View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
King Kieran
15 Jan 2007, 18:13
Is a ripping bloke to and deserved much much much more than he got from the club.
I think you would find if Moose was still coaching Tat, Kirby and a few others would be still there.
Can I second that :thumbsu:
hey doona, you blokes are on stage 3 or 4 water restrictions, how is your ground holding up and have u got any plans in place to try soften it up for the coming season? i heard that yea and alexandra and there is talk of mansfield also might not be playing any games at there grounds cause they cant water....
Whilst our ground at Broady is extremely hard, we do have very good grass cover. We do have a bore installed but rain is the only way we'll improve it.
That little drop we got over Xmas saw the oval green up nicely, but like evryone we need some more.
At this stage we'll be right but a lot can happen before April 14th.
Mate your not telling me anything I dont know already, if moose had of stayed on to coach not 1 bloke would have left and we would of had a ruck combo of Little and Kirbs with probably at least 3 or 4 more from Melbourne. Shattered for the bloke cause he gave everything and got little in return, but i suppose only time will tell if the decision the board made was correct.
On The Money
15 Jan 2007, 19:56
Mate your not telling me anything I dont know already, if moose had of stayed on to coach not 1 bloke would have left and we would of had a ruck combo of Little and Kirbs with probably at least 3 or 4 more from Melbourne. Shattered for the bloke cause he gave everything and got little in return, but i suppose only time will tell if the decision the board made was correct.
Sounds like Ryan was pretty popular amongst the players although the results were pretty skinny for a club that has plenty of $$ and a good culture for many years which is obviously what the committee based their decision on.
Duff Man
16 Jan 2007, 08:41
Benny is a good man, I would just let this one through to the keeper.
Totally agree tige, Bens a good man. Matty Trewella rumourd to be of to Cairns also has anyone heard this ?
Tatybulldog
16 Jan 2007, 08:56
Sounds like Ryan was pretty popular amongst the players although the results were pretty skinny for a club that has plenty of $$ and a good culture for many years which is obviously what the committee based their decision on.
i think you might find that we dont have as much money as every1 thinks.over the last 15 yrs alot of our money comes from farmers and since the drought they havent been able to continue there support of the mighty doggies.its unfortunate cercumstances but the farmers have to look afer themselves befor they look after the footy club.
No Heart
16 Jan 2007, 09:14
I would think your rep as a coach in the GV would hold up a fair bit stronger than a rep for a coach in the AFL Cairns. What im saying is that if you have aspirations as coach to go on to a higher level and your constantley looking at ways to develop your self, how is a move to AFL Cairns going to improve that?? You can be a coach in the GV with little success and still have a strong reputation as a good coach however should SD go up north and do nothing it will just prove that players more so than the coach get a footy club over the line.
Its a bizzare move for a coach who is supposed to be looking at going onto bigger and better things to be taking a backward step to go to Cairns. Its like an A grade Ammos coach saying ' right ill take the coaching gig down at ****** in D4 because there is a nice beach there'. SD could win 3 flags up there and be considered no better than when he left, or he wont win 3 flags and will have gone backwards 10 fold from when he left.
He should have coached in the O&M.
Hear what ya saying , But SJ hasnt got aspirations to coach at a high level he went up to Cairns to work for AFL Cairns, and it was South Cairns that set it all up, so hes coaching them.
GV Middle Man
16 Jan 2007, 09:28
Agree with you there No Heart... Steve Daniels has all ready coached along side Dennis Pagan and Paul Roos, the guy is a proven coach.. He could of stayed at Carlton but choose Family over footy... Im sure steve will be a great mentor for the AQFL... No Heart has steve daniels left yet....
No Heart
16 Jan 2007, 10:09
Agree with you there No Heart... Steve Daniels has all ready coached along side Dennis Pagan and Paul Roos, the guy is a proven coach.. He could of stayed at Carlton but choose Family over footy... Im sure steve will be a great mentor for the AQFL... No Heart has steve daniels left yet....
Not Paul Roos , dont know where they got that from , hes never meet him he reckons. Left about a week ago i think mate, his bald head was seen up in seymour at our last trainig night before xmas.
TuskenRaider
16 Jan 2007, 10:23
When would he have coached alongside Pagan? Can't remember Daniels being part of the Carlton coaching panel and therefore have a chance to stay at Carlton. Wasn't he at the Bullants (and yes, I know they are Carlton's VFL side)?
Manbearpig
16 Jan 2007, 10:34
Bit of news out of Rochy:
* Chris McCarty and Sam Brennan won't play in 2007 as they are both overseas.
* Scott Hann will play for Rochy. The Canberra move was a rumour.
* Andrew Palmer looks set to return from LBU.
* The club is seeking a new ruckman and have been speaking with Sam Steele, a 201cm ruckman who has been on the Bendigo Bombers list for a few years.
* Simon Weekley (brother of Russell) is set to train with the club. He is a CHF wo has played 2 years of Bendigo Pioneers
Carts and Sam will be a big loss. So they won't be back until after the season?
How many swaps between LBU and Rochy is that now for Sheeners?
[QUOTE=bradrowe#32;6542205]Bit of news out of Rochy:
strong rumor though Rowey, i think he and 2 other fellas flew up to canberra on the weekend.
On The Money
16 Jan 2007, 11:38
[quote=bradrowe#32;6542205]Bit of news out of Rochy:
strong rumor though Rowey, i think he and 2 other fellas flew up to canberra on the weekend.
Yer I heard he went up there along with Pioneers graduate Grant Weeks.
Pace is an Asset
16 Jan 2007, 12:04
[quote=bradrowe#32;6542205]Bit of news out of Rochy:
Unless by Canberra you mean the bar at the Shamrock Hotel in Echuca, I think this one might be like the water feature in the Shamrock beer garden..... a furphy.
No Heart
16 Jan 2007, 15:00
When would he have coached alongside Pagan? Can't remember Daniels being part of the Carlton coaching panel and therefore have a chance to stay at Carlton. Wasn't he at the Bullants (and yes, I know they are Carlton's VFL side)?
First year when Carlton and the Bullants merged, M Williams and SJ where on the coaching staff and sat in the box matchdays. :thumbsu:
Duff Man
16 Jan 2007, 15:06
First year when Carlton and the Bullants merged, M Williams and SJ where on the coaching staff and sat in the box matchdays. :thumbsu:
What about Gary Sheldon [ the Rat ]
GV Middle Man
16 Jan 2007, 16:19
Who is Gary Sheldon duff man...
At the end of the day whether steve daniels did or didnt coach with paul roos is unknown...maybe he had did a coaching clinic back with roosy when steve daniel was at North melbourne in his earlier days as a player...No heart was it norths or another afl team he trained at.............
all the best to him, definately turned seymour around
Third Qtr. Spray
16 Jan 2007, 17:13
Am 100% sure it was not Paul Roos but may have been Raul Paul the famous cross dressing tranny that he may have spent a lot of time with or fat bastard form Austin Powers. OH BEHAVE.......:thumbsu: :)
Wouldn't it just be Williams who would sit in on match day? Why would pagan want an assistant of the bullants in Carlton's box?
rockstarr
16 Jan 2007, 20:49
Totally agree tige, Bens a good man. Matty Trewella rumourd to be of to Cairns also has anyone heard this ?
hey duff man, just been speaking to a couple of mates at mansfield and they have heard nothing of trow heading to cairns but will find out more soon.
Duff Man
16 Jan 2007, 23:09
Who is Gary Sheldon duff man...
At the end of the day whether steve daniels did or didnt coach with paul roos is unknown...maybe he had did a coaching clinic back with roosy when steve daniel was at North melbourne in his earlier days as a player...No heart was it norths or another afl team he trained at.............
all the best to him, definately turned seymour around
Gary Sheldon was mine and Footybosses coach at the Bullants, Footyboss can fill you in .
Duff Man
16 Jan 2007, 23:16
Wouldn't it just be Williams who would sit in on match day? Why would pagan want an assistant of the bullants in Carlton's box?
Only Pagan can give you an answer to that junkie .
Duff Man
16 Jan 2007, 23:22
hey duff man, just been speaking to a couple of mates at mansfield and they have heard nothing of trow heading to cairns but will find out more soon.
Cheers Rockstarr.:thumbsu:
Gary Sheldon was mine and Footybosses coach at the Bullants, Footyboss can fill you in .
He coached Craigieburn for the last couple of years , they won the B grade flag in 05 . What was footyboss like in the VFL ?
FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2007, 10:21
Gary Sheldon.... Jesus where do I start with him.. Not a bad bloke, but just couldnt put what he wanted out of players across in words. Didnt my a vb can after every training session as well. Wonder if he is still coaching?
As for Steve Daniels working alongside Denis Pagan, that is a bit far fetched. Yes he was in the coaching box on games days, but had no input into what moves were being made. He would have learned a bit by just sitting in. It is 100% that he never worked with Paul Roos.
FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2007, 10:22
He coached Craigieburn for the last couple of years , they won the B grade flag in 05 . What was footyboss like in the VFL ?
I was very ordinary. Why do you want to know for?
Think he played 2 senior games.
old saint
17 Jan 2007, 12:12
what can people tell me about adrian "pepsi" pappin from rochester, heard a whisper that he may be playing with moama in 07.
the only person to miss him at tigerland would be his little mate cuttriss.
LOBSTER
17 Jan 2007, 12:28
Euroa started their 2007 campaign last night. 1st night back for the boys was a tough one in very hot conditions. They completed 5 x 1km time trials.
LOBSTER
17 Jan 2007, 12:30
Word out of Seymour is that Robbie Douglas looks like he will be heading to Port Douglas to play under Paul Cox. Also Patty Rattray might be heading to Barooga with Gerrard Liddell.
jobbytonny
17 Jan 2007, 12:36
Word out of Seymour is that Robbie Douglas looks like he will be heading to Port Douglas to play under Paul Cox. Also Patty Rattray might be heading to Barooga with Gerrard Liddell.
Not to sure with Robbie but lwas with the big red last week and he will be playing at Barooga
TuskenRaider
17 Jan 2007, 13:11
Not to sure with Robbie but lwas with the big red last week and he will be playing at Barooga
I mentioned Patty being linked with Barooga back around November. I was shot down in flames by some poster saying Seymour would not be clearing him due to some issue with Seymour getting him back from Bendigo. No doubt Barooga will be able to sort it out.
Money is no issue at Barooga, they'll pay whatever they have to when it comes to getting who they want.
FOOTYBOSS
17 Jan 2007, 13:22
Money is no issue at Barooga, they'll pay whatever they have to when it comes to getting who they want.
You are right about money not being an issue at Barooga. They like to throw it around. Have they had any success in doing that?
They have always been up there in finals. Not a bad effort after coming from the Picola league, and I would have no doubts, if they wanted to enter the GV they would have financial backing to be very competitive
journeyman
17 Jan 2007, 13:52
They haven't won a flag or been in a gf for 10 years which is a long time considering the money they've spent each year.
When they were winning flags in the 90s they had a lot of really good local players. Every second player seemed to be a Brooks, plus a couple of O'Dwyers among others. However the 6-7 recruits they'd get would be guns like Brunner, a bloke McGregor who played at Fitzroy, Toohey, Tranter in his prime, a couple of others won league medals, Glenn Carroll.....
Most of blokes they've been playing massive coin to over the past few years have just been handy GV or O&M players who haven't had an impact.
TuskenRaider
17 Jan 2007, 14:13
They have always been up there in finals. Not a bad effort after coming from the Picola league, and I would have no doubts, if they wanted to enter the GV they would have financial backing to be very competitive
Didn't they want to or try to come into the GVFL about 15 years or so ago after they'd won a few flags in the Murray League and been pretty dominant? I'm sure I can remember something along those lines. Must have been at least 20 years since they were in the Picola League wouldn't it?
bradrowe#32
17 Jan 2007, 14:56
what can people tell me about adrian "pepsi" pappin from rochester, heard a whisper that he may be playing with moama in 07.
the only person to miss him at tigerland would be his little mate cuttriss.
:D .
Tatybulldog
17 Jan 2007, 15:06
this is just my opinion. but i dont like pappin one little bit. think he is an absolute tosser. i have played alot of cricket and footy against him and cant stand the bloke. he can kick a footy about 75 m though!
Navy2005
17 Jan 2007, 16:59
Just wanted to ask is Balraj Singh still going to be at Mooroopna in 2007?
bradrowe#32
17 Jan 2007, 18:16
this is just my opinion. but i dont like pappin one little bit. think he is an absolute tosser. i have played alot of cricket and footy against him and cant stand the bloke. he can kick a footy about 75 m though!
Fair enough. I guess he can rub people the wrong way, but he's always been good to me.
mars bar
17 Jan 2007, 20:09
Word has it he has signed with Balranald in the Central murray footy league
Funny old world . . . . . highest bidder no doubt!!!
Grimmett
17 Jan 2007, 22:03
They haven't won a flag or been in a gf for 10 years which is a long time considering the money they've spent each year.
When they were winning flags in the 90s they had a lot of really good local players. Every second player seemed to be a Brooks, plus a couple of O'Dwyers among others. However the 6-7 recruits they'd get would be guns like Brunner, a bloke McGregor who played at Fitzroy, Toohey, Tranter in his prime, a couple of others won league medals, Glenn Carroll.....
Most of blokes they've been playing massive coin to over the past few years have just been handy GV or O&M players who haven't had an impact.
Glenn Carroll a big blonde/ginger headed bloke?
rockstarr
17 Jan 2007, 23:08
Funny old world . . . . . highest bidder no doubt!!!
Balranald may have been the highest bidder but im not sure how he will like it out there, before he was at moroopna he signed with Griffith in the RFL for a lot of coin but left the club after the first game because the town was boring and not enough to do hence why he went back to melbourne and travelled to moroopna.
so not sure how he will find it out at balranald because surley he isnt travelling.
Balranald may have been the highest bidder but im not sure how he will like it out there, before he was at moroopna he signed with Griffith in the RFL for a lot of coin but left the club after the first game because the town was boring and not enough to do hence why he went back to melbourne and travelled to moroopna.
so not sure how he will find it out at balranald because surley he isnt travelling.
fly em up dont they?
Dont be surprise if he plays for Monty. Speaking to a few Monty blokes on the weekend are they seem pretty sure he has signed with them
journeyman
18 Jan 2007, 09:18
Glenn Carroll a big blonde/ginger headed bloke?
Yeah that's the one, currently involved at Horsham Saints
why are clubs wasting their time with singh. from i have heard he is very overrated and does not care one bit about the club. these blokes generally struggle when it gets a bit hard. what is his record like in big games like finals ??
Can Shop
18 Jan 2007, 10:16
why are clubs wasting their time with singh. from i have heard he is very overrated and does not care one bit about the club. these blokes generally struggle when it gets a bit hard. what is his record like in big games like finals ??
After playing 3 games previously against united big singhy had kicked near 20 goals. Come finals last year when they played Brad Hazelman basically pulled the big mans pants down an embarressed him. If i am correct he only managed 2 goals one off the groudn and the other a free kick. So ringo his record in the big game there isnt to flash.
Bit of a loose statement there ringo....throw a few examples around of 'these' blokes that struggle.
In defence of Singh, he isn't the smartest bloke academically but is very talented at footy so he is getting the best out of himself financially to set himself up whilst he has the chance. Don't blame him for looking after himself, blame the clubs that are stupid enough to pay ridiculous amounts of money for individuals in a team sport:thumbsd:
FWIW, I've met Singh briefly through a mate and he came accross as a nice guy.
Agree Junkie, the clubs determine what a players worth to them is
speedster
18 Jan 2007, 12:28
Bit of a loose statement there ringo....throw a few examples around of 'these' blokes that struggle.
In defence of Singh, he isn't the smartest bloke academacly but is very talented at footy so he is getting the best out of himself financially to set himself up whilst he has the chance. Don't blame him for looking after himself, blame the clubs that are stupid enough to pay ridiculous amounts of money for individuals in a team sport:thumbsd:
FWIW, I've met Singh briefly through a mate and he came accross as a nice guy.
he has a bad name, if he was a good bloke around a club he 'd be worth even more. clubs with plans in place dont look to recruit blokes like him want good footballers on and off the field
Have just be informed that Singh has moved back to Adelaide and is living with his parents. His old man wants him to stay and work with him on the farm. But if he does come back to Melbourne he will play at Monty
Im pretty sure he is back in melbourne after spending some time with the family in adelaide for xmas monty.. still believe the swans are a chance for his signature..
He has a bad name because he gets paid a lot of money to play football...tall poppy syndrome maybe. Do you know him? As I mentioned, he seemed like a nice young man when I met him. What has he done off the field to suggest he isn't a good bloke?
TheJuddstarr#3
18 Jan 2007, 16:13
He has a bad name because he gets paid a lot of money to play football...tall poppy syndrome maybe. Do you know him? As I mentioned, he seemed like a nice young man when I met him. What has he done off the field to suggest he isn't a good bloke?
nah nah mate, i think thats a bit incorrect... he has a bad name cos hes a footy sl#t! simple case of taking the money n run!
off the field hes about as arrogant as they come, and as a personal opinion i dont think he has the right to be so arrogant (hes not that good) and definatly doesnt deserve the money hes got in the past...
Junkie, probably mean more so what happens to some teams that have the nomads in them. mooroopna and shepp swans being ideal cases over the last few years where they finished top or second, didn't play off in the granny. alot of money spent too im lead to believe.
certainly agree that the clubs should have a look at themselves when they start to throw around cash at one bloke, like singh. think of the locals you could support with that money??
Whats the latest on Cowman I hear he is still a good chance to stay at United I hope he does???
nah nah mate, i think thats a bit incorrect... he has a bad name cos hes a footy sl#t! simple case of taking the money n run!
off the field hes about as arrogant as they come, and as a personal opinion i dont think he has the right to be so arrogant (hes not that good) and definatly doesnt deserve the money hes got in the past...
I suppose you could call him a footy S...t because he seems to shop himself around but he is trying to make a buck and each to their own. It's not really a simple case of taking his money and running. It's a case of agreeing to a contract with a club, playing at that club and then exploring his options for the next season. A builder gets paid to build a house, finishes it but you dont see him hanging around to mow the lawns do you? Clubs have a choice too.
Agree with your comments on local players Ringo. A club like Mooroopna could get 3-4 extremelly good players from the Shepp area with the money spent on Singh and IMO get far greater value but ultimately it's the club who is making the decision to offer him that sort of money.
journeyman
18 Jan 2007, 16:56
Whats the latest on Cowman I hear he is still a good chance to stay at United I hope he does???
Heard that he's handed in his resignation at his work today and is moving to Yarrawonga to play for Mulwala. Could be wrong of course
spike dudley
18 Jan 2007, 20:02
Euroa started their 2007 campaign last night. 1st night back for the boys was a tough one in very hot conditions. They completed 5 x 1km time trials.
How were the numbers Lobster? Any new faces? Have heard Euroa have lost plenty of players but havent recruited any at all?
speedster
18 Jan 2007, 20:30
try not trying in finals to stick it up the club cos they owe him money...... leaving a club after one game cos it is a boring town..... if thats the case y sign there... hang on i no $$$$$
Bunny Bill
18 Jan 2007, 20:57
Have it on good authority that Sing has retired from football and will co host Who Wants to Be a Millionair with Eddie.
TuskenRaider
19 Jan 2007, 08:45
try not trying in finals to stick it up the club cos they owe him money......
Hang on a minute.....I doubt he wouldn't try in finals.
But more the point - why are we having a go at the player if the club owed him money? I doubt very much he wouldn't try, but I could see he may be a little disillusioned with the club if they owed money. Clubs that aren't able to pay players wages are a disaster waiting to happen.
Just outa interest do all clubs continue their match payments thru finals?
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jan 2007, 08:56
Hang on a minute.....I doubt he wouldn't try in finals.
But more the point - why are we having a go at the player if the club owed him money? I doubt very much he wouldn't try, but I could see he may be a little disillusioned with the club if they owed money. Clubs that aren't able to pay players wages are a disaster waiting to happen.
Exactly Tusken, a fair few clubs offer extraordinary amount of money to players, then for some unkown reason cant come up with the money to pay these players when the time comes.
I cant see a player actually not trying once finals footy comes around.
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jan 2007, 08:57
Every club I have been involved in havent Doona, but have heard of some clubs paying some players during finals.
old saint
19 Jan 2007, 09:18
a very interesting quote posted on the bendigo thread.
Always a pretty interesting time of year, seeing who's going where and why etc. Having looked back at the last twenty or so pages of posts there seems to be a lot of people "in the know" who seem to be bagging players for being mercenaries - why they were useless at their own club and know exactly how much they are being paid at their new club.
I reckon my question, and I would like your views, is, who is at fault - if anyone - the player or the club?
See, if the player worked at a Bottle Shop after uni or his job to make a bit more coin so he could buy a house or a racehorse or whatever; you would say he was a goer.
If the Bottle Shop over the road offered him a job in management or more coin per hour, better conditions and more chance of success and he knocked it back; you would say he was a total duffer.
However if the Bottle Shop over the road identified that this bloke was possibly vital to their future profits and did not make an offer to him - that is poor business. After 3 or 4 or 5 years of poor business - you are out of business.
The analogy is poor, I know - it does not take into account loyalty and mateship and the love of the jumper, etc.
However - who is at fault - the player who takes the coin or the club that is willing to offer it?
Always a pretty interesting time of year, seeing who's going where and why etc. Having looked back at the last twenty or so pages of posts there seems to be a lot of people "in the know" who seem to be bagging players for being mercenaries - why they were useless at their own club and know exactly how much they are being paid at their new club.
I reckon my question, and I would like your views, is, who is at fault - if anyone - the player or the club?
See, if the player worked at a Bottle Shop after uni or his job to make a bit more coin so he could buy a house or a racehorse or whatever; you would say he was a goer.
If the Bottle Shop over the road offered him a job in management or more coin per hour, better conditions and more chance of success and he knocked it back; you would say he was a total duffer.
However if the Bottle Shop over the road identified that this bloke was possibly vital to their future profits and did not make an offer to him - that is poor business. After 3 or 4 or 5 years of poor business - you are out of business.
The analogy is poor, I know - it does not take into account loyalty and mateship and the love of the jumper, etc.
However - who is at fault - the player who takes the coin or the club that is willing to offer it?
Easier answer to the last point old Sainter . . . . . the clubs
Can Shop
19 Jan 2007, 09:43
Intesting scenario to say the least. Looking at that scenario an putting it into gvfl circumstances maybe the small clubs in the past like tat ky and tongala just wernt willing to pay the price to run a good business. But then again previoulsy they may have. Hope you undrstand hwat i am getting at
In the words of my great mate Kamahl
Why is everybody so unkind to me?
B Singh
Duff Man
19 Jan 2007, 11:04
Not a bad post, but I see it as two seperate issues.
People only work because they have to, whereas sport is a recreational activity that you participate in because you enjoy it. I doubt there would be any footy players out there who don't enjoy the game and are only playing so that they can collect a match payment.
wizza_2
19 Jan 2007, 11:53
Mate him playin at moama is like you playin with urself, and ur momma is the only person who will miss him!!! Get of her ****** mate.
wizza_2
19 Jan 2007, 11:55
U probably dont like him cos he's better than u. Get a kick bud and learn how to play sport before u can comment on something like that.
People only work because they have to, whereas sport is a recreational activity that you participate in because you enjoy it. I doubt there would be any footy players out there who don't enjoy the game and are only playing so that they can collect a match payment.
I am certain there are players out there who only sign a contract because of the $$$ incentive. Having said that I don't think there would be too many who get out onto the field and think about the money. Once on the paddock I'd expect everyone to get into the game and enjoy the contest. But to convince some to play it requires $ which is pretty similar to convincing everyone to go rock up to work on a Monday;)
old saint
19 Jan 2007, 12:51
U probably dont like him cos he's better than u. Get a kick bud and learn how to play sport before u can comment on something like that.
the sound like a pepsi fan.....
wizza_2
19 Jan 2007, 13:54
the sound like a pepsi fan.....
Just a loyal tiger fan!
bradrowe#32
19 Jan 2007, 14:39
I know of teams that have given the players a bonus payment after a grand final (and not dependant of the result). Not sure about all finals games though.
Tatybulldog
19 Jan 2007, 14:57
havent seen him play in a granfinal side yet! we lost but i was still there! i dont think you will find there are many ppl around the gvfl that will say yeah pappin is a good bloke! and im aloud my opinion. someone asked what he is like so i gave what i thought!
Old Hopper
19 Jan 2007, 15:00
I know Murchison havent in the past and can also remember certain players getting upset about it and not playing. I can only assume they werent told at the start of the season
FOOTYBOSS
19 Jan 2007, 15:35
I know Murchison havent in the past and can also remember certain players getting upset about it and not playing. I can only assume they werent told at the start of the season
Did they just not play or did they fake an injury to get out of the game?
wizza_2
19 Jan 2007, 15:44
havent seen him play in a granfinal side yet! we lost but i was still there! i dont think you will find there are many ppl around the gvfl that will say yeah pappin is a good bloke! and im aloud my opinion. someone asked what he is like so i gave what i thought!
Losing grand final somethin to brag bout!! NOT. And wat position did u have in that grand final side?? Doggie Style doesnt count for danny stevens either. Maybe u were the waterboy or benchwarmer, couldnt actually see u getin on the ground, ur to much of a hack!
I'M LOVIN THIS keep up the great work WIZZA:D :thumbsu:
eyewitness
19 Jan 2007, 17:07
Lets stop pulling out di*ks out the bloke and move on and stop attacking people personally! I'm sure there are more interesting things to talk about.. A club recruits a player first on their ability, not on their personality! If he gets a kick everyone is happy.. If a club offers alot of cash, i'm sure everyone would take the money.. Let's weigh it up, if you pay pea nuts, you get monkeys!
Well Said:thumbsu:
Clubs need to be held responsible for paying individuals massive dollars though. It's poor management, almost stupidity in competitions where depth goes a long way. If I were a coach I would rather spend money on 4 or 5 blokes with great ability/experience than one superstar. When it comes to winning finals you need a team effort accross the board, and cant be hidding blokes in pockets etc.
eyewitness
19 Jan 2007, 17:44
Your wrong there my friend, you will find people in their later years of playing football will only play for the coin. Why would you want to wake up sore, injured and feeling like sh*t on the Sunday, then rock up to work the next day! Do you call that a recreation?
eyewitness
19 Jan 2007, 17:47
Some do and some don't.
eyewitness
19 Jan 2007, 17:55
Did they just not play or did they fake an injury to get out of the game?
What player in their right mind wouldn't want to play is stupid. I've never heard of that to, 'fake an injury'. Thats the reason you play footy is to play in Premierships.
nesko_25
19 Jan 2007, 18:12
Weeksy and Scooter 2 Canberra, add Sam "Silly" Hill (Colbo) to that list. Good work Wizza_2, no doubt i'll see you out tonight
Wayne Weideman
19 Jan 2007, 18:14
Weeksy and Scooter 2 Canberra, doubt it. Good work Wizza_2, no doubt i'll see you out tonight
wats on tonight nesko?
kingfooty
20 Jan 2007, 08:37
with all this talk about paying big guns big amounts of money can anyone tell me when the last time a gvfl side won a flag without any big money players? I would say a very long time. big guns win ya flags
TuskenRaider
20 Jan 2007, 09:25
with all this talk about paying big guns big amounts of money can anyone tell me when the last time a gvfl side won a flag without any big money players? I would say a very long time. big guns win ya flags
True, but come finals you won't win them with only a few gun players. You need an even contribution across the board as Junkie said. Generally speaking, the contribution spread of winning finals sides is very even and often the difference between your top players and your bottom players lessens.
If your bottom 10 players don't perform you are going to be in trouble come finals time and the extra pressure makes it harder for your team's better players to dominate as they might do in H&A games.
I would class Seymour of the last couple of years as a very even side. Saad is one out of the box but the rest of the side just do their job very well with not much fuss. Mooroopna probably had more "big guns" than Seymour but didn't progress through the finals at all.
innocentbystander
20 Jan 2007, 09:52
Agree with ya there Wizza, I know of Pepsi and from what I hear from his mates is that he has a heart of gold when it counts. Sure, he can come across as a bit of an idiot...but a good bloke all the same!
nesko_25
20 Jan 2007, 10:31
Agree with ya there Wizza, I know of Pepsi and from what I hear from his mates is that he has a heart of gold when it counts. Sure, he can come across as a bit of an idiot...but a good bloke all the same!
Yeah the Dr. is a good bloke and if your ever in trouble he'll be the first one there to help you out! Pretty funny aswell
Prob 99 Rochy, had Gary Hawker and Nath Gemmill but rest were pretty much locals, Sparks might have been on a bit but had been at the club for a while.
Heard down at the cricket this morning that Rattray done his knee again after trg with Barooga Friday night.
Can anyone confrim this.?
bradrowe#32
20 Jan 2007, 15:46
Weeksy and Scooter 2 Canberra, add Sam "Silly" Hill (Colbo) to that list. Good work Wizza_2, no doubt i'll see you out tonight
Pretty big loss for Rochy, considerng he was last years B&F.
Brilliant recruiting from Chris Rourke,who has picked up 3 very handy young players. However, he may have a lot of work to do, according to this article: http://canberra.yourguide.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=afl&story_id=546998&category=afl&m=1&y=2007
Manbearpig
20 Jan 2007, 16:35
Prob 99 Rochy, had Gary Hawker and Nath Gemmill but rest were pretty much locals, Sparks might have been on a bit but had been at the club for a while.
I was going to put my nomination in for Rochy '99 too. Not a whole lot of blokes in that team that didn't grow up within 20kms of Rochy.