View Full Version : Official GVFL thread (part 1)
Let it go monkey man, you're scrapping the barrel and proving beyond doubt that you're incredibly stupid.
Looks like Rochy have a very good side. Ash Watson will poll very well in the MM.
been outdone have ya loser you dont need to prove how stupid you are we all allready know that....
moving on it will be interesting to see how young Ash fares obviously didnt cut it in the big smoke but got a few games under his belt and then did well at Ballarat, you would expect him to do well but in saying so gv footy is a high standard a completely different type of footy to vfl and afl so it wont be a walk in the park either
NEXT LEVEL
22 Feb 2007, 15:16
your mums just like kfc she has the breast and theighs and when im done all she has left is a greasy box and i have a dry bone but i wouldnt say finger lickin good
thats the best mum joke ever
NEXT LEVEL
22 Feb 2007, 15:17
What about your Mum? She's like a bowling ball...she's heavy, hangs around alleyways, gets thrown in the gutter and fingered by everyone but the b1tch still comes back for more:thumbsu:
wow these are great
been outdone have ya loser you dont need to prove how stupid you are we all allready know that....
Its spelt 'thighs' Einstein.......go back and finish grade 5:rolleyes:
moving on it will be interesting to see how young Ash fares obviously didnt cut it in the big smoke but got a few games under his belt and then did well at Ballarat, you would expect him to do well but in saying so gv footy is a high standard a completely different type of footy to vfl and afl so it wont be a walk in the park either
He seemed to handle it alright as a 16/17 year old when he last played, would of been averaging 25 creds a game even back then.
OldShepp
22 Feb 2007, 16:21
With the season start a little over 6 weeks away, does anyone want to guess their teams round one line-up.
Barring injury, I think Rochy's will look something like this:
B: Daniel Schmidt Mark Watson Adrian Pappin
HB: Andrew Palmer Elliott Bowen Nick Knight
C: Michael Loughman - Ash Watson Dean Moon
HF: Kahl Oliver Clint Whitsed - Brodie Montague
F: Matt Letcher Phillip Lobb Anthony McPhee
R: Ben Anderson Heath Aitken Scott Hann
I: Nathan Whipp Dylan Cuttriss Carl Moon
Others: Russell Weekly Rob Tuohey - Sam Williams Tim Bubb Daniel Cavallaro
Not a bad team (although some the names mean nothing to most people on here). I think they are probably another tall defender and quality midfielder from being a serious threat, but I think it's good enough to see finals action.
Cuttriss on bench - he would be shattered.
I would have thought any of the bench could get a start. Whipp could start in the pocket couldnt he and surely there is a spot down back for moon. Goal to goal line looks pretty good.
zero2hero
22 Feb 2007, 20:50
Spoke to a seymour player recently and he seems pretty confident of a third straight flag this year, even with the loss of Pilling, Gordon & Bailey. Players like Scanlon, Stevenson, Reid & Colbert all looking super fit. What are others thoughts? Is it as cut and dry as i've been lead to believe?
Three pretty big losses but if they can cover at least 2 of them they should be ok. The other players you mentioned, absolute GUNS, the coach is no slouch either and last but not least the mercurial,dark haired jack-in the box that wears no.5 SAAD SAAD!.:thumbsu:
galloping gasometer
22 Feb 2007, 21:29
I think Rowey has toiled for a while to come up with this.....good effort!
I think Kahl Oliver and Benny A may swap in a pocket and be able to kick goals. I also reckon they have 9 good players to rotate through the centre which may mean they have some depth this year if they incur injuries.
Cuttriss in a decent team will be borderline as will a couple of the others named. I counted 16 locals in that side.
Is Anthony Mcphee held in the same esteem by other supporters and players as he is at Rochy? Pound for Pound one of the better marks of the footy you would ever see and has been so consistent since playing first year under Geoff Rosenow( RIP)?? or Nigel Van Der Veer??
jaxbac#13
22 Feb 2007, 23:06
your mums just like kfc she has the breast and theighs and when im done all she has left is a greasy box and i have a dry bone but i wouldnt say finger lickin good
hey skillz i know who you are, your mums finger lickin good but ya sisters are much better
Its spelt 'thighs' Einstein.......go back and finish grade 5:rolleyes:
is that all you have.. a spelling error ..you must have got the dictionary for that one ya took ya time loser
He seemed to handle it alright as a 16/17 year old when he last played, would of been averaging 25 creds a game even back then.
oh yeah dont get me wrong he did fine back then and will no dobt do better now, but what i spose i was trying to say it will be a bit harder now he has more of a profile and will be shown more attention from opposition because of that
TuskenRaider
23 Feb 2007, 08:15
Is Anthony Mcphee held in the same esteem by other supporters and players as he is at Rochy?
Can't speak for everyone but he is from this posters' point of view and would imagine he would be by. Top player over many years, just seems to do his job with minimum fuss. Very smart lead and whilst you wouldn't think it by looking at him but he's fairly sharp in the important first 10-15m of his leads.
hey skillz i know who you are, your mums finger lickin good but ya sisters are much better
your kiddin arent ya?....this is gettin out of hand but if you want some son ill dish it out ill spank you just like i did ya mumma , grandma and all the rest, you think you know me but i know you, You couldnt get a kick in a jackie chan street fight so keep to ya self freak
is that all you have.. a spelling error ..you must have got the dictionary for that one ya took ya time loser
You're stupid! Its simple:) Anyone can figure out you're not very bright.
Tank McPhee = Absolute gun! Obviously a loyal man and I reckon he fits into your typical country footy star:thumbsu:
Tatybulldog
23 Feb 2007, 10:35
You're stupid! Its simple:) Anyone can figure out you're not very bright.
Tank McPhee = Absolute gun! Obviously a loyal man and I reckon he fits into your typical country footy star:thumbsu:
how long has Tank played at Rochy for now??
also how many goals would of he kicked. approx.?
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 10:46
Well the man is from Euroa! I'm sure he'd know the going ons of Euroa FC than u would? Unless u are from there as well? Serously man, cut the ********, it is getting a bit boring.
Speaking of Euroa, Footyboss, noticed Ricki Shiner from Avenel is playing with u guys? Please tell me the club didn't chase him and will not be offering him any $$$ cos no disrespect to the fella, just not good enough. If he went to Euroa of his own accord to play in a better comp, then good on him and good luck to him. Very surprised he left the Swannies specially since they are supposed to be a lot better this year. Also, boss, whats the go with the Mills bros? Heard they going to Avenal as well?
Yes, Ricki Shiner is playing for Euroa. He has stated that he wants to have a crack at GV footy. Not to sure what is happening with the Mills bros Chance. I know Mark has been training with St.Kilda City and not to sure about Matty at the moment.
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 11:20
i wonder why there are a few positions available at euroa for all the as you call them finge players to get a game but lets be honest they are really hacks, could it have something to do with most of the players deserting euroa,
So how many players are you expecting to leave Euroa skillz?
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 11:22
Stickers Powell will play 1's this year boys, works very hard on the track but even harder on the women at the 7's pub.
Good luck to him this year, he and a few other fringe players will be rewarded
this year as a few position have become available in the hot cross buns.
Good to see The Whip is still alive and well.. Hows married life treating you whip?
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 11:24
how would footy boss know more about footy then me he play in the twos or he tries to atleast
What level of footy do you play skillz?
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 11:26
Heidelberg would beat them comfortably! :thumbsu:
Doubtful.
So how many players are you expecting to leave Euroa skillz?
about 10 and i play seniours had stints in the vfl and sanfl
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 14:15
What league do you play in?
rogerdoger
23 Feb 2007, 14:33
Why would players want to leave Euroa??
Their a great club.
Just ask them.
What league do you play in?
ive played everywhere you name it ive played there im awesome mate
Their a great club.
Just ask them.
why would they want to stay? and yeah im sure if you ask a euroa person they will tell ya how good it is with all the sheep out that way......
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 14:46
Their a great club.
Just ask them.
I think you will find most people will only give positives for their club they are associated with.
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2007, 14:48
ive played everywhere you name it ive played there im awesome mate
So you are a mercenary then.
or nomad...ive just been around experienced life at different places and what footy has to offer so i pretty much know everything there is to know
rogerdoger
23 Feb 2007, 15:40
I'm told Nick Night was going back to Rochester - thought he was going to Mildura. What happend there and is he much of a player??
I think Rowey has toiled for a while to come up with this.....good effort!
I think Kahl Oliver and Benny A may swap in a pocket and be able to kick goals. I also reckon they have 9 good players to rotate through the centre which may mean they have some depth this year if they incur injuries.
Cuttriss in a decent team will be borderline as will a couple of the others named. I counted 16 locals in that side.
Is Anthony Mcphee held in the same esteem by other supporters and players as he is at Rochy? Pound for Pound one of the better marks of the footy you would ever see and has been so consistent since playing first year under Geoff Rosenow( RIP)?? or Nigel Van Der Veer??
Anthony Mcphee... Nigel Van Der Veer.. Ahh the memories.. Reminds me of when Rosco was sleeping:D :D
Kyabram... much like Rochy but not as successful, too many district teams taking players which takes away selection pressure. The open door between Lanky & Ky doesn't help the team build from year to year. Ky does lots of hard work building up players and then Lancaster win flags through that work! Many Ky players need to take a leaf out of the book of Josh Finn, Paul Newman & Chris Atkins (when he is in the country), if you are any good play for Ky.
Mate, I'm sorry, but what a load of crap. Lancaster have won 1 flag in the last 15 years.
You think Rusty McDonnell only went back into Ky for one year before returning to Lancaster for what reason? Do you think he enjoyed his stint back in at Ky?
Read between the lines.
If Kyabram could not even treat one of the greatest players to ever pull on a Kyabram jumper with any respect how are they going to treat their other players.
Players who leave Ky to go to a better club do so on their own accord. I should know I was once one of them.
Mate, I'm sorry, but what a load of crap. Lancaster have won 1 flag in the last 15 years.
You think Rusty McDonnell only went back into Ky for one year before returning to Lancaster for what reason? Do you think he enjoyed his stint back in at Ky?
Read between the lines.
If Kyabram could not even treat one of the greatest players to ever pull on a Kyabram jumper with any respect how are they going to treat their other players.
Players who leave Ky to go to a better club do so on their own accord. I should know I was once one of them.
Spot on Cosby, a lot in there have had the attitude that they are so much better than everyone else around them(this is not an attack on the players but more so the administration over the years), especially if you have come from a KDL club, they say that they are turning it around now by looking after the locals but its more than a decade too late, going to be some hard times ahead for the club before they might be able to turn it around.
You look at their position geographically, population and who they can pick up the best talent from who want to test themselves at the highest level in the area (Stanhope, Lancy, Rushy, Merrigum, Girgarre, Tonny) and tell me how they are not consistent finals contenders in the GV.
undercover cat
24 Feb 2007, 15:37
apparently there s more than 10, have a look at the clearances list on the gv website there is about 10 there and hats probably only half of them
barto #22
24 Feb 2007, 15:39
why would they want to stay? and yeah im sure if you ask a euroa person they will tell ya how good it is with all the sheep out that way......
Mate thats the worst call i have ever herd:thumbsd: keep trying when ya have a half decent one, give us a yell??
smallfootyhead
25 Feb 2007, 06:03
hey skillz ya ********er i rekn u are a real toss boat hey!!! but i wish i had your tackle?? smallllllllllllll
thanks for the compliment smallfootyhead back in my hey day i was well knowned for my hard tackling
FOOTYBOSS
26 Feb 2007, 10:59
apparently there s more than 10, have a look at the clearances list on the gv website there is about 10 there and hats probably only half of them
Well we just have to wait and see then. I think you may be wrong on that.
half time lollies
26 Feb 2007, 11:24
Well we just have to wait and see then. I think you may be wrong on that.
Below is a list of the approved and in progress clearances from the GVFL transfer list. My count is 4 approved clearances with one of these Roman Chowanetz to return from Darwin?? There are another 5 in progress and a number of other rejected clearances. So my guess that there will be alot more than 10 departures from Euroa. The list doesn't include
Sage - Barooga?
Lamaro - Doncaster?
Ash Thompson - Narrandra?
Daniel Thompson - Having a year off?
Who else is departing boss???
CHOWANETZ, Roman Euroa 2003 > Player AFL Northern Territory > Waratah Approved
GIBSON, Shannon Euroa 2004 > Player Diamond Valley FL > Watsonia Approved
GILLILAND, Nathan Euroa 2005 > Player Bendigo FL > Sandhurst Approved
BROOKS, Marc Euroa 2004 > Player Kyabram District FL > Avenel Approved
HORSBURGH, Patrick Euroa 2006 > Player Kyabram District FL > Violet Town In Progress
BELL, Matthew Euroa 2003 > Player Kyabram District FL > Violet Town In Progress
STOTT, Wesley Euroa 2003 > Player Benalla In Progress
GROOM, Bernard Euroa 2006 > Player Kyabram District FL > Violet Town In Progress
BURLS, Ryan Euroa 2003 > Player Benalla & District FL > Longwood In Progress
bradrowe#32
26 Feb 2007, 11:52
Anthony Mcphee... Nigel Van Der Veer.. Ahh the memories.. Reminds me of when Rosco was sleeping:D :D
And people wonder why everyone hates Euroa.
bradrowe#32
26 Feb 2007, 11:53
He deserves it.
iwantanotherflag
26 Feb 2007, 11:53
Spot on Cosby, a lot in there have had the attitude that they are so much better than everyone else around them(this is not an attack on the players but more so the administration over the years), especially if you have come from a KDL club, they say that they are turning it around now by looking after the locals but its more than a decade too late, going to be some hard times ahead for the club before they might be able to turn it around.
You look at their position geographically, population and who they can pick up the best talent from who want to test themselves at the highest level in the area (Stanhope, Lancy, Rushy, Merrigum, Girgarre, Tonny) and tell me how they are not consistent finals contenders in the GV.
I understand that Lanky haven't finished off many seasons of late, but still many players make many transitions between Ky and Lanky. I grew up around the Lancaster FC and it was always a great club. Not sure about the admin at Ky, but yes Hank something must be going wrong when they cant pull a bit of quality in and keep themselves as a power house. With Tonny now in the MFL, Ky should not have any excuses as not to be a finalist in the GV.
bradrowe#32
26 Feb 2007, 11:55
rochy will be a better club when dirty leaves, he's 80's like kevin sheddy, to old school.
Is that right?
Few would be aware that Dirty actually coaches for free. Other clubs in the region pay big bucks for a coach, but they usually only last for a couple of years. His business also sponsors the club for good money every year.
This eases the financial pressure on the club and allows them to get quality players such as Brad Sparks, Toot Morgan, Adam Edwards, Dominic David, Gavin Excell and Elliott Bowen. On top of this, heaps of players in minor leagues from around the district have come to club to play top line footy, with players coming from Stanhope, Lockington, Colbo, Elmore etc
Dirty loves the footy club with a passion and contributes a hell of a lot to the running of it.
So my question to you, Next Level, is why would the club be better off without him?
Next Level???
bradrowe#32
26 Feb 2007, 11:58
I understand that Lanky haven't finished off many seasons of late, but still many players make many transitions between Ky and Lanky. I grew up around the Lancaster FC and it was always a great club. Not sure about the admin at Ky, but yes Hank something must be going wrong when they cant pull a bit of quality in and keep themselves as a power house. With Tonny now in the MFL, Ky should not have any excuses as not to be a finalist in the GV.
Agreed. Ky have had some brilliant players over the last 15+ years (Stuhldreier, Lucas, Newman, Trimby, Langley to name but a few), but have only won the single flag in '96. They have had plenty of chances too, but went out in straight sets, such as 1992 and especially 1993 when they finished on top. I don't understand why they continually have really successful thirds teams, but cannot keep a hold of the players.
FOOTYBOSS
26 Feb 2007, 12:27
Below is a list of the approved and in progress clearances from the GVFL transfer list. My count is 4 approved clearances with one of these Roman Chowanetz to return from Darwin?? There are another 5 in progress and a number of other rejected clearances. So my guess that there will be alot more than 10 departures from Euroa. The list doesn't include
Sage - Barooga?
Lamaro - Doncaster?
HORSBURGH, Patrick Euroa 2006 > Player Kyabram District FL > Violet Town In Progress
GROOM, Bernard Euroa 2006 > Player Kyabram District FL > Violet Town In Progress
Chowantez will be returning from Darwin once their season is over. As for the others mentioned. yes Sagey is still undecided on whether is playing for Barwon Heads or Barooga. Ash Thomson is heading back to Narrendara and Daniel is having a year off. But as for Hayden Lamaro you will see him lining up for Euroa this year. He began training with us last week and is keen to play again this year. So he wont need a transfer.
SOLMAN86
26 Feb 2007, 12:28
Agreed. Ky have had some brilliant players over the last 15+ years (Stuhldreier, Lucas, Newman, Trimby, Langley to name but a few), but have only won the single flag in '96. They have had plenty of chances too, but went out in straight sets, such as 1992 and especially 1993 when they finished on top. I don't understand why they continually have really successful thirds teams, but cannot keep a hold of the players.
I think some players think to take the easier way out.
I mean they find it easier to swap form a GVs 3rd side to a KDs 1 side a lot easier than from GVs 3rds to 1s.
Its a shame but I think with work and studies etc they find it harder to commit to the high standard of GVFL training as opposed to a KDs 1s side(not underestimating KD training but ive seen Seymours training and its a lot more challenging than Avenels & Nagambies)
Other players just wanna play with there mates and therefore end up playing a weaker brand of footy than what they should be.
ICE PICK
26 Feb 2007, 12:38
Players leave Ky because it's the easy option, they can go play KDFL and chase coin, relax on the training track and have more chance of playing in a succesful team than at Ky. Also the social life in KDFL seems to be stonger.
OldShepp
26 Feb 2007, 14:06
Sage - Barooga?
Lamaro - Doncaster?
Lomaro def training at Doncaster...
OldShepp
26 Feb 2007, 14:07
He deserves it.
Not a good bloke - i take it??
FOOTYBOSS
26 Feb 2007, 14:12
Lomaro def training at Doncaster...
Yes he did train there once, also trained at Watsonia in the DVFL once, but has decided he will be staying put at Euroa for season 2007.
[/B]
I think some players think to take the easier way out.
I mean they find it easier to swap form a GVs 3rd side to a KDs 1 side a lot easier than from GVs 3rds to 1s.
Its a shame but I think with work and studies etc they find it harder to commit to the high standard of GVFL training as opposed to a KDs 1s side(not underestimating KD training but ive seen Seymours training and its a lot more challenging than Avenels & Nagambies)
Other players just wanna play with there mates and therefore end up playing a weaker brand of footy than what they should be.
Agree to most of the things your saying but the commitment at GV and KDL isnt any different from my experience. In the 3 years at Rochy none have been any harder (training) than most years at Stanhope. The main problem is taking an interest in those kids who are having there last year of thirds and make them feel part of the senior setup for a smooth transition the next year, don't give them any excuse to leave and then they will be there to play for most of their footballing lives. It does look as though that is what Ky is now trying to do, but will take a few years to show some results.
emu #38
26 Feb 2007, 19:19
thanks for the compliment smallfootyhead back in my hey day i was well knowned for my hard tackling
and that was just in the showers haha
13-CABS
26 Feb 2007, 20:23
Just wondering what the go is with the GVFL and the state of the grounds? will you be playing a full season? down in the city it doesnt look good, with many leagues looking to a much shorter season...
Also which Shepp side is Peter White coaching, and do they look any good? Cheers!
and that was just in the showers haha
only when your mum comes in their with me to give me a rub down or up...
Just wondering what the go is with the GVFL and the state of the grounds? will you be playing a full season? down in the city it doesnt look good, with many leagues looking to a much shorter season...
Also which Shepp side is Peter White coaching, and do they look any good? Cheers!
Peter White is coaching the Shepp Swans they look good but only time will tell to see if they actually can put it together and hold it this year.
As for the grounds i think you will find they will be suitable to play a full season on with maybe a few of the smaller farming type towns a bit harder and dryier then expected but still bearable
Agree to most of the things your saying but the commitment at GV and KDL isnt any different from my experience. In the 3 years at Rochy none have been any harder (training) than most years at Stanhope. The main problem is taking an interest in those kids who are having there last year of thirds and make them feel part of the senior setup for a smooth transition the next year, don't give them any excuse to leave and then they will be there to play for most of their footballing lives. It does look as though that is what Ky is now trying to do, but will take a few years to show some results.
Pretty well spot on there Hank!
Let those thirds train with the senior group, don't isolate them, especially in the second half of the year, and especially when your seniors aren't goin crash hot.
And remember it is not always your best junior that will turn into your best senior footballer
Sly Dog
27 Feb 2007, 10:54
Players leave Ky because it's the easy option, they can go play KDFL and chase coin, relax on the training track and have more chance of playing in a succesful team than at Ky. Also the social life in KDFL seems to be stonger.
Not sure about your statement ice pick. whys it the easy option?? the kdl clubs that i have watched and been associated with pay very little for a start. im glad i no longer play because like hank said, the pre season looks very hard to me, so there is no relaxing. and what makes them more successful than ky, you cant click your fingers and say we will be successful this year. (maybe you need to work hard, eg stanhope, lancaster, rushworth.). maybe some ky people need to pull their heads out of their own a*se and establish a club culture that involves winning. Can you tell me if it is true that all senior players get paid $100 a game at ky, win lose or draw?? if so, i know where id chase coin.
smoothgroova
27 Feb 2007, 12:16
Heard Tim Looby is moving or has moved back to the GV with the possibility of pulling on a swans jumper for 07?? If so, the swans will be looking like the early favs to make the GF. Anyone else heard this??
Can you tell me if it is true that all senior players get paid $100 a game at ky, win lose or draw?? if so, i know where id chase coin.
That is the setup this year, as stated in the Free Mess., then there is also incentives of 400, 300 , 200, 100 on top of the 100.
SOLMAN86
27 Feb 2007, 12:16
Mate I heard b4 Christmas that Mansfield were looking at Transferring games due to Water Restrictions.
I am not surre what there ground looks like now but it was 50/50 in December.
Had a look at Seymours last night and it was ok due to the use of recycled water.
Cant comment on many others but yeah the smaller placea like Rochy may be struggling:(
smoothgroova
27 Feb 2007, 12:20
Not sure about your statement ice pick. whys it the easy option?? the kdl clubs that i have watched and been associated with pay very little for a start. im glad i no longer play because like hank said, the pre season looks very hard to me, so there is no relaxing. and what makes them more successful than ky, you cant click your fingers and say we will be successful this year. (maybe you need to work hard, eg stanhope, lancaster, rushworth.). maybe some ky people need to pull their heads out of their own a*se and establish a club culture that involves winning. Can you tell me if it is true that all senior players get paid $100 a game at ky, win lose or draw?? if so, i know where id chase coin.
I also heard the ressies are getting $50 a game. Is this true ICEPICK???
Eagles, Pies swap nests for a kick
February 27 2007
Shepparton News
Mansfield Football Club has employed the first of a series of potential contingency plans to counter the devastating effect of the drought on its Highett St ground.
The Goulburn Valley Football League Eagles have swapped their scheduled round one encounter with Euroa on April 7 to the Magpies' Memorial Oval, in exchange for the round 14 return clash between the two sides.
"It's not desirable, because we'd love to be playing a home game on Easter Saturday, but on the positive side of things we'll have a block of four out of five home games during the middle of the season," Mansfield president Mike Morrison said yesterday.
"It's just a straight swap with Euroa and our hope would then be that we can make the round four game against Kyabram on April 28 our first home game of the year."
Adding weight to Morrison's optimism for a late April return of football to the arena is a council-funded desalination plant that will ease the mounting occupational health and safety issues induced by the ground's hardness.
The News reported in December that a bore water supply would be accessed for the facility once the salt issue was rectified by Mansfield Shire Council.
"It'll certainly helps, but we still need a lot more rainfall," Morrison said of the desalination plant.
"We've had a few rain showers in recent weeks in Mansfield, but nothing really conducive to softening the ground and making it playable.
"I reckon we really need the floodgates to open and I'm hoping the long-range weather forecasters are more accurate than the weather bureau."
Mansfield Football Club's executive will continue to monitor the situation with the likelihood of further venue changes under consideration.
Peter White is at Shepp Swans Cabby, they have recruited fairly well and should push for top 3.
Can Shop
27 Feb 2007, 12:31
Heard Tim Looby is moving or has moved back to the GV with the possibility of pulling on a swans jumper for 07?? If so, the swans will be looking like the early favs to make the GF. Anyone else heard this??
Have heard this and know united spoke to him over the weekend. But i am sure every club aorudn the shepp are would of looked to interview him and show what they can offer him. WOuld be great get late in the pre season
Hadn't heard that. I had a beer with a guy in Hobart last night who thought he may have been pulling on a tat jumper :confused:
Just spoke to tim, said that swans got him a job so he will b there....
beaglehound
27 Feb 2007, 13:48
Would that be with Knaggsy?
Gee it wouldn't be in the electrical trade, would it?
beaglehound
27 Feb 2007, 13:52
Could also be selling mobile phones
OldShepp
27 Feb 2007, 13:55
Gee surprise surprise....... would not be a pretty site if Watters went bust, so would there senior side!!!
Could also be selling mobile phones
selling phones at crazy johns?
i actually heard it was no longer called watters electrical its now called Shepp Swans Electrics and doubling as Shepp Swans car rentals it seems if you write your car off you get a company car to take home, too bad to the employees that have been there for a while and they dont get squat kinda just the same as the long serving players of the swans they are all forgotten about and these recruits are given everything treated like kings whats going to happen when the recruits leave and there are no locals around anymore????
iwantanotherflag
27 Feb 2007, 14:42
Gee surprise surprise....... would not be a pretty site if Watters went bust, so would there senior side!!!
I will say that the Swans will not win the flag this year. Too many imports, usually need a year together to mesh and win a flag.
i actually heard it was no longer called watters electrical its now called Shepp Swans Electrics and doubling as Shepp Swans car rentals it seems if you write your car off you get a company car to take home, too bad to the employees that have been there for a while and they dont get squat kinda just the same as the long serving players of the swans they are all forgotten about and these recruits are given everything treated like kings whats going to happen when the recruits leave and there are no locals around anymore????Someone needs therapy.
smoothgroova
27 Feb 2007, 15:21
i actually heard it was no longer called watters electrical its now called Shepp Swans Electrics and doubling as Shepp Swans car rentals it seems if you write your car off you get a company car to take home, too bad to the employees that have been there for a while and they dont get squat kinda just the same as the long serving players of the swans they are all forgotten about and these recruits are given everything treated like kings whats going to happen when the recruits leave and there are no locals around anymore????
I think you are all getting a bit carried away. The majority of the team is locals with a couple of imports to top it off. All clubs need this mix to be competitive these days. Times have changed since clubs won flags with all locals.
I personally think its a great idea to give them a job as part of their incentive. It beats paying them huge $$$ and the players p!ssing off straight back home (eg. Melb) after the game and not making it to training with the other boys in the side. If you can keep your recruits in the local area they will be able to train with the team twice a week and have a few drinks together after games. At least that way they will have a presence around the club
beaglehound
27 Feb 2007, 16:42
I think you are all getting a bit carried away. The majority of the team is locals with a couple of imports to top it off. All clubs need this mix to be competitive these days. Times have changed since clubs won flags with all locals.
I personally think its a great idea to give them a job as part of their incentive. It beats paying them huge $$$ and the players p!ssing off straight back home (eg. Melb) after the game and not making it to training with the other boys in the side. If you can keep your recruits in the local area they will be able to train with the team twice a week and have a few drinks together after games. At least that way they will have a presence around the club
Sorry, can't agree with you on this. They have recruited intensively over the last year or so and would have a large number of senior players (not reserves) that have come from outside the region for this season coming up. It will be interesting to see the side for the first game and actually see who the locals are, only then will we know ( I will be having a look)Goodluck to them, I say if they can manage this and at the same time ensure the viability of their club for the years to come. I think it is a pity that it is percervied by members of their own club that loyal players and families are leaving because they are missing out in some way because of the recruitment strategy.
it's all true. looby signed with the swans today.
jobbytonny
27 Feb 2007, 19:39
I will say that the Swans will not win the flag this year. Too many imports, usually need a year together to mesh and win a flag.
Seymour had more imports then a fishing boat off the coast of W.A and got two in a row
ICE PICK
27 Feb 2007, 21:31
I also heard the ressies are getting $50 a game. Is this true ICEPICK???
Yes have heard this as well. What a joke $50 dollars to play reserves footy. They sure do know how to run a football club.:thumbsd:
wheelbarrow
28 Feb 2007, 06:01
Seymour had more imports then a fishing boat off the coast of W.A and got two in a row
Doesnt matter the standard nor locality of the club anywhere in Aust.
Fact of life boys, you will never win a flag without money or "imports".
Blend the locals with them that are good enough to cut the mustard, and the ones that are not good enough to make the cut "if" they are true clubman, which are few and far between these days, would be happy 2 play magoos, and see the club win a flag.
No better feeling in footy..
FOOTYBOSS
28 Feb 2007, 11:14
Will gun ruckman Damon Clarke be returning to Euroa again this year? Excellent player in my opinion. :thumbsu:
Yes Damon Clarke is returning for this season and is looking very fit on the training track at present.
SOLMAN86
28 Feb 2007, 12:37
Seymour used 04 to gel:thumbsu:
Yes have heard this as well. What a joke $50 dollars to play reserves footy. They sure do know how to run a football club.:thumbsd:
No wonder Peter Lyon washed his hands of them.
TuskenRaider
28 Feb 2007, 16:37
No wonder Peter Lyon washed his hands of them.
Nothing wrong with giving blokes a base match payment to play in the ones though, it's pretty good footy, and if you're playing senior GVFL footy you shouldn't need the incentive of an extra few dollars to want to win a game. You can't knock Ky for trying to do something differently.
jobbytonny
28 Feb 2007, 17:02
Doesnt matter the standard nor locality of the club anywhere in Aust.
Fact of life boys, you will never win a flag without money or "imports".
Blend the locals with them that are good enough to cut the mustard, and the ones that are not good enough to make the cut "if" they are true clubman, which are few and far between these days, would be happy 2 play magoos, and see the club win a flag.
No better feeling in footy..
TOTALLY AGREE
The only problem is that the blokes who cant cut it go to a lower leauge for big bucks
Nothing wrong with giving blokes a base match payment to play in the ones though, it's pretty good footy, and if you're playing senior GVFL footy you shouldn't need the incentive of an extra few dollars to want to win a game. You can't knock Ky for trying to do something differently.
Base player payments? No problem with that. Incentives for players in the best 5? No problem there.
Paying guys in the magoos? Can't understand it.
My point about Pete Lyon was that he came in when the club was hearing the death knock and got it on the straight and narrow again. Cut spending, instilled some discipline and leadership around the club and got everyone pulling in the right direction. Since he has left it's all gone backwards.
The Fan
28 Feb 2007, 22:29
Base player payments? No problem with that. Incentives for players in the best 5? No problem there.
My point about Pete Lyon was that he came in when the club was hearing the death knock and got it on the straight and narrow again. Cut spending, instilled some discipline and leadership around the club and got everyone pulling in the right direction. Since he has left it's all gone backwards.
The biggest problem at Ky is all of there juniors are half decent for junior footy but only 2 in 25 are good enough to play GVFL finals footy. It is a big step. Ky would love to keep all of there juniors at the club but it would only give them 60 reserves players and a dozen dozen locals for senior footy.
Who are all these footballers they aren't keeping, that are playing elsewhere but not at a higher standard? that would actually contribute to winning a senior GVFL final?
At the end of the day half of them go out to Lancaster where they still cant win a final. I dont see these guys making an impact in the GVFL.
As long as you can pick an aussie rules football out in a sports store you will be good enough to get a game in a KDL side.
In regards to player payments for Reserves footy, if im not mistaken, KDFL sides pay players?? The standard of Football is no different.
King Kieran
28 Feb 2007, 22:42
As long as you can pick an aussie rules football out in a sports store you will be good enough to get a game in a KDL side.
In regards to player payments for Reserves footy, if im not mistaken, KDFL sides pay players?? The standard of Football is no different.
A bit rough on the KDFL dont you think. Seen many KDFL games have you? In all fairness if you have watched teams like Girgarre and Merrigum in the last few years, they would struggle in the GVL 2nd, and they are the clubs paying for GVL 2nds players.
As far as i know ky are not paying 2s players $50 a game, the confusion has come from were one or two senior $50 awards are now dropped down to the 2s because of the 1s payment system.
The base payment system was something the players wanted to reward the locals rather than recruit imports who just leave with the cash and also give the guys an incentive to stay at ky rather than accept the cash the KDL clubs keep offering. It also rewards the guys who are playing the best footy as well.
As for young players not hanging around ky, many of them head to melbourne for work or uni and cant commit to traveling back each week and missing out on the partying down there.
bradrowe#32
1 Mar 2007, 10:44
Mate I heard b4 Christmas that Mansfield were looking at Transferring games due to Water Restrictions.
I am not surre what there ground looks like now but it was 50/50 in December.
Had a look at Seymours last night and it was ok due to the use of recycled water.
Cant comment on many others but yeah the smaller placea like Rochy may be struggling:(
Rochy's oval is in pretty good nick. Some local farmers donated some water to the club, and I think they have an agreement with Murray Goulburn, who also supply some water.
bradrowe#32
1 Mar 2007, 11:38
Looks like Tat are in a bit more trouble with Linc and Bryce Wellington seeking transfer to Numurkah. Bryce kicked 32 goals last year and Linc has been an interleague rep.
http://goulburnvalleyfl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Lack of support leaves Bulldogs coach snarling
Malcolm Noble
March 1 2007
Shepparton News
Supporters seem to have deserted Tatura Football Club in its hour of need.
The Bulldogs held an information night on Tuesday, but coach Malcolm Noble was disappointed with the turnout.
"There were only about 50 people there and most of those were players, the lack of community support was very disappointing from my perspective," Noble said.
"All the usual people were there, those who always put their hands up to do jobs and help out, but that was about it."
The meeting was designed for players and supporters to get a first-hand view of the coach and answer any questions.
"I just wanted to outline my philosophies and what I want to bring to the club," Noble said.
"If people aren't willing to turn up and support the club then I don't know what we're going to do."
On the training track, things are going better for the club.
"Training has been going pretty well, I think the players are enjoying it," Noble said.
While Noble is confident the future of ruckman Paul Kirby will be decided by next week, the Bulldogs were also in the running to secure the services of star youngster Tim Looby.
"On Monday night I was pretty sure we had him, he trained here and I was meant to meet him on Tuesday, but he told me he was going to the Swans, I was pretty shattered," Noble said.
"We found him a job and with his brother at the club, we thought they both might have played here.
"We were trying to strike while the iron was hot."
Should we be worried about the future of Tatura in the GV?
The swans must of offered Looby a heap of money to change his mind about coming back and playing with his brother at tat
Can Shop
1 Mar 2007, 12:07
The swans must of offered Looby a heap of money to change his mind about coming back and playing with his brother at tat
Which of his brothers are playing at tatura??
Michael Dudikoff
1 Mar 2007, 12:18
As far as i know ky are not paying 2s players $50 a game, the confusion has come from were one or two senior $50 awards are now dropped down to the 2s because of the 1s payment system.
The base payment system was something the players wanted to reward the locals rather than recruit imports who just leave with the cash and also give the guys an incentive to stay at ky rather than accept the cash the KDL clubs keep offering. It also rewards the guys who are playing the best footy as well.
As for young players not hanging around ky, many of them head to melbourne for work or uni and cant commit to traveling back each week and missing out on the partying down there.
This is a load of crap Smig. I have no doubt that there would be AT LEAST 10 players in Ky's seniors each week willing to give up their $100 so that the club could have a gun on $1000 a game, or two quality imports on $500 or whatever, if it meant you had a better chance of finishing above last or second last. If that means a couple of players miss out on a senior game, well maybe they shouldn't be playing ones in the first place. As for locals - why not try to entice some former locals back with the $$ - Jason Morgan, Andrew Gill, Leigh Ryall, Josh Dicketts, David Newman, Chris Atkins, Andrew Sierakowski, Heath Barnett - all pretty handy young players who aren't at Ky this year and aren't running around in minor leagues either. I know that they each have their own circumstances and reasons for not playing, but $100 a game for your worst 10 players so they can stay around the club? A good culture and a winning mentality keeps people around clubs, not throwing away $100 to every player then being unable to pay possible recruits what others are offering because you're spending $3000 a week on locals. I think it actually works the other way and rewards mediocrity. If it entices some KDL players back to Ky, how much difference are they really going to make against the top teams?
phillip needleman
1 Mar 2007, 12:41
Should we be worried about the future of Tatura in the GV?[/quote]
kirkby made his decision today also.. wang it is
Which of his brothers are playing at tatura??
Youngest.Micheal
Anyone willing to predict Top 6
Rochy
Shepp Swans
Shepp United
Seymour
Echuca
Shepparton
Then _ Mooroopna, Benalla, Kyabram, Mansfield, Euroa and Tatura?????
This is a load of crap Smig. I have no doubt that there would be AT LEAST 10 players in Ky's seniors each week willing to give up their $100 so that the club could have a gun on $1000 a game, or two quality imports on $500 or whatever, if it meant you had a better chance of finishing above last or second last. If that means a couple of players miss out on a senior game, well maybe they shouldn't be playing ones in the first place. As for locals - why not try to entice some former locals back with the $$ - Jason Morgan, Andrew Gill, Leigh Ryall, Josh Dicketts, David Newman, Chris Atkins, Andrew Sierakowski, Heath Barnett - all pretty handy young players who aren't at Ky this year and aren't running around in minor leagues either. I know that they each have their own circumstances and reasons for not playing, but $100 a game for your worst 10 players so they can stay around the club? A good culture and a winning mentality keeps people around clubs, not throwing away $100 to every player then being unable to pay possible recruits what others are offering because you're spending $3000 a week on locals. I think it actually works the other way and rewards mediocrity. If it entices some KDL players back to Ky, how much difference are they really going to make against the top teams?
You are right American Ninja. 5 big recruits should of been first priority. Then the likes of Atkins, Barnett and Siera would be back playing this year. It adds excitement around the place and and hope to the supporters and players(local). Too many ordinary footballers have been getting senior games at ky and devaluing the whole aura of being a senior GVL player. Unfortunately this trend may continue this year.
Rochy
Shepp Swans
Shepp United
Seymour
Echuca
Shepparton
is this your order you are predicting?
At this stage yes, what do you think???????????
Rochy
Shepp Swans
Shepp United
Seymour
Echuca
Shepparton
I reckon
Shepp Swans
Shepp United
Shepparton
Rochester
Seymour
Kyabram
Then Echuca, Mooroopna, Euroa, Benalla, Mansfield and Tatura
All the Shepp sides will dominate this year thats my prediction!