View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
FOOTYBOSS
29 Aug 2006, 12:56
Heard it all here on BigFooty. You even refused to knock it on the head yourself, which made me think there must be a bit of truth to it.
Given some are contemplating their futures publicly before the season had even ended I just wondered how many others will do so once the (under-achieving) season is over for the Pies.
I will definately be playing for Euroa in 2007.
Samtrish
29 Aug 2006, 13:11
:) I see Hilton has brought some Richmond tradition to Euroa this year. The ability to finish 9th or in Euroa's case 7th.
Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 13:13
Just wondering now with Euroas seniors out of contention for finals how many players they will drop down to the 2's to make them even bigger chance for the flag
Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 13:27
After incident in the AFL on the weekend with tom lonigan.... Just wondering who you alkl think is the most courages in the GVFL or name some courageous plaers if not the most.
Just wondering now with Euroas seniors out of contention for finals how many players they will drop down to the 2's to make them even bigger chance for the flagI know Ash Thomson wont be as he was aked if he wished to go back qual but declined on the basis that he would only be putting some poor bugger out who had got them there. Very unselfish attitude :thumbsu:
pete_mitchell
29 Aug 2006, 13:54
Just wondering now with Euroas seniors out of contention for finals how many players they will drop down to the 2's to make them even bigger chance for the flag
Just had a quick squiz through the newest addition to the GVFL footy site, the "selected teams", obviously what is on there isn't 100% correct, but most of it would be on the money, looks as if ash thomson would need 2 games to qualify anyway (only one game left), and from the senior side on the weekend, Morphet and Walker have been named in the reserves side enough times to go back down after playing in the ones on the weekend.
Euroa sources may be able to fill us in on likely "senior" inclussions to the reserves side for this week who will qualify...will this make them favourites for reserves now? If not, who would be? Benalla to take the double is a massive show by the looks of things...demolished Echuca reserves on the weekend.
Can Shop
29 Aug 2006, 14:42
[quote=pete_mitchell]Just had a quick squiz through the newest addition to the GVFL footy site, the "selected teams", obviously what is on there isn't 100% correct, but most of it would be on the money, looks as if ash thomson would need 2 games to qualify anyway (only one game left), and from the senior side on the weekend, Morphet and Walker have been named in the reserves side enough times to go back down after playing in the ones on the weekend.(quote]
On that site the selected teams are actually the team sheets that go into the computer with the results. So the names on the selected teams are all the names of players that have played in the game. 100% certain. This way people will be able to look up and see what clubs are qualifying people
LOBSTER
29 Aug 2006, 15:29
Just had a quick squiz through the newest addition to the GVFL footy site, the "selected teams", obviously what is on there isn't 100% correct, but most of it would be on the money, looks as if ash thomson would need 2 games to qualify anyway (only one game left), and from the senior side on the weekend, Morphet and Walker have been named in the reserves side enough times to go back down after playing in the ones on the weekend.
Euroa sources may be able to fill us in on likely "senior" inclussions to the reserves side for this week who will qualify...will this make them favourites for reserves now? If not, who would be? Benalla to take the double is a massive show by the looks of things...demolished Echuca reserves on the weekend.
I would say Seymour would be short priced favourites to win both seniors and reserves grand finals this year.
After incident in the AFL on the weekend with tom lonigan.... Just wondering who you alkl think is the most courages in the GVFL or name some courageous plaers if not the most.
Humphrey b. Bear does it without a care. For those that arent from Euroa Adrain Hamill is the blokes name Im refering to.
Johnny Tapp
29 Aug 2006, 21:00
[quote=pete_mitchell]Difference is Rochy were never considered flag favourites, and rochy's finals aspirations were just about over after round 9...euroa had the flag right in their sites at the same stage, got a few injured stars back...but they blew it...can't see how any hope can be salvaged from this expensive screw up.
fair to say rochy didn't spend near the coin euroa would have...both small towns, you tell me who is in a better position for next year...can the Euroa fathful get dragged through the hot coals 3 years running...I'd say not, Rochy haven't lost the faith of their supporters...surely the same cannot be said about euroa.
Heads will roll at euroa, so they should with the list they had. should be a very interesting off-season, who has the guts to take a pay cut and front up at magpie land again in 2007 to a band of angry supporters...only time will tell.
QUOTE]
The supporters won't have lost faith Pete, they'll all be back for next season with as much hope as any other season. Apparently the coach is finished but I've only heard a couple of names floating around regarding players leaving. I would expect them to be competitive again next year!
Grandale Quote:
We've been hearing for several weeks about blokes that are already bailing for 2007 so you have to wonder how much of their list are going to remain.
And the other thing is, Rochy are never "down" for two years in a row. QUOTE]
Which players Grandale? I can only think of two or three...
How are Euroa going on the money side of the table? I heard last year from some very close to the club, that said they couldn't afford to bring in too many guys from the outside 'read - paid players' three years in a row....
Maybe the financial situation changed this year?
roberts-thompson
29 Aug 2006, 22:01
Humphrey b. Bear does it without a care. For those that arent from Euroa Adrain Hamill is the blokes name Im refering to.
yeah definitly on it there urps. saw adrian on the weekend go up for a grab and got his skinny body wrapped around a mansfield player like a rope around a pole n still took a beautiful grab, he amazes me every game
scooby-doo
30 Aug 2006, 12:14
If someone did take a pay cut Scooby, how would you know?word would get around this lovely town m8, the place thrives on knowing what players are pulling their weight and if they are worth the money being dished out on them mr junkie, so trust me, word will get out, people will talk, some people I know put in a fair bit of coin for sponsorship and dont mind asking where their hard earned dollar's go
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 12:24
And Benalla's 2s were very undermanned on saturday. Holding Echuca to one point was good effort considering it was 3rd vs 5th. The Benalla 2s will only get stronger as players return from injury, however the 2s premiership I think will rely on who is alive in the Don Juans.
Rushy Tiger
30 Aug 2006, 12:26
Heath Aitken from Rochy would be up there
saints03
30 Aug 2006, 13:15
Heard that one too. Maybe a fair few leaving for various reasons.
anthony stevens will not play for another club i wouldnt think after this year he will retire from footy all together as a player that is. love for slim to name these other players leaving u wouldnt have a clue what goes on at the footy club anymore mate you just worry about greta.
saints03
30 Aug 2006, 13:17
Heath Aitken from Rochy would be up there
pete symes from benalla would have to be up there with those two guys as well
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 13:23
pete symes from benalla would have to be up there with those two guys as well
Pete Symes= tough...will dish it out, by doesn't mind copping it. Actually I reckon he likes getting hit.
Can Shop
30 Aug 2006, 13:24
What about rich martinello he;'s as strong an courageous as they come isnt he ....
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 13:35
What about rich martinello he;'s as strong an courageous as they come isnt he ....
I have never seen a Martiniello take a backward step...whether it be "Shorty", his sons Richard, James or Will, or his nephews Joe and Nick. I've actually heard one media person in the GV nickname Joe "The Kamikaze Kid for his no fear running at the footy.
No Heart
30 Aug 2006, 13:55
I've actually heard one media person in the GV nickname Joe "The Kamikaze Kid for his no fear running at the footy.
That media personality you've heard wouldn't be youself would it? Or is it your mate Rob? :cool:
word would get around this lovely town m8, the place thrives on knowing what players are pulling their weight and if they are worth the money being dished out on them mr junkie, so trust me, word will get out, people will talk, some people I know put in a fair bit of coin for sponsorship and dont mind asking where their hard earned dollar's go
That’s an interesting read!!!!! Where are you from Scooby?
I would say it is more speculation than fact.....someone comes out with a figure after necking a dozen cans and tells what’s his face who then told old Mary down the road and she is a gas-bag and then robbo from the bakery got wind of it and blah, blah blah..:rolleyes: I've had players tell me there on certain amounts after sinking pi$$ and I am certain they were only pumping up their own tyres.
I just think it's a load of cr@p for people to speculate about what players are earning when most of them wouldn't have a clue.
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 14:17
That media personality you've heard wouldn't be youself would it? Or is it your mate Rob? :cool:
Mate, don't know what you are talking about...:D
I just think it's a load of cr@p for people to speculate about what players are earning when most of them wouldn't have a clue.
Yeah but ripper threads like ours wouldnt survive without all the opinions, rumur, innuendo & speculation that gets posted thru these pages.
Maybe the boys share the log in
Flat Track Bully
30 Aug 2006, 14:21
And maybe some people don't know what they are talking about. Although I do no "The Facta" pretty well.:D
BIG "H"
30 Aug 2006, 14:34
Can anyone tell me how Brendan Liddell season has been with seymour this year?
bradrowe#32
30 Aug 2006, 14:34
Gee, your 'research' took long enough.
And maybe some people don't know what they are talking about. Although I do no "The Facta" pretty well.:D
Yeh I know bugger all . . . . . sorry :(
bradrowe#32
30 Aug 2006, 15:06
Has kicked 31 goals and represented GV (didn't he?). I'm sure a Seymour fella can tell you.
Doozy_Man
30 Aug 2006, 15:42
Does anyone know of any possible names of who will coach Echuca next season?
No Heart
30 Aug 2006, 16:11
Gee, your 'research' took long enough.
Thanks rowey , did take a while ?
No Heart
30 Aug 2006, 16:14
Would be up there in the best and fairest i would say.
No Heart
30 Aug 2006, 16:16
Had no idea he was leaving , or is he being pushed out ?
That’s an interesting read!!!!! Where are you from Scooby?
I would say it is more speculation than fact.....someone comes out with a figure after necking a dozen cans and tells what’s his face who then told old Mary down the road and she is a gas-bag and then robbo from the bakery got wind of it and blah, blah blah..:rolleyes: I've had players tell me there on certain amounts after sinking pi$$ and I am certain they were only pumping up their own tyres.
Scooby is one of the players that left the club this year to play at Longwood. The reason why he left is because he couldnt get a game in the magoos forward line that features Doxey and Freddie Cameron. Scooby is in fact still shattered that he got dropped from the magoos preliminary final last year. By the way Drew Bowman(scooby) I did notice that you have put on just as much weight as me and I also noticed that Longwood got done on the weekend to Goorambat so are you going to dropped for this preliminary.:thumbsu:
ROOBOY14
30 Aug 2006, 16:55
Can anyone tell me how Scott Morath and Greg Pearson are going at Shepp United this year.:thumbsu:
spike dudley
30 Aug 2006, 20:05
thanks for that info RE: sammy dawes lion's roar. nice work
roaring tiger
30 Aug 2006, 21:33
I would say they wwill be chasing a high profile coach ex afl player someone like craig scholl or anthony stevens maybe.
Duff Man
30 Aug 2006, 21:35
No Robs got his own ?
anthony stevens will not play for another club i wouldnt think after this year he will retire from footy all together as a player that is. love for slim to name these other players leaving u wouldnt have a clue what goes on at the footy club anymore mate you just worry about greta.
All I know handsome is what these people have told me personally. It would breach a confidence to name them and would surely be unsettling for the club to start naming names.
Kick_it_2_me
30 Aug 2006, 23:05
Can anyone tell me how Scott Morath and Greg Pearson are going at Shepp United this year.:thumbsu:
yeah they're going good mate. how are the ultima boys going?
Duff Man
31 Aug 2006, 09:30
Gents, two big games this week, Seymour v Shepp Swans and Mansfield v Shepp United. The big one at Kings Park will be a cracker ,lions win and they finish second , swans win could finish third and if United win over Mansfield they could get third on percentage.Mooroopna and Benalla should win and finish in the top 3 . Very tough to pick winners , but i think Mansfield at home to get over United and Seymour to beat the Swans. For the big one at this stage , i carnt go past Benalla, if Porter fires they will be hard to topple but in saying that Seymour are looking more and more dangerous every week? Some questions ?
1. What team was the biggest under achiever in 06 ?
2.What player did not live up to expectation in 06 ?
3.If you could have one player from any other side who would it be?
Gents, two big games this week, Seymour v Shepp Swans and Mansfield v Shepp United. The big one at Kings Park will be a cracker ,lions win and they finish second , swans win could finish third and if United win over Mansfield they could get third on percentage.Mooroopna and Benalla should win and finish in the top 3 . Very tough to pick winners , but i think Mansfield at home to get over United and Seymour to beat the Swans. For the big one at this stage , i carnt go past Benalla, if Porter fires they will be hard to topple but in saying that Seymour are looking more and more dangerous every week? Some questions ?
1.-Kyabram
2. Anthony Stevens
3.Saad Saad
pete_mitchell
31 Aug 2006, 10:48
1.-Kyabram
2. Anthony Stevens
3.Saad Saad
1. Euroa
2. Rory Hilton (injuries probably played a big part in that but didn't hear of him dominating probably like he should have, he's not by any means over the hill, still has lots to offer.)
3. Trent Hotton (by far and away most valuable player, every side would love him on their list)
Can Shop
31 Aug 2006, 11:00
1.Euroa
2. Dont know really dont wanna go knocking good players cos they'll possibly come out and get heaps of vote sin the medal or something
3. Brad Campbell or Derek Hall
fat back pocket
31 Aug 2006, 11:04
Boys, its that time of the year...for some anyway...the smell of cut grass indicates one thing...september is here. Well, tomorrow anyway.
And along with a post from FBP comes some controversy. So here it is...
Heard a little rumour on the grape vine from a prominent source from the Avenel FC that they are on the hunt for a new coach for 07 and one Scott Watson is very keen to apply.
Now, with all the crap you hear around the traps, there is a great chance this isn't true??
Wouldn't assume Scott Watson would be on much coin, if any, at Euroa, and avenel have been known to throw some $$ around where they see fit. Be a good pick up for Avenel.
Maybe some Euroa guys could shed some light on what Scotty Watson's plans are...could this week be his Magpie swansong? Be worthy of a chairing from the ground...how many years has he played there for? 8-10?
Can Shop
31 Aug 2006, 11:10
Whats the chances of him taking on the senior role at euroa??
No Heart
31 Aug 2006, 11:48
1. Would have to be out of Echuca, Tat or Euroa. I know Echuca lost Archard but I reckon they had a better list than last year and still only managed to win the same number of games. (Keep in mind Tonny was in the comp last year, so the 4 points was a formality against them - no disrespect).
Tat in the same boat as Echuca to a certain extent. Won 3 games last year and just the 1 this year. A lot of talk pre-season about the quality of players they had enticed, and I thought they would have been much more competitive than what they have been.
Euroa is an obvious one I guess, but if they win this weekend they will finish the year with 11 wins. That would have got you into 5th spot last year so it's difficult to say they haven't had a go.
2. I would put down Ricky Symes as the player who did not live up to expectations this year. Through no fault of his own of course, however when you consider he kicked 100+ goals last year, MY expectation was that he would get close to 150 if he was able to play this season. Unfortunately (or fortunately) none of us got to see him in full flight this year.
3. I'll go with Trent Hotton, but if he was injured my pick would be either Shane Clayton or Matt Forys. :thumbsu:
saints03
31 Aug 2006, 11:53
All I know handsome is what these people have told me personally. It would breach a confidence to name them and would surely be unsettling for the club to start naming names.
fair enough slim but to be honest with ya buddy i cant see to many leaving next year with big porter set to sign for next year in the coming week or two
bradrowe#32
31 Aug 2006, 12:28
1. Would have to be out of Echuca, Tat or Euroa. I know Echuca lost Archard but I reckon they had a better list than last year and still only managed to win the same number of games. (Keep in mind Tonny was in the comp last year, so the 4 points was a formality against them - no disrespect).
Tat in the same boat as Echuca to a certain extent. Won 3 games last year and just the 1 this year. A lot of talk pre-season about the quality of players they had enticed, and I thought they would have been much more competitive than what they have been.
Euroa is an obvious one I guess, but if they win this weekend they will finish the year with 11 wins. That would have got you into 5th spot last year so it's difficult to say they haven't had a go.
2. I would put down Ricky Symes as the player who did not live up to expectations this year. Through no fault of his own of course, however when you consider he kicked 100+ goals last year, MY expectation was that he would get close to 150 if he was able to play this season. Unfortunately (or fortunately) none of us got to see him in full flight this year.
3. I'll go with Trent Hotton, but if he was injured my pick would be either Shane Clayton or Matt Forys. :thumbsu:
I would take Hotton as well. Fantastic player that can swing a game.
Echuca must be very disappointed with their season after recruiting very well. I thought they would finish 5th or 6th this year and with Dylan Butler rumoured to be leaving they are in a pretty precarious position.
No Heart
31 Aug 2006, 12:37
While we're reflecting on the past 12 months, how about some of these memorable Big Footy moments and personalities:
1. Best spray or come back
You'll have to wind the clock back to 29/6/06 when TheJuddstarr#3 proclaimed he was sick of reading about ressies footy, and how it had been clogging up this thread. Best spray or comeback could have gone to any one of Tusken Raider, chrisOduz u-turns, kanye, Duff Man or FOOTYBOSS, however I have given the nod to Junkie for his short but concise reply which seemed to hit the mark perfectly.
2. Best vanishing act
Where has Eric Bottom gone? I think I speak for everyone when I say you are greatly missed Eric.
3. Enjoyable reading
Whenever I see that the last post on the GV thread was done by FOOTYBOSS, I can't resist going in to see what Carpet Arse has written. Usually worth the effort too!
4. The new tige 19
Since tige19 posts very rarely these days, who has stepped up to be a suitable replacement. BOSS would have to go close if you take the whole year into account, however in recent times "can shop" has regularly been seen conducting conversations on several threads at the one time.
scooby-doo
31 Aug 2006, 12:41
That’s an interesting read!!!!! Where are you from Scooby?if i told people that one, my identity would surely b given away, mayb it already has by old mate urple, guess we'll never know for certain
:D :D :D
scooby-doo
31 Aug 2006, 12:48
By the way Drew Bowman(scooby) I did notice that you have put on just as much weight as me and I also noticed that Longwood got done on the weekend to Goorambat so are you going to dropped for this preliminary.:thumbsu:i've noticed to mate, just cant seem to stay away from the bakery food, i'm there nearly everyday, its fuct i tell u. personally my performance last sunday was terrible, had no energy!!!! couldn't run, mark or talk. And kicking, i couldn't have hit the side of a barn with a sackful of wheat. Should've been on the bench.Coulda done with some of KFC's finest bit of boneless.....mmmm chicken
scooby......ur local bloke!!!!!!
Ahbroke Miandad
31 Aug 2006, 13:29
1. Would have to be out of Echuca, Tat or Euroa.
Is that No Heart or NO BRAIN?!!!
"Or Euroa"? You've got to be joking. They have been the most disappointing commodity in decades, not just this year and to say that Echuca or Tat (despite Tige's pre-season claims) are in the same boat is laughable.
ROOBOY14
31 Aug 2006, 13:41
yeah they're going good mate. how are the ultima boys going?
kick it to me stop stalking me.:D
FOOTYBOSS
31 Aug 2006, 14:05
Boys, its that time of the year...for some anyway...the smell of cut grass indicates one thing...september is here. Well, tomorrow anyway.
And along with a post from FBP comes some controversy. So here it is...
Heard a little rumour on the grape vine from a prominent source from the Avenel FC that they are on the hunt for a new coach for 07 and one Scott Watson is very keen to apply.
Now, with all the crap you hear around the traps, there is a great chance this isn't true??
Wouldn't assume Scott Watson would be on much coin, if any, at Euroa, and avenel have been known to throw some $$ around where they see fit. Be a good pick up for Avenel.
Maybe some Euroa guys could shed some light on what Scotty Watson's plans are...could this week be his Magpie swansong? Be worthy of a chairing from the ground...how many years has he played there for? 8-10?
I think you would find he would go back to Longwood before he went to Avenel. but I wouldnt be suprised if the veteran would go around again. Champion bloke Scotty and a perfect leader of our club.
FOOTYBOSS
31 Aug 2006, 14:08
While we're reflecting on the past 12 months, how about some of these memorable Big Footy moments and personalities:
1. Best spray or come back
You'll have to wind the clock back to 29/6/06 when TheJuddstarr#3 proclaimed he was sick of reading about ressies footy, and how it had been clogging up this thread. Best spray or comeback could have gone to any one of Tusken Raider, chrisOduz u-turns, kanye, Duff Man or FOOTYBOSS, however I have given the nod to Junkie for his short but concise reply which seemed to hit the mark perfectly.
2. Best vanishing act
Where has Eric Bottom gone? I think I speak for everyone when I say you are greatly missed Eric.
3. Enjoyable reading
Whenever I see that the last post on the GV thread was done by FOOTYBOSS, I can't resist going in to see what Carpet Arse has written. Usually worth the effort too!
4. The new tige 19
Since tige19 posts very rarely these days, who has stepped up to be a suitable replacement. BOSS would have to go close if you take the whole year into account, however in recent times "can shop" has regularly been seen conducting conversations on several threads at the one time.
I try my best for you No Heart, but I must admit I have been keeping low this week due to the fact I may just cop a decent old ribbing.
Good luck for the finals.
No Heart
31 Aug 2006, 14:21
Is that No Heart or NO BRAIN?!!!
"Or Euroa"? You've got to be joking. They have been the most disappointing commodity in decades, not just this year and to say that Echuca or Tat (despite Tige's pre-season claims) are in the same boat is laughable.
Who pulled your cord stool muncher?
If you read my post again, you will see that I have named Euroa as the obvious choice, but also pointed out that they did a little better than just winning a handful of games.
Now get back to your bedroom cause your old man probably wants you to bum f u c k him again while you're licking the sweat off his back. :cool:
fat back pocket
31 Aug 2006, 15:15
I think you would find he would go back to Longwood before he went to Avenel. but I wouldnt be suprised if the veteran would go around again. Champion bloke Scotty and a perfect leader of our club.
Each to their own, don't think there would be a single player or club to say a bad word about him...obviously he would be bitter with the results of the past two seasons all considered. But it would be a shame for him to leave Euroa, any chance he would possibly coach?
How has his form been throughout this year? Injuries?
Ahbroke Miandad
31 Aug 2006, 17:17
Who pulled your cord stool muncher?
If you read my post again, you will see that I have named Euroa as the obvious choice, but also pointed out that they did a little better than just winning a handful of games.
Now get back to your bedroom cause your old man probably wants you to bum f u c k him again while you're licking the sweat off his back. :cool:
Now, now No Brain. I think you've been spending too much time stroking Footyboss's tockli using language like that.
They won more than a handful of games. Well, woopee! They lost only two games last year but still kept everyone and added a bloke straight out of AFL ranks and a ruckman with almost 100 games VFL experience to his name and could still manage only 11 wins.
Yeah, they should be ****-a-hoop with that.
And I'm sure they'll take great solace out of the fact that 11 wins would have got them in the finals LAST YEAR!
Injuries or no injuries, they were disgraceful this year. Seymour had just as bad a run with injuries at times during the year but still managed to make the finals. The Maggies should be ashamed of themselves.
I would still like to see where i said that Tatura would be world beaters this season??? I gave a few rev ups to a bloke who played interleague and a guy who has come out of the AFL system. Never said we would make finals or anything like that.
Makes me laugh......
Nuts n Bolts
31 Aug 2006, 23:11
I would still like to see where i said that Tatura would be world beaters this season??? I gave a few rev ups to a bloke who played interleague and a guy who has come out of the AFL system. Never said we would make finals or anything like that.
Makes me laugh......
hey tige, spewing u ditched benalla or didn't u actually sign with them? would u have got a game? and whilst u may not have talked up winning the flag, u did talk up a lot of recruits buddy!! where were they? or do u just talk frog s h i t !?!?
There where a few other blokes i was trying to get up but as is the case sometimes it doesnt eventuate for a number of reasons. I still brang Martie and Willa who both were and are very good footballers. Martie left for family reasons and Willa has stayed and played interleague and kicked us a few goals, with the delivery he gets he does fairly well.
Im not worried about getting a game at Benalla and the only reason i didnt have a crack up there is because my other mate took of to Port Melbourne so there was no real reason for me to stay up there. Im at ease with my self and know i can play at this level fairly comfortably, my best bet would be that i probably get more kicks in 1 game of footy than uve had roots and kisses in your whole lifetime champ.
Anyway bad luck to the Euroa boys on the season, good bunch of boys and a very talented team. Its actually no good i think for the league that they are out of the finals, on paper they would have just about every other team on toast. Hope you boys stick together next year and have another crack as this year didnt do you blokes justice.
It seems like this weekend is the calm before the storm, and once Saturday is done and dusted it will be on for young and old.
Good luck to all the boys who are pulling the boots on this weekend for the last round, and enjoy a mad weekend and Monday should you not be playing finals.
Cheers
FOOTYBOSS
1 Sep 2006, 08:11
Each to their own, don't think there would be a single player or club to say a bad word about him...obviously he would be bitter with the results of the past two seasons all considered. But it would be a shame for him to leave Euroa, any chance he would possibly coach?
How has his form been throughout this year? Injuries?
He sat down with the president Xav on Monday night, Im unsure of the outcome so far. I will talk to Watto on Saturday and find out more. Would be an ideal choice for our next coach, but who knows who might be available to coach next year.
He started the season off slowly, but his 2nd half has been very solid. Injuries havent played a role for him. In the 3 years I have played with him, I dont think his missed a game through injury. Wish I could say the same thing.
Hey FBP, I heard a rumour that Lemnos are chasing the services of Steve Daniels next year.
FOOTYBOSS
1 Sep 2006, 08:15
There where a few other blokes i was trying to get up but as is the case sometimes it doesnt eventuate for a number of reasons. I still brang Martie and Willa who both were and are very good footballers. Martie left for family reasons and Willa has stayed and played interleague and kicked us a few goals, with the delivery he gets he does fairly well.
Im not worried about getting a game at Benalla and the only reason i didnt have a crack up there is because my other mate took of to Port Melbourne so there was no real reason for me to stay up there. Im at ease with my self and know i can play at this level fairly comfortably, my best bet would be that i probably get more kicks in 1 game of footy than uve had roots and kisses in your whole lifetime champ.
Anyway bad luck to the Euroa boys on the season, good bunch of boys and a very talented team. Its actually no good i think for the league that they are out of the finals, on paper they would have just about every other team on toast. Hope you boys stick together next year and have another crack as this year didnt do you blokes justice.
It seems like this weekend is the calm before the storm, and once Saturday is done and dusted it will be on for young and old.
Good luck to all the boys who are pulling the boots on this weekend for the last round, and enjoy a mad weekend and Monday should you not be playing finals.
Cheers
Didnt your mate Cosham play some games for Epping this year? Surely he is going to give up on the whole VFL thing if he is getting dropped back to Epping in the DVFL occasionaly.
Anyway, I have heard some strong rumours that Tat are going to be real aggressive in the recruiting stakes for season 2007. Hopefully they can start making their way back up the ladder.
FOOTYBOSS
1 Sep 2006, 08:19
. Well, woopee! They lost only two games last year but still kept everyone and added a bloke straight out of AFL ranks and a ruckman with almost 100 games VFL experience to his name and could still manage only 11 wins.
I think you will find that we didnt keep everyone donkey di ck. Daniel Howse returned to Bundoora. Was our hardest midfielder and Nathan Harper didnt play. A very good backman. So thats 2 players out of the 2005 Grand Final team who didnt play this year at all.
So get your facts right before making stupid comments.
Ahbroke Miandad
1 Sep 2006, 09:04
I think you will find that we didnt keep everyone donkey di ck. Daniel Howse returned to Bundoora. Was our hardest midfielder and Nathan Harper didnt play. A very good backman. So thats 2 players out of the 2005 Grand Final team who didnt play this year at all.
Try and justify it anyway you want Footyboss, but the fact remains Euroa had a better side this year than the one that was the best side of the season last year, but somehow managed to miss the finals in 2006.
Shame, shame, shame...
Ryan demands speedy decision on his future
Christie Peucker
September 1 2006
Shepparton News
Tatura Football Club coach Travis Ryan is poised to walk out on his beloved Bulldogs as early as Tuesday if the club does not make a decision on his coaching future.
Ryan, who has played with the club for close to 20 years, yesterday said he would pull the pin if the board was unable to commit to him next season.
"Ten weeks ago, they asked me if I was interested (in coaching next season)," Ryan said.
"I spoke to the senior playing group and they were very supportive of me putting my hand up, so I came back and said I was keen to go on."
But the board has delayed the possibility of re-signing Ryan, instead telling him it was not wanting to make an appointment until October.
"They said they wanted to look around and that's only natural and I was happy enough for them to do that," he said.
"(But) four weeks ago I set a time frame.
"I need to know because you have to start planning."
That timeline has now expired and Ryan has given the club until Tuesday's board meeting to make a final decision.
"If I haven't found out by then, it will be hard to go on," Ryan said.
Having already had unofficial discussions with a couple of other clubs in the Goulburn Valley, Ryan said the October timeline would not allow him to consider his options.
He was expected to address senior players at their final training session last night to explain the situation.
The News believes his departure could snowball an exodus of big-name players from Tatura Park, but Ryan was quick to play down any such suggestions.
"That's up to the individual," he said.
Club president Denis Flett said Tatura's season warranted a serious review on and off the field and that the club would only make an announcement once it was certain it had made the right choice.
texas hold em
1 Sep 2006, 10:52
can someone please tell me how adam cole has gone for benalla this year?
adam cole started off slow but has been in the best last 10 weeks killing teams now up there in benalla b&f
Try and justify it anyway you want Footyboss, but the fact remains Euroa had a better side this year than the one that was the best side of the season last year, but somehow managed to miss the finals in 2006.
Shame, shame, shame...
I dont think the BOSS was trying justify anything Ahbroke, just proving that not everyone stayed at Euroa from the previous year. Obviously Euroa werent the best side last year as they didnt win the Grand Final, so again you have made a stuff up.
On a brighter note Euroa have bought three u/18 kids into their senior side for the last game of the year. Matty Ivill and Brad Cunningham for their 3rd senior games and young Klay Giovinnini for his 1st game.
Former shep swan Nathen 'Kaney' Bell won his league's mail medal (mid s'east fl), although returning to his home club in sth aust this yr it was his 1st season back there since leaving the club to play in the sanfl & and there on2 shep.Although the league he played in this year would be classed as a bush league,the league itself is really trying to talk itself up with the added news that former player Ryan Gamble (pick no 47 in the 05 draft) is picked to play his 1st game for geelong on sunday vs the hawks....At best the league is well below pool c in vcfl comparisons ! While that league has nothing to do with the gv'.....just interested to know how 'Kaney' Bell performed at shep while he was in the gv' !?
Ahbroke Miandad
1 Sep 2006, 17:10
I dont think the BOSS was trying justify anything Ahbroke, just proving that not everyone stayed at Euroa from the previous year. Obviously Euroa werent the best side last year as they didnt win the Grand Final, so again you have made a stuff up.
On a brighter note Euroa have bought three u/18 kids into their senior side for the last game of the year. Matty Ivill and Brad Cunningham for their 3rd senior games and young Klay Giovinnini for his 1st game.
Two blokes. Big deal. Hardly mass changes.
As for being the best side, I think you'll find most people - Seymour people included - would agree Euroa were the best side for the majority of last season.
Unfortunately for the Pies that don't get you flags.
Maybe they learnt from last year and tried to be as woeful as possible during the home and away season then string it all together during the finals.
Oops, only problem is they forgot to qualify for the finals. Hahahahahahahaha.
Can Shop
1 Sep 2006, 17:38
if i remember correctly bell was a handy forward for the swans swapping sometimes on the ball
Two blokes. Big deal. Hardly mass changes.
As for being the best side, I think you'll find most people - Seymour people included - would agree Euroa were the best side for the majority of last season.
Unfortunately for the Pies that don't get you flags.
Maybe they learnt from last year and tried to be as woeful as possible during the home and away season then string it all together during the finals.
Oops, only problem is they forgot to qualify for the finals. Hahahahahahahaha.
Quality post:rolleyes:
Let it go knackers......you'll feel like the weight of the world has been lifted off your shoulders:thumbsu:
FBP or No Heart, where abouts is Tom Robinson playing this season?
Christie Peucker
September 1 2006
Shepparton News
Tatura Football Club coach Travis Ryan is poised to walk out on his beloved Bulldogs as early as Tuesday if the club does not make a decision on his coaching future.
Ryan, who has played with the club for close to 20 years, yesterday said he would pull the pin if the board was unable to commit to him next season.
"Ten weeks ago, they asked me if I was interested (in coaching next season)," Ryan said.
"I spoke to the senior playing group and they were very supportive of me putting my hand up, so I came back and said I was keen to go on."
But the board has delayed the possibility of re-signing Ryan, instead telling him it was not wanting to make an appointment until October.
"They said they wanted to look around and that's only natural and I was happy enough for them to do that," he said.
That timeline has now expired and Ryan has given the club until Tuesday's board meeting to make a final decision.
Having already had unofficial discussions with a couple of other clubs in the Goulburn Valley, Ryan said the October timeline would not allow him to consider his options.
He was expected to address senior players at their final training session last night to explain the situation.
The News believes his departure could snowball an exodus of big-name players from Tatura Park, but Ryan was quick to play down any such suggestions.
Club president Denis Flett said Tatura's season warranted a serious review on and off the field and that the club would only make an announcement once it was certain it had made the right choice.
100% behind Moose, lets hope the club see him as the guy that can see the club through both the good and bad times. Is certantly the guy to coach next season.
No Heart
1 Sep 2006, 19:07
Quality post:rolleyes:
Let it go knackers......you'll feel like the weight of the world has been lifted off your shoulders:thumbsu:
FBP or No Heart, where abouts is Tom Robinson playing this season?
Junkie , Tommy Rob is playing out at Mitcham in the Eastern League, and last i heard was playing in the magoos ?
HawkeEye
2 Sep 2006, 03:26
I think the lost of Howse was the factor; hard, in and under player. Was crucial to the teams premiership hopes, umm Maher brothers were out aswell. However good to see they brought back in fred cameron, dox, foxy.
Could the Euroa 2's win it for xav? Hopefully something to look forward to for the rest of the season.
Where is the footy trip FootyBoss
Duff Man
2 Sep 2006, 08:00
Christie Peucker
September 1 2006
Shepparton News
Not surprized , Have made a huge offer to a coach and are waiting for an answer ? And i think the swans want the same bloke ?
Grandale
2 Sep 2006, 09:07
Not surprized , Have made a huge offer to a coach and are waiting for an answer ? And i think the swans want the same bloke ?
Would that be SJ Daniel to whom you are referring Duffy?
Really can't see the great man coaching against the Lions, but the fact these clubs are holding on to a bit of hope that he may has me a tad concerned.
Big win by the lions today, blew benalla away in the last quarter. really finding form at the right time of year. a couple of injuries to come out of the match but should cover them no worries and should be looking good to make it to the big show two years in a row. the ressies also had a great win coming from behind to over run united. dom russo and rob inness both pushing for a senior recall with great games.
Samtrish
10 Sep 2006, 09:30
Big win by the lions today, blew benalla away in the last quarter. really finding form at the right time of year. a couple of injuries to come out of the match but should cover them no worries and should be looking good to make it to the big show two years in a row. the ressies also had a great win coming from behind to over run united. dom russo and rob inness both pushing for a senior recall with great games.
Noticed that Bailey did not appear after dislocating his shoulder and Amad what was his injury. Benalla was pretty won dimentional in needing McvKenzie to kicks golas and the loss of Robertson early did not help that. Overall was a cracking game up to 3/4 quarter time. Umpires love saad though and gets given the world, if Fahey could have been released from minding him Benalla would have been able to put more pressure on Seymour backs with Faheys breaking of the lines which he has done all year
Bailey earnt a mention at the Benalla huddle at quarter time. Something along the lines of they thought he was a tad soft and that if he continued to jump in the hole to crunch him/wear him down.
Whislt Ben did fail to re-appear, once Schottner got into more familiar territory(ruck) his game lifted and had a real impact in Seymour's pull away win.
Thought a guy wearing #4 for Benalla was looked after by the umps also at times - the umps were a tad frustrating but at the end of the day Seymour had too many winners when it mattered most.
mrz.judd
10 Sep 2006, 15:01
saad saad is my cousin and he is a champion. he is going to be the next chris judd.
pete_mitchell
10 Sep 2006, 18:47
What a come back from United today...41 points down at half time and to show a fair bit of grit and determination, and our BF guru from united, sidey was named best on ground by the radio.
Be interesting to see what the outcome is from Steve Hazelman. Stretched off in the dying minutes of the game. The other bloke that was mentioned was Sammy Dawes. Can anyone confirm an injury to sam or any other united guys..
Disapointing end to a good year for the cats, injuries eventually being their downfall in the end. Very unlucky. No doubt will bounce back in 07.
Interesting to see Benalla twos get done...thought they were a massive shot at the title. Poor kicking i've heard cost them.
And guess what this means...showdown between Euroa and Seymour in the ressies 2nd semi!! Could be a bit of spite in the game. Big opportunity to jump on the lions if bailey and amad are injured, Euroa could stretch the lions magoo's for height.
the gv finals keeps throwing up supprise results...great to see.
Samtrish
10 Sep 2006, 20:15
What a come back from United today...41 points down at half time and to show a fair bit of grit and determination, and our BF guru from united, sidey was named best on ground by the radio.
Be interesting to see what the outcome is from Steve Hazelman. Stretched off in the dying minutes of the game. The other bloke that was mentioned was Sammy Dawes. Can anyone confirm an injury to sam or any other united guys..
Disapointing end to a good year for the cats, injuries eventually being their downfall in the end. Very unlucky. No doubt will bounce back in 07.
Interesting to see Benalla twos get done...thought they were a massive shot at the title. Poor kicking i've heard cost them.
And guess what this means...showdown between Euroa and Seymour in the ressies 2nd semi!! Could be a bit of spite in the game. Big opportunity to jump on the lions if bailey and amad are injured, Euroa could stretch the lions magoo's for height.
the gv finals keeps throwing up supprise results...great to see.
Euroa two are soft don't you worry about that with soccer boss playing seyourf home and hosed
Duff Man
10 Sep 2006, 21:44
Euroa two are soft don't you worry about that with soccer boss playing seyourf home and hosed
No where near as soft as Nick Lane , yes he can play but he would have to be the softest player in the league . Could we see footyboss and Fat Back Pocket going toe to toe ?? Magpies will win Samtrish , Seymours down fall is one fatty back pocket.
At the moment can't see anyone getting near the seymour sides, got too much talent and are very fresh because of the injuries they have suffered during the year. Euroa will get beaten by 5 to 6 goals in the ressies. seymour had their bad game on sat and still managed to win comfortably inthe end. Your right doona, they can't speak about saad getting a good run with the umps, every time stevens got near it he got a free kick!! They will be too good for mansfield this week!!
VCFL_FAN
11 Sep 2006, 09:37
Anybody happen to see young Tyson Warnett's Mark yesterday?? Heard it was a beauty...and Also heard big Forys got up a little bit as well
FOOTYBOSS
11 Sep 2006, 10:06
This post makes no sense at all Samtrish. Do you need to go back to primary school to learn how to spell and use use correct grammar. Or are you just starting your mad monday early with all the other Benalla reserves players.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Sep 2006, 10:08
Bailey earnt a mention at the Benalla huddle at quarter time. Something along the lines of they thought he was a tad soft and that if he continued to jump in the hole to crunch him/wear him down.
Whislt Ben did fail to re-appear, once Schottner got into more familiar territory(ruck) his game lifted and had a real impact in Seymour's pull away win.
Thought a guy wearing #4 for Benalla was looked after by the umps also at times - the umps were a tad frustrating but at the end of the day Seymour had too many winners when it mattered most.
Bails injured yet again. I kept telling the Seymour faithful not to put your hopes on this player. Always injured. I feel for the Bails as he is a top bloke and can play some great footy when he is fully fit. Does that mean Big Roo Elliott will come into the senior team now.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Sep 2006, 10:09
No where near as soft as Nick Lane , yes he can play but he would have to be the softest player in the league . Could we see footyboss and Fat Back Pocket going toe to toe ?? Magpies will win Samtrish , Seymours down fall is one fatty back pocket.
Considering we play at opposite end of the ground, I highlydoubt if we will ever go toe to toe.
would think big roo would be playing this week in the seniors and maybe one other as joy amaad has jarred his knee
What about Mick Thommo? could he be in line for a recall with his wealth of finals experience (remember all those marks he took in the GF last year?). Was named BOG in 2's satdy along with R Inness who would probably replace Joe Amad.
I suppose it may depend on Mansfield Ruck set up, but Shotty could carry the load no probs providing he doesnt get injured himself. Pilling could also do a bit of ruckwork to give shotts a chop out?
Correct! With the FBP lumping around I would say the pies are a good show. Surely Spanner will give clear instructions to hit his man up on the lead:thumbsu: A few injuries to each team with no need to risk anyone with the double chance there if required.
No Heart
11 Sep 2006, 15:55
What about Mick Thommo? could he be in line for a recall with his wealth of finals experience (remember all those marks he took in the GF last year?). Was named BOG in 2's satdy along with R Inness who would probably replace Joe Amad.
I suppose it may depend on Mansfield Ruck set up, but Shotty could carry the load no probs providing he doesnt get injured himself. Pilling could also do a bit of ruckwork to give shotts a chop out?
Good point HJ32 , I think Thommo and Russo will come in this week. Bails still coud be a chance , but i doubt it. Robbie Inness could also get a call up.
Said the exact thing to a mate yesterday, I reckon Thommo and Inness in for Bailey and Amad. Dom Russo will be stiff but needs a big summer to add more size to his frame which will then have him a regular senior player in 2007.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Sep 2006, 16:26
Im sure Robbie Inness will get a game this week against Mansfield. His form in the reserves has been very good and when he was playing seniors he was holding his own against some of the best midfielders. Could do a very good tagging job on a Fraser Stevenson or Matty Storer this week for Seymour.
TuskenRaider
11 Sep 2006, 16:31
Surely Thomson would be a good chance to go back in. I agree totally with your call on his GF last year, he played well, especially in the first half. Has he had some injury problems this year?