View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Rushy Tiger
3 Oct 2006, 10:17
Daniel Schmidt won rochy's b&f, from Scott Hann and Elliott Bowen
Travvy43
3 Oct 2006, 16:05
Any news about the Shep Swans job. I have heard a few names being thrown around, trav ryan and patten (from stanhope). Not sure how patten would go and i have heard that both of these have been linked with the Kyabram job.
Is dave williams another one. There has been a bit around about him not going on with rochy and i believe he did some coahcing consulting work with the swans during the finals. Could that have been a bit of a trial run?
Perry Meka is another name that springs to mind as a potential candidate for the swans top job. Surely he will retire from playing after securing this years flag with Ardmona. He could be a link to get yze back.
Will there be a big exodus at Tatura after Ryan not getting the job? Mick Roberts heavily rumoured to be leaving also
Bulldog duo leaving kennel
By Christie Peucker
October 3 2006
Shepparton News
Tatura will be shopping for a key half-back flanker and rover next season following the shock departure of Jarrod Pollard and Lee Warnett.
The pair will play with Murray Football League club Tocumwal next season, with Warnett signing last week and Pollard scheduled to do so before the week's end.
Both say they want a change.
"It's nothing to do with Tatura, or where we finished on the ladder or the club," Pollard told The News.
"We both thought about it at the start of this season but stayed because of Trav (Ryan) more or less.
"We both agreed we wouldn't play against Tatura and I've got an uncle up there (Tocumwal) who played a few years back."
After discussions with four other MFL clubs, Pollard said the duo decided to go with Tocumwal because of its enthusiasm.
"I think they've got a future," Pollard said.
"There's a new pavilion and the ground's good, so they're a club on the way up."
Pollard said he hoped he and Warnett could add something to the Bloods' line-up, which finished seventh this season.
"We've got some experience at GV level and we've both played in a premiership," Pollard said.
"I've played around 150 games and Lee's about 140 so we are probably at the peak of our careers."
Warnett said while he would miss his teammates, long-term it might be good for his football.
Pollard said he expected to return to Tatura Park within a couple of seasons to play out his career.
Daniel coy about whether he'll go for three
October 3 2006
Shepparton News
Dual Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel continues to play coy about his coaching future, content instead to bask in the glory of backto-back flags following his side's 31-point victory against Benalla in Sunday's Goulburn Valley Football League finale.
Linked to a string of coaching jobs in the latter half of the season, including the vacant Wangaratta position in the Ovens and Murray League, Daniel said he would talk over his future in football with his family during the next couple of weeks.
"At the moment I'm still deciding, but right now I'm just enjoying the moment," Daniel told The News when questioned on his immediate plans amid premiership celebrations in Seymour yesterday.
But despite confirming at the end of last year this would be his third and final season with the club, Daniel indicated his loyalties were still with the Lions.
"The Seymour Football Club is my number one priority," he said.
Daniel remained at the helm of the Lions this season following last year's thrilling victory over Euroa after narrowly missing out on the Murray Bushrangers' top job.
He was edged out for the plum TAC Cup position by former Carlton hard-nut Peter Dean.
Daniel boasts experience with Carlton's match-day coaching panel on his resume, along with time in the VFL as assistant coach with the Northern Bullants.
Any word on how the festivites are faring along Station Street in Seymour?
Had a blinder meself Sunday arvo and missed pretty much the 2nd half, sorry to anyone who's ear I chewed off at Deakin!!!
Found me way back to Kings Park for a celebratory drink with a few of the boys I know from the Den - must say whilst I felt a tad strange jumping on the bandwagon it was from memory a pretty enjoyable night.
Big thanks to those who put up with us couple of the Broady boys for the 2-3hours we called in.
Again apologies to anyone who got bailed up by yours truly - have been off the drink in recent times and got ambushed by a few vodka's in the arvo :p
Flat Track Bully
3 Oct 2006, 18:19
Will there be a big exodus at Tatura after Ryan not getting the job? Mick Roberts heavily rumoured to be leaving also
[.
Tongala the likely destination.
bigboy_2
3 Oct 2006, 18:33
Can anyone out there tell me how Nick Allan from the shepparton bears went this year
fuzzyswan
3 Oct 2006, 20:08
Any news about the Shep Swans job. I have heard a few names being thrown around, trav ryan and patten (from stanhope). Not sure how patten would go and i have heard that both of these have been linked with the Kyabram job.
Is dave williams another one. There has been a bit around about him not going on with rochy and i believe he did some coahcing consulting work with the swans during the finals. Could that have been a bit of a trial run?
Perry Meka is another name that springs to mind as a potential candidate for the swans top job. Surely he will retire from playing after securing this years flag with Ardmona. He could be a link to get yze back.
perry was quoted in the paper as saying he would continue playing after this year given the success he's had in the kd. would be quite ironic if the one time he actually did say he wouldn't retire he ended up doing so given how many times he's "retired" in the past.
i'd be very very surprised. in fact if it were to occur, i'd fly back from london to go to every shepp swans game next year and streak before the first bounce of each game. basically, it will not happen.
how did brighters go at sunshine this year travvy??
i've seen a tip top game in the Wimmera football League Horsham v Dimboola, dimboola trailed by 10 pts at 3qt, and got within 4 pts, last 15 minutes horsham kicked 10.1 to 4.3 Horsham has won their 4th straight Premiership their talking about a 5th straight be a new record in wimmera football,2003,2004,2005 & 2006 05 & 06 both against Dimboola
horsham had all 4 grades won 2 out of 4 unde 14's seniors,
wonder if Seymour could follow Horsham suit and keep alot of their premiership side for 2007
i'm getting the gvfl Grand final dvd i prefer good grand finals :thumbsu:
fat back pocket
3 Oct 2006, 21:38
Any word on how the festivites are faring along Station Street in Seymour?
Had a blinder meself Sunday arvo and missed pretty much the 2nd half, sorry to anyone who's ear I chewed off at Deakin!!!
Found me way back to Kings Park for a celebratory drink with a few of the boys I know from the Den - must say whilst I felt a tad strange jumping on the bandwagon it was from memory a pretty enjoyable night.
Big thanks to those who put up with us couple of the Broady boys for the 2-3hours we called in.
Again apologies to anyone who got bailed up by yours truly - have been off the drink in recent times and got ambushed by a few vodka's in the arvo :p
doona...festivities continue...pretty hard on yourself to say you're jumping on at the end...you have been to many of the matches throughout the year and were in the cross-hair for a coaching spot at the start of the year. Great to see you there.
Great win by the Lions. Great reward for Coxy and Steve who have both put in heaps over the past 3 years.
It was apparent on the weekend the impact BF can have on some people...no.42 (euroa) tried his best to nail me before the game...failed miserably, and again during the 3rd quarter...failed miserably.
...and who ever the guy who ran through me 100m off the ball in the guts...credit where credit is due...didn't see that one coming ill have to say...but once again...failed miserably to end my day, big tick for effort tho.
no doubt old daffy would be proud of the efforts of those two particular individuals. But like himself, is all hot air, and no good for anything.
But for one FBP...the time has come to sign off BF. No need to add anything more...the Lions have the medals, the cups, the flags. And we love it.
GO LIONS
what is the go with dave williams? is he coaching next year or not? i've heard that he has pulled the pin, and also that he has signed a 2 year contract
doona...festivities continue...pretty hard on yourself to say you're jumping on at the end...you have been to many of the matches throughout the year and were in the cross-hair for a coaching spot at the start of the year. Great to see you there.
Great win by the Lions. Great reward for Coxy and Steve who have both put in heaps over the past 3 years.
It was apparent on the weekend the impact BF can have on some people...no.42 (euroa) tried his best to nail me before the game...failed miserably, and again during the 3rd quarter...failed miserably.
...and who ever the guy who ran through me 100m off the ball in the guts...credit where credit is due...didn't see that one coming ill have to say...but once again...failed miserably to end my day, big tick for effort tho.
no doubt old daffy would be proud of the efforts of those two particular individuals. But like himself, is all hot air, and no good for anything.
But for one FBP...the time has come to sign off BF. No need to add anything more...the Lions have the medals, the cups, the flags. And we love it.
GO LIONS
Was the targetting of S. Peterson discussed in the team meeting I wonder as it was entertaining to watch many Magpies have a dip at BF's own Fat Back Pocket.
Must say that it was good to see some feeling before the bounce and during the contest when FBP and Justin Gilliland appeared to clash on more than one occassion. Was it just me or did anyone else realise that the Euroa #42 took to the park in runners - a quick pit stop and he returned to the battle field in more appropriate footwear later in the opening term.
The guy that cleaned you up FBP looked very very similar to the chap that got Patty Rattray in round one in a clash of the red heads. Lachie Watts didnt see one coming from him at Tatura a fortnight earlier in the semi's and was penalised a 50m after retaliating back at #43.
I do reckon the seconds game was more interesting (that and the fact the 2nd half of the one's is a blur) - Euroa was well served by experienced players like Wilson, Freddy Cameron, the Mills brothers and I reckon Footyboss did ok again but the Lions overall even spread of contributors got em over the line.
Must say I was confused when Millsy got yellow carded in the final term though - wasn't much in it was there :confused:
Tongala the likely destination.
What about yourself bigfella, given any thought to going around again next year, if you haven't already committed that is.
Krakour Magic
4 Oct 2006, 10:37
Must say I was confused when Millsy got yellow carded in the final term though - wasn't much in it was there :confused:[/quote]
If it was Mark it certainly wouldn't have been intentional. Have seen him play a few backyard games over the years, and whilst he can do some damage, I don't believe he'd ever have a crack out of malice. He's more trouble at the bar than on the field isn't he?
Travvy43
4 Oct 2006, 10:39
how did brighters go at sunshine this year travvy??
He had a relatively consistent year. Played pretty much off half back all year and his fitness was A1. Probably will get our best player in the finals award too, he lifted a gear at the pointy end of the year.
FOOTYBOSS
4 Oct 2006, 11:27
Was the targetting of S. Peterson discussed in the team meeting I wonder as it was entertaining to watch many Magpies have a dip at BF's own Fat Back Pocket.
Must say that it was good to see some feeling before the bounce and during the contest when FBP and Justin Gilliland appeared to clash on more than one occassion. Was it just me or did anyone else realise that the Euroa #42 took to the park in runners - a quick pit stop and he returned to the battle field in more appropriate footwear later in the opening term.
The guy that cleaned you up FBP looked very very similar to the chap that got Patty Rattray in round one in a clash of the red heads. Lachie Watts didnt see one coming from him at Tatura a fortnight earlier in the semi's and was penalised a 50m after retaliating back at #43.
I do reckon the seconds game was more interesting (that and the fact the 2nd half of the one's is a blur) - Euroa was well served by experienced players like Wilson, Freddy Cameron, the Mills brothers and I reckon Footyboss did ok again but the Lions overall even spread of contributors got em over the line.
Must say I was confused when Millsy got yellow carded in the final term though - wasn't much in it was there :confused:
Yes Gilliland did take to the field in the runners after rolling his ankle in the warm up inside the changerooms. He was wearing someones elses boots. Changed into his runners took to the field and kicked a goal. left the field to change footwear when his boots arrived at the ground the came back on to kick another goal.
Skill errors ended up costing a game, we are disappointed not win but can look back on the season with so many positives. 3 years ago the reserves didnt win a game, last year mad the prelim and this the grand final. Hopefully go that one step better next year.
We are still on the lookout for a new senior and reserves coach next year though.
couldnt believe when Mark Mills got reported and sent off and yes Krakour he does more damage at the bar then on a footy field.
On another note, I must congratulate a club stalwart in Neale Poole who captained the reserves this year. he announced his retirement at the end of the game. great bloke and great leader who will be missed around the club. Well done on a great career Pooley.
Flat Track Bully
4 Oct 2006, 12:59
What about yourself bigfella, given any thought to going around again next year, if you haven't already committed that is.
I would like to think I have something to offer at GV level again...but will only return to the showgrounds if asked...I won't be pushing the issue. If not, if any club in the market for a match day match-ups man can contact me!:D
I believe the crowd wasnt as big as last years grand final.
Sidey_87
4 Oct 2006, 18:21
I believe the crowd wasnt as big as last years grand final.
Bigger i reckon.
whats the latest with the coaching merry go round guys. im hearing williams from rochie heading shepp way, ryan from tat heading ky way and adomson from ky heading echuca way. any of these true. any word on other clubs appointments as well, eg seymour, euroa etc
The Tatura coaching job is an interesting one. cant believe they got rid of t ryan. assuming they had someone else lined up to take over yet no appointment. in the mean time a lot of players are jumping ship. sounds like they better act fast.
as for ryan taking on the coaching job at ky, not sure about that one. Whoever does that job would want patience because thay seem to have a long way to go. nearly made the finals last year, appeared to be going nicely and finished second last this year. other candidates in though for top job im told, patten from stanhope, current reserves or thirds coach as well.
whats the latest with the coaching merry go round guys. im hearing williams from rochie heading shepp way, ryan from tat heading ky way and adomson from ky heading echuca way. any of these true. any word on other clubs appointments as well, eg seymour, euroa etc
can someone from rochy bring a bit of sanity into proceedings here... has something happened in the past year re. the dirtbag that I am not aware of?? even IF he and the club were to part ways there ain't a chance in hell that he'd venture shepp way is there??
Travvy43
5 Oct 2006, 10:38
I hear the swans are very close to making their final decision. I beleive it is down to two, one is meka but i dont know who the other ones is.
Admson to Ecuca is one i have not heard, i thought he was going bendigo way.
Oddie
October 5 2006
Shepparton News
It's every footballer's worst nightmare, but at the weekend, it happened.
As I made my way across Deakin Reserve on Sunday, I slowed down to watch Seymour enter the arena for its big clash against Euroa in the reserves' grand final.
While I knew I shouldn't look, I snuck a look out of my left eye as the Lions ran through their banner.
And, as if on cue, there was a Seymour player hitting the deck as he tripped on the tape.
Like a train wreck, I couldn't look away, but it did raise a smile on my face.
Hopefully a premiership medallion will help erase the embarrassment of Sunday's events for the player.
Inness#15
5 Oct 2006, 12:28
That was me. And yes it was embarrassing. But not quite as embarrassing as the way I played!!! The cheer squad are an enthusiastic bunch but I think they went a bit overboard with the sticky tape at eye level as I coped the best closeline in my 8 years of GV footy. Even worse was the fact that Sheepy Cockerell came through behind me and gave me a solid hip and shoulder. All I could hear as I got up was about 100 people laughing at my misfortune. From now on I will be running through the banner last. Lucky FootyBoss and his boys didnt see it.
FOOTYBOSS
5 Oct 2006, 12:37
That was me. And yes it was embarrassing. But not quite as embarrassing as the way I played!!! The cheer squad are an enthusiastic bunch but I think they went a bit overboard with the sticky tape at eye level as I coped the best closeline in my 8 years of GV footy. Even worse was the fact that Sheepy Cockerell came through behind me and gave me a solid hip and shoulder. All I could hear as I got up was about 100 people laughing at my misfortune. From now on I will be running through the banner last. Lucky FootyBoss and his boys didnt see it.
Very lucky I didnt see it Robbie. I would have been getting stuck into on the field otherwise. Thats why I ran through our banner last, but I almost tripped over one of the little kids near by.
How are the celebrations going? Still kicking no doubt.
FOOTYBOSS
5 Oct 2006, 12:41
Bigger i reckon.
There was no way none this years crowd was bigger. Last year the scoreboard side of the ground was completly chockers. This year you could move around there quite easily.
fuzzyswan
5 Oct 2006, 12:46
There was no way none this years crowd was bigger. Last year the scoreboard side of the ground was completly chockers. This year you could move around there quite easily.
they allowed cars to park round there last year which clogged it up abit more tho, not so this year.
TuskenRaider
5 Oct 2006, 13:33
they allowed cars to park round there last year which clogged it up abit more tho, not so this year.
Are you sure about that fuzzy? I've never seen cars parked around there at the GF other than maybe the odd car that's been used to tow a trailer or something for a beer/food stall. Certainly there's no cars parked where you could actually sit in it and watch the footy like in a H&A game.
speedster
5 Oct 2006, 13:42
Mark Pilling is not The Timid Turkey and he takes offence to anyone suggesting he is.
He sure does love his trackside racing though.Heard Mark is leaving kings park any truth
bradrowe#32
5 Oct 2006, 13:50
can someone from rochy bring a bit of sanity into proceedings here... has something happened in the past year re. the dirtbag that I am not aware of?? even IF he and the club were to part ways there ain't a chance in hell that he'd venture shepp way is there??
G'day mate, long time no chat.
As far as I can tell, there hasn't been a major falling out between the committee and Dirty. I know that Dirty is having a testimonial on Saturday, which may indicate that he is hanging up the clipboard.
But I have heard that he wants to go on because of the good crop of youngsters and the return of some key players next year. There is talk of getting an experienced assistant coach to help do some of the work.
I reckon we'll know which one on the weekend.
bradrowe#32
5 Oct 2006, 13:56
I hear the swans are very close to making their final decision. I beleive it is down to two, one is meka but i dont know who the other ones is.
Admson to Ecuca is one i have not heard, i thought he was going bendigo way.
I've heard Adamson is certain to go to Kangaroo Flat.
Grandale
5 Oct 2006, 15:24
Heard Mark is leaving kings park any truth
No idea, but the coach is. It's official; S J Daniel will not be coaching Seymour next year. Claims he's having a season off.
Put that in yer paper Shepp News!
fuzzyswan
5 Oct 2006, 15:51
Are you sure about that fuzzy? I've never seen cars parked around there at the GF other than maybe the odd car that's been used to tow a trailer or something for a beer/food stall. Certainly there's no cars parked where you could actually sit in it and watch the footy like in a H&A game.
fairly sure, know aunty maureen got a park in by the fence last year in the pocket where saad took that huge mark. was dirty this year after she parked in the ground at about 7 o'clock gf morning and got a call an hour later to move it. :thumbsu:
FOOTYBOSS
5 Oct 2006, 16:41
fairly sure, know aunty maureen got a park in by the fence last year in the pocket where saad took that huge mark. was dirty this year after she parked in the ground at about 7 o'clock gf morning and got a call an hour later to move it. :thumbsu:
Just goes to show your talking sh it now buddy. The huge mark you are talking of was taken in front of the Shep United changerooms and social club.
Shannon Gibson will be leaving Euroa and will be playing for Watsonia in the diamond valley football league, division 2.
The two people I have heard are in the running for the swans role is Perry Meka and Peter White.
Did hear on the radio over the weekend that Trav Ryan has put in for the Euroa job and is very keen to get it. He rates it a cream job with current under achieving list and is hopeful of bringing a few players with him if he got the gig. Namely Aaron Willoughby. Will be very interesting to see who they appoint.
Heard that Greg Stafford was in for the Echuca job. Then again a lot of ex afl players get linked with the club.:thumbsu:
Did hear on the radio over the weekend that Trav Ryan has put in for the Euroa job and is very keen to get it. He rates it a cream job with current under achieving list and is hopeful of bringing a few players with him if he got the gig. Namely Aaron Willoughby. Will be very interesting to see who they appoint.
Euroa would be a great job to get I reckon
Grimmett
5 Oct 2006, 18:00
Euroa would be a great job to get I reckon
Apply then!
FOOTYBOSS
5 Oct 2006, 18:19
Apply then!
Doona is already at Broadford....
fuzzyswan
5 Oct 2006, 18:45
Just goes to show your talking sh it now buddy. The huge mark you are talking of was taken in front of the Shep United changerooms and social club.
mate, i think that its pretty obvious that i was talking about that end of the ground. what would i possibly have to gain by making this up? there weren't cars all the way around last year, but there werent any at all this year. anyway, it doesnt really matter, i agree that there seemed to be a bigger crowd last year. let's move on.
Samtrish
5 Oct 2006, 20:24
No idea, but the coach is. It's official; S J Daniel will not be coaching Seymour next year. Claims he's having a season off.
Put that in yer paper Shepp News!
Any Pictures of you speaking to Peter Jagoe the Hat Milner we can publish as well grannie
G'day mate, long time no chat.
As far as I can tell, there hasn't been a major falling out between the committee and Dirty. I know that Dirty is having a testimonial on Saturday, which may indicate that he is hanging up the clipboard.
But I have heard that he wants to go on because of the good crop of youngsters and the return of some key players next year. There is talk of getting an experienced assistant coach to help do some of the work.
I reckon we'll know which one on the weekend.
cheers mate, keep us informed. are you heading along to the testimonial??
also, will you be staying at the cattery next year??
Flat Track Bully
5 Oct 2006, 23:55
Peter White to coach Swans in 2007
Who will coach United in 2007 Sidey 87?
Swans go White hot
October 6 2006
Shepparton News
Peter White will coach Shepparton Swans next season as part of a lucrative deal which will take him to Princess Park.
White verbally agreed to the open-ended job on Wednesday night, leaving other applicants in his wake.
He is expected to sign on the dotted line next week but will waste no time in stamping his direction on the club.
"It's a very good list so I'm looking forward to it," White said yesterday.
"We have a meeting on Monday to look at different players."
Assistant coach at Mooroopna this season, White said it was always his intention to climb the ladder back up to senior coaching after stints in the top job at Tongala and Kyabram, where he coached the Bombers to a premiership in 1996.
"I still wanted to stay involved in coaching so I thought I'd have a dip," he said.
"I used the opportunity at Mooroopna to keep my name in the mix and it was good to work with them, refreshing."
Replacing player Jarrod Sutherland - who has led the Swans during the past two seasons and will stay on in a playing role - White said he hoped to combine his knowledge with that already at the club.
"After a number of years (coaching) I think I can bring fresh ideas," he said.
"And I look forward to working with Jarrod and getting some of his input."
Club president Robin Knaggs also announced former Euroa and Congupna coach Gary `Nipper' Harvey as assistant and Phil Nicholson as coach of the under-17s.
"They are both quality coaches and will both be an asset to us," Knaggs said.
"We're looking forward to next year already."
Grandale
6 Oct 2006, 09:50
Any Pictures of you speaking to Peter Jagoe the Hat Milner we can publish as well grannie
LOL that Samtrish. He's a different sort of character is Jaigs. No doubt Benalla would rarely have seen the likes of him.
Unsure if he's any relation to the former SFC Scooby Doos' coach.
speedster
6 Oct 2006, 12:59
doona is there any gv players u will be targeting next yr
Daniel quits
October 6 2006
Shepparton News
Dual Seymour premiership coach Steve Daniel has pulled the pin less than a week after taking the club to back-to back flags.
Daniel told The News yesterday he had spoken with Lions president Paul Cox and senior club officials to notify them of his decision.
"I've been there three years and I always wanted to go out on a good note," Daniel said.
"And what better way than with two flags?
"It's really time for someone else to come in and hopefully take them on to a third."
Amid speculation he was on the verge of signing with Ovens and Murray club Wangaratta, Daniel confirmed he would not be seeking appointment at any suburban or country level club and remains uncertain about his football future.
"I've knocked back everyone that's asked me," Daniel, who is believed to have been pursued by a dozen clubs across the state, said.
"All I've done is promise Seymour that I won't coach anywhere else.
"I just decided in the end, that if I was going to coach at that level I would coach Seymour."
On top of biweekly coaching duties at Seymour, Daniel also coached in Melbourne with Greenvale's under-12 side twice a week, and the Goulburn Valley Football League's interleague team this season.
The busy schedule has left him feeling burnt out.
"I knew if we won it again there would be pressure to go around by the playing group, but if I'm not 100 per cent committed to it, I don't do it,' he said.
"I didn't want to go in to next season at 80 or 90 per cent."
Daniel becomes the sixth senior GVFL coach who won't go round in 2007.
Assistant coach Bernie Haberman and Joe "The General" Amad are favourites to replace Daniel.
http://www.seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=26408&orgID=702&Oname=Seymour&O1c=6&O10c=12
Grandale
6 Oct 2006, 14:47
Daniel quits
October 6 2006
Shepparton News
Daniel becomes the sixth senior GVFL coach who won't go round in 2007.
Assistant coach Bernie Haberman and Joe "The General" Amad are favourites to replace Daniel.
http://www.seymourfc.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=26408&orgID=702&Oname=Seymour&O1c=6&O10c=12
Doona, please tell me you slipped in "The General" in between Joe and Amad...
bradrowe#32
6 Oct 2006, 15:42
Can't attend the testimonial, but it should be a good night.
Not sure about next year. There is already one Ardmona player heading back to Rochy next year: Carl Moon.
bradrowe#32
6 Oct 2006, 15:45
Haha, I noticed that. I reckon every footy team in Australia has at least one 'general.'
Afraid not mate - you at Kilmore for round 1 (Im umpiring) or Flemington?
just signed
6 Oct 2006, 17:26
Dirty was never, ever a chance of coaching the swans. Owns the most successful business in Rochy and has heaps of family in the town. Rochy have offered him the job again and expect him to take it. I know that he is keen to recruit a lot of former guns such as ash watson and ben anderson back to the club, and already has carl moon back so they should improve. Many at the presentation night think that bowen's speech sounded like a sign off speech though, so unsure as to what he will be doing next year. Chris McCarty will not be back at all for next year, extending his stay overseas. Heard also that Paul Kirby will be at Albury next year.
Grandale
6 Oct 2006, 18:56
Afraid not mate - you at Kilmore for round 1 (Im umpiring) or Flemington?
The SCC's Caulfield Cup Calcutta will be my sole appearance at an SDCA cricket club pre-Christmas.
If there is one good thing about this darn knee injury it is that they know not to bother even trying getting me to give up a day at the nags to play cricket.
Dirty was never, ever a chance of coaching the swans. Owns the most successful business in Rochy and has heaps of family in the town. Rochy have offered him the job again and expect him to take it. I know that he is keen to recruit a lot of former guns such as ash watson and ben anderson back to the club, and already has carl moon back so they should improve. Many at the presentation night think that bowen's speech sounded like a sign off speech though, so unsure as to what he will be doing next year. Chris McCarty will not be back at all for next year, extending his stay overseas. Heard also that Paul Kirby will be at Albury next year.
disappointing for the tiges if they can't retain bowen. never seen him play but a forward line consisting of him, benny and tank (albeit 40 years old or whatever he is) would be pretty formidable wouldn't it??
also these former guns you speak of just signed - could there be any emphasis on getting nick knight or the rassy's back to the club, or even a bit further fetched... scotty hansen, tav perry or hoota gray??
Sidey_87
7 Oct 2006, 00:12
Who will coach United in 2007 Sidey 87?
Steve Hazelman is my guess but i have no idea.
Sidey_87
8 Oct 2006, 16:00
Steve Hazelman is my guess but i have no idea.
I was right on the money as always :o
Haza announced last night at the presentation night he'll be stepping down as coach.
He won the b+f by 40 odd to Mick Barlow who was 40 clear of a group of 6 or 7.
Matt Kitto won the reserves and Jarrod Bingham the 3rds.
Third Qtr. Spray
9 Oct 2006, 12:45
First time post, long time reader.
The bleeding has started at Kings Park.
Well now we know the coach is leaving the den but did you know that the Pres is also talking of handing it in, as well as the clubman of the year (2005) moving interstate. Also the assistant coach is the coach's cousin,
so he may not be there next year either. Will these holes be easily filled. I think not. Coxy has done a fabulous job as Pres and FBP done a power of work over the last 2 years also. Howie done f all but still took up space that will need to be filled. Will this exodus filter through to the playing group? I am sure there will be some of the crew stay on like Penn, Hooper, Haberman (possibly as coach or assist?), Amad (same as Habers?), but there are a few I have my doubts about. Stephenson, Scanlon, Pilling, Saad, Bailey (who I think should have the login of No Heart). Time will tell and it will all be interesting stuff at the den in 2007. :) :thumbsu:
Fair few vacancies in the GV for 07, with Seymour, United, Euroa, Echuca, Tat and Ky all on the lookout for new coaches...
FOOTYBOSS
9 Oct 2006, 15:54
Shane Clayton won Euroa best and fairest easily from Craig Marshall with Mark Clayton coming 3rd.
In the reserves Jason Wilson won by 2 votes from Mark Mills, Freddie Cameron and Guy Morphett with Leigh Fox and Andrew Doxey a vote off them in a tie for 3rd.
Fair few vacancies in the GV for 07, with Seymour, United, Euroa, Echuca, Tat and Ky all on the lookout for new coaches...
FTB indicated a few pages ago that he's not a cert for the Benalla job again either
Is FTB really MacFarlane?
just signed
9 Oct 2006, 18:18
disappointing for the tiges if they can't retain bowen. never seen him play but a forward line consisting of him, benny and tank (albeit 40 years old or whatever he is) would be pretty formidable wouldn't it??
also these former guns you speak of just signed - could there be any emphasis on getting nick knight or the rassy's back to the club, or even a bit further fetched... scotty hansen, tav perry or hoota gray??
Would think that they would be talking to most of this group. Hanson looks like he will do the Rushy job again and Tav Perry and Steve Ras were his assistants, so can't see any of them moving back. Tim Ras was assistnat to Jez Campbell, who has again taken on the job of coaching Blackburn so Tim will definitely be there. Hodda will be an interestin one with rumours flying everywhere about what he will do. Some have suggested that he will take the year off because of his knee, while Rochy has talked to him and Tonny would be having an enormous crack. I expect that he will stay at Stanhope. Nick Knight I am unsure about, had a good year at South Bendigo and you would be surprised if he left that quickly. Ricky Windridge is going to play at Rochy next year, and may be taking some mates with him.
Hey Mainy - how's the preparation going for the mr universe contest you've entered? I hear your physique would put Chrissy McCarty to shame..
The last 3 you mentioned aren't much chance of playing at Rochy next year - Scotty will be coaching Rushy again, Stevie and I will be his assistants and hoota will likely stay at Stanhope, or maybe go to Tonny..
I've got it from an excellent source that the Shepp swans have thrown a packet of $ at Bowen and landed him a good job in Shepp, so that's where I'd expect him to end up.. Also heard that Rochy would need a couple more good recruits before Benny Anderson and Ash Watson committed, but getting Mark Watson back is a start, and from what I've heard not too many locals will leave..
Also, Rushy were chasing Trav Ryan pretty hard, but heard Euroa's a big chance..
Go Cohuna
9 Oct 2006, 21:15
Hav heard that Wade Pitson is heading back to his former club Cohuna.
Shane Clayton won Euroa best and fairest easily from Craig Marshall with Mark Clayton coming 3rd.
In the reserves Jason Wilson won by 2 votes from Mark Mills, Freddie Cameron and Guy Morphett with Leigh Fox and Andrew Doxey a vote off them in a tie for 3rd.
What an effort by Marshall, seemed to fall out of favour last year and then with just as strong a list he took his chance and was one of the Maggies most consistent performers in 2006 :thumbsu:
bradrowe#32
10 Oct 2006, 10:29
Looks like Matt Byers has left Shepparton. He will coach Barooga in the Murray league.
The Shepp News gave it to the Shepp Swans in the season review, mentioning how they spent heaps of money for no result, and said the club suffered from a 'dirty' culture.
Ash Watson, who will probably move to Rochy next year, has finished in the top 3 in North Ballarat's VFL B&F.
Interesting time eh.
scooby-doo
10 Oct 2006, 12:41
The Shepp News gave it to the Shepp Swans in the season review, mentioning how they spent heaps of money for no result, and said the club suffered from a 'dirty' culture.
What did the news have to say about euroa's season does anyone know? i didn't get a chance to read it????
roberts-thompson
10 Oct 2006, 19:10
I dont know the club but i know a couple of boys who play there in seniors and reserves and they love it, on and off field..
Was the club viewed to have a dirty culture by the public n other teams or was there trouble in the camp?
i wonder if peter white will be able to change this supposed dirty culture. he wont take any rubbish from all reports. will the swans have a decent budget also. it would be a pity for the coach to have little cash to spend after the years he had at tongala. did hear that big singh was coming with him though
bradrowe#32
10 Oct 2006, 20:20
I dont know the club but i know a couple of boys who play there in seniors and reserves and they love it, on and off field..
Was the club viewed to have a dirty culture by the public n other teams or was there trouble in the camp?
A bit of that would be Jarrod Sutherland, who has been involved in a few on field incidents in the last couple of years.
jmain14
10 Oct 2006, 22:03
Hey Mainy - how's the preparation going for the mr universe contest you've entered? I hear your physique would put Chrissy McCarty to shame..
The last 3 you mentioned aren't much chance of playing at Rochy next year - Scotty will be coaching Rushy again, Stevie and I will be his assistants and hoota will likely stay at Stanhope, or maybe go to Tonny..
I've got it from an excellent source that the Shepp swans have thrown a packet of $ at Bowen and landed him a good job in Shepp, so that's where I'd expect him to end up.. Also heard that Rochy would need a couple more good recruits before Benny Anderson and Ash Watson committed, but getting Mark Watson back is a start, and from what I've heard not too many locals will leave..
Also, Rushy were chasing Trav Ryan pretty hard, but heard Euroa's a big chance..
hey tav, yeah I didn't think rochy would be regaining the services of those 3 rushy players but thought i'd throw it out there. I think mine and carts' physique has been rather similar in the past but yeah you are right - after seeing him a bit lately I would agree that I have his measure well and truly at the minute.
rowey, that's a great result from ash. he missed a few games too didn't he??
Looking from the outside , sutherland seems to me to be a leader , but not a coach ?:thumbsu:
rowey, that's a great result from ash. he missed a few games too didn't he??
I caught a few North games as a good mate is the Roosters skipper and I reckon the guy with the #7 (Watson) looked better and had the measure of more than a few AFL listed players from the Kangas that played at North in 2006
bradrowe#32
10 Oct 2006, 22:47
I caught a few North games as a good mate is the Roosters skipper and I reckon the guy with the #7 (Watson) looked better and had the measure of more than a few AFL listed players from the Kangas that played at North in 2006
Yeh, I reckon he was pretty stiff to get dropped off the senior list at the end of last year. He didn't seem to get much of a run.
Mainy, I think he missed a few games late in the year due to a hammy.
Travvy43
11 Oct 2006, 10:04
i wonder if peter white will be able to change this supposed dirty culture. he wont take any rubbish from all reports. will the swans have a decent budget also. it would be a pity for the coach to have little cash to spend after the years he had at tongala. did hear that big singh was coming with him though
Spot on with your assumptions of Chop white, he is a pretty straight down the line character. The swans will have a budget equivelant to what they had the year just gone, if not more. Have a handful of additional quality players in their sights.
centreman
11 Oct 2006, 11:07
Spot on with your assumptions of Chop white, he is a pretty straight down the line character. The swans will have a budget equivelant to what they had the year just gone, if not more. Have a handful of additional quality players in their sights.
I'm not a Swans man, far from it, but if the past seven or eight years is anything to go byt I wouldn't agree that they had a "dirty culture". They have a culture of not standing up under pressure, being a little undisciplined, but "dirty" is harse isn't. They certainly need a strong inlfuence there to keep them in the right direction - but "dirty" has a thug connetation and I would never have described them as that.
Tat to announc coach within a week - has anyone got any names. What about Ky. There's not a heap of names being bandied about at this stage.
I'm not a Swans man, far from it, but if the past seven or eight years is anything to go byt I wouldn't agree that they had a "dirty culture". They have a culture of not standing up under pressure, being a little undisciplined, but "dirty" is harse isn't. They certainly need a strong inlfuence there to keep them in the right direction - but "dirty" has a thug connetation and I would never have described them as that.
Tat to announc coach within a week - has anyone got any names. What about Ky. There's not a heap of names being bandied about at this stage.
Sutherland has a face only a mother could love and he is a thug on the field. Plain and simple. Dirtiest player I have ever seen and easily the GVFL's most hated player. Swans also have a few dirty players, no doubt knowing they have a big ugly giant to back them up.
lion's_roar
11 Oct 2006, 12:39
Sutherland has a face only a mother could love and he is a thug on the field. Plain and simple. Dirtiest player I have ever seen and easily the GVFL's most hated player. Swans also have a few dirty players, no doubt knowing they have a big ugly giant to back them up.
I'd say the Swans budget would be as big if not bigger than last season.
I heard from a VERY reliable source as to what they offered a certain coach to take the helm and it was rediculous for country football.
Big Balraj will go where the money is, so expect him to line up in the red and white next season.
The problem with the Swans is they spend more money than say Seymour, but, unlike the Lions, go about it in the wrong fashion.
They buy a team of champions ... Seymour put together a champion team.
They will never win a flag for two reasons ... the players play for money and not each other and they, like St Kilda, have a LOSING culture, of which it is very hard to shake, regardless of who is in the team.
bit harsh on the swannies there lions roar, wouldnt have thought they would be far off the mark if they kept current crop and found a couple more. Tat to announce this week, about time, have a feeling they have missed the boat on a couple of ex afl, wait and see. Ky, what are they doing. no word at all where they are at. high chance an untried local will get the gig. good luck
I'd say the Swans budget would be as big if not bigger than last season.
I heard from a VERY reliable source as to what they offered a certain coach to take the helm and it was rediculous for country football.
Big Balraj will go where the money is, so expect him to line up in the red and white next season.
The problem with the Swans is they spend more money than say Seymour, but, unlike the Lions, go about it in the wrong fashion.
They buy a team of champions ... Seymour put together a champion team.
They will never win a flag for two reasons ... the players play for money and not each other and they, like St Kilda, have a LOSING culture, of which it is very hard to shake, regardless of who is in the team.
Lions roar would that coach be S J Daniel ?
Football Analysor
11 Oct 2006, 21:59
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.
OFFICIAL RATINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL
TuskenRaider
11 Oct 2006, 22:45
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.
Hope your independent panel were better analysers than spellers.
Hope the trolling goes well.
JimCarter
12 Oct 2006, 11:34
OFFICIAL RATINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
Let me guess, the independant panel consisted of you, your mum, and your imaginairy friend Trevor... :rolleyes:
centreman
12 Oct 2006, 12:07
was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.
OFFICIAL RATINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
What a load of tot. How about you name this Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities. That might, I say might, give this a little bit more creedence. No West Gippsland Latrobe before the Sunraysia league. Give me a break
centreman
12 Oct 2006, 12:18
This was just posted on the O and M site . . . from the Dustbin
G'day folks, just some more news on a couple of coaching positions and possible recruits.
Looks like Jason 'Joc' MacFarlane will get the nod for the Wangaratta job beating Seymours Steven Daniel.
blackbeard
12 Oct 2006, 12:45
Bendigo Footy league actually went up in the table.......not f**king likely!!
ANT JESS
12 Oct 2006, 14:00
Would think that they would be talking to most of this group. Hanson looks like he will do the Rushy job again and Tav Perry and Steve Ras were his assistants, so can't see any of them moving back. Tim Ras was assistnat to Jez Campbell, who has again taken on the job of coaching Blackburn so Tim will definitely be there. Hodda will be an interestin one with rumours flying everywhere about what he will do. Some have suggested that he will take the year off because of his knee, while Rochy has talked to him and Tonny would be having an enormous crack. I expect that he will stay at Stanhope. Nick Knight I am unsure about, had a good year at South Bendigo and you would be surprised if he left that quickly. Ricky Windridge is going to play at Rochy next year, and may be taking some mates with him.
Would wait until this actually happened before believing this one. Footy isn't to high on Ricky's list of things to do list at the minute. :)
bradrowe#32
12 Oct 2006, 14:59
Looks like Kyabram a still 'a few weeks away' (Shepp News today) from announcing their coach.
Likewise Echuca. Rhys Archard was approached but believes he isn't coach material. Not sure if he will return or stay in the SANFL.
No Heart
12 Oct 2006, 17:51
First time post, long time reader.
The bleeding has started at Kings Park.
Well now we know the coach is leaving the den but did you know that the Pres is also talking of handing it in, as well as the clubman of the year (2005) moving interstate. Also the assistant coach is the coach's cousin,
so he may not be there next year either. Will these holes be easily filled. I think not. Coxy has done a fabulous job as Pres and FBP done a power of work over the last 2 years also. Howie done f all but still took up space that will need to be filled. Will this exodus filter through to the playing group? I am sure there will be some of the crew stay on like Penn, Hooper, Haberman (possibly as coach or assist?), Amad (same as Habers?), but there are a few I have my doubts about. Stephenson, Scanlon, Pilling, Saad, Bailey (who I think should have the login of No Heart). Time will tell and it will all be interesting stuff at the den in 2007. :) :thumbsu:
yOU HAVE NO IDEA , SO WHY COMMENT ?
No Heart
12 Oct 2006, 18:00
G'day folks, just some more news on a couple of coaching positions and possible recruits.
Looks like Jason 'Joc' MacFarlane will get the nod for the Wangaratta job beating Seymours Steven Daniel.
Centreman, S J told Wangaratta he wouldnt take the job a couple of days after the Grand Final . Get up with it mate ?
Why the hell would McFarlane leave Benalla, hes been great for the club, hasnt he ?
scotywok
12 Oct 2006, 18:21
OFFICIAL RATINGS -
1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
6. Goulburn Valley FL
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
11. Ballarat FL
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL
2000 RATINGS –
10. Bendigo FL
Surely this must be somebodies idea of a good belly laugh, that or somebody has been parttaking in illegal substances because there there is absolutely no chance that Riddell would be in the best twenty competitons around the state ... Ahh, but made the independent panel were all tossers and from the RDFL region.:confused:
Flat Track Bully
12 Oct 2006, 21:20
Why the hell would McFarlane leave Benalla, hes been great for the club, hasnt he ?
As I posted on the O and M pages, Jock WILL coach the Saints in 2007
Grimmett
12 Oct 2006, 21:35
Surely this must be somebodies idea of a good belly laugh, that or somebody has been parttaking in illegal substances because there there is absolutely no chance that Riddell would be in the best twenty competitons around the state ... Ahh, but made the independent panel were all tossers and from the RDFL region.:confused:
Independent panel my arse. Football Analysor (sic) should have misspelt his board name as Football Troll. Poor attempt.
centreman
13 Oct 2006, 11:03
Centreman, S J told Wangaratta he wouldnt take the job a couple of days after the Grand Final . Get up with it mate ?
Is it No Heart or No Brain. Don't should the messenger mate, it would someone elses post and I copied it - it was the Daniel stuff that was interesting it was the macFarlane stuff you moron.
No Heart
13 Oct 2006, 12:07
Is it No Heart or No Brain. Don't should the messenger mate, it would someone elses post and I copied it - it was the Daniel stuff that was interesting it was the macFarlane stuff you moron.
What the hell is this load of garbage centreman?
I'm gonna give this an E+ and ask you to re-do this post so that it makes sense! Moron :cool:
As a player who played in both the riddell and Ky DFL's this year i would have to say the the KDFL would kick the ***** out of the RDFL.. i would have thought that the GVFL would give 4th and 5th a good shake..
How do u think Seymour would fair agianst yarra, or benalla v myrtleford?