View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
excitement
7 Dec 2006, 17:10
In brief
December 7 2006
Shepparton News
Players return to Tigers:
Old ties will reunite at Rochester next season, with a swag of names synonymous with the club returning to the fold.
Ben Anderson, Ash Watson, Mark Watson and Carl Moon will again don the yellow and black in what will be a huge boost for the club after failing to reach the finals this season.
Ash Watson, who played seven AFL games with the Kangaroos and 90 VFL games, returns to Tigerland after a quality year with North Ballarat.
Ruckman Anderson returns from West Perth, while Mark Watson rejoins after two seasons with Heathcote and North Bendigo.
Versatile backman Moon adds to an impressive list of recruits, returning to his roots following a premiership with Kyabram District Football League club Ardmona.
Will be a force to be reckoned with next year the good old tigers
I know he is looking at his options as he meet with the United recruiters earlier this week, I saw him walk into deakin reserve myself.
akka dakka
7 Dec 2006, 19:14
I know he is looking at his options as he meet with the United recruiters earlier this week, I saw him walk into deakin reserve myself.
who's that - Looby??
I saw Akka Dakka walk in to deakin too, but that must have been for cricket training
akka dakka
7 Dec 2006, 19:52
I saw Akka Dakka walk in to deakin too, but that must have been for cricket training
nah I was there for footy training actually - had a good conversation about the '89 gvl grand final talking about a player that had an absolute blinder when they switched him to another position on the ground
Sidey_87
7 Dec 2006, 21:49
TIM LOOBY in big talks with shepparton swans tying up loose ends $$$$ excetra
Looby is a hopeless footballer, all he wants to do is fight his opponents.
He wouldn't make GVFL seniors.
Unless he played at Tat, then he'd only just make it.
TheJuddstarr#3
7 Dec 2006, 23:06
Looby is a hopeless footballer, all he wants to do is fight his opponents.
He wouldn't make GVFL seniors.
Unless he played at Tat, then he'd only just make it.
pull ur head in sidey...
dont be a tosser man... u no hes wat better than that...
Sidey_87
7 Dec 2006, 23:09
pull ur head in sidey...
dont be a tosser man... u no hes wat better than that...
Yes i'm joking he's a good mate.
Hope he plays at United but i thought he was playing at Port Melbourne this year?
Yes i'm joking he's a good mate.
Hope he plays at United but i thought he was playing at Port Melbourne this year?
yeah i thought Looby was going to port melbourne with his good mate tim lanyon from tatura
Not wanting to diss United and thumbs up for signing Justin but they have got some serious recruiting to do with Dizzy, Jake and the Fonz all departing...
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:40
yeah i thought Looby was going to port melbourne with his good mate tim lanyon from tatura
i think loobs has already started trainging with them. the swans have been chasing him since he was back in shepp.
as for lanyon i think u might find he will be a dog for another yr. his mum wouldnt let him leave the house!haha
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:41
Not wanting to diss United and thumbs up for signing Justin but they have got some serious recruiting to do with Dizzy, Jake and the Fonz all departing...
where is jake goin?? is that definant?
Can Shop
8 Dec 2006, 08:42
Wheres jake signed and wheres fonz signed???
Can Shop
8 Dec 2006, 08:43
i think loobs has already started trainging with them. the swans have been chasing him since he was back in shepp.
as for lanyon i think u might find he will be a dog for another yr. his mum wouldnt let him leave the house!haha
If lanyon stays he will cpatain the bulldogs at the ripe age of 20 no doubt
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:45
If lanyon stays he will cpatain the bulldogs at the ripe age of 20 no doubt
prob doesnt have he leadership skills at this stage! there would be a couple other blokes in line b4 him.
Can Shop
8 Dec 2006, 08:47
name them
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:54
name them
personally i would have scott thorne. he is more of a leader then tim. puts his body on the line for the team and does more of the team thing. ppl respect him. not saying ppl dont respect timmy but he isnt mature enough yet to be looked up to by a young bunch of players. paul kirby hasnt confirmed he is leaving yet either!in saying what i have said tim is still a good player and one day will be a great leader!
Can Shop
8 Dec 2006, 08:55
Timmy is a local tat boy
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 08:57
Timmy is a local tat boy
i know that. but he isnt ready to be the captain yet.
Can Shop
8 Dec 2006, 08:58
What about cowman to captain united if he stays an signs on as trav eddy unfortunately out for the year
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 09:02
What about cowman to captain united if he stays an signs on as trav eddy unfortunately out for the year
what about a captain coach?? just throwing it out there.
yeah well jake is a super player i have never played with him so im not sure on his leadership skills. your a united boy what do you think about it....
Fonz and Kirby are in talks with Wang and Jake jumped on board late in the piece too.
The maggies will have a great line up!
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 09:10
Fonz and Kirby are in talks with Wang and Jake jumped on board late in the piece too.
The maggies will have a great line up!
so none of the 3 have signed yet??
None signed but two of the three committed to leaving their current clubs
centreman
8 Dec 2006, 09:13
Jake and Fonz haven't gone anywhere yet
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 09:14
None signed but two of the three committed to leaving their current clubs
i would believe kirbs has committed. not sure about the other 2. i would think if fonz leaves united he would go back home.
wang signed cossgrif also didnt they?
i would believe kirbs has committed. not sure about the other 2. i would think if fonz leaves united he would go back home.
Don't know who else Wang signed, i am a United follower, much like Centre Man and canshop
i know that. but he isnt ready to be the captain yet.
tat might have to do a rotation system. what about jason dagger. he is the only bloke who is still out there from their flag
TuskenRaider
8 Dec 2006, 10:32
Pretty sure he's going to Wang.
daisy_train
8 Dec 2006, 11:18
Cosgriff is definately at Wang! signed about a month ago.
spike dudley
8 Dec 2006, 11:25
Cosgriff is definately at Wang! signed about a month ago.
cosgriff is a big big unit. wheres he being playing the last few years? What type of position would wang be looking to play him at?
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 11:56
tat might have to do a rotation system. what about jason dagger. he is the only bloke who is still out there from their flag
yeah he would be the bloke i would pencil in for captaincy except he missed half the yr with injury last yr and his stick like body is taking longer and longer to repair itself.if he was on the training track 2 nights a week and played most the yr he is the man.... awsome bloke that has definantly got the respect of the playing group at the kennel.
Tatybulldog
8 Dec 2006, 11:57
cosgriff is a big big unit. wheres he being playing the last few years? What type of position would wang be looking to play him at?
he would be full forward! thats where he has played nearly all his footy. maybe CHF also..... i think he has been playing vfl seconds unless there is some1 out there to correct me...
What has happened with the Fat Back Pocket??? Maybe he was spot on after Seymour's magical October 1 flag double and has hung up both the boots momentarily and the keyboard :eek:
i think ul find Arcadia is talkin about duane H. here
nah I was there for footy training actually - had a good conversation about the '89 gvl grand final talking about a player that had an absolute blinder when they switched him to another position on the ground
Great move by the coach!
researcher
8 Dec 2006, 15:55
personally i would have scott thorne. he is more of a leader then tim. puts his body on the line for the team and does more of the team thing. ppl respect him. not saying ppl dont respect timmy but he isnt mature enough yet to be looked up to by a young bunch of players. paul kirby hasnt confirmed he is leaving yet either!in saying what i have said tim is still a good player and one day will be a great leader!
Maybe Tige19 can come back and captain.... He gets along well with all...... I cant believe he has left.... this time last year he was working as tats player manager... get him back he can bring his swag of rejects and pick himself up a few bob along the way as there manager....wheres that bloke gone now... what Bigfooty thread is he popping up on now...
Plzzz mate, your comments about me are becoming obsessive.... however if you find continuely talking about me stimulating then im happy to keep you occupied, in fact i like hearing about my self as do most others i bet so please continue with your insightfull mind bewilding posts.
not saying ppl dont respect timmy but he isnt mature enough yet to be looked up to by a young bunch of players. paul kirby hasnt confirmed he is leaving yet either!in saying what i have said tim is still a good player and one day will be a great leader!
Timmy one day i think you would make a good captain...
Had my suspicions it was Timothy, is he right Taty?
excitement
8 Dec 2006, 19:56
RYLEA DUNN to return to the good old bears but i dont think that will be enough to make a ******** side good
centreman
9 Dec 2006, 12:37
I guess Forys is put to rest now too. He's re-signed according to United's website http://sheppunited.gvfl.com.au
Johnny Tapp
10 Dec 2006, 00:20
Anyone confirm a rumour that Sheeners Palmer is returning to Rochy this year? Also, does anyone know where Hooda Gray is playing footy this year.
I guess Forys is put to rest now too. He's re-signed according to United's website http://sheppunited.gvfl.com.au
What about Jake Cowman has he committed yet, he should, as he will be the No. 1 ruckman in the comp, c'mon Jake show a bit of loyalty stay with the might D's, better still become captain and lead the way.
speedster
10 Dec 2006, 12:05
What about Jake Cowman has he committed yet, he should, as he will be the No. 1 ruckman in the comp, c'mon Jake show a bit of loyalty stay with the might D's, better still become captain and lead the way.
think seymours schottner might be number 1
spike dudley
10 Dec 2006, 13:12
think seymours schottner might be number 1
sutherland from swans for me
Flat Track Bully
10 Dec 2006, 13:55
A bloke called Porter goes alright
Jake will be the next big thing!!!!!
bradrowe#32
10 Dec 2006, 23:15
Anyone applying for this?
The Goulburn Valley Football League seeks to appoint a permanent, part-time Administrative Officer (0.7-0.8 EFT) to provide support with the collation and processing of information required to conduct the GVFL competitions and assist with the Goulburn Valley Netball League administration. This position requires a person that can follow a work program, work independently, and show initiative to complete unexpected tasks on request. Much of the administration requires data entry into a web-based data program, word processing, assisting the conduct of the GVFL competition, preparation of a weekly football program and attendance at up to four evening meetings each month as a minute secretary.
Applications close with the GVFL General Manager, P.O. Box 1427, Shepparton on Friday, December 8, 2006. This position will commence in the early part of 2007. A job description is available from the GVFL Office, 24 Dunkirk Avenue, Shepparton, online at www.gvfl.com.au or by contacting the GVFL – 58216888.
Tatybulldog
11 Dec 2006, 06:52
Had my suspicions it was Timothy, is he right Taty?
haha.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 10:15
Justin Davies will be a perfect replacement for Steve Hazelman in the middle of the ground for the demons in 07.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 10:19
Maybe its about time a couple of the magoo's leading defenders in Mills and McBrien got a go . . . . or maybe it's all too late and they'll leave thru lack of opportunity in 2006 :eek:
Finally Whitelaw may get his chance until they have a full side again. The blokes an absolute cult figure up Euroa way I hear and may have provided that "X Factor" or some inspiration had he got a go in the finals.
Whielaw just may have got us across the line during September with some of his inspiration in the way he puts away his winfield reds and woodstock bourban cans.
As for Mills and McBrien.... I think we are just worried about having as many beers as possible during the festive season then worry about whats happening in footy next year at the moment.:D
Grimmett
11 Dec 2006, 10:30
Anyone applying for this?
The Goulburn Valley Football League seeks to appoint a permanent, part-time Administrative Officer (0.7-0.8 EFT) to provide support with the collation and processing of information required to conduct the GVFL competitions and assist with the Goulburn Valley Netball League administration. This position requires a person that can follow a work program, work independently, and show initiative to complete unexpected tasks on request. Much of the administration requires data entry into a web-based data program, word processing, assisting the conduct of the GVFL competition, preparation of a weekly football program and attendance at up to four evening meetings each month as a minute secretary.
Applications close with the GVFL General Manager, P.O. Box 1427, Shepparton on Friday, December 8, 2006. This position will commence in the early part of 2007. A job description is available from the GVFL Office, 24 Dunkirk Avenue, Shepparton, online at www.gvfl.com.au or by contacting the GVFL – 58216888.
An email asking about salary rates and a few other issues went unanswered. Might be why they need the position filled, eh?
Yeah I couldn't see it paying that well-would be a good job,but it looks like it would be for little coin.
Tatybulldog
11 Dec 2006, 12:01
Justin Davies will be a perfect replacement for Steve Hazelman in the middle of the ground for the demons in 07.
yeah he will be a very handy inclusion to the D's list! you would think he will domintae the comp!
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 12:13
yeah he will be a very handy inclusion to the D's list! you would think he will domintae the comp!
I wouldnt go around saying he would dominate the comp. Just because you are fresh out of the AFL system doesnt mean you will dominate. He has had a fair few injuries with his back and that might hinder him slightly.
Must remember Bullen and Hilton didnt dominate this year, mind you both carried injuries..
akka dakka
11 Dec 2006, 12:25
I wouldnt go around saying he would dominate the comp. Just because you are fresh out of the AFL system doesnt mean you will dominate. He has had a fair few injuries with his back and that might hinder him slightly.
Must remember Bullen and Hilton didnt dominate this year, mind you both carried injuries..
Undoubtably there will be huge expectations on him but together with injuries it will depend on how he adjusts to the tempo of GVL footy and the attention he receives from opposition players. He is still fairly young too
Tatybulldog
11 Dec 2006, 13:10
yeah too true boys.
stays wide
11 Dec 2006, 15:52
wise words akka dakka davies if fit and firing to launch the ds into finals contention and help brad hazleman ease into the coaching role after his time in the afl
FOOTYBOSS
11 Dec 2006, 15:54
wise words akka dakka davies if fit and firing to launch the ds into finals contention and help brad hazleman ease into the coaching role after his time in the afl
They were already finalists this year, so no doubt should make it again with a number of talented players they have at the club. Backline is their only worry though.
Yeah but if they lose Jake Cowman that would be a massive blow, they have already lost Mitch Sidebottom (Katandra) and Nathan Bovalino (Shepp East)
Trent Lovelock
11 Dec 2006, 21:53
um tige n hank, i think ur a bit mistaken...
timm is not Tatybulldog...
it seems not even tat people know who this Tatybulldog is...
um tige n hank, i think ur a bit mistaken...
timm is not Tatybulldog...
it seems not even tat people know who this Tatybulldog is...
You wouldnt be Taty bulldog as well would you, First ever post and sign on to let us know that big news!!
Yeah a few of the boys must be telling fibs then and there must be another current senior footballer at Tat other than Timmy that supports the Hawks.
Ill ask the man him self and the future captain Saturday night at Bugs ;).
centreman
12 Dec 2006, 10:12
The great man Rhys Archard picked up by the Adelaide Crows on their rookie list. Good on ya Arch!
FOOTYBOSS
12 Dec 2006, 10:53
The great man Rhys Archard picked up by the Adelaide Crows on their rookie list. Good on ya Arch!
Well done to Rhys, he certainly is making me eat my words from the start of the year when I suggested he might struggle in the SANFL. Will be tough midfield to crack into at the crows, but at least he is there.
akka dakka
12 Dec 2006, 11:24
Well done to Rhys, he certainly is making me eat my words from the start of the year when I suggested he might struggle in the SANFL. Will be tough midfield to crack into at the crows, but at least he is there.
Crows midfield certainly not the youngest in the AFL though!! opportunities could arise in the not too distant future:thumbsu:
nesko_25
12 Dec 2006, 11:36
Rochy are chasing Elmore big man Ryan Hayes, good player but not sure how he'll go in the GV
Trent Lovelock
12 Dec 2006, 13:27
Yeah a few of the boys must be telling fibs then and there must be another current senior footballer at Tat other than Timmy that supports the Hawks.
firstly hank... no - trenty lovelock is not also tatybulldog..
and timm despises these wrongful accusations that he is.. besides, would the timm u no really talk the amount of rubbish tatybulldog does on the picola thread!
and to u tige... gee u really know ur teammates well... just about everyone knows timmy is a loyal geelong fan throu n throu, n is also a bit keen on the mighty #3 from the west coast!
Tatybulldog
12 Dec 2006, 13:32
why would i put the team i really go for and give my identity away...
Whatever mate, no biggy if you wanna keep denying thats cool all the more power to you.
Anyway well done Archard on getting picked up, will no doubt crack a few senior games up there at Adelaide, he has exceeded everyones expectations on him so far so why not do it again.
im off work is calling.
Wayne Weideman
12 Dec 2006, 14:40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxt2_Co4eoU
check this out!! unbelievable!!!!
WEIDEMAN OUT!!!
Tatybulldog
12 Dec 2006, 15:21
firstly hank... no - trenty lovelock is not also tatybulldog..
and timm despises these wrongful accusations that he is.. besides, would the timm u no really talk the amount of rubbish tatybulldog does on the picola thread!
and to u tige... gee u really know ur teammates well... just about everyone knows timmy is a loyal geelong fan throu n throu, n is also a bit keen on the mighty #3 from the west coast!
i think you will find i post on kdl murray league and gv also trent...or should i call u tim?
Alot of love in the room again boys. Is every team started pre-season so far?
Tatybulldog
13 Dec 2006, 06:58
Alot of love in the room again boys. Is every team started pre-season so far?
our coach doesnt relocate over here until the 18th.....
pekay-norwest
13 Dec 2006, 09:07
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxt2_Co4eoU
check this out!! unbelievable!!!!
WEIDEMAN OUT!!!That would be Mark Kerr aka The Smashing Machine, there was a movie length doco on Fox called Smashing Machine followed him for a few years, loves his persians, goes off his dial at the lil lady very angry fella
Tatybulldog
13 Dec 2006, 14:58
hey niko, heard mooroopna is struggling for numbers at training like getting under 10? why is this? is there any shepp swans on here... if so how many u blokes been getting?
nesko_25
13 Dec 2006, 15:17
Gday guys,
Does anyone know what Rory Hilton is up to this year?
If anyone here has contact with him can they please send me a private message. It is pretty important.
Thanks!
Given up footy for the year I heard. Are the flat chasing him for the coaching job Caveman?
Tatybulldog- how are you going with recruiting and keeping players if the coach isnt here yet. is someone else doing it. Surely he has made some appearances to atleast keep the committee happy.
anyway are you atleast back on track. sounded doom and gloom a month ago
Tatybulldog
13 Dec 2006, 15:30
Tatybulldog- how are you going with recruiting and keeping players if the coach isnt here yet. is someone else doing it. Surely he has made some appearances to atleast keep the committee happy.
anyway are you atleast back on track. sounded doom and gloom a month ago
jason dagger has been doin a fair bit. contacting players and so on. yeah nobes was over for a few weeks to meet everyone and touch base with the club and so forth. recruit news in talks with a few from over
SA and also a couple from melbourne.wont let any names out at this stage.it isnt all doom and gloom but would have been great to keep the side from last yr and built ontop of that again.
hey niko, heard mooroopna is struggling for numbers at training like getting under 10? why is this? is there any shepp swans on here... if so how many u blokes been getting?
no idea how the numbers are going at mooroopna taty. all i knew was a few locals are keen to leave from last year. went past the swans one night and they had about 15 or more. might have to get a few over to your neck of the woods
Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 06:58
no idea how the numbers are going at mooroopna taty. all i knew was a few locals are keen to leave from last year. went past the swans one night and they had about 15 or more. might have to get a few over to your neck of the woods
where u playin niko?
shepp swans have recruited pretty well, got 4 or 5 blokes from the SANFL. plus big willo who just got his toe chopped of who missed all of last yr will be playing also. yeah we wont be turning any players away that are keen hey!plenty of room for everyone.
What's the go with Robbie Douglas this year?? Drove past the main ground at broadford monday night and could have sworn i seen chipper running around on the park!! Great mates with the new coach down there so could be a more than handy signing for the roos!!
Doona might be able to fill you in Jazzy:thumbsu:
Yeah Chippa trained with us, yes he is a good mate but I wouldn't go reading too much into it . . . . . . . although his name was on my letter to Santa Clause:D
Doona looks like you Broady boys could be a very competitive team in 2007! A handful of quality players and people will certainly help your chances. Cedrtainly looks as if you are putting in the hard yards with recruiting
Does Angwin still play with Broady Doona???
We hope so, hasnt hit the track yet but
Tatybulldog
14 Dec 2006, 13:58
We hope so, hasnt hit the track yet but
how has he gone since getting delisted? you would have thought he would still have a bit in him since he is at the prime age!
Ive just returned to the club after following Yea since 2002, have only seen him play a few times but each time he has stood out - suffered a bad facial fracture last season and probabaly played just under half the matches but was one of the reasons Broady rolled eventual premier Mounts by 10-11 goals back in May.
FOOTYBOSS
14 Dec 2006, 15:43
Ive just returned to the club after following Yea since 2002, have only seen him play a few times but each time he has stood out - suffered a bad facial fracture last season and probabaly played just under half the matches but was one of the reasons Broady rolled eventual premier Mounts by 10-11 goals back in May.
Been putting the boys through some training sessions have you Doona?
Have you heard any rumours out of Seymour of which players are likely to move on or even news on any new recruits?
I know Euroa will know more about the make up of their team after training this Sunday.
where u playin niko?
shepp swans have recruited pretty well, got 4 or 5 blokes from the SANFL. plus big willo who just got his toe chopped of who missed all of last yr will be playing also. yeah we wont be turning any players away that are keen hey!plenty of room for everyone.
no idea taty... might have to come to your neck of the woods
Been putting the boys through some training sessions have you Doona?
Have you heard any rumours out of Seymour of which players are likely to move on or even news on any new recruits?
I know Euroa will know more about the make up of their team after training this Sunday.
Was chatting with me mate Inness#15 last night, they seem to be consolidating list ok, Rattray and Jackson should return, I asked about Cam Ramsay but got side tracked and didnt get the answer. Think Habers will have a handy list at his disposal and by all reports looking good for a shot at a 3-peat. Maybe a few fringe players may seek opportunity of senior footy elsewhere but doubtful there will be a high turnover of stock at this stage.
Saad Saad linked to Northcote Park with Joey, you've got the DVFL mail is this gunna happen or maybe Oak Park who has apparently offered him employment???
wheelbarrow
14 Dec 2006, 17:08
Was chatting with me mate Inness#15 last night, they seem to be consolidating list ok, Rattray and Jackson should return, I asked about Cam Ramsay but got side tracked and didnt get the answer. Think Habers will have a handy list at his disposal and by all reports looking good for a shot at a 3-peat. Maybe a few fringe players may seek opportunity of senior footy elsewhere but doubtful there will be a high turnover of stock at this stage.
Saad Saad linked to Northcote Park with Joey, you've got the DVFL mail is this gunna happen or maybe Oak Park who has apparently offered him employment???
Rat will be taking a road trip with Steve Coll and the boys via Cairns to have a chat to his mate Stevie D..
Has any body heard if Rick Shiner has been to a trg session at Euroa.?
Is Dunne staying with Broady.?
jobbytonny
14 Dec 2006, 20:11
Hey Doona yer Rattlesnake could be a good chance for Cairns going up first week in Jan will know more then,but wasnt there a love hate relationship with him and Daniels
I woulda thought it was all love with Patty he was pretty good in 2005 when it counted. I just hope the big fella can get a kick up north, and wherever he lands in 2007 he gets full time work and makes a go of things.
Id reckon they'd be queing up to play under Steve up there in the tropics - would be a great experience for guys bloke looking to learn from one of the best outside the AFL/VFL system I reckon :thumbsu:
big tony
14 Dec 2006, 21:57
just wondering, does any body know if there is any other players leaving Benalla other than the Martiniello boys.
Tatybulldog
15 Dec 2006, 07:05
cowman definant to go to mulwala!
half time lollies
15 Dec 2006, 10:10
just wondering, does any body know if there is any other players leaving Benalla other than the Martiniello boys.
A. Stevens - retired
J. Shiels linked with H'Berg
R. Priest playing in Darwin and may not come back to Benalla
Not sure of any others!
journeyman
15 Dec 2006, 10:15
A. Stevens - retired
J. Shiels linked with H'Berg
R. Priest playing in Darwin and may not come back to Benalla
Not sure of any others!
Vallender is close to returning to Nathalia