View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130

galloping gasometer
6 Feb 2007, 20:29
Rochy play eaglehawk and shepp united

Its seems a bit strange to play United. No other options on offer?

beaglehound
6 Feb 2007, 20:55
United are playing Wodonga Bulldogs, Maryibynong Park and Rochestor

footyplayers
7 Feb 2007, 06:16
Any players interested in changing or moving to new club/league for season 2007 or 2008, register your details at www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, and requirements with potential clubs.

NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 08:07
phillip! how are u old son....

yeah they did all played in that position last year, but interestingly enough neither of them picked up an opponent at any stage! just like the rest of the moor backline!

bit harsh on robbo, and halls the best zone off backman goin round!
what ever works trent. Hows the one and only groin training his he back in action or is lizzie working it to hard.

iwantanotherflag
7 Feb 2007, 08:51
Any players interested in changing or moving to new club/league for season 2007 or 2008, register your details at www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, and requirements with potential clubs.

Bloody Journeymen! Get a bit of loyalty you money hungry c*nts. Footy players.com what a load. What will be next? wasteyourmoneyonareservesplayerwhowonthagaround.com

half time lollies
7 Feb 2007, 10:24
I see on the tranfer list that Joe and James Martiniello are following Jock up to Myrtleford. Will be interesting to see if any others make the move??

old saint
7 Feb 2007, 10:44

if you dont lose a few kilos wizza, you wont be playing at all...

NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 10:46
Mooroopna boys just wondering how's training going and few in particular in Graeme Giles and Luke Magdwick, i hear there expected to take a big step up this year.

fuzzyswan
7 Feb 2007, 11:03
a couple of weeks ago in the local seymour paper an article about the lions mentioned that recruiting a big man would be a priority of theirs this year. has there been any success on this front? would steele of uni blues, a seymour boy who seems to have acquitted himself well in the amatuers, be a worthwhile target or would the lions be looking at something abit more upmarket?

phillip needleman
7 Feb 2007, 11:15
Mooroopna boys just wondering how's training going and few in particular in Graeme Giles and Luke Magdwick, i hear there expected to take a big step up this year.
how about shane hughan.. i heard big things about him this year

switch the play
7 Feb 2007, 12:49
I see on the tranfer list that Joe and James Martiniello are following Jock up to Myrtleford. Will be interesting to see if any others make the move??
T EVANS IS OVER THE LINE THERE AS WELL

Trent Lovelock
7 Feb 2007, 12:54
what ever works trent. Hows the one and only groin training his he back in action or is lizzie working it to hard.

all mighty skipper gledhill is back on track n flying!
got himself some new wheels! and not just a new car, sported a pair of the brightest and blinding joggers anyone has ever seen last night. if hes not setting the field alight with his silky smooth skills, his runners are sure causing some flames!
possibly see them at some stage in the disco's busting a move until being removed for starting fires!

slim18
7 Feb 2007, 13:32
T EVANS IS OVER THE LINE THERE AS WELL

Is that a cert switcher?

NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 14:09
got himself some new wheels! and not just a new car, sported a pair of the brightest and blinding joggers anyone has ever seen last night. if hes not setting the field alight with his silky smooth skills, his runners are sure causing some flames!
possibly see them at some stage in the disco's busting a move until being removed for starting fires!
wow i cant wait they sound like the best pair of joggers ever. Josh a massive trend setter.

Game Breaker
7 Feb 2007, 15:13
Think that Madge is spending his training nights in the pub, G is dreaming about the next big fish that he catches however has been down for a few runs and the big Ox is training the house down hardley missed a night

switch the play
7 Feb 2007, 15:37
Is that a cert switcher?
I SPOKE TO A GOOD MATE OF HIS LAST NIGHT AS WE WERE TRYING TO GET HIM BUT HE TOLD ME TO CALL OFF THE DOGS AS THATS WERE HE'LL GO!!STARTED AN APPRENTICESHIP AND I BELIEVE HAS JUST HAD A NEWBORN OR HAS A YOUNG FAMILY SO WAS ON THE RECEIVING END OF A VERY GOOD OFFER FROM MYRTLEFORD AS COACH OBVIOUSLY KNEW HIS SITUATION

NEXT LEVEL
7 Feb 2007, 15:50
Think that Madge is spending his training nights in the pub, G is dreaming about the next big fish that he catches however has been down for a few runs and the big Ox is training the house down hardley missed a night
ooo sounds about right coach

spike dudley
7 Feb 2007, 19:52
Hey guys just wondering if anyone can inform me how big bad ben cosgriff is going out at Wangaratta>?

ICE PICK
7 Feb 2007, 22:04
Just wondering if any club has picked up a player by the name of Nathan Kane Bell, played in the Mid South East for Tantanoola last, year heard he is playing with a Shepparton club.

Tatybulldog
8 Feb 2007, 06:50
Hey guys just wondering if anyone can inform me how big bad ben cosgriff is going out at Wangaratta>?
Might want to go to the Ovens and Murray thread.....they will be able to help you out.

Game Breaker
8 Feb 2007, 08:49
ooo sounds about right coach
So Next Level where did you get your info on Luke Brocky ????????:thumbsd:

NEXT LEVEL
8 Feb 2007, 10:39
So Next Level where did you get your info on Luke Brocky ????????:thumbsd:
straight from the horses mouth

phillip needleman
8 Feb 2007, 10:56
straight from the horses mouth
why what is brocky doing this year with footy?

NEXT LEVEL
8 Feb 2007, 11:01
why what is brocky doing this year with footy?
i might not be right, but i'm pretty sure he's following kendall to dookie, another unhappy cats customer

News Leak
8 Feb 2007, 12:28
Just wondering if any club has picked up a player by the name of Nathan Kane Bell, played in the Mid South East for Tantanoola last, year heard he is playing with a Shepparton club.

Belly is playing at Shepp Swans. Played there 2 years ago. Left to go home for a year. Working with naggsy doing an electrical app.

iwantanotherflag
8 Feb 2007, 12:53
Belly is playing at Shepp Swans. Played there 2 years ago. Left to go home for a year. Working with naggsy doing an electrical app.

Like everyone else at the Swans.

OldShepp
8 Feb 2007, 15:08
:eek: Like everyone else at the Swans.
why does that not surprise me......

NEXT LEVEL
8 Feb 2007, 15:27
I THINK JOSH MAY HAVE WORN HIS NEW JOGGERS TO THE GOULBURN THE OTHER NIGHT AND SET IT ON FIRE WITH HIS SEXY DANCING.

jazzy
8 Feb 2007, 23:49
hey just wanted to know if anyone out there in big footy land knows of any new signings for the lions this upcoming year? had heard they had lost a couple.

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 07:48
if you dont lose a few kilos wizza, you wont be playing at all...

i second that ive heard along the traps that wizza has put on a few of late

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 08:04
word has it from a reliable source that euroa have lost over 20 players and are in dire straights. apparently they want an interview with all players that have put in for a clearence

i guess all the money they inherited and spent on players has all dissapeared and what do they have to show for it............

TuskenRaider
9 Feb 2007, 09:04
i guess all the money they inherited and spent on players has all dissapeared and what do they have to show for it............

What money did they "inherit"? One of the stupidest comments I've read on these boards for a while, and there's plenty to pick from.

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 09:44
What money did they "inherit"? One of the stupidest comments I've read on these boards for a while, and there's plenty to pick from.

i heard that a local farmer passed and left em all this money,if thats not the case they must have had a few sausage sizzles cos the money didnt just turn up either way they have blown it all now and how many flags did they win doing so thats my point..

TuskenRaider
9 Feb 2007, 10:22
i heard that a local farmer passed and left em all this money,if thats not the case they must have had a few sausage sizzles cos the money didnt just turn up either way they have blown it all now and how many flags did they win doing so thats my point..

Local farmer left em all this money:rolleyes:
What a terrific story. Do you know how gossip works skillz? A bloke who knows a bloke who knows a bloke heard.......

I don't think they're having any problem with money. And we all know they won no flags in the last few years.

Who do you follow skillz?

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 10:58
Local farmer left em all this money:rolleyes:
What a terrific story. Do you know how gossip works skillz? A bloke who knows a bloke who knows a bloke heard.......

I don't think they're having any problem with money. And we all know they won no flags in the last few years.

Who do you follow skillz?

well its not a bad rumor to be coming from some of the players themselves....anyway lets move on hey

TuskenRaider
9 Feb 2007, 11:05
well its not a bad rumor to be coming from some of the players themselves....anyway lets move on hey

No worries. But I'd say if it was coming from some of the players themselves that they really wouldn't know. Most players wouldn't have a clue where a football club raises their money from, other than the bar and gate.

sparra
9 Feb 2007, 11:27
Tusken - seeing you are on line I will ask your good self about our new style forum/thread set up.

I am not in favour of it - I think it takes a little more time and I do like to have a few leagues in front of me to see if there were any new threads/replys

Of course I might not have adapted well yet

TuskenRaider
9 Feb 2007, 11:53
Tusken - seeing you are on line I will ask your good self about our new style forum/thread set up.

I am not in favour of it - I think it takes a little more time and I do like to have a few leagues in front of me to see if there were any new threads/replys

Of course I might not have adapted well yet

You're right sparra, it does take a little more time, especially to find new posts in various leagues. It could be a good thing though if you get a few different threads in each league, like in the GV board there's an U18 thread etc. and a couple of others I think. Also, once the season starts it may work well as various threads may pop up under the league board.

I think they'll give it a bit more time though. It may just be a case of getting used to it, seeing the different leagues boards from the main board is certainly one good thing.

Junkie
9 Feb 2007, 12:08

Well done Skillz, right on the money there...

BTW, congratulations on winning tool of the millenium:thumbsu:

Lets move on hey:rolleyes: You're an A-Grade Clown:)

FOOTYBOSS
9 Feb 2007, 12:35

So you believe everything you hear skillz. You are pretty dumb if thats the case.

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 12:46
Well done Skillz, right on the money there...

BTW, congratulations on winning tool of the millenium:thumbsu:

Lets move on hey:rolleyes: You're an A-Grade Clown:)

cough cough give me a drink... sorry i was choking just like euroa in the grandfinal and at the end of last season.. hahahah

Junkie
9 Feb 2007, 12:56
cough cough give me a drink... sorry i was choking just like euroa in the grandfinal and at the end of last season.. hahahah

Very original:rolleyes:

phillip needleman
9 Feb 2007, 13:00
found out last night that rob osbourne from mooroopna is moving up to queensland because of work and will miss the season. can any of the mooroopna boys on here comfirm this

TuskenRaider
9 Feb 2007, 13:12

Still keen to move on are you tiger? You seem to have a bit of an interest in a few ex-Shepp Swans players. Do you have an interest in the club formerly known as Lemnos?

NEXT LEVEL
9 Feb 2007, 14:10
found out last night that rob osbourne from mooroopna is moving up to queensland because of work and will miss the season. can any of the mooroopna boys on here comfirm this
wow thats going to take away all of mooroona's tuff men now he, neville and mellington have left.

Cats will struggle

JimCarter
9 Feb 2007, 14:20
Still keen to move on are you tiger? You seem to have a bit of an interest in a few ex-Shepp Swans players. Do you have an interest in the club formerly known as Lemnos?

Correct me if im wrong, but I remember not that long ago shep swans spending a packet on the likes of Yze, finishing on top or there abouts for a few years in a row but getting bundled out of finals in straight sets without even making a grandfinal. What do you call that???
BTW Skillz, we all know you wouldnt choke, you're too used to swallowing :eek: ...

Trent Lovelock
9 Feb 2007, 14:36
wow thats going to take away all of mooroona's tuff men now he, neville and mellington have left.

Cats will struggle

mooroopnas loss - tat and shep easts gain in the hardness department!

OldShepp
9 Feb 2007, 14:44
:cool: what can people tell me about adrian "pepsi" pappin from rochester, heard a whisper that he may be playing with moama in 07.

the only person to miss him at tigerland would be his little mate cuttriss.
Ha Ha that would be right, they play footy, cricket and even work at the bloody Cri together - maybe having cuddles with each other!!

God's Country
9 Feb 2007, 14:48

Cats will struggle

Such a massive loss NL. Why not throw in Luke Le Brock & Chris Kendall also.

Maybe the club will replace the above guys with Gents of character, loyalty and play the junior kids of the town.

NEXT LEVEL
9 Feb 2007, 15:06

Maybe the club will replace the above guys with Gents of character, loyalty and play the junior kids of the town.
no we were riight leaving them out, we were talking about hard men of footy. i think loyality in footy is slowing fading out

BlindTurn
9 Feb 2007, 15:08
I might be wrong here, but I dont think I am. Didnt Seymour play Benalla in the grand final at the end of last season. Euroa didnt even make the finals last year. I think you better use the internet for some research before mouthing on this thread skillz.

BlindTurn
9 Feb 2007, 15:12

Are you suggesting the above players werent of good character?

God's Country
9 Feb 2007, 15:28
Are you suggesting the above players werent of good character?

Players come and go, but it's dissapointing to see blokes that have played juniors with a club move to other clubs that are very close by. I'd call that poor club character yeah.
I'm more so having a dig at a few blokes that have thrown in the towel early when they were a big part of the social fabric of the club.

NEXT LEVEL
9 Feb 2007, 15:41
Players come and go, but it's dissapointing to see blokes that have played juniors with a club move to other clubs that are very close by. I'd call that poor club character yeah.
I'm more so having a dig at a few blokes that have thrown in the towel early when they were a big part of the social fabric of the club.
MAYBE THAT WAS THERE PROBLEM THEY ENJOYED THE CLUB TOO MUCH AND FORGOT ABOUT THE MAIN REASON, PLAYING FOOTY AND COACH'S DONT LIKE THAT.

phillip needleman
9 Feb 2007, 17:10
maybe mooroopna should start looking after the blokes who have been there from the start and not go recruit players to fill spots that locals could easily fit

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 17:34
no im afraid i dont champ like i said i have no alliance with any gvfl side

skillz
9 Feb 2007, 17:42
I might be wrong here, but I dont think I am. Didnt Seymour play Benalla in the grand final at the end of last season. Euroa didnt even make the finals last year. I think you better use the internet for some research before mouthing on this thread skillz.

you are wrong ... Seymour did play Benalla in the grand final But being the Grand Final and not actually a part of the home and away season i was referring to Euroa choking towards the end of the home and away season not even making the finals ya goose

Alley cat
9 Feb 2007, 18:16
you are wrong ... Seymour did play Benalla in the grand final But being the Grand Final and not actually a part of the home and away season i was referring to Euroa choking towards the end of the home and away season not even making the finals ya goose

I wouldn't say Euroa choked last year, they just couldn't get an injury free team for enough games. They only just missed out in one of the most even seasons for years.
As for the 2005 Grand Final...well they are wearing Collingwood jumpers so they gotta keep up the tradition:D

spike dudley
9 Feb 2007, 18:47
No worries. But I'd say if it was coming from some of the players themselves that they really wouldn't know. Most players wouldn't have a clue where a football club raises their money from, other than the bar and gate.

Therefore wouldn't skillz be entilted to put forward the suggestion of an inheritance? I think its a highly feasible option that the club was the recipient of a substantiable amount of cash. How else can you afford to have such high profile recruits and continue to do so. Oh wait a minute..... they don't have there recruits anymore! Does all the players leaving at once suggest something fundamental isn't right at Euroa???

zero2hero
10 Feb 2007, 07:34
I wouldn't say Euroa choked last year, they just couldn't get an injury free team for enough games. They only just missed out in one of the most even seasons for years.
As for the 2005 Grand Final...well they are wearing Collingwood jumpers so they gotta keep up the tradition:D
You have to be kidding alley cat ! Seymour played most of last years home and away rounds missing anywhere from 3 to 4 top line players each week from injury. People need to stop finding excuses for teams like Euroa which i agree did have there fair share of injuries. Maybe a little less "infighting" , a bit more ticker and stop recruiting "hasbeen - NEVERWERE " players like Rory Hilton who gave them nothing.

Alley cat
10 Feb 2007, 08:20
You have to be kidding alley cat ! Seymour played most of last years home and away rounds missing anywhere from 3 to 4 top line players each week from injury. People need to stop finding excuses for teams like Euroa which i agree did have there fair share of injuries. Maybe a little less "infighting" , a bit more ticker and stop recruiting "hasbeen - NEVERWERE " players like Rory Hilton who gave them nothing.

Yeah fair enough Zero, i just have a bit of a soft spot for Euroa being the smallest town in the GVL and don't mind them being successfull.
As for Seymour it was a great effort to keep winning with so many top players out and is a credit to the coaching staff and players.

Krakour Magic
10 Feb 2007, 16:58

I don't disagree with your comments regarding club's internal issues, Zero, nor do I disagree with the need to cease excuses.

One of the issues on these forums, however, is the slandering of players (Hilton in the above example). A strong view to have him as a player who never was. From memory, Hilton was one of the outstanding under 18 players even when he only played a few games in the TAC cup due to injury. I think Brisbane even drafted him in the knowledge that he had undergone a knee reconstruction. At Richmond, Hilton, when not injured, was in the best players almost every game one year (02 or 03 maybe?). For natural talent, possibly one of the better players around. Many unfortunate injuries I think.

You may have an experience playing on Hilton, and maybe in that instance you didn't find him too hard as an opponent. That sort of experience might be worth a comment. I think it's a bit harsh though, to say these guys never were. Anyone who can even make a club list has to be a very good player. To stay in the system for 6 to 8 years and be amongst the better players, they'd need to be even better.

Did Hilton give nothing to Euroa? I don't know. I'd imagine he'd offer some good experience on the track, some super tough examples on the field, and some positive influence on the juniors coming up through the under 18s.

Sly Dog
10 Feb 2007, 19:32
Some very insightful writing above krakour.

the subject of recruits vs local players continues to pop up. in the case of mooroopna, maybe they needed to look after their locals instead of recruiting outsiders who now appear to be leaving anyway. now locals like neville and co are also leaving so what has the club achieved. they have lost disheartened locals and money guzzling recruits. seymour is one of the few clubs to have got it right. paid for recruits they needed but also kept locals happy. to win senior and reserves granny is a massive effort.
but it is hard to get the mix right, and i think most clubs get it wrong year after year. if you are not careful you end up like tonny, now in new league and i think ky are not far behind them. if they only win a couple of games, which appears likely, they may be looking for a new league also. is euroas predicament as bad as some aree saying or are they travelling ok??

ringo1
10 Feb 2007, 19:41
Some very insightful writing above krakour.

the subject of recruits vs local players continues to pop up. in the case of mooroopna, maybe they needed to look after their locals instead of recruiting outsiders who now appear to be leaving anyway. now locals like neville and co are also leaving so what has the club achieved. they have lost disheartened locals and money guzzling recruits. seymour is one of the few clubs to have got it right. paid for recruits they needed but also kept locals happy. to win senior and reserves granny is a massive effort.
but it is hard to get the mix right, and i think most clubs get it wrong year after year. if you are not careful you end up like tonny, now in new league and i think ky are not far behind them. if they only win a couple of games, which appears likely, they may be looking for a new league also. is euroas predicament as bad as some aree saying or are they travelling ok??

A mate of mine in the GV area said he was talking to one of the Ky coaches and he said they are very light on in the recruit stakes. The coach said two things that worried him, 1 being that their big recruits are from lower leagues and 2 that he was talking up the reserves side. Once you start talking about the reserves ability, i think you are resigned to the fact that the senior team has a long year ahead of them.
As for being demoted Dog, think that might be a long way off. Obviously have money as they dont appear to be spending any.

gutted rabbit
10 Feb 2007, 19:58
Anyone know who Elliott Bowen is playing for this year? How did he go last year?

zero2hero
11 Feb 2007, 08:41
I don't disagree with your comments regarding club's internal issues, Zero, nor do I disagree with the need to cease excuses.

One of the issues on these forums, however, is the slandering of players (Hilton in the above example). A strong view to have him as a player who never was. From memory, Hilton was one of the outstanding under 18 players even when he only played a few games in the TAC cup due to injury. I think Brisbane even drafted him in the knowledge that he had undergone a knee reconstruction. At Richmond, Hilton, when not injured, was in the best players almost every game one year (02 or 03 maybe?). For natural talent, possibly one of the better players around. Many unfortunate injuries I think.

You may have an experience playing on Hilton, and maybe in that instance you didn't find him too hard as an opponent. That sort of experience might be worth a comment. I think it's a bit harsh though, to say these guys never were. Anyone who can even make a club list has to be a very good player. To stay in the system for 6 to 8 years and be amongst the better players, they'd need to be even better.

Did Hilton give nothing to Euroa? I don't know. I'd imagine he'd offer some good experience on the track, some super tough examples on the field, and some positive influence on the juniors coming up through the under 18s.
Well put Krakour Magic! Was probably a bit harsh on Hilton, after all he is only one of 18 players on the park that have to perform. Will have to forgive me just new to big footy and i will have to try to govern my passions but i am really enjoying the banter and debate. Keep up the good work guys!

zero2hero
11 Feb 2007, 08:50
Can anyone confirm Gerard Liddell and Patty Rattray are playing at Barooga this year as thats the mail i got.

hank1
11 Feb 2007, 09:58
Can anyone confirm Gerard Liddell and Patty Rattray are playing at Barooga this year as thats the mail i got.

Both have put in clearances to Barooga, Liddell has been cleared, Rattrays got knocked back twice.

Anyone know who Elliott Bowen is playing for this year? How did he go last year?

Went well at Rochester last year and is saddling up there again in 07.

sessil
11 Feb 2007, 10:16
can anyone tell me why some of the so called power house clubs of the last few years refuse to clear players who no longer want to play for them? if they wish to be cleared let them go, rejecting clearences is just delaying the process and they will be cleared eventually anyway.get over it!:thumbsd:

zero2hero
11 Feb 2007, 11:02
Thanks for the scoop Hank1, Liddell will be a very handy player up there. Also have to agree with Sessil not much point holding on to players if they don't want to be a part of your club.

Chance
11 Feb 2007, 12:07
Yeah fair enough Zero, i just have a bit of a soft spot for Euroa being the smallest town in the GVL and don't mind them being successfull.
As for Seymour it was a great effort to keep winning with so many top players out and is a credit to the coaching staff and players.
Euroa is the smallest town in the GVFL? What about Tatura and Rochester?

Alley cat
11 Feb 2007, 17:22
Euroa is the smallest town in the GVFL? What about Tatura and Rochester?

Tatura has a larger population than Euroa. I forgot about Rochy, but i reckon both those towns would be of similar size.

TuskenRaider
12 Feb 2007, 08:09
Therefore wouldn't skillz be entilted to put forward the suggestion of an inheritance? I think its a highly feasible option that the club was the recipient of a substantiable amount of cash. How else can you afford to have such high profile recruits and continue to do so. Oh wait a minute..... they don't have there recruits anymore! Does all the players leaving at once suggest something fundamental isn't right at Euroa???

It's not a highly feasible at all to guess that the club received cash from an inheritance. It's putting 2 & 2 together and getting 5. It's as feasible as saying they won the lottery. Did Seymour receive a huge inheritance a couple of years ago as well?

I don't think Euroa has lost that many high profile recruits, other than Rory Hilton and Shannon Gibson.

JD No7
12 Feb 2007, 10:43
A mate of mine in the GV area said he was talking to one of the Ky coaches and he said they are very light on in the recruit stakes. The coach said two things that worried him, 1 being that their big recruits are from lower leagues and 2 that he was talking up the reserves side. Once you start talking about the reserves ability, i think you are resigned to the fact that the senior team has a long year ahead of them.
As for being demoted Dog, think that might be a long way off. Obviously have money as they dont appear to be spending any.

To be talking up your reserve side is not always a bad thing, for 1 it keeps the pressure on your bottom players in your senior side it can also help with building moral and structure in your football club which Ky need to do to be a force again. Ok so it might be a long year for them but with such a young list they need to have direction and if it is building their 3rd and 2nd sides at least when they finally turn their fortune around they will have a strong club not just a strong recruited senior side.

Junkie
12 Feb 2007, 11:07
To be talking up your reserve side is not always a bad thing, for 1 it keeps the pressure on your bottom players in your senior side it can also help with building moral and structure in your football club which Ky need to do to be a force again. Ok so it might be a long year for them but with such a young list they need to have direction and if it is building their 3rd and 2nd sides at least when they finally turn their fortune around they will have a strong club not just a strong recruited senior side.

I agree. It might not mean their senior side will play finals this year but it's a step in the right direction. It helps build a positive culture and gives the people around the club plenty of hope for the club in years to come. With more depth they are going to be competitive in more games this year and help them attract more recruits and locals back next year.

Tatybulldog
12 Feb 2007, 11:30
Just heard some big and very unfortunate news. Schirmer sorry if spelt incorrect. had an accident on saturday night trying to climb on top of a night club in shepp, fell off the top and shattered his pelvis and cracked his scull. will be in hospital indefinant and football might be completly out of the question. shattering news! was a big talent and was very important to united.

smoothgroova
12 Feb 2007, 12:31
Just heard some big and very unfortunate news. Schirmer sorry if spelt incorrect. had an accident on saturday night trying to climb on top of a night club in shepp, fell off the top and shattered his pelvis and cracked his scull. will be in hospital indefinant and football might be completly out of the question. shattering news! was a big talent and was very important to united.

Is very unfortunate but why the hell was he trying to cllimb on top of a night club???

Hopefully if true, he is ok and can make a comeback. Will be a big loss for united

lion's_roar
12 Feb 2007, 13:04
[QUOTE=TuskenRaider;6711184]It's not a highly feasible at all to guess that the club received cash from an inheritance. It's putting 2 & 2 together and getting 5. It's as feasible as saying they won the lottery. Did Seymour receive a huge inheritance a couple of years ago as well? QUOTE]

I won't name who the inheritance came from, because i'm not sure if it's common knowledge, but i was told when working in the GV.

The amount was generous, but not enough to pay an entire playing list for two years.

Obviously the money helped the club out, but there were no doubt other sources of income.

Hopefully the Pies were smart with it and it hasn't dried up all ready, because i think the guy who left it to them would be very disappointed if it didn't have a long term positive impact on the club.

Hopefully Euroa can continue to be a competitive side in the GV.

It makes for a far better competition when the smaller towns are competing with the big guns.

Obviously that takes money to top off the local talent .. (unless your Rochester of course) .. but some clubs do take it to far and neglect local players, which is of long term detrement to the club

NEXT LEVEL
12 Feb 2007, 13:23
sounds about right he played hard and partied hard. Sorry to hear mate good luck getting better.

TuskenRaider
12 Feb 2007, 14:17
I won't name who the inheritance came from, because i'm not sure if it's common knowledge, but i was told when working in the GV.

The amount was generous, but not enough to pay an entire playing list for two years.

Obviously the money helped the club out, but there were no doubt other sources of income.

Hopefully the Pies were smart with it and it hasn't dried up all ready, because i think the guy who left it to them would be very disappointed if it didn't have a long term positive impact on the club.

Hopefully Euroa can continue to be a competitive side in the GV.

It makes for a far better competition when the smaller towns are competing with the big guns.

Obviously that takes money to top off the local talent .. (unless your Rochester of course) .. but some clubs do take it to far and neglect local players, which is of long term detrement to the club

You don't have to name who the inheritance is supposed to have come from, most people who have heard this rumour will know who the person was. They had a fair bit to do with the league over the years and no doubt this is a reason the rumour started and persisted.

You say you heard the rumour whilst working in the GV, why does this mean the rumour is true? You talk of this money like it is a fact, not a rumour. Do you know for sure it is true? Or was it just the talk around the traps after Euroa made the GF not too long after the person you speak of died?

If I were going to leave money to a football club, I'd do it on condition it be used for capital improvements. Which in this case is why I struggle to believe the rumour.

skippy__67
12 Feb 2007, 14:22
When is Porter due to start training with benalla

JD No7
12 Feb 2007, 14:42
I recall a meeting held in late 2005 when it was bought up that at least 3 clubs would struggle to compete in the coming years unless something was done in relation to a salary cap, Euroa being one on top of a good year on the ground.

TuskenRaider
12 Feb 2007, 15:23
I recall a meeting held in late 2005 when it was bought up that at least 3 clubs would struggle to compete in the coming years unless something was done in relation to a salary cap, Euroa being one on top of a good year on the ground.

Are you sure that wasn't regarding the "points system" which was being talked about at the time? The issue was raised earlier this year or late last year again. Salary caps do not work anywhere below the AFL. There are too many ways to get around them.

I think you'll find that clubs like Euroa, Benalla and a couple of others(Mansfield? Seymour?) don't agree with the principle of the points system and that they would struggle to compete if that system was used in the GVFL.

Krakour Magic
12 Feb 2007, 15:27

Yeah, Cyndi Lauper had it so right when she said "money changes everything". If only the likes of Anna Nicole Smith hadn't used their inheritence to finance their blow habbits, they might be in a better position today (please excuse me for making reference to someone who has passed on in tragic circumstances).

The discussion around Euroa's potential inheritance is interesting and worthy of discussion on a forum, but does read like a New Weekly column - plenty of whispers, not much fact.

A great gesture IF someone in the area pushed some money to a sporting club. Difficult to believe though, that you would allow your "hard earned" to be thrown solely at recruits rather than infrastructure, if indeed you did make that gesture. Although, IF money was passed on, it may well be plausible that the spending was left to the club and its committee.

One could only hope that if Euroa ever does come across a big bag of money, they would direct some funds to those lights around the oval - terrible! Actually, a few dollars left over could also be pushed to Spindal - the whippet could do with a trip to the Barber......

JD No7
12 Feb 2007, 15:39
Are you sure that wasn't regarding the "points system" which was being talked about at the time? The issue was raised earlier this year or late last year again. Salary caps do not work anywhere below the AFL. There are too many ways to get around them.

I think you'll find that clubs like Euroa, Benalla and a couple of others(Mansfield? Seymour?) don't agree with the principle of the points system and that they would struggle to compete if that system was used in the GVFL.

Yes TR you may be right on the point system scheme but I do believe that it was still a case of some clubs being unable to compete against the more financial clubs throwing out big $$$. One club already gone under that pressure.:(

TuskenRaider
12 Feb 2007, 15:56
Yes TR you may be right on the point system scheme but I do believe that it was still a case of some clubs being unable to compete against the more financial clubs throwing out big $$$. One club already gone under that pressure.:(

Yes, but there is a massive difference in the argument that certain clubs were worrried about competing due to too high a player wage bill or a prohibitive points system stopping them bringing players to the club.

I don't have any problem with no salary caps in local football. Let the clubs self-govern and operate within their means. There will still be pressure to raise dollars, but the club must pay their way.

Very sad to see what happened to Tongala, but Tonny made Euroa, Tatura and Rochester look like Metropolis.

harls
12 Feb 2007, 17:10

taty has this been confirmed ? terribile news if true,great bloke and top footballer the shirminator

News Leak
12 Feb 2007, 18:54
Did Hilton give nothing to Euroa? I don't know. I'd imagine he'd offer some good experience on the track, some super tough examples on the field, and some positive influence on the juniors coming up through the under 18s.[/quote]

You obviously didnt see many games

TuskenRaider
12 Feb 2007, 19:01

You obviously didnt see many games[/QUOTE]

How many games did you see Hilton play?

Krakour Magic
12 Feb 2007, 20:14

You obviously didnt see many games[/quote]

You're correct, News Leak, in that I did not see many games of Euroa in 2006, hence why I don't know what Hilton gave to Euroa. Notwithstanding, I would stand by my imagination, and back Hilton to have offered quite a bit to the club. Positive influences to the juniors and experience at training I would confidently back. Tough examples on the field is a hard one to guess at without seeing too many games, although I'd be relatively confident that Rory would have held his own in the tough stakes.

Are you suggesting by the above statement that Hilton's on-field performances (that you saw) gave nothing to the club? And please, take this as a question for my interest in GV football, not a dig at your opinion (not interested in getting into any of the on-line arguments on this site).

SUPASTARR
12 Feb 2007, 20:37
Should rename this the Euroa thread cos the last 3 pages is all Euroa. Isn't any other club worth a mention here????

zero2hero
12 Feb 2007, 20:59
Seymour, Rochester,Tatura,Kyabram,Barooga.Benalla and Tongala are some of the other teams mentioned in the last 3 pages supastar ,maybe time for those new glasses mate!. Kick it off then, who would you like to talk about?

Tatybulldog
13 Feb 2007, 06:59
taty has this been confirmed ? terribile news if true,great bloke and top footballer the shirminator
yes unfortunatly confirmed. the big fella fell from nearly 2 stories up! all things aside who gives a f u c k about footy the bloke might never recover from this. work and day to day things are more important. absolutely shattering news.i wish him the best of luck!

skillz
13 Feb 2007, 07:48
Should rename this the Euroa thread cos the last 3 pages is all Euroa. Isn't any other club worth a mention here????

There is an easy explanation as to why there has been abit of talk about euroa as of late.... they have recently just got the internet over there

skillz
13 Feb 2007, 07:51
yes unfortunatly confirmed. the big fella fell from nearly 2 stories up! all things aside who gives a f u c k about footy the bloke might never recover from this. work and day to day things are more important. absolutely shattering news.i wish him the best of luck!

can confirm this also a friend of mine was the paramedic that picked him up has a shattered pelvis will be out of work for maybe 12 months may not even play again all the best and i hope he pulls through

TuskenRaider
13 Feb 2007, 08:30
There is an easy explanation as to why there has been abit of talk about euroa as of late.... they have recently just got the internet over there

Yeah, I heard some rich bloke who died left a heap of money to Telstra to get those optic fibre cables up and running through the Hume;)

skillz
13 Feb 2007, 08:48
Yeah, I heard some rich bloke who died left a heap of money to Telstra to get those optic fibre cables up and running through the Hume;)

oh what a nice guy just like the fella that left the money for the footy club but he didnt just help the club he has connected the whole town to a better way of living bless his soul

sizzled
13 Feb 2007, 10:28
while On The Topick Of Euroa Anyone Confirm 100% The Whereabouts Of Hayden Lamaro And Craig Bamford Will Be Lining Up?

Junkie
13 Feb 2007, 10:29
oh what a nice guy just like the fella that left the money for the footy club but he didnt just help the club he has connected the whole town to a better way of living bless his soul

You are incredibly stupid:thumbsu:

JD No7
13 Feb 2007, 10:32

Might as well talk about Euroa now as it probably wont be much to talk about them during the year....