View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Can Shop
20 Oct 2006, 14:24
Centreman have you heard on any news about ezra pyas coming to the GV
centreman
20 Oct 2006, 14:39
Centreman have you heard on any news about ezra pyas coming to the GV
Ha ha. No I haven't. That's a blast from the past. Where is he supposed to be headed?
Doozy_Man
20 Oct 2006, 14:49
Doozy I think Archard is still contracted to Sth Adelaide and will stay. Wilson has had a great year in WA-(job is a concern he may have written an article for the local paper up in Echuca a few weeks ago). Baker was on big bucks at United but the word is that they may lose a few key players but I thought he would stay there. Heard nothing about Murphy at this stage. Any move with Archard would also involve his good mate Scott McGlone. Believe Josh Edgar has been offered huge money by Leitchville-Gunbower.:thumbsu:
Thanks ringo - I just heard rumblings about Archard being approached by Echuca to return, and he would have to be thinking about it, if not this year then maybe next, that is if he is not taken on a rookie list of course.
Baker would be offered even more money since he won the B&F I suppose.
I would have though Wilson would only go back if Archard was to return. Probably be hard too since he won a premiership this year.
Edgar was a real surprise packet this year and Echuca would be desparate to keep him
Can Shop
20 Oct 2006, 14:53
Like all other ex AFL footballers Tatura or Echuca
Thanks ringo - I just heard rumblings about Archard being approached by Echuca to return, and he would have to be thinking about it, if not this year then maybe next, that is if he is not taken on a rookie list of course.
Baker would be offered even more money since he won the B&F I suppose.
I would have though Wilson would only go back if Archard was to return. Probably be hard too since he won a premiership this year.
Edgar was a real surprise packet this year and Echuca would be desparate to keep him
No worries:thumbsu: Edgar apparantly offered well over 500 a game. Wilson has an opportunity to represent the Amatuers in a game of Gaelic footy in Ireland if he stays. He must have really developed his footy as my view was that he had potential but not realised. Only saw him play once but he kicked 5 at full forward. McGlone is in Archards class too!
Is there somethign going on at euroa that no one wants to coach them??? With the list they had i thought the town would still be pretty confident in them even though they had a injury riddled year this year.............. Urple any update......
I live in Melbourne now days mate and havent been home since the day after we lost the grand final. So I wouldnt have a clue whats going on. Interesting times ahead though. Some players might leave soon if we cant find a coach or able to recruit anyone to replace the players already gone.
The Flying Dutchman
21 Oct 2006, 15:25
No worries:thumbsu: Edgar apparantly offered well over 500 a game. Wilson has an opportunity to represent the Amatuers in a game of Gaelic footy in Ireland if he stays. He must have really developed his footy as my view was that he had potential but not realised. Only saw him play once but he kicked 5 at full forward. McGlone is in Archards class too!
if mcglone and archard were to return to echuca this would be a huge huge plus for the club as both are out and out guns. however i think people need to remember that when wilson left he was playing as a permanent twos player that got the odd senior game which to me tells the two leagues standards. the gv must be much better if wilson has a chance at the state team over there. agree?
still cant believe there is 5 clubs with no coaches guys. what is going on. The colbert word at echuca is gaining momentum, if not him another high ex afl profile player. cannot believe euroa dont have a coach, as they were hit hard with injuries and seem to have loads of talent and depth. tat and ky, well good luck with whoever goes there. where is united at at the moment??
FOOTYBOSS
23 Oct 2006, 10:09
still cant believe there is 5 clubs with no coaches guys. what is going on. The colbert word at echuca is gaining momentum, if not him another high ex afl profile player. cannot believe euroa dont have a coach, as they were hit hard with injuries and seem to have loads of talent and depth. tat and ky, well good luck with whoever goes there. where is united at at the moment??
I wouldnt leave Seymour out of that either Ringo, still no coach after Stevie D resignation. Will also be very interesting to see who coaches them.
:thumbsu: I wouldnt leave Seymour out of that either Ringo, still no coach after Stevie D resignation. Will also be very interesting to see who coaches them.
Boss heard that Daniel is going back to the lions as a joint coach with Amad?- Have you heard anything?. Echuca is expected to announce their coach Wednesday. I heard that a coach from Geelong league is the front runner-no AFL experience and Paul Newman will coach Kyabram
Doozy_Man
23 Oct 2006, 11:02
if mcglone and archard were to return to echuca this would be a huge huge plus for the club as both are out and out guns. however i think people need to remember that when wilson left he was playing as a permanent twos player that got the odd senior game which to me tells the two leagues standards. the gv must be much better if wilson has a chance at the state team over there. agree?
Flying Dutchman - Of course the GVFL is a better standard than the one Wilson is playing in at the moment.
Wilson played more senior games than twos, but apparently he has really carved up over in Perth, not sure why that is, maybe a fresh start or new coach? And he is playing CHF over there where he played the majority in the back line at Echuca.
It would be massive for Echuca to regain Archard and McGlone, and it will be very interesting to see who the new coach is also!
I wouldnt leave Seymour out of that either Ringo, still no coach after Stevie D resignation. Will also be very interesting to see who coaches them.
Applications close on November 3 for the Lions gig, one would assume there'd be a list of people keen to go 4 the job.
There is obviously word of a few players moving but Im led to believe many are staying on, and there was a fair bit of depth in the 2's as well as young blokes like Clifton in the 3's who I think even won Assumption's B & F
bradrowe#32
23 Oct 2006, 12:42
Interesting to see Christie from the Deledio News copped a bit of a rocket today about her evaluation of Shepp Swans, in reference to their 'dirty' culture and there alledged payments this year.
Nothing wrong with culture at Swans
October 23 2006
Shepparton News
Christie Peucker's "Report Card" on Shepparton Swans is rich in rhetoric but short on substance and facts.
She states that the club needs a change in culture.
Shepparton Swans prides itself on being a family club.
It is rich in its history and has a diverse cultural involvement.
Like many clubs it is made up of volunteers and is respected within the community.
It is competitive on the field and is proud to be.
How then does she suggest it change its culture?
Christie states that the Swans need to get rid of the "dirty" tag.
Perhaps she isn't aware that there were no reports in 2006 in its firsts, seconds and under-18s and that the club was ranked second overall in the Goulburn Valley Football League most disciplined club award.
She also suggests that the Swans are in the caper of buying a premiership.
Easily said Christie, almost a throwaway line.
Whenever a club recruits well, the rumours start, and that's all they are - rumours and gossip.
Constructive criticism is welcomed. I emphasise constructive.
It has been stated elsewhere that the pen is mightier than the sword.
In this instance and in Christie's hand it appears the pen is a poisoned one.
Reg Dickinson, Shepparton
Puma Kings
23 Oct 2006, 16:30
Well you heard wrong then donkey d i c k..... What you hear is just s h i t dribbling out of people mouths. So f u c k from this forum. You are useless.
By the way Rory has decided to retire from footy. His body is no good and he has to many other things going on his life to worry about footy.
Ex AFL players, do you think they played for nothing....
How are you in the know, full time job of running the books there!
lion's_roar
24 Oct 2006, 10:38
Allegedly big rumblings to happen [have happened] at the saints. Anyone close prepared to comment?
Heard from a good source at the weekend that there may have been some fallout at the Saints after this year's grand final.
Not so much between players (originally), but wives, girlfriends, sisters, which eventually stemmed to a couple of VERY SENIOR players.
May have been some physical contact and the fallout could result in a change of heircharcy.
Don't pretend to know exactly what's going on, but would like to hear more .. Flat Track Bully, Full Forward???
Can Shop
24 Oct 2006, 11:02
To follow on with lions roars comments have heard a rumour brenton cooper is being entised back to the saints to coach......
pete_mitchell
24 Oct 2006, 11:31
I live in Melbourne now days mate and havent been home since the day after we lost the grand final. So I wouldnt have a clue whats going on. Interesting times ahead though. Some players might leave soon if we cant find a coach or able to recruit anyone to replace the players already gone.
A few players leaving would open the doorway for the Urple to run around in the forward pocket and snag some majors in the ones maybe?
Heard from a good source at the weekend that there may have been some fallout at the Saints after this year's grand final.
Not so much between players (originally), but wives, girlfriends, sisters, which eventually stemmed to a couple of VERY SENIOR players.
May have been some physical contact and the fallout could result in a change of heircharcy.
Don't pretend to know exactly what's going on, but would like to hear more .. Flat Track Bully, Full Forward???
Are you sure you havent been reading the Adelaide football club website? :D
Kinda funny if its true, like something off home and away. Maybe today tonight can jump on it. Naomi can tell us how a footy club cat fight is tearing the once peaceful town of Benalla apart :rolleyes:
My info says the tail is attempting to wag the dog. Tends to happen there a bit.
happened to the last coach-Peter Sheehan and he had reasonable results:thumbsu:
And he didn't Porter and Stevens etc
journeyman
24 Oct 2006, 15:01
Strong rumour that Numurkah are close to signing Linc Wellington as coach and Marc Harrop as assistant for next year.
And he didn't Porter and Stevens etc
Exactly! Heard that Gary Parsons (deniliquin) offered Echua job.:thumbsu:
centreman
24 Oct 2006, 17:06
Exactly! Heard that Gary Parsons (deniliquin) offered Echua job.:thumbsu:
Hear that one as well.
FOOTYBOSS
25 Oct 2006, 10:17
Strong rumour that Numurkah are close to signing Linc Wellington as coach and Marc Harrop as assistant for next year.
That would make it 3 coaches in 3 years while they are chasing their 3rd flag. Linc would be a massive loss for Tatura, who have already lost a few players and still without a coach for next year after suprisingly telling Trav ryan he is no longer wanted for the role.
Tige, any news on what is happening at Tatura next year mate. Are you and Willoughby staying put or entertaining ideas of leaving and joing either another GVFL club or heading back to Melbourne to play.
Doona, being the new broady coach, will you be trying to poach lots of gv 2's players? I do know u know some players from Seymour and Euroa and I assume u will be throwing cash at em to entice em to play with u? Names such as Inness, Spargo, Mills etc?
Tige, any news on what is happening at Tatura next year mate. Are you and Willoughby staying put or entertaining ideas of leaving and joing either another GVFL club or heading back to Melbourne to play.
Gday mate,
Yeah looks fialry unlikely that we will be heading back to Tat next year, if Trav Ryan was coaching then all the boys would have stuck together noone would have left and there would have been probably another 3 or 4 of us come from Melbourne including one of our good mates who has been given the flick from the Dogs.
The club looks like there really struggling to get a coach for next season and i think that has forced the issue with a alot of the boys. The way Trav Ryan was handled was preety poor and we where all shattered that he wasnt given another opportunity with some cattle on the field, i thought that was a poor effort.
In regards to where me and Willa are playing: Looks like where heading down the Neapean to play in the Mornington league, Willa and my self and 3 others heading down there. However should Trav Ryan and Tatura come together again sometime down the track maybe in a few season i would love to go back up there and play as its a fantastic club with great people.
Anymore news on the Euroa gig?? surely someone with some good credentials would put there name forward, the club has one if the best local football club player list going around. If i was a coach or a potential coach i would be throwing my hat in the ring for sure.
Anyway lads im out,
Cheers
Travvy43
25 Oct 2006, 11:56
Bit of news circulating in melbourne's western suburbs that links mark porter with hoppers crossing. Anyong know porters intentions in 07, has he indicated that he will be sticking with the saints.
bystanding backman
25 Oct 2006, 12:05
That would make it 3 coaches in 3 years while they are chasing their 3rd flag.
i think your confusing numurkah with nathalia there, Numurkah haven't one a granny since 2000 i think. As far as i know Nathalia are sticking with brent smith for the attempt of the third flag.
FOOTYBOSS
25 Oct 2006, 12:18
i think your confusing numurkah with nathalia there, Numurkah haven't one a granny since 2000 i think. As far as i know Nathalia are sticking with brent smith for the attempt of the third flag.
My apologies there. Got them confused.:thumbsu:
FOOTYBOSS
25 Oct 2006, 12:19
Bit of news circulating in melbourne's western suburbs that links mark porter with hoppers crossing. Anyong know porters intentions in 07, has he indicated that he will be sticking with the saints.
Well Hoppers good ruckman in Puli did retire. They also have plenty of cash with their pokies. Wouldnt suprise me if they chuck a bit of coin his way. With all the rumours floating around about Benalla and in fighting, they well and truly could lose some players.
FOOTYBOSS
25 Oct 2006, 12:21
Gday mate,
Yeah looks fialry unlikely that we will be heading back to Tat next year, if Trav Ryan was coaching then all the boys would have stuck together noone would have left and there would have been probably another 3 or 4 of us come from Melbourne including one of our good mates who has been given the flick from the Dogs.
The club looks like there really struggling to get a coach for next season and i think that has forced the issue with a alot of the boys. The way Trav Ryan was handled was preety poor and we where all shattered that he wasnt given another opportunity with some cattle on the field, i thought that was a poor effort.
In regards to where me and Willa are playing: Looks like where heading down the Neapean to play in the Mornington league, Willa and my self and 3 others heading down there. However should Trav Ryan and Tatura come together again sometime down the track maybe in a few season i would love to go back up there and play as its a fantastic club with great people.
Anymore news on the Euroa gig?? surely someone with some good credentials would put there name forward, the club has one if the best local football club player list going around. If i was a coach or a potential coach i would be throwing my hat in the ring for sure.
Anyway lads im out,
Cheers
Is the delisted bulldogs player Brad Murphy by any chance.
No more news on the Euroa gig mate, still talking to a few people. Should be finalised in the next couple of weeks hopefully.
Doona, being the new broady coach, will you be trying to poach lots of gv 2's players? I do know u know some players from Seymour and Euroa and I assume u will be throwing cash at em to entice em to play with u? Names such as Inness, Spargo, Mills etc?
Assume all you like Chance, but I would never begrudge anyone wanting to play a better standard of footy.
My focus is more towards Douglas & Schotty who owes me one for spewing on me carpet during a visit when I was living in QLD :thumbsu: i did have a brief chat to Matty Penn in the pizza shop at Yea last year on his way back from Mansfield - another one Im keen to get to Broady!!!
Travvy43
25 Oct 2006, 13:52
Well Hoppers good ruckman in Puli did retire. They also have plenty of cash with their pokies. Wouldnt suprise me if they chuck a bit of coin his way. With all the rumours floating around about Benalla and in fighting, they well and truly could lose some players.
Yeah Puli retired and their other ruckman venner on the move from what i hear.
All people from Benella are very quite, busy putting out spot fires maybe??
Matthew Pillios
25 Oct 2006, 14:34
Does anybody know of a David Gillespie from Shepparton United?
Is he anygood? C-H-B?
Travvy43
25 Oct 2006, 15:09
Is he anygood? C-H-B?
Would go alright at Marby Matty, if that is what you are referring too.
Venner staying on old mate. But not till half way through as achilles is no good apparently..
Matthew Pillios
25 Oct 2006, 15:41
Would go alright at Marby Matty, if that is what you are referring too.
How would he compare to a Aaron Willoughby from Tatura?
Willa isnt going to Marby mate, by next week will be signed up in Mornington so i would suggest not to waste your time and throw the coin at that bloke from Shepp.
Is he anygood? C-H-B?
Aint he the guy who lost his cool and got sent off in the semi final at Kings Park against Benalla? Dunno if he is due to miss any games at the start of 2007
That would be him Doona, can play the game, but is loose cannon on the field, doesnt mind kicking(not necessarily the football) either.
ECHUCABOY
26 Oct 2006, 10:07
Long time no see.............I cant believe all the reply's on old Benny Wilson, knowing the greatman he will no doubt be using this thread for wacking material for the next few years...........;)
Some interesting rumours floating around Echuca FNC at the moment, be good to hear what becomes of them....
PENGUIN
26 Oct 2006, 10:16
Yeah Willo will be printing these last few pages out and using them as c_m rags for the next 6 months...
Rumour has it Echuca's settled on a coach, an announcement to be made shortly...
Doozy_Man
26 Oct 2006, 10:19
Yeah Willo will be printing these last few pages out and using them as c_m rags for the next 6 months...
Rumour has it Echuca's settled on a coach, an announcement to be made shortly...
Strong rumours are that the senior coach is Stephen Orr.
Travvy43
26 Oct 2006, 10:26
Heard some developments on the Kyabram position. A local group have put in to coach, beleive to be Josh finn, Paul Newman and Paul Burnett. All three would like to be joint senior coach and have strong off-field support. Not sure who the off field support would be however some old experience heads including laurie casy and dodger ryan would come to mind straight away.
I'm sure he would do a good job but why don't they get someone from outside? The club has been far too internal of late. Same blokes coaching, on selection, and in other roles.:confused:
Orr confirmed as new Echuca coach.
Ky has five applications for their job.
Matthew Pillios
26 Oct 2006, 12:10
Willa isnt going to Marby mate, by next week will be signed up in Mornington so i would suggest not to waste your time and throw the coin at that bloke from Shepp.
I know where Willo is going mate, thanks.
Can I ask you again.
How does Dave rate compared to Willo as a footballer?
They are both C-H-Backs.
You Know It
26 Oct 2006, 12:18
Ky has five applications for their job.
can you elaborate on who these are?? who is, or are, thr front runners??
lion's_roar
26 Oct 2006, 12:55
BREAKING NEWS: Echuca appoints new coach
New coach:Steven Orr
By Steve King
October 26 2006
Shepparton News
Club legend Steven Orr has been appointed coach of Goulburn Valley Football League club Echuca.
Orr, the 1997 Morrison Medalist and member of the Murray Bombers Team of the Century, replaces Dylan Butler, who stood down at the end of the season after two years in the role.
The 34 year-old, who ended his career with the Murray Bombers following the grand final loss to Tatura in 2003, is looking forward to the challenge.
``It's a good opportunity,'' Orr, a triple premiership player, said.
``I've been thinking about coaching for a few years, especially during the time Ken Sheldon was coach here.''
``I'm looking forward to getting underway.''
The Murray Bombers have been missing from finals action since 2004 and Orr is confident only a few changes are needed to the list for the club to again be a contender.
``We'll have minimal outgoings,'' Orr said, with Butler expected to remain with the club.
``But we're on the hunt for a few profile players.''
Orr is now on the lookout for a playing assistant coach, and hopes to have the position filled within the month.
The appointment of Orr ushers in a new era for the Murray Bombers, with Leo Welch replacing Glenn Roberts as president.
Welch is confident the appointment of Orr is a positive one.
``He is a highly decorated and very well respected past player,'' Welch said.
``I'm sure Steve will have a great impact on our playing group as we feel he
is the ideal role model to coach our club.''
Travvy43
26 Oct 2006, 13:04
can you elaborate on who these are?? who is, or are, thr front runners??
Brendan Bicknall (spelling), former shepp boy has been mentioned as one candidate.
Hilton quits Magpies
By Steve King
October 26 2006
Shepparton News
Less than 12 months after arriving amid much fanfare at Memorial Park, former AFL star Rory Hilton has quit Goulburn Valley Football League club Euroa.
Hilton, a Magpie junior, played 14 games in a disappointing season at Memorial Park, during which the club slid from grand finalists last year to outside the finals this year.
"I can't play at Euroa because of work and study," Hilton, who works as a property valuer and also studies full-time in Melbourne, said.
"I've just got too much on."
Hilton returned to the club following 91 matches with Brisbane and Richmond and was trumpeted as the final piece in the Magpies premiership puzzle, however injury hampered him for much of the season, giving local football fans little glimpse of the ability which took him to the game's highest level.
"It was just another year of footy," Hilton said, referring to his constant battle with injury, which also punctuated his AFL career.
"It was good to go back, but it was disappointing how it ended, both personally, and from a team perspective.
"But the club have been fantastic to me."
The 27 year-old said he was unlikely to pull on the boots next year, but would "play again at some stage".
Pace is an Asset
26 Oct 2006, 13:24
Why don't you ask a few of these blokes in charge Ringo1? Surely you must know someone down at Echuca given your ties to the town. Maybe you could call someone during your free period.
Oh, and jump off the Wilson bandwagon. I think he's starting to develop a crush on you ;)
Todays Border mail. Mcfarlaine to coach again and Porter confirmed at Benalla
According to club president.
Why don't you ask a few of these blokes in charge Ringo1? Surely you must know someone down at Echuca given your ties to the town. Maybe you could call someone during your free period.
Oh, and jump off the Wilson bandwagon. I think he's starting to develop a crush on you ;)
Mate I don't know what your on about. I only visit the town for a bit of r&r and have no ties with the club or town. As for Wilson i've only been fair and accurate with my summation-a player with some ability but yet to step-up and thats because I saw him play once and kick 5-in fact would have liked him to come down to Port Fairy and play under Brad Sholl. As for his sexual orientation thats his business. Just like to keep an eye on potential recruits:confused:
Puma Kings
26 Oct 2006, 16:47
Todays Border mail. Mcfarlaine to coach again and Porter confirmed at Benalla
According to club president.
Don't count on Porter being there as the coin has run out!!!:p
The Flying Dutchman
26 Oct 2006, 18:01
Mate I don't know what your on about. I only visit the town for a bit of r&r and have no ties with the club or town. As for Wilson i've only been fair and accurate with my summation-a player with some ability but yet to step-up and thats because I saw him play once and kick 5-in fact would have liked him to come down to Port Fairy and play under Brad Sholl. As for his sexual orientation thats his business. Just like to keep an eye on potential recruits:confused:
i've been talking to one of wilsons best mates this week who i am mates with and he reckons ringo1 and doozy man are both infact ben wilson. ringo 1 can you elaborate on this. and i stick to my opinion that wilson is nothing but a two's player, otherwise known as a fringe line player
rockstarr
26 Oct 2006, 22:10
Hilton quits Magpies
By Steve King
October 26 2006
Shepparton News
Less than 12 months after arriving amid much fanfare at Memorial Park, former AFL star Rory Hilton has quit Goulburn Valley Football League club Euroa.
Hilton, a Magpie junior, played 14 games in a disappointing season at Memorial Park, during which the club slid from grand finalists last year to outside the finals this year.
"I can't play at Euroa because of work and study," Hilton, who works as a property valuer and also studies full-time in Melbourne, said.
"I've just got too much on."
Hilton returned to the club following 91 matches with Brisbane and Richmond and was trumpeted as the final piece in the Magpies premiership puzzle, however injury hampered him for much of the season, giving local football fans little glimpse of the ability which took him to the game's highest level.
"It was just another year of footy," Hilton said, referring to his constant battle with injury, which also punctuated his AFL career.
"It was good to go back, but it was disappointing how it ended, both personally, and from a team perspective.
"But the club have been fantastic to me."
The 27 year-old said he was unlikely to pull on the boots next year, but would "play again at some stage".
FOOTYBOSS you might be able to answer this how many senior players will not be lining up for the pies next year, it sounds like there could be a few leaving.
and will Dan Thomson be lining up again next year because i know bomber is going back to play at Narrandera.
jmain14
27 Oct 2006, 01:39
Singh walks
Balraj Singh
October 27 2006
Shepparton News
Mooroopna spearhead Balraj Singh has quit Goulburn Valley Football League club Mooroopna.
Singh, who kicked 155 goals in 35 games with the Cats, has told The News he will be playing elsewhere in 2007.
But he hasn't ruled out a return to the region.
"I'm weighing up a number of options," Singh, the GVFL's leading goalkicker this year, said.
"I'm looking for a club who will also be able to find me employment."
Melbourne-based Singh confirmed he was in talks with at least eight clubs, including several in the country, but said he had enjoyed his time at Mooroopna after arriving at the Cattery on the eve of the 2005 season.
"I wouldn't give it away for anything," Singh, a former Adelaide draftee, said of his time at Mooroopna.
"I've really enjoyed playing footy at a great club, where I had the respect of the board and the supporters."
Mooroopna president Greg Freer said the club was disappointed, but not surprised by the news.
"He's obviously been a very good player and focal point," Freer said.
Cats coach Derek Hall said Singh's departure would be hard to cover.
"It'll be a blow," Hall said.
"Ninety goals out of any side is going to hurt."
And Hall said he wouldn't be surprised where Singh played.
"He could lob anywhere," Hall said.
-------------
haha I liked the last qoute the best. you're on the money there derek. he could lob anywhere, but my guess is that it'll be with the club that is offering the most. oh well - good on him I guess. if you can get it why not?? honestly though, do ya think big balrag gives a rats about team success or is it soley all about the coin??
Il Naso De Gastev
27 Oct 2006, 01:47
Singh walks
Balraj Singh
October 27 2006
Shepparton News
Mooroopna spearhead Balraj Singh has quit Goulburn Valley Football League club Mooroopna.
Singh, who kicked 155 goals in 35 games with the Cats, has told The News he will be playing elsewhere in 2007.
But he hasn't ruled out a return to the region.
"I'm weighing up a number of options," Singh, the GVFL's leading goalkicker this year, said.
"I'm looking for a club who will also be able to find me employment."
Melbourne-based Singh confirmed he was in talks with at least eight clubs, including several in the country, but said he had enjoyed his time at Mooroopna after arriving at the Cattery on the eve of the 2005 season.
"I wouldn't give it away for anything," Singh, a former Adelaide draftee, said of his time at Mooroopna.
"I've really enjoyed playing footy at a great club, where I had the respect of the board and the supporters."
Mooroopna president Greg Freer said the club was disappointed, but not surprised by the news.
"He's obviously been a very good player and focal point," Freer said.
Cats coach Derek Hall said Singh's departure would be hard to cover.
"It'll be a blow," Hall said.
"Ninety goals out of any side is going to hurt."
And Hall said he wouldn't be surprised where Singh played.
"He could lob anywhere," Hall said.
-------------
haha I liked the last qoute the best. you're on the money there derek. he could lob anywhere, but my guess is that it'll be with the club that is offering the most. oh well - good on him I guess. if you can get it why not?? honestly though, do ya think big balrag gives a rats about team success or is it soley all about the coin??
That is a friggin disgrace. It's exactly this attitude that is killing footy clubs. He outta be ashamed of himself. This bloke will end his footy career with no mates.... sadly there's plenty just like him.
Leather Magnet
27 Oct 2006, 07:39
That is a friggin disgrace. It's exactly this attitude that is killing footy clubs. He outta be ashamed of himself. This bloke will end his footy career with no mates.... sadly there's plenty just like him.
What the **** ever happened to blokes finding their own friggin' jobs?
Young pricks today want to earn bucket loads without ever doing anything and when that doesn't happen they want some other sucker to find them a job anyway.
Balraj or Toerag?
i've been talking to one of wilsons best mates this week who i am mates with and he reckons ringo1 and doozy man are both infact ben wilson. ringo 1 can you elaborate on this. and i stick to my opinion that wilson is nothing but a two's player, otherwise known as a fringe line player
I can assure you that I'm not Wilson and don't know him personally and as I've said I think he has potential but he is no superstar. As 4 doozyman he could be Wilson
Ahh big Singhy hey, had a chat to him out in Shepp one night and im still trying to figure out what he was saying to me. A very very intellegent bloke....
bradrowe#32
27 Oct 2006, 12:04
Singh walks
Good to see you back mate. How's London?
As for Ballrag, does anyone see him still playing in the GV next year? Or will he go to a KDFL or MFL team with a bit of $?
journeyman
27 Oct 2006, 12:46
As for Ballrag, does anyone see him still playing in the GV next year? Or will he go to a KDFL or MFL team with a bit of $?
I can't see how KDFL clubs would have more money than GV or O&M clubs to pay for Singh.
Barooga and Echuca United are big spenders (by reputation anyway) in the Murray League.
How much would he command a game? $800 to $1000?
bradrowe#32
27 Oct 2006, 12:49
I can't see how KDFL clubs would have more money than GV or O&M clubs to pay for Singh.
Barooga and Echuca United are big spenders (by reputation anyway) in the Murray League.
How much would he command a game? $800 to $1000?
I only go by what I hear, nothing factual, but apparently Girgarre spent $100,00+ last year.
I think leading the GV goalkicking will increase his price a bit. Those figures wouldn't suprise me.
journeyman
27 Oct 2006, 12:58
I only go by what I hear, nothing factual, but apparently Girgarre spent $100,00+ last year.
I think leading the GV goalkicking will increase his price a bit. Those figures wouldn't suprise me.
Most GV clubs would have to spend $100,000 to compete wouldn't they? I realise there are exceptions.
Balranald, in Central-Murray League, is well-known for throwing cash around. If he's purely in it for money, it could be the club for him.
Most GV clubs would have to spend $100,000 to compete wouldn't they? I realise there are exceptions.
Balranald, in Central-Murray League, is well-known for throwing cash around. If he's purely in it for money, it could be the club for him.
Money Choices-top 5?
1. Balranald
2. Echuca United
3. Barooga
4. Sth Warrnambool
5.Lavington
T.Perry
27 Oct 2006, 13:15
Although it's pretty common knowledge that Girgarre p i s s e d a fair bit of $ up the wall this year, I think $60,000 is closer to the mark - I don't think ANY club in the KDL ever would ever be able to raise $100K..
Those prices are about what Balraj would command - don't be surprised to see him in a bulldog jumper in 07..
How come there are no GV sides in your top 5 ringo?? Would've thought Seymour, Euroa, Benalla and Mooroopna would have all paid out more than Echuca United, Barooga, etc this year..
Can Shop
27 Oct 2006, 13:16
Money Choices-top 5?
1. Balranald
2. Echuca United
3. Barooga
4. Sth Warrnambool
5.Lavington
Whats about Shepparton Swans...... He could go play under Peter White who was his assistant coach at mooroopna last year.
roaring tiger
27 Oct 2006, 13:26
I hear that Stevie D from Seymour is a good chance to be coaching the North Ballarat Roosters next year. He is getting interviewed this week along with Darryn Cresswell the former Sydney Swan who tipped to get the Tassie Devil's top job.
centreman
27 Oct 2006, 14:22
I hear that Stevie D from Seymour is a good chance to be coaching the North Ballarat Roosters next year. He is getting interviewed this week along with Darryn Cresswell the former Sydney Swan who tipped to get the Tassie Devil's top job.
No doubt he would have started that rumour himself
As for Ballrag, does anyone see him still playing in the GV next year? Or will he go to a KDFL or MFL team with a bit of $?Griffith Swans signed him for 1k a game and he still flew the nest after the 2 games there was rumors that the man also recieved a sign on fee and recieved help with his relocation. Have not seen the man play, but his stats are good. Probably only matched by his mercenary stats:eek:
Travvy43
27 Oct 2006, 15:26
Whats about Shepparton Swans...... He could go play under Peter White who was his assistant coach at mooroopna last year.
That would be my initial thought, hima nd chap hada pretty good relationship during their time at the cats. Who knows though, the swans may already have theeir funds committeed elsewhere.
Can Shop
27 Oct 2006, 15:40
Heres a question for everyone who would you rather recruit Damien Yze or Balraj Singh
Full Foward
27 Oct 2006, 16:01
Neither.
Both can play but both demand to many $'s
lion's_roar
27 Oct 2006, 16:14
Cresswell will be announced as coach of the Devils tommorow morning .. if he's not I might not have a job on Sunday.
Let's hope you're on the money then mate as Im sure ya dont wanna end up back in Shepp hey :thumbsu:
Bodzy_13
27 Oct 2006, 17:33
Talking to a mate who is pretty close with the Heathcote board and he said they are chasing Balraj Singh to play in a 2 prong attack with Matty Waters. Offered him $700 a game as well as travel money till they get him a place in bend or somthing. would absolutely dominate HDFL, no challenge at all. Is he just looking for the coin?
Sure is after the $$$ . . . with what Heathcote reportedly look like losing the ball mightnt get down there much
Can Shop
28 Oct 2006, 09:45
$700 a game would would be about half the price of what big balraj is chasing.Believed to be asking for a lot more then what he was on at the cats.
no chance of him ending up at heathcote, he'll get offered more cash than that at much higher standard league.
Sly Dog
29 Oct 2006, 17:55
a couple of strong rumours over the weekend. look out for the swans next year with 4 or 5 recruits coming over from adelaide and the current group staying. the singh rumour is getting stronger at tatura, with the coaching appointment maybe this week. bicknell a strong chance at ky. the 3 way appointment of local guys surely couldnt be true, not even minor leagues do that sort of thing. good on them for putting up the hand, but experience will prevail surely.
Interesting to hear about the three young guys from Ky putting up their hand to coach. they should be commended for their loyalty and trying to help out. But in this day and age the coach needs to have some background in coaching and also have the ability to bring players. also 3 in charge just won't work, i think you need someone who overseas the whole football dept. three young guys wouldn't have the ability to do that.
Have seen Brendan Bicknell play years ago and heard him speak at huddles and if it is him i think he could do ok. not saying he would be the saviour, but he'd do alright.
a couple of strong rumours over the weekend. look out for the swans next year with 4 or 5 recruits coming over from adelaide and the current group staying. the singh rumour is getting stronger at tatura, with the coaching appointment maybe this week. bicknell a strong chance at ky. the 3 way appointment of local guys surely couldnt be true, not even minor leagues do that sort of thing. good on them for putting up the hand, but experience will prevail surely.
Any word on who those Adelaide boys are, or which club there from !?
You Know It
30 Oct 2006, 06:44
Don't be surprised if the 3 boys get the nod for the ky job, should find out in the next day or so!
FOOTYBOSS
30 Oct 2006, 07:38
FOOTYBOSS you might be able to answer this how many senior players will not be lining up for the pies next year, it sounds like there could be a few leaving.
and will Dan Thomson be lining up again next year because i know bomber is going back to play at Narrandera.
Rory Hilton, Shannon Gibson, Ash Thomson, Nathan Gilliland and Craig Marshall are definate non starters at Euroa next year, there is also a few other boys in talks with other clubs, but arent committing anywhere toa coach is named which will be in the coming week, I would say. Dan Thomson will be lining up again as far as I know.
Linc and Bryce Wellington to Numurkah. Linc as coach.
Tat will struggle to get singh now, you would think.
Travvy43
30 Oct 2006, 09:09
I hear that Stevie D from Seymour is a good chance to be coaching the North Ballarat Roosters next year.
From what i hear, 10 being interviewed for the job
Doozy_Man
30 Oct 2006, 10:04
I can assure you that I'm not Wilson and don't know him personally and as I've said I think he has potential but he is no superstar. As 4 doozyman he could be Wilson
Ha - If Wilson reads all this he will love it. There is a bit too much talk about him lately. There is bigger things to talk about.
I'm interested in who will get the coaching role at Ky?
Balraj is surely not worth that much $$$!
Jarman03
30 Oct 2006, 11:18
Whats the word on the Cats for next year, heard there could be a few players weighing up their options. Any word on the travelling guys like norman, aloi etc. Will Shauny Robbins play on or join his brother down in the Ballarat League.
centreman
30 Oct 2006, 11:45
Interesting to hear about the three young guys from Ky putting up their hand to coach. they should be commended for their loyalty and trying to help out. But in this day and age the coach needs to have some background in coaching and also have the ability to bring players. also 3 in charge just won't work, i think you need someone who overseas the whole football dept. three young guys wouldn't have the ability to do that.
Have seen Brendan Bicknell play years ago and heard him speak at huddles and if it is him i think he could do ok. not saying he would be the saviour, but he'd do alright.
We want to coach Ky
By Gus Underwood
October 27 2006
Kyabram Free Press
Three prominent Kyabram players want to guide the on-field fortunes of the Bombers' senior football team in 2007.
Paul Newman, Josh Finn and former skipper Paul Burnett have thrown their hats, collectively, into the senior coaching ring.
They applied for the position before the application closing deadline yesterday.
They want to take on the senior coaching position in a joint capacity and believe they have a lot to offer.
The trio has already been on the recruiting trail with club best and fairest winners Chris Atkins and David Newman endorsing their application and also giving an assurance they will return to the club next season if the trio is appointed.
In a very well-prepared and informative application for the position, the trio listed the following points as issues they would address in their bid to make the club a feared force again in the GVL:
Professionalism
Player recruitment
Junior development
Code of conduct - team rules
Communication
Training sessions
Longevity of club
As well as Atkins and David Newman the trio claims other former players of the club have also given an assurance they will return to the club in 2007 if the application is successful.
And the trio is confident that it will hold the promising junior players emerging from its Under 18 ranks this season.
The trio acknowledges the concept of having three joint senior coaches would be revolutionary, but believes it will work with the three players in control and responsible for different playing zones.
Another ace the trio believes it has up its sleeve and believes will help make the concept work is an assurance from former club champion Lawrie Casey to be chairman of selectors.
Casey, a triple Bomber best and fairest winner, is regarded as one of the best football brains in the Goulburn Valley who is abreast with the modern game who has the respect and ability to liaise with all players.
He would work the bench on match days.
Paul Newman said this week that he, Josh and Paul were confident in their ability to coach at the level required to lead the club into a successful era.
"We believe our appointment would create enormous local interest and community spirit."
Rory Hilton, Shannon Gibson, Ash Thomson, Nathan Gilliland and Craig Marshall are definate non starters at Euroa next year, there is also a few other boys in talks with other clubs, but arent committing anywhere toa coach is named which will be in the coming week, I would say. Dan Thomson will be lining up again as far as I know.
Marshall been posted elsewhere or just playing elsewhere in the area?
Travvy43
30 Oct 2006, 11:58
Whats the word on the Cats for next year, heard there could be a few players weighing up their options. Any word on the travelling guys like norman, aloi etc. Will Shauny Robbins play on or join his brother down in the Ballarat League.
Have heard norman will front up again, aloi is unlikely (perhaps going to Greenvale with his brother) and learmonth is gone too, he will be coaching Darley in the Ballarat footy league.
the eye
30 Oct 2006, 11:58
Does anyone have any news on who will be leaving and who will be staying at seymour in regards to players. I ask because i've heard a whisper that they could lose up to 10 players from last years flag
FOOTYBOSS
30 Oct 2006, 12:25
Marshall been posted elsewhere or just playing elsewhere in the area?
He has been posted in Darwin.
FOOTYBOSS
30 Oct 2006, 12:26
Does anyone have any news on who will be leaving and who will be staying at seymour in regards to players. I ask because i've heard a whisper that they could lose up to 10 players from last years flag
Care to name any names.
the eye
30 Oct 2006, 12:55
Care to name any names.
from what i've heard they include Bailey, pemberton, douglas, jake annderson, van reit, reid and colbert
Max Leader
30 Oct 2006, 15:16
Where is Colbert heading too?