View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Very interresting weeks footy, rochy boys do you guys think you have a chance, put aside the rochy guts/spirit that wont be enough against a real top side, do they have enough fire power to match the intensity of finals footy?
I'd be very surpised if they were to win travvy, very surprised. simply just too big a task to win without sammy, heata and kahl. geez it would be awesome if they somehow found a way though. there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he). in reality though, our boys are up against it.
Other two games seem great aswell, dont care bout benalla and shepp both are peasent teams.
ha ha, agree.
Euroa/Mansfield will be very interesting......toss of the coin maybe?
mansfield.
fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 14:35
[QUOTE=jmain14]I'd be very surpised if they were to win travvy, very surprised. simply just too big a task to win without sammy, heata and kahl. geez it would be awesome if they somehow found a way though. there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he). in reality though, our boys are up against it.
[QUOTE]
You can't tell me that Rochy have been up the top of the GV ladder for almost a decade with a list of "local" blokes who get paid less than $200. Chris McCarty could name a price anywhere, he may play for less at Rochy, but i couldn't imagine it would be less than $200. I
I think you are living in a dream world jmain14. Get on the committee and find out some facts before you make silly comments like the one above.
I can recall a man by the name of John MacNamarra playing for Rochy back in 2000. He isn't exactly a "play for the love of it" kind of guy. He would have been on a stack of cash to drive from melbourne every week to Rochy.
Whitsed - big CHF, i'm sure his asking price was well beyond $200. Come on. Who are you trying to kid.
Rochy would have to be just as cashed up as most other clubs. You are a fool if you say otherwise.
[QUOTE=jmain14]I'd be very surpised if they were to win travvy, very surprised. simply just too big a task to win without sammy, heata and kahl. geez it would be awesome if they somehow found a way though. there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he). in reality though, our boys are up against it.
[QUOTE]
You can't tell me that Rochy have been up the top of the GV ladder for almost a decade with a list of "local" blokes who get paid less than $200. Chris McCarty could name a price anywhere, he may play for less at Rochy, but i couldn't imagine it would be less than $200. I
I think you are living in a dream world jmain14. Get on the committee and find out some facts before you make silly comments like the one above.
I can recall a man by the name of John MacNamarra playing for Rochy back in 2000. He isn't exactly a "play for the love of it" kind of guy. He would have been on a stack of cash to drive from melbourne every week to Rochy.
Whitsed - big CHF, i'm sure his asking price was well beyond $200. Come on. Who are you trying to kid.
Rochy would have to be just as cashed up as most other clubs. You are a fool if you say otherwise.
I think he means this year FBP
[QUOTE]
listen here fatso you bloody tool...
I live with carts, and sammy brennan. I have a fair idea of what the players at rochy are on buddy - I am not going to broadcast it on here but I will stand by what I said in the previous post. can we just leave it at that??
in 2000, granted - johnny mac came with a big price tag. he was gone the next year though. I venture to say that he was the highest paid player ever to pull on a rochy guernsey.
as for whitsed, well... see comments above.
fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 15:30
[QUOTE=fat back pocket][QUOTE=jmain14]I'd be very surpised if they were to win travvy, very surprised. simply just too big a task to win without sammy, heata and kahl. geez it would be awesome if they somehow found a way though. there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he). in reality though, our boys are up against it.
listen here fatso you bloody tool...
I live with carts, he is on less than $200 and that is a fact. I have a fair idea of what the players at rochy are on buddy - I am not going to broadcast it on here but I will stand by what I said in the previous post.
in 2000, granted - johnny mac came with a big price tag. he was gone the next year though. I venture to say that he was the highest paid player ever to pull on a rochy guernsey.
as for whitsed, well... see comments above.
If you say so.
Every club has local players, probably many who now live in melbourne who travel back. Seymour are obviously spending more than Rochy, and if Rochy got up this week, it would be a fantastic effort.
If your side is full of locals, why do your reserves struggle so much, it seems hard to believe that your seniors make the finals, but your reserves didn't come within 100 points on any team except for tonny and tat.
Massive drop off.
And didn't you guys recruit 3-5 players from bendigo? Locals?
Every side recruits from outside of their local town. Those who don't, finish near the bottom, look at Tat, mass exit of all the import players, back to the foot. Seymour will probably be like that next year, according to rumours on this site.
So good luck to ya.
Flat Track Bully
2 Sep 2005, 15:34
Unfortunately for Stuie he will have to wait another wk, Seymour to easily account for the tigers. Shepp Vs Benella will be an interesting game with Benalla capable but you'd think Shepp will Get the chocolates.
Euroa Vs Mansfield will be a cracker on neutral ground. If the Pies get up you can PEN them in for the GF as that would give them a home final next week. IMO Mansfield, Shepp and Seymour will be fighting the rest of the series out to play the magpies on the last Sunday in September.
Unlike Euroa will get a home final...they'll play Seymour at Mooroopna, while Benalla and Mansfield will clash at Euroa...
ECHUCABOY
2 Sep 2005, 15:35
every side needs imports to make the finals then is that what your saying FBP?
ECHUCABOY
2 Sep 2005, 15:40
Echuca last year who lost to tat by 4 points, tat then went on to play in a grand final.......
How many imports did Echuca have? Ro O'Callaghan got a job teaching in Echuca and moved here with his family to be with his extended family then decided to play footy for Echuca. He'd be the only onenot from the town who played last year.....
fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 16:43
every side needs imports to make the finals then is that what your saying FBP?
I'm not saying that at all. I am saying that MOST sides have to top up their local tallent with a few outsiders. Not only that, if you can give me one club in the whole of GV has an entire team of local, born and bred blokes, I'll go he.
Every team has blokes travelling from outside the town they play in, these blokes travel to their new town who meet other players, who then get brought along to play. They may play for less because they know someone there, but at the end of the day, they are still called an import. they may play 2's, still an import.
The days of 44 blokes playing footy for their local club and living in the town are gone. For smaller towns to be competitive, they must recruit from outside. euroa, seymour, benalla, mansfield, aren't big towns, they either don't have the juniors coming through, or they don't have jobs for their local youngsters, 18-24, to build a career out of, so they leave, and not all come back to play, only a handful.
What do you consider a local bloke? I consider a local bloke, one who has played at least under 18's with the club, or come from within a local junior competition.
fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 17:02
Echuca last year who lost to tat by 4 points, tat then went on to play in a grand final.......
How many imports did Echuca have? Ro O'Callaghan got a job teaching in Echuca and moved here with his family to be with his extended family then decided to play footy for Echuca. He'd be the only onenot from the town who played last year.....
You can't use Echuca as an example, nor Shepparton, there are plenty of jobs, Echuca is a tourist town, shepparton is a rural city, not a town. They have more revenue rolling in from people outside the town.
Craig Sholl - would you consider him a local? Or an import. He moved there for work, fair enough, but small towns like Euroa don't have the opportunities for work like Echuca, so they have to import quality players as they don't just lob at the door and say, hey, can i have a game. Seymour, benalla, tongala, kyabram are the same.
These days, it depends a lot on the coach, most coaches that get around these days have contacts, friends of his who he has coached in the past. They get players to go with them. Thats how it all works, most imports already know someone from the club, if they don't, then they know the coach already.
You can argue all day and night.
How do you think Mansfield stay at the top? Where do you think they get their money from? Tourists that go to Mt Buller.
As soon as Grollo got on board with the footy club, they went from the bottom to the top. I recently went to Buller and saw a number of Mansfield players working up there. A sponsor gets them a job up there pending they play footy with mansfield. If Mt Buller didn't exist, do you think a small town like Mansfield could attract and keep all these gun players and locals? And any local that leaves mansfield, how many would want to travel from melb to mansfield on a weekly basis.
Their revenue is raised via tourists buying products from their sponsors stores, whether it be the pub, or the fish'n'chip shop, local motels, etc. the sponsors get a tax break to sponsor local sporting clubs, and there isn't much else other than the footy club in mansfield, so they have the dollars to spend.
Shepp has lots to offer, as does echuca, so the local blokes can stay around, get a job, make a living and play footy with the club they grew up with.
ECHUCABOY
2 Sep 2005, 17:13
Sholl didnt play a senior game at Echuca LAST YEAR. It proves that you dont need imports to be successful, like the Rochy sides that took part in alot of grand finals.
Pretty much everyone in that side had played u 18s at Echuca. Ive got nothing against clubs who "poach" or wateva you want to call it, though you've got to give credit where it due, eg. Echuca and ROchy who harvest young talent and most years have a competitive side.
[QUOTE=jmain14][QUOTE=fat back pocket]
If you say so.
Every club has local players, probably many who now live in melbourne who travel back. Seymour are obviously spending more than Rochy, and if Rochy got up this week, it would be a fantastic effort.
If your side is full of locals, why do your reserves struggle so much, it seems hard to believe that your seniors make the finals, but your reserves didn't come within 100 points on any team except for tonny and tat.
Massive drop off.
And didn't you guys recruit 3-5 players from bendigo? Locals?
Every side recruits from outside of their local town. Those who don't, finish near the bottom, look at Tat, mass exit of all the import players, back to the foot. Seymour will probably be like that next year, according to rumours on this site.
So good luck to ya.
sorry about that opening line in my last post fbp.
yeah I can't really explain the ridiculously huge difference between our seniors and reserves, its just the way it is. it seems the gap between our 20th best player and 25th best is massive. that is the culture in rochy unfortunately and has been for a long time.
yeah you are right again, we do have 4 bendigo players. think you'll find the rest are locals.
sorry again about calling you a tool.
cheers.
cheers.
Christ what is this, don't be sorry Mainy, FBP baited you. Why don't you two lads hook up at Tonny tomorrow and clear the air. You'll be there Mainy to watch your Tigers, and I reckon FBP will be there cheering on his Lions.
fat back pocket
2 Sep 2005, 18:43
[QUOTE=fat back pocket][QUOTE=jmain14]
sorry about that opening line in my last post fbp.
yeah I can't really explain the ridiculously huge difference between our seniors and reserves, its just the way it is. it seems the gap between our 20th best player and 25th best is massive. that is the culture in rochy unfortunately and has been for a long time.
yeah you are right again, we do have 4 bendigo players. think you'll find the rest are locals.
cheers.
I understand Rochy are the best side in terms of their success over many years, i suppose when you have a good commited coach like Williams, it makes it easier to retain players, and those players started their career at rochy when no one was getting paid, or very few were getting not much.
I believe Rochy have done fantastic this year. But people must realise that the likes of Euroa, Seymour and Benalla have little choice but to pay players. Even the local blokes get paid, Lamaro, Watson, Gilliland i would consider local, all get good money. Schottner from Seymour would have to be on good money.
These towns crave success, the only way to get it is for their committee's to work hard at getting sponsors.
If the local sponsors are willing to put their money in to help the club, then i say good on'em, if its enough to "buy" a premiership, great commitment, but these clubs will soon realise that money doesn't grow on tree's.
Don't get upset with the likes of Seymour and Euroa paying blokes a mint to play and hopefully win them a flag, because they will be down longer than they will be up in the long run. Supporters can't fork out thousands every year.
Good on Rochy for making the finals, lets hope they can get past the first week, and go from there.
Echucaboy, read my last post a little more carefully, as i said, Echuca has heaps more going for it, you consider locals, blokes who move there for work. Or blokes who are from Moama as a local, and people who live up the road as locals. Where do you draw the line to what is considered a "local".
And Doona2??? I'll be in Benalla tomorrow mate.
Christ what is this, don't be sorry Mainy, FBP baited you. Why don't you two lads hook up at Tonny tomorrow and clear the air. You'll be there Mainy to watch your Tigers, and I reckon FBP will be there cheering on his Lions.
unfortunately won't be able to make it to tonny tomorrow, have opted to see geelong beat melbourne instead.
anyway boys, have a good w'end. go tigers!!
time to drink $h!tloads of beer, absolutely terrible day at work.
bradrowe#32
2 Sep 2005, 19:27
Rochy are paying only 4 players. The rest of the team get pretty decent incentives and only if the team wins. One of those played last year and the other 3 came from Bendigo teams because of their friendship with him.
This is probably a pittance to what other clubs are paying, but you will find that this is in their realistic budget. Players such as Chris McCarty, Heath Aitken, Sam Brennan (all GV reps) and Tim Rasmussen, Simon McCarty, Robbie Miller etc in the past were all locals. They were definately blessed in that regard that they were locals and often tried their luck when they were younger, but for whatever reasons, came back to the club. I don't believe they ever held the club to ransom, but they were reasonably compensated. It was a big part as to why the club was so successful.
Rochester has relied a lot on recruiting from around the area. We have been lucky in that clubs like Lockington, Colbinabin and Stanhope are all in minor leagues, and have some decent players that wanted to play in a better standard league. Once again, they were compensated, but they didn't receive heaps.
In regards to the 2nds, well, what can I say? The club does have a reputation of not persuing their success as much as they could. Last year, the club lost 14 senior players, which put a massive dent on the 2nd. Some of these players were offered the cash Rochester didn't want to pay (for example, a fringe senior player of last year was offered $200 per game for to play for a KDFL club. Rochester didn't want to pay so he left). Another example, Mitiamo offered two players (both 19 year olds) $200 per game despite the pair playing only one practice match for them.
However, whilst I don't think Rochester will win tomorrow, I think next year the club will be significantly improved. They have already practically signed 2 current coaches from the district and will have about 30+ ressies to select from next year.
And Doona2??? I'll be in Benalla tomorrow mate.
Thought I saw in the Shepp Neews you're selected in the magoo's. Don't tell me they print dodgy's even at reserves level. I take it then you must be doing some homework for Stevie D at Benalla then.
Samtrish
4 Sep 2005, 18:06
So much for Shepp having the bye first week the commentators may have had it right but more like this bye bye BEARS. :)
Flat Track Bully
4 Sep 2005, 19:52
So much for Shepp having the bye first week the commentators may have had it right but more like this bye bye BEARS. :)
More like Byers, Byers Bears...
No Matt Byers was a killer for the Shepp side...
Farewell to Ashy...a legend who said goodbye to the game for the final time...
Thankyou Ashy for the memories, you are true legend of the game
Samtrish
4 Sep 2005, 19:59
More like Byers, Byers Bears...
No Matt Byers was a killer for the Shepp side...
Farewell to Ashy...a legend who said goodbye to the game for the final time...
Thankyou Ashy for the memories, you are true legend of the game
Was Byers injured from that I would assume.
Mansfield injury list could be interesting namely
Matt Storer
Andrew Tranquilli
Darren Hulme
Ben Millott
Josh Walker seemed to be carrying a groin injury or hip was very limited in the last quarter but was carrying leg all day.
fat back pocket
5 Sep 2005, 09:06
Rochy are paying only 4 players. The rest of the team get pretty decent incentives and only if the team wins. One of those played last year and the other 3 came from Bendigo teams because of their friendship with him.
This is probably a pittance to what other clubs are paying, but you will find that this is in their realistic budget. Players such as Chris McCarty, Heath Aitken, Sam Brennan (all GV reps) and Tim Rasmussen, Simon McCarty, Robbie Miller etc in the past were all locals. They were definately blessed in that regard that they were locals and often tried their luck when they were younger, but for whatever reasons, came back to the club. I don't believe they ever held the club to ransom, but they were reasonably compensated. It was a big part as to why the club was so successful.
Rochester has relied a lot on recruiting from around the area. We have been lucky in that clubs like Lockington, Colbinabin and Stanhope are all in minor leagues, and have some decent players that wanted to play in a better standard league. Once again, they were compensated, but they didn't receive heaps.
In regards to the 2nds, well, what can I say? The club does have a reputation of not persuing their success as much as they could. Last year, the club lost 14 senior players, which put a massive dent on the 2nd. Some of these players were offered the cash Rochester didn't want to pay (for example, a fringe senior player of last year was offered $200 per game for to play for a KDFL club. Rochester didn't want to pay so he left). Another example, Mitiamo offered two players (both 19 year olds) $200 per game despite the pair playing only one practice match for them.
However, whilst I don't think Rochester will win tomorrow, I think next year the club will be significantly improved. They have already practically signed 2 current coaches from the district and will have about 30+ ressies to select from next year.
And Fat Back Pocket, stop using the universities precious internet resources and do some homework!
Where is the rochy trip away to this year? Obviously with the small budget, you must be going to somewhere like Moama?
I heard from a reliable source that Chris McCarty was on well more than $200 per game many moons ago. Couldn't imagine he would suddenly decide to play for less.
I once assumed that a lot of players at my club played for the love of it. It wasn't until i got further involved with the club that the real truth come out.
McCarty lives in melb and drives back to Rochy, 2 hour trip on a good day - $200 wouldn't cut it for a bloke of his ability to be lured all the way back to Rochy on a weekly basis. But, you guys keeping living in the dream world you are, never believe what the player tells you. They are trying to protect the face of the club.
You have your opinion on your club, you obviously have opinions on what other clubs pay, so do I, just like you have your info and i have mine.
So around the circle of arguments we go. How bout we leave it as is. Rochy are out, not paying anyone now. They went well beyond many expectations throughout the year. So well done to them. They obviously showed a lot of spirit in a pretty good season considering the cattle in the shed.
fat back pocket
5 Sep 2005, 09:14
Was Byers injured from that I would assume.
Mansfield injury list could be interesting namely
Matt Storer
Andrew Tranquilli
Darren Hulme
Ben Millott
Josh Walker seemed to be carrying a groin injury or hip was very limited in the last quarter but was carrying leg all day.
Definitely, Euroa a step closer to the flag. Too good on Saturday, lots of depth to pick from in their reserves to. Winners on every line in the seniors.
Benalla have proven to be hit and miss, you would have to back the Eagles even with a few injuries this week. And Euroa are flying, expect Euroa to go straight in after this week. Week off to rest niggling injuries. Where is the Tote?
Mansfield set to get a doc hired this week. Load up their players with pain killers next week.
Who's the bear?
5 Sep 2005, 09:58
I think Mansfield needs a cuddle ... a big group hug, with men. Show some love
Hey FBP heard via a Lalor premiership player on the weekend that the Diamond valley Bloods are keen to obtain the services of the 2004 Morrison Medallist. Any word that big Schotty could be on the move?
Please say it aint true.
Where is the rochy trip away to this year? Obviously with the small budget, you must be going to somewhere like Moama?
I heard from a reliable source that Chris McCarty was on well more than $200 per game many moons ago. Couldn't imagine he would suddenly decide to play for less.
I once assumed that a lot of players at my club played for the love of it. It wasn't until i got further involved with the club that the real truth come out.
McCarty lives in melb and drives back to Rochy, 2 hour trip on a good day - $200 wouldn't cut it for a bloke of his ability to be lured all the way back to Rochy on a weekly basis. But, you guys keeping living in the dream world you are, never believe what the player tells you. They are trying to protect the face of the club.
You have your opinion on your club, you obviously have opinions on what other clubs pay, so do I, just like you have your info and i have mine.
So around the circle of arguments we go. How bout we leave it as is. Rochy are out, not paying anyone now. They went well beyond many expectations throughout the year. So well done to them. They obviously showed a lot of spirit in a pretty good season considering the cattle in the shed.
listen here again fatso!! I am trying as hard as I can to respect you here mate but I don't think you understand how much of a toss you are being here.
alright mate - you claim that you have heard from a 'reliable source' that carts is on more than $200 per game. ok then, I'll guarantee you that this isn't and never has been the case, and that $200 is over the mark!! my source - if the man's word himself is not good enough how about if I were to tell you that I have done his tax for the past 2 years?? (and yeah - of course the ato find out exactly how much he gets from the footy club he he). so then, I have told you of my sources - have the guts to tell us who your so-called 'reliable source' is. I am not trying to big note my sources here but its just that it $h!ts me how you can come on here and blatantly make something up, and it makes me want to prove you wrong. it may be wrong of me to give away this sort of information to an open forum but I know that it wouldn't bother carts in the slightest as he would not want to be known as a 'well more than $200 per game' player when it isn't the case.
everything you wrote in that last post fatso was absolute crap - I hope you understand that and that all you were trying to do was bait us. I'd say myself and rowey are more qualified to talk about what happens at rochy more than you and your 'reliable source' are, just as you are more qualified to talk about seymour or wherever it is you're from.
I think the reality about all this is that it is hard for people from other towns to fathom how rochy can have a competitive list year-in year-out with a smaller budget than the majority of sides. I put it down to 3 things - the fact that instead of dirty being paid he puts thousands of dollars into the club, the incredible amount of young talent in the town (and you's will all see what I am talking about over the next 2-3 seasons), and the ability to retain these good younger players.
anyway, good luck to the remaining 4 sides in '05. as you said fatso, rochy are now out and all we can do is look forward to next season.
Travvy43
5 Sep 2005, 11:37
Hey FBP heard via a Lalor premiership player on the weekend that the Diamond valley Bloods are keen to obtain the services of the 2004 Morrison Medallist. Any word that big Schotty could be on the move?
Please say it aint true.
I heard the same thing from a Lalor source at a well known North Melbourne eatery two weeks ago.
ECHUCABOY
5 Sep 2005, 12:21
I ate a pie with source at a very well known North Melbourne Eatery the other day, maybe it was the same source? nice pie 2
fat back pocket
5 Sep 2005, 12:32
Please say it aint true.
Yeah, i wouldn't know Doona, you would have to ask your mate Inness, he plays for Seymour doesn't he?
In the GF for the Yea boys, i hear there was an injury though, another mate of yours, broken arm? Mad prick reckons he's going to cut his cast off so he can play this week.
fat back pocket
5 Sep 2005, 12:39
listen here again fatso!! I am trying as hard as I can to respect you here mate but I don't think you understand how much of a toss you are being here.
alright mate - you claim that you have heard from a 'reliable source' that carts is on more than $200 per game. ok then, I'll guarantee you that this isn't and never has been the case, and that $200 is over the mark!! my source - if the man's word himself is not good enough how about if I were to tell you that I have done his tax for the past 2 years?? (and yeah - of course the ato find out exactly how much he gets from the footy club he he). so then, I have told you of my sources - have the guts to tell us who your so-called 'reliable source' is. I am not trying to big note my sources here but its just that it $h!ts me how you can come on here and blatantly make something up, and it makes me want to prove you wrong. it may be wrong of me to give away this sort of information to an open forum but I know that it wouldn't bother carts in the slightest as he would not want to be known as a 'well more than $200 per game' player when it isn't the case.
everything you wrote in that last post fatso was absolute crap - I hope you understand that and that all you were trying to do was bait us. I'd say myself and rowey are more qualified to talk about what happens at rochy more than you and your 'reliable source' are, just as you are more qualified to talk about seymour or wherever it is you're from.
I think the reality about all this is that it is hard for people from other towns to fathom how rochy can have a competitive list year-in year-out with a smaller budget than the majority of sides. I put it down to 3 things - the fact that instead of dirty being paid he puts thousands of dollars into the club, the incredible amount of young talent in the town (and you's will all see what I am talking about over the next 2-3 seasons), and the ability to retain these good younger players.
anyway, good luck to the remaining 4 sides in '05. as you said fatso, rochy are now out and all we can do is look forward to next season.
As i said buddy, you have your sources, i have mine, yours are probably more correct than mine. I'm just putting up what i heard on the grape vine.
Also spoke to a northern melbourne reporter today, said the Rochy coach acted like a fool at half time on saturday. Apparently he had a go at the Seymour coaches or something like that. Anyone know what happened?
Was Joey Amad whacking blokes behind play was he?
Yeah, i wouldn't know Doona, you would have to ask your mate Inness, he plays for Seymour doesn't he?
In the GF for the Yea boys, i hear there was an injury though, another mate of yours, broken arm? Mad prick reckons he's going to cut his cast off so he can play this week.
Yes the Tiges are in both the senior and reserves Grand Finals. It appears we share the same mate in Inness, how else would you know of the break? Either that or you are a very well sourced youong football follower. It's not an arm, more a minor fracture to the wrist, still has movement and minimal pain. I'm sure the well known chap who likes a punt, whom they call "Doc" from Seymour might be able to get young Red on the park come Satdy - but don't let Margie know ;)
Boys boys boys, everyone has to give the whole money situations of clubs a rest.
We all know clubs pay players, we all know that good player get great money we also know the club who fork out more. What we need to do is accept that it is part of football these days, weather Jmain likes it or FBP likes or Rowe likes it thats just what football has come to.
I give many many many applauded to Rochester because i know they dont pay out big sums of money to players (i worked with one of the Mccartys last year) and i know how proud the club is about the fact that they breed there own and develop there own.
FBP i think you need to pipe down a bit in regards to Rochy because it looks as though you really have very little idea of whats going on.
Anyway thought id share some interesting things i saw yesterday and the EDFL grand final.
1. Symours coach and president were at the game and sitting with a couple of younger blokes 20 odd year olds and watching the game. Some recruiting maybe?
2. Saw an older guy in a Tatura jacket with what seemed to be the president,coach and a couple of older guys just about 3 or 4 rows away from the Seymour crew. The Tatura guys where also sitting with 4 or so young guys one of which was an ex Western Bulldog big man and 3 other guys a mix of taller guys and a couple of solid smaller blokes.
I found this particualy interesting, and i was right in the middle of them all hahaha. Could be all innoncent but i highly doubt it.
Tried to get closer to both partys but was with a few mates who didnt share the same enthusiasm about my spieing adventures.
Interesting hey lads :eek:
centreman
5 Sep 2005, 17:31
Hey dudes.
Don't miss the chance to stick the boots in to the Bears. That's six straight finals losses for the Bears. I reckon it all goes back to the sacking of Chops Lambourn after he lost them only five games in two years. You mess with the footy Gods and they have a funny way of evening up the score.
Flat Track Bully
5 Sep 2005, 17:40
Hey dudes.
Don't miss the chance to stick the boots in to the Bears. That's six straight finals losses for the Bears. I reckon it all goes back to the sacking of Chops Lambourn after he lost them only five games in two years. You mess with the footy Gods and they have a funny way of evening up the score.
I thought Shepp were untouchable...let's see if the local paper gets stuck in?
ECHUCABOY
5 Sep 2005, 17:42
told ya bout shepp...........
centreman
5 Sep 2005, 18:15
I thought Shepp were untouchable...let's see if the local paper gets stuck in?
Have been for a long time. It's time they got hammered.
bradrowe#32
5 Sep 2005, 20:03
You really are embarassing yourself.
Anyways, Rochy's season is over for another year. I think they did well considering the player's they had and the poor start to the year.
Seymour looked pretty good on Saturday, but I'm not sure if they can go all the way. Can't really pinpoint it, but I just think they lack something to beat Euroa or Mansfield in the big one.
I must also apologise to Shepparton's Harrop for calling him the softest player in the league, because on the weekend I saw a new candidate - Seymour's Luke Jackon (No.8).
In the first quarter he was quite happy to knock people over from behind and wrestle with smaller blokes, but when the ball was to be won he well and truly shirked it. Two minutes after his wrestle, the ball went high into the Rochester forward line and he could have cut off a lead, but he just stood back and watched the Rochester player take the mark. In the 3rd quarter, he did the same. Incredibly soft.
ECHUCABOY
6 Sep 2005, 10:15
as soft as microwaved butter rowey or just normal butter?
bradrowe#32
6 Sep 2005, 10:23
as soft as microwaved butter rowey or just normal butter?
Hmmm, that's difficult to answer.
I sure wouldn't like to have seen his knickers after the game. Soil city.
fat back pocket
6 Sep 2005, 10:31
Boys boys boys, everyone has to give the whole money situations of clubs a rest.
We all know clubs pay players, we all know that good player get great money we also know the club who fork out more. What we need to do is accept that it is part of football these days, weather Jmain likes it or FBP likes or Rowe likes it thats just what football has come to.
I give many many many applauded to Rochester because i know they dont pay out big sums of money to players (i worked with one of the Mccartys last year) and i know how proud the club is about the fact that they breed there own and develop there own.
FBP i think you need to pipe down a bit in regards to Rochy because it looks as though you really have very little idea of whats going on.
Anyway thought id share some interesting things i saw yesterday and the EDFL grand final.
1. Symours coach and president were at the game and sitting with a couple of younger blokes 20 odd year olds and watching the game. Some recruiting maybe?
2. Saw an older guy in a Tatura jacket with what seemed to be the president,coach and a couple of older guys just about 3 or 4 rows away from the Seymour crew. The Tatura guys where also sitting with 4 or so young guys one of which was an ex Western Bulldog big man and 3 other guys a mix of taller guys and a couple of solid smaller blokes.
I found this particualy interesting, and i was right in the middle of them all hahaha. Could be all innoncent but i highly doubt it.
Tried to get closer to both partys but was with a few mates who didnt share the same enthusiasm about my spieing adventures.
Interesting hey lads :eek:
Tige please refer to an earlier post re: opportunity for work, living etc at clubs such as Euroa, Seymour, Benalla, etc.
Rochy has done great to breed a host of stars who play for peanuts when they could get much much more.
Back at the start of this argument, you said and i quote "there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he)"
You have to be accountable for what you write jmain. How do you know what the Seymour blokes get paid? Enlighten us. You know about Seymour's finances and other clubs finances as much as I do about Rochy. I bet you know what the Euroa blokes are getting paid, what about Benalla, Mansfield, etc.
You are both (bradrowe and jmain) hypocrits, short and simple. Don't go starting arguments, or fuel an argument by throwing figures around that you don't know about. You baked me for 3 days for doing exactly that about McCarty and other players at Rochy, when all along you had it written as post one about what Seymour pay their players. You are no better than I.
Just on Tat, heard that same rumour about the ex-western bulldogs player, tall ruckman who is set to sit in the forward line because of Kirby, should be a pretty handy combination from what i hear.
A couple of ex-coburg/ex-calder cannon players is what i have heard. Half back line players, and a couple of on-ballers. Does anyone have any names? Backgrounds of these players?
Looks like tat are going to be a force again.
bradrowe#32
6 Sep 2005, 10:38
Tige please refer to an earlier post re: opportunity for work, living etc at clubs such as Euroa, Seymour, Benalla, etc.
Rochy has done great to breed a host of stars who play for peanuts when they could get much much more.
Back at the start of this argument, you said and i quote "there would be nothing more satisfying than an undermanned rochy (a bunch of locals with no player on any more than $200 a game) ending a side like seymour's year (a melbourne based team with 2-3 players on less than $300 a game he he)"
You have to be accountable for what you write jmain. How do you know what the Seymour blokes get paid? Enlighten us. You know about Seymour's finances and other clubs finances as much as I do about Rochy. I bet you know what the Euroa blokes are getting paid, what about Benalla, Mansfield, etc.
You are both (bradrowe and jmain) hypocrits, short and simple. Don't go starting arguments, or fuel an argument by throwing figures around that you don't know about. You baked me for 3 days for doing exactly that about McCarty and other players at Rochy, when all along you had it written as post one about what Seymour pay their players. You are no better than I.
Just on Tat, heard that same rumour about the ex-western bulldogs player, tall ruckman who is set to sit in the forward line because of Kirby, should be a pretty handy combination from what i hear.
A couple of ex-coburg/ex-calder cannon players is what i have heard. Half back line players, and a couple of on-ballers. Does anyone have any names? Backgrounds of these players?
Looks like tat are going to be a force again.
Please inform me where I (unlike yourself) have indicated a specific amount that a Seymour player was getting...
fat back pocket
6 Sep 2005, 10:41
You really are embarassing yourself.
Anyways, Rochy's season is over for another year. I think they did well considering the player's they had and the poor start to the year.
Seymour looked pretty good on Saturday, but I'm not sure if they can go all the way. Can't really pinpoint it, but I just think they lack something to beat Euroa or Mansfield in the big one.
I must also apologise to Shepparton's Harrop for calling him the softest player in the league, because on the weekend I saw a new candidate - Seymour's Luke Jackon (No.8).
In the first quarter he was quite happy to knock people over from behind and wrestle with smaller blokes, but when the ball was to be won he well and truly shirked it. Two minutes after his wrestle, the ball went high into the Rochester forward line and he could have cut off a lead, but he just stood back and watched the Rochester player take the mark. In the 3rd quarter, he did the same. Incredibly soft.
Is he as soft as Sean Harrop?
Big issues at the Bears, supporters aren't too happy that Harrop and Saunders were dropped and then their seniors got done.
Just on soft players, Pappin - 26 from Rochy is a marshmellow. Tried to Run through Saad in the first 5 mins of the game trying to hurt him. what a splendid job the big marshmellow, who ducks his head when going for a pack mark, did to as Saad went on to kick 7 for the day. And pretty much kick Rochy out of the game in the second quarter as he blew off 3 opponents as he kicked 5 second quarter goals. Well done Paps.
That is soft.
bradrowe#32
6 Sep 2005, 10:47
Big issues at the Bears, supporters aren't too happy that Harrop and Saunders were dropped and then their seniors got done.
Just on soft players, Pappin - 26 from Rochy is a marshmellow. Tried to Run through Saad in the first 5 mins of the game trying to hurt him. what a splendid job the big marshmellow, who ducks his head when going for a pack mark, did to as Saad went on to kick 7 for the day. And pretty much kick Rochy out of the game in the second quarter as he blew off 3 opponents as he kicked 5 second quarter goals. Well done Paps.
That is soft.
Perhaps you should ask Mensch and Mark Richardson how soft he is.
Hmmm, I'm a bit worried about Seymour. What will they do when the money runs out?
They will drift down the bottom of the ladder again - somewhere they have been accustomed to over the last 15 years. Hey, weren't Seymour the team that finished on bottom of the ladder and were to be RELEGATED to GV division 2, but cracked the sads and refused to move.
Quality club.
ECHUCABOY
6 Sep 2005, 11:27
This is getting willing and im "willing" to back my rochy counterparts, seymour was a peasent club who some how managed to get all this money to pay players.
FBP isnt it interesting that a town which people dont like to live in because their are no opportuinites as you have said, can find all this money.....???
Seymour sounds like a pretty good place to me with all the money the town has. Obviously the town has rallied behind the club, surely the money coming into the club couldnt have come in from a town where their are no jobs.
Despite the fact that Echuca and Rochy for instance have a lot of local players, do you think that if they had the money they wouldnt try to buy players?
Do you think that Echuca and Rochy have all this left over money just sitting in the bank earning interest.........in short no.
You are whinging saying your town can't produce locals the reason being because you cant keep them around! What a joke! Your Club cant produce locals because your kids have never been any good?
How many U/18s from this year or last played in your side this year??
Your club is in diabolickles mate, you are screwed....The Seymour "Locals" who have put all this cash into the club arent going to be their forever, yes its all well and good having a great side, but for how long.
Great work by those who have got all this money together, but now you've got the money I hope you are starting to blood the youngsters, because that is how the club survives.
The reason why people play for Echuca and Rochester (Just an example) is because they love the club and the atmosphere. Juniors no if they play well enough, they are guranteed to get a go.
Your thirds again struggled this year as did euroas as they always do, could you let me know how many of these kids played senior football?
Ive used the xample before and ill use it again Echuca tried to buy a flag just as you guys are then realised thats not the way to go. They put more time into their kids and we all know the results since then.
Seymour cant rely on cash to be a great club they need great people to be a great club.
ECHUCABOY
6 Sep 2005, 12:24
You seem to know a fair bit about tat tige???????????????
That is soft.
Hang on a minute FBP, last week you said you were heading to Benalla to watch teh Euroa/Mansfield clash. Seems to me you're failing to cover your tacks real well, you only get shirty when discussions involve Seymour. Stop the lies mate, Seymour are looking alright so why not show your true colours.
fatso, I was only kidding about the seymour call. I though the 'he he' on the end of it would have given that away but obviously not. I understand that there would be more than 2-3 players at seymour on less than $300 a game. there are, however, players demanding big dollars and they are pretty much a melbourne based side, no doubting that.
I'd recommend that you quit on this subject fatso as all you are doing is making a fool of yourself. get a new username and start again.
Hmmm, I'm a bit worried about Seymour. What will they do when the money runs out?
They will drift down the bottom of the ladder again - somewhere they have been accustomed to over the last 15 years. Hey, weren't Seymour the team that finished on bottom of the ladder and were to be RELEGATED to GV division 2, but cracked the sads and refused to move.
Quality club.
exactly rowey. I don't think mencsh would be calling papps soft after his performance on him last week. quite obviously you weren't at that game fatso.
bradrowe#32
6 Sep 2005, 14:21
Word in the Shepparton News today is that David Williams is keen to coach Rochester again next year.
Expect a better finish next year as the club is expecting to pay over $200,000 to buy a flag. :D
Pretty interesting news re: Tatura. They are a pretty proud club and wouldn't have enjoyed this season too much.
This is getting willing and im "willing" to back my rochy counterparts, seymour was a peasent club who some how managed to get all this money to pay players.
FBP isnt it interesting that a town which people dont like to live in because their are no opportuinites as you have said, can find all this money.....???
Seymour sounds like a pretty good place to me with all the money the town has. Obviously the town has rallied behind the club, surely the money coming into the club couldnt have come in from a town where their are no jobs.
Despite the fact that Echuca and Rochy for instance have a lot of local players, do you think that if they had the money they wouldnt try to buy players?
Do you think that Echuca and Rochy have all this left over money just sitting in the bank earning interest.........in short no.
You are whinging saying your town can't produce locals the reason being because you cant keep them around! What a joke! Your Club cant produce locals because your kids have never been any good?
Your club is in diabolickles mate, you are screwed....The Seymour "Locals" who have put all this cash into the club arent going to be their forever, yes its all well and good having a great side, but for how long.
Great work by those who have got all this money together, but now you've got the money I hope you are starting to blood the youngsters, because that is how the club survives.
The reason why people play for Echuca and Rochester (Just an example) is because they love the club and the atmosphere. Juniors no if they play well enough, they are guranteed to get a go.
Your thirds again struggled this year as did euroas as they always do, could you let me know how many of these kids played senior football?
Ive used the xample before and ill use it again Echuca tried to buy a flag just as you guys are then realised thats not the way to go. They put more time into their kids and we all know the results since then.
Seymour cant rely on cash to be a great club they need great people to be a great club.
well written travvy.
hey, my brother and dave glenn were saying on sat'y that the afl pay you to write on here he he.
Travvy43
6 Sep 2005, 14:31
well written travvy.
hey, my brother and dave glenn were saying on sat'y that the afl pay you to write on here he he.
well i did not write what you quoted, well written ECHUCA BOY i say.
Not getting paid by the AFL to write on here but if they are willing i will not turn them away.
Bad luck for the rochester boys too.
Travvy43
6 Sep 2005, 14:33
In other news, this thursday night looms as a big night in shaping the future of the Tongala Football Club. All financial members are gathering together at the club rooms to vote on one of two options. Stay in the GV or move to the Murray League.
Will be interesting if go to the murray league given that Rumba are going there too due to the collapse of the CGFL.
ANT JESS
6 Sep 2005, 14:35
well i did not write what you quoted, well written ECHUCA BOY i say.
Not getting paid by the AFL to write on here but if they are willing i will not turn them away.
Bad luck for the rochester boys too.
I'll field this one for you JMAIN, Travvy43 he was actually talking to ECHUCABOY who without giving to much away may also be refered to as Trav outside of Bigfooty. :)
bradrowe#32
6 Sep 2005, 14:37
In other news, this thursday night looms as a big night in shaping the future of the Tongala Football Club. All financial members are gathering together at the club rooms to vote on one of two options. Stay in the GV or move to the Murray League.
Will be interesting if go to the murray league given that Rumba are going there too due to the collapse of the CGFL.
I thought Rumba had already signed with the Murray League?
I'll field this one for you JMAIN, Travvy43 he was actually talking to ECHUCABOY who without giving to much away may also be refered to as Trav outside of Bigfooty. :)
yeah thanks for clearing that up for me pumpa. my bad there travvy43 - I can see how you got your wires crossed. from now on I will try and refer to ya's by your username.
ECHUCABOY
6 Sep 2005, 15:26
u could say that mainy............
Flat Track Bully
6 Sep 2005, 15:40
Maybe another two years in the GV, and then an automatic swap with Rumba?
Doona2, was I correct on my call about fat back pocket? If it is who I think it is, then he has some nerve bagging players whom he considers soft!
footyman
6 Sep 2005, 20:16
The ex Western Bulldogs big man could be one of a number players who had previously been on the list. The boys i was with couldnt put a name to the face but we knew he was a Doggies boy because he a Bulldogs bag with him, perhaps he was getting ready to pull on the boots haha. Any ideas who the big man could be?? his face wasnt overly familiur so i doubt he played many games.
I think his initials are N.B. And last I heard he had gone over with a career ending knee injury (earlier this year when playing pre-season for Coburg Tigers in the VFL), so if he plays footy again he's a game bloke I reckon.
Just on Rob Douglas, surely he'd have to have a go in the VFL next season. What's he had two seasons at Seymour, and just won their B&F. I haven't seen him play any GVFL but where does he play his footy for Seymour? I was fairly surprised he went straight to country footy after the TAC Cup, remember him being a good solid player down back for Calder.
Travvy43
7 Sep 2005, 15:47
I think his initials are N.B. And last I heard he had gone over with a career ending knee injury (earlier this year when playing pre-season for Coburg Tigers in the VFL), so if he plays footy again he's a game bloke I reckon.
so who is this fella with the initials of NB???
I think you will find he is a Brut on the field ;) .
Travvy43
7 Sep 2005, 16:01
why not just come out with it, obviously you both know who the player is
Who's the bear?
7 Sep 2005, 17:18
It's Nick Bruton, and oh my god, he is a hunk!
footyman
7 Sep 2005, 18:46
It's Nick Bruton, and oh my god, he is a hunk!
Yeah was referring to Nick Bruton.
The player i heard was Paul Dooley :D , hahaha. Who is Nic Bruton??
footyman
7 Sep 2005, 22:58
Who is Nic Bruton??
Apparently he is a bloke Tatura are trying to sign.
Just on Rob Douglas, surely he'd have to have a go in the VFL next season. What's he had two seasons at Seymour, and just won their B&F. I haven't seen him play any GVFL but where does he play his footy for Seymour? I was fairly surprised he went straight to country footy after the TAC Cup, remember him being a good solid player down back for Calder.
Robbie has played CHB all year and deserved the BnF. Interestingly the Runner up in Seymour's BnF was Jeff Anderson who was the club's regular Full Back. Not many occassions would you see the CHB and FB come 1 and 2 in the best and fairest. Both are quality players and would easily slot into VFL Level.
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 11:05
Quality club.
I wouldn't know Brad, you're telling the story.
And i totally agree with you. If Seymour are at the bottom next year it wouldn't supprise me.
But maybe they are like Rochy, and have no player on more than $200 per game (do you believe it?)
I suppose we will all have to wait and see. Who knows, maybe rochy will have another mass walk out and you will get a game in the ones rowey.
How bout we talk about 2006 when 2005 finishes. The season is just hotting up, the pretenders are gone, the contenders are left.
fatso - what is your story?? who or which team are you associated with or are you on here just to $h!t everyone to tears??
I don't think anyone on here likes ya.
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 15:37
fatso - what is your story?? who or which team are you associated with or are you on here just to $h!t everyone to tears??
I don't think anyone on here likes ya.
Only because now there are more than just the few rochy blokes on this site who question your comments.
And no one likes you, or your other Rochy biased mates. At least i have an open mind about the other teams in the GV, you think ROchy are hard done by because they don't pay anyone, etc. You get upset that another team, who obviously pay all but 2-3 of their players $300+ a week beat your team and you are out.
You obviously play reserves for Rochy, your tunnel vision is disgracefully bad. All eyes for one thing, Rochy. No lateral vision or thinking!
Tell me this, why did everyone leave Rochy last year? Did the money run out?
footyman
8 Sep 2005, 16:02
Robbie has played CHB all year and deserved the BnF. Interestingly the Runner up in Seymour's BnF was Jeff Anderson who was the club's regular Full Back. Not many occassions would you see the CHB and FB come 1 and 2 in the best and fairest. Both are quality players and would easily slot into VFL Level.
Interesting to have a B&F not including finals games!!!
I might get along to the GVFL Grand Final this year for a look, I intended to go last year but it was a wet day from memory and I had a few things to do, hopefully Seymour are in that?
Who are the favourites to play in the big one this year?
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 16:15
Interesting to have a B&F not including finals games!!!
I might get along to the GVFL Grand Final this year for a look, I intended to go last year but it was a wet day from memory and I had a few things to do, hopefully Seymour are in that?
Who are the favourites to play in the big one this year?
Wasn't a wet day last year, might have been in melb, it was a little overcast in shepp, but the sun came out and shined on the Eagles as they blew away Tat.
Euroa are massive favourites, beaten every team quite convincingly except for Mansfield at home earlier in the year (which is a massive task).
The other position is an open book. Shepp looked like the dark horse but succumbed last week to a valiant Benalla outfit. Mansfield have the team to get there, but injuries may have just about taken their toll, and on the bigger grounds, menschy might not be able to carry the 21 of them, he maybe be able to carry 15 though, he's a big unit.
Only because now there are more than just the few rochy blokes on this site who question your comments.
And no one likes you, or your other Rochy biased mates. At least i have an open mind about the other teams in the GV, you think ROchy are hard done by because they don't pay anyone, etc. You get upset that another team, who obviously pay all but 2-3 of their players $300+ a week beat your team and you are out.
you fat b@$t@rd!!
as far as I know there are 2 posters on here from rochy, and apart from us there is a pretty even spread. that has been the case right throughout this thread so I don't know where you got that 'now' business from.
you may be right on one account, perhaps I am a little biased towards rochy. I don't think though that I am the only one on here who is biased towards their team. everything I write about rochy mate is fact and I in no way speculate - something that you seem to do quite a lot on here. the reason I write on rochy more than any other side is because I do not know as much about other sides and I do not shy away from that fact. I do not try and pretend that I know things about these sides that I don't - now... ask yourself you fat pr!ck - could you say the same for yourself??
I don't think rochy are hard done by at all. all I have said is that they do very well with the resources they have and most have said they agree with me. I try not to harp on the subject but you make it hard for me not to with the pathetic replies you post.
yes, very good you f****n tool. some players left rochy at the end of last season but these were local players who had served the club for years. of course these players were paid but money was never an issue with them, I can assure you of that. it is not the reason they left, it was merely a case of exploring other avenues which they were entitled to do (especially seeing they'd been so loyal to the club). sides like seymour on the other hand will find that players will leave when the money is gone, such is their culture.
honestly fatso, I don't know who the big a tool is out of you and researcher. perhaps we should have a poll to see what the people think...
bradrowe#32
8 Sep 2005, 17:30
You obviously play reserves for Rochy, your tunnel vision is disgracefully bad. All eyes for one thing, Rochy. No lateral vision or thinking!
Well, well, look who's back.
Firstly, I don't think this line: 'And no one likes you, or your other Rochy biased mates.' is particularly relevant. Had you bothered to have a decent look at the thread, you would nice there is a pretty good group of people here who love their GV footy and tend to get along very well. In fact, I would like some evidence to prove the hatred towards jmain and myself. We talk about our team like any other people do on here. At least we aren't afraid to state our allegiances.
Hmmm, still going on this payment issue. Not sure what I can really add other than what I've previously said. I know for a fact that no-one gets over $200 per game. Some get petrol money and they all get a small incentive when they win.
I have also said before on this thread about why players left. A few retired, a few went back their original clubs (Gray, Harrison to Stanhope; Simon McCarty went to Echuca United because he is living up there and at 35, just wanted to enjoy a few more years at a local level; Steve Rasmussen went to Rushworth because of a personal connection with the club) and a few left to get $ in minor leagues. Also, Tim Rasmussen and Jeremy Campbell decided not to come back from Melbourne every weekend and played down there.
There is talk of 10 + returning to the club next year, plus a few more recruits from local leagues.
Seriously fatty, I don't really know why you are so angry at us (and the club), but that's your issue.
Seymour are a classy unit this year (as I have said previously) and could go close to winning it. Eitherway, I don't really care.
so I take it that so far its 2 votes to you fatty and 1 to researcher. very close one to call.
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 17:46
you fat b@$t@rd!!
as far as I know there are 2 posters on here from rochy, and apart from us there is a pretty even spread. that has been the case right throughout this thread so I don't know where you got that 'now' business from.
you may be right on one account, perhaps I am a little biased towards rochy. I don't think though that I am the only one on here who is biased towards their team. everything I write about rochy mate is fact and I in no way speculate - something that you seem to do quite a lot on here. the reason I write on rochy more than any other side is because I do not know as much about other sides and I do not shy away from that fact. I do not try and pretend that I know things about these sides that I don't - now... ask yourself you fat pr!ck - could you say the same for yourself??
I don't think rochy are hard done by at all. all I have said is that they do very well with the resources they have and most have said they agree with me. I try not to harp on the subject but you make it hard for me not to with the pathetic replies you post.
yes, very good you f****n tool. some players left rochy at the end of last season but these were local players who had served the club for years. of course these players were paid but money was never an issue with them, I can assure you of that. it is not the reason they left, it was merely a case of exploring other avenues which they were entitled to do (especially seeing they'd been so loyal to the club). sides like seymour on the other hand will find that players will leave when the money is gone, such is their culture.
honestly fatso, I don't know who the big a tool is out of you and researcher. perhaps we should have a poll to see what the people think...
You obviously have no brain, you constantly contradict what you say, time and time again. Get a brain mate. You are the loser here, i'm not the one swearing and carrying on like a twit.
I suppose you are a member of another club, as that would be the way you know what the culture is like at Seymour and other clubs. Why don't you inform us, or are you just speculating. Something i do very well according to you.
You take this boat in a circle every time you write something. Your speculations on what seymour blokes get (apparently everyone bar 2-3 get at least $300) are no worse than my speculation on what the rochy blokes get.
Simple facts of life are, you are a stupid young man who wouldn't know where my weight is located. Maybe I am fat, or maybe my name actually indicates something that is a bit to advanced for your brain to think around. (recall the comment about your tunnel vision and thinking!)
You think i look like the fool, you are the one who looks like the fool, you have been soundly beaten in the argument. Let Bradrowe back you up, cos i bet he is waiting in the wings, i don't need blokes backing me up. Cos you just put yourself in a trap time after time.
I'll have you know a lot of my info comes from solid sources, sources you wouldn't even know existed. Maybe there is a mole within your club, working against you. Might explain your run of finals failures in the past 14 years.
Face the facts that you are the loser, keep throwing the punches buddy, everyone of them has been fobbed off with ease. Keep on swearing, f this, f that. You are a hypocrit, you are dumb, and you keep digging yourself into a hole that you can't get out of.
I bet the culture at Rochy is the best in country victoria. And the other clubs are ********. and you have proof of that. It is your word against any other bloke who wants to have a dig at you at the chance you will be sucked in and throw a few swear words at them so they can have a laugh.
Everyone is laughing at you jmain, go back to grade 2, learn a little bit about life. How bout i set up a thread for you and Brad "Official GV Thread for dummies", then you and braddy boy can talk all you want, at the level of inteligence you two are at. Instead of justifying how good Rochy is, why they are at the top, and why Seymour and other clubs are peasants with no culture and just buy flags. Let them do it mate, and winge all you want.
Cos frankly, i don't give a ********.
Have a nice day!
ANT JESS
8 Sep 2005, 17:49
Your Such a f**ken tool FBP! How bout you get your fat lazy arse out of your computer chair and get your facts straight. Yeah thats it, got it in one the money ran out. That's why everyone left rochy, that and the club is a terrible club to play for with no spirit. Your a downright toss FBP and I hope you choke on your next pie at the footy you fat Pr**k!
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 17:57
Your Such a f**ken tool FBP! How bout you get your fat lazy arse out of your computer chair and get your facts straight. Yeah thats it, got it in one the money ran out. That's why everyone left rochy, that and the club is a terrible club to play for with no spirit. Your a downright toss FBP and I hope you choke on your next pie at the footy you fat Pr**k!
We have another taker. See ANT JESS, go back to school, couldn't sense the sarcasm. I couldn't care about what rochy does, only asked a question on what happened to all their players from last year, that was it, just a question. No need to go belting out swear words.
I said what i said because that's apparently what is going to happen to Seymour at the end of this year. And like he, you know what the culture, and the finances are like up in seymour? Enlighten us.
You know as much as me..nothing.
You belong in the official Rochy thread.
Good bye.
fat back pocket
8 Sep 2005, 18:01
[QUOTE=ANT JESS] the club is a terrible club to play for with no spirit. QUOTE]
Go back up the top JESS, tell me where i said this? I wouldn't know what the spirit is like, its obviously very good. They went well beyond expectation this year.
I never said it was a terrible club either.
Appologies will be excepted,
just call 96027555.
Ciao.
Flat Track Bully
8 Sep 2005, 18:17
[QUOTE=ANT JESS] the club is a terrible club to play for with no spirit. QUOTE]
Appologies will be excepted,
Ciao.
Or wiill they be accepted? Keep going boys, I'm enjoying this...
I suppose you are a member of another club, as that would be the way you know what the culture is like at Seymour and other clubs. Why don't you inform us, or are you just speculating. Something i do very well according to you. You take this boat in a circle every time you write something. Your speculations on what seymour blokes get (apparently everyone bar 2-3 get at least $300) are no worse than my speculation on what the rochy blokes get.
You think i look like the fool, you are the one who looks like the fool, you have been soundly beaten in the argument. Let Bradrowe back you up, cos i bet he is waiting in the wings, i don't need blokes backing me up. Cos you just put yourself in a trap time after time.
re. the first paragraph - there is no speculation in my reference to seymour's culture - it is fact. if the club has no money to spend next year the players they have recruited over the past 1-2 seasons will leave. are you disputing this fact fatty?? if you still think I am speculating on this well I'd be happy to discuss it with you come march next year - alright with you?? regarding the point about only 2-3 players being paid less than $300 I have previously said that I was only joking. this is the second time we have been through this, just goes to show that you ain't got much going for you have ya pal??
re. the second - he he he. well then, I'll throw it to the others on here... who do you's think is winning this battle?? fatso, I don't think you are in a position to even contemplate someone backing you up on anything you say, it hasn't happened yet - you must be starting to wonder a little if it is ever going to happen. if my memory serves me correctly whippet and doona2 (neither from rochy) both posted something the other day questioning your integrity and what you are about as a person. one accused you of lieing and the other suggested that you have some nerve having a go at soft players hinting that you are a hypocrit. what was more interesting about this is that you didn't bother replying to either of these posts. why was that fatso??
so yeah, I guess we aren't the only ones against you here.
bradrowe#32
8 Sep 2005, 20:00
You obviously have no brain, you constantly contradict what you say, time and time again. Get a brain mate. You are the loser here, i'm not the one swearing and carrying on like a twit.
Simple facts of life are, you are a stupid young man who wouldn't know where my weight is located. Maybe I am fat, or maybe my name actually indicates something that is a bit to advanced for your brain to think around. (recall the comment about your tunnel vision and thinking!)
Face the facts that you are the loser, keep throwing the punches buddy, everyone of them has been fobbed off with ease. Keep on swearing, f this, f that. You are a hypocrit, you are dumb, and you keep digging yourself into a hole that you can't get out of.
I bet the culture at Rochy is the best in country victoria. And the other clubs are ********. and you have proof of that. It is your word against any other bloke who wants to have a dig at you at the chance you will be sucked in and throw a few swear words at them so they can have a laugh.
Everyone is laughing at you jmain, go back to grade 2, learn a little bit about life. How bout i set up a thread for you and Brad "Official GV Thread for dummies", then you and braddy boy can talk all you want, at the level of inteligence you two are at. Instead of justifying how good Rochy is, why they are at the top, and why Seymour and other clubs are peasants with no culture and just buy flags. Let them do it mate, and winge all you want.
Cos frankly, i don't give a ********.
Have a nice day!
Hehe. Don't you think its hypocritical to blast jmain for swearing and then proceeding to do it yourself?
If you didn't care why did you type out this emotional little rant? Were you crying as you were typing?
Anyways, I like how you have ignored a lot of stuff I've said. You wanted to know why players left - I told you. You questioned the payments and I told you the facts.
You take this boat in a circle every time you write something. Your speculations on what seymour blokes get (apparently everyone bar 2-3 get at least $300) are no worse than my speculation on what the rochy blokes get.
It's not that hard to speculate how much Seymour pay when their coach says they have a 50-50 policy (50% local players and 50% imports). Source: quote by Seymour coach in the Shepparton News 'Football 2005' guide.
Waiting in anticipation...
Samtrish
8 Sep 2005, 20:03
This is getting interesting boys return serve
Looks like we have found the half time entertainment at the gv grand final this year!! Fat Back pocket V Jmain/bradrowe, and Ant jess to join if the other two are in trouble. I've just spoken to gerard daffy on the phone, and the odds aren't looking good FBP. All the money is for the rochy boys for once, and not the seymour boys.
Samtrish
8 Sep 2005, 21:48
Looks like we have found the half time entertainment at the gv grand final this year!! Fat Back pocket V Jmain/bradrowe, and Ant jess to join if the other two are in trouble. I've just spoken to gerard daffy on the phone, and the odds aren't looking good FBP. All the money is for the rochy boys for once, and not the seymour boys.
FBP will have them covered I am ringing Gerard Daffy now to back him. What I need to find out is will he where a mask like in the wrestling to not scare the woman, children and the Shepp Bears footballers. I hear he is sponsored by Western Star butter
bradrowe#32
8 Sep 2005, 23:55
FBP will have them covered I am ringing Gerard Daffy now to back him. What I need to find out is will he where a mask like in the wrestling to not scare the woman, children and the Shepp Bears footballers. I hear he is sponsored by Western Star butter
Hehe.
On other news (compliments of Flat Track Bully), Tongala's members have voted to move to the Murray league. Seems like the GV will be a 12 team comp. I wonder if they will go back to the traditional 22 round league so everyone plays each other at home and away.
Heard any news Travvy? Will the players hang around?
Flat Track Bully
9 Sep 2005, 01:22
Hehe.
On other news (compliments of Flat Track Bully), Tongala's members have voted to move to the Murray league. Seems like the GV will be a 12 team comp. I wonder if they will go back to the traditional 22 round league so everyone plays each other at home and away.
Will we revert back to a final five, a la the VFL??? I hope so, the 6 is no good...
fat back pocket
9 Sep 2005, 08:47
re. the first paragraph - there is no speculation in my reference to seymour's culture - it is fact. if the club has no money to spend next year the players they have recruited over the past 1-2 seasons will leave. are you disputing this fact fatty?? if you still think I am speculating on this well I'd be happy to discuss it with you come march next year - alright with you?? regarding the point about only 2-3 players being paid less than $300 I have previously said that I was only joking. this is the second time we have been through this, just goes to show that you ain't got much going for you have ya pal??
re. the second - he he he. well then, I'll throw it to the others on here... who do you's think is winning this battle?? fatso, I don't think you are in a position to even contemplate someone backing you up on anything you say, it hasn't happened yet - you must be starting to wonder a little if it is ever going to happen. if my memory serves me correctly whippet and doona2 (neither from rochy) both posted something the other day questioning your integrity and what you are about as a person. one accused you of lieing and the other suggested that you have some nerve having a go at soft players hinting that you are a hypocrit. what was more interesting about this is that you didn't bother replying to either of these posts. why was that fatso??
so yeah, I guess we aren't the only ones against you here.
Firstly whippet is from Rochy and Doona knows why he is on my back. Don't ya Doona. its all because of his friend Inness.
You would expect Seymour to lose a few blokes next year, fair call. But not a mass walk out like Rochy experienced i wouldn't think. There is a fair bit of local tallent, unless Seymour are crazy, i couldn't imagine they would paying their reserves, and from what i have seen, they must have just a little bit of depth. All their good locals.
How did the rochy reserves go this year? Did you get to sing your song? Once i think it was!
Mate I think you guys should worry about your own depth than what other clubs are doing, i think you guys have your hands full at the minute.
If you don't pay more than $200 per game, your reserves are stuffed, how long do you think you will keep all these "locals", once the KD clubs start sniffing around, offering $$ to your senior players, because we know none of your reserves have any football skill to speak of.
I think you and your mates (who are the only ones who back you up on this site, no one else) should just worry about Rochy for now.
Seymour are obviously doing ok, both teams in the finals 2 years running, can't complain about that.
can't say the same about Rochy though. I reckon you can get a guide to the quality and position a club is in by its reserves, obviously indicates some depth when their seniors and reserves are making the finals.
Shepparton are obviously the front runner when it comes to depth. Euroa would be next, then a battle between Seymour, Benalla, and Mansfield.
Rochy are well and trully off the pace. So I think it is you guys who should get off your a#$e and do a pre-season. Because if you lose one or two bendigo blokes. when you cap your price at $200, good luck recruiting blokes when the locals either leave or retire. Tank must be just about done, who will replace him? He is a super star. What about Chris McCarty? You guys have lived off the back of these two blokes (which isn't a bad thing) for a while now, you have to admit, who is the next Tank McPhee and Chris McCarty?
I think you guys should worry about the future of Rochy before you go worrying about other clubs.
Ok.
fat back pocket
9 Sep 2005, 08:50
Close Sammy, its meadowlea - marg. that back me.
See when people say i'm soft, they say "soft as butter" as goes the saying, so i couldn't be associated with Western Star. Had to go with the marg instead.
Cheers.
Samtrish
9 Sep 2005, 09:01
Close Sammy, its meadowlea - marg. that back me.
See when people say i'm soft, they say "soft as butter" as goes the saying, so i couldn't be associated with Western Star. Had to go with the marg instead.
Cheers.
Seemed to have hit a raw nerve with the Rochy supporters mate, but you do have one up on them which could be to do with the exit from the finals last week money or no money the carry on makes good reading tell no32 to get a kick on sunday and mention that you backed my dog that should fire him up. ;)
C'mon guys you're never going to agree so how about we get back to the footy, stop worrying about who's paying who how much, who's side has the better/worse culture. It's finals time, some great games coming up.
ECHUCABOY
9 Sep 2005, 10:54
Still haven't had a response from this very articulate piece I put together FBP, I'd like to see what you've got to say???
GV Middle Man
9 Sep 2005, 11:32
Still haven't had a response from this very articulate piece I put together FBP, I'd like to see what you've got to say???
I think all of you should just take a chill pill.
FBP, you are digging yourself into a hole buddy, I agree with you about some things, but unfortunately you are out numbered about everyone to 2 - you and sammtrish.
Echucaboy, the name says it all. If i recall correctly Seymour beat you guys in the twos last year, now, as FBP suggested earlier, i don't think they go paying their twos players.
Lets talk footy.
Rumour has it the GV board isn't too happy with Dave Williams behaviour last weekend. That is the rumour out of Shepp. Apparently he was way out of line at half time. Getting involved with the crowd or something, i can't believe it, he has been an icon of GV footy for a decade.
Go dave. Smash em.
Anyway, good luck to all finals participants this weekend.
Travvy43
9 Sep 2005, 11:52
Hehe.
Tongala's members have voted to move to the Murray league.
Not sure what is going to happen with regards to next year. At this stage a coach has not even been appointed. I would imigine it being a lot more difficult to attract melbourne players if playing int he Murray League, although time will tell.
Interested to hear a rochy boys perspective on what happened with dirty williams this week. There has been a bit of talk about it although on all occasions that have gone through to the keeper.
What happened??????
ECHUCABOY
9 Sep 2005, 11:55
I think all of you should just take a chill pill.
FBP, you are digging yourself into a hole buddy, I agree with you about some things, but unfortunately you are out numbered about everyone to 2 - you and sammtrish.
Echucaboy, the name says it all. If i recall correctly Seymour beat you guys in the twos last year, now, as FBP suggested earlier, i don't think they go paying their twos players.
Lets talk footy.
Rumour has it the GV board isn't too happy with Dave Williams behaviour last weekend. That is the rumour out of Shepp. Apparently he was way out of line at half time. Getting involved with the crowd or something, i can't believe it, he has been an icon of GV footy for a decade.
Go dave. Smash em.
Anyway, good luck to all finals participants this weekend.
I think you should shut up, come on here with one post and think you own the joint, we've been discussing this topic for ages, very good pick up on my name sayin it all....Echucaboy would suggest im from Echuca well done.
Could we get a preview of this weekends game, as I've said before bit hard to get one of those in melbourne.
Cheers
bradrowe#32
9 Sep 2005, 12:00
Not sure what is going to happen with regards to next year. At this stage a coach has not even been appointed. I would imigine it being a lot more difficult to attract melbourne players if playing int he Murray League, although time will tell.
Interested to hear a rochy boys perspective on what happened with dirty williams this week. There has been a bit of talk about it although on all occasions that have gone through to the keeper.
What happened??????
What in particular would you like to know about Dave Williams? I didn't hear anything this week.
Fat Back Pocket: for the last decade or so the ressies have always been pretty ordinary due to the loss of players to the local league and perhaps some issues within the club. It's kind of amusing that you keep going on about some things, but ignore other things like direct questions from Echucaboy or myself.
Should be a good weekend of footy. I was suprised about Benalla beating Shepparton, especially when you consider the form they displayed during the last part of the year. I think Mansfield will win, but it all depends on the players they have available. Euroa will defeat Seymour, I think. I've seen both sides at least twice and I think the Magpies will get up. Should be a cracker of a game.
Travvy43
9 Sep 2005, 12:32
What in particular would you like to know about Dave Williams? I didn't hear anything this week.
A few posts on here have talked about dirty's behaviour last weekend, at half time of the game.
another post mentioned it maybe had something to do with Joey Amad whacking blokes behind play or something.
I am not having a crack at you, just interested to hear if anything happened as it has popped up from two separate sources on this thread.
fat back pocket
9 Sep 2005, 13:11
Fat Back Pocket: for the last decade or so the ressies have always been pretty ordinary due to the loss of players to the local league and perhaps some issues within the club. It's kind of amusing that you keep going on about some things, but ignore other things like direct questions from Echucaboy or myself.
Should be a good weekend of footy. I was suprised about Benalla beating Shepparton, especially when you consider the form they displayed during the last part of the year. I think Mansfield will win, but it all depends on the players they have available. Euroa will defeat Seymour, I think. I've seen both sides at least twice and I think the Magpies will get up. Should be a cracker of a game.
Echucaboy: Not your argument, so stay out.
Bradrowe: Fair enough re the reserves, i understand you, Ky, Tonny, etc have had lots of competition from the likes of Lancaster, Rushy, etc in the KD who take your border line players. I suppose that is country footy. GV is a good comp, and those who can't quite squeeze a game in the ones go to the KD. It is unfortunate for the smaller clubs in like Rochy, Seymour, Euroa, and Tonny but all the smaller town clubs are in the same boat.
There are years where a lot of these border line players bite the bullet and think, the ressies will be good, i might as well go an play in the better standard.
There was a guest of Eric Botts at the Benalla v Shepp finals last week, he said the standard of twos finals was better than a Latrobe Valley senior league. That is good for GV footy. There are some handy players running around in the magoo's.
Shepparton will win the ressies flag by 10 goals in the GF.
Anyone know how Tranquilli and Hulme pulled up with their strings? I heard Hulme was worse than Tranquilli.
Hulme recently missed like 8 matches, was it for the same injury? Or a different one?
Hulme will be fine, dont think he will be to keen to miss out on the 2k he will get for a finals win.
fat back pocket
9 Sep 2005, 13:30
Hulme will be fine, dont think he will be to keen to miss out on the 2k he will get for a finals win.
Very interesting, its do or die from here on in for Benalla and Mansfield. They'd be shattered if they got through this week but lost key players because they played them when they were underdone.
But, thats finals football. Will be very interesting, not to mention the forcast is set to be a cold shocker at Euroa tomorrow. Suit mansfield, but not if they have a couple of dodgy strings running around.