View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

YaMan
12 Aug 2005, 12:13
Hey there mans

Just thought i might reply and make it to 500 replies

Smokin

jmain14
12 Aug 2005, 12:54
Hey there mans

Just thought i might reply and make it to 500 replies

Smokin
wtf??

YaMan
12 Aug 2005, 13:05
wtf??

relax man

Watch shepp bears training the other night and they wanna fight. This game could see possibly some players end to this season though injury or suspension. Though I dont think a player would be that silly to get reported at this stage of the season with only 3 more games.

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 13:11
Couple of blockbusters this weekend, what will onefm choose to broadcast.

Seymuor and shepp down at the lions den. Shepp to get up, they so want to get 3rd possie though they did fade out against euroa last week. Seymour i think have a few injuries so they may struggle, but will be close.

Eagles have to come down from the mountains and over to memorial oval to take on the magpies.
Should be a classis match 1 v 2. Whoever wins i guess will take out minor premiers.
Does anyone know if euroa or masfield have any injuries at the moment.

You are an absolute tip rat HawkeEye...

fat back pocket
12 Aug 2005, 13:12
relax man

Watch shepp bears training the other night and they wanna fight. This game could see possibly some players end to this season though injury or suspension. Though I dont think a player would be that silly to get reported at this stage of the season with only 3 more games.

As stated earlier, they would want to steer clear of mad little Saad, he will punch the crap out of any of the shepp bears players. He is mad.

Seymour have a young bloke O'keef or something like that, had a look at country champs at geelong this year, he is a big boy for a 20 yo.

Might have to pull up 100km up the road rather than the 150km to Euroa, the punch on's would be worth the while, good game and good punch on's. Does it get any better?

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 13:14
relax man

Pretty hard to get reported for pinching someone... :confused:

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 13:17
As stated earlier, they would want to steer clear of mad little Saad, he will punch the crap out of any of the shepp bears players. He is mad.

Seymour have a young bloke O'keef or something like that, had a look at country champs at geelong this year, he is a big boy for a 20 yo.

Might have to pull up 100km up the road rather than the 150km to Euroa, the punch on's would be worth the while, good game and good punch on's. Does it get any better?

Quality post yet again...

Is Matty O'keef only 20?? I thought he was a fair bit older than that...

YaMan
12 Aug 2005, 13:24
Pretty hard to get reported for pinching someone... :confused:

Yeah heard a few whispers from a few clubs that some players have been getting pinched this year by the sauce bottle hickmont

Its his new thing, he tries to pinch his opponents on the arse so he gets aroused

fat back pocket
12 Aug 2005, 13:35

Will be the youngest person to be totally bald! Almost there by the looks of things. He might be 21, he is young though.

He is a raging bull on the footy field, he just has no regard for himself, team mates and esspecially the opposition. Country Champs, he held himself in good stead, doesn't seem to have the silkiest skills though.

Samtrish
12 Aug 2005, 13:40
What about 32 Bennie Davey I have heard that he is about to hit top form and burst open the game, watch out any Bears backman that get in his way straight through them like a steam train 8 goals in the last two games just hitting his straps

ondee
12 Aug 2005, 13:41

..oh well, as the old saying goes - a gerbel makes a handy butt puppet

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 13:43
Yeah heard a few whispers from a few clubs that some players have been getting pinched this year by the sauce bottle hickmont

Its his new thing, he tries to pinch his opponents on the arse so he gets aroused

Give him a break, I'd be angry too if I was a red head and playing for shepparton ...

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 13:44

Love mice???

Whippet
12 Aug 2005, 13:44
Quote from fat back pocket
I heard that when ever there is any fights or what ever near Saad, the Seymour coach takes him off so he doesn't get suspended. He just clicks.

How has he gone in the past few weeks, haven't heard to much talk about the little mad man.

Does Matt Collins still play for Seymour? I reckon he would dish out a few back to the bears.

You are from seymour, so why are you asking these bull$*!t questions 'fat back pocket'?

YaMan
12 Aug 2005, 13:49

You ok there ondee

Doona2
12 Aug 2005, 13:51
You are from seymour, so why are you asking these bull$*!t questions 'fat back pocket'?

Done your homework hey whippet? You having a kick tomorrow. Is chin up over the whole selection saga?

fat back pocket
12 Aug 2005, 13:55
What about 32 Bennie Davey I have heard that he is about to hit top form and burst open the game, watch out any Bears backman that get in his way straight through them like a steam train 8 goals in the last two games just hitting his straps

Haven't heard too much of this Davey fellow, is he a gun? Obviously a forward, key forward? Or small? You would have thought Seymour's depth would be stretched with the injuries noted in the Shepp news against the Bears this week.

Seen Davey's name in the paper last couple, haven't seen it in there too much. Was in the reserves a few weeks back. Maybe they do have depth?

Doona2
12 Aug 2005, 13:58

If you're from Seymour FBP, What's the go with Inness mate, and what has happened to Stu Peterson, I like to keep an eye on the Lions and I haven't sighted him of late. How's Chipper Douglas going, B & F chance?

Samtrish
12 Aug 2005, 13:59
Haven't heard too much of this Davey fellow, is he a gun? Obviously a forward, key forward? Or small? You would have thought Seymour's depth would be stretched with the injuries noted in the Shepp news against the Bears this week.

Seen Davey's name in the paper last couple, haven't seen it in there too much. Was in the reserves a few weeks back. Maybe they do have depth?

Believe he may have been injured and had to go back through the seconds. Keep up the posts LHB

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 14:03
Done your homework hey whippet? You having a kick tomorrow. Is chin up over the whole selection saga?

Whippet is still out with a bruised mullet??

Chinup (seymour player) wasnt smart enough to think up a response to footyboss's questions to confirm he was from euroa, and has since gone missing...

Doona2
12 Aug 2005, 14:07
Whippet is still out with a bruised mullet??

Chinup (seymour player) wasnt smart enough to think up a response to footyboss's questions to confirm he was from euroa, and has since gone missing...

Mullet musta grew quick, didn't notice it 3 weeks ago :)

fat back pocket
12 Aug 2005, 14:09
Quote from fat back pocket
I heard that when ever there is any fights or what ever near Saad, the Seymour coach takes him off so he doesn't get suspended. He just clicks.

How has he gone in the past few weeks, haven't heard to much talk about the little mad man.

Does Matt Collins still play for Seymour? I reckon he would dish out a few back to the bears.

I am a Roos supporter, and don't get to the country that often. I have a friend who plays for Seymour. But he has only gone there this year, so i don't know that much. I see him ocassionally at Blue, few Shepp Swans blokes go there as well who i catch up with. I ask them questions about their footy when i see them.

Who do you support Whippet?

Doona2 - Heard of Inness, he lives in melb I think, he was with the bloke i know at Blue a few months back.

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 14:11
If you're from Seymour FBP, What's the go with Inness mate, and what has happened to Stu Peterson, I like to keep an eye on the Lions and I haven't sighted him of late. How's Chipper Douglas going, B & F chance?

Seymour obviously do have a lot of depth or players like Robbie wouldnt be running around in the two's...

Junkie
12 Aug 2005, 15:13

I think Stu Peterson is eating hotdogs on the golf course.

ECHUCABOY
12 Aug 2005, 16:07
YaMan you are a peasent of the highest orded please stop talking crap. Shepp Bears as all Shepp teams do will hit the bloke who least expects it when the footy is no where near them. Then when the footy comes they jump out of the way and wait for the others to get it.

Shepp footballers=dogs
YaMan=peasent

a.k.a.
12 Aug 2005, 16:10
YaMan you are a peasent of the highest orded please stop talking crap. Shepp Bears as all Shepp teams do will hit the bloke who least expects it when the footy is no where near them. Then when the footy comes they jump out of the way and wait for the others to get it.

Shepp footballers=dogs
YaMan=peasent

I think you're being a little kind there champ...

YaMan
12 Aug 2005, 16:26

Shepp footballers=dogs
YaMan=peasent

Wouldn't give a toss what you thought EchucaBoy. You don't even have an opinion.

F#ck off back to the murray. You are a disgrace

tige19
12 Aug 2005, 16:27
I am a Roos supporter, and don't get to the country that often. I have a friend who plays for Seymour. But he has only gone there this year, so i don't know that much. I see him ocassionally at Blue, few Shepp Swans blokes go there as well who i catch up with. I ask them questions about their footy when i see them.

Who do you support Whippet?

Doona2 - Heard of Inness, he lives in melb I think, he was with the bloke i know at Blue a few months back.

Mate i dont care what you say about Saad Saad but the bloke is a toss, played against 3 or 4 times the last 2 or 3 seasons (not this year) and the bloke is just dirty, theres nothing to tough about him if you ask me.

Actually one of my teamates at the time stood chest to chest with him (he was around 188cm soa little bigger) and Saad didnt want a bar of it.

Dont get me wrong i think Saad is a gem of a footballer he carved us up that day i think he kicked 4 but anyone who think his a tough man are kidding them selves.

cheers

HawkeEye
12 Aug 2005, 16:29
Wouldn't give a toss what you thought EchucaBoy. You don't even have an opinion.

F#ck off back to the murray. You are a disgrace

Dont even reply EchucaBoy, that will do. Bit of tension on the forum

Back to the footy

ECHUCABOY
12 Aug 2005, 16:44
I'll reply, as a player who has spent all but this year playing junior and senior footy in the GV I think I have the right to an opinion.

Probably a bit rough to be calling you a peasent of the highest order, but you were talking crap.

No way im taking back what I said about Shepp teams though, They are indeed dogs, I have played with & against these "dogs" and have found them all to be the same.

All play for themselves, and have no respect for anyone else, they inturn play selfish gutless football. Those who were descent footballers are consumed by this arrogance and selfishness and become a "shepp footballer".

I hope they dont get near the flag and the day they do the league will be a whole lot worse off!

Travvy43
12 Aug 2005, 17:04
righto back to the footy....

Another coach bites the dust. As reported in todays shepp news Cooper will not seek reappointment for the coach of Shepp United next year.

Hazleman is high on the list but the article goes on to say that he is also a good show to get the top job back at his old hunting ground, balconnen int he ACT.

ECHUCABOY
12 Aug 2005, 17:15
Whats the feeling like at Tonny at the moment mate? Theres been alot of talk and rumours flying around. Are the blokes at the club really keen to give the GVFL a real rip and is their a concentrated effort by not only the Club, but the players to get some new and old guys to the club.

Also mate what is your personal view on where the club is at and where it should head.

fat back pocket
12 Aug 2005, 17:30
Mate i dont care what you say about Saad Saad but the bloke is a toss, played against 3 or 4 times the last 2 or 3 seasons (not this year) and the bloke is just dirty, theres nothing to tough about him if you ask me.

Actually one of my teamates at the time stood chest to chest with him (he was around 188cm soa little bigger) and Saad didnt want a bar of it.

Dont get me wrong i think Saad is a gem of a footballer he carved us up that day i think he kicked 4 but anyone who think his a tough man are kidding them selves.

cheers

Fair call, i'll have to say i only saw that one day where he went nuts, maybe he actually does have a brain and can distinguish between the blokes he has a chance against and those he doesn't.

Anyhoo, he is mad, and if he belted the crap out of some Shepp Bears players, i'm sure ECHUCABOY and the others who dislike Shepp would have a little smile on their faces. He'd probably get his 6 deserving weeks for it though. ;)

Junkie
12 Aug 2005, 18:04
Fair call, i'll have to say i only saw that one day where he went nuts, maybe he actually does have a brain and can distinguish between the blokes he has a chance against and those he doesn't.

Anyhoo, he is mad, and if he belted the crap out of some Shepp Bears players, i'm sure ECHUCABOY and the others who dislike Shepp would have a little smile on their faces. He'd probably get his 6 deserving weeks for it though. ;)

I know a bloke from Shepp who throws them pretty well and he is a big chance to line up Saad. Ill give you the tip fat back pocket, he would punch the shizenhousen out of the dwarf full forward we speak of.

Travvy43
12 Aug 2005, 18:11
Whats the feeling like at Tonny at the moment mate? Theres been alot of talk and rumours flying around. Are the blokes at the club really keen to give the GVFL a real rip and is their a concentrated effort by not only the Club, but the players to get some new and old guys to the club.

Also mate what is your personal view on where the club is at and where it should head.

From my point of view, living in melbourne, it is hard to feel the true vibe of the club throughout the week.

There is plenty of interest regarding the move though, at an information meeting two weeks ago about the potential move 124 people attended. If only we could get half that many to meals on thursday night at training or to help out with things around the club.

Anyway we dont have the finances to pay over $100k a year on players. We live within our means, and our means at this stage is not allowing us to be competitive in country victoria's strongest competition.

Murray league will be a drop in standard and it will join the junior and senior committees. The murray league would be longer for melbourne players to travel, travelling to finley from melbourne would be no good.

At this point in time a lot of the poeple are up in the air, there is a meeting i think in two weeks where all financial members have the chance to vote on wher the future of the club lies.

Stay in the GV (and who knows we will probably go through the same thing at the end of next season) or go to the Murray League.

FOOTYBOSS
12 Aug 2005, 18:15
GEE, FAT BACK POCKET..... You have only heard stories about saad being mad. I van tell you now that those stupid stories you made up of him belting 3 blokes at northcote park are a load of ********. I think you might have mistaken him for an amad. He wouldnt do that on a feild, saad just plays footy and does it quite well to. If your hearing stories at blue well I think you should go there sober next time because everyone in that place is either ********ed or flying on ecstasy so everyone talks ******** in there.

ondee
12 Aug 2005, 18:22
GEE, FAT BACK POCKET..... You have only heard stories about saad being mad. I van tell you now that those stupid stories you made up of him belting 3 blokes at northcote park are a load of ********. I think you might have mistaken him for an amad. He wouldnt do that on a feild, saad just plays footy and does it quite well to. If your hearing stories at blue well I think you should go there sober next time because everyone in that place is either ********ed or flying on ecstasy so everyone talks ******** in there.
I agree footyboss.

bradrowe#32
12 Aug 2005, 19:43
Rochester reserves have two new recruits for the Tatura game tomorrow:

David Williams and Chris Rourke.

To be continued...

Who's the bear?
14 Aug 2005, 12:48
Who's the Bear???

tige19
14 Aug 2005, 19:52
Who's the Bear???

Who cares?

Doona2
14 Aug 2005, 22:31
Rumba pushes to join major league
By Mark Brown
Shepparton News
Rumbalara president Paul Briggs said yesterday the club would again lobby to join the powerful Goulburn Valley Football League at season's end.
"The GVFL is our first preference and our intention is to also talk to the Murray league about the possibility of joining their competition," Briggs said.
"I think we're ready to make a good fist of it in a higher standard league.
GVFL general manager Eric Bott said Rumbalara would need to show cause to secure its admission.
"We've told Rumbalara that our clubs want substantial evidence that they'll be of benefit to the league should they come across, and that brief still remains."

The Rumba players are a credit to themselves but after several incidents yesterday they're a long way off major league footy, and not because of their football ability.

It started at 9am when they attempted to deem the Yea ground unfit for football, because after the recent rains the cricket wicket area was muddy. How many footy grounds in the region don't have centre wicket areas? Secondly an incident in the 2nds where the Rumba goal umpire and a yea player alledgedly exchanged punches will certainly be looked at closely. And it was disappointing to see the untidy state of the visitors changerooms after yesterday's play. Hardly ticks in the right boxes from a club looking to impress for a crack at the majors.

slim18
15 Aug 2005, 01:35
Anyone know if Jock will coach the saints in 06. heard this week he wasnt.

Doona2
15 Aug 2005, 10:09
Hey Travvy howd the Broadford guys go on Saturday? Did Angwin front, word down here said he lost interest after the Shepp News reports and was re-considering.

ECHUCABOY
15 Aug 2005, 10:29
very interested to hera how dirty and rourkey went on the w.e??

Travvy43
15 Aug 2005, 10:52
Hey Travvy howd the Broadford guys go on Saturday? Did Angwin front, word down here said he lost interest after the Shepp News reports and was re-considering.

Nick Redenback (spelling) played well, was our third best, would have had around 25 touches and nailed two goals. The CHF.. Brent Wood... did ok, long leads up the ground was a highlight and took some good strong marks. Fletcher got a corkie early, battled on for the rest of the day but you could see he was hampered by the injury.

No Angwin, right on with the reports int he shepp news deterring him.

jmain14
15 Aug 2005, 11:09
very interested to hera how dirty and rourkey went on the w.e??
yeah rowey, can you let us know...

also robbie 'racehorse' miller played which begs the question - how did ya's not get the 4 points?? a forward line boasting the dirtbag, racehorse, yourself (rowey) and pumpa jess seems like a pretty compelling one to me.

heard the dirtbag cramped up and only played the first quarter.

fat back pocket
15 Aug 2005, 13:06
I know a bloke from Shepp who throws them pretty well and he is a big chance to line up Saad. Ill give you the tip fat back pocket, he would punch the shizenhousen out of the dwarf full forward we speak of.

I see Saad kicked 6 on the weekend, did anyone "line him up"? Obviously they didn't do a very good job at it!

Matt Amad is a psycho Northcote Park player.

Euroa and Mansfield a total one sided affair, Clayton bros. dominated, Euroa had too many winners across the board, should be an interesting battle next week for the all mighty Eagles, winner gets 2nd, loser gets the all important 3rd. Reckon it will be a battle to see who wants to throw it more, no one would want to get smashed by Euroa in the first week of finals.

fat back pocket
15 Aug 2005, 13:16
Rumba pushes to join major league
By Mark Brown
Shepparton News
Rumbalara president Paul Briggs said yesterday the club would again lobby to join the powerful Goulburn Valley Football League at season's end.
"The GVFL is our first preference and our intention is to also talk to the Murray league about the possibility of joining their competition," Briggs said.
"I think we're ready to make a good fist of it in a higher standard league.
GVFL general manager Eric Bott said Rumbalara would need to show cause to secure its admission.
"We've told Rumbalara that our clubs want substantial evidence that they'll be of benefit to the league should they come across, and that brief still remains."

The Rumba players are a credit to themselves but after several incidents yesterday they're a long way off major league footy, and not because of their football ability.

It started at 9am when they attempted to deem the Yea ground unfit for football, because after the recent rains the cricket wicket area was muddy. How many footy grounds in the region don't have centre wicket areas? Secondly an incident in the 2nds where the Rumba goal umpire and a yea player alledgedly exchanged punches will certainly be looked at closely. And it was disappointing to see the untidy state of the visitors changerooms after yesterday's play. Hardly ticks in the right boxes from a club looking to impress for a crack at the majors.

Doona, you've obviously seen a fair bit of GV footy, how far off GV standard are Rumba? Do you think it would be in the best interest of them and the GV to go into the GV? Or would they get thumped by everyone and it be a big mistake.

What is the professionality of the CGFL in comparison to the GV, similar? Are you a coach or have coached? Do you think Rumba could adapt GV standards and become like a Shepp, Rochy, or Echuca? A club who has had a lot of success and is well run? Would their supporter base, sponsorship etc be big enough to compete with these clubs who are willing to pay out big $$ for success?

I will be honest, I haven't seen a game of CGFL footy, so i can't comment. So anyone that knows, shed some light. Its a big move for Rumba. Have they thought it all the way through?

HawkeEye
15 Aug 2005, 13:42
I see Saad kicked 6 on the weekend, did anyone "line him up"? Obviously they didn't do a very good job at it!

Matt Amad is a psycho Northcote Park player.

Euroa and Mansfield a total one sided affair, Clayton bros. dominated, Euroa had too many winners across the board, should be an interesting battle next week for the all mighty Eagles, winner gets 2nd, loser gets the all important 3rd. Reckon it will be a battle to see who wants to throw it more, no one would want to get smashed by Euroa in the first week of finals.

Apparently a few more injuries to some seymour players. Does anyone know if they are they season ending injuries
Mansfield at home should get the points over Seymour and take 2nd possie.
Big win by Rochy, interesting to see who can get in 6th possie as Ky play Euroa and Seymour, whilst Rochy has Shep and Mansfield. Maybe Ky by percentage

Travvy43
15 Aug 2005, 16:02
Paul Newman from Kyabram, 14 out of the sides 17 goals to get the side over the line by less than a goal, great performance.

listen here!
15 Aug 2005, 17:36
nothing like stating the obvious travvy!!!! did anyone catch the top of the table clash? someone tell me how that janzs kicked 11 in a game. i have seen euroa play about 5 times this season and i dont think he has had 11 kicks put together. i think this (ruck) area will be there achilles heel come the finals. having said that i also see other sides finding it hard to stop there forward line. any thoughts?

Doona2
15 Aug 2005, 18:20
Apparently a few more injuries to some seymour players. Does anyone know if they are they season ending injuries

Fat Back Pocket will be able to answer that one for us. For someone who claims to be from Melbourne he seems to get some handy inside mail from the Lions Den.

Doona2
15 Aug 2005, 18:36
Doona, you've obviously seen a fair bit of GV footy, how far off GV standard are Rumba? Do you think it would be in the best interest of them and the GV to go into the GV? Or would they get thumped by everyone and it be a big mistake.

What is the professionality of the CGFL in comparison to the GV, similar? Are you a coach or have coached? Do you think Rumba could adapt GV standards and become like a Shepp, Rochy, or Echuca? A club who has had a lot of success and is well run? Would their supporter base, sponsorship etc be big enough to compete with these clubs who are willing to pay out big $$ for success?

I will be honest, I haven't seen a game of CGFL footy, so i can't comment. So anyone that knows, shed some light. Its a big move for Rumba. Have they thought it all the way through?

My opinion alone is that in it's current form Rumbalara would struggle to be near competitive in the GVFL, but not to say that if granted access they wouldn't recruit to suit substantially.
Im pretty sure their in a strong financial position with a great ground and quality facilities, and their president Mr. Briggs is the right man to be leading the charge.
As far as CGFL football goes, the standard is no different to any other district club. Fairly confident the top sides (Rumba, Yea, Shepp East) would be more than competitive against KDFL, PDFL and HDFL clubs.
As far as professionalism goes, each club no doubt varies in any comp. My side (Yea) has made a genuine commitment to give ourselves the best chance of winning this year's premiership, but dont know how other teams operate.
We have strict team rules and disciplines, fantastic medical staff and quality stats people which makes my role as a first year senior coach much easier.
But for some reason I think you already know that, being a Seymour lad!!!

GVFLFAN
15 Aug 2005, 22:08
nothing like stating the obvious travvy!!!! did anyone catch the top of the table clash? someone tell me how that janzs kicked 11 in a game. i have seen euroa play about 5 times this season and i dont think he has had 11 kicks put together. i think this (ruck) area will be there achilles heel come the finals. having said that i also see other sides finding it hard to stop there forward line. any thoughts?

Doesn't matter how Jansz kicked 11 goals against tatura, he did and that is all that matters!!! If you have kicked more than that in a senior game of football then tell us all so we can bask in your glory as you are obviously a jealous individual!!! He has only played full forward twice and has kicked 11 and 3 and there is no need for the big fella to head down there due to grainger and the other forwrads converting all the hard work done up the field by all the boys!!! Not to mention he has been in the ruck full time ever since sharpe went down!!! Get over it!!!

bradrowe#32
16 Aug 2005, 00:22
yeah rowey, can you let us know...

also robbie 'racehorse' miller played which begs the question - how did ya's not get the 4 points?? a forward line boasting the dirtbag, racehorse, yourself (rowey) and pumpa jess seems like a pretty compelling one to me.

heard the dirtbag cramped up and only played the first quarter.

G'day mate.

It was a pretty good game.

We got off to a great start with Dirty and Rourky in the guts. Dirty was sensational in close, feeding out handballs and directing our players. Unfortunately he only lasted 7 minutes as he appeared to pull his calf muscle. We kicked 4 goals to 2 in the first Q and were playing really well.

We lost the game in the 2nd Q as Tatura kicked about 6 or 7 goals to our 1.

They also kicked the first couple of the 3 Q to put us 5 goals down. We worked back into the game really well and went into 3 QT just a goal down.

In the last Q, both teams traded goals and we ended up 10 points down.

However, at least I will be able to tell my children that I played with Robbie Miller. He had decent fitness and whilst his timing and judgement were off in the 1st half, he got it back in the 2nd. He took a typical 1 handed speccy in a pack of 4.

Rourkey was pretty good Echucaboy. He is just so fit and he is very clever. But the main reason he gets the ball is because he always uses his voice.

YaMan
16 Aug 2005, 09:24
Doesn't matter how Jansz kicked 11 goals against tatura, he did and that is all that matters!!! If you have kicked more than that in a senior game of football then tell us all so we can bask in your glory as you are obviously a jealous individual!!! He has only played full forward twice and has kicked 11 and 3 and there is no need for the big fella to head down there due to grainger and the other forwrads converting all the hard work done up the field by all the boys!!! Not to mention he has been in the ruck full time ever since sharpe went down!!! Get over it!!!

Who is Mark Jansz. 11 is a big bag though I didnt watch that game and I have seen a couple of euroa games and haven't even noticed him.

FOOTYBOSS
16 Aug 2005, 09:26
Well, well listen here obviuosly you dont watch to many games. Jansz actually plays in the ruck changing at chf which is probably one of the toughest gigs going around in footy. The ruck might be the achulles heel but the side is so strong in other areas it can cover that. There arent to many other teams with top ruckman in the comp apart from seymour with schottner. 11 goals is a fair effort in a senior game of footy. What is your claim to fame buddy?

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 10:58
Well, well listen here obviuosly you dont watch to many games. Jansz actually plays in the ruck changing at chf which is probably one of the toughest gigs going around in footy. The ruck might be the achulles heel but the side is so strong in other areas it can cover that. There arent to many other teams with top ruckman in the comp apart from seymour with schottner. 11 goals is a fair effort in a senior game of footy. What is your claim to fame buddy?

Very touchie about their high priced recruits these Hicks from Euroa. Are you trying to already set up your defence of buying a premiership.

Travvy43
16 Aug 2005, 11:40
Speaking of high priced recruits... I dare say there are a few clubs that have paid out a bit of money in the hunt for that elusive premiership only to come up short of the mark.

The one that stands out would be maroopna. Surely they thought this year during preseason they were a big chance, they signed blake campbell to suppliment brad campbell (the both work well with each other and look for each other all the time) and the signing singh, according to them would have been the final piece of the puzzle.

In their defense they did loose a good midfield recruit in the pre season but i dont think their season would have lived up to their pre season expectations.

They still rank themselves an outside chance of making finals this year but i think they will come up short as they have the magpies in the last round.

Benella is the other obvious one, they are in the mix, but short of their pre season expectations i would have thought. tough run with injuries though.

listen here!
16 Aug 2005, 11:57
please tell me footyboss what is an achulles??? as for my claim to fame apart from a few coaches trophies through juniors not much.and gvflfan lets get serious 11 goals against tat this year wouldnt equate to 3 or 4 goals in real life. move on and get a kick against real opposition instead of making childish excuses. do you hear anyone bagging kirby for not getting a kick just cause he plays in the ruck???

YaMan
16 Aug 2005, 12:07
Very touchie about their high priced recruits these Hicks from Euroa. Are you trying to already set up your defence of buying a premiership.

To be honest I believe euroa are not paying out that much money, they have done the recruiting drive very well this year. Good hard honest players at a great deal, unlike seymour, benalla, masfield and mooroopna. They would be the top 4 spenders

jmain14
16 Aug 2005, 12:10
G'day mate.

It was a pretty good game.

We got off to a great start with Dirty and Rourky in the guts. Dirty was sensational in close, feeding out handballs and directing our players. Unfortunately he only lasted 7 minutes as he appeared to pull his calf muscle. We kicked 4 goals to 2 in the first Q and were playing really well.

We lost the game in the 2nd Q as Tatura kicked about 6 or 7 goals to our 1.

They also kicked the first couple of the 3 Q to put us 5 goals down. We worked back into the game really well and went into 3 QT just a goal down.

In the last Q, both teams traded goals and we ended up 10 points down.

However, at least I will be able to tell my children that I played with Robbie Miller. He had decent fitness and whilst his timing and judgement were off in the 1st half, he got it back in the 2nd. He took a typical 1 handed speccy in a pack of 4.

Rourkey was pretty good Echucaboy. He is just so fit and he is very clever. But the main reason he gets the ball is because he always uses his voice.
no good about the dirtbag taking an early shower - would you suggest that the result may have been different if he had played out the game?? he obviously started pretty well.

yeah it would have been great playing with the likes of him and racehorse miller. something to tell the kids and grandkids about for sure he he. that pack mark that racehorse took would have been a delight to watch and would have brought back so many fond memories to all the fans present I am sure.

speaking of having the pleasure of playing alongside great players how has pumpa's form been?? still getting the job done week in week out??

jmain14
16 Aug 2005, 12:11
Paul Newman from Kyabram, 14 out of the sides 17 goals to get the side over the line by less than a goal, great performance.
the bloke is an absolute freak, I have previously mentioned on this site how much I rate his abilities. I think he could cut it at afl level. a fantastic fella too.

fat back pocket
16 Aug 2005, 12:24
My opinion alone is that in it's current form Rumbalara would struggle to be near competitive in the GVFL, but not to say that if granted access they wouldn't recruit to suit substantially.
Im pretty sure their in a strong financial position with a great ground and quality facilities, and their president Mr. Briggs is the right man to be leading the charge.
As far as CGFL football goes, the standard is no different to any other district club. Fairly confident the top sides (Rumba, Yea, Shepp East) would be more than competitive against KDFL, PDFL and HDFL clubs.
As far as professionalism goes, each club no doubt varies in any comp. My side (Yea) has made a genuine commitment to give ourselves the best chance of winning this year's premiership, but dont know how other teams operate.
We have strict team rules and disciplines, fantastic medical staff and quality stats people which makes my role as a first year senior coach much easier.
But for some reason I think you already know that, being a Seymour lad!!!

I think for all the medical reports, you should speak to your mate Inness. He is the Seymour lad that is on this site isn't he?

If Rumba have a good president, are in a good financial position, and will be competitive, surely they would have to be a serious consideration to join the GV if CGFL folds.

Only time will tell i suppose.

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 12:33
To be honest I believe euroa are not paying out that much money, they have done the recruiting drive very well this year. Good hard honest players at a great deal, unlike seymour, benalla, masfield and mooroopna. They would be the top 4 spenders

I guess you would be making your money back through the canteen with Grainger dropping pies like Brown drops NoDoze and Gibson sitting in the front seat of the ute sucking down VB's instead of playing.

YaMan
16 Aug 2005, 12:35
I guess you would be making your money back through the canteen with Grainger dropping pies like Brown drops NoDoze and Gibson sitting in the front seat of the ute sucking down VB's instead of playing.

You are a dead set tosser Skoff, let us all know when your homeless you fu*kin bum

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 13:00
You are a dead set tosser Skoff, let us all know when your homeless you fu*kin bum

I've been to and seen the way you people in Euroa live. All l need is a tarp, a dispensed VB carton (without the VB ringtone panel on it), the rear rusted out back panel of a ute and a mullet to have the most spick house on the block.

fat back pocket
16 Aug 2005, 13:03

How is Sharp? Is he likely to return, I was at the Euroa v Shepp game, he was in the reserves right? But went off, looked injured? Re-occurence of the same injury?

Is he likely to return to the seniors even if he does get over his injury concerns? Euroa's ruck stocks seem to be well held by big Janzy, Hyatt gets in there as a 5min chop out doesn't he?

Shepp seem to have good ruck stocks with Harrop and Saunders. Maybe the difference when the game pace picks up for finals footy, most of the other good sides don't have a dominant reserve ruckman like Shepp does in Saunders.

john35
16 Aug 2005, 13:08
Speaking of paying out big dollars even though tongala have finished on the bottom they would be paying out big dollars as well! the Fonu Bros would be on a packet. Baker wouldnt be just playing for the free ******** they give him after games. The kid trevaskis (jake) Tongala boy but living in melbourne apparently put a grand price tag on his head was going to take $800 a game but due to the ever growing Fuel Prices put a grand on his head an they agreed (last years bnf winner). Brendan White son of the coach loves his food and beer he apparently is taking home $300 a game but generally puts most back through the canteen an bar. Andrew Reid very good player would be taking home plenty.The Brennan boys are also eating into there salary to help feed there calves... Whats your thoughts lads wouldnt be suprised if the blues are paying a large amount out for littly result???

YaMan
16 Aug 2005, 13:32
I've been to and seen the way you people in Euroa live. All l need is a tarp, a dispensed VB carton (without the VB ringtone panel on it), the rear rusted out back panel of a ute and a mullet to have the most spick house on the block.

Yep, you are officially a ********er.

Mate, I'm not even from euroa.

F*ck off Skoff

ondee
16 Aug 2005, 13:41
the bloke is an absolute freak, I have previously mentioned on this site how much I rate his abilities. I think he could cut it at afl level. a fantastic fella too.
yeah he's a good bloke. punts like kenny calendar..

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 13:47
Mate, I'm not even from euroa.

Who the hell would admit their from Euroa anyway?

Still l sense there is angst that with all the money spent on players you feel like you might fall over at the final hurdle.

This then posses a question.

Is it more cringe worthy to struggle along, with your home grown talent and not make finals or to spend up big get to the big one to then crash and burn?

Crashing and Burning happens more often than you'd think. In 5 years time when people get together to reminisce about 2005 are they going to be laughing at Tongala who finished bottom without a win or Euroa who spent millions to buy a premiership only fail?

ondee
16 Aug 2005, 13:51

Still l sense there is angst that with all the money spent on players you feel like you might fall over at the final hurdle.

Is it more cringe worthy to struggle along, with your home grown talent and not make finals or to spend up big get to the big one to then crash and burn?

Crashing and Burning happens more often than you'd think. In 5 years time when people get together to reminisce about 2005 are they going to be laughing at Tongala who finished bottom without a win or Euroa who spent millions to buy a premiership only fail?
you've got a lot of hostility boys...

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 14:01
you've got a lot of hostility boys...

He started it. :D

Travvy43
16 Aug 2005, 14:07
He started it. :D

This is what the thread has amounted too!!!

Anyway

John35, get your facts right young fella before going to make big statements. Ake and Tivita are both on good money, but they did not command near as much as you in negotiations!!!!

Who's the bear?
16 Aug 2005, 14:12
Mmm Skoff and YaMan ... the Bear thinks you boys should make love, not war. And make it sweet love, maybe with the lights dimly lit with the soft baritones of Barry White humming in the background ... "now darling i, can't get enough of your love baby" ... yeah, so hot

fat back pocket
16 Aug 2005, 14:25

Euroa were very pro-active over the summer, and have reaped the rewards. If they are paying big cash, good for them, they are obviously trying generate some interest around the town, who wants to follow a team that finishes on the bottom, probably a reason why Tonny are struggling, I'm sure if you asked Tonny if they would rather lose a Granny after dominating all year or not win a game, i know which they would chose.

Euroa has had a lot of home grown tallent, Lamaro, Gilliland, Watson, Bamford, + a host of others who have been around for 3 or 4 years through the trying times who provide good depth in Matt Mills, Thomson, etc. If they miss out, they will be stiff, but it will be a fantastic spring board for next year, whereas Tonny, well we have all read what is going on there. In a position no one wants to see a club go through, a position im sure they would happily swap Euroa with.

People will remember Tonny's 2005 in 5 years, esspecially if it spelt the end of their era in the Goulburn Valley competition.

ondee
16 Aug 2005, 14:25
Mmm Skoff and YaMan ... the Bear thinks you boys should make love, not war. And make it sweet love, maybe with the lights dimly lit with the soft baritones of Barry White humming in the background ... "now darling i, can't get enough of your love baby" ... yeah, so hot
oh well, as the old saying goes - you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make them lick out a rabbit..

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 14:30
oh well, as the old saying goes - you can lead a horse to water, but you can't make them lick out a rabbit..

Or as the Euroa saying goes - Click goes the shears boys we now have a brazilian.

Bell. J
16 Aug 2005, 15:48
Or as the Euroa saying goes - Click goes the shears boys we now have a brazilian.

You've got to get off the pipe Skoff....

GVFLFAN
16 Aug 2005, 15:56
please tell me footyboss what is an achulles??? as for my claim to fame apart from a few coaches trophies through juniors not much.and gvflfan lets get serious 11 goals against tat this year wouldnt equate to 3 or 4 goals in real life. move on and get a kick against real opposition instead of making childish excuses. do you hear anyone bagging kirby for not getting a kick just cause he plays in the ruck???

Great to see you won a few coaches trophies for Sucking the coach off!!! That is a great claim to fame mate!!! Keep up the good work!!! I didn't hear anyone bag Kirby either buddy so don't know what your on about!!! Get a life!!!

GVFLFAN
16 Aug 2005, 15:59
Skoff whoever you are champ you can keep it coming because the boys at euroa thrive on the crap spoken by dim wits like yourself and the shep news and the whole GVFL who are waiting for us to fall come september!!!! We will see the result in 5 weeks time!!!!

Skoff
16 Aug 2005, 16:37
Skoff whoever you are champ you can keep it coming because the boys at euroa thrive on the crap spoken by dim wits like yourself and the shep news and the whole GVFL who are waiting for us to fall come september!!!! We will see the result in 5 weeks time!!!!

Gee, you've got a touch of the Ashley Giles'** about you.

All worried about what everyone else is saying. And just like Giles you might get to wag the finger at the establishment once in a while but when it really counts it'll all come undone. What is this conditon known as.....oh yeah, Brain Explosion.

So the whole competition is against you? Poor didums.

** - Ashley Giles, ******** poor English spin bowler. I add this as l know TV doesn't exist in Euroa and your crystal radio may have run out of power.

jmain14
16 Aug 2005, 16:38
ya's are all a bunch of fags!!

I don't really believe that but I feel left out that I haven't abused anybody on here in the past 2 pages. it seems as though everyone else has.

jmain14
16 Aug 2005, 16:39
yeah he loves a punt hey but then again - don't we all?? are you from ky ondee??

ondee
16 Aug 2005, 17:41
yeah he loves a punt hey but then again - don't we all?? are you from ky ondee??
No but I know him cos I played footy with him once. Might be a chance for the draft this year...?

jmain14
16 Aug 2005, 17:47
No but I know him cos I played footy with him once. Might be a chance for the draft this year...?
he will be doing a pre-season with essendon this year. that gives an indication of how well he performed at inter-league level. a good chance to be rookie-listed next year.

Junkie
16 Aug 2005, 18:05

Very laid back unit is the 'Freak'. Good fella who hates a shave!

john35
16 Aug 2005, 18:30
newman is a ******** bloke... loves himself an doesnt give anyone the time of day to far up himself for me boys. very good player though but is very arrogant. was asked to give a talk to an under 14s side an said no... loves himself too much boys. thumbs down to newman hope he snaps his leg

Junkie
16 Aug 2005, 18:30
Gee, you've got a touch of the Ashley Giles'** about you.

All worried about what everyone else is saying. And just like Giles you might get to wag the finger at the establishment once in a while but when it really counts it'll all come undone. What is this conditon known as.....oh yeah, Brain Explosion.

So the whole competition is against you? Poor didums.

** - Ashley Giles, ******** poor English spin bowler. I add this as l know TV doesn't exist in Euroa and your crystal radio may have run out of power.

I'm pretty sure you’ve lost your $hit Skoff. What the fu#k has Giles got to do with the GVFL? Your comparison is ludicrous. I’m really into the GV and your comments aren’t warranted here. The rest of the competition is usually against the top team so I'm not sure what your getting at there. Brain Explosion? Atleast these other posters appear to have one of these, whats your excuse?

You really shouldn’t waste your time on Bigfooty when you should be on seek.com looking for work. The others in line at centrelink will become frustrated with you holding up the cue all the time.

Junkie
16 Aug 2005, 18:37
newman is a ******** bloke... loves himself an doesnt give anyone the time of day to far up himself for me boys. very good player though but is very arrogant. was asked to give a talk to an under 14s side an said no... loves himself too much boys. thumbs down to newman hope he snaps his leg

You clearly dont know him from a bar of soap. Seeing someone play footy or playing against someone gives you no right to comment on their personallity. Is a pretty shy bloke and what obligation does he have to address an under 14 side? SFA!

I hope your mother breaks her back when I digitally rape her later this evening :eek:

Doona2
16 Aug 2005, 23:14
It appears a lot of players have taken their eye off the pill and are going the man, c'mon guys lets keep the thread to GVFL talk. Again it appears the flag coul dgo to an old Waranga North East club (Mansfield, Seymour, Euroa). As an outsider looking in would it be fair to assume that it doesn't sit too well with the more Shepparton based clubs and local media?

the missing head
17 Aug 2005, 00:38

crystal radios can't run out of power, it gets all of its power from the actual radio wave... educated by your parents hey Skoff? they must be thick as ******** to hey?

fat back pocket
17 Aug 2005, 08:57

Totally agreed - except for the "hope he snaps his leg" part. But, i suppose if you can kick 14 in an important match against good opposition, you can be arrogant. Only the best can do that.

TuskenRaider
17 Aug 2005, 10:11
Saw a bit of Newman last year and he can play a bit. Sounds like he may get another chance at a rookie list with Essendon so hopefully that works out for him.

As Doona2 said, keep the thread on track.

DekkaRoo
17 Aug 2005, 10:31

Its a bit harsh to hope that someome has a serious injury like that. The guy can play footy and perhaps thats all he wants to do.... he does not have to address a kids under 14 side. He could have stayed in Melbourne and chased $$ as well, but he chose to help out his home town this year and play footy with his mates... that tells me something about the guy. Look at Blake Campbell who played his last season with the blues... he went to a struggling Maroopna side chasing the big bucks (and perhaps to play with his brother), but he did nothing to help Tongala who gave him his start in footy..... a side that has been struggling for a while and could have done with his services this year. It makes me wonder about people.

john35
17 Aug 2005, 11:04
yeah disapointing from campbell. obviously he sees a brighter future at the catery...thanks deka

jmain14
17 Aug 2005, 11:06
are you involved with a ky under 14's side johnny?? if not, then you suggesting him not talking to the juniors because of his arrogance lacks credibility. if you are, and if he did knock back the invitation, then I am sure there would have been a reason for it. as junkie said he probably comes across as fairly shy and I'd say he'd be far more comfortable running a training session with perhaps one or two other senior players than he would be speaking in front of them all. I guess the other thing could be that he is one of your mates and you are just having a go at him tongue in cheek.

either way though johnny, I can guarantee you he is not arrogant. he plays good footy, and I think people a lot of the time depict good country footy players as arrogant without even in fact knowing them.

jmain14
17 Aug 2005, 11:07
Its a bit harsh to hope that someome has a serious injury like that. The guy can play footy and perhaps thats all he wants to do.... he does not have to address a kids under 14 side. He could have stayed in Melbourne and chased $$ as well, but he chose to help out his home town this year and play footy with his mates... that tells me something about the guy. Look at Blake Campbell who played his last season with the blues... he went to a struggling Maroopna side chasing the big bucks (and perhaps to play with his brother), but he did nothing to help Tongala who gave him his start in footy..... a side that has been struggling for a while and could have done with his services this year. It makes me wonder about people.
exactly dekkaroo, great post.

jmain14
17 Aug 2005, 11:09
you are one of paulo's mates aren't you johnny??