View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

ablett
2 Nov 2006, 13:03
there are a few clubs , one in bendigo, that are trying to work out job arrangements to lure bowen.

Doona2
2 Nov 2006, 13:35
The Shepp Swans offer is not based around money entirely. They are trying to get him a job with the marketing/advertising department at the Shepp News.

I think the president Knaggs and Cheryl Hunter have pretty strong links with McPherson Media. Apparently if they get him the job he will play at Swans.

Also, I think the talk of Benny Anderson signing is very premature. He's only been working in the mines in WA for a couple of weeks. He's no definite to go back at the moment.

Shouldnt be that difficult pretty high turnover in the old print media advertising game.

Rushy Tiger
2 Nov 2006, 13:57
Shouldnt be that difficult pretty high turnover in the old print media advertising game.

A Bowen, Anderson, McPhee forward line could be a pretty potent set up for the tiges. Even if that doesn't work out Bowen has proven himself as a very good backman. Did the job on Singh when Rochy played Mooroopna at home.

TuskenRaider
2 Nov 2006, 14:22
A Bowen, Anderson, McPhee forward line could be a pretty potent set up for the tiges. Even if that doesn't work out Bowen has proven himself as a very good backman. Did the job on Singh when Rochy played Mooroopna at home.
Tank McPhee still playing again next year?

How old would he be now, he's a freak. Looks like he'll keep going to 400 games!

Rushy Tiger
2 Nov 2006, 14:28
Tank McPhee still playing again next year?

How old would he be now, he's a freak. Looks like he'll keep going to 400 games!

Mid 30''s i think. The bloke is amazing, had a great year last year and still puts most of the young blokes to shame. Always gets a good defender and is unreal bloke in general. Wouldn't be that far off 400, will play forever.

Urple
2 Nov 2006, 14:37
Tatura appoints new coach

November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura has appointed former Norwood SANFL player Malcolm Noble as coach for the next two seasons.
Noble, who spent 2003 as assistant coach of West Adelaide, under former Adelaide and Hawthorn ruckman Sean Rehn, played more than 90 games with the Redlegs, alongside SANFL legends Garry McIntosh and Michael Aish.
He replaces Travis Ryan, who guided the Bulldogs for the past two seasons, in the top job.

On The Money
2 Nov 2006, 16:12
Tatura appoints new coach

November 2 2006
Shepparton News

Tatura has appointed former Norwood SANFL player Malcolm Noble as coach for the next two seasons.
Noble, who spent 2003 as assistant coach of West Adelaide, under former Adelaide and Hawthorn ruckman Sean Rehn, played more than 90 games with the Redlegs, alongside SANFL legends Garry McIntosh and Michael Aish.
He replaces Travis Ryan, who guided the Bulldogs for the past two seasons, in the top job.

The Dogs obviosly searched far and wide for a Coach and sounds like they've got one with good credentials. Interesting to see if he brings a few with because the The Tat kennel at the moment resembles those of the Meadows after Race 10 pretty bare!!

Can Shop
2 Nov 2006, 20:02
Shepp swans utility aledgedly has signed on out at tallygaroopna under ex swan robert osborne

Bobby Beecroft
3 Nov 2006, 06:19
Jarrod Best will be back at Doncaster for 2007, playing assistant coach.

Travvy43
3 Nov 2006, 08:08
Shepp swans utility aledgedly has signed on out at tallygaroopna under ex swan robert osborne

Hayden Best??

Can Shop
3 Nov 2006, 09:01
Hayden Best??

Correct

Travvy43
3 Nov 2006, 12:06
Ta mate, was told last night it was an AFL assistant time will tell.

Regarding North Ballrats Coach for 2007, Gerald Fitzgerald is back with the roosters. Gv's steve daniels missed the boat.

Doona2
3 Nov 2006, 13:08
Regarding North Ballrats Coach for 2007, Gerald Fitzgerald is back with the roosters. Gv's steve daniels missed the boat.

Fitzy's back yeah spoke to a mate over there at lunchtime, wonder if any of the candidates consider the Rebels TAC coaching job now then?

Believe it came down to a final 3-4 candidates and Steve was still in the mix.

Rushy Tiger
3 Nov 2006, 13:40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQmMRipmWi0&mode=related&search

Probably one of the better fights we will come across in the 2007 season. And they reckon AFL is rough...

TuskenRaider
3 Nov 2006, 14:08
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQmMRipmWi0&mode=related&search

Probably one of the better fights we will come across in the 2007 season. And they reckon AFL is rough...
How's the crowd in the background. Absolutely beserk.

I'm amazed at the discipline they show in always throwing their sticks down instead of using them.:D

King_Of_Ling
3 Nov 2006, 14:21
Does anyone know when most teams will be starting pre-season training??

TuskenRaider
3 Nov 2006, 15:34
Does anyone know when most teams will be starting pre-season training??
I propose that pre-season training should be banned until the last week of January. No, seriously.

bradrowe#32
5 Nov 2006, 21:19
Round One - April 7
Echuca V Shepp Swans
Mansfield V Euroa
Split - April 14
Shepp United V Benalla
Rochester V Kyabram
Mooroopna V Shepparton
Seymour V Tatura

Round Two – April 21
Euroa V Echuca
Benalla V Mansfield
Kyabram V Shepp United
Shepparton V Rochester
Tatura V Mooroopna
Shepp Swans V Seymour

Round Three - April 28
Echuca V Benalla
Mansfield V Kyabram
Shepp United V Shepparton (s)
Rochester V Tatura
Mooroopna V Seymour
Euroa V Shepp Swans

Round Four - May 5
Kyabram V Echuca (s)
Shepparton V Mansfield
Tatura V Shepp United
Seymour V Rochester
Shepp Swans V Mooroopna (s)
Benalla V Euroa

Round Five – May 12
Echuca V Shepparton
Mansfield V Tatura
Shepp United V Seymour
Rochester V Mooroopna
Euroa V Kyabram
Benalla V Shepp Swans

Round Six - May 19
Tatura V Echuca
Seymour V Mansfield
Mooroopna V Shepp United
Shepp Swans V Rochester
Shepparton V Euroa
Kyabram V Benalla

Inter League – 26 Ovens and Murray v GVFL

Round Seven – June 2
Echuca V Seymour
Mansfield V Mooroopna
Shepp United V Rochester
Euroa V Tatura
Benalla V Shepparton
Kyabram V Shepp Swans

Round Eight – June 9
Mooroopna V Echuca
Rochester V Mansfield
Shepp Swans V Shepp United
Seymour V Euroa
Tatura V Benalla
Shepparton V Kyabram

Round Nine – June 16
Echuca V Rochester
Mansfield V Shepp United
Euroa V Mooroopna
Benalla V Seymour
Kyabram V Tatura
Shepparton V Shepp Swans

Round Ten – June 23
Shepp United V Echuca
Mansfield V Shepp Swans
Rochester V Euroa
Split – June 30
Mooroopna V Benalla
Seymour V Kyabram
Tatura V Shepparton

Round Eleven – July 7
Echuca V Mansfield
Euroa V Shepp United
Benalla V Rochester
Kyabram V Mooroopna
Shepparton V Seymour
Shepp Swans V Tatura

Round Twelve – July 14
Shepp Swans V Echuca
Euroa V Mansfield
Benalla V Shepp United
Kyabram V Rochester
Shepparton V Mooroopna
Tatura V Seymour

Round Thirteen – July 21
Echuca V Euroa
Mansfield V Benalla
Shepp United V Kyabram
Rochester V Shepparton
Mooroopna V Tatura
Seymour V Shepp Swans

Round Fourteen – July 28
Benalla V Echuca
Kyabram V Mansfield
Shepparton V Shepp United (s)
Tatura V Rochester
Seymour V Mooroopna
Shepp Swans V Euroa

Round Fifteen – August 4
Echuca V Kyabram (s)
Mansfield V Shepparton
Shepp United V Tatura
Split – August 11
Rochester V Seymour
Mooroopna V Shepp Swans (s)
Euroa V Benalla

Round Sixteen – August 18
Shepparton V Echuca
Tatura V Mansfield
Seymour V Shepp United
Mooroopna V Rochester
Kyabram V Euroa
Shepp Swans V Benalla

Round Seventeen – August 25
Echuca V Tatura
Mansfield V Seymour
Shepp United V Mooroopna
Rochester V Shepp Swans
Euroa V Shepparton
Benalla V Kyabram

Round Eighteen – September 1
Rochester V Echuca
Shepp United V Mansfield
Mooroopna V Euroa
Seymour V Benalla
Tatura V Kyabram
Shepp Swans V Shepparton

Sept 8/9 Elim Qual Finals

Sept 15/16 Semi Finals

Sept 23 Prelim Final

Sept 30 Grand Final

Anyone got any tips?

ringo1
6 Nov 2006, 11:54
I propose that pre-season training should be banned until the last week of January. No, seriously.
\
Tusken I totally agree. It is pointless starting training so early. It takes only 6 weeks to get fit if you do things right.

Chance
6 Nov 2006, 12:17
Long way from the mark sorry to say jim carter and krakour barrell - my mail came from a source not tied to the GV Magpies, but from my former media circles. Still no one has confrimed or denied this rumour???

Why the sudden interest in my coaching appointment, who I have spoke to and more importantly haven't spoke to in Millsy's case. Was all keen to have a crack at him until that send off Grand Final day, in light of recent public perception Im not keen to attract thugs ;)
Ur a funny one doona!! U seem to offer an opinion on almost every footy topic, but when it comes to u and ur new coaching gig, u run a mile the other way!! I dont blame u! Ur keeping things close to ur chest and playing it smart!! But any 2 year old can tell u will be going after as many locals as u can for a crack at the flag. What coach wouldnt?!! Nothing wrong with telling us who's on ur wish list!!

Doona2
6 Nov 2006, 14:19
Ur a funny one doona!! U seem to offer an opinion on almost every footy topic, but when it comes to u and ur new coaching gig, u run a mile the other way!! I dont blame u! Ur keeping things close to ur chest and playing it smart!! But any 2 year old can tell u will be going after as many locals as u can for a crack at the flag. What coach wouldnt?!! Nothing wrong with telling us who's on ur wish list!!

Got it one Chance, am in the process of touching base with every local Broady bloke including those not playing with the Roos in a bid to get as many locals as possible back to the club.

My wish list is to put the finishing touches on our coaching dept. within the next fortnight, already have my C.O.S, runner, stats bloke and team manager committed, and now am waiting to sign our 2nd playing assistant coach.

I dont take rejection too kindly, which is why Im keeping quiet as everyone has kncoked me back :eek: Once we're satisfied with things I promise you'll be the first to know :thumbsu:

lion's_roar
6 Nov 2006, 15:27
Just a bit of goss on Shepp United ..

Heard they are talking to three ex-AFL players in regards to the coaching job ..two who have been delisted and one that's an AFL premiership player.

Would reckon one of the delisted ones is Justin Davies.

Also heard Richard Warburton could coach them, but i reckon that might be off the mark.

centreman
6 Nov 2006, 15:49

Heard they are talking to three ex-AFL players in regards to the coaching job ..two who have been delisted and one that's an AFL premiership player.

Also heard Richard Warburton could coach them, but i reckon that might be off the mark.

Good work, if that's true

Seeking Glory
6 Nov 2006, 18:40
Got it one Chance, am in the process of touching base with every local Broady bloke including those not playing with the Roos in a bid to get as many locals as possible back to the club.

My wish list is to put the finishing touches on our coaching dept. within the next fortnight, already have my C.O.S, runner, stats bloke and team manager committed, and now am waiting to sign our 2nd playing assistant coach.

I dont take rejection too kindly, which is why Im keeping quiet as everyone has kncoked me back :eek: Once we're satisfied with things I promise you'll be the first to know :thumbsu:

It would be true to say that on your wish list would be robbie douglas to play as he's from b'ford. have you approched him yet?

Doona2
6 Nov 2006, 19:20
It would be true to say that on your wish list would be robbie douglas to play as he's from b'ford. have you approched him yet?

Lets say we're recruiting within our means. I speak with Robbie regularly as Ive followed his footy closely for years and play cricket with him, but he'd be mad to go back to minor league footy at his age when I reckon he should be trying out at a higher level (VFL club).

That said I doubt we could afford a TAC Cup/Vic Metro/2 x GV premiership player/Seymour B & F player in my wildest dreams!!!

nogood99
6 Nov 2006, 21:07

Also heard Richard Warburton could coach them, but i reckon that might be off the mark. might b the 2 clokes and there old man ahhaha

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 13:29
Reported in todays Shep news that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson have definately signed at Rochy.

Doona2
8 Nov 2006, 13:36
Reported in todays Shep news that Ben Anderson and Ash Watson have definately signed at Rochy.

2nd that motion, spoke with the North Ballarat skipper on Saturday night who said Watson was heading home . . . . . Roosters are disppointed to be losing a very respected player and a great little fella Im told.

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 13:44
2nd that motion, spoke with the North Ballarat skipper on Saturday night who said Watson was heading home . . . . . Roosters are disppointed to be losing a very respected player and a great little fella Im told.

Dirty Williams has been quoted in the shep news that he is in the same mould as a Shane Clayton. Very big shoes to fill now with words like that.

Doona2
8 Nov 2006, 14:00
He (Watson ) had a great year in the #7 for the Roosters, big call re: Clayton but I do think he'll be a huge help to the Tigers midfield.

Seem's my mail on Gleeson to Euroa may have been off the mark as Euroa seem in no hurry to appoint. What about this one though - I have heard Daniel Sage may b heading down Geelong way in 2007 and what's the link between Seymour's Tim Hooper and the newly appointed Wallan coach who reckon's he can Hoops to Greenhill Reserve to play DVFL Div2 in 2007 :confused:

Whispers
8 Nov 2006, 14:20
He (Watson ) had a great year in the #7 for the Roosters, big call re: Clayton but I do think he'll be a huge help to the Tigers midfield.

Seem's my mail on Gleeson to Euroa may have been off the mark as Euroa seem in no hurry to appoint. What about this one though - I have heard Daniel Sage may b heading down Geelong way in 2007 and what's the link between Seymour's Tim Hooper and the newly appointed Wallan coach who reckon's he can Hoops to Greenhill Reserve to play DVFL Div2 in 2007 :confused:

Just wondering if this bloke is any good and what club he 'maybe' playing at next year in Geelong?

lion's_roar
8 Nov 2006, 14:30
Just wondering if this bloke is any good and what club he 'maybe' playing at next year in Geelong?

Absolute JET mate,

Was at his best in 2005 in a pretty handy Euroa side.

Got a good turn of pace for a stocky fella and can roost the Sherrin a fair way.

Kicked a ripper goal in the 05 GVFL grand final .. won it out the middle ran his quota and bombed it home.

Struggled a bit with injury and from what i'm told a lack of desite this season.

Was contemplating not playing at all before the season started.

Would be a very handy pick up for any side .. just watch out for the underage drinking though .. he's a copper.

Duff Man
8 Nov 2006, 14:31

The term 'gun' is a little bit over used these days, however I think you could safely pin this label on Sage. Up there with the best on-ballers in the GV and would be a great pick up for any club I reckon.

Whispers
8 Nov 2006, 14:35
Sounds like a fair player! Is he coming down due to work commitments? Haven't heard what clubs are interested in him?

FOOTYBOSS
8 Nov 2006, 15:20

Can confirm that Sage is all but signed with Barown Heads down Geelong way for next year. Will be a massive loss for Euroa in the midfield. His booming lefft foot got us out of trouble many times. The money offer down that way is just to good in the end.

Cant see Tim Hooper playing for Wallan next year.

LOBSTER
8 Nov 2006, 15:31
Sounds like a fair player! Is he coming down due to work commitments? Haven't heard what clubs are interested in him?

He is a fair player and averages about 25 touches a game and about 1 goal a week. Anyhwere from 70m he will make the distance easily. Im pretty sure he will be stationed in Melbourne and travelling down to play at Barown Heads. From memory he kicked 2 great goals in the 05 grand final. One a set shot from 65m that went through goal post height and the other a 60m punt on the run that went through goal post height. Will surely be lost in magpies midfield along with Gibson, Gilliland, Marshall, Hilton and the possibility of Stott moving on as well.

Whispers
8 Nov 2006, 15:41
He is a fair player and averages about 25 touches a game and about 1 goal a week. Anyhwere from 70m he will make the distance easily. Im pretty sure he will be stationed in Melbourne and travelling down to play at Barown Heads. From memory he kicked 2 great goals in the 05 grand final. One a set shot from 65m that went through goal post height and the other a 60m punt on the run that went through goal post height. Will surely be lost in magpies midfield along with Gibson, Gilliland, Marshall, Hilton and the possibility of Stott moving on as well.

Yeah Barwon Heads seems right.. they play in the Bellarine FL which is considered to be the second best league in the region behind the GFL. Will easily dominate that comp because solid players in the GFL dominate the BFL!

SUPASTARR
8 Nov 2006, 15:47
Yes lobster what is up with mr stott. Could he be seen wearing a lions jumper in 07?

pete_mitchell
8 Nov 2006, 18:43
Seem's my mail on Gleeson to Euroa may have been off the mark as Euroa seem in no hurry to appoint. :confused:

Don't be so sure about that Doony, word is he will be re-appointed soon.

head67
8 Nov 2006, 18:48
Can confirm that Sage is all but signed with Barown Heads down Geelong way for next year. Will be a massive loss for Euroa in the midfield. His booming lefft foot got us out of trouble many times. The money offer down that way is just to good in the end.

Cant see Tim Hooper playing for Wallan next year.
Doesn't sound good Boss. With a few leaving and no coach appointed some would be getting nervous. But a successful resies side with a few young fellas in it might present oppurtunitys. out of the young blokes who can we look for to step up?

just signed
8 Nov 2006, 21:01
[QUOTE=Doona2;6194666]He (Watson ) had a great year in the #7 for the Roosters, big call re: Clayton but I do think he'll be a huge help to the Tigers midfield.

Not sure where you are going with this one Doona. Are you suggesting that the Tigers midfield is ordinary? Watched them a bit and certainly don't believe this is where the trouble lies. They now have a ruck combination of Brennan and Anderson which would rival ANY team in the comp.They have GV interleague reps in Aitken (Great player), Schmidt (Best and Fairest winner) and Moon (Last year's Best and Fairest). They also have Scott Hann, a very good young player who was Runner Up in the Best and Fairest. Chuck in Watson and the possibility of McCarty coming back, a player that Steve Daniels rates as one of the top three in the comp and i reckon they would be looking at a fair midfield. Their backline is where the problems are.

slim18
8 Nov 2006, 21:09
Away at the moment but heard the rumblings at the Saints are about to come to a head. Anyone able to enlighten me.

Doona2
8 Nov 2006, 21:18
Not sure where you are going with this one Doona. Are you suggesting that the Tigers midfield is ordinary? Watched them a bit and certainly don't believe this is where the trouble lies. They now have a ruck combination of Brennan and Anderson which would rival ANY team in the comp.They have GV interleague reps in Aitken (Great player), Schmidt (Best and Fairest winner) and Moon (Last year's Best and Fairest). They also have Scott Hann, a very good young player who was Runner Up in the Best and Fairest. Chuck in Watson and the possibility of McCarty coming back, a player that Steve Daniels rates as one of the top three in the comp and i reckon they would be looking at a fair midfield. Their backline is where the problems are.

Hope you're not putting words in my mouth there just signed, was just saying that from what I saw when I attended Roosters games that Watson will be a very handy addition . . . . at no point was I trying to suggest anything about the capabilities of the Tigers midfield.

Former servants bolster Rochester's ranks

November 8 2006
Shepparton News

Rochester's active off-season has continued with the Goulburn Valley Football League club confirming the signings of former players Ash Watson and Ben Anderson.

Watson, who played with the Tigers prior to be taken at pick 14 in the 2001 AFL draft by the Kangaroos, finished third in North Ballarat's best and fairest after being delisted at the end of last year.

While Anderson, who was a member of Rochester's losing grand final teams in 2001 and 2002, has spent the past two seasons with West Perth in the WAFL.

The signings are good news for a Rochester line-up that missed finals action for the first time in a decade this year.

"Ash is a good running player who I would compare with Shane Clayton,"

Rochester coach David Williams said.

"He has plenty of stamina and is hard at it."

Where Anderson lines up will depend on the Tigers' recruiting, according to Williams.

"He can play key position and in the ruck," Williams said.

However, a question mark remains on the future of Elliott Bowen.

"He's got a few job interviews in different spots," Williams said.

"He's a fantastic player.

"We'd like to keep him and show him what our club is all about."

Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 07:04
Away at the moment but heard the rumblings at the Saints are about to come to a head. Anyone able to enlighten me.

boys got some bad news. you'll all love it but its pretty average. tat is goin to really struggle. prob worse then the last 2 yrs. lost between 12 and 16 of its senior 24 from last yr! players of the likes of linc wellington, leeroy warnett, jarrod pollard, paul kirby, brent loughnan, tim lanyon, michael roberts, bryce wellington, damian jones, mark eaton, reece pollard, brett scarcella, trav thompson, aaron willoughby and shannon downy coming to mind.they have all signed else where and all played nearly every game for the last few yrs. big dint is the leadership of the onfield playing group!

Wear The Fox Hat
9 Nov 2006, 07:35
boys got some bad news. you'll all love it but its pretty average. tat is goin to really struggle. prob worse then the last 2 yrs. lost between 12 and 16 of its senior 24 from last yr! players of the likes of linc wellington, leeroy warnett, jarrod pollard, paul kirby, brent loughnan, tim lanyon, michael roberts, bryce wellington, damian jones, mark eaton, reece pollard, brett scarcella, trav thompson, aaron willoughby and shannon downy coming to mind.they have all signed else where and all played nearly every game for the last few yrs. big dint is the leadership of the onfield playing group!

Not good news bulldog and probably has something to do with their recruiting practices over many years. They have a long history of not just buying players but also paying well over what most other clubs would offer. This sort of strategy may provide a quick fix but usually ends in tears. (I can see Mooroopna heading down the same track IMO).

Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 09:46
Not good news bulldog and probably has something to do with their recruiting practices over many years. They have a long history of not just buying players but also paying well over what most other clubs would offer. This sort of strategy may provide a quick fix but usually ends in tears. (I can see Mooroopna heading down the same track IMO).

yeah its pretty much exactly how u have said it. club go in around 3 or 4 yr periods. u cant be up the top all the time.we will struggle for a while now i think. mooroopna will be up there this yr and maybe next but then will drop off again.

gta3
9 Nov 2006, 10:17
Heard along the grapevine that lachie watts of seymour said he would go and play at broadford next season if he got $400 a game, a bit steep for someone who plays 2s at Seymour. But i did see Lachie and the new broadford coach having a long chat after the cricket on saturday i wonder if they were talking about that.

bystanding backman
9 Nov 2006, 10:18
Does anyone know if Sportzone is running the Recreational Footy comp again. Eric Bott is the organiser from last year i was told, i tried to contact him but he hasn't got back to me. just wondering if anyone else knew anything about it.

Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 10:22
Wheres tim lanyon playing next season

sparra
9 Nov 2006, 10:23

McFarlane gone and looking at replacement from ex coaches Pasquali or Cooper (Brenton) or Wang Rovers legend Robbie Walker

Tatybulldog
9 Nov 2006, 10:47
timmy lanyon heading down melb way. he is goo mates with looby so might b trying his luck down with him!

Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 11:24
Centreman - Anynews on coach at united i see there was a little somehting in the paper today saying that there under control an it not to far away.

Duff Man
9 Nov 2006, 11:47

Think you might be stretching it a bit there LOBSTER. I can't really recall his first goal, but his goal on the run only just cleared the pack and looked as though it might nearly have been touched. I agree with you though, he is a massive kick and doesn't lose a lot of accuracy when he sinks the boot into it.

scotywok
9 Nov 2006, 12:25
Heard along the grapevine that lachie watts of seymour said he would go and play at broadford next season if he got $400 a game, a bit steep for someone who plays 2s at Seymour. But i did see Lachie and the new broadford coach having a long chat after the cricket on saturday i wonder if they were talking about that.

You must be one unique character there gta3. I find it impossible for you to see Lachie watts and Doona chatting after the cricket on Saturday unless you play cricket with Tallarook or Eastern Hill.

I thought you came from a club to the South, like Kilmore.

centreman
9 Nov 2006, 12:32
Centreman - Anynews on coach at united i see there was a little somehting in the paper today saying that there under control an it not to far away.

From what I hear they are just making sure they get the right bloke.
Big shoes to fill and they want to make sure they can take the next step - which is obviously a preliminary final.

They've set their sights pretty high - they have to fill the void left by Hazelman as a player and a coach - and it's pretty tough to get that with one person. I'm sure it won't be too far away, but I don't expect a decision within the next week.

Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 12:39
November 9 2006
Shepparton News

Return on cards

There are reports a current Picola District Football League coach may be about to return to one of his former clubs.

Going elsewhere

A highly-decorated Goulburn Valley Football League ruckman could be about to depart the league, and no, it's not Paul Kirby.

Keen to depart

On a similar theme, the drum beats indicate that one of the Goulburn Valley Football League's leading bigmen - with plenty of good football left in him - is eager to leave the club he's known from junior days.

Successor close

The Goulburn Valley league's reigning premier, Seymour, is on the cusp of announcing Steve Daniel's successor.

All under control

Despite the delay in replacing Steve Hazelman, Shepparton United - we are assured - has it all under control and will soon announce the name of its new chief.

Can Shop
9 Nov 2006, 12:40
November 9 2006
Shepparton News

Return on cards

There are reports a current Picola District Football League coach may be about to return to one of his former clubs.

Going elsewhere

A highly-decorated Goulburn Valley Football League ruckman could be about to depart the league, and no, it's not Paul Kirby.

Keen to depart

On a similar theme, the drum beats indicate that one of the Goulburn Valley Football League's leading bigmen - with plenty of good football left in him - is eager to leave the club he's known from junior days.

Successor close

The Goulburn Valley league's reigning premier, Seymour, is on the cusp of announcing Steve Daniel's successor.

All under control

Despite the delay in replacing Steve Hazelman, Shepparton United - we are assured - has it all under control and will soon announce the name of its new chief.

Journo's are always forgiven for writing the wrong stuff anyway so why didnt they come out and just name the people in the rumours

Doona2
9 Nov 2006, 13:29

Who is this gta3 character? Lachy Watts would be more than welcome - his dad was a much respected premiership player at Broady in the 70's so he does have ties to the club.

The $400 was never mentioned and would never be offered - the conversation was quite casual after cricket more along the lines of inquiring what his club (Seymour) were up to and if he can crack a regular senior game in 2007.

SUPASTARR
9 Nov 2006, 14:24
McFarlane gone and looking at replacement from ex coaches Pasquali or Cooper (Brenton) or Wang Rovers legend Robbie Walker
Has that definitely been confirmed or only rumour bout mcfarlane? Surely a gf birth was a good effort. Thought he loved the saints and was really keen to continue coaching.

bystanding backman
9 Nov 2006, 14:27
Has that definitely been confirmed or only rumour bout mcfarlane? Surely a gf birth was a good effort. Thought he loved the saints and was really keen to continue coaching.

Some how there must be bigger issues at the bottom of all the Mcfarlane talk. A grand final birth is usually good enough to keep the job

jmain14
9 Nov 2006, 21:29
[QUOTE=Doona2;6194666]He (Watson ) had a great year in the #7 for the Roosters, big call re: Clayton but I do think he'll be a huge help to the Tigers midfield.

perhaps jumped the gun a little bit on doona there just signed but your point is well made. the defence certainly seems to be the main problem, without seeing any games this year there seemed to be some big scores kicked against them. a backline that once read: s.rasmussen, n.roulston, a.o'brien changed to: (u/18 player), a.pappin, (reserves grade player) in the space of 3 or so years. that said, if they could possibly entice bowen to stay on next year it'd mean you'd have 3 key forwards (along with benny and tank), meaning there'd be no need to play oliver or whitsed forward. all of the sudden you have 3 key (not brilliant but capable) defenders in oli, whits and pappin. throw in mark watson and carl moon (who are apparently returning to tigerland) and things start to look ok. not to mention jimmy loughman (small defender/wingman) who didn't play much this year if at all.

they may not be vying for the flag again just yet but if a couple of cards go their way and injuries barring of course, a top 6 finish at the very least could be expected.

for as long as I can remember rochy have lacked reserve grade depth (possibly '04 the exception) ie. always seems to be a big gap between the 18th and 19th best player. for some reason it seems this trend will forever continue, however it certainly would be a great thing for the club if it could get back to the pre '04 days where these fringe-type players have to earn their spot in the senior team.

Doona2
9 Nov 2006, 22:06
November 9 2006
Shepparton News

Going elsewhere

Keen to depart

Successor close

Where is Kirbs actually heading to, who's the favourite for the Lions job, and who's the leading bigman meant to be?

HawkeEye
10 Nov 2006, 03:21
Whats news peoples

Boss, hows the partying going in the house, any classic stories.

Is the big man pavva, going to start rumours again about playing footy.

You got to let the Hawke know of all of this.

Finally, how were the races. Should have been a blast for sure.

Is it true that Tim Stillman will be coaching the Euroa Magpies next year, I heard he did a pretty good presentation to the club the other day.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 06:58
kirbz is yet to make a decision. he isnt really fussed at the momment. just enjoying the spring carnival the big fella is! there is every chance he could go to numerka with linc also a couple of O&M clubs have thrown some big coin at the interleague ruckman!

Ozstriker
10 Nov 2006, 09:04
Well it is silly season at the minute we will hear that many rumors about who is going where!! Any news on any new coaches int the GV??? Heard Paul Brown has been approached to coach Echuca

Ozstriker
10 Nov 2006, 09:06
Where is Kirbs actually heading to, who's the favourite for the Lions job, and who's the leading bigman meant to be?

I reckon the ruckman who is on the move is Jake Cowman from United.. is a class act and is definatly in the top 3 ruckman in the league.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 09:10
I reckon the ruckman who is on the move is Jake Cowman from United.. is a class act and is definatly in the top 3 ruckman in the league.
heard from a very very very reliable sorce that jake had a meeting with mooroopna. robert osborne their captain attended for moral support to try and lure cowman. big dollars are being thrown his way! barooga also chasing the big fella!

Travvy43
10 Nov 2006, 09:11
Well it is silly season at the minute we will hear that many rumors about who is going where!! Any news on any new coaches int the GV??? Heard Paul Brown has been approached to coach Echuca

Coach of echuca was announced probably two weeks ago. Orr, their former star ruckman and league medalist got the gig.

Can Shop
10 Nov 2006, 09:15
heard from a very very very reliable sorce that jake had a meeting with mooroopna. robert osborne their captain attended for moral support to try and lure cowman. big dollars are being thrown his way! barooga also chasing the big fella!

Has brad campbell reliquished the captaincy of mooroopna???

Duff Man
10 Nov 2006, 09:19

Cowman is a pretty handy player but not in the best 3 ruckmen in the league IMO. My best 3 would be Porter, Kirby & Schottner. Then you have Brennan, Clarke, Harrop, Jones and Cowman fighting for the 4th spot. Of course this also doesn't include Trent Hotton as I class him more of a ruck rover even though he does his fair share of the ruck duties.

TuskenRaider
10 Nov 2006, 09:28
[QUOTE=just signed;6196878]
perhaps jumped the gun a little bit on doona there just signed but your point is well made. the defence certainly seems to be the main problem, without seeing any games this year there seemed to be some big scores kicked against them. a backline that once read: s.rasmussen, n.roulston, a.o'brien changed to: (u/18 player), a.pappin, (reserves grade player) in the space of 3 or so years. that said, if they could possibly entice bowen to stay on next year it'd mean you'd have 3 key forwards (along with benny and tank), meaning there'd be no need to play oliver or whitsed forward. all of the sudden you have 3 key (not brilliant but capable) defenders in oli, whits and pappin. throw in mark watson and carl moon (who are apparently returning to tigerland) and things start to look ok. not to mention jimmy loughman (small defender/wingman) who didn't play much this year if at all.

Pretty good summation there jmain, I'd say Rochester would be more than competitive if they had a forward line of McPhee, Anderson and Bowen, whilst throwing Whitsed & Oliver to the key positions down back. If Rochy could keep Bowen, then the addition of Anderson will make a huge difference. It only takes a couple of decent big blokes in defence to make the job easier on the others and some could blossom with "easier" jobs.

Oliver was playing pretty well as a forward a few years ago, but I reckon it's easier to turn a natural forward into a defender than vice verca. There's a lot of flexibility too, as both those players are more than capable up forward, and Anderson can run in the ruck. Pretty sure Oliver could too if needed to.

Having said all that, Bowen will be pretty important to keep. He's a good player.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 09:28
Cowman is a pretty handy player but not in the best 3 ruckmen in the league IMO. My best 3 would be Porter, Kirby & Schottner. Then you have Brennan, Clarke, Harrop, Jones and Cowman fighting for the 4th spot. Of course this also doesn't include Trent Hotton as I class him more of a ruck rover even though he does his fair share of the ruck duties.

i wouldnt say that kirbz is in the league anymore.he will me playing with linc at numerka or goin to the O&M.but yeah there are definantly some premier big men in our comp. schottner is probably the stand out for me. and on hotten yeah he is more a a ruck rover!
osborne captaining mooroopna is a rumour i have heard. i would be shattered to see brad not do it he is definantly the leader of the playing group!

Travvy43
10 Nov 2006, 09:29
Would sutherland be in the mix with those group of ruckman for fourth spot.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 09:33
yeah ya cant leave him out can ya! huge man!

Ozstriker
10 Nov 2006, 09:36
Would sutherland be in the mix with those group of ruckman for fourth spot.

Not sure about Sudsy, yes he is a class ruckman but he was a bit underdone last year with injuries. will he stay at the swanies?

hansie
10 Nov 2006, 09:42
I heard a whisper that Kirby may be off to Mooroopna? Bulldog, can you confirm?

Doona2
10 Nov 2006, 10:04
I heard a whisper that Kirby may be off to Mooroopna? Bulldog, can you confirm?

I wish he would head home to Broadford for season where he started his footy all them years ago!!!

Can Shop
10 Nov 2006, 10:06
Cany anyone tell us the real story about jock mcfarlane

slim18
10 Nov 2006, 10:14
Cany anyone tell us the real story about jock mcfarlane

Heard he was meeting with the club last night. Don't know the outcome though.

Niko87
10 Nov 2006, 10:20
yeah i heard that cowan is leaving united if warbuton is coach out there

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 10:51
kirby to mooroopna dont think so. but wouldnt rule it out. 2 O&M clubs are chasing him pretty hard and it is true that he has said if linc coaches numerka he would go there and linc is coaching numerka. but he is brother in law to Brad and Blake campbell.but my tip would be he will go to O&M.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 10:53
yeah i heard that cowan is leaving united if warbuton is coach out there

i got told by a united player warburton is definantly not coaching!
they would wanna sign some1 soon. mooroopna started training during the week and shepp swans start next week!

Ozstriker
10 Nov 2006, 11:07
i got told by a united player warburton is definantly not coaching!
they would wanna sign some1 soon. mooroopna started training during the week and shepp swans start next week!

Bit keen isnt it. but i suppose they both bombed out when they were the 2 better sides mid and late year this year... so they maybe need to do something now.....

Niko87
10 Nov 2006, 11:08
i heard trav ryan may be helping linc with the duties out at numurkah

Doozy_Man
10 Nov 2006, 11:13
Coach of echuca was announced probably two weeks ago. Orr, their former star ruckman and league medalist got the gig.

Not much has been said about the anouncement of Stephen Orr as the coach for Echuca. I have heard all about his credentials but will he suit Echuca?

Does anyone know if they have picked uop any past players or new players to the club? Heard a rumour that Kristian Height might be returning?

centreman
10 Nov 2006, 11:15
Unietd mightn't have a coach yet but there's been plenty of work on their website.

Check out http://sheppunited.gvfl.com.au

hansie
10 Nov 2006, 12:01
The Bendigo thread is interesting - linking Bamford and Mills from Euroa to join Gilliland over at Sandhurst. Boss, is this rumour true and will it have a bad effect on the Pies?

Matt12
10 Nov 2006, 12:03
kirby to mooroopna dont think so. but wouldnt rule it out. 2 O&M clubs are chasing him pretty hard and it is true that he has said if linc coaches numerka he would go there and linc is coaching numerka. but he is brother in law to Brad and Blake campbell.but my tip would be he will go to O&M.

He is not Brad and Blake's brother-in-law. Paul's brother Rod married their sister (get you facts right first)

Wear The Fox Hat
10 Nov 2006, 12:03
Unietd mightn't have a coach yet but there's been plenty of work on their website.

Check out http://sheppunited.gvfl.com.au

Yeah it looks like its coming along nicely. Love the photo in the top right hand corner of the boys warming up before a game...and Forys is already blowing hard.

Ahhh Fonzie...gotta get off that ouzo champ. Its slowin ya down :thumbsu:

Wear The Fox Hat
10 Nov 2006, 12:08
The Bendigo thread is interesting - linking Bamford and Mills from Euroa to join Gilliland over at Sandhurst. Boss, is this rumour true and will it have a bad effect on the Pies?

Also heard a whisper that Grainger could follow Gilliland, but didn't pay too much attention to it at the time. I guess he would try and take a couple of players with him, but wonder how many are likely to go?

Doona2
10 Nov 2006, 12:28

C'mon Taty for a proclaimed Tatura boy you shoulda known that it is Rod Kirby not Paul that is with their sister.

Travvy43
10 Nov 2006, 12:29
will he stay at the swanies?

I have heard he will be playing with the swans in 07. HAve you heard different Oz??

Doona2
10 Nov 2006, 12:29
He is not Brad and Blake's brother-in-law. Paul's brother Rod married their sister (get you facts right first)

Sorry Matt12 shoulda scrolled down before I posted :thumbsu:

centreman
10 Nov 2006, 12:50
Yeah it looks like its coming along nicely. Love the photo in the top right hand corner of the boys warming up before a game...and Forys is already blowing hard.

Ahhh Fonzie...gotta get off that ouzo champ. Its slowin ya down :thumbsu:

There's certainly a strong movement around the place to ensure he doesn't touch the ouzo again!

Ozstriker
10 Nov 2006, 13:05
I have heard he will be playing with the swans in 07. HAve you heard different Oz??

Nah mate i was just not sure how he would go after not coaching them anymore...Im sure whitey will love to have him stay at the home of the red and white.

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 13:17
C'mon Taty for a proclaimed Tatura boy you shoulda known that it is Rod Kirby not Paul that is with their sister.

sorry mate i ment to put brother of the brother in law! my bad!

Can Shop
10 Nov 2006, 13:19
There's certainly a strong movement around the place to ensure he doesn't touch the ouzo again!

wats the ooozo story

Flames
10 Nov 2006, 13:30
rumour has local guns Chris Atkins & David Newman returning to there beloved bombers. Should bolster there midfield and supply a heap of support to Josh Finn & Gareth Oughten in the middle. any thoughts on the future of the bombers?

Tatybulldog
10 Nov 2006, 13:40
rumour has local guns Chris Atkins & David Newman returning to there beloved bombers. Should bolster there midfield and supply a heap of support to Josh Finn & Gareth Oughten in the middle. any thoughts on the future of the bombers?

its a massive step ky is taking by appointing 3 playing coaches! i think conflict of intrest could affect things sometimes but hey why not have a crack at it!nothn has worked for them for the last few yrs so why not step out on the limb!
as for there "mentor" or whatever you wanna call this bloke that is sitting on the bench old laury casey or however u spell it. heard he was a great footballer but ********ed the club over by dipping his hand in the till many yrs ago! i was talking to long time kyabram member and he said he wont be paying his membership if casey is around!
mixed opinion.
i recon they should give it a crack after all there isnt much newman can do wrong, the bloke is a freak!

flamin homer!
10 Nov 2006, 13:50
its a massive step ky is taking by appointing 3 playing coaches! i think conflict of intrest could affect things sometimes but hey why not have a crack at it!nothn has worked for them for the last few yrs so why not step out on the limb!
as for there "mentor" or whatever you wanna call this bloke that is sitting on the bench old laury casey or however u spell it. heard he was a great footballer but ********ed the club over by dipping his hand in the till many yrs ago! i was talking to long time kyabram member and he said he wont be paying his membership if casey is around!
mixed opinion.
i recon they should give it a crack after all there isnt much newman can do wrong, the bloke is a freak!

think someones got there wires crossed there bulldog, couldnt get a more geniune bloke than Laurie Casey. Is Joffa Berry still doin a bit on the bench? Between him and Laurie they should have enough to get it right. Lookin forward to Finny speak, he can be fiery little prick that I wouldnt like to be on the other end of. Have he spoke to Dion Ciavola? arent him and finny mates.

Ky still need some tall timber, for Ky to be alright Josh Dicketts and Leigh Ryall are musts, both in the mix at the moment. Is Finny mate Craig Nunn playin again?