View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

DekkaRoo
17 Aug 2005, 10:21
yeah disapointing from campbell. obviously he sees a brighter future at the catery...thanks deka

Brighter future or heavier wallet???? If it is a latter, I would love to catch up with him one day and discuss this issue over a beer or two... he may be able to shout a couple with his loose change!!

john35
17 Aug 2005, 10:22
i am involved with a jnr side he has been asked on a number of times to talk to them an has refused iv never questioned the guys football ability think he is a gun i just believe he needs to give something back to his town. disapointing from him.

john35
17 Aug 2005, 10:24
thats if the ladies arent hanging off him...

Travvy43
17 Aug 2005, 10:39
righto this week some games that will have a large impact ont he make up of the final six.

kyabram v euroa: Ky also have seymour next week and would have to win one to guarantee them a spot in the final six. At home ky will provide a brave show but expect the maggies to be too strong.

mansfield v seymour: What a game, injuries have returned to curse the lions. I have heard that the finances will be tighter at the lions next year, they were going to spend up for two big years to get a flag. And is it the same for mansfield, how long can they keep ahold of mench and some other stars, my mail is that they are on the move next year but will be still in the GV. will be a fierce match, tight inside footy at Postage Stamp Reserve.

Shepp v rochester: Well like ky, rochy have to win one of the next two, this is their chance. They scun the bears earlier on in the season however i would think the bears will be angry after loosing yet another close one. At home i think they would be too stong, but nothing would make me happier for them to get up, win and knock ky out of the finals.

Cats V Echuca: Cats still a very outside chance to make the finals, they are in good form, may get up this week, but the maggies at Memorial Oval the following week will be their downfall.

a.k.a.
17 Aug 2005, 11:38
I guess you would be making your money back through the canteen with Grainger dropping pies like Brown drops NoDoze and Gibson sitting in the front seat of the ute sucking down VB's instead of playing.

Dont utes only have a front seat numnuts? Be pretty hard to sit in the
back seat wouldnt it...

fat back pocket
17 Aug 2005, 11:49
righto this week some games that will have a large impact ont he make up of the final six.

kyabram v euroa: Ky also have seymour next week and would have to win one to guarantee them a spot in the final six. At home ky will provide a brave show but expect the maggies to be too strong.

mansfield v seymour: What a game, injuries have returned to curse the lions. I have heard that the finances will be tighter at the lions next year, they were going to spend up for two big years to get a flag. And is it the same for mansfield, how long can they keep ahold of mench and some other stars, my mail is that they are on the move next year but will be still in the GV. will be a fierce match, tight inside footy at Postage Stamp Reserve.

Shepp v rochester: Well like ky, rochy have to win one of the next two, this is their chance. They scun the bears earlier on in the season however i would think the bears will be angry after loosing yet another close one. At home i think they would be too stong, but nothing would make me happier for them to get up, win and knock ky out of the finals.

Cats V Echuca: Cats still a very outside chance to make the finals, they are in good form, may get up this week, but the maggies at Memorial Oval the following week will be their downfall.

You would expect Mansfield to get up at home, especially if it is as cold as predicted.

Mansfield will be able to hold on to their stars as long as the stars want to stay. Mansfield as a town has obviously got behind their footy team, i know for a fact that a little fish'n'chip shop chuck in a fair wad of cold hard cash, considering it is a small business.

The footy season is the snow season, thats when the tourists, the rich toorak families, venture up to Buller in their 4WD's and spend their cash in Mansfield, tax write off for the businesses if they sponsor a local sporting club.

Don't worry about the Eagles, they will be around the mark for a few more years yet. With Tossol at the helm, im sure he has some good contacts.

Anyway, lets worry about 2005, its just starting to heat up, well, not in mansfield, its freezing still.

Skoff
17 Aug 2005, 13:31
Dont utes only have a front seat numnuts? Be pretty hard to sit in the
back seat wouldnt it...

I suggest you slow down a little, your getting all excited. Re read what you have replied too. I know it must be exciting for you to be able to get such a big word like numnuts into your post. What, did you hear the older boys say it?

I see that the spelling for Front and Back hasn't been taught yet in your redneck of the woods. Back looks a lot like Front if you simply change a few letters around. I can understand you getting them mixed up.

No one blames you. The government was supposed to do something about the low-test scores.

YaMan
17 Aug 2005, 14:01

Im going to catch the shepp rochy game, should be very interesting and exciting.
Shepp have lost 2 on the trot but shown very good form, rochy needs to win for finals and I'm tipping this one is going to be huge.

FOOTYBOSS
17 Aug 2005, 14:01
Skoff. Listen here and GVFLFAN its time all of you stop your bickering and talk some footy on this forum. There is no use in having cheap shots at each other on this forum, especially since the GVFL is at such a good standard at present. With finals just around the corner its going to be one hell of a september. Anyone can win it on their given day. Just hope all teams are injury free in finals and can stake a claim at winning the flag. For all those people bagging Newman from Ky, Yes he is a gun footballer and very hard to stop. Its a pity he wont go down and speak to the under 14s as the juniors are the future of all clubs. Alot of juniors look up to their senior players. I have heard on the grape vine that mensch is moving on from mansfeild next year and playing for the one of the shep teams. But we all know what rumours are like at this time of the year. Lets just stick to footy chat and talk about how strong the comp is at the moment. After all we all are country people who love their footy.

fat back pocket
17 Aug 2005, 14:18
Im going to catch the shepp rochy game, should be very interesting and exciting.
Shepp have lost 2 on the trot but shown very good form, rochy needs to win for finals and I'm tipping this one is going to be huge.

Is brennan and Aitken back from injury yet? What is the prognosis there? If those two remain out, might be a battle for the good old tigers.

But, they have proven to be a competitive side even with the chips down.

But Shepp surely would get over the line after the bake they copped in the Shepp News, and I'm tipping Hick wouldn't want to go into the finals with only one win from the final 4 matches (pending they win their last).

Bears by 5 goals.

Shepp had a heap of blokes out last week. Shadbolt, Wells, Morris, Jones, and maybe a couple of others who played the week before vs Euroa. What happened? Any season ending injuries or reasons for them being out? None of them were named in the reserves either.

Do people know of the injury list at their club? Maybe we could get an idea of what sides may be depleted come finals through injury.

Travvy43
17 Aug 2005, 14:48
Is brennan and Aitken back from injury yet? What is the prognosis there? I

I was under the assumption that they were both season ending injuries.

jmain14
17 Aug 2005, 14:58
Is brennan and Aitken back from injury yet? What is the prognosis there? If those two remain out, might be a battle for the good old tigers.

But, they have proven to be a competitive side even with the chips down.

both will not play again this year. sammy's ac joint still isn't back in place yet - believe it or not. his summer has started already, it'd be fair to say that he has consumed his fair share of beer since his injury a little over 2 weeks ago. in terms of seriousness of injury heath unfortuntely faired much worse than sammy. he's had his surgery but won't be fit for a while yet. I have never seen a fractured eye socket up close before until I witnessed heath's. feel very sorry for him, very gutsy footballer. he will bounce back and will be in for a big one next year I am sure.

madtiger
17 Aug 2005, 15:32
Its a bloody shame about Aitken he is a gutsy player, hate to see injuries like that to blokes who really put their head over the ball and have a crack.

fat back pocket
17 Aug 2005, 18:22
Its a bloody shame about Aitken he is a gutsy player, hate to see injuries like that to blokes who really put their head over the ball and have a crack.

Very stiff for Rochy, will be hard to match the top sides with quality like that missing from your side. Haberman of Sey also had a similar incident in that same game. Think he is going to miss the season also.

bradrowe#32
17 Aug 2005, 22:51
both will not play again this year. sammy's ac joint still isn't back in place yet - believe it or not. his summer has started already, it'd be fair to say that he has consumed his fair share of beer since his injury a little over 2 weeks ago. in terms of seriousness of injury heath unfortuntely faired much worse than sammy. he's had his surgery but won't be fit for a while yet. I have never seen a fractured eye socket up close before until I witnessed heath's. feel very sorry for him, very gutsy footballer. he will bounce back and will be in for a big one next year I am sure.

I haven't seen Sammy J sober since he got injured.

Maybe Pumpa will have to take his place. The kid is flying on the track.

jmain14
18 Aug 2005, 09:43
I haven't seen Sammy J sober since he got injured.

Maybe Pumpa will have to take his place. The kid is flying on the track.
he he.

yes I have heard pumps has been flying.

fat back pocket
19 Aug 2005, 15:51
Whats going on in the GV world. Its Friday arvo, and not one posting for the day.

Any news on any club, individual, interesting in's and out's. Tips for the weekend?

Anyone? :confused:

jmain14
19 Aug 2005, 15:54
Whats going on in the GV world. Its Friday arvo, and not one posting for the day.

Any news on any club, individual, interesting in's and out's. Tips for the weekend?

Anyone? :confused:
yeah I was thinking the same thing.

my tip for the round - rochy to upset the bears at deakin tomorrow.

fat back pocket
19 Aug 2005, 16:04
yeah I was thinking the same thing.

my tip for the round - rochy to upset the bears at deakin tomorrow.

What do you think about Euroa to be upset by Ky, Ky have a hell of a lot to play for, whilst Euroa don't have a lot to play for, they have top spot, it will be wet, which will bring down Graingers impact, he may even take a couple of weeks off. I hear there is a pie eating comp in Preston over the weekend.

Ky for me in a slog.

Good luck to those who have to play in Mansfield tomorrow. Expect a few seymour boys to miss next week with frost bite. :(

Doona2
19 Aug 2005, 16:08
MANSFIELD
B: C. Hotton, Trewhella, Hopkins
HB: Monohan, Tranquilli, Walker
C: Briggs, F. Stevenson, Storer
HF: M. Stevenson, T. Hotton, Hopgood
F: Millot, Mensch, H. Martin
Foll: Jones, Trenfield, Holme
Inter: Thomson, Alford, Cooksey
SEYMOUR
B: Inness, Anderson, King
HB: Hooper, Thomson, Douglas
C: Van Riet, Ahmad, Robinson
HF: Pemberton, Ratray, Reid
F: Davey, Shaw, G. Liddell
Foll: Schottner, B. Liddell, Jackson
Inter: from Shiels, Brockway, Rudd, J. Enrico.

Seymour appear to have a few big names missing for tomorrow‘s big clash in the high country, or is it a dodgy for the Shepp News Fat Back Pocket? I notice a Peterson on the pine in the two’s, would that be Stuie or Lachie? What do you know of Petersons injury run FBP? Will he play again in ‘05

fat back pocket
19 Aug 2005, 16:12
MANSFIELD
B: C. Hotton, Trewhella, Hopkins
HB: Monohan, Tranquilli, Walker
C: Briggs, F. Stevenson, Storer
HF: M. Stevenson, T. Hotton, Hopgood
F: Millot, Mensch, H. Martin
Foll: Jones, Trenfield, Holme
Inter: Thomson, Alford, Cooksey
SEYMOUR
B: Inness, Anderson, King
HB: Hooper, Thomson, Douglas
C: Van Riet, Ahmad, Robinson
HF: Pemberton, Ratray, Reid
F: Davey, Shaw, G. Liddell
Foll: Schottner, B. Liddell, Jackson
Inter: from Shiels, Brockway, Rudd, J. Enrico.

Seymour appear to have a few big names missing for tomorrow‘s big clash in the high country, or is it a dodgy for the Shepp News Fat Back Pocket? I notice a Peterson on the pine in the two’s, would that be Stuie or Lachie? What do you know of Petersons injury run FBP? Will he play again in ‘05

Not sure Doona2, maybe Stu Peterson has been eating hot dogs on the golf course (refer to earlier post). Has he been out? There is only one Peterson named, what happened to the other Peterson?

Do you know these blokes personally?

Doona2
19 Aug 2005, 16:19
Not sure Doona2, maybe Stu Peterson has been eating hot dogs on the golf course (refer to earlier post). Has he been out? There is only one Peterson named, what happened to the other Peterson?

Do you know these blokes personally?

Not personally really, occasional cricket opponents, Stu is a good mate of a good mate (Inness). Dunno what he's injured, and Inness claims the side is more balanced without him!!!

I will work it out, nice baulk FBP . . . . covering your tracks nicely for a bloke from Melbourne!!!

jmain14
19 Aug 2005, 16:21
What do you think about Euroa to be upset by Ky, Ky have a hell of a lot to play for, whilst Euroa don't have a lot to play for, they have top spot, it will be wet, which will bring down Graingers impact, he may even take a couple of weeks off.(
nah, no chance in hell ky getting up imo. ky are not much of a side, they rely heavily on paulo and afro. I know they have come good and have improved as the season's gone on but they can count themselves extremely lucky that they'll (probably) snare 6th spot.

fat back pocket
19 Aug 2005, 16:28
Not personally really, occasional cricket opponents, Stu is a good mate of a good mate (Inness). Dunno what he's injured, and Inness claims the side is more balanced without him!!!

I will work it out, nice baulk FBP . . . . covering your tracks nicely for a bloke from Melbourne!!!

In that case, he's probably only getting a game because of their shortages.
Maybe he hasn't been injured, just not good enough to get a game. I can't really comment, sorry. Surely Seymour will have a few to come back in within a few weeks. Although, the reports from Shepp news are Haberman - season, Penn - indefinite, O'Keefe - season. So that makes it interesting.

I see your mate Inness in the ones again. Will he hold his spot?

Flat Track Bully
19 Aug 2005, 16:53
In that case, he's probably only getting a game because of their shortages.
Maybe he hasn't been injured, just not good enough to get a game. I can't really comment, sorry. Surely Seymour will have a few to come back in within a few weeks. Although, the reports from Shepp news are Haberman - season, Penn - indefinite, O'Keefe - season. So that makes it interesting.

I see your mate Inness in the ones again. Will he hold his spot?

No Saad for seymour makes life tough for the Lions, i reckon the postage stamp would have suited him...

Ake Fonua's out of the Tongala line-up making any chance of an upset against Benalla nigh on impossible...

Brendan Stevens returns for Benalla and I think Anthony is not far away, which returns the Saints to close to full strength

fat back pocket
22 Aug 2005, 09:02
nah, no chance in hell ky getting up imo. ky are not much of a side, they rely heavily on paulo and afro. I know they have come good and have improved as the season's gone on but they can count themselves extremely lucky that they'll (probably) snare 6th spot.

Rumours are that Paul Newman did a hammy on the weekend. Anyone know the extent of the injury, how many weeks he is out for, if any?

Should be a fantastic finally to the year, the 3 sides battling out 6th spot play the top 3 sides. Who ever wins, gets a shot at the title, obviously for Mooroopna, they need Ky and Rochy to both go down.

If Ky and Rochy get up, it is simply a case of who wins by more.

If they all lose, who ever loses by the least gets a crack, except mooroopna who must win and have the other two sides lose to be a chance.

Very good to see it going down to the wire.

john35
22 Aug 2005, 09:37
newman will miss the rest of season he apparently was stretched of with a hammy which must mean it was a bad one. i reckon both ky an rochy will loose this week leaving the door open for mooroopna to slip into sixth if they beat euroa would be an amazing effort if they made it. euroa cant go up or down maybe they will rest some big names. Go Cats!

jmain14
22 Aug 2005, 09:56
Rumours are that Paul Newman did a hammy on the weekend. Anyone know the extent of the injury, how many weeks he is out for, if any?

Should be a fantastic finally to the year, the 3 sides battling out 6th spot play the top 3 sides. Who ever wins, gets a shot at the title, obviously for Mooroopna, they need Ky and Rochy to both go down.

If Ky and Rochy get up, it is simply a case of who wins by more.

If they all lose, who ever loses by the least gets a crack, except mooroopna who must win and have the other two sides lose to be a chance.

Very good to see it going down to the wire.
yeah its all come down to the last round which is very exciting stuff.

ky losing by that much on the w'end re-emphasises what I was saying on friday about them - they are no good. they would have to count themselves lucky if they were to make it. yeah paulo has done his hammy and will be out for the remainder of the season it seems. its bad luck for him and ky. I can safely say that there is no chance in hell of them beating the lions this week without him. as for mooroopna, they are no chance in hell of beating euroa either so you can draw a line through them. they too, are rubbish.

no prizes for guessing where I am from he he.

jmain14
22 Aug 2005, 10:01
newman will miss the rest of season he apparently was stretched of with a hammy which must mean it was a bad one. i reckon both ky an rochy will loose this week leaving the door open for mooroopna to slip into sixth if they beat euroa would be an amazing effort if they made it. euroa cant go up or down maybe they will rest some big names. Go Cats!
they will not win sorry johnny, they are not up to it. please be realistic here. it is out of rochy and ky - simple as that.

Whippet
22 Aug 2005, 10:21

Doona2, I have a pretty good feeling you're talking the Peterson (FBP) himself. Clearly he is from seymour, and the rest is starting to add up. I notice you went and watched Shep v Euroa FBP. Seymour had the bye that week. Maybe just coincidence!

Johnny69
22 Aug 2005, 10:27
Just about all of the euroa players are a bunch a d__heads and are all up themselves that much that i hope they do not make the grand final and they maybe a good side now but when the money dry's up they will all leave to go some where else to chase money!!!!!!

ECHUCABOY
22 Aug 2005, 10:29
Euroa blokes I no u have defended your club as not being full of blokes chasing cash on numerous times. Johhny69 have something constructive to say ya moron.

Can anyone give a rap up of the results from the weekend?

fat back pocket
22 Aug 2005, 11:26
yeah its all come down to the last round which is very exciting stuff.

ky losing by that much on the w'end re-emphasises what I was saying on friday about them - they are no good. they would have to count themselves lucky if they were to make it. yeah paulo has done his hammy and will be out for the remainder of the season it seems. its bad luck for him and ky. I can safely say that there is no chance in hell of them beating the lions this week without him. as for mooroopna, they are no chance in hell of beating euroa either so you can draw a line through them. they too, are rubbish.

no prizes for guessing where I am from he he.

ha ha, good on ya for your patriotism, but i have to agree with the earlier post, if ever there was a week where Euroa will rest some stars, let them get over little niggling injuries etc, as well as give an opportunity to a few Reserves prior to finals, its this week.

Mooroopna have their season riding on this week, Euroa have nothing, can't be knocked off top, Mooroopna will fight tooth and nail for this one. Euroa won't risk their top players, if Mooroopna go down, it will be fighting, Euroa will know that, and won't risk injuring players.

I suppose we will see the depth Euroa has if they do rest some players.

Who's the bear?
22 Aug 2005, 13:46
Oohhh, i'd like to "rest" some Euroa players, especially the one they call Janz. What i'd give to butter his bread ... snappy, snappy. We have wood.

fat back pocket
22 Aug 2005, 14:25
Oohhh, i'd like to "rest" some Euroa players, especially the one they call Janz. What i'd give to butter his bread ... snappy, snappy. We have wood.

Geez Big Bear, you sound like you know the Euroa boys a little too well, I think you and Scott Grainger would make a lovely pair, his white fluffy arms and twig legs would be right up your ally.

Please keep your posts in the "Official h0m0-s#xu@l thread" I think "the Whip" started that one, lots of Euroa boys in that one I hear. Might be able to get in contact with Janz through Grainger.

Doona2
22 Aug 2005, 18:00
Can anyone give a rap up of the results from the weekend?

Mooroopna 9.16 (70) def. Echuca 7.4 (46)
Goals, Mooroopna: B. Campbell 3, B. Singh 3, B. Campbell, C. Kendall, R. Osborne. Echuca: S. Murphy 2, R. Archard, L. Crossman, S. Maddox, T. Sheldon, C. Treacy.
Best, Mooroopna: B. Campbell, B. Tremellen, B. Campbell, R. Osborne, S. Hughan, R. Heil. Echuca: B. Prendergast, T. McKittrick, R. Archard, R. Dolan, X. Campbell, M. Martin.
Euroa 22.10 (142) def. Kyabram 6.9 (45)
Goals, Euroa: S. Grainger 9, C. Bamford 4, D. Howse 3. Kyabram: H. Barnett 2, C. Carver, M. Adamson.
Best, Euroa: L. Hyatt, S. Clayton, D. Howse, S. Gibson, B. Shelton, H. Lamaro. Kyabram: J. Morgan, G. Oughton, T. Watson, I. Boyd, D. Ciavola, A. Gill.
Mansfield 17.13 (115) def. Seymour 11.9 (75)
Goals, Mansfield: A. Tranquilli 5, D. Mensch 4, C. Briggs 2, S. Monohan 2, M. Storer, C. Hotton, T. Hotton, B. Millott. Seymour: B. Davey 5, S. Shaw 3, T. Hooper 2, T. Robinson.
Best, Mansfield: T. Hotton, R. Hopkins, F. Stevenson, A. Tranquilli, M. Storer, M. Stevenson. Seymour: J. Amad, T. Hooper, R. Douglas, L. Jackson, G. Pemberton, B. Davey.
Shepp Bears 8.11 (59) def. Rochester 5.6 (36)
Goals, Shepp Bears: J. O'Brien 2, M. Chapman, N. Jones, N. Allan, M. Byers, S. Harrap, T. McInnes. Rochester: B. Montague, D. Moon, A. Palmer, A. Pappin, S. Williams.
Best, Shepp Bears: S. Dickinson, A. Hickmott, J. O'Brien, C. Cullinan, T. King, N. Miller. Rochester: D. Moon, K. Oliver, C. McCarty, N. Knight, M. Jackson, D. Schmidt.
Shepp United 19.12 (126) def. Shepp Swans 14.8 (92)
Goals, Shepp United: M. Forys 11, A. Cook 2, J. Emanuelli, S. King, M. Moore, M. Barlow, P. Carroll, J. Perkovic. Shepp Swans: N. Bell 6, M. McCarty 2, R. Montgomery, B. Warburton, R. Yze, M. Hebbard, M. Rowston, H. Best.
Best, Shepp United: M. Forys, M. Barlow, T. Eddy, S. King, S. Maunder, S. Scott. Shepp Swans: N. Bell, R. Montgomery, M. McCarty, J. Sutherland, T. Hebbard, K. Wyatt.
Benalla 29.16 (190) def. Tongala 5.4 (34)
Goals, Benalla: R. Symes 13, A. Cosham 3, M. Mackenzie 2, M. Sharp 2, B. Stevens 2, S. McKean, D. Symes, P. O'Brien, A. Evans, T. Hazell, J. Humphries, J. MacFarlane. Tongala: A. Nunn 2, T. Hancock 2, T. Fonua.
Best, Benalla: R. Symes, R. Priest, J. MacFarlane, B. Stevens, M. Mackenzie, A. Evans. Tongala: A. Reid, M. Brannelly, G. Harris, A. Nunn, S. Townsend.
NEXT WEEK: Euroa v Mooroopna, Seymour v Kyabram, Rochester v Mansfield, Tatura v Shepparton, Echuca v Swans, Shepp Utd v Benalla, Tongala bye.

ECHUCABOY
23 Aug 2005, 09:23
cheers

Reppin11
23 Aug 2005, 15:37
Euroa won't rest anyone this week, have a sordid history with the cats. So will go in full strength and will win easily.

jmain14
23 Aug 2005, 16:47
Euroa won't rest anyone this week, have a sordid history with the cats. So will go in full strength and will win easily.
absolutely they will. can not understand how anyone can possibly give them any chance in beating the pies. euroa are a far better side, even if they were to rest their better players for this week, which btw I am sure they won't.

The Whip
23 Aug 2005, 17:47
who will win senior/reserves league b&f ?
shane clayton 1's nick powell 2's for me

fat back pocket
23 Aug 2005, 19:27

How often has a person won an award out of the weekender and also the Morrison? Can you use the weekender awards as any indicator?

Doona2
23 Aug 2005, 21:58
How often has a person won an award out of the weekender and also the Morrison? Can you use the weekender awards as any indicator?

You sure do know more than you at times let on FBP. Forget about the footy just for a sec, I hear that Stuie Peterson has Schottner and Shannon Allum lined up to head Seymour's bowling stocks this summer, with him and young Lachie to lead the batting. Will Joffa Anderson return to Chittick Park?
Back to the football, I heard on the grapevine that several big names have pulled suspect hammy's due to not being up to date with match payments. For a man with so much inside mail at Seymour, can you confirm, or more to the point please deny this whisper to a fellow Lions follower.

Travvy43
24 Aug 2005, 09:27

Didn't shane clayton get reported through the year??

Anyway

My tip for the morrison is Matthew Byres from the shepp bears. Dean moon from rochy will poll very well too.

as for the twos, your guess is as good as mine, i would not have a clue.

Flat Track Bully
24 Aug 2005, 10:33
David Mensch to win the Morrison, with Brad Campbell as the smoky...

2's is an open race....although you would think Burgess from Shepparton will poll well

fat back pocket
24 Aug 2005, 12:14
David Mensch to win the Morrison, with Brad Campbell as the smoky...

2's is an open race....although you would think Burgess from Shepparton will poll well

Shepparton will have too many blokes stealing votes from each other throughout the year. There is ever chance they will have 3 or 4 in the top 10, I'd be tending toward someone from either Benalla, Seymour, or Echuca.

Craig Sholl is my bet for reserves. He obviously gets noticed by umpires, is a gun, and Echuca have won a lot of games.

Seniors is an open book, Mensch would be a good bet i'd reckon.

Ricky Symes to also poll well for a Full Forward. No other benalla bloke has gone near him in terms of goals, he will poll a lot of 1's and 2's with the odd 3 when he kicked his large bags of goals. May have votes taken from him by Stevens, both Anthony and Brendan.

Flat Track Bully
24 Aug 2005, 13:10
Shepparton will have too many blokes stealing votes from each other throughout the year. There is ever chance they will have 3 or 4 in the top 10, I'd be tending toward someone from either Benalla, Seymour, or Echuca.

Craig Sholl is my bet for reserves. He obviously gets noticed by umpires, is a gun, and Echuca have won a lot of games.

Seniors is an open book, Mensch would be a good bet i'd reckon.

Ricky Symes to also poll well for a Full Forward. No other benalla bloke has gone near him in terms of goals, he will poll a lot of 1's and 2's with the odd 3 when he kicked his large bags of goals. May have votes taken from him by Stevens, both Anthony and Brendan.

I reckon Ricky will get 3's against Tatura, Tongala (round 19) and Kyabram (round 2)...might be a bit barren other than that.

fat back pocket
24 Aug 2005, 13:17
I reckon Ricky will get 3's against Tatura, Tongala (round 19) and Kyabram (round 2)...might be a bit barren other than that.

Fair enough. They had the 4 or 5 losses in a row too, so you wouldn't expect a full forward to get too many votes.

Should be interesting through both Seniors and Reserves either way. Burgess has started to move into the midfield in the later half of the season. With the Shepp seniors getting an injury or two, he has played a couple of quarters in the guts. So along with his goals, he will be a chance.

bradrowe#32
24 Aug 2005, 13:46

I don't think Sholl has played enough games. I beleive he missed the first half of the season.

Travvy43
24 Aug 2005, 14:38
[QUOTE=fat back pocket]Shepparton will have too many blokes stealing votes from each other throughout the year. There is ever chance they will have 3 or 4 in the top 10, I'd be tending toward someone from either Benalla, Seymour, or Echuca.

Not totally sure about shepparton having too many blokes stealing votes from each other, obvious ones are ask, hickmont and mellingtong but that is no different from any other club. Seymour for example have schottner, anderson, haberman, collins, amad, saad who all would get some decent votes throughout the year. Benella- agree that symes will have big vote games but there was a whisper going around that ater 6 or so rounds, many people thought brendan stevens would have been winning the morrison.

Echuca have the obvious ones in archard and durie but we all know archard has not had the year he had last year.

Anyway i guess everyone has their own opinion.

Agree with brad campbell being a smokey, he is a star

Scribe
24 Aug 2005, 14:58
Hamill, the Clayton brothers and Gilliland from Euroa have all had very good years in a side which has been winning from everywhere. Shelton's also been very solid, but missed far too many games early.

I think it'll be Shane Clayton, who'll emulate his former team-mate Corey McKernan and win the medal, yet be ineligible due to his one week holiday.

fat back pocket
24 Aug 2005, 15:28
[QUOTE=fat back pocket]Shepparton will have too many blokes stealing votes from each other throughout the year. There is ever chance they will have 3 or 4 in the top 10, I'd be tending toward someone from either Benalla, Seymour, or Echuca.

Not totally sure about shepparton having too many blokes stealing votes from each other, obvious ones are ask, hickmont and mellingtong but that is no different from any other club. Seymour for example have schottner, anderson, haberman, collins, amad, saad who all would get some decent votes throughout the year. Benella- agree that symes will have big vote games but there was a whisper going around that ater 6 or so rounds, many people thought brendan stevens would have been winning the morrison.

Echuca have the obvious ones in archard and durie but we all know archard has not had the year he had last year.

Anyway i guess everyone has their own opinion.

Agree with brad campbell being a smokey, he is a star

Brad Campbell could come home with a flurish of votes, the second half of the season, Mooroopna have won more games than they have lost, and therefore gives him greater chance of getting the 3's.

He could be well behind half way through but get up.

Colin Durie had a blistering start to the season also. Lots of talk about him and his form. Could be an early leader.

jmain14
24 Aug 2005, 16:13
I don't think Sholl has played enough games. I beleive he missed the first half of the season.
yeah fair call rowey, although we mustn't forget that our very own 'whipper snipper' was an equal winner in the 2's league medal last year from 8 or 9 games played (in the first half of the year). as much as I love whippy I don't think he would dominate games as much as craig sholl would at that level - so if that is anything to go by - who knows??

will be home this w'end too mate. pretty big w'end planned have ya seeing its the final h&a game??

bradrowe#32
24 Aug 2005, 22:18
yeah fair call rowey, although we mustn't forget that our very own 'whipper snipper' was an equal winner in the 2's league medal last year from 8 or 9 games played (in the first half of the year). as much as I love whippy I don't think he would dominate games as much as craig sholl would at that level - so if that is anything to go by - who knows??

will be home this w'end too mate. pretty big w'end planned have ya seeing its the final h&a game??

Yeah and doesn't the whipper snipper love to tell you about it everytime he sees you!

When we played up in Echuca it appeared that Sholly was just out there to have a bit of fun and stay fit. He is still a great player.

Not sure what's happening this w/e mate. I guess we'll end up in the pub and then maybe have a fire somewhere! The seniors should be a good game.

YaMan
25 Aug 2005, 08:56
Whisper is that Joey Amad will be coaching Northcote Park next year. Goodbye Lions, hello Cougars

Travvy43
25 Aug 2005, 12:39
Whisper is that Joey Amad will be coaching Northcote Park next year. Goodbye Lions, hello Cougars

Is it fair to assume that this year is the lions last chance, ar eplayers going to be leaving next year. We all must admit though that they have had a shocking run with injuries.

fat back pocket
25 Aug 2005, 12:41

Interesting one. Don't think the Lions would care, I think the government are making them pay his pension at the minute. He is a Northcote Park boy through and through.

The Lions may get his grandchildren in exchange, apparently they can play a bit.

Travvy43
26 Aug 2005, 09:22
I read in this morning's press that rochy may have a few player playing on a permit this weekend. Can any of you tiger die hards shed some light on who these blokes may be??

bradrowe#32
26 Aug 2005, 10:15
I read in this morning's press that rochy may have a few player playing on a permit this weekend. Can any of you tiger die hards shed some light on who these blokes may be??

Elmore got knocked out of the finals last week, so I think they might be getting a few players from there.

However, I haven't been down to the club all week so I cannot say for sure.

Travvy43
26 Aug 2005, 11:33
No newman, no kyabram.

I think seymour will beat kyabram by more that what mansfield will beat rochester by, and i dont think the cats have much of a chance agaisnt the maggies.

End result, rochester into the finals.

jmain14
26 Aug 2005, 11:52
yeah cam cail is apparently playing. he is an onballer from elmore and plays very well. by far the best elmore player from what I have seen. yeah - seeing elmore dropped out of the finals race last week perhaps there may be one or two others playing on permit. not real sure.

perhaps dirty was eluding to mark watson (ex rochy but played the season at nth bendigo) who played a couple of weeks back v tatura on permit, although he did his hammy that day and I thought his season was over (??). or maybe it could be a couple of stanhope players - does anyone know if they are playing this w'end?? b.gray and d.harrison would be 2 handy inclusions!!

its an interesting topic though guys. how do these permits work?? playing the odd h&a game on permit is all well and good but none of these guys will be able to play finals no matter how many games they've played will they??

grant weeks, the chf at bendigo pioneers this year, is a rochy listed player. I have actually never seen him play but from all reports he is a gun. apparently he can't get drafted this year seeing he has another year of under-age footy in him after this one. I'd imagine he'd be very handy for us in the seniors (hopefully!!) and/or thirds come finals time but the word is that the pioneers will not allow him to play in the 3 games for rochy tomorrow to qualify him for the finals. bunch of pricks!! - especially seeing they're languishing on the bottom of the table and whether they win this week or not means sfa. the word is that they were willing to co-operate throughout the season but unfortunately all their byes coincided with ours - damn it!!

jmain14
26 Aug 2005, 11:55
No newman, no kyabram.

I think seymour will beat kyabram by more that what mansfield will beat rochester by, and i dont think the cats have much of a chance agaisnt the maggies.

End result, rochester into the finals.
I hope you are right travvy. without trying to be too cocky or biased my money is on the tigs to clinch the 6th spot also.

Travvy43
26 Aug 2005, 15:29
Just speaking with reliable seymour source, they are quietly confident about their finals campaign. A lot depends on this week with the fitness of 8 (all quality) players coming back into the side to be tested.

Doona2
28 Aug 2005, 21:58
News from the Lions Den is that former Calder Cannons defender Robbie Douglas won the B&F on Saturday night, from Joffa Anderson and Joey Amad. Very underated player young Chipper, who should make his way down to the VFL next year.

slim18
28 Aug 2005, 22:33
guys has anyone got the scoop on tat supposedly spending squillions next season to get back to where they used to be

Travvy43
29 Aug 2005, 09:54
As reported in this morning's shepp news and as i predicted a week or so ago Matt Byres last ngiht took out the morrison medal.

Below is a list of the top 10. I thought Dean Moon was a surprise not to get at least 13 votes to sneak into the top 10.

Matt Byers (Shepparton) 24
Trent Hotton (Mansfield) 19
Daniel Sage (Euroa) 18
Bernie Haberman (Seymour) 18
Paul Kirby (Tatura) 17
Brendan Stevens (Benalla) 16
Brad Campbell (Mooroopna) 15
Chris Atkins (Kyabram) 15
Rhys Archard (Echuca) 15
Shane Schottner (Seymour) 13
Adrian Hickmott (Shepparton) 13

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 10:52
I thought Dean Moon was a surprise not to get at least 13 votes to sneak into the top 10.
yeah you just don't know with the morrison medal hey...

still, a pretty good top 10 though.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 10:53
anyone give rochy a chance of upsetting seymour at tonny on sat'y??

you'll be there on the froffies won't ya travvy??

bradrowe#32
29 Aug 2005, 11:41

Where did you disappear to on the weekend?? Dirty little snake!

They should do alright with a few coming back. Ollie will probably get a few weeks.

Next year should be interesting. I heard on the weekend of about 4-5 new recruits that are pretty handy.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 12:19
Where did you disappear to on the weekend?? Dirty little snake!

They should do alright with a few coming back. Ollie will probably get a few weeks.

Next year should be interesting. I heard on the weekend of about 4-5 new recruits that are pretty handy.
watched it with nige and trent down the non-powlsey end. we come back to where you were with some cans but you had left. where did you watch it from - the members or what?? how was sat'y night?? think I am still sore from the wrestle on friday night he he.

onto the footy talk, yeah from where we were sitting the incident didn't look like much. at the time I thought it should've been a 50 metre penalty, no more. but perhaps I was on the wrong side as others have said that he clocked him pretty good and might get a week or two - really hope not though obviously.

anyway, big decision for matty to make this w'end. to watch rochy or geelong play... think the cats may win out. was hoping the mighty tigs would play on sunday but not to be.

bradrowe#32
29 Aug 2005, 12:59
watched it with nige and trent down the non-powlsey end. we come back to where you were with some cans but you had left. where did you watch it from - the members or what?? how was sat'y night?? think I am still sore from the wrestle on friday night he he.

onto the footy talk, yeah from where we were sitting the incident didn't look like much. at the time I thought it should've been a 50 metre penalty, no more. but perhaps I was on the wrong side as others have said that he clocked him pretty good and might get a week or two - really hope not though obviously.

anyway, big decision for matty to make this w'end. to watch rochy or geelong play... think the cats may win out. was hoping the mighty tigs would play on sunday but not to be.

That's a shame mate. I was going to bring along a couple of bottles of red wine for you.

We sat near the shelter thing near the scoreboard, so it was sort of in front of us. The general consensus was that he should get two weeks.

However, next week Matty Letcher and Scooter from the Pioneers should come back, which will be handy. The Shep. News reckon that Sammy will play, but I'm doubtful.

Travvy43
29 Aug 2005, 14:17

I will not be making the trip back up home to watch the game but good luck to the tigers, hopefully they can sneak at least one win in the finals.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 14:30
That's a shame mate. I was going to bring along a couple of bottles of red wine for you.

We sat near the shelter thing near the scoreboard, so it was sort of in front of us. The general consensus was that he should get two weeks.

However, next week Matty Letcher and Scooter from the Pioneers should come back, which will be handy. The Shep. News reckon that Sammy will play, but I'm doubtful.
he he, I think the red wine had something to do with the wrestles getting a run the other night so thank god I am not coming back in that case.

yeah I don't know how the shepp news get some of their info. you are on the pulse - it'd be a huge surprise if sammy were to play. he says he is some sort of chance but I guess he is always going to say that. would be a huge win without him, heath and kahl hey...

DekkaRoo
29 Aug 2005, 14:30
Word has it that Travvy43 will be in Melbourne watching a team play in a preliminary final, possibly the same team where he may be headed next season.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 14:31
I will not be making the trip back up home to watch the game but good luck to the tigers, hopefully they can sneak at least one win in the finals.
as much as I'd love to think they can win, I don't think they can unfortunately. sincerely hope I am wrong.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 14:33
Word has it that Travvy43 will be in Melbourne watching a team play in a preliminary final, possibly the same team where he may be headed next season.
care to comment here travvy?? you thinking about playing in that hammerheads league again are ya??

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 14:36
geez I have got nothin on today boys, can some of you's post some stuff relating to the gv even if it is $h!t. it'll make my day go quicker hopefully!!

Travvy43
29 Aug 2005, 14:41

Not sure who this clown is, just going to watch one of my flatmates play. Not sure what up to with regards to next year but i am contemplating playing in melbourne somewhere.

Doona2
29 Aug 2005, 15:08
Euroa 17.22 (124) def. Mooroopna 11.12 (78)
Goals: (E) C. Bamford 2, S. Grainger 2, H. Lamaro 2, D. Sage, D. Thomson, S. Watson, J. Wilson, D. Howse, L. Hyatt, M. Jansz, D. King, M. Clayton, S. Gibson, N. Gilliland. (M) B. Singh 6, R. Heil 2, R. Osborne 2, T. Freer.
Best: (E) M. Jansz, D. King, S. Clayton, C. Bamford, S. Watson, A. Hamill.(M) S. Laporta, B. Singh, B. Campbell, S. Robbins, J. Merry, R. Heil.
Seymour 23.17 (155) def. Kyabram 8.6 (54)
Goals: (S) S. Saad 6, M. Collins 4, S. Shaw 2, T. Hooper 2, G. Pemberton 2, P. Rattray 2, R. Douglas, A. Reid, B. Liddell, R. V. Riet, B. Haberman. (K) M. Adamson 4, C. Atkins, O. Boyd, C. Carver, C. Whyte.
Best: (S) G. Pemberton, J. Amad, Rodney V. Riet, R. Douglas, P. King. (K) D. Kent, J. Morgan, T. Watson, O. Boyd, I. Boyd, M. Adamson.
Reports - Craig Whyte (Kyabram) making contact with an umpire; Dion Ciavola (Kyabram) striking; Tim Watson (Kyabram) striking.
Mansfield 15.19 (109) def. Rochester 11.10 (76)
Goals: (M) A. Tranquilli 3, D. Mensch 3, S. Monohan 3, D. Hulme 2, M. Storer, N. Trenfield, B. Trenfield, M. Walker. (R) B. Montague 4, D. Moon, K. Oliver, C. Whitsed, N. Whipp, R. Connaughton, M. Loughman, A. McPhee.
Best: (M) J. Walker, N. Trenfield, T. Hotton, C. Hotton, M. Storer, B. Millott. (R) C. McCarty, A. Pappin, D. Moon, D. Schmidt, B. Montague, D. Cuttriss.
Shepp Bears 27.6 (168) def. Tatura 9.5 (59)
Goals: (SB) T. Mcinnes 6, S. Lang 5, J. O'Brien 4, A. Mellington 4, D. Shadbolt 4, T. Saunders, N. Miller, N. Allan, H. Barton. (T) M. Roberts 4, G. Stevens, L. Warnett, B. Keast, P. Kirby, B. Loughnan, D. Maher.
Best: (SB) S. Lang, M. Byers, T. Mcinnes, J. O'Brien, T. Feldtmann, T. King. (T) P. Kirby, D. Coe, M. Roberts, L. Warnett, M. Shaw.
Echuca 24.10 (154) def. Shepp Swans 12.10 (82)
Goals: (E) R. Archard 4, J. Kennaugh 4, S. Murphy 3, C. Treacy 3, S. Maddox 2, L. Agg 2, T. McKittrick, X. Campbell, B. Wilson, M. Tonizzo. (SS) N. Bell 5, M. McCarty 4, R. Montgomery, H. Best, T. Kirkman.
Best: (E) R. Archard, L. Agg, J. Kennaugh, B. Prendergast, C. Treacy, M. Martin. (SS) N. Bell, T. Hebbard, M. McCarty, R. Montgomery, B. Fitzpatrick, R. Yze.
Shepp United 18.8 (116) def. Benalla 16.9 (105)
Goals: (SU) M. Forys 4, R. Gibson 3, D. Osborne 3, A. Cook 2, J. Emanuelli 2, S. Koullas 2, S. Scott, K. Akers. (B) R. Symes 7, R. Priest 2, A. Cosham 2, J. Humphries, M. Mackenzie, S. McKean, M. Sharp, B. Stevens.
Best: (SU) C. Schimer, R. Gibson, J. Cowman, S. Scott, T. Eddy, S. Koullas. (B) R. Priest, M. Sharp, S. McKean, R. Symes, A. Cosham, R. Joyce.
Goalkicking - R. Symes (Benalla) 103; S. Grainger (Euroa) 87; D. Mensch (Mansfield) 84; S. Saad (Seymour) 83; M. Forys (Shepp United) 69.

Reserves - Euroa 15.10 (100) def Mooroopna 9.10 (64); Seymour 14.13 (97) def. Kyabram 3.3 (21); Mansfield 19.16 (130) def. Rochester 5.1 (31); Shepp Bears 27.23 (185) def. Tatura 1.2 (8); Echuca 12.11 (83) def. Shepp Swans 4.4 (28); Benalla 13.12 (90) def. Shepp United 4.5 (29)

Saturday, September 3 (at Benalla) - Seniors: Euroa v Mansfield (Qualifying final). Reserves: Echuca v Euroa (Elimimation 2). Under 18: Kyabram v Mansfield (Elimination 1)
Saturday, September 3 (at Tongala) - Seniors: Seymour v Rochester (Elimation 1). Reserves: Seymour v Shepp United (Elimimation 1). Under 18: Shepp United v Rochester (Elimination 2)
Sunday, September 4 (at Rochester) - Seniors: Shepparton v Benalla (Elimination 2). Reserves: Shepparton v Benalla (Qualifying). Under 18: Benalla v Shepparton (Qualifying)

tige19
29 Aug 2005, 15:43
Whos gonna win the flag???

Mansfield to stop teasing everyone and win a 3rd in a row, should be a cracking finals series.

jmain14
29 Aug 2005, 16:35
Whos gonna win the flag???

Mansfield to stop teasing everyone and win a 3rd in a row, should be a cracking finals series.
the eagles won it last year but not the year before did they??

I guess I did say in an earler post that ya's can talk $h!t if you want to though hey...

Travvy43
29 Aug 2005, 16:59
the eagles won it last year but not the year before did they??

I guess I did say in an earler post that ya's can talk $h!t if you want to though hey...

Spot on Mansfioeld won it last year and tatura took it out the year before.

This years finals series is going to be a cracker, Seymour may jus thit some form and get their first flag since the early 90's.

fat back pocket
1 Sep 2005, 12:27
Spot on Mansfioeld won it last year and tatura took it out the year before.

This years finals series is going to be a cracker, Seymour may jus thit some form and get their first flag since the early 90's.

Sean Harrap played reserves again for Shepparton at the weekend. Anyone know why? Disciplinary reasons, or just not playing well? Trent McInness kicked a bag, very interesting. He hasn't played every game in the ones this year. Not a bad time to get in the best.

Will Sean Harrap get back up for this weeks game? Any shepp insiders out there.

Travvy43
1 Sep 2005, 13:00
Ecuca boy you are a bit of a shepp insider aren't you?? !!!!!!

ECHUCABOY
1 Sep 2005, 13:19
Whys that mate? The call about Yze? Was talking to a bloke who used to play at my current footy club who is Yzes boss and he said he was tryin to get him to my club, that was before Northcote Park offered him $900 a game........

Other than that I dont know what Ive said to be a Shepp insider?? haha Ill answer ya questions though!

Travvy43
1 Sep 2005, 14:20
Whys that mate? The call about Yze? Was talking to a bloke who used to play at my current footy club who is Yzes boss and he said he was tryin to get him to my club, that was before Northcote Park offered him $900 a game........

Other than that I dont know what Ive said to be a Shepp insider?? haha Ill answer ya questions though!

I was being sarcastic, in the past you have bagged all shepp players and clubs, calling them everything under the sun.

Harrup could be a good foil for mellington int he finals for shepparton though.

fat back pocket
1 Sep 2005, 14:51
I was being sarcastic, in the past you have bagged all shepp players and clubs, calling them everything under the sun.

Harrup could be a good foil for mellington int he finals for shepparton though.

I know for one Marc Harrop (no. 45), the starting ruckman for their seniors has been qualified for the reserves, he was named in a reserves game according to my sources but played seniors. So he was named on both sheets.

Tells me that they aren't 100% confident they are going to make the grand finals let alone win it. I'm sure their numbers aren't at the critical level where they can only find 21 for their reserves, i'm sure blokes are missing out on a game.

Could they be qualifying Sean Harrop as well? Seems odd to be rotating their side around so much nearing a finals campaign, one would have thought they would be trying to get a settled side.

Trent McInness and Simon Lang aren't exactly super star players, not players you would expect to top the scoring tally in finals. But, the beauty of shepp is their depth. They may supprise everyone with a double flag.

jmain14
1 Sep 2005, 14:53
they deserve it. they're all a bunch of reptiles.

Doona2
1 Sep 2005, 15:54
that was before Northcote Park offered him $900 a game........

Damien Yze, $900 a game - my DVFL sources reckon when it was obvious Northcote Park wouldn't play finals he aborted and was no where to be seen. I think front runner is the term the North Heidelberg lads used.

ECHUCABOY
1 Sep 2005, 16:04
haha sorry travy didnt read the above thread to thoroughly, but on the topic of shepparton bears "DOGS". Trent McInnes played u/18s last year I reckon.......hack.

I remember a day playing under 16s and this McInness character was carrying on with all his wan ker shep mates when they did our team fairly easily.

The next time we played they were instructed to run past us in their warm up and tell us how ******** we were and how they were ganna smash us and that we we all girls etc etc.....This is in the warm up of an u/16 game for ********s sake.

Not trying to be a tough guy but a few of us made a pact that we would smash the poop out of these shepp dogs....and won by 10 goals.

They were yellin at each other, at the coach, the umpire..........since then I have always hated shepp sides and their unjustified arrogance.

Is that better travy I have other shepp hating stories aswell!!!!!! :D

bradrowe#32
1 Sep 2005, 17:05
haha sorry travy didnt read the above thread to thoroughly, but on the topic of shepparton bears "DOGS". Trent McInnes played u/18s last year I reckon.......hack.

I remember a day playing under 16s and this McInness character was carrying on with all his wan ker shep mates when they did our team fairly easily.

The next time we played they were instructed to run past us in their warm up and tell us how ******** we were and how they were ganna smash us and that we we all girls etc etc.....This is in the warm up of an u/16 game for ********s sake.

Not trying to be a tough guy but a few of us made a pact that we would smash the poop out of these shepp dogs....and won by 10 goals.

They were yellin at each other, at the coach, the umpire..........since then I have always hated shepp sides and their unjustified arrogance.

Is that better travy I have other shepp hating stories aswell!!!!!! :D

I can't stand Shepparton either.

Harrap would have to be one of the softest players in the league, especially with his size.

Junkie
1 Sep 2005, 17:42
I can't stand Shepparton either.

Harrap would have to be one of the softest players in the league, especially with his size.

Harrap is a fu#%king fairy! Spot on bradrowe, softest c#$.nt going around. So is Dudgeon, big fairy. I remember him trying to rough up a young fella at the start of a game in finals a while ago and at the first bounce the opposition coach came flying through and broke his collarbone... Fairy!

I think S.Lang snagged 5 and is going very well since returning from injury, so they have good depth in him. Miller will be used at CHF for the finals to provide a strong contest. He can play a bit and might be overlooked by some overconfident opponents.

Id stick with Euroa as favorites with Mansfield the danger.

BTW, Harrap sleeps with the light on :o

fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 07:44
Harrap is a fu#%king fairy! Spot on bradrowe, softest c#$.nt going around. So is Dudgeon, big fairy. I remember him trying to rough up a young fella at the start of a game in finals a while ago and at the first bounce the opposition coach came flying through and broke his collarbone... Fairy!

I think S.Lang snagged 5 and is going very well since returning from injury, so they have good depth in him. Miller will be used at CHF for the finals to provide a strong contest. He can play a bit and might be overlooked by some overconfident opponents.

Id stick with Euroa as favorites with Mansfield the danger.

BTW, Harrap sleeps with the light on :o

So you could say the shepp players are front runners. Big grin and arrogant when in front, fall in a heap when they are down?

Anyone know the teams for this week? Any major inclussions to sides from past weeks?

Tips? Who is going to win?

ECHUCABOY
2 Sep 2005, 09:03
So you could say the shepp players are front runners. Big grin and arrogant when in front, fall in a heap when they are down?

That pretty much sums them up, we always worked with a plan to pressure niggle and hold them up whenever possible. There good when the balls goin their way and can bang a few on quickly but if you can stem the flow for that 15 minutes or so then your ganna go along way towards winning the game.

Who is playing who this week? Bit hard to find out this stuff in old melbourne town?

Travvy43
2 Sep 2005, 09:43
Excuse the length of this, but as reported inthe shep news, overview of the three games

Shepparton v Benalla, fifth, 10 wins, eight losses.
Previous meeting: Round 13, July 9, at Benalla Recreation Reserve. Shepparton 10.10 (70) d Benalla 9.6 (60).

Described as one of the games of the season, the Bears pulled out plenty in the final quarter to hold off a gallant Saints outfit.

Benalla held a four-point lead at the main break with coach Jason MacFarlane instrumental in the middle, racking up 30-plus possessions.

But it was MacFarlane's counterpart Adrian Hickmott and veteran Stephen Ash who stole the ascendancy in the third term for the Bears.

In a hard-fought last quarter, Bears teammates Brent Chapman and Marc Harrap kicked late goals to help their side to a 10-point win and entrench the Bears in the top four.

Key match-up: Ricky Symes (Benalla) v Troy King (Shepparton) - at full-forward Ricky Symes is capable of winning the match off his own boot.

He kicked seven in a losing side last weekend, while his opponent, King, has been consistent as ever all year.

King has the necessary height and strength to keep Symes in check and it is sure to be an enthralling battle.

Trump card: Matt Byers (Shepparton) - what more can be said about the gun on-baller? Returned to the club this season after two years with the Wangaratta Magpies. Came with expectations but certainly hasn't let anyone down, inside and out of Bears' circles.

The Morrison Medallist will carry the Bears a long way on Sunday.

The men who matter: "Obviously it's going to be the same again (close match). We need 21 players to win. I know reporters segregate sections of the ground, but we're going to need everyone firing, I firmly believe that." - Shepparton coach Adrian Hickmott.

"We're ready to go. We'll go in as massive underdogs, but we rested a few blokes last week. We'll have no excuses." - Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane.

Verdict: A Benalla win is not beyond the realms of possibility, and while my heart says the Saints, my head says stick with the Bears.

Shepparton by 21 points.

- Tim Rowe

2005 record: Seymour; third, 14 wins, four losses. Rochester, sixth, nine wins, nine losses.

Previous meetings: Round 3, April 23, at Rochester Recreation Reserve.

Rochester 7.7 (49) lt Seymour 18.14 (122).

Round 16, July 30, at Kings Park, Seymour.

Seymour 19.13 (127) d Rochester 13.10 (88).

Key match-up: Dean Moon (Rochester) v Bernie Haberman (Seymour) - these two on-ballers won't see much of each other throughout the game, but their respective input will be huge. Both Moon and Haberman are ball magnets and can tear a match apart in the blink of an eye.

Trump card: Saad Saad (Seymour)- There's no doubt that the former Northern Bullant has lived up to his reputation as one of the game's most damaging players. Whether it be on the ball or up forward, Saad can win a match single handedly with his mercurial brilliance. Dave Williams must find a way to stop Saad or it will be lights out for his Tigers.

The men who matter: "We're very aware of the Rochester Football Club and their never-say-die attitude. We can't look any further than this week's match because if we do, it could be all over for us." - Seymour coach Steve Daniel.

"We go into every match we play confident we can win. They're a good side, but we'll be doing everything we can. It should be a good game." - Rochester star Chris McCarty.

Verdict: The Lions have won five more games this year than the Tigers and that statistic is damming. Seymour is a quality side and will go a long way in this year's finals series.

As a result, Seymour by 34 points.

- Richard Goodbody

2005 record: Euroa; minor premier, 17 wins, one loss. Mansfield; second, 15 wins, three losses.

Previous meetings: Round 5, May 14, at Mansfield Recreation Reserve.

Mansfield 21.19 (145) d Euroa 16.7 (103).

Round 18, August 13, at Memorial Oval, Euroa.

Euroa 14.18 (102) d Mansfield 10.7 (67).

Key match-up: Scott Grainger (Euroa) v Matt Trewhella (Mansfield)- The Mansfield defender has blanketed every forward in the competition this year, bar Grainger. From their two meetings, the Magpies' spearhead has 11 majors next to his name including a haul of seven in round five. While the Magpies have many avenues to goal, Trewhella must quell Grainger's influence if the Eagles are going to win.

Trump card: David Mensch (Mansfield) - The Eagles' power forward has dominated the competition this year like never before. Whether it be in the air or on the ground, Mensch has used his huge frame to ultimate effect and that's why he is the most damaging forward on the ground.

The men who matter: "It's a good time of year to be playing footy. Obviously the experience is new to a few guys, but hopefully they can use their excitement to our advantage. We're locked at one apiece so far, so we'll see what happens." - Euroa coach Dave Gleeson.

"We need to pick up our performance from when we last played them. They outgunned us on that day, but we did the same to them earlier in the season. Your good players win big matches and we're hoping ours will deliver." - Mansfield coach Peter Tossol.

Verdict: I'm convinced that the Magpies are the real deal. They claimed the minor premiership for good reason and tomorrow they will demonstrate why. Euroa by 19 points.

- Richard Goodbody

bradrowe#32
2 Sep 2005, 09:44
That pretty much sums them up, we always worked with a plan to pressure niggle and hold them up whenever possible. There good when the balls goin their way and can bang a few on quickly but if you can stem the flow for that 15 minutes or so then your ganna go along way towards winning the game.

Who is playing who this week? Bit hard to find out this stuff in old melbourne town?

Euroa V Mansfield
Shepparton V Benalla
Rochester V Seymour

fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 09:58
Does anyone know of any injuries, players expected to return, players named, but in doubt of playing, Players suspended from last week, etc.

Players that will have an impact on their respective games?

Has anthony stevens been playing? If so, how has he been going? If not, when is he expected to return?

ECHUCABOY
2 Sep 2005, 10:01
Richard Goodboy hey, pretty unfortuante name really , I'd imagine he'd get teased most days.

Very interresting weeks footy, rochy boys do you guys think you have a chance, put aside the rochy guts/spirit that wont be enough against a real top side, do they have enough fire power to match the intensity of finals footy?

Other two games seem great aswell, dont care bout benalla and shepp both are peasent teams.

Euroa/Mansfield will be very interesting......toss of the coin maybe?

Travvy43
2 Sep 2005, 11:06
Does anyone know of any injuries, players expected to return, players named, but in doubt of playing, Players suspended from last week, etc.

Players that will have an impact on their respective games?

Has anthony stevens been playing? If so, how has he been going? If not, when is he expected to return?

Played benella not last week but the week before and anthony stevens did not play, it was brendan stevens first game back, he looked like he was sturggling a bit fitness wise although still got a good amount of the footy. Not sure if anthony lined up against the demons last week though

Doona2
2 Sep 2005, 11:59
Does anyone know of any injuries, players expected to return, players named,

Seymour have another 3 powerful inclusions, Schottner, Collins and Matty Penn. Be wary of the sleeping giant, the Lions have just about shaken the recent run of injuries and look certain to peak at the right time.

Heard an interesting one during the week, it seems Lions two's player Stuie Peterson has been reported as saying he hopes that all Lions teams drop out a.s.a.p. so that the local cricket club can really start firing up for the SDCA season........your thoughts FBP :D

Junkie
2 Sep 2005, 12:12
Unfortunately for Stuie he will have to wait another wk, Seymour to easily account for the tigers. Shepp Vs Benella will be an interesting game with Benalla capable but you'd think Shepp will Get the chocolates.

Euroa Vs Mansfield will be a cracker on neutral ground. If the Pies get up you can PEN them in for the GF as that would give them a home final next week. IMO Mansfield, Shepp and Seymour will be fighting the rest of the series out to play the magpies on the last Sunday in September.