View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

numba4
1 Jul 2006, 20:40
Can i ask why does everybody think Benalla will win the flag, just in general not having a dip at anybody but what is there reasons and key points that will get them over the line?

Harris00
2 Jul 2006, 01:47
Benalla are terrible - How did Joe Amad go today? Surely too slow and old to be palying.... He must be the weakness in that side?

head67
2 Jul 2006, 07:50
Who was at the Euroa/Moroopana game guys? My only info says the pies had their chances getting 20 odd pts up but couldn't put em away.And anyone who saw the two's might be able to tell me how some of their players returning from injuries went. A big win to the magoos with no
Whip:eek: Haydon Lamaro returns through the two's next week, is this right?

centreman
2 Jul 2006, 15:24
what does danny stevens do for a job?

Sales rep with Wayne Richardson Sales. Also the assistant coach of the NSW-ACT Under 18 team at the championships last week.

jazzy
2 Jul 2006, 15:42
was at the semour echuca game saturday and the lion's skills were pathetic. you expect a side of their quality to be alot better. wasn't just restricted to a few either, the whole side was guilty. It was the difference in the end, echuca were very good but seymour's turnovers cost them the game in the end. I think this will be joeys last year, looks very slow. I think he will struggle for a place if they can ever get a full team together. Reserves won pretty easy in the end after a good last quarter.

jazzy
2 Jul 2006, 16:02
anyone hear how badly tim hooper's injury is? was walking around with his arm in a sling. Will it affect his chances of playing representative footy?

spike dudley
2 Jul 2006, 19:40
Whats Pat Rattray's story? Has he been playing?

Doona2
2 Jul 2006, 20:24
Whats Pat Rattray's story? Has he been playing?

I think the big fella had some form of operation & I still reckon there's a spot there for him if he resumes in the near future. Slipped under a few guards during the '05 finals and again a Lions team with his height in it can stretch rival sides.

fat back pocket
2 Jul 2006, 23:59
I think the big fella had some form of operation & I still reckon there's a spot there for him if he resumes in the near future. Slipped under a few guards during the '05 finals and again a Lions team with his height in it can stretch rival sides.

The ratsnake was given all clear by the doc's to return in a month or so, can't imagine unless there were injuries in the ones that he will play too many ones games this year....but never say never.

Gladstone Small
3 Jul 2006, 11:50
Did Bullen play for the Swans on the weekend?

FOOTYBOSS
3 Jul 2006, 12:17
Who was at the Euroa/Moroopana game guys? My only info says the pies had their chances getting 20 odd pts up but couldn't put em away.And anyone who saw the two's might be able to tell me how some of their players returning from injuries went. A big win to the magoos with no
Whip:eek: Haydon Lamaro returns through the two's next week, is this right?
Was a very good game between Euroa and Mooroopna. The cats a very talented team this year and move the ball very well. Our side showed glimpses of form but lacked consistency, which has been our main problem all year. Hopefully we turn this around in coming weeks and we are starting to run out of time. We had our chances thats for sure.

The twos had a massive win. Which players would you like to know about? Hayden might be able play this week, all depends on how his body is feeling I guess.

More importantly it was good see our u/18s win their 1st game of the year.:D

FBP or even Doona, I hear Tim Hooper is out for the remainder of the season. If this is true, it would leave a big hole for the lions. A very good player and his run of HBF is a massive loss.

Grandale
3 Jul 2006, 12:26
Did Bullen play for the Swans on the weekend?

Yes he did. Sutherland was quoted in today's Shepp News saying he thought Bullen went well given he still didn't know most of the blokes he was playing with.

Grandale
3 Jul 2006, 12:29
Dear FBP, did Salakowski play on Saturday?
That Ahbroke character sure wasn't too complimentary towards him.
How has the news of his return been received at the Den?

head67
3 Jul 2006, 12:40
Was a very good game between Euroa and Mooroopna. The cats a very talented team this year and move the ball very well. Our side showed glimpses of form but lacked consistency, which has been our main problem all year. Hopefully we turn this around in coming weeks and we are starting to run out of time. We had our chances thats for sure.

The twos had a massive win. Which players would you like to know about? Hayden might be able play this week, all depends on how his body is feeling I guess.

More importantly it was good see our u/18s win their 1st game of the year.:D

FBP or even Doona, I hear Tim Hooper is out for the remainder of the season. If this is true, it would leave a big hole for the lions. A very good player and his run of HBF is a massive loss.How'd young Bomber look? Will he crack ones?

The Cat
3 Jul 2006, 12:49
How did Joe Amad go today? Surely too slow and old to be palying.... He must be the weakness in that side?

Joey might lack pace and is getting a bit long in the tooth, but he still finds the pill very regularly and uses it well. His biggest problem is his mouth. Got called to the 'sin bin' by Steve again on the weekend for giving away a 50m penalty. Seems to do that fairly often.

fat back pocket
3 Jul 2006, 12:54
FBP or even Doona, I hear Tim Hooper is out for the remainder of the season. If this is true, it would leave a big hole for the lions. A very good player and his run of HBF is a massive loss.

Dear FBP, did Salakowski play on Saturday?
That Ahbroke character sure wasn't too complimentary towards him.
How has the news of his return been received at the Den?

Not to sure Boss, didn't look good. Couldn't imagine he will be playing Vic Country, suppose we will know more in the coming days. Will leave a big hole, probably leading club B&F at the min.

Grandale, Sala didn't play on the weekend. Mixed feelings I suppose. All around the club know the circumstances in which he left a couple of years back, but in all honesty, he is a 200 game vet for the club no matter how you look at it, and we aren't ever going to refuse a player to come and play with us if thats what they want....except for maybe Johny Mac or Ricky Jackson.

He will add some depth to the club, as well as experience. I do believe he has been told he will have to earn a spot in the ressies tho. So he'l have to wait for injuries....probably picked a good time to come onboard considering our ever increasing injury list at the minute...think its up to 12 or 13 now.

BIGANT
3 Jul 2006, 12:54
How did Nathen Gillilands return to football go, i see he got amongst it with 3 goals...was that his own bright spot for the day !?

Doona2
3 Jul 2006, 13:22

Dunno Boss, Echuca a bit far of a trip for me, tying to spread meself and check out other sides whilst using my time off in 2006 to an advantage. Guys I spoke to weren't too sure how bad Hooper is but said more will be known today. Chipper Douglas be back this week FBP?

mike ockerts
3 Jul 2006, 15:11
Not to sure Boss, didn't look good. Couldn't imagine he will be playing Vic Country, suppose we will know more in the coming days. Will leave a big hole, probably leading club B&F at the min.

Grandale, Sala didn't play on the weekend. Mixed feelings I suppose. All around the club know the circumstances in which he left a couple of years back, but in all honesty, he is a 200 game vet for the club no matter how you look at it, and we aren't ever going to refuse a player to come and play with us if thats what they want....except for maybe Johny Mac or Ricky Jackson.

He will add some depth to the club, as well as experience. I do believe he has been told he will have to earn a spot in the ressies tho. So he'l have to wait for injuries....probably picked a good time to come onboard considering our ever increasing injury list at the minute...think its up to 12 or 13 now.

FBP, can you give me an update on roo elliot mate, i was up at echuca on sat and didnt see him line up in the magoos after playing very well at princess park last week

fat back pocket
3 Jul 2006, 16:07
FBP, can you give me an update on roo elliot mate, i was up at echuca on sat and didnt see him line up in the magoos after playing very well at princess park last week

Mike Ockerts..hehe...like it.

Yeah, Roo had to work on the weekend. Not sure how many more games he will miss between now and the end of the season, but i know he'll be back this week.

Pretty handy to have a bloke of his size with his ability running around the ressies...I suppose bailey will return in the next 2-3 weeks too. He will have to go through the ressies. Will be handy to have 2 blokes of their size in the magoo's.

fat back pocket
3 Jul 2006, 16:10
Dunno Boss, Echuca a bit far of a trip for me, tying to spread meself and check out other sides whilst using my time off in 2006 to an advantage. Guys I spoke to weren't too sure how bad Hooper is but said more will be known today. Chipper Douglas be back this week FBP?

Yeah, i suppose Dougo is the only bloke you would put up...although Dougo still wasn't at his blistering best on the weekend in the two's. does have that extra class so i'm sure he will slide straight back in nicely with the loss of hoops.

mike ockerts
3 Jul 2006, 16:30
Mike Ockerts..hehe...like it.

Yeah, Roo had to work on the weekend. Not sure how many more games he will miss between now and the end of the season, but i know he'll be back this week.

Pretty handy to have a bloke of his size with his ability running around the ressies...I suppose bailey will return in the next 2-3 weeks too. He will have to go through the ressies. Will be handy to have 2 blokes of their size in the magoo's.

thanks mate, bails will be a huge in for the boys, lets just hope thats it for the year with injuries for the big fella, i hope roo plays enough games to qualify for finals, he will be a huge bonus come september with his experience size and smarts:thumbsu:

fat back pocket
3 Jul 2006, 17:19
thanks mate, bails will be a huge in for the boys, lets just hope thats it for the year with injuries for the big fella, i hope roo plays enough games to qualify for finals, he will be a huge bonus come september with his experience size and smarts:thumbsu:

yeah, roo only needs one more game to qualify. Should be right to get that.

Doona2
3 Jul 2006, 17:22
Geez numbers at Kings Park must be picking up - with late additions to the playing list you wouldnt be missing too many training runs as competition for a spot in the two's would be hotting up also Id imagine!!!

Duff Man
3 Jul 2006, 17:24
This post won't appeal to the likes of TheJuddstarr#3, however thought I would highlight some of the close games we can expect in the Ressies this weekend:-

Mooroopna v Euroa (4th / 6th) and only 2 points separating them. I'll give Euroa the nod as their player stocks are improving week by week with blokes coming back from injury.

Echuca v Seymour (5th / 2nd) and just one game between them on the ladder. Echuca are always hard to beat at home, but I think Seymour will win in a close game.

Benalla v United (3rd / 1st). Form says United as they are yet to drop a game, but it is very difficult for a side to go through a whole season undefeated. I'm tipping Benalla to end United's winning streak.

Kyabram v Tatura (12th / 9th). Ladder position and 10 points ahead would suggest Tat, but similar to United, it is unusual to go through a season without at least winning 1 game. The road trip will take it's toll on the Tat boys, and I'm saying Ky will win their first game of the year. (I should mention Ky have had a draw against Mooroopna a few weeks back, but that's not a real win).

Shepparton v Rochester (8th v 11th). Only 2 games separating them, but Rochy have the lowest percentage in the 2's indicating they struggle to kick goals as well as stopping them being scored at the other end. Shepparton by 6 goals.

Mansfield v Swans (10th / 7th). Wouldn't matter if you were playing hop-scotch, any game at Mansfield is a tough gig. The big question here is will Marc Bullen play for the Swans on the weekend, and will they run him through the 2's for his first game. If Bullen plays 2's the Swans win by 12 goals, if he doesn't the Swans still get home but only by 3 goals.

So there you go Juddy, my predictions for this weekends Ressies games. Hope you can get along early to follow your clubs 2's, and maybe even honk the horn every now and again when the boys do something good. I think they call that supporting your CLUB - not just the seniors.

I don't normally like to brag, but I've picked 6 out of 6 here which includes Shepp Uniteds first loss for the year, as well as Kyabrams first win. Pretty happy with that.

Can't say the same about the seniors however. While I didn't post them on BF, I didn't pick Echuca, Mooroopna or Shepp United.

ECHUCABOY
3 Jul 2006, 17:37
My God its quiet on BigFooty this week, could it possible have something to do with the unbeatables getting done on the weekend.....?

You Beaudy! Get on the Echuca Bandwagon while theres still room!

What happened to the Lions, did they show NOHeart????

spike dudley
3 Jul 2006, 18:43
Would it be a fair assesment to say Echuca beating Seymour was a massive upset? Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

Euroa definatly had the class to beat Mooropona but made some silly desicions with selections and ultimalty paid the price. Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

ECHUCABOY
3 Jul 2006, 21:23
Would it be a fair assesment to say Echuca beating Seymour was a massive upset? Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

Euroa definatly had the class to beat Mooropona but made some silly desicions with selections and ultimalty paid the price. Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

When your up against a top side like moroopna you dont bring your top players in through the twos. You roll the dice because you know they've performed against the top sides before. Its not the time to be giving blokes a go, who aren't up to it or haven't proven themselves ahead of proven players.

half time lollies
4 Jul 2006, 10:23
Keep your eye on Euroa as they are the sleeping giants of the comp.

You had better wake them up spike coz there are a lot of sides fighting for finals spots!

Doozy_Man
4 Jul 2006, 10:39
Been hearing news over from Adelaide that young Archard is favourite to take out the medal. Not sure how true this is but a bloody fair effort if my spies are correct.

ANTJESS - Can you fill me in on how Benny Anderson is going over West?

ANT JESS
4 Jul 2006, 11:42
Been hearing news over from Adelaide that young Archard is favourite to take out the medal. Not sure how true this is but a bloody fair effort if my spies are correct.

From what I hear Benny has had a fairly up and down season, has had a few injuries which resulted in him playing a few games in the 2's. He did however break back into the senior side a few weeks back, only to be reported/suspended for striking (Total accident according to his dad, he he). Was due to play again at the weekend but not sure how he went, I see the side lost by 4 goals.

Were strong rumours that big Benny would be back in the yellow & black in 07, but I also hear that he may have overseas ambitions.

journeyman
4 Jul 2006, 11:56
From what I hear Benny has had a fairly up and down season, has had a few injuries which resulted in him playing a few games in the 2's. He did however break back into the senior side a few weeks back, only to be reported/suspended for striking (Total accident according to his dad, he he). Was due to play again at the weekend but not sure how he went, I see the side lost by 4 goals.

Were strong rumours that big Benny would be back in the yellow & black in 07, but I also hear that he may have overseas ambitions.

Benny had a very good game on the weekend. One of his best for the season I think.

West Perth obviously hold him in pretty high regard as they bought him stright back into the league team after three weeks off. He's pretty important to West Perth's finals ambitions

no left foot
4 Jul 2006, 12:32
Did anyone hear about Saad Saad getting cleaned up when leading out for a mark. Echuca's Halloran running back the other way and fair dinkum nailed him. Took Saad a good few minutes to get up, got fifty meters and took his shot from the goal line. kicked a mongral punt just left of the man on the mark was obviously still very dazed. Was a good effort to get up and have his kick as was a big hit.

tugga177
4 Jul 2006, 12:47
That post was less interesting than sunday morning tv no left foot. something a little more interesting to those magpie fans is that one of our very finest not mentioning any names (BOSS) has been linked to discussions with a former club who are very keen to capture his services and anyone he can lure with him. will we see a mass exodus from the nest? only time will tell. STAY TUNED!!!!!

Snakeman66
4 Jul 2006, 13:21

Not sure if he is a favourite to take out the medal however here is a list of the leading possession getters in this SANFL for those who are interested.

POSSESSIONS
PLAYER TEAM POSSESSIONS
Brett James Norwood 355
Jade Sheedy Sturt 347
Scott Borlace Norwood 326
James Gallagher Norwood 319
Ben Haynes West Adelaide 318
Scott McGlone South Adelaide 315
Rhys Archard South Adelaide 310
Stephen Kenna South Adelaide 308
Brett Backwell Glenelg 303
Matthew Slade Central District 300

centreman
4 Jul 2006, 13:40
Can someone who has more time on their hands than me run a finals projections spot . . .

Mooroopna - safe
Seymour - safe
Swans - should finish 3, 4 or 5
Benalla - should finish 3, 4 or 5

By my reckoning

MANSFIELD
UNITED
ECHUCA
EUROA
SHEPPARTON

Are fighting for the last two places and the Eagles have got a game up their sleeve.

I say Benalla is safe and not Mansfield because surely the Saints have too much firepower to be ignored. They'll write off the weekends performance I'd reckon.

If the Demons are to make it you'd think they'd have to win at least two of the big games are Shepp v United, Echuca v United, Euroa v United.
Bears are a chance but with games against Swans, Mansfield, Benalla and Seymour they'll find it tough.

Can someone work out the run home. For each team. And what will get you in the six 10 wins or 11 this year?

FOOTYBOSS
4 Jul 2006, 13:48

I think you will find spike that Gibson played in the reserves the week before against Shepparton, so he wasnt rushed back. Gilliland spent the whole summer playing in the Northern territory League, so to bring him straight back was justified as the lay off did him good then harm. He got to rest the body. Did well considering he kicked 3. As for Clarke, why wouldnt you bring your number 1 ruckman straight back in. Plus being such a big game you would always choose your stars rather then giving people a run to see if they are upto it. We just got outclassed by a very good team in the lst quarter, simple as that. It wasnt due to fitness.

JimCarter
4 Jul 2006, 13:54
That post was less interesting than sunday morning tv no left foot. something a little more interesting to those magpie fans is that one of our very finest not mentioning any names (BOSS) has been linked to discussions with a former club who are very keen to capture his services and anyone he can lure with him. will we see a mass exodus from the nest? only time will tell. STAY TUNED!!!!!

Apparently he was seen having dinner with the president of his former club last week...

head67
4 Jul 2006, 14:04
Apparently he was seen having dinner with the president of his former club last week...Apparently!! Seen this while going past ringing ya bell Jim? Or you heard this?

Doozy_Man
4 Jul 2006, 14:09
Did anyone hear about Saad Saad getting cleaned up when leading out for a mark. Echuca's Halloran running back the other way and fair dinkum nailed him. Took Saad a good few minutes to get up, got fifty meters and took his shot from the goal line. kicked a mongral punt just left of the man on the mark was obviously still very dazed. Was a good effort to get up and have his kick as was a big hit.

PPHH - Who cares no left foot? Obviously you play for Echuca as you can remember what happened step by step.

JimCarter
4 Jul 2006, 14:19
Apparently!! Seen this while going past ringing ya bell Jim? Or you heard this?

Yes thats what I said ya jacka rse. Nah sorry I've been given the sack from my bell ringing duties..

Duff Man
4 Jul 2006, 14:24
Can someone who has more time on their hands than me run a finals projections spot . . .

Mooroopna - safe
Seymour - safe
Swans - should finish 3, 4 or 5
Benalla - should finish 3, 4 or 5

By my reckoning

MANSFIELD
UNITED
ECHUCA
EUROA
SHEPPARTON

Are fighting for the last two places and the Eagles have got a game up their sleeve.

I say Benalla is safe and not Mansfield because surely the Saints have too much firepower to be ignored. They'll write off the weekends performance I'd reckon.

If the Demons are to make it you'd think they'd have to win at least two of the big games are Shepp v United, Echuca v United, Euroa v United.
Bears are a chance but with games against Swans, Mansfield, Benalla and Seymour they'll find it tough.

Can someone work out the run home. For each team. And what will get you in the six 10 wins or 11 this year?

I haven't got heaps of time on my hands either centremen, but happy to help out with the run home and someone else can have a crack at it.

Mansfield - Seymour (a), Benalla (h), Kyabram (a), Shepp (h), Mooroopna (a), Echuca (h), Euroa (a), United (h).

United - Kyabram (h), Shepp (h), Mooroopna (a), Echuca (h), Euroa (a), Rochy (h), Tatura (a), Mansfield (a).

Echuca - Euroa (a), Rochy (a), Tatura (h), United (a), Swans (h), Mansfield (a), Benalla (h), Mooroopna (a).

Stuff this. This is gonna take longer than I thought. Someone elses turn!

FOOTYBOSS
4 Jul 2006, 15:02
Lets just worry about getting through the remainder of this year please tugga before we talk about whos playing where next year. Its going to be a very tough last 8 weeks leading into finals without having to worry about that sort of bull s h i t going on.

jazzy
4 Jul 2006, 17:09
hey echuca boy, seymour's heart can never be questioned. Their skills on saturday were very costly. time after time the kicked to a contest or coughed it up across half forward and lacked any real movement. Hopefully it was just a bad day and they will come out firing against the eagles on saturday

scooby-doo
4 Jul 2006, 17:19
Lets just worry about getting through the remainder of this year please tugga before we talk about whos playing where next year. Its going to be a very tough last 8 weeks leading into finals without having to worry about that sort of bull s h i t going on.

Very true BOSS, too early to start talking about wats gunna happen in the off season. Let everyone focus on playin where they are adn i'm sure discussions will heat up as soon as the final 6 is worked out. If players want to leave a club, its their decision in the end. just let em go....

scooby-doo
4 Jul 2006, 17:24
Euroa set themself up for there loss to Mooropona when they included the likes of Gilliland, Clarke and gibson straight back into the seniors. Surely these blokes werent match fit and it showed in the last quarter. In my opinion they woulda have been better off having a few weeks in the reserves and preparing for the rigours of senior footy again.

In saying this spike, who would you have put up? Or would you have left the team unchanged from the week before? Surely experience counts when a team like Euroa will need to do anything and everything in making the finals this year and playing players of that calaber would have added more depth to the side. Didn't Rory Hilton go straight back in also? would you have played him through the two's as well? cheers spike......

bradrowe#32
4 Jul 2006, 21:05
Well it looks like it might be an early finish for my beloved Rochester in 2006. Clearly, they are not in the same class as most of the teams in the league. That's just the way the cookie crumbles. They haven't missed the finals since 1996 (thanks for pointing that out, The Deledio News) and they really should've taken their opportunities to win flags when they were there.

However, it's not all doom and gloom. There are quite a few good youngsters that should become good players in the next few years.

journeyman
5 Jul 2006, 10:26
Well it looks like it might be an early finish for my beloved Rochester in 2006. Clearly, they are not in the same class as most of the teams in the league. That's just the way the cookie crumbles. They haven't missed the finals since 1996 (thanks for pointing that out, The Deledio News) and they really should've taken their opportunities to win flags when they were there.

However, it's not all doom and gloom. There are quite a few good youngsters that should become good players in the next few years.

First time since 96 is a great effort for any club let alone one that has such a small population.

Would 2006 and 96 be the only times Rochy hasn't made the finals since Williams started coaching?

You talk about the young blokes coming on but what are the chances of Anderson, McCarty x 2, Rasmussen x 2, Campbell and Watson returning?

T.Perry
5 Jul 2006, 11:07
First time since 96 is a great effort for any club let alone one that has such a small population.

Would 2006 and 96 be the only times Rochy hasn't made the finals since Williams started coaching?

You talk about the young blokes coming on but what are the chances of Anderson, McCarty x 2, Rasmussen x 2, Campbell and Watson returning?

In response to your first question, I think it's only the 3rd time they haven't made it in his 17 year reign..

There's been a bit of talk already about the gun players you talk of, who may or may not return..From what I've heard Benny Anderson, Jeremy Campbell and Chris McCarty are all planning on extended periods overseas..there is also talk that Campbell might get dirty's gig next year, but I can't see it happening, one because like I said, he's likely to go os, and the other because he lives in Melb...Unsure exactly what the Rasmussen's are going to do in 07 - Ry is still retired, and doing a fantastic job of cooking the bbq's at training on Thursday nights, Steve now obviously has a lot of ties at Rushworth, but obviously does still have some at Rochy and only lives 500m from their ground...I'd imagine Tim will play wherever Steve does next year.. I also couldn't see Sime McCarty going back coz he works in Echuca and is prob getting 3-4 times the $ he'd get at Rochy...

But if 2-3 of those blokes did go back to Rochy in 07, word is it would be highly likely that Ash Watson would head back there, as well..

But, let's be honest, there's still 2-3 months left of this footy season and then another 3-5 months after that before we'll actually know what's going on..

bradrowe#32
5 Jul 2006, 12:45
In response to your first question, I think it's only the 3rd time they haven't made it in his 17 year reign..

There's been a bit of talk already about the gun players you talk of, who may or may not return..From what I've heard Benny Anderson, Jeremy Campbell and Chris McCarty are all planning on extended periods overseas..there is also talk that Campbell might get dirty's gig next year, but I can't see it happening, one because like I said, he's likely to go os, and the other because he lives in Melb...Unsure exactly what the Rasmussen's are going to do in 07 - Ry is still retired, and doing a fantastic job of cooking the bbq's at training on Thursday nights, Steve now obviously has a lot of ties at Rushworth, but obviously does still have some at Rochy and only lives 500m from their ground...I'd imagine Tim will play wherever Steve does next year.. I also couldn't see Sime McCarty going back coz he works in Echuca and is prob getting 3-4 times the $ he'd get at Rochy...

But if 2-3 of those blokes did go back to Rochy in 07, word is it would be highly likely that Ash Watson would head back there, as well..

But, let's be honest, there's still 2-3 months left of this footy season and then another 3-5 months after that before we'll actually know what's going on..

All very good points Mr Perry.

It will be good to sit back and take in the action. I think Seymour are still the team to beat. Euroa will surely come good again and the improvement of Shepp. Swans, Mooroopna and Benalla make it an interesting comp. I can't see any other team giving it a shake.

Duff Man
5 Jul 2006, 14:16
I've finally been able to have a crack at what the final six will look like. I've gone through the last 8 rounds and marked down who I think will win in each of those games. This is how it looks through my eyes:-

Mooroopna
Seymour
Swans
Euroa
Benalla
Mansfield

By my calculations, you would need 11 wins to be assured of a place in the final 6, however I'm trying to predict games with 8 rounds to go, so at the very least I reckon you would want 10 wins and a good percentage.

This would see United, Echuca & Bears missing out, and I think most of us would agree they are the likely candidates as the ladder stands at the moment.

I've got Euroa as the big movers (they are currently 8th), but they are getting back to full strength and I don't think they will lose too many games in the run home.

T.Perry
5 Jul 2006, 14:47
I've finally been able to have a crack at what the final six will look like. I've gone through the last 8 rounds and marked down who I think will win in each of those games. This is how it looks through my eyes:-

Mooroopna
Seymour
Swans
Euroa
Benalla
Mansfield

By my calculations, you would need 11 wins to be assured of a place in the final 6, however I'm trying to predict games with 8 rounds to go, so at the very least I reckon you would want 10 wins and a good percentage.

This would see United, Echuca & Bears missing out, and I think most of us would agree they are the likely candidates as the ladder stands at the moment.

I've got Euroa as the big movers (they are currently 8th), but they are getting back to full strength and I don't think they will lose too many games in the run home.

Good effort Duff :thumbsu: That seems like a pretty accurate reflection of where sides would likely finish at the moment...

So, with a top 6, that means that IF the teams finished in the places you suggest, Benalla would play Euroa in an elimination final in the first week of finals? That would be a classic encounter, and both sides would give themselves a good chance of going on if they got over the first hurdle..

And IF they finish as you say, you'd think it'd be more likely to be a seymour v cats GF..

pete_mitchell
5 Jul 2006, 15:04
Mooroopna 32 (8)- Rochy (A) Tatura (A) United (H) Swans (A) Mansfield (H) Benalla (A) Kyabram (H) Echuca (H)

Seymour 32 (8)- Mansfield (H) Euroa (H) Benalla (A) Rochy (H) Kyabram (A) Tatura (H) Shepparton (H) Swans (H)

Swans 28 (7)- Benalla (H) Kyabram (H) Shepparton (A) Mooroopna (H) Echuca (A) Euroa (H) Rochester (A) Seymour (A)

Benalla 24 (6)- Swans (A) Mansfield (A)Seymour (H) Kyabram (H) Shepparton (A) Mooroopna (H) Echuca (A) Tatura (H)

Mansfield 24 (6)- Seymour (A) Benalla (H) Kyabram (A) Shepparton (H) Mooroopna (A) Echuca (H) Euroa (A) United (H)

United 20 (5)- Kyabram (H) Shepparton (H) Mooroopna (A) Echuca (H) Euroa (A) Rochester (H) Tatura (A) Mansfield (A)

Echuca 20 (5)- Euroa (A) Rochester (A) Tatura (H) United (A) Swans (H) Mansfield (A) Benalla (H) Mooroopna (A)

Euroa 20 (5)- Echuca (H) Seymour (A) Rochy (H) Tatura (A) United (H) Swans (A) Mansfield (H) Shepparton (A)

Shepparton 20 (5)- Tatura (A) United (A) Swans (H) Mansfield (A) Benalla (H) Kyabram (A) Seymour (A) Euroa (H)

Very very hard to predict finals contenders at this stage. Talk is cheap as we found out by two upsets on the weekend, in Benalla getting thumped by united, and Lions upstaged by a defiant Echuca.

You would say Mooroopna, Swans and Seymour are going to play finals, the rest still have the chance to make or break. The next 4 weeks will be interesting. Many of the teams fighting for spots play each other...killer blows to finals chances will be felt...could mean some heated matches as teams finals chances go out the door if they lose.

Duff Man, Euroa could be the bogey team for the three teams you think will miss as euroa play them all. Could these teams be the downfall of your mob?

Euroa seem to have a good draw to mapping their finals destiny.

head67
5 Jul 2006, 18:51
Thats good work Pete. If the top 2 win 6 of their last 8 which then leaves the top unchanged. Euroa were rated a 6/4 chance at the start of season but drifted badly due to injury. With a full side you would think they can win 6 also, and if they sneak home against either of these 2 top 4 is a chance. Bit of a conundrum!! Will be a very interesting last 8. Any other theorys?

JimCarter
6 Jul 2006, 06:41
Thats good work Pete. If the top 2 win 6 of their last 8 which then leaves the top unchanged. Euroa were rated a 6/4 chance at the start of season but drifted badly due to injury. With a full side you would think they can win 6 also, and if they sneak home against either of these 2 top 4 is a chance. Bit of a conundrum!! Will be a very interesting last 8. Any other theorys?

Yeah, my theory is that if you should lose the Warrick Capper look from that pumpkin you call a head, strathbogie may sneak into the top six... :rolleyes:

old saint
6 Jul 2006, 08:45
[quote=T.Perry]In response to your first question, I think it's only the 3rd time they haven't made it in his 17 year reign..

jeremy campbell is coaching blackburn with tim rasmussen his assistant in the eastern league and will be next year from what i have heard. so a return to rochy or a trip overseas is unlikely

head67
6 Jul 2006, 08:54
Yeah, my theory is that if you should lose the Warrick Capper look from that pumpkin you call a head, strathbogie may sneak into the top six... :rolleyes:At some stage Jim i'm going to work out who you really are.:eek: And then my "capper look" will not be as bad as your Bell shaped ass, or is that the reason you got the sack? Your spose to hold it with your hands Jim. You knob gobbling, sister swapping, mountain redneck.:eek: :D

JimCarter
6 Jul 2006, 09:35
At some stage Jim i'm going to work out who you really are.:eek: And then my "capper look" will not be as bad as your Bell shaped ass, or is that the reason you got the sack? Your spose to hold it with your hands Jim. You knob gobbling, sister swapping, mountain redneck.:eek: :D

:D

Most inteligent thing you've posted on here Head. :thumbsu:

They didnt nickname old Jim 'sh it carter' for nothing!!

Don't think you will work out who I am, as poor old Jim isnt even sure anymore...

T.Perry
6 Jul 2006, 10:31
jeremy campbell is coaching blackburn with tim rasmussen his assistant in the eastern league and will be next year from what i have heard. so a return to rochy or a trip overseas is unlikely

Correct old saint, about Jezza and Timmy being at Blackburn, and you're possibly right about Jezza staying there next year, but my mail suggests it is more likely that he will head os at the completion of this season, and at this stage has minimal intention of coaching at Blackburn...

I can almost assure you that Timmy Ras will be playing next year with his brother, Steve...where that will be I don't think anyone will know for certain til after xmas..

head67
6 Jul 2006, 11:13
:D

Most inteligent thing you've posted on here Head. :thumbsu:

They didnt nickname old Jim 'sh it carter' for nothing!!

Don't think you will work out who I am, as poor old Jim isnt even sure anymore...Say hello to Bomber when you see him Jim

JimCarter
6 Jul 2006, 11:40
Say hello to Bomber when you see him Jim

Bomber??

So are you still having a kick Head? Running round on your pigeon toes, sticking your chest out, mullet flowing, just like you did 20 years ago?? :rolleyes:

head67
6 Jul 2006, 13:11
Bomber??

So are you still having a kick Head? Running round on your pigeon toes, sticking your chest out, mullet flowing, just like you did 20 years ago?? :rolleyes:Sort of Jim. But now i don't run, my ass sticks out not my chest, and the mullet has been replaced with receeding #3.:D I still cant get a kick, that hasn't changed.

JimCarter
6 Jul 2006, 14:29
Sort of Jim. But now i don't run, my ass sticks out not my chest, and the mullet has been replaced with receeding #3.:D I still cant get a kick, that hasn't changed.

You said it, not me...
Wow, a crew cut - a very daring 'do' with a noggin like yours...
Been to see any longwood games lately?

Travvy43
6 Jul 2006, 14:40
If i am way behind the time here, i appologise, but has bullen signed with the Swans yet, if that is where he will end up??

Baba Ganoush
6 Jul 2006, 14:46
He played a reasonable, but not great match for them against Mansfield last week
Started on a back flank and spent some time on the ball

old saint
6 Jul 2006, 15:27
Correct old saint, about Jezza and Timmy being at Blackburn, and you're possibly right about Jezza staying there next year, but my mail suggests it is more likely that he will head os at the completion of this season, and at this stage has minimal intention of coaching at Blackburn...

I can almost assure you that Timmy Ras will be playing next year with his brother, Steve...where that will be I don't think anyone will know for certain til after xmas..

it would be a shame if he wasnt to coach the burners again next year, the scores so far this year show that they can mix it with most clubs and a 2nd year might be all he needs to take them into the finals. and from there how knows. i am good friends with jezza brother so i will chase up some info on his movements.

jmain14
6 Jul 2006, 19:09
well for both of our sakes trev lets hope that steve plays with the tigers next season. either rushy or rochy would please me however I'd prefer the latter.

jmain14
6 Jul 2006, 19:10
i am good friends with jezza brother so i will chase up some info on his movements.
what a great man the general is. has he died his hair yet??

tell him mainy said hi.

good luck for the burners for the rest of the season.

head67
6 Jul 2006, 19:46
You said it, not me...
Wow, a crew cut - a very daring 'do' with a noggin like yours...
Been to see any longwood games lately?Nah Jim. Have'nt seen a game of B&D since 88 but still check scores to see what's happening would hope the league continues.

head67
6 Jul 2006, 19:49
He played a reasonable, but not great match for them against Mansfield last week
Started on a back flank and spent some time on the ballDid'nt see the game did you Baba? If so, how'd Renoldson go.

chrisOduz u-turns
6 Jul 2006, 22:22
Yeah, my theory is that if you should lose the Warrick Capper look from that pumpkin you call a head, strathbogie may sneak into the top six... :rolleyes:

gettin smart in ya old age arnt ya jim! hows that big birds nest ya call a beard goin? im sure i saw you pull ya lunch out of it the other day while riding that cool lookin tricycle of yours:thumbsd: Not cool jim

No Heart
7 Jul 2006, 00:08
My God its quiet on BigFooty this week, could it possible have something to do with the unbeatables getting done on the weekend.....?

You Beaudy! Get on the Echuca Bandwagon while theres still room!

What happened to the Lions, did they show NOHeart????

Well said Echucaboy , I will always pay credit where credit is due, now where do i start? Echuca was tough , hard , skilful and wanted to win more ? what can i say, no excuses from me, good on ya and i hope you now continue on and feature in the finals.

No Heart
7 Jul 2006, 00:19
Good effort Duff :thumbsu: That seems like a pretty accurate reflection of where sides would likely finish at the moment...

So, with a top 6, that means that IF the teams finished in the places you suggest, Benalla would play Euroa in an elimination final in the first week of finals? That would be a classic encounter, and both sides would give themselves a good chance of going on if they got over the first hurdle..

And IF they finish as you say, you'd think it'd be more likely to be a seymour v cats GF..

T Perry rumours going around you work with Stevie D. I have heard he is leaving next year, can you shed some light on where he might be heading.
The best Coach i have ever played under and i just wonder what will happen if he leaves, Tatura have made a huge attempt to get get him , is this true?

T.Perry
7 Jul 2006, 09:16
T Perry rumours going around you work with Stevie D. I have heard he is leaving next year, can you shed some light on where he might be heading.
The best Coach i have ever played under and i just wonder what will happen if he leaves, Tatura have made a huge attempt to get get him , is this true?

I wouldn't say that I work with Stevie, but about 6wks ago I did a 2wk stint working with him...no doubt he's a fantastic coach, and he's an even better bloke, but I wouldn't have a clue where he is likely to coach next year.. what makes you think I would be privvy to that kind of info?

All he ever really said was that he loves it at Seymour and he reckons it's an awesome club..

No doubt he'll get a lot of offers between now and xmas from prospective clubs, and whilst I don't have an intricate understanding of the workings at the Tatura FC, I'd imagine they'd be one club who would love to get Stevie on board, and would have the potential to make a big offer to him.. But I doubt if he left the lions that he'd coach against them, and he certainly never mentioned to me that any club had offered him anything..

T.Perry
7 Jul 2006, 09:19
well for both of our sakes trev lets hope that steve plays with the tigers next season. either rushy or rochy would please me however I'd prefer the latter.

Hey mainy - good to hear from you! Thought you might have gotten swept away in the euphoria of the world cup over there! No doubt both Rushy and Rochy will be working feverishly to regain the services of Stevie next year..

PS don't call me Trev you cheeky p r i c k - only on the money is entitled to that..

No Heart
7 Jul 2006, 10:39
I wouldn't say that I work with Stevie, but about 6wks ago I did a 2wk stint working with him...no doubt he's a fantastic coach, and he's an even better bloke, but I wouldn't have a clue where he is likely to coach next year.. what makes you think I would be privvy to that kind of info?

I just heard that you were working with him TP but wasnt sure how long etc. No doubt you guys would talk a bit of footy stuff and thought he might have mentioned one or two possible teams. From what i'm led to believe Tat haven't made any offer yet but will 'make it worth his while'.

Your right tho, cant see him coaching against the lions next year, and yes he is a top coach and ripper bloke. :thumbsu:

wheelbarrow
7 Jul 2006, 11:09
I just heard that you were working with him TP but wasnt sure how long etc. No doubt you guys would talk a bit of footy stuff and thought he might have mentioned one or two possible teams. From what i'm led to believe Tat haven't made any offer yet but will 'make it worth his while'.

Your right tho, cant see him coaching against the lions next year, and yes he is a top coach and ripper bloke. :thumbsu:

Amad, front runner for the top job in 07.
Barooga supposedly been sniffing around for him in 07.
Maybe after life style change is the scuttle butt.

wheelbarrow
7 Jul 2006, 11:10
Will Jar Jar Binks, AKA Meat Tray, AKA The Rat, AKA Patty, get back in 07 at all.?

T.Perry
7 Jul 2006, 11:24
Will Jar Jar Binks, AKA Meat Tray, AKA The Rat, AKA Patty, get back in 07 at all.?

I actually heard that big Patty Rattray was a chance to coach Avenel next year? Can you shed any light on this wheelbarrow?

Don't think Seymour would let him go easily after the bendigo bombers fiasco..

Grandale
7 Jul 2006, 12:13

Calder Cannons need a coach for next year. Could Stevie D be the man to take over from Bobby Hyde? That gig would be a lot more convenient for him than the Bushwhackers' job, which he was supposedly in the running for.

Doona2
7 Jul 2006, 13:18
Calder Cannons need a coach for next year. Could Stevie D be the man to take over from Bobby Hyde? That gig would be a lot more convenient for him than the Bushwhackers' job, which he was supposedly in the running for.

Great minds grandy, actually said a similar thing to a mate last week.

No Heart
7 Jul 2006, 13:47
Amad, front runner for the top job in 07.
Barooga supposedly been sniffing around for him in 07.
Maybe after life style change is the scuttle butt.

1. more likely haberman
2. barooga or nathalia sniffing around?
3. have also heard the 'sea change' rumour
4. i think your keyboard text is stuck on 'bold'. i can probably assist with that if you want to send a PM, or feel free to contact BF technical support on 1800 BIG FOOTY.

head67
7 Jul 2006, 14:40
gettin smart in ya old age arnt ya jim! hows that big birds nest ya call a beard goin? im sure i saw you pull ya lunch out of it the other day while riding that cool lookin tricycle of yours:thumbsd: Not cool jimA beard hey Jim! I will find out who you are Jim!!;)

JimCarter
7 Jul 2006, 15:52
A beard hey Jim! I will find out who you are Jim!!;)

You couldnt find a root in a brothel Head. You really do struggle...

head67
7 Jul 2006, 16:11
You couldnt find a root in a brothel Head. You really do struggle...Is that were you will be found Jim? Still having to pay for it, Jim? The onlt part i struggle with Jim is your lack of nuts!! You had none when you played. Twos in the B&D. My god Jim! And i struggle????:rolleyes:

JimCarter
7 Jul 2006, 17:56
Is that were you will be found Jim? Still having to pay for it, Jim? The onlt part i struggle with Jim is your lack of nuts!! You had none when you played. Twos in the B&D. My god Jim! And i struggle????:rolleyes:

Cant think of anything to write so you're repeating back stuff said to you. :thumbsu:
I've never actually played football ya jackarse. Town cryer duties and stealing jocks off peoples clothes lines keeps me busy...

On The Money
7 Jul 2006, 18:07
Hey mainy - good to hear from you! Thought you might have gotten swept away in the euphoria of the world cup over there! No doubt both Rushy and Rochy will be working feverishly to regain the services of Stevie next year..

PS don't call me Trev you cheeky p r i c k - only on the money is entitled to that..

Trevor, the strong word is that the Ras Reunion may take place at a little place called L More.....

scooby-doo
7 Jul 2006, 18:33
Is anyone else sick of reading this crap from jim carter and head67? this is a footy forum guys, so stop posting absolute drivel on here.

Swans vs Benalla and Seymour vs Mansfield, could there be any closer matches this weekend when viewed on paper, should be very entertaining footy with the games likely to b played much like finals footy; hard and fast with loads of pressure. Are there any key players back for seymour this week?

Junkie
7 Jul 2006, 18:40
Is that were you will be found Jim? Still having to pay for it, Jim? The onlt part i struggle with Jim is your lack of nuts!! You had none when you played. Twos in the B&D. My god Jim! And i struggle????:rolleyes:

You have been taken to the cleaners head.....I'd be searching for a white flag champ!!!!

You really have lost the plot in your old age;)

head67
7 Jul 2006, 19:57
You have been taken to the cleaners head.....I'd be searching for a white flag champ!!!!

You really have lost the plot in your old age;)
Passing the day at the factory Junkie.:) Can some one tell me if Lamaro is playing 2s tomorrow.

jmain14
7 Jul 2006, 20:24

haha sorry mate. pretty boring at work over here mate, need little entertaining things like that to keep me going.

yeah I did get a little caught up with the world cup I must admit, they bloody love it. had a date with maria sharapova last night. she was disappointed that she bowed out of the open y'day but she is holding up well all things considered.

jmain14
7 Jul 2006, 20:29
Trevor, the strong word is that the Ras Reunion may take place at a little place called L More.....
geez what a good snag that'd be for the bloods. would doubt that it could ever happen although tim has some very good mates playing out there so who knows. they are already on top of the table aren't they?? if they were to land them 2 they'd have to be just about unbeatable.

On The Money
7 Jul 2006, 21:25
geez what a good snag that'd be for the bloods. would doubt that it could ever happen although tim has some very good mates playing out there so who knows. they are already on top of the table aren't they?? if they were to land them 2 they'd have to be just about unbeatable.

Not this year next year. I think it would be a realistic chance of happening.

jmain14
7 Jul 2006, 23:25
Not this year next year. I think it would be a realistic chance of happening.
yeah sorry mate. I probably didn't word that one right. what I meant was that if they could retain all their players and recruit them 2 over the summer then they'd have to be close to an unbeatable outfit next season.

you seem reasonably confident that it could happen otm. to be honest it'd really surprise me.

jazzy
8 Jul 2006, 06:29
Is anyone else sick of reading this crap from jim carter and head67? this is a footy forum guys, so stop posting absolute drivel on here.

Swans vs Benalla and Seymour vs Mansfield, could there be any closer matches this weekend when viewed on paper, should be very entertaining footy with the games likely to b played much like finals footy; hard and fast with loads of pressure. Are there any key players back for seymour this week?
yeah heard there are 3 changes this week for seymour with adam reid, tim hooper and joe aamad out and bailey, douglas and brendan liddell in. Should strengthen the lions who have badly missed the inclusions this year. hooper and reid will be big losses. the lions will miss their run and drive!

koshy
8 Jul 2006, 10:01
I actually heard that big Patty Rattray was a chance to coach Avenel next year? Can you shed any light on this wheelbarrow?

Don't think Seymour would let him go easily after the bendigo bombers fiasco..

One on my mates that knows Patty said that he told him that he would coach Avenel and also that his mate Pearcy that plays at Stanhope would go with him but they reckon theres a bloke by the name of Shiner thats there and apparently hes the reason the club is s t u f f e d. Pat said he and Pearcy will never go back while he is at the club.

gta3
9 Jul 2006, 15:05
Robbie Douglas returning back to seymour 1s i thought seymour would be penciled in for a win, but they lost. How did the hairy man go?

Flat Track Bully
9 Jul 2006, 15:50
Any word on the dust-up in the Euroa-Echuca clash between Messers Sage and Hilton?

ringo1
9 Jul 2006, 17:41
usually look forward to seeing some results on a sunday fellas. could someone put up results, winners, goals etc. Thanks

spike dudley
9 Jul 2006, 18:48
[quote=Flat Track Bully]Any word on the dust-up in the Euroa-Echuca clash between Messers Sage and Hilton?

All the Euroa boys fight amoung themselves with the likes of Hilton, Grainger, and Sage the worst offenders. Makes you wonder if there is any correlational between the pies lack-lustre start to the season and the boys on the big coin not getting along.