View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

centreman
13 Oct 2006, 13:46
What the hell is this load of garbage centreman?

I'm gonna give this an E+ and ask you to re-do this post so that it makes sense! Moron :cool:

Sorry wrote this drunk . . .

Don't shoot the messenger mate, it was someone elses post and I copied it - it wasn't the Daniel stuff that was interesting it was the MacFarlane stuff.

lion's_roar
13 Oct 2006, 14:27

Don't shoot the messenger mate, it was someone elses post and I copied it - it wasn't the Daniel stuff that was interesting it was the MacFarlane stuff.

I had no idea the grammar police were patrolling this site so stringently!!

Not sure whether to admit it, but i understood it the first time and had to go back over it to pick up the mistakes when No Heart, decided to run over it with dictionary and thesauras in hand.

No Heart
13 Oct 2006, 14:59

That's more like it centreman :thumbsu: No need to apologise, it's just that I was drunk when I was trying to decipher it.

And to lion's roar - I ain't the spelling police mate, but given you and centreman work in the industry, I'm sure you'll agree that it should at least make sense.

centreman
13 Oct 2006, 15:42
That's more like it centreman :thumbsu: No need to apologise, it's just that I was drunk when I was trying to decipher it.

And to lion's roar - I ain't the spelling police mate, but given you and centreman work in the industry, I'm sure you'll agree that it should at least make sense.

In the industry?? I'm not sure what you're getting at No Heart. What industry would that be? I mow lawns for a living.

Junkie
13 Oct 2006, 17:11
In the industry?? I'm not sure what you're getting at No Heart. What industry would that be? I mow lawns for a living.

Exactly!!!!!!

harsh, but fair
13 Oct 2006, 22:45
As a player who played in both the riddell and Ky DFL's this year i would have to say the the KDFL would kick the ***** out of the RDFL.. i would have thought that the GVFL would give 4th and 5th a good shake..

How do u think Seymour would fair agianst yarra, or benalla v myrtleford?

After watching both grand finals, Yarrawonga would beat Seymour, the Pigeons depth of talent this season was sensational and their top-liners go deeper than Seymour.
Myrtleford would take the points against Benalla, but put Ricky Symes and Casey Robertson in the Benalla side and it would an even money bet.

HJ32
14 Oct 2006, 14:48
have Euroa had a crack at Seymour's Paul Scanlon for 2007?
Reads to me that the Maggies are looking at a few players from rival GVL clubs, Trav Ryan may be heading that way too...

FOOTYBOSS
14 Oct 2006, 15:03
Reads to me that the Maggies are looking at a few players from rival GVL clubs, Trav Ryan may be heading that way too...
Where have you got this information from HJ.

We tried to entice Chewy to our club at the start of this year but we couldnt offer him the same amount of money that Seymour were going to pay him and Im very confident that he will not leave Seymour after a year of playing with them to go to a rival club. So in summary its a no we havent had a crack at gaining chewy.

What players are we trying to get from rival gv clubs. This is the 1st of this. As for Trav ryan he is one of many people that have put their names in to coach Euroa but the committee has not appointed a coach to they interview everyone, with a few more interviews to be held early next week.

tige19
14 Oct 2006, 21:03
Im certain Moose will have the Euroa job.

Third Qtr. Spray
15 Oct 2006, 14:27
Where have you got this information from HJ.

We tried to entice Chewy to our club at the start of this year but we couldnt offer him the same amount of money that Seymour were going to pay him and Im very confident that he will not leave Seymour after a year of playing with them to go to a rival club. So in summary its a no we havent had a crack at gaining chewy.

What players are we trying to get from rival gv clubs. This is the 1st of this. As for Trav ryan he is one of many people that have put their names in to coach Euroa but the committee has not appointed a coach to they interview everyone, with a few more interviews to be held early next week.
Make sure you have enough pies in the warmer when Jago comes for his interview BOSS.

Third Qtr. Spray
15 Oct 2006, 14:29

Well Mr. Spelling Bee 2006, you should know that you have to take your beer goggles off before you get on the computer.

News Leak
16 Oct 2006, 11:26

I hear Mark Pilling from Seymour is going to South Barwon in the Geelong league...

Doona2
16 Oct 2006, 12:46
I hear Mark Pilling from Seymour is going to South Barwon in the Geelong league...

You hear or u know News Leak? I love it when debutantes come in all guns blazing!!!

Grandale
16 Oct 2006, 14:11

He lives down that way now, so that really does come as no surprise.

lion's_roar
16 Oct 2006, 14:13
You hear or u know News Leak? I love it when debutantes come in all guns blazing!!!

Can confirm that one Doona.

Not sure who news leak is but i have my suspisions.

They are also going to have a crack at Bears skipper Troy King from all reports.

Had a phone call from the club last week doing some recon work on them.

Wiggum
16 Oct 2006, 15:00
As I posted on the O and M pages, Jock WILL coach the Saints in 2007

He is definately coaching Benalla. Apparently he is talking to Aaron Henneman

HJ32
16 Oct 2006, 17:17
:D :D :D :D :D

no disrespect to you Wiggum, but that is one of the funnier things i've read.
Will henners be shifting the magnets at Benalla? cos there's not a hope in hell of him getting on the park

hank1
16 Oct 2006, 17:24
:D :D :D :D :D

no disrespect to you Wiggum, but that is one of the funnier things i've read.
Will henners be shifting the magnets at Benalla? cos there's not a hope in hell of him getting on the park

Yes have to agree there as far as I know his back is still rat ****. Probably wont play again

Doozy_Man
16 Oct 2006, 17:59
I see Rhys Archard won the club best and Fairest for south Adelaide. He was also named on the wing in the team of the year. Surely an AFL club has to give him a shot as a rookie?

Further news from ex Echuca players, young Ben Wilson snagged an A grade flag while playing at North Beach in Perth.

And also does anyone know what is the story with Benny A he is also over in Perth but have heard nothing about him?

ringo1
16 Oct 2006, 18:06
Benny Wilson would be a good pick-up for any club in the GV area after a great year in Perth. Believe that he could line up for Echuca or a Murray
league side if he returns.:thumbsu:

Junkie
16 Oct 2006, 18:11
Benny Wilson would be a good pick-up for any club in the GV area after a great year in Perth. Believe that he could line up for Echuca or a Murray
league side if he returns.:thumbsu:

Who is Benny Wilson?

journeyman
16 Oct 2006, 18:14
I see Rhys Archard won the club best and Fairest for south Adelaide. He was also named on the wing in the team of the year. Surely an AFL club has to give him a shot as a rookie?

Further news from ex Echuca players, young Ben Wilson snagged an A grade flag while playing at North Beach in Perth.

And also does anyone know what is the story with Benny A he is also over in Perth but have heard nothing about him?

Benny has just taken a job as an sparky in the mines. Up in the Pilbara. It all happened very quickly.

He's going to see how that goes - don't think he's thought much about footy for next year.

researcher
16 Oct 2006, 20:45
He lives down that way now, so that really does come as no surprise.

I think you will find he lives in essendon grandale.... Has been linked to Strathmore and is a big chance of going there as its close to home...

Interesting to note all teams he is linked to and is leaving are going for 3 grandfinals in a row...Maybe port colts will also chase him....

Grandale
17 Oct 2006, 09:14
I think you will find he lives in essendon grandale.... Has been linked to Strathmore and is a big chance of going there as its close to home...

Interesting to note all teams he is linked to and is leaving are going for 3 grandfinals in a row...Maybe port colts will also chase him....

Someone was telling me the day after the granny that he either now lives down Geelong way or was about to move down there.
It wasn't the man himself (he was too busy playing trackside and I didn't want to disturb him), so it was second-hand info and I do stand to be corrected.

teddygeiger
17 Oct 2006, 10:05
benalla's best and fairest count held saturday, winner mark mckenzies steller season was capped of with a bnf won by 10 votes clear of sharp shooter matt sharp

Doozy_Man
17 Oct 2006, 11:10
Who is Benny Wilson?

He played with the Echuca Bombers for a few years before heading over to W.A last season. I think he moved over there with another former Echuca player?
Had a pretty good year over there as far as I know.

FOOTYBOSS
17 Oct 2006, 14:09
Henneman will be playing at Keilor Park in the EDFL next year where Dean Rioli is coaching.

TheJuddstarr#3
17 Oct 2006, 18:25
just a comparision question for interest - would the seymour back to back premiership sides of 2005-06 firsty beat the echuca back to back of 2001-02. or the tat of 03 and mansflied of 04?

Footy08
17 Oct 2006, 20:36
has any1 heard who may be getting the united coaching position?

hank1
17 Oct 2006, 20:43
just a comparision question for interest - would the seymour back to back premiership sides of 2005-06 firsty beat the echuca back to back of 2001-02. or the tat of 03 and mansflied of 04?
Interesting, think they may have had Mansfield covered and Tat, but gee the Echuca sides of 01 and 02 were pretty damn good, Sholl was a cut above and young blokes like Archard, Height and Maddox were bloody good then and went on to bigger and better things. And Sheldon against Daniel would have been intriguing.

RFCtigers_07
18 Oct 2006, 09:06
Go Rochy premiers 2007. Gettin lots of players back, Benny Anderson and Ash Watson among others

TuskenRaider
18 Oct 2006, 09:10
I would back Seymour to beat those Echuca sides and Tat, but I reckon Mansfield of 2004 would give them a run for their money. Still think Seymour would come out on top though.

FOOTYBOSS
18 Oct 2006, 10:08
Go Rochy premiers 2007. Gettin lots of players back, Benny Anderson and Ash Watson among others
Are these just the usual rumours circulating about these players every year, or are they actually heading back to Rochy to play. Has Dave Williams been confirmed as coach for the 07 season.

Rushy Tiger
18 Oct 2006, 10:27
Are these just the usual rumours circulating about these players every year, or are they actually heading back to Rochy to play. Has Dave Williams been confirmed as coach for the 07 season.

Williams has been confirmed. Watson a certainty, with Anderson not far off. Couple other ex-afl players in loop as well. Will make rochy a powerful unit hopefully, weren't far off, but saying that, they were a long way off. Hopefully the comp will be even closer in 2007

Junkie
18 Oct 2006, 11:10
Williams has been confirmed. Watson a certainty, with Anderson not far off. Couple other ex-afl players in loop as well. Will make rochy a powerful unit hopefully, weren't far off, but saying that, they were a long way off. Hopefully the comp will be even closer in 2007

Not too sure how you can type that in the one sentence champ....

Is Anderson definitely heading back to Vic, regardless of lining up with Rochy?

no left foot
18 Oct 2006, 11:31
Echuca's sides of 01 - 02 had 4 Morrison medal winners in it (Orr, Sholl, Archard and Durie). Dylan Butler quoted in th Shepp news a few weeks ago when asked regarding Seymour, that Echuca 01 was the best side he has ever played in better than VFL and WAFL sides he played in. Interesting argument and am sure evryone has a difference of opinion. If Seymour go 3 in a row they will have a no argument from any one, but for me Echuca 01. awesome side!!!

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 11:59
has any1 heard who may be getting the united coaching position?

Jason Cripps and Jason Mifsud. Daniel Harford have alll been mentioned

Can Shop
18 Oct 2006, 12:15
Jason Cripps and Jason Mifsud. Daniel Harford have alll been mentioned

Heard a rumour Shane Woewodin :rolleyes:

Urple
18 Oct 2006, 12:21
Why did Hazelman only do the 1 year. Thought he would have been a monty to do the job next year, once he went down with his knee injury. He could focus all of his energy on coaching rather then playing and coaching. Any word on who has been appointed Echuca coach or who is the running for it? Maybe the long lost Echucaboy could give us some insight on this.

Doona anyword on who is taking over the reigns at Seymour next year?

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 13:02
Why did Hazelman only do the 1 year. Thought he would have been a monty to do the job next year, once he went down with his knee injury. He could focus all of his energy on coaching rather then playing and coaching. Any word on who has been appointed Echuca coach or who is the running for it? Maybe the long lost Echucaboy could give us some insight on this.

Doona anyword on who is taking over the reigns at Seymour next year?

From what I can gather he just wanted a total break from footy for 12 months. He sat on the sidelines as assistant through his first knee reco and did it tough and is a very competitive fella so thought it would be best for him and the club if he had a year off and away from footy. Having said I think the club was desperate for him to continue and would have signed him up for another five years if he was up for it.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 13:02

I heard that one too

lion's_roar
18 Oct 2006, 13:18
I heard that one too

YOU PROBABLY STARTED IT!!!

ringo1
18 Oct 2006, 14:26
Wondering why Woewodin? would give up playing with East Freo, a development role at the Dockers, leave his home town,move his family to live and coach in Shepparton. Some of these rumours are a bit far fetched. I'm sure Cripps and Misfud would be trying to get their bearings at the moment. I doubt Cripps wolud move from AFL and Misfud could be a bit over-rated anyhow.:confused:

daisy_train
18 Oct 2006, 14:28
Centreman, i heard United were very interested in Kent Kingsley if he doesn't get listed by an AFL club.

I also heard united have thrown big dollars at disgruntled Wodonga/Cobram/Mitta/footballer Darren Bradshaw.

LOBSTER
18 Oct 2006, 14:30
Wondering why Woewodin? would give up playing with East Freo, a development role at the Dockers, leave his home town,move his family to live and coach in Shepparton. Some of these rumours are a bit far fetched. I'm sure Cripps and Misfud would be trying to get their bearings at the moment. I doubt Cripps wolud move from AFL and Misfud could be a bit over-rated anyhow.:confused:
Cripps might not have a say on whether he will move on from AFL circles, he might get told by Lyon his services are no longer wanted. As for Woewodin mate, all tongue in cheek. Who is Mifsud anyway???

daisy_train
18 Oct 2006, 14:46
Misfud was the other assistant under Cornflakes thomas

ringo1
18 Oct 2006, 14:58
:thumbsu: Cripps and Misfud both got shown the door after the appointment of Lyon- Misfud coached Koroit down our way and was to coach Hamilton but pulled out early in the year after getting the St.Kilda role.PS u got me there Lobster

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 15:01
Centreman, i heard United were very interested in Kent Kingsley if he doesn't get listed by an AFL club.

I also heard united have thrown big dollars at disgruntled Wodonga/Cobram/Mitta/footballer Darren Bradshaw.

Kingsley has been mentioned in some circles at Demonland from what I'm led to believe. I think the met wit him at the weekend, just informally. I doubt they would go for Bradshaw. They seem to be working very hard to build the right sort of image and to be fair Forys is a much better player than Bradshaw anyway.

daisy_train
18 Oct 2006, 15:12
What are you saying about Bradshaw? he's not a quality bloke?

As for Kingsley that would be a massive coup for United, they could then have two overrated forwards.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 15:15
What are you saying about Bradshaw? he's not a quality bloke?

As for Kingsley that would be a massive coup for United, they could then have two overrated forwards.

Regardless of what you think about kent kinglsey he would be a tremendous player in the Gv. Mensch was much-maligned by Geelong fans but no-one could question the impact he had on the competition.

As for suggesting Forys is overated. You obviously haven't seen him play. He is plain and simply a star

bradrowe#32
18 Oct 2006, 15:23
Demon's 'grave mistake'
The Age - Monday October 16th 2006

David Williams played 67 games for Melbourne in the mid-1980s but missed playing in the one he really wanted to be part of, being dropped for the 1987 preliminary final against Hawthorn when Jim Stynes infamously ran across the mark of Gary Buckenara, costing his team the match. Well, 19 years later and coach John Northey has acknowledged the axing was a grave mistake, admitting as much at a function at Rochester in Northern Victoria to honour Williams, who has coached his hometown for the past 15 years. What's more, former Demon captain Robbie Flower told the gathering of 350 that Williams' axing was his greatest disappointment in football and firmly believes that had he played that day the result would have been different.

Garry Lyon and Noel McMahen also attended the function, hosted by Brad McEwan. There were video tributes from Ron Barassi, Kevin Bartlett, John Northey, Crackers Keenan, Chris Connally, Cameron Schwab, Kelly O'Donnell, Earl Spalding, Barry Connally, Steve Ash, Des Campbell and Kayne Pettifer.

FOOTYBOSS
18 Oct 2006, 15:28
Kingsley has been mentioned in some circles at Demonland from what I'm led to believe. I think the met wit him at the weekend, just informally. I doubt they would go for Bradshaw. They seem to be working very hard to build the right sort of image and to be fair Forys is a much better player than Bradshaw anyway.
Hasnt Bradshaw played an AFL game during his career, I dont think Forys can say that.

Both are quality players at country level.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 15:46
Hasnt Bradshaw played an AFL game during his career, I dont think Forys can say that.

Can't argue with that. But Bradshaw's committment level is highly questionable. Forys had a run at Hawthorn and at Williamstown never quite cracked it. Isn't really a footy head. If Bradshaw's last name was Smith he might not have got the look in he did. His brother made the path for him a little easier. Can't question the fact he did play a game though. They can't take that away from him

daisy_train
18 Oct 2006, 16:02
And Bradshaw is a footyhead?

A few Ovens and Murray clubs have considered Kingsley but decided he wasn't up to it.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 16:12
And Bradshaw is a footyhead?

A few Ovens and Murray clubs have considered Kingsley but decided he wasn't up to it.

F u c k off to your OandM thread moron.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 16:13
Demon's 'grave mistake'
The Age - Monday October 16th 2006

David Williams played 67 games for Melbourne in the mid-1980s but missed playing in the one he really wanted to be part of, being dropped for the 1987 preliminary final against Hawthorn when Jim Stynes infamously ran across the mark of Gary Buckenara, costing his team the match. Well, 19 years later and coach John Northey has acknowledged the axing was a grave mistake, admitting as much at a function at Rochester in Northern Victoria to honour Williams, who has coached his hometown for the past 15 years. What's more, former Demon captain Robbie Flower told the gathering of 350 that Williams' axing was his greatest disappointment in football and firmly believes that had he played that day the result would have been different.

Garry Lyon and Noel McMahen also attended the function, hosted by Brad McEwan. There were video tributes from Ron Barassi, Kevin Bartlett, John Northey, Crackers Keenan, Chris Connally, Cameron Schwab, Kelly O'Donnell, Earl Spalding, Barry Connally, Steve Ash, Des Campbell and Kayne Pettifer.

Do they reckon Williams should have got a game before Eishold?

BIGANT
18 Oct 2006, 16:28
Cripps might not have a say on whether he will move on from AFL circles, he might get told by Lyon his services are no longer wanted. As for Woewodin mate, all tongue in cheek. Who is Mifsud anyway???

Was'nt Misfud linked to a couple of clubs in the GV' this time last year....!? There was a fair bit of speculation at the time because Hamilton in the WBfl had signed him as a coach.Being that as it may there were still mumors floating around that he was also touted to be going up there because of a couple of freindships he made w a few of the GV boys that were also vic country reps he played with !?

Grimmett
18 Oct 2006, 16:31
Mifsud was already conducting pre-season training with Hamilton when he was strongly linked with one of the Oven & Murray clubs last year before Corn Flakes snapped him up.

BIGANT
18 Oct 2006, 16:40
Mifsud was already conducting pre-season training with Hamilton when he was strongly linked with one of the Oven & Murray clubs last year before Corn Flakes snapped him up.
Stand corrected....concerning whether it was GV or O'M clubs linked, i remember it well coz it was big news down here at the time.And yes he'd just taken over them (Hamilton) when the 'bush telegraph' was working overtime about his immediate future.

souts
18 Oct 2006, 16:43
i played a game against bradshaw this season whilst he was playing for cobram, he was over weight and got towled up by a 4th game teenager. the kicked 7 goals in 8 games from fullfoward for cobram. and he was on $1300 a game roomer had it. he wouldnt have got a game at half of the GV clubs

flagpie
18 Oct 2006, 16:45
F u c k off to your OandM thread moron.

why don't you two take your dummies and tickle me elmo's to the "bigfooty for babies" thread

TuskenRaider
18 Oct 2006, 17:04
Do they reckon Williams should have got a game before Eishold?
I was wondering the same thing. I was at that game in 87 when Eishold took a beautiful mark near the goalsquare in the dying minutes of the game and shanked the kick straight left for a point. Eishold was pretty young then, only about 20 but I can't remember if he played in the earlier finals that year or who were the ins and outs for the prelim.

Melbourne should have won that game anyway. Graeme Yates & "Gloves" Campbell both missed shots on the run from about 40m, which would have sealed the game, plus Eishold's miss.

Williams did play in the 88 Grand Final though, and Eishold went on to play some pretty good footy at Melbourne before coaching Echuca. I think he was BOG in the 1990 elimination final against Hawthorn.

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 17:13
why don't you two take your dummies and tickle me elmo's to the "bigfooty for babies" thread

Fair enough mate. Fair enough. Any chance of you having a run in the O and M this year?

daisy_train
18 Oct 2006, 17:16
Sound a bit rattled Centreman, the heat of the recruiting season getting to you?

flagpie
18 Oct 2006, 17:16
Fair enough mate. Fair enough. Any chance of you having a run in the O and M this year?

nah you know me mate ... happy in the comfort zone

centreman
18 Oct 2006, 17:20
Sound a bit rattled Centreman, the heat of the recruiting season getting to you?

Recruiting? I couldn't recruit my thumb up my bum

ringo1
18 Oct 2006, 17:56
whats happening with the coaching positions of the once powerful sides of tat and echuca. surely these 2 must be close to filling their positions. cannot believe a major league club looking to improve would not have a coach yet. i would have thought to recruit other quality players you would want your coach involved in the process. thoughts??

Snakeman66
18 Oct 2006, 19:40
Stand corrected....concerning whether it was GV or O'M clubs linked, i remember it well coz it was big news down here at the time.And yes he'd just taken over them (Hamilton) when the 'bush telegraph' was working overtime about his immediate future.

Wodonga had a fair crack at getting Mifsud as coach despite him already accepting the Hamilton coaching job.

wheelbarrow
18 Oct 2006, 19:59
I was wondering the same thing. I was at that game in 87 when Eishold took a beautiful mark near the goalsquare in the dying minutes of the game and shanked the kick straight left for a point. Eishold was pretty young then, only about 20 but I can't remember if he played in the earlier finals that year or who were the ins and outs for the prelim.

Melbourne should have won that game anyway. Graeme Yates & "Gloves" Campbell both missed shots on the run from about 40m, which would have sealed the game, plus Eishold's miss.

Williams did play in the 88 Grand Final though, and Eishold went on to play some pretty good footy at Melbourne before coaching Echuca. I think he was BOG in the 1990 elimination final against Hawthorn.

Russell Richards got dropped for Eishold

hank1
18 Oct 2006, 20:12
whats happening with the coaching positions of the once powerful sides of tat and echuca. surely these 2 must be close to filling their positions. cannot believe a major league club looking to improve would not have a coach yet. i would have thought to recruit other quality players you would want your coach involved in the process. thoughts??

Definately, and Ky is the same, new they didnt have a coach over a month ago and they have still got their coaching position open for applications until october 28. Way to long and should be sorted out by now. The people running Tat at the moment may just have to move out of the area shortly, because I dont think to many bulldogs supporters and players could be happy with them getting rid of Trav Ryan and not having a bloody good replacement to take over the reigns. Even if they did land someone out of the AFL system now, it may just be too late as a lot of players have already moved on.

Sly Dog
18 Oct 2006, 20:34
Yeah you would think the horse may have bolted in all 3 cases, tat ky and echuca. Echuca might be ok because they have depth, but the other 2 you would have to suggest are in trouble. maybe they cut their losses, get a local who can draw or retain players and rebuild. im thinking all in charge of these clubs are throwing up ideas as we speak.

TuskenRaider
18 Oct 2006, 21:18
Russell Richards got dropped for Eishold
Seymour boy eh.
Did Richards used to wear No. 20 by any chance?

slim18
18 Oct 2006, 22:36
Allegedly big rumblings to happen [have happened] at the saints. Anyone close prepared to comment?

Doona2
18 Oct 2006, 22:40
Allegedly big rumblings to happen [have happened] at the saints. Anyone close prepared to comment?

C'mon Slim tell us what u got?

slim18
19 Oct 2006, 02:33
C'mon Slim tell us what u got?

Rumour and ineuendo Doon. [ From those close tothe heart.] Dont like to kiss and tell. All will be revealed. Tantalising isn't it

ringo1
19 Oct 2006, 08:24
Definately, and Ky is the same, new they didnt have a coach over a month ago and they have still got their coaching position open for applications until october 28. Way to long and should be sorted out by now. The people running Tat at the moment may just have to move out of the area shortly, because I dont think to many bulldogs supporters and players could be happy with them getting rid of Trav Ryan and not having a bloody good replacement to take over the reigns. Even if they did land someone out of the AFL system now, it may just be too late as a lot of players have already moved on.

Echuca has spoken to two coaches but believe that they are'nt that happy with them and are speaking to another two this week. Personal opinion is that it has been a closed shop to outsiders and it might be time to get some new blood in. There are plenty of people in the area that could do a good job so perhaps that could be an angle to take.The Ky closing job is far too late and all this does is slow the recruiting process.There have been plenty of ex AFL players that have failed as coaches son sometimesthe local bloke is a better bet.

Can Shop
19 Oct 2006, 09:09
Centreman - whats the chances of united keeping steve hazelman on there list in 2008 if he has severed ties with the club for 2007. I'm sure the swans would find some money to throw at him to get him down to the park.

centreman
19 Oct 2006, 13:26
Centreman - whats the chances of united keeping steve hazelman on there list in 2008 if he has severed ties with the club for 2007. I'm sure the swans would find some money to throw at him to get him down to the park.

I'm really not that close to it to be honest, I don't think for a second he has severed ties with the club. Purely stepped down from his coaching role during rehabilitation. He's having a year off footy and beyond that is anyone's guess I suppose. He stays a registered player I suppose. I suppose if he plays again in the GV he'll be up for grabs for sure, but I don't think that's on his radar at the moment. From what I gather second and third hand.

daisy_train
19 Oct 2006, 15:43
[Please don't make reference to centremans sexual preferences on this website]

are you the "Big H" of the Goulburn Valley?

centreman
19 Oct 2006, 17:38
jjjj

Doona2
20 Oct 2006, 09:18
Ryan looks at year off
October 20 2006
Shepparton News

Former Tatura coach Travis Ryan has refused to rule out walking away from the game for 12 months, after withdrawing his interest in the vacant Euroa job.

Ryan, who stood down from the Bulldogs' top job last month, had been in negotiations with the Magpies.

"I couldn't commit to a twoyear deal," said the triplepremiership player.

"I didn't want to say I would do it for two years, then pull the pin after one.

"That would be doing the wrong thing by the club."

Ryan said he has been approached by several clubs about coaching, both GVFL and district league, but now seems unlikely to take on a role.

The 34-year-old has been limited by an ankle injury during the past two seasons, and will visit his surgeon next Tuesday, where he will find out more about how his recovery is progressing.

If he gets the all-clear, there is a possibility he will resume his playing career, but he won't make a final decision until early 2007.

"I'll see what happens after Christmas, and see what bobs up."

However, he has ruled out playing with Tatura.

The decision by Ryan to end talks with Euroa leaves the Magpies still hunting for a replacement for David Gleeson.

"We need a coach for two, and even three years," president Xavier Thomson said.

"We'll have to go and chase someone else."

Thomson remains surprised at the lack of interest in the position.

"We thought they'd be coming from everywhere."

Can Shop
20 Oct 2006, 09:32
Is there somethign going on at euroa that no one wants to coach them??? With the list they had i thought the town would still be pretty confident in them even though they had a injury riddled year this year.............. Urple any update......

Puma Kings
20 Oct 2006, 10:40
What about Rory Hilton? What are his plans for next year. I heard they paid him a bucket load this year. Shane Clayton too!!

Grandale
20 Oct 2006, 12:35
Can't argue with that. But Bradshaw's committment level is highly questionable. Forys had a run at Hawthorn and at Williamstown never quite cracked it. Isn't really a footy head. If Bradshaw's last name was Smith he might not have got the look in he did. His brother made the path for him a little easier. Can't question the fact he did play a game though. They can't take that away from him

He got his look in after kicking more than 80 goals in about 14 games in the QAFL.
After he got the flick from Brissy he then kicked 97 goals in a season for West Adelaide. No matter what your "name" is you've still got to have ability to do that.

FOOTYBOSS
20 Oct 2006, 12:51
What about Rory Hilton? What are his plans for next year. I heard they paid him a bucket load this year. Shane Clayton too!!
Well you heard wrong then donkey d i c k..... What you hear is just s h i t dribbling out of people mouths. So f u c k from this forum. You are useless.

By the way Rory has decided to retire from footy. His body is no good and he has to many other things going on his life to worry about footy.

FOOTYBOSS
20 Oct 2006, 12:54
Is there somethign going on at euroa that no one wants to coach them??? With the list they had i thought the town would still be pretty confident in them even though they had a injury riddled year this year.............. Urple any update......
If you read the article properly about Trav Ryan, he states that he cant commit to more than one year and as a club we want a coach that can commit for a minimum of 2 years. He was one of our 1st options, but we now have to re look at other people that have put in to coach us.

bradrowe#32
20 Oct 2006, 13:06
Ahhh Footyboss, always a pleasure to see you speak your mind.

Anyway, Rochy has advertised for a new assistant coach for 2007. Dirty has confirmed for next year and the club is set for a big recruiting drive (says the Deledio News).

Former players Mark Watson, Carl Moon and Brad Major are all set to return. All are solid, experienced senior players.

Doozy_Man
20 Oct 2006, 13:29
Echuca has spoken to two coaches but believe that they are'nt that happy with them and are speaking to another two this week. Personal opinion is that it has been a closed shop to outsiders and it might be time to get some new blood in. There are plenty of people in the area that could do a good job so perhaps that could be an angle to take.The Ky closing job is far too late and all this does is slow the recruiting process.There have been plenty of ex AFL players that have failed as coaches son sometimesthe local bloke is a better bet.

I heard that Echuca are only after a 'big name' coach ie a Sheldon. Reason being so they can attract some big names back to the club.

What is the word on R.Archard, B.Wilson,S.Murphy and A.Baker all returning to the club? Is there any truth to this?

ringo1
20 Oct 2006, 13:35
I heard that Echuca are only after a 'big name' coach ie a Sheldon. Reason being so they can attract some big names back to the club.

What is the word on R.Archard, B.Wilson,S.Murphy and A.Baker all returning to the club? Is there any truth to this?

Doozy I think Archard is still contracted to Sth Adelaide and will stay. Wilson has had a great year in WA-(job is a concern he may have written an article for the local paper up in Echuca a few weeks ago). Baker was on big bucks at United but the word is that they may lose a few key players but I thought he would stay there. Heard nothing about Murphy at this stage. Any move with Archard would also involve his good mate Scott McGlone. Believe Josh Edgar has been offered huge money by Leitchville-Gunbower.:thumbsu:

FOOTYBOSS
20 Oct 2006, 13:36
Ahhh Footyboss, always a pleasure to see you speak your mind.

Anyway, Rochy has advertised for a new assistant coach for 2007. Dirty has confirmed for next year and the club is set for a big recruiting drive (says the Deledio News).

Former players Mark Watson, Carl Moon and Brad Major are all set to return. All are solid, experienced senior players.
Thanks rowey...

Sounds like some positives are coming out of rochy way, with a few boys coming back to help out the promising youngsters.

slim18
20 Oct 2006, 13:37
Acouple of metions on the O&M thread of Matt Shir returning to Benalla. Great pickup if its true.

centreman
20 Oct 2006, 13:46
He got his look in after kicking more than 80 goals in about 14 games in the QAFL.
After he got the flick from Brissy he then kicked 97 goals in a season for West Adelaide. No matter what your "name" is you've still got to have ability to do that.

Agree Grandale. Couldn't argue with that. Great player from an amazingly skilled family, but he's unfortunately lost his way and would take a whole heap of work for him to regain respect i'd reckon.

centreman
20 Oct 2006, 13:49
If you read the article properly about Trav Ryan, he states that he cant commit to more than one year and as a club we want a coach that can commit for a minimum of 2 years. He was one of our 1st options, but we now have to re look at other people that have put in to coach us.

It's amazing the lack of interest in all jobs at the moment. I would have thought at least three clubs would have people knocking down the door to coach them.

jazzy
20 Oct 2006, 14:00
just wanted to know if anyone has heard anything on the seymour lions, lots of rumours a few players won't be there next year as well as the coach. Are they hoping to bolster their side for a crack at the three peat??

bradrowe#32
20 Oct 2006, 14:05
just wanted to know if anyone has heard anything on the seymour lions, lots of rumours a few players won't be there next year as well as the coach. Are they hoping to bolster their side for a crack at the three peat??

The coach is gone and Mark Pilling has also left.

That's pretty much it isn't it? There have been a few rumours, but nothing solid.

Travvy43
20 Oct 2006, 14:07
Heard the Colbert (north melbourne) connection with Echuca again earlier this week for the coaching job. Not sure if it is old news that bobs its head up from time to time.

Whats the latest with Kirby at Tatura?

Can Shop
20 Oct 2006, 14:08
Echuca asked paul brown ex geelong to do it and he said no

centreman
20 Oct 2006, 14:14
Heard the Colbert (north melbourne) connection with Echuca again earlier this week for the coaching job. Not sure if it is old news that bobs its head up from time to time.

At least three O and M clubs - Albury, Wodonga and Wangaratta - trying for Kirby.

centreman
20 Oct 2006, 14:14
Echuca asked paul brown ex geelong to do it and he said no

Wayne Campbell has been mentioned in dispatches at Echuca but I'd take that with a grain of salt.

ringo1
20 Oct 2006, 14:15

Travvy I think Colbert is just a rumour-I assume he has a good job in the media so I would think it would be hard to leave that. :thumbsu: