View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Full Foward
8 Aug 2006, 18:50
Why not share your views on the final 6 first Full Forward you seem to think abusing everyone is fine when they disagree with you, so you must obviously know a fair bit about the GVFL??
ok i will start it off.
cats
swans
saints
lions
bears
pies
there is my 6. mansfield have a very hard run home and they might miss out. and the same goes for united and echuca.
Full Foward
8 Aug 2006, 18:53
Carl Lewis and Junkie, that barnsy is a bad man I'd take care. Full forward your mum is like a bowling ball the bitch hangs around in an alley, gets fingered by everyone, ends up in the gutter but the slapper still comes back for more
thats ok buddy. hope you can back urself up on the field if u still play. because u can talk but can u walk the walk.
footynuts99
8 Aug 2006, 18:56
Yes, and he also played with Bendigo in the VFL.
Ta mate.:thumbsu:
western star
8 Aug 2006, 20:48
Carl Lewis and Junkie, that barnsy is a bad man I'd take care. Full forward your mum is like a bowling ball the bitch hangs around in an alley, gets fingered by everyone, ends up in the gutter but the slapper still comes back for more
GOLD....
Sidey_87
8 Aug 2006, 21:14
ok i will start it off.
cats
swans
saints
lions
bears
pies
there is my 6. mansfield have a very hard run home and they might miss out. and the same goes for united and echuca.
Actually United play both Tat and Rochy.
Euroa would be an expected loss
Rochy win
Tat win
That means if United beat Mansfield in round 18 we make finals.
Also the Bears have a hard run home i believe.
My top 6 (i'm not goin through all the games so this is just a rough one.)
Mooroopna
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla
United
Swans
Watching the Coach
8 Aug 2006, 23:13
Can anybody give me some info on how Adrian Hickmott has been going up there.
Always thought he had what it takes to make a good coach.
Any thoughts?
pete_mitchell
9 Aug 2006, 10:01
Rochy win
Tat win
Mooroopna
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla
United
Swans
have to agree with you there sidey. I think the final spot in the 6 will be battled out in the final round between Mansfield and United. Should be a ripper game with a spot on the line for both sides.
2nd - 5th is going to be a fight to the final round...benalla have mooroopna, big game for them, a loss will open 2nd spot to euroa who have 3 winnable games and the swans, Seymour is in the same boat, 3 winnable games and the swans.
Shepparton could the bogey side of some finals aspirants.
Full Foward
9 Aug 2006, 15:50
have to agree with you there sidey. I think the final spot in the 6 will be battled out in the final round between Mansfield and United. Should be a ripper game with a spot on the line for both sides.
2nd - 5th is going to be a fight to the final round...benalla have mooroopna, big game for them, a loss will open 2nd spot to euroa who have 3 winnable games and the swans, Seymour is in the same boat, 3 winnable games and the swans.
Shepparton could the bogey side of some finals aspirants.
yea fair points umm wat about injurys around clubs and player avalibilty because in benalla symes wont play and mackenzie may not either after havin a run in wit the high rakie. players comin back into form and players wit injurys comin back from clubs would be good to no.
Peter The Legend
9 Aug 2006, 16:05
It is probably a relief that Grandale is spelling at the moment. His replacement in the number 30 takes hungry for goals to a new level. Anyway, we could find a space for you after all we have a fat back pocket, so why not a fat forward pocket. By the time you come back you will be eligible for super rules anyway!
blackbeard
9 Aug 2006, 16:08
yea fair points umm wat about injurys around clubs and player avalibilty because in benalla symes wont play and mackenzie may not either after havin a run in wit the high rakie. players comin back into form and players wit injurys comin back from clubs would be good to no.
Almost need an interpreter to figure whats going on here full forward!! Get the old dictionary out brother.
The "H" key is broke on his PC....... I hope.
:thumbsu:
big tony
9 Aug 2006, 16:47
Mooroopna
Benalla
Seymour
Swans
Euroa
United
mansfield missing by minor percentage to united!
bearsboy
9 Aug 2006, 17:33
Can anyone tell me how Casey Robertson is going at Benalla this year , is he playing ones ? The reason he gave to Gisborne for leaving this year was to play 2s with his mates at Benalla , surely he's better than that . On his day could win a game on his own , very inconsistent though .
Mooroopna
Benalla
Seymour
Swans
Euroa
United
mansfield missing by minor percentage to united!
This looks like a likely finish tony... Any upsets will have a big impact.
footynuts99
9 Aug 2006, 19:15
What are people's thoughts on Echuca?
big tony
9 Aug 2006, 19:26
tough run home
Shepp Swans (H)
Mansfield (A)
Benalla (H)
Mooroopna (A)
i've never Been to Deakin Reserve dose their goals un north/South or East/West? i got the dvd of 2005 grand final and they said one end as town end
cheers
big tony
9 Aug 2006, 19:41
i've never Been to Deakin Reserve dose their goals un north/South or East/West? i got the dvd of 2005 grand final and they said one end as town end
cheers
Pretty sure its east/west "Andyt30"
TuskenRaider
9 Aug 2006, 20:14
Pretty sure its east/west "Andyt30"
You would have to be right. If not exact, very close.
Full Foward
9 Aug 2006, 20:21
Can anyone tell me how Casey Robertson is going at Benalla this year , is he playing ones ? The reason he gave to Gisborne for leaving this year was to play 2s with his mates at Benalla , surely he's better than that . On his day could win a game on his own , very inconsistent though .
Well iam not too sure about comin back to play twos with his mates, because he has played more ones then twos and playin very good footy this year. i think he is chasin success at benalla after playin there though the tough times and now they may be a fair chance to win a flag and he deserves that i reakon. :thumbsu: carnt wait for mooroopna vs benalla at benalla should be a cracker of a game and suggest that you get there to watch if you can because both teams should have a big impact on the finals
Flat Track Bully
10 Aug 2006, 07:22
You would have to be right. If not exact, very close.
East-West, with the cricket pitch giving you good value for a straight drive back past the bowler.
City end is generally the accepted terminology for the western end of the groud, although the main street is more south west of the ground.
I like the Cannery or Showgrounds end for the eastern end.
LOBSTER
10 Aug 2006, 08:49
An inconsistant outfit.
ECHUCABOY
10 Aug 2006, 12:33
An inconsistant outfit.
Maybe a bit harsh, however you could be right as I've only seen one GV game this year. It seems they lack a fair bit of depth and once there are a few injuries, they struggle. Certaintly have some of the leagues standouts running around, just need a few back ups.
bradrowe#32
10 Aug 2006, 16:27
Not a bad town. They have lots of cool paddlesteamers and horses. I would'nt go out for a beer though.
An inconsistant outfit.Are they good enough to cause a few upsets and perhaps shape the 6?
Not a bad town. They have lots of cool paddlesteamers and horses. I would'nt go out for a beer though.
Why wouldn't you go out Rowey? The chicks in the netball team scrub up alright (or used to), surely there would have to be some handy tarts on the go up there?
ECHUCABOY
10 Aug 2006, 16:49
Are they good enough to cause a few upsets and perhaps shape the 6?
They certaintly are. Rowey I know it's hard to leave Rochy, but mate Echuca is like another planet. Theres more than two pubs, girls with a full set of teeth and various take-away food outlets.
Many have seen the light, three of Rochys favourite sons by the names of Doolan, Glenn and Bright have seen the light and are now Echuca inhabitants. I also happened to be home on the weekend and they weren't letting people into the dock it was that full!!
Last time that happened in a Rochy pub it was because the power went out for a couple of days and the pub was the only one with a generator!
skippy__67
10 Aug 2006, 22:11
Brett vallender from benalla, does any1 think he can fit into a full strength benalla forward line. heard a rumour he wanted to leave the club, any1 know any more on that???
Sidey_87
10 Aug 2006, 23:57
Huge game for Shepp United this week taking on Euroa over there, will be looking forward to a crackerjack of a game.
United by a point.
western star
11 Aug 2006, 09:41
Massive round this week boys....
A few suprise wins should the ladder a bit tighter
Here are my tips -
Round Fifteen – August 12
Euroa
V
Shepp United
Echuca
V
Shepp Swans
Mooroopna
V
Mansfield
Shepparton
V
Benalla
Kyabram
V
Seymour
Rochester
V
Tatura
lion's_roar
11 Aug 2006, 10:34
Why wouldn't you go out Rowey? The chicks in the netball team scrub up alright (or used to), surely there would have to be some handy tarts on the go up there?
I think this is a very worth topic of conversation.
I would have to say that Echuca's netballers would be almost as good as Uniteds in the looks department.
In fact if I had to give my top six i would say.
United
Echuca
Tatura
Swans
Bears
Mooroopna
Note: Its generally the heavier populated towns that have the best looking netballers.
The three shepp sides obviously have a larger population to draw from and Mooroopna and Tatura also benefit.
Echuca also with a large population has significant talent.
Lets look at the smalled towns now.
Mansfield has one or two gems, as do Rochester and Benalla.
Euroa and Seymour struggle a bit, while Kyabram is terrible.
What about an all star team of hot netballers?
Your thoughts people??
centreman
11 Aug 2006, 10:36
I would have to say that Echuca's netballers would be almost as good as Uniteds in the looks department.
United
Echuca
Tatura
Swans
Bears
Mooroopna
Note: Its generally the heavier populated towns that have the best looking netballers.
The three shepp sides obviously have a larger population to draw from and Mooroopna and Tatura also benefit.
Your thoughts people??
This is BigFooty not BigNetball. Obviously bored in the Apple Isle?
journeyman
11 Aug 2006, 10:55
Brett vallender from benalla, does any1 think he can fit into a full strength benalla forward line. heard a rumour he wanted to leave the club, any1 know any more on that???
I'm only able to go on what I read in paper and hear but hasn't Vallender had a good year?
A week or so ago, someone on this thread had him finishing top-3 in Benalla's B&F. He's pretty versatile too, if he got pushed out of forward line he could go back. He's super fit.
There might have been rumours that he was going back to Nathalia as he still lives in the area and most of his mates are there. I imagine if he wanted to go he would have though.
Sidey_87
11 Aug 2006, 12:01
United
Echuca
Tatura
Swans
Bears
Mooroopna
Your thoughts people??
Would have to agree, United have awesome netballers.
Most of the good ones are still only 18.
Anyway, back to footy.
Tat will thrash Rochy this week, Echuca will upset the swans.
Benalla to beat bears.
Mansfield in an upset win over Mooroopna, Seymour to win easily over Kyabram.
United to beat Euroa in this week's match of the round.
ANT JESS
11 Aug 2006, 13:01
They certaintly are. Rowey I know it's hard to leave Rochy, but mate Echuca is like another planet. Theres more than two pubs, girls with a full set of teeth and various take-away food outlets.
Many have seen the light, three of Rochys favourite sons by the names of Doolan, Glenn and Bright have seen the light and are now Echuca inhabitants. I also happened to be home on the weekend and they weren't letting people into the dock it was that full!!
Last time that happened in a Rochy pub it was because the power went out for a couple of days and the pub was the only one with a generator!
Ha Ha, Hey you can pick on our girls and our lack of take out food outlets. But back off our pubs, rochy has 3 rippa pubs for the towns size. Lot more than sh**ekicker towns like Kyabram can say for themselves. :)
Duff Man
11 Aug 2006, 13:03
Are they good enough to cause a few upsets and perhaps shape the 6?
Echuca will shape the six with games against Swans, Benalla, Mansfield and Mooroopna.
The two teams out of Benalla , Euroa , Shepp Swans , and Seymour that win there last 4 games will finish 2nd and 3rd.
BENALLA - Shepparton A , Mooroopna H , Echuca A , Tatura H
SHEPP SWANS - Echuca A , Euroa H , Rochcester A , Seymour A
EUROA - Shepp United H , Shepp Swans A , Mansfield H , Shepparton A
SEYMOUR - Kyabram A ,Tatura H , Shepparton A , Shepp Swans H
What teams can do it ?
And for six spot could it come down to the last game of the year between Mansfield and Shepp United at Mansfield or will Shepparton keep beating everyone and storm in, makes for a great final 4 weeks.
How i see it unfolding - Mooroopna
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla
Swans
Shepp United
Yaaablett
11 Aug 2006, 14:03
I went to Uni with Chris Atkins who was a star on baller at Kyabram. Is he still around?
journeyman
11 Aug 2006, 14:41
There is an article in today's Shepp News saying that the GV looks likely to bring in the points system to stem big spending in the league.
Would be a bad move as the GV is as strong as it's been, largely because of the influx of quality recruits. If clubs with smaller populations want to compete they need to entice recruits.
Shepp Swans have done a lot of good recruiting by getting bloke's jobs rather than huge money.
ECHUCABOY
11 Aug 2006, 15:01
There is an article in today's Shepp News saying that the GV looks likely to bring in the points system to stem big spending in the league.
Would be a bad move as the GV is as strong as it's been, largely because of the influx of quality recruits. If clubs with smaller populations want to compete they need to entice recruits.
Shepp Swans have done a lot of good recruiting by getting bloke's jobs rather than huge money.
Totally agree, if clubs can produce the cash and get the big names good on them. Clubs who currently can't get the big names need to have a look at where they can get the funds from. If towns the size of Euroa and Seymour can do it, theres no reason why others cant!
lion's_roar
11 Aug 2006, 15:34
I went to Uni with Chris Atkins who was a star on baller at Kyabram. Is he still around?
Afro was asst coach at Ky last year, but ran out of chicks to knock off (its only a small town), so headed back overseas to spread his seed.
Or at least get his numbers up a bit more .. he's probably around the five or six thousand by now.
A smoother operator I have never seen.
Did the fella Stevenson get a call up to the Seymour 1's this week for his first game?
No Heart
11 Aug 2006, 16:30
Did the fella Stevenson get a call up to the Seymour 1's this week for his first game?
Yes, playing his first game tomorrow for the lions on the wing. And ive been told this kid can play.
No Heart
11 Aug 2006, 16:43
Echuca will shape the six with games against Swans, Benalla, Mansfield and Mooroopna.
The two teams out of Benalla , Euroa , Shepp Swans , and Seymour that win there last 4 games will finish 2nd and 3rd.
BENALLA - Shepparton A , Mooroopna H , Echuca A , Tatura H
SHEPP SWANS - Echuca A , Euroa H , Rochcester A , Seymour A
EUROA - Shepp United H , Shepp Swans A , Mansfield H , Shepparton A
SEYMOUR - Kyabram A ,Tatura H , Shepparton A , Shepp Swans H
What teams can do it ?
And for six spot could it come down to the last game of the year between Mansfield and Shepp United at Mansfield or will Shepparton keep beating everyone and storm in, makes for a great final 4 weeks.
How i see it unfolding - Mooroopna
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla
Swans
Shepp United
A job well done Duffy , i would like to think the lions could win the remaining games and pinch 3rd but its tough isnt it. Was great to see players returning to the lions line up last week after the bye.
No Heart
11 Aug 2006, 16:50
United
Echuca
Tatura
Swans
Bears
Mooroopna
Your thoughts people??
My girlfreind plays for the lions are you calling her a bush pig ???????
Duff Man
11 Aug 2006, 16:57
Gold:thumbsu:
carl lewis
11 Aug 2006, 17:00
i think so.... you tip rat
bradrowe#32
11 Aug 2006, 17:01
Maybe I'm just getting old, but I don't enjoy going out in Echuca. There are too many turbos. Great pizza shop there though.
Rochy's pubs are pretty good, although I hardly ever go their either.
Anyways, I reckon Euroa will get over Shep United by 2 goals, Shepparton over Benalla by a point, Shepp Swans to forfeit against Echuca so they can all watch the netball chicks, Mooroopna to defeated Mansfield by 3 goals, Seymour to flg Ky and Rochy just over Tatura.
Great round of footy, there is something for everyone really.
bradrowe#32
11 Aug 2006, 17:02
i think so.... you tip rat
You called me a tip rat once. What the hell is it (other than a pretty ordinary 'insult')?
Full Foward
11 Aug 2006, 17:05
United
Echuca
Tatura
Swans
Bears
Mooroopna
Your thoughts people??
Have you seen benalla's netballers lately mate in a grade. two hot 15 year olds 1 hot 18 year old 1 hot 19 year olds and 1 hot 40 year old
lauren harper, dempsey and bree marchbank, sarah and sharon mellington thats just from benalla. y r u talkin about netball anyway if you want to do that start a new gvfl netball thread..
tips for this w/e lads.
Duff Man
11 Aug 2006, 17:05
A job well done Duffy , i would like to think the lions could win the remaining games and pinch 3rd but its tough isnt it. Was great to see players returning to the lions line up last week after the bye.
Once you get your players back on the park, you will be up there. Tim Hooper will he play again this year ?
TuskenRaider
11 Aug 2006, 17:25
Totally agree, if clubs can produce the cash and get the big names good on them. Clubs who currently can't get the big names need to have a look at where they can get the funds from. If towns the size of Euroa and Seymour can do it, theres no reason why others cant!
Agreed as well. The GVFL love the exposure they've received the last few years by some of the bigger name recruits, as well as from good players that never made it as high as AFL.
This is effectively going to make it a lot harder for the clubs with smaller populations.
Whatever point system they use is going to be flawed in some way and almost arbitrary.
lion's_roar
11 Aug 2006, 17:48
My girlfreind plays for the lions are you calling her a bush pig ???????.
Mate, I said they struggle a bit. Didn't say there was no talent there what-so-ever.
Maybe she is the only decent one there ... then again Maybe she IS a bushpig.
I don't know mate, but you do seem a little self-concious.
lion's_roar
11 Aug 2006, 17:53
Have you seen benalla's netballers lately mate in a grade. two hot 15 year olds 1 hot 18 year old 1 hot 19 year olds and 1 hot 40 year old
lauren harper, dempsey and bree marchbank, sarah and sharon mellington thats just from benalla. y r u talkin about netball anyway if you want to do that start a new gvfl netball thread..
tips for this w/e lads.
What do you mean, Why am I talking netball?
You've just reeled off half a netball side mate.
Just trying to get a few cheap laughs, put a bit of colour on the thread.
We all obviously love our footy and if we're all real men, we all love the girls as well and netball is a huge part of country footy.
You do however make a good point .. Lauren Harper would not just be in the interleague side because of talent, she would be in the interleague side based purely on looks.
As for the hot 15-year-olds?? Well mate, there are other sites i think you might be better suited on if your into that sort of stuff.
NOT THAT THERE'S ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT .. Oh hang on .. yes there is.
Andyt30
11 Aug 2006, 18:12
Goulburn valleys grandfinals good time when alot of the other leagues have Finished :) be good to see their standard , in The Horsham district league they draw bigger crowd then the Wimmera League dose i got last years dvd but it be good to be actually there :) i got most of the grand finals from the area , murray, picola & Kyabram we don't play all grand finals at the one ground which be Horsham City Oval, their either at Stawell, Warracknabeal or Dimboola and City oval as in 2004 was, 2005 was at Warracknabeal
dose Goulburn Valley charge for Cars? we do in the Wimmera and i think district league dose , Mallee League never did cars should be in the admition price
cheers
best wishes to all clubs coming up to the finals :) :thumbsu:
if their in the finals or not :)
our 5 not really settled yet Nhill a game out has a chance to make the finals
goal umpring for finals we doing both wimmera & Horsham Dist
wimmera. under 14's, Under 17's reserves & Seniors
district League under 16's reserves & Seniors
be doubling up
Full Foward
11 Aug 2006, 18:44
What do you mean, Why am I talking netball?
You've just reeled off half a netball side mate.
Just trying to get a few cheap laughs, put a bit of colour on the thread.
We all obviously love our footy and if we're all real men, we all love the girls as well and netball is a huge part of country footy.
You do however make a good point .. Lauren Harper would not just be in the interleague side because of talent, she would be in the interleague side based purely on looks.
As for the hot 15-year-olds?? Well mate, there are other sites i think you might be better suited on if your into that sort of stuff.
NOT THAT THERE'S ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT .. Oh hang on .. yes there is.
Mate iam under 18 so there is nothin wrong wit that.
:eek: Geez Kingy and Rob Harris got stuck into Seymour on their 3sr FM show, labelling them a disgrace for not naming Saad in last Friday's Shepp News.
Reckon it made them look silly as they said he wouldnt play on last weeks show then he bobs with with 13.7 agains Rochy. Then said that it shows disrespect or "contempt" I think was the word they used towards supporters and fans that go watch GV games.
In saying that they did bake most clubs for the "mind games" going on in the GV at present - reckon scouts were reading the News a year or two ago, Kyabram wasn't naming Newman so they werent going to watch him
Thoughts on this topic lads???
:eek: Geez Kingy and Rob Harris got stuck into Seymour on their 3sr FM show, labelling them a disgrace for not naming Saad in last Friday's Shepp News.
Reckon it made them look silly as they said he wouldnt play on last weeks show then he bobs with with 13.7 agains Rochy. Then said that it shows disrespect or "contempt" I think was the word they used towards supporters and fans that go watch GV games.
In saying that they did bake most clubs for the "mind games" going on in the GV at present - reckon scouts were reading the News a year or two ago, Kyabram wasn't naming Newman so they werent going to watch him
Not a big fan of it Doona, you may gain a small advantage from it but in my roles at Stanhope, and Tonny this year, the team thats picked thurs night and read out in the clubrooms is the side thats goes in the paper and the side that lines up come Saturday arvo.
If you're on the ball you should have a fair idea on whats going on with your opposition and you prepare for both scenarios in the case of Saad,I'm sure Rochy had a match up for him when they seen his name on the team sheet.
But, yeah much rather as a football follower to see teams in media as they will line up game day.
Albo's opinion
12 Aug 2006, 10:09
But, yeah much rather as a football follower to see teams in media as they will line up game day.
Blame it on Sheedy the old tosser. He invented the selection games.
Whats everybody think about that new points system that mite be brought in next year.. was on the shepp news back page yesterday... i reckon its stupid, it will drop the standard of play?? and its not as if the comp isnt even as it is atm
bradrowe#32
13 Aug 2006, 01:33
Round 15 results
Shepparton United 19.13 (127) defeated Euroa 16.9 (105)
Shepparton Swans 23.11 (149) defeated Echuca 13.5 (83)
Mansfield 16.17 (113) defeated Mooroopna 13.9 (87)
Benalla 16.10 (106) defeated Shepparton 12.12 (84)
Seymour 22.11 (143) defeated Kyabram 11.13 (79)
Rochester 16.19 (115) v Tatura 13.16 (94)
Wayne Weideman
13 Aug 2006, 02:37
Round 15 results
Shepparton United 19.13 (127) defeated Euroa 16.9 (105)
Shepparton Swans 23.11 (149) defeated Echuca 13.5 (83)
Mansfield 16.17 (113) defeated Mooroopna 13.9 (87)
Benalla 16.10 (106) defeated Shepparton 12.12 (84)
Seymour 22.11 (143) defeated Kyabram 11.13 (79)
Rochester 16.19 (115) v Tatura 13.16 (94)
what happened to oliver in the rochy game?
pete_mitchell
13 Aug 2006, 03:24
Euroa seem to be under the pump after an un-expected loss to United at home...obviously the bait of finals action for the united boys was the key to their success.
Puts pressure on euroa with three borderline games on the way home...shepp swans next week is going to be a ripper, if euroa were to lose, could throw their premiership hopes into a heap. Following that is Mansfield and Shepparton.
Mooroopna v Benalla also going to have footy lovers licking their lips in anticipation. Great for GV footy this time of year when you have draw card games like they have next weekend.
just a quick reply re stevenson getting a game in the seniors. groin pulled up a bit sore from last week. was selected but was replaced by dom russo. mind you dom most probably played his best game for the club on saturday.
Get on seymour boys, starting to get their best side onto the park. bailey to return next week and hooper in two. fairly easy draw coming up to finals and builing up some momentum quiet nicely. Should finish 2nd or 3rd.
nesko_25
13 Aug 2006, 12:36
what happened to oliver in the rochy game?
Stretched off with ankle injury, done ligiments.
Rochy win
Tat win
Mooroopna
Euroa
Seymour
Benalla
United
Swans
Have a bit of faith in your team Sidey! Pretty Good win by United. Also heard u had a few injuries and still got over Euroa, any truth? What about Euroa, did they have a full strength team?
Anyways, if Euroa lose to the swannies next week, theyr in for a tough time to make the finals. However, Euroa has one of the most talented lineups so can't really see them missing out...But it will sure make for an interesting next 3 weeks
Sidey_87
13 Aug 2006, 16:12
Have a bit of faith in your team Sidey! Pretty Good win by United. Also heard u had a few injuries and still got over Euroa, any truth? What about Euroa, did they have a full strength team?
Anyways, if Euroa lose to the swannies next week, theyr in for a tough time to make the finals. However, Euroa has one of the most talented lineups so can't really see them missing out...But it will sure make for an interesting next 3 weeks
I knew it would be a close game and knew we could win, but didn't want to say ahhh we'll win our last 4 easily.
Most people thought Euroa would have won.
We have 3 players out for the season so apart from that we were at pretty much full strength.
Maybe just a few minor changes to make before heading into finals.
Euroa showed flashes of brilliance, but teams with champion players will always do that.
If we can win our last 3 i think we'll finish top 3, depending on other results ofcourse.
How are the magoos shaping up coming into finals??? which teams are looking the goods, maybe with form or players to come back in?? great hit by mansfield on the w/e..... good stuff boys
skippy__67
13 Aug 2006, 17:06
is willy martiniello the best under 18 player playing senior football this year???
lion's_roar
13 Aug 2006, 17:13
is willy martiniello the best under 18 player playing senior football this year???
Definitely be thereabouts from what i hear.
Jamie Sheahan at Mansfield is a FREAK!!!
15-years-old and consistantly in the best. Awesome goal sense and footy smarts for a kid that age
VCFL_FAN
13 Aug 2006, 18:45
15-years-old and consistantly in the best. Awesome goal sense and footy smarts for a kid that age
Have watched him few times, Good player and as u mention good round goals etc. but lacks alot of defensive pressure which will catch up with him. Often runs forward of the play and when ball turns over he wont push back
TuskenRaider
13 Aug 2006, 19:04
It is ridiculous when clubs name "ghost" sides in the paper, I'm pretty sure it has never won a club a match yet clubs continue to do it.
But as for the radio show sooking about it because it "made them look silly" - who cares if they look silly. Do some proper research instead of relying on the paper.
And if scouts are relying on a newspaper report to see if Newman or any other player is playing I would be surprised. They should ring the coach of the club to see if a potential draftee is playing.
big tony
13 Aug 2006, 19:09
willy could well be the best u/18 player in seniors.
he has been in the best numerous times and another best on ground performance on the weekend shows he is all class.
still only 16....fantastic effort by him:thumbsu:
following his fathers foot steps:D
No Heart
14 Aug 2006, 10:57
But as for the radio show sooking about it because it "made them look silly" - who cares if they look silly. Do some proper research instead of relying on the paper.
And if scouts are relying on a newspaper report to see if Newman or any other player is playing I would be surprised. They should ring the coach of the club to see if a potential draftee is playing.
Could not of said it better, do your research properly kingy and you might get it right. just on S King has he played GV Footy or Coached football or is he just the Mike Sheahen of the GV , never played or coached but just thinks hes an expert. Bring back R Oldridge.:
Duff Man
14 Aug 2006, 11:27
I knew it would be a close game and knew we could win, but didn't want to say ahhh we'll win our last 4 easily.
We have 3 players out for the season so apart from that we were at pretty much full strength.
Euroa showed flashes of brilliance, but teams with champion players will always do that.
If we can win our last 3 i think we'll finish top 3, depending on other results ofcourse.
Very imprest with your side on the weekend sidey, Dawes and Hazleman very good players. Euroa did show flashes but in the end just not good enough, Maggies have to beat Shepp Swans this week or the year is in tatters, with Mansfield and Shepp United expected to win this week, will be a game a percentage out with 2 games to go if they loose . Mooroopna could drop out of the top 3 if it looses to benalla, Great win by Mansfield and they just keep hanging in there. Seymour seem to be sneaking up without a fuss and benalla can take top place of Mooroopna if they win.
What a great weekend of footy coming up ?
FOOTYBOSS
14 Aug 2006, 12:18
Shep Untied are very good outfit and have some stars in Forys, Hazelman and especially Dawes. Lack a key backman though which might trouble them against Saad of Seymour, Singh of Mooroopna and McKenzie of Benalla. None the less, they were simply just to good for us on Saturday. Pressure is really on us now to win the remaining few games. I was very impressed with the way Hazelman spoke to his players at 3 qtr time. Got the point across and got the boys pumped for the last quarter.
Wasnt a bright idea by their water boy during the 2nd quarter though, got yellow carded. Was there reserves coach as well. Discipline starts from the top, probably why their twos got rolled for the 2nd time this year. They dont have much discipline there at all.
pete_mitchell
14 Aug 2006, 12:38
Shep Untied are very good outfit and have some stars in Forys, Hazelman and especially Dawes. Lack a key backman though which might trouble them against Saad of Seymour, Singh of Mooroopna and McKenzie of Benalla. None the less, they were simply just to good for us on Saturday. Pressure is really on us now to win the remaining few games. I was very impressed with the way Hazelman spoke to his players at 3 qtr time. Got the point across and got the boys pumped for the last quarter.
Wasnt a bright idea by their water boy during the 2nd quarter though, got yellow carded. Was there reserves coach as well. Discipline starts from the top, probably why their twos got rolled for the 2nd time this year. They dont have much discipline there at all.
All valid points there Boss, do you think Sidey is getting ahead of himself with his earlier comments?
What do people think of the Mansfield vs Mooroopna result...mansfield the real deal, or is mooroopna up and down like a yo-yo? Beatable...surely this puts benalla as favourites for the big one...although they were pushed three quarters by shepp...going to be a cracker jack finals series, anyone can win on the day by the looks of things...could come down to umpiring decisions, which wouldn't be ideal, teams are just so close.
Boss, what do you think of United reserves, are they the real deal? They have led all year, can they win it?
Sidey might be able to tell us if the united ressies had any injuries on sat...or were both teams at full strength. Benalla big shot at taking the double by the looks of things.
bradrowe#32
14 Aug 2006, 13:00
Could not of said it better, do your research properly kingy and you might get it right. just on S King has he played GV Footy or Coached football or is he just the Mike Sheahen of the GV , never played or coached but just thinks hes an expert. Bring back R Oldridge.:
I think that perhaps you should do some research on S King first before you make a fool of yourself in a public forum.
Oops, too late for that.
does anyone know aboutpaul newman an if hes comin back this season..
he is got to to be the best full forward in the league..absolute football freak, its ludacris he hasnt been picked up again by melbourne or another club for that matter
Baba Ganoush
14 Aug 2006, 14:49
He's out for the year mate.
He's having surgery very soon
No Heart
14 Aug 2006, 14:49
I think that perhaps you should do some research on S King first before you make a fool of yourself in a public forum.
Oops, too late for that.
Im doing my research now by asking????????????:thumbsu:
On-Baller
14 Aug 2006, 15:47
wat about sam harris he is a freak i have only seen him play a couple of times but he nos how to get it he is a gun
lion's_roar
14 Aug 2006, 16:01
Im doing my research now by asking????????????:thumbsu:
Better stick up for a mate here ...
Kingy is on the Benalla Match Committe and is Mr Magnet at the Saints.
Is mates with Jock McFarlane from Jocks days at Corowa and Kingy working in Albury.
Dis it last year and was very, very important and then wasn't going to do it this year, but after a couple of practice matches, Jock decided he needed him there.
Knows his stuff.
Not a great player. Twos at Walla, Wodonga and occasionaly fills in for Benalla.
While i appreciate that you obviously respected the job i did when in the GV, it must be said that I wasn't and still aren't much of a player myself.
Hopefully the Tasmanian don't switch on to that though. ha ha
Can Shop
14 Aug 2006, 16:25
Boss, what do you think of United reserves, are they the real deal? They have led all year, can they win it?
Sidey might be able to tell us if the united ressies had any injuries on sat...or were both teams at full strength. Benalla big shot at taking the double by the looks of things.
You will find that the united seconds were undermanned in the match against euroa as they only had 3 on the bench. Though saying that Euroa completely out classed the game iwth skill although it was a arm wrestle up until the start of the last quarter where the game was broken apart by big leigh fox and willo for euroa. The flag is still up there for the taking but you would be thinkingit would be out of the top four sides in the reserves.
Can Shop
14 Aug 2006, 16:30
Agreed that this jamie sheahan is a freak i've seen it first hand but i would like to see him play when mansfieldor losing because the game i saw mansfield were goign well and sheahan was on a wing and just ran forward. What do you think about the rodger am i fair in saying that?? But will definately go to bigger n better places
Yaaablett
14 Aug 2006, 16:34
Afro was asst coach at Ky last year, but ran out of chicks to knock off (its only a small town), so headed back overseas to spread his seed.
Or at least get his numbers up a bit more .. he's probably around the five or six thousand by now.
A smoother operator I have never seen.
Thanks mate. Yeah, that sounds like him! Women just loved his hair. Does he still have the fro?
Sidey_87
14 Aug 2006, 17:28
Our 2's had a few players out.
I played on Fox and he got best on.
He was the difference.
They were a lot more physical and put on more shepards which made their skills look better.
We have a few to come back in and i'll be struggling to get a game on my form.
On the boy from Mansfield...Freak.
And i rate them the best team we have played along with Euroa.
lion's_roar
14 Aug 2006, 17:37
Agreed that this jamie sheahan is a freak i've seen it first hand but i would like to see him play when mansfieldor losing because the game i saw mansfield were goign well and sheahan was on a wing and just ran forward. What do you think about the rodger am i fair in saying that?? But will definately go to bigger n better places
Played under 16 Vic Country and went down to the first training witha didgy quad and they said don't worry, your already in the squad.
He's in the "System" and I would say will get in the U/18 bushies squad next year.
I've known him since he was 9 and he's always had something special.
Used to kick to kick at half time with him and he was far better than me then.
Whether he makes it all the way is the $65k question, but will play a higher level than GV .. as will young Martinello.
lion's_roar
14 Aug 2006, 17:41
Thanks mate. Yeah, that sounds like him! Women just loved his hair. Does he still have the fro?
Haven't seen him since the start of the year, but him without the FRO, would be like Warney without a blond model on the end of his .....
centreman
14 Aug 2006, 17:46
I think you are all missing the point here guys. How can you justify clubs continually lying and treating their supporters and footy fans with complete contempt?
As for the research. Everyone can do more, but surely if the Gv made it compulsory for clubs to list three on the bench and three emergencies it would be better for all parties.
When was a game one over the fax machine on a Thursday night?
If clubs are going to survive in this league they need people through the gate. Clubs are doing themselves an injustice by lying. At that's all they are doing. Lying. Leave the mind games to the AFL, and I've never met an AFL coach who wasn't a complete control freak and w a n k e r anyway. Fans have a right to know and when you are talking about players of the calibre of Saad, Anthony Stevens, Ricky Symes, Antony Mellington, Trent Hotton and so on. They are players the public want to see. It could be 20, 50 or more people through the gate. Let's not lose sight of what its all about.
I don't give two hoots about what position they're named in. If United wants to name Tyson Sidebottom on a half-back flank when he starts on the ball, then let them. But to not name Matt Forys is he is playing is surely just hurting attendances and making them look silly, for example.
And don't give me that codswollop about all those mind games crap.
You are simply justifying people lying!
centreman
14 Aug 2006, 17:47
Played under 16 Vic Country and went down to the first training witha didgy quad and they said don't worry, your already in the squad.
He's in the "System" and I would say will get in the U/18 bushies squad next year.
Whether he makes it all the way is the $65k question, but will play a higher level than GV .. as will young Martinello.
It's $64 question by the way, knackers. Not $65.
journeyman
14 Aug 2006, 18:26
I think you are all missing the point here guys. How can you justify clubs continually lying and treating their supporters and footy fans with complete contempt?
As for the research. Everyone can do more, but surely if the Gv made it compulsory for clubs to list three on the bench and three emergencies it would be better for all parties.
If clubs are going to survive in this league they need people through the gate. Clubs are doing themselves an injustice by lying. At that's all they are doing. Lying. Leave the mind games to the AFL, and I've never met an AFL coach who wasn't a complete control freak and w a n k e r anyway. Fans have a right to know and when you are talking about players of the calibre of Saad, Anthony Stevens, Ricky Symes, Antony Mellington, Trent Hotton and so on. They are players the public want to see. It could be 20, 50 or more people through the gate. Let's not lose sight of what its all about.
I don't give two hoots about what position they're named in. If United wants to name Tyson Sidebottom on a half-back flank when he starts on the ball, then let them. But to not name Matt Forys is he is playing is surely just hurting attendances and making them look silly, for example.
I agree. If a player of Saad's quality is going to be playing then what is gained from not naming him and people not going to the game because of it.
Coaches can't be expected name the exact side in the paper, however I don't reckon it would influence the result.
One thing that would be good thing for a country coach to do is come out in the paper and say (like Sheedy does) who a key match up will be. Encouarage the crowd to come along to see a match up of Hotton vs Hilton, Hazelman Vs Byers or Campbell Vs Clayton.
Just by saying one key match up and pumping it up a bit would drag a few extras through the gate
TuskenRaider
14 Aug 2006, 19:20
I can't recall a post where people have justified lying or naming false teams.
I don't agree at all with naming false teams. It's something that's always annoyed me.
Agree it would be better if clubs named 3 emergencies in their sides as AFL clubs have to.
I can't recall a post where people have justified lying or naming false teams.
I don't agree at all with naming false teams. It's something that's always annoyed me.
Agree it would be better if clubs named 3 emergencies in their sides as AFL clubs have to.
Pretty sure this is the case in the O & M - clubs are fined if a player outside the initial squad of 24 takes the field.
Full Foward
14 Aug 2006, 20:05
mate they might have said that to him but did u hear wat leon harris said after the carnival to him. they said to jamie your a selfish player and you will go no where if you dont learn to run and help your mates
jmain14
14 Aug 2006, 20:47
Maybe I'm just getting old, but I don't enjoy going out in Echuca. There are too many turbos. Great pizza shop there though.
Rochy's pubs are pretty good, although I hardly ever go their either.
sorry to bring up a post from ages ago but haven't been able to get to a computer much of late. I think you are showing your age here a bit rowey, all 25 years of it!! nah mate nothing better than getting on the buiscuits and hitting echuca town if you ask me. it has been a while but I have great memories. the night is usually best topped off with a romas pizza and if you are lucky you may find yourself in a fight. great times.
back to the footy (sorry but re. rochy), is kahl's injury serious rochy boys?? have perry oliver, rob touhey, etc been playing 3's or 1's??
lion's_roar
14 Aug 2006, 21:03
mate they might have said that to him but did u hear wat leon harris said after the carnival to him. they said to jamie your a selfish player and you will go no where if you dont learn to run and help your mates
That doesn't surprise me FF,
At Mansfield he's playing alonng side blokes that played with his dad and guys that he's idolised since he was a kid, the likes of Matt Storer, Frasser Stevo, Hots and others, so he's more inclined to play team orientated footy.
When playing for Vic Country he's playing alongside kids his own age and would be a more developed player, playing a higher standard of football than some of them and probably tries to do it all himself.
Agree selfish players don't generally go far, but knowing the kid, while confident, he's not arrogant and he'll (hopefully) take it on board and be a better player for it.
Hopefully for Mansfield this year and wherever he ends up in the future.
bradrowe#32
15 Aug 2006, 13:21
sorry to bring up a post from ages ago but haven't been able to get to a computer much of late. I think you are showing your age here a bit rowey, all 25 years of it!! nah mate nothing better than getting on the buiscuits and hitting echuca town if you ask me. it has been a while but I have great memories. the night is usually best topped off with a romas pizza and if you are lucky you may find yourself in a fight. great times.
back to the footy (sorry but re. rochy), is kahl's injury serious rochy boys?? have perry oliver, rob touhey, etc been playing 3's or 1's??
Sorry mate, have to agree to disagree. Can't stand going out in Echuca.:thumbsd:
I haven't heard much about Kahl's injury, but if it's ligaments then it'll probably take a while to recover. Should be OK for next year (assuming he's not playing with LBU).
Perry has played 3 or 4 games and is going pretty good. I think he was in the best against Euroa and lines up on a wing. Has massive potential.
Rob Touhey has played 11 out of 16 Pioneers games and the rest in the seniors. Monty has played 5 games but I think he's had a few injuries and played some with the seniors.
Other than that, Matt Letcher has been in superb form. Kicked 6 against Tatura and 5 against Euroa. He could be a pretty good player (as long as he stays off the gaffers). Tank is still playing well, Bowen is still a champ and Sammy, Moony and Pepsi have been good.
The team is still very young, but there are some good signs. Tim Bubb and Sam Williams have shown signs of being capable GV players.
I think Rochy will probably struggle for a few years, but they have some good young players (assuming they hang around) getting experience in the 1's and a few that are biding their time in the 3rds.
Rushy Tiger
15 Aug 2006, 14:21
Sorry mate, have to agree to disagree. Can't stand going out in Echuca.:thumbsd:
I haven't heard much about Kahl's injury, but if it's ligaments then it'll probably take a while to recover. Should be OK for next year (assuming he's not playing with LBU).
Perry has played 3 or 4 games and is going pretty good. I think he was in the best against Euroa and lines up on a wing. Has massive potential.
Rob Touhey has played 11 out of 16 Pioneers games and the rest in the seniors. Monty has played 5 games but I think he's had a few injuries and played some with the seniors.
Other than that, Matt Letcher has been in superb form. Kicked 6 against Tatura and 5 against Euroa. He could be a pretty good player (as long as he stays off the gaffers). Tank is still playing well, Bowen is still a champ and Sammy, Moony and Pepsi have been good.
The team is still very young, but there are some good signs. Tim Bubb and Sam Williams have shown signs of being capable GV players.
I think Rochy will probably struggle for a few years, but they have some good young players (assuming they hang around) getting experience in the 1's and a few that are biding their time in the 3rds.
Yeah there definately is talent around, but will have to see whether they are gunna stick out the tough times after rochy being such a powerhouse over the years. Kahl looks as though he will miss the season, not much point risking him for 3 more games. Hopefully a couple of players will return. Possibly a couple from Ardmona rowey???
You will find that the united seconds were undermanned in the match against euroa as they only had 3 on the bench. Though saying that Euroa completely out classed the game iwth skill although it was a arm wrestle up until the start of the last quarter where the game was broken apart by big leigh fox and willo for euroa. The flag is still up there for the taking but you would be thinkingit would be out of the top four sides in the reserves.
Euroa were pretty undermanner to Can Shop. They had one bloke playing with a slightly torn calf and ended up with only 1 on the bench a few minutes into the last quarter. Its definately out of the top 4 teams this year, they are well and truly a cut above the rest.