View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

Duff Man
31 Jan 2007, 16:55
Ok mate, believe what ever you want to believe. If you really want to have a go at me, you can either private message me or ring me on my phone number which I know you will be able to get off a mate of mine, who you rang over the weekend to complain about me. Pity when the truth finally comes out you decide to log on here and have an attack at me. I think the sun may be melting your brain.

By the way I wish you all the best up in Cairns........

Your pathetic boss , does everyone on here know the truth , boss was given the arse from the bullants years back because as we all know carnt play the game , ever since hes had it in for the coaches who coached back then.:thumbsu:

spike dudley
31 Jan 2007, 20:41
Your pathetic boss , does everyone on here know the truth , boss was given the arse from the bullants years back because as we all know carnt play the game , ever since hes had it in for the coaches who coached back then.:thumbsu:

terrible player and terrible bloke

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 07:03
terrible player and terrible bloke
named?

Big Roy
1 Feb 2007, 08:07
Just an early tip... Mikey Barlow from shepp united for the morrison medal this year. If they win enough gsmes he'll be right up there.

Doona2
1 Feb 2007, 09:46
Just an early tip... Mikey Barlow from shepp united for the morrison medal this year. If they win enough gsmes he'll be right up there.

The former ACK boy?

FOOTYBOSS
1 Feb 2007, 09:47
Ok mate, believe what ever you want to believe. If you really want to have a go at me, you can either private message me or ring me on my phone number which I know you will be able to get off a mate of mine, who you rang over the weekend to complain about me. Pity when the truth finally comes out you decide to log on here and have an attack at me. I think the sun may be melting your brain.

By the way I wish you all the best up in Cairns........

I must admit I was wrong on who I thought Backyard Legend was. I have spoken to the person to who I thought it was and have apologised to him and had a decent converstaion with him. The has been laid to rest, move on boys.

As for Backyard Legend. Do you really think I have enough time to have 3 alias on big footy. If you honestly think that, you must be dumber then what I thought you were.

Anyway mate keep hiding behind your computer screen and paying out on me. You must be really annoyed with me for allowing your missus to lick my hairy ass then go back kiss you without washing her mouth out. By the way she does give good head.

Doona2
1 Feb 2007, 09:50
Anyway mate keep hiding behind your computer screen and paying out on me. You must be really annoyed with me for allowing your missus to lick my hairy ass then go back kiss you without washing her mouth out. By the way she does give good head.

some of your finest work bossman, sorry backyard but did have a chuckle :D

Big Roy
1 Feb 2007, 10:05
The former ACK boy?

Thats him. Bulked up this year.This will be his 2nd year out of thirds.

Tatybulldog
1 Feb 2007, 10:05
mikey barlow had a sensational yr last yr! would be great for united if he stuck around for a few yrs. can play!

God's Country
1 Feb 2007, 10:10
Gday All, the lack of Mooroopna chat has promted me to post some positive news about the Cattery, seeming all the chat has been about 07 depatures..

07 Signatures as of 1st Feb

Nathan Twiddle - Williamstown, wing / on baller, ripping skills
Jeff Hopkins - Silvan FC, CHB 6'2 big unit
Steven Cox - St Marys FC, gun on baller
Luke Sofi - Shepp FC, good young talent

Probably a little of the pace from last year however some of 6 kids in the bushies who don't get through are a strong chance to push for senior selection also.

We'll be in the mix.

No Heart
1 Feb 2007, 10:20
I must admit I was wrong on who I thought Backyard Legend was. I have spoken to the person to who I thought it was and have apologised to him and had a decent converstaion with him. The has been laid to rest, move on boys.

Well done Boss. I like a bloke who is willing to admit to a fcuk up and prepared to speak to the person concerned. :thumbsu: How is the big fella anyway?

Also - Backyard Legend. I do get a laugh out of some of your posts but think sometimes you might go a bit over the top. Would appear that you do know Boss and there is some bad blood between you? Not sure if this forum is the best place to sort it out though. Just my opinion...

Can Shop
1 Feb 2007, 11:09
Have a look at this boys... Looks like more people leaving then league then coming in so far..

http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

NEXT LEVEL
1 Feb 2007, 12:47
Gday All, the lack of Mooroopna chat has promted me to post some positive news about the Cattery, seeming all the chat has been about 07 depatures..

Probably a little of the pace from last year however some of 6 kids in the bushies who don't get through are a strong chance to push for senior selection also.

We'll be in the mix.
I like those odds.

Game Breaker
1 Feb 2007, 13:04

We'll be in the mix.
Great so see some action down at cat land looking foward to see how they go maybe a few clubs might stop slaging off at them this year.
So who is burning up the track at pre season

Peter Dyson
1 Feb 2007, 13:16
some of your finest work bossman, sorry backyard but did have a chuckle :D

Are you for real Doona? As funny as it might be this is not the forum to be saying that sort of crap. Save it for the pub or your mates backyard bbq. There's kids that get on here and read this and I for one don't think it's appropriate, especially when it involves someones missus - who has no right of reply whatsoever and probably nothing to do with the personal differences some blokes may/may not have with each other.

old saint
1 Feb 2007, 13:22
Are you for real Doona? As funny as it might be this is not the forum to be saying that sort of crap. Save it for the pub or your mates backyard bbq. There's kids that get on here and read this and I for one don't think it's appropriate, especially when it involves someones missus - who has no right of reply whatsoever and probably nothing to do with the personal differences some blokes may/may not have with each other.

looks like your going to get a big smack on the bum doona

head67
1 Feb 2007, 14:09
Don't worry Pete if his Mrs is that good , i'll tell her:D

Doona2
1 Feb 2007, 15:22

Lighten up Pete all I said was that I had a chuckle. As the people that know me well could atest I dont communicate in the same fashion as FB but Im allowed to have a laugh surely as I dont go to the pub and have not many mates.

A lot of the kids that get on here are the ones that stir the majority of the trouble and could probably even give the Boss a few new moves for the ladies.

theprince
1 Feb 2007, 15:28
Any truth to the rumour SAAD SAAD has signed with Greenvale in the EDFL? A lot of talk about it on a rival website.... Seymour will be lacking forwards if this is the case...

yeah mate , that signed sealed delivered mate .

theprince
1 Feb 2007, 15:29
This is my first season being involved back home since 2001 so dunno how the big fella conducted himself. I do know he missed the majority of 2006 thru injury - will be a hole to fill on our playing list but we've been aware of the possibility (him moving) since before Xmas and have made our plans accordingly.

From the times we've spoke yes I do think he has a footy brain. Heard him address the troops once or twice last season and was impressed with how he spoke. Obviously has plenty of knowledge to give having got where he did, and good on Steve for giving him an opportunity that may lead to him righting a few wrongs down the track.

angwin will be a great pick ,lock up your houses though !!!!!

Doona2
1 Feb 2007, 15:52
angwin will be a great pick ,lock up your houses though !!!!!

What you on about Balraj?

Peter Dyson
1 Feb 2007, 16:03
Lighten up Pete all I said was that I had a chuckle. As the people that know me well could atest I dont communicate in the same fashion as FB but Im allowed to have a laugh surely as I dont go to the pub and have not many mates.

A lot of the kids that get on here are the ones that stir the majority of the trouble and could probably even give the Boss a few new moves for the ladies.

You're right doon - not having a go at you mate - just used you to make a point. sorry pal. And you're right - it is the kids that get on here and dribble more crap than anybody.

bearsboy
1 Feb 2007, 16:20
angwin will be a great pick ,lock up your houses though !!!!!How many clubs have you spoken 2 since leaving Maroopna big guy ?

theprince
1 Feb 2007, 16:48
How many clubs have you spoken 2 since leaving Maroopna big guy ?

only one mate , the raiders in the O and M where i signed . what do u do play ? :cool:

beaglehound
1 Feb 2007, 18:03

We'll be in the mix.
Twiddle goes well, saw him a couple of times last year, good pickup. Luke Sofi is a handy player with good pace and skills who may develop into a sound senior player. Why is he leaving Bears? Also out of the 6 in Bushies a few of them are bottom age, so it might be fair to expect them to play thirds as opposed to seniors. There not bad kids, but the first year boys are not up to seniors yet. I think the cats will still be there abouts but maybe not top 4. They also don't have a lot of depth inthe twos that can step up, do they?

Backyard Legend
1 Feb 2007, 18:26

As for Backyard Legend. Do you really think I have enough time to have 3 alias on big footy. If you honestly think that, you must be dumber then what I thought you were.

4 points Adam:

1. You admitted that having three alias' was embarrising and that someone who had that many clearly has a few chromosomes missing. You and I both know what the truth is on that topic. Because I feel sorry for you I will let that one slide.

2. Make sure when you are calling someone "dumb" you at least proof read your sentence.

Have a read over your quote and i will let you figure out where you went wrong.

3. You said my partner licked your arse, and gave you a head job. I am actually a female Adam, hence, last night you had your penis sucked by a male. Not sure who the loser is in that one.

4. When you are attempting to criticise someone with witty comments, try a little harder next time and don't try to hide your stupidity behind intellegent comebacks like "pussy", and "headjob".

Backyard Legend
1 Feb 2007, 18:28

4 points Adam:

1. You admitted that having three alias' was embarrising and that someone who had that many clearly has a few chromosomes missing. You and I both know what the truth is on that topic. Because I feel sorry for you I will let that one slide.

2. Make sure when you are calling someone "dumb" you at least proof read your sentence.

3. You said my partner licked your arse, and gave you a head job. I am actually a female Adam, hence, last night you had your peni *s sucked by a male. Not sure who the loser is in that one.

4. When you are attempting to criticise someone with witty comments, try a little harder next time and don't try to hide your stupidity behind intellegent comebacks like "pussy", and "headjob".

Alley cat
1 Feb 2007, 18:36
Any truth to the rumour SAAD SAAD has signed with Greenvale in the EDFL? A lot of talk about it on a rival website.... Seymour will be lacking forwards if this is the case...

Saad Saad was training at Seymour last night so hopefully it's only a rumour for Seymour's sake.

wheelbarrow
1 Feb 2007, 19:27
4 points Adam:

3. You said my partner licked your arse, and gave you a head job. I am actually a female Adam, hence, last night you had your peni *s sucked by a male. Not sure who the loser is in that one.

GROUND HOG DAY
ENOUGH BOYS, GO AND FIND A WOMAN EACH FOR GOD SAKE

wheelbarrow
1 Feb 2007, 19:30
Saad Saad was training at Seymour last night so hopefully it's only a rumour for Seymour's sake.

Great for the Lions.
Check out his 05GF grab,they have setup on their website http://seymourfc.vcfl.com.au

head67
1 Feb 2007, 20:26
GROUND HOG DAY
ENOUGH BOYS, GO AND FIND A WOMAN EACH FOR GOD SAKE
No way this is quality, started slow backyard, but you have hit the lead:p :D :D

Footy08
1 Feb 2007, 20:29
Twiddle goes well, saw him a couple of times last year, good pickup. Luke Sofi is a handy player with good pace and skills who may develop into a sound senior player. Why is he leaving Bears? Also out of the 6 in Bushies a few of them are bottom age, so it might be fair to expect them to play thirds as opposed to seniors. There not bad kids, but the first year boys are not up to seniors yet. I think the cats will still be there abouts but maybe not top 4. They also don't have a lot of depth inthe twos that can step up, do they?

Y do u say the bottom age kids arent up for it? Do u mean the cats boys or all bottom agers? interested to y u dont think they r up to it..

HawkeEye
1 Feb 2007, 22:04

Hey boss, I hear your about to sign with the West London Wildcats.

Could be like old times Boss.

Chance
2 Feb 2007, 09:46
Can anyone tell me who shepp swanns have recruited? I have heard they are throwing big bucks around and expected to dominate, but who have they actually recruited? I think I read on this thread they got 5 blokes from South Australia? Any truth? Is this fella called Odin Brierly on the transfer list one of their big name recruits? What about losses?

Can Shop
2 Feb 2007, 09:56
Have a look at this boys... Looks like more people leaving then league then coming in so far..

http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp

Not many boom recruits except thirds coming into the league and there is alot of players heading out of the league. Tallygaroopna vs Violet Town could nearly well be a ex gvfl players match this season

God's Country
2 Feb 2007, 11:08

Few reasons i'm told:
Mates at Mpna, Felt under-used by the Bears last year, lives in Toolamba, big Hally & Brad Campbell fan.

Both senior sides made the finals last year so depth is there, twos should be around the pace again this year (4th-8th) so there is some blokes who could push up. Kane Atkinson, Graeme Giles, Dane Church just to post a few.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2007, 11:22
4 points Adam:

Some very interesting points you make there Backyard Legend.

But I must admit you are wrong with me having 3 alias, but hey, if you want to believe that, I will let you. As far as you being female, well I will have to totally agree with you there, as you are hiding behind your little computer screen bagging me out, plus who says 2 females cant be in a relationship.

Why dont you come out from behind your little computer screen and speak to me properly or wont Mum let you cross the road just yet.

This is quite humerous as to what you are saying about me and how much you know about my life and the club at Euroa. You must really be a big fan of me or esle you wouldnt know so much about myself and the footy club Im involved with. Next time I will agree to sign a photo for you, just so you dont get this annoyed again.

Keep plugging away in life my friend as we all know, you need all the encouragement you can get.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2007, 11:23
4 points Adam:

Still having trouble with modern technology to post your views twice.

FOOTYBOSS
2 Feb 2007, 11:24
Hey boss, I hear your about to sign with the West London Wildcats.

Could be like old times Boss.

Just maybe HawkEye. We will see how things go.

You should be trying to recruit Borat for a few games, once he arrives there first though.

bradrowe#32
2 Feb 2007, 11:47
Shepparton News – Tuesday, January 30th 2007

Of the 12 clubs that make up the GVFL, eight have had players involved in incidents of depression and suicide in the past 10 years. Two clubs have had multiple incidents. In an attempt to combat this growing incidents rate in the GV, community organisation FamilyCare has developed a pilot program, Coach the Coach, to better resource club leaders with skills and knowledge on how to help. Christie Peucker reports.

LOST PLAYERS LEAVE LEGACY

On September 26, 1999, Rochester Football Club was on a high. After three consecutive grand final appearances, it had clinched its holy grail – the Hastie Cup – as GV premiership winner. The beer was still flowing the Friday after the grand final, as the team, coach Dave Williams and the town revelled in the historic win. The next day the club was to hold its presentation night in recognition of a year’s hard work.

But not everyone made it for the team photo. After being driven home on Friday night by late club stalwart Barry Moon, backman Gary Appleby, 27, took his life on his family property outside Rochester.

‘We’d celebrated pretty hard,’ Williams, coach since 1992, said. ‘We got a phone call Saturday morning from Mr Appleby saying ‘Apps’ had shot himself.’ Club members and supporters trickled into the Tigers’ clubrooms that morning for the presentations, at which Appleby was supposed to receive the coach’s award.

But instead of joy, the room was filled with numbness and deep shock. ‘There was no inkling’ Williams said. ‘He said was the happiest he’d ever been’. As Appleby’s funeral approached, Williams went through every emotion imaginable – through anger, disbelief, confusion, and longing; wishing he had a chance to talk to his friend. At the time, Williams felt he had been cheated by his friend’s death.

‘I’m from the old school,’ he said. ‘I said to Sharon, my wife (after the funeral) I was never going to go to a suicide funeral again but that’s stupid. You feel like giving them a clip over the ears and saying toughen up. (But) there were signs that people could have picked up on if they knew what to look for.’ After all, Williams said he’d have loved Appleby, a dairy farmer, to say something about the torment he was going through. ‘You’d like to think you could have made a difference if he had,’ Williams said.

Williams had lost another player – Melbourne-based Scott Leathers – to suicide two years earlier. Leathers, 29, broke down mid-season and failed to play out the season. Diagnosed with depression, Leathers was put on 24-hour suicide watch but eventually took his own life. The loss of both men had a compounding effect on the football club and on Williams as a coach.

‘Football clubs are all about winning games and premierships but a successful football club is about mateship and brotherhood because that’s what makes it worthwhile – it cuts you down if one’s not there,’ he said. Williams said he had always felt compelled to do something so his friend’s death had not been in vain. He said he wanted to make suer Appleby’s legacy would be better understanding of the devastation caused by suicide, and how friends could make a difference.

He said he felt strongly about supporting Coach the Coach. ‘There wouldn’t be too many footy clubs which haven’t been affected by suicide,’ he said. ‘It’s a matter of getting them to talk. If I was experienced with it back then maybe I could have done something.’

With drought affecting lives across the region, Williams said people needed to know what to look for if a friend was in need. ‘More so that any other year,’ he said. ‘Come February, March, April, if we don’t get rain people will be walking off the farms. You’ve got to make people know how important they are in life. If we can save one life (it’ll be worth it.’

Perhaps this article will be a bit of perspective for some people on here.

Niko87
2 Feb 2007, 11:48
Can anyone tell me who shepp swanns have recruited? I have heard they are throwing big bucks around and expected to dominate, but who have they actually recruited? I think I read on this thread they got 5 blokes from South Australia? Any truth? Is this fella called Odin Brierly on the transfer list one of their big name recruits? What about losses?
apparently we have about 5 from south australia. we have a ruckman from melb to help the big fella out. we have alot more blokes who hopefully put pen to paper. we have lost osbourne who is coaching tally and he is taking a few of the boys with him. like best, frappell etc

Manbearpig
2 Feb 2007, 11:52

Too right. Champion bloke Apps too.

Doona2
2 Feb 2007, 12:04

Depression is a tough thing and something we'll never fully understand. Perspective to those probably not confronted with it first hand, but to those that have been there and dealt with it first hand, the old '"could, shoulda,woulda" done thoughts remain forver no matter what schooling you could possibly have on the topic.

Trust me lads I Iost my old man to suicide when I was 17 and never been ashamed to say it and find it soothing when people wanna talk about it. Never thought bad of him, but learnt to accept his choice. Not a day or a milestone passes without him in my thoughts . . . I just continue to carry on in life & trust that he'd be proud :thumbsu:

Junkie
2 Feb 2007, 12:04
Hey Backyard, try taking some of your own advice:;)

[QUOTE=Backyard Legend;6644170]4 points Adam:

QUOTE]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by CLOWNAR$E

Obviously you do care Footyboss as per your comment above in bold. Have I hit a nerve Footyboss.

I am sick of you excuses ie. no preseason. I heard on the grapevine that Dan Tehan had been in Dubai working for two years and turned up midseason and played seniors. Now Footyboss I am pretty sure he didn't do a preseason in Dubai.

I don't have a personal vendetta against you Footyboss I am just don't take kindly to uneducated fools.

Here is an example: You make a comment and respond to it (your own question) under one of your other alias' lobster or Urple. This coming from the same person who just told me to get a life. ]

Here's a tip knackers, get a clue then work your way up from there:thumbsu:

BTW, D.Tehan barely got a kick before being put up, didn't get a kick when up in the one's and selections similar to this were one of the contributing factors to Euroa's demise in '06.

smallfootyhead
2 Feb 2007, 13:34
Spot on doona, you just gave me goosebumps mate?? terrible thing depression hard to get ya head around it really????

smallfootyhead
2 Feb 2007, 13:35
Are u a swannie niko87???

hank1
2 Feb 2007, 13:50
Spot on doona, you just gave me goosebumps mate?? terrible thing depression hard to get ya head around it really????

I'll second that

Niko87
2 Feb 2007, 13:55
played a bit of footy with the swannies. now i just sit back with a beer and watch smallfootyhead

bradrowe#32
2 Feb 2007, 14:20
Well said Doona. Hopefully this new program will encourage clubs to be proactive in this area and players to seek help when they are having problems.

Chance
2 Feb 2007, 14:23
apparently we have about 5 from south australia. we have a ruckman from melb to help the big fella out. we have alot more blokes who hopefully put pen to paper. we have lost osbourne who is coaching tally and he is taking a few of the boys with him. like best, frappell etc
Cheers Niko. So the rumours are true then, looks like the swannies will dominate. I would think these new players will more than make up for the loss of Osborne, Best, Frappell?

smallfootyhead
2 Feb 2007, 15:06
i mite have seen u around the traps then niko87 as i played there for a long time until recently parting ways?? i hope the swannies pull through and win a flag finally just not this year i hope???

NEXT LEVEL
2 Feb 2007, 15:35
i mite have seen u around the traps then niko87 as i played there for a long time until recently parting ways?? i hope the swannies pull through and win a flag finally just not this year i hope???
i think its the year of the swans, they seem to have alot of good players and nows the time or they might never win one. how much money does nags have

Footy08
2 Feb 2007, 16:46
Niko87 coaching the 3rds this year? how will u guys go? picked up a few players a heard..

Niko87
2 Feb 2007, 16:52
Niko87 coaching the 3rds this year? how will u guys go? picked up a few players a heard..
no idea how the thirds are going sorry footy08 but they are training very hard.. the ones should go close this year dont worry about that.. also i heard that merritt who use to play for us is coming back. i forget his first name

fat back pocket
2 Feb 2007, 17:04
Wouldn't get on here unless neccessary. But here goes...

Heard along the grape vine today that the Bendigo and some other smaller leagues were being postponed until May?

That being the case, I had a call from a friend today looking for some players...

Paul Cox, the new coach at Port Douglas is looking for expressions of interest in making a move up north for the up coming footy season. He tells me there are plenty of jobs in all building trades and hospitality. In which the Port Douglas football club would help arrange work (and i assume accommodation) for those interested in playing up there.

I've been up there for a holiday, and it is a fantastic place, it'd be brilliant during the winter months (for us Victorians). Their cooler weather, averaging 25 during the winter, is just perfect.

For those interested, give Paul a call on 0400165192.

FootyFat
2 Feb 2007, 20:06
can anyone tell me how a bloke by the name of chris atkins goes

hank1
2 Feb 2007, 20:33

One of the premier onballers in Country Vic, loves the nightlife

lion's_roar
3 Feb 2007, 09:04

One of the finest performers both on and off the field that I have seen in country Victoria ... however .. LOCK UP YOUR DAUGHTER!! lol:thumbsu: :)

OldShepp
3 Feb 2007, 09:28

The Swans have seen their fare share of heart ache with guys taking there own lives. Depression is something that sometimes can not be detected as per a young swan Mike Williams - no one had a clue what he was capable of. Not to say that it was easy process to pull through but I think alot of young men learnt alot from it all.

OldShepp
3 Feb 2007, 09:29
One of the finest performers both on and off the field that I have seen in country Victoria ... however .. LOCK UP YOUR DAUGHTER!! lol:thumbsu: :)

Well alot of us guys are not talented in both areas - good luck to him!!:p

OldShepp
3 Feb 2007, 09:39
i think its the year of the swans, they seem to have alot of good players and nows the time or they might never win one. how much money does nags have

Nags has an endless supply of money but alot of the old swanies are not happy and pretty sick of being treated like dirt and all the new guys getting the $$ and attention. This has been an on going issue for years as well as Cheryl putting in alot of $$ also. You only have to look at the guys that have left Swans this year (Best, Frappell, Osborne) to know that they are not holding onto guys that have been there for years and there families been associated for years ie: Best family.

roberts-thompson
3 Feb 2007, 10:08
on the topic of the swans.. whats cam birch up to swannies? has he been training? legend :cool:

ICE PICK
3 Feb 2007, 10:37
Who is Chris Atkins plying for 2007.

beaglehound
3 Feb 2007, 11:09
Y do u say the bottom age kids arent up for it? Do u mean the cats boys or all bottom agers? interested to y u dont think they r up to it..
Just think that it takes an exceptional footballer to step from under 16's to seniors straight away, and if they are that good then they should be playing all year in bushies. No doubt those u16's coming up will be handing thirds players.

beaglehound
3 Feb 2007, 11:15
Last year was also meant to be their year. If they stay true to form they will go undefeated all year then bomb out in straight games come final time. That would be great to see again.

Footy08
3 Feb 2007, 12:39
Last year was also meant to be their year. If they stay true to form they will go undefeated all year then bomb out in straight games come final time. That would be great to see again.

my coach also said the same thing..

Footy08
3 Feb 2007, 12:46
does any1 know wat duane hustan is doin? wat at united training again last night..

Trent Lovelock
3 Feb 2007, 20:32
does any1 know wat duane hustan is doin? wat at united training again last night..

playing at echuca united again, end of story... assistant coach

Ex Tee
4 Feb 2007, 08:24

I wouldn't be so sure of that, strong rumour he is returning back to Demonland!

smallfootyhead
4 Feb 2007, 12:07
Spot on there oldshep mate about the swans and there god,s gift to football recruits!!!! if watters electrical ever went bust 3 quarters of the swans team would be left unemployed??? this year will be the first time a best hasnt played in swans colours or been linked to the club in decades!! the players you mentioned have all been around the club for years but i hear they found it very easy to leave almost unoticed????? good luck to the swans and there attempt at there first flag since the 70,s but i wonder if they do win it if it would have meant more having players that have been there for years in it???

Footy08
4 Feb 2007, 19:42

yer i wouldnt be sayin that to quickly.. but u never know could just be the rumors :p

Tatybulldog
5 Feb 2007, 07:25
yer i wouldnt be sayin that to quickly.. but u never know could just be the rumors :p
i think you will find trent lovelock is a good friend of huestons playing tennis with him so i think he might be a step ahead of everyone with knowing what he might be up to!

Peter Dyson
5 Feb 2007, 07:33

Finds a fair amount of the footy but gives his opponent a free run as well, so it usually comes down to what each one does with it as to who comes out on top. Doesn't always use it the best when he does get it so can hurt you a bit if it's coughed up. Has been linked this year to Kyabram, South Cairns, Golden Square and somewhere in Melbourne??? with Learmonth. Ky and Cairns are out of the picture though.

galloping gasometer
5 Feb 2007, 08:06
Finds a fair amount of the footy but gives his opponent a free run as well, so it usually comes down to what each one does with it as to who comes out on top. Doesn't always use it the best when he does get it so can hurt you a bit if it's coughed up. Has been linked this year to Kyabram, South Cairns, Golden Square and somewhere in Melbourne??? with Learmonth. Ky and Cairns are out of the picture though.

Learmonth is coaching Darley which is based in Bacchus Marsh. Ballarat Footy League. Darley believe they also have him.

Can Shop
5 Feb 2007, 10:04
Where is Paul Kennelly playing his footy this year. Heard a whisper may try out down VFL

OldShepp
5 Feb 2007, 10:30
Spot on there oldshep mate about the swans and there god,s gift to football recruits!!!! if watters electrical ever went bust 3 quarters of the swans team would be left unemployed??? this year will be the first time a best hasnt played in swans colours or been linked to the club in decades!! the players you mentioned have all been around the club for years but i hear they found it very easy to leave almost unoticed????? good luck to the swans and there attempt at there first flag since the 70,s but i wonder if they do win it if it would have meant more having players that have been there for years in it???

It always makes you wonder why the hierarchy would not try and hold onto players/families that have been there for years. I would have thought they would of tried to get Jarrod Best over from the Cats (now playing to Doncaster) if he was making the trip back every weekend for the cats he might of easily gone back to play with his brother Hayden. I think all those players found it easy to leave as the new recruits are made out to be the best in the club - but not as loyal as say a family that has been there for years, not just for playing football but committees etc

Ex Tee
5 Feb 2007, 12:29
i think you will find trent lovelock is a good friend of huestons playing tennis with him so i think he might be a step ahead of everyone with knowing what he might be up to!

He's playing with United!

slim18
5 Feb 2007, 12:47
Can some one from Mooroopna give me the lowdown on Matt Robinson? Played CHB last season. Does he go as well as he says.

sizzled
5 Feb 2007, 12:50
yeah i yhink swans have done well securing peter white but believe their recruiting of non-victorian players (darwin etc) will blow up in their face big time in 2 -3 years time. all their trusty locals are slowly dissapearing due to influx of outsiders getting looked after more than the locals...were did the names best,osborne,frappell,kirkman,duffy,bruton,these type of blokes have all moved on or flound other interests. why would jarrod best drive back to the swans to play with blokes he doesnt know?

centreman
5 Feb 2007, 13:53

Wouldnt read anything into it. Hueston was on the back page of the Riv Herald with the story saying he was assistant coach in December. He works in Shepp, but live in Echuca, so he's probably just training with his old club

OldShepp
5 Feb 2007, 13:53
yeah i yhink swans have done well securing peter white but believe their recruiting of non-victorian players (darwin etc) will blow up in their face big time in 2 -3 years time. all their trusty locals are slowly dissapearing due to influx of outsiders getting looked after more than the locals...were did the names best,osborne,frappell,kirkman,duffy,bruton,these type of blokes have all moved on or flound other interests. why would jarrod best drive back to the swans to play with blokes he doesnt know?

Exactly why would he????? It's hard to imagine why the likes of Bruton, Duffy (old names of the Swannies) dont even stick around the club after their seniors careers are over.. I know Duffy had problems last year with the coach.

God's Country
5 Feb 2007, 13:58
Can some one from Mooroopna give me the lowdown on Matt Robinson? Played CHB last season. Does he go as well as he says.

Might be a porky, no Matt Robinson at the Cats in 2006 or any seasons prior.
There's a Ben Robinson, but he's 19, built like a rake and plays on wing / half forward.

Tatybulldog
5 Feb 2007, 14:47
yeah echuca united....

akka dakka
5 Feb 2007, 14:58
Wouldnt read anything into it. Hueston was on the back page of the Riv Herald with the story saying he was assistant coach in December. He works in Shepp, but live in Echuca, so he's probably just training with his old club

Seems logical - working in Shepp and not travelling to echuca in the heat for training. Would take a fair bit out of you.
Hopefully he will consider a move in the future.

Peter Dyson
5 Feb 2007, 15:29
Learmonth is coaching Darley which is based in Bacchus Marsh. Ballarat Footy League. Darley believe they also have him.

Ahhh. that's the one GG. When I posted I was thinking Ballarat but wasn't too sure so went with Melbourne. My guess is that it will be Darley. $$ must be pretty good down that way.

Ex Tee
5 Feb 2007, 16:08
yeah echuca united....

We'll see -UNITED

beaglehound
5 Feb 2007, 16:16
Unless you are the actuall person talking to Huey from the Demons, who tells me that he has agreed to play at United and will be informing Echuca United this week of his decision. I suppose we will all have to wait and see on this one.

slim18
5 Feb 2007, 17:19
Might be a porky, no Matt Robinson at the Cats in 2006 or any seasons prior.
There's a Ben Robinson, but he's 19, built like a rake and plays on wing / half forward.

Cheers God. As a matter of interest who did play at chb.

phillip needleman
5 Feb 2007, 18:13
Cheers God. As a matter of interest who did play at chb.

derek hall, geoff connally, shaun robbins played alot at CHB last year

Trent Lovelock
5 Feb 2007, 18:48
derek hall, geoff connally, shaun robbins played alot at CHB last year

phillip! how are u old son....

yeah they did all played in that position last year, but interestingly enough neither of them picked up an opponent at any stage! just like the rest of the moor backline!

bit harsh on robbo, and halls the best zone off backman goin round!

roaring tiger
5 Feb 2007, 19:16
Unless you are the actuall person talking to Huey from the Demons, who tells me that he has agreed to play at United and will be informing Echuca United this week of his decision. I suppose we will all have to wait and see on this one.

He took training tonight so i would say he is staying at Echuca untied for another season.

akka dakka
5 Feb 2007, 21:25
I wouldn't be so sure of that, strong rumour he is returning back to Demonland!

He took training tonight so i would say he is staying at Echuca untied for another season.

AAAGGGGHHHHH MY HEAD HURTS!!!!! I'M SOOOO CONFUSED:confused: :confused:

Tatybulldog
6 Feb 2007, 08:24
who is everyone playing in there practice matches?

Can Shop
6 Feb 2007, 08:29

How were numbers at training.... I had other commitments and couldnt get there... Any more new faces on the block...

phillip needleman
6 Feb 2007, 10:53
phillip! how are u old son....

yeah they did all played in that position last year, but interestingly enough neither of them picked up an opponent at any stage! just like the rest of the moor backline!

bit harsh on robbo, and halls the best zone off backman goin round!

im alright trent.. hally wasn't even close enough to shake his opponents hands after every game last year

wizza_2
6 Feb 2007, 12:05
Exactly why would he????? It's hard to imagine why the likes of Bruton, Duffy (old names of the Swannies) dont even stick around the club after their seniors careers are over.. I know Duffy had problems last year with the coach.

Thats cos the coach had no direction in his life!

wizza_2
6 Feb 2007, 12:06
who is everyone playing in there practice matches?

Rochy play eaglehawk and shepp united

OldShepp
6 Feb 2007, 13:15
Thats cos the coach had no direction in his life!

No comment needed there......

undercover cat
6 Feb 2007, 18:00
word has it from a reliable source that euroa have lost over 20 players and are in dire straights. apparently they want an interview with all players that have put in for a clearence

mars bar
6 Feb 2007, 18:20
Word has it he has signed with Balranald in the Central murray footy league

I see Balraj Singh has put his clearance form in, and is heading to Balranald in the central murray footy league