View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Can Shop
15 Aug 2006, 20:58
Euroa were pretty undermanner to Can Shop. They had one bloke playing with a slightly torn calf and ended up with only 1 on the bench a few minutes into the last quarter. Its definately out of the top 4 teams this year, they are well and truly a cut above the rest.

Well i have to agree. And with all 4 sides seniors figuring in the finals also its gunna be all about depth in the clubs..... The way it should be. Looking at the final 6 in seniors and reserves it could be the same 6 sides in both except echuca 2nds might just pip out the swans.

Any tips for the abikar urple?? Any standout you have come accross in the league??

sneaky3
15 Aug 2006, 21:41
hey guys i was just wondering if anyone could tell me if tom jeffery is playing for mansfield this year?

Doona2
15 Aug 2006, 22:15
Hey Lion's fans whats the go with Patty Rattray? Will he play again this year, will he shoot thru for the big $$$ next year - plenty of whispers flying around, does anyone actually know what he's up to?

Urple
16 Aug 2006, 08:48
Well i have to agree. And with all 4 sides seniors figuring in the finals also its gunna be all about depth in the clubs..... The way it should be. Looking at the final 6 in seniors and reserves it could be the same 6 sides in both except echuca 2nds might just pip out the swans.

Any tips for the abikar urple?? Any standout you have come accross in the league??
Chris Tate, Charity Fete....

LOBSTER
16 Aug 2006, 09:12
Hey Lion's fans whats the go with Patty Rattray? Will he play again this year, will he shoot thru for the big $$$ next year - plenty of whispers flying around, does anyone actually know what he's up to?
Im lead to believe that Patty will not be back in a Seymour jumper for the remainder of this year due to his knee problems. He also had a jaw reduction didnt he, well thats what I got told. Where would he be heading, without Stevie D coaching at the den next year, will be interesting to who they hold onto and who goes.

ringo1
16 Aug 2006, 09:19
Any names linked to Echuca next season? Apparently Dylan Butlers reign will finish at years end and the players won't be sorry to see him go.

Can Shop
16 Aug 2006, 10:10
Rumour going around the GVFL is that Tatura's Michael 'PERCY" Roberts is the big named GVFL player leading the list to head to the tongala blues next year. Any one know more on that story

ringo1
16 Aug 2006, 10:32
Can confirm that rumour. Will the Tony boys keep everyone?

Can Shop
16 Aug 2006, 10:42
Havent even seen who is on there list thsi year so wouldnt know but i just heard that rumour about percy

ringo1
16 Aug 2006, 10:46
Havent even seen who is on there list thsi year so wouldnt know but i just heard that rumour about percy

Thanks for that Can shop. I believe that they will be recruiting heavily. After quality people as well as good players.My sources say that they have a great group of quality people as players and that they want to further develop this.

hank1
16 Aug 2006, 11:10
Rumour going around the GVFL is that Tatura's Michael 'PERCY" Roberts is the big named GVFL player leading the list to head to the tongala blues next year. Any one know more on that story

Paul Newman also fits the description in the Shepp News!

journeyman
16 Aug 2006, 11:21
Any names linked to Echuca next season? Apparently Dylan Butlers reign will finish at years end and the players won't be sorry to see him go.

Butler is finishing at season's end but I find it very hard to believe that the players don't like him. He's a legend bloke

ringo1
16 Aug 2006, 11:35
:thumbsu: Butler is finishing at season's end but I find it very hard to believe that the players don't like him. He's a legend bloke

I think they just want a change- nothing to do with him as a person

journeyman
16 Aug 2006, 11:37
:thumbsu:

I think they just want a change- nothing to do with him as a person

Sorry Ringo, get a bit over protective of the Nathalia boys

Bundyrum
16 Aug 2006, 11:46
Seymour are hitting their straps at the ideal time of year. The club has had massive injuries to many players in the 1's and magoos. Some of those players have returned successfully, and with another five to return to the 1's, will bolster the senior team with high spirits and confidence and once again make them very very competative for the finals.:thumbsu:

The magoos are laughing, they are not only killing some teams. but they will also greatly benefit on the return of the 5 players from the 1's.:)

Can Shop
16 Aug 2006, 12:14
Seymour are hitting their straps at the ideal time of year. The club has had massive injuries to many players in the 1's and magoos. Some of those players have returned successfully, and with another five to return to the 1's, will bolster the senior team with high spirits and confidence and once again make them very very competative for the finals.:thumbsu:

The magoos are laughing, they are not only killing some teams. but they will also greatly benefit on the return of the 5 players from the 1's.:)

Mighty Lions Sound quite confident as a club at the moment. Good on them. Well deserved at this stage.

Grandale
16 Aug 2006, 13:11

I asked the same question a couple of weeks back, Doon, and our old pal FBP informed me he was done for the year.
And yes, he has had further work done on the jaw. Saw him at the races on Sunday and he is a new man.

jets06
16 Aug 2006, 13:37
has Mark O'Sullivan played a game this year with Benalla ????

Flat Track Bully
16 Aug 2006, 14:05

No, unfortunately. Mark's recurrign shoulder problems forced him into premature retirement.

Is well liked around Benalla, and would have fitted in nicely on a hbf

saints03
16 Aug 2006, 14:06

nah mate he has retired

Football Fanatic
16 Aug 2006, 17:10
Is there any truth to the rumour that Ben Haynes (former Essendon & Richmond player) maybe joining the Shepp Swans next year. He is mates with Bullen, and word is he drove from adelaide on the weekend to watch swans play. Could he make the Swans a genuine flag contender.

Sidey_87
16 Aug 2006, 17:13
Premiership Odds
Seymour $2.50
Benalla $4.00
Mooroopna $4.00
Euroa $5.00
Swans $8.00
United $8.00
Mansfield $11

I think Seymour would have to be the clear favourites now with their relatively easy run home.
What are everyone else's thoughts?
Who would you back at them odds?

bystanding backman
16 Aug 2006, 17:57
Premiership Odds
Seymour $2.50
Benalla $4.00
Mooroopna $4.00
Euroa $5.00
Swans $8.00
United $8.00
Mansfield $11

I think Seymour would have to be the clear favourites now with their relatively easy run home.

i would tend to agree with most of it. I think the swans are going to make it a lot further than most people think. The three main contenders will be seymour with them getting more of their players back from injury each week and a nice run home. The other two would be swans they are a fairly handy side in the wet and the dry and mooroopna could also be there provided no more hiccups like the tatura game.

jazzy
16 Aug 2006, 20:19
yeah i think u have it pretty right, still rate benalla the favourites with seymour second and then mooroopna. Seymour are starting to get their full side back and will be hitting their straps at the right time of year. Lions seconds have to be a sure thing for the flag, absolutely killing them at the moment and still with a few to come back will take a good side to beat them.

stanleyy
16 Aug 2006, 21:31
can anyone tell me how Aaron Willoughby is playing this year,apparently he's @ tatura:thumbsu:

showy#1
16 Aug 2006, 22:24
I asked the same question a couple of weeks back, Doon, and our old pal FBP informed me he was done for the year.
And yes, he has had further work done on the jaw. Saw him at the races on Sunday and he is a new man.i hear rattray is waiting to see who the coach is and then is going to decide

Doona2
16 Aug 2006, 22:33
i hear rattray is waiting to see who the coach is and then is going to decide

Yeah he told me a similar thing - also said he would be keen to assist Barrell with the 3rds if he stayed at Kings Park, then he'd have a bit of coaching experience to take back to Avenel.

No Heart
16 Aug 2006, 23:41
i hear rattray is waiting to see who the coach is and then is going to decide

Totally right showy , he is like a lot of people waiting to see what happens at the Den . A few of the boys took SJ out the other night and tried to convince him to stay one more year, but he is definetly leaving and it will be interesting to see where he ends up. Rumours at the moment seem to have Haberman or Amad taking over the coaching job, I think they could throw another name in the ring { Ben Davey } has been great this year with the twos and is a club legend .

No Heart
16 Aug 2006, 23:48
Wasnt a bright idea by their water boy during the 2nd quarter though, got yellow carded. Was there reserves coach as well. Discipline starts from the top, probably why their twos got rolled for the 2nd time this year. They dont have much discipline there at all.

Hay Carpet Arse , that sounnds like Gary Sheldon ??????????

FOOTYBOSS
17 Aug 2006, 09:06
Premiership Odds
Seymour $2.50
Benalla $4.00
Mooroopna $4.00
Euroa $5.00
Swans $8.00
United $8.00
Mansfield $11

I cant believe you have Euroa at $5 ahead of United, Swans and Mansfield. They are out of the 6 with a very tough run home. Will be very hard to even make the 6. A slip up again this week against the Swans at Lemnos and the season is all but over for the pies.

FOOTYBOSS
17 Aug 2006, 09:08
Hay Carpet Arse , that sounnds like Gary Sheldon ??????????
Ha!! Wasnt he the best coach you ever had.:rolleyes: Wouldnt waste my time even mentioning his name. Total knob jockey if you ask me.

LOBSTER
17 Aug 2006, 09:49
Is there any truth to the rumour that Ben Haynes (former Essendon & Richmond player) maybe joining the Shepp Swans next year. He is mates with Bullen, and word is he drove from adelaide on the weekend to watch swans play. Could he make the Swans a genuine flag contender.
Doubt it very much. Haynes was in Melbourne all last week due to the fact that his team in the SANFL had the bye. He went to the swans game with his mate Bullen to watch a bit of footy. The Swans are already a genuine flag contender this year if you look at the ladder and results mate. Im pretty sure Bullen isnt even playing at the swans next year, hence why he didnt take up the electrical apprenticeship that watters offered him. It would have locked him into the swans for the next 4 years while he is completing his apprenticeship.

My mail suggests both players will be playing at Heidelberg in the DVFL next year alongside their good mate Justin Murphy. But dont be suprised if they both end up Keilor Park in the EDFL, now that Dean Rioli has agreed to coach there next year.

But as we all know its only rumours at this time of the year.

GVFLFAN
17 Aug 2006, 10:04
I cant believe you have Euroa at $5 ahead of United, Swans and Mansfield. They are out of the 6 with a very tough run home. Will be very hard to even make the 6. A slip up again this week against the Swans at Lemnos and the season is all but over for the pies.
Dont right us off yet FOOTYBOSS! Im sure the boys are dissapointed with last week and will do everthing we can to play finals cos if we do we know we can beat any side in the comp! Need to lift this week as it will be a very tough task at lemnos! Go Pies

Caught with the ball
17 Aug 2006, 10:47
Just wanted to know a bit about Dale Thorson who plays for Echuca. Can he play the game?, what sort of player is he?

FOOTYBOSS
17 Aug 2006, 11:22
Dont right us off yet FOOTYBOSS! Im sure the boys are dissapointed with last week and will do everthing we can to play finals cos if we do we know we can beat any side in the comp! Need to lift this week as it will be a very tough task at lemnos! Go Pies
Im not writing us off GVFLFAN, just stating that we are pushing s h i t uphill to make it now. I just found it very weird that a bloke could have us at shorter odds then a team sitting in 3rd spot. Real weird in fact.

showy#1
17 Aug 2006, 11:27
Totally right showy , he is like a lot of people waiting to see what happens at the Den . A few of the boys took SJ out the other night and tried to convince him to stay one more year, but he is definetly leaving and it will be interesting to see where he ends up. Rumours at the moment seem to have Haberman or Amad taking over the coaching job, I think they could throw another name in the ring { Ben Davey } has been great this year with the twos and is a club legend .just a little inside rumour that rattray wont play if amad is to take the reins

mike ockerts
17 Aug 2006, 12:06
just a little inside rumour that rattray wont play if amad is to take the reins

to much time on your hands patty, stop making a dill of yourself mate:eek:
your losing credability:thumbsd:

showy#1
17 Aug 2006, 13:38
[quote=mike ockerts]to much time on your hands patty, stop making a dill of yourself mate:eek:
your losing credability:thumbsd:[/quote you loser if you had the right name for this user fair enough but you have no idea

Grandale
17 Aug 2006, 13:39
just a little inside rumour that rattray wont play if amad is to take the reins

And I'm sure Seymour will be basing its decision on a coach on who Patrick is happy with.

spotted dog
17 Aug 2006, 13:46
And I'm sure Seymour will be basing its decision on a coach on who Patrick is happy with.

Here Here!

mike ockerts
17 Aug 2006, 14:00

yep, like it, good call:thumbsu:

bradrowe#32
17 Aug 2006, 14:01
Did I miss something here? Is Steve Daniels leaving Seymour at the end of the year? I heard a rumour a while ago that he is moving to Shepparton and coaching Wangaratta next year.

mike ockerts
17 Aug 2006, 14:03
Did I miss something here? Is Steve Daniels leaving Seymour at the end of the year? I heard a rumour a while ago that he is moving to Shepparton and coaching Wangaratta next year.

nathalia i heard;)

pete_mitchell
17 Aug 2006, 14:16
Im not writing us off GVFLFAN, just stating that we are pushing s h i t uphill to make it now. I just found it very weird that a bloke could have us at shorter odds then a team sitting in 3rd spot. Real weird in fact.

Although the league seems to be much more even this year, would have thought the team that looks likely to finish 3rd would have very low odds. Seems to be the best launching point to win a flag...play the lowest team to make finals (generally suggests something) and a win gives them 2 shots at making the granny...

If im not mistaken, Mansfield won it from there in 04 and seymour in 05...

ringo1
17 Aug 2006, 14:18
:thumbsu: I don't reckon he would go to Nathalia.1 They will have won back to back flags and 2. Its a step down from GV. Perhaps the TAC could be his go- after all he is level 3 credentialled and could have 2 flags behind him.

Duff Man
17 Aug 2006, 14:42
Although the league seems to be much more even this year, would have thought the team that looks likely to finish 3rd would have very low odds. Seems to be the best launching point to win a flag...play the lowest team to make finals (generally suggests something) and a win gives them 2 shots at making the granny...

If im not mistaken, Mansfield won it from there in 04 and seymour in 05...

Is 3rd spot as attractive as past years pete? The reason I ask is because we currently have 8 or 9 sides still fighting for a place in the finals, and regardless of who the final six are, they would all be capable of winning the big one.

Look back to last year and Seymour (3rd) had to beat Rochy (6th), who were well off the pace of the top 3 sides. Then if you look at 2004, Mansfield (3rd) had to beat Shep Bears (6th) - also a big gap between them that year.

The way things are heading this year, you could end up with Euroa or Seymour finishing 6th and I don't think you'd be sleeping too well knowing you are up against one of these two sides in a cut throat situation in the first week of finals. Especially if the side that finishes 6th happens to have virtually a full squad to choose from.

Sure if you finish 3rd and win, that would put you in a pretty good position to have a real crack at the big one. But because the ladder is so tight this year, your season could be over first week of the finals.

journeyman
17 Aug 2006, 14:43
:thumbsu: I don't reckon he would go to Nathalia.1 They will have won back to back flags and 2. Its a step down from GV. Perhaps the TAC could be his go- after all he is level 3 credentialled and could have 2 flags behind him.

I've heard he's moving up to Shepp. The Bushies job wont be available next year as Dean only started this year. Would he coach against Seymour??

bystanding backman
17 Aug 2006, 17:32
will Rumbalara get into the gvfl either next year or ever.

Full Foward
17 Aug 2006, 17:33
adam dogga cole may be one of the best rovers in the comp. any thoughts on that he gets that many hard ball gets and he will go forward and kick the goals when need. would love to have him in my team

pete_mitchell
17 Aug 2006, 17:34
Is 3rd spot as attractive as past years pete? The reason I ask is because we currently have 8 or 9 sides still fighting for a place in the finals, and regardless of who the final six are, they would all be capable of winning the big one.

Look back to last year and Seymour (3rd) had to beat Rochy (6th), who were well off the pace of the top 3 sides. Then if you look at 2004, Mansfield (3rd) had to beat Shep Bears (6th) - also a big gap between them that year.

The way things are heading this year, you could end up with Euroa or Seymour finishing 6th and I don't think you'd be sleeping too well knowing you are up against one of these two sides in a cut throat situation in the first week of finals. Especially if the side that finishes 6th happens to have virtually a full squad to choose from.

Sure if you finish 3rd and win, that would put you in a pretty good position to have a real crack at the big one. But because the ladder is so tight this year, your season could be over first week of the finals.

I did note that in my post...the even competition this year dispells some of the advantage. Agreed that this year is probably the year you get an advantage of finishing one or two...

The 6 won't be finalised till the final sat i wouldn't think...maybe top spot depending on this weeks rounds. If the cats get up, and euroa beat swans, cats cement top two at least...most likely 1st. which is a great effort.

Does anyone know where finals will be played at this year? When is it decided? Would they give home ground advantages to teams?

Doona2
17 Aug 2006, 18:09

Specualtion is marvellous this time of year - Steve has done a sensational job turning around the Lions over 3 impressive years. No official word he is even going anywhere yet, but if that eventuates there is some quality successors in the ranks and Im certain that a lot of his legacies will remain at Kings Park for a long time yet.

One things for sure, the SFNC has benefiited majorly from his influence Id say :thumbsu:

hank1
17 Aug 2006, 22:21
will Rumbalara get into the gvfl either next year or ever.
No, not next year, and not in the immediate future(next 5 years), if the club is lead properly and the planning is in place they will get there eventually.

Doona2
18 Aug 2006, 00:48
I've heard he's moving up to Shepp. The Bushies job wont be available next year as Dean only started this year. Would he coach against Seymour??

Peter Dean announced tonight as Parkside's coach in 2007 according to DVFL thread

bradrowe#32
18 Aug 2006, 14:41
Pretty good round of footy gentlemen. Who do we think's going to win?

Round Sixteen – August 19

Shepp Swans V Euroa
Mansfield V Echuca
Benalla V Mooroopna
Kyabram V Shepparton
Shepp United V Rochester
Seymour V Tatura

Duff Man
18 Aug 2006, 15:05

A couple of coaches on the move rowey , D Gleeson and M Adamson im led to believe will be leaving there clubs also. And i belive the powers to be at one strong club have expressed their anger to the league about a GVFL club talking to their coach before the year has even finished , and have made him an offer he carnt knock back ?

Duff Man
18 Aug 2006, 15:10
Pretty good round of footy gentlemen. Who do we think's going to win?

Round Sixteen – August 19

Shepp Swans V Euroa
Mansfield V Echuca
Benalla V Mooroopna
Kyabram V Shepparton
Shepp United V Rochester
Seymour V Tatura

Big round rowey, Shepp Swans and the Euroa game will be a cracker , and Mooroopna v Benalla , are the cats the real deal?

No Heart
18 Aug 2006, 15:27
A couple of coaches on the move rowey , D Gleeson and M Adamson im led to believe will be leaving there clubs also. And i belive the powers to be at one strong club have expressed their anger to the league about a GVFL club talking to their coach before the year has even finished , and have made him an offer he carnt knock back ?
Any names Duff Man? Who is the coach and who is the club that is mean't to have approached him?

jazzy
18 Aug 2006, 18:32
euroa v shep swans
Mansfield v Echuca
Benalla v Mooroopna
Shepp v Kyabram
Shep Uni v Rochester
Lions by heaps

Doona2
18 Aug 2006, 19:19
Any names Duff Man? Who is the coach and who is the club that is mean't to have approached him?

Would a sum of $30k be around the mark Duffy?

Johnny Tapp
18 Aug 2006, 21:54
Anyone know if Dave Williams is coaching again next year?

roaring tiger
18 Aug 2006, 22:08
Stevie D to Tat???

tige19
19 Aug 2006, 19:56
Stevie D to Tat???

No chance, im certain the club is gonna give Moose a year with some cattle on the park. Its unfair to sack a bloke who hasnt really had the team he needs to be a succesfull coach.

No Heart
19 Aug 2006, 22:05
No chance, im certain the club is gonna give Moose a year with some cattle on the park. Its unfair to sack a bloke who hasnt really had the team he needs to be a succesfull coach.

Talking to a few of the boys after the game today tige, and they seem to think trav might not do it again next year. Thought you played well on saad today also, and what did you think of the lions and there mauling?

GeeVee
19 Aug 2006, 22:40
tat got rolled by 154 points today pathetic. supose there already talking to players at other clubs they wanna get for next year.

greta game at benalla today would make a good grand final but still a few teams good chance to finish top spot.

tige19
20 Aug 2006, 00:57
Talking to a few of the boys after the game today tige, and they seem to think trav might not do it again next year. Thought you played well on saad today also, and what did you think of the lions and there mauling?

Cheers mate, i hated playing on him, my role is far different than the one i played today. I normally get the chance to float around the flanks and run of my guys but today when you play against a bloke like him you have to wear him close and not give him much. We were under the pump in the backline big time so it wasnt the most enjoyable day out.

On the coaching gig: My understanding is that he will coach on. From moose i get the feeling that he reall does want to do it, however if the recruitment process falls short by christmas time id doubt he would want the job anyway, who would???. Personally id throw my hand up for him to go around again, i would hate to see him get the flick with all the hard work he has done with the young blokes. He is a really good motivator and has some good views on how the game should be played so i would be dirty if he got the flick.

In regards to GeeVees comments: We might have been pathetic today and i know we were but anyone who has seen us play know that were a fairly honest side. We have abpit 15 or so guys who are 21 or under in the senior team and that makes things tough. Unbelievably we were 5 goals to 1 up at the 20 min mark of the first qtr, just goes to show we can put together some descent footy. I suppose with really young kids you have to take the good with the bad as you wait for them to develop.

No heart: Seymour were awesome today, seem to be hitting there straps at the right time. A clear cut above what Euroa produced against us however i dont think they were overly fantastic that day. I thought Willa and Joffas duel in the goal square was good all day, i think Willa bagged 3 but missed a few and had one taken off him by little Leeroy. Were not that far off from putting together a good side, its just gonna take a little while. The tough thing will be keeping our better players at the club next year and then bringing some guys in who can really be good footballers at this level.

cheers

VCFL_FAN
20 Aug 2006, 11:42
Good game at Benalla yesterday as said would be a great grand final and both teams still have big in's to come back.

Mooroopna have: Luke LeBroq and Geoff Conally

Saints: Porter didnt play

jazzy
20 Aug 2006, 12:57
yeah the seymour tatura game was ****, tatura played very well for 15min in the first quarter and were 2 goals up at 1/4 time, after that an absolute bath.

Duff Man
20 Aug 2006, 16:02
euroa v shep swans
Mansfield v Echuca
Benalla v Mooroopna
Shepp v Kyabram
Shep Uni v Rochester
Lions by heaps

Jazzy , just about spot on, shepp let you down. How good is these last couple of weeks going to be. Great win by Euroa over the swanies to keep them in touch, and Benalla take top spot on the league ladder after beating the cats , who have dropped to 3rd on the ladder. Seymours 25 goal win over tatura moved them in to second and United and Mansfeild did what they had to and won . Presure is now on these top 7 sides not to drop a game, Euroa v Mansfield game the looser almost would be finished you would think, Benalla should win its 2 last games against Echuca and Tatura and finish minor premier. Seymour now up and going should beat shepp and the swans and keep 2nd spot, Mooroopna will be doing there best to try and make up 6.5 percent to get over the lions but that will be tough, will be hoping the lions drop a game, but with games against Kyabram and Echuca to come the cats will probabaly finish 3rd. United who just have to win this week against tatura and they see finals action should finish 4th, Euroa will win there last 2 games and get in, Swannies will beat Rochester this week so they play finals in 2006 and Mansfield i think after being so good this year will just miss out,
But thats only the way i see it unfolding and will probably be of the mark as always?

No Heart
20 Aug 2006, 18:26
Jazzy , just about spot on, shepp let you down. How good is these last couple of weeks going to be. Great win by Euroa over the swanies to keep them in touch, and Benalla take top spot on the league ladder after beating the cats , who have dropped to 3rd on the ladder. Seymours 25 goal win over tatura moved them in to second and United and Mansfeild did what they had to and won . Presure is now on these top 7 sides not to drop a game, Euroa v Mansfield game the looser almost would be finished you would think, Benalla should win its 2 last games against Echuca and Tatura and finish minor premier. Seymour now up and going should beat shepp and the swans and keep 2nd spot, Mooroopna will be doing there best to try and make up 6.5 percent to get over the lions but that will be tough, will be hoping the lions drop a game, but with games against Kyabram and Echuca to come the cats will probabaly finish 3rd. United who just have to win this week against tatura and they see finals action should finish 4th, Euroa will win there last 2 games and get in, Swannies will beat Rochester this week so they play finals in 2006 and Mansfield i think after being so good this year will just miss out,
But thats only the way i see it unfolding and will probably be of the mark as always?

Well put together Duffy , always enjoy reading your posts,and we at the lions hope we can hang on to second spot also mate .Mansfield and Euroa game will be great viewing and your right that the looser might be in trouble. Did you get to watch Euroa and Shepp Swans on the weekend , and if so how did N Gilliland go ? I reckon hes a great player.

No Heart
20 Aug 2006, 18:32
Good game at Benalla yesterday as said would be a great grand final and both teams still have big in's to come back.

Any idea what kept Porter out VCFL FAN. Also, is Conally likely to play again this year. Heard that he may be out for the season.

FOOTYBOSS
20 Aug 2006, 18:42
Well put together Duffy , always enjoy reading your posts,and we at the lions hope we can hang on to second spot also mate .Mansfield and Euroa game will be great viewing and your right that the looser might be in trouble. Did you get to watch Euroa and Shepp Swans on the weekend , and if so how did N Gilliland go ? I reckon hes a great player.
N. Gilliland was very good against the swannies.

hank1
20 Aug 2006, 20:24
Any idea what kept Porter out VCFL FAN. Also, is Conally likely to play again this year. Heard that he may be out for the season.

Thought Connally was out for the year also but seen he was named in the twos in Fridays Shepp news, unsure whether he played!

VCFL_FAN
20 Aug 2006, 20:32

Nah not sure mate didnt see the full game but Mooroopna also were missing Nick Aloi and Gary Learmonth i believe so i hope these two teams meet again will be an even closer battle, Conally should be back soon you would think im not to sure to be honest?

Doona2
20 Aug 2006, 21:58
Couple of milestones at Kings Park yesterday that shouldn't go unoticed. Just read on the Lions website that Schotty played his 200th game and Robbie Inness his 100th . . . congrats to 2 ripper blokes :thumbsu:

Flat Track Bully
21 Aug 2006, 09:58

Connally played in the two's. Michael Barca didn't play and Gary Learmonth was a lte withdrawal with Ty Parsons coming into the side.

Porter didn't play for Benalla. Withdrew on Friday night. Casey Robertson was injured in the first five minutes and Benalla basically played without a CHF for the match.

Derek Hall spent the entire last quarter on the bench. Looked to be struggling as Ben Fahey did a number on him.

Mooroopna missed Aloi's creativity, however Sam La Porta was fantastic.

The lack of a recognised ruckman hurts Mooroopna. Quinlan, Robbins and Osbourne all had a crack, however Van Schaik and Vallender had the better of them.

Isn't a ripper situation where the only teams that are safe are Benalla, Mooroopna and Seymour. 4 teams fighting for three spots...However those three can still finish as low as sixth.

No Heart
21 Aug 2006, 11:12
Couple of milestones at Kings Park yesterday that shouldn't go unoticed. Just read on the Lions website that Schotty played his 200th game and Robbie Inness his 100th . . . congrats to 2 ripper blokes :thumbsu:

Great efforts Doona , but i think Robbie played his 100th and last for the season, with hooper due back this week , Robbie will be put back. I thought he might of not got the 100, but good on him great bloke and deserved it.

No Heart
21 Aug 2006, 11:19
N. Gilliland was very good against the swannies.

Great player Carpet , shame he got injured during the year. And could you be heading of back to melbourne next year , ran into an old playing buddy from the ants, and he told me yourself and Gibbo are of to Watsonia, hope it works out if true.

FOOTYBOSS
21 Aug 2006, 11:34
Great player Carpet , shame he got injured during the year. And could you be heading of back to melbourne next year , ran into an old playing buddy from the ants, and he told me yourself and Gibbo are of to Watsonia, hope it works out if true.
Ahh the old rumour mill hey. That one has been circulating the air waves for a few weeks now. Its pretty funny where they start. Im not going to deny it as it may take place. Which one of the old boys mentioned that to you?

scooby-doo
21 Aug 2006, 11:50
What happened to Bullen on Saturday, does anyone know? He walked off very early in the game and was heard to give the euroa coaching staff a bit of a spray, possibly in regard to some rough treatment from a few of the euroa players!!!! Did he carry an injury into the game?

No Heart
21 Aug 2006, 11:58
Ahh the old rumour mill hey. That one has been circulating the air waves for a few weeks now. Its pretty funny where they start. Im not going to deny it as it may take place. Which one of the old boys mentioned that to you?

Little angry man M Favrin told someone that told somebody that told me? Hope it works out mate.

head67
21 Aug 2006, 13:05
What happened to Bullen on Saturday, does anyone know? He walked off very early in the game and was heard to give the euroa coaching staff a bit of a spray, possibly in regard to some rough treatment from a few of the euroa players!!!! Did he carry an injury into the game?Actually accused Gleeson of sending a hit man out to get him out of the game

Can Shop
21 Aug 2006, 13:32
Our 2's had a few players out.
I played on Fox and he got best on.
He was the difference.
They were a lot more physical and put on more shepards which made their skills look better.
We have a few to come back in and i'll be struggling to get a game on my form.
On the boy from Mansfield...Freak.
And i rate them the best team we have played along with Euroa.

I believe you went on to be promoted to the ones this week sidey.. form cant be to much of an issue can it??

pete_mitchell
21 Aug 2006, 13:55
I heard Van Schaik had been playing 2's? or played a few games of magoo's a few weeks back...was he injured or something? How many games did he play in the 2's, i saw his name at least a couple of times...

If he wasn't injured, he'd be p i s sed if he got dropped when the Bag Carrier (Porter) returns. Any benalla boys fill in the story on the big guy?

FOOZ
21 Aug 2006, 14:28
can anyone tell me if anthony stevens is still playing for benella if so how does he go and is he playing there next year or moving on?

Flat Track Bully
21 Aug 2006, 14:47
Flat Track Bully's Official Guide to round 19 and 20 of the GVFL season and how the top six will finish.

(winners in bold)

Round Seventeen – August 26

Euroa V Mansfield
Echuca V Benalla
Mooroopna V Kyabram
Shepparton V Seymour
Rochester V Shepp Swans
Tatura V Shepp United

Top six plays the bottom six...

Top seven after round 17.

Benalla 48
Seymour 48
Mooroopna 48
United 44
Swans 44
Euroa 44
Mansfield 40

Round Eighteen – September 2

Shepparton V Euroa
Mooroopna V Echuca
Kyabram V Rochester
Benalla V Tatura
Mansfield V Shepp United
Seymour V Shepp Swans

Top seven after round 18

Benalla 52
Seymour 52
Mooroopna 52
Euroa 48
United 44
Swans 44
Mansfield 44

Eagles to miss on percentage.

Thoughts...

Also a name to add to the Morrison medal mix...Benalla's Adam "Dogga" Cole, while in the Abikhair keep an eye on Richard Martiniello.

Can Shop
21 Aug 2006, 15:36
can anyone tell me if anthony stevens is still playing for benella if so how does he go and is he playing there next year or moving on?
Yeah He is currently playing his footy with benalla and is also a rugular in the best. You may see him venture to the picola league is a rumour i have heard for next season.

pete_mitchell
21 Aug 2006, 15:41
Flat Track Bully's Official Guide to round 19 and 20 of the GVFL season and how the top six will finish.

(winners in bold)

Euroa V Mansfield
Echuca V Benalla
Mooroopna V Kyabram
Shepparton V Seymour
Rochester V Shepp Swans
Tatura V Shepp United

Benalla 48
Seymour 48
Mooroopna 48
United 44
Swans 44
Euroa 44
Mansfield 40

Shepparton V Euroa
Mooroopna V Echuca
Kyabram V Rochester
Benalla V Tatura
Mansfield V Shepp United
Seymour V Shepp Swans

Top seven after round 18

Benalla 52
Seymour 52
Mooroopna 52
Euroa 48
United 44
Swans 44
Mansfield 44

Thoughts...

Also a name to add to the Morrison medal mix...Benalla's Adam "Dogga" Cole, while in the Abikhair keep an eye on Richard Martiniello.

Mooroopna to finish 2nd is the tip...if they consider themselves premiership contenders, they should be able to make up the percentage difference on seymour playing Ky and echuca (who both have nothing to play for). whilst Seymour plays Shepp and Swans.

Could work out the swans and Lions face off two weeks running!

Will surely be two weeks not to miss in GV footy.

Sidey_87
21 Aug 2006, 16:54
I believe you went on to be promoted to the ones this week sidey.. form cant be to much of an issue can it??
Only due to Cowman being out, had my chance and was smashed by Brennan.
Pity i don't qualify for 2's finals, i could be without a game come september.

head67
21 Aug 2006, 17:00
Only due to Cowman being out, had my chance and was smashed by Brennan.
Pity i don't qualify for 2's finals, i could be without a game come september.If first grade and 2nd grade were to play on the same day during finals are you then able to play 2s if not selected in the 1s.

Flat Track Bully
21 Aug 2006, 18:39
If first grade and 2nd grade were to play on the same day during finals are you then able to play 2s if not selected in the 1s.

Same weekend... doesnn't have to be same day

Doona2
21 Aug 2006, 21:33
Peter Dean announced tonight as Parkside's coach in 2007 according to DVFL thread

Re: Diamond Valley Footy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:o Just posted by devlish1 on DVFL thread . . . . . "Sorry to all about the Peter Dean/ Parkside confusion, i'm a bit young to know of the Carlton one" :o

Sidey_87
21 Aug 2006, 23:38
If first grade and 2nd grade were to play on the same day during finals are you then able to play 2s if not selected in the 1s.
Ok yeah forgot about that.

HawkeEye
22 Aug 2006, 04:19
Very interesting to see who makes the finals this year.

Can any Euroa guys (FootyBoss) tell me if that Pavva O'Brien played a game this year. Or is he only going to have a kick once the finals start.

Just checked out the Euroa Footy Club website (www.euroafnc.vcfl.com.au) and had a great laugh reading his profile. Classic. Great website actually.

Love the games too, also Moses goes to ......, should be getting a run on this website.

Cheers fellas and good luck for the remaining games.

LOBSTER
22 Aug 2006, 10:37
What happened to Bullen on Saturday, does anyone know? He walked off very early in the game and was heard to give the euroa coaching staff a bit of a spray, possibly in regard to some rough treatment from a few of the euroa players!!!! Did he carry an injury into the game?
It was a very good spray he gave the Euroa coaching staff, He was copping some whacks early on in the game. Probably Euroa just annoyed that they couldnt get him to their club when he came back from Adelaide. Will be interesting to know if he did carry the injury into the game. If so why would the swans risk such a things so close to the finals. Interesting to note that Euroa were running out of legs late in the game again this year.

lion's_roar
22 Aug 2006, 11:29

(winners in bold)

Euroa V Mansfield
Echuca V Benalla
Mooroopna V Kyabram
Shepparton V Seymour
Rochester V Shepp Swans
Tatura V Shepp United

Benalla 48
Seymour 48
Mooroopna 48
United 44
Swans 44
Euroa 44
Mansfield 40

Shepparton V Euroa
Mooroopna V Echuca
Kyabram V Rochester
Benalla V Tatura
Mansfield V Shepp United
Seymour V Shepp Swans

Top seven after round 18

Benalla 52
Seymour 52
Mooroopna 52
Euroa 48
United 44
Swans 44
Mansfield 44

Thoughts...

Flat Track Bully .. mate, there is no round 19 and 20.
If Benalla want to contest a round 19 and 20, they may miss out on some finals action.
Eagles to miss on percentage???
Mansfield have added a new mid-fielder to their ranks.
Saunders signed at the start of the season, but only arrived at the club from SANFL a few weeks ago, because he had a broken leg.
Kicked 3 or 4 on the weekend and will qualify for finals, which Mansfield will contest.

This weekend will be a corker .. top six versus bottom six and if all the top five get thumped by between 100 and 300 points and Mansfield win by 150 over Euroa, they'll go to top spot!!! LOL:D

WHAT A WEEK!!!

Flat Track Bully
22 Aug 2006, 12:02
Flat Track Bully .. mate, there is no round 19 and 20.
If Benalla want to contest a round 19 and 20, they may miss out on some finals action.
Eagles to miss on percentage???
Mansfield have added a new mid-fielder to their ranks.
Saunders signed at the start of the season, but only arrived at the club from SANFL a few weeks ago, because he had a broken leg.
Kicked 3 or 4 on the weekend and will qualify for finals, which Mansfield will contest.

This weekend will be a corker .. top six versus bottom six and if all the top five get thumped by between 100 and 300 points and Mansfield win by 150 over Euroa, they'll go to top spot!!! LOL:D

WHAT A WEEK!!!

Sorry LR...old habits die hard...forgot the bye had been abolished when I wrote it...

I still think Mansfield are the team to miss because Euroa will finish on 12 wins, Mansfield 11, and there percentage is inferior to Mooroopna and Shepp Swans at the moment.

woof woof
22 Aug 2006, 15:49
has anyone posted a team of the year on this thread, if so can you tell me what post no# it was i cant seem to find one.
cheers

Can Shop
22 Aug 2006, 16:18
On page 378 #5662 i think someone had a crack at it

roberts-thompson
22 Aug 2006, 23:02
It was a very good spray he gave the Euroa coaching staff, He was copping some whacks early on in the game. Probably Euroa just annoyed that they couldnt get him to their club when he came back from Adelaide. Will be interesting to know if he did carry the injury into the game. If so why would the swans risk such a things so close to the finals. Interesting to note that Euroa were running out of legs late in the game again this year.

i missed most of the incident but did happen to see the boy walking off with no top on and had a big sort of pad or some sort of support for his lower back or kidneys, not 100% sure on what itd be but could have something to do with it?

roberts-thompson
22 Aug 2006, 23:05
Re: Diamond Valley Footy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:o Just posted by devlish1 on DVFL thread . . . . . "Sorry to all about the Peter Dean/ Parkside confusion, i'm a bit young to know of the Carlton one" :o

so clear this up, Dean at bushrangers again next year or Parkside?