View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Cant believe everyone isnt mentioning Seymour with a 3 peat. They will definately win it again from all reports. As for Rochy, yeas they have recruited some decent players, but they wont lift them into the top 3 of the league.
Wouldn't be declaring them but have to agree Bossman the Lions will be well and truly in the mix . . . . . and akka I think there's a few guys on here who have given the News a leg up at times, maybe Kingy could get em to organise a Big Footy box at Deakin one match :thumbsu:
Tatybulldog
10 Jan 2007, 14:26
Yep couldn't agree more there boss. They will definitely be up around the mark again and should be similar to 06. Sure they have lost a couple but the replacements are very good players. Also by the sounds, the league may not be quite as strong with the high calibre of players departing the GV. Echuca seem to be an interesting case at the moment. Some people have them top 3 whereas some don't have them in their final 6.
what about the bloke at the helm. steve daniels is a huge loss to isnt he! i think th mighty lions will play finals but 3 peat is a big ask. but no one is in any position to say they definantly wont though they are the defending champs! as for rochy they should be just aiming to play finals footy then take it from there.
galloping gasometer
10 Jan 2007, 14:32
As far as I know, the confirmed locals returning are Ash Watson, Ben Anderson, Carl Moon, Mark Watson and Nick Knight. Possibily Andrew Palmer. Hooda Gray just rumour at his stage, but doubtful. I would say their top 10 players will be as good as in the GV this year. How far they go will depend on their depth.
Good point. Flags are won by teams who have a senior list of about 25-28 players who can come in and play their part. ITs not the top 15 players at the club but the next 10-13 when you consider injuries, that probably hold your position on the ladder for a crack from the best position in the finals.
I think Rochy's top 10 from last season held their own against the rest of the league but the next 15 players were average.
SUPASTARR
10 Jan 2007, 15:02
No doubt Steve is a good coach but gee he had an awesome list to work with. That team would have made lots of coaches look good.
FOOTYBOSS
10 Jan 2007, 15:15
what about the bloke at the helm. steve daniels is a huge loss to isnt he! i think th mighty lions will play finals but 3 peat is a big ask. but no one is in any position to say they definantly wont though they are the defending champs! as for rochy they should be just aiming to play finals footy then take it from there.
At the end of the day, it isnt the coach that wins the games. Its the actual players who get the team over the line.
no left foot
10 Jan 2007, 15:20
Yep couldn't agree more there boss. They will definitely be up around the mark again and should be similar to 06. Sure they have lost a couple but the replacements are very good players. Also by the sounds, the league may not be quite as strong with the high calibre of players departing the GV. Echuca seem to be an interesting case at the moment. Some people have them top 3 whereas some don't have them in their final 6.
Echuca been going along quietly worked hard on keeping the playing group together only lost 2 or 3 and picked up some handy replacements. Hoping to sign a couple more they are in negotiations with. Rochy would need more than there 4 or 5 signings to even make finals let alone top 3. Lets be serious they were a long way off the mark last year.
Tatybulldog
10 Jan 2007, 15:24
No doubt Steve is a good coach but gee he had an awesome list to work with. That team would have made lots of coaches look good.
i totally agree. seymour probably would have won the flag under any other coach and yeah great cattle to work with he had but when it comes to the coaches of the last couple yrs in the GV he was a step above the rest i think.
galloping gasometer
10 Jan 2007, 15:30
Echuca been going along quietly worked hard on keeping the playing group together only lost 2 or 3 and picked up some handy replacements. Hoping to sign a couple more they are in negotiations with. Rochy would need more than there 4 or 5 signings to even make finals let alone top 3. Lets be serious they were a long way off the mark last year.
We are back to the days of the ball tearing blockbuster between Rochy and Echuca this year. Bring it on.................:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
no left foot
10 Jan 2007, 15:37
We are back to the days of the ball tearing blockbuster between Rochy and Echuca this year. Bring it on.................:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Rochy had 1 scoring shot for the whole game last year. They would want to improve for it to be a ball tearing blockbuster.
Sippawitz
10 Jan 2007, 15:55
Rochy had 1 scoring shot for the whole game last year. They would want to improve for it to be a ball tearing blockbuster.
No Left Foot, Clearly you are close to the action at Murray Bomberland. Any comment on the story that
Josh Maddox has left Echuca to join South Adelaide in the SANFL? Hard bloke to replace i would've thought..
No Left Foot, Clearly you are close to the action at Murray Bomberland. Any comment on the story that
Josh Maddox has left Echuca to join South Adelaide in the SANFL? Hard bloke to replace i would've thought..
definately left, look at the South Adelaide website www.safc.com.au (http://www.safc.com.au) they have a media release welcoming him
Doozy_Man
10 Jan 2007, 16:21
definately left, look at the South Adelaide website www.safc.com.au (http://www.safc.com.au) they have a media release welcoming him
Massive blow for Echuca. I'm not sure if they saw it coming either? Can you shed some light no left foot? I suppose it is an opportunity for one of the younger blokes to step up but having seen Josh play, it will ease the coaches from rival clubs seeing him go that's for sure!!
Looks like Archard and McGlone are gradually coaxing players down to Adelaide from Bomber land!!!
bradrowe#32
10 Jan 2007, 22:26
Rochy had a pretty shocking run of injuries last year. Heath Aitken (missed 6 games), Mick Loughman (18), Clint Whitsed (missed 11), Matt Jackson (missed all year), Dylan Cuttriss (5), Brodie Montague (5).
A couple of stars and the rest are handy at worst. If they are back in the team, then they are pretty close to the team that shouldn't have, but did, make the finals in 2005.
Brad Major is also another player that might come back.
galloping gasometer
11 Jan 2007, 08:14
One bad season does not make up for the last 15. If you want to look at history have a look at the last 15 seasons and tell me who would be winning head to head............Rochester have been the most consistent team in the GVFL for that period. Not bad when you consider population
Can Shop
11 Jan 2007, 08:25
Although its still extremely unlikely... Word has it that hueston trained with united last night... Must have just been becuase he was in town
no left foot
11 Jan 2007, 08:46
Massive blow for Echuca. I'm not sure if they saw it coming either? Can you shed some light no left foot? I suppose it is an opportunity for one of the younger blokes to step up but having seen Josh play, it will ease the coaches from rival clubs seeing him go that's for sure!!
Looks like Archard and McGlone are gradually coaxing players down to Adelaide from Bomber land!!!
Pretty sure Josh is leaving for work, at present working for the Echuca Football Club and finishing off a sports admin degree. From what I've heard South are keen to help him advance in the sports admin field. Was the clubs leading goal scorer last year so wil be a loss, but gives someone else an opportunity.
Joeyboy
11 Jan 2007, 09:01
Will Seymours dual premiership backman Robbie Douglas remain at the den this year since his link with the club has headed north, heard rumours he may head home for kick this year.
innocentbystander
11 Jan 2007, 09:02
Looks like he's got you there lefty!
Tatybulldog
11 Jan 2007, 09:05
One bad season does not make up for the last 15. If you want to look at history have a look at the last 15 seasons and tell me who would be winning head to head............Rochester have been the most consistent team in the GVFL for that period. Not bad when you consider population
i recon the doggies are up there for consistancy even with our last couple of yrs.
Punter_22
11 Jan 2007, 09:18
Huge loss for Echuca. Josh Maddox is a very similar player to Archard. He isn't quite in Archard's class but he isn't far off either. When Echuca came out firing last year and won its opening three matches, it was Josh Maddox who was doing the bulk of the damage for them. He reads the play and the ball off the packs brilliantly. Quickly got a bit of extra attention from opposition sides and went a bit quiet but then got used to it and finished off the season really well. He is a match winner and will be bloody hard to replace.
Big Roy
11 Jan 2007, 09:24
i recon the doggies are up there for consistancy even with our last couple of yrs.
I agree the bullldogs have been consistent before the past 2 years as consistantly good. Now they have turned the trend for the past 2 years and they have still been consistent but consistantly losing. Lets hope it all turns around for the local folk at the kennel. Even if its just a few wins this year get teh excitement back there :thumbsu:
LOBSTER
11 Jan 2007, 09:32
Has anyone started training yet for the upcoming season?
lion's_roar
11 Jan 2007, 09:35
Will Seymours dual premiership backman Robbie Douglas remain at the den this year since his link with the club has headed north, heard rumours he may head home for kick this year.
When you say heading home for a kick ... Do you mean joining Doona at Broadford?
That would be a massive pick up for you guys Doon ... All you'd need then is Tav to sign on and you'd be premiership favourites.
Can't really see it happening though
No Heart
11 Jan 2007, 09:46
At the end of the day, it isnt the coach that wins the games. Its the actual players who get the team over the line.
Isnt it the coach that recruits the players to the club , isnt it the the coach that tells the team how to play, isnt it the coaches responsibilty to get the best out of every player so they play to there best. Ive seen coaches have gun sides and fail , ive seen coaches with teams that should finish bottom 3 [ D Williams ] and they make the finals, never underestimate the diffrence a good coach can make.
Wear The Fox Hat
11 Jan 2007, 09:52
Isnt it the coach that recruits the players to the club , isnt it the the coach that tells the team how to play, isnt it the coaches responsibilty to get the best out of every player so they play to there best. Ive seen coaches have gun sides and fail , ive seen coaches with teams that should finish bottom 3 [ D Williams ] and they make the finals, never underestimate the diffrence a good coach can make.
Agree No Heart , good coaches are hard to get. Mate whats the go at seymour at the moment with saad saad , i heard he could be moving on ?
kirbs will be heading over to wang mate! another big loss! but little will be a great pick up and hopefully noble can bring a couple from SA that are in the pipe line atm. hows mornington looking? is the big fella(willa) playing there with you?
Yeah Timmy its my self, Willa and Murph who you probably have met before. We have only been down the 1 time and after the 3k run to the oval and circuit where we where punished followed by 8-400s, full ground skills work, yoga and run back id doubt we will be heading back anytime soon. nah nah in saying that it they are very proffesional and all the lads are super fit and TALL so hopefully we go alright.
How fit are you mate? you blokes doing any time trials of such?? have to stay away from them.
GV Middle Man
11 Jan 2007, 12:43
Any truth in the rumour that another 2 of steve daniels assistants are making the treck up north to also coach...one believed to work in a bank...which bank i couldnt tell u and the other a x coach of a team that folded... must be the warmer weather.... all the best to all of them especially steve daniels who is a ripper bloke, awesome coach, nice family guy and all round legend, straight down the line no bull**** type of bloke...will be hard to replace at seymour and the GV. Maybe they will re-name the grandstand at kings park after him....
speedster
11 Jan 2007, 13:22
Any truth in the rumour that another 2 of steve daniels assistants are making the treck up north to also coach...one believed to work in a bank...which bank i couldnt tell u and the other a x coach of a team that folded... must be the warmer weather.... all the best to all of them especially steve daniels who is a ripper bloke, awesome coach, nice family guy and all round legend, straight down the line no bull**** type of bloke...will be hard to replace at seymour and the GV. Maybe they will re-name the grandstand at kings park after him....
dont think daniels would make the same mistake and take fatty jago wit him. might b the only job he hasnt asked for though
it's the NAB
GV Middle Man
11 Jan 2007, 13:50
Follow this link...classic pitcure of the great S J Daniels... Looks more like S J Jago
www.cairns.aflq.com.au
Looks like he has put his head flat down on a photo copier and taken a photo.....
there was no info regarding the other guys following him up there...
I think a big blow up doll of Steve Daniel and his old fella enlarged times 50 would sell well on this website, I wounder how many of you blokes we could fit on one doll.
Anyway good luck to the bloke obviously knows how to coach a bit, i dont know how much more he will develop up there in cairns. Could get a shicking bunch of blokes and have a bad season, and then bang his rep is shot.
Anyway good luck to them all.
FOOTYBOSS
11 Jan 2007, 14:38
Follow this link...classic pitcure of the great S J Daniels... Looks more like S J Jago
www.cairns.aflq.com.au
Looks like he has put his head flat down on a photo copier and taken a photo.....
there was no info regarding the other guys following him up there...
Just read the article you mentioned. Im pretty sure he never worked under Paul Roos at all. He never coached the Northern Bullants either. Im not to sure on Vic country coach of the year, but I dont think he won that either 2 years in a row. Wish everyone would get out of his ass.
Hope he does well up there, he might even shed some kilos with the heat and humidity.
Could get a shicking bunch of blokes and have a bad season, and then bang his rep is shot.
Dunno bout that call . . . last season's Tatura coach still has a fair reputation and Im told is a really nice guy - despite ladder positions
Would Scott Hann leave Rochy? have heard there might be an ACT club speaking to him this week.......
Footy08
11 Jan 2007, 15:28
Although its still extremely unlikely... Word has it that hueston trained with united last night... Must have just been becuase he was in town
Yes hueston trained last night.. anyone no what the go is there?
beaglehound
11 Jan 2007, 17:00
Yes hueston trained last night.. anyone no what the go is there?
I believe that he is still to make a decision as to who he signs with for the season. He has moved back to Shepparton and is working in Shepp. Should be finalised by the end of next week, one way or another. The goss at the club is that they feel United are in with a big chance of signing him. Would be a huge pickup to add to a good list of recruits for 2007.
pete_mitchell
11 Jan 2007, 17:01
Agree No Heart , good coaches are hard to get. Mate whats the go at seymour at the moment with saad saad , i heard he could be moving on ?
If you don't know...nobody does.
pete_mitchell
11 Jan 2007, 17:06
Well the SFNC can now remove the tint off the window now you've left seymour...the shinning glare off your bald head on a sunny day used to force supporters to buy a membership and a set of sunglasses.
SJ will go by himself you'd expect. He won't take anyone with him...not even coaches.
beaglehound
11 Jan 2007, 17:15
Interesting story heard recently that an ex GVFL coach who is now coaching in the O&M was recently looking for help in recruiting a key forward. He was told to try contacting Singh, who has yet to committ. He replied that he had already done so and there was no way he was in the ball park re matching the Swan's offer to Singh. Claims they have offered him $30k plus for the season. I find it hard to believe that any club would waste this much cash on one player who has show a inability to committ to a club for more then one season. If it is true, It would be interesting to see the payments budget that Whitey has to play with this season. Obviously a couple of great supporters around with lots of cash to try and buy a flag. Anyone heard anything about this?
speedster
11 Jan 2007, 17:37
Interesting story heard recently that an ex GVFL coach who is now coaching in the O&M was recently looking for help in recruiting a key forward. He was told to try contacting Singh, who has yet to committ. He replied that he had already done so and there was no way he was in the ball park re matching the Swan's offer to Singh. Claims they have offered him $30k plus for the season. I find it hard to believe that any club would waste this much cash on one player who has show a inability to committ to a club for more then one season. If it is true, It would be interesting to see the payments budget that Whitey has to play with this season. Obviously a couple of great supporters around with lots of cash to try and buy a flag. Anyone heard anything about this?
all i can say is know i few boys they ve had a crack at, and they were offering stupid money and sign on fee s, they r all out to win that flag
TuskenRaider
11 Jan 2007, 20:08
all i can say is know i few boys they ve had a crack at, and they were offering stupid money and sign on fee s, they r all out to win that flag
They would have by far the biggest premiership drought in the GV so they're obviously going all out.
I'm not sure of when Benalla last won one but they only came back into the GV in 1998.
On The Money
11 Jan 2007, 21:53
They would have by far the biggest premiership drought in the GV so they're obviously going all out.
I'm not sure of when Benalla last won one but they only came back into the GV in 1998.
Yer I think your right Tusken I think they won their last flag in the mid 60's & they were runner-up in 1983 to Tongala not sure if there has been other Grand Final appearances or not.
I reckon Benalla might have won one in the early 80's 81 perhaps.
Travvy43
12 Jan 2007, 07:04
This comment is absolutely false and absurd. From what i believe the swans have a pretty dynamic forward line with a number of blokes that can rotate through full forward and CHF. Singh is pretty much a full forward, and having him in the side would limit that versitility.
Last i heard he was going for a job interview with the AFL as a multicultural officer. This was being set up by an amateurs club in Melbourne. If he got the job at the AFL he would play with them. That was probably three weeks ago though. Since then he has probably talked to three dozen more clubs.
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 07:08
Dunno bout that call . . . last season's Tatura coach still has a fair reputation and Im told is a really nice guy - despite ladder positions
yeah would agree. moose is held in very high regard by alot of ppl around the valleys still. spose thats why he is helping out with the coaching of the GV squad!
Snakeman66
12 Jan 2007, 07:45
Yer I think your right Tusken I think they won their last flag in the mid 60's & they were runner-up in 1983 to Tongala not sure if there has been other Grand Final appearances or not.
I reckon Benalla might have won one in the early 80's 81 perhaps.
Benalla last won in 1973.
Benalla 3.1 7.3 9.9 12.12 (84)
North Albury 2.5 5.7 8.9 11.11 (77)
yeah would agree. moose is held in very high regard by alot of ppl around the valleys still. spose thats why he is helping out with the coaching of the GV squad!
thank-you taty:thumbsu:
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 08:08
thank-you taty:thumbsu:
started your pre season training yet doona?
Did 3 weeks prior to Xmas, back into it Wednesday night.
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 08:31
Did 3 weeks prior to Xmas, back into it Wednesday night.
how are you blokes looking??
I would think your rep as a coach in the GV would hold up a fair bit stronger than a rep for a coach in the AFL Cairns. What im saying is that if you have aspirations as coach to go on to a higher level and your constantley looking at ways to develop your self, how is a move to AFL Cairns going to improve that?? You can be a coach in the GV with little success and still have a strong reputation as a good coach however should SD go up north and do nothing it will just prove that players more so than the coach get a footy club over the line.
Its a bizzare move for a coach who is supposed to be looking at going onto bigger and better things to be taking a backward step to go to Cairns. Its like an A grade Ammos coach saying ' right ill take the coaching gig down at ****** in D4 because there is a nice beach there'. SD could win 3 flags up there and be considered no better than when he left, or he wont win 3 flags and will have gone backwards 10 fold from when he left.
He should have coached in the O&M.
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 08:39
I would think your rep as a coach in the GV would hold up a fair bit stronger than a rep for a coach in the AFL Cairns. What im saying is that if you have aspirations as coach to go on to a higher level and your constantley looking at ways to develop your self, how is a move to AFL Cairns going to improve that?? You can be a coach in the GV with little success and still have a strong reputation as a good coach however should SD go up north and do nothing it will just prove that players more so than the coach get a footy club over the line.
Its a bizzare move for a coach who is supposed to be looking at going onto bigger and better things to be taking a backward step to go to Cairns. Its like an A grade Ammos coach saying ' right ill take the coaching gig down at ****** in D4 because there is a nice beach there'. SD could win 3 flags up there and be considered no better than when he left, or he wont win 3 flags and will have gone backwards 10 fold from when he left.
danny stevens coached us to a flag and then to a runners up then he left and went to coach in the development side of things with afl NSW or something like that now he has landed a good gig with the afl not sure exactly what but steve might be using this as another stepping stone just like danny did! maybe he thinks it might be a chellenge also.
sharkboy
12 Jan 2007, 08:39
Heard Glenn Joyce ex O&M player will sign with Shepp Bears sometime next week:thumbsu:
TuskenRaider
12 Jan 2007, 09:07
danny stevens coached us to a flag and then to a runners up then he left and went to coach in the development side of things with afl NSW or something like that now he has landed a good gig with the afl not sure exactly what but steve might be using this as another stepping stone just like danny did! maybe he thinks it might be a chellenge also.
Who was Danny Stevens working for in NSW though? I've a feeling it was a better pathway than going to Cairns.
I tend to agree with Tige's comments on this matter, but I'm sure there are other lifestyle choices involved in his decision.
Tatybulldog
12 Jan 2007, 09:14
Who was Danny Stevens working for in NSW though? I've a feeling it was a better pathway than going to Cairns.
I tend to agree with Tige's comments on this matter, but I'm sure there are other lifestyle choices involved in his decision.
he coached the NSW-ACT under 18 side im pretty sure.or assisted with it.
FOOTYBOSS
12 Jan 2007, 09:36
he coached the NSW-ACT under 18 side im pretty sure.or assisted with it.
Danny coached the NSW-ACT u/18 side at the u/18 championships, this led him to also being development coach at the swans. You will see him in the coaching box at alongside Paul Roos on game days.
SUPASTARR
12 Jan 2007, 09:46
Danny coached the NSW-ACT u/18 side at the u/18 championships, this led him to also being development coach at the swans. You will see him in the coaching box at alongside Paul Roos on game days.
Aah there's not much you don't know is there Boss? :rolleyes:
Anyway have you decided on what you are doing in 2007?
FOOTYBOSS
12 Jan 2007, 10:00
Aah there's not much you don't know is there Boss? :rolleyes:
Anyway have you decided on what you are doing in 2007?
There is heaps I dont know mate.
Yeah I have decided not to play footy at all in 2007.
NEXT LEVEL
12 Jan 2007, 11:08
MOOSE WAS A GREAT TUFF SMART PLAYER.
Is a ripping bloke to and deserved much much much more than he got from the club.
Trent Lovelock
12 Jan 2007, 12:44
must be in the name!NEXT LEVEL got any injury updates from tat??
wizza_2
12 Jan 2007, 12:50
Would Scott Hann leave Rochy? have heard there might be an ACT club speaking to him this week.......
yes he will ainnesly is talking to him chris rourke former runner at rochy got the job so every expectation he will go
speedster
12 Jan 2007, 12:50
whats the latest on mansfield and there ground, heard something bout they couldnt play there cos of water restrictions
When you say heading home for a kick ... Do you mean joining Doona at Broadford?
That would be a massive pick up for you guys Doon ... All you'd need then is Tav to sign on and you'd be premiership favourites.
Can't really see it happening though
Doubt Chippa would even contemplate a move home, why wouldn't he be considered a boom recruit for Coxy up north. Id reckon more a chance of that happening than a return to Harley Hammond Reserve.
Missed Tav also, outbidded by Rushworth unfortunately ;) Actually missed everyone you guys have rumoured on here, woulda been nice to get in first with a call before they read it on here :p
:( The list of missed chances thus far . . . . Kirby, Schottner, Douglas, Rattray, Shiels, Pappa, Mills, McBrien, Arandt, Spargo, Watts, Tav Perry, Tom Butterworth, Mark Nicholls, and who knows maybe also Kelly and Inness :(
Anyone else Ive forgotten that we're meant to be chasing guys????
speedster
12 Jan 2007, 14:29
Doubt Chippa would even contemplate a move home, why wouldn't he be considered a boom recruit for Coxy up north. Id reckon more a chance of that happening than a return to Harley Hammond Reserve.
Missed Tav also, outbidded by Rushworth unfortunately ;) Actually missed everyone you guys have rumoured on here, woulda been nice to get in first with a call before they read it on here :p
:( The list of missed chances thus far . . . . Kirby, Schottner, Douglas, Rattray, Shiels, Pappa, Mills, McBrien, Arandt, Spargo, Watts, Tav Perry, Tom Butterworth, Mark Nicholls, and who knows maybe also Kelly and Inness :(
whats inness and kelly doing thought u had kelly
iwantanotherflag
12 Jan 2007, 15:51
Why would you pay so much for Singh (30k)? What do they pay there kids just out of thirds?? Mars Bar and a Coke I would guess!
whats inness and kelly doing thought u had kelly
Unsure, both have trained as is common knowledge
NEXT LEVEL
12 Jan 2007, 16:03
must be in the name!NEXT LEVEL got any injury updates from tat??
WELL I THINK JOSH 'CAPTAIN' GLEDHILL COULD MISS ALL PRE-SEASON WITH AN ALMOST SEASON ENDING GROIN INJURY. NOT SURE IF IT WAS FOOTY RELATED THOUGH.
Trent Lovelock
12 Jan 2007, 17:05
WELL I THINK JOSH 'CAPTAIN' GLEDHILL COULD MISS ALL PRE-SEASON WITH AN ALMOST SEASON ENDING GROIN INJURY. NOT SURE IF IT WAS FOOTY RELATED THOUGH.
oh no! another big blow for the bulldogs, considerably lacking in leadership now! i dont understand not footy related? sure u cant obtain a serious groin injury from standing in second slip all day for mooroopna c-grade cricket?
Montyking
12 Jan 2007, 20:39
Which Kelly are you talking about Doona???
NEXT LEVEL
13 Jan 2007, 16:45
oh no! another big blow for the bulldogs, considerably lacking in leadership now! i dont understand not footy related? sure u cant obtain a serious groin injury from standing in second slip all day for mooroopna c-grade cricket?
i think he might be having some injury concerns at home with over use
NEXT LEVEL
13 Jan 2007, 16:47
singh the great indian prince is set to play around kerang way getting a fair bit for the year with tremellan to follow him there for a large amount as well, president is a millionair there, not sure what team for tho.
beaglehound
13 Jan 2007, 19:52
singh the great indian prince is set to play around kerang way getting a fair bit for the year with tremellan to follow him there for a large amount as well, president is a millionair there, not sure what team for tho.
Thanks NEXT LEVEL. No doubting Singhs ability as a top goal kicker. However, apart from missing a reliable convertor I don't think the cats leadership group will miss either one of them and are probably happy they chose to leave.
The biggest recruit of they year to United is Rob Harris look out big things to happen at Demon land???
TuskenRaider
14 Jan 2007, 21:50
Thanks NEXT LEVEL. No doubting Singhs ability as a top goal kicker. However, apart from missing a reliable convertor I don't think the cats leadership group will miss either one of them and are probably happy they chose to leave.
Bit harsh, I've seen Tremellen play some pretty good footy at Coburg a few years ago. You wouldn't really want to lose players of his ability.
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 07:06
Bit harsh, I've seen Tremellen play some pretty good footy at Coburg a few years ago. You wouldn't really want to lose players of his ability.
i think you will find there is a bit more to ben tremellen then just his footy ability. he caused some big problems just as the club was heading into its finals last yr!
Big Roy
15 Jan 2007, 08:46
Last 2 years has been a bit injury prone also
Can Shop
15 Jan 2007, 09:12
The biggest recruit of they year to United is Rob Harris look out big things to happen at Demon land???
I think he''ll be quite good in his role, He might not get much writing down for the shepp news but..
Good Friday game not on
January 15 2007
Shepparton News
Concern over losing a major sponsor has resulted in Goulburn Valley Football League club Benalla rejecting Shepparton United's offer to play on Good Friday.
The decision to knock back the proposal to play on one of the holiest days on the Christian calendar was made during a meeting of the Saints' board on Thursday night.
"A couple of our sponsors and influential supporters who have some strong religious beliefs were against the idea," Benalla president Gary Joyce said."I also had half a dozen people approach me personally with their concerns after it appeared in the paper.
"Personally I don't have an issue with it and most of the players are for it.
"But we couldn't risk upsetting a major sponsor of the club."
Shepparton United's proposal for the first ever Goulburn Valley Football League Good Friday clash was first revealed in The News on January 5.
The Demons and Benalla were originally scheduled to meet on the second weekend of the split opening round on April 14.
"We have written to United and offered to play on Easter Saturday," Joyce said.
"There are no GVFL games in the Shepparton area that day."
Shepparton United president Jason Kelly said the Demons would decide on their next course of action when they received the letter from Benalla.
"We don't want to speculate on any other date until we read the letter," Kelly said.
"Let us talk to them first.
"But if that's the case (rejecting the Good Friday offer), it's disappointing."
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 09:54
i think you will find there is a bit more to ben tremellen then just his footy ability. he caused some big problems just as the club was heading into its finals last yr!
What sort of problems did he cause?
Good luck answering that one without dragging someone's name thru the mud you tosser!:thumbsd:
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 10:56
Good luck answering that one without dragging someone's name thru the mud you tosser!:thumbsd:
Just a simple question, knob head.
FOOTYBOSS
15 Jan 2007, 10:58
Would have been a very good team if you had have got all of those players Doona. Some experienced talent there.
Yeah the old grapevine is a ripper hey . . . . probably woulda been a bit of overkill for the little old HDFL but ya'd take em hey!!! Anyone else we are meant to be chasing let me know so I can ring em :p
TuskenRaider
15 Jan 2007, 11:18
Who are you calling a tosser? The poster who stated he caused problems or the one just asking a question of why? Stupid post.
Just a simple question, knob head.
Who are you calling a tosser? The poster who stated he caused problems or the one just asking a question of why? Stupid post.
Having a crack at Tittybulldog Boss he's the one touting that he knows something. U have every right to ask your question!
And Raider why would I call The Boss a tosser he was only asking a question in response to Titty's post
TuskenRaider
15 Jan 2007, 11:58
Having a crack at Tittybulldog Boss he's the one touting that he knows something. U have every right to ask your question!
And Raider why would I call The Boss a tosser he was only asking a question in response to Titty's post
Fair enough BOG, just looked like you were having a go at him for asking a question by including his question under Tattybulldog's quote.
Makes sense now.
Fair enough BOG, just looked like you were having a go at him for asking a question by including his question under Tattybulldog's quote.
Makes sense now.
It's all good raider, just included the Boss' post so I could show ToothlessBulldog what he had started by posting what he did.
TB's a punk obviously trying to start trouble
wizza_2
15 Jan 2007, 13:11
Maybe he should of coached Rushy instead PRIN
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 13:53
It's all good raider, just included the Boss' post so I could show ToothlessBulldog what he had started by posting what he did.
TB's a punk obviously trying to start trouble
not starting trouble at all. im friends with ben and what has happened with everything last yr has been left behind. i think every1 has moved on including benny and mooroopna. so whenever your ready to pull your head out of ure arse and stop starting crap on here we are all waiting.
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 14:01
hey doona, you blokes are on stage 3 or 4 water restrictions, how is your ground holding up and have u got any plans in place to try soften it up for the coming season? i heard that yea and alexandra and there is talk of mansfield also might not be playing any games at there grounds cause they cant water....
bradrowe#32
15 Jan 2007, 14:02
Bit of news out of Rochy:
* Chris McCarty and Sam Brennan won't play in 2007 as they are both overseas.
* Scott Hann will play for Rochy. The Canberra move was a rumour.
* Andrew Palmer looks set to return from LBU.
* The club is seeking a new ruckman and have been speaking with Sam Steele, a 201cm ruckman who has been on the Bendigo Bombers list for a few years.
* Simon Weekley (brother of Russell) is set to train with the club. He is a CHF wo has played 2 years of Bendigo Pioneers
not starting trouble at all. im friends with ben and what has happened with everything last yr has been left behind. i think every1 has moved on including benny and mooroopna. so whenever your ready to pull your head out of ure arse and stop starting crap on here we are all waiting.
Hang on! if your Friends with Ben and if everything last year has been left behind and everyone has moved on then why the ******** would you even mention this on here.
Don't blame me for your stupid comment.
I jumped in because what u posted didn't even need to be said.
END OF STORY!!!
WOODLANDS
15 Jan 2007, 14:16
Hang on! if your Friends with Ben and if everything last year has been left behind and everyone has moved on then why the ******** would you even mention this on here.
Don't blame me for your stupid comment.
I jumped in because what u posted didn't even need to be said.
END OF STORY!!!
as much as i hate to say this, but i think i agree with you on this one BOG, you wouldnt be bringin this up if you were good mates with the person mentioned.
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 14:30
havent bad mouthed any one by saying what i said. didnt drag bens name through the mud all i said was there is a bit more to it then his footy ability.u can read into that however u want.i'll just correst myself.... i also said he cause some problems. whcih he did. the reason i said this was someone asked why the club is letting ben go.....because he is such a good player. so i just answered there question.
Benny is a good man, I would just let this one through to the keeper.
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 14:52
hows big willa goin shan?? is his calf and hammy treating him ok?
havent bad mouthed any one by saying what i said. didnt drag bens name through the mud all i said was there is a bit more to it then his footy ability.u can read into that however u want.i'll just correst myself.... i also said he cause some problems. whcih he did. the reason i said this was someone asked why the club is letting ben go.....because he is such a good player. so i just answered there question.
Geez your a **************** even trying to bring up some crap about Ben. He is a good player and a good bloke, even though he owes me some money on a little wager we had last year.
Tatybulldog
15 Jan 2007, 15:28
Geez your a **************** even trying to bring up some crap about Ben. He is a good player and a good bloke, even though he owes me some money on a little wager we had last year.
if it looks like i bad mouthed him i didnt mean it like that at all.
bearsboy
15 Jan 2007, 15:34
if it looks like i bad mouthed him i didnt mean it like that at all.Has Tim Little been sighted up there yet ?
hows big willa goin shan?? is his calf and hammy treating him ok?
Willas calf is fine, he had surgery on a his foot about a month ago. He was playing out the season with a piece of bone floating around that had broken off from his toe, hence the reason he had calf problems and then hammy problems, he was basically running on one side of his body. He gets back from France I think in 2 weeks and he will start training straight away. We have our first run tonight at Marybrnong Park, thats where the 4 of us will train this year.
Just going on what the bloke before said, has Timmy Little been up to Tat yet? there wouldnt be many in the GV who will go with him.