View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Snail
30 Oct 2006, 15:44
Adrian Dohnt from Moama 2 play with echuca 2007, the boy can play

Can Shop
30 Oct 2006, 18:57
matt chilcott to coach tatura is a new one

Grimmett
30 Oct 2006, 20:14
Adrian Dohnt from Moama 2 play with echuca 2007, the boy can play

Excellent player but injury prone.

Grimmett
30 Oct 2006, 20:17
Have heard norman will front up again, aloi is unlikely (perhaps going to Greenvale with his brother) and learmonth is gone too, he will be coaching Darley in the Ballarat footy league.

Any feedback about Gary Learmonth?
Play alright? Good coach? Tightarse who won't buy a drink? ;)

head67
30 Oct 2006, 20:27
Hey Boss Was there ant effort at all to entice Hilton to coach. He has played under some of the best in the game.

TuskenRaider
30 Oct 2006, 20:35
Hey Boss Was there ant effort at all to entice Hilton to coach. He has played under some of the best in the game.
Like Geishen & Frawley?

Hilton would make a good coach though.

FOOTYBOSS
31 Oct 2006, 07:19
I doubt it very much considering he stated he didnt have the time to even play footy next year. Coaching takes up far more time then playing head. Im sure we will find a coach soon enough.

In reference to Hilts playing under some of the best in the game, I think not. Frawley and Gieschen were absolute jokes of coaches. You would probably wouldnt learn to much under them.

head67
31 Oct 2006, 07:20
Like Geishen & Frawley?

Hilton would make a good coach though.I was thinking Mathews.

FOOTYBOSS
31 Oct 2006, 07:24
I was thinking Mathews.
Was he at Brisbane when Matthews took over?

TuskenRaider
31 Oct 2006, 07:29
I was thinking Mathews.
Hilton would have had a quick conversation with Leigh at Brisbane airport as Rory was collecting his boarding pass to go back to Melbourne and Leigh waiting at the baggage claim.

But I knew you were thinking of Matthews:)

head67
31 Oct 2006, 07:33
Was he at Brisbane when Matthews took over?97/98. I thought he was, sorry wrong. Northey in those years and merrit took over half way through his 2nd year Mathews took over in 99. Northey might be the pick out of the 3 of them.:)

FOOTYBOSS
31 Oct 2006, 07:35
97/98. I thought he was, sorry wrong. Northey in those years and merrit took over half way through his 2nd year Mathews took over in 99. Northey might be the pick out of the 3 of them.:)
So that means he has played under Northery, Merret, Walls, Geischen, Frawley and Wallace. The best one I would say would be Wallace without a doubt.:thumbsu:

head67
31 Oct 2006, 07:50
So that means he has played under Northery, Merret, Walls, Geischen, Frawley and Wallace. The best one I would say would be Wallace without a doubt.:thumbsu:So my opening comment that he played under some of the best was close:o . Should of read some of the worst:D

TuskenRaider
31 Oct 2006, 09:23
97/98. I thought he was, sorry wrong. Northey in those years and merrit took over half way through his 2nd year Mathews took over in 99. Northey might be the pick out of the 3 of them.:)
Have to agree there head.

Northey has the best record of any of those coaches, including Wallace.

News Leak
31 Oct 2006, 10:57
Any word on who those Adelaide boys are, or which club there from !?
Speaking to a bloke in Adelaide who said Nathan Bell is coming back to the swans and bringing 4 others.

News Leak
31 Oct 2006, 11:06
My info says the tail is attempting to wag the dog. Tends to happen there a bit.

The Mansfield boys were on a their footy trip to Perth and ran into Jock at the Casino at 4pm and said as far as he knew he was still coaching. Although they hadn't been in contact for a fortnight

BIGANT
31 Oct 2006, 11:11
Speaking to a bloke in Adelaide who said Nathan Bell is coming back to the swans and bringing 4 others. Interesting news that !? heard a whisper that he had re-signed w his home club of Tantanoola in the mid s/east league (minor league below the WBfl) who he won a flag w this yr and he also won the leagues b&f.He certainly will be a good pick-up & welcome back for the swans if he does come back, he's one of those players that won't take long to step up and re-ajust (spelling) especially knowing that he's played there before.

LOBSTER
31 Oct 2006, 11:14
Speaking to a bloke in Adelaide who said Nathan Bell is coming back to the swans and bringing 4 others.
Who is Nathan Bell? What type of player?

Xander
31 Oct 2006, 11:24
from what i've heard they include Bailey, pemberton, douglas, jake annderson, van reit, reid and colbert

I've heard Bailey will go. Jake Anderson will apparently do a pre season with Hawthorn. Reid and Colbert are supposed to be good mates so will either go or stay together. I've also heard Schottner is looking at coaching options outside the club. Have heard nothing on Van Reit.

Doona2
31 Oct 2006, 11:34
I've heard Bailey will go. Jake Anderson will apparently do a pre season with Hawthorn. Reid and Colbert are supposed to be good mates so will either go or stay together. I've also heard Schottner is looking at coaching options outside the club. Have heard nothing on Van Reit.

Schotty captain of the club, newly inducted life member so Id be surprised on that one Xander

Travvy43
31 Oct 2006, 11:46
Who is Nathan Bell? What type of player?

I think he won their b&f the year before the one just gone. Handy tall on-baller type from memory.

Grandale
31 Oct 2006, 11:58

I would not at all be surprised if Shotty's first coaching stint turned him off the caper for good.

Chance
31 Oct 2006, 12:26
Interesting. Where did you hear this? Also know that Pilling is definitely gone and the Great Saad Saad might get rookie listed at Essendon. Not looking good for a 3peat if these rumours are true. Can we entice fat back pocket back to confirm/deny these rumours?

Doona2
31 Oct 2006, 14:03
Interesting. Where did you hear this? Also know that Pilling is definitely gone and the Great Saad Saad might get rookie listed at Essendon. Not looking good for a 3peat if these rumours are true. Can we entice fat back pocket back to confirm/deny these rumours?

Reckon FBP went out on a high and has retired from Big Footy.

What about Luke Jackson, Cameron Ramsay and that man Rattray - will they be back in 2007 not to mention some handy two's players like Dom Russo just itching for a regular berth. What will young O'Keefe do if he dont get back on the Bombers list surely he'd be a chance to head home to Kings Park also???

Doona2
31 Oct 2006, 14:05
LATEST: GV star to coach Numurkah

By Steve King
October 31 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura star Linc Wellington will coach Murray Football League club Numurkah next season after the Blues pulled off a major recruiting coup this week.

Wellington, 27, signed with the club on Monday night after a decorated career with the Bulldogs.

"I've been thinking about coaching a fair bit,'' Wellington, who played 96 games with Tatura after making his debut in 2002, including the 2003 Goulburn Valley league premiership, said.

"It was a good offer and I'm pretty excited.''

More, tomorrow's News

Xander
31 Oct 2006, 15:57

I know a few blokes down at Kings Park that seem to be in the know - but you all know what 2nd and 3rd hand information is like? Saad would be crazy not to "jump" at a chance form essendon, but if that falls through, why wouldn't he stay at Seymour? They treat him like a God down there dont they?:)

adak
31 Oct 2006, 16:57
We here plenty of talk about midfielders and forwards but who would be the top 5 ruckman and tall defenders in the GV?

You Know It
31 Oct 2006, 18:58
the 3 ky boys got the nod for the coaching role, should be very interesting how the young bombers go next year...

master21
31 Oct 2006, 19:11
who got the ky coaching job,,..names please?

hank1
31 Oct 2006, 19:15
who got the ky coaching job,,..names please?

Paul Burnett, Paul Newman and Josh Finn

Doona2
31 Oct 2006, 19:29
We here plenty of talk about midfielders and forwards but who would be the top 5 ruckman and tall defenders in the GV?

Kirby or Schotty as the ruck choice and Joffa as the tall defender

ringo1
31 Oct 2006, 19:29
interesting one the ky job. anyone know how it will work. is their 3 assistants, 3 runners, 3 chairman of selectors. is there only one guy in charge really. what are others thoughts as i have never seen or heard of this before.

Footy08
31 Oct 2006, 21:20
Jake Cowman would have to be one of the better ruckman getting around the GV?

saints03
31 Oct 2006, 21:28
Kirby or Schotty as the ruck choice and Joffa as the tall defender
you would nearly throw in a bloke by the name of mark porter as a ruck i would have thought considering he is the number one big man in gv footy

TuskenRaider
1 Nov 2006, 07:11
you would nearly throw in a bloke by the name of mark porter as a ruck i would have thought considering he is the number one big man in gv footy
Exactly. No disrespect to the other two mentioned but he's a fair way ahead of those two.

bloodhound!
1 Nov 2006, 07:13
Just wondering if there was any rochy person out there that could confirm wether the rumour that Rochy is chasing Elmore captain Brian Westley is true or not??

Doona2
1 Nov 2006, 07:37

I was judgin more over a period of recent seasons, Porter played 2006 and is moving on aint he? Porter I agree was the best in 2006 but as I said I judged more on past GV performances - sorry to confuse

saints03
1 Nov 2006, 07:52
I was judgin more over a period of recent seasons, Porter played 2006 and is moving on aint he? Porter I agree was the best in 2006 but as I said I judged more on past GV performances - sorry to confuse
porter will be playing at benalla next year already commited

LOBSTER
1 Nov 2006, 08:19
Ahh... the old Saad Saad to Essendon thing ha popped its head up again.. Not going to happen chance, this rumour has being doing the runs for about 3 years now and nothing has happened, so why all of sudden are they going to take him. He is the most lazy footballer I have ever seen play. But he does have some freakish talent at times.

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 08:25
I believe Singh and one other morropna player are talking with another GV club. The club will cut down the travelling time from melbourne.

LOBSTER
1 Nov 2006, 08:26
I believe Singh and one other morropna player are talking with another GV club. The club will cut down the travelling time from melbourne.
Give us the club Travvy. Sounds like Seymour....

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 08:33
So i have heard anyway.

Cats could be loosing a few, aloi, learmonth, sing, tremellan, j Best and contrary to my ealrier thoughts, karl norman could also be on the move.

Jarman03
1 Nov 2006, 09:21
Any talk of where Aloi or Norman would go, even Tremellan, they travel up from melbourne dont they?

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 09:27
Any talk of where Aloi or Norman would go, even Tremellan, they travel up from melbourne dont they?

Aloi, not sure with him, talk has been back to wodonga where he playede previously but i think somewhere in melbounre (Greenvale perhaps with his bro) would be preferred.

Trem, could perhaps still remain in the GV, and norman, who knows.

Xander
1 Nov 2006, 09:59
Give us the club Travvy. Sounds like Seymour....

I highly doubt Singh would be playing at Seymour. They are known for recrcuiting hard working - value for $$$ players and i dont think Singh fits either category - do you?

Doona2
1 Nov 2006, 10:10
I highly doubt Singh would be playing at Seymour. They are known for recrcuiting hard working - value for $$$ players and i dont think Singh fits either category - do you?

Yeah but with Pilling gone, Gordo tossing up retiring and question mark on Saad they're gunna need a target up there.

slim18
1 Nov 2006, 10:18
porter will be playing at benalla next year already commited

Has he actually signed yet Sainter?

Wear The Fox Hat
1 Nov 2006, 10:22

Correct - shepp swans are talking to singh & j best. The reduced travel time will be due to them not having to train?

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 10:26
Correct - shepp swans are talking to singh & j best. The reduced travel time will be due to them not having to train?

Like it, but no you are wrong, swans not talking to singh or best. They have their money tied in elsewhere.

journeyman
1 Nov 2006, 10:34
Heard that Tatura have appointed a bloke from Sth Australia as coach. Malcolm Noble is his name. Apparently he's been an assistant coach in the SANFL for a number of years.

Noble was a candidate for the Shepp Swans gig

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 10:37
Heard that Tatura have appointed a bloke from Sth Australia as coach. Malcolm Noble is his name. Apparently he's been an assistant coach in the SANFL for a number of years.

Noble was a candidate for the Shepp Swans gig

Was assistant coach under Shaun Rhen (spelling) last year. Non playing too.

Any news on S Daniels.

Doona2
1 Nov 2006, 11:31

Any news on S Daniels.

Dont worry about Steve, what about Dave Gleeson? My informant tells me he will be re-appointed at Euroa :eek:

FOOTYBOSS
1 Nov 2006, 11:37

Any news on S Daniels.
News on S Daniels is his gut got a little bigger during the celebrations of back to back flags.

saints03
1 Nov 2006, 11:50
Has he actually signed yet Sainter?

If my information i have recieved is correct and i believe it is he has already signed so yes to that question slim. it would be great if you come back to benalla next year to buddy

Travvy43
1 Nov 2006, 12:09
Dont worry about Steve, what about Dave Gleeson? My informant tells me he will be re-appointed at Euroa :eek:

Does this leave Trav Ryan as 3SR's new special comments man for 2007??

slim18
1 Nov 2006, 12:40
If my information i have recieved is correct and i believe it is he has already signed so yes to that question slim. it would be great if you come back to benalla next year to buddy

Sorry mate I have a boys adventure trip first and then I'm still committed
elsewhere.

saints03
1 Nov 2006, 12:45
Sorry mate I have a boys adventure trip first and then I'm still committed
elsewhere.

Thats no good hope ya have fun in western australia mate

JimCarter
1 Nov 2006, 13:08

Been keeping in touch with the 3rd oldest of Donny's boys Doona ? Wouldnt have anything to do with your new coaching role?? ;)

master21
1 Nov 2006, 13:27
interesting one the ky job. anyone know how it will work. is their 3 assistants, 3 runners, 3 chairman of selectors. is there only one guy in charge really. what are others thoughts as i have never seen or heard of this before.

The ky job certainly is an interesting one...weird actually. Ky is really keeping it in the family.playd with 2 of these guys before and id say paul burnett would be a fantastic coach but the GVL is a high level for him to begin his coaching career at. They will need to attract big name players to win matches and again for the 10th consecutive year i cant see this happening with the new coaches. Another losing season for ky looks on the cards but good luck to em and hope they prove me wrong. If they can get rid of that losing culture around the club then they may just start to do something correct.

Rushy Tiger
1 Nov 2006, 14:18
Just wondering if there was any rochy person out there that could confirm wether the rumour that Rochy is chasing Elmore captain Brian Westley is true or not??

Has some close mates at rochy but is still a favourite son at Elmore. Hard to see him leaving. Might be inclined to think twice though due to the fact that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson signed during the week. Have heard rumours of Elliot Bowen going to Shep Swans, anyone have the latest on him?

Hornie
1 Nov 2006, 15:07
Aloi, not sure with him, talk has been back to wodonga where he playede previously but i think somewhere in melbounre (Greenvale perhaps with his bro) would be preferred.

Trem, could perhaps still remain in the GV, and norman, who knows.

Would probab;y have to fix the petrol pumps before returning to Wodonga Raiders!!!!!

cosby
1 Nov 2006, 15:22

He is in his 50's but apparently very good with the youth and gets the most out of players.
Sounds like he'll need to be though as Kirby is almsot certainly on the move aswell.
Not sure if this is already reported.
But some good news for Tat however is that they have signed another ruckman (not sure of his name) from the Ballarat league. Apparently he goes alright and played in that leagues representative side this year.

Duff Man
1 Nov 2006, 15:36
News on S Daniels is his gut got a little bigger during the celebrations of back to back flags.

How true Boss , he loves his wild turkeys. SJ told all the boys he would be having a year of in 07 , and just coaching his son at Greenvale in the under 12s and might coach the GVFL side again .:thumbsu:

LEEMA
1 Nov 2006, 15:49
How true Boss , he loves his wild turkeys. SJ told all the boys he would be having a year of in 07 , and just coaching his son at Greenvale in the under 12s and might coach the GVFL side again .:thumbsu:

I heard they were trying to get him to hang around and help out either Habers or Amad in a minor roll .

Wear The Fox Hat
1 Nov 2006, 16:07
Like it, but no you are wrong, swans not talking to singh or best. They have their money tied in elsewhere.

Elsewhere is that Maher , Mc Carty , White , Bulleen , Statham , Ryan etc etc etc etc

Duff Man
1 Nov 2006, 16:19
I heard they were trying to get him to hang around and help out either Habers or Amad in a minor roll .

If he was going to hang around he would coach , so i carnt see that happening .

LEEMA
1 Nov 2006, 16:37
the 3 ky boys got the nod for the coaching role, should be very interesting how the young bombers go next year...

Can this work ? 3 coaches surely there will be conflict, arguements. Would this be a first in football ? Well only time will tell if it works or not.

master21
1 Nov 2006, 16:43
But some good news for Tat however is that they have signed another ruckman (not sure of his name) from the Ballarat league. Apparently he goes alright and played in that leagues representative side this year.[/quote]

Is it Koderenko who played for East point in the BFL who is supposed to have signed at tatura??..I no that he rucked for ballarat in the interleague side so it could be him.

nesko_25
1 Nov 2006, 16:46
Has some close mates at rochy but is still a favourite son at Elmore. Hard to see him leaving. Might be inclined to think twice though due to the fact that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson signed during the week. Have heard rumours of Elliot Bowen going to Shep Swans, anyone have the latest on him?

He's got a job interview and that with decide were he plays. Either Rochy or he'll head home to Sunraysia. Highly doubt him going to Shep

Krakour Magic
1 Nov 2006, 17:14
Been keeping in touch with the 3rd oldest of Donny's boys Doona ? Wouldnt have anything to do with your new coaching role?? ;)

I've got a very strong suspicion that the third of Don's boys wouldn't ever end up as a Broady boy in a Kangaroos jumper. Tell me it aint so, Doona? :confused:

Think the closest he'll get to Broadford is his long lost 3rd cousins, Chris and Justin (Jason?) Mills. Best under 10s players I've ever seen, although they were 5'9" at the age of 10 and haven't grown much since......

cookie33
1 Nov 2006, 17:59
Nic Aloi to play at Greenvale with his brother.

Singh is throwing his name out at a number of GV clubs. Is asking the world as suspected.

Melbourne players from Tat signed at Red Hill in the MPNFL with ex Dog Brad Murphy and 2 Essendon District players.

Saad to stay at Seymour, only other option would be in the DVFL probably with Northcote or Heidelberg.

Tim Little is the player i believe as being touted as signing at Tatura. Interleague ruckman for the Ballarat and would be on the same level as Schottner and Kirby.

Seymour chasing Epping B&F winner Shane Jacobs, apparantley throwing a little bit of coin at him.

Norman to play footy in Melbourne.

Kirbys probable location is Wodonga.

Forys wants out of Shepp Utd.

Johnny Tapp
1 Nov 2006, 18:03
Believe Ash Watson and Ben Anderson have signed with Rochy today

Doona2
1 Nov 2006, 20:38
Long way from the mark sorry to say jim carter and krakour barrell - my mail came from a source not tied to the GV Magpies, but from my former media circles. Still no one has confrimed or denied this rumour???

Why the sudden interest in my coaching appointment, who I have spoke to and more importantly haven't spoke to in Millsy's case. Was all keen to have a crack at him until that send off Grand Final day, in light of recent public perception Im not keen to attract thugs ;)

Doona2
1 Nov 2006, 20:43
I've got a very strong suspicion that the third of Don's boys wouldn't ever end up as a Broady boy in a Kangaroos jumper. Tell me it aint so, Doona? :confused:

Think the closest he'll get to Broadford is his long lost 3rd cousins, Chris and Justin (Jason?) Mills. Best under 10s players I've ever seen, although they were 5'9" at the age of 10 and haven't grown much since......

Is Millsy trying to get $$$ out of the Maggies or something, he'd be loving all this publicity I reckon :p

Geez Fart McMartin wasn't too far off one of the all time greats in the SDJFL, along with those Pertile brothers from St. Mary's . . . puberty and kids development is an amazing thing hey, I was a runt meself in my junior days, not that you would know that now!!!

Doona2
2 Nov 2006, 06:38
Obviously I was off the mark . . . sorry lads!!!

Feathers are unruffled

By Steve King
November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Euroa Football Club president Xavier Thomson has said the club is not ready to push the panic button, despite its failure to appoint a coach, nearly two months since the end of the Goulburn Valley Football League season.

Thomson, who was elected president of the Magpies for a fourth term earlier this week, said the search was still on for a replacement for David Gleeson.

"We can't wait for the right person to come along," Thomson said.

"We have to go out and get them.

"It's not going to be easy, but we think there's someone out there."

The Magpies were deep in negotiations with Travis Ryan up until a fortnight ago, before the former Tatura coach withdrew his interest for the position.

Despite their struggle to make an appointment, Thomson is confident the Magpies won't be behind the eight-ball.

"Pre-season has been mapped out," Thomson said.

"We're just waiting for someone to take the helm."

Meanwhile, Shepparton United is still searching for its replacement for Steve Hazelman.

Football manager Craig Blizzard said the Demons were not in a rush to make an appointment.

"We're still looking around," Blizzard said.

"We're not in a rush.

"It's a decision we've got to get right."

Dogs gone

By Steve King
November 2 2006
Shepparton News

The dismantling of Tatura's 2003 Goulburn Valley Football League premiership team is almost complete.

Of the 21 players who took the Bulldogs to glory a little more than three years ago, only two remain - Jason Dagger and Paul Kirby.

And there is no guarantee that Kirby will be wearing the red, white and blue next year, with a number of clubs keen to secure the big ruckman's signature.

Premiership heroes Linc Wellington, Jarrod Pollard and Lee Warnett all played with the Bulldogs this year, but will play elsewhere next season, with Wellington to coach Numurkah, and Pollard and Warnett joining Tocumwal.

Interleague representative Michael Roberts, who was a member of the Bulldogs' losing grand final side in 2004, is also likely to depart.

Travis Ryan, who was captain on that glorious September afternoon, and coached the club for the past two seasons, is expected to have no involvement in footy next year.

"There were a few at the end of their careers," Ryan said of the 2003 line-up.

"There was also a couple out of Melbourne.

"But it's a big turnover.

"We lost 15 after 2004 (when Tatura lost the grand final to Mansfield)."

Ryan said the Bulldogs were in a tough situation when he was appointed coach last year, following the departure of premiership mentor Danny Stevens.

"No doubt," Ryan said.

"We worked hard to try and build it back up."

Krakour Magic
2 Nov 2006, 07:43
Geez Fart McMartin wasn't too far off one of the all time greats in the SDJFL, along with those Pertile brothers from St. Mary's . . . puberty and kids development is an amazing thing hey, I was a runt meself in my junior days, not that you would know that now!!![/quote]

Ahh, the Pertile brothers. That is gold!:thumbsu: . From memory one of the boys got cancer at a young age, although I could be mistaken.

Would have been great to see a lot of the former SDJFL players go onto better things in the GV. Some of the stars fade away (or don't grow anymore), and some of the lesser lights blossom.

Whatever happened to that mate of your's from Kilmore, Leigh McCraigh (spelling?). Came good by u/15s, but I never heard anything more of him in football circles.

Some other stars from juniors, some of whom have gone onto GV or other:

Jeff Roscoe (Seymour Demons); Abbott (Kilmore); JJ (Kilmore); Dunn (Broadford); Hilton x 2 (Euroa); Hall (Broadford/Wallan); Francis Peva (Broadford); Petering (Seymour Lions); Jacavou (Broadford - lightening!); Stu Inness (Broadford - spelling? Not the Essendon cricketer, although he could play too); Lamaro (Euroa); Milburn (Broadford - surprise packet); Rudd (Seymour Lions); Makin (Kilmore).

Yes, Doona, everybody's favorite - Jason McMartin.

Travvy43
2 Nov 2006, 07:47
My mail is that Bowen is a good chance to play at the swans, a lot depends on employment and this is a good chance of being sorted out.

Hows this one too, i nearly fell off my chair when i heard it, Singh may be playing amateurs, with seymour still in the mix.

Doona, your question on the VFL thread, my tip, hinkley.

TuskenRaider
2 Nov 2006, 07:54
I would be very surpised if Seymour signed Singh. Don't think it would fit in with their philosophy.

TuskenRaider
2 Nov 2006, 07:59

Jeff Roscoe (Seymour Demons); Abbott (Kilmore); JJ (Kilmore); Dunn (Broadford); Hilton x 2 (Euroa); Hall (Broadford/Wallan); Francis Peva (Broadford); Petering (Seymour Lions); Jacavou (Broadford - lightening!); Stu Inness (Broadford - spelling? Not the Essendon cricketer, although he could play too); Lamaro (Euroa); Milburn (Broadford - surprise packet); Rudd (Seymour Lions); Makin (Kilmore).

Think poor old Jeffery Roscoe fell foul of a few of his Lions teammates in the thirds one year and was never to return.;)

Grandale
2 Nov 2006, 08:10
Is Millsy trying to get $$$ out of the Maggies or something, he'd be loving all this publicity I reckon :p

Geez Fart McMartin wasn't too far off one of the all time greats in the SDJFL, along with those Pertile brothers from St. Mary's . . . puberty and kids development is an amazing thing hey, I was a runt meself in my junior days, not that you would know that now!!!

Chris Mills and Rory Hilton were the two best SDJFL footballers Grandale saw. Quite amazing given Bustling Barry and Jason Johnson graduated through the ranks at around the same time.

Grandale
2 Nov 2006, 08:17
Ahh, the Pertile brothers. That is gold!:thumbsu: . From memory one of the boys got cancer at a young age, although I could be mistaken.

Would have been great to see a lot of the former SDJFL players go onto better things in the GV. Some of the stars fade away (or don't grow anymore), and some of the lesser lights blossom.

Whatever happened to that mate of your's from Kilmore, Leigh McCraigh (spelling?). Came good by u/15s, but I never heard anything more of him in football circles.

Yeah, I believe Claudio had leukemia as a youngster.
You raise some good names, Maj. Brendan Abbott, hey, everytime I hear about that fella that was the postcard bandit I think back to my under15 days.
I think you mean Stu Denness. He was playing with Seymour a few seasons back (the Johnny Mac era I think) but did his knee and last I recall was back at Broady.
James Rudd was another who was an absolute freak as a junior but just lost interest

ringo1
2 Nov 2006, 08:22
Jono Solomon was no good as a youngster but won a Morrison. The Clydesdales excellent juniors but struggled in junior ranks. Darren Comi could play a bit as well

fuzzyswan
2 Nov 2006, 08:28
as far as gun SDJFL juniors go, although i think he may have only played until the end of u13s, Tom Lyons from St. Marys was an out and out freak

of the guys i played against, jesse silver from broadford bought up his 100 goals for the season one year in round 12 and luke gilliland from euroa was a star. dunno where any of them ended up.

Doona2
2 Nov 2006, 08:42
My mail is that Bowen is a good chance to play at the swans, a lot depends on employment and this is a good chance of being sorted out.

Hows this one too, i nearly fell off my chair when i heard it, Singh may be playing amateurs, with seymour still in the mix.

Doona, your question on the VFL thread, my tip, hinkley.

Ta mate, was told last night it was an AFL assistant time will tell.

head67
2 Nov 2006, 08:51
Jono Solomon was no good as a youngster but won a Morrison. The Clydesdales excellent juniors but struggled in junior ranks. Darren Comi could play a bit as wellI remember all those names from high school comps. Not as footballers but as atheletes. They were natural juimpers and runners thus seymour use to dominate the high school aths comps back then. Especially Comi.

Can Shop
2 Nov 2006, 08:58
Has anyone heard on what ex Carlton player Justin Davies is up to. I would of thought the local clubs would be keen to have talks with him

TuskenRaider
2 Nov 2006, 09:22
Chris Mills and Rory Hilton were the two best SDJFL footballers Grandale saw. Quite amazing given Bustling Barry and Jason Johnson graduated through the ranks at around the same time.
Have to be on the money there Grandale.

TuskenRaider
2 Nov 2006, 09:25
as far as gun SDJFL juniors go, although i think he may have only played until the end of u13s, Tom Lyons from St. Marys was an out and out freak

Tommy Lyons went to Geelong Grammar if I recall correctly, and he played for Geelong Falcons, then played for Geelong in the VFL, and the last I saw him play was with Werribee in 2004. Not sure what he's up to now.

Good player and top fella.

ringo1
2 Nov 2006, 09:59
I remember all those names from high school comps. Not as footballers but as atheletes. They were natural juimpers and runners thus seymour use to dominate the high school aths comps back then. Especially Comi.

Comi was kicking bags of goals for senior seniors whilst still eligible for u/16s. I don'y know what happened to him after his seymour days.:thumbsu:

Doona2
2 Nov 2006, 10:25
Started up an old Seymour DJFL thread lads, jump on there as this talk may pi$$ a few GV lads off a bit :thumbsu:

bradrowe#32
2 Nov 2006, 10:55

I don't know why Bowen would want to play for the Swans. He came to Rochy at the start of the year because of his friendship with the Bendigo boys, especially Schmidt.

Next year, Rochy should improve significantly with Ben Anderson, Ash and Mark Watson, Carl Moon and Brad Major all returning.

Very odd.

Can Shop
2 Nov 2006, 10:57
I don't know why Bowen would want to play for the Swans. He came to Rochy at the start of the year because of his friendship with the Bendigo boys, especially Schmidt.

Next year, Rochy should improve significantly with Ben Anderson, Ash and Mark Watson, Carl Moon and Brad Major all returning.

Very odd.

Not getting smart or anything but theres a thing called coin and thats what would be entising him down to princess park

FOOTYBOSS
2 Nov 2006, 10:59
Elsewhere is that Maher , Mc Carty , White , Bulleen , Statham , Ryan etc etc etc etc
I think that you would find that Bullen has already left the swans mate and wont be playing in the GV for the next 2 seasons.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Nov 2006, 11:07

Millsy needs all the $$$ he can get as well.....

bradrowe#32
2 Nov 2006, 11:12
Not getting smart or anything but theres a thing called coin and thats what would be entising him down to princess park

He was on very good money at Rochy.

a.k.a.
2 Nov 2006, 11:22
Millsy needs all the $$$ he can get as well.....

His apprentice wage doesnt really cut it for our big sunday sessions at the lawn does it FB?!! :D

journeyman
2 Nov 2006, 11:22
He was on very good money at Rochy.

The Shepp Swans offer is not based around money entirely. They are trying to get him a job with the marketing/advertising department at the Shepp News.

I think the president Knaggs and Cheryl Hunter have pretty strong links with McPherson Media. Apparently if they get him the job he will play at Swans.

Also, I think the talk of Benny Anderson signing is very premature. He's only been working in the mines in WA for a couple of weeks. He's no definite to go back at the moment.

bradrowe#32
2 Nov 2006, 11:32
The Shepp Swans offer is not based around money entirely. They are trying to get him a job with the marketing/advertising department at the Shepp News.

I think the president Knaggs and Cheryl Hunter have pretty strong links with McPherson Media. Apparently if they get him the job he will play at Swans.

Also, I think the talk of Benny Anderson signing is very premature. He's only been working in the mines in WA for a couple of weeks. He's no definite to go back at the moment.

Fair enough.

Believe Ash Watson and Ben Anderson have signed with Rochy today

Both are pretty good sources I reckon.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Nov 2006, 11:35
His apprentice wage doesnt really cut it for our big sunday sessions at the lawn does it FB?!! :D
No it doesnt at all a.k.a... He struggles to contain himself on the sunday afternoon sips, to the point I had to purchase him KFC on the way home last week. This week should be a biggie though as I have the Monday off so will be looking to kick on from the lawn.

journeyman
2 Nov 2006, 11:42
Fair enough.

Both are pretty good sources I reckon.

I'm not saying they aren't and I think there is a good chance he will go back there. But from what I know he hasn't signed or agreed to anything yet.