View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 [79] 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

sparra
3 Jan 2007, 13:02
football, and a break from life in vt.

let's hope that comment does not come back to bite you on the a r s e
because you must know more about the boy than he does himself

Chance
3 Jan 2007, 15:03
Who is coaching Benalla in 2007?

Niko87
3 Jan 2007, 15:20
Who is coaching Benalla in 2007?
Brenton Cooper

skippy__67
3 Jan 2007, 17:44
let's hope that comment does not come back to bite you on the a r s e
because you must know more about the boy than he does himself
no, thats just been said around, anyway it is good for him to be leaving for a year, the boy might learn more than he would playing GV.

Wear The Fox Hat
3 Jan 2007, 20:02
sharp is off to cairns

Pretty good mail on this one skippy me dear boy, but Sharpy is yet to put pen to paper. Believe he's gonna have a look around up there first then make a decision after that. If he agrees to go, I've heard he will also be looking to take a mate from VT with him. Watch this space....

jobbytonny
3 Jan 2007, 20:23
Pretty good mail on this one skippy me dear boy, but Sharpy is yet to put pen to paper. Believe he's gonna have a look around up there first then make a decision after that. If he agrees to go, I've heard he will also be looking to take a mate from VT with him. Watch this space....

That mate wouldnt be Sean Horsbrough by any chance he has finished his apprenticship and dosent like the new boss

Doona2
3 Jan 2007, 20:28
That mate wouldnt be Sean Horsbrough by any chance he has finished his apprenticship and dosent like the new boss

Ha ha love it Jobby, reckon you're spot on there :thumbsu:

slim18
4 Jan 2007, 10:45
Ha ha love it Jobby, reckon you're spot on there :thumbsu:

Also heard that Rowan Priest is playing in Darwin and going very well. May not return to Benalla! SANFL/WAFL Myrtleford?

Doona2
4 Jan 2007, 10:48
Also heard that Rowan Priest is playing in Darwin and going very well. May not return to Benalla! SANFL/WAFL Myrtleford?

Priest will be very very handy for whoever gets his signature. Will there be be a few follow jock to myrtleford that woulda stayed if he coached on at Benalla?

slim18
4 Jan 2007, 12:59
Priest will be very very handy for whoever gets his signature. Will there be be a few follow jock to myrtleford that woulda stayed if he coached on at Benalla?

Rumour has it that is the case

NEXT LEVEL
4 Jan 2007, 15:30
Whats the news out Mooroopna way any recruits/players leaving??? Whos coaching them in 2007 - Hall again???
not alot at mooroopna other than a few locals moving on and all their recruits leaving and heading back to melb

excitement
5 Jan 2007, 14:52
Shepparton United will finish in bottom three of competition no depth players leaving left right and centre and will take more than an ex afl player to get them back on track and poor coaching pannel

Go Rochy

daisy_train
5 Jan 2007, 15:12
Actually i heard it was more the officials at Shepp United that were the problem.

footyhead2
5 Jan 2007, 15:36
Shepparton United will finish in bottom three of competition no depth players leaving left right and centre and will take more than an ex afl player to get them back on track and poor coaching pannel

Go Rochy

no way i guarntee united will make finals if not go the whole way..there midfield especially will b one of the best in the league

Chance
5 Jan 2007, 16:56

Go Rochy
Care to name names? who's leaving etc that makes you predict they will be bottom three? Likewise, Footyhead2, perhaps you could name some recruits (except for Davies of course!) that could take them all the way.

Big Roy
5 Jan 2007, 17:51
Can anyone update big footy with how Echuca is going in terms of recruits. Seems as though Rochy will be strong. Wonder if the old rivalry will spark up again if both teams are a force again.

big tony
5 Jan 2007, 19:05
May as well get rid of sharp to and spend the money on someone worth while

excitement, how can u say that when sharp kicked 6 against use and practically won the game for benalla.

go rochy!:thumbsd:

footyhead2
5 Jan 2007, 19:53
Care to name names? who's leaving etc that makes you predict they will be bottom three? Likewise, Footyhead2, perhaps you could name some recruits (except for Davies of course!) that could take them all the way.

well apart from davis there is possibly duane hueston,a little rover by the name of black and a key defender whos name im not sure of.i dont think its about the recruits, they keep practically the same team as last year without S.Hazelman but i think davies is a good replacement there and bovalino.will play finals no doubt about it!!!

stringy
5 Jan 2007, 20:05
just wondering if the barlow boys are staying at shep utd. heard mick had a good year last season what about dom tho? or should he lay off the beer/pies

footyhead2
5 Jan 2007, 20:20
just wondering if the barlow boys are staying at shep utd. heard mick had a good year last season what about dom tho? or should he lay off the beer/pies

haha yes as far as i no they are both playing.mick was training before xmas and i think dom might be starting after xmas

roaring tiger
6 Jan 2007, 09:44
well apart from davis there is possibly duane hueston,a little rover by the name of black and a key defender whos name im not sure of.i dont think its about the recruits, they keep practically the same team as last year without S.Hazelman but i think davies is a good replacement there and bovalino.will play finals no doubt about it!!!

With Huey being appointed Assitant coach at Echuca Untied he wont be seen in a demons jumper in 2007. He has been taking pre season training before and will be probably taking a bit of it once training restarts.

beaglehound
6 Jan 2007, 18:22

Go Rochy
I bet United are happy to be written off at this stage of proceedings. As far as players leaving other then Osbourne and Bovalino all the others that have stated that`they are leaving were reserves players (handy players to pick up) who struggled for a senior game. Uniteds senior list will actually be stronger with key players being recruited to build on last years squad and a few thirds players may also be given a chance to grab a spot. I predict that they will be top six again and that with the eveness of the comp to continue, anything can happen.

footyman
6 Jan 2007, 18:53
Anyone know if Lochlan Veale is staying in the GV next year?

On The Money
7 Jan 2007, 03:45
With Huey being appointed Assitant coach at Echuca Untied he wont be seen in a demons jumper in 2007. He has been taking pre season training before and will be probably taking a bit of it once training restarts.

You don't win flags with blokes like Hueston in leadership roles very often because he plays for number 1 and has little interest in others that he plays with.

SUPASTARR
7 Jan 2007, 13:58
You don't win flags with blokes like Hueston in leadership roles very often because he plays for number 1 and has little interest in others that he plays with.

Ouch!! Bit harsh there OTM. You don't like Huey?:confused:

tige19
7 Jan 2007, 16:17
Anyone know if Lochlan Veale is staying in the GV next year?

Yes mate Lochy is playing at Shepp and is still working with the GV, anything else you would like to know champ??

On The Money
7 Jan 2007, 22:19
Ouch!! Bit harsh there OTM. You don't like Huey?:confused:

He has got great football ability but just an assessment from what i have seen and heard from others that have played with him.

Big Roy
8 Jan 2007, 08:38
Yes mate Lochy is playing at Shepp and is still working with the GV, anything else you would like to know champ??

Tige did you mean shepp bears or shepp swans.... Didnt he play for the swans last season

Big Roy
8 Jan 2007, 08:39
I bet United are happy to be written off at this stage of proceedings. As far as players leaving other then Osbourne and Bovalino all the others that have stated that`they are leaving were reserves players (handy players to pick up) who struggled for a senior game. Uniteds senior list will actually be stronger with key players being recruited to build on last years squad and a few thirds players may also be given a chance to grab a spot. I predict that they will be top six again and that with the eveness of the comp to continue, anything can happen.

Uniteds thirds were ordinary last year so i really not sure what thirds would be stepping up to play senior footy

Can Shop
8 Jan 2007, 08:41
Latest rumour i've heard is that shepp bears are close to signing a former carlton and kangaroos player

Wear The Fox Hat
8 Jan 2007, 09:01
Latest rumour i've heard is that shepp bears are close to signing a former carlton and kangaroos player

Could you be talking about Digby Morrel there Can Shop?

Can Shop
8 Jan 2007, 09:50
Could you be talking about Digby Morrel there Can Shop?

Yeah just heard that from a mate who heard from another person so not sure on the strength of the rumour as yet

beaglehound
8 Jan 2007, 10:53
Uniteds thirds were ordinary last year so i really not sure what thirds would be stepping up to play senior footy
Your right, they were ordinary but players like Daniels and Bingham were standouts who may get opportunities this year. Also Rendina should get more senior game time this year.

Can Shop
8 Jan 2007, 10:58
If you say so

NEXT LEVEL
8 Jan 2007, 11:19
is that david teague

sparra
8 Jan 2007, 11:30

Digby Morrel ?
David Teague ?
Mark Porter ?
Or maybe Brent Croswell ?

Flat Track Bully
8 Jan 2007, 11:59
Digby Morrel ?
David Teague ?
Mark Porter ?
Or maybe Brent Croswell ?

Mark Arceri?

Urple
8 Jan 2007, 12:06
is that david teague
Pretty hard to be Teague considering he is still on Carltons list. I think people will find that Digby Morrell has signed at Northern Bullants again.

sparra
8 Jan 2007, 12:14
Mark Arceri?

Denis Pagan ?

Can Shop
8 Jan 2007, 12:41
Pretty hard to be Teague considering he is still on Carltons list. I think people will find that Digby Morrell has signed at Northern Bullants again.

Well rumour musnt be strong then

FOOTYBOSS
8 Jan 2007, 13:19
Denis Pagan ?

Corey McKernan?

Lindsay Smith?

Manbearpig
8 Jan 2007, 13:58
Corey McKernan?

Lindsay Smith?

Carlton legend and sometime Roo Mick Martyn maybe?

Have heard its Digby, but hasn't signed as yet.

NEXT LEVEL
8 Jan 2007, 14:27
Good source that Tatura will sign Paul Neville to co-captain the footy club with Josh Gledhill in 2007. Also Rick Helman will make a comeback and be a dashing forward pocket for them.

wheelbarrow
8 Jan 2007, 14:32
Denis Pagan ?

Sparra has Gezz signed at Barooga.?

sparra
8 Jan 2007, 14:43

Sorry Barrow - you might have me mistaken for someone else because the only Gezz I know is overseas - and I haven't taken much interest in Barooga since the early 90's

slim18
8 Jan 2007, 15:08
Denis Pagan ?

Dont overlook Ron Barrassi !

Tatybulldog
8 Jan 2007, 15:23
Good source that Tatura will sign Paul Neville to co-captain the footy club with Josh Gledhill in 2007. Also Rick Helman will make a comeback and be a dashing forward pocket for them.
hahahahah

Niko87
8 Jan 2007, 16:08
Go sell some T-shirts next level

Trent Lovelock
8 Jan 2007, 17:14

whose Paul Neville & Josh Gledhill??
the bulldogs must be really scrapping the barrel!;)

NEXT LEVEL
8 Jan 2007, 17:28
josh is an all out gun with great abilities to play forward or back and paul neville is a super midfielder that is always around the mark in the morrison medal count.

NEXT LEVEL
8 Jan 2007, 17:29
Go sell some T-shirts next level
why dont you come in and buy some, might help you with the ladies.

Trent Lovelock
8 Jan 2007, 18:15
josh is an all out gun with great abilities to play forward or back and paul neville is a super midfielder that is always around the mark in the morrison medal count.

ohhh that Gledhill & Neville....

Xander
8 Jan 2007, 18:24
Yes Gezza has signed with Barooga from all reports.

Sly Dog
8 Jan 2007, 19:34
unless the previous morrison medals have been won with 4 votes, can't say that nevile would have been prominent NEXT LEVEL. all the same, not a bad player who has had limited opportunities at mooroopna, is he on the move is he?
although only january, any thoughts on where clubs might finish this year??
Ill go:
Shepp Swans
Seymour
Shepp
Rochester
United
Mansfield
Echuca
Benalla
Mooroopna
Euroa
Kyabram
Tatura

Took me longer than expected.

big tony
8 Jan 2007, 20:20
unless the previous morrison medals have been won with 4 votes, can't say that nevile would have been prominent NEXT LEVEL. all the same, not a bad player who has had limited opportunities at mooroopna, is he on the move is he?
Ill go:
Shepp Swans
Seymour
Shepp
Rochester
United
Mansfield
Echuca
Benalla
Mooroopna
Euroa
Kyabram
Tatura

you are kidding yourself

Manbearpig
8 Jan 2007, 20:28
Ill go:
Shepp Swans
Seymour
Shepp
Rochester
United
Mansfield
Echuca
Benalla
Mooroopna
Euroa
Kyabram
Tatura

cough cough.... Shepp 3rd? And above Rochy? Try 3rd last.

Sly Dog
8 Jan 2007, 20:40
a couple of comments there manbearpig and bigtony but you havent elaborated much. you care to have a crack at a ladder, just for interests sake.

spike dudley
8 Jan 2007, 20:43

surely you must be joking? paul neville has ZERO leadership qualities and was only a fringe player at mooroopna. And you would have to assume that position would be worth a good pay packet. There has to be someone more qualified/better player for the money

Manbearpig
8 Jan 2007, 21:00
a couple of comments there manbearpig and bigtony but you havent elaborated much. you care to have a crack at a ladder, just for interests sake.

Actually Shepp being lower is my only change, say 8th for mine. They've lost quite a few players so can't see em getting much better. Their depth is not what it used to be but they have some good kids coming through. Rochy will be very competitive. They'll lack quality outside say the top 15 players, but Dirty always seems to get the best out of those on the next tier. Top 3 is on the money.

Johnny Tapp
9 Jan 2007, 02:15
Ill go:
Shepp Swans
Seymour
Shepp
Rochester
United
Mansfield
Echuca
Benalla
Mooroopna
Euroa
Kyabram
Tatura

I had some free time today

Shepp Swans
Rochester
Seymour
Echuca
Benalla
Mansfield
United
Euroa
Mooroopna
Shepp
Kyabram
Tatura

Tatybulldog
9 Jan 2007, 07:26
surely you must be joking? paul neville has ZERO leadership qualities and was only a fringe player at mooroopna. And you would have to assume that position would be worth a good pay packet. There has to be someone more qualified/better player for the money
think u might find jason dagger would be the ideal leader for the group this season.

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 08:06
think u might find jason dagger would be the ideal leader for the group this season.
just becuase he had been there the longest doesn;t make him the best captain. i would wait and see and maybe try to recuite a captain. who can win you a couple of games of his own back

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 08:07
ohhh that Gledhill & Neville....
hahaha yes now we know who were talking about.

God's Country
9 Jan 2007, 08:10

Both are massive alco's, but at the same time quality blokes. Could be a recruiting ploy by the new coach as they're often out and about on a sat night talking to footy lads.

Regarding NEXT LEVEL's post about the 1998 3rds Goal Kicking champ Rick Helman playing with the Doggies, it's fair to say that he's been in the same grazing paddock as Serena Williams - doubt your source there NL.

tige19
9 Jan 2007, 08:24
If Jason Dagger does not captain that place then they might as well appoint Fred Dimwit from Bermagoowie 50ths, lets get serious here. The guy has the respect from the playing group, is a premiership player, is on the commitee and was somewhat of an assistant last season.

Good fella Gledders as well, is super talented and if fit could be a real good player in the GV.

lion's_roar
9 Jan 2007, 10:47

Shepp Swans
Rochester
Seymour
Echuca
Benalla
Mansfield
United
Euroa
Mooroopna
Shepp
Kyabram
Tatura

Just going on what I've read on here and on the Shepp News website, I'll go with ....

Shepp Swans
Seymour
United
Rochester
Echuca
Benalla
Euroa
Mansfield
Bears
Mooroopna
Kyabram
Tatura

Trent Lovelock
9 Jan 2007, 10:48

Both are massive alco's, but at the same time quality blokes. Could be a recruiting ploy by the new coach as they're often out and about on a sat night talking to footy lads.

[quote=tige19;6510069]If Jason Dagger does not captain that place then they might as well appoint Fred Dimwit from Bermagoowie 50ths, lets get serious here. The guy has the respect from the playing group, is a premiership player, is on the commitee and was somewhat of an assistant last season.

Good fella Gledders as well, is super talented and if fit could be a real good player in the GV.

I think u all missed the boat a bit their boys...

im pretty sure NEXT LEVEL was just making a bit of a tummy tickler there with the tat captaincy!

Can Shop
9 Jan 2007, 11:05
Just going on what I've read on here and on the Shepp News website, I'll go with ....

Shepp Swans
Seymour
United
Rochester
Echuca
Benalla
Euroa
Mansfield
Bears
Mooroopna
Kyabram
Tatura

Thats strang from you lions_roar dont you belive your might eagles can make an impact this year

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 11:15
how do you know the paul has zero leadership qualities. maybe he hasn't shown any because he hasn't had the chance. there are not many given at mooroopna

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 11:18
If Jason Dagger does not captain that place then they might as well appoint Fred Dimwit from Bermagoowie 50ths, lets get serious here. The guy has the respect from the playing group, is a premiership player, is on the commitee and was somewhat of an assistant last season.

respect of what playing group there isn't anyone left there from the past 5 years. good bloke tho

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 11:20
[quote=God's Country;6510019]Both are massive alco's, but at the same time quality blokes. Could be a recruiting ploy by the new coach as they're often out and about on a sat night talking to footy lads.

I think u all missed the boat a bit their boys...

im pretty sure NEXT LEVEL was just making a bit of a tummy tickler there with the tat captaincy!
finally someone has some smarts about them and can relise a joke when ones presented

NEXT LEVEL
9 Jan 2007, 11:20

Regarding NEXT LEVEL's post about the 1998 3rds Goal Kicking champ Rick Helman playing with the Doggies, it's fair to say that he's been in the same grazing paddock as Serena Williams - doubt your source there NL.
wow rick would be a great pick if possible but it sounds doubtful

lion's_roar
9 Jan 2007, 12:38
Thats strang from you lions_roar dont you belive your might eagles can make an impact this year

I've been caught out before CAN SHOP .. I said on my old radio show i thought the Eagles would finish bottom two last season and look where they finished.

They all remembered and gave it to me at the end of the year, so if I can do my bit to inspire i will.

They have lost some quality players though and from what I've heard haven't picked up many.

Also won't be able to play at home for much of the season because of the drought, that will make recruiting hard on a couple of levels.

It's united's turn anyway mate ..

Can Shop
9 Jan 2007, 12:43
Big Call........ How come there footy ground is suffering when there golf course is so green???

Are any other clubs ground struggling with the water restrictions??

TuskenRaider
9 Jan 2007, 13:05
Big Call........ How come there footy ground is suffering when there golf course is so green???

Pretty sure Mansfield GC is using recycled water so the golf course is still in good condition.

Can Shop
9 Jan 2007, 13:59
Thanks for that

Niko87
9 Jan 2007, 14:37
I think next level was only joking about neville being captain but the time we played him (swans) he kicked 5 or 6 goals and won the game for them. he will be a good pick up for tat because he will finally get an opportunity

Tatybulldog
9 Jan 2007, 14:47

hit the nail on the head with both comments shann!
as for you NEXT LEVEL your pretty funny! signed at shepp east yet??

tige19
9 Jan 2007, 21:26
hit the nail on the head with both comments shann!
as for you NEXT LEVEL your pretty funny! signed at shepp east yet??

Your a smart man Timbo, always thought we were on the same level :eek: , wats the go with the big red headed boof Kirby?? is the big fella staying at Tat, would be great for the club to keep him, at least with Timmy Little and Kirbs Tat would have in my mind the best ruck combo in the league by a street.

bradrowe#32
9 Jan 2007, 21:34
Actually Shepp being lower is my only change, say 8th for mine. They've lost quite a few players so can't see em getting much better. Their depth is not what it used to be but they have some good kids coming through. Rochy will be very competitive. They'll lack quality outside say the top 15 players, but Dirty always seems to get the best out of those on the next tier. Top 3 is on the money.

Fair assessment of Rochy. There season will depend on 2 things: if they don't suffer heaps of injuries and how the 18-20 year olds progress.

Last year they had a pretty bad run with injuries and it really highlighted the difference between them and the top teams. Seymour, for example, were able to cover those, but Rochy simply didn't have the depth.

There are some pretty good juniors that got experience last year. They will need to be consistent this year.

Tatybulldog
10 Jan 2007, 07:05
Your a smart man Timbo, always thought we were on the same level :eek: , wats the go with the big red headed boof Kirby?? is the big fella staying at Tat, would be great for the club to keep him, at least with Timmy Little and Kirbs Tat would have in my mind the best ruck combo in the league by a street.
kirbs will be heading over to wang mate! another big loss! but little will be a great pick up and hopefully noble can bring a couple from SA that are in the pipe line atm. hows mornington looking? is the big fella(willa) playing there with you?

speedster
10 Jan 2007, 08:29
paul cox coaching port douglas very interesting big move

HJ32
10 Jan 2007, 08:53

that it is speedy. Hopefully it goes well for him. Im not 100% sure if they're in the same comp, but i'd assume he'll be coaching against Steve Daniel up there.

Zoey
10 Jan 2007, 09:12

Shepp Swans
Rochester
Seymour
Echuca
Benalla
Mansfield
United
Euroa
Mooroopna
Shepp
Kyabram
Tatura

Rochester
Shepp Swans
Echuca
United
Seymour
Mooroopna
Benalla
Mansfield
Euroa
Shepp
Kyabram
Tatura
Go Rochy priemiers 2007 - Rick Helman wouldn`t get a kick in a karate match: wooden spoon Tatura

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 09:26

Chief Lion Cox is now in charge of Crocs

By Christie Peucker
January 10 2007
Shepparton News

Former Seymour president Paul Cox will face off against his twotime premiership coach and good friend Steve Daniel next season after signing with rival AFL Cairns club Port Douglas.

Cox, who was at the helm during the past two years of success at Kings Park, was announced as the Crocs' newest non-playing recruit yesterday after accepting the position earlier this week.

In November, Daniel agreed to coach South Cairns in the same league, where he will also take on a football development role with the AFL outpost.

Speaking from Port Douglas yesterday club president John Cameron said the circumstances of Cox's appointment were somewhat unusual.

"We were actually following up someone else as coach and Paul was a referee," Cameron said.

"When that fell through we got back to Paul and it went from there."

Despite having a good football pedigree, Cox does not boast the lengthiest coaching resume, but Cameron said it was other attributes which sold the club on Cox as this season's coach.

"I have been so impressed with the character and the integrity of the man," he said. "We have a lot of juniors coming to the fore and we wanted someone who would be a role model.

"We have 130 juniors on the books and we want to be a club that lives off the local juniors."

Port Douglas Football Club was formed in 1989 and has since won three premierships.

Ironically the previous two (in 2001 and 2005) were one-point victories on the final siren against Daniel's new team South Cairns.

Cox could not be contacted by The News yesterday.

Niko87
10 Jan 2007, 09:59
Rochester
Shepp Swans
Echuca
United
Seymour
Mooroopna
Benalla
Mansfield
Euroa
Shepp
Kyabram
Tatura
Go Rochy priemiers 2007 - Rick Helman wouldn`t get a kick in a karate match: wooden spoon Tatura

I reckon
Swans
Seymour
Echuca
Rochester
Mansfield
United
Benalla
Euroa
Mooroopna
Kyabram
Shepp
Tatura

Echuca to win the flag over the swannies

speedster
10 Jan 2007, 10:43
that it is speedy. Hopefully it goes well for him. Im not 100% sure if they're in the same comp, but i'd assume he'll be coaching against Steve Daniel up there.they r in the same comp is this the start of the seymour slide wit other players already left

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 10:46
they r in the same comp is this the start of the seymour slide wit other players already left

Wont slide too much if they retain Rattray to cover Gordo, Ramsay to cover Pilling, and Luke Jackson. Depth is ok with a few of the two's guys more than handy enough for GV senior football.

Hawks feather their midfield

January 10 2007
Shepparton News

Seymour whippet Gerard Liddell will hold down a new midfield next season after signing with Barooga on Monday.

Hawks coach Matt Byers said the pint-sized on-baller was a welcome addition to his side, which is shaping to become a formidable finals contender.

"We heard he was on the move . . . so we would have been mad not to make an approach," Byers said.

"He's a great player and played in both their premiership sides.

"And he will be great for our on-ball division to play alongside Damien and Rowan O'Callaghan."

Byers said Liddell, a builder in Seymour, would continue to train the majority of the time at Kings Park with the Lions.

"It's important for him to get to the camp when we do game plans and things like that," Byers said.

"But we've got a few travellers from Melbourne already.

"It is hard, but he's professional enough to go about it correctly."

Liddell said a change of scenery was necessary after playing the majority of his career at Seymour.

"I just felt like I need a change," the dual premiership player said.

"Hopefully we can have more success at Barooga.

"I know a couple of blokes on the committee and they seem like they will have a crack."

Having committed to the Hawks for 12 months, Liddell said he was pleased he was leaving Seymour on good terms and that he would like to return there in the future.

Barooga begins its first postChristmas pre-season run at 10 am Sunday at Barooga Recreation Reserve.

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 10:50
Geez a few of you lads could have some fun with this invitation from the Shepp News . . . .

It's football's silly season.

Players are weighing up club loyalties, ensuring their career progression and chasing a buck for the new season.

So tell us who's coming to your club.

Email sport@mcmedia.com.au or phone 5820 3228.

beaglehound
10 Jan 2007, 11:20
I reckon
Swans
Seymour
Echuca
Rochester
Mansfield
United
Benalla
Euroa
Mooroopna
Kyabram
Shepp
Tatura

Echuca to win the flag over the swannies
Looks like most people have the same bottom six, my ladder is
Shepp Swans
United
Rochestor
Seynour
Echuca
Mansfield
Mooroopna
Shepparton
Benella
Euroa
Kyabram
Tatura
Swans to go out of the finals in straight sets and United and Rochy to play off in the final. I don't think a lot will seperate the top 6 sides this year.

flojo
10 Jan 2007, 11:45
Josh Maddox has left Echuca to join South Adelaide in the SANFL

wizza_2
10 Jan 2007, 12:32
Gvfl Final Ladder

Rochy
United
Swans
Seymour
Shepp
Mooroopna
Echuca
Mansfield
Euroa
Benalla
Ky
Tat

wizza_2
10 Jan 2007, 12:34
Wats the updates at Rochy?? Locals comin back but any big guns?? Hooda Gray are they just rumors??

matt_nicholls
10 Jan 2007, 12:35
United
Rochy
Seymour
Swans
Echuca
Mooroopna
Shepp
Mansfield
Euroa
Benalla
Kyabram
Tatura

Manbearpig
10 Jan 2007, 13:00
Wats the updates at Rochy?? Locals comin back but any big guns?? Hooda Gray are they just rumors??

As far as I know, the confirmed locals returning are Ash Watson, Ben Anderson, Carl Moon, Mark Watson and Nick Knight. Possibily Andrew Palmer. Hooda Gray just rumour at his stage, but doubtful. I would say their top 10 players will be as good as in the GV this year. How far they go will depend on their depth.

akka dakka
10 Jan 2007, 13:24
Geez a few of you lads could have some fun with this invitation from the Shepp News . . . .

It's football's silly season.

Players are weighing up club loyalties, ensuring their career progression and chasing a buck for the new season.

So tell us who's coming to your club.

Email sport@mcmedia.com.au or phone 5820 3228.

Might save them logging onto BigFooty so much too !!!:p :thumbsu:

Doona2
10 Jan 2007, 13:27
Might save them logging onto BigFooty so much too !!!:p :thumbsu:

I reckon it's good to see a few of the lads' inside mail getting a run in the news, I just think a carton of cans occasionally to say thanks would be nice :D

FOOTYBOSS
10 Jan 2007, 13:30
Cant believe everyone isnt mentioning Seymour with a 3 peat. They will definately win it again from all reports. As for Rochy, yeas they have recruited some decent players, but they wont lift them into the top 3 of the league.

akka dakka
10 Jan 2007, 13:30
I reckon it's good to see a few of the lads' inside mail getting a run in the news, I just think a carton of cans occasionally to say thanks would be nice :D

Yes they owe you heaps I think:thumbsu: keep up the good work

SUPASTARR
10 Jan 2007, 13:43
Cant believe everyone isnt mentioning Seymour with a 3 peat. They will definately win it again from all reports. As for Rochy, yeas they have recruited some decent players, but they wont lift them into the top 3 of the league.

Yep couldn't agree more there boss. They will definitely be up around the mark again and should be similar to 06. Sure they have lost a couple but the replacements are very good players. Also by the sounds, the league may not be quite as strong with the high calibre of players departing the GV. Echuca seem to be an interesting case at the moment. Some people have them top 3 whereas some don't have them in their final 6.