View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Doona2
22 Aug 2006, 22:23
so clear this up, Dean at bushrangers again next year or Parkside?

Bushies I believe . . . the young bloke on the DVFL thread got his Peter Dean wires crossed!!!

Can Shop
23 Aug 2006, 10:11
How are the injuries looking for the top 7 sides.... Obviously bullen must be carrying something

BSaintsFC#4
23 Aug 2006, 11:26
No discussion here so i thought i might have a go at another team of the year so far and try and get some feedback and what not about what players should be in and shouldnt be. Im open for comments and do doubt my side wont be perfect but ill have a go nonethless.

Veale (Swans) Anderson (Sey) Downey (Tat)

Bl.Campbell (Moor) Hall (Moor) Mellington (Bears)

Maher (Swans) Wellington (Tat) Clayton (Eur)

Martinello (Ben) Br.Campbell (Moor) Priest (Ben)

Mckenzie (Ben) Newman (Ky) Hopkins (Man)

R: Porter (Ben) Finn (Ky) Hotton (Man)

Int: Kirby (Tat) Maddox (Ech) White (Swans) Hazleman (Utd) Bowen (Roch) Singh (Moor) Sage (Eur)

Thoughts guys?
Which 1 of the martiniellos is it on the forward flank? Will, James or Joe???

tige19
23 Aug 2006, 20:39
What the!!!!! must be a typo in that team Cookie........

Nuts n Bolts
23 Aug 2006, 22:54
seymour seem to have most back, don't think we'll see young joey amad back, and i'm sure rattray still out for a bit. looking pretty handy at this stage!

euroa a bit the same, obviously helps with big CLARKE back, a good ruckman always helps with structure,which seems to have put them right bak in the finals race.

unted have Trav Eddy out, Jake Cowman ready to return,briggs?, and come finals time will get the young gun from the bushies "Normington" -my smoky especially if Cowmans back!

benalla seem to have a few obviously Porter,i think joyce, and haven't seen Polwarths name for a while, Is shiels still at the club? and obviosly we won't see rick symes and another young gun of the comp. "Tom Rockliff" (poor buggers,both unfortunate situations)Big chance!

mooroopna have Nick Aloi, good player they need too! learmonth stil out, Ben Tremellen I'm lead to believe has broken ribs, if not badly bruised anyway! They also have 2 good bushies kids to consider as well, in warnett and harbrow. I'm sure Tyson warnett will get a game when available.

swans, Ryan didn't take part saturday against euroa, bullen apparently hammy, seem to be travelling well in the injury department! good luck to them, must be good mamagement of players! don't right the swannies off!

Mansfield have Fraser Stevenson, Big honest ruckman "Mark Jones", Danny Walker the backman turned forward who had done a super job in replace of Mensch, might be right for finals though, was a bad break in lower leg though, hope he gets back will make mansfield very dangerous! also the inclusion of Rick Saunders from the SANFL will really bolster ther already quick running side! watch out for the eagles!! most would hope they just miss out. sorry Eagles fans!

Q. where's Full Forward gone? was hoping he or the Flat Track Bully could help me out in regards to Shiels! You sound like benalla followers!

Flat Track Bully
23 Aug 2006, 22:58
seymour seem to have most back, don't think we'll see young joey amad back, and i'm sure rattray still out for a bit. looking pretty handy at this stage!

euroa a bit the same, obviously helps with big CLARKE back, a good ruckman always helps with structure,which seems to have put them right bak in the finals race.

unted have Trav Eddy out, Jake Cowman ready to return,briggs?, and come finals time will get the young gun from the bushies "Normington" -my smoky especially if Cowmans back!

benalla seem to have a few obviously Porter,i think joyce, and haven't seen Polwarths name for a while, Is shiels still at the club? and obviosly we won't see rick symes and another young gun of the comp. "Tom Rockliff" (poor buggers,both unfortunate situations)Big chance!

mooroopna have Nick Aloi, good player they need too! learmonth stil out, Ben Tremellen I'm lead to believe has broken ribs, if not badly bruised anyway! They also have 2 good bushies kids to consider as well, in warnett and harbrow. I'm sure Tyson warnett will get a game when available.

swans, Ryan didn't take part saturday against euroa, bullen apparently hammy, seem to be travelling well in the injury department! good luck to them, must be good mamagement of players! don't right the swannies off!

Mansfield have Fraser Stevenson, Big honest ruckman "Mark Jones", Danny Walker the backman turned forward who had done a super job in replace of Mensch, might be right for finals though, was a bad break in lower leg though, hope he gets back will make mansfield very dangerous! also the inclusion of Rick Saunders from the SANFL will really bolster ther already quick running side! watch out for the eagles!! most would hope they just miss out. sorry Eagles fans!

Q. where's Full Forward gone? was hoping he or the Flat Track Bully could help me out in regards to Shiels! You sound like benalla followers!

I think Shiels will return prior to the finals.

Nuts n Bolts
23 Aug 2006, 23:34
I think Shiels will return prior to the finals.

Thanks Flat Tracker! if thats true it will start to make them a little more dangerous finals time too!

Can Shop
24 Aug 2006, 09:18
Interesting times ahead now with the finals 2 rounds ocming up. Although it's interesting in the 1st's to see who is gunna get the spots in the 6 i see it is interesting that most the sids in the 1st's top six actually have the reserves in there also. show's the depth of these clubs is great. i look forward to hearing some interesting posts in the coming days and weeks. see you at the can shop

Travvy43
24 Aug 2006, 09:50

both Aloi and learmonth will be back leading into finals. Geoff Connally is another that will be back in the seniors leading into finals. Geoff is very underrated and will be a valuable addition for the cats down back.

Duff Man
24 Aug 2006, 10:14
5 Questions for everyone ?

1. Has Seymour come good at the right time of the year again to take Back to Back flags ?

2.Will the Shepparton Swans choke again 2006 ?

3.Have Mooroopna got the players to win the flag in 06 ?

4.Would this be Benallas best chance to win the flag ?

5.Who does your club think[ or you ] the team to beat for the flag ?

Can Shop
24 Aug 2006, 10:22

1. Has Seymour come good at the right time of the year again to take Back to Back flags ?

1= Yes 2=Yes 3=Yes 4=Yes 5= Not Sure to be honest

No Heart
24 Aug 2006, 10:25

1. We at the lions hope so ?

2. Spent a lot of money to be an also run, so they wont want to choke, got a good side, but rumours still about the coach not up to scratch.

3. Need a ruckmen?

4. Good side, and what if they had Symes ?

5.Everyone of them, anyone can win it i suppose.:thumbsu:

Can Shop
24 Aug 2006, 10:29
I agree with no heart, if you names oone club as the biggest threat you'd be doing 5 other clubs a disservice at the minute

FOOTYBOSS
24 Aug 2006, 10:33

I can tell you now that Bullen doesnt have a hamstring problem.

FOOTYBOSS
24 Aug 2006, 10:36

1. Seymour are looking very dangerous at this time of the year.

2. Will take a very good team to beat them on their day.

3. Ruckman is only threat, but have talent to get around that.

4. I would think so and imagine if they had Symes in the goal square.

5. Any team can win it this year. Will be very interesting finals series. A team that finishes 6th may just pinch it this year.

No Heart
24 Aug 2006, 10:40
I can tell you now that Bullen doesnt have a hamstring problem.

We play them in a fortnight carpet, share to tell us whats wrong?

Duff Man
24 Aug 2006, 10:45

Can i ask No Heart, Why do you always call FOOTYBOSS Carpet or Carpet Arse.

No Heart
24 Aug 2006, 10:55
Can i ask No Heart, Why do you always call Footy Boss Carpet or Carpet Arse.

Thats what we called him at the bullants, he can fill you in why ? Carpet was always the life of the party, lets put it that way.

Rushy Tiger
24 Aug 2006, 11:00

Coming from a pretty good source, bullen has a back related injury (carrying a few corkies i believe) wont do him any harm to miss this week against rochy

Doozy_Man
24 Aug 2006, 11:33
Been hearing a strong rumour that Rhys Archard is looking at moving back to Echuca. He has signed with Adelaide again for next season but apparantly wants to return to Echuca in 2007. Word has it that a couple of his mates could be returning to the Murray Bombers next season that is enticing him to move back.

Can anyone confirm or Deny this?

FOOTYBOSS
24 Aug 2006, 11:59
No I wont No Heart, wouldnt do that to a mate of mine.

FOOTYBOSS
24 Aug 2006, 12:02
Thats what we called him at the bullants, he can fill you in why ? Carpet was always the life of the party, lets put it that way.
I always tried my best to be the life of the party in those days No Heart, but I had some pretty competition as you would know. Im pretty sure you always went well on the social side with some Axel Rose dancing while DJ Charlie was pumping out his hits.:D

No Heart
24 Aug 2006, 12:31
I always tried my best to be the life of the party in those days No Heart, but I had some pretty competition as you would know. Im pretty sure you always went well on the social side with some Axel Rose dancing while DJ Charlie was pumping out his hits.:D

Ah you shaw did, ya shaw did.

Duff Man
24 Aug 2006, 12:53
Guess you had to be there?

Still doesn't answer why they call you carpet BOSS.

lion's_roar
24 Aug 2006, 14:29
Been hearing a strong rumour that Rhys Archard is looking at moving back to Echuca. He has signed with Adelaide again for next season but apparantly wants to return to Echuca in 2007. Word has it that a couple of his mates could be returning to the Murray Bombers next season that is enticing him to move back.

Can anyone confirm or Deny this?

I can't confirm or deny, but i would be very surprised if he's back at the Bombers in 07'.

He's had a stellar year in the SANFL and is on the fifth line of betting for the magary medal.

I know he's not particularly money driven, but you would think the croweaters would put a package together that would make it very hard for him to refuse and return to Echuca.

Also if this older rookie comes into effect next season, don't discount someone like Rhys being considered for a spot on an AFL list.

Whether or not he can make it at that level is yet to be determined, but he's older and wiser than when he last went down and gee it would be good to see if he could make it.

Duff Man
24 Aug 2006, 15:08
I can't confirm or deny, but i would be very surprised if he's back at the Bombers in 07'.

He's had a stellar year in the SANFL and is on the fifth line of betting for the magary medal.

I know he's not particularly money driven, but you would think the croweaters would put a package together that would make it very hard for him to refuse and return to Echuca.

Also if this older rookie comes into effect next season, don't discount someone like Rhys being considered for a spot on an AFL list.

Whether or not he can make it at that level is yet to be determined, but he's older and wiser than when he last went down and gee it would be good to see if he could make it.

Agree with you there LR, and I think it is a huge credit to Rhys to perform so well at that level in his 1st year. Good on him.

Would also consider it a huge feather in the cap of the GVFL as it has to say something about the standard of our comp when we have guys of this ability playing in our comp. There's plenty more where Rhys came from when you consider just this quick list of quality players out there:-

Sage (Euroa), Newman (Ky), Josh Walker (Mans) Hooper (Sey), Dawes (United), Durie (Ech). That's 6 pretty handy names without even including anyone from Swans, Benalla or Mooroopna - and you could easily name 2 or 3 blokes from each of their sides.

Doozy_Man
24 Aug 2006, 18:24
Agree with you there LR, and I think it is a huge credit to Rhys to perform so well at that level in his 1st year. Good on him.

Would also consider it a huge feather in the cap of the GVFL as it has to say something about the standard of our comp when we have guys of this ability playing in our comp. There's plenty more where Rhys came from when you consider just this quick list of quality players out there:-

Sage (Euroa), Newman (Ky), Josh Walker (Mans) Hooper (Sey), Dawes (United), Durie (Ech). That's 6 pretty handy names without even including anyone from Swans, Benalla or Mooroopna - and you could easily name 2 or 3 blokes from each of their sides.

Fair call Duff man - It will be interesting if he does return if he will bring Scott McGlone with him and apparently he is mates with Ben Wilson who is playing with an A grade Amatuer league over in W.A, so Echuca could be getting stronger for 2007 without this season finishing yet.

Benalla - Symes, Mooroopna - Singh/ Just 2 handy players also that are in the league

tige19
24 Aug 2006, 19:46
Benalla vs Seymour grand final, flip of the coin who will win.

showy#1
24 Aug 2006, 20:34
Benalla vs Seymour grand final, flip of the coin who will win.if seymour make it they will win they have a grand final win under there belt and know what its like to play on the big stage

Grandale
25 Aug 2006, 08:06
if seymour make it they will win they have a grand final win under there belt and know what its like to play on the big stage

They didn't have a Grand Final under their belt last year but still managed to win it.
That line is just an old furphy.

pete_mitchell
25 Aug 2006, 11:38
Word on the grapevine is Mark Bullen got some pretty harsh treatment in the open minutes of the game last week...followed by a big tackle which has left him with apparently cracked vertibrae (rumour has it anyway).

possibly end of season for him...

well, thats the word i heard last night...but don't quote it...maybe someone can confirm or deny this?

Can Shop
25 Aug 2006, 13:14
Pretty quiet for a friday, i thoguth there would be a bit of news on this page to read. Any one got any thing interesting or new to add. Or anything funny at all. We havent heard from eric bottom for a fair while now i'm sure he could write somehtign about his right hand man jezza o'brien who finishes u with the gvfl today

slim18
25 Aug 2006, 14:07
Any truth that Benalla have re signed Mark Porter

ROOTA#6
25 Aug 2006, 14:09
Any truth that Benalla have re signed Mark Porter

What about Anthony Stevens, whats he up to next year?

FOOTYBOSS
25 Aug 2006, 14:51
Word on the grapevine is Mark Bullen got some pretty harsh treatment in the open minutes of the game last week...followed by a big tackle which has left him with apparently cracked vertibrae (rumour has it anyway).

possibly end of season for him...

well, thats the word i heard last night...but don't quote it...maybe someone can confirm or deny this?
Total load of crap there pete. Bullen didnt come under any harsh treatment at all last week and from memory wasnt even tackled. He went into the game with an injury from the week before against Echuca. No crack of the vertibrae at all, just general soreness. Why risk a top line player 2 weeks out from finals when you are only playing Rochy.

FOOTYBOSS
25 Aug 2006, 14:53
Guess you had to be there?

Still doesn't answer why they call you carpet BOSS.
I guess you did Duff Man and if you can not figure out why they call me carpet, you must be dumber then what I thought you were.:D

Can Shop
25 Aug 2006, 14:54
What about Anthony Stevens, whats he up to next year?

Maybe waaia out with gary and finish off wherre he started

bradrowe#32
25 Aug 2006, 15:01
Total load of crap there pete. Bullen didnt come under any harsh treatment at all last week and from memory wasnt even tackled. He went into the game with an injury from the week before against Echuca. No crack of the vertibrae at all, just general soreness. Why risk a top line player 2 weeks out from finals when you are only playing Rochy.

Thanks for providing more evidence for my theory that Euroa players are all a bunch of arrogant tossers.

FOOTYBOSS
25 Aug 2006, 15:04
Thanks for providing more evidence for my theory that Euroa players are all a bunch of arrogant tossers.
Well co ck jaw when you are playing a team that is sitting 2nd last on the ladder and you are playing finals in 2 weeks time, why would you risk one of your best players. I know I wouldnt f u c k face but a dumb c u n t like you might.

head67
25 Aug 2006, 15:10
Well co ck jaw when you are playing a team that is sitting 2nd last on the ladder and you are playing finals in 2 weeks time, why would you risk one of your best players. I know I wouldnt f u c k face but a dumb c u n t like you might.
Why is it when your on the bottom all the teams above you are arrogant??:confused:

FOOTYBOSS
25 Aug 2006, 15:16
Why is it when your on the bottom all the teams above you are arrogant??:confused:
Who knows head, its got me stuffed.

JimCarter
25 Aug 2006, 16:49

Jims missed you head!!! :cool: Hows tricks up in NSW??

Junkie
25 Aug 2006, 17:02

I've heard from a pretty reliable source that he wont be playing for another 3 weeks, and you are correct that he went into the game under a pretty big injury cloud.

Bradrowe, it sounds like your having a whinge and struggling to come to grips with the fact that Rochy are battlers at best this year
!!!!

head67
25 Aug 2006, 17:09
Jims missed you head!!! :cool: Hows tricks up in NSW??All good Jim. 1s,2s and 3rds in finals. not sure if we'll have a collect. Redlegs started their finals campaign yet?

lion's_roar
25 Aug 2006, 17:11
I've heard from a pretty reliable source that he wont be playing for another 3 weeks, and you are correct that he went into the game under a pretty big injury cloud.

Bradrowe, it sounds like your having a whinge and struggling to come to grips with the fact that Rochy are battlers at best this year
!!!!

I wouldn't be putting Rochester in the battlers catagory just yet.
While the Tigers are sitting third from the bottom, there wouldn't be too many third from the bottom teams in recent history as good as Rochy in 06'.

This season has given us such an even spread across the competition and a team with the likes of Bowen, Brennan, Aitken, Moon, Schmidt, McPhee, Cutriss ..etc is capable of beating anyone and I wouldn't be righting them off tomorrow.

After all the Tigers beat Mansfield and (while i am incredibly bias) they're a bloody good side.

There's a few blokes on this site with some pretty big chips on their shoulders.

The beauty of big footy is every can have an opinion.

jmain14
25 Aug 2006, 22:05
While the Tigers are sitting third from the bottom, there wouldn't be too many third from the bottom teams in recent history as good as Rochy in 06'.

This season has given us such an even spread across the competition and a team with the likes of Bowen, Brennan, Aitken, Moon, Schmidt, McPhee, Cutriss ..etc is capable of beating anyone and I wouldn't be righting them off tomorrow.

After all the Tigers beat Mansfield and (while i am incredibly bias) they're a bloody good side.

There's a few blokes on this site with some pretty big chips on their shoulders.

The beauty of big footy is every can have an opinion.
great post mate.

no doubt this year has been a tough one at tigerland. with the players listed above that probably would have been enough to make a reasonable assault in a finals campaign 4 or 5 years ago. however as we all know, the standard of the league has risen considerably in recent years, and unfortunately for rochy we haven’t been able to recruit the players to coincide with the rise. if anything we have lost players.

as a side note though lion’s_roar I unfortunately would be writing rochy off tomorrow. the list of injuries (all to the best senior players) is overwhelming. think you will see a very very young side take to the park tomorrow.

on the upside though there is a summer and a new season ahead. hopefully the club can recruit a few big scalps - who knows – maybe get some players back to the club. if you consider the names that have left in the past 2 seasons – jezz campbell, tim and steve rasmussen, benny anderson, nick 'gilly' knight, chris mccarty and hoota gray. I would think that all (perhaps not hoota) would be a chance of returning one day. even if say 3 of the 6 were to return at the one time you are starting to look at a pretty good side again, not to mention the possibility of ash watson returning one day also.

footyboss, I can never understand why you feel the need to swear so much when you get a little upset with someone on this forum. not sure what the others think but its difficult to actually understand what you are trying to say in amongst your co ck jaws, knob heads, f u c k face and dumb c u n t’s. honestly mate, I couldn’t be bothered checking up your profile but for your sake I hope you’re a teenager and still playing thirds footy as then I would partly understand. if you’re not, well then you’re a pretty sad case. look forward to your reply mate – I am thinking you may be getting a little upset about now - maybe you could call me a f u c k head over the keyboard to release some tension??

slim18
25 Aug 2006, 22:40
Maybe waaia out with gary and finish off wherre he started

Heard that one too. Maybe a fair few leaving for various reasons.

Samtrish
25 Aug 2006, 22:43

Carpet A R S E thats what I hear they call you is n't!!!!!!!!! that what the mates at the hell fire club call you. Back to the city next year W A N K E R where you belong. Cannot wait for you reply LOL

JimCarter
26 Aug 2006, 00:01
Carpet A R S E thats what I hear they call you is n't!!!!!!!!! that what the mates at the hell fire club call you. Back to the city next year W A N K E R where you belong. Cannot wait for you reply LOL

Hell Fire club?? Is that an S & M joint or just your standard g ay bar SamTrish?

head67
26 Aug 2006, 08:22
Hell Fire club?? Is that an S & M joint or just your standard g ay bar SamTrish?
blue oyster?????

head67
26 Aug 2006, 08:33
You may be able to help me Jim? Who was the army fella who played full forward for the redlegs in the mikd 80's. Smith if i remember his name . Do you have anything Jim?

FOOTYBOSS
26 Aug 2006, 10:32
Ahh my good old buddy Samtrish is back. The circus must be in town and he has got to a internet cafe to post such dribble yet again. I hate to inform you buddy, but I wont be back in the city next year as I love annoying people like you.

FOOTYBOSS
26 Aug 2006, 10:39
great post mate.

no doubt this year has been a tough one at tigerland. with the players listed above that probably would have been enough to make a reasonable assault in a finals campaign 4 or 5 years ago. however as we all know, the standard of the league has risen considerably in recent years, and unfortunately for rochy we haven’t been able to recruit the players to coincide with the rise. if anything we have lost players.

as a side note though lion’s_roar I unfortunately would be writing rochy off tomorrow. the list of injuries (all to the best senior players) is overwhelming. think you will see a very very young side take to the park tomorrow.

on the upside though there is a summer and a new season ahead. hopefully the club can recruit a few big scalps - who knows – maybe get some players back to the club. if you consider the names that have left in the past 2 seasons – jezz campbell, tim and steve rasmussen, benny anderson, nick 'gilly' knight, chris mccarty and hoota gray. I would think that all (perhaps not hoota) would be a chance of returning one day. even if say 3 of the 6 were to return at the one time you are starting to look at a pretty good side again, not to mention the possibility of ash watson returning one day also.

footyboss, I can never understand why you feel the need to swear so much when you get a little upset with someone on this forum. not sure what the others think but its difficult to actually understand what you are trying to say in amongst your co ck jaws, knob heads, f u c k face and dumb c u n t’s. honestly mate, I couldn’t be bothered checking up your profile but for your sake I hope you’re a teenager and still playing thirds footy as then I would partly understand. if you’re not, well then you’re a pretty sad case. look forward to your reply mate – I am thinking you may be getting a little upset about now - maybe you could call me a f u c k head over the keyboard to release some tension??
If you dont like what I write on this forum, then just ignore it then. You have made some good points about Rochy but I was never beeing arrogant once in my post like Bradrowe thinks.

I think you may be living in a dream world though if you expect to regain all those players in one hit and also keep the current players. There is a thing called the almighty dollar which would come into effect on all those players.

If you actually read my original post correctly I was just staing why would risk such a valuable player 2 weeks out from finals when you are playing in a game against a bottom team in which you should win.

As for my swearing well I just get a tad annoyed when people come with such utter crap that is nowhere near the truth on why players arent playing and where they are playing next year.

But you can keep living in your sheltered little life that you have as we all know swearing happens everywhere in life.

FOOTYBOSS
26 Aug 2006, 10:43
I would put them in the battlers catergory as they have only won 4 games for the year and are sitting miles off the pace to place finals footy this year. So in my mind that is a battle of a year.

As for us hopefully we can overcome Mansfield today and keep our season alive. If we happen to lose it could be a case of a waste of a season with the talent we have on our list, but as we all know anything can happen in footy these days.

Ahbroke Miandad
26 Aug 2006, 12:10
As for us hopefully we can overcome Mansfield today and keep our season alive. If we happen to lose it could be a case of a waste of a season with the talent we have on our list, but as we all know anything can happen in footy these days.

If Euroa don't make the finals, I'd suggest it's a severe case of a waste of something else, Big Boss.

spike dudley
26 Aug 2006, 17:54
If Euroa don't make the finals, I'd suggest it's a severe case of a waste of something else, Big Boss.

haha. very true. right on the MONEY.....

The euroa boys went down today in what was a cracker of a match by the radio. Just some very intellignet special comments thrown in by Hayden Lamaro making it all the more worth listening to. Sounds like he should be joining BOSS down at the blue oyster bar

Samtrish
26 Aug 2006, 18:03
You may be able to help me Jim? Who was the army fella who played full forward for the redlegs in the mikd 80's. Smith if i remember his name . Do you have anything Jim?

Mick Smith

Samtrish
26 Aug 2006, 18:04
Ahh my good old buddy Samtrish is back. The circus must be in town and he has got to a internet cafe to post such dribble yet again. I hate to inform you buddy, but I wont be back in the city next year as I love annoying people like you.
Circus must be about to hit EUROA because you are GGGGGGGGGGGGooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Bye Bye

Duff Man
26 Aug 2006, 21:03
Circus must be about to hit EUROA because you are GGGGGGGGGGGGooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneeeee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Bye Bye

The big campain in 2006 was UNFINISED BUISNESS at Magpie land, and now for the second year in a row they have blown it . I have never heard so much bagging coming from the Euroa supporters when that siren went . Did not hang around after the game but can imagine **** would have hit the fan???????????????????????????????????????????????????? :eek:

head67
26 Aug 2006, 22:38
The pies gone? Sad news.. But the seymour Benalla thing is starting to look very ominous.

vote for pedro
27 Aug 2006, 02:00
The pies gone? Sad news.. But the seymour Benalla thing is starting to look very ominous.

Just a little question boys. Is Shepp united out of the question? Not much has been said this year about the demons. They've been quietly going on about their business and by the looks of things the seem to have the goods. Backline looks solid, and so they say, has been all year. Chris Shirma has seemed to have stepped a notch since his Port Melbourne days. Phill Carroll, who apparently has just turned 19, supposivly has kept Newman (Kyabram) to 2 kicks all year without scoring a goal and his run off the backline has been warranted as nothing short of first class along with Bovalino. Young Moore, has stepped up from the ressies and has been versitile yet stong down there. Midfield with Sidebottom, Hazelman, Daws (on occasions), Cowman, the most underated ruckman in the GVFL and the Barlow Brothers. They seem to have attacking wingers that can kick goals against top and bottom sides, with Scott and Gillmartin, who can also feature in the best down back. Then there is their forwardline. Osbourne, McLarty, Brad Hazelman (on occasions), Smith, Foryz, Gibson......... Their reserve team are sitting comfortably in second spot supposivly, and have 5-6 players avaliable next week against Mansfield (I think at Mansfield).
United seem to have depth and confidence under Steven Hazelman to go further than they have in years. The question is, can they go all the way??? Your thoughts???

Can Shop
27 Aug 2006, 08:44
I believe dawes has been playing around half forward second half of the season an rarely going on the ball but causing trouble. On a wet day they may come unstuck because they have such height in the forward line. You talk about carrool but he has been over taken by a long way by m.barlow. radio are always pumping him up an is a chance for there b&f. Still think they dont have that real big body in the back line as singh has smashed them every time so they may come undone against mooroopna n benalla (mackenzie) but i think caroll or birggs owuld get saad. vot eofr pedro i look foward to yur coments on the game between mansfield and united although its not goign to be as big as thought iwh both now secure should still be great game

Can Shop
27 Aug 2006, 08:47
I notice balraj had only kicked 2 goals in his last 2 games. Wondering if he has been injured but he looked certain to get a 100 for the year but now requires 11 to get it in the H&A. Against the boys from the murray i think he will struggle to get it. As they will be out to finish of butlers coaching stint with a bang

pete_mitchell
27 Aug 2006, 10:26
The big campain in 2006 was UNFINISED BUISNESS at Magpie land, and now for the second year in a row they have blown it . I have never heard so much bagging coming from the Euroa supporters when that siren went . Did not hang around after the game but can imagine **** would have hit the fan???????????????????????????????????????????????????? :eek:

Well, maybe the fans will stick around to see the Magoo's go through their paces for the rest of the year...although, be a bit disapointing for Xav and his team to blow all that coin to only play one game in september...pitty its not a final!

Boss, how will this affect your twos? Most clubs qualify a player or two that predominantly plays seniors, obviously the ones was the main priority, but will your two's benifit from the Seniors demise by getting a couple of "star" two's players back into the line up?

Might put you guys favourites for the twos flag, not the grand prize, but possibly some consulation.

Just having a quick look at the senior ladder, quite possible for the final round clashes to repeat in some sense two weeks running.

Seymour vs Swans

Mansfield vs United.

If swans knock off the Lions, and United get over Mansfield, if United keep their slender percentage lead over the swans:

3rd: United
4th: Swans
5th: Seymour
6th: Mansfield

pending Mooroopna get over the bombers and benalla have a win of course.

Would be an interesting scenario...what happens if results are sorted at 3/4 time of each game (highly unlikely)...reckon any one would go out in the final quarter with the sole intention of trying to hurt the opposition players for the next week? Umps will have to be on their guard this week.

Can Shop
27 Aug 2006, 16:32
shows eveness off the comp but you'd think the lions r to good to finish 5th

lion's_roar
27 Aug 2006, 16:50
Well, maybe the fans will stick around to see the Magoo's go through their paces for the rest of the year...although, be a bit disapointing for Xav and his team to blow all that coin to only play one game in september...pitty its not a final!

Boss, how will this affect your twos? Most clubs qualify a player or two that predominantly plays seniors, obviously the ones was the main priority, but will your two's benifit from the Seniors demise by getting a couple of "star" two's players back into the line up?

Might put you guys favourites for the twos flag, not the grand prize, but possibly some consulation.

Just having a quick look at the senior ladder, quite possible for the final round clashes to repeat in some sense two weeks running.

Seymour vs Swans

Mansfield vs United.

If swans knock off the Lions, and United get over Mansfield, if United keep their slender percentage lead over the swans:

3rd: United
4th: Swans
5th: Seymour
6th: Mansfield

pending Mooroopna get over the bombers and benalla have a win of course.

Would be an interesting scenario...what happens if results are sorted at 3/4 time of each game (highly unlikely)...reckon any one would go out in the final quarter with the sole intention of trying to hurt the opposition players for the next week? Umps will have to be on their guard this week.

Not probable, but mathematically possible for United to finish first.

They have the best percentage in the league and need the three sides above them to lose and for them to beat the Eagles in Mansfield.

The Eagles have a poor record at home and the Dees are a big show.

And FOOTY BOSS ... Don't worry too much ... the Magies can still make it .. all they need is to win their last game by about 200-points and rely on United beating the Eagles by the same margin.

Any chance a few of the Euroa boys might hand back some of the coin that has been WASTED on them over the past two years.

Some great people at Euroa have put a lot of time and money into rebuilding the club on the field, only to have recruited too many ego's.

And as for yesterday's result at Memorial Oval, has the old saying ever been truer? ... A CHAMPION TEAM WILL ALWAYS BEAT A TEAM OF CHAMPIONS!!

GO THE EAGLES..

Nuts n Bolts
27 Aug 2006, 17:04
who's leaving where and why slim? RU talking benalla?

scooby-doo
27 Aug 2006, 17:26
Granted Euroa has a bit to do in the off season to rebuild. There's no point denying that this season has been a complete waste for all the money and effort that has been put in by members of the club, especially the tireless work of Xav. Truelly a credit to the club. There has never been a bigger case of money doesn't buy success, no matter how much they wanted it!

Has anyone heard of any possible coaches to take over from D. Gleeson if the rumour mill is correct about him leaving??? Many have said that because of him and his attitude the team was never going to work as a team should; as a unit.

2006 flag contenders - Benalla, Seymour and United. All have shown great depth this year with.
Benalla, Seymour and Euroa in contention for the scoobies!!!!!!!

Can Shop
27 Aug 2006, 18:05
I think that any one that finishes in the top 6 is a chance for premiership glory as it's been an even competition all year. Not sure who i'd put the coin on though.

HawkeEye
27 Aug 2006, 19:00
So still a chance for the pies, very small, almost impossible.

Has anyone worked out the calculations for the pies to make it, I guess Euroa has to win by a large amount - 25 goals, and Mansfield will have to loose by a lot.

I guess the guys will be regretting some of the losses that happen at the start of the year.

Anyway thats footy, and what a great finals it should be for the GVFL. Seymour would be loving it that their rivals are almost out.

bradrowe#32
28 Aug 2006, 12:19

Round 7
Rochester 17.14.116 Mansfield 16.19.115

Round 17
Mansfield 15.23.113 Euroa 14.18.102

:D

bradrowe#32
28 Aug 2006, 12:22

Ash Watson is 99% positive to return.

lion's_roar
28 Aug 2006, 12:57
Round 7

Round 17

Love it Rowey!!!

And i think you'll find the Eagles have beaten the Pies twice this season.

First time was by 5 goals on the postage stamp in the high country.

FB seems to have gone underground ... maybe mad monday has started a week early.

Junkie
28 Aug 2006, 13:58
Love it Rowey!!!

And i think you'll find the Eagles have beaten the Pies twice this season.

First time was by 5 goals on the postage stamp in the high country.

FB seems to have gone underground ... maybe mad monday has started a week early.

I didn't think we were talking about Mansfield:confused:

The statement was that Rochy are battlers this year, a statement backed up by the fact they have won only 4 games and lost 13. I would suggest that record reflects a team that has battled!

Duff Man
28 Aug 2006, 14:12
Round 7

Round 17

A fair enough come back Rowey given the way BOSS was carrying on, however I have to agree that Rochy have battled through this year.

I'm pretty sure Tat beat Mooroopna a month or so back, but still think you would agree they have also found it tough this year. (ie - Don't think you can really highlight one game to assess your overall season).

Junkie
28 Aug 2006, 14:39
A fair enough come back Rowey given the way BOSS was carrying on, however I have to agree that Rochy have battled through this year.

I'm pretty sure Tat beat Mooroopna a month or so back, but still think you would agree they have also found it tough this year. (ie - Don't think you can really highlight one game to assess your overall season).

Rowey's comeback had no relevance what so ever!

Coming from the angle which Rowey was, you could say that Tat is a better side than Mooroopna.....which is absolute nonsense.

bradrowe#32
28 Aug 2006, 15:01
I didn't think we were talking about Mansfield:confused:

The statement was that Rochy are battlers this year, a statement backed up by the fact they have won only 4 games and lost 13. I would suggest that record reflects a team that has battled!

The only difference I can see between the two teams is that Euora spent $50K more than Rochy to achieve the same result: missing the finals.

bradrowe#32
28 Aug 2006, 15:02
Rowey's comeback had no relevance what so ever!

Coming from the angle which Rowey was, you could say that Tat is a better side than Mooroopna.....which is absolute nonsense.

Awww come on Junkie. There have been very few bright spots for my team this year. It's just a bit of fun and I'll take any advantage I can!

Force
28 Aug 2006, 16:16
Anyone know what sort of coin Shannon Gibson would be commanding? Has he been good this year??

Doona2
28 Aug 2006, 16:25
Anyone know what sort of coin Shannon Gibson would be commanding? Has he been good this year??

Dunno talk a few weeks back had him and McBrien heading back to the DVFL, only early days Id expect Euroa to get first crack at re-signing.

Force
28 Aug 2006, 16:50
Dunno talk a few weeks back had him and McBrien heading back to the DVFL, only early days Id expect Euroa to get first crack at re-signing.

Thanks, were they said to be heading to the same club in dvfl?

Junkie
28 Aug 2006, 16:52
The only difference I can see between the two teams is that Euora spent $50K more than Rochy to achieve the same result: missing the finals.

Lets not make up numbers knackers, try sticking to the facts or at least have an informed opinion without making up crap like that:rolleyes:

Anyone can pluck numbers out their @rse to add weight to their argument but the fact is you really wouldn't have a clue what any player on Euroa's list was on. I wouldn't say the result for season 2006 was the same for Rochy and Euroa either, true they are both going to miss finals in the seniors for 2006 but I'd say Euroa, at this stage, are in a stronger position than Rochy for 2007 and at least gave their fans some hope towards the end of the season.

blackbeard
28 Aug 2006, 17:03
Lets not make up numbers knackers, try sticking to the facts or at least have an informed opinion without making up crap like that:rolleyes:

Anyone can pluck numbers out their @rse to add weight to their argument but the fact is you really wouldn't have a clue what any player on Euroa's list was on. I wouldn't say the result for season 2006 was the same for Rochy and Euroa either, true they are both going to miss finals in the seniors for 2006 but I'd say Euroa, at this stage, are in a stronger position than Rochy for 2007 and at least gave their fans some hope towards the end of the season.

Are you suggesting there are Euroa fans out there who are happy with the teams 06' performance?

Junkie
28 Aug 2006, 17:21
Are you suggesting there are Euroa fans out there who are happy with the teams 06' performance?

Can you point out where I said the Euroa fans would be happy with with their teams performance?

The Cat
28 Aug 2006, 17:38

So Rochester spent $80K to finish 3rd last? :o

hank1
28 Aug 2006, 18:06
So Rochester spent $80K to finish 3rd last? :o

Yeah I think Rowey may have been a little off the mark on that one, without knowing the particulars, would be surprised if they broke the $50,000 barrier.

pete_mitchell
28 Aug 2006, 19:50
I'd say Euroa, at this stage, are in a stronger position than Rochy for 2007 and at least gave their fans some hope towards the end of the season.

Difference is Rochy were never considered flag favourites, and rochy's finals aspirations were just about over after round 9...euroa had the flag right in their sites at the same stage, got a few injured stars back...but they blew it...can't see how any hope can be salvaged from this expensive screw up.

fair to say rochy didn't spend near the coin euroa would have...both small towns, you tell me who is in a better position for next year...can the Euroa fathful get dragged through the hot coals 3 years running...I'd say not, Rochy haven't lost the faith of their supporters...surely the same cannot be said about euroa.

Heads will roll at euroa, so they should with the list they had. should be a very interesting off-season, who has the guts to take a pay cut and front up at magpie land again in 2007 to a band of angry supporters...only time will tell.

Hopefully for the president and his committee's sake, all the players do stick around, i'm sure if it happens, praise will go out to them all, and justifiably so.

Duff Man
28 Aug 2006, 20:39
[QUOTE=pete_mitchell]

Heads will roll at euroa, so they should with the list they had. should be a very interesting off-season, who has the guts to take a pay cut and front up at magpie land again in 2007 to a band of angry supporters...only time will tell.

Who is to blame for this , Coach , Players , Committe , what heads should roll pete mitchell.

spike dudley
28 Aug 2006, 21:09
Just wondering about Shepp United big man Sammy Dawes. Does anyone know if he was recruited to the club or anything about his football background?? Has really started hitting some good form at the right time of the season and is a very exciting player to watch.

pete_mitchell
28 Aug 2006, 23:21
[quote=pete_mitchell]

Who is to blame for this , Coach , Players , Committe , what heads should roll pete mitchell.

Well the coach for 1...if he can't get a great list like that with the drive of what happened the year before to the finals, something majorly wrong with either his style of coaching, or his man managment skills in getting the best out of your list.

Dave Williams has done much more with much less many times...

By the sounds of things, not the committee, the pres obviously puts in tireless work, like most country fc presidents...and i don't think you can knock players off...you can offer them less money, if they leave, so be it. I would think a re-evaluation of each players worth based on their performance, club spirit, injuries, etc. would be completed.

Only time will tell i suppose.

Grandale
29 Aug 2006, 09:06
I'd say Euroa, at this stage, are in a stronger position than Rochy for 2007 and at least gave their fans some hope towards the end of the season.

You won't have to go too far to find people that will actually disagree with that, Junkster. We've been hearing for several weeks about blokes that are already bailing for 2007 so you have to wonder how much of their list are going to remain.
And the other thing is, Rochy are never "down" for two years in a row.

lion's_roar
29 Aug 2006, 10:22
Just wondering about Shepp United big man Sammy Dawes. Does anyone know if he was recruited to the club or anything about his football background?? Has really started hitting some good form at the right time of the season and is a very exciting player to watch.

Dawes was recruited to the Demons this year from QAFL club Mt Gravatt.

He's friends with Steve Hazelman from their days at the Gippsland Power.

He is a year younger, but they played a few games together when Hazelman was captain in 1999 (I think).

Dawes, i think also captained Gippsland, maybe in 2000??

Agree has REALLY hit form at the right end of the season, but really hasn't been that far away from it all year.

Would be a smokey for the Morrison Medal, I reckon .. probably won't win it, but should poll a few votes.

FOOTYBOSS
29 Aug 2006, 11:19
A very disappointing end to the year. To not make the finals with the list we had is shattering, but Im sure we will bounce back next year. There is no reason why we shouldnt be amongst the top 6 again next year. The rumours are right that we looking for a new coach next year and Im sure the club are working hard so an appointment is made not long after the season ends. Grandale I would like to know what you have heard about some players moving on, will be very interested to know who exactly?

Junkie
29 Aug 2006, 11:21
[QUOTE=pete_mitchell]Difference is Rochy were never considered flag favourites, and rochy's finals aspirations were just about over after round 9...euroa had the flag right in their sites at the same stage, got a few injured stars back...but they blew it...can't see how any hope can be salvaged from this expensive screw up.

fair to say rochy didn't spend near the coin euroa would have...both small towns, you tell me who is in a better position for next year...can the Euroa fathful get dragged through the hot coals 3 years running...I'd say not, Rochy haven't lost the faith of their supporters...surely the same cannot be said about euroa.

QUOTE]

The supporters won't have lost faith Pete, they'll all be back for next season with as much hope as any other season. Apparently the coach is finished but I've only heard a couple of names floating around regarding players leaving. I would expect them to be competitive again next year!

Grandale Quote:
We've been hearing for several weeks about blokes that are already bailing for 2007 so you have to wonder how much of their list are going to remain.
And the other thing is, Rochy are never "down" for two years in a row. QUOTE]

Which players Grandale? I can only think of two or three...

Rushy Tiger
29 Aug 2006, 11:27
You won't have to go too far to find people that will actually disagree with that, Junkster. We've been hearing for several weeks about blokes that are already bailing for 2007 so you have to wonder how much of their list are going to remain.
And the other thing is, Rochy are never "down" for two years in a row.

Thats quite right with Rochy. Word has it that some favourite sons are set for a comeback in 2007. Two in particular, Ash Watson and Ben Anderson. Could also bring a following with them. If so Rochy could climb back up the ladder very quickly and be a real threat in 2007

pete_mitchell
29 Aug 2006, 11:53
The supporters won't have lost faith Pete, they'll all be back for next season with as much hope as any other season. Apparently the coach is finished but I've only heard a couple of names floating around regarding players leaving. I would expect them to be competitive again next year!

Which players Grandale? I can only think of two or three...

Thats good to hear. Would be good if the smaller towns stayed up the top of the ladder for a few years...rochy back in the fold if they get a few local stars to return.

Any chance of Shane Clayton coaching? How would he go as coach?

Would Euroa look for a none playing coach?

Junkie
29 Aug 2006, 12:02
Thats good to hear. Would be good if the smaller towns stayed up the top of the ladder for a few years...rochy back in the fold if they get a few local stars to return.

Any chance of Shane Clayton coaching? How would he go as coach?

Would Euroa look for a none playing coach?

I think Shane Clayton is about to sign on....maybe as an assistant. Not really sure if they would look at a non playing coach again....

scooby-doo
29 Aug 2006, 12:06
in shepparton news on monday, an interview with d gleeson. said shane clayton had signed on for next year and likely to be assistant coach. as yet not coach has been named. will all b waiting to c who sticks around and who leaves, and if any1 takes a paycut, stay tuned for more news as it comes

Junkie
29 Aug 2006, 12:15
in shepparton news on monday, an interview with d gleeson. said shane clayton had signed on for next year and likely to be assistant coach. as yet not coach has been named. will all b waiting to c who sticks around and who leaves, and if any1 takes a paycut, stay tuned for more news as it comes

If someone did take a pay cut Scooby, how would you know?

Grandale
29 Aug 2006, 12:36
A very disappointing end to the year. To not make the finals with the list we had is shattering, but Im sure we will bounce back next year. There is no reason why we shouldnt be amongst the top 6 again next year. The rumours are right that we looking for a new coach next year and Im sure the club are working hard so an appointment is made not long after the season ends. Grandale I would like to know what you have heard about some players moving on, will be very interested to know who exactly?

Heard it all here on BigFooty. You even refused to knock it on the head yourself, which made me think there must be a bit of truth to it.
Given some are contemplating their futures publicly before the season had even ended I just wondered how many others will do so once the (under-achieving) season is over for the Pies.