View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
just been speaking to Seymours gun player Robbie Douglas and he said hes got cronic fatigue and will miss the rest on the year. Seymour will be F'd now and wont win another finals game. no-one can fill his spot on the ground. Also Patty Ratray is definatly going to play in the grand final in the 2's if they make it this year, he will play with a paper bag over his head
Surely Thomson would be a good chance to go back in. I agree totally with your call on his GF last year, he played well, especially in the first half. Has he had some injury problems this year?
yeah tusken only about his 3rd game back from a hand injury, really looked the goods on saturday and must come into the calculations but still think the roo and rob inness in. The lions look alot more potent up forward with shottner resting down there.
No Heart
11 Sep 2006, 17:44
just been speaking to Seymours gun player Robbie Douglas and he said hes got cronic fatigue and will miss the rest on the year. Seymour will be F'd now and wont win another finals game. no-one can fill his spot on the ground. Also Patty Ratray is definatly going to play in the grand final in the 2's if they make it this year, he will play with a paper bag over his head
Douglas did look a bit out of sorts on the weekend gta. His kicks were only going about 50m and he was hitting targets lace-in. He usually kicks about 60m and delivers them lace-out.
Rattray has a pretty large dial and i dont reckon a paper bag will do the job. He'll need to use a shopping bag as a plan A and possibly a garbage bag for plan B. Alternatively he can have a think about a hessian sack similar to the Elephant Man! :D
Douglas did look a bit out of sorts on the weekend gta. His kicks were only going about 50m and he was hitting targets lace-in. He usually kicks about 60m and delivers them lace-out.
Rattray has a pretty large dial and i dont reckon a paper bag will do the job. He'll need to use a shopping bag as a plan A and possibly a garbage bag for plan B. Alternatively he can have a think about a hessian sack similar to the Elephant Man! :D
Yeah Douglas got his results back about 2 hours ago and hes got cronic fatigue. i agree with your plan B about Ratray, but i reckon he needs to keep it on all the time
showy#1
11 Sep 2006, 18:12
Yeah Douglas got his results back about 2 hours ago and hes got cronic fatigue. i agree with your plan B about Ratray, but i reckon he needs to keep it on all the timepretty tough bagging out seymour players when you cant even reveal your proper name you weak f..k
Would be surprised if Patty even trains - he should wait until next year for his next game for the Lions I reckon.
fat back pocket
12 Sep 2006, 00:42
Correct! With the FBP lumping around I would say the pies are a good show. Surely Spanner will give clear instructions to hit his man up on the lead:thumbsu: A few injuries to each team with no need to risk anyone with the double chance there if required.
You need to get the ball into your half before you should worry about lacing blokes out on leads...and i agree re my lack of pace, reckon the whippet would out-do me on a lead.
Speaking of the whip. did he get the honour of pulling on a guernsey on saturday? Not sure if he played in the bath at the K back in the middle of the year?
You need to get the ball into your half before you should worry about lacing blokes out on leads...and i agree re my lack of pace, reckon the whippet would out-do me on a lead.
Speaking of the whip. did he get the honour of pulling on a guernsey on saturday? Not sure if he played in the bath at the K back in the middle of the year?
Sounding very confident there FBP.......let's be honest whippet would out-do you in every facet of the game;)
BIGirish
12 Sep 2006, 16:17
Sounding very confident there FBP.......let's be honest whippet would out-do you in every facet of the game;)
Including on-field fashion. lol
Duff Man
12 Sep 2006, 16:24
Heard today J Sutherland will be getting his marching orders shortly , I was told he went around on the weekend just trying to belt blokes, and got T Hotton. Some players are fkn ropable and told the club he goes or they are ? Had been chasing a coach for a couple of weeks , but i believe he has said no.They are trying to keep there list together for next year , but there is already talk that Bullen and a couple more are out of there . This would be a shame if true because i think they have had a good year, Just goes to show how important it is to get a good coach in charge of your club.
Pretty sure Bullen never had the intnetion to stay there for longer than a yr
roaring tiger
12 Sep 2006, 19:48
Where will Travis Ryan coach next year fellas? Maybe Ky or the Swans? Probably plenty of district clubs chasing him.
I think he is a massive chance of coaching at either of those 2 sides, has the capacity to bring some very good footballers to. Hope he gets the gig at Swans or Ky, im fairly confident he will be at another GV club in a similiur capacity as Tatura.
Will you be following him Tige?
FOOTYBOSS
12 Sep 2006, 20:41
Pretty sure Bullen never had the intnetion to stay there for longer than a yr
I think you will find that Bullen will stay at swans.
FOOTYBOSS
12 Sep 2006, 20:42
Heard today J Sutherland will be getting his marching orders shortly , I was told he went around on the weekend just trying to belt blokes, and got T Hotton. Some players are fkn ropable and told the club he goes or they are ? Had been chasing a coach for a couple of weeks , but i believe he has said no.They are trying to keep there list together for next year , but there is already talk that Bullen and a couple more are out of there . This would be a shame if true because i think they have had a good year, Just goes to show how important it is to get a good coach in charge of your club.
Sutherland still managed to get the swans best player for the day. So must have done something right.
ROOTA#6
12 Sep 2006, 20:59
Is it true that Anthony Stevens has agreed to coach Lalbert in the CMFL?
I think the lost of Howse was the factor; hard, in and under player. Was crucial to the teams premiership hopes, umm Maher brothers were out aswell. However good to see they brought back in fred cameron, dox, foxy.
Could the Euroa 2's win it for xav? Hopefully something to look forward to for the rest of the season.
Where is the footy trip FootyBoss.
No footytrip this year HawkeEye. The people that organised it last year werent attending this year, so no one got off their bums to do it. Shame really as footy trips are great fun.
Im sure the Boss will be doing his best to organise one for next year.
When do you look like heading back here?
As for the 2's winning. Still a long way to go, but with Benalla losing it has helped their chances big time. They get to have 2 cracks at making the grand final.
Will you be following him Tige?
He probably will as he is a mercenary.
pete_mitchell
12 Sep 2006, 21:19
Would he play do ya reckon Tige? He would be a handy inclusion to either list. Both have potent forward lines. He would make it a little tougher for teams to match up on.
Yeah he is in the process of getting him self really fit and wants to get a few more years out of him self. Defientley when fit he would be a very good player and a hard one to match up against. Will play out of the pocket no doubt as a leading small/medium forward.
He probably will as he is a mercenary.
Mercenary or not ill do what i want, if i want to follow Moose i will if i dont i wont. In the end i couldnt care less what insiginficant lower class twits like your self have to say.
In all seriousness if there is a fair exodus of good players and Willa wants to follow Moose then i wouldnt see why i wouldnt go with him. Could anyone blame you for leaving?? although it would be very tough to play against Tat so that would be a factor. Would more than likely end up back in Melbourne with other mates.
JimCarter
13 Sep 2006, 10:22
Mercenary or not ill do what i want, if i want to follow Moose i will if i dont i wont. In the end i couldnt care less what insiginficant lower class twits like your self have to say.
In all seriousness if there is a fair exodus of good players and Willa wants to follow Moose then i wouldnt see why i wouldnt go with him. Could anyone blame you for leaving?? although it would be very tough to play against Tat so that would be a factor. Would more than likely end up back in Melbourne with other mates.
No one could blame you for leaving because they wouldnt expect anything else from you. You change clubs like you change undies.. :rolleyes:
DarthAnnihl8or
13 Sep 2006, 10:31
How is Ben Bailey going out at Seymour this year?
Yeah he is in the process of getting him self really fit and wants to get a few more years out of him self. Defientley when fit he would be a very good player and a hard one to match up against. Will play out of the pocket no doubt as a leading small/medium forward.
How old would Ryan be tige? I think he has been around for a long time and judging by the injuries troubles he has had, i would think he is something like 35? Probably would continue to struggle?
As for that Sutherland, I hope he leaves the GV and never comes back. The ugliest and dirtiest footballer I've ever seen play. Loves to take cheap shots at anyone, especially the smaller blokes. Would have liked to see someone to knock him out cold.
journeyman
13 Sep 2006, 11:44
How old would Ryan be tige? I think he has been around for a long time and judging by the injuries troubles he has had, i would think he is something like 35? Probably would continue to struggle?
As for that Sutherland, I hope he leaves the GV and never comes back. The ugliest and dirtiest footballer I've ever seen play. Loves to take cheap shots at anyone, especially the smaller blokes. Would have liked to see someone to knock him out cold.
Sutherland has been a champion player who will get another year or two out of himself. Coached the Swans for bugger all this year. He's one of those blokes you would love to have run out with you.
Time in charge is over
By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton Swans coach Jarrod Sutherland has handed in his resignation after two seasons with the Goulburn Valley Football League club.
Sutherland broke the news to his players after their eight-point loss to Mansfield in Saturday's elimination final.
The club held discussions with the ruckman about continuing as coach several weeks ago, but Sutherland said other commitments had forced him to prioritise.
"I've got my own crane hire business and a young family," Sutherland said.
"With time constraints, you can't really do them all.
"I had to make a sacrifice and one had to go, so the club is now looking for a new coach."
Despite relinquishing the top job, Sutherland said he was committed to the Swans in a playing capacity.
"I'll be back at the Swans next year," he said.
"We'll see how the body goes, but my playing will probably benefit from not coaching."
Sutherland said the club was still undecided on a coach for next season.
Since taking the reins at the end of 2004, Sutherland has had moderate success finishing 10th last year and a much improved sixth this year after signing a much-talked about bag of recruits.
wheelbarrow
13 Sep 2006, 12:34
Rawlings on the short list at Tat boys.
BIGirish
13 Sep 2006, 16:21
Time in charge is over
By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton Swans coach Jarrod Sutherland has handed in his resignation after two seasons with the Goulburn Valley Football League club.
Sutherland broke the news to his players after their eight-point loss to Mansfield in Saturday's elimination final.
The club held discussions with the ruckman about continuing as coach several weeks ago, but Sutherland said other commitments had forced him to prioritise.
"I had to make a sacrifice and one had to go, so the club is now looking for a new coach."
Despite relinquishing the top job, Sutherland said he was committed to the Swans in a playing capacity.
"We'll see how the body goes, but my playing will probably benefit from not coaching."
Since taking the reins at the end of 2004, Sutherland has had moderate success finishing 10th last year and a much improved sixth this year after signing a much-talked about bag of recruits.
Swans would be a better club without this dog. As for wanting to have him play in your team, i'd rathernot play than play with him. he gives gvfl footy a bad rep. he is nothing but a sniping dog and he will seriously injure somone one day.
Travvy43
13 Sep 2006, 16:42
Archard probably wont even get a game for them to be honest. Quite a difference in footy levels gvfl to sanfl. Will be interesting to see how he goes.
I was just scrolling back and read this.
Either the Boss has overestimated the level of the SANFL footy here or underestimated the talent of Archard. He is in the top five for odds to win the SANFL league medal, top 10 for stats in the league, and on the weekend he chalked up a lazy 39 touches and three goals to get South Adelaide into their first finals series for a number of years.
Duff Man
13 Sep 2006, 16:51
Time in charge is over
By Christie Peucker
September 13 2006
Shepparton News
Well i got that won right !
And my new one is Mellington and the Bears arnt seeing eye to eye , and Swans offerd the Seymour coach 40 big ones and he told them not a chance in hell .
journeyman
13 Sep 2006, 16:52
Swans would be a better club without this dog. As for wanting to have him play in your team, i'd rathernot play than play with him. he gives gvfl footy a bad rep. he is nothing but a sniping dog and he will seriously injure somone one day.
Have to agree to disagree on that one mate.
I'd love to have a ruckman who has won multiple club best and fairests in the Ovens and Murray, Goulburn Valley and Murray leagues, a Morrison Medal, couple of runner ups in the O&M medal and represented the above leagues on numerous occassions.
pete_mitchell
13 Sep 2006, 16:58
Either the Boss has overestimated the level of the SANFL footy here or underestimated the talent of Archard. He is in the top five for odds to win the SANFL league medal, top 10 for stats in the league, and on the weekend he chalked up a lazy 39 touches and three goals to get South Adelaide into their first finals series for a number of years.
Watched the game last night on ABC2, gets good wraps from the commentators. Obviously made a massive impression this year.
Anyone think he could possibly be put on a rookie list? Or even get drafted? Is it too late do you think?
No Heart
13 Sep 2006, 17:02
Well i got that won right !
And my new one is Mellington and the Bears arnt seeing eye to eye , and Swans offerd the Seymour coach 40 big ones and he told them not a chance in hell .
Duffy have come through with the goods on Sutherland , Mellington and the Bears is a big call. And the 40 big ones was over 2 years not one? :thumbsu:
Duff Man
13 Sep 2006, 17:12
Duffy have come through with the goods on Sutherland , Mellington and the Bears is a big call. And the 40 big ones was over 2 years not one? :thumbsu:
I will back my info on Mellington and the bears, same bloke told me about Sutherland being told to leave ? And as for the 40 big ones , who really cares if its one or two years im just sharing info with everyone on here on what ive heard. :thumbsu:
No one could blame you for leaving because they wouldnt expect anything else from you. You change clubs like you change undies.. :rolleyes:
You had to bring up undies, didn't you Jim:D
Yes spot on with the Mellington Shepp mail, all over. Another job that Ryan may look at, and mail is they have already spoken to him.
Also Rawlings should be on everyones short list who hasnt got a coach, would be awesome in any league outside of AFL and listened to him talk on Sport 927 a couple of weeks ago, came across very well and is passionate about wanting to coach.
pretty tough bagging out seymour players when you cant even reveal your proper name you weak f..k
i'm just a poo speaker on big footy
roaring tiger
13 Sep 2006, 19:54
I see on the Mildura thread that E Bowen from Rochy is going to Wentworth? Any truth in those rumours? I heard he was only going to spend the one year at rochy anyway and then go back to the bendigo bombers?
TuskenRaider
13 Sep 2006, 20:33
Watched the game last night on ABC2, gets good wraps from the commentators. Obviously made a massive impression this year.
Anyone think he could possibly be put on a rookie list? Or even get drafted? Is it too late do you think?
Too late.
FOOTYBOSS
13 Sep 2006, 21:13
Yes I have really underestimated the talents of Rhys Archard. He has done extremely well this year. Well done to him. I was only going off what I have seen when we have played Echuca and he never really did much against us.
I was in Adelaide recently and there was a lot of hype around how well he is doing.
He should still stay in sanfl as its a better comp then the gvfl.
pete_mitchell
13 Sep 2006, 22:54
Yes spot on with the Mellington Shepp mail, all over. Another job that Ryan may look at, and mail is they have already spoken to him.
Also Rawlings should be on everyones short list who hasnt got a coach, would be awesome in any league outside of AFL and listened to him talk on Sport 927 a couple of weeks ago, came across very well and is passionate about wanting to coach.
Read in the paper he is a shot at getting an assistant coaching job at the roo's if a coaching re-arrangement goes ahead.
You wouldn't think he would do that just yet. He can offer so much as a player still. He's only 28 or 29. would be a massive recruit. Dare say he'd have some pull on players as well, seemed to be very well liked around the footy circles.
TuskenRaider
13 Sep 2006, 23:00
Read in the paper he is a shot at getting an assistant coaching job at the roo's if a coaching re-arrangement goes ahead.
You wouldn't think he would do that just yet. He can offer so much as a player still. He's only 28 or 29. would be a massive recruit. Dare say he'd have some pull on players as well, seemed to be very well liked around the footy circles.
If he's keen to get into coaching, he'd surely rather retire and get a job as an assistant at an AFL club rather than coach and play in a metro or country league. If he was offered an AFL job, I would highly doubt he would turn it down just to keep playing at a lower level.
Sorry to disappoint those who had "mail" suggesting otherwise but . . .
Mellington to lead Bears again
By Christie Peucker
September 14 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton coach Anthony Mellington will continue in the Bears' top job for another year.
Bears president Gary Holland confirmed Mellington had officially accepted the position yesterday afternoon.
The appointment follows a week of speculation that Mellington and the club were struggling to come to an agreement.
The News believes the sticking point centred around the capacity of the club's finances for next season.
Holland would not be drawn on the speculation and said the club was looking forward to a successful 2007 with Mellington at the helm.
"There were certainly things in his contract that needed to be negotiated, but they have been," Holland said.
"It was never a performance issue.
"It's pretty easy to see what he's brought to the team."
Mellington's continuation will be the second of a two-year contract as a playing coach with the club.
This season the Bears were widely regarded as having exceeded expectations, but finished without a finals berth in eighth position.
"I think we came a fair way this year," Mellington said.
"Next year it will be a matter of fine-tuning a few more of our skills and getting a couple more players to bolster our stocks."
Thirds coach Mark Metcalfe has also been reappointed and Holland said the club was confident of securing the service of reserves coach David Southwell for next year.
Geez 12 hours has gone by and nobody has posted - whats going on :mad:
For what its worth I will whack me tips in . . .
1st semi-final (Saturday at Seymour)
1sts - Benalla v Shepparton United
2nds - Shepparton United v Mooroopna
3rds - Kyabram v Echuca
2nd Semi-finals (Sunday at Tatura)
1sts - Seymour v Mansfield
2nds - Seymour v Euroa
3rds - Shepparton v Mansfield
Sorry to disappoint those who had "mail" suggesting otherwise but . . .
Mellington to lead Bears again
By Christie Peucker
September 14 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton coach Anthony Mellington will continue in the Bears' top job for another year.
Bears president Gary Holland confirmed Mellington had officially accepted the position yesterday afternoon.
The appointment follows a week of speculation that Mellington and the club were struggling to come to an agreement.
The News believes the sticking point centred around the capacity of the club's finances for next season.
Holland would not be drawn on the speculation and said the club was looking forward to a successful 2007 with Mellington at the helm.
"There were certainly things in his contract that needed to be negotiated, but they have been," Holland said.
"It was never a performance issue.
"It's pretty easy to see what he's brought to the team."
Mellington's continuation will be the second of a two-year contract as a playing coach with the club.
This season the Bears were widely regarded as having exceeded expectations, but finished without a finals berth in eighth position.
"I think we came a fair way this year," Mellington said.
"Next year it will be a matter of fine-tuning a few more of our skills and getting a couple more players to bolster our stocks."
Thirds coach Mark Metcalfe has also been reappointed and Holland said the club was confident of securing the service of reserves coach David Southwell for next year.
Can someone tell me how southy's going as a coach?
Can Shop
15 Sep 2006, 10:31
Sad news about steve hazleman, a great player to watch.
pete_mitchell
15 Sep 2006, 10:50
Sad news about steve hazleman, a great player to watch.
What was the verdict on Hazleman? Reco? What about sam dawes, word is he hurt his ankle pretty bad sunday and got a jab...came out and did pretty well, but does anyone know how he pulled up on monday? Will he play this week?
any other injury news?
Who do people think will win the 4 senior games (seniors and reserves?)
reckon Benalla might get up over United with no Hazleman there Doony.
Can Shop
15 Sep 2006, 10:52
Dawes has been names. Verdict with hazleman is that he has done his left knee ACL and medial will miss another 12 months with a full knee reco.
Geez 12 hours has gone by and nobody has posted - whats going on :mad:
For what its worth I will whack me tips in . . .
1st semi-final (Saturday at Seymour)
1sts - Benalla v Shepparton United
2nds - Shepparton United v Mooroopna
3rds - Kyabram v Echuca
2nd Semi-finals (Sunday at Tatura)
1sts - Seymour v Mansfield
2nds - Seymour v Euroa
3rds - Shepparton v Mansfield
Note: jumping off United after hearing of Hazelman's injury
centreman
15 Sep 2006, 11:18
Come on Doona! Gotta keep the faith mate. They might be spurred on to do it for the coach. He's a pretty inspiring character.
LOBSTER
15 Sep 2006, 11:51
What was the verdict on Hazleman? Reco? What about sam dawes, word is he hurt his ankle pretty bad sunday and got a jab...came out and did pretty well, but does anyone know how he pulled up on monday? Will he play this week?
any other injury news?
Who do people think will win the 4 senior games (seniors and reserves?)
reckon Benalla might get up over United with no Hazleman there Doony.
Benalla and Seymour to win the senior games while Untied and Euroa to win the reserves games.
Come on Doona! Gotta keep the faith mate. They might be spurred on to do it for the coach. He's a pretty inspiring character.
And a pretty handy player who's presence might be missed Im sorry to say
He's a massive loss for the demons. Terrible news for such a good fella and under those circumstances it would be heartbreaking for the man. Will be interesting to see how they go this wk end. Good luck to them.
Hazelman to undergo surgery
United coach Steve Hazelman will undergo his second knee reconstruction in 18 months.
By Rob Harris
September 15 2006
Shepparton News
Shepparton United coach Steve Hazelman will spend at least 12 months on the sidelines following yesterday's confirmation he will require his second knee reconstruction in 18 months.
The 24-year-old's worst fears were realised when scans revealed torn anterior cruciate and medial ligaments in his left knee.
Hazelman said he was "shattered" by the result, but admitted he would not let it get in the way of his team's preparation for tomorrow's Goulburn Valley Football League first semi-final against Benalla.
"It's obviously very disappointing, because I wasn't expecting it, to be honest - I'd been hoping for the best," Hazelman said.
"But I've got to pull my head out of my backside now and realise I've got a job to do - we're playing finals and that's where my focus has got to be.
"I've got to be positive around the boys and make sure we do everything right in our preparation to ensure we're at our best against Benalla."
Hazelman said he would not undergo surgery until United had finished its finals commitments.
The prolific ball-winner, who was instrumental in his side's come-from-behind elimination final win against Mooroopna after being 41 points down at half-time, sustained the injury with 90 seconds remaining in Sunday's match.
The 2004 All-Australian underwent a reconstruction of his right knee last year after tearing his anterior cruciate ligament in round two against Shepparton.
"I know what's required to get back and I know how much work it's going to be, but I can't be looking that far ahead at the moment," he said.
"I'm sure the experience from last time will help me get through it again - it's a long road back.
"But what's important is that Shepparton United Football Club is fully focused on our game this weekend."
Hazelman's one-year coaching contract comes to an end this season and he said his latest setback would not change the re-appointment process.
"I wasn't going to enter into discussions in regards to next year until the season was over and this won't change anything," he said.
"Once the dust has settled we'll look at where we are going again."
bradrowe#32
15 Sep 2006, 12:40
I'm tipping Seymour and Benalla. Seymour have come good at the right time of the year and should win the flag.
I hope the GV goes to a final 5 system next year. The final 6 system isn't cool and has no friends.
Alley cat
15 Sep 2006, 12:52
I'm tipping Seymour and Benalla. Seymour have come good at the right time of the year and should win the flag.
I hope the GV goes to a final 5 system next year. The final 6 system isn't cool and has no friends.
Fully agree with the final 5 system. It should have been put in place when Tonny dropped out.
Will you be supporting Euroa Twos vs Seymour tomorrow Brad??? lol.
journeyman
15 Sep 2006, 13:06
Fully agree with the final 5 system. It should have been put in place when Tonny dropped out.
I reckon the GV league is the only league in the state that is strong enough to have a final 6.
The Murray League, for example, should only be a 5 because it hasn't got the depth.
I like Murray League's finals 6 system better though. On the first week 3V6 and 4V5 play in elimination finals while 1 and 2 have a rest.
Should be more incentive for finishing top 2. Third can often work out to be the best place to finish in the GV final 6.
FOOTYBOSS
15 Sep 2006, 13:14
I agree it should be a final 5. Would be alot fairer for the team finishing on top.
I would say Seymour to win this week in the seniors and Benalla to win United due to the simple fact Hazelman wont be playing.
JimCarter
15 Sep 2006, 13:24
You had to bring up undies, didn't you Jim:D
Of course I did Head, thats what us big, bearded, burly, jock sniffing, town cryers do...
bradrowe#32
15 Sep 2006, 13:26
I'm really torn Alley cat.
I just hope at the end of the day that football is the real winner.
lion's_roar
15 Sep 2006, 13:38
I said it on this thread a few weeks back and i'll say it again, so it looks like i know what i am talking about...
The AFL looks set to introduce a new claus for rookies, allowing one player per club over the age of 23 to be listed as a rookie ... a bit like a mature age student at UNI, who took a while to find themselves and want they wanted to do ..aka The Facta (sorry mate)
If this goes ahead and its by no means set in stone, you would have to say the ARCH would be a masive chance.
Those of us who have been watching him go around in the GV would know how good he is.
In Footy Boss' defence he has only seen one season of Archard and lets face it 2005 wasn't his best.
I for one would love to see him on any list .. especially the bulldogs.
lion's_roar
15 Sep 2006, 13:47
Doona, Doona, Doona ....
Agree with Centreman .. Hazleman is a pretty inspiring person and I reckon the Dees are a big show, especially considering Benalla's ability to choke in finals.
I'm obviously also going to go against your tip in the Mansfield/ Seymour game.
Im going with the Eagles .. suprise, surprise!!
Last time we played them it was down there and we won.
The Lions' were without a few players, but looking at the side there are only three players different from that side and clouds obviously remain over the fitness of Robbie Douglas (great player and a key running out of the back line).
For Mansfield there will also be three players back and a pretty handy three as well.
Josh Walker and Matt Storer didn't play last time and Fraser Stvenson played less than a half.
Also Danny Walker went off early in the third with a broken leg after kicking four in the first half and he's also back.
Rick Saunders will probably miss again and Mark Jones is out for the year with a shoulder injury.
pete_mitchell
15 Sep 2006, 14:11
Doona, Doona, Doona ....
Agree with Centreman .. Hazleman is a pretty inspiring person and I reckon the Dees are a big show, especially considering Benalla's ability to choke in finals.
I'm obviously also going to go against your tip in the Mansfield/ Seymour game.
Im going with the Eagles .. suprise, surprise!!
Last time we played them it was down there and we won.
The Lions' were without a few players, but looking at the side there are only three players different from that side and clouds obviously remain over the fitness of Robbie Douglas (great player and a key running out of the back line).
For Mansfield there will also be three players back and a pretty handy three as well.
Josh Walker and Matt Storer didn't play last time and Fraser Stvenson played less than a half.
Also Danny Walker went off early in the third with a broken leg after kicking four in the first half and he's also back.
Rick Saunders will probably miss again and Mark Jones is out for the year with a shoulder injury.
Jones will be a big loss, but apparently bailey out for Seymour, so even stevens there. Height might be the killer for the eagles...will the eagles have enough firepower to get over a Lions backline consisting of Anderson, Douglas, Hooper, Pilling, Colbert, and Stevenson....pretty faarking handy.
Two close 2nd Semi's...reckon the Lions may get a double birth in the granny though, although if anything, the maggies to upset the Lions magoo's.
lion's_roar
15 Sep 2006, 14:25
Jones will be a big loss, but apparently bailey out for Seymour, so even stevens there. Height might be the killer for the eagles...will the eagles have enough firepower to get over a Lions backline consisting of Anderson, Douglas, Hooper, Pilling, Colbert, and Stevenson....pretty faarking handy.
Two close 2nd Semi's...reckon the Lions may get a double birth in the granny though, although if anything, the maggies to upset the Lions magoo's.
Mansfield just seem to match up well against Seymour and the two have had some great battles.
I don't reckon the height will be a huge factor .. the eagles are quick and have a lot of run.
There are a few talls that can do the job.
Spot on with your call about the Lions defence .. whereas most games are won in the centre, I think the game will be won and lost at half back/half forward. (sounds strange)
What's the weather like over there? (i'm in Tassie) .. if it rains, it'll bring it back in the eagles favour.
I reckon the GV league is the only league in the state that is strong enough to have a final 6.
The Murray League, for example, should only be a 5 because it hasn't got the depth.
I like Murray League's finals 6 system better though. On the first week 3V6 and 4V5 play in elimination finals while 1 and 2 have a rest.
Should be more incentive for finishing top 2. Third can often work out to be the best place to finish in the GV final 6.
i also reckon that the gvfl is strong enough to have a final 6, but believe now that the KDFL has 13 teams its now also strong enough to play finals and beat 1st and 2nd... the MFL's finals system is the way both the GV and the KD should go next year
Grandale
15 Sep 2006, 17:12
How's this for spasticated; the Ballarat league has 10 teams and plays a final 6. Crazy!
As for finishing 3rd, it's funny you know. The past couple of winners in the seniors have come from third, but in the Scooby Doos, the last 3 years the side that's finished 3rd has bombed out in week one.
marbles_r_red_2
16 Sep 2006, 10:05
guys was just wondering if anyone could tell me where the games are being played this weekend and who is playing ? looking to come up and watch a game as the footy around here is finished now.cheers
Samtrish
16 Sep 2006, 10:08
guys was just wondering if anyone could tell me where the games are being played this weekend and who is playing ? looking to come up and watch a game as the footy around here is finished now.cheers
Benalla Vrs Shepp United @ Seymour Today
Mansfield Vrs Seymour @ Tatura Tomorrow
Alley cat
16 Sep 2006, 10:24
Head up the Hume to Seymour. Perfect day, not a cloud in the sky.
Should be a good game between Benalla and Shepp United.
Bit of a craft market thing at the ground also.
can't believe everyone seems to be jumping off benalla and picking united to win. Benalla will win quite comfortably today at seymour. Were pretty bad condition up at ky last week and they kicked inaccurately. Could have quite easily won if they kicked as accurately as seymour did. Picking a seymour benalla grandfinal.
Anyone not doing anything today head to seymour, should be a cracker game and the weather is beautiful.
Benalla 20.7 (127) def Shepparton United 15.4 (94)
Goals
(Ben) MARK MACKENZIE 5, BRETT VALLENDER 4, BEN HORNE 4, JASON MACFARLANE 3, ADAM COLE 1, WILLIAM MARTINIELLO 1, SHAYNE MCKEAN 1, ROWAN PRIEST 1
(United) MATT FORYS 4, GRANT MCLARTY 4, RYAN NORMINGTON 3, DALE OSBORNE 1, BRADLEY HAZELMAN 1, MICHAEL BARLOW 1, SAM DAWES 1
Best
(Ben) MARK PORTER, JOE MARTINIELLO, JASON MACFARLANE, ANTHONY STEVENS, MARK MACKENZIE, SHAYNE MCKEAN
(United) RYAN NORMINGTON, BRADLEY HAZELMAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, STEPHEN SCOTT, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM, PHILLIP CARROLL
Benalla seemed to dominate the 1st half to lead by 6 goals. Like they did last week United refused to give in and booted 7 goals to two in the 3rd term to bring the game alive. United actually hit the lead early in the final term, before Benalla rallied and showed their capabilities to run away with things.
Dawes (#1) leaving the field with an ankle in the 3rd term didnt help United's cause, and whilst it wasn't the difference I think Forys spilled mark in the last term somewhat turned Benalla's fortunes - had Forys marked and goaled (was only 25m out on a slight angle) then the margin extends to 8 points and with momentum ya just never know.
For me I thought Stevens and McFarlane got valuable touches when it counted, McKenzie (5 goals) presented well all day whilst for United I thought young Barlow and Normington had a go all day from what I could tell.
lion's_roar
17 Sep 2006, 17:22
Benalla 20.7 (127) def Shepparton United 15.4 (94)
Goals
(Ben) MARK MACKENZIE 5, BRETT VALLENDER 4, BEN HORNE 4, JASON MACFARLANE 3, ADAM COLE 1, WILLIAM MARTINIELLO 1, SHAYNE MCKEAN 1, ROWAN PRIEST 1
(United) MATT FORYS 4, GRANT MCLARTY 4, RYAN NORMINGTON 3, DALE OSBORNE 1, BRADLEY HAZELMAN 1, MICHAEL BARLOW 1, SAM DAWES 1
Best
(Ben) MARK PORTER, JOE MARTINIELLO, JASON MACFARLANE, ANTHONY STEVENS, MARK MACKENZIE, SHAYNE MCKEAN
(United) RYAN NORMINGTON, BRADLEY HAZELMAN, MICHAEL BARLOW, STEPHEN SCOTT, TYSON SIDEBOTTOM, PHILLIP CARROLL
Benalla seemed to dominate the 1st half to lead by 6 goals. Like they did last week United refused to give in and booted 7 goals to two in the 3rd term to bring the game alive. United actually hit the lead early in the final term, before Benalla rallied and showed their capabilities to run away with things.
Dawes (#1) leaving the field with an ankle in the 3rd term didnt help United's cause, and whilst it wasn't the difference I think Forys spilled mark in the last term somewhat turned Benalla's fortunes - had Forys marked and goaled (was only 25m out on a slight angle) then the margin extends to 8 points and with momentum ya just never know.
For me I thought Stevens and McFarlane got valuable touches when it counted, McKenzie (5 goals) presented well all day whilst for United I thought young Barlow and Normington had a go all day from what I could tell.
finals score in the 2nd semi
Seymour 16.15.111 defeated Mansfield 12.7.79
Had to settle for a One FM webcast live into Hobart, but sounded like a ripper game, up until the last 10 minutes when the Lions ran away with it.
Saad with a big bag ... six or seven!
Oh well another chance next week.
BRING ON BENALLA
Flat Track Bully
17 Sep 2006, 17:42
finals score in the 2nd semi
Seymour 16.15.111 defeated Mansfield 12.7.79
Had to settle for a One FM webcast live into Hobart, but sounded like a ripper game, up until the last 10 minutes when the Lions ran away with it.
Saad with a big bag ... six or seven!
Oh well another chance next week.
BRING ON BENALLA
BRING ON MANSFIELD...people from either end of the former Delatite Shire have been wanting an all former Demons final for 8 years...and now they've got it.
Go the red and white demons...
Alley cat
17 Sep 2006, 22:34
BRING ON MANSFIELD...people from either end of the former Delatite Shire have been wanting an all former Demons final for 8 years...and now they've got it.
Go the red and white demons...
Saad took an absolute screamer in the last quarter to more or less put the game beyond Mansfields reach.
I think Saad kicked seven and Simon Gordon kicked five.
Mansfield played a bloody good game (geez the've done well when apparently they were meant to drop down the ladder with what they lost during the off season)
and were well in it till the last few minutes, so many good small players that kept on running but Seymour just seemed to have a bit more coolness when it counted. On todays performance i would expect Mansfield to stich up Benalla next week.
Seymour seconds beat Euroa easily.....
Saad's last quarter was nothing short of brilliant. He'd played a pretty good first 3 quarters, particularly the first where he set up 4 shots at goal for his team. But the last was just sensational. He kicked 4 himself including a ripper on the run where he led out infront of 2 mansfield players and spun around from 40 out. That however, was overshadowed by the massive one hander he took with 10 mins to go.
Mansfield had a super crack and led at 1/2 time but you could sense that the Lions were well below their best and in the third term fellas such as Colbert, Hooper, B Liddell, Douglas and Scanlon took control of the game.
will be a good prelim this weekend. But book your seat at Deakin to see the Saad show continue on.
BTW: Who is that big red headed kid for Mansfield? has a massive future ahead of him as a ruckman.
TuskenRaider
18 Sep 2006, 09:17
BTW: Who is that big red headed kid for Mansfield? has a massive future ahead of him as a ruckman.
Mansfield have got a few exceptionally good kids including the above young ruckman, and Jamie Sheahan who kicked 4 goals for Mansfield yesterday and looks to have a very good future in front of him. That performance in a 2nd Semi Final says a bit.
I can't think of the red headed ruckman's name but he reads the play very well, dropping back to help out the defence and taking marks around the ground.
lion's_roar
18 Sep 2006, 09:39
Saad's last quarter was nothing short of brilliant. He'd played a pretty good first 3 quarters, particularly the first where he set up 4 shots at goal for his team. But the last was just sensational. He kicked 4 himself including a ripper on the run where he led out infront of 2 mansfield players and spun around from 40 out. That however, was overshadowed by the massive one hander he took with 10 mins to go.
Mansfield had a super crack and led at 1/2 time but you could sense that the Lions were well below their best and in the third term fellas such as Colbert, Hooper, B Liddell, Douglas and Scanlon took control of the game.
will be a good prelim this weekend. But book your seat at Deakin to see the Saad show continue on.
His name is ANDY BROWNE.
He's 16 and has dominated the under 18's all year.
He came in a few weeks ago to replace Mark Jones, when he did his shoulder.
Played under 16's Vic Country and is on the Bushies 16's list.
Will step up to the 18's list next year based on his peformances.
Spoke to Matt Trewhella last night and he reckons Browny was awesome.
Not a bad effort for a 16-year-old kid to play so well in a big final with only about four senior games under his belt.
pete_mitchell
18 Sep 2006, 13:50
What were the crowds like over the weekend at the two games? Couldn't make either game...
On-Baller
18 Sep 2006, 14:55
g'day lads does anyone know how to start a new thread. i want to start a 2nds gvfl thread
Duff Man
18 Sep 2006, 15:11
What were the crowds like over the weekend at the two games? Couldn't make either game...
thats funny. could have sworn i saw you running around in one of the sunday games? :cool:
TuskenRaider
18 Sep 2006, 15:19
g'day lads does anyone know how to start a new thread. i want to start a 2nds gvfl thread
No need to mate. We can just keep all the GVFL talk in this one thread. Simple.
Yeah keep the GVFL talk all to one thread.
Great day for football at Tatura yesty, Seymour two's started well and with a first class effort looked unstoppable. Scoring options aplenty, runners galore are pleasing signs for coach Benny Davey. Thought Adam McBrien was by far Euroa's best, terrific job in keeping Lions skipper Big Pappa relatively quiet.
What a contest the main game was, the young Mansfield side ran like buggery to lead by a kick and a bit at half time before Seymour stepped it up to boot 9 goals to 2 in the second half.
Saad's first quarter was terrific had a hand in 3-4 goals I reckon, and what about that last term, a ripper snap, another mark of the year contender and after many thought young Trenny did well the great man ended with 7 of the best.
Trent Hotton was sensational as usual, Storer was good, and youngster Sheahan and Browne were impressive.
Unlike the two's this one is far from over . . .
GVFootyfan
18 Sep 2006, 16:51
His name is ANDY BROWNE.
He's 16 and has dominated the under 18's all year.
He came in a few weeks ago to replace Mark Jones, when he did his shoulder.
Played under 16's Vic Country and is on the Bushies 16's list.
Will step up to the 18's list next year based on his peformances.
Spoke to Matt Trewhella last night and he reckons Browny was awesome.
Not a bad effort for a 16-year-old kid to play so well in a big final with only about four senior games under his belt.
Pretty sure it was this kid that SAAD X 2 took the grab over. Will be a learning curve for him but he did play an awesome game. Took many a grab when drifting back and also looked very dangerous when he went forward. With a bit more maturity and experience he will be very good. Believe SAAD told his opponent that he had something for him at the end of the 3/4 time break. He certainly knows how to take them. Think Mansfield will have the goods next week to have another crack in a fortnight. Could be the danger finishing in that 3rd spot on the ladder. No injuries to Seymour is a hell of a bonus with a couple due back. Will be a cracker regardless of who gets there.
Grandale
18 Sep 2006, 17:19
Unlike the two's this one is far from over . . .
Doona, can I put it to you that United's seniors getting rolled on Satdy might mean the Scooby Doos is perhaps not the Lions benefit you may think it is?
Pretty sure it was this kid that SAAD X 2 took the grab over. Will be a learning curve for him but he did play an awesome game. Took many a grab when drifting back and also looked very dangerous when he went forward. With a bit more maturity and experience he will be very good. Believe SAAD told his opponent that he had something for him at the end of the 3/4 time break. He certainly knows how to take them. Think Mansfield will have the goods next week to have another crack in a fortnight. Could be the danger finishing in that 3rd spot on the ladder. No injuries to Seymour is a hell of a bonus with a couple due back. Will be a cracker regardless of who gets there.
Watched the game yesterday and was very impressed with the Seymour outfit. Seemed to start slow, but looked always in control - especially with so many more scoring shots. Do not think Mansfield or Benalla will be anywhere near good enough to topple that side, especially with a week off and no more apparent injuries. Can anyone tell me if Bailey and Haberman will be back for the big one?
Shehan is an excellent player - and at such a young has has a very brihght future.
Also thought that young Browne was quite good, but he had an easy role - taking the centre tap then pushing back to be a loose man in defense. Maybe they were protecting him a little bit because of his youth?
Snakeman66
18 Sep 2006, 20:47
I said it on this thread a few weeks back and i'll say it again, so it looks like i know what i am talking about...
The AFL looks set to introduce a new claus for rookies, allowing one player per club over the age of 23 to be listed as a rookie ... a bit like a mature age student at UNI, who took a while to find themselves and want they wanted to do ..aka The Facta (sorry mate)
If this goes ahead and its by no means set in stone, you would have to say the ARCH would be a masive chance.
Those of us who have been watching him go around in the GV would know how good he is.
In Footy Boss' defence he has only seen one season of Archard and lets face it 2005 wasn't his best.
I for one would love to see him on any list .. especially the bulldogs.
Played a pretty solid game against Port Adelaide in Elimination Final(has been listed in best players in most games(18 out of 19 H&A)).
Would have collected about 30 possessions including 2 goals despite being tagged by Matty Lokan(ex Collingwood).
Equal 2nd favourite for Magarey Medal($4.00) behind Jeremy Clayton($2.50) who won it last year.
http://www.safc.com.au/images/elimination_final/ef_19-9-6_72_sm.jpg
Archard & McGlone
Sidey_87
19 Sep 2006, 00:17
Watched the game yesterday and was very impressed with the Seymour outfit. Seemed to start slow, but looked always in control - especially with so many more scoring shots. Do not think Mansfield or Benalla will be anywhere near good enough to topple that side, especially with a week off and no more apparent injuries. Can anyone tell me if Bailey and Haberman will be back for the big one?
Shehan is an excellent player - and at such a young has has a very brihght future.
Also thought that young Browne was quite good, but he had an easy role - taking the centre tap then pushing back to be a loose man in defense. Maybe they were protecting him a little bit because of his youth?
Probably due to the fact Hotton is very strong so can muscle his opponents out of the contest around the ground while the kid has to bulk up a bit.
I think they even use the same tactic when Jones plays.
You won't often see 2 u/16 kids of that quality playing at the same club.
Flat Track Bully
19 Sep 2006, 09:00
You won't often see 2 u/16 kids of that quality playing at the same club.
Will Martiniello and Tom Rockiliff anyone?
Can Shop
19 Sep 2006, 09:07
Will Martinello got smashed (punched in the face) on the weekend did he not?? Said somethign in the paper about someone being reported for striking him.
Flat Track Bully
19 Sep 2006, 09:16
Will Martinello got smashed (punched in the face) on the weekend did he not?? Said somethign in the paper about someone being reported for striking him.
1/ Looking at Will last night he looked fine...not like someone who had been smashed.
2/United will argue it was a forearm to the head, as Dizzy Gillespie has one almighty bruise as a result
Also, how did Shane Clayton miss a spot in the GVFL team of the year?
lion's_roar
19 Sep 2006, 09:42
[QUOTE=Flat Track Bully]1/ Looking at Will last night he looked fine...not like someone who had been smashed.
2/United will argue it was a forearm to the head, as Dizzy Gillespie has one almighty bruise as a result
Also, how did Shane Clayton miss a spot in the GVFL team of the year?]QUOTE]
Bloody media!!! ... who gave them the job of selecting it. LOL.
In all seriousness though, I was one of the selectors and i had him on a half forward flank, as did a few of the others.
The problem is they give it to all media in the region, including the little papers who may never see a game and wouldn't be able to name any players outside their own town.
Leave it to the one who see all the games .. Steve King, ROb Harris, Wes Cusworth, Graeme Byrnes, Johny Ryan ... and maybe give Doona a crack at it!!:D
On-Baller
19 Sep 2006, 10:06
No need to mate. We can just keep all the GVFL talk in this one thread. Simple.
mate there is a thirds thread and you never see talk about the seconds. does anyone know daniel symes whos plays seconds at benalla a very dirty player
TuskenRaider
19 Sep 2006, 10:24
mate there is a thirds thread and you never see talk about the seconds. does anyone know daniel symes whos plays seconds at benalla a very dirty player
I know there is a thirds thread, but it's easier to keep one thread for the senior list talk. If you read back through this thread you will see there is plenty of talk about the 2s and it works quite well.
Can Shop
19 Sep 2006, 10:31
Would his number be 31 for the saints??? I think he is normally in and out of the seniors. Flat track bully should be able to tell your more
Rushy Tiger
19 Sep 2006, 11:33
I see on the Mildura thread that E Bowen from Rochy is going to Wentworth? Any truth in those rumours? I heard he was only going to spend the one year at rochy anyway and then go back to the bendigo bombers?
From what ive heard around the traps at Rochy is that all Bendigo based players will stay at rochy for another year at least. Bowen still wants to play VFL footy but needed a year or two to get his body right. Would be very surprised even if he was to leave he wouldn't go that far north.
Grandale
19 Sep 2006, 12:43
I know there is a thirds thread, but it's easier to keep one thread for the senior list talk. If you read back through this thread you will see there is plenty of talk about the 2s and it works quite well.
Absolutely. And I wouldn't mind betting most of the people that contribute to this thread are actually Ressies players!
FOOTYBOSS
19 Sep 2006, 13:08
Great day for football at Tatura yesty, Seymour two's started well and with a first class effort looked unstoppable. Scoring options aplenty, runners galore are pleasing signs for coach Benny Davey. Thought Adam McBrien was by far Euroa's best, terrific job in keeping Lions skipper Big Pappa relatively quiet.
The Seymour twos were just way to strong in the end. Their 1st half is the best reserves footy I have seen from any side at that level. they ran the lines very well and there skills were spot on. Their kicking for goal was also of top notch. They kicked 15.3 in the 1st half. To our boys credit we outscored them in the 2nd half and can only take that as a positive out of the day. Back to the drawing board this week and hopefully win to get another shot at the lions.
Cant really put anyone in our best players after that performance Doona.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Sep 2006, 13:10
[QUOTE=Xander]Watched the game yesterday and was very impressed with the Seymour outfit. Seemed to start slow, but looked always in control - especially with so many more scoring shots. Do not think Mansfield or Benalla will be anywhere near good enough to topple that side, especially with a week off and no more apparent injuries. Can anyone tell me if Bailey and Haberman will be back for the big one?[QUOTE]
As I have said many times before on this thread, if I were Seymour i wouldnt be hoping for Bailey to play. He is the most injury prone player going around and they really dont need him to win the flag. They proved that last year. As for habers Im sure you will see him run out onto Deakin for the main game in 2 weeks time. He will wear the helmet again similar to last year. I thinkthey will win the grand final very easily.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Sep 2006, 13:11
A shocking omission......
FOOTYBOSS
19 Sep 2006, 13:13
Total disgrace if you ask me. Who made the gvfl team of the year anyway?