View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
The_timid_turkey
26 Sep 2006, 12:02
Former Euroa half forward Nathan Gilliland has been appointed senior coach of Sandhurst FC in the Bendigo League.
Heard that, also heard that the KY coach as been offered the position at the Flat this year.
The_timid_turkey
26 Sep 2006, 12:11
Heard on saturday that Seymours Jake Anderson will be playing for the Box Hill Hawks next year, good effort from the young fella, sure his mind is well and truly on the big one this week but.
journeyman
26 Sep 2006, 15:31
Former Euroa half forward Nathan Gilliland has been appointed senior coach of Sandhurst FC in the Bendigo League.
There report in the Bendigo Addy says he is only 23. He must be very mature.
Not many 23 year olds coaching, let alone in a strong league.
lion's_roar
26 Sep 2006, 16:11
There report in the Bendigo Addy says he is only 23. He must be very mature.
Not many 23 year olds coaching, let alone in a strong league.
It is pretty young, but Steve Hazleman was only 23 when he took the job at United and based on their performance this season, you woul dsay he was a raging success.
Not sure how mature Nathan is, ( Steve is certainly wise beyond his years), but he has played at a decent standard of footy, ie VFL so i suppose he is worth a punt
It is pretty young, but Steve Hazleman was only 23 when he took the job at United and based on their performance this season, you woul dsay he was a raging success.
Not sure how mature Nathan is, ( Steve is certainly wise beyond his years), but he has played at a decent standard of footy, ie VFL so i suppose he is worth a punt
He has an abundance of maturity! I'm pretty sure he gets it from his older brother......a man who acts well beyond his years;)
ahhhhhh
26 Sep 2006, 19:39
FOOTYBOSS,
You're a drop kick. I've heard on the grapevine you can't get a game in the ones, because of you're obesity and extravagant amount of hair. I put it to you that you are a d ick head and you are going know where.
Cheers
FOOTYBOSS,
You're a drop kick. I've heard on the grapevine you can't get a game in the ones, because of you're obesity and extravagant amount of hair. I put it to you that you are a d ick head and you are going know where.
Cheers
I'm tipping the boss is doing a fair bit better than you knackers.....
FFS, what grade did you pull out of primary school:confused:
fat back pocket
26 Sep 2006, 20:10
I will probably get 1st crack at pappa, but it will all come down to who they drop and where we set up. I was in our forward 50 for a quarter yesterday.
Look out...doing a west coast eagles by putting a star defender up forward for some pinch hitting, goal kicking action...might line up, then destroy the FBP??he he...we'll probably clash heads going for a hard ball and both get knocked out...be pretty funny.
great effort to knock off united. Heard the maggies just wanted the pill more...heard there was a lot of in house bickering in United's team...same thing happened in the qualifying final when we pulled our finger from our ringer in the 3rd quarter and put it to them. They folded.
United did the dodgy s h ! t qualifying Mclarty and palmer...justice has prevailed.
Center Half Forward
26 Sep 2006, 22:59
yeah thats him 31 he is a real hard nut isnt he, although he is i would say he is very underated, we played benalla a few weeks ago and he can play if he doesnt try and belt ppl. he was on and off alot though dont no y any thoughts
hey yes that bloke is a thug i played on him half way through the year and he was just trying to fight me all day the wan.er he needs to have a good hard look at himself
What a day it's going to be this sunday at deakin! biggest crowd in history and hopefully a great game in all finals! What's everyones tips!!
mike ockerts
27 Sep 2006, 10:46
What a day it's going to be this sunday at deakin! biggest crowd in history and hopefully a great game in all finals! What's everyones tips!!
do some bloody work big fella:eek: :thumbsu:
lion's_roar
27 Sep 2006, 10:48
Flying back from Tassie for this, so i hope it is a great game with a crowd of 14,000.
My tips are ....
SEYMOUR vs Benalla (26 pts)
SEYMOUR vs Euroa (35 pts)
SHEPPARTON vs Kyabram (15 pts)
Watch out for the Eagles in the B grade netball .. Go girls
The_timid_turkey
27 Sep 2006, 11:36
Benalla to win the seniors by 4 points in an absoulte cracker
Seymour to win the twos by 37 points
Reckon Ky mite ge up in the thirds in an upset by just 1 point
The_timid_turkey
27 Sep 2006, 11:38
Got your Saad squad shirt ready mate for the big day
centreman
27 Sep 2006, 12:33
Look out...doing a west coast eagles by putting a star defender up forward for some pinch hitting, goal kicking action...might line up, then destroy the FBP??he he...we'll probably clash heads going for a hard ball and both get knocked out...be pretty funny.
great effort to knock off united. Heard the maggies just wanted the pill more...heard there was a lot of in house bickering in United's team...same thing happened in the qualifying final when we pulled our finger from our ringer in the 3rd quarter and put it to them. They folded.
United did the dodgy s h ! t qualifying Mclarty and palmer...justice has prevailed.
How can you say it was dodgy? McLarty and Palmer both played twos during the year for ligitmate reasons - their senior form was terrible. They both played the last eight seniors games at least and played in their two finals. Full your head in FBP.
Sidey_87
27 Sep 2006, 13:48
Meka and Bobby Smith both played 5 reserves games going into finals, then played in the 1st semi when our seniors were still in.
I don't see any of you complaining at how unfair it is that the rules don't let them play, yet when United use the rules to their advantage you have a crack at them.
spike dudley
27 Sep 2006, 13:50
The majority of the group will be playing again next season. The only doubts we have are Shannon Gibson and Daniel Sage. Everyone else is committed to stay. Anyone is a chane if they apply mate, all depends on what the club is looking for.
Ohhhh, except Nathan Gilliland. Who cares who's committed to stay. I think the question is would Euroa even want the recruits back. They performed terribly this season and it wasn't due to a lack of ability of form slumps. They just simply showed no heart. Those recruits will be doin all they can to stay at Euroa as no other club would want them.
Grandale
27 Sep 2006, 14:05
great effort to knock off united. Heard the maggies just wanted the pill more...
Don't make me sick, Fatty. What are you doing pumping up the Maggies' tyres. You've changed man. This time last year you were doing everything you possibly could to ensure you were the most hated man in Euroa (with a great deal of success) and now you're tonguing the ring of the arch enemy.
What's it gunna be, boy?
Seymour by 21 - B.O.G. Schotty
Seymour by 8 - B.O.G. Mick Shiels
Shepp Bears by 47 - sorry lads dunno any of the kids names
Joeyboy
27 Sep 2006, 14:37
Benalla by 9 points- BOG Anthony Stevens (BEN)
Seymour by 3 goals- BOG Dom Russo (SEY)
Kyabram by 16 points- BOG Ben Gentle (KY)
Benalla by 9 points- BOG Anthony Stevens (BEN)
Seymour by 3 goals- BOG Dom Russo (SEY)
Kyabram by 16 points- BOG Ben Gentle (KY)
Back to work Joeyboy :thumbsu:
The_timid_turkey
27 Sep 2006, 14:48
Don't make me sick, Fatty. What are you doing pumping up the Maggies' tyres. You've changed man. This time last year you were doing everything you possibly could to ensure you were the most hated man in Euroa (with a great deal of success) and now you're tonguing the ring of the arch enemy.
What's it gunna be, boy?
Not just Euroa mate, from all reports he isnt the most liked man around Seymour either, has got a few people who have a disliking toward him but who hasnt i guess. Will he play a big part in Seymours bid at premiership success??? Or is he just one of those blokes that shoots his mouth off and cant back it up???
Sidey_87
27 Sep 2006, 14:49
Seymour by 31 - BOG Saad Saad with 7 goals
Seymour by 40 - BOG Dom Russo
Shepp Bears by 43 - BOG Matt Chapman
fuzzyswan
27 Sep 2006, 15:45
Seymour by 23 - BOG Colbert
Seymour by 50 - BOG Inness
Shepparton by 19 - BOG Chapman
Benalla - 17pts BOG - Matty Sharp
Euroa - 17pts - BOG - Matty Mills
Shepp - 48pts - BOG - Matty Chapman
Grandale
27 Sep 2006, 18:10
Lions by 18 - BOG L Stevenson (Go No. 12)
Lions by 67 - BOG Footyboss
Don't even know who's playing in the 3rds.
FOOTYBOSS
27 Sep 2006, 18:11
He has an abundance of maturity! I'm pretty sure he gets it from his older brother......a man who acts well beyond his years;)
His older brother just won a hot dog eating comp at the Royal Melbourne Show today. Just gearing up for his boiled egg experiment during the 1st ashes test this year....:D
FOOTYBOSS
27 Sep 2006, 18:15
FOOTYBOSS,
Cheers
My obesity hey.. Considering I only weigh about 85kg.
Your mum doesnt mind the extravagant amount of hair when she is flossing her teeth with my a$$ hair.:thumbsu:
I might be going nowhere, but at least Im playing in a grand final this week, what are you doing this week donkey balls...
FOOTYBOSS
27 Sep 2006, 18:19
To bad I cant kick any goals, in fact I cant kick...
United = Soft cc o c ks.. thats all I got say about them..
FOOTYBOSS
27 Sep 2006, 18:21
Benalla - 17pts BOG - Matty Sharp
Euroa - 17pts - BOG - Matty Mills
Shepp - 48pts - BOG - Matty Chapman
Seymour - 27pts - BOG: Scanlon
Euroa - 15pts - BOG: Carracher
Who care about 18s.
Lions by 18 - BOG L Stevenson (Go No. 12)
Lions by 67 - BOG Footyboss
Don't even know who's playing in the 3rds.
Have been waiting for a comment on #12 - you gunna wear the old long sleever in support Sunday mate?
His older brother just won a hot dog eating comp at the Royal Melbourne Show today. Just gearing up for his boiled egg experiment during the 1st ashes test this year....:D
Doesn't suprise me at all:D
I heard something about the boiled egg experiment....should be good!
BSaintsFC#4
27 Sep 2006, 19:49
Benalla 14 points - W Martiniello
Seymour 25 points - S Whitelaw(should b playin)
Shepp 47 points - L Sofi
bronco27
27 Sep 2006, 22:55
can anyone tell me how rory hilton went this year herd he played for euroa.
nogood99
27 Sep 2006, 23:08
seymour 35 points - scanlon
seymour 12 points - mick sheils or johnny rudd
bears 45 points - sofi
fat back pocket
27 Sep 2006, 23:23
Not just Euroa mate, from all reports he isnt the most liked man around Seymour either, has got a few people who have a disliking toward him but who hasnt i guess. Will he play a big part in Seymours bid at premiership success??? Or is he just one of those blokes that shoots his mouth off and cant back it up???
You are a goose...not a turkey...
The SFNC will still be around when im not next year...but i'm sure there are a lot of little things that will be missed that gets done by one FBP when he's gone.
There is one committee position open for you. If you have any nuts Turkey, put your hand up and be counted.
I have respect from those who matter at the SFNC mate...I might not be playing saturday, but my contributions to the SFNC isn't always (probably never) on field.
Sidey_87
27 Sep 2006, 23:36
Seymour - 27pts - BOG: Scanlon
Euroa - 15pts - BOG: Carracher
Who care about 18s.
In that case...
Seniors: Seymour by 31 BOG Saad Saad
If Euroa win the 2s, Boss, and Ted Poole plays that gives the the man 2 flags in the GV 16 years apart. As well as the spanner as coach. Most men don't last 16 yrs in footy little loan achieve that.
fat back pocket
28 Sep 2006, 02:06
If Euroa win the 2s, Boss, and Ted Poole plays that gives the the man 2 flags in the GV 16 years apart. As well as the spanner as coach. Most men don't last 16 yrs in footy little loan achieve that.
Can't quite beat that, but Sala will have played 2 flags 15 years apart if the Lions get up. 91 seniors - 06 reserves.
2 years ago 04, if the Lions had of got over the line vs Shepp, Jono Solomon had played in the reserves last premiership, 1986, and then faced up for the next crack 18 years later...would have been a fair feat.
Wouldn't be a bad thread to start up...what is the longest stint, as a player, between premierships at one club. You'd reckon there'd be a 20 yearer out there somewhere. Geez you'd sink some gas if you experienced a flag at the start of your career then didnt get to experience another for 20 years.
Flat Track Bully
28 Sep 2006, 09:31
Anthony Stevens will this weekend set the record of 18 years between senior grand finals.
1988 Shepparton...2006 Benalla...
Last year he actually set the record for the longest span between GVFL matches. GF 1988 to Round 1 2005.
Grandale
28 Sep 2006, 09:59
Have been waiting for a comment on #12 - you gunna wear the old long sleever in support Sunday mate?
Don't think it fits anymore, pal.
TuskenRaider
28 Sep 2006, 10:00
2 years ago 04, if the Lions had of got over the line vs Shepp, Jono Solomon had played in the reserves last premiership, 1986, and then faced up for the next crack 18 years later...would have been a fair feat.
Jon Solomon would have been fairly young in 1986. Any idea of how old he actually was then FBP?
reckon around 17-18 at a guess
Jono - best country footy ruckman i have seen
FBP's video of Saad mark in the GF last year, shows the crowd going up in the background, only to see Jonno's arm go up a couple of seconds later!
hope the great man wear's his 1991 premiership long sleaver on Sunday!
Bundyrum
28 Sep 2006, 11:51
Will be a great day at Shep on Sunday. Weather at this stage looks good too.
Seymour WILL be celebrating long and hard for the next week.
1. Seymour by 17 - BOG - Chewy Scanlon
2. Seymour by 68 - BOG - Dom Russo
3. Shepparton by 35.
Still in shock how Euroa beat United???? in the magoos. The times I have seen United play, they looked very good. And yes you are right, I don't think much of Euroa magoos at all.:D
centreman
28 Sep 2006, 12:10
Anthony Stevens will this weekend set the record of 18 years between senior grand finals.
1988 Shepparton...2006 Benalla...
Last year he actually set the record for the longest span between GVFL matches. GF 1988 to Round 1 2005.
Can you tell me who previously held the record Flat Track?
Flat Track Bully
28 Sep 2006, 12:54
Can you tell me who previously held the record Flat Track?
Yes, between senior grand finals...Ben Davey (Seymour) 1991-2005
centreman
28 Sep 2006, 13:03
Yes, between senior grand finals...Ben Davey (Seymour) 1991-2005
Yes I knew the Davey one, although it's subjective - was more interest in the span between senior games
I have respect from those who matter at the SFNC mate...I might not be playing saturday, but my contributions to the SFNC isn't always (probably never) on field.
Why do you say you might not be playing FBP? Injury cloud or are you a chance to be one of the unlucky ones?
It's always tough come finals, no matter who you play for....might be the WCE, Goorambat Magoos, Melbourne Storm or Seymour but there's always some unlucky fella to miss:thumbsd:
Grandale
28 Sep 2006, 14:00
In the words of Redgum, Jonno said "I was only 19"
Seeking Glory
28 Sep 2006, 17:56
the word going around is that FBP isn't going to play this wend, is this true FBP?
GVFootyfan
28 Sep 2006, 18:32
I reckon the ones will be a lot closer than people think. Lot of pressure and expectations on the day.
Seymour by 14 - BOG - Agree with you here Sidey on Saad (Hope you have understated the goals though. Would love to see him steal the show and kick 10). If not the wonder soap then Chewy or Schotty.
Seymour by 39+ - BOG - Find this one hard to pick so it is out of Dom Russo, John Rudd or Robbie Inness.
Shepp. Bears by 27 - BOG - Again agree with Chappy.
Ok selection night 2nite - can we expect any surprises, will Joey Amad get a recall? Is Bailey right to go? Will the man they call Whippet get a game for Euroa?
Duunno where this whole "FBP not playing" mail is being driven from but can someone in the know clear it up & who will the unfortunate players at Seymour be?
Could be FBP's final game for his beloved Lions, go out with a bang mate I say!!!
Grandale
29 Sep 2006, 09:47
Ok selection night 2nite - can we expect any surprises, will Joey Amad get a recall? Is Bailey right to go? Will the man they call Whippet get a game for Euroa?
Duunno where this whole "FBP not playing" mail is being driven from but can someone in the know clear it up & who will the unfortunate players at Seymour be?
Could be FBP's final game for his beloved Lions, go out with a bang mate I say!!!
I can confirm the Fatman is under a cloud, but I won't go into specifics. If I were a betting man, however, I'd have a couple of bob on the outspoken one taking his place Sunday.
I know all Seymour folk at least would consider it a shame if he wasn't there given the hard work he's put in at King's Park over the past 3 or 4 years.
I suspect the FBP may visit one Doctorb (the b is for Bargain!) who is sure to unleash the fury via some needles.
You are a goose...not a turkey...
The SFNC will still be around when im not next year...but i'm sure there are a lot of little things that will be missed that gets done by one FBP when he's gone.
There is one committee position open for you. If you have any nuts Turkey, put your hand up and be counted.
Here it is Doona, straight from the horses mouth as they say.
Flat Track Bully
29 Sep 2006, 12:13
Originally Posted by fat back pocket
And here I was feeling sorry for Jaymie Graham...surely Woosha or Roosy could find a spot for you FBP.
BTW, whose grand final call are you recording for your video this year?
bradrowe#32
29 Sep 2006, 12:27
Seniors: Benalla by 8 points
Ressies: Seymour by 29 points
Thirds: Kyabram by 4 points
I find it interesting that Kyabram always has a very strong thirds team. I'm not sure, but they over the last decade they would've won a few flags and finished in finals just about every year. I don't know why their seniors have been so ordinary since their 1996 flag.
Shifty25
29 Sep 2006, 12:37
Seniors: Seymour by 13 - BOG Hooper
Res: Seymour by 26 - BOG Watts
Thirds: Shep by 40
Also have it on good authority that FBP will be playing sunday
Seymour by 8 - B.O.G. Mick Shiels/Robbie Inness
Can I change my BOG tip in the 2's to me mate Robbie Inness if he plays(sorry Mick)
bradrowe#32
29 Sep 2006, 13:01
Can I change my BOG tip in the 2's to me mate Robbie Inness if he plays(sorry Mick)
No, you can't.
RESERVES SIDES IN TODAYS NEWS
SEYMOUR
B: Dowling, Brockway, Lewin
HB: Boruch, Salakowski, Peterson
C: Lane, Amad, P. Papanicolou
HF: Watts, Thomson, Russo
F: D. Liddell, N. Papanicolou, Elliott
Foll: Plieger, Sheils, Rudd
Inter from: Cockerell, Peterson, Spargo, Judge-Williams, Gaehl
EUROA
B: Thompson, Walker, Poole
HB: McBrien, Mark Mills, Matt Mills
C: Gilliland, Wilson, Carracher
HF: Morphett, Doxey, Tate
F: Anderson, Groom, Brooks
Foll: Fox, Cameron, Cunningham
Inter: Burls, Powell, Trotter, Saville, Chawanetz, Bell
Ones: Seymour by 8 - Saad BOG
Twos: Seymour by 23
18's: Shepp Bears
cheers
fat back pocket
29 Sep 2006, 14:42
Originally Posted by fat back pocket
And here I was feeling sorry for Jaymie Graham...surely Woosha or Roosy could find a spot for you FBP.
BTW, whose grand final call are you recording for your video this year?
My comment was refering to me playing seniors, not reserves...
probably won't camera this year. Be running around in the early game unless i get the unlucky axe. In which case i'll probably sink some cans with Grandale, HJ and Doona.
An under 18 kid who has been helping 98.5 out will hopefully do the camera work. Last years commentry was 3SR, just had my hand held radio next to the camera mic...pretty high tech stuff.
Both games will be taped by a professional company which can be purchased through Eric Bott (i think).
Flat Track Bully
29 Sep 2006, 14:49
My comment was refering to me playing seniors, not reserves...
probably won't camera this year. Be running around in the early game unless i get the unlucky axe. In which case i'll probably sink some cans with Grandale, HJ and Doona.
An under 18 kid who has been helping 98.5 out will hopefully do the camera work. Last years commentry was 3SR, just had my hand held radio next to the camera mic...pretty high tech stuff.
Both games will be taped by a professional company which can be purchased through Eric Bott (i think).
Good call that 3SR one...wonder how "The Facta" will get through it this year without being biased?
bradrowe#32
29 Sep 2006, 14:54
Good call that 3SR one...wonder how "The Facta" will get through it this year without being biased?
I wonder if MacFarlane will be allowed to run around wearing a headset so he can listen to the incisive analysis supplied by 'The Facta'.
Flat Track Bully
29 Sep 2006, 14:57
I wonder if MacFarlane will be allowed to run around wearing a headset so he can listen to the incisive analysis supplied by 'The Facta'.
There has been talk of "The Facta" having a remote control so he can move those magnets for the Benalla bench.
Gentlemen. I don't think i've seen 1 tip for the Euroa 2s! Are they any chance at all? Or is it a case of everyone likes to see them beaten
just don't think they are good enough to knock of the lions, were a class above last time they met. But hoping for a good tight tussle.
1. lions by 17pts scanlon bog
2. lions by 35 pts inness bog
3. bears by 23 pts
carl lewis
29 Sep 2006, 18:31
just don't think they are good enough to knock of the lions, were a class above last time they met. But hoping for a good tight tussle.
grand final day is a lot different jazzy. people crack under pressure and people inpire to play some great football. it's going to hot, so a lot of fluids will be consumed on tomorrow.
lets hope there will be some good bumps, good goals and a great atmosphere for everyone to enjoy some good gv football.
benalla to be premiers in 2006
euroa by a close one in the magoos
shepp easily in the thirds
On-Baller
30 Sep 2006, 10:03
hey yes that bloke is a thug i played on him half way through the year and he was just trying to fight me all day the wan.er he needs to have a good hard look at himself
yeah i carnt wait to play him next year i am going to line that symes up and make him hurt. if you read this mate i play for tat so just watch yourself when we play benalla
Heard the early bit of today's "Playing to Win" on 3SRfm but missed the interview with Lions coach Steve Daniel. I believe he was asked if this thread's very own Fat Back Pocket will take his place tomorrow following the weeks speculation.
That's gold if you ask me, very funny and great work by Kingy to get Big Footy up in lights. And to put the rumours to rest that man in the #31 (FBP) will be a definite starter in tomorrow's curtain raiser.
The BBQ Man
30 Sep 2006, 22:50
wondering the credentials of ryan heil as we have sourced him out as a future coach of our club. :cool:
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 15:55
Quarter time:
Seymour 4.0.24 Benalla 2.2.14
Seymour won the ressies.
footy_rulz
1 Oct 2006, 16:00
What was the score of the reserves?
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 16:11
What was the score of the reserves?
Not sure mate.
McKenzie has kicked a quick 2 goals and the scores are level.
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 16:27
Seymour 46 Benalla 27
Massive upset on the cards in A grade netball, with the previously undefeated Shepp Swans trailing 28-36 in the 3rd quarter.
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 16:51
Kyabram have won A grade netball.
Shepp United won B grade.
Echuca won B reserve.
Kyabram won U17.
Kyabram won the thirds flag.
Krakour Magic
1 Oct 2006, 17:18
Kyabram have won A grade netball.
Shepp United won B grade.
Echuca won B reserve.
Kyabram won U17.
Kyabram won the thirds flag.
Bit of misinformation there, Rowey? Or are you talking netball u/17 when you say "thirds"? Shepp took out the thirds in the footy with Callinan (? I think) best on (or medal winner at least).
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 17:28
Bit of misinformation there, Rowey? Or are you talking netball u/17 when you say "thirds"? Shepp took out the thirds in the footy with Callinan (? I think) best on (or medal winner at least).
Hmmm, I was a positive they said Kyabram won the U18's footy. Let's run with your info.
At 3/4 time, Seymour are up 22 points. They were up by 34 points before Benalla hit back late with 2 goals. It sounds like Benalla have had their chances, but just couldn't get the goals. Meanwhile, Seymour are making the best of their opportunities.
footy_rulz
1 Oct 2006, 17:30
http://www.goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/competitions.asp
bradrowe#32
1 Oct 2006, 18:02
Seymour win the flag 72 to 53.
footy_rulz
1 Oct 2006, 18:31
Seymour win the flag 72 to 53.
:confused: The last time I heard, Seymour were 11.10.76, and that was with about 5 mins to go.
On The Money
1 Oct 2006, 19:57
What was the story with the fight in the crowd at the end of the game guys that they were talking about on the radio?
Yeah there was a pretty big fight after the game, bit of soft cheek on the Benalla fans that were around that area as they didnt like it and retalliated pretty emotionally not only after the game but during the hole day, think they had enough and a big fight broke out, and then from there, as in all fights, the reason of the fight was forgot and people were sticking up for mates, family etc.. police came in bats were out capsicon spray was used and drifted over the hole area etc...
footy_rulz
1 Oct 2006, 20:32
Yes, anyway getting back to the game, Seymour - 12.11.83 def. Benalla - 7.10.52. Congratulations to the Seymour Lions on going back-to-back in 2006.
footyman
1 Oct 2006, 23:27
What was the story with the fight in the crowd at the end of the game guys that they were talking about on the radio?
It was on for young and old, a big scuffle broke out, one bloke had blood pouring from his mouth so I assume he copped a whack. There was a fair bit of yelling going on from a few people. While that was being dealt with by police and security, another blue erupted in the opposite pocket. That was where the capsicum spray was used. That little bar set up behind the goals with $3 cans no doubt encouraged plenty of drinking down there and things boiled over at the end of the game.
As for the game, I'll be keen to read what most of you fellas have to say cos I don't know much about GV footy.
Seymour seemed to be in control all day. Liked the games of Brent Colbert, Tim Hooper and Jake Anderson. As a team they were cleaner, they had numbers at the contest and they actually tackled properly and applied pressure there.
Benalla seemed to fall down badly across half forward. No other forward bar Mackenzie looked a goalkicking threat. Anthony Stevens was super for them, tackled hard and took a few really strong grabs. Ben Fahey did a top job on Saad Saad (although Saad's kicking was poor), Porter also very good in the ruck and around the ground.
Alley cat
2 Oct 2006, 01:18
Tim Hooper BOG.
Benalla were within 18 points early in the last qtr but couldn't get that next goal to really put Seymour under the pump.
bradrowe#32
2 Oct 2006, 02:03
Yes, anyway getting back to the game, Seymour - 12.11.83 def. Benalla - 7.10.52. Congratulations to the Seymour Lions on going back-to-back in 2006.
Well there you go. I was listening on the radio all day (although I was rather distracted) and trying to give the game details for those not there. And I failed miserably!
Anyway, by the sounds of it, it wasn't that flash of a game. I got the impression that Benalla had a fair bit of the ball, but wasted easy shots. Seymour seemed to have more options to goal.
Paul Scanlon was another to do well for the lions and would've racked up 30+ touches.
The ruck duel between Shotty and Ports was great to watch. Ports played very well taking plenty of marks and Shotty was good at the ruck contests using his strength well. I though Ben Fahey did a fair job on Saad despite the great man not having the kicking boot on (although he did snag a ripper set shot from the boundary in the 1st q) and was carrying a bit of a calf injury i suspect.
Benalla had a real crack, but the Lions are a very well balanced team and did what they had to do.
Great to see the 2s win as well. Blokes who have played for the lions for years were finally rewarded for their loyalty to the club. Pliger, Boruch, Ruddy, Damo, Lanos, Sheepy, The Pappas, Roo and big footy serial pest FBP fully deserve to share in the club success.
Grandale
2 Oct 2006, 10:27
Paul Scanlon was another to do well for the lions and would've racked up 30+ touches.
The ruck duel between Shotty and Ports was great to watch. Ports played very well taking plenty of marks and Shotty was good at the ruck contests using his strength well. I though Ben Fahey did a fair job on Saad despite the great man not having the kicking boot on (although he did snag a ripper set shot from the boundary in the 1st q) and was carrying a bit of a calf injury i suspect.
Benalla had a real crack, but the Lions are a very well balanced team and did what they had to do.
Great to see the 2s win as well. Blokes who have played for the lions for years were finally rewarded for their loyalty to the club. Pliger, Boruch, Ruddy, Damo, Lanos, Sheepy, The Pappas, Roo and big footy serial pest FBP fully deserve to share in the club success.
You mates with the big Benalla ruckman are you HJ?
Poor form from you, anyway, not coming back to the Mour and gassing on with said Ressies stalwarts and a couple of others who weren't lucky enough to play yesterday for whatever reason.
Looks like I'll have to have your share. Catch you at Station 26 after work.
fuzzyswan
2 Oct 2006, 11:28
seymour were to good all day really, and after about half way through the second quarter, benalla never looked like winning it. thought porter was best on IMO, took a number of big marks around the ground, thought schotty competed well with him in the ruck contests. hooper played a great game, thought scanlon and brendan played pearlers but they spent alot of time in front of where i wa sitting.
in the twos, euroa started well, capitalizing on a couple of seymour mistakes ( 2 goals from frees and the subsequent 50s in the opening term), but seymour always looked like winning it. didnt really think that there were any real standouts, seymour just put in a better team effort.
On The Money
2 Oct 2006, 21:25
It was on for young and old, a big scuffle broke out, one bloke had blood pouring from his mouth so I assume he copped a whack. There was a fair bit of yelling going on from a few people. While that was being dealt with by police and security, another blue erupted in the opposite pocket. That was where the capsicum spray was used. That little bar set up behind the goals with $3 cans no doubt encouraged plenty of drinking down there and things boiled over at the end of the game.
As for the game, I'll be keen to read what most of you fellas have to say cos I don't know much about GV footy.
Seymour seemed to be in control all day. Liked the games of Brent Colbert, Tim Hooper and Jake Anderson. As a team they were cleaner, they had numbers at the contest and they actually tackled properly and applied pressure there.
Benalla seemed to fall down badly across half forward. No other forward bar Mackenzie looked a goalkicking threat. Anthony Stevens was super for them, tackled hard and took a few really strong grabs. Ben Fahey did a top job on Saad Saad (although Saad's kicking was poor), Porter also very good in the ruck and around the ground.
So was it a case of Seymour and Benalla supporters having a crack at each other or something else?
Grandale
2 Oct 2006, 21:28
Mark Pilling is not The Timid Turkey and he takes offence to anyone suggesting he is.
He sure does love his trackside racing though.
Alley cat
2 Oct 2006, 21:52
Good work Sidey-Can you please PM me this weeks lotto numbers?:) :)
So was it a case of Seymour and Benalla supporters having a crack at each other or something else?
From where I was standing 40 mtrs away there was a heap of shep bears 3rds standing behind the benalla supporters. dont know for sure if they were involved though.
No Seymour people involved in what appeared and ugly end to a great day
Had a mate go over and watch the GV granny on Sunday.
He went to Deakin with great expectations on the pocket dynamo Saad Saad.
He came home disappointed with his efforts, said Saad did a couple of good things but was largely disappointing in that he dropped a few easy marks and things like that.
He said Fahey did a good job on him, though.
Any thoughts on this battle?
He also reckons the standard wasn't as good as it's cracked up to be ... He said the O and M games he seen during the year were far better.
I'm not and O and M follower so I'm not trying to promote a bout, just interested to hear thoughts on whether the game, and the Lions' pocket rocket, was up to scratch or not?
Had a mate go over and watch the GV granny on Sunday.
He went to Deakin with great expectations on the pocket dynamo Saad Saad.
He came home disappointed with his efforts, said Saad did a couple of good things but was largely disappointing in that he dropped a few easy marks and things like that.
He said Fahey did a good job on him, though.
Any thoughts on this battle?
He also reckons the standard wasn't as good as it's cracked up to be ... He said the O and M games he seen during the year were far better.
I'm not and O and M follower so I'm not trying to promote a bout, just interested to hear thoughts on whether the game, and the Lions' pocket rocket, was up to scratch or not?
I wouldnt have much hesitation in selecting Seymour over Yarrawonga in a full tilt match. I saw the O&M granny and thought it was top notch however i doubt that Yarra have the engine to go with Seymour all day. Dont get me wrong you probably couldnt split the leagues but Seymour are a class above anything else in country Victoria.