Swans have given him the biggest offer. Will play at a Shepparton club and nowhere else. His father is ill.
Saw the best game of GV football today between Seymour and Shepp Swans.
It had everything, tough, hard, football.Shepp swans really impressed me, its the second time i have seen them this year and they do have some qaulity players in Veal , White , Ryan, Maher and Fitzpatrick. I think the lead changed 8 times before half time and 15 times after half time. Seymour also very impressive,and i noticed no Okeefe, Bailey,Thomson, and Douglas and Anderson played in the ressies and killed it. How a side can play that good of footy and win without these guns surprizes me. Paddy Ratray didnt play either not sure whats going on there? And i was told today that swans expect to sign Bullen this week.
chrisOduz u-turns
25 Jun 2006, 16:44
good to see ya riding round town on that tricycle of yours jim!
with that big yap clapper of yours just waving in the wind......
oh and jim put a helmet on ya goose
No Heart
25 Jun 2006, 20:34
Saw the best game of GV football today between Seymour and Shepp Swans.
It had everything, tough, hard, football.Shepp swans really impressed me, its the second time i have seen them this year and they do have some qaulity players in Veal , White , Ryan, Maher and Fitzpatrick. I think the lead changed 8 times before half time and 15 times after half time. Seymour also very impressive,and i noticed no Okeefe, Bailey,Thomson, and Douglas and Anderson played in the ressies and killed it. How a side can play that good of footy and win without these guns surprizes me. Paddy Ratray didnt play either not sure whats going on there? And i was told today that swans expect to sign Bullen this week.
You missed one to Duff Man , B Liddell didnt play either and P Ratray has had an operation and is expected to play the last half a dozen games. And i also got told yesterday swans are hoping to get Bullen signed this week .
Did Sutherland play, dont think he was named in Fridays paper? How did Robbie Inness go and can we expect Chippa Douglas to return for the Echuca road trip?
Pupster
25 Jun 2006, 22:41
Did Sutherland play, dont think he was named in Fridays paper? How did Robbie Inness go and can we expect Chippa Douglas to return for the Echuca road trip?
Sutherland did play but not real well.. he literally cant run.. he just sits in the centre of the ground and slowly jogs to the ball.. inness played okay and douglas was super in the seconds as was anderson.
Grandale
26 Jun 2006, 12:39
Yeah, Sutherland played, but didn't spend a great deal of time in the ruck. Actually, Shotty was arguably the Lions' best player until he went off injured either late in the third quarter or early in the last.
Bobbie Inness again played a very important role. Shut that McCarty fella right out of the game. His goalscoring has been a reason why the Swannies have been taking all before them this year and I don't think he even registered a major on Saturday. Another victim to Inness.
And I suspect Douglas might have another run around in the Scoobies. He was taken off early on Saturday (at 3/4 time I think) which makes me think they'll give him a full game this week (fingers crossed) before slotting back into the Ones.
big tony
26 Jun 2006, 14:32
did any1 get around to see the benalla vs tatura game...saw mark mckensie kicked 12 but want more detail on the game...
bazlurhmann
26 Jun 2006, 15:50
Jarred Sutherland was up to his dirty snipping best again against the lions. he gave one to brent colbert the goalsquare. jamie kelly was useless for the swans also. i thought he might have been a bit more impressive against his old club. all he did was walk around the centre all day. schottner and even pilling carved him. even little bernie haberman was pushing him around.
Yeah i agree was a great game swans v lions. Things are looking good for the lions with some big players coming back in the next couple of weeks. Chewie played his first game back after knee trouble and absolutely killed them, specially in first half. Showed great heart to win without Anderson, O'Keefe, Douglas, Bailey, Thompson, Rattray and B.Liddell. The scary thing is once again don't think they clicked for the entire game. Look out when they do.
from what i seen of douglas and anderson on saturday they could step back straight into the ones. They were sensational. Maybe should be cautious tho.
sutherland was a shadow of his former self, don't know if he's carrying an injury but he just couldn't run and was beaten easily in the ruck by shottner when he was in there. He wasn't the only one tho as jim kelly got a pasting in there as well.
journeyman
26 Jun 2006, 17:14
sutherland was a shadow of his former self, don't know if he's carrying an injury but he just couldn't run and was beaten easily in the ruck by shottner when he was in there. He wasn't the only one tho as jim kelly got a pasting in there as well.
Sutherland went in for a knee arthro today, will be out for 3-4. Has been carrying it for awhile
ECHUCABOY
26 Jun 2006, 17:29
Hi all some interesting results over the weekend.
Can anyone fill me in on the blokes who wear the "Barmy Army" like animal suits when their team come to play at Echuca, thought it might be Seymour. I'm not sure if they have been their the last couple of years, although I always remember these blokes who come with others in a mini bus on the same particular weekend. The always park it towards the caravan park end.
Wondering if they were from a particular club or maybe they were just randoms, they were an absolute ****er none the less.
Big test for Echuca this week, who are everyones tips for the flag and the medal, its hard to keep up with everything so just wondering what everyone is thinking mid year.
Are Mooroopna, Swans, Seymour and Benalla the only ones with a shot at it.
ECHUCABOY
26 Jun 2006, 17:37
Don't know if this has been said already cos I couldn't be bothered reading through. However, word has it Bullen definetly signed with the heidlberg side J.Murphy plays at 6 weeks ago. They've got him a job at Bolle' and some pretty handy match payments.
Im just repeating what I've heard and read so we'll still have to wait and see.
Samtrish
26 Jun 2006, 17:53
did any1 get around to see the benalla vs tatura game...saw mark mckensie kicked 12 but want more detail on the game...
Tige19 Would be able to update us on this one, would be interesting tom hears his views on Benalla overall
Just wondering if Swans recruit Josh WILSON is'nt to far away from playing !? hear he has been injured all year and that he was due around the second half of the season...is he out and about yet !?
chrisOduz u-turns
26 Jun 2006, 19:54
Tige19 Would be able to update us on this one, would be interesting tom hears his views on Benalla overall
haven't heard much from you lately samtrish since you copped a deadset
pasting from FOOTYBOSS a few weeks back:p just thought you'd sneek back on? or just going under the radar hmmm
ill have a crack at it echucaboy. think seymour and benalla will play off in the granny, seymour to win. mooroopna and euroa to just miss. i know euroa are lowly at present but i think they will replace shepp swans in that top 4. medal- is bowen from rochy still playing ok, could be a chance. smokeys could be finn from ky and kirby or wellington from tat. (thought id give lower sides a plug)
Samtrish
26 Jun 2006, 20:40
haven't heard much from you lately samtrish since you copped a deadset
pasting from FOOTYBOSS a few weeks back:p just thought you'd sneek back on? or just going under the radar hmmm
No radar chriso very little to comment on
pete_mitchell
26 Jun 2006, 21:29
It's primed to be a cracker jack final 8 rounds of the year.
Where do teams stand with injuries at the minute? Boss might be able to give us an update on Euroa's injuries. How long till Ricky Symes returns for Benalla, he will make a big difference to their chances.
What about Mooroopna and Swans? Whats the injury list there at the minute....maybe people from around the traps could update us all.
Seems there are 3 clubs with a realistic chance of taking out a senior double this year. Benalla, Seymour and Euroa's reserves are all going well, if injuries are at a minimum at all 3 clubs, will be a finals series not to miss...no doubt, plenty of senior experience running around in ressies come finals for these clubs, which means even better ones action.
FOOTYBOSS
27 Jun 2006, 13:00
It's primed to be a cracker jack final 8 rounds of the year.
Where do teams stand with injuries at the minute? Boss might be able to give us an update on Euroa's injuries. How long till Ricky Symes returns for Benalla, he will make a big difference to their chances.
What about Mooroopna and Swans? Whats the injury list there at the minute....maybe people from around the traps could update us all.
Seems there are 3 clubs with a realistic chance of taking out a senior double this year. Benalla, Seymour and Euroa's reserves are all going well, if injuries are at a minimum at all 3 clubs, will be a finals series not to miss...no doubt, plenty of senior experience running around in ressies come finals for these clubs, which means even better ones action.
Cant tell you to much there pete as I havent been around training for a week now. Ive been over in Adelaide. I will know more after training tonight but Im pretty sure we get a few more players back from injury this week which will help a fair bit. I think there is about 8 of us including me that need to get through training this week to be able to play.
Looking at the fixture for this weeks games and there is a couple of rippers.
Mooroopna v Euroa
Mansfield v Swans
Kyabram v Tatura
Bears v Rochy.
The other 2 games seem a formality.
Travvy43
27 Jun 2006, 13:21
Just letting the seymour followers know that one of your former assistant coaches (Jago) could be spending some more time aroung the den in the coming weeks. There is strong word suggesting that his side Seddon in the WRFL folded last night. He may be on the phone now to Daniels asking if there is a position available.
Duff Man
27 Jun 2006, 13:29
Looking at the fixture for this weeks games and there is a couple of rippers.
Mooroopna v Euroa
Mansfield v Swans
Kyabram v Tatura
Bears v Rochy.
The other 2 games seem a formality.
Yeah, there should be a couple of real close ones this weekend BOSS.
Moor V Euroa (2nd & 6th on ladder with only one game seperating them)
Mans V Swans (5th & 4th - both with 6 wins thus far)
Ky V Tat (not likely to give the final 6 a shake now, but only one game seperating them and will be fighting not to finish last on the ladder)
Bears V Rochy (9th & 10th on ladder and again only one game between them. Winner will be looking to keep their finals hopes alive while a loss would make it that much harder for either to be a real chance)
Very even comp and past rounds have proven there are plenty of sides that are good enough to win a game on their day - regardless of ladder positions.
PLAYER69
27 Jun 2006, 13:54
Anyone want to have a crack at what the top six will look like at the end of the year?
Here is mine:
Seymour
Benalla
Euroa
Mooroopna
Sheparton Swans
Mansfield
League Medal - Shane Clayton
Leading Goal Kicker - Balraj Singh to get 100
Wooden Spoon - Tatura
Benalla are by far and away the best side we have played this year, a little bit of consideration has to be given though as the team we put out on the park were missing quite a few regulars.
The way Benalla move the ball and hit targets is second to none, the bring the ball in one way and out the other and always look for the big blokles leading up the ground. They have good crumbers around the goals and some very good onballers. Shiels has become one of the better player running around and Jock still has that knack of getting the pill. I reckon Jock would have had only 5 kicks for the game but probably 25 hand balls.
The scary thing about Benalla was that they were missing Symes and A.Stevens, with them 2 back in the side i struggle to see anyone in country/metro Vic beating them let alone a side from the GV. Massive call however i think they are that good, that or we are that bad which we where on Saturday.
Benalla vs Swans GF Seymour and Mooropona to just miss. Swans especially of they get Bullen.
cheers
Personally tige i dont know how you couldnt put Mooroopna in their over either Benalla and Swans they beat both of them, Benalla quite easily as well, against swans it really wasnt a footy match the weather was apauling so would like to see that match up again...my case i think Cats Vs Swans at this point of the year, and the result to hard to choose....People keep forgetting as well that the Cats have injuries as well
big tony
27 Jun 2006, 21:09
yer i personaly believe Benalla for the flag....not a weak link in the side.....with the forward line force of mckensie, van shaik, sharp and still to come symes who is arguably the best full foward in the league!!!
cant see them losing
Bucket #18
27 Jun 2006, 22:30
Anyone want to have a crack at what the top six will look like at the end of the year?
Here is mine:
Seymour
Benalla
Euroa
Mooroopna
Sheparton Swans
Mansfield
League Medal - Shane Clayton
Leading Goal Kicker - Balraj Singh to get 100
Wooden Spoon - Tatura
Here a mine
Seymour
Euroa
Benella
Maroopna
Shepp Swans
Shepp United
League Medal- Tyson Sidebottom
Leading Goal Kicker- Baraj Singh
Wooden spoon- Tatura or Shepp Bears
journeyman
28 Jun 2006, 11:50
Heard yesterday that Bullen has put pen to paper with Shepp Swans.
Haven't been able to access Shepp News site today so apologies if it's on the back page.
Bucket #18
28 Jun 2006, 12:02
Heard yesterday that Bullen has put pen to paper with Shepp Swans.
Haven't been able to access Shepp News site today so apologies if it's on the back page.
Ive heard He hasnt actually put pen to paper yet, but his pretty sure its the swans or maroopna, so we will have to wait and see what happens.
scooby-doo
28 Jun 2006, 12:37
The Magpie Reserves opened with some of the best reserves football you could ever wish to see, piling on the goals in a devastating first term. Groom with 4 first quarter goals was on fire, as was Tate in the midfield gathering possessions at will and the handball, run and disposal of just about every player was superb.
Shepparton settled a little in the second, but Euroa steamed on after half time, only allowing the visitors to score one goal after the main break. Cameron kicked 7, whilst Groom finished with 9 for the day and Saville kicked 5. Alistair Tubb and Mark Mills were also in great form throughout the day.
When the final siren sounded, the home side had inflicted a 134 point defeat of last years premiers.
Wat r everyones thoughts on the euroa reserves side?
Obviously have good depth through the side!
FOOTYBOSS
28 Jun 2006, 12:52
Ive heard He hasnt actually put pen to paper yet, but his pretty sure its the swans or maroopna, so we will have to wait and see what happens.
Bullen hasnt put to paper as yet but has verbally agreed to play the remainder of the season with the swans. Will no doubt add depth to their already talented midfield and makes them a real premiership threat. Does help when the swans pay for a removalist to cart all of things over from SA. To say they dont pay more then $300 is total lies as he is getting more then that a game. Good luck to him as he is very good player and great bloke.
journeyman
28 Jun 2006, 13:10
Bullen hasnt put to paper as yet but has verbally agreed to play the remainder of the season with the swans. Will no doubt add depth to their already talented midfield and makes them a real premiership threat. Does help when the swans pay for a removalist to cart all of things over from SA. To say they dont pay more then $300 is total lies as he is getting more then that a game. Good luck to him as he is very good player and great bloke.
I imagine a Hunter Transport truck would be picking his stuff up.
FBoss, is he getting an electrical apprenticeship?
half time lollies
28 Jun 2006, 13:52
Spot on journeyman. I believe that a Hunters truck is on its way over to Adelaide as we speak and he will either work in a Hunters office in Melbourne but more than likely start an electrician apprentice with Watters on adult wages. The Swans $300 theory has been well and truly blown out the window with the signing of Bullen. I've heard that he will receive a $5000 sign and $400 a game which works out to be over $900 a game. Big money but could make the difference between winning and loosing a grand final!
The Magpie Reserves opened with some of the best reserves football you could ever wish to see, piling on the goals in a devastating first term. Groom with 4 first quarter goals was on fire, as was Tate in the midfield gathering possessions at will and the handball, run and disposal of just about every player was superb.
Shepparton settled a little in the second, but Euroa steamed on after half time, only allowing the visitors to score one goal after the main break. Cameron kicked 7, whilst Groom finished with 9 for the day and Saville kicked 5. Alistair Tubb and Mark Mills were also in great form throughout the day.
When the final siren sounded, the home side had inflicted a 134 point defeat of last years premiers.
i believe euroa ressies are going to amongst it at the end of the year. When all injured players go back into into the ones, and they can pick up a few more players (as is the case with most teams mind you), they will be very strong........ but scoobs, in your report, you left out not only their number one play maker, but their soon to be number one goal scorer..... THE WHIPPET!!!!!!!!!!!!! shame on you ;)
HawkeEye
28 Jun 2006, 17:16
i believe euroa ressies are going to amongst it at the end of the year. When all injured players go back into into the ones, and they can pick up a few more players (as is the case with most teams mind you), they will be very strong........ but scoobs, in your report, you left out not only their number one play maker, but their soon to be number one goal scorer..... THE WHIPPET!!!!!!!!!!!!! shame on you ;)
Looks like the pick up of Groom and Cameron have equalised for the loss of Tim Maher.
If Maher was able to play, cuold be the best forward line in the 2's for the league.
What do you think FootyBoss
Any side with characters like Footyboss, Bernie Groom, Freddy Cameron and Mark Mills are guaranteed to provide some entertaining footy. Just imagine if the comp's best goalkicker last year (#12) was out there.
Looks like the pick up of Groom and Cameron have equalised for the loss of Tim Maher.
If Maher was able to play, cuold be the best forward line in the 2's for the league.
Sorry lads shoulda read all the posts before wasting a comment!!!
Good read in today's Seymour Telegraph about one of the better guys in country football.
Schottner to claim 200
June 28 2006
Seymour Telegraph
Shane Schottner will join a select group of Seymour players and officials when he runs out this week against Echuca in Echuca.
Schottner will be playing his 200th GVFL game, which will be made up of 194 senior games for the Lions as well as six games with the GVFL.
Life is good at the present time for Seymour footballers and Schottner as captain is one of the prime reasons for this.
But it has not always been this way. Debuting in 1995 after captaining the thirds into the finals, Schottner was to find 1996 a low time of his career with the Lions bottoming out as wooden spooners for the first time since joining the GVFL in 1976.
Schottner gained the respect of all in his club as he took over the ruck mantle after the retirement of Jon Solomon and was the winner of the best and fairest award in 1999 and 2000.
In 2001, Schottner became captain during the season, remembered best for the input of John McNamara and has led the club, now into his sixth season including to the premiership last year.
Schottner also represented the GVFL in 2005, being part of the country championships victory at Geelong.
Schottner also rebounded well after a difficult 2003, spent as captain-coach, but did an outstanding job leading the side into the finals in 2004 and winning his third best and fairest award as well as becoming the Lions' fourth ever Morrison Medallist.
The Morrison year was outstanding given that Schottner was to be spelled from first ruck duties that season with the recruitment of Ben Bailey, but that lasted 15 minutes of the first game with the crack import doing his knee and missing most of the next two seasons.
Seymour president Paul Cox is full of praise for Schottner calling him "our most valuable player.
"He has carried the ruck load for all of his career and is what every club would want to have as a player, a leader and a person.
"He has shown tremendous loyalty sticking with the club as he has had many opportunities to go elsewhere for big dollars, but he just stays at Seymour - it is a real testament to the man," Cox said.
Lions fans will be hoping that there are many more seasons left in the personable big man, and barring injury, should bring up his 200th senior game for the club against Tatura at home later in the season.
FOOTYBOSS
28 Jun 2006, 18:05
The Euroa twos will be there abouts, especially with a few boys coming back into the ones over the next few weeks. But we have yet to beat sides above us. We need to beat them before the end of the year to rate ourselves highly.
The team would be alot better if both maher boys were playing this year. Both sorely missed. #12 Peach maher for his goal kicking ability which would make for an awesome forward line. I doubt whether big Bernie would get a game if Peach was there. Also miss Muza Maher just for his stupidity drinking habits. We have no one to laugh at anymore.:D Nah serious muza would be very handy playing on the ball or running off half back.
thats what I think.
FOOTYBOSS
28 Jun 2006, 18:11
Not to sure on the electrical apprenticeship considering he was doing landscaping in SA and was completing it here before he moved over there as well. He may well end working within my company.
FOOTYBOSS
28 Jun 2006, 18:14
Hows Longwood treating you this year Scooby?
bomberboy_19
28 Jun 2006, 20:03
Freddy Cameron is a good player... he played for congupna 2-3 years ago when he was fit and did well, he came over from Euroa becuase of Gary 'Nipper' Harvey and did well in the Murray league... good player when he is fit, does anyone know if he has played 1's this year
yer good boy
28 Jun 2006, 21:28
yer good point there scooby-doo but u never said anything bout the backline there is a few big names there with mills, mcbrian, brooks and some up and coming players thompson and wright just out of the thirds r starting to show
Freddy Cameron is a good player... he played for congupna 2-3 years ago when he was fit and did well, he came over from Euroa becuase of Gary 'Nipper' Harvey and did well in the Murray league... good player when he is fit, does anyone know if he has played 1's this year
Freddy Cameron fit??? You sure you're talking about the same player:confused:
Nah seriously, Freddy is an absolute freak when firing! Great set of mits on him and good for a beer after the game:thumbsu:
Freddy Cameron fit??? You sure you're talking about the same player:confused:
Nah seriously, Freddy is an absolute freak when firing! Great set of mits on him and good for a beer after the game:thumbsu: "A" beer?????:p
Any truth to the whisper Stanhope officials were spotted in Euroa yesterday trying to lure a last minute recruit to the KDFL Lions Den???
TheJuddstarr#3
29 Jun 2006, 15:07
um im sorry, but is it just me, or is there anyone else who really doesnt want to hear or doesnt care about any reserves football in this formal.. as im scroll down the recent threads, they appear to do nothing but waste space!
im sorry to rub u reserves players up the wrong way, but its one thing having to put up with the endless amounts of information on euroas senior side, let alone their 2s side also! please tell me its not gonna be a regular thing!
um im sorry, but is it just me, or is there anyone else who really doesnt want to hear or doesnt care about any reserves football in this formal.. as im scroll down the recent threads, they appear to do nothing but waste space!
im sorry to rub u reserves players up the wrong way, but its one thing having to put up with the endless amounts of information on euroas senior side, let alone their 2s side also! please tell me its not gonna be a regular thing!
Give us a new topic Juddy
Its just you TheJuddstarr#3....if you dont like it then phu.ck off and start a thread on how good you are. Some people enjoy discussing the lesser grades and not everyone out there can be a superstar like yourself:rolleyes:
TuskenRaider
29 Jun 2006, 16:13
Good work Juddstarr:rolleyes:
I think it's called a forum too.
If you don't like talking about lesser grades of football, just stick to the main AFL board. It's fairly simple.
FOOTYBOSS
29 Jun 2006, 16:28
Any truth to the whisper Stanhope officials were spotted in Euroa yesterday trying to lure a last minute recruit to the KDFL Lions Den???
Who are the whispered in trying to lure across Doona, It may be true, just not sure on who though. Maybe whippet after his goal kicking exploits recently.:D
As for the person that said Freddy camereon fit, I would love to see that. Very good player and can drink a fair amount of beer. Just sits there and smiles the whole time like his upto something shifty.
As for you Juddstarr, if you can give us a topic to talk about, then we will. If not and only have stupid things to post like that last one, p i s s off back to your bedroom as your dog needs its assed licked again, you peasant.
Just you mate. Part of senior footy is reserves footy. With the amount of injuries this year for all teams, as well as players going in and out of form, reserves footy is playin a big part of GV with the number of boy's moving back and forth between 1's and 2's. its a forum to talk about footy.... if your just plain sick of hearing about euroa, go to the 'official u18 gvfl thread', you wont read about euroa in there! :(
TheJuddstarr#3
29 Jun 2006, 17:08
Give us a new topic Juddy
hmm new topic hey doona! well, i no we already talk bout his brilliance a bit, but just back on tige19s thread bout benalla being a damnwell good side i think ill have to agree with him.
i see big macca kicked a few sausage rolls against tiges bulldogs, good to see him back in form.. scary to think of the outs they still have! their forwards may be wrestling against themselves for the goals, so well delivered from their midfield!
although they play a predictable game (they arnt goin to throw to many suprises in their game plan) it is so tight that they will be mighty hard to beat come the business end!
oh and back on tige, a few weeks ago u meantioned ur side being very close to beating i think rochy n was it mansfield?
well just looking at the team sheets for those matches it appears u werent on either on the dogs lists in their better matches this year!! id hate to called u a jinx, but didnt u play at benella last year too, before joinin tat, and we just spoke about how good they r goin now!
Grandale
29 Jun 2006, 17:21
I'm with you Juddy...let's talk about the Seymour Twos!!!
Big Roo Elliott turned one on against the Swans last week.
Samtrish
29 Jun 2006, 17:25
[QUOTE=TheJuddstarr#
well just looking at the team sheets for those matches it appears u werent on either on the dogs lists in their better matches this year!! id hate to called u a jinx, but didnt u play at benella last year too, before joinin tat, and we just spoke about how good they r goin now![/QUOTE]
Juddstarr, Tige19 was injured all last year and didn't play a game for Benalla got injured before even the pre seasons games if my memory serves me correct. Also for once I agree with Footyboss about the talk about 2nds on this thread.
Who are the whispered in trying to lure across Doona, It may be true, just not sure on who though. Maybe whippet after his goal kicking exploits recently.:D
As for the person that said Freddy camereon fit, I would love to see that. Very good player and can drink a fair amount of beer. Just sits there and smiles the whole time like his upto something shifty.
As for you Juddstarr, if you can give us a topic to talk about, then we will. If not and only have stupid things to post like that last one, p i s s off back to your bedroom as your dog needs its assed licked again, you peasant.
Dunno who mate, just spoke with a guy at lunchtime who spoke with a work colleague in Euroa and was told this, thats all.
chrisOduz u-turns
29 Jun 2006, 20:46
yeah good call juddy:thumbsd: i think you should shut that yap of yours and
p i ss bak over to west coast ya piece a sh*t
chrisOduz u-turns
29 Jun 2006, 20:57
Just you mate. Part of senior footy is reserves footy. With the amount of injuries this year for all teams, as well as players going in and out of form, reserves footy is playin a big part of GV with the number of boy's moving back and forth between 1's and 2's. its a forum to talk about footy.... if your just plain sick of hearing about euroa, go to the 'official u18 gvfl thread', you wont read about euroa in there! :(
ready to get bak on the footy scene this satdy kanye? after wat i heard was a rather quiet weekend off for you:D
Go Cohuna
29 Jun 2006, 21:05
ready to get bak on the footy scene this satdy kanye? after wat i heard was a rather quiet weekend off for you:D
Hey guys can anyone tell me why Danny Stevens left Tatura is gary stevens still there he is one of teh toughest players i have ever seen.
well just looking at the team sheets for those matches it appears u werent on either on the dogs lists in their better matches this year!! id hate to called u a jinx, but didnt u play at benella last year too, before joinin tat, and we just spoke about how good they r goin now!
Ive missed 3 games this year 2 because of broken ribs and the Mansfield game because of a tragedy in my family, im hoping that im not the jinx but if the results continue then i might have to throw it in for the teams sake........ although id like to think were a better side if im playing, i might be wrong hahaha.
Benalla where a really good side last year, they have just improved a heap this year. I think it would be a damn good effort if anyone on Bigfooty could name a list of players running around in any league in Victoria that are better than Benallas, they are absoloutley awesome all over the park.
Anyway some good games this week, if we can field a bit better side than last week then we are a chance to knock over Ky, heres hoping.
cheers
Sippawitz
30 Jun 2006, 09:40
Hey guys can anyone tell me why Danny Stevens left Tatura is gary stevens still there he is one of teh toughest players i have ever seen.
Gary Stevens is Playing for Waaia in the Picola league
TheFreakyPenguin
30 Jun 2006, 12:08
TheFreakyPenguin says Juddstarr couldnt lick his dogs arse because that would be insest (same mother, different unkle)....
fat back pocket
30 Jun 2006, 12:48
I'm with you Juddy...let's talk about the Seymour Twos!!!
Big Roo Elliott turned one on against the Swans last week.
How's the knee Grandale?
Here's a couple of things re: seymour two's...it will come out in the wash anyway if people check the transfers...two new notable additions...
Mark Salakowski will make a return to the den after a fair while, been playing in bendigo, decided this will be it, and wanted to end with his original club.
And as Mr. Perry correctly informed us a few weeks back, Seymour has just signed former Bullants player, Luke Stevenson. Stevo is just training at the minute, pretty busy with work. Will play down the track if he has time and feels up to it...but he is on the Lions list.
Three handy mid season pick ups...not really going to affect the seniors a great deal. All 3 happy to just run around in the ressies, enjoy their footy.
Duff Man
30 Jun 2006, 13:39
This post won't appeal to the likes of TheJuddstarr#3, however thought I would highlight some of the close games we can expect in the Ressies this weekend:-
Mooroopna v Euroa (4th / 6th) and only 2 points separating them. I'll give Euroa the nod as their player stocks are improving week by week with blokes coming back from injury.
Echuca v Seymour (5th / 2nd) and just one game between them on the ladder. Echuca are always hard to beat at home, but I think Seymour will win in a close game.
Benalla v United (3rd / 1st). Form says United as they are yet to drop a game, but it is very difficult for a side to go through a whole season undefeated. I'm tipping Benalla to end United's winning streak.
Kyabram v Tatura (12th / 9th). Ladder position and 10 points ahead would suggest Tat, but similar to United, it is unusual to go through a season without at least winning 1 game. The road trip will take it's toll on the Tat boys, and I'm saying Ky will win their first game of the year. (I should mention Ky have had a draw against Mooroopna a few weeks back, but that's not a real win).
Shepparton v Rochester (8th v 11th). Only 2 games separating them, but Rochy have the lowest percentage in the 2's indicating they struggle to kick goals as well as stopping them being scored at the other end. Shepparton by 6 goals.
Mansfield v Swans (10th / 7th). Wouldn't matter if you were playing hop-scotch, any game at Mansfield is a tough gig. The big question here is will Marc Bullen play for the Swans on the weekend, and will they run him through the 2's for his first game. If Bullen plays 2's the Swans win by 12 goals, if he doesn't the Swans still get home but only by 3 goals.
So there you go Juddy, my predictions for this weekends Ressies games. Hope you can get along early to follow your clubs 2's, and maybe even honk the horn every now and again when the boys do something good. I think they call that supporting your CLUB - not just the seniors.
Brilliant post Duff Man:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Good to see Seymour attracting some of the older stars back to their club! There must be a pretty good feeling down there ATM, although i'd love nothing more than for the pies to upset that feeling later in the year.
FBP, how old would Salakowski be now? Would he be no chance to play seniors?
vote for pedro
30 Jun 2006, 14:58
Fellas,
United reserves are going to stack their 2's tomorrow for the big grudge match against the saints. 4 seniors have been 'released' to the resys to run riot!
Mark this quote; Ash Round to bag 5 goals!
chriso duz u-turns- great comment on Juddy!!!
Ive missed 3 games this year 2 because of broken ribs and the Mansfield game because of a tragedy in my family, im hoping that im not the jinx but if the results continue then i might have to throw it in for the teams sake........ although id like to think were a better side if im playing, i might be wrong hahaha.
Benalla where a really good side last year, they have just improved a heap this year. I think it would be a damn good effort if anyone on Bigfooty could name a list of players running around in any league in Victoria that are better than Benallas, they are absoloutley awesome all over the park.
Anyway some good games this week, if we can field a bit better side than last week then we are a chance to knock over Ky, heres hoping.
cheers
Yeah I have to agree Benalla have one of the best lists in the league and would be scary with Symes to come back. But what about Seymour's list? They are probably better and have way more depth, way more. They do not even have any ex AFL stars like Benalla do. No weakness, have rarely had their best team on the park and yet they keep winning. And Euroa are just as good. Mooroopna has great players, but their depth is a little thin. Same with the Swans. At this stage, the GF will be between these 4 teams, who makes it and wins it is anybody's guess. I'll just toss a coin!!! Any takers??!!!
Ahbroke Miandad
30 Jun 2006, 17:17
How's the knee Grandale?
Here's a couple of things re: seymour two's...it will come out in the wash anyway if people check the transfers...two new notable additions...
Mark Salakowski will make a return to the den after a fair while, been playing in bendigo, decided this will be it, and wanted to end with his original club.
And as Mr. Perry correctly informed us a few weeks back, Seymour has just signed former Bullants player, Luke Stevenson. Stevo is just training at the minute, pretty busy with work. Will play down the track if he has time and feels up to it...but he is on the Lions list.
Three handy mid season pick ups...not really going to affect the seniors a great deal. All 3 happy to just run around in the ressies, enjoy their footy.
Actually thought the Lions were over the line in the Twos until I hear this news about Salakowski returning. He could be the undoing of the Lions' Twos.
I wonder how all the blokes from Seymour that bag him mercilessly behind his back will now react. You have to ask whether they really want a bloke playing for them that has walked out on the club twice before.
As for this piffle about blokes coming out of the woodwork to finishing their careers at their original club, what a load of cr*p!!! If they liked Seymour that much they would have been around when the club was struggling.
And let's not even go into the fact these has-beens are taking the spots of either A) - a young kid, or B) - someone that did stick around when the Lions were terrible and deprive them of their rightful place in the side.
Best of luck Lions, you're going to need it!
centreman
30 Jun 2006, 17:54
Danny quit Tatura because he found it a very difficult club to coach with too many outside influences. Also because he had a job transfer in Sydney in the wings which eventuated a couple of weeks after he joined Shepparton United. He played a few games there and is now in Steak and Kidney.
scooby-doo
30 Jun 2006, 18:24
from wat i see opn the local efc site, euroa ressies has a fairly handy side named, a lot of players that have played senior footy this year, they also have a fair bit of experience with some old heads amongst them. Will be very interesting to see how the seniors go against the cats. should b a very close and exciting game, may just come down to who handles the wet pill better.
Also noticed that one S. Whitelaw has been scrubbed out for the game this weekend, how do u feel about this whip? could be a fair weekend on the XXXX and cancer sticks! From wat ppl were sayin i thought the mullet was in form.
Good to hear posts from ChrisO and kanye, yeah good boys!!!!!!
TuskenRaider
30 Jun 2006, 19:19
This from the Shepparton Swans website:
Haven't seen any other posts here with this article. Someone earlier mentioned it was the Swans or Mooroopna and that the Swans were the ones.
Think the Swans are pretty confident now Bullen's on board.
29-6-2006
Bullen Signs With Swans
Former Essendon on-baller Marc Bullen signed this week to play for the Shepparton Swans for the remainder of the 2006 GVFL season.
The clearance papers were lodged with the GVFL in the middle of the week with the clearance expected to be finalised by Friday.
The 23 year old put pen to paper this week after walking out on the Port Adelaide Magpies in the SANFL due to personal reasons.
After being selected by Essendon with the 63rd pick at the 2000 National Draft, Bullen managed 44 games in five seasons with the Bombers before he was delisted at the end of last year.
In his first year at Essendon Bullen won the Best & Fairest award for the club in the 2001 VFL competition.
However, in an attempt to reignite his AFL career Bullen chose to play in the South Australian National Football League this year before informing the Magpies of his intentions to head home last week.
"It's been great playing for Port Adelaide," Bullen said.
"But as you may or may not know, my Dad's fairly sick at the moment and I'm coming home to look after him.
"He's my number one priority."
Prior to being drafted Bullen completed his schooling at Notre Dame College in Shepparton and played football for Congupna and the Murray Bushrangers where he was co-captain in 2000.
Wayne Weideman
30 Jun 2006, 19:40
Danny quit Tatura because he found it a very difficult club to coach with too many outside influences. Also because he had a job transfer in Sydney in the wings which eventuated a couple of weeks after he joined Shepparton United. He played a few games there and is now in Steak and Kidney.
what does danny stevens do for a job?
Actually thought the Lions were over the line in the Twos until I hear this news about Salakowski returning. He could be the undoing of the Lions' Twos.
I wonder how all the blokes from Seymour that bag him mercilessly behind his back will now react. You have to ask whether they really want a bloke playing for them that has walked out on the club twice before.
As for this piffle about blokes coming out of the woodwork to finishing their careers at their original club, what a load of cr*p!!! If they liked Seymour that much they would have been around when the club was struggling.
And let's not even go into the fact these has-beens are taking the spots of either A) - a young kid, or B) - someone that did stick around when the Lions were terrible and deprive them of their rightful place in the side.
Best of luck Lions, you're going to need it!
I reckon you're holding back Ahbroke - tell us what ya really think!!!
Sidey_87
1 Jul 2006, 19:29
what does danny stevens do for a job?
He's coaching ACT in u/18's i think, but not sure where he works.
Sidey_87
1 Jul 2006, 19:32
Echuca beat Seymour i hear?
In the wet conditions Echuca are a good side, they like it in close.
All other results went as expected :)
Sidey_87
1 Jul 2006, 19:34
Fellas,
United reserves are going to stack their 2's tomorrow for the big grudge match against the saints. 4 seniors have been 'released' to the resys to run riot!
Mark this quote; Ash Round to bag 5 goals!
chriso duz u-turns- great comment on Juddy!!!
Lol, someone from Benalla must have read this so they swapped their senior side with their reserves!
Echuca beat Seymour i hear?
In the wet conditions Echuca are a good side, they like it in close.
All other results went as expected :)
Geez the ladder is getting tight - one game seperates 4th (Benalla) and 9th (Shepp Bears), with Mansfield, United, Echuca & Euroa in amongst them.
Sidey_87
1 Jul 2006, 19:43
Geez the ladder is getting tight - one game seperates 4th (Benalla) and 9th (Shepp Bears), with Mansfield, United, Echuca & Euroa in amongst them.
I think you can expect Benalla to make it, along with Euroa.